Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Mack the finger on November 06, 2010, 04:14:12 PM

Title: Ardmhachaabu RIP
Post by: Mack the finger on November 06, 2010, 04:14:12 PM
Ardmhachaabu passed away suddenly yesterday (5/11/2010)

My thoughts are with his wife, children and family.

Sleep well Stephen.

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam dílis.
Title: Re: Ardmhachaabu
Post by: sammymaguire on November 06, 2010, 04:36:46 PM
Sad news. Rest in peace. Awful for a young family to have to deal with.
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2010, 04:41:51 PM
The OT has PM'd me. It appears to be true.

RIP buddy
Post by: Puckoon on November 06, 2010, 04:43:39 PM
He just had a pair of very young kids too.  Your heart would bleed for any family that goes through that.

RIP
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 06, 2010, 04:45:51 PM
Holy God. That is desperate news. Strange with all the twisting and arguing and not knowing posters still feel an affinity with them. God rest Him.
Post by: orangeman on November 06, 2010, 04:49:44 PM
Jesus lads. Terrible, terrible news. RIP
Post by: Sandino on November 06, 2010, 04:52:43 PM
Very sad news. RIP.
Post by: maggie on November 06, 2010, 04:54:16 PM
Jeez, that's awful sad news... Really shocked. 
Post by: bennydorano on November 06, 2010, 04:57:04 PM
What was his name?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 06, 2010, 05:04:55 PM
Holy f**k ! It's only last week since we were chatting in the Child Minders thread about what it;s like having young children. i think he said he had 2 under 2. Cant believe that. Shocked. Anyone know what happened, was it an accident
Post by: ross4life on November 06, 2010, 05:07:18 PM
Shocking, shocking news my thoughts are with his family RIP
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on November 06, 2010, 05:08:42 PM
Very sad news. RIP
Post by: sammymaguire on November 06, 2010, 05:09:17 PM
It's very weird to find out someone (an acronym) has passed away and you almost feel like you would like to go and visit the burial house but you don't even know who this person was, what happened to them, their life outside a web forum/ message board. Very surreal.
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2010, 05:09:55 PM
Totally shocked.

Post by: Minder on November 06, 2010, 05:10:03 PM
Desperate news. RIP
Post by: tyrone girl on November 06, 2010, 05:14:03 PM
Terrible news. RIP.
Very very shocked. Like u hoofhearted the thread about the young kids u both were chatting on last week came to my mind first. God love his family.
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on November 06, 2010, 05:16:50 PM
R.I.P.
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2010, 05:18:58 PM
Knew him only through here and Facebook. Armagh man to the core. Rarely photographed without his jersey on. RIP.

Post by: omagh_gael on November 06, 2010, 05:21:14 PM
RIP

A real strange feeling not knowing someone but knowing them through here.

I hope his family find the strength to get through this very sad time.
Post by: maggie on November 06, 2010, 05:22:04 PM
Yea oneill, very true. He had told me how he met his wife and how happy they were. God love her and the kids.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2010, 05:23:38 PM
Jeeze I can't believe that.

RIP
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on November 06, 2010, 05:27:09 PM
God this is shocking news. It is, as a poster says, a surreal feeling that hits me right now. Heartfelt sympathies to his wife and young children, wider family and friends.
Post by: Main Street on November 06, 2010, 05:33:28 PM
Truly sad, one day he's on here his usual self and the next he is gone for good.
A very difficult time for his family and friends.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 06, 2010, 06:07:31 PM
Only after reading this and I can't believe it. Never met the fella, but we had been in contact by pm recently on the Armagh GAA forum.

Rang my Dad and he confirmed his name was called out at Mass this morning in Armagh.

Desperately sorry to hear this. Deepest symapthies to his family and friends.

May He Rest In Peace.
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on November 06, 2010, 06:18:09 PM
Shocking news. Condolences to his wife and wee kids. RIP.
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 06, 2010, 06:18:27 PM
This is terrible news. I have no idea who ardmachaabu is and I have had run is with him in the past but it is a great testament to him that when things between us got heated he sent me a pm and explained some things to me about his position. I found I had a respect for him after that even though you probably couldn't get two posters with different opinions than the two of us. Very sad that he left 2 young children behind, i have two kids myself and can only imagine the pain in that family today. Ardmachaabu often spoke of his strong catholic faith and I hope that same faith helps his family through these tough times. RIP.
Post by: The Worker on November 06, 2010, 06:20:19 PM
Posted here just 2 days ago. surreal.

RIP
Post by: Maguire01 on November 06, 2010, 06:23:03 PM
Shocked. RIP.
Title: Re: Ardmhachaabu RIP
Post by: Gaffer on November 06, 2010, 06:25:49 PM
Shocking indeed . RIP

Was he living in Belfast?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 06, 2010, 06:27:45 PM
RIP
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 06, 2010, 06:29:41 PM
Battery ran out on my phone at dinnertime and jist got her charged up. First message was from Minder telling me the news. Read the first few posts and thought it was a wind up. Seems not. Never met the fella but suppose there is a bit of kinship amongst gaaboarders otherwise why would you feel sad for "a stranger". RIP.
Post by: gallsman on November 06, 2010, 06:31:01 PM
Nothing else to add. RIP and my condolences to his tragically young family
Post by: cokers on November 06, 2010, 06:33:12 PM
Shocking stuff. My prayers go out to his family.

R.I.P
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 06, 2010, 06:34:03 PM
Terrible, terrible news.  Like many on here I never met the guy but had a few PM's and messages through Facebook about Armagh GAA.  Don't know what else to say.  RIP
Post by: norabeag on November 06, 2010, 06:35:34 PM
Can only concur with all that has been posted previously.
RIP
Post by: Aerlik on November 06, 2010, 06:36:47 PM
Very sad news.  RIP
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 06, 2010, 06:37:23 PM
Awful news, shocked, always struck me as a decent and knowledgable poster, Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam
Post by: Kerry Mike on November 06, 2010, 06:37:51 PM
Am stunned too may he rest in peace, never knew the man .
Post by: Square Ball on November 06, 2010, 06:45:40 PM
Stunned to hear the news, like Minder I thought this was a windup cant add anything else to this.

R.I.P
Post by: AZOffaly on November 06, 2010, 06:57:47 PM
That's awful news. RIP.
Post by: EagleLord on November 06, 2010, 07:13:26 PM
It is great to see the bond between annonymous gaahead posters. R.I.P.
Post by: whiskeysteve on November 06, 2010, 07:14:01 PM
R.I.P.
Post by: Celt_Man on November 06, 2010, 07:26:18 PM
Jaysus... that's tough... RIP
Post by: SHEEDY on November 06, 2010, 07:32:34 PM
thoughts and prayers go out to his family. RIP
Post by: leenie on November 06, 2010, 07:35:20 PM

just like others said, when i heard the news i was deeply shocked, never knew him, but corresponded through pm's and the board....

it is awful news. My Prayers and thoughts are with his family.

God rest his Soul.

Leenie.
Post by: rootthemout on November 06, 2010, 07:37:57 PM
sad news R.I.P
Post by: Rav67 on November 06, 2010, 07:39:05 PM
RIP
Post by: andoireabu on November 06, 2010, 07:46:40 PM
Sad news. puts into perspective some of the shite that is argued on here. RIP
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on November 06, 2010, 07:47:11 PM
Very sad and shocking news. God have mercy on him.
Post by: dodo on November 06, 2010, 07:53:56 PM
Shocking news, thought it was a wind up but clearly not. Sincerest sympathies to his wife, kids, family and all who knew him.
Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.
Post by: mc_grens on November 06, 2010, 07:58:16 PM
Shocking stuff. It's always a that bit sadder when someone leaves a young family behind.

R.I.P.
Post by: Overthebar! on November 06, 2010, 07:58:39 PM
Sad News. Hard to believe. RIP
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 06, 2010, 08:11:01 PM
This is terrible. Don't recall engaging with the chap but, as someone has pointed out, we are like a big family here of second and third cousins so any death among us is a sad one.

