GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: andoireabu on October 13, 2010, 09:32:09 PM

Title: Pitch invasions to be made a criminal offence
Post by: andoireabu on October 13, 2010, 09:32:09 PM
"Justice minister David Forde is to make on-pitch celebrations a criminal offence in a new law and order bill." - Irish News 12/10/2010

This takes in both soccer and GAA on both sides of the border.  Though nothing is said about who will be prosecuted, what the punishment will be or when it could come into effect.

Im starting to get fed up with all this nonsense.  The GAA isn't what is used to be and its not the way it was when i was growing up.  Every year it something new being needed or changed and its making a balls of the whole thing.   

What do you all reckon?
Title: Re: Pitch invasions to be made a criminal offence
Post by: ross4life on October 13, 2010, 09:44:05 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on October 13, 2010, 09:32:09 PM
"Justice minister David Forde is to make on-pitch celebrations a criminal offence in a new law and order bill." - Irish News 12/10/2010

This takes in both soccer and GAA on both sides of the border.  Though nothing is said about who will be prosecuted, what the punishment will be or when it could come into effect.

Im starting to get fed up with all this nonsense.  The GAA isn't what is used to be and its not the way it was when i was growing up.  Every year it something new being needed or changed and its making a balls of the whole thing.   

What do you all reckon?

Not just the GAA the whole Country isn't what is used to be! what happened to friendly, easy going place we all grew up in?

No wonder more Irish want's to live outside of Ireland  :(
Post by: Pangurban on October 14, 2010, 01:14:46 AM
In future anyone invading a pitch will be met by Plastic Bullets, if this action fails to deter, live Ammo will be used.. It is unfortunate  that such drastic action is necessary, but the Health and Safety of the paying fans demands it. Should Fermanagh win an Ulster Final, we can expect many casualties, therefore all Belfast Hospitals will be placed on standby, as no local hospitals will exist by that time.
Post by: Lar Naparka on October 14, 2010, 01:25:08 AM
How can David Forde legislate for events south of the border?
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on October 14, 2010, 06:56:46 AM

Not even pitch invasions, just on-pitch celebrations.

So what happens if the stewards leave the gates open for everyone at an U-12 final to walk onto the pitch, can the peelers dander in and start arresting?

Politicians out of touch with the people... not surprising really.
Post by: Banana Man on October 14, 2010, 09:10:25 AM
QuoteHow can David Forde legislate for events south of the border?

was thinking that myself, Forde has no jurisdiction south of the safe six so he may wind his neck in

how would they police this anyway?

e.g. ulster final in the new casement park we are all talking about, winning county's fans stream onto the pitch, cup presented in the stand and everyone celebates. Does Ford tell the PSNI to prosecute, bearing in mind they won't be inthe stadium, do they then ask the GAA to hand over CCTV to study, even if the GAA does turn tout and fire the tapes over how do they identify who was on the pitch, do they prosecute 10,000 or just the first few over the wire, where's the cut off of what is a few?

load of balls from a power hungry hoor
Post by: Zapatista on October 14, 2010, 09:19:56 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on October 14, 2010, 09:10:25 AM
QuoteHow can David Forde legislate for events south of the border?

was thinking that myself, Forde has no jurisdiction south of the safe six so he may wind his neck in

how would they police this anyway?

I think this is progress.
Post by: omagh_gael on October 14, 2010, 11:28:02 AM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on October 14, 2010, 06:56:46 AM

Not even pitch invasions, just on-pitch celebrations.

So what happens if the stewards leave the gates open for everyone at an U-12 final to walk onto the pitch, can the peelers dander in and start arresting?

Politicians out of touch with the people... not surprising really.

Not out of touch with the powers that be in the GAA though.
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 14, 2010, 11:46:43 AM
when my club won their first derry senior football championship at celtic park the pitch invasion was awesome and utterly safe. But if some thugs were paid to come in and stop us getting on the pitch there would have been serious incidents.

i am in more danger on a dancefloor on a night out. balls to sean cavanagh and his puppetmasters. who do they think they are that we 'the patrons' need educated?

THEY need educated - Do they not see that their hardline will actually make things more dangerous?? I would be astounded if the GAA let David f**king Forde pass law on our games.

Can we get our association back please?
Post by: clarshack on October 14, 2010, 11:54:39 AM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on October 14, 2010, 11:46:43 AM
when my club won their first derry senior football championship at celtic park the pitch invasion was awesome and utterly safe. But if some thugs were paid to come in and stop us getting on the pitch there would have been serious incidents.

i am in more danger on a dancefloor on a night out. balls to sean cavanagh and his puppetmasters. who do they think they are that we 'the patrons' need educated?

THEY need educated - Do they not see that their hardline will actually make things more dangerous?? I would be astounded if the GAA let David f**king Forde pass law on our games.

