Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: isourboydownyet on November 01, 2010, 03:34:12 PM

Title: Wine
Post by: isourboydownyet on November 01, 2010, 03:34:12 PM
thought i would start a thread so people on here can recommend a wine they have had to others,i am not one of these who can tell year or grape but love my wines and i had a class sauvignon blanc called wither hills from new zealand at the weekend.
Title: Re: Wine
Post by: Denn Forever on November 01, 2010, 03:40:43 PM
Wolf Blass.  Don't know if it is supposed to be good but it goes down easy.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 01, 2010, 03:49:41 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on November 01, 2010, 03:34:12 PM
thought i would start a thread so people on here can recommend a wine they have had to others,i am not one of these who can tell year or grape but love my wines and i had a class sauvignon blanc called wither hills from new zealand at the weekend.

3 for a £10 in Jackie Graham's at the minute. Wouldn't know any difference from that New Zealand stuff you had
Post by: isourboydownyet on November 01, 2010, 03:52:32 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 01, 2010, 03:49:41 PM

3 for a £10 in Jackie Graham's at the minute. Wouldn't know any difference from that New Zealand stuff you had

they should see you over xmas!!
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 01, 2010, 03:53:49 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on November 01, 2010, 03:40:43 PM
started my wine drinking with wolf blas !
Shiraz or cab sauvignan or a mix of both are all good from WB.
Also like Rosemount shiraz. Cant go too wrong with a red from Oz - as long as its over the €12 mark .
Had a thing for Italian riserva chianti classico ruffina 2003 and for spanish roja reds - faustino reserva or gran reserva.

these days prefer 2003 or 2005 bordeaux. So many of them its hard to choose.
Christian mouix (who works for Lynch Bages) did a sideline  himself and it was under €20 a bottle from berry brothers and rudd
Superquinn supermarket did a fantastic 2005 chateau joubert for €15 but they are now selling the 2006 vintage and its not as good. Was drinking at least one of these a week.
Have to find a new 'cheaper' 'star' wine for 2011 !
Good news is that the 2009 vintage was supposed to be almost as good as 2003/2005 and is due out next year !
http://www.mitchellandson.com/bordeaux-c-21.html?keywords=&page=&sort_id=low
http://www.bbr.com/shopping/list?product_set_id_F=493&currency_code_F=EUR
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 01, 2010, 03:55:18 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 01, 2010, 03:49:41 PM
you drink enough of it you will !!
NZ malborough region is supposed to be top notch for white wines.
I have no clue as I just dont like drinking whites!
Post by: Banana Man on November 01, 2010, 03:59:22 PM
Buckfast. Case closed.
Post by: BenDover on November 01, 2010, 04:05:40 PM
The NZ Sauv Blanc would be up there with the best of them, next time you could try either the Montana, The Ned, Oyster Bay, Villa Maria sauvignon blanc's, or for those who like their reds Porcupine Ridge Syrah and Heartland Shiraz
Post by: isourboydownyet on November 01, 2010, 04:07:39 PM
Quote from: BenDover on November 01, 2010, 04:05:40 PM
The NZ Sauv Blanc would be up there with the best of them, next time you could try either the Montana, The Ned, Oyster Bay, Villa Maria sauvignon blanc's, or for those who like their reds Porcupine Ridge Syrah and Heartland Shiraz

yeah have drank alot of that recently and think it really is top stuff
Post by: illdecide on November 01, 2010, 04:12:17 PM
Detest the taste of wine, dunno how people drink the stuff.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 01, 2010, 04:13:34 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on November 01, 2010, 04:07:39 PM

yeah have drank alot of that recently and think it really is top stuff

How's it going George
Post by: Billys Boots on November 01, 2010, 04:16:03 PM
Quotethese days prefer 2003 or 2005 bordeaux. So many of them its hard to choose.

I concur; I can't drink new world reds any more, I find them too sweet. 

I was at the wine sales in France last week and I picked up a case of 2005 Haut Médoc for €7 a bottle.  Money was tight, but there were lots of good bargains around.  Last year 2005 Graves, St. Emilions and Pomerols were about €9 a bottle for the decent vineyards.  Very hard to get good quality French wines in Ireland for under €25 a bottle - I despair of Superquinn. 