RIP and I hope his family have the strength over the coming weeks to come out the other side of this.
Post by: turk on November 06, 2010, 08:13:30 PM
This is very sad and shocking news. Condolences and deepest sympathy to his family and friends.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 06, 2010, 08:17:41 PM
Sorry to hear this...desperate news... I would have crossed swords with him in the past obviously but jaysus...this puts everything into perspective...we're annoyed tonight about losing a shitty oul football match....poor family...RIP
Post by: stephenite on November 06, 2010, 08:24:09 PM
Terrible news, RIP
Post by: Hardy on November 06, 2010, 08:30:10 PM
I'm shocked too. I found him a very helpful person. I wish his family the strength to endure this awful time.

I hope it's OK to ask the usual things a community discusses on occasions like this. What age was he? Was it an accident or a heart attack or such?
Post by: Tyrones own on November 06, 2010, 08:31:16 PM
 :o Thats terrible sad news....thoughts and prayers are with the
Wife and young kids! RIP
Post by: theskull1 on November 06, 2010, 08:32:22 PM
Thats wile news...god love his family
Always came across as a decent fella regardless of any differences that I might have had with him on some subjects

RIP
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 06, 2010, 08:34:16 PM
Terrible news. RIP.
Post by: gerrykeegan on November 06, 2010, 08:40:01 PM
Awful sad as he had two young ones, cant even think what it would be like for his family. RIP
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 06, 2010, 08:44:45 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 06, 2010, 08:30:10 PM
I'm shocked too. I found him a very helpful person. I wish his family the strength to endure this awful time.

I hope it's OK to ask the usual things a community discusses on occasions like this. What age was he? Was it an accident or a heart attack or such?

He was certainly a very helpful poster, have a look at the computer help thread - he pretty much answered everyones PC problems.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on November 06, 2010, 08:46:25 PM
Post by: Minder on November 06, 2010, 08:47:52 PM

The opening poster didn't know the cause just that it was "sudden". He was about 41 I think.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 06, 2010, 08:47:59 PM
Very sad
RIP
Post by: tyrone86 on November 06, 2010, 09:01:00 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on November 06, 2010, 08:44:45 PM

He was certainly a very helpful poster, have a look at the computer help thread - he pretty much answered everyones PC problems.

No doubt about that - he'd was pretty quick dishing out the advice. Had a few interactions with him on here and was a decent lad.

RIP
Post by: armaghniac on November 06, 2010, 09:04:34 PM
Very sad news indeed. Terrible that his kids will not remember a father.
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2010, 09:07:16 PM
The last 2-3 years of his life were undoubtedly his happiest. Doted on his wife and children.
Post by: Hereiam on November 06, 2010, 09:16:30 PM
Hope his family and friends find strength to get through the next couple of days. May he rest in peace.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on November 06, 2010, 09:20:16 PM
"Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something"

That was his motto - and how apt and sad. There is something about this board that gives us all a bit of friendship from behind the safety of the computer screen. I wish his family every strength and may he rest in peace.

HOTB
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 06, 2010, 09:23:40 PM
Its a death in the "GAA Board family", and while he was a complete stranger to nearly all of us, it's still incredibly sad.
Post by: Minder on November 06, 2010, 09:26:50 PM
I think the fact that he had two very young children, both toddlers I believe, that makes it seem worse.
Post by: RMDrive on November 06, 2010, 09:29:24 PM
RIP. Thoughts with his family and friends.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 06, 2010, 09:31:45 PM
yeah, 2 sons under 2 years of age. As someone else pointed out, too young to even remember their father. Probably laughing and smiling with them on Thursday, next day he's gone ! Unreal.
Post by: ross4life on November 06, 2010, 09:40:11 PM
Well he sounded like a loving husband & caring father! not sure will his wife ever read this thread but if she does.. she'll see how well respected as a poster he was.

Post by: pearses on November 06, 2010, 09:42:35 PM
Very sad.  RIP.
Post by: vav on November 06, 2010, 09:49:52 PM
Awful sad news. My thoughts and prayers are with his family at this time. May he rest in peace x
Post by: mhacadoir on November 06, 2010, 10:02:30 PM
that is shocking news. I dont post too often here but read a lot, and while I wouldn't have agreed with everything he always said, he had his opinions and was respected for it. Such a sad, sad situation. It is very surreal to not have known someone except through a computer screen, and still feel a bond and a sadness when they pass.

RIP
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 06, 2010, 10:10:09 PM
Crazy stuff, only turned on the computer to see this thread, thought it was a sick wind up.

I worked with him for about 3 years in Springvale training, He was the Computer technician, maintained all the computers servers and all that stuff, Armagh man to the hilt and married his wife whom he met online, and was a decent fella who was one happy guy when he got married.

past him on the Falls the other day while he was pushing the pram, Armagh shirt on and of course i hurled abuse at him.

I'm really shocked and have sent out texts to many of his ex colleagues, who are also shocked. if someones the circumstances of his death could you PM me please

Rest in Peace Stephen
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on November 06, 2010, 10:12:18 PM
Quote from: mhacadoir on November 06, 2010, 10:02:30 PM
that is shocking news. I dont post too often here but read a lot, and while I wouldn't have agreed with everything he always said, he had his opinions and was respected for it. Such a sad, sad situation. It is very surreal to not have known someone except through a computer screen, and still feel a bond and a sadness when they pass.

RIP

That sums up my feelings perfectly.  God bless his wee boys and wife.
Post by: Bogball XV on November 06, 2010, 10:19:56 PM
Awful news, I think a fair few of us were at a similar stage in life and we can only imagine the feeling of devastation that his family feels now.
My deepest sympathies to his wife and 2 sons.
Post by: gerry on November 06, 2010, 11:21:24 PM
Sad lost for his wife and kids who will grow up not knowng their dad. May he rest in peace.
Post by: Minder on November 06, 2010, 11:25:10 PM
Massive heart attack apparently.
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2010, 11:39:43 PM
I'll miss his slagging. He had a healthy hatred for Tyrone and made no bones about it, but would laugh at it too. His first post on this board was a bit of slagging about my birthplace. I remember him saying that he watched the All-Ireland final in 2002 in The Moy as he couldn't think of a better place to be if Armagh won! Orange to the core.
Post by: winsamsoon on November 06, 2010, 11:40:35 PM
Unreal and absolutely terrible news for his family and a sad loss to the board. May he rest in peace.
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2010, 11:52:04 PM
Very sad news..may he rest in peace.
Post by: The Iceman on November 07, 2010, 12:13:20 AM
In absolute shock here, got to know him as well as you could through here and facebook - can't believe it.
God Bless his wife and boys. A true Armagh man as many have said here - his whole house was coming down with Armagh gear and I have never seen a photo of him and the family without some of them wearing Orange.

RIP
Post by: AbbeySider on November 07, 2010, 12:16:57 AM
Very shocking and sad.
RIP
Condolences to his family and friends
Post by: Onion Bag on November 07, 2010, 12:19:49 AM
Very sad news, RIP
Post by: Treasurer on November 07, 2010, 12:21:30 AM
Very sad.  You only had to look at his fb page to see how much he adored his family.  RIP
Post by: Trout on November 07, 2010, 12:56:23 AM
He had a strong faith. RIP

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3kLxldVxGz0&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 07, 2010, 12:58:44 AM
Geezus lads. This is terrible news.

I, like others on here, never knew the fella. However it's strange in this wee virtual universe that we exist in, that sometimes we feel like we do know the people behind the screen, and rightly, or wrongly we forge relationships with them. Good and bad.

However behind all the slagging, keyboard stomping and name calling exists real people. Sometimes we tend to forget this.

As a father of two wee ones myself, I can only say a wee prayer for Ardmhachaabu's two wee ones tonight and his missus.

The GAA community is an association based on giving, and reaching out the hand. A theme that was very much to the fore of today's GAA conference in Armagh.

I don't like stepping in at a sensitive time, but is there something tangible we can do in virtual world at this time? The obvious one would be to have a whip round for Ardmhachaabu's family. However I appreciate that this is not always appropriate or welcomed. Perhaps one his friends on here could sensitivelly advise.

