Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: maggie on October 12, 2010, 08:53:36 AM

Title: Trapped
Post by: maggie on October 12, 2010, 08:53:36 AM
Listening to this story on the news and i hope to God all these men make it out ok, but if you had been trapped down a mine shaft for over 2 months, whats the first thing you would do/first feed you would want when you got out.

Title: Re: Trapped
Post by: ballinaman on October 12, 2010, 09:02:44 AM
Go see that new Ryan Reynolds movie in the cinema.....
Post by: stephenite on October 12, 2010, 09:11:02 AM
One of them might want to stay put. The wife was above holding his photo when she bumped into the unknown mistress also holding his photo :)
Post by: Derry Dolly on October 12, 2010, 09:43:17 AM
Quote from: stephenite on October 12, 2010, 09:11:02 AM
One of them might want to stay put. The wife was above holding his photo when she bumped into the unknown mistress also holding his photo :)

is that true??lol i dont know..are they not getting special type sunglasses when they come out to avoid direct sunlight?god bein in pitch black so long, it would blind u!
Post by: Olly on October 12, 2010, 09:50:52 AM
This is a very good question.

A lot of those boys wouldn't know:

How the X-Factor is going
Who won the hurling and the football
The current price of petrol or diesel
Who is dead as in a celebrity like the woman out of titanic
Has Obama been caught or still living in a bunker?
Average temperature of the ice caps (up or down)
Any new films out?
Any new inventions like chip and pin?
Have your bank accounts gone into overdraught?

For eating:

A beer
a chicken royal with cheese.
Corned beef samdwiches.
Post by: Nally Stand on October 12, 2010, 10:02:07 AM
Get a drop of tay and get back down the mine again. There's work to be done.
Post by: lolafrola on October 12, 2010, 10:10:55 AM
Well technically they haven't clocked out yet so that shift should pay quite well, they may wish for a long hot bath with a shave and some oral sex (from their mistress, i'm told wives don't do that :D)
Post by: Bogball XV on October 12, 2010, 11:03:22 AM
I thought this was going to be a relationship thread!

As for the chilean miner and his wife and lover meeting:

http://www.watoday.com.au/world/wife-runs-into-mistress-at-mine-20100903-14rxt.html

It's true!!
Post by: Denn Forever on October 12, 2010, 11:09:08 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on October 12, 2010, 11:03:22 AM
I thought this was going to be a relationship thread!

As for the chilean miner and his wife and lover meeting:

http://www.watoday.com.au/world/wife-runs-into-mistress-at-mine-20100903-14rxt.html

It's true!!

Which would he term the bad luck?

Trapped for 2 months or trapped in a moment?
Post by: Zapatista on October 12, 2010, 11:53:42 AM
Thisis a little off topic but-

I was listening to Pat Kenny there and he and a guest were chatting about visions when someone has a near death experience. They were happily chatting about people on their death beds seeing tunnels and lights at the end. I was thinking this wasn't good, tunnels go down, if you are near dead and you see a tunnel then your're probably going to hell.
Post by: caughtredhanded on October 12, 2010, 12:53:45 PM
What happens in the mine stays in the mine....... ;)
(http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/6646/trappedchileanminers006.jpg)
Post by: johnneycool on October 12, 2010, 02:27:29 PM
Quote from: Olly on October 12, 2010, 09:50:52 AM
This is a very good question.

A lot of those boys wouldn't know:

How the X-Factor is going
Who won the hurling and the football
The current price of petrol or diesel
Who is dead as in a celebrity like the woman out of titanic
Has Obama been caught or still living in a bunker?
Average temperature of the ice caps (up or down)
Any new films out?
Any new inventions like chip and pin?
Have your bank accounts gone into overdraught?

For eating:

A beer
a chicken royal with cheese.
Corned beef samdwiches.

OR

Who owns Liverpool FC? (nobody does)

Who's Katie Price married to now?

Who's leader of the UUP?

What David Cameroons policy's are?

Where's Iris and has she been cured from her illness?
Post by: Zapatista on October 12, 2010, 02:28:14 PM
Quote from: caughtredhanded on October 12, 2010, 12:53:45 PM
What happens in the mine stays in the mine....... ;)
(http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/6646/trappedchileanminers006.jpg)

(http://www.gunaxin.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/VP.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on October 12, 2010, 02:58:37 PM
It reminds me of the last ever episode of Quantum Leap.
Post by: ross4life on October 12, 2010, 04:29:24 PM
Check the gaaboard to see if you were added to the "missing posters" thread if not  :-\

as for meal...

(http://www.seriouseats.com/images/20090917-10poundbreakfast.jpg)
Post by: Boycey on October 12, 2010, 04:31:47 PM
Thats not a proper fry-up, theres no black or white pudding
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 12, 2010, 07:16:07 PM
I hope none of them are too big boned! did you see the width of the tunnel they have to use!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 12, 2010, 07:21:13 PM
Quote from: maggie on October 12, 2010, 08:53:36 AM
Listening to this story on the news and i hope to God all these men make it out ok, but if you had been trapped down a mine shaft for over 2 months, whats the first thing you would do/first feed you would want when you got out.

