Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Hurler on the Bitch on October 08, 2010, 09:52:09 PM

Title: Hats off to Matty Burrows!
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on October 08, 2010, 09:52:09 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/9065746.stm

Must say, in pure skill terms, this is an absolute joy to behold.......
Title: Re: Hats off to Matty Burrows!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 08, 2010, 09:54:17 PM
great skill, but a pure fluke !
Post by: caughtredhanded on October 08, 2010, 09:54:50 PM
A classy finish indeed.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on October 08, 2010, 10:40:45 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on October 08, 2010, 09:54:17 PM

Give the boy some credit..
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 08, 2010, 10:42:47 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on October 08, 2010, 10:40:45 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on October 08, 2010, 09:54:17 PM

Give the boy some credit..
Credit for what exactly? being lucky?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 08, 2010, 10:52:36 PM
I will give him credit for trying it, but if him, me, you, and another dozen members of this board tried that tomorrow, 5 times each, we could score as much as him.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on October 08, 2010, 10:55:48 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on October 08, 2010, 10:52:36 PM
I will give him credit for trying it, but if him, me, you, and another dozen members of this board tried that tomorrow, 5 times each, we could score as much as him.
ARSE! That is why we are here discussing, perhaps, a moment of genius. That is a word used too much these days, but that piece of inspired thought has got him over 2,000,000 hits on youtube. So, hats off!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 08, 2010, 11:00:30 PM
if you turn your back on a ball and back heel it, it;s no different from closing your eyes and booting it. 99 times out of 100 it will go in the stand. Hat;s off to him yes, but not a great goal IMO
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on October 08, 2010, 11:04:59 PM
Aah! But he meant it as he turned and followed the ball with his eyes into the net!
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 08, 2010, 11:13:39 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on October 08, 2010, 11:04:59 PM
Aah! But he meant it as he turned and followed the ball with his eyes into the net!
Maybe you should watch his interview in the link you posted and stop talking shite  ::)
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 08, 2010, 11:20:37 PM
you shouldn't be giving your real name away here Matty, sorry hurler on the bitch !!
Post by: 5 Sams on October 09, 2010, 01:01:00 AM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on October 08, 2010, 11:04:59 PM

As we say in our part of the world......aye right!!!
Post by: Tyrones own on October 09, 2010, 01:21:38 AM
Intended or not... it couldn't have happened against a nicer shower   ;D
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on October 09, 2010, 11:30:49 AM
He tried it and it came off. Is every goal scored from a bicycle kick or back-heel a fluke? Brilliant goal.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 09, 2010, 12:13:06 PM
It just made the Showboat section of Soccer AM, with Helen Chamberlain saying it was the best goal she has ever seen !
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 09, 2010, 12:36:41 PM
I think he said himself it wasn't deliberat, rather he just wanted to get it towards goal, obviously with a bit of luck and a crap keeper he managed to score a goal from it! Fair play, he might get a move to the blue square after that.
Post by: cokers on October 09, 2010, 01:24:22 PM
Jees lads cut the fella a break
Post by: MCMLX on October 09, 2010, 01:51:49 PM
If Wayne Rooney had scored a goal like that would everyone be saying it was a fluke? Some posters proably have more of problem with the Irish League and maybe the team that scored it than they would care to admit. Burrows got a bit of luck, but he deserved it for having the cheek to go for it, fair play to him, I think it was a cracker.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 09, 2010, 02:03:42 PM
Quote from: MCMLX on October 09, 2010, 01:51:49 PM
If Wayne Rooney had scored a goal like that would everyone be saying it was a fluke? Some posters proably have more of problem with the Irish League and maybe the team that scored it than they would care to admit. Burrows got a bit of luck, but he deserved it for having the cheek to go for it, fair play to him, I think it was a cracker.
Yes.

Who's having a go at the fella himself?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 09, 2010, 02:26:28 PM
Exactly, nobody is having a go at the fella. Fair play to him, it was a great goal, but our point is that was also lucky. I played soccer in my day and would loved to have scored a goal like that, but it wasnt the best goal ever scored.
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on October 09, 2010, 02:41:35 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y2KeX7nhZRY

Fluke or not?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 09, 2010, 02:43:40 PM
Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on October 09, 2010, 02:41:35 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y2KeX7nhZRY

Fluke or not?

brilliant goal yes, but again it's 1 out of 100 goal
Post by: MCMLX on October 09, 2010, 05:03:05 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on October 09, 2010, 02:26:28 PM
Exactly, nobody is having a go at the fella. Fair play to him, it was a great goal, but our point is that was also lucky. I played soccer in my day and would loved to have scored a goal like that, but it wasnt the best goal ever scored.