A good start for anyone not accustomed to French wines are the Cotes du Rhone - good hearty winter wines.  You should be able to get a decent one for a tenner in nearly any supermarket.  Don't buy cheap Bordeaux. 
Post by: isourboydownyet on November 01, 2010, 04:22:20 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on November 01, 2010, 04:16:03 PM
Quotethese days prefer 2003 or 2005 bordeaux. So many of them its hard to choose.

I was at the wine sales in France last week and I picked up a case of 2005 Haut Médoc for €7 a bottle.  Money was tight, but there were lots of good bargains around.  Last year 2005 Graves, St. Emilions and Pomerols were about €9 a bottle for the decent vineyards.  Very hard to get good quality French wines in Ireland for under €25 a bottle - I despair of Superquinn. 

A good start for anyone not accustomed to French wines are the Cotes du Rhone - good hearty winter wines.  You should be able to get a decent one for a tenner in nearly any supermarket.  Don't buy cheap Bordeaux.

am i right in thinking this is the same region as chateauneuf du pape? (forgive my spelling)
i got a wine from asda recently that was next door to the above vineyard and was very good just canr remeber the name
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 01, 2010, 04:24:34 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on November 01, 2010, 04:16:03 PM

absolutely. ....dont buy cheap wine full stop !!
ok for students and those wanting to get drunk/blind /sick but spend a few quid more and you will actually start enjoying the taste!
Billy- you must have missed that €15 2005 chateau joubert in superquinn...it was better than most others under €30 here ! fecking lovely stuff !

defo have to get on to you about the boat to france and where you go for the vino. Its a holiday I'm looking forward to having and the wife is dreading !!
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 01, 2010, 04:25:17 PM
[quote author=isourboydownyet link=topic=17782.msg874384#msg874384 am i right in thinking this is the same region as chateauneuf du pape? (forgive my spelling)
i got a wine from asda recently that was next door to the above vineyard and was very good just canr remeber the name
corbieres possibly?
Post by: isourboydownyet on November 01, 2010, 04:26:45 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 01, 2010, 04:25:17 PM
[quote author=isourboydownyet link=topic=17782.msg874384#msg874384 am i right in thinking this is the same region as chateauneuf du pape? (forgive my spelling)
corbieres possibly?

ah jesus thats it,god your good lb,i knew you had a hidden talent :D
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 01, 2010, 04:31:03 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on November 01, 2010, 04:26:45 PM
corbieres possibly?

that I was boderline alcoholic isnt much of a talent- also kind of heriditary ..if you ask about the town !!
Post by: Billys Boots on November 01, 2010, 04:40:25 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 01, 2010, 04:31:03 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on November 01, 2010, 04:26:45 PM
corbieres possibly?

that I was boderline alcoholic isnt much of a talent- also kind of heriditary ..if you ask about the town !![/quote]

Try Crozes Hermitage too (from Rhone region) - Sainsburys and Asda do good versions for about £6.  If you have the cash (£15-20), go for the Hermitage occasionally.  A mate of mine likes Gigondas too; I find it to be a bit sugary and expensive (for what you get). 
Post by: AZOffaly on November 01, 2010, 04:42:52 PM
I like the Campo Viejo Reserva (Silver label). I think it's a lovely Spanish red.

(http://library.bevnetwork.com/bottles/645/68842.jpg)
Post by: Billys Boots on November 01, 2010, 04:46:14 PM
Quotedefo have to get on to you about the boat to france and where you go for the vino. Its a holiday I'm looking forward to having and the wife is dreading !!

I go to the Vendee, halfway down the west coast - the wine sales are usually on at Halloween, so it's handy for the kids off school.  I think the wine sales in Brittany are in September, if you want a cheap holiday (but the weather's invariably shite).  As a claret enthusiast, you should be thinking about the Bordeaux region - Ryanair fly to several place close by (but you woult be able to bring any home).  It's an 8hr drive from Roscoff/Cherbourg though.  A flight to La Rochelle will take you the Charente-Maritime département, which is about an hour north of Cognac region - might be a good compromise.  Depends really on what her indoors likes, to keep her sweet. :)
Post by: Puckoon on November 01, 2010, 04:47:43 PM
Been drinking a few of these recently:

(http://www.volunteer.blogs.com/winewaves/images/ferrari-carano_sonoma_fume_blanc_2005.jpg)

Nice smokey fruity blanc from Napa

(http://www.hamptonswines.com/images/coppola-cabernet-sauvignon.png)

Great Cabernet

(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_oiY-LR-recU/SwTXcVZtdtI/AAAAAAAADK0/V_ryWOWP8YQ/s1600/Beaujolais-LouisJadot-BTL.JPG)

Cracking Beaujolais from Louis J'adot.
Post by: ONeill on November 01, 2010, 05:27:04 PM
As long as it's 13% and under £7, any white at all.
Post by: Denn Forever on November 01, 2010, 05:29:16 PM
Quote from: illdecide on November 01, 2010, 04:12:17 PM
Detest the taste of wine, dunno how people drink the stuff.

