Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Shamrock Shore on September 14, 2010, 10:22:41 AM

Title: Was Cowen badly hungover on the radio this morning?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 14, 2010, 10:22:41 AM
Anyone hear our Taoiseach on the radio this morning on Radio1 post 8.30

He sounded horrid rough and now the airwaves are hopping with the usual loons texting/tweeting/facebooking/calling in with their disgust and horror.

Fianna Fáil are having a 'think-in' in Galway these past few days so maybe Cowen stayed up beyond 12.30 am.

But if he had a late night could he not have passed on the interview
Title: Re: Was Cowen badly hungover on the radio this morning?
Post by: Tubberman on September 14, 2010, 10:40:26 AM
http://www.rte.ie/radio1/podcast/podcast_morningireland.xml (http://www.rte.ie/radio1/podcast/podcast_morningireland.xml)

Interview starts about 30 mins into it.
Apparently he was meant to be on Morning Ireland earlier, but 'couldn't make it'.
His advisors have left it like that - he was obviously seriously hungover, semi-slurring and stammering and sounds like he smoked 40 fags the night before. And he managed to mix up the Good Friday Agreeement and the Croke Park deal.

This is the leader of country - addressing the nation, sick as a dog from drink  ::)
We're meant to believe he can lead us out of the dire mess we're in...

Post by: mick999 on September 14, 2010, 10:42:00 AM
Lot's more about this here:

http://www.politics.ie/fianna-fail/138044-cowen-morning-ireland-14-09-10-a.html (http://www.politics.ie/fianna-fail/138044-cowen-morning-ireland-14-09-10-a.html)

Listen here : http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/209-2818597-396-0.smil (http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/209-2818597-396-0.smil)
Post by: thebigfella on September 14, 2010, 10:43:10 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on September 14, 2010, 10:40:26 AM
http://www.rte.ie/radio1/podcast/podcast_morningireland.xml (http://www.rte.ie/radio1/podcast/podcast_morningireland.xml)

Interview starts about 30 mins into it.
Apparently he was meant to be on Morning Ireland earlier, but 'couldn't make it'.
His advisors have left it like that - he was obviously seriously hungover, semi-slurring and stammering and sounds like he smoked 40 fags the night before. And he managed to mix up the Good Friday Agreeement and the Croke Park deal.

This is the leader of country - addressing the nation, sick as a dog from drink  ::)

I hope he was, he's probably thinking hopefully I can bluff my way through the day like the rest of us do when we have a hangover. He's got my vote  ;)
Post by: Declan on September 14, 2010, 11:31:40 AM
Jaysus he sounded as rough as a badgers arse in that.
Plenty of the usual soundbites but good God he's symptomatic of how clueless we really are
Post by: Rossie11 on September 14, 2010, 11:46:37 AM
Sounded like one of yahoos from Boozed up Irish abroad on TV3 last night..

Anyone think some in his own party let him out this morn in that state hoping to have this exact reaction??
Could be the start of the heave ho..
Or am I giving them too much credit for been that smart??
Post by: Declan on September 14, 2010, 11:49:12 AM
Robbed from P.ie

This is a smear of the most scurrilous nature, and with the potential to do grave damage to the prospects of economic recovery. The Taoiseach is a visionary leader, who, on his worst day is 40 times more capable than Enda Kenny.

It is only natural that the Taoiseach would be up late, rallying the troops. This is his one annual opportunity to hear the concerns and ideas of the party backbenchers, and it would be frankly irresponsible of him - as far as the stability of his government is concerned - not to accept the drinks they buy him and get them some back in return.

By drinking to the extent that it appears that he has, the Taoiseach was holding the Government together, increasing a sense of togetherness, and frankly, taking "one for the team", as they say.

This is another example of his being assaulted for making the hard decisions - in this case to stay up late drinking - in the national interest. He should be commended for his commitment, not attacked in this low and frankly outrageous manner.
Post by: mick999 on September 14, 2010, 12:14:39 PM

Is this part of an orchestrated push to get rid of Cowen ???

Cowen denies being hungover during interview

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0914/fiannafail.html (http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0914/fiannafail.html)

Irish premier denies being hungover during interview

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-11295462 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-11295462)
Post by: Hardy on September 14, 2010, 12:20:13 PM

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/Churchill.png)
Post by: Zapatista on September 14, 2010, 12:36:33 PM
I no fan of Cowen or the crooks in FF but I don't think this is a big deal. The guy was hungover, so what? Bad move doing the interview I suppose but I don't think he would have given any different answer had he been in bed at 9 and up at mass this morning. A good reflection on his leadership is plain to be seen everyday with people struggling up and down the Country. What odds if he had a feed of pints lastnight, I had a few myself. He'd have been better saying afterwards that he over done it a little lastnight and was a little rough this morning instead of telling us more lies.
Post by: Hardy on September 14, 2010, 12:47:57 PM
I'd think less of him if he fecked off to bed at half ten when normal people were congregating in the bar for a few pints. I wouldn't want someone like that running the country.
Post by: Declan on September 14, 2010, 12:58:05 PM
Quotecongregating in the bar for a few pint

More than a few pints as I think the inference is that he was still going strong at 4am doing his Micheal O Muireheartaigh impressions - Well according to Newstalk anyway. Also I see the AP and BBC have picked up on the story so it'll run and run   
Post by: ziggysego on September 14, 2010, 01:05:22 PM
Quote from: mick999 on September 14, 2010, 12:14:39 PM

Is this part of an orchestrated push to get rid of Cowen ???

Cowen denies being hungover during interview

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0914/fiannafail.html (http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0914/fiannafail.html)

Irish premier denies being hungover during interview

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-11295462 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-11295462)

Sorry for sounding all geeky here, but reminds me of a Doctor Who episode.

(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_yPWyFZEdY0s/R3p0Af3XAmI/AAAAAAAABRc/duLEgN9ozHg/s400/pm-jones.jpg)
Doesn't she look tired.

Anyway, he does sound rough on the interview.
Post by: rossie mad on September 14, 2010, 01:14:49 PM

It all depends on what Dan "attention seeker" Boyle tweets in the next few hours.

