Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Tommo2 on October 06, 2010, 09:35:55 AM

Title: Home Heating Oil - Beware!!!
Post by: Tommo2 on October 06, 2010, 09:35:55 AM
Just to let people know about a couple of incidents relating to the delivery of my home heating oil. I noticed this time last year that my delivery seemed to be  a bit on the low side and the oil didn't last too long.

Therefore the next time it was delivered, I made sure to be in the house for the delivery. As the delivery was being completed, I made a quick dash to the measurement gauge on the Oil lorry and it read 800 litres as opposed to the 900 I had ordered. I challenged the delvery man and he said "..I thought it was only 800 litres" and proceeded to put in an extra 100 litres without checking any documentation. He obviously knew what he was doing.

Well, the same incident happened again this year and I would like to draw peoples attention to this.

Word is that the delivery drivers "hold back" a small amount from each delivery and then sell a substantial amount at the end of each day to a friend at a greatly reduced rate.
Title: Re: Home Heating Oil - Beware!!!
Post by: clarshack on October 06, 2010, 09:50:20 AM
i suspect this sort of thing happened me earlier this year. i ordered oil in early nov 2009 which got me through the cold spell. i ordered more oil in late feb and it was used up in less time with a lot less usage. i have a lock on the oil tank so i'm sure no one stole any of it. i suppose most people trust the delivery men to put in the right amount.
Post by: Tommo2 on October 06, 2010, 09:55:15 AM
Quote from: clarshack on October 06, 2010, 09:50:20 AM
i suspect this sort of thing happened me earlier this year. i ordered oil in early nov 2009 which got me through the cold spell. i ordered more oil in late feb and it was used up in less time with a lot less usage. i have a lock on the oil tank so i'm sure no one stole any of it. i suppose most people trust the delivery men to put in the right amount.

I trusted them as well. However, I now make sure that I am there for every delivery.
Post by: Banana Man on October 06, 2010, 09:57:40 AM
jeysus lads you's need to be in the house, cowboys the oil barrons are!

Last year i got a delivery and it was short, when i tackled him he offered me a pair of daler boots to make up for it, it 150 litres shy and the boots worth about £30 quid ffs, plus you wouldn't take the gift of them, he was told in no uncertain terms to fill the tank
Post by: Abble on October 06, 2010, 10:11:58 AM
where the customer is beat on this one is, is that we have no way of measuring what is contained in our oil tanks ! we cant tell by just trying to look into the oil tank whether theres 500 litres or 900 in there !!! so theres always that chance we could be getting done out of a 100 here, or 200 there !

Post by: Muzz on October 06, 2010, 10:16:23 AM
Does everyone not receive a receipt with the amount of oil printed on it taken from the gauge?

Anyone I have ordered oil off provide the receipt printed from the gauge - therefore if there was only 800 litres of oil put in then it would show and you would only be charged for 800. 
Post by: johnneycool on October 06, 2010, 10:21:12 AM
Quote from: Muzz on October 06, 2010, 10:16:23 AM
Does everyone not receive a receipt with the amount of oil printed on it taken from the gauge?

Anyone I have ordered oil off provide the receipt printed from the gauge - therefore if there was only 800 litres of oil put in then it would show and you would only be charged for 800.

I normally get my oil from Maxol direct and I get the gauge printout but I'm sure there's ways round this.
Post by: Hardy on October 06, 2010, 10:21:23 AM
Do you not get a receipt with the meter reading? Or are you saying they've nobbled the meter? As regards measuring the amount of oil in your tank, it's not hard, using a dipstick, unless the tank is an irregular shape. Take the dimensions of your tank and use your Junior Cert/GCSE maths to calibrate your dipstick to litres per centimetre. Dip before and after delivery and there y'are.
Edit: On reflection, this only works easily of course with a square-sided tank like mine or a vertical cylinder. I suppose most tanks now are horizontal cylinders, for which volume measurement using a dipstick is a bit more tricky.
Post by: gawa316 on October 06, 2010, 10:22:05 AM
I heard they keep whatever is left in the hose at each fill. So the tanker pumps out 900 litres,  but only say 875 makes it to your tank. Leaving 25 in the hose, this would add up nicely over the space of a day
Post by: Hardy on October 06, 2010, 10:23:13 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on October 06, 2010, 10:22:05 AM
I heard they keep whatever is left in the hose at each fill. So the tanker pumps out 900 litres,  but only say 875 makes it to your tank. Leaving 25 in the hose, this would add up nicely over the space of a day

