Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: longrunsthefox on November 06, 2010, 12:20:27 AM

Title: Sketchy... hit or miss?
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 06, 2010, 12:20:27 AM
Anyone see this lad Diarmuid Corr the other night. From Derrylaughin. Wondering wat people thot of it. Go easy on him now!! was the first show and Monty Pythons got hammered at the start. IMO characters have potential but big time I think he needs funnier material.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obeyPkLa7QM
Title: Re: Sketchy... hit or miss?
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2010, 12:28:26 AM
Hit and miss, like most Irish comics. Some potentially very funny material. Sorta knew him growing up, never opened his mouth.

Comics now seem to struggle with juggling the modern (sex) with the old (accent/traits).

Terrible spelling of Derrylaughan though. Or is is Derrylaughen. Or Dirtyloughland.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 06, 2010, 12:35:40 AM
Quote from: ONeill on November 06, 2010, 12:28:26 AM
Hit and miss, like most Irish comics. Some potentially very funny material. Sorta knew him growing up, never opened his mouth.

Comics now seem to struggle with juggling the modern (sex) with the old (accent/traits).

Terrible spelling of Derrylaughan though. Or is is Derrylaughen. Or Dirtyloughland.

You spotted my deliberate mistake. Well done. Derry - laughin as in laughing and him a comedian...  :P
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2010, 12:38:02 AM
Watched a few of those youtube clips. A lot of misses. He's better at stand up but the one on RTE was poor.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 06, 2010, 12:42:10 AM
Trying to be gentle here but I was disapointed with the first show but live in hope that the characters will bed in and grow on the viewers. People rave now about James Young and clips of it are very funny (Emily Beattie etc) but when you watch full shows on video a lot of it was absolute sh*te. Not an easy game to craic.
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2010, 01:14:16 AM
I have to agree with ONeill, his stand up was much better than the sketches. The sketches weren't terrible, they just weren't brilliant. Plenty of room for improvement. A heck of a lot better than the sketch show The Hole In The Wall gang did a few years ago, Dry Your Eyes.
Post by: rrhf on November 06, 2010, 09:22:34 AM
...Or Dirtyloughland.
O neill - I invented that!!
Good lad Diarmuid - wish him well he could be a big grower.  I thought wanderin wi willie and claims man were class.  Strange when you know half the audience. 
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2010, 09:23:54 AM
Indeed you did RRHF!

To give him his dues it's fairly fresh comedy and having watched it again it had a few chucklers.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 06, 2010, 09:38:15 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 06, 2010, 01:14:16 AM
I have to agree with ONeill, his stand up was much better than the sketches. The sketches weren't terrible, they just weren't brilliant. Plenty of room for improvement. A heck of a lot better than the sketch show The Hole In The Wall gang did a few years ago, Dry Your Eyes.

You telling me to dry my eyes?!! I hope he does well and am only giving opinion! I see in other places you have aspirations to be Predisident of Ireland. Won't be much freedom of speech if that happens!
Post by: BennyHarp on November 06, 2010, 09:41:39 AM
I was in a few of Diarmuid's classes at the Acedemy, (probably when O'Neill was teaching in the Girls side) he was a nice lad then but I'd never have put him down as a comedian! Best of luck to him! By the way, he is Peadar's brother as far as I know.
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2010, 09:44:44 AM
Erm, I think you have the wrong O'Neill there, young man. I know who you're talking about and there'd be a good age difference!

I'd have been on the other side of the desk like yourself at that time.
Post by: BennyHarp on November 06, 2010, 09:46:48 AM
Ah right, sorry about that! Got my o'neills mixed up then!
Post by: Hardy on November 06, 2010, 11:28:42 AM
I thought the material was fairly good but the delivery was poor. He needs to work on his acting skills, but I have the feeling he doesn't have any.

Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 06, 2010, 12:42:10 AMPeople rave now about James Young

They do?
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 06, 2010, 01:20:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 06, 2010, 11:28:42 AM
I thought the material was fairly good but the delivery was poor. He needs to work on his acting skills, but I have the feeling he doesn't have any.

Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 06, 2010, 12:42:10 AMPeople rave now about James Young

They do?

