Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Worker on October 28, 2010, 07:53:39 PM

Title: FAI Chief offers use of Aviva stadium to OWC Fans!
Post by: The Worker on October 28, 2010, 07:53:39 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/9068322.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/9068322.stm)

Isnt it irony getting offered shelter by the 'beggars!'  :D
Title: Re: FAI Chief offers use of Aviva stadium to OWC Fans!
Post by: trileacman on October 28, 2010, 07:56:40 PM
 :D :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 28, 2010, 07:58:39 PM
Beggars that earned millions for the GAA don't forget.
The Gaa would only love to still have them play in Croke Park.
Post by: ziggysego on October 28, 2010, 08:00:16 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 28, 2010, 07:58:39 PM

The Worker wasn't referring to the south as beggars himself, but more how the IFA and it's supporters have sometimes did.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 28, 2010, 08:01:55 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 28, 2010, 08:00:16 PM

The Worker wasn't referring to the south as beggars himself, but more how the IFA and it's supporters have sometimes did.

Oh right ok. I didn't know that.
Post by: ziggysego on October 28, 2010, 08:02:45 PM
I could be wrong though. The Worker will have to clarify that  :D
Post by: The Worker on October 28, 2010, 08:03:49 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 28, 2010, 08:02:45 PM
I could be wrong though. The Worker will have to clarify that  :D

The zig is right.

The mods know all!
Post by: ziggysego on October 28, 2010, 08:11:07 PM
I'm not a mod!!!  >:(
Post by: Kerry Mike on October 28, 2010, 09:21:35 PM
Lets offer them Croke Park and then fleece them on the rent like we did the FAI and IRFU.

Can you only imagine the uproar if that happened, this bucko might even get his sign updated

(http://www.bifsniff.com/wp-content/files/2007/02/mail.jpg)
Post by: rosnarun on October 28, 2010, 09:50:09 PM

beggar that earned millions from the GAA you mean . no croke park no new lansdowne
and they still cant afford it
Post by: Rossfan on October 28, 2010, 10:42:18 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 28, 2010, 08:01:55 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 28, 2010, 08:00:16 PM

Oh right ok. I didn't know that.

And I thought you were quite the expert on all things Soccer  ::)

Anyway the FAI and IFA are welcome to each other... 2 showers of gob****es. ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 29, 2010, 09:31:59 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 28, 2010, 09:50:09 PM

beggar that earned millions from the GAA you mean . no croke park no new lansdowne
and they still cant afford it
correct.
I find it amusing that soccer folk give out about the 'millions' Croke Park earned the GAA for hosting soccer and rugby, but dont mention that soccer and rugby earned way more from croke park fixtures that they ever did from the old lansdowne rd !

offering the use of lansdowne road to the north or Ireland soccer team is a great idea from the lansdowne road people - esp when they know they need more income to sustain the place !
As a taxpayer I dont want to have to add this stadium to the 'bailout' list also !
Post by: Aerlik on October 30, 2010, 04:39:49 AM
Methinks the Statelet-6 fans will be grossly outnumbered when the locals swell the support base for the oppostion. ;D
Post by: Nally Stand on February 15, 2011, 08:03:06 PM
http://www.u.tv/News/Anger-at-sectarian-songs-after-NI-game/c62e592b-b5ae-4087-bc2e-26eafb3c7ace (http://www.u.tv/News/Anger-at-sectarian-songs-after-NI-game/c62e592b-b5ae-4087-bc2e-26eafb3c7ace)

I wonder will there be a few more seats ripped up when north plays south in the Aviva?

Video of the OWCers in the Aviva Stadium at the Scotland game singing about being "up to our knees in Fenian blood", singing numerous other sectarian songs and shouting "up the UVF" etc  was reported today on UTV News as the main story. Strangely, BBC didn't see fit to report it at all on Newsline. Nor do they mention it on teletext. Or on bbc.co.uk/ni.