If he approves the interview then the goverment gets a stay of execution

If he criticises the Taoiseach then the goverment falls.

It shows how fickle we are when a non elected jumped up parasite actually as an influence on the country.

I bet every news department in all the irish media outlets are waiting with bated breath with what this dope has to tweet.
Post by: scud on September 14, 2010, 01:26:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 14, 2010, 12:20:13 PM

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/Churchill.png)

:D quality
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on September 14, 2010, 01:35:04 PM
Can't see what the issue is at all. He doesn't sound that bad.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 14, 2010, 01:55:32 PM
More loons on Livewhine!
Post by: deiseach on September 14, 2010, 02:00:33 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on September 14, 2010, 01:35:04 PM
Can't see what the issue is at all. He doesn't sound that bad.

I thought he sounded brutal. The slip-up about the Good Friday / Croke Park Agreement makes for a good soundbite for the meeja but that was just the cherry on top of the slurring and stumbling cake that preceeded it. It'll probably blow over - it'll be impossible to prove one way or the other that he was tired and emotional, and it's noticeable the Blueshirts aren't going at this with much gusto - but it has to be another nail in his political coffin
Post by: Hardy on September 14, 2010, 02:03:10 PM
I don't know what depresses more. The thought of who we're relying on to lead us away from perdition or the contemplation, listening to Liveline, or the people we have to share this place with.
Post by: deiseach on September 14, 2010, 02:06:42 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 14, 2010, 02:03:10 PM
I don't know what depresses more. The thought of who we're relying on to lead us away from perdition or the contemplation, listening to Liveline, of the people we have to share this place with.

Definitely the latter.
Post by: Main Street on September 14, 2010, 02:08:25 PM
The great leader sounded very liverish.

(http://www.liverdoctor.com/Image/quick-liver-check.gif)

Post by: Hardy on September 14, 2010, 02:09:02 PM
Sorry - typo fixed above.
Post by: muppet on September 14, 2010, 06:22:48 PM
I didn't think he actually sounded that bad, but that is not the point.

There appears to be consensus that he was up until 0230 and was drinking. There is some evidence that he was still up at 0330. He was supposed to be at work on behalf of the State at 0845 doing an interview. He was late for that and put in a below par performance.

That is poor judgement for anyone in any normal job and you would expect to be possibly disciplined for it. We now have ministers and even journalists defending this behaviour as normal and acceptable. It isn't either.

Yes most of us have probably done it. But most of haven't advertised it on national radio.
Post by: deiseach on September 14, 2010, 07:11:18 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 14, 2010, 06:22:48 PM
That is poor judgement for anyone in any normal job and you would expect to be possibly disciplined for it. We now have ministers and even journalists defending this behaviour as normal and acceptable. It isn't either.

God, can imagine journalists criticising this? I remember talking to a hack on the train to a match once. Obviously he was a GAA enthusiast so I didn't think it was controversial to say that I wasn't particularly fond of Diarmuid Doyle. He frowned at this. "Diarmuid is all right. He can hold his ale." No greater compliment!
Post by: seafoid on September 14, 2010, 07:22:51 PM
Fair play to Biffo. Well able to waffle think it's important no question not a sustainable position the real issue for us seriousness of our intent made very clear yada yada. 

The sparring afterwards was hilarious. He was 'hoarse'. You couldn't make it up
anyway I don't see why FG are so interested in getting rid of him. The next 5 years will be hell for the Government.  Try bridging a 20bn deficit with little or no economic growth.   
Post by: muppet on September 14, 2010, 07:40:18 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 14, 2010, 07:22:51 PM
Fair play to Biffo. Well able to waffle think it's important no question not a sustainable position the real issue for us seriousness of our intent made very clear yada yada. 

The sparring afterwards was hilarious. He was 'hoarse'. You couldn't make it up
anyway I don't see why FG are so interested in getting rid of him. The next 5 years will be hell for the Government.  Try bridging a 20bn deficit with little or no economic growth.   

10 year bonds rose 7 points on today Biffo-gate news.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on September 14, 2010, 11:08:32 PM
He sounded okay to me. But I'm just in from a Freshers' Disco!
Post by: ONeill on September 14, 2010, 11:40:09 PM
Sounds OK to me too. You should listen to Barry McElduff when excited.
Post by: ONeill on September 14, 2010, 11:41:41 PM
Real northern politics (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D2cz8yAMGFo)
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 14, 2010, 11:50:29 PM
And youse had the cheek to laugh at Yeltsin when he was too blocked/tired to get off the plane at Shannon!
Post by: highorlow on September 14, 2010, 11:59:25 PM
Storm in a beer cup, em tea cup i mean...
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 15, 2010, 12:11:49 AM
Lads

This story has, as they say in the industry, got legs.

The printed meeja today (Wed) are gone head over tits on this.

I expect a motion of no confidence in the Teashop as soon as the Dáil resumes at the end of the month.

FF have been trying to get all the 'rebels' back onside recently to shore up its majority as it knows it cannot postpone the 3 bye-elections any longer. Surely the Greens grassroots are screaming to pull out. Or is Gormley as gormless as he is painted. Eamon Ryan seems to be away with the fairies. Sargent is AWOL and Cuffe reminds me of Fr. Dougal - totally bewildered and clueless.

Lads, if ye have some spare change put a few bob on an October general election. Then we could be faced with the evil of two lessers.

BTW if Joan Burton ever ever ever gets a cabinet post I'm going to ask, no, insist,  Iran nuke us.

2 years........2 years of Accountancy lectures with her in Rathmines. If any of ye lads (and ladies  :-* ) think she is the real deal then take my word...she is not.

Post by: Zapatista on September 15, 2010, 12:48:49 AM
This has now exposed more than it ever should have. It was no big deal and the reaction to the tweet was way OTT. The tweet meant nothing it was a FGer having a go at Cowen and nothing more. If FF had have come out from the start and said he had a few pints and a bit of a sing song (which seems to be what actually happened) it would have went away after a day. The tweet would have been taken for what it was. The problem is the length that FF went to to deny it. I heard everything from attacks on FG for orchestrating a black campaign against Cowen to ...he is an asthmatic or as Mary Hannifin said sinuses and Ahern said hoarse. FF, the ease in which the circled the wagons and made up ridiculous excuses and how they stuck to them is the real issue. The BS they expected the public to swallow and their paranoia just proves how out of touch they are. It seems to me that FF are that paranoid that they are unable to be honest. They are in a world of their own all the time and are under the impression that the Irish people are not really people they are answerable to but are instead counted as tax payers or voter. Mad stuff.
Post by: Main Street on September 15, 2010, 01:11:19 AM
I can't make head nor tail out of what he was saying or even trying to say in that interview.