There is an element of luck in almost everything we do. Put it this way, do you believe in the lucky punch theory? I remember watching a fight years ago when Iran The Blade Barkley knocked out The Hitman. Everyone reckoned it was a lucky punch, but in my book he meant to throw that punch, he meant to hit Hearns and his intention was to knock him out. Likewise Burrow. He had a go, it went into the top corner and it was a cracking goal. Certain people just cant give credit because it was an Irish league game. If Rooney or Torres had scored it we`d never hear the end of it.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 09, 2010, 05:11:12 PM
Quote from: MCMLX on October 09, 2010, 05:03:05 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on October 09, 2010, 02:26:28 PM

Certain people just cant give credit because it was an Irish league game. If Rooney or Torres had scored it we`d never hear the end of it.

I agree.

Great goal btw up there with as good as I have seen
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 09, 2010, 05:13:31 PM
could someone tell me what we're suppose to be giving credit for?

I'll give him credit for the way he spoke about it afterwards, no shite talk from him unlike some others  ::)
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on October 09, 2010, 05:50:03 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 09, 2010, 05:13:31 PM
could someone tell me what we're suppose to be giving credit for?

I'll give him credit for the way he spoke about it afterwards, no shite talk from him unlike some others  ::)
The f**king goal. Jesus when you want to act thick you really pull it off. ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 09, 2010, 06:06:58 PM
so you want us to give him credit for being lucky? ook
Post by: MCMLX on October 09, 2010, 08:04:55 PM
You stick to the playstation pints like a good man.
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on October 09, 2010, 09:16:11 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 09, 2010, 06:06:58 PM
so you want us to give him credit for being lucky? ook
Do you think Sinclair's goal was lucky. Is every goal lucky unless the player puts the ball in an exact spot he was aiming for?
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 09, 2010, 10:25:10 PM
Jesus christ  ::)
the lad basically said himself in the interview that it was down to luck - he had his back to goal and just went for the flick and couldn't believe it when it went in. 

And you lot are wetting yourselves.  Some goal but a complete fluke. It might as well hit him on the arse and went in. 
I'm at a loss as to what we're suppose to be giving credit for - it wasn't a wonder strike or an amazing piece of skill - it was a fluke!
Post by: snoopdog on October 09, 2010, 10:51:53 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on October 08, 2010, 11:00:30 PM
if you turn your back on a ball and back heel it, it;s no different from closing your eyes and booting it. 99 times out of 100 it will go in the stand. Hat;s off to him yes, but not a great goal IMO
And if Ronaldo or messi did it you would be creaming yourself over it.
Give the lad credit
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 09, 2010, 11:03:23 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on October 09, 2010, 10:51:53 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on October 08, 2010, 11:00:30 PM
And if Ronaldo or messi did it you would be creaming yourself over it.
Give the lad credit
Just like you'd give credit to this weeks lottos winners - skillfully picking those numbers, pure genius  ::)
Post by: Archie Mitchell on October 09, 2010, 11:25:32 PM
f**k up pints you sad bastard. You nothing better to be at than complain?
Post by: thewobbler on October 09, 2010, 11:40:19 PM
Fantastic goal.

Watch goal of the month any month on MOTD and you'll find half a dozen strikes from outside the box. Screamers they're called. But most of the time it's a midfielder kicking the ball as hard as they can towards the net in the hope that it goes in. Great technique required, but hardly a skill.

This isn't much different. Except it's probably the most unique goal scored in years.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 09, 2010, 11:43:17 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on October 09, 2010, 11:25:32 PM
f**k up pints you sad b**tard. You nothing better to be at than complain?
Have you nothing better to be at than abusing and calling people you don't know names? 5 of your last 15 posts consist of you are name calling and abuse towards me.

And I'm the sad bastard   ;D

Suppose it makes a change from crying about "mates" that were banned. 
Post by: Archie Mitchell on October 10, 2010, 12:50:50 AM
Well your the sad bastard that went through my last posts to check. I don't be on the board that much now, but some things never change i.e. you. Your still a miserable p***k.
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 10, 2010, 02:41:29 AM
SOCCER!!!
Post by: MCMLX on October 10, 2010, 03:12:01 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on October 10, 2010, 12:50:50 AM
Well your the sad b**tard that went through my last posts to check. I don't be on the board that much now, but some things never change i.e. you. Your still a miserable p***k.