God forbid a minor scuffle might break out in a GAA club game though....
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 15, 2011, 08:18:13 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on February 15, 2011, 08:03:06 PM
http://www.u.tv/News/Anger-at-sectarian-songs-after-NI-game/c62e592b-b5ae-4087-bc2e-26eafb3c7ace (http://www.u.tv/News/Anger-at-sectarian-songs-after-NI-game/c62e592b-b5ae-4087-bc2e-26eafb3c7ace)

I wonder will there be a few more seats ripped up when north plays south in the Aviva?

Video of the OWCers in a bar in the Aviva Stadium at the Scotland game singing about being "up to our knees in Fenian blood", singing numerous other sectarian songs and shouting "up the UVF" etc  was reported today on UTV News as the main story. Strangely, BBC didn't see fit to report it at all on Newsline. Nor do they mention it on teletext. Or on bbc.co.uk/ni.

Yis may ring Bedfort St and ask them.
Post by: Nally Stand on February 15, 2011, 08:24:23 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 15, 2011, 08:18:13 PM

Video of the OWCers in a bar in the Aviva Stadium at the Scotland game singing about being "up to our knees in Fenian blood", singing numerous other sectarian songs and shouting "up the UVF" etc  was reported today on UTV News as the main story. Strangely, BBC didn't see fit to report it at all on Newsline. Nor do they mention it on teletext. Or on bbc.co.uk/ni.

Yis may ring Bedfort St and ask them.

If there'll be seats ripped up?? They probably don't know
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 15, 2011, 09:01:17 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on February 15, 2011, 08:24:23 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 15, 2011, 08:18:13 PM

Yis may ring Bedford St and ask them.

If there'll be seats ripped up?? They probably don't know
No, ask the hoors why UTV found it newsworthy and they didn't.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on February 15, 2011, 09:24:21 PM
Look it was only a bit of fun  :D I mean these guys didn't mean it. There is absolutely no way that they would want to 'up to their knees in Fenian blood'. These are fine upstanding, Christian, family men. I bet you a thousand pounds that if I had walked through there with a Celtic jersey on they would have shook my hand and patted me on the back.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 15, 2011, 09:28:48 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on February 15, 2011, 09:24:21 PM
Look it was only a bit of fun  :D I mean these guys didn't mean it. There is absolutely no way that they would want to 'up to their knees in Fenian blood'. These are fine upstanding, Christian, family men. I bet you a thousand pounds that if I had walked through there with a Celtic jersey on they would have shook my hand and patted me on the back.

They same way a guy wearing a Rangers jersey wouldn't be too welcome walking through a group of ROI supporters,there are idiots on both sides.
Post by: Nally Stand on February 15, 2011, 09:29:36 PM
if I had walked through there with a Celtic jersey on they would have shook my hand and patted me on the back.

.....and got to know you, maybe bought you a drink. Found out where you live, then next day, there's a bullet in an envelope winging it's way to ya!!
Post by: Nally Stand on February 15, 2011, 09:31:46 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 15, 2011, 09:28:48 PM

They same way a guy wearing a Rangers jersey wouldn't be too welcome walking through a group of ROI supporters,there are idiots on both sides.

Idiots are everywhere, just some groups of supporters tend to be over-stocking with them. Any evidence out there of RoI supporters singing about being "up to our knees in Protestant blood"?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 15, 2011, 10:09:29 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on February 15, 2011, 09:31:46 PM

Idiots are everywhere, just some groups of supporters tend to be over-stocking with them. Any evidence out there of RoI supporters singing about being "up to our knees in Protestant blood"?

Remember being @ an Ireland V Norway friendly a few years back and the t**ts behind the goal booed everytime some ex-Rangers players touched the ball.
Post by: Nally Stand on February 15, 2011, 10:33:00 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 15, 2011, 10:09:29 PM

Remember being @ an Ireland V Norway friendly a few years back and the t**ts behind the goal booed everytime some ex-Rangers players touched the ball.

Hardly a parallel to singing openly sectarian, hate filled songs about wading through blood
Post by: Minder on February 15, 2011, 10:36:06 PM
Do these type of songs offend you?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 15, 2011, 10:37:00 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on February 15, 2011, 10:33:00 PM

Hardly a parallel to singing openly sectarian, hate filled songs about wading through blood

Still a disgrace brining their sectarian baggage from supporting a foreign non-Irish team in Scotland and booing players who had done no wrong, just because they used to play for another foreign non-Irish Scottish team into a game involving Ireland and Norway.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 16, 2011, 12:02:21 AM

Wasn't that a match against Denmark?