Where do they put this 25 litres after each delivery?
Post by: Franko on October 06, 2010, 10:23:20 AM
Those gauges can be calibrated to read basically anything you want them to read.
Post by: gawa316 on October 06, 2010, 10:28:08 AM
Quote from: Hardy on October 06, 2010, 10:23:13 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on October 06, 2010, 10:22:05 AM

Where do they put this 25 litres after each delivery?

Not a 100% sure but can you not reverse the pump and suck her back into the tanker? ???
Post by: Muzz on October 06, 2010, 10:28:30 AM
Quote from: Franko on October 06, 2010, 10:23:20 AM
Those gauges can be calibrated to read basically anything you want them to read.

Agree completely - BUT - then the OP's idea is out of the water!  That the guy was trying to swindle him by charging for 900 instead of the actual 800 he received.  Unless offcourse he doesnt get a gauge reading receipt.

Post by: Main Street on October 06, 2010, 10:32:33 AM
i have a lock on the oil tank so i'm sure no one stole any of it. i
You have to put a lock on your heating oil tank?
Are there people who roam around in the night time  conspiring to syphon the fuel out of your oil tank?
True Diesel?
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 06, 2010, 11:16:20 AM
Quote from: Main Street on October 06, 2010, 10:32:33 AM
Are there people who roam around in the night time  conspiring to syphon the fuel out of your oil tank?
True Diesel?

they roam around the day time as well main street doesn't have to be dark. i was talking to a lad who is building a house and they cleared out rads, hot tank , copper pipping the lot
Post by: Main Street on October 06, 2010, 11:41:11 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 06, 2010, 11:16:20 AM
True Diesel?

they roam around the day time as well main street doesn't have to be dark. i was talking to a lad who is building a house and they cleared out rads, hot tank , copper pipping the lot
That's definitely a cruel experience,  but a house under construction is one thing,  an occupied house in a neighbourhood is another - presumably with the heating oil tank in the back garden?
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 06, 2010, 11:45:39 AM
loads of oil been stolen down our way from occupied houses these fcukers have nothing to do all day but drive around looking for targets , i have a lock on my oil tank
Post by: orangeman on October 06, 2010, 12:42:38 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 06, 2010, 11:45:39 AM
loads of oil been stolen down our way from occupied houses these fcukers have nothing to do all day but drive around looking for targets , i have a lock on my oil tank
[/b]

Not worth a damn - they just cut a hole in the tank and on they go.

Locks only keep honest people out, isn't that what they say.
Post by: Main Street on October 06, 2010, 01:49:02 PM
 :)
For what you refer to as honest people, I'd say -  lazy dishonest people.
Post by: johnneycool on October 06, 2010, 01:52:09 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 06, 2010, 12:42:38 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 06, 2010, 11:45:39 AM
[/b]

Not worth a damn - they just cut a hole in the tank and on they go.

Locks only keep honest people out, isn't that what they say.

And then you need a new tank as well!!
Post by: Tommo2 on October 06, 2010, 02:14:57 PM
think we are getting off the point. Its the delivery drivers not putting in the correct amount, rather than people actually coming and stealing the oil, once it is in.
Post by: The Iceman on October 06, 2010, 02:43:34 PM
Hold on a minute here. I have delivered oil and if you have the meter set up to legal standards it prints directly to the receipt how many litres were pumped.  No Oil is left in the hose. Once the correct amount of oil is pumped from the tank the valve shuts off but the pump continues to run until the hose is clear. There might be a litre maximum left in coating or whatever but by no means is there 25 litres in the hose.

