GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Lazer on August 31, 2010, 12:38:32 PM

Title: All Ireland Final tickets
Post by: Lazer on August 31, 2010, 12:38:32 PM
Now starts the fun of scrambling for tickets!

Personally - I don't think i'll get one - so if anyone has any available for a dedicated Down fan please remember me!

Anyone know how much they are this year when and they get allcoated to the clubs?
Title: Re: All Ireland Final tickets
Post by: Banana Man on August 31, 2010, 02:34:40 PM
I'll be honest I spent half the match watching the big screen! Wouldn't bother me to sit in the pub if i had too
Post by: Zapatista on August 31, 2010, 02:40:53 PM
70 yoyo a pop
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 31, 2010, 02:43:37 PM
Dedicated fans will be regretting their failure to purchase a Season Ticket.

How many "dedicated fans" generally miss out on All Ireland finals? (By dedicated I mean those who would go to all the Championship matches and at least the majority of home league fixtures). I'd say its few enough to be honest.
Post by: Zapatista on August 31, 2010, 02:48:06 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 31, 2010, 02:43:37 PM

How many "dedicated fans" generally miss out on All Ireland finals? (By dedicated I mean those who would go to all the Championship matches and at least the majority of home league fixtures). I'd say its few enough to be honest.

To be honest I'd say there won't be too many dedicated fans who will miss out. If they're that dedicated a ticket usually turns up.

Also, being a club member should prioritise you for a ticket above being a season ticket holder.
Post by: Lazer on August 31, 2010, 04:13:57 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 31, 2010, 02:43:37 PM

Honestly not even remotely regretting not buying a Season Ticket!

I wouldn't trade the atmosphere on the hill for the quarter and semi's for the guaranteed final ticket!
For me, the stand prices (even with the discounts with the season tickets), make the season ticket too expensive.

I hope your right about the dedicated fans (Although I have missed one championship match - but I was bridesmaid on the day), and was at all the league matches ( I think anyway - can't remember missing any - definately not any home ones) and the McKenna cup ones - so I count that pretty dedicated!

I will be trying everyone I know to get a ticket, but I don't hold out much hope!
Post by: armaghniac on August 31, 2010, 04:15:16 PM
QuoteIf they're that dedicated a ticket usually turns up.

A ticket often turns up to those dedicated to looking for one, which is not quite the same thing. But the season ticket holders are sitting pretty.
Post by: naka on August 31, 2010, 04:35:51 PM
guys might not be as difficult to get as people think at 140 yoyos for 2 a brave few guys will be sitting in the pub savouring the pints
after all the down aristocrats have already won it a few times and cork don`t travel
Post by: down6061689194 on August 31, 2010, 05:37:32 PM
Any club who overlooks dedicated fans in the name of a silly draw needs to reconsider.

& also, season tickets are no good for concessions.
Post by: Doohicky on August 31, 2010, 05:54:55 PM
I'm also looking for a ticket (To see Tyrone Minors)

I'd be happy to get one, but won't be the end of the world if I miss out I suppose.
Post by: downgirl on August 31, 2010, 07:59:58 PM
Is it true that Down are only getting 13,000 tickets?
Post by: down6061689194 on August 31, 2010, 08:07:01 PM
Same every Year DG
Post by: tyrone86 on August 31, 2010, 08:21:02 PM
You'll find that the 13k is (in theory at least) one for every registered club member in the county
Post by: Dougal Maguire on August 31, 2010, 08:47:02 PM
If I remember right Tony Fearon bought a season ticket. Perhaps if some of you Down people could be nice to him he might sort you out with tickets. I'd say his old chum Trevor Hill is already in the frame
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 31, 2010, 08:58:07 PM
Quote from: down6061689194 on August 31, 2010, 05:37:32 PM
Any club who overlooks dedicated fans in the name of a silly draw needs to reconsider.

Take this hypothetical situation;

Club Member A: Been involved with the club for decades, played for the seniors for 15 years and the reserves for another few years after that. He has a family membership for the club, attends every club senior match, pays in and buys a ticket for the club lotto at half-time. He isn't on the committee as he's not a big man for meetings but if there's a bit of work needing to be done around the club you can ask Club Member A and be guaranteed a positive response rather than an array of excuses. He has 4 or 5 sons and daughters playing for the club and ferrys them to and from matches and training. He isn't the biggest Down supporter in the world but he went to the semi-final and would like to go to the final.

Club Member B: From the area and played for the club for a while but an all too brief underage career ended quite some time ago. He has a fair interest in the GAA and pays his membership alright but generally wouldn't darken the door of the club from one year to the next. To be fair to him, he's a big Down supporter though doesn't like the cold evenings. He was at a couple of the NFL matches and went to Croke Park for the Division 2 final defeat to Armagh. He travelled to Ballybofey and has been to every match since except for the Longford game as it was a shockin bad evening. He would like a ticket from the club for the All Ireland final.

If it came down to a straight choice, should the local club be giving a ticket to Member A or Member B?
Post by: Armaghtothebone on August 31, 2010, 09:19:00 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 31, 2010, 08:58:07 PM

Club Member A: Been involved with the club for decades, played for the seniors for 15 years and the reserves for another few years after that. He has a family membership for the club, attends every club senior match, pays in and buys a ticket for the club lotto at half-time. He isn't on the committee as he's not a big man for meetings but if there's a bit of work needing to be done around the club you can ask Club Member A and be guaranteed a positive response rather than an array of excuses. He has 4 or 5 sons and daughters playing for the club and ferrys them to and from matches and training. He isn't the biggest Down supporter in the world but he went to the semi-final and would like to go to the final.

Club Member B: From the area and played for the club for a while but an all too brief underage career has ended recently. He has a fair interest in the GAA and pays his membership alright but generally wouldn't darken the door of the club from one year to the next. To be fair to him, he's a big Down supporter though doesn't like the cold evenings. He was at a couple of the NFL matches and went to Croke Park for the Division 2 final defeat to Armagh. He travelled to Ballbofey and has been to every match since except for the Longford game as it was a shockin bad evening. He would like a ticket from the club for the All Ireland final.

If it came down to a straight choice, should the local club be giving a ticket to Member A or Member B?

B  every time
Post by: down6061689194 on August 31, 2010, 09:20:46 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 31, 2010, 08:58:07 PM

Club Member B: From the area and played for the club for a while but an all too brief underage career has ended recently. He has a fair interest in the GAA and pays his membership alright but generally wouldn't darken the door of the club from one year to the next. To be fair to him, he's a big Down supporter though doesn't like the cold evenings. He was at a couple of the NFL matches and went to Croke Park for the Division 2 final defeat to Armagh. He travelled to Ballbofey and has been to every match since except for the Longford game as it was a shockin bad evening. He would like a ticket from the club for the All Ireland final.

I'd go member A, because although he isnt the biggest down fan, he's a good GAA fan. I wouldn't regard member B as an extraordinary down fan.

In my view anyone who was at the Longford game, Kildare away, Offaly and the McKenna cup should be first on any list for tickets.

It was the core 2,000 or so there on them days.

I've heard around a dozen people so far looking or tickets that havent been to a match in their life or since '94, I make no excuses in saying they should be very last on the list for tickets and told them that any spares I have, I will actively seek out true Down fans before going near them.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 31, 2010, 09:22:23 PM
member A
Post by: Doohicky on August 31, 2010, 09:56:46 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 31, 2010, 09:22:23 PM
member A

I've already got an emais asking if I can get tickets for a fella becuase his wife wants one due to being from down. She's not been to any matches since I have known them.  Really annoys me, thing is a lot of these people do end up with tickets because they 'know' people.
Post by: clarshack on August 31, 2010, 09:58:18 PM
member A every time
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 31, 2010, 10:02:59 PM
Member A.  Who gives more to the club after all?
Post by: Redhand Santa on August 31, 2010, 10:06:56 PM
Not sure. Member A had the opportunity to go and watch Down all year but didn't bother because he wasn't that interested in them. Now for the 1st time this year there's a game were there isnt tickets for everyone and he has suddenly become a Down fan. Think it would be a bit unfair if it was a straight choice for A to take B's ticket.