The stadium public address mistakenly announced that Lovenkrands was coming on even though it wasn't him. Some poor unsuspecting chap got dogs abuse for the rest of the game from the 'Republic' crowd! Morons
Post by: David McKeown on February 16, 2011, 12:33:11 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 16, 2011, 12:02:21 AM

The stadium public address mistakenly announced that Lovenkrands was coming on even though it wasn't him. Some poor unsuspecting chap got dogs abuse for the rest of the game from the 'Republic' crowd! Morons

In fairness whilst im not condoning booing that incident was light hearted enough.  Announcement came over the tannoy that the then Rangers player Lovenkrands wearing say 14 was coming on.  The crowd boo number 14 for about 5 mins then realise its not Lovenkrands so start to cheer the number 14 instead.  Very patronising message comes over the tannoy not to boo opposition players so the crowd start booing the Ireland team who were 3-0 up instead and cheering the Danes on, that continues for about 20 mins then Lovenkrands then comes on to pantomime style cheers for the last ten minutes,  it all seemed to be done in good spirits.
Post by: Main Street on February 16, 2011, 10:10:18 AM
And since that farce turned comical experience, Rangers/ex Rangers/alleged Rangers players, do not get the boo treatment.

Then there were the folk who singled out Holland's Jaap Stam for  booing at Lansdowne Rd, because some time previous he had been shown the door at Man U after becoming a persona non-grata there. 

Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 16, 2011, 10:28:22 AM

It would appear that the idiot with a 20p coin has invested in a camera phone............

/Jim.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 16, 2011, 11:08:30 AM

It may have happened @ a Denmark match too, but as I have only attended 3 senior International Ireland soccer matches, V Norway, V Australia & V Sweden, I'm pretty sure it was V Norway were I witnessed it.
Post by: dillinger on February 16, 2011, 09:19:50 PM
]

. Found out where you live, then next day, there's a bullet in an envelope winging it's way to ya!!

Was that not accepted it was Rangers fans who prob sent the bullets? Sure ban them stupid sods that were singing. I believe there were near 6000 NI fans there at the match, only say 40 got on like tossers. Media over-reacting again i think.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 16, 2011, 10:17:44 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 16, 2011, 11:08:30 AM

It may have happened @ a Denmark match too, but as I have only attended 3 senior International Ireland soccer matches, V Norway, V Australia & V Sweden, I'm pretty sure it was V Norway were I witnessed it.

It happens everytime a Rangers player is playing for a opposition team. I dunno what they are gonna do when Kenny Miller plays against us in May  :)
Post by: Big Puff on February 16, 2011, 10:23:06 PM
Didnt John Hartson get booed at windsor due to his celtic connections?
Post by: gawa316 on February 16, 2011, 10:53:44 PM
Quote from: Big Puff on February 16, 2011, 10:23:06 PM

Don't comment much on here about N. Ireland but yes he got booed (myself included not because he played for celtic but because he was one of those players you boo a la Rooney, Savage, Ronaldo). I booed the live outta Boruc. Does that make me bigot? In my books no as I was just trying to put him off as he has a history of this sort of stuff. No doubt there was some who booed him for his celtic connections, personally I don't think these neanderthals will change anytime soon.

I support the N. Ireland football team cause it is the national team from where I was born. I'm not going to get into all these shite about it actually not a country etc. I'll leave that to whoever, I couldn't be arsed. I go to matches to support the team, not to display britishness, being a prod etc etc. I don't sing sectarian songs, I sing (badly) songs to support the team. If people get offended by me singing 'Stand Up for Ulsterman' well then so be it. That's their problem. I don't have a political agenda, it's just in my eyes another song to create an atmosphere at the ground.

I support whoever plays for the team and whoever decides to play for someone else, well so be it, that is there choice. I leave all that political stuff behind and just want to go and watch a football match, have a few pints, a bit of craic and everynow and then a result. People often say but sure there shite etc but who cares,yes they often can be shite but they are MY shite. When we do pull of a result you can't beat that feeling. I'm sure ROI supporters on here will agree with me.