Next time you have to bring a bottle, get some Wolf Blas yellow label and check it out.  If you hate it, at least you've tried and everyone else will enjoy it.

Its not Monty Python buth sketch is the same

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a4GvN4wGUZI
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 01, 2010, 05:32:54 PM
Two buck chuck leads the way for discounted 'decent' wine.
http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2003/06/02/eveningnews/main556620.shtml
Post by: ardmhachaabu on November 01, 2010, 05:39:07 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 01, 2010, 05:27:04 PM
As long as it's 13% and under £7, any white at all.
Same with me only red
Post by: beer baron on November 01, 2010, 06:18:58 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on November 01, 2010, 03:59:22 PM
Buckfast. Case closed.

Oh yes.The bottle of bad manners is some stuff!
Post by: Puckoon on November 01, 2010, 06:21:06 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on November 01, 2010, 05:32:54 PM

Tis a great cheap bottle of plonk for sure.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 01, 2010, 06:26:29 PM
I hate wine snobs who only drink certain wine with certain food and all that shite.

I like Pinot Grigio I don't care what brand and I get a fine one in Lidl for 4.99.
I couldn't give a shite about smelling it or swirling it in your gob before hand,its all a load of bollix,just drink the f**king thing.

I also like White Zinfadel
I usually get either Blossom Hill,Bend in the River,Barefoot or Sutter Home.
Post by: Denn Forever on November 01, 2010, 06:31:06 PM
But always take a sip at the restaurant before the waiter leaves. 

Nothing worse than a corked red. 
Post by: gawa316 on November 01, 2010, 06:31:36 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 01, 2010, 06:21:06 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on November 01, 2010, 05:32:54 PM

Tis a great cheap bottle of plonk for sure.

I've had that stuff, and although I'm no expert I thought it was quite nice.

Some of the smaller vineyards in California (Paso Robles) does lovely wine, especially Tobin James
Post by: Main Street on November 01, 2010, 06:45:24 PM
Not to be too forward, but if Lynchbhoy were to extend me a cordial invite to his abode, I am convinced that I would appreciate it.
Post by: mc_grens on November 01, 2010, 06:57:13 PM
Mitchelton Blackwood Park Reisling is my favourite white. It's about 10.99 a bottle in Dunnes.

My favourite Red is Chateau Musar from Lebanon. Fuckin hard to get these days though. I also like Gran Sasso Montepulciano D'Abruzzo.

Cue Lynchbhoy lecturing me about  Bordeaux... ;)
Post by: Maguire01 on November 01, 2010, 06:59:27 PM
French, Spanish, Italian, Chilean and Argentinian reds for me. I have a couple of favourites for each and tend to bulk-buy whenever Tesco has a deal on - you can often get bottles down from £10 to £5 and if you buy 6 bottles, you get another 5% off. Tesco doing a deal at the minute apparently with 25% off when you buy 6 bottles or more (in the north anyway) - think it's only for this week. Time to stock up for Christmas.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on November 01, 2010, 07:52:09 PM
This seems like an excellant thread.

Any of you guys got any recommendations for a man who knows nothing about wine.

Where do i start??
Post by: Rois on November 01, 2010, 07:55:42 PM
Puck, that Louis Jadot Beaujolais was my staple for a while, the kind I would just drink a bottle of on a Fri night by the fire.

I'd be a big Fleurie fan, with all the ski trips to the Alps there are lots of nice local varities over that part of France for me to try.

White-wise, I'm a Chablis fan.  Must also explain why I go for chardonnay as opposed to the sauvignon blancs etc.  Asda had a lovely chablis down to about £6 or £7 a few weeks ago.

Definitely completely biased towards French wine. 