A pint..no actually a keg of Coors Light and a 24 packet box of King Crisps..

The mistress/wife thing could be a disaster for me..
Post by: maggie on October 12, 2010, 08:05:28 PM
My first meal would have to be fillet steak with homemade chips, saute mushrooms and onions with pepper sauce on the side. Washed down with a can of ice cold full fat coke.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 12, 2010, 08:20:56 PM
Quote from: maggie on October 12, 2010, 08:05:28 PM
My first meal would have to be fillet steak with homemade chips, saute mushrooms and onions with pepper sauce on the side. Washed down with a can of ice cold full fat coke.

My kind of woman....If I wasn't already married maggie  ;)
Post by: leenie on October 12, 2010, 08:28:12 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 12, 2010, 08:20:56 PM

My kind of woman....If I wasn't already married maggie  ;)

well if it's good enough for the chilean miner...... ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;)
Post by: maggie on October 12, 2010, 09:34:52 PM
Ah sure I'd make a great mistress LL

;-)
Post by: ross4life on October 12, 2010, 09:39:21 PM
Quote from: maggie on October 12, 2010, 09:34:52 PM
Ah sure I'd make a great mistress LL

;-)

Some quare fellas in Laois he might be looking for a hubby now  :D
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on October 12, 2010, 09:46:06 PM
It was reported in one of the papers that at least five of the trapped miners have mistresses. They might be safer staying down there!!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 12, 2010, 09:55:33 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 12, 2010, 07:16:07 PM
I hope none of them are too big boned! did you see the width of the tunnel they have to use!
Was thinking that myself but I'm sure they haven't been putting on much weight down there.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 12, 2010, 10:04:54 PM
They've been on strict diets I think. If those guys put on weight it could have potential to cause problems down there. (A shift of weight could cause issues...)

They sent a fat guy down in that tube thing I noticed the other day. Breathing in he was mind...

Hope it all works out. Gees it's a horrendous affair altogether.
Post by: ONeill on October 12, 2010, 10:22:22 PM

Sort of fallen for you too now. Maybe there should be a Gaaboard dance-off.
Post by: ziggysego on October 12, 2010, 11:39:49 PM

That hug we had in Saturday was special.
Post by: leenie on October 12, 2010, 11:53:01 PM

getting away from the fact that maggie would stuff her face.. i'd imagine if all is rescued safely and when the hype dies down they will probably have serious problems with coming to terms with it... seriously physcological  problems...

back to maggie... how'd have ur steak cook?            medium rare?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 13, 2010, 03:24:15 AM
There's the first rescuer on the way down.

Rather him than me!!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 13, 2010, 03:42:59 AM
This is incredible viewing!!!
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 13, 2010, 04:15:31 AM
First one up!!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 13, 2010, 04:32:08 AM
Great moment seeing the first man out.  Good luck to them all.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 13, 2010, 05:20:42 AM
The second fella enjoyed that!!

Brought them rocks as presents
Post by: gerry on October 13, 2010, 05:23:56 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 13, 2010, 05:20:42 AM
The second fella enjoyed that!!

Brought them rocks as presents

no chance of him staying in hospital
Post by: Bud Wiser on October 13, 2010, 08:53:40 AM
Sky News are bringing in their own engineers and Health & Safety. They want the wheel on the derek to turn at a rate of rise of .0000012 meters per second which means this could run for two or three months.
Post by: Bogball XV on October 13, 2010, 10:16:12 AM
Maybe there's something wrong with me, but a footnote at the end of the news telling me that the 30 odd miners in chile have now been rescued would be more than enough for me.  I don't want to see the footage (well maybe of the wives and mistressess and miners all meeting would be good), I am glad they're being saved, but it's gets a bit tiresome hearing about this as headline news, as we will for the next week or so.
Post by: Capt Pat on October 13, 2010, 11:50:38 AM
It is over the top coverage, but at the same time, it is entertaining. That is why it is on all the time. I bet if people stopped watching and phoned in complaining they would move on to something else.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on October 13, 2010, 12:06:09 PM
It's fantastic coverage. Isn't it good to see good news for a change.

However SKY sickened me when they suggested that the second fella up may have milked the situation in order to generate more interest from the subsequent media bidding wars.
Post by: Orior on October 13, 2010, 12:19:39 PM
This is a wonderful uplifting story.
Post by: ziggysego on October 13, 2010, 12:25:44 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 13, 2010, 12:19:39 PM

Boom Boom ;)
Post by: Geoff Tipps on October 13, 2010, 04:14:22 PM

(http://www.thecollaredsheep.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/Zoolander-Blue-Coal-Miner.jpg)

(http://www.pinkgorillagames.com/news/zoolander.jpg)
Post by: Puckoon on October 13, 2010, 06:15:05 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on October 13, 2010, 10:16:12 AM
Maybe there's something wrong with me, but a footnote at the end of the news telling me that the 30 odd miners in chile have now been rescued would be more than enough for me.  I don't want to see the footage (well maybe of the wives and mistressess and miners all meeting would be good), I am glad they're being saved, but it's gets a bit tiresome hearing about this as headline news, as we will for the next week or so.