I'll hopefully be heading down to the match in May and am looking forward to having a few pints and mixing with ROI fans before and after whatever the resukt.There are a right few decent lads on here and wouldn't mind meeting for a drink (although R4L I think it's a schoolnight so you'll have togive it a miss!!)

Mild rant over ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 16, 2011, 10:56:32 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 16, 2011, 10:53:44 PM

Don't comment much on here about N. Ireland but yes he got booed (myself included not because he played for celtic but because he was one of those players you boo a la Rooney, Savage, Ronaldo). I booed the live outta Boruc. Does that make me bigot? In my books no as I was just trying to put him off as he has a history of this sort of stuff. No doubt there was some who booed him for his celtic connections, personally I don't think these neanderthals will change anytime soon.

I support the N. Ireland football team cause it is the national team from where I was born. I'm not going to get into all these shite about it actually not a country etc. I'll leave that to whoever, I couldn't be arsed. I go to matches to support the team, not to display britishness, being a prod etc etc. I don't sing sectarian songs, I sing (badly) songs to support the team. If people get offended by me singing 'Stand Up for Ulsterman' well then so be it. That's their problem. I don't have a political agenda, it's just in my eyes another song to create an atmosphere at the ground.

I support whoever plays for the team and whoever decides to play for someone else, well so be it, that is there choice. I leave all that political stuff behind and just want to go and watch a football match, have a few pints, a bit of craic and everynow and then a result. People often say but sure there shite etc but who cares,yes they often can be shite but they are MY shite. When we do pull of a result you can't beat that feeling. I'm sure ROI supporters on here will agree with me.

I'll hopefully be heading down to the match in May and am looking forward to having a few pints and mixing with ROI fans before and after whatever the resukt.There are a right few decent lads on here and wouldn't mind meeting for a drink (although R4L I think it's a schoolnight so you'll have togive it a miss!!)

Mild rant over ;)

I'll meet you for a pint no bother gawa...don't agree with you about the booing to be honest but I'll forgive you cause your a Scouser  :)
Title: Re
Post by: stiffler on February 16, 2011, 11:01:23 PM
Not trying to be the devils advocate, but i dont get your point that hartson was one of them that 'gets booed'. Outside of windsor (and ibrox!) where else did the occur? I know at anfield the night he scored a wonder goal he didnt get booed a la rooney and ronaldo!
Title: Re: Re
Post by: gawa316 on February 16, 2011, 11:11:48 PM
Quote from: stiffler on February 16, 2011, 11:01:23 PM
Not trying to be the devils advocate, but i dont get your point that hartson was one of them that 'gets booed'. Outside of windsor (and ibrox!) where else did the occur? I know at anfield the night he scored a wonder goal he didnt get booed a la rooney and ronaldo!

Maybe I'm wrong then, but at the time (before his cancer scare) and correct me if Im wrong but was he not involved in a few clashes with players at different clubs (bennynoon?) that didn't endear him to joe public? The better players of other teams also tend to get booed (which is actually a complement) and Hartson was one of Wales better players back then.

Don't know if I'm getting my point across clearly or not but I can tell you for my part and my mates it wasn't for secterian/playing for celtic reasons
Post by: gawa316 on February 16, 2011, 11:14:54 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 16, 2011, 10:56:32 PM

I'll meet you for a pint no bother gawa...don't agree with you about the booing to be honest but I'll forgive you cause your a Scouser  :)

No worries LL sure if everyone agreed on everything it'd be a boring place.