RIP Ardmhachaabu.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 07, 2010, 01:27:07 AM
Very shocked and sad, may he rest in peace and i wish family all the strength in the world.
Post by: BennyHarp on November 07, 2010, 01:28:22 AM
Bloody hell that's awful news! My sympathy to his family, I can only imagine the pain they are going through! I didnt know the lad either but judging by the fact that there's 7 pages already I'd say he was very well respected! RIP Ardmhachaabu!
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on November 07, 2010, 01:35:39 AM
The names used on here may not be real, but there's no mistaking how real the feelings are among posters surrounding this sad news. Equally up-lifting and heart-breaking.

All thoughts with the children, too young to understand and with the family, too sad for words.

Rest In Peace fella.
Post by: muppet on November 07, 2010, 01:37:57 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 06, 2010, 09:31:45 PM
yeah, 2 sons under 2 years of age. As someone else pointed out, too young to even remember their father. Probably laughing and smiling with them on Thursday, next day he's gone ! Unreal.

Unbelievable. Great poster on the Computer Help thread.

41 and gone just like that. Very sad.

RIP.
Post by: armagho9 on November 07, 2010, 01:54:37 AM
Very sad news.  RIP
Post by: BennyHarp on November 07, 2010, 02:07:29 AM
After my initial shock, was just thinking, it's one of the things that makes the GAA great, this board is the personification of what the GAA is about! I didn't know Ardmahachaabu but I'm genuinely upset by this news! Our great association enables us to form bonds with people we don't know! It enables us to feel part of a family that is unique to us as GAA people! I've lost count of the number of times when outside of Ireland I've met an Irish person and within minutes been chatting like old friends about Gaelic games, much to the amazement of my English girlfriend! No other nation has this unique bond and I think this is why we all feel so hurt by the death of Ardmhachaabu! I've had a few drinks now and perhaps shoulda posted this on the I'm pissed thread! RIP
Post by: Niall Quinn on November 07, 2010, 02:21:01 AM
Seemed like a decent old spud too. Rest in peace.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on November 07, 2010, 02:26:51 AM
My heart is pounding by this and I didn't know the lad, i was pissed 10 Min's ago, and after logging on to play my usual sat nite pissed poker game I'm going to bed sober as a judge, I'm so proud of all you guys the way you have responded to this death with such love and community and really does leave a sense of satisfaction in the heart if the same fell on any one of us. What happened this guy(pm), but as a 27 year old father of four I just feel so sad for his wife and family. May he rest in peace. R.I.P
Post by: Gaffer on November 07, 2010, 02:33:04 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 06, 2010, 10:10:09 PM
Crazy stuff, only turned on the computer to see this thread, thought it was a sick wind up.

I worked with him for about 3 years in Springvale training, He was the Computer technician, maintained all the computers servers and all that stuff, Armagh man to the hilt and married his wife whom he met online, and was a decent fella who was one happy guy when he got married.

past him on the Falls the other day while he was pushing the pram, Armagh shirt on and of course i hurled abuse at him.

I'm really shocked and have sent out texts to many of his ex colleagues, who are also shocked. if someones the circumstances of his death could you PM me please

Rest in Peace Stephen

That was brillant to read Milltown Row 2

What I liked and admired about Ardmachaabu was his political  beliefs which I recognise not all on this board would agree with,  but where what I would have agreed with him myself.

He had his position and he stubbornly stuck with it . Really admired him for that.
Backed me up only last weekend on the Thatcher debate.

Quality poster!!!

RIP
Post by: JUst retired on November 07, 2010, 07:21:38 AM
I have just read this very sad news this morning. It feels like a family member has passed away,and I never knew the person. My prayers this morning will be with his wife and kids. May he rest in peace.
Post by: Ball Hopper on November 07, 2010, 08:44:53 AM
RIP

Post by: downredblack on November 07, 2010, 08:53:00 AM
Shocking sad news , thoughts and prayers are with his family . RIP Ardmhachaabu .
Post by: ziggysego on November 07, 2010, 09:14:41 AM
I didn't want to say too much yesterday on this thread, as the news came too much of a shock to me. I guess that is the measure of the man and the board. That someone who is effectively faceless and nameless can have such a bearing on you. He truly was a gentlemen and spoke of great love and affection for his wife and children. It was not hard to see the joy that they brought into his life and has ONeill said yesterday and Ardmhachaabu alluded to in a previous thread, they have made these last few years the happiest he has ever been.

I would have spoken to him many times here on the gaaboard, Facebook and on Twitter. A fantastic man, who wasn't shy in reminding me that Tyrone may have won 3 All-Ireland, his beloved Armagh got their first.

The gaaboard will miss him, as indeed will I.

RIP Stephen.
Post by: stpauls on November 07, 2010, 09:15:37 AM
Holy crap, after what has happened to me last week, this has brought me back to Earth with a bump!
my thoughts and prayers are with his family as this sad time!
RIP
Post by: haranguerer on November 07, 2010, 09:37:22 AM
RIP

A lot of the posts make reference to not 'actually' knowing him. I think that is inaccurate. In todays age, face to face interaction is less common that communication via the net, and so everyone who had interaction with Ardmhachaabu on here knew him imo. I know that I would feel a strong affinity with posters on here, esp those (all) I argue with, and I dont feel that I dont 'properly' know them, just that I know them in a different way, in a similar way to everyone having work colleagues and their usual mates for e.g

May god rest his soul.
Post by: Fluffy Che on November 07, 2010, 10:05:11 AM
Very sad, my thoughts and prayers go out to his young family. RIP.
Post by: Redhand Santa on November 07, 2010, 10:54:55 AM
Very very sad - RIP.
Post by: FL/MAYO on November 07, 2010, 12:56:15 PM
Awful news, I would like to think that his children will have some great memories of their dad especially his two year old, he seemed to be very involved in their upbringing that kind of unconditional love cannot forgotten. RIP Stephen.
Post by: Rois on November 07, 2010, 01:33:55 PM
This has made me feel very sad. Go mbeadh solas agua suaimhneas De aige.

Uplifting to see the typical Irish community reaction throughout the thread. I love being Irish.
Post by: Oraisteach on November 07, 2010, 02:03:26 PM
Very sad news to wake up to.
Post by: Nally Stand on November 07, 2010, 02:10:43 PM
I've been off the board for last last day or two and have only seen this now. Sickening news alright. I'm guessing that I'm not the only one who seen the thread title at first and thought it was ardmhacha announcing his retirement from the board or something! Then I seen the thread was started by someone else and it was clear something wasn't right.

Like many others on here I never knew the man personally and as many more of you would know, himself and myself crossed swords on repeated occasions and it was no secret that we didn't see eye to eye in general; however even when we'd both have lost the temper with other, he'd have been the first man to come back and state an agreement with you on a separate thread about something else. He wore his heart on his sleeve and as someone who tends to do likewise, I genuinely respected him for that.

You left quite an impression ardmhachaabu.

God Rest.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 07, 2010, 02:17:52 PM
I'm very taken aback by this news. So sad, so sudden and so tragic. Mortality is something most of us rarely contemplate yet it seems so unfair that life is grasped from someone so young so suddenly.

I wouldn't have engaged ardmhachaabu too often and had a fairly terse argument with him a couple of weeks ago. Such petty disputes seem so utterly irrelevant now.

May he Rest in Peace.
Post by: caughtredhanded on November 07, 2010, 02:39:30 PM
This news has saddened me greatly, my thoughts and prayers are with Ardmhachaabu's family. May God grant him eternal peace.
Post by: boojangles on November 07, 2010, 02:50:46 PM
RIP Ardmhacaabu. Thoughts are with his family.
Post by: trileacman on November 07, 2010, 03:07:22 PM
Me and Ardmhacaabu often stood side by side in the ould Stoop-Shinner debate. A poster I respected and behind the pseudonym a man I considered would be moral, courageous and loved. In the time since his passing my assertions have been proved to be true.

His death is a tragedy and to think such an good man, of moral beliefs and outstanding character, could be taken from his family at such a young age has shocked and saddened me.

Rest in peace Ardmachaabu.