Funny enough I feel the same - but the women at home and work can't get enough of this. I suppose as someone else said beneath you bogball -isnt it great to see good news for a change.
Post by: Orior on October 13, 2010, 07:35:37 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 13, 2010, 12:25:44 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 13, 2010, 12:19:39 PM

Boom Boom ;)

Eeeek. Would you believe that I didnt mean that?
Post by: Boycey on October 13, 2010, 07:39:14 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 13, 2010, 06:15:05 PM

Funny enough I feel the same - but the women at home and work can't get enough of this. I suppose as someone else said beneath you bogball -isnt it great to see good news for a change.

I'm normally a bit of a cynic ( just read my posts!!) but I'm strangely enthralled by this. Picked up the wee fella from school today and we watched three hours straight on Sky news and boy did he ask some questions, I suppose its hard to get your head round when you're 9. Hes wants to know why they can't just put an elevator down and take them all out.

Think the fascination for me is that there is still the potential for disaster
Post by: Orior on October 13, 2010, 08:11:17 PM
One hour after they were trapped - would have been crazy
but what about one day.
Then one week.
Post by: ONeill on October 13, 2010, 08:16:15 PM
Here comes loverboy.
Post by: Bogball XV on October 13, 2010, 08:18:37 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 13, 2010, 08:16:15 PM
Here comes loverboy.
lad in work informed me today that 5 of them were in the same boat - don't know if it's true or not.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 13, 2010, 08:19:33 PM
yeah - but 4 of them knew about the mistress
Post by: Norf Tyrone on October 13, 2010, 08:21:46 PM
Quote from: Boycey on October 13, 2010, 07:39:14 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 13, 2010, 06:15:05 PM

I'm normally a bit of a cynic ( just read my posts!!) but I'm strangely enthralled by this. Picked up the wee fella from school today and we watched three hours straight on Sky news and boy did he ask some questions, I suppose its hard to get your head round when you're 9. Hes wants to know why they can't just put an elevator down and take them all out.

Think the fascination for me is that there is still the potential for disaster

The wee lad woke at 7am this morning and went down and put on the TV himself. He came bounding up the stairs shouting 'they're out, they're out'. He's only 5. Despite the 3 hours sleep that I had had, I thought that this was cool and sweet! Got up, and we watched it together for a while.
Post by: ONeill on October 13, 2010, 08:27:45 PM
Cool? FFS.

Glued to the coverage all day. Rather have this news than a drugs haul in Ballymena.
Post by: ONeill on October 13, 2010, 08:30:49 PM
The wife waiting with rolling pin.
Post by: ziggysego on October 13, 2010, 08:41:47 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 13, 2010, 08:16:15 PM
Here comes loverboy.

There is some confusion about the identity of the woman Yonni Barrios embraced on his return. Local television have identified the lady as his wife, Marta Salinas. - BBC website  :D
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 13, 2010, 08:47:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 13, 2010, 08:27:45 PM
Cool? FFS.

Glued to the coverage all day. Rather have this news than a drugs haul in Ballymena.
"Right lads copy out the text book and don't be asking any questions".
Post by: Puckoon on October 13, 2010, 08:56:49 PM
Over two months - serious question lads.

Would you have knocked one out?
Post by: ziggysego on October 13, 2010, 09:00:53 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 13, 2010, 08:56:49 PM

I guess if one of them annoyed me, I'd hit him.  8)
Post by: Orior on October 13, 2010, 09:11:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 13, 2010, 08:47:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 13, 2010, 08:27:45 PM
Cool? FFS.

"Right lads copy out the text book and don't be asking any questions".

I can see another court case looming.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 13, 2010, 09:13:07 PM

If I was stuck underground with any thirty people in the world I'd say I'd knock a fair few of them out.  The Grinds my gears thread would take some hammering on my return.

Oh I see what you mean...it would depend.