I'm up for a pint, might even buy ye one...ye know to help out that economy of yours!!
Post by: Hardy on February 16, 2011, 11:27:40 PM
yes he got booed (myself included not because he played for celtic but because he was one of those players you boo a la Rooney, Savage, Ronaldo)

And somehow they can construe this carry-on as compatible with the ethos of sport. How sad.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 16, 2011, 11:29:27 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 16, 2011, 11:14:54 PM

I'm up for a pint, might even buy ye one...ye know to help out that economy of yours!!
Ha!
Might actually have a spare ticket for it if ya want,you'd have to sit in the Home support though!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 17, 2011, 03:17:07 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 16, 2011, 10:17:44 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 16, 2011, 11:08:30 AM

It happens everytime a Rangers player is playing for a opposition team. I dunno what they are gonna do when Kenny Miller plays against us in May  :)

Disgusting, another reason why SOCCER is not an Irish sport.
Post by: Final Whistle on February 17, 2011, 09:16:13 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 16, 2011, 11:11:48 PM

Maybe I'm wrong then, but at the time (before his cancer scare) and correct me if Im wrong but was he not involved in a few clashes with players at different clubs (bennynoon?) that didn't endear him to joe public? The better players of other teams also tend to get booed (which is actually a complement) and Hartson was one of Wales better players back then.

Don't know if I'm getting my point across clearly or not but I can tell you for my part and my mates it wasn't for secterian/playing for celtic reasons

Was it not Eyal Berkovic that he kicked in the mouth? He deserved it though!!!
Post by: Nally Stand on February 17, 2011, 10:11:06 AM
I mentioned about OWC lads singing in the aviva about wading up to their knees in fenian blood and about the UVF while immitating firing rifles and what has followed has been nearly two pages of discussion along the lines of 'ah sure are you insulted by that?' and 'there were only a few of them' and repeated posts about how RoI fans booed a rangers player is what REALLY is deserving of condemnation!
Post by: Nally Stand on February 17, 2011, 10:21:14 AM

Mild rant over ;)

Fair play Gawa, how it should be
Post by: tommysmith on February 17, 2011, 10:25:56 AM

A Scouser  ???
Post by: Olaf on February 17, 2011, 12:10:51 PM
..those who fans believe will be wound up by it or are exeptionally good generally get the bird,  from some though  there's no exact science to it IMHO...Rooney, Ronaldo, Beckham, Cole, Hartson, Berbatov, Bellamy, Savage, the Austrian no 7(?) (I think) , Gerrard , Boruc , any opposition player  taking a corner  at the Kop end, Ibrahimovic, to name a few. I think most are man enough to take it but if it helps the team gain any advantage (and we generally need one) NI fans will partake. I don't think that is unusual.

Back to the main point of the thread. The boys in the video have let themselves and all other NI fans down.
Post by: deiseach on February 17, 2011, 02:56:17 PM
Quote from: Olaf on February 17, 2011, 12:10:51 PM
any opposition player  taking a corner  at the Kop end

I presume you mean the Kops at Windsor Park or Elland Road. It doesn't happen as a matter of course in front of The Kop
Post by: Olaf on February 17, 2011, 03:45:44 PM
Quote from: deiseach on February 17, 2011, 02:56:17 PM
Quote from: Olaf on February 17, 2011, 12:10:51 PM
any opposition player  taking a corner  at the Kop end

I presume you mean the Kops at Windsor Park or Elland Road. It doesn't happen as a matter of course in front of The Kop
My only experience of being near or in   a "Kop" would be at Windsor (or the Alex Russell Stand to give the stand it's modern and proper  description).

Though, to be fair the shouts at corner takers are posed more in the form of ironic questions ie who are you? etc etc. The most vigorous (and loudest) was probably aimed at Beckham in '05. Took it well and applauded the same  fans at the end of the game.

Anyway , extremely bad form from  the boys in the video.

Post by: gawa316 on February 17, 2011, 10:14:15 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 16, 2011, 11:29:27 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 16, 2011, 11:14:54 PM

Ha!
Might actually have a spare ticket for it if ya want,you'd have to sit in the Home support though!

Cheers for the offer (I think) but I'm block booker so should be offered one when they come out
Post by: Big Puff on February 19, 2011, 01:37:25 PM
Irish FA to ban Northern Ireland fan after chants 

A number of Northern Ireland fans sang sectarian songs in Dublin

The Irish FA will hand out a life ban to a Northern Ireland fan who sang sectarian songs at last week's Nations Cup game against Scotland in Dublin.

The IFA has the name of the person involved and they will be punished if their identity is confirmed.