From your erstwhile ally,
trileacman.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 07, 2010, 03:30:07 PM
Terrible sad news altogether. Didn't know the guy at all and that seems to have been my loss. My thoughts are with his wife and kids. RIP.
Post by: Midman on November 07, 2010, 03:59:27 PM
Like so many here when i saw this thread I thought he was retiring from the board. The reality was much harder to take. An Armagh man through and through. My thoughts go to his wife and young family. May he rest in peace.
Post by: Declan on November 07, 2010, 04:39:16 PM
Must admit I did see the title of the thread yesterday and assumed it was a joke. Only reading it know and deepest symapthies to his wife and family and all who knew him. Very sad news. RIP.
Post by: Shrewdness on November 07, 2010, 04:58:13 PM
It's frightening really how even young people can quite literally be here today and gone tomorrow...Age doesn't seem to figure in death nowadays.
I recently heard of a 17 year old lad who died suddenly.
Modern life, especially in the Ireland of today, is taking it's toll in a lot of hidden ways such as stress, worry and the rest of it.

None of us know what's around the corner, and nowadays, maybe that's just as well.

My condolences to his family and may he rest in peace.
Post by: Orior on November 07, 2010, 05:20:10 PM
RIP
Post by: J70 on November 07, 2010, 05:39:05 PM
Haven't been around here much lately, but I do remember Ardmhachaabu from some threads I was active on. Very, very sad, especially with, apparently, a couple of young children left behind. RIP. :-[
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 07, 2010, 05:55:13 PM
Called today at Stephens mothers house and to say it was emotional is an understatement, was pure sadness and shock at his death.

True to his character he is was in his Armagh shirt, spoke to his heart broken sister and explained that i worked with him and told her about his Gaa Board friends and how they felt after hearing the tragic news.

Funeral is at 11 from Dunmurray tomorrow

Rest in peace Stephen
Post by: anportmorforjfc on November 07, 2010, 05:58:15 PM
RIP
Post by: fitzroyalty on November 07, 2010, 06:20:34 PM
RIP. Condolences to his young family.
Post by: deiseach on November 07, 2010, 07:58:35 PM
Makes you wonder how many posters who are no longer with us are genuinely no longer with us. Condolences to his family and friends
Post by: ONeill on November 07, 2010, 08:06:21 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 07, 2010, 05:55:13 PM
Called today at Stephens mothers house and to say it was emotional is an understatement, was pure sadness and shock at his death.

True to his character he is was in his Armagh shirt, spoke to his heart broken sister and explained that i worked with him and told her about his Gaa Board friends and how they felt after hearing the tragic news.

Rest in peace Stephen

Thanks a million MR for representing us.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 07, 2010, 08:09:23 PM
Was just about to say the same thing O Neill. Fair play MR
Post by: Mack the finger on November 07, 2010, 08:19:57 PM
I was with his family today and its just incredibly difficult to take in. As others have already said,
he leaves behind two young boys and a wife and a family who loved Stephen very, very much.
Its hard for me to say too much at the moment but its heartening to see so many messages
of support from the posters here and how highly many of you thought of him.
At some point, down the line, I'll show this thread to his family to let them see the messages of condolonce and support from Stephens Gaaboard friends.
Post by: Throw ball on November 07, 2010, 08:21:52 PM
Have never been aware of his identity but having been in mass today am putting two and two together. I have not seen Stephen in about twenty five years and when I heard today was terribly shocked. His late father was a friend of my fathers when the family lived in Armagh. Always found his contributions to the board well observed. My prayers are with his family. Tragic. Rest in peace Stephen.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on November 07, 2010, 09:11:59 PM
Very sad news indeed. RIP
Post by: snoopdog on November 07, 2010, 09:19:38 PM
Rest in peace Ardmhachaabu. thoughts and prayers with your family
Post by: mackers on November 07, 2010, 09:25:33 PM
Sad news indeed, RIP
Post by: downgirl on November 07, 2010, 09:26:19 PM
Only a week ago I was wondering why the Ireland shinty/hurling panel had an Armagh man on it, ardmhachaabbu enlighted me on facebook saying that in fact he was a brilliant hurler and that Armagh are a good up and coming team.  An Armagh man through and through, like many others have said, every photo of him on facebook has he has his armagh jersey on.  Thoughts are with his wife, boys and his family.  RIP.
Post by: turk on November 07, 2010, 09:29:56 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 07, 2010, 05:55:13 PM

Rest in peace Stephen

Maith thú MR
Post by: turk on November 07, 2010, 09:30:54 PM
Quote from: Mack the finger on November 07, 2010, 08:19:57 PM
I was with his family today and its just incredibly difficult to take in. As others have already said,
he leaves behind two young boys and a wife and a family who loved Stephen very, very much.
Its hard for me to say too much at the moment but its heartening to see so many messages
of support from the posters here and how highly many of you thought of him.
At some point, down the line, I'll show this thread to his family to let them see the messages of condolonce and support from Stephens Gaaboard friends.

Maith thú Mack
Post by: Abble on November 07, 2010, 09:43:45 PM
Still in a bit of shock about this all day. a bit of an eery feeling about the whole thing as everyone here is interacting in some way, this is my ever experience of this kind of grief and it is every bit as bad.

RIP Stephen and my thoughts are with your whole family circle.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 07, 2010, 10:02:13 PM
Shocking news, RIP Stephen.
Post by: Orangemac on November 07, 2010, 10:39:50 PM
Very sad news.Condolences to his family.

We all gripe about sport and things in general but something like this brings home what is really important.
Post by: angermanagement on November 07, 2010, 10:43:20 PM
Very sad news RIP, thoughts are with his family and friends.
Post by: orangeman on November 07, 2010, 11:13:53 PM
Given the overwhelming reaction to the untimely passing of Ardmhachaabu and having guaged the reaction of posters, it has been decided to send a mass card on behalf of posters on the GAA board to express our sympathy to Ardmahachabu's wife and family at this very difficult time.

Should you wish to send a personal message and to maintain confidentiality, please PM me so that this can be arranged.

At the end of the week, the thread will be edited and printed by Ziggy and given to the family as a mark of respect and as a sign of the huge contribution he made to the board and to show the respect that he had from fellow posters on the board. Hopefully the family will show how valued a poster Ardmhacaabu was on the board and the impact that his very untimely death has had on us all.
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 07, 2010, 11:29:31 PM
Excellent idea lads, If there is anything I can do to help please let me know.
Post by: WaterBoy on November 07, 2010, 11:48:55 PM
Very sad news, RIP
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on November 07, 2010, 11:49:37 PM
 Orangeman that is very classy idea will go down well with the family. You have to feel for the wife and kids. Everyone that walks through the family door they will expect it to be their husband, daddy. Very tough on the children, at that age your parents are your whole world. It will be a somber Christmas. Mary Queen of the Gael pray for Stephen.
Post by: wavesofTORRES on November 08, 2010, 12:27:54 AM
I am stunned by this news. As I look my my own babies sleep tonite my heart breaks for his poor family. RIP man we will all miss you. This is an example of why the GAA is the greatest sporting organisation in the world and I like all of us are proud to be part of it . God bless all. Why am I close to tears for someone I never met?
Post by: Goldengreen on November 08, 2010, 12:57:22 AM
Shocking news, my he rest in peace
Post by: Tyrones own on November 08, 2010, 02:15:02 AM
 Mass being said for himself and his family here on Tuesday morning
Desperate sad altogether..RIP ardmhachaabu
Post by: umgolaarmagh on November 08, 2010, 06:31:30 AM
So Sad to hear of Stephen's passing away, RIP
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 08, 2010, 08:10:59 AM
Shocking news and absolutely tragic for his wife and young children.

Nothing else I can add that hasn't been said already, but anyone who has seen his facebook can only admire how devoted he was to his family.

May he rest in peace.
Post by: ballygawleyman on November 08, 2010, 08:21:52 AM
Shocking news.

May he rest in peace.

Its been said many times on this thread but sometimes you forget about the human element of a message forum.

