GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ross4life on September 18, 2010, 10:12:31 PM

Title: Up for the Match
Post by: ross4life on September 18, 2010, 10:12:31 PM
Anyone watching this on RTE now?

Worth a watch for Gráinne Seoige legs alone  ;)
Title: Re: Up for the Match
Post by: Maguire01 on September 18, 2010, 10:19:11 PM
Who were those idiots singing? Cringe central.
Post by: comethekingdom on September 18, 2010, 10:22:36 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 18, 2010, 10:12:31 PM
Anyone watching this on RTE now?

Worth a watch for Gráinne Seoige legs alone  ;)

A fine set she has! (and legs too!)
Post by: Orangemac on September 18, 2010, 10:36:13 PM
Nice legs all right but the show is a bit cringe worthy lilke the 125th anniversary special.

Grainnes just there for the eye candy, would prefer Miriam myself.

Vaguely remember accosting Des Cahill outside a toilet one night about Armagh not getting a particular All Star nomination.

Not Fecking Crystal Swing!

Did anyone see Hectors new Gaa show? Any good?
Post by: Maguire01 on September 18, 2010, 10:36:58 PM
Jesus wept
Post by: Newbridge Exile on September 18, 2010, 10:38:21 PM
Didn't think it could go anymore downhill after the corrigans , Wrong - Crystal Swing!!!
Post by: Minder on September 18, 2010, 10:43:48 PM
I watched the hurling one, not watching this, but I was waiting for Darby O'Gill and the little people to appear. It was horrible stuff. Thankfully it isn't broadcast outside this country.
Post by: paco on September 18, 2010, 10:44:56 PM
Nothing will beat the Tipperary boys who done a rap on the hurling version of the show. "We're throwing a party for Liam Mc Carthy."
Post by: johnpower on September 18, 2010, 10:53:25 PM
Poor old Jimmy is getting old . Not as bad as I remembered
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 18, 2010, 10:59:38 PM
Dermot spoke very well.

His courage to line out in Newbridge a few hours after burying his father will never be forgotten by any Kildare supporter.

Did Cooney say Dermot snr. excelled on the hurling field or did my ears deceive me?  ::)
Post by: midLouth on September 18, 2010, 11:02:30 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 18, 2010, 10:59:38 PM
Did Cooney say Dermot snr. excelled on the hurling field or did my ears deceive me?  ::)

Definitely caught out was our Christy!
Post by: Hardy on September 18, 2010, 11:07:40 PM
This shite shows year after year RTÉ's concept of the GAA and GAA people. And GAA quislings continue to collaborate with it.
Post by: Jinxy on September 18, 2010, 11:13:12 PM
They should let Gráinne present this on her own.
With no guests.
Post by: ross4life on September 18, 2010, 11:15:07 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 18, 2010, 11:13:12 PM
With no guests.

Good idea & call it up for the Snatch

edit was watching match of the day  :D
Post by: Minder on September 18, 2010, 11:16:14 PM
I can't comment on tonights show but it was the jumpers that the male audience members were wearing that caught my attention more than anything.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 18, 2010, 11:17:45 PM
Larry hasn't lost his Eadestown brogue anyway
Post by: Jinxy on September 18, 2010, 11:20:35 PM
God it's putrid stuff.
Post by: Kerry Mike on September 18, 2010, 11:26:32 PM
QuoteDid Cooney say Dermot snr. excelled on the hurling field or did my ears deceive me? 

This is the man who has fecked up the GAA all summer, what a f**king donkey.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 18, 2010, 11:28:02 PM
Emotional stuff with the Dermot Early tribute.

Paddy Mo is a witty cnut.

Paddy Kielty isnt.

Grainne is a savage bit gear alright.

Harmless enough TV.
Post by: Rossfan on September 18, 2010, 11:29:27 PM
Nice to see the tribute to Dermot. At least something on the stupid show was worth watching.
Jasus but it's awful shite.
Cooney certainly showed his true colours alright with his hurling fields freudian slip. >:(
Post by: JMohan on September 19, 2010, 12:02:09 AM
Paddy should have his own program
Post by: 5 Sams on September 19, 2010, 12:15:06 AM
What age is Paddy Mo now? Sharp as a tack.
Post by: MCMLX on September 19, 2010, 12:21:02 AM
He must be in his late 70s. He played his first senior game for Down in 1954.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on September 19, 2010, 01:04:44 AM
Quote from: ross4life on September 18, 2010, 11:15:07 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 18, 2010, 11:13:12 PM
With no guests.

Good idea & call it up for the Snatch

edit was watching match of the day  :D

Nice one Ross. Christy Cooney is some ****.
Post by: Class of 99 on September 19, 2010, 07:46:21 AM
Ah sure it is what it is lads!!!! I would gladly sit through it every year and twice on Sundays if there was red and black flags in the audience.
Big Conor was a little put out that gráinne fancied wee James!!
Post by: ross matt on September 20, 2010, 05:53:48 PM
I'm sure the poor man does his best but I cringe everytime I hear Cooney talking. Always seems like he's making a speech from the 50s. Stupid stupid mistake to make on what was a fine tribute for Dermot.

Normally hate this type of begorrah shite that RTE insist on throwing up when they cover "gah". But found Kielty, Deegan and the ould Down boy quite entertaining. Early junior and Star were interesting.
Post by: Dubh driocht on September 20, 2010, 07:58:04 PM
Haven't watched this yet but thoroughly enjoyed the event at Croke Park (The Final Countdown).Great atmosphere, professionally managed,nice meal, Eoin Mc Devitt ( I think) was a super host for the debate ( he didn't make the mistake other comperes make of thinking that his views are of interest, was informed and impartial).The panel of Peter Canavan ,Ross Carr and Bernard Flynn were VG although Bernard was out of order with one reference.There were many legends in the audience,good ( free) raffle prizes, great music still going strong when we left at 12.30 and if Down are back in a final any time soon, I'll be at this event again.
Post by: T Fearon on September 20, 2010, 08:04:35 PM
DD, How did I miss you on Saturday night? Was at the Final Countdown myself. Flynn's comment was crass but he is from Meath and you have to make excuses for that alone
Post by: sheamy on September 20, 2010, 08:09:06 PM
Thought Tompkins made an arse of himself with the 'few pints at half time' remark. That kinda thing can come back to haunt and nearly did!
Drop Des...bring in the the wee seoige sister.
Post by: rossglass on September 21, 2010, 08:57:44 AM
Des is a wooden one - he's ok when he doesn't have to ask questions but given the nature of his job, that is too often. I've never heard him asking a follow-up question, always seems to say "OK" and move on. Talentless balloon.