Can we get our association back please?

well said!
Post by: DuffleKing on October 14, 2010, 02:26:18 PM

Are there fences koralling the plebs at the new Landsdowne?
Post by: magpie seanie on October 15, 2010, 11:35:05 AM
I was very tentative going onto the pitch in Markievicz after the county hurling final last weekend. I was a bit scared cos I was at a match a few weeks ago and they had this lad on a big video screen telling me how I could get killed if I went on the pitch. Now the stewards opened the gates and all the other people went on so I decided to brave it. All that was going on was some handshakes, a few embraces and a cup prsented to the winners. I didn't see the danger but maybe I was just lucky to escape with my life.
Post by: Jinxy on October 15, 2010, 12:07:35 PM
What would have happened if someone shook your hand so hard you dislocated your shoulder?
What would we tell your family?
I'm Seán Cavanagh and I wholeheartedly endorse this message or product.
Post by: Ludraman on October 15, 2010, 07:45:54 PM

an does dis applie to de manger and de players if dey celebrate too. dat would be some crack if de team wins de all irelan an dey all get arrested. no?

wud marty and rte have to go to the joy for de after match dinner. ha!
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 15, 2010, 08:17:00 PM
I was going to have a rant but I'd be typing for a week about something that doesn't even make sense.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 16, 2010, 03:26:16 AM

I remember sitting in the car with no seatbelt, sitting in cafes and on buses and being choked to death by smoke. Change like that is usually for the better. People adapt and get used to it.  Of course the GAA now is different from what it was when you were a young fella. What do you expect? Things to stay the same? The old ritual of being lifted over the turnstiles at Croke Park is long gone, but is the AI final really any less of an occasion because of it?

I think people are pissed off at being told what to do when told they can't go on the pitch anymore. It's an old entitlement, and there's nothing harder to take away from people than something they've come to think of as being entitled to.

I think there's an element of the traditional Irish mistrust of authority and resentment at being told what to do.

Mine isn't a popular opinion but I personally think that this disrespect for authority is an aspect of Irish culture that has long outlived its usefulness.
Post by: Nally Stand on October 16, 2010, 10:05:39 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 16, 2010, 03:26:16 AM

I remember sitting in the car with no seatbelt, sitting in cafes and on buses and being choked to death by smoke. Change like that is usually for the better. People adapt and get used to it.  Of course the GAA now is different from what it was when you were a young fella. What do you expect? Things to stay the same? The old ritual of being lifted over the turnstiles at Croke Park is long gone, but is the AI final really any less of an occasion because of it?

I think people are pissed off at being told what to do when told they can't go on the pitch anymore. It's an old entitlement, and there's nothing harder to take away from people than something they've come to think of as being entitled to.

I think there's an element of the traditional Irish mistrust of authority and resentment at being told what to do.

Mine isn't a popular opinion but I personally think that this disrespect for authority is an aspect of Irish culture that has long outlived its usefulness.

Jaysus it's got nothing to do with disrespect for authority. If anything the GAA is the group which most people respected the authority off in Ireland. It's to to with a valid GAA tradition being taken away from the very people who make the GAA what it is.

Does anybody know how many people whom I'm assume died at the U2 concert last time round, out of interest?

I see Croke Park has also had the following prototype health & safety signs installed around the stadium to ensure crowd safety:
(http://www.thinkhard.org/090507_0953_Everythingi1.jpg) (http://www.goodexperience.com/broken/i/03/11/door2.s.jpg) (http://www.innocentenglish.com/funny-pics/funny-pics/funny-no-warning-sign.jpg)
Post by: Aerlik on October 16, 2010, 04:21:27 PM
In WA, you get an automatic $5K fine for entering either subiaco or the WACA grounds before the permitted time.
Post by: andoireabu on October 16, 2010, 07:19:37 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 16, 2010, 03:26:16 AM

Your mention of seatbealts and smoking is fair enough because people generally come of badly from those but there has never been a death from a pitch invasion in 125 years of the GAA.  It's the way that it is being forced on people that is annoying me the most as i always thought everyone from club upwards had a say and the vast majority didn't want the barriers or the pitch invasion done away with.  change is generally a good thing when the benefits are seen but change for the sake of change is not good.  the changes to rules that don't need fixed, barriers where they are not needed, politicians sticking their nose is where it is definately not wanted is not a direction i want to see the GAA taking.  they have their own procedures for dealing with problems and if they are not up to scratch then it is an internal problem to sort out, not David Forde or any politician for that matter.

Lifting people over the turnstiles is gone but there was enough people through the gate to make it a great occasion, however i personally think it would have been better to see a crowd of cork fans under the Hogan watching Sam being lifted high.  If it means that there has to be staggered entrance times after the match then that is a good change but there should be enough sane people to control the gobshites.  if the reason for stopping pitch invasions is to leave way for a fancy presentation in the middle of the field with the highest bidders name on the podium then this is not a good change. (Even if it takes a few years)  if this happens then it is a terrible insult to the people who were used as an example as to why pitch invasions are a bad idea ie. Hillsbourgh
Post by: Pearse on October 18, 2010, 07:14:43 PM
In my honest opinion i think that is a joke, i think pitch invasions should still be aloud as they always were untill the GAA started bringing in new and stupid rules. I think they have been a part of the GAA tradition and should not be made as a criminal offence it is the stupidist thing i have ever heard.

I know some pitch invasions can be bad, with officials getting attacked etc, but that didn't stop the GAA years ago. They are starting to talk alot of nonsense, but this is only my opinion.