We may be face to face strangers but we have come to know the person through his postings RIP
Post by: Zapatista on November 08, 2010, 08:36:02 AM
Thanks for all the discussion

RIP
Post by: glens abu on November 08, 2010, 09:00:59 AM
Absolutely shocking news,so very sad leaving behind a young family.RIP Ardmhachaabu.
Post by: Banana Man on November 08, 2010, 09:16:21 AM
QuoteExcellent idea lads, If there is anything I can do to help please let me know.

Only after logging on and seeing this thread, was away all weekend but this is just tragic

it's hard to know what to say in such circumstances, I suppose the reality we forget is that why we all post on her under usernames, the people behind these names are all living, breathing individuals with families and friends and lives.

Your heart has to go out to the young children who never knew their father.

I suppose this is an  argument for posting on the internet as it might help preserve the thinking of their father and in the years to come when they ask what sort of person he was they can have some insight into his thoughts and ideas and who he was.

RIP
Post by: Bingo on November 08, 2010, 09:46:23 AM
Former poster (bingobus) who had engaged Ardmhachaabu before on the board and i just felt i should post something to mark his passing. Always came across very well to me and seemed to believe in what he posted.

Shocking sad news and I can't believe to imagine the pain his family must be feeling. I'd have a similar profile to him - age, family set-up - and its not worth even thinking about losing any of the family unit in any way.

Great to read alot of the posts and tributes to him.

RIP.
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 08, 2010, 09:52:54 AM
Just after logging on to the board , so shocked to learn of his passing at such a young age.  It really does feel like the passing of someone you know personally as despite our 'differences' on here we all enjoy the banter that goes with it and we all have more in common than we care to let on sometimes.
Massive loss for his family.  RIP and my deep condolences to them at this very sad time, hopefullly they can be comforted in some small way by the comments on here.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 08, 2010, 09:54:32 AM
May you RIP Ardmhachaabu
Post by: illdecide on November 08, 2010, 10:16:43 AM
This is the first i have seen of this as i don't get on the board as much these days but i'm shocked to hear this sad news. Stephen has helped me out several times in the past when the PC was giving bother and many a man would have got fed up with fools like me asking for free advise and he never once refused...

May he rest in peace
Post by: isourboydownyet on November 08, 2010, 10:40:54 AM
shocked! RIP
Post by: Stall the Bailer on November 08, 2010, 10:46:25 AM
Very sad news to hear.
Seemed a very honest person with strong faith.

RIP Ardmhachaabu

Your in my prayers.
Post by: westmayo on November 08, 2010, 11:15:35 AM
Tragic news, RIP, my thoughts are with his family
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on November 08, 2010, 11:24:22 AM
RIP.

Awfully sad news.

This thread is a great tribute to the man.
Post by: Denn Forever on November 08, 2010, 11:27:02 AM
Its weird, you only know people by their Poster name but the sense of disbelief is still profound.

Condolences to his family and extended family.

RIP.
Post by: give her dixie on November 08, 2010, 12:14:02 PM
Having been away all weekend, this indeed is terrible news.

Stephen was always honest and genuine in his posts, and he got great entertainment out of us Tyrone boys.

The board has lost one of the true genuine characters.

RIP Stephen.
Post by: Ball Hopper on November 08, 2010, 12:53:53 PM
Quote from: wavesofTORRES on November 08, 2010, 12:27:54 AM
I am stunned by this news. As I look my my own babies sleep tonite my heart breaks for his poor family. RIP man we will all miss you. This is an example of why the GAA is the greatest sporting organisation in the world and I like all of us are proud to be part of it . God bless all. Why am I close to tears for someone I never met?

Fantastic post that says what a lot of us struggle to get through a keyboard.  Forget post of the year...Greatest Post Ever.

Post by: johnneycool on November 08, 2010, 01:35:26 PM

It's never good when one so young dies.

RIP Ardmhachaabu

Post by: Franko on November 08, 2010, 01:39:10 PM
Many's a row I had with him but everthing fades into insignificance on hearing news like this.

RIP.
Post by: Billys Boots on November 08, 2010, 02:16:37 PM
Only seeing this now; very sad and shocking news indeed.  I was reading his posts about something last week. 

Sympathies to his family and friends.
Post by: balladmaker on November 08, 2010, 03:08:00 PM
I've been away from the internet over the past few days, and have just logged on this afternoon to read this news.

Shocked to the core, my heartfelt sympathies to Ardmhachaabu's wife, children, family and all who knew him.  I feel physically sick. 

May he rest in peace.
Post by: EC Unique on November 08, 2010, 03:27:01 PM
Far too young with far too much to live for, not fair.

RIP.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 08, 2010, 03:58:11 PM
Very sad news.

Condolences to his family

RIP
Post by: supersarsfields on November 08, 2010, 04:33:31 PM
Very sad news indeed.

RIP
Post by: Cde on November 08, 2010, 04:45:38 PM
Very sorry to hear this news

RIP
Post by: Sandino on November 08, 2010, 05:36:07 PM
I was one of the first people to offer condolences on this thread. To be honest, when I did so, I was still hoping that the news was incorrect.  Time has proved otherwise. There is nothing I can add to what has been said so eloquently by many others.  I would like to offer my sincere condolence to Stephens family and friends.  Rest in Peace
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 08, 2010, 05:50:22 PM
just came across this thread and i can't believe it, as some of the of the other posters said it is a surreal feeling . i was just reading some of his posts last week . my thoughts and prayers are with his family at this time . RIP
Post by: tyronefan on November 08, 2010, 06:25:37 PM
RIP Stephen

You will be missed
Post by: bcarrier on November 08, 2010, 07:40:10 PM
Only clicked on here now. Shocking .

RIP
Post by: Pangurban on November 08, 2010, 08:25:41 PM
Have just logged on, and seen this sad,tragic news. It certainly puts life in perspective. Deepest condolences to his Wife and young family,may the faith that Stephen so often displayed in his post sustain them through this awful ordeal
Post by: Candyman on November 08, 2010, 08:44:55 PM
Have been viewing the thread over the weekend, this is the first chance I've got to post...
Like many on here, never knew the man personally and at first it was surreal when reading. This thread sums up how he was thought of by everyone on the board and it will surely be a tough time for all friends and family this Christmas... R.I.P
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 08, 2010, 08:47:51 PM
Quote from: Sandino on November 08, 2010, 05:36:07 PM
I was one of the first people to offer condolences on this thread. To be honest, when I did so, I was still hoping that the news was incorrect.  Time has proved otherwise. There is nothing I can add to what has been said so eloquently by many others.  I would like to offer my sincere condolence to Stephens family and friends.  Rest in Peace

Similar here. When I initially posted I was quite shocked so didn't say much so just wanted to add a couple of things. Stephen and his family have constantly been in my thoughts since I heard the news, it's very hard to believe that he was posting away on Thursday night and then a couple of days later there is this thread.  We exchanged a good few pms, disagreed quite a few times but (as I think someone else said) you could have a row with him on one thread and he'd be pming you or having a laugh with you on another.  Or offering you IT advice!!! He obviously cherished his wife and children...and Armagh!  I can't imagine what his family are going through but I'm sure he said before that he and his wife shared the same strong faith so I hope that is a comfort to her.  RIP Stephen.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on November 08, 2010, 08:49:17 PM
RIP

Very very sad. Condolences to his wife, children, family & friends.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on November 08, 2010, 08:53:22 PM
Very sad loss.
He always struck me as a very genuine lad.
RIP
Post by: Mid Down Gael on November 08, 2010, 09:16:07 PM
Awful awful news. Cant belive this. RIP Ardmhachaabu. Deepest sympathy to his family.
Post by: Lecale2 on November 08, 2010, 09:20:41 PM
RIP
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 08, 2010, 09:35:07 PM
Still in a state of numbed disbelief today; any word on the cause of death?
Post by: ziggysego on November 08, 2010, 09:38:15 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 08, 2010, 08:47:51 PM

Similar here. When I initially posted I was quite shocked so didn't say much so just wanted to add a couple of things. Stephen and his family have constantly been in my thoughts since I heard the news, it's very hard to believe that he was posting away on Thursday night and then a couple of days later there is this thread.  We exchanged a good few pms, disagreed quite a few times but (as I think someone else said) you could have a row with him on one thread and he'd be pming you or having a laugh with you on another.  Or offering you IT advice!!! He obviously cherished his wife and children...and Armagh!  I can't imagine what his family are going through but I'm sure he said before that he and his wife shared the same strong faith so I hope that is a comfort to her.  RIP Stephen.