It follows complaints about sectarian behaviour during the game at the Aviva Stadium, which Scotland won 3-0.

The IFA has appealed for information on the identity of all those who sang sectarian songs at the match.

The Irish Football Association has been working with the Amalgamation of Northern Ireland Supporters Clubs and other relevant bodies to investigate the complaints.

The governing body will place a life-time ban on the named person, if they are identified, from receiving tickets to all Northern Ireland home and away games.

A token gesture or a warning to the remainder of the owc fanbase that this behaviour will not be tolerated?
Post by: Maguire01 on February 19, 2011, 01:40:58 PM
What else could they possibly do? I think this is above and beyond what a lot of other associations would do.
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 19, 2011, 01:43:36 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 19, 2011, 01:40:58 PM
What else could they possibly do? I think this is above and beyond what a lot of other associations would do.
It is the absolute least they could have done. That said they should be commended for doing so in such a prompt manner.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 19, 2011, 01:44:35 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 19, 2011, 01:43:36 PM
It is the absolute least they could have done. That said they should be commended for doing so in such a prompt manner.
So what else could/should they have done?
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 19, 2011, 01:48:30 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 19, 2011, 01:44:35 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 19, 2011, 01:43:36 PM
So what else could/should they have done?
Sorry, I agree there is little else to do, what I was saying is that they had no option whatsoever but to ban the individual if they wanted to retain any credibilty. They could possibly remind fans of this banning later on when the ROI game comes around, but other than that, not much.
Post by: Big Puff on February 19, 2011, 02:14:32 PM

Ban all the individuals involved, not just one
Post by: Maguire01 on February 19, 2011, 08:10:36 PM
Spotted this on Twitter:

QuoteSo the fan given a lifetime ban for sectarian chanting in Dublin plays in the #ifaprem. Full Sunday World exposure tomorrow #scandal
Post by: SHEEDY on February 19, 2011, 08:49:32 PM
ballymena utd have released a statement saying one their players has been identified from the video singing sectarian songs at the aviva. he is a defender with the club called denver gage. 
Post by: Doogie Browser on February 19, 2011, 09:31:16 PM
He deserves a lifetime ban for being called Denver!!
Post by: Archie Mitchell on February 20, 2011, 01:44:16 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/9402765.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/9402765.stm)
Post by: Newbridge Exile on February 20, 2011, 10:06:08 PM
Can't comment about Hartson  but in the  one and only time I have been  in Windsor park , the North were playing Switzerland and Ramon Vega got abuse from sections of the crowd as he was with Celtic at the time,
Post by: Solomon Kane on February 20, 2011, 11:43:36 PM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on February 20, 2011, 10:06:08 PM
Can't comment about Hartson  but in the  one and only time I have been  in Windsor park , the North were playing Switzerland and Ramon Vega got abuse from sections of the crowd as he was with Celtic at the time,

I was at that game too. It was in April 1998. That was extremely perceptive of Northern Ireland fans as Vega didn't go on loan with Celtic until December 2000. Mind you, myth and reality does get a bit mixed up sometimes, doesn't it?

Post by: Aerlik on February 21, 2011, 09:33:32 AM
Well, they 6-counties fans should get used to Aviva...it will be their national stadium sooner rather than later as plans are afoot to reunite the soccer federations.  And not about time.
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 22, 2011, 11:14:52 AM

Given that you've asked I think they could also do the following:

1. Investigate racism and the use of clearly racist terms on sites such as www.ourweecountry.co.uk. Since there will be a match against the free state in May and these terms are generally used to refer to free state supporters, there is clearly a danger that such terms will be repeated at the game. Better to act proactively and ban for life anyone who can be identified as a racist. Like Ealing Green for example.

2. Discuss with the Amalgamation of NISC if it is really a good idea to have as a spokesperson an individual who has been involved in sectarian (i.e. anti-Catholic) protest in north Belfast.

Hope this helps.

Personally, I don't think Mr Gage's actions warrant a sine die ban. Nor should hanging one muppet out to dry, be held up as proof of anything.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 22, 2011, 07:17:40 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 22, 2011, 11:14:52 AM

1. Investigate racism and the use of clearly racist terms on sites such as www.ourweecountry.co.uk. Since there will be a match against the free state in May and these terms are generally used to refer to free state supporters, there is clearly a danger that such terms will be repeated at the game. Better to act proactively and ban for life anyone who can be identified as a racist. Like Ealing Green for example.