Just how much space had they down there anyway - had they even toilets or were they all going in the corner?
Post by: Square Ball on October 13, 2010, 09:16:29 PM
think like a lot of peopel I have watched a lot of this and was delighted when the first one appeared, but watched it on the BBC as I cant stand sky news
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 13, 2010, 09:17:15 PM

They'd have needed one to fit into thon capsule. I'd say those boys will be running on empty for months to come!
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 13, 2010, 09:21:49 PM
Fair dues to the Chilean government and all the people involved in the rescue. If that was China a boy would have have been tipping concrete down the hole on day one.
Post by: Minder on October 13, 2010, 09:22:56 PM
If this had happened in Blighty David Beckham would probably have been there to meet each one.
Post by: Square Ball on October 13, 2010, 09:27:57 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 13, 2010, 09:22:56 PM
If this had happened in Blighty David Beckham would probably have been there to meet each one.

what impressed me was the way the Chilien president and most ministers held a lot of their briefings in english.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 13, 2010, 09:29:11 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 13, 2010, 09:22:56 PM
It's a wonder Cheryl Cole hasn't sent her best wishes.
Post by: maggie on October 13, 2010, 09:31:11 PM
That fella who took all the rocks out had the best exit strategy so far. Wonder did they have a wee chat down below to discuss their plan of action for leaving..
Would love to stay up and watch the last man coming out.
Post by: Minder on October 13, 2010, 09:33:08 PM
This ones Ma hadn't slept since August, there must be a Chilean version of DLA.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 13, 2010, 09:37:51 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 13, 2010, 09:33:08 PM
:D:D

The man who speaks the best English will make a fortune as no doubt Leno, Letterman etc will want them on. Book deals, tv appearances, movie rights etc. won't be far behind.
Post by: Minder on October 13, 2010, 09:44:41 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 13, 2010, 09:37:51 PM

The man who speaks the best English will make a fortune as no doubt Leno, Letterman etc will want them on. Book deals, tv appearances, movie rights etc. won't be far behind.

I don't think anyone would begrudge them a penny, at least they have a story to tell worth hearing.
Post by: ziggysego on October 13, 2010, 09:53:11 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 13, 2010, 09:44:41 PM
I don't think anyone would begrudge them a penny, at least they have a story to tell worth hearing.

Really?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2010, 09:56:48 PM
Wouldn't you hate to be the last rescue worker left in the mine.
He will be down there on his own for about 20 mins.
Brave men the rescue men too,imagine being the first one to go down.
Post by: Minder on October 13, 2010, 09:57:57 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 13, 2010, 09:53:11 PM

Really?

Really.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2010, 10:01:54 PM

Really?

A book I would buy anyway.
Post by: Minder on October 13, 2010, 10:03:21 PM
Is the President up for re-election anytime soon? Just a thought.
Post by: paco on October 13, 2010, 10:03:53 PM
Have been tuning into it every so often as opposed to watching it unfold minute by minute. I can't remember their names, but, did anyone see the 5 year old son of one of the miners waiting on his aul boy to come out? The young boy was in tears and, apparently, had been keeping a diary ever since they first got trapped, his da came out around 6 (our time) and the cub just ran and embraced him. Thought it was great stuff.
Post by: maggie on October 13, 2010, 10:05:09 PM
The report I heard earlier said he wasn't long into the job.
Post by: Orior on October 13, 2010, 10:08:48 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2010, 10:01:54 PM

Really?

Me too. It will probably be one of those crappy True Lives film channels next year. Hopefully not.

I wouldnt begrudge those boys making a bit of money out of this.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2010, 10:10:53 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 13, 2010, 10:08:48 PM

Really?

Me too. It will probably be one of those crappy True Lives film channels next year. Hopefully not.

I reckon it will get the full Hollywood treatment,only the Chilean miners will all have American accents 
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 13, 2010, 10:13:59 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2010, 10:10:53 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 13, 2010, 10:08:48 PM

Really?

I reckon it will get the full Hollywood treatment,only the Chilean miners will all have American accents
The Chilean miners will be American miners.
Post by: ross4life on October 13, 2010, 10:15:34 PM
would make a great 4/5 hour Martin Scorsese film with Leonardo DiCaprio the leading actor! i'm sure he'll do the Miner with all the women  :D
Post by: ONeill on October 13, 2010, 10:16:25 PM
They'll jazz up the story too. A love interest brews whilst there are drive-by shootings, all underground.
Post by: Bogball XV on October 13, 2010, 10:18:16 PM

Was there not talk at the start that they wouldn't be paid for the time down the mine as their shift was only x hours?  Honestly, think I heard that somewhere, also I believe I heard that that compensation would not be payable either?  But, I haven't been paying much attention this past while, so i'm open to correction.

Also, re their exit strategy etc, would they ever have thought whilst down there that there'd be this amount of worldwide attention?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2010, 10:20:22 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on October 13, 2010, 10:18:16 PM

Was there not talk at the start that they wouldn't be paid for the time down the mine as their shift was only x hours?  Honestly, think I heard that somewhere, also I believe I heard that that compensation would not be payable either?  But, I haven't been paying much attention this past while, so i'm open to correction.

Also, re their exit strategy etc, would they ever have thought whilst down there that there'd be this amount of worldwide attention?