Archie, I owe you a pint, you say it like it is. Fair play. Pints is just a sad old miserable man. Exercise for him is FIFA 2011 on the PS3. Anyone who isn't wrapped up in their own self pitying, shitty little world can give Burrows the credit he deserves.
FFS even thewobbler, as good a GAA man as there is on the board can give him credit. It was a fantastic strike, he swung a boot  at it, deep in injury time and he won the game. A hell of a result in any game. Its the Irish League, so what, they still deserve credit.
I followed Portadown for years. Joey Cunningham, Mickey Keenan, yer man Marty from Derrybeg, Casey from Mourneview, despite the reputation of that town, no one ever said boo to us, we were always welcome in Shamrock Park. But stories like that don't suit sad f*cks like you, sit and snipe all you want, it was a cracker, worthy of any league. I only played in the Carnbane league, if I`d even attempted a shot like that, I may have gone a bit further. If only.
Post by: ONeill on October 10, 2010, 08:22:38 AM
He scored an overhead lob yesterday. Aldegrove in danger of a name change.

Yesterday's goal (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WgoHLoNl3w4)
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 10, 2010, 09:48:49 AM
Quote from: MCMLX on October 10, 2010, 03:12:01 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on October 10, 2010, 12:50:50 AM
Well your the sad b**tard that went through my last posts to check. I don't be on the board that much now, but some things never change i.e. you. Your still a miserable p***k.

Archie, I owe you a pint, you say it like it is. Fair play. Pints is just a sad old miserable man. Exercise for him is FIFA 2011 on the PS3. Anyone who isn't wrapped up in their own self pitying, shitty little world can give Burrows the credit he deserves.
FFS even thewobbler, as good a GAA man as there is on the board can give him credit. It was a fantastic strike, he swung a boot  at it, deep in injury time and he won the game. A hell of a result in any game. Its the Irish League, so what, they still deserve credit.
I followed Portadown for years. Joey Cunningham, Mickey Keenan, yer man Marty from Derrybeg, Casey from Mourneview, despite the reputation of that town, no one ever said boo to us, we were always welcome in Shamrock Park. But stories like that don't suit sad f*cks like you, sit and snipe all you want, it was a cracker, worthy of any league. I only played in the Carnbane league, if I`d even attempted a shot like that, I may have gone a bit further. If only.

Let me get this right

You get banned from this site and join again under a new name...
You abuse people you don't know and never met and call them names (not for the first time either)
You want to buy pints for someone (a man!!) that you've never met and don't know because he also abuses people he doesn't know and never met!, on the internet....

and I suppose I'm the one that lives in this shitty little world you speak of? 

:-\   

btw, FIFA is an xbox game for me... :-*
Post by: MCMLX on October 10, 2010, 01:01:14 PM
Where is the abuse pog? Archie says you are a "sad basta*d" who trawls through peoples posts. We only say what we see, you take that whatever way you want. You sit here, day in, day out, criticising everyone and anyone. Waiting for someone to post something  that you don't agree with. I`m not the one sitting posting at 9am on a Sunday. Is this board your only connection to the GAA ?
Matty Burrows scored a cracking goal, maybe you cant give him credit for it as you have found it impossible to do it on your xbox. I see he scored another one yesterday. Another fluke?
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 10, 2010, 01:35:49 PM
Quote from: MCMLX on October 10, 2010, 01:01:14 PM
Where is the abuse pog? Archie says you are a "sad basta*d" who trawls through peoples posts. We only say what we see, you take that whatever way you want. You sit here, day in, day out, criticising everyone and anyone. Waiting for someone to post something  that you don't agree with. I`m not the one sitting posting at 9am on a Sunday. Is this board your only connection to the GAA ?
Matty Burrows scored a cracking goal, maybe you cant give him credit for it as you have found it impossible to do it on your xbox. I see he scored another one yesterday. Another fluke?
No, you're posting at 3.12am on a Sunday Morning  :D
Post by: down6061689194 on October 10, 2010, 10:10:03 PM
Tekkers  8)
Post by: MCMLX on October 11, 2010, 12:45:57 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 10, 2010, 01:35:49 PM

