Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: DuffleKing on August 31, 2010, 06:46:54 PM

Title: Stig
Post by: DuffleKing on August 31, 2010, 06:46:54 PM

The current court case concerning top gear's "stig" has me interested.

If anyone knows who he is could you pm me?
Title: Re: Stig
Post by: ziggysego on August 31, 2010, 08:17:09 PM
I'm The Stig
Post by: Dougal Maguire on August 31, 2010, 08:26:25 PM
What intrigues me is who cares. Top Gear is puerile British laddishness at its worst. I happened to be forced to watch it one night when the 3 stoogies were going camping to Cornwall in home made camper vans.  The laugh was that they were trying to make it all look spontaneous. Worst TV I've ever seen
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 31, 2010, 08:26:49 PM
I'm the Stig
Post by: Orior on August 31, 2010, 09:12:37 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on August 31, 2010, 08:26:25 PM
What intrigues me is who cares. Top Gear is puerile British laddishness at its worst. I happened to be forced to watch it one night when the 3 stoogies were going camping to Cornwall in home made camper vans.  The laugh was that they were trying to make it all look spontaneous. Worst TV I've ever seen

I agree. A vehicle is for getting me from A to B. I dont need a pussy magnet, and never had any complaints from the lassies, unlike the rest of you guys.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on August 31, 2010, 09:27:13 PM
Good man Orior. Truer words were never spoken. A man after me own heart. I bet you don't drink pretentious poncie beers either and if you played football you'd wear black boots.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on August 31, 2010, 09:38:05 PM
A car
Post by: DuffleKing on August 31, 2010, 09:50:03 PM

Don't watch the show but i like mysteries, god help me.
Post by: Hardy on September 01, 2010, 10:28:32 AM
I'd like to associate myself with the views expressed by Dougal and Orior.

"Puerile British laddishness at its worst" is the perfect description.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on September 01, 2010, 10:36:54 AM
ive never given the show a chance, such is my hatred for jeremy clarkson; and i dont hate that many people....
Post by: lilpaulie85 on September 01, 2010, 10:49:52 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on August 31, 2010, 06:46:54 PM

The current court case concerning top gear's "stig" has me interested.

If anyone knows who he is could you pm me?

Seemingly its meant to be Ben Collins, hes a former british touring car racer
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 01, 2010, 11:09:44 AM
Yeah absolutely hate the programme, hate the 3 gimps on it especially Clarkson and hate people who come into work on Monday morning raving about it.
Post by: Asal Mor on September 01, 2010, 01:51:04 PM

Very well said Dougal. I was thinking recently while watching James Corden present his own show, how difficult it is to believe that Britain once ruled half the earth.
Post by: ziggysego on September 01, 2010, 02:46:21 PM
The BBC have lost the court case and The Stig has indeed been revealed to be former F3 driver Ben Collins.

James May was interviewed afterwards, stating "Obviously I'm now going to have to take some legal action of my own, because I have been the Stig for the past seven years, and I don't know who this bloke is, who's mincing around in the High Court pretending it's him."
Post by: the colonel on September 01, 2010, 03:06:53 PM
What intrigues me is people who admit to hating a show, come on to a thread to give off to people who like the show and take it off the topic off the title on the thread. Why go to such a bother to have a moan.
Post by: mountainboii on September 01, 2010, 03:13:01 PM
Quote from: the colonel on September 01, 2010, 03:06:53 PM
What intrigues me is people who admit to hating a show, come on to a thread to give off to people who like the show and take it off the topic off the title on the thread. Why go to such a bother to have a moan.

Half the internet is people moaning about stuff. Deal with it.
Post by: ziggysego on September 01, 2010, 03:21:47 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 01, 2010, 03:13:01 PM

The other half are on the other side of the world asleep. When we go to sleep, they get up and moan on the Internet ;)
Post by: the colonel on September 01, 2010, 03:35:53 PM

Grow up
Post by: mountainboii on September 01, 2010, 03:59:18 PM
You grow up.
Post by: Stall the Bailer on September 01, 2010, 04:08:33 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 01, 2010, 03:21:47 PM

The other half are on the other side of the world asleep. When we go to sleep, they get up and moan on the Internet ;)
So half of the internet is asleep?
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on September 01, 2010, 04:26:26 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 01, 2010, 03:59:18 PM
You grow up.