Generally he waffles on and on using a strange language. I really do not understand his appeal or recognise that he has leadership capability.
I can't remember listening to any answer he gave to a decent question or an explanation offered for Government policy, that actually made sense. Is it  'well I don't understand that so it must be something very smart'?

Not that anyone else could make Government policies sound rational.
Post by: Zapatista on September 15, 2010, 01:20:22 AM
Quote from: Main Street on September 15, 2010, 01:11:19 AM
Not that anyone else could make Government policies sound rational.

This is great :D

Noone knows FF policy. For years they told us their policy brought a tiger. Now they say that they didn't have policy but just acted on the advice that was available. They also say that their policy will now bring recovery from the advice from the same people.

Why have elections if the Government only act on advice at hand? Surely the people giving the adice should have been enough?
Post by: seafoid on September 15, 2010, 09:06:38 AM
The worst thing wasn't that he was hungover. It was what he said to the graduate in Galway who said she had no alternative to emigration. He said she should just be positive. Like Dev in the 30s. Positivity and the rosary will solve this problem.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 15, 2010, 09:15:18 AM
I don't know many people that can be up drinking to 4am and not be still drunk/hungover at 9am. Its just a further example of bad judgement and the incredible arrogance of Cowen. To think he could get away with it is the most insulting thing to the rest of us. He is damaging the country by just being Taoiseach, its past time for him to go.
Post by: Declan on September 15, 2010, 10:49:08 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zJkdJ2I58o (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zJkdJ2I58o)
Post by: Main Street on September 15, 2010, 11:07:45 AM
Just how spot on was Obama in his light hearted St.Patricks day intro, with Cowen sitting beside him.
Cruel stuff.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bTRnDNgGHmQ (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bTRnDNgGHmQ)
Post by: Hardy on September 15, 2010, 12:17:51 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3vEOSkk5AM&feature=related
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 15, 2010, 12:28:07 PM
LOL Hardy
Post by: stephenite on September 15, 2010, 12:35:15 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 15, 2010, 12:28:07 PM
LOL Hardy

LOL indeed
Post by: Bogball XV on September 15, 2010, 12:53:01 PM
The papers are up in arms, they're saying that he had 8 pints of carlsberg in a 6 hour period and was in bed at 3.30, only 5 hrs before this interview took place.
I knew might have called brian many's a name in the past, but I would never have called him a lightweight ;D
Post by: Main Street on September 15, 2010, 01:15:52 PM
I thought the best line came when someone asked of Coveney, "Do you stand over your tweet?"

How do you say that and keep a straight face?
Post by: Declan on September 15, 2010, 04:42:59 PM
All together now to the tune of Galway Girl

Ardiluan Blues ----   aka The Lakes of Taylor's Hill

T'was on one bright September morn I bid Salthill adieu
And I took the rode to RTE, me reputation to renew
I cursed all ECB money, no credit could I gain
Which filled me heart with longin' for the Lakes of Taylors Hill.

I stepped on board a new high stool beneath the morning sun
And I rode Mc Coilla's questions and I laid me down again
All strangers here, no friends to me 'til a Tweeter towards me came
And I fell in love with a TV3 Girl from the Lakes of Taylor's Hill .

I said my pretty TV3 Rirl, me answers here's no good
If it weren't for the cameras I'd sleep out in the wood
You're welcome here kind stranger, our house it's over billed
But we never turn a stranger out at the Lakes of Taylor's Hill.

She took me to her banker's house and she treated me quite well
The hair upon her shoulders in ginger ringlets fell
To try and borrow her balance I'm sure I'd be there still 
So skint was my TV3 girl from the Lakes of Taylors Hill.

I asked her if she'd leave me alone, she'd said it could never be
For she had got another Tweet just then and he was far at sea
She said that she would wait for him and the truth she could not kill
'Til he returned for his Creole girl from the Lakes of Taylors Hill.

So fair thee well me bonny career I will never see no more
But I'll ne'er forget the pints of beer and the Section 23 by the shore
And at each social gathering a f***in' glass I'll bill
And drink a health to me TV3 girl from the Lakes of Taylors Hill.
Post by: Main Street on September 15, 2010, 04:56:27 PM
Maybe my ears are deceiving me, but that sound like the tune to the  Lakes Of Pontchartrain.
Post by: Canalman on September 15, 2010, 05:16:27 PM
Irrelevant really whether he was hungover or not. Perception that he was is all that matters. Seriously bad day for Cowen........ one I fear he will not recover from.
Reallly wonder if he has anyone at all advising him in relation to PR etc...... seems not.

Am pretty sure that the various FF ministers are not too chuffed about having to go on tv and radio defending their leader from allegations of being affected by alcohol while on the job.
Post by: Declan on September 15, 2010, 05:18:52 PM
Quotebut that sound like the tune to the  Lakes Of Pontchartrain.

Could be right Main street alright - the lad that sent it to me said Galway Girl but the Lakes is one of the Biffo's party pieces

Quoteone I fear he will not recover from

One I hope he will not recover from
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 15, 2010, 05:39:56 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 15, 2010, 04:56:27 PM
Maybe my ears are deceiving me, but that sound like the tune to the  Lakes Of Pontchartrain.

Yeah it is.
Post by: dublinfella on September 15, 2010, 06:14:55 PM
Last year when Biffo showed up 'tired and emotional' for a Chamber of Commerce breakfast do and propmply fell asleep, I got absolutely slaughtered on here for suggesting what the dogs in the street know, that the man has a drink problem.

Long and short of it is he presented for work drunk. And on the agenda for that day was an 8.45 interview that he slurred his way through and then a day discussing cutbacks. Its not beyond the realms of reasonable that he hold it together midweek.

