Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on August 30, 2010, 10:52:08 PM

Title: Rafa Benitez Newcastle United Manager.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 30, 2010, 10:52:08 PM
(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/Rafaelbenitez.jpg)

Rafael "Rafa" Benítez Maudes (born 16 April 1960) is a Spanish football manager and former player, currently in charge of Internazionale having replaced José Mourinho in June 2010. He is perhaps best known for his six year spell managing Liverpool between 2004 and 2010.

Born in Madrid, Benítez played football throughout his youth and joined the Real Madrid academy. He mixed his university studies with his football career at lower division Spanish teams. He joined Real Madrid's coaching staff at the age of 26, going on to work as the under 19 and reserve team coach, and assistant manager for the senior team. Benítez moved away from Real Madrid but management spells at Real Valladolid and Osasuna were short-lived and unsuccessful.

Benítez guided Segunda División side Extremadura back to the Primera División in his first season in 1997, but the team was relegated the following season. He left the club, taking a brief break from football before returning to coach Tenerife in 2000. Benítez was appointed coach of Valencia and he proved himself to be amongst the top Spanish managers by winning La Liga in the 2001–02 season—Don Balón and El País named him Manager of the Year. In 2004, another league title and a UEFA Cup victory were added. However, a disagreement between Benítez and the club director over team investment caused the Spaniard to switch to English Premier League team Liverpool F.C.

Benítez was a high-achiever in his first season as he guided Liverpool to victory in the UEFA Champions League, the highest honour in European club football. In the following three seasons he won the FA Cup, amongst other honours, and reached the 2007 Champions League Final, but remained unable to win the Premier League, with Liverpool's best performance under Benítez a second place finish in 2008–09.
Title: Re: The Rafael Benitez Thread
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 30, 2010, 10:53:13 PM
Bad start for Rafa and Inter tonight,first league game of season ends in a 0-0 draw v Bologna
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 30, 2010, 11:02:18 PM
Fact.
Post by: ross4life on August 30, 2010, 11:57:19 PM
What's the reason for this love fest? his last four seasons with Liverpool ended with no trophies & last season they finished 7th a full 23 points behind Chelsea

I could understand if a thread was made for Bill Shankly,Bob Paisley, or Joe Fagan but Rafael Benitez seriously.. common on
Post by: under the bar on August 31, 2010, 09:30:24 AM
QuoteWhat's the reason for this love fest? his last four seasons with Liverpool ended with no trophies & last season they finished 7th a full 23 points behind Chelsea

Ah now, don't let failure stand in the way of a good 'scouse hero' story!
Post by: EC Unique on August 31, 2010, 11:33:46 AM
Amusing and predictable but seriously sad. :D :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 31, 2010, 04:57:13 PM
Next up for Rafa is Udinese on Sept 11.
Post by: Minder on August 31, 2010, 05:02:54 PM
He will be looking for three points there alright.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 31, 2010, 05:04:15 PM
Poor aul Rafa wasn't the worst. The joy had seemed to go out of the job for him towards the end. I don't think he's in Ferguson's or Mourinho's league as a manager but certainly he's still one of the top dozen in Europe. 2 titles with Valencia is an exceptional achievement.
Post by: ross4life on August 31, 2010, 05:04:45 PM
Better than Rafa http://images.mirror.co.uk/upl/m4/dec2008/7/9/11CD8CBE-EFAC-6530-989629FF59B6F1BC.jpg
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 31, 2010, 05:06:23 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 31, 2010, 05:02:54 PM
He will be looking for three points there alright.

Yeah would want to be getting all 3 alright
Post by: Minder on September 22, 2010, 09:56:45 PM
Tanked Bari 4-0 tonight. Well done Rafa.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 27, 2010, 06:01:58 PM
Bad result against AS Roma on Saturday.
Title: Re: Rafaelbenitezsfcinternazionale
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 29, 2010, 08:37:04 PM
3-0 up at half time v Bremen
Keep her lit Rafa
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 29, 2010, 09:27:25 PM
4-0
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 17, 2010, 12:10:04 PM
Cracking goal from Eto'o just there, 1-0 to Inter
Post by: 118cmal on October 17, 2010, 01:30:52 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 17, 2010, 12:10:04 PM
Cracking goal from Eto'o just there, 1-0 to Inter

FACHT  :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 20, 2010, 07:48:16 PM
Inter 1 Spuds 0 after 68 seconds
Post by: ross4life on October 20, 2010, 07:55:17 PM
(http://live4liverpool.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/33937.gif.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 20, 2010, 07:56:30 PM
Spuds out of their depth
9mins gone Inter 2 Spuds 0
Spuds down to 10 men Gomez sent off
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 20, 2010, 07:59:21 PM
13mins gone
Inter 3 Spuds 0
Post by: ONeill on October 20, 2010, 07:59:46 PM
Harry's in twitch overdrive.
Post by: ross4life on October 20, 2010, 08:03:22 PM
(http://liverpool.theoffside.com/files/2008/06/flyingrafa.gif)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 20, 2010, 08:04:26 PM
Are Man United not playing tonight Ross?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 20, 2010, 08:07:29 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 20, 2010, 07:59:46 PM
Harry's in twitch overdrive.