Post by: Denn Forever on November 01, 2010, 07:57:20 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on November 01, 2010, 03:40:43 PM

There is a starter for red.

Also go for 13% wines.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on November 01, 2010, 07:59:12 PM

Try Hunters vineyard for the Sauvignon - bit pricey, but a great bottle nonetheless.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 01, 2010, 09:40:59 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 01, 2010, 06:26:29 PM
I hate wine snobs who only drink certain wine with certain food and all that shite.

I like Pinot Grigio I don't care what brand and I get a fine one in Lidl for 4.99.
I couldn't give a shite about smelling it or swirling it in your gob before hand,its all a load of bollix,just drink the f**king thing.

Fanny.
Post by: fitzroyalty on November 01, 2010, 09:45:29 PM
Rarely drink never mind drink wine but when I do can only be a NZ Sauv Blanc. That or Buckfast.
Post by: The Worker on November 01, 2010, 09:48:28 PM
Any wines out there that the hangover is not too bad to handle?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 01, 2010, 09:58:56 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 01, 2010, 09:40:59 PM

Fanny.

I like a bit of that as well.
Post by: ross4life on November 01, 2010, 10:06:40 PM
Did anyone see britain's most disgusting drinks on BBC a couple of weeks ago? they showed making of cheap wine, it certainly put me off it.
Post by: beer baron on November 01, 2010, 10:10:59 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 01, 2010, 10:06:40 PM
Did anyone see britain's most disgusting drinks on BBC a couple of weeks ago? they showed making of cheap wine, it certainly put me off it.

No but you've got me interested now.Details please!
Post by: ross4life on November 01, 2010, 10:14:39 PM
Quote from: beer baron on November 01, 2010, 10:10:59 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 01, 2010, 10:06:40 PM

No but you've got me interested now.Details please!

Found a clip which is better

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9Q1M1f2Rvk
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 01, 2010, 11:33:01 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 01, 2010, 09:58:56 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 01, 2010, 09:40:59 PM

Fanny.

I like a bit of that as well.
I'm assuming not red.
Post by: caughtredhanded on November 01, 2010, 11:46:19 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on November 01, 2010, 07:59:12 PM

Try Hunters vineyard for the Sauvignon - bit pricey, but a great bottle nonetheless.

The wife and I were in NZ a couple of years ago and stayed in the Marlborough area. We hired a couple of bikes and cycled around the vineyards. Its quite a small area and the roads are flat which makes it easy to do. You get to sample all the wines for free (self control required) Anyway probably the best vineyards we were in were Wither Hills and Highfield. Lovely wine, it was like lemonade.

If you're in M&S their Shepherds Ridge Sauv Blanc is actually Wither Hills, its a pound or so cheaper there.
Post by: ziggysego on November 01, 2010, 11:51:34 PM
I have a liking for Austrialian wines. McGuigan's Black Label Chardonnay.

I believe their family can be traced back to Greencastle.
Post by: isourboydownyet on November 02, 2010, 08:37:38 AM
Quote from: caughtredhanded on November 01, 2010, 11:46:19 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on November 01, 2010, 07:59:12 PM

The wife and I were in NZ a couple of years ago and stayed in the Marlborough area. We hired a couple of bikes and cycled around the vineyards. Its quite a small area and the roads are flat which makes it easy to do. You get to sample all the wines for free (self control required) Anyway probably the best vineyards we were in were Wither Hills and Highfield. Lovely wine, it was like lemonade.

If you're in M&S their Shepherds Ridge Sauv Blanc is actually Wither Hills, its a pound or so cheaper there.

the first time i had wither hills was saturday night and i thought it was unreal,you get that sharp kick with the first sip and it just glides down the throat.
just checked there and tesco are doing a case for £39,i paid 29.95 for a bottle in malmaison!!!!
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 02, 2010, 01:48:20 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 01, 2010, 06:45:24 PM
Not to be too forward, but if Lynchbhoy were to extend me a cordial invite to his abode, I am convinced that I would appreciate it.
next time yer over for a game- get me a ticket and I'll crack open the 05's no problem !
I'd say Billy is a greater officionado than me though !

McGrens wouldnt appreciate  the good red vino, he can come for the buckfast!
Post by: mc_grens on November 02, 2010, 01:52:41 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 02, 2010, 01:48:20 PM
next time yer over for a game- get me a ticket and I'll crack open the 05's no problem !