And then there is the second level of hypocricy. How come he can stay up till 3.30 drinking midweek yet his government have severly restricted our ability to buy gargle in pubs, clubs and offies?
Post by: Zapatista on September 15, 2010, 06:25:44 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on September 15, 2010, 06:14:55 PM
And then there is the second level of hypocricy. How come he can stay up till 3.30 drinking midweek yet his government have severly restricted our ability to buy gargle in pubs, clubs and offies?

That's not hypocrisy, FF are different. FF are our betters and it would be ludicrous to think the same standards and rules apply to FF as apply to the general public. From perjury to smoking in bars the rules are different if you are a FF TD. This has been evident for years and is just accepted, I'm surprised you didn't know it.
Post by: Main Street on September 15, 2010, 06:53:48 PM
Dublinfella and our great leader have something in common, both have a drink problem.
Only, Biffo is the inside swilling pints and Dublinfella is on the outside looking in, with his tongue hanging out.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 15, 2010, 06:56:01 PM
Did anyone see the interview on the 6-one news. Basically denied he was under the weather but apologised for doing a bad interview. The bare faced cheek of him. Then to make matters worse Coveney comes on and accepts what he said. DO THEY THINK WE ARE STUPID? (I don't need an answer for that last question).
Post by: Bogball XV on September 15, 2010, 09:53:45 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 15, 2010, 12:11:49 AM2 years........2 years of Accountancy lectures with her in Rathmines. If any of ye lads (and ladies  :-* ) think she is the real deal then take my word...she is not.
the fact she has some sort of financial acumen has to be an improvement.  I'm sure any of us could have people saying exactly the same thing about us if we had the balls to put ourselves forward for election (i'd be fairly certain that Joan hasn't got balls, or at least that they haven't dropped yet).

Quote from: magpie seanie on September 15, 2010, 06:56:01 PM
Did anyone see the interview on the 6-one news. Basically denied he was under the weather but apologised for doing a bad interview. The bare faced cheek of him. Then to make matters worse Coveney comes on and accepts what he said. DO THEY THINK WE ARE STUPID? (I don't need an answer for that last question).

Obviously cowen has several stories he's threatened to leak to the press. 
Post by: Cde on September 15, 2010, 09:57:51 PM
dont know which looks the worst,  him doing the interview half drunk or him and the rest of the gobsh*ts in FF all lining up to try and convince us that he just had a sore throat

I suppose they have been telling these fairy tales for so long now they think they can tell us anything and we will believe it
Post by: demusicman on September 15, 2010, 10:25:52 PM
An Taoiseach Brian Cowen Singing ::)

Brian Cowen - Another Awkward Moment

Brian Cowen - I Kissed Brian Cowen - Dublin's 98 Morning Crew
Post by: Main Street on September 16, 2010, 11:42:28 AM
The Examiner's front page  http://www.irishexaminer.com/home/uproar-forces-cowen-to-say-sorry-130954.html
carries this photograph to accompany the headline

Uproar forces Cowen to say sorry

(http://tcmwebmedia.s3.amazonaws.com/media/images/b/BrianCowenGlumSept152010INTERNAL.jpg)

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 16, 2010, 02:51:51 PM
(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_qdRqFPGZw2o/SeaM6MZVkeI/AAAAAAAABfE/k48E1kvDzM0/s400/brian_cowen_fat_boy_slim.jpg)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 16, 2010, 09:34:04 PM
It just got better for Biffo:

DUBLIN (Reuters) - Ryder cup winning golfer Philip Walton has written to Ireland's prime minister asking him to explain why he mimicked the sportsman at a now infamous boozy night with journalists and politicians.
In a statement released exclusively to Reuters on Thursday, Walton said he and his wife felt compelled to contact Brian Cowen after details of the skit appeared in newspapers and television reports.

"From what I have heard and read so far the stories are of concern to myself, my wife and also my children as they have seen reports on 'You Tube'," Walton said in a statement.

"As a result, we felt the best thing at this point was to write to An Taoiseach (the prime minister) ourselves to get more details and the exact context of the various stories."

The statement said Walton, who holed the winning putt in the 1995 Ryder Cup, felt "anger" at this week's events.

Walton's letter will heap further pressure on Cowen who was forced to apologize on Wednesday for performing badly on a morning radio interview just hours after he finished partying at his parliamentary party's annual conference.

Cowen has repeatedly denied he was drunk or hungover on the radio show.

The controversy, labeled "garglegate" by some, has raised questions over Cowen's leadership just as Ireland seeks to convince investors it is not on the brink of a debt crisis.

Renowned for his gruff public persona, Cowen traditionally lets his hair down at his parliamentary party's annual meeting.

A renowned mimic, he regaled the media and political colleagues, including senior government ministers, with a song and impersonations, including one of Walton, on Monday night.

(Reporting by Carmel Crimmins; Editing by Peter Graff)
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 16, 2010, 09:53:30 PM
One of FG's "best and brightest"?? is sparking off worldwide interest in the country via twitter, The Taoiseach of the day is apologisiing profusely for doing a poor interview but it was not drink related, and now feckin Walton is pissed off about beng mimiced by the Taoiseach and, no shit, that's a main news item tonight. Send for the IMF and the men in the white coats now, the late Dermot Morgan couldn't have scripted this nonsense.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 16, 2010, 10:37:38 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 16, 2010, 09:34:04 PM

DUBLIN (Reuters) - Ryder cup winning golfer Philip Walton has written to Ireland's prime minister asking him to explain why he mimicked the sportsman at a now infamous boozy night with journalists and politicians.
In a statement released exclusively to Reuters on Thursday, Walton said he and his wife felt compelled to contact Brian Cowen after details of the skit appeared in newspapers and television reports.

"From what I have heard and read so far the stories are of concern to myself, my wife and also my children as they have seen reports on 'You Tube'," Walton said in a statement.

"As a result, we felt the best thing at this point was to write to An Taoiseach (the prime minister) ourselves to get more details and the exact context of the various stories."

The statement said Walton, who holed the winning putt in the 1995 Ryder Cup, felt "anger" at this week's events.