You tell him AFS.  Feckin Colonel comin along complainin about us complainin.
And Colonel, it didnt take me that long to post my post; id say about half a minute done it;
though im now compelled to go back in and have a go at you, which has taken at least another minute now...see what youve started  >:( :P

Is it any wonder discussion boards get to the size they are with this sort of carry on...
Post by: ziggysego on September 01, 2010, 04:37:14 PM
Quote from: Stall the Bailer on September 01, 2010, 04:08:33 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 01, 2010, 03:21:47 PM

So half of the internet is asleep?

At any one time yes. Oh and grow up  :P
Post by: Dougal Maguire on September 01, 2010, 06:31:24 PM
Saw a great programme about ABBA the other night. That Stig Anderson was a great manager
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 01, 2010, 06:56:04 PM
I like the parts were they actually concentrate on the cars. The Last of the Summer Wine nonsense they get up to is pure shite. Ooops I was cooking sausages and the caravan is on fire...ooops I've left the handbrake off and the car has rolled over the cliff...  ???
Post by: Sandino on September 01, 2010, 07:44:26 PM
I hate the bits where they concertrate on the cars. I think Top Gear is first class enterainment. I enjoy their trips most of all. I see this a very short term victory for (former toruning car champion, Ben Collins) He may have won the right to write a book but he has blown a job which was his for the duration of the Top Gear Brand. Long Live the Stig!!!!
Post by: ziggysego on September 01, 2010, 07:54:43 PM
Quote from: Sandino on September 01, 2010, 07:44:26 PM
I hate the bits where they concertrate on the cars. I think Top Gear is first class enterainment. I enjoy their trips most of all. I see this a very short term victory for (former toruning car champion, Ben Collins) He may have won the right to write a book but he has blown a job which was his for the duration of the Top Gear Brand. Long Live the Stig!!!!

Remember the Black Stig? He reveal who he was in a book, so they killed him off and replaced him with the White Stig.
Post by: MCMLX on September 01, 2010, 08:51:08 PM
There has always been more than one Stig.
Post by: ziggysego on September 01, 2010, 10:43:06 PM
Quote from: MCMLX on September 01, 2010, 08:51:08 PM

Yeah, two. I said so above.
Post by: MCMLX on September 01, 2010, 10:45:44 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 01, 2010, 10:43:06 PM
Quote from: MCMLX on September 01, 2010, 08:51:08 PM

Yeah, two. I said so above.

Not what I mean. Even though Collins is White Stig, other drivers fill in when he is unavailable because of race commitments. Its quite noticeable at times.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 01, 2010, 11:28:06 PM
Quote from: Sandino on September 01, 2010, 07:44:26 PM
Something for everyone then. The races are good too if you ignore the fact that the endings are fake too.
Post by: stephenite on September 01, 2010, 11:57:34 PM
Some of the stuff they have done has been top notch TV, some of it purile British lad culture clap trap. The trip through Vietnam on Mopeds, the one that started in the Amazon and ended on the coast of Chile and the trip to the North Pole - all great entertainment.

I couldn't give a fiddles who the dressed up man is and how fast he can drive any car
Post by: ONeill on September 02, 2010, 12:46:58 AM
I've watched this a couple of times over the years but never saw this Stig. What episode was he in?
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on September 02, 2010, 09:27:01 AM
Quote from: ONeill on September 02, 2010, 12:46:58 AM
I've watched this a couple of times over the years but never saw this Stig. What episode was he in?

Episode 85.  clarkson was in it too. i dont like him

Post by: barelegs on September 07, 2010, 04:19:15 PM
Looks like the Stig has become 'Stig of the Dump'.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2010/sep/07/jeremy-clarkson-stig-sacked

Top Gear co-host Jeremy Clarkson  has said that the man who plays the Stig is "sacked" and admitted he was "hurt" that Ben Collins decided to unmask himself as the show's anonymous white-suited driver.

Clarkson said that "Top Gear is damaged but not out", adding that he has spent the last three weeks "doing nothing but work out what to do instead", after it emerged that Collins was planning to out himself as the Stig in his autobiography.