If you are getting ripped off then go to a reputable dealer instead of trying to save pennies on the litre by going to a cowboy outfit.
Post by: Billys Boots on October 06, 2010, 03:05:31 PM
Ask for their Weights and Measures certification.
Post by: Tyrones own on October 06, 2010, 05:49:43 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on October 06, 2010, 02:43:34 PM
Hold on a minute here. I have delivered oil and if you have the meter set up to legal standards it prints directly to the receipt how many litres were pumped.  No Oil is left in the hose. Once the correct amount of oil is pumped from the tank the valve shuts off but the pump continues to run until the hose is clear. There might be a litre maximum left in coating or whatever but by no means is there 25 litres in the hose.

If you are getting ripped off then go to a reputable dealer instead of trying to save pennies on the litre by going to a cowboy outfit.
Thats fair enough but there's nothing stopping the driver from pumping the
First 100 or whatever back into his tank before filling your tank....that way you
Get receipt for 900 but only get the 800, very easy to do at a house when no ones
Home.
Weights and measures keep a fairly close eye on dispensing meters and they'd be
fcuked if caught messing with the calibration.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 06, 2010, 06:11:05 PM
True Diesel?

Jeeze, where have you been?
Post by: The Iceman on October 06, 2010, 06:12:11 PM
And how would he pump it back into the tank please tell us?

The Fill connections are on the top of the tanker for one. Based on Weights and Measures Derv or Kero or whatever is being stored is recorded on the way in and the way out..... it would have to be some cowboy outfit to be at that craic.

Like I said before find a decent supplier. You get what you pay for.
Post by: rosnarun on October 06, 2010, 09:58:28 PM
True Diesel?

think that's bad we had a shed full of turf taken
Post by: Tyrones own on October 06, 2010, 10:06:13 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on October 06, 2010, 06:12:11 PM

The Fill connections are on the top of the tanker for one. Based on Weights and Measures Derv or Kero or whatever is being stored is recorded on the way in and the way out..... it would have to be some cowboy outfit to be at that craic.

Are you saying its not possible IM....do you really believe there aren't people
Capable of such an act especially in this economy
Title: oil
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 06, 2010, 10:23:20 PM
You cant be serious ros lmao
Post by: caughtredhanded on October 06, 2010, 11:00:32 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 06, 2010, 09:58:28 PM
True Diesel?

I've a real bad f@#ker of a dog tied up at the oil tank. There has been a big problem with oil being stolen in our area and its true, they just drill a big hole in the side of your tank to run the oil out of it. Not only are you out a fill of oil but you have to buy a new tank as well.

I hope he eats the arses of them if they creep round my house.
Post by: JUst retired on October 07, 2010, 06:44:48 AM
Fair play redhanded, but can he read the delivery note? :)
Post by: deiseach on October 07, 2010, 09:18:18 AM
I use the same oil company that my father has used for the best part of 40 years. His reputation is made of granite so they drop the oil in even if I'm not at home and when I come in the next day to pay they behave as if I'm their most valued customer (with obligatory compliment for the aul fella: "gentleman, absolute gentleman"). I'd hate to think they're ripping me off and I'm inclined to carry on trusting them. The fact that they'll deliver without me being there is a marvellous service and I wonder if I started second guessing them whether they'd say sod ya, cash on delivery
Post by: The Iceman on October 07, 2010, 01:22:34 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on October 06, 2010, 10:06:13 PM

There are definitely people capable of it T.O but go to a reputable outfit and it won't happen.
I have no time for people who shop at Pound Stores and complain about quality or service.
Post by: EC Unique on October 07, 2010, 02:07:42 PM
On a side track what sort of price per litre are people paying these days for heating oil?
Post by: Hardy on October 07, 2010, 02:13:02 PM
€0.68 including VAT here in Cork last week.
Post by: caughtredhanded on October 07, 2010, 04:28:15 PM
£0.44 per Ltr in North Antrim last week.
Post by: Tommo2 on October 07, 2010, 09:42:41 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on October 07, 2010, 01:22:34 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on October 06, 2010, 10:06:13 PM

There are definitely people capable of it T.O but go to a reputable outfit and it won't happen.
I have no time for people who shop at Pound Stores and complain about quality or service.

Its not about going to a reputable firm. Its the delivery driver tthat is benefitting. The firm I had the problem wth would be regarded as a recognisd reputable firm with serveral outlets in NI.
Post by: ONeill on October 07, 2010, 10:01:28 PM
A boy put oil into my tank even though I never asked him to.