Obviously the club should reward A as he has supported them all year but maybe this is why the allocation can be slightly unfair. Though any big county supporter can't have many complaints with the season ticket scheme in place.
Post by: snoopdog on August 31, 2010, 10:08:32 PM
Quote from: Doohicky on August 31, 2010, 09:56:46 PM
member A

I've already got an emais asking if I can get tickets for a fella becuase his wife wants one due to being from down. She's not been to any matches since I have known them.  Really annoys me, thing is a lot of these people do end up with tickets because they 'know' people.

yep its a major problem, but one that would be easily solved. If a ticket was given out on the turnstiles for every game attended and somehow used when a final comes along to guarantee the real supporters tickets.
I was lucky to get tickets for both 91 and 94 but im not so confident this year. i no longer live in the county but have been in newbridge, mulllingar,Donegal,casement,tullamore,cavan and croker thrice along with the home league games bar Laois  missed longford game due to work. the price of success i suppose.
Those who slag you off for going and supporting the team through the tough times are the first on the bus for an All Ireland semi final.
I have a mate who never goes to games but is always in Croke park when we get there. Gets premium or exec tickets. Enough to sicken ye. a lot of real Down men and women will miss out on the biggest day for 16 years because of poor prep by he GAA
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 31, 2010, 10:24:01 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on August 31, 2010, 10:08:32 PM
member A

yep its a major problem, but one that would be easily solved. If a ticket was given out on the turnstiles for every game attended and somehow used when a final comes along to guarantee the real supporters tickets.
I was lucky to get tickets for both 91 and 94 but im not so confident this year. i no longer live in the county but have been in newbridge, mulllingar,Donegal,casement,tullamore,cavan and croker thrice along with the home league games bar Laois  missed longford game due to work. the price of success i suppose.
Those who slag you off for going and supporting the team through the tough times are the first on the bus for an All Ireland semi final.
I have a mate who never goes to games but is always in Croke park when we get there. Gets premium or exec tickets. Enough to sicken ye. a lot of real Down men and women will miss out on the biggest day for 16 years because of poor prep by he GAA

Surely a season ticket would have been ideal for you?
Post by: snoopdog on August 31, 2010, 10:28:58 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 31, 2010, 10:24:01 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on August 31, 2010, 10:08:32 PM
member A

Surely a season ticket would have been ideal for you?
yep your probably right, but to be honest at the start of the year i never thought we would have needed to get AI final tickets. Prob in hindsight i should have gone for a ST.
Post by: down6061689194 on August 31, 2010, 10:32:23 PM
ST aint much use for a student or OAP. And now we are left in the cold.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on August 31, 2010, 11:01:18 PM
I'd be inclined to go for member B. Member A would be there with the family, taking a flask and sandwiches and eating them by the boot of the car and rushing to Croke Park to be there in time for the minor teams coming out. He'd also probably be one of those who'd boast about the fact that he made it home by 6 o'clock.

Member B, on the other hand, seems good craic. He'd be up for a few pints in the Big Tree before the match, will most likely give the minor match a miss as he gets a couple more in before running down to Croker (crosslegged as he didn't want to break the seal in the Big Tree) to take his seat five minutes after the senior match started, forcing loads of member A type people to have to get up out of their seat to let him past. He'd probably boast that he slept in the foyer of the Burlington/City West (delete as appropriate) and made it home just in time to get a couple more in before the team arrives at the Carrickdale. His work won't see him for a week if they win.
Post by: armaghniac on August 31, 2010, 11:12:40 PM
The point is that there should be enough tickets for both Member A and Member B if the tickets do not end up with people's brother in law who never went to a game, club or county.

There is always this type of club v county dichotomy put forward at this time of year, but both deserve a ticket ahead of many who do get them.
Post by: winsamsoon on September 01, 2010, 12:12:51 AM
Same happened in our club 2002.

what we did was got a structure of important roles in the club, ie footballers, lottos sellers, committee members etc

we tried to sort these people out as much as possible and this left us approx 40 tickets between about 60 people. Every member was entitled to enter the draw and it was difficult handing tickets out to folk that you knew hadn't been at a game all year and leaving someone there that had been at them all and followed Armagh through thick and thin. The draw was held in the clubrooms anyway and all open and above board. But of course we were never going to satisfy everyone but that's the dilema you will face .

I think if i got a ticket for this one and i meet a genuine down fan that couldn't get one i would pass it on face value (anyone who makes a profit selling of their own bat  is exploiting common folk and if caught should be banned for life)
Post by: bcarrier on September 01, 2010, 10:20:11 AM
Tickets arent as difficult to get as they were in 90s when work to the stadium was going on...the last time Down got to final there were 58k in attendance. There are almost 25K more seats now.  Of course some end up in corporate hands but Down/Cork people should get a share of these too. 

Both A & B could get tickets and probably would if they kept looking/asking. In a lot of instances people create there own obstacle by being too proud to ask and/or refusing to travel if they dont have a ticket in their pocket.  It is fierce begging but has to be done.
Post by: Lecale2 on September 01, 2010, 11:24:33 AM
How are tickets distributed between the clubs in each county? Do all clubs get the same number or is it based on registered, paid up members?
Post by: swagger on September 01, 2010, 01:23:39 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on September 01, 2010, 11:24:33 AM
How are tickets distributed between the clubs in each county? Do all clubs get the same number or is it based on registered, paid up members?

same number to all clubs i think, so better chance with smaller clubs. Any clubs that do not use up their allocation are sent back and redistributed around the county
Post by: mrgaa1 on September 01, 2010, 01:25:43 PM
member A
Post by: magpie seanie on September 01, 2010, 02:44:29 PM
Member A obviously is more deserving and will appreciate the ticket more. Member B will expect to be provided with a ticket and use it as the reason he does nothing in the club if he doesn't get one!
Post by: David McKeown on September 01, 2010, 04:28:00 PM
Not sure about the member a v b debate but what I would like to know is who is more deserving of a ticket for an all ireland final in the following scenario.

Member a or b as described above by TAC or a gaa member from another club who because of a falling out with their own club has turned his attention to county football and is such a big fan that he attended all matches in the Ulster Championships, a number of qualifiers involving other counties as well as all qualifiers involving his own county and every match in the all ireland series.  This fan also attended most league games, all McKenna cup games and a number of underage games involving his county?
Post by: lilpaulie85 on September 01, 2010, 04:33:21 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on September 01, 2010, 04:28:00 PM
Not sure about the member a v b debate but what I would like to know is who is more deserving of a ticket for an all ireland final in the following scenario.

Member a or b as described above by TAC or a gaa member from another club who because of a falling out with their own club has turned his attention to county football and is such a big fan that he attended all matches in the Ulster Championships, a number of qualifiers involving other counties as well as all qualifiers involving his own county and every match in the all ireland series.  This fan also attended most league games, all McKenna cup games and a number of underage games involving his county?

The fan who attends all the games as above regardless of if he is a gaa member or not i think is more deserving of a ticket. i know loads of people who go to all the intercounty games league and championship and still struggle to get tickets for finals.
Post by: David McKeown on September 01, 2010, 04:39:22 PM
Quote from: lilpaulie85 on September 01, 2010, 04:33:21 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on September 01, 2010, 04:28:00 PM

The fan who attends all the games as above regardless of if he is a gaa member or not i think is more deserving of a ticket. i know loads of people who go to all the intercounty games league and championship and still struggle to get tickets for finals.

Sorry should have said the fan in my example is from an other county not involved on finals day
Post by: kumquat on September 01, 2010, 04:47:42 PM
How many did Kerry & Cork get for last years final?
Post by: MCMLX on September 01, 2010, 04:56:17 PM
The real fan always gets a ticket, be that through the club, contacts at work or being in the know. The scenario with member A and B is irrelevant. Both of them deserve a ticket. There are a lot of bandwagon supporters looking for tickets that haven't been in Croke Park since 1994 and while it is annoying to see them getting tickets before more deserving supporters, its also great to be looking tickets in September. We`ll all get a ticket. There were 20000 empty seats on Sunday and Cork aren't the greatest supported team in the country. I have been promised a few tickets and they`ll go to people who go regularly.
Post by: Doohicky on September 01, 2010, 06:22:58 PM
Out of interest how many tickets do counties get that are in the minor game?

I got a season ticket due to being away from my town (and therefore not a member of a club), but obviously that is no help when it comes to the minor team.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on September 01, 2010, 06:24:33 PM
I was chatting to member B today. He tells me that he's ok for a ticket through a contact at work. However he met a girl in the Canal Court on Sunday night and has high hopes that it could lead to somethnig. She's never been to a match before but would love to get to the final and it would increase his chances greatly if he managed to get her 1. He's therefore putting his name in with the Club and is pretty sure of a ticket as he's done a few favours for the Chairman on a private basis. However the problem is that the seats won't be beside each other. Can anyone help??
Post by: Frank Casey on September 01, 2010, 07:20:37 PM
Quote from: MCMLX on September 01, 2010, 04:56:17 PM
Cork aren't the greatest supported team in the country

I would expect a big demand in Langerland. Talking to a few lads there today and they're bulling for road. "Our first in 20 years"; "Showing Kerry how to beat Down"; "The talent in Coppers" - these are amongst the more printable reasons advanced.

Cork Expects etc.....
Post by: rossglass on September 01, 2010, 08:13:55 PM
I would fall into the Member B category.

Disillusioned with the way my local club is run, it doesn't diminish my love for the county. Attended all home league games and been to every championship game. Think I'll be ok for a couple of tickets through work but feel for similar fans who may not be in the position to get tickets.

Post by: The Worker on September 01, 2010, 09:31:03 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on September 01, 2010, 06:24:33 PM
I was chatting to member B today. He tells me that he's ok for a ticket through a contact at work. However he met a girl in the Canal Court on Sunday night and has high hopes that it could lead to somethnig. She's never been to a match before but would love to get to the final and it would increase his chances greatly if he managed to get her 1. He's therefore putting his name in with the Club and is pretty sure of a ticket as he's done a few favours for the Chairman on a private basis. However the problem is that the seats won't be beside each other. Can anyone help??