There has been daily contact with them for 2 months hasn't there? So i'd say they were well aware.
Not sure about their wages and stuff though.
Post by: ziggysego on October 13, 2010, 10:23:16 PM
I remember hearing something about their wages alright Bogball.
Post by: Bogball XV on October 13, 2010, 10:24:18 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2010, 10:20:22 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on October 13, 2010, 10:18:16 PMThere has been daily contact with them for 2 months hasn't there? So i'd say they were well aware.
Not sure about their wages and stuff though.
The contact was all censored and monitored though to ensure that they'd not be getting hopes up unreallistically etc.  I don't know, even if they'd had an inkling, there's no way they'd have envisaged a 6 page thread on the gaaboard about them :o
Post by: ONeill on October 13, 2010, 10:26:04 PM
They're fairly shooting up that yoke now. 25.

Yer rescue man has a lonely wait at the end. Imagine if the whole shebang collapsed or he was attacked by a bear who was too frightened to take on 33 miners but now seizes the chance. Then the bear goes up the capsule and someone hugs him.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 13, 2010, 10:26:40 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 13, 2010, 10:16:25 PM
They'll jazz up the story too. A love interest brews whilst there are drive-by shootings, all underground.
Jeez are you accusing them of indulging in man love?
Post by: ziggysego on October 13, 2010, 10:27:22 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 13, 2010, 10:26:04 PM
Yer rescue man at the end has a lonely wait at the end. Imagine if the whole shebang collapsed or he was attacked by a bear who was too frightened to take on 33 miners but now seizes the chance. Then the bear goes up the capsule and someone hugs him.

Smarter than the average bear.
Post by: Orior on October 13, 2010, 10:30:34 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 13, 2010, 10:26:04 PM
They're fairly shooting up that yoke now. 25.

Yer rescue man has a lonely wait at the end. Imagine if the whole shebang collapsed or he was attacked by a bear who was too frightened to take on 33 miners but now seizes the chance. Then the bear goes up the capsule and someone hugs him.

Even worse, it could be Gary Glitter down there chasing minors.

(Apologies for the above)
Post by: King Henry on October 13, 2010, 10:33:42 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2010, 09:56:48 PM
Wouldn't you hate to be the last rescue worker left in the mine.
He will be down there on his own for about 20 mins.
Brave men the rescue men too,imagine being the first one to go down.

Was thinking the same thing myself re the last rescue worker left..
He must have balls of rocks  ;)
Post by: ONeill on October 13, 2010, 10:42:36 PM
Every one of them looks foreign.
Post by: ross4life on October 13, 2010, 10:50:07 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 13, 2010, 10:42:36 PM
Every one of them looks foreign.

Alot of them look like the Tyrone football team from 2008  ;)
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 13, 2010, 11:10:19 PM
One of them was running six mile aday. How the feck would you knock one out after that?
Post by: Puckoon on October 13, 2010, 11:14:34 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on October 13, 2010, 11:10:19 PM
One of them was running six mile aday. How the feck would you knock one out after that?

In the shower?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 13, 2010, 11:18:53 PM

Franklin Erasmo Lobos Ramírez (born June 2, 1957 in Copiapó) is a retired Chilean footballer. Lobos debuted in 1980 for Regional Atacama, and retired in 1995, playing for the same club he started his career with. He was nicknamed El Mortero Mágico (The Magic Mortar).[1] He eventually became a miner, and was one of the miners trapped underground for two months in the 2010 Copiapó mining accident.

Football career

Club

In domestic competition Lobos played for Cobresal, Deportes Antofagasta, Santiago Wanderers and Unión La Calera, among others. He was known for his powerful free-kicks

International

Lobos played in the qualifying round of the 1984 Olympic Games for Chile

Honours
Segunda División: 1983 with Cobresal
Post by: omagh_gael on October 13, 2010, 11:34:17 PM
He's sh1te. Couldn't even do three keepy uppies when he got out of the capsule.
Post by: Puckoon on October 13, 2010, 11:41:59 PM
Miners celebrating and scousers dancing in the streets - its like Thatcher has died.
Post by: ONeill on October 13, 2010, 11:42:34 PM
What did they eat?

Before the miners were reached, they survived for 17 days on food already stored in the emergency shelter. Each miner lived on two spoonfuls of tuna, a sip of milk, a bite of crackers and a small amount of peaches every other day until supplies were sent down. Once the miners could be reached from the surface with a narrow perforation drill, rescuers began sending them hydration gel, soup and medication in narrow plastic tubes called 'doves.'

A six-inch diameter bore hole allowed food and water supplies to be sent down to the mine. Doctors then put the men on a solid diet of meat and rice, with a strict 2,200-calorie diet to keep them slim enough to fit in the evacuation shaft, which is just 66 cm in diameter.

What were the conditions like?

Hot, dark and crowded. The men were trapped in one of the lowest levels of the mine, 2,257 ft (688m) below the surface, where it is pitch black and constantly 86 F (30 C). They had access to a refuge shelter which is 530 sq ft.

According to reports, the shelter consisted of 30 chairs, a few benches, blankets and an oxygen reserve but no beds. A half-mile corridor could also be safely accessed with no risk of collapse. As well as being equipped by rescuers with oxygen reserves, the miners insisted that large pockets of oxygen were available underground and claimed that they could breathe normally.