Walton's letter will heap further pressure on Cowen who was forced to apologize on Wednesday for performing badly on a morning radio interview just hours after he finished partying at his parliamentary party's annual conference.

The controversy, labeled "garglegate" by some, has raised questions over Cowen's leadership just as Ireland seeks to convince investors it is not on the brink of a debt crisis.

Renowned for his gruff public persona, Cowen traditionally lets his hair down at his parliamentary party's annual meeting.

A renowned mimic, he regaled the media and political colleagues, including senior government ministers, with a song and impersonations, including one of Walton, on Monday night.

I'm a keen golf fan and I wouldn't know what an impression of walton would be - what a strange choice of person to mimmick.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 16, 2010, 10:50:26 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 16, 2010, 10:37:38 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 16, 2010, 09:34:04 PM

I'm a keen golf fan and I wouldn't know what an impression of walton would be - what a strange choice of person to mimmick.

Have you ever heard him speak?? He's got a very distinctive squeaky voice. In saying that with his non existent current profile yeah it's a strange choice of someone to mimic.
Post by: highorlow on September 16, 2010, 11:57:08 PM
In the last week Cowen has moved up in my estimation.

The man is a legend. I'd say he is mighty craic in the pub.

Fair play to him. All these idiots and f**king do gooders that we have to listen to in the meeja over the last few days is sickening. Thats whats gone wrong with this country over the last while everyone is gone so fuckin uptight and bloody straightlaced.

Good God if the man was a Dublin Taoiseach then there wouldn't be half the over reaction there has been.

This country's meeja is really sickening my hole over the last 6 months and especially that fuckin hypocrite brown on TV3 which is basically puck television.

The same bloody journos will be out on the lash themselves all weekend and end up hungover next Monday morning. Gobshites.
Post by: muppet on September 17, 2010, 02:07:14 AM
Quote from: highorlow on September 16, 2010, 11:57:08 PM
The same bloody journos will be out on the lash themselves all weekend and end up hungover next Monday morning. Gobshites.

They were actually with him in the bar that night. (With the exception of the Morning Ireland guy who went to bed early because of his early start).

What this highlights (among other things) is the really cosy relationship between our media and our government which explains a lot of the soft treatment they get.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 17, 2010, 09:40:31 AM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on September 16, 2010, 10:50:26 PMI'm a keen golf fan and I wouldn't know what an impression of walton would be - what a strange choice of person to mimmick.

Have you ever heard him speak?? He's got a very distinctive squeaky voice. In saying that with his non existent current profile yeah it's a strange choice of someone to mimic.
probably heard him back in the mid 90's, but sure then i prob thought all mexicans spoke like that!!

If he's so squeaky, you'd think biffo would update and pretend he's harrington instead?
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 17, 2010, 10:00:04 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 17, 2010, 09:40:31 AM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on September 16, 2010, 10:50:26 PMI'm a keen golf fan and I wouldn't know what an impression of walton would be - what a strange choice of person to mimmick.

probably heard him back in the mid 90's, but sure then i prob thought all mexicans spoke like that!!

If he's so squeaky, you'd think biffo would update and pretend he's harrington instead?

He is that squeaky. Makes Harrington sound like Barry White  ;)
Post by: Main Street on September 17, 2010, 12:52:20 PM
The Banks already crashed, the economy bedraggled after years of Fianna Fail  (pre-paid of course) supported policies of economic armageddon.
The great minds of this Government party converge to have a "think in".  Our Great Leader decides to be the leading light a party piss up and comes on to the national airwave for a pre arranged interview - still drunk/well under the influence, to announce in a drunken stupor, how the citizens will be further screwed in order to preserve the status of the financial elite.

And in some perverted twisted way, the Great Leader goes up in estimation in the eyes of some.

Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 17, 2010, 01:11:05 PM
QuoteThe same bloody journos will be out on the lash themselves all weekend and end up hungover next Monday morning. Gobshites.

The difference is when Cowen goes on the lash we pick up the bill.
Post by: Tubberman on September 17, 2010, 01:52:03 PM

Fair play to him. All these idiots and f**king do gooders that we have to listen to in the meeja over the last few days is sickening. Thats whats gone wrong with this country over the last while everyone is gone so fuckin uptight and bloody straightlaced.

Good God if the man was a Dublin Taoiseach then there wouldn't be half the over reaction there has been.

This country's meeja is really sickening my hole over the last 6 months and especially that fuckin hypocrite brown on TV3 which is basically puck television.

One of the most depressing posts I've read in a long time. Sadly there are probably a lot of people who actually think like this.
Ah sure look at him, he's a great man for the pints, the craic and a singsong - this somehow makes him a better Taoiseach??  ???
The country is fcked, but sure as long as there's a good party going someplace, never mind about that.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 02:06:06 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on September 17, 2010, 01:52:03 PM

One of the most depressing posts I've read in a long time. Sadly there are probably a lot of people who actually think like this.
Ah sure look at him, he's a great man for the pints, the craic and a singsong - this somehow makes him a better Taoiseach??  ???
The country is fcked, but sure as long as there's a good party going someplace, never mind about that.

The thing that annoys me about this is that Cowen was well known for being a man who likes a pint, can chat with anyone, is a decent enough fella, and can be the life and soul of a party. They were all seen as positive things by the masses when he was popular. Now the facr that he is unpopular, they suddenly become sticks to beat him with.

I'm not defending him as a politician, or as a statesman, where I feel he is very unpolished. I just find it rich that people (including politicians and the media) who have often commented on what a 'great fella' he is, are now rushing to use his personality and behaviour as 'BAD THING'.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 17, 2010, 02:13:16 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 02:06:06 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on September 17, 2010, 01:52:03 PM

The thing that annoys me about this is that Cowen was well known for being a man who likes a pint, can chat with anyone, is a decent enough fella, and can be the life and soul of a party. They were all seen as positive things by the masses when he was popular. Now the facr that he is unpopular, they suddenly become sticks to beat him with.