He took it out agin a month later.
Post by: illdecide on December 21, 2010, 01:47:17 PM
Just ordered 500l of heating oil this morning...£295...WTF. Where is this madness gonna end
Post by: lawnseed on December 21, 2010, 02:02:00 PM
i heard a guy took a sample of his kero and found it was diluted with aviation fuel and this was his explanation for why it didn't last his fill was the correct volume but poor quality
Post by: Bensars on December 21, 2010, 02:05:30 PM
Quote from: illdecide on December 21, 2010, 01:47:17 PM
Just ordered 500l of heating oil this morning...£295...WTF. Where is this madness gonna end

I got some 3 days ago. worked out at 52p litre

Your on 59p a litre. Obviously not enough Jibba Jabber when you were ordering !
Post by: delboy on December 21, 2010, 02:42:25 PM
Go gas if you can much better than arseing about with oil  :)
Post by: mannix on December 21, 2010, 04:39:15 PM
ever hear of turf?  you lazy sons of bitches and buy an extra jumper.
Post by: Gold on December 21, 2010, 06:26:50 PM
Quote from: Bensars on December 21, 2010, 02:05:30 PM
Quote from: illdecide on December 21, 2010, 01:47:17 PM

I got some 3 days ago. worked out at 52p litre

Your on 59p a litre. Obviously not enough Jibba Jabber when you were ordering !

who'd you get yours off Bensars??

I'm ruunin out of oil, fast!
Post by: lawnseed on December 22, 2010, 09:55:46 PM
got a 'pot belly' with a boiler about 2 years ago and got a smart plumber to join it to my existing stanley oil cooker central heating. the way he did it the stanley is getting hot water to heat therefore doesnt use half the oil as opposed to trying heating cold water also the stanley has the electrics to manage the different zones, it works really well last year i only burnt 300 quids worth of oil. there is the drawback that in order to save oil you have to keep the pot belly going but i have a couple of lads who have loads of waste wood which i can get for nothing and i bought a lorry load of logs £1500 which i think are going to last me 3 years or more. we burn everything cardboard, rubbish, we only put the bin out once a month  i should add that our house is 3000sqft.
this is a easy option especially if you've a chimney doing nothing as i had. but if you dont you can buy a kit and build a chimney
Post by: ONeill on December 24, 2010, 10:43:46 AM
I know there are different models and pressures but does anyone know roughly how much oil is burned per hour in the average household?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 24, 2010, 11:18:02 AM
Quote from: ONeill on December 24, 2010, 10:43:46 AM
I know there are different models and pressures but does anyone know roughly how much oil is burned per hour in the average household?
It's hard to quantify but I know a fill (2500 litres) does us over a year so probably works in around a rough 100 quid per month. I know that's not the question you asked...
Post by: ONeill on December 24, 2010, 11:22:55 AM
....probably impossible to answer with different sizes of houses etc. I was asking because I headed out this morning to a garage and filled a couple of small barrells (40L in total) in case things were stretched over the next week. I was wondering if you'd burn 10L in a day.
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 24, 2010, 12:00:50 PM
The wife was sick last year and she was house bound for the winter. Heat on from when I left for work until we went to bed (mostly) went through about 700 L in 4 months. Would work out at 6 L's a day. Old boiler probably not that efficient. Hope that might help.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 24, 2010, 12:10:56 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on December 24, 2010, 12:00:50 PM
The wife was sick last year and she was house bound for the winter. Heat on from when I left for work until we went to bed (mostly) went through about 700 L in 4 months. Would work out at 6 L's a day. Old boiler probably not that efficient. Hope that might help.
You should have threw another blanket on her.
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 24, 2010, 12:55:09 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 24, 2010, 12:10:56 PM
You should have threw another blanket on her.