Thats terrible

(http://www.dailysoccerblog.net/wp-content/uploads/harry-redknapp.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 20, 2010, 08:20:41 PM
4-0
Post by: ross4life on October 20, 2010, 08:23:15 PM
(http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/rafa-benitez-guarantee.gif)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 20, 2010, 08:24:39 PM
Whats that got to do with Inter ross?
Are Man United not playing tonight?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 20, 2010, 08:25:58 PM
That Benitez doesn't have a clue. Paul Merson and Matthew Le Tissier said so on Sky. It must be true. They'd know.
Post by: The Worker on October 20, 2010, 08:38:17 PM
Great to hear the inter fans sing Rafa Benitez!
Post by: ross4life on October 20, 2010, 08:56:33 PM
Keep her lit Laoislad what's the score now?
Post by: ONeill on October 20, 2010, 09:34:55 PM
Bale is some player. Spurs could make some serious cash with him at the end of the season.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 20, 2010, 09:40:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 20, 2010, 09:34:55 PM
Bale is some player. Spurs could make some serious cash with him at the end of the season.

Yeah he seems a right good player alright.
Post by: ross4life on October 20, 2010, 09:43:19 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 20, 2010, 09:40:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 20, 2010, 09:34:55 PM

Yeah he seems a right good player alright.

What happened to the updates? did it end 4-0?????
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 20, 2010, 09:48:05 PM
Inter scored 4 goals - which was more goals than Spurs scored
Post by: ross4life on October 20, 2010, 09:51:02 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 20, 2010, 09:48:05 PM

last update was 4-0 "Spuds out of their depth" don't tell me i missed goals  >:(
Post by: tyroneboi on October 20, 2010, 09:55:55 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 20, 2010, 09:51:02 PM

last update was 4-0 "Spuds out of their depth" don't tell me i missed goals  >:(

It finished Inter 4 - Bale 3.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 20, 2010, 09:58:16 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on October 20, 2010, 09:55:55 PM

Missed his first goal had to collect someone from airport,heard it was a cracker?
2nd goal right at the end was good.
Post by: ross4life on October 20, 2010, 09:58:46 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on October 20, 2010, 09:55:55 PM

Thank's the thread starter should be sacked
Post by: ross4life on October 20, 2010, 10:23:34 PM
Just saw the 3 Spurs goals now,  Mourinho's Inter defending v Rafa's Inter defending

Need i say more?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 20, 2010, 10:27:47 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 20, 2010, 10:23:34 PM
Just saw the 3 Spurs goals now,  Mourinho's Inter defending v Rafa's Inter defending

Need i say more?

Can't take much from it really. Inter went to sleep after going up 4-0.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 20, 2010, 10:32:40 PM

Need i say more?

I'm sure Rafa's happy you are so concerned with him

Mourinho's first 3 games in the CL with Inter - 2 wins and a draw - Scored 4 Conceded 1

Rafa's first 3 games in the CL with Inter - 2 wins and a draw - Scored 10 Conceded 5
Post by: ross4life on October 20, 2010, 10:37:55 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 20, 2010, 10:32:40 PM

Need i say more?

I'm sure Rafa's happy you are so concerned with him

Mourinho's first 3 games in the CL with Inter - 2 wins and a draw - Scored 4 Conceded 1

Rafa's first 3 games in the CL with Inter - 2 wins and a draw - Scored 10 Conceded 5

Off course he is... sure i sent him a fresh bottle of milk this morning
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 20, 2010, 10:41:33 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 20, 2010, 10:37:55 PM
Off course he is... sure i sent him a fresh bottle of milk this morning

I hope you wrapped it well
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 02, 2010, 08:04:30 PM
Spuds 1
Inter 0
:o
Post by: AZOffaly on November 02, 2010, 08:19:05 PM
Rafa seems more interested in correcting statements Roy Hodgson is making. It's interesting that he feels the need to keep his reputation intact at Liverpool. I wonder does he hope to come back at some stage? He still has his house on Merseyside I think, and says it feels like his home.

Hodgson is a disaster, but if it was the right decision to get rid of Rafa at the time, it's the right decision now. The replacement is the problem.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 02, 2010, 09:06:27 PM
Bale having some game that was a great goal brilliant run by Bale.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 02, 2010, 09:36:25 PM
Bad night for Rafa at the lane once again. Fully deserved victory for Spurs though
Post by: tyroneman on November 02, 2010, 10:11:13 PM
The myth of Rafa exposed again. Bale scores 3 in the San Siro so you would assume any tactically astute manager would have a plan to deal with him. Nope. Not Rafa. Too busy slabberin in the press.
Post by: ross4life on November 02, 2010, 10:56:45 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 02, 2010, 09:36:25 PM
Bad night for Rafa at the lane once again. Fully deserved victory for Spurs though

And bad night for all the rafa fanboys around the world.
Post by: nrico2006 on November 03, 2010, 09:17:58 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on November 02, 2010, 10:11:13 PM
The myth of Rafa exposed again. Bale scores 3 in the San Siro so you would assume any tactically astute manager would have a plan to deal with him. Nope. Not Rafa. Too busy slabberin in the press.