The chief of emergency operations for the Mine Safety and Health Administration said the miners were at an advantage because metal mines provide a safer atmosphere than coal ones as they are generally free of methane - a harmful gas found in coal mines.

How did they keep healthy?

On 23 August the miners sang the Chilean national anthem as rescuers sent down oxygen capsules, glucose and rehydration tablets to restore their digestive systems. During more than two months underground, the miners' rescue and support team grew to more than three hundred people, including communications experts, doctors, psychologists, launderers and cooks. Doctors were also able to pass down a biometric belt allowing the miners to monitor and transmit their vital signs to the surface using wireless technology.

In the tunnel near the shelter where the men initially took refuge, the miners set up a portable chemical toilet and latrines. Rescuers were worried that due to the cramped conditions, dysentery disease could affect the miners. They also feared men were at the risk of blood clots and panic attacks.

The rescue team refused requests from some men for cigarettes, and alcohol was ruled out, part of an overall routine designed to keep the men focused. The smokers made do with patches and nicotine gum.

How did they communicate with the outside world?

On 22 August knocking was heard on a drill head as it reached the depths of the mine. Rescuers celebrated as they withdrew the drill to find a note attached reading, "The 33 of us in the shelter are well." Once the first bore hole established a lifeline to the men, letters began to pass between loved-ones via the 'doves.' Later a fiber optic line enabling phone calls and videoconferencing was installed in the mine.

What was their routine?

Once discovered, the men quickly established a regular meal schedule including breakfast, lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Supported by a 500 watt power line, they installed lights to simulate day and night to diminish the impact of their eventual return to the surface.

Physiologists set up obligatory exercise schedules to keep the men fit and slim for their passage up the escape shaft. In recent weeks, the miners began to help with the rescue operation - taking shifts to clear away debris that fell into the tunnel of the mine.

How did they entertain themselves?

Several of the men are known to be football fanatics, with one having played professionally. With a cable installed, the miners were able to watch a live feed of games such as Chile's friendly match against Ukraine. They also received videos of football greats like Pele and Maradona and set up an area in their refuge shelter to play cards, dominoes and other games. The miners also received small music players and speakers as well as Bibles and rosaries blessed by Pope Benedict.

One of the miners' most relished gifts was a small high-definition video camera with which they've recorded a large part of their ordeal. Despite the hazards they confront, the men have maintained high spirits with some of them capturing eight hours of their favorite jokes on film.

How are they being rescued?

A 21-inch wide rescue capsule, dubbed 'The Phoenix', painted in the colours of the Chilean flag is hoisting the miners to safety. 'The Phoenix' contains tanks of air, a microphone for communication and equipment to monitor the miners' heart rate and breathing as they are raised to the surface.

The miners are being hauled vertically from the bottom of the mine to the borehole, which is said to be double the height of the Eiffel Tower. The ride to the top takes no more than half an hour. The capsule is fitted with exterior wheels that help it slide down the borehole as it is lowered by a massive crane.

How did they decide who should be the first one out?

In late September, Chile's health minister said a rescue expert and a paramedic would make the first journey to carry out a medical check and decide the order in which the miners should be extracted, based on their physical and mental conditions. The miners are said to have squabbled over who should be the last to leave, with many of them wanting a place in the Guinness World Records for the longest time a miner has ever been trapped underground.
Post by: Orior on October 14, 2010, 12:02:29 AM
Okay be honest.

Did anyone feel tears in their eyes as the miners met their loved ones?
Post by: ross4life on October 14, 2010, 12:05:57 AM
Quote from: Orior on October 14, 2010, 12:02:29 AM
Okay be honest.

Did anyone feel tears in their eyes as the miners met their loved ones?

The last miner out with his little daughter crying almost got me... but a packet of Mccoys "man crisps" held back the tears
Post by: leenie on October 14, 2010, 12:07:03 AM

i'm must be a bad person, though very happy for them i was at no stage tearful!

so cold hearted!
Post by: ross4life on October 14, 2010, 12:10:06 AM
Quote from: leenie on October 14, 2010, 12:07:03 AM

i'm must be a bad person, though very happy for them i was at no stage tearful!

so cold hearted!

Leenie are you a nurse or member of the Garda?
Post by: muppet on October 14, 2010, 12:17:21 AM
What they really should have done for the craic:

Everyone on the surface should have dressed up as 'Planet of the Apes'.
Post by: ONeill on October 14, 2010, 12:25:05 AM
Quote from: muppet on October 14, 2010, 12:17:21 AM
What they really should have done for the craic:

Everyone on the surface should have dressed up as 'Planet of the Apes'.

Or hid.
Post by: Orior on October 14, 2010, 12:34:57 AM
LOL.

Post by: leenie on October 14, 2010, 12:39:27 AM
 :o

:D :D :D :D
Post by: ross4life on October 14, 2010, 12:44:13 AM
I think that's the best looking wife/mistress so far
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 14, 2010, 01:01:20 AM
Lads.