I'm not defending him as a politician, or as a statesman, where I feel he is very unpolished. I just find it rich that people (including politicians and the media) who have often commented on what a 'great fella' he is, are now rushing to use his personality and behaviour as 'BAD THING'.
the problem here was the total lack of judgement in doing the interview.  Who allowed that to happen?  There's definitely an over reaction (and total hypocrisy) (and not cos he's a culchie) to the drinking.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 17, 2010, 02:14:51 PM
I'd have a slightly different slant on it AZ. He used the image of himself as a great fella for a pint and a song to cultivate popularity. This is the downside of it.

Any of us that like a jar don't go for a good skip if we're meeting the boss the next morning. Theoretically, the people are his (quite pissed off with his performance) boss and he addressed us half cut or at very best hungover and made a hames of what he was saying. If I did that in my job I'd be in serious trouble if not getting the door. Instead, he told a blatant lie about his condition and was backed up by his cronies and more worryingly by his supposed political adversaries.

Its long past time he was removed from office.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 02:20:06 PM
That's what I mean about being unpolished. Jaysus even Yeltsin's minders had the cop on to keep him on the plane in Shannon that time. Cowan should not have been let near that phone, and should have had the cop on himself to say 'Jaysus I'm dying, I'll have to cancel'.

Having said that it's the reaction that I find interesting. I don't think it's a culchie thing either. I think it's a 'How dare he be drinking until all hours when the country is in the toilet' reaction. Which is ultra hypocritical when the one of the reason's he is/was highly thought of was because 'he's a decent fella, normal like the rest of us'.

There's been no scandal about Cowen, so instead of digging professionally, the attack mode now is along the lines of 'look at this big oaf drinking and being hungover on the radio'.

Anyhow, I don't want to be seen as defending him because people will think it's an Offaly thing :D I do like the man having met him a couple of times, but I do think he was sold a pup when Ahern left, and was too stubborn or blinkered to see it. He also made huge mistakes professionaly as finance minister, in hindsight, because he should have told us all then to not be greedy, instead he fostered the greed and allowed the bankers to go bananas.

Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 02:23:10 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 17, 2010, 02:14:51 PM
I'd have a slightly different slant on it AZ. He used the image of himself as a great fella for a pint and a song to cultivate popularity. This is the downside of it.

Any of us that like a jar don't go for a good skip if we're meeting the boss the next morning. Theoretically, the people are his (quite pissed off with his performance) boss and he addressed us half cut or at very best hungover and made a hames of what he was saying. If I did that in my job I'd be in serious trouble if not getting the door. Instead, he told a blatant lie about his condition and was backed up by his cronies and more worryingly by his supposed political adversaries.

Its long past time he was removed from office.

I have to disagree with that Seanie. I don't think he actively cultivates that, certainly he didn't when he was making his way up the ladder. He was always on for the craic.

I had Jan O'Sullivan canvassing me for a vote back in an election in the mid 2000's when I lived in Limerick. I told her I was still voting in Laois Offaly, and she said, well don't forget to vote Labour there then. I said, sorry Jan, I'll probably be voting Cowen #1.

She said, and I quote 'Ah Brian, yes you could do a lot worse than vote for Brian, he's genuinely a great guy'.

That was before leadership heaves or anything else, and that was a political opponent during electioneering.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 17, 2010, 02:28:39 PM
Yeah, I knowe its not a false image but I do believe he tried to use it when he took over as FF leader to try and "Bertie-ise" (for want of a better word) himself. There was a Pat Kenny interview and the cringe inducing but cleverly scripted Late Late one with Ryan Tubridy.

Anyway, bottom line is he in unfit for the job and needs to be got rid of.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 02:32:10 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 17, 2010, 02:28:39 PM
Yeah, I knowe its not a false image but I do believe he tried to use it when he took over as FF leader to try and "Bertie-ise" (for want of a better word) himself. There was a Pat Kenny interview and the cringe inducing but cleverly scripted Late Late one with Ryan Tubridy.

I'm sure he would use any plank (no pun intended) to try and boost his popularity at the moment :)

Anyhow, I think that he is certainly struggling in the job as it stands at the moment, and for his own good should even think of standing down. I'm just not sure who could do that job at the moment, which is the really frightening thing.

We have loads of politicians. Have we any leaders?
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 17, 2010, 02:35:16 PM

That sums it up.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 02:37:51 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on September 17, 2010, 02:35:16 PM

That sums it up.

Not only does it succinctly sum it up, but it should be the *only* issue. I couldn't care less if he was out on a session one night in Galway, in fact I'm sorry I missed it, it would have been good craic. But unless he is drinking himself stupid every night, that is not material to his ability to do the job, and that's what should determine whether he stays or goes.

This vacuous, media and livewhinge bullshite is very tiresome.
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 17, 2010, 02:45:24 PM

Interesting point indeed. I seem to recall a dublin Taoiseach who made something of a virtue of his Bass drinking abilities and more of less had Fagans pub as a constituency office as such. But then again that was at the time of the deceased tiger when none of us cared too much about that or make up bills etc.

What is seriously depressing in all of this is that there is no effort being made to communicate with the mug punters i.e. us as to what is being done, if anything, to tackle the first, second and third biggest problems this country faces i.e. the total collapse in the jobs market. Is it the airport/ferry option all over again??
Post by: Main Street on September 17, 2010, 03:09:46 PM
Cowen would be probably be a great man to have as Town Clerk/lord mayor of bogsville, sorry some/any Offaly town.
Of course it gets personal when he is an Taoiseach,  he is the leader of the Government, when he acts slovenly and in general cannot communicate the mystery that unravels itself as FF government policy, we witness him carving out his own embarrassing caricature.
Generally I look to policies and not to the fickle appeal of a method (mass appeal) personality which fronts those policies.

Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 03:14:45 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 17, 2010, 03:09:46 PM
Cowen would be probably be a great man to have as Town Clerk/lord mayor of bogsville, sorry some/any Offaly town.
Of course it gets personal when he is an Taoiseach,  he is the leader of the Government, when he acts slovenly and in general cannot communicate the mystery that unravels itself as FF government policy, we witness him carving out his own embarrassing caricature.
Generally I look to policies and not to the fickle appeal of a method (mass appeal) personality which fronts those policies.

Ah but you're great. Bogsville? Go away and shite.