Same as yourself Pints. Stephen has occupied my thoughts the whole weekend and today. Amazing when your consider I never met the man, but a measure of him as how he has made an impression on me.

I was really the Obituaries in the Irish News today and that really brought it home to me.

RIP Stephen.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 08, 2010, 09:41:21 PM
RIP
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 08, 2010, 09:51:52 PM
Was at Stephen's funeral today, very emotional. The Parish priest spoke of Stephen and his wife's strong faith which was so true of his character.

I'm sure Stephen's family will be hearten by Orangeman's idea of sending them the posts as a 'book of condolences'
Post by: Dougal on November 08, 2010, 11:06:13 PM
i disagreed with his opinion on many things (esp. religion) but there are few posters on here i respected more.he respected everyones opinion,and never held anything against anyone.i dont believe in god,but i think saying a prayer for him and his family is the least i can do.hopefully his familys faith is as strong as his and they'll find a way through this hard time

R.I.P
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 08, 2010, 11:16:39 PM
RIP
Post by: rossie mad on November 09, 2010, 12:08:25 PM

Just logged on this morning and i just cant describe how i feel.

Always loved his debates with his genuine beliefs and always stood by them.
Would not have agreed with him all the time but a genuine gael he will be missed by his community (virtual and real),freinds and most importantly his family whom by previous posts he cherished which as a fellow family man in my mind just speaks volumes for the man.

My feelings reading this is surreal just dont know what to say.

God be with you and your family always

Hope you get to see your beloved Armagh on the third sunday in Croke Park again.

RIP

Post by: Tony Baloney on November 09, 2010, 05:25:08 PM
Mods, can this be made a stickie in case people miss it?! Ta.
Post by: Evil Genius on November 09, 2010, 05:42:57 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 08, 2010, 09:38:15 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 08, 2010, 08:47:51 PM

Same as yourself Pints. Stephen has occupied my thoughts the whole weekend and today. Amazing when your consider I never met the man, but a measure of him as how he has made an impression on me.

I was really the Obituaries in the Irish News today and that really brought it home to me.
RIP Stephen.
Very sad news.

I actually agreed with AA on the occasional issue, disagreed with him on a whole lot more(!), but always respected his sincerity and consistency and looked forward to opening his posts.

P.S. Could you (or someone else) post his Obituary from the Irish News up here (I am not a subscriber)
Post by: ziggysego on November 09, 2010, 06:02:14 PM
I'll stick it up later EG.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 09, 2010, 07:56:08 PM
Weird thing happened there, I never read my PMs as I don't get many  :D but one of the Mayo lads just sent me one about another topic and I noticed my last two PMs where from Ardmhachaabu wondering why I had said something on a thread. His next one was to say "no bother". I had said something that he had misinterpreted and I had explained and he seemed happy enough to leave it at that. I thought that was quite sound to be honest.
Post by: winsamsoon on November 09, 2010, 08:56:07 PM
Sitting here in an Armagh top and this was the first thing came into my mind.

I think it's testiment to the lad with the amount of people positively commenting on this thread. From experience i know there are a lot of folk on here that are difficult to get on with and have very strong views. On many occassions debates can be very heated but the fact that a lad whom the majority of the posters don't know perosnally, can be spoken of in such a positive light is really a indication to the great character he must have been.

No doubt it will be a sad loss to the GAA community and his family but he will live on in the memmory of all the posters. I hope the family can find some comfort in the fact that we will all miss Stephens posts and banter. 
Post by: orangeman on November 09, 2010, 10:14:37 PM
For the benefit of those who have not read all the pages on the thread.
Given the overwhelming reaction to the untimely passing of Ardmhachaabu and having guaged the reaction of posters, it has been decided to send a mass card on behalf of posters on the GAA board to express our sympathy to Ardmahachabu's wife and family at this very difficult time.

Should you wish to send a personal message and to maintain confidentiality, please PM me so that this can be arranged.

At the end of the week, the thread will be edited and printed by Ziggy and given to the family as a mark of respect and as a sign of the huge contribution he made to the board and to show the respect that he had from fellow posters on the board. Hopefully the family will show how valued a poster Ardmhacaabu was on the board and the impact that his very untimely death has had on us all.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on November 09, 2010, 11:04:15 PM
A close friend mentioned to me today about Stephen and I could not believe it. I knocked about with him in the late 1980s and he was also at our school. I had no idea that he was 'who he was' on this board. I can assure you that he had not his sorrows to seek in life. God rest you Stephen - RIP.  :'(
Post by: rrhf on November 10, 2010, 09:45:33 AM
Very real and also surreal way to learn this terrible news. The reactions speak volumes.     
RIP Stephen.   
Post by: DubOnHoliday on November 10, 2010, 10:34:59 AM
I'd like to pass on condolences to Ardmahachabu's family and friends at this tragic time from all at ReservoirDubs.com.
Post by: holylandsniper on November 10, 2010, 01:57:51 PM
Post by: supersub on November 10, 2010, 02:00:04 PM
Always very sad to hear of a death conncected to something you are part of - in this case the board does seem like a community which he was a big part of. Condolences to his family and friends, very sad situation. Rest in peace
Post by: Galwaybhoy on November 10, 2010, 02:42:41 PM
I don't be on GAABoard as much as I used to and its very sad to hear this.  May he Rest In Peace and I 'd like to pass on my condolences to all his family and friends.
Post by: Lone Shark on November 10, 2010, 03:01:11 PM
Somehow managed to miss this thread up to now and it's a huge shock to see something like this.

Condolences to his family and friends who have just suffered a huge loss.

Post by: Puckoon on November 10, 2010, 08:43:00 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 06, 2010, 09:07:16 PM
The last 2-3 years of his life were undoubtedly his happiest. Doted on his wife and children.

I was driving home last night and couldnt get Stephen out of my head. We had a bit of a twist about somthing on a thread a few months back about something pretty innocuous and it seemed to have been the last time we corresponded - which was a shame. Anyway - as you say O'Neill from his facebook postings, and his postings on here - he doted on his family, and was completely devoted to them.

I found a phrase from a song I love to listen to and it makes me think about the family back home - and last night for some reason I couldnt get it out of my head thinking about Stephen and his family and his little ones - and maybe down the line even if they never hear the words - the might come to realise as adults how much their father loved them.

Always remember, there was nothing worth sharing - like the love that let us share our name.

Rest in Peace Stephen, and fear not - I have a feeling your children, although deprived of your presence, will never be deprived of your love.
Post by: Banana Man on November 10, 2010, 09:28:19 PM
QuoteQuote from: ONeill on November 06, 2010, 09:07:16 PM

I was driving home last night and couldnt get Stephen out of my head. We had a bit of a twist about somthing on a thread a few months back about something pretty innocuous and it seemed to have been the last time we corresponded - which was a shame. Anyway - as you say O'Neill from his facebook postings, and his postings on here - he doted on his family, and was completely devoted to them.

I found a phrase from a song I love to listen to and it makes me think about the family back home - and last night for some reason I couldnt get it out of my head thinking about Stephen and his family and his little ones - and maybe down the line even if they never hear the words - the might come to realise as adults how much their father loved them.

Always remember, there was nothing worth sharing - like the love that let us share our name.Rest in Peace Stephen, and fear not - I have a feeling your children, although deprived of your presence, will never be deprived of your love.

Well said puck, well said.
Post by: border rabbit on November 10, 2010, 10:30:42 PM
 RIP Stephen, may you rest in peace, and may your wife and young family take comfort from the respect and love that people on this board, and no doubt the broader community, have shown him.

This sort of news only makes you realise how well off you actually are, and how you should cherish every moment with your wife and children.

Armagh GAA has lost a true friend.
Post by: Erwin Rommel on November 10, 2010, 11:47:09 PM
RIP
Post by: Never beat the deeler on November 11, 2010, 07:21:56 AM
Been away for a while, but saddened to hear the death of a young man.