Nice.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 02, 2010, 02:01:32 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on November 02, 2010, 01:52:41 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 02, 2010, 01:48:20 PM

Nice.
at least its an invite !
bring yer own btw !  ;)
Post by: isourboydownyet on November 04, 2010, 10:36:22 AM
had a lovely sauvignon blanc last nitgh.oceans edge from new zealand,tesco doing it 1/2 price at £4.49
Post by: CiKe on November 04, 2010, 07:14:08 PM
Not exactly a wine connoisseur but trying my best over last few months to rectify that. Two lovely spanish reds i've come across in that time:

Remelluri 2005 Reserva (Rioja)

Mas d'en Compte (Priorat)
Post by: Puckoon on November 05, 2010, 03:00:09 AM
I take it all back. I died a slow, miserable death today. Had to leave work and go and sleep in the parking lot at the store next door.
Post by: Olly on November 05, 2010, 11:20:23 AM
On another note, how much and safe is wine to drink? I recently cut down on it. I was drinking a bottle of wine plus a night but now I just drink a bottle on Mons, Weds, Fris and Sats and some Suns. I don't believe in any of the governement guidelines crap as I see drunks in Belfast City Centre every day and they're still drinking well into their 50s, solid.

I recently heard of a boy who drank every day for years, stopped and then died 2 weeks later because his body didn't like just blood and water running through it. His body had evolved into perceiving alcohol as normal.
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on November 05, 2010, 11:26:14 AM
Quote from: Olly on November 05, 2010, 11:20:23 AM
On another note, how much and safe is wine to drink? I recently cut down on it. I was drinking a bottle of wine plus a night but now I just drink a bottle on Mons, Weds, Fris and Sats and some Suns. I don't believe in any of the governement guidelines crap as I see drunks in Belfast City Centre every day and they're still drinking well into their 50s, solid.

I recently heard of a boy who drank every day for years, stopped and then died 2 weeks later because his body didn't like just blood and water running through it. His body had evolved into perceiving alcohol as normal.

Drink all you can....life is too short, although I hope you have quit smoking
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2010, 11:51:58 AM
Billy's going to love this.... :D
superquinn seem to have a wine sale on right now
must go in to see if some of those reduced wines are 2005 or 2003, but while my preferred Chateau jouberg seems to be now just 2006 I will def go with this very cheap and good red bordeaux for the reduced price of €8 (normally €10.50 it says though this has been sold at €12 in the past couple of years).
Chateau le Mayne Bordeaux Superieur AOC
for the price its better than the rest of superquinns more expensive reds (the non 2005 ones)
including the bottles over €30

I'm heading into superquinn on the way home and i'll buy at least half a dozen of these at €8.
I was going to go to mitchells wine shop today (http://www.mitchellandson.com/) to see if they had any bargains, but you wont beat the chateau le mayne - not for that price!
Post by: isourboydownyet on November 05, 2010, 11:59:32 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2010, 11:51:58 AM
must go in to see if some of those reduced wines are 2005 or 2003, but while my preferred Chateau jouberg seems to be now just 2006 I will def go with this very cheap and good red bordeaux for the reduced price of €8 (normally €10.50 it says though this has been sold at €12 in the past couple of years).
for the price its better than the rest of superquinns more expensive reds (the non 2005 ones)

I'm heading into superquinn on the way home and i'll buy at least half a dozen of these at €8.
I was going to go to mitchells wine shop today (http://www.mitchellandson.com/) to see if they had any bargains, but you wont beat the chateau le mayne - not for that price!

i like your style,horse it into you sir!!
Post by: theskull1 on November 05, 2010, 12:30:45 PM
Quote from: Hedley Lamarr on November 05, 2010, 11:26:14 AM
Quote from: Olly on November 05, 2010, 11:20:23 AM

Drink all you can....life is too short, although I hope you have quit smoking

If its all too short ...why waste all your time drinking? The most overrated pastime ever invented.

The whole notion of drinking to excess being a thing to do when you want to enjoy ones self has to be one of the biggest cons foisted on our world. Look around your local next time and see if its an enjoyment a dependancy or just a bad choice of hobby for those who have no get up and go.