Some of us turn our computers off for a wee while and go out for a few pints on a Saturday night. I was thinking of coming home and starting a thread asking what I should have to eat, but I went to Friar Tucks instead.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 11, 2010, 01:24:20 PM
Quote from: MCMLX on October 11, 2010, 12:45:57 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 10, 2010, 01:35:49 PM

Some of us turn our computers off for a wee while and go out for a few pints on a Saturday night. I was thinking of coming home and starting a thread asking what I should have to eat, but I went to Friar Tucks instead.
but you came home and started to call people you don't know names instead....lucky me...
Post by: Dougal Maguire on October 11, 2010, 06:56:36 PM

Couldn't agree more. Are these flukes?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WbWsEZIvjB8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WhVDFEW5348
Post by: sammymaguire on October 11, 2010, 07:29:09 PM
Nice to see you are still making loads of new cyber friends POG  ???

Let's go against the grain, just for the sake of it  :o
Post by: Puckoon on October 11, 2010, 07:31:54 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 10, 2010, 08:22:38 AM
He scored an overhead lob yesterday. Aldegrove in danger of a name change.

Yesterday's goal (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WgoHLoNl3w4)

I've never seen such a bit of luck with two good efforts. Fair play to him. He should do the lotto this weekend.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 11, 2010, 07:42:15 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on October 11, 2010, 07:29:09 PM

I think you'll find I'm not going against the grain - maybe you'd prefer it if I pretended to be a big shot
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 11, 2010, 07:46:53 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on October 11, 2010, 06:56:36 PM

I said at the time Maicon's was a cross and I still believe that.
Post by: sammymaguire on October 12, 2010, 12:05:58 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 11, 2010, 07:42:15 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on October 11, 2010, 07:29:09 PM

I think you'll find I'm not going against the grain - maybe you'd prefer it if I pretended to be a big shot

Yes. Pretend to be a big shot, like me  :D  :D  :D thats why I love these anonymous forums   

(http://comps.fotosearch.com/comp/LIQ/LIQ114/big-shot-man_~vl0008b002.jpg)
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on October 12, 2010, 01:19:49 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 11, 2010, 07:46:53 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on October 11, 2010, 06:56:36 PM

I said at the time Maicon's was a cross and I still believe that.
That's fair enough but in Burrows' first goal what else could he possibly have being going for only the goal? The second one is also open to debate.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 02, 2010, 06:40:45 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/9151629.stm

Mattie Burrows' goal on shortlist for Fifa award

Mattie Burrows' stunning late winner against Portadown has been shortlisted for the Fifa Goal of the Year award.

The Glentoran striker's wonder strike at the Oval on 5 October is one of a shortlist of 10 goals in the running for the Ballon d'Or - Puskas Award.

All the goals will be available to see on the Fifa website later this month and football fans across the world can vote for their favourite.

The winner will be presented with his award in Zurich on 10 January, 2011.
Post by: tyroneboi on November 16, 2010, 09:35:04 PM
Vote is open now:

http://www.fifa.com/ballondor/puskasaward/index.html
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 16, 2010, 11:56:17 PM
Burrows' goal has a fair chance of winning - his was most unique imo, although I would say that your man from Sweden is in with a big shout.
Post by: ziggysego on November 17, 2010, 04:56:50 PM
Voted.

Hope everyone votes.

He's not Messi, he's Burrows!
Post by: J OGorman on November 17, 2010, 05:22:00 PM
votail Burrows, done
Post by: imtommygunn on November 17, 2010, 05:23:50 PM
You can vote multiple times if you delete your cookies...
Post by: Dougal Maguire on November 17, 2010, 05:58:14 PM
I've given him a vote myself
Post by: Hardy on November 18, 2010, 09:32:23 AM
Quote from: tyroneboi on November 16, 2010, 09:35:04 PM
Vote is open now:

http://www.fifa.com/ballondor/puskasaward/index.html

Have FIFA appropriated our national anthem?
Post by: seafoid on November 18, 2010, 09:36:21 AM
Great goal. I can see it making a lot of Youtube compilations. Nice to see portadown being stuffed too. 
Post by: screenexile on November 18, 2010, 10:02:18 AM
The Mattie Burrows goal is good but to me Messi's and Nasri's both show a lot more skill. My vote would go to the Swedish goal which is absolutely sublime!!