RIP
Post by: Bud Wiser on November 11, 2010, 07:29:58 PM
I don't be on here that much now and just saw this tonight and I am absolutely shocked.  I just don't know what to say other than that he was a good man and one of our members here on the board and he will be missed.  To his wife and children I offer my sincere condolences.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 11, 2010, 10:33:03 PM
RIP
Post by: Highlander3 on November 12, 2010, 12:16:02 AM
RIP
Post by: Ulick on November 12, 2010, 08:56:26 AM
This is my first time on Gaaboard in over 4 months and I'm truly shocked and saddened to hear this. I was chatting to Stephen and his wife briefly after the Dublin game earlier in the year and was glad to hear that he recognised my verbal assaults for the insignificant online banter it was. They were there that day with their beautiful new baby and my heart goes out to his wife and family circle. I know Ardmhachaabu was religious man and I will ensure a Mass is offered for the repose of his soul this weekend. The thoughts and prayers of my family and I are with Stephen and his family.

Post by: The Gs Man on November 12, 2010, 09:59:17 AM
RIP. Terrible news.
Post by: michelleire on November 12, 2010, 06:58:52 PM
A message from the family of Stephen McGahan

I am Stephen's sister Michelle.

On Behalf of my family I would like to thank you all for your kind messages.  We found them truly heartwarming at this difficult time.

We buried Stephen in his 2002 Armagh jersey with my late father.  Late in the evening a few of us joined hands and sang 'The Boys From The County Armagh'.

I would like to ask you all for your support and invite you to join the Facebook group set up in his memory.

It is called 'In memory of James and Stephen McGahan'

ARD MHACHA ABU

From all the McGahan family

Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on November 12, 2010, 07:02:49 PM
Michelle,  hope you all find the strength to get through these days.
Post by: michelleire on November 12, 2010, 08:40:40 PM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on November 12, 2010, 07:02:49 PM
Michelle,  hope you all find the strength to get through these days.

Thank you.  Please join our facebook group.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 12, 2010, 09:24:00 PM
Good to hear from you Michelle, on behalf of Stephen and the McGahan family. I echo what Do Yer Job Linesman says. I'm not on facebook myself but my wife is and i will get her to look it up and join.I hope you see from here, and take comfort from, how much Stephen was thought of on here.

P.S

he would have love to have seen all this and would have had some laugh to himself too !!
Post by: michelleire on November 12, 2010, 09:51:55 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 12, 2010, 09:24:00 PM
Good to hear from you Michelle, on behalf of Stephen and the McGahan family. I echo what Do Yer Job Linesman says. I'm not on facebook myself but my wife is and i will get her to look it up and join.I hope you see from here, and take comfort from, how much Stephen was thought of on here.

P.S

he would have love to have seen all this and would have had some laugh to himself too !!

Thank you, we have a battle on our hands and need all the support we can get on this matter

Michelleire
Post by: Newbridge Exile on November 12, 2010, 11:24:06 PM
RIP Stephen , I have just sent facebook request to join Michelle
Post by: michelleire on November 12, 2010, 11:53:25 PM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on November 12, 2010, 11:24:06 PM
RIP Stephen , I have just sent facebook request to join Michelle

Thank you so much for joining us.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on November 13, 2010, 12:36:08 PM
Had been seeing if i could stay off the oul board for a month, and come back to see this news; terrible, absoutely terrible;
sincere condolences to all of your family Michelle;

as a father of two under two myself i cant bear to imagine what your family are going through;

again,like a few on here, i didnt know Stephen personally, but definitely knew his moniker;

shocked by this all; RIP
Post by: michelleire on November 15, 2010, 02:49:09 PM
Can I please ask all of Stephens online GAA family to PM me for information on how you can support us at this difficult time.

WE NEED YOUR HELP

Ard Mhacha Abu

Michelleire
Post by: funtime frankie on November 15, 2010, 03:18:21 PM
I only found out about Stephen's death on Friday and although I've known him for a long time I didn't realise that he was Ard Mhaca Abu. I thought that Armagh hoodie was nailed to his back. It was easy to pick him out at mass - let's face it not too many people wear Armagh hoodies in Belfast and even less wear them to mass. Terrible news. Very, very sad. I have been in shock since I heard the news. I can remember when his father was murdered and then this very untimely death must be terrible for the poor family. Simply awful.

Suaimhneas síoraí da anam gaelach agus déanaim comhbhrón lena mhuintir go hairithe lena bhean óg.
Post by: Sandy Hill on November 15, 2010, 04:19:43 PM
Just saw this thread now - R.I.P.
Post by: venter on November 16, 2010, 09:24:18 AM
very sorry to see this news about ardmhacaabu. very sad. RIP
Post by: michelleire on November 18, 2010, 07:17:24 PM
Thought you guys might appreciate this video of photo memories.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FIYDZTVReYg

Michelleire
Post by: sammymaguire on November 18, 2010, 07:28:59 PM
This link did not work for me
Post by: michelleire on November 18, 2010, 07:44:57 PM
Strange...I clicked it again there myself and it worked...

Try this one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FIYDZTVReYg
Post by: Gaffer on November 18, 2010, 08:51:51 PM
A lovely tribute !!!

Thanks for that Michelleire
Post by: ONeill on November 18, 2010, 09:14:12 PM
A fitting tribute.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on November 18, 2010, 09:26:16 PM
Truly heartbreaking.  A lovely wife and two great wee lads.  God bless.
Post by: CountyGK on November 18, 2010, 09:29:41 PM
Terrible news, RIP
Post by: gerry on November 18, 2010, 09:31:33 PM
Just opened the mckenna cup post tread and stephens was the second last post and ever time i see the computer help tread i think of him and the queries he helped us with.  tara what a few weeks can do.
Post by: delboy on November 18, 2010, 09:32:13 PM
Very sad, my heart goes out to his wife and children and also to the rest of his family.
Post by: michelleire on November 18, 2010, 09:51:42 PM
Glad you all like it - I look forward to the day I can watch it and smile.

Ya know he actually threatened to wear his Armagh top to the altar on his wedding day!!
Post by: ONeill on November 18, 2010, 10:31:08 PM
Quote from: michelleire on November 18, 2010, 09:51:42 PM

Ya know he actually threatened to wear his Armagh top to the altar on his wedding day!!

Bet ye he's feckin giving the Tyrone crowd hell up there!!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 18, 2010, 10:37:39 PM

I can well believe it.

As ONeill says, there are more than a few shaken Tyronies up there!
Post by: glens abu on November 19, 2010, 10:36:29 AM
Terrible sad and a lovely tribute.RIP Stephen.
Post by: Top of the hill on November 19, 2010, 11:30:09 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 10, 2010, 08:43:00 PM

Rest in Peace Stephen, and fear not - I have a feeling your children, although deprived of your presence, will never be deprived of your love.

Just saw this thread and read through it. I don't post on here that often so had no interaction with Stephen but read his contributions to the board many times.

Heartfelt sympathies to his family, especially his wife and children, at this difficult time.

As a father of a 2 yr old myself i think the quote above sums up my thoughts far more eloquently than i ever could.

RIP Stephen.
Post by: michelleire on November 21, 2010, 02:00:18 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 18, 2010, 10:37:39 PM

I can well believe it.

As ONeill says, there are more than a few shaken Tyronies up there!

LOL I bet there are!!

Stephen's months mind Mass is on the 5th of December at Our Lady Queen of Peace Chapel on Upper Dunmurry Lane. Light refreshments at Mums afterwards.

Would love to see any of you there xx

Michelle
Post by: Armamike on November 23, 2010, 12:25:38 AM
Very saddened to hear about Stephen.  I was at the CBS Armagh with Stephen and hadn't seen or heard of him since those days (like many of my classmates). A very intelligent, decent lad. I didn't realise he was a regular poster here, which is a pity now - it would have been good to make contact again. Stephen and his family are in my prayers. RIP.
Post by: lawnseed on November 23, 2010, 09:28:19 AM
saw this thread a couple of times and i didnt even open it i thought it was a wind up. good guy, good poster who enjoyed the craic he'll be missed

RIP
Post by: flog the lot on November 23, 2010, 09:57:27 AM
RIP

Very very sad
Post by: Joxer on November 23, 2010, 10:10:49 AM
Always enjoyed reading his posts.