Post by: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2010, 12:33:35 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on November 05, 2010, 11:59:32 AM

absolutely not !
nice bottle - even chateau la mayne - in a glass, warmed in your hand for 15 - 20 mins then sipped slowly.
Would only drink half a bottle a night now - a few years back it would be two per night!
buy good vino in bulk when I find it - esp at a good price!
Post by: isourboydownyet on November 05, 2010, 02:55:03 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2010, 12:33:35 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on November 05, 2010, 11:59:32 AM

absolutely not !
nice bottle - even chateau la mayne - in a glass, warmed in your hand for 15 - 20 mins then sipped slowly.
Would only drink half a bottle a night now - a few years back it would be two per night!
buy good vino in bulk when I find it - esp at a good price!

now theres a question,how long after opening a bottle of red would you need to drink it?
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2010, 03:50:48 PM
half an hour i'd give it.
some of the newer bordeaux wines you could have open for a couple of hours - the extra air takes the sharp edge off .
check to see when you pull the cork out of the bottle how dark it is. if its a light shade of pink, then just leave for a wee while and/or drink. if its dark red nearly black, then pour the vino into a jug and leave for 15-20 mins and then pour back into the bottle.
The darker the cork, the better the vine will tase if you warm it in the glass in your hand for 15 mins before drinking.
sounds mentla, but the taste between drinking straight out of the bottle compared to letting air at the wine and having it warm in your hand - well its like drinking two different bottles of wine !
Post by: Billys Boots on November 05, 2010, 03:56:46 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 05, 2010, 03:00:09 AM
I take it all back. I died a slow, miserable death today. Had to leave work and go and sleep in the parking lot at the store next door.

I'm told that the new world wines, especially the Australians and Chileans are produced too quickly, i.e. fermentation is quickened/augmentation through the addition of extra sugar to the process (most of the old world wines only have sugars naturally occurring in the grapes).  The effect of adding sugar is to make the wines sweeter, heavier and more prone to fusel oil production (these are the lads that give you a hangover).

I have to say, I haven't had a wine hangover since I stopped drinking Aussie and Chillean wines.
Post by: isourboydownyet on November 05, 2010, 04:16:28 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2010, 03:50:48 PM
some of the newer bordeaux wines you could have open for a couple of hours - the extra air takes the sharp edge off .
check to see when you pull the cork out of the bottle how dark it is. if its a light shade of pink, then just leave for a wee while and/or drink. if its dark red nearly black, then pour the vino into a jug and leave for 15-20 mins and then pour back into the bottle.
The darker the cork, the better the vine will tase if you warm it in the glass in your hand for 15 mins before drinking.
sounds mentla, but the taste between drinking straight out of the bottle compared to letting air at the wine and having it warm in your hand - well its like drinking two different bottles of wine !

sorry what i meant to say was if you only drank half the bottle,how long could you leave the other half before you would need to drink it?1 day? 2 days?
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2010, 04:29:04 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on November 05, 2010, 04:16:28 PM

sorry what i meant to say was if you only drank half the bottle,how long could you leave the other half before you would need to drink it?1 day? 2 days?
if its a cheap bottle of wine then you prob should finish it the next day as they turn to vinegar with exposure to air. With most of the better bordeaux reds at least, they will be good and mostly or sometimes even better with a couple of days aeration.
Post by: isourboydownyet on November 25, 2010, 01:15:45 PM
 villa maria Sauvignon Blanc in asda for £4.48,a complete bargain normally around £8 or £9
Post by: ardal on November 25, 2010, 01:23:39 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2010, 04:29:04 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on November 05, 2010, 04:16:28 PM

if its a cheap bottle of wine then you prob should finish it the next day as they turn to vinegar with exposure to air. With most of the better bordeaux reds at least, they will be good and mostly or sometimes even better with a couple of days aeration.

I always whack the cork back it and stick it in the fridge; yeah I know red wine in the fridge, but sorry I like it chilled. The opened bottle will last me 3 or 4 days, nice wee Riojas, never pay more than €5 a bottle; and that's only on special occasions
Post by: crossdoesitbest on November 25, 2010, 02:20:14 PM
AGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!! Red wine in the fridge, surely you can get arrested for that!
Post by: thebigfella on November 25, 2010, 03:24:25 PM
Quote from: crossdoesitbest on November 25, 2010, 02:20:14 PM
AGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!! Red wine in the fridge, surely you can get arrested for that!