A bit sicker than needing  a blanket Tony
Post by: Armaghtothebone on December 24, 2010, 03:01:08 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 24, 2010, 10:43:46 AM

17200 Kwh worth.
you need to know the calorific value of the oil (58 sec or kero or red diesel) to convert it back to actual litres.
Post by: wavesofTORRES on December 24, 2010, 11:30:11 PM

Ill raise you on that! Got 1000ltrs 8 weeks ago the heating packed in the other nite so naturally I thought the pipes had froze. I nearly passed out when I realised the oil had run out. Thats £60 a week in oul money herself and the kids are using when Im out knocking my pan in. Have now turned the thermostat down and lettin it run 24/7. Thinking of getting a condenser after xmas I think I will need to do something with the house and 2 granny flats to run off it. Dont say get rid of the grannys ther both empty ther for my day when the kids or wife kick me out.
Post by: comethekingdom on December 26, 2010, 11:28:49 AM
Are those condensing boilers good yokes? My existing one is over 20 yrs old and is a rent on fuel - just wondering is it worth replacing with a condenser unit?
Post by: mournerambler on December 26, 2010, 11:39:45 AM
Quote from: comethekingdom on December 26, 2010, 11:28:49 AM
Are those condensing boilers good yokes? My existing one is over 20 yrs old and is a rent on fuel - just wondering is it worth replacing with a condenser unit?

An old oil boiler could be as little as 60-70% efficient, a modern HE (condensing) oil boiler would be about 85% efficient & a gas HE could be as high as 92% efficient, in laymans terms this means that for every €100 you spend on fuel you are getting €92 returned as heat, so you could possibly save €30 per €100, new HE boilers don't come cheap though but as a long term investment it should pay for its self no bother.
Post by: comethekingdom on December 26, 2010, 01:13:32 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on December 26, 2010, 11:39:45 AM

An old oil boiler could be as little as 60-70% efficient, a modern HE (condensing) oil boiler would be about 85% efficient & a gas HE could be as high as 92% efficient, in laymans terms this means that for every €100 you spend on fuel you are getting €92 returned as heat, so you could possibly save €30 per €100, new HE boilers don't come cheap though but as a long term investment it should pay for its self no bother.

Cheers. Must look into it in the new year. I wonder is there still grants available for upgrades??
Post by: lawnseed on December 26, 2010, 04:29:48 PM
try www.gumtree-belfast for a boiler, there are hundreds on there
Post by: comethekingdom on December 26, 2010, 06:29:15 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on December 26, 2010, 04:29:48 PM
try www.gumtree-belfast for a boiler, there are hundreds on there

Heres the correct link lawn seed

http://belfast.gumtree.com/
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 26, 2010, 06:48:01 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 06, 2010, 09:58:28 PM
True Diesel?

FFS Ros, had ye it still bagged, some balsy **** that would come in and spend half the day bagging turf in your shed and then taking off down the road with in a tractor.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on December 27, 2010, 10:24:29 PM

Yes and no!!

An oil condensing is a good idea but if you go and spend say a grand on a condenser and then run it through a 30 yr old central heating system it wont give you the payback you might expect.
You'd want to get roomstats, TRV's and brand new radiators.

It's an oldie but goodie ...the first place to make savings is insulation.
A brand new build house has more insulation than you'd believe.
Post by: comethekingdom on December 28, 2010, 03:40:25 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on December 27, 2010, 10:24:29 PM

Yes and no!!

An oil condensing is a good idea but if you go and spend say a grand on a condenser and then run it through a 30 yr old central heating system it wont give you the payback you might expect.

I fitted a load of insulation last year and whilst the house is much more comfortable now - we still burn a right go of kero. Trv's wouldnt probably be much good as they'd be opened fully all the time. Room stats wouldnt be much good either as the system is one complete zone. Maybe the radiator replacement option would be a good idea?
Post by: lawnseed on December 28, 2010, 04:11:27 PM
the new type rads hold alot less water so it follows it should take less oil to warm them..
Post by: Abble on December 28, 2010, 04:34:43 PM
i'm hearing that a little bit of red diesel mixed in with the home heating oil can improve things all round...
ie. flow in the pipes, heat and also makes it last a bit longer

any truth in this from anyone in the know ?
Post by: mournerambler on December 28, 2010, 05:47:56 PM
Quote from: Abble on December 28, 2010, 04:34:43 PM
i'm hearing that a little bit of red diesel mixed in with the home heating oil can improve things all round...