RIP
Post by: eireogatron on November 26, 2010, 12:32:11 PM
was off for a few weeks on paternity leave and logged into another site to learn of this yesterday.

Gobsmacked and shocked are the 2 words that come to mind. Having just had my first child 3 weeks ago I cannot express or imagine what the family will be going through with the 2 we-ans of ardmhachaabus

My deepest sorrow and condolences to his family and friends. Absolutely desperate news.

I think this thread speaks volumes about him and his popularity, as well as the quality of the GAA community in which he lived and we carry on in his tragic absence.

RIP Stephen
Post by: ziggysego on December 02, 2010, 11:56:17 AM
I just wanted to thank everyone for the comments they left for Stephen on the board here. As you know, Orangeman and I have been working on compiling the comments on the post, the private messages and the messages sent to me on Facebook, to present to the McGahan.

I finally got it all completed this week and put it in the post this morning.

Many thanks again for contributing and I hope it will bring some comfort to his family in the months and years ahead.
Post by: michelleire on December 03, 2010, 10:31:45 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 02, 2010, 11:56:17 AM
I just wanted to thank everyone for the comments they left for Stephen on the board here. As you know, Orangeman and I have been working on compiling the comments on the post, the private messages and the messages sent to me on Facebook, to present to the McGahan.

Many thanks again for contributing and I hope it will bring some comfort to his family in the months and years ahead.

Really cant thank you guys enough for doing this.  We will cherish it.xx
Post by: michelleire on December 03, 2010, 09:03:30 PM
Quote from: michelleire on December 03, 2010, 10:31:45 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 02, 2010, 11:56:17 AM

Really cant thank you guys enough for doing this.  We will cherish it.xx
Just to let you know we got it this morning and again - can't thank you enough. We will treasure it forever.

Post by: mannix on December 03, 2010, 09:09:25 PM
Very sad to hear his passing.  strength to his family.
Post by: Kerry Mike on December 04, 2010, 01:41:51 AM
I got this message today from 1 of Stephen's sisters, well done Ziggy and Orangeman on getting the messages together , very nice touch lads.

Hi we received the book of tributes today.Thank you all so much for your kind words and thoughts.It was very emotional and greatly appreciated.Stephen would have been in his element.Please pass on our thanks and gratitude to everyone on the forum from all of us.Elaine.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on February 03, 2011, 02:21:40 PM
I haven't posted on the board in the past 18 months, occasionally read it, but not that much truth be told, and I stumbled on this thread by accident. Was shocked to read it, and find that on old poster who contributed so much to the board over the years had passed away. Really sad news. Great idea Orangeman and Ziggy, its a pity I wa unable to make a contribution, but glad to read the family really appreciated the book of tributes. Ardmhachaabu RIP
Post by: nifan on February 03, 2011, 03:16:20 PM
God ive rarley been on in last 3-4 months with new job and moving etc, so am only reading this now but am very shocked at this news.
Well done to the lads for organizing the book etc.
He will be missed.
Post by: Mack the finger on February 06, 2011, 04:01:12 AM
Amazing to hear Stephen's name mentioned during the ceremony
at half time for the new stand tonight. Meant a lot.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 06, 2011, 08:24:12 AM
Quote from: Mack the finger on February 06, 2011, 04:01:12 AM

Good stuff.
Post by: michelleire on February 06, 2011, 11:13:52 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on February 06, 2011, 08:24:12 AM
Quote from: Mack the finger on February 06, 2011, 04:01:12 AM

Wish I had been there to hear it - really touched.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on February 10, 2011, 01:25:26 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm Stephen's wife, Christiane.  I just wanted to say, thank you for all the thoughts, prayers and good memories you've shared.  This has been an extremely tough time for me and for our two boys.

I know that Stephen would have been touched and frankly, proud at the way he's been remembered.  He loved the GAA, he loved Armagh football and he loved the banter on this forum.

Thank you all.
Post by: Bud Wiser on February 10, 2011, 08:09:09 AM
Yes, He loved the GAA, he loved Armagh football and he loved the banter on this forum and he loved reminding me that I was from Leix or Queens County rather than Laois. I allowed Stephen the last say on this matter so I hope the thread is left alone.
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=17742.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=17742.0)
You and your boys can be well proud of Stephen.
Post by: Lazer on February 10, 2011, 02:03:24 PM
Just seen this thread

R.I.P
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 10, 2011, 10:22:56 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on February 10, 2011, 01:25:26 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm Stephen's wife, Christiane.  I just wanted to say, thank you for all the thoughts, prayers and good memories you've shared.  This has been an extremely tough time for me and for our two boys.

I know that Stephen would have been touched and frankly, proud at the way he's been remembered.  He loved the GAA, he loved Armagh football and he loved the banter on this forum.

Thank you all.

Tá Fáilte romhat, Christiane, you're very welcome.

We all miss him here, and hope you and your children are doing as well as you possibly can be.

Go n-éirí an bóthar libh go léir (best of luck to you all).
Post by: Niall Quinn on February 11, 2011, 02:00:29 AM
That's a lovely message christiane. I wish you and the boys all the strength for these tough times.
Post by: muppet on February 11, 2011, 03:20:18 AM
Quote from: Niall Quinn on February 11, 2011, 02:00:29 AM
That's a lovely message christiane. I wish you and the boys all the strength for these tough times.

Post by: Denn Forever on November 05, 2011, 01:22:24 PM
Only seems like yesterday.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 05, 2011, 01:24:27 PM
Can't believe it's been a year.
Post by: ziggysego on November 05, 2011, 01:39:36 PM
This year as really flown. Hard to believe it's been a year since Stephen passed away.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2011, 02:21:56 PM
How the f**k did he get such a light sentence.  The members of the club must be voting him in, why?!!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 06, 2011, 02:54:50 PM
Yes lets leave this stuff out. Would hate to think the McGahan's would be reading in on this
Post by: Tyrones own on November 06, 2011, 03:11:20 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 06, 2011, 02:54:50 PM
Yes lets leave this stuff out. Would hate to think the McGahan's would be reading in on this
Ah sure Stephen was no stranger to an auld spat on here, he'd probably be enjoying it
..as am I ;)
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 06, 2011, 03:13:44 PM
I will delete my post. Not because it is wrong, or offensive or I am worried who reads it but only so that this thread should remain as intended.
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 08, 2011, 11:32:53 PM
Mr Reid resigned from his post tonight. 
Post by: michelleire on November 10, 2011, 07:14:50 PM
I see you guys heard our news!

It's been a hard road since this time last year, raking up horrible memories on top of our grief but we had to do it for Stephen and for Daddy. The last thing we wanted was going to the media but Reid left us no choice since he and his club ignored all our correspondence. He even ignored a direct plea from my younger brother who phoned him and asked him straight to step down as a mark of respect to Daddy.

We met with Danny Murphy and Ryan Feeney twice to voice our grievance but they were powerless because each club is autonomous. I don't know of any other governing body that has no control or say regarding who represents their organisation which I feel is very wrong and something should be done to make sure scum like Reid are prevented from taking office in the future - even if this means changing the very constitution of the GAA.

Thanks again for all your emails and support over the last year.

Michelle

Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on November 15, 2011, 05:14:42 PM
Hi Lads,

There is no good I can see coming out of this thread going down this route. I won't have it turn into a thread where Stephen's memory is sullied by all sorts of name calling and abuse and counter abuse, and I don't think that would serve any purpose in any case.

It seems to me that his family have achieved what they set out, and I don't think there's anything more to be gained by abusing either the club or individual in question any further. Equally there's nothing to be gained by trying to reopen the entire debate at this juncture. There's nothing more to be said there. I am therefore going to delete the last few posts on this thread and ask that people respect the rules of this board, and respect Stephen's family by not picking at these wounds any more.

Thanks