2. Discuss with the Amalgamation of NISC if it is really a good idea to have as a spokesperson an individual who has been involved in sectarian (i.e. anti-Catholic) protest in north Belfast.

Hope this helps.

Personally, I don't think Mr Gage's actions warrant a sine die ban. Nor should hanging one muppet out to dry, be held up as proof of anything.
With regard to your first issue, I didn't realise that the OWC site was under the control of the IFA. I thought it had a similar status to this board.

On the second issue, I don't know the individual you're talking about. Did he refuse to condemn the actions?
Post by: Evil Genius on February 23, 2011, 05:18:16 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 22, 2011, 11:14:52 AM

Members of this site have eg expressed support for, or approval of, the actions of the Dissidents - you know, the people who ended Peadar Heffron's Gaelic football-playing career.
Can we take it that you would also urge the GAA to "investigate" [sic] this site then, too?
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/8447829.stm

Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 22, 2011, 11:14:52 AM2. Discuss with the Amalgamation of NISC if it is really a good idea to have as a spokesperson an individual who has been involved in sectarian (i.e. anti-Catholic) protest in north Belfast.
That would be the same individual who posted this about the events at the AVIVA:
"I'm totally disgusted at the behaviour of the people in the footage" and that he was "Totally opposed to the behaviour shown in the Youtube footage". He also described them as "knobheads".
Strange how such a keen reader of that site as you, including the relevant thread, failed to notice those condemnations...

Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 22, 2011, 11:14:52 AMPersonally, I don't think Mr Gage's actions warrant a sine die ban. Nor should hanging one muppet out to dry, be held up as proof of anything.
Hmmm. You don't believe that Gage should be banned sine die for expressing clearly sectarian sentiments, but people whom you deem to be expressing "racist" sentiments should.  ???

Anyhow, I for one believe that Gage should never be allowed to attend an NI game again in his life, as do the clear majority of posters on the owc website.

And more generally in reply to Maguire's question about what may be done, I fear that there is the possibility of  trouble at the ROI v NI game, against which the best precaution would be to restrict the sale of tickets to known/named supporters only.

However, ticket distribution for the tournament is solely the preserve of the FAI, who are already making unlimited amounts of tickets available to the general public via the internet, without any effort to ascertain identity etc.

P.S. I have it on good authority that "Ealing Green" was at the Scotland game in the AVIVA, as the personal guest of one of the ROI's best-known and most fervent supporters. However, he will not have seen or heard any of the abuse in the video, since he was in the Presidential Box of the FAI.
Post by: Evil Genius on February 23, 2011, 05:34:29 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on February 21, 2011, 09:33:32 AMWell, they 6-counties fans should get used to Aviva...it will be their national stadium sooner rather than later as plans are afoot to reunite the soccer federations.  And not about time.
Crikey! I knew the FAI was in deep financial s h i t, but I never thought it was so bad that they were reconsidering their breakaway from the IFA and seeking to rejoin us.

But in the event of the prodigals being accepted back into the fold, I daresay the IFA would consider playing some of the team's internationals in Dublin, as happened before the splitters defected.

Mind you, they'd probably first need the permission of the stadium's owner, the IRFU...

P.S. When I read Newbridge Exile's account of how Ramon Vega was abused by NI fans for being a Celtic player two years before he even played for the Celts (reply #60, above), it brought back memories of your claim as to how viciously another Celt, Anton Rogan, was abused at an NI game.
A game in which he didn't even play...   :D
You and NE wouldn't be related, by any chance?
Post by: angermanagement on February 23, 2011, 08:40:31 PM
http://m.guardian.co.uk/ms/p/gnm/op/szgDeHj5VQNFOI7nF8dg6uA/view.m?id=15&gid=football/david-conn-inside-sport-blog/2011/feb/23/belfast-celtic-ifa&cat=football

Article about Crusadors and Newington crossing the political divide.