I'm pointing out the hypocrisy of those (not you, naturellement) who lauded him for being a great fella, and now castigate him for having the same personality.

Post by: Main Street on September 17, 2010, 03:17:38 PM
sorry it slipped out
Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 03:18:47 PM
And I thought you were from Cavan or somewhere?
Post by: muppet on September 17, 2010, 03:31:42 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on September 17, 2010, 02:45:24 PM

Interesting point indeed. I seem to recall a dublin Taoiseach who made something of a virtue of his Bass drinking abilities and more of less had Fagans pub as a constituency office as such. But then again that was at the time of the deceased tiger when none of us cared too much about that or make up bills etc.

What is seriously depressing in all of this is that there is no effort being made to communicate with the mug punters i.e. us as to what is being done, if anything, to tackle the first, second and third biggest problems this country faces i.e. the total collapse in the jobs market. Is it the airport/ferry option all over again??

Just for clarity having been in the company of both while pints were flowing there is no comparison. Bertie usually arrived in Fagans close to closing time and had 1, max 2 pints. Brian was a bit closer to my own consumption. The two are not in the same league.

Not intended as a criticism of either just stating my observations of both.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 03:32:57 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 17, 2010, 03:31:42 PM

Just for clarity having been in the company of both while pints were flowing there is no comparison. Bertie usually arrived in Fagans close to closing time and had 1, max 2 pints. Brian was a bit closer to my own consumption. The two are not in the same league.

Ah no, Cowen can drink :D
Post by: Main Street on September 17, 2010, 03:36:07 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 03:18:47 PM
And I thought you were from Cavan or somewhere?
Cavan ???   
I must have hurt you really deep to receive that attempt at an insult. I really do apologise.
Nevertheless, I refuse to accept your insult.
A truce perhaps?

Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 03:38:30 PM
I thought you were Cavan. Monaghan? Although it must be somewhere truly metropolitan and glamourous if you are slagging Cowen from being from Offaly, so maybe not :D
Post by: muppet on September 17, 2010, 03:42:30 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 03:32:57 PM

That sounds like a challenge!
Post by: Bogball XV on September 17, 2010, 03:43:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 03:38:30 PM
I thought you were Cavan. Monaghan? Although it must be somewhere truly metropolitan and glamourous if you are slagging Cowen from being from Offaly, so maybe not :D
monaghan if i mind right - more pubs per capita than any other county!!
Post by: Bogball XV on September 17, 2010, 03:45:54 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 17, 2010, 03:31:42 PMJust for clarity having been in the company of both while pints were flowing there is no comparison. Bertie usually arrived in Fagans close to closing time and had 1, max 2 pints. Brian was a bit closer to my own consumption. The two are not in the same league.

I've heard a story or two about the both of them and their drinking and from the stories, I think I'd rather drink with biffo.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 03:50:32 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 17, 2010, 03:42:30 PM

Absolutely. If this Golf Classic ever happens, you're on. Maybe I'll ring Brian and get him to come too, he should be available by then :D
Post by: Main Street on September 17, 2010, 03:53:12 PM
What about Albert? I don't know much about the man, but somehow he gave the impression that he was a rather sober figure, like myself I suppose.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 03:54:29 PM
What about Albert? Sober? You must be joking. You'd want to see him cut the rug at a good old fashioned square dance.

Yee Haw.
Post by: Main Street on September 17, 2010, 03:57:23 PM
Whats a square dance?

Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 04:02:29 PM
(http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSk09myxpXuMFTCQUz4ApRiycTNUQGZu-TFpzv3UZhZs5bg9IY&t=1&usg=__iN-Vle-ljsDK6JpBnPyWpVdWW9Y=)

It's like set dancing for Country and Western folks.
Post by: muppet on September 17, 2010, 04:04:51 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 03:50:32 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 17, 2010, 03:42:30 PM

Absolutely. If this Golf Classic ever happens, you're on. Maybe I'll ring Brian and get him to come too, he should be available by then :D

Great! Cowen can caddy for you. I'll bring Walton.
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 17, 2010, 05:33:19 PM

Pretty impressive company you're keeping all right. Are you saying you're fond a a fair lough of pints yourself then? :o
Post by: Main Street on September 17, 2010, 05:35:05 PM
With all due respect to Ryder cup legend Philip, his letter of enquiry to an Taoiseach about the reported impersonation, reminds me of Pontius Pilate and Biggus Dickus

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=elH6gBsXOhA&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=elH6gBsXOhA&feature=related)

Post by: Hardy on September 17, 2010, 06:27:19 PM
I can't figure it out. Cowen has been one of the main architects of the demolition of our economy, the pauperisation of a generation or two, mass unemployment and the return of youth emigration. Yet it appears that what he'll be hounded from office for is having a hangover on the wireless. And I thought I understood the Irish people.
Post by: Main Street on September 17, 2010, 06:47:57 PM
You have placed too much significance on the last straw to break the camel's back - from a public perspective and on the other hand, not enough significance on the absolute desperation for politicians within FF to retain power.

Post by: Niall Quinn on September 17, 2010, 08:37:40 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 17, 2010, 06:47:57 PM
You have placed too much significance on the last straw to break the camel's back - from a public perspective and on the other hand, not enough significance on the absolute desperation for politicians within FF to retain power.

Slick mixing of metaphor.
Post by: Zapatista on September 17, 2010, 09:54:35 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 17, 2010, 02:23:10 PM
I have to disagree with that Seanie. I don't think he actively cultivates that, certainly he didn't when he was making his way up the ladder. He was always on for the craic.

I had Jan O'Sullivan canvassing me for a vote back in an election in the mid 2000's when I lived in Limerick. I told her I was still voting in Laois Offaly, and she said, well don't forget to vote Labour there then. I said, sorry Jan, I'll probably be voting Cowen #1.

She said, and I quote 'Ah Brian, yes you could do a lot worse than vote for Brian, he's genuinely a great guy'.

That was before leadership heaves or anything else, and that was a political opponent during electioneering.

That's how you secure a No.2 vote. It has no reflection on Cowen, it was nothing more than a politician canvassing at your door.