Well, there would be glass tinted views of him by those who remember back that far. Still some of it was funny I suppose.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N4PD3Q5NICo
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2010, 01:22:29 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 06, 2010, 09:38:15 AM

You telling me to dry my eyes?!! I hope he does well and am only giving opinion! I see in other places you have aspirations to be Predisident of Ireland. Won't be much freedom of speech if that happens!

Are you claiming I'm a dissident?
Post by: Maguire01 on November 06, 2010, 02:12:28 PM
Brutal. I watched a few of those sketches and didn't even come close to laughing. Cringeworthy.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 06, 2010, 07:10:33 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 06, 2010, 02:12:28 PM
Brutal. I watched a few of those sketches and didn't even come close to laughing. Cringeworthy.

Give it time and maybe will bed in. i was dispointed as well but hopeing it will grow on us I suppose.
Post by: fitzroyalty on November 07, 2010, 06:30:47 PM
I've seen worse. The actual sketches are better than his stand up IMO. He's the type of comedian I could like (kinda a poor man's Neil Delamere) but I can see why he doesn't have a broad appeal. Dunno about anyone else but that Wander wi Willie sketch was hilarious - if like me you enjoy ridiculing the Ulster Scot programme that it's parodying.
Post by: JUst retired on November 07, 2010, 08:20:56 PM
I missed the show on Wed. night but saw it was repeated again at the week end. That gave me the chance to miss it again.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on November 08, 2010, 10:16:44 PM
Jury still out for me, but give him a chance as at least some (a good bit?) of it was refreshing. Also, goes beyond the 'tell a taig joke' and then 'tell a prod one' ..
Post by: ONeill on November 10, 2010, 11:01:59 PM
Mmmm - still hit and miss, being kind.
Post by: supersarsfields on November 10, 2010, 11:14:41 PM
Terrible, terrible tv. Cringeworthy!! Seriously was there anything funny there at all? 
Post by: DuffleKing on November 10, 2010, 11:31:19 PM
Haven't seen this at all but was skipping past it and thought I saw barry "the blender" henderson ?
Post by: ONeill on November 10, 2010, 11:40:04 PM
Yea, twas him I think. Get the feeling that Corr is on the verge of being funny at times but some sketches are poor to average..
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 11, 2010, 08:11:27 AM
happened to come across this show while waiting for match of the day christ it was brutul
Post by: ONeill on October 05, 2011, 08:28:30 PM
Series 2 on tonight around 10:30. Again, I hope it works out well for him...but...I still fear the worst. Hope I'm pleasantly surprised.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 05, 2011, 10:26:26 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 05, 2011, 08:28:30 PM
Series 2 on tonight around 10:30. Again, I hope it works out well for him...but...I still fear the worst. Hope I'm pleasantly surprised.
Sure you can be the one to watch it and let us know for Episode 2.
Post by: michaelg on October 05, 2011, 10:57:37 PM
Begs the question - Who commisioned this pish? 
Post by: ONeill on October 05, 2011, 11:06:52 PM
Wasn't deadly now.

Again, he's close to being funny at times but ...... feck me.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 05, 2011, 11:07:35 PM
Quote from: michaelg on October 05, 2011, 10:57:37 PM
Begs the question - Who commisioned this pish?
Probably the Head of Comedy in BBCNI who has perpetrated other crimes against humanity such as Give My Head Peace and Dry Your Eyes.
Post by: ziggysego on October 05, 2011, 11:09:22 PM
Should have been decommissioned, not recommissioned.
Post by: ONeill on October 05, 2011, 11:17:47 PM
The Moortown Sports Day had a lot of potential but was missed. I wish he'd quit with the estate agent crap.
Post by: muppet on October 05, 2011, 11:41:15 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 06, 2010, 09:38:15 AM

What a prescient post!

Tell us what you did between leaving the ZRA and becoming a Mod?
Post by: tbrick18 on October 06, 2011, 04:43:36 PM
It's an awful show....I saw him do stand up once as support for Colin Murphy....didnt think he was great then either.
Fair play to him I s'ppose for making a living out of it though, but I couldnt bring myself to watch that show again.
Post by: ONeill on October 12, 2011, 09:55:57 PM
Episode 2 at 10:30. Have the corned beef sandwiches defrosting.
Post by: front of the mountain on October 13, 2011, 10:15:22 AM
I would agree mostly that some sketches are nearly very funny. I did enjoy the George Best one though!!!:)