Bullshit of the highest order, the oil in your tank does not go into the pipes that are connected to the radiators, the oil goes into the burner to create a source of heat when the burner fires, so many people for some reason think that the oil goes into the rads which isn't the case, the other point on the red diesel making it last longer isn't true either imo as gas oil has a higher viscosity than kerosene & would therefore block the nozzle which is designed to burn kerosene.
Post by: The Iceman on December 29, 2010, 07:59:43 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on December 28, 2010, 05:47:56 PM

Bullshit of the highest order, the oil in your tank does not go into the pipes that are connected to the radiators, the oil goes into the burner to create a source of heat when the burner fires, so many people for some reason think that the oil goes into the rads which isn't the case, the other point on the red diesel making it last longer isn't true either imo as gas oil has a higher viscosity than kerosene & would therefore block the nozzle which is designed to burn kerosene.

correcto
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on December 30, 2010, 10:52:10 PM
Where is the cheapest place to order oil for delivery in belfast?
Post by: wavesofTORRES on December 30, 2010, 11:50:03 PM
Belfast!
Post by: Newbridge Exile on December 31, 2010, 01:08:10 AM
Dunno about Belfast but I got 900litres delivered on Tuesday for £460 , reasonable from what I hear is being quoted in other places
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on December 31, 2010, 01:40:12 AM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on December 31, 2010, 01:08:10 AM
Dunno about Belfast but I got 900litres delivered on Tuesday for £460 , reasonable from what I hear is being quoted in other places

That's good, what company did you order from?
Post by: ONeill on December 31, 2010, 01:52:19 AM
http://www.cheapestoil.co.uk/Heating-Oil-NI.aspx
Post by: Armaghtothebone on December 31, 2010, 04:09:27 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on December 28, 2010, 03:40:25 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on December 27, 2010, 10:24:29 PM

Yes and no!!

I fitted a load of insulation last year and whilst the house is much more comfortable now - we still burn a right go of kero. Trv's wouldnt probably be much good as they'd be opened fully all the time. Room stats wouldnt be much good either as the system is one complete zone. Maybe the radiator replacement option would be a good idea?

The one I forgot to mention is make sure the central heating pump is up to the job.Too small a pump or one that is past its sell by date will not push the water through the system quickly enough, thus the return water will be freezing and the boiler will have to work overtime to reheat the return using more "fuel" in the process. Off the top of my head (any plumbers out there to confirm) the return should drop by 7c maximum.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on December 31, 2010, 04:15:56 PM

Jesus No No No NO

The burner will be set for fuel A . The air/fuel mixture is critical and the jet size on the burner will be set accordingly.The wrong fuel through the right jet( sorry cant think of a better way to put it) will produce the wrong products of combustion.
In a properly working burner/boiler the gas produced is CO2 but use the wrong fuel and you are very very likely to get CO (carbon monoxide). This is a very very dangerous gas.You cant see it/smell it/taste it but it will KILL you.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on December 31, 2010, 09:20:39 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on December 31, 2010, 01:40:12 AM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on December 31, 2010, 01:08:10 AM

That's good, what company did you order from?
Deighan fuels in Limavady
Post by: Bensars on January 27, 2011, 11:05:22 AM
Im considering changing my boiler to a more efficient one.

Anyone have any experience of chaning from the older standard type oil boilers to the new condensing boilers?
Is there noticable difference in efficiency?
Whats the best makes etc?   Cost?   

Or alternatively are there other  options i should consider looking at ?

Post by: thebigfella on January 27, 2011, 11:10:19 AM
Quote from: Bensars on January 27, 2011, 11:05:22 AM
Im considering changing my boiler to a more efficient one.

Anyone have any experience of chaning from the older standard type oil boilers to the new condensing boilers?Is there noticable difference in efficiency?
Whats the best makes etc?   Cost?   

Or alternatively are there other  options i should consider looking at ?

Gas? If so think very carefully about it, ask everyone who's boiler blew up over the cold snap and I bet the most where condensing boilers.
Post by: Bensars on January 27, 2011, 01:22:46 PM
Cheers Bigfella, never thought of that.  Just starting to look at options for possibly later in year but its a minefield in regards of all the different types. As you know yourself a personal recommendation from someone on here is more valuable than a glitzy website.
Post by: orangeman on January 31, 2011, 11:37:13 AM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0131/oil-business.html

more bad news