The bottom line is that Cowen is a disaster, he always has been and he is now covering his own ass. We were sold a pup!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 17, 2010, 10:09:47 PM
Quote from: Niall Quinn on September 17, 2010, 08:37:40 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 17, 2010, 06:47:57 PM

Slick mixing of metaphor.

No it's not. It's a clumsy tautology!  :P
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 17, 2010, 10:58:29 PM
Cowen never wanted to be where he is.

Cowen would have preferred the quiet life, a solictor in Offaly, going to football matches and then a few pints over the weekend.

His Dad's death in a car accident in 1984 changed all that and he was thrust in, at the age of 24, to "diffind the sayte". (His accident prolonged the career of CJ Haughey by 8 years)

Cowen is in a hole politically and should stop digging. The country needs a general election to vent steam. I don't care what loons are in charge the nex time - hey, we could get a Michael Lowry majority government, but at least the people will have spoken and this is what the country needs right now.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 18, 2010, 09:34:14 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on September 17, 2010, 09:54:35 PM

That's how you secure a No.2 vote. It has no reflection on Cowen, it was nothing more than a politician canvassing at your door.

The bottom line is that Cowen is a disaster, he always has been and he is now covering his own ass. We were sold a pup!

You're wrong Zap, but it's not important.
Post by: Zapatista on September 18, 2010, 11:05:31 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 18, 2010, 09:34:14 AM

Fair enough maybe she was being honest but if I canvassed you I'd have told you the same.
Post by: Main Street on September 18, 2010, 11:43:41 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on September 18, 2010, 11:05:31 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 18, 2010, 09:34:14 AM

Fair enough maybe she was being honest but if I canvassed you I'd have told you the same.
I am shocked Zap, now you are saying that we can't trust a word that comes out of your mouth.
Post by: stephenite on September 18, 2010, 12:05:05 PM
I said, sorry Jan, I'll probably be voting Cowen #1.

So in a roundabout way you're responsible for the entire country going down the pan? :P
Post by: Zapatista on September 18, 2010, 12:15:12 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 18, 2010, 11:43:41 AM
I am shocked Zap, now you are saying that we can't trust a word that comes out of your mouth.

Ach now that's a little harsh :'(

Post by: Bogball XV on September 18, 2010, 01:21:24 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 17, 2010, 10:58:29 PM
Cowen never wanted to be where he is.

Cowen would have preferred the quiet life, a solictor in Offaly, going to football matches and then a few pints over the weekend.

His Dad's death in a car accident in 1984 changed all that and he was thrust in, at the age of 24, to "diffind the sayte". (His accident prolonged the career of CJ Haughey by 8 years)

Cowen is in a hole politically and should stop digging. The country needs a general election to vent steam. I don't care what loons are in charge the nex time - hey, we could get a Michael Lowry majority government, but at least the people will have spoken and this is what the country needs right now.
Are you sure Ber died in an accident, thought it was heart problems myself.
That aside, I don't know that I believe any of the rest of it, i mean he'd just qualified as a solicitor and was working in the uncle's practice, who knows if he'd have liked that or not?  Once he hit the big time he wasn't exactly a shrinking violet, sure he was a minister in absolutely no time and if it was the quiet life he wanted, he could have turned down the portfolio.  From the small amount I know of the man, I think he'd be reasonably likeable, but he should never have been minister for finance and whilst he's a better taoiseach than ahern, he hasn't made much of a job of that either.
Post by: muppet on September 20, 2010, 05:29:33 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1313358/The-dark-truth-Irish-Prime-Minister-Cowen-s-drinking.html?ITO=1490 (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1313358/The-dark-truth-Irish-Prime-Minister-Cowen-s-drinking.html?ITO=1490)
Post by: Puckoon on September 20, 2010, 05:59:27 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 20, 2010, 05:29:33 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1313358/The-dark-truth-Irish-Prime-Minister-Cowen-s-drinking.html?ITO=1490 (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1313358/The-dark-truth-Irish-Prime-Minister-Cowen-s-drinking.html?ITO=1490)

Hes a fcukin' disgrace.

Wouldnt even wait for the pint to settle.

(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2010/09/19/article-1313358-0B40413E000005DC-988_468x347.jpg)
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on September 20, 2010, 06:43:41 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 20, 2010, 05:29:33 PM

Was that story in the Oirish edition, does anybody know?
Title: Leno lampoons Cowen in sketch
Post by: ludermor on September 27, 2010, 12:48:50 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0927/breaking28.html

When i saw the headline in the Irish Times i thought Brian Lenihan had turned in Cowan!
Post by: Declan on September 27, 2010, 02:12:25 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gRZvERI5nf8 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gRZvERI5nf8)
Post by: muppet on September 29, 2010, 10:59:18 AM
David Davin Power at the 2009 Ard Fheis. Keep watching the guy with the beard near Davin Power's left shoulder. Don't take your eyes off him.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3elLmrCmOqo&feature=player_embedded (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3elLmrCmOqo&feature=player_embedded)
Post by: ludermor on September 29, 2010, 01:39:01 PM
That has popped up here a few times, he surely has a conflict of interest with his connections to FF and the fact that he owns one of ireland biggest drain cleaning businesses.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 29, 2010, 02:13:30 PM
Only just got round to listening to this - it was rather underwhelming, I don't really know what all the fuss was about at all as he sounded grand to me.
Ffs you used to have a taoiseach who barely string 2 words together in a comprehensible sentence and yet ye loved him, now, poor biffo gets abuse cos he was a wee bit hoarse.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 29, 2010, 02:21:35 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 29, 2010, 02:13:30 PM
Only just got round to listening to this - it was rather underwhelming, I don't really know what all the fuss was about at all as he sounded grand to me.
Ffs you used to have a taoiseach who barely string 2 words together in a comprehensible sentence and yet ye loved him, now, poor biffo gets abuse cos he was a wee bit hoarse.

Maybe it because Cowan is a Culchie!
Title: illiterate-clown-heads-for-brazilian-congress
Post by: ludermor on September 29, 2010, 03:15:25 PM
http://www.independent.ie/world-news/americas/illiterate-clown-heads-for-brazilian-congress-2357175.html

Only one clown, we could beat them hands down!