Lots of red are supposed to be served at cellar temperatures and not room temperature to prevent the alcohol overpowering the flavours. So unless you have a cellar, then pop it in the fridge for a bit.
Post by: Hardy on November 25, 2010, 03:27:43 PM
In Spain they often chill their red wine in the Summer. Very unpretentious about their wine, the Spanish, which doesn't stop them making some great stuff.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 25, 2010, 03:30:54 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 25, 2010, 03:27:43 PM
In Spain they often chill their red wine in the Summer. Very unpretentious about their wine, the Spanish, which doesn't stop them making some great stuff.
especially the rose

spanish make some great wine. Rioja resevas hard to beat. never really get a bad one. Dirt cheap in spain.
Post by: crossdoesitbest on November 25, 2010, 04:58:35 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on November 25, 2010, 03:24:25 PM
Quote from: crossdoesitbest on November 25, 2010, 02:20:14 PM

Lots of red are supposed to be served at cellar temperatures and not room temperature to prevent the alcohol overpowering the flavours. So unless you have a cellar, then pop it in the fridge for a bit.

Still can't see myself killing a nice bottle of McGuigan's black label by putting it in the fridge, much prefer to put it in front of the stove, but hey every man to his own tastes!!!!
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 25, 2010, 09:07:44 PM
Quote from: The Worker on November 01, 2010, 09:48:28 PM
Any wines out there that the hangover is not too bad to handle?

Don't know, but Buckfast to get rid of the hangover would be my suggestion.
Post by: maggie on November 25, 2010, 09:15:01 PM
Any wine I have ever drank gives me such a sore head the next day that its not worth it. Apart from Martini Asti which I'm sure most proper wine drinkers would say is like p**h.
Post by: wavesofTORRES on November 25, 2010, 10:08:30 PM
Deakin Estate Shiraz, Generous and juicy with an exhilarating full bodied berry sensation
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 25, 2010, 11:10:48 PM
Quote from: wavesofTORRES on November 25, 2010, 10:08:30 PM
Deakin Estate Shiraz, Generous and juicy with an exhilarating full bodied berry sensation

Sounds like the girls I used to shift at college
Post by: muppet on December 02, 2010, 09:10:11 PM
(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_xr3cuiiS77U/RkB8jTiqJoI/AAAAAAAABSU/wI5rOvgChRs/s1600/IMGP1941.jpg)

Currently having a bottle of the above. Bellisimo.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 02, 2010, 09:40:35 PM
Is that a hotel room in the background. are you up to naughties ?
Post by: muppet on December 02, 2010, 09:54:34 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on December 02, 2010, 09:40:35 PM
Is that a hotel room in the background. are you up to naughties ?

At home, but herself doesn't like this wine so more for me!

Have a few budvar in the fridge as well, you might remember them (coz I don't!).
Post by: ONeill on June 24, 2011, 12:32:31 AM
Is drinking a 2000 Merlot ok, in 2011?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 24, 2011, 12:38:18 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 24, 2011, 12:32:31 AM
Is drinking a 2000 Merlot ok, in 2011?

A Tesco no, a Cennatoio Mammolo maybe  ;)
Post by: ONeill on June 24, 2011, 12:50:29 AM
The Bulgarian Merlot from the Suhindol Estate?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 24, 2011, 12:56:39 AM
Wouldn't have a notion Shane. Giving it a lash might be your only option on that one (buckets at the ready).
Post by: Lazer on June 24, 2011, 12:59:41 AM
I just drank a £2.59  chenin blanc from Lidl and it was surprisingly nice
Post by: seafoid on June 24, 2011, 03:32:25 PM
I had a lovely bottle of American Viognier the other night from the Clay Station winery.
Post by: LeoMc on June 24, 2011, 10:00:27 PM
South African (Cape) Sauvignon blancs (Some of the Chilean SB's not too bad either).
Pinot Grigios or for something really easy to drink a Soave from the Venice area.
Post by: LeoMc on June 24, 2011, 10:02:33 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on November 01, 2010, 06:31:06 PM
But always take a sip at the restaurant before the waiter leaves

Nothing worse than a corked red.

Why do they go through that 5h1t3 when it is a screw top? :-\
Post by: Denn Forever on August 16, 2011, 09:17:56 PM
AC/DC launch their wine collection.

http://www.licensing.biz/news/7700/ACDC-wine-line-hits-shelves-in-Australia

Whole lotta rosé