We need a similar scenario to boost the economy and the nation's mood.

33 Bord na Mona workers get stranded in a boghole in The Bog of Allen.

Brian Cowen addresses the nation to pull together for the sake of the 33. Sky News sets up camp in Clara, boosting the local economy by 3 million euro. The EU row in with grant aid. Bob Geldof does Bog Aid. Bono promises to release an album to raise funds called 'Sod Off, Ye begrudgers'

Soon we'll have 100 billion - pay back European Central Bank, Roman Abramovich and all our ills are sorted in time for reunification in 2016.
Post by: muppet on October 14, 2010, 01:07:48 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 14, 2010, 01:01:20 AM
Lads.

Brian Cowen addresses the nation to pull together for the sake of the 33. Sky News sets up camp in Clara, boosting the local economy by 3 million euro. The EU row in with grant aid. Bob Geldof does Bog Aid. Bono promises to release an album to raise funds called 'Sod Off, Ye begrudgers'

Soon we'll have 100 billion - pay back European Central Bank, Roman Abramovich and all our ills are sorted in time for reunification in 2016.

the Bertie to arrive with a banner:

"A lot dug, more to dig out!"
Post by: leenie on October 14, 2010, 01:48:21 AM
Lads.

were u watching the nighty news with vincent browne by any chance?
Post by: ross4life on October 14, 2010, 01:51:24 AM
Will that's the final Miner on his way up & to Quote the final scene of the Truman Show..............Security Guard 1: What else is on? Security Guard 2: Yeah, let's see what else is on. Security Guard 1: Where's the TV guide?
Post by: ballinaman on October 14, 2010, 02:42:10 AM
Quote from: ross4life on October 14, 2010, 01:51:24 AM
Will that's the final Miner on his way up & to Quote the final scene of the Truman Show..............Security Guard 1: What else is on? Security Guard 2: Yeah, let's see what else is on. Security Guard 1: Where's the TV guide?
True.

Also,I hate how mainstream and famous the miners have become. I liked it better when they were that bit more underground.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 14, 2010, 08:01:06 AM
Quotewere u watching the nighty news with vincent browne by any chance

No Leenie, I wasn't. I cannot stand that program. Has Vinnie Brown suggested a cunning plan similar to mine?
Post by: ziggysego on October 14, 2010, 09:08:02 AM
Photograph from one of the miners of the rescue mission.

(http://i480.photobucket.com/albums/rr170/SV-93/6613-DigDug.jpg)
Post by: Bogball XV on October 14, 2010, 09:47:37 AM
Quote from: muppet on October 14, 2010, 01:07:48 AM
Lads.

jeez you were on fire last night muppet, first planet of the apes and then this!!  (planet of the apes would have been great)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 14, 2010, 10:28:46 AM
Lads.

:D Tuned into a bit of this last night and found it enthralling. Loverboy wasn't exactly overjoyed to meet the wife or did it turn out to be his sister?
Post by: ziggysego on October 14, 2010, 10:58:59 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on October 14, 2010, 10:28:46 AM
Lads.

:D Tuned into a bit of this last night and found it enthralling. Loverboy wasn't exactly overjoyed to meet the wife or did it turn out to be his sister?

I think it was his mistress. Hard to know, there's that many of them  :D
Post by: Olly on October 14, 2010, 01:29:22 PM
Can I throw this out there? I was watching this last night and I became suspicious of a few things. Firstly the men were not too elated when they got out. They just sort of smiled and hugged a couple of people and then lay down on a bed for a while and waved.

Also, the men in wet suits at the top were just joking away when the 'capsule' was supposedly being pulled up. Then an alarm would sound and they'd all pretend to be grabbling with something. I think we were not meant to hear that alarm. It was a signal for the 'men' to look busy for the cameras.

Also, the capsule was a joke. It looked liked it was made from carboard. Was that really underground footage, or just someone sticking something down a hole in the ceiling of a hideaway house, maybe filmed months ago.

What I'm saying is this - was this made up. It's a conspiracy theory. The Americans and British have bullied the Chileans into staging this to deflect attention off something they're doing but we haven't worked out what it is. It might be making money to counteract the recession or maybe deflecting attention away from Give Her Dixie's attempts to get stuff to Gaza. Or anything.

I think the miners had big meals and even their wives down there through a secret hole. Throwing it out there...
Post by: muppet on October 14, 2010, 01:32:52 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on October 14, 2010, 09:47:37 AM
Lads.

jeez you were on fire last night muppet, first planet of the apes and then this!!  (planet of the apes would have been great)

Don't know what was wrong with me. But I am changing the title of the thread!
Post by: Olly on October 14, 2010, 02:18:37 PM
Or even the GAA. The miners were supposedly rescued on the day the football All-Stars were released. I'm 99.9 certain they didn't but what's to say the GAA didn't manufacture the whole Chile scam to take away coverage of Canty getting an ALl-STar.
Post by: Olly on October 14, 2010, 02:21:56 PM
I KNEW IT - THIS IS FROM THE INTERNET

Worldwide celebration as first Chilean miners' conspiracy theory unearthed

Sociology lecturers and people with slightly too much time on their hands have expressed their deep joy at the first conspiracy theory being pulled out, unscathed, from 'a deep well of implausibility.'