I have two seats beside each other, il take the bird with me if shes afraid to sit on her own.
Post by: armaghniac on September 01, 2010, 10:51:23 PM
QuoteThe real fan always gets a ticket, be that through the club, contacts at work

It depends what you work at. The point is that you might not be real fan but have good contacts at work and get a ticket.
Post by: Member B on September 02, 2010, 08:38:43 AM
I have to be honest I wasn't at the semi final. Had intended going. Called in for a few in the Quayside Inn before heading off. Ended up staying there. When match was over we went out on the street and started singing songs about Paddy O'Rourke. Loads of people were admiring my AC Milan top and asking where I got it. Class craic
Post by: hectorsheroes on September 02, 2010, 08:57:08 AM
Woman in work trying to get me tickets through her contacts and might succeed but I'm a member of the local club and would be hopeful myself. If I did and she came up with the tickets I'd make sure my brother got hers. He got injured five years ago with the club who never looked after him and he had to get it sorted privately so has no love for the club. However he has followed the county near and far religiously so I think he'd deserve them. However she has just said her daughters and husband would get the tickets if I was giving them to the brother even said she wouldn't mind " a run to Dublin herself". They live close to the county pitch and last time they watched a match was the 94 final - ah the mind boggles on people getting wasted tickets and boy does it rankle
Post by: Lazer on September 02, 2010, 11:00:28 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 01, 2010, 10:51:23 PM
QuoteThe real fan always gets a ticket, be that through the club, contacts at work

It depends what you work at. The point is that you might not be real fan but have good contacts at work and get a ticket.

Agree!

I don't have any contacts at work that would be able to get tickets. It depends entirely on who you know, not how much of a fan you are!

There is far too many corporate tickets! It is a disgrace - That a competing team only gets 13,000 tickets in a stadium that holds 80,000.

But thats the way it is!

I'm just glad we're in the final - and obviously would love a ticket, but Down are playing football in September, thats the important thing!

Post by: DoireGael on September 02, 2010, 12:31:11 PM
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ALL-IRELAND-FOOTBALL-FINAL-2010-TICKETS-X2-CORK-V-DOWN-/220662198296?pt=UK_Sports_Memorabilia_ET

Bidding war going on here  :o

Post by: snoopdog on September 02, 2010, 01:01:09 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on September 02, 2010, 12:31:11 PM
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ALL-IRELAND-FOOTBALL-FINAL-2010-TICKETS-X2-CORK-V-DOWN-/220662198296?pt=UK_Sports_Memorabilia_ET

Sickens me, some p.ricks are gonna make a lot of money of the real Down and Cork fans who really want to be there.
Im sure i will bump into my cousins at croker like i did in 94 and they havent been seen since or before 94 at a game.  The real fans really do loose out. In soccer when clubs get to the Champs Lge final the fans who can prove they went to games are always the first to get tickets, especially if they are ST  holders and have travvelled in Europe.
Post by: Lazer on September 02, 2010, 01:08:02 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on September 02, 2010, 12:31:11 PM

I notice they don;t put a photo of the ticket up anymore!
The GAA cancelled any they knew were sold on e-bay last year.

I got offered 2 for £600 yesterday - and I turned it down, persanally i think the €70 is a bit much but I'm willing to pay but definately paying a fortune over the face value!
Post by: mcgrady8 on September 02, 2010, 01:11:31 PM
Hi, I'm looking to swap 4 premium level Hurling final tickets for 4 All ireland premium level football tickets if possible
for further information please call 0044 7802324910 or email fintan@nireland.com
Post by: Donegal Danny on September 02, 2010, 01:17:44 PM
St Eunan's G.A.A. club from Letterkenny are currently holding their annual fundraising draw for 2 All Ireland tickets and hotel accommodation in Dublin. Tickets costs 10 euro. If they went up to Co Down someday selling how would they get on? Where could they set up to sell to loads of Down supporters in one place? What about ASDA OR The Quay's shopping center in Newry. Would it be better to reduce the tickets to £5? Any comments welcome. Thanks.
Post by: Lazer on September 02, 2010, 01:38:45 PM
Danny - I would say 10 is too much - probably much better uptake at £5

The best place in Newry is probably the shopping centres - Buttercrane and the Quays
Post by: Redhand Santa on September 02, 2010, 01:42:42 PM
Quote from: Lazer on September 02, 2010, 11:00:28 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 01, 2010, 10:51:23 PM

Agree!

I don't have any contacts at work that would be able to get tickets. It depends entirely on who you know, not how much of a fan you are!

There is far too many corporate tickets! It is a disgrace - That a competing team only gets 13,000 tickets in a stadium that holds 80,000.

But thats the way it is!

I'm just glad we're in the final - and obviously would love a ticket, but Down are playing football in September, thats the important thing!

The corporate seats generate a lot of revenue and a lot of the people will have been to numerous games this year. Down have only had more than 13,000 at 1 game this year so its not that big an issue.
Post by: Lazer on September 02, 2010, 01:51:33 PM
It wouldn't be a big issue - if it was the tickets went to those who have been at the games

But inevitably a lot of the 13,000 will go to those who haven't been to a match all year!

Post by: Member B on September 02, 2010, 06:50:18 PM
I'd be prepared to swap my 2 tickets for 2 tickets for the Man Utd v Liverpool match on the same day.
Post by: Qwerty28 on September 02, 2010, 08:10:24 PM
Lads, dont worry tickets will turn up. I even got a ticket for the premium level last yearr on the Saturday...ended up sitting beside a couple who had no idea what teams were playing....Himself telling her to look out for the small red haired fellow in the green and gold as he was good...I kid you not.

Year before, lad I know was actually in his seat and had to go out to the Croke Park hotel to get 2 more tickets than someone had got for him and he felt obliged to take...had to walk back up to barrier to try and sell them...Have been at 3 of last 5 finals and trick is to keep asking about, but wait til week beforehand when the tickets are actually released. Sure in 2005 final the seat beside me was empty!
Post by: The Worker on September 02, 2010, 09:20:32 PM
Many tickets do non competing clubs recieve? is it based on number of members, or is it a set amount (e.g. 4 per club?)
Post by: snoopdog on September 02, 2010, 09:39:11 PM
Quote from: The Worker on September 02, 2010, 09:20:32 PM
Many tickets do non competing clubs recieve? is it based on number of members, or is it a set amount (e.g. 4 per club?)

yep set amount think its still 4 per club
Post by: Wee Shea on September 02, 2010, 09:54:51 PM
What is the exact breakdown of tickets? I think someone posted it on a thread here a while ago.

13,000 each senior team.
???? minors
4 per club x however many clubs?
???? per player?
Post by: Doohicky on September 02, 2010, 10:07:54 PM
Quote from: Qwerty28 on September 02, 2010, 08:10:24 PM
Lads, dont worry tickets will turn up. I even got a ticket for the premium level last yearr on the Saturday...ended up sitting beside a couple who had no idea what teams were playing....Himself telling her to look out for the small red haired fellow in the green and gold as he was good...I kid you not.

Year before, lad I know was actually in his seat and had to go out to the Croke Park hotel to get 2 more tickets than someone had got for him and he felt obliged to take...had to walk back up to barrier to try and sell them...Have been at 3 of last 5 finals and trick is to keep asking about, but wait til week beforehand when the tickets are actually released. Sure in 2005 final the seat beside me was empty!

I know if you make your way down to Dublin you will likely get a ticket, but I just can't risk it in case I don't. I can't afford to pay for it all, but if I have a ticket I will (if you understand).

Despite following Tyrone to 80-90% of their games for the last 8 years I have never been able to get a ticket to the final, probably due to the fact I am not the type to beg all round the place, and don't happen to be one of those 'in the know'.

It's annoying but that's life
Post by: The Worker on September 02, 2010, 10:35:48 PM
Quote from: Wee Shea on September 02, 2010, 09:54:51 PM
What is the exact breakdown of tickets? I think someone posted it on a thread here a while ago.

13,000 each senior team.
???? minors
???? per player?

Think every living ex president gets 90 tickets.

Post by: rosnarun on September 03, 2010, 01:00:39 AM
Quote from: The Worker on September 02, 2010, 10:35:48 PM

13,000 each senior team.
???? minors
???? per player?

if you have a problem then write explain your case to one of them . After all they have devoted most of their lives to the GAA they wouldn't want to see  a genuine fan miss out . bless mick loftus he would always help you out in a time of need same with John Dowling god be good to him.
I would not begruge either there share of tickets . you wont see those tickets on donedeal.ie
Post by: Dougal Maguire on September 03, 2010, 02:34:21 AM
I thought somebody once told me that the residents ladjacent to Croke Park get an allocation of tickets. Does anyone know if thats the case? If so its fair to say that they would be liable to end up on donedeal.ie?
Post by: Zapatista on September 03, 2010, 07:46:57 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on September 03, 2010, 02:34:21 AM
I thought somebody once told me that the residents ladjacent to Croke Park get an allocation of tickets. Does anyone know if thats the case? If so its fair to say that they would be liable to end up on donedeal.ie?

Doubt it. Maybe for concerts or something but I don't think they get them for games. If they do then I'd say it's no more than the residents assoc. commitee or something minimal.
Post by: Hardy on September 03, 2010, 11:18:58 AM

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=17104.msg837199#msg837199 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=17104.msg837199#msg837199)
Post by: The Worker on September 03, 2010, 03:22:20 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 03, 2010, 01:00:39 AM
Quote from: The Worker on September 02, 2010, 10:35:48 PM

13,000 each senior team.
???? minors
???? per player?

if you have a problem then write explain your case to one of them . After all they have devoted most of their lives to the GAA they wouldn't want to see  a genuine fan miss out . bless mick loftus he would always help you out in a time of need same with John Dowling god be good to him.
I would not begruge either there share of tickets . you wont see those tickets on donedeal.ie

Did i say i had a problem? i was helping answering wee sheas query

mayomen shouldnt be worryin about final tickets for the forseeable future anyway
Post by: Square Ball on September 04, 2010, 08:29:40 PM
sc**bag

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ALL-IRELAND-FOOTBALL-FINAL-2010-TICKETS-X2-CORK-V-DOWN-/220664209440?pt=UK_Sports_Memorabilia_ET&hash=item33609ca020 (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ALL-IRELAND-FOOTBALL-FINAL-2010-TICKETS-X2-CORK-V-DOWN-/220664209440?pt=UK_Sports_Memorabilia_ET&hash=item33609ca020)

these should be cancelled by Croke
Post by: Dougal Maguire on September 04, 2010, 09:00:38 PM
I assume they are being sold by someone who has 10 year tickets. In which case, while it's not nice, is just the way of business.
Post by: Class of 99 on September 04, 2010, 11:06:18 PM
I'm a long time living in Dublin but still manage to get to most Mckeena cup, league and Championship games. However no longer affilated with any club and panic is starting to kick in now. I have cast the net as far as I possible can as have all family members but I just can't see a situation that we dont get tickets but most leads have bit a brick wall, a nervous and a few sleepless nights lie in wait
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on September 05, 2010, 10:48:15 AM
Quote from: Class of 99 on September 04, 2010, 11:06:18 PM
I'm a long time living in Dublin but still manage to get to most Mckeena cup, league and Championship games. However no longer affilated with any club and panic is starting to kick in now. I have cast the net as far as I possible can as have all family members but I just can't see a situation that we dont get tickets but most leads have bit a brick wall, a nervous and a few sleepless nights lie in wait

I find that highly dubious. If you had done that they you would of surely got/heard of the season ticket. Nothing like and All Ireland final to bring out the bandwagoners.
Post by: Canalman on September 05, 2010, 11:53:54 AM
Can guarantee you that any Down fan who wants a ticket and asks around will get one. ALWAYS loads around in Dublin prior to game.Lads with a good seat in a pub will often sell them as will people who got tickets for messers who have got one from another source.

2 averagely supported counties involved with a general indifference around as to who will  win means tickets will be plentiful. Down will have 40k plus "fans" at game.

Post by: down6061689194 on September 05, 2010, 01:01:27 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on September 05, 2010, 10:48:15 AM

I find that highly dubious. If you had done that they you would of surely got/heard of the season ticket. Nothing like and All Ireland final to bring out the bandwagoners.
Ive been to every game this year. Season ticket has several flaws which if sorted may tempt me.
It's only useful come september.
Post by: rossglass on September 05, 2010, 02:27:30 PM
Have the tickets been released to clubs from non-competing counties been released yet? Was on the blower to a few dublin clubs on monday, haven't heard anything from them yet and don't want to be bugging them unnecessarily either.
Post by: DennistheMenace on September 05, 2010, 03:03:07 PM
I take it none go on general sale ?
Post by: wavesofTORRES on September 05, 2010, 03:58:26 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on September 05, 2010, 10:48:15 AM

Nothing like an all Ireland Final to bring out the sanctimonious judgemental clampetts! My Sundays are spent like so many others ferrying our underage girls and boys teams around the county, which doesnt leave much time to get to NL games but I know which I get the most satisfaction from. So I guess I also need a ticket for the BANDWAGON.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on September 05, 2010, 04:13:10 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on September 05, 2010, 03:03:07 PM
I take it none go on general sale ?
I think a few go to some shops in and around Croker though they would be sold out now I'd imagine
Post by: Class of 99 on September 05, 2010, 10:41:05 PM
Dubious alright PSTG why judge when u have no idea. I'm not on here begging for tickets just stating a concern but as I said in my original post I reckon I will be ok as most know me as a genuine supporter. However I'm sure there are plenty others walking in similar shoes that might not get a ticket that's all.
Post by: MCMLX on September 06, 2010, 12:17:54 AM
I know at least one family from Dublin who travel the country to watch Down. You`ll see quite a few southern registered cars with Down flags going to games. Dont be panicking over tickets, we all got them in 91 and we`ll all get them this year.
Post by: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 10:30:42 AM
If you didn't get a ticket, you didn't want it badly enough.
Post by: caughtredhanded on September 06, 2010, 10:46:54 AM
Quote from: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 10:30:42 AM
If you didn't get a ticket, you didn't want it badly enough.

Absolutely 100% true, you will spend a few days sweating over a ticket and then get 'sorted out'. Its always the way.

I work for a bank which doesn't even sponsor the AI anymore. In 08 I had one customer come in and threaten to withdraw all their accounts unless we 'got them a ticket' Thats the kind of s@#t you need when you're still trying to get one for yourself and a significant other. Its the lazy bandwagon jumpers that spoil it in the run up.

Post by: Lecale2 on September 06, 2010, 10:59:29 AM
Did you give him one?
Post by: rossglass on September 06, 2010, 11:00:05 AM
does anyone know if the clubs throughout the country have received their tickets yet?
Post by: tyronebhoy on September 06, 2010, 01:52:09 PM
Quote from: Doohicky on September 02, 2010, 10:07:54 PM

I know if you make your way down to Dublin you will likely get a ticket, but I just can't risk it in case I don't. I can't afford to pay for it all, but if I have a ticket I will (if you understand).

Despite following Tyrone to 80-90% of their games for the last 8 years I have never been able to get a ticket to the final, probably due to the fact I am not the type to beg all round the place, and don't happen to be one of those 'in the know'.

Similar situation to you.  I'm not from Tyrone but my Ma is and that's why I support them.  Not a member of any club or anything but like going to the county games.  Have been going regularly since about 2001 or 2002 and in 2003 the only game I missed was the final.  Went to almost all games in 04 and 05 and managed to get a ticket in 05 from some dude on ebay, £100 for a Hill ticket but swapped is outside the ground for a seated one.

Again, went to all the games the next couple of years and was very lucky to get a ticket in 08 from a friend who is in a club in Tyrone.  Got the season ticket this year (didn't know about it until the Tyrone one was sold out last year) and I think it's one of the best things the GAA have come up with recently.

I had read somewhere that there would be a small allocation of tickets if your minor county got to the final but can't see any more information on that.  We can but hope.

Might even win one or two in the draw they do.
Post by: swagger on September 06, 2010, 02:54:47 PM
Quote from: tyronebhoy on September 06, 2010, 01:52:09 PM

Similar situation to you.  I'm not from Tyrone but my Ma is and that's why I support them.  Not a member of any club or anything but like going to the county games.  Have been going regularly since about 2001 or 2002 and in 2003 the only game I missed was the final.  Went to almost all games in 04 and 05 and managed to get a ticket in 05 from some dude on ebay, £100 for a Hill ticket but swapped is outside the ground for a seated one.

Again, went to all the games the next couple of years and was very lucky to get a ticket in 08 from a friend who is in a club in Tyrone.  Got the season ticket this year (didn't know about it until the Tyrone one was sold out last year) and I think it's one of the best things the GAA have come up with recently.

I had read somewhere that there would be a small allocation of tickets if your minor county got to the final but can't see any more information on that.  We can but hope.

on the subjet of minor completing counties, i think that tyrone will get a few thousand for it, saw some notices in the irish news saying for people to apply to their clubs for the tickets. Cork will get a few thousand more tickets than down as their minors are also in the final
Post by: caughtredhanded on September 06, 2010, 03:12:08 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on September 06, 2010, 10:59:29 AM
Did you give him one?

eh..no. And I hope we're talking about a ticket.

Pure bluff in the end, they must have bullied some other guy into 'sorting them out'
Post by: Doohicky on September 06, 2010, 04:50:17 PM
Quote from: tyronebhoy on September 06, 2010, 01:52:09 PM

I emailed them and they said no tickets for minor team being in final.
:(
Post by: down6061689194 on September 06, 2010, 09:23:29 PM
I think its around 2500 a piece for minors. of course the bandwagon see cork getting more tickets and complain ::)
Post by: Square Ball on September 06, 2010, 09:25:58 PM
Quote from: rossglass on September 06, 2010, 11:00:05 AM
does anyone know if the clubs throughout the country have received their tickets yet?

yeah I thought they were due out today as well? any one?
Post by: marym on September 06, 2010, 11:12:38 PM
Think Wednesday for Cork anyway.
Post by: MCMLX on September 07, 2010, 12:25:31 PM
Clubs are picking up their tickets on Wednesday.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 07, 2010, 06:42:36 PM
I might go to the football final as well as the hurling one. I'll let ye know if I'm not so I will give ye tickets OK.
Post by: Jinxy on September 07, 2010, 09:01:15 PM
Any mention of the fact that there will be 700 less tickets available because of the Hill 16 fence?
Post by: viiv on September 07, 2010, 09:09:08 PM
I believe clubs in Tyrone are getting 20-30 tickets for the minor game.
Post by: Bacon on September 07, 2010, 09:25:05 PM
Quote from: viiv on September 07, 2010, 09:09:08 PM

If they are for the minor game will they be leaving before the Senior match?
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 08, 2010, 01:23:41 PM
Quote from: viiv on September 07, 2010, 09:09:08 PM

That's only half of what my club received after the final allocation last year.
Post by: clareman on September 09, 2010, 09:53:00 AM
For anyone with a few pound to spare you can join the Priomh club in Croke Park for the year for a €100 and this gives you access to the premium ticket exchange site where you can buy premium tickets from lads who aren't going....There's been a few tickets up already for the football final - €150 each though....
Post by: bcarrier on September 09, 2010, 12:42:44 PM
I joined priomh last month but too slow to get what might have gone up. Wouldnt be hopeful of getting tickets this way for a football final (unless it goes to a replay).
Post by: clareman on September 09, 2010, 03:37:09 PM
Definitely not guaranteed to get tickets for the final but there's a good chance if you can keep a regular eye on the site - 3 pairs have been up already today that I've seen but they go quick.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on September 09, 2010, 11:02:02 PM
Any of you boys know how the rows system works for seating?
ie i have tickets for row u and row bb in Hogan Lower. Anyone tell me how far back or forward in the stand these are, a rough idea even?
Thanks in advance.
Post by: MCMLX on September 09, 2010, 11:05:29 PM
Row U is 21 rows from the front. BB would be 7 rows back. Good seats, especially if you are in the centre section.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on September 09, 2010, 11:08:53 PM
im not sure but think its section 335. Im aware that there are rows that too far back into the stand where ye struggle to see the ball when kicked high, ive heard a fe people complain about this, what rows would they be do ye reckon. I mean is BB ten rows from very back or two?
Post by: MCMLX on September 09, 2010, 11:11:48 PM
I was in row DD for the semi final right on the half way line and they were the best seats I ever had in CP. You are two rows in front, though you are close to the hill.
Post by: MCMLX on September 09, 2010, 11:14:42 PM
Should have added that the roof starts from row EE, though you would want to be a few rows back from that before it starts to impede your view of a high ball.
Post by: Wee Shea on September 09, 2010, 11:14:59 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on September 09, 2010, 11:08:53 PM
im not sure but think its section 335. Im aware that there are rows that too far back into the stand where ye struggle to see the ball when kicked high, ive heard a fe people complain about this, what rows would they be do ye reckon. I mean is BB ten rows from very back or two?

http://www.crokepark.ie/about/seating-plans

Click on 335 here for a look at your view.
Post by: clareman on September 10, 2010, 09:28:08 AM
Rows go from A to Z and then AA back along. BB would therefore be 28 rows back.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 10, 2010, 10:03:12 AM
Quote from: MCMLX on September 09, 2010, 11:14:42 PM
Should have added that the roof starts from row EE, though you would want to be a few rows back from that before it starts to impede your view of a high ball.
they have tv screens back in the areas where your view is slightly impeded iirc
Post by: Olly on September 10, 2010, 01:06:07 PM
I got my ticket today.
Post by: Banana Man on September 10, 2010, 01:09:16 PM
apparenly all the clubs in down aren't getting equal numbers, some getting 70, some 250 then there is a second round of allocations about the middle of next week - cutting it fine to say the least
Post by: Lecale2 on September 10, 2010, 01:16:18 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on September 10, 2010, 01:09:16 PM
apparenly all the clubs in down aren't getting equal numbers, some getting 70, some 250 then there is a second round of allocations about the middle of next week - cutting it fine to say the least

The hurling clubs got 20 each.
Post by: Lazer on September 10, 2010, 01:25:16 PM
Quote from: Olly on September 10, 2010, 01:06:07 PM
I got my ticket today.

I don't think you really want it - can I have it??
Post by: saffron sam2 on September 10, 2010, 02:28:09 PM
If you can make it to Casement in the next half hour and pass yourself off as a member of the Antrim senior football squad, you'll get sorted for one ok.
Post by: Lazer on September 10, 2010, 02:36:57 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on September 10, 2010, 02:28:09 PM
If you can make it to Casement in the next half hour and pass yourself off as a member of the Antrim senior football squad, you'll get sorted for one ok.

There might be a bit of a giveaway that i'm a not a member of the Antrim Senior Football Squad since i'm female!
Post by: Bogball XV on September 10, 2010, 04:26:35 PM
Quote from: Lazer on September 10, 2010, 02:36:57 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on September 10, 2010, 02:28:09 PM

There might be a bit of a giveaway that i'm a not a member of the Antrim Senior Football Squad since i'm female!
when they call out conor john, just you walk up and accept the tkts, nobody'll be any the wiser.
Post by: artisan2010 on September 10, 2010, 04:36:57 PM
I am a bit overweight and retired from football a few years ago, could I pass for an Antrim footballer? 
Post by: our_fella on September 10, 2010, 06:05:23 PM
Have a bit of a dilema, a good one at that though. Have 2 sets of tickets
1. Lower Cusack Section 306 - Row UU
2. Upper Cusack Section 704 - Row B

Which one would be better?
Post by: ross4life on September 10, 2010, 06:13:53 PM
Quote from: our_fella on September 10, 2010, 06:05:23 PM

Upper Cusack Section 704 - Row B. better view & if it rains you'll say dry, though Lower Cusack Section 306 - Row UU is a better seat closer to the action
Post by: Seandoc on September 10, 2010, 06:43:11 PM
As expected heard there have been lots of rows and arguments about tickets for final in different clubs.

One senior club in East Down got 120 tickets 250 paid up members there is going to be open draw for the game with the 200 or so members who requested a ticket going into raffle.

Senior player today told me if he didn't get a ticket he wouldn't play for the club again!

Don't think he was joking.
Post by: western exile on September 10, 2010, 06:47:47 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 10, 2010, 06:13:53 PM
Quote from: our_fella on September 10, 2010, 06:05:23 PM

Upper Cusack Section 704 - Row B. better view & if it rains you'll say dry, though Lower Cusack Section 306 - Row UU is a better seat closer to the action
I wouldn't call UU close to the action as it is back row !
306 is centre field whereas 704 is above 45m line.
but 704 B is better view
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on September 11, 2010, 03:32:42 AM
I have one ticket lower hogan section 325. It will be bided out, the money raised will be going to the children of Palestine via Antrim to Gaza. If interested in making a bid PM me. Know that the money will go to a very worthy cause.
Post by: The Worker on September 11, 2010, 04:59:41 PM
There were 20 stadium tours (plus tickets) on sale yesterday from croke park for 130euro

sold out within 20mins, still advertising them on their website as available though  :'(
Post by: down6061689194 on September 11, 2010, 07:22:32 PM
If i see one more bandwagon dick post their facebook status about looking for because they're a good gael or that theyve got tickets I may actually go and live in a cave.

It makes my blood boil. Id sooner give it to a good gael from another county, even cork, than one of these 'fans'

Also, why did the Down CB Greed thread get pulled?
Post by: Rois on September 11, 2010, 07:30:42 PM
[quote author=down6061689194 link=topic=17238.msg849829#msg849829 date=1284229352ASIf i see one more bandwagon dick post their facebook status about looking for because they're a good gael or that theyve got tickets I may actually go and live in a cave.

I've a few of those. One who can't wait till "kick off" at 3.30pm next Sunday but who had a ticket secured, prob a box, earlier in the wk. She's from Carryduff and wasn't even in Casement to watch the Ulster semi.
Post by: swagger on September 11, 2010, 08:41:50 PM
Quote from: down6061689194 on September 11, 2010, 07:22:32 PM
If i see one more bandwagon dick post their facebook status about looking for because they're a good gael or that theyve got tickets I may actually go and live in a cave.

It makes my blood boil. Id sooner give it to a good gael from another county, even cork, than one of these 'fans'

Also, why did the Down CB Greed thread get pulled?

Couldnt agree more with this post. Where was all this supposed "great support" the team had, there would have been no more than 1500 at the Down v Offaly game down in Tuallamore. Even at the game v Longford ther could not have been more than 6000 there, granted that it was a bad night for football, but i was straight from the airport coming home from santa ponsa to pairc esler! Ive been to every championship game and have the programmes to prove it put it looks like il have a sweat on to see what the 2nd allocation is like to get one out of the club. As for the facebook posts, ive just deleted the comments! Theres a mate a of mine that has a ticket and hasnt been to a game this year. Ive refused to talk to him until I get get mine!
Post by: Catch the high ball on September 12, 2010, 10:56:44 AM
Got my 2 Hill tickets yesterday. Never been to the hill before, do you stand in an allocated area or where ever you want? Should be great craic!
Post by: wavesofTORRES on September 12, 2010, 11:04:12 AM
Quote from: Catch the high ball on September 12, 2010, 10:56:44 AM
Got my 2 Hill tickets yesterday. Never been to the hill before, do you stand in an allocated area or where ever you want? Should be great craic!
Its colour coded! Check the colour of your ticket
Post by: Olly on September 12, 2010, 12:16:53 PM
Quote from: Lazer on September 10, 2010, 01:25:16 PM
I got my ticket today.

haha, you'll need to try harder.

This will be my first gaelic match in years. I have to admit that I don't know any Cork players at all and I know Benny Coulter on the Down team. I saw James McCartan play in the flesh. I'm taking a person who isn't into sport at all but hopefully I will have him turned!
Post by: Jinxy on September 12, 2010, 01:31:25 PM
Quote from: Catch the high ball on September 12, 2010, 10:56:44 AM

Do you have an aisle or a window seat?
Post by: souljaboy on September 12, 2010, 01:45:47 PM
Quote from: Rois on September 11, 2010, 07:30:42 PM
[quote author=down6061689194 link=topic=17238.msg849829#msg849829 date=1284229352ASIf i see one more bandwagon dick post their facebook status about looking for because they're a good gael or that theyve got tickets I may actually go and live in a cave.

I've a few of those. One who can't wait till "kick off" at 3.30pm next Sunday but who had a ticket secured, prob a box, earlier in the wk. She's from Carryduff and wasn't even in Casement to watch the Ulster semi.

have to agree, the amount of idiots with no clubs or history of supporting the county that have tickets at this stage is unbelievable! so far my club hasnt allocated tickets yet,  so still not 100% if Il get 1!!
Post by: Aaron Boone on September 12, 2010, 02:21:23 PM
In 1994 the attendance was only 58,684.

Everyone will get a ticket next Sunday near the stadium, just don't stay in the pub once they open at 12.30pm.
Post by: swagger on September 12, 2010, 02:47:50 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on September 12, 2010, 02:21:23 PM
In 1994 the attendance was only 58,684.

Everyone will get a ticket next Sunday near the stadium, just don't stay in the pub once they open at 12.30pm.

have to remember however that the new cusack stand was still under construction, dont think there was an upper tier on it yet, thats the reason for the low number i think
Post by: The Worker on September 12, 2010, 04:14:59 PM
What time do the pubs open at around the stadium next sunday?
Post by: Zulu on September 12, 2010, 04:47:26 PM
Huge demand in Cork apparently so I'd say it will be tight on the day.
Post by: armaghniac on September 12, 2010, 05:35:33 PM
QuoteHuge demand in Cork apparently so I'd say it will be tight on the day.

Tickets didn't seem easy to come by last year. But Cork having the minor team there will give them a couple of thousand more tickets and should ease things somewhat.
Post by: bcarrier on September 12, 2010, 06:54:42 PM
The word is the langers will be out in force as all they have to is drive up the road to collect sam. More worried out the croke park residents sitting down on the n7 than Down .
Post by: Zulu on September 12, 2010, 07:00:27 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 12, 2010, 05:35:33 PM
QuoteHuge demand in Cork apparently so I'd say it will be tight on the day.

Tickets didn't seem easy to come by last year. But Cork having the minor team there will give them a couple of thousand more tickets and should ease things somewhat.

It probably will help a bit all right but the Cork minor squad is from all over the county with plenty of lads from small clubs and the demand is huge in those clubs. I'd expect the biggest Cork crowd in a long time to travel to this one.
Post by: rossglass on September 13, 2010, 09:03:41 AM
Quote from: Olly on September 12, 2010, 12:16:53 PM
Quote from: Lazer on September 10, 2010, 01:25:16 PM
I got my ticket today.

haha, you'll need to try harder.

This will be my first gaelic match in years. I have to admit that I don't know any Cork players at all and I know Benny Coulter on the Down team. I saw James McCartan play in the flesh. I'm taking a person who isn't into sport at all but hopefully I will have him turned!

that is truly sickening :-[
Post by: Olly on September 13, 2010, 09:19:20 AM
That's the most homophobic remark I've ever read. Hope you're proud.
Post by: omagh_gael on September 13, 2010, 10:04:24 AM
Quote from: Olly on September 13, 2010, 09:19:20 AM
That's the most homophobic remark I've ever read. Hope you're proud.

I hope you reported that to the Mods Olly. It's terrible that in this day and age you still find people who are so narrow minded and backward. 
Post by: rossglass on September 13, 2010, 10:15:58 AM
were the last 2 posts aimed at me?

If so, you have both got it SO wrong. I'm sickened by the fact that 2 people are going and the height of their knowledge is 1 player from 30 starting.

If you saw that comment as homophobic then you need to take a good look at yourself.
Post by: Olly on September 13, 2010, 11:38:26 AM
Sorry, a bit touchy today.
Post by: Banana Man on September 13, 2010, 11:43:20 AM
 :D rossglass, take a day off, he's winding you up ffs
Post by: Bogball XV on September 13, 2010, 11:44:53 AM
Quote from: rossglass on September 13, 2010, 10:15:58 AM
were the last 2 posts aimed at me?

If so, you have both got it SO wrong. I'm sickened by the fact that 2 people are going and the height of their knowledge is 1 player from 30 starting.

If you saw that comment as homophobic then you need to take a good look at yourself.
in fairness, olly also knows the down manager's name and I hardly think most bandwagon jumpers would know that.
Post by: Over the Bar on September 13, 2010, 11:53:15 AM
I've not seen it as tight for tickets in a long time.  I'd usualy have managed to gather up half a dozen at this stage but things are looking bleak.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 13, 2010, 04:52:40 PM
A few fellas I know from Ballina have gotten tickets!!! :o
Post by: supersub on September 13, 2010, 09:19:46 PM
Anyword on 2nd allocation for (down) clubs?!
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 13, 2010, 09:43:03 PM
Will those of ye in the lower sections ignore the message on the big screen and run onto the pitch if your team wins?
Post by: Wee Shea on September 13, 2010, 09:44:26 PM
Quote from: supersub on September 13, 2010, 09:19:46 PM

Heard tonight they are getting 3000 more.
Post by: The Worker on September 13, 2010, 09:46:33 PM
Quote from: Wee Shea on September 13, 2010, 09:44:26 PM

many tickets clan eireann get wee shea?
Post by: Wee Shea on September 13, 2010, 09:56:08 PM
Quote from: The Worker on September 13, 2010, 09:46:33 PM
Quote from: Wee Shea on September 13, 2010, 09:44:26 PM

many tickets clan eireann get wee shea?

Couldn't tell ya.
Post by: down6061689194 on September 13, 2010, 10:57:05 PM
Tonight I decided to send texts to anyone selling tickets above face value on gumtree telling them what I thought of them.

Great craic. Got one angry phone call too!
Post by: Lazer on September 13, 2010, 11:06:53 PM
Quote from: down6061689194 on September 13, 2010, 10:57:05 PM
Tonight I decided to send texts to anyone selling tickets above face value on gumtree telling them what I thought of them.

Great craic. Got one angry phone call too!

Love it!

Although most of the ones selling on gumtree aren't even real - its people putting up their friends phone numbers as a prank!
Post by: down6061689194 on September 13, 2010, 11:16:57 PM
& then posted an add selling the ticket of the biggest bandwagoner of the lot.

With their number.

Tortured!
Post by: Jinxy on September 13, 2010, 11:27:21 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 13, 2010, 09:43:03 PM
Will those of ye in the lower sections ignore the message on the big screen and run onto the pitch if your team wins?

I'll give €50 to the first man to successfully make it across the pitch and climb up into the Ard Comhairle section.
Post by: Olly on September 14, 2010, 12:20:25 PM
Where will the money be left?
Post by: Jinxy on September 14, 2010, 12:24:24 PM
Christy Cooneys back-pocket.
He won't want to give it to you but don't take no for an answer.
Post by: wavesofTORRES on September 14, 2010, 09:51:59 PM
Looking 2 Hill tickets,will give 2 Nally tickets, I'm on Hill kids in Nally and they are too young to be on their own.Pm me if you can do.
Post by: our_fella on September 15, 2010, 12:18:00 AM
Section 306 Row UU. Am i too far under the stand?
Post by: MCMLX on September 15, 2010, 12:27:43 AM
Quote from: our_fella on September 15, 2010, 12:18:00 AM

You are just behind the hot dog stand.
Post by: our_fella on September 15, 2010, 12:34:36 AM
Cheers MCMLX. I shall rephrase that
Will my view be disrupted from being positioned towards the back wall of section 306, whilst parking my rear in row UU?  ;D
Post by: 5 Sams on September 15, 2010, 10:54:45 AM
Quote from: our_fella on September 15, 2010, 12:18:00 AM

http://www.anfearrua.com/story.asp?id=1031

At least you're not going to get wet!!
Post by: leenie on September 15, 2010, 11:27:27 AM
how much are the hill / nally tickets?
Post by: tyronebhoy on September 15, 2010, 12:02:58 PM
Quote from: wavesofTORRES on September 14, 2010, 09:51:59 PM
Looking 2 Hill tickets,will give 2 Nally tickets, I'm on Hill kids in Nally and they are too young to be on their own.Pm me if you can do.

To be honest the Nally Stand isn't that great.  If you really don't want your children to be alone, you might have a better chance trying to swap the Hill tickets for Nally Stand tickets.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 15, 2010, 12:05:20 PM
Quote from: leenie on September 15, 2010, 11:27:27 AM

35 yos yos.
Post by: Lazer on September 15, 2010, 12:31:10 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 15, 2010, 12:05:20 PM

35 yos yos.

Fingers crossed - someone has promised me a hill ticket - meant to get it tomorrow at 2pm and supposedly its definite - I hope so! Would really love to be there!
Post by: MCMLX on September 15, 2010, 01:10:53 PM
Quote from: Lazer on September 15, 2010, 12:31:10 PM

35 yos yos.

Fingers crossed - someone has promised me a hill ticket - meant to get it tomorrow at 2pm and supposedly its definite - I hope so! Would really love to be there!

Good news.
Our tickets arrived this morning. Over the moon.
Post by: Lecale2 on September 15, 2010, 01:27:51 PM
Anybody got a spare ticket?
Post by: Class of 99 on September 15, 2010, 01:44:09 PM
U would want to be some piece of work to promise a ticket and then not back it up, I'm sure u will get sorted tomorrow. I have to wait till Friday it's a horror show but reckon I will be ok!!!
Post by: Hardy on September 15, 2010, 01:56:32 PM
Quote from: MCMLX on September 15, 2010, 01:10:53 PM
Quote from: Lazer on September 15, 2010, 12:31:10 PM

35 yos yos.

Good news.
Our tickets arrived this morning. Over the moon.

That's worse than Row UU.
Post by: Rois on September 15, 2010, 02:00:24 PM
Tickets just collected.  Upper Cusack for me.  At least I'll be dry.
Post by: The Worker on September 15, 2010, 06:28:36 PM
Quote from: Rois on September 15, 2010, 02:00:24 PM
Tickets just collected.  Upper Cusack for me.  At least I'll be dry.

any more going about?
Post by: saffron sam2 on September 15, 2010, 06:57:20 PM

35 yos yos.

£35 sterling.
Post by: supersub on September 15, 2010, 06:58:50 PM
some scramble about for tickets at the moment it seems! I can see how it would be very difficult for someone not associated with a club to get one!
Post by: MCMLX on September 15, 2010, 07:02:02 PM
Its as bad as 2003, which was the worst I ever saw. Is it this bad in Cork or are they that bothered? I met a cork man at the train station on the morning of last years All Ireland final who had 8 tickets in his pocket and couldnt give them away.
Post by: The Worker on September 15, 2010, 07:04:49 PM
Quote from: MCMLX on September 15, 2010, 07:02:02 PM
Its as bad as 2003, which was the worst I ever saw. Is it this bad in Cork or are they that bothered? I met a cork man at the train station on the morning of last years All Ireland final who had 8 tickets in his pocket and couldnt give them away.

they knew they were beat before the ball was thrown in last year!
Post by: MCMLX on September 15, 2010, 07:06:34 PM
And whats changed?  ;)
Post by: Wee Shea on September 15, 2010, 07:08:09 PM
Promised a ticket for the hill on Sunday. Will be travelling down with no ticket though, have to meet someone to get it in Dublin. I'm not gonna get it I bet.
Post by: MCMLX on September 15, 2010, 07:13:35 PM
Quote from: Wee Shea on September 15, 2010, 07:08:09 PM
Promised a ticket for the hill on Sunday. Will be travelling down with no ticket though, have to meet someone to get it in Dublin. I'm not gonna get it I bet.

Might seem like a silly question but why are you going, you`re an Armagh man. Would it not be better to give your ticket to a Down man and sit in the pub and watch it. I`m not saying you have no right to go and before you start I gave my tickets to an Armagh man in 2003, but there are genuine Down fans who may miss the game.
Post by: balladmaker on September 15, 2010, 07:35:50 PM
If without a ticket come Sunday morning, stand in the foyer of Jurys in Ballsbridge or whatever it is called now, between 11am and 1pm on Sunday, keep your ears and eyes open for people with spare tickets ... and you have a good chance of getting sorted at face value.
Post by: Square Ball on September 15, 2010, 09:20:03 PM
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/All-Ireland-Final-Tickets-/260664875185?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item3cb0d658b1 (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/All-Ireland-Final-Tickets-/260664875185?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item3cb0d658b1)

easy to stop these tickets if they want.
Post by: The Worker on September 15, 2010, 09:23:57 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on September 15, 2010, 09:20:03 PM
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/All-Ireland-Final-Tickets-/260664875185?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item3cb0d658b1 (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/All-Ireland-Final-Tickets-/260664875185?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item3cb0d658b1)

easy to stop these tickets if they want.

a lurgan man selling them 2! you would think he would pass them on to a down friend in magheralin
Post by: ONeill on September 15, 2010, 09:40:29 PM
Just got the one ticket a couple of days ago. Was thinking of heading at crack of dawn - I usually park at the college but this time would prefer somewhere this side of the Skylon, even on a side street, so I can slip away when Down/Cork lead by 7 with 5 to go. Any good spots?
Post by: omagh_gael on September 15, 2010, 10:01:42 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 15, 2010, 09:40:29 PM
Just got the one ticket a couple of days ago. Was thinking of heading at crack of dawn - I usually park at the college but this time would prefer somewhere this side of the Skylon, even on a side street, so I can slip away when Down/Cork lead by 7 with 5 to go. Any good spots?

if you're looking a quick getaway O'Neill I'd recommend heading through port tunnel (€3 each way) and head up the east wall road. Park on any of the side streets on Cusack side of Croker and when match is over you're heading up the M1 in 15mins max. A wee bit of a walk if you want to wet your whistle in the bars on Drumcondra road before the game though.
Post by: our_fella on September 15, 2010, 10:16:41 PM
Armagh man with 7  :P
Post by: ONeill on September 15, 2010, 10:19:35 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on September 15, 2010, 10:01:42 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 15, 2010, 09:40:29 PM

if you're looking a quick getaway O'Neill I'd recommend heading through port tunnel (€3 each way) and head up the east wall road. Park on any of the side streets on Cusack side of Croker and when match is over you're heading up the M1 in 15mins max. A wee bit of a walk if you want to wet your whistle in the bars on Drumcondra road before the game though.

Thanks for that. I'll have plenty of time.
Post by: balladmaker on September 16, 2010, 01:25:42 AM
What is a good spot for a bit of craic in and around Dublin city centre on the Saturday night before the game?  Is Mulligan in Poolbeg St. still worth a visit? 
Post by: Pangurban on September 16, 2010, 01:39:15 AM
Got two Tickets for upper Cusack tonight, looking for another one, greedy i know
Post by: maldini on September 16, 2010, 10:31:39 AM
anyone know is there going to be a 3rd allocation of tickets to clubs today or tomorrow?
Post by: Banana Man on September 16, 2010, 10:48:22 AM
QuoteQuote from: Wee Shea on September 15, 2010, 07:08:09 PM

Might seem like a silly question but why are you going, you`re an Armagh man. Would it not be better to give your ticket to a Down man and sit in the pub and watch it. I`m not saying you have no right to go and before you start I gave my tickets to an Armagh man in 2003, but there are genuine Down fans who may miss the game.

thinkingthat myself, and on another thread you had a go at Fearon for slagging Down, you a closet Down fan wee shea or a down man masquareding as an armagh man  ;)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 16, 2010, 02:08:52 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on September 16, 2010, 01:25:42 AM
What is a good spot for a bit of craic in and around Dublin city centre on the Saturday night before the game?  Is Mulligan in Poolbeg St. still worth a visit?

Was in there after the quarter final, first time in years, pints of the black stuff were as I remember. The Palace on Fleet St would also be a good spot.
Post by: MCMLX on September 16, 2010, 02:18:58 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on September 16, 2010, 10:48:22 AM
QuoteQuote from: Wee Shea on September 15, 2010, 07:08:09 PM

thinkingthat myself, and on another thread you had a go at Fearon for slagging Down, you a closet Down fan wee shea or a down man masquareding as an armagh man  ;)

Maybe Wee Shea has seen the light, realised that his own county are in the Doldrums and is jumping ship. He has probably been to more Down games than most of the people that got tickets for the final.  ;)
Post by: Hardy on September 16, 2010, 02:22:27 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 16, 2010, 02:08:52 PM
Was in there after the quarter final, first time in years, pints of the black stuff were as I remember. The Palace on Fleet St would also be a good spot.

Jesus Croi you left out the most important word in the post.

Manky?
Memorable?
Regurgitated?
Dear?
Post by: Lazer on September 16, 2010, 02:31:16 PM
Yippe

Just got the 4 hill tickets that we were promosed!

Can't wait to Sunday now!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 16, 2010, 02:36:54 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 16, 2010, 02:22:27 PM

Manky?
Memorable?
Regurgitated?
Dear?

Mothers milk
Post by: MCMLX on September 16, 2010, 02:42:07 PM
Quote from: Lazer on September 16, 2010, 02:31:16 PM
Yippe

Just got the 4 hill tickets that we were promosed!

Can't wait to Sunday now!

Great news.
Post by: Hardy on September 16, 2010, 03:13:23 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 16, 2010, 02:36:54 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 16, 2010, 02:22:27 PM

Manky?
Memorable?
Regurgitated?
Dear?

Mothers milk

Ah great.
Post by: Class of 99 on September 16, 2010, 05:20:55 PM
Tomorrow is d day for me one sleepless night left and then hopefully I will get  the golden tickets!!!
Post by: Canalman on September 16, 2010, 05:21:49 PM
As I suspected very few posters here still scrambling for tickets. Two counties competing which imo haven't really grasped the attention of the neutral support. Guarantee that there will be plenty available outside CP on the Sunday.

Most neutrals not really bothered  who wins.
Post by: seafoid on September 16, 2010, 05:23:37 PM
i am very much hoping that Down win and I'm a neutral. The romance of it all, another Down raid on the citadel having put Kerry to the sword.
Post by: Canalman on September 16, 2010, 05:29:54 PM
Flip side for me is seing a team (with multiple of hard defeats behind them) like Cork reaching the pinnacle. Nice imo to see team like that who pick themselves off the floor year in year out possibly win it. Romance of it all and like.

As posted earlier wouldn't be too pushed if Down won either.
Post by: leenie on September 16, 2010, 09:55:22 PM
 :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)

just got my ticket! woohoo...
Post by: eiled in the bushes on September 16, 2010, 10:11:47 PM
i must have very bad contacts. Down man living in tyrone long time,working in ballygawley but those errigal ones wouldn't part with the skin of their skitter as the old saying goes.still waiting patiently for tickets,but not too hopeful. :'( :'( :'(
Post by: Square Ball on September 16, 2010, 10:18:40 PM
Quote from: maldini on September 16, 2010, 10:31:39 AM
anyone know is there going to be a 3rd allocation of tickets to clubs today or tomorrow?

there was indeed, small but between 6 to 10 per club.
Post by: snoopdog on September 16, 2010, 10:24:07 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on September 16, 2010, 01:25:42 AM
nah mulligans  is not what it used to be. pints are muck. The palace on fleet st is good. depends what your looking for. stay clear of temple bar maybe head up camden st , long hall maybe stags head head. Rody Bolands in rathmines will be busy. Barge near ranelagh also
Post by: our_fella on September 17, 2010, 12:02:32 AM
Rake of tickets have been sent back to Down County Board for public allocation
Post by: wavesofTORRES on September 17, 2010, 12:07:24 AM
Is this to be done thru castlewellan?
Post by: our_fella on September 17, 2010, 12:29:46 AM
I think so yeah. mate of mine got 3-4 the night
Post by: Wee Shea on September 17, 2010, 12:50:27 AM
Will they be available from tomorrow morning then do you think?
Post by: balladmaker on September 17, 2010, 12:58:50 AM
It's always mad the way tickets seem to appear out of thin air from the Thursday night onwards.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 17, 2010, 12:00:30 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on September 17, 2010, 12:58:50 AM
It's always mad the way tickets seem to appear out of thin air from the Thursday night onwards.

They really shake out on the Saturday. I think the people controlling them only get word then that their cronies or sponsors aren't bothering to go so they can offload at will.
Post by: Canalman on September 17, 2010, 01:00:19 PM
Just got offered a tckt by my father who got 2 off his mate. Will be 1st AIF I went to without a Dublin team in it. Really looking forward to it.

1st time my father got a tckt like that for such a game so as I suspected tickets must be  plentiful.
Post by: supersub on September 17, 2010, 01:13:24 PM
Quote from: our_fella on September 17, 2010, 12:02:32 AM
Rake of tickets have been sent back to Down County Board for public allocation

Is this reliable info?
Post by: supersub on September 17, 2010, 01:19:45 PM
Quote from: our_fella on September 17, 2010, 12:29:46 AM
I think so yeah. mate of mine got 3-4 the night

From co board?
Post by: Ogie84 on September 17, 2010, 01:22:44 PM
Corkman here lads. Just read through this thread. Yer worries are small if clubs are after getting 100+ tickets! that's over twice what a dual senior club down here got in total. Coming from a junior club, we got 28 in total and over 120 members applied for them.
Demand is huge and contrary to popular belief, nobody in Cork is taking Down for granted and expecting to just go and pick up the cup... which is funny because all we've been hearing for the past few weeks down here are "stories" from Down about how it's all wrapped up with Red and black ribbons already  ;)

See ye Sunday lads, rebels abú!
Post by: Lazer on September 17, 2010, 03:15:27 PM
Tickets are not going on sale from the county office,

This is taken directly from what freinds of mine lin Castlewellan were told yesterday

The retruned tickets are being redistributed

However - if you have bought tickets from the county office for ticketed games this year (league and championship), then try the couty office and if they remember you they might help you out but it is not public sale
Post by: MCMLX on September 17, 2010, 04:03:02 PM
There were a lot of people waiting outside the office at 8am thinking tickets were going on general sale.
Post by: Lazer on September 17, 2010, 04:19:11 PM
Quote from: MCMLX on September 17, 2010, 04:03:02 PM
There were a lot of people waiting outside the office at 8am thinking tickets were going on general sale.

Has anyone heard if they got them?
Post by: MCMLX on September 17, 2010, 04:22:08 PM
Dont think so.
Post by: Class of 99 on September 17, 2010, 05:03:42 PM
My 1pm collection has been put off till tomorrow another sleepless night ahead so at least work is over!!!!!
Post by: supersub on September 17, 2010, 05:21:51 PM
Quote from: Lazer on September 17, 2010, 04:19:11 PM
Quote from: MCMLX on September 17, 2010, 04:03:02 PM

Has anyone heard if they got them?

No they didn't!
Post by: Qwerty28 on September 17, 2010, 07:13:35 PM
Still chasing a few leads but no ticket as of yet....although Im a neutral have seen Down in action 3 times this summer and Cork twice!

If by any chance a spare pops up let me know!!
Post by: snoopdog on September 17, 2010, 10:50:08 PM
Quote from: Canalman on September 17, 2010, 01:00:19 PM
Just got offered a tckt by my father who got 2 off his mate. Will be 1st AIF I went to without a Dublin team in it. Really looking forward to it.

1st time my father got a tckt like that for such a game so as I suspected tickets must be  plentiful.
Tickets arent plentiful at all, i know loads of people still looking. Comments like this are bollix
Post by: dodgy umpire on September 18, 2010, 12:09:21 PM
If anyone would like to give me a Hill 16 ticket and receive a lower cusack ticket in exchange PM me. Going to Dublin today so would need to exchange down there
Post by: DennistheMenace on September 18, 2010, 12:15:59 PM
3 of us going down with 2 tickets, always the way.
Post by: Class of 99 on September 18, 2010, 04:52:39 PM
Yeooowwww 2 tickets in the sky rocket I will sleep tonight, actually no chance of that!!!!
Post by: Kerry Mike on September 18, 2010, 07:28:40 PM
Offered 2 tickets yesterday but could't be arsed going not the same and I'm really enjoying having a stress free September for a change and better someone from the playing counties gets them.
Post by: Rois on September 20, 2010, 10:15:25 AM
Ended up having a duplicate ticket for the match yesterday.  Went to my seat and there was already someone in it!  Tickets had been printed twice.

Croke Park were on the verge of making me pay for a new one before I (in a stroke of genius) pretended I was on the verge of tears and told them I didn't have any money with me to pay for the new one.  The ticketing guy relented somewhat and gave me a worse seat but still with a good enough view. 
Post by: robertemmet on September 20, 2010, 10:28:35 AM
QuoteMember B, on the other hand, seems good craic. He'd be up for a few pints in the Big Tree before the match, will most likely give the minor match a miss as he gets a couple more in before running down to Croker (crosslegged as he didn't want to break the seal in the Big Tree) to take his seat five minutes after the senior match started, forcing loads of member A type people to have to get up out of their seat to let him past.

Happens loads of times.  Then when you don't stand up to let ehm in, due to maybe a goalchance in the making, they give you mad manners.

Also the people who leave 5 mins before half time to get to front of burger queue. and ones pinting away and arrive 5 mins into to the 2nd half.  Boy in front of me yesterday arrive 15mins into second half, with an unreal smell of drink off him.  Those sort would be better off staying in the Big Tree

Post by: Qwerty28 on September 20, 2010, 10:31:04 AM
Plenty of tickets floating about yesterday, seat besdie me emoty for whole game. Saw guy struggling to get rid of two outside Gills about 1.30 so I would presume everyone got sorted in the end
Post by: naka on September 20, 2010, 11:09:21 AM
plenty of tickets outside yesterday
Post by: Canalman on September 20, 2010, 11:10:59 AM
Due to playing a game in the morning didn't arrive till 3pm. 6 or 7 lads outside cordon at Gills trying to sell tickets "at face value".
Definitely more Down fans at game but they were outshouted by the Cork fans.
Post by: T Fearon on September 20, 2010, 03:02:46 PM
Wonder where Roy Keane got his ticket yesterday?