True, don't know how he ever got that job in the first place.  Terrible manager who must have the worst transfer record of recent years. 
Post by: imtommygunn on November 03, 2010, 09:26:20 AM
It wasn't exactly rocket science that he needed to double up on Gareth Bale but sure enough Rafa doesn't see it.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on November 03, 2010, 09:31:12 AM
Yes terrible manager who won La Liga twice, champions league & a uefa cup. Wise up nrico
Post by: Geoff Tipps on November 03, 2010, 09:41:13 AM
Quote from: Two Hands FFS on November 03, 2010, 09:31:12 AM
Yes terrible manager who won La Liga twice, champions league & a uefa cup. Wise up nrico

and an FA cup..
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 03, 2010, 09:45:17 AM
he certainly seemed to know spanish soccer and players but was out of his depth at liverpool.
As for him winning the CL - well I think the entire world knows what a fluke this was.
benitez and his liverpool record after this proved it !
Hodgson has started poorly enough,but he will improve Liverpool.
meanwhile inter milan will get worse (though they are still up at the top if sire A - mouriho's legacy I'd say !!)
all imo of course - but after the first season at liverpool I didnt rate benitez
Post by: nrico2006 on November 03, 2010, 09:47:35 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 03, 2010, 09:45:17 AM
he certainly seemed to know spanish soccer and players but was out of his depth at liverpool.
As for him winning the CL - well I think the entire world knows what a fluke this was.
meanwhile inter milan will get worse (though they are still up at the top if sire A - mouriho's legacy I'd say !!)
all imo of course - but after the first season at liverpool I didnt rate benitez

Couldn't agree more.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on November 03, 2010, 09:50:27 AM
And brought Liverpool to a champions league final two years later. Arguably should have won the league in 2009 playing some of the best football seen at Anfield in years. Very poor final season in fairness where things had gone stale.
Post by: Minder on November 03, 2010, 09:52:11 AM
Fluked his way to another Champions League final too. You wonder how a club like Inter Milan, that is renowned for mediocrity, would employ someone like Benitez. Surely the Gaa Board experts could do a better job of hiring and firing at top level European clubs.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 03, 2010, 10:31:29 AM
plenty of 'chancers' in top flight management - harry redknapp , benitez, some would say houlier, mcleish , roy keane and more...

question is, would people take benitez back to Liverpool ?
( liverpool fans that is, I know man utd fans would say yes)
I'd certainly never want to see his fat hole back in the door
Post by: gawa316 on November 03, 2010, 10:32:11 AM

So in 3 of the next 5 years, Rafa got Liverpool to a QF, SF and Final...Yeah suppose that proves it was fluke alright ???
Post by: Geoff Tipps on November 03, 2010, 10:34:29 AM

Another Champions league final appearance which they should have won, a second place finish in the league and an FA cup.
The most laughable thing is that you think Hodgson will improve Liverpool.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on November 03, 2010, 10:41:04 AM
If someone who replaced in your job & slated you would you not defend yourself. Hodgson was the one who tried to deflect the attention of the shit job he is doing by blaming Benitez for the mess he supposedly left. Hodgson has bought Konchesky & Poulson FFS!!!!! And the English media fall for it as well because they didn't like Benitez but constantly fall for the shit that Ferguson, Redknapp & Hodgson come out with.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 03, 2010, 10:48:04 AM
valid arguments (to a point) and fair enough - we all have our opinions.
Question is again, would you lads take benitez back?
Post by: supersarsfields on November 03, 2010, 10:51:07 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on November 03, 2010, 10:32:11 AM

So in 3 of the next 5 years, Rafa got Liverpool to a QF, SF and Final...Yeah suppose that proves it was fluke alright ???

How anyone could say he fluked the CL doesn't know anything about Football. As GAWA says above he managed to get them to the later stages most years including another final. But don't let that get in the way of an good story.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 03, 2010, 10:52:21 AM
I wouldn't. For whatever reason he had gone stale instead of pushing on after the 2nd place finish. It was time to get rid of him, but Hodgson is the wrong replacement.

A lot of hysterical talk about how bad Benitez was, but he wasn't, isn't, a bad manager. His time was up at Liverpool, but that happens. Doesn't make him a bad manager.

However, he's not a fantastic manager either. His transfer dealings are suspect, and he tends to be very stubborn in the way he sends his teams out. He also seems to get