'This is great stuff' declared Geoff Meston, an IT Consultant from Bristol who had mistakenly queued for 48 hours outside his local Apple store for the 'official launch' of the first theory. 'It mirrors the 'fake moon landing' conspiracies, but this one has an internal consistency that is all its own; it is – if you like – a 'classic with a twist' conspiracy.'

'First of all I picked up tweets that revealed the government of Chile were 'planning a big operation in the desert', something that would 'take days to set up'. Initially people seemed to be saying they wouldn't be able to pull it off. They were flying a lot of cameras and hardware in, so there was definitely technical expertise involved, and staging such a high profile stunt would have needed buy-in from the very top.'

'Another anomaly was the time: I watched the broadcast in the early hours of the morning, but the clock on the screen and the setting sun both showed that the 'live' footage was actually shot four hours earlier: a dead giveaway.'

Journalists and news teams continue their round the clock vigil of internet chatrooms for further conspiracies to be exhumed. 'It's looking good' remarked Neil Gummer of Channel 4 news 'We thought it would be ages until another, totally contradictory theory emerged, blinking, into the media glare. However we have just heard distant rumblings on DavidIke.com that this initial theory was 'just what they want us to believe' so it looks like we won't have to wait much longer.'

dicky 37
Post by: Orior on October 14, 2010, 02:42:23 PM
Lads.

Is Tara Mines closed?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 14, 2010, 02:54:09 PM
Biffo wouldn't allow Tara Mines to come into the picture as Noel Dempsey would be all over that one.

No - Cowen would want the action in Laois/Offaly.
Post by: leenie on October 14, 2010, 03:46:30 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 14, 2010, 08:01:06 AM
Quotewere u watching the nightly news with Vincent Browne by any chance

No Leenie, I wasn't. I cannot stand that program. Has Vinnie Brown suggested a cunning plan similar to mine?

he said something along the lines of this is a great story for the world and the Chilean leader had gone up in peoples opinions because of the care he showed and then he said something like this would do wonders for cowen,.... the panel laughed heartily

and then they received several emails and msg's of disapproval!
Post by: Orior on October 14, 2010, 04:42:40 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 14, 2010, 01:51:24 AM

Or Davina McCaul jumps out yelling "Say bye-bye to the Big Brother Cave!"
Post by: maggie on October 14, 2010, 05:36:43 PM
App the miners are gonna release a cover of 'You raise me up'.
Post by: Puckoon on October 14, 2010, 05:39:00 PM
I think they are going to release that Alice in Chains number "Down in a hole" in time for Christmas.

Or maybe even Stevie Wonders "Higher Ground"
Post by: maggie on October 14, 2010, 05:41:09 PM
Lighthouse family-Lifted.
Post by: Puckoon on October 14, 2010, 05:43:32 PM
U2 - Red hill mining town.

Jesus someone should have send them a play list.

U2 - Vertigo
Post by: maggie on October 14, 2010, 05:45:33 PM
Going Underground- not sure who sings it.
Post by: Puckoon on October 14, 2010, 05:48:12 PM
I saw the light - Hank Williams

Blinded by the light - Manfred Mann

Of course - this old classic

Dancing in the Dark - The Boss.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 14, 2010, 05:54:26 PM
QuoteGoing Underground- not sure who sings it

The Jam

Cover version done by Under the Wobbly Ashtray that sadly never got captured.
Post by: maggie on October 14, 2010, 06:00:18 PM
Thanks SS. Though could never beat Puck at that game. He is like the music man!
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 14, 2010, 06:04:28 PM
Did yous see the president going around hugging them and leading them in song etc - can yous imagine Biffo or Cameron doing that  :D
Post by: ludermor on October 14, 2010, 06:13:41 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 14, 2010, 06:04:28 PM
Did yous see the president going around hugging them and leading them in song etc - can yous imagine Biffo or Cameron doing that  :D
I can imagine Biffo doing it no bother!
Post by: ONeill on October 14, 2010, 08:12:44 PM
One More Night
Post by: Puckoon on October 14, 2010, 08:31:46 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-oKdvFCC8Tc (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-oKdvFCC8Tc)
Post by: ballinaman on October 14, 2010, 10:04:41 PM
SNES Artist impression of events in Chile...

(http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs398.ash2/67633_10150099642723777_701038776_5341020_1872243_n.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on October 14, 2010, 10:18:06 PM
Very good ballinaman  :D
Post by: muppet on October 15, 2010, 12:14:34 AM
(http://www.discoogle.com/w/images/thumb/b/b4/1AC691F9144A9C557993A6F550AE6FFA.jpg/300px-1AC691F9144A9C557993A6F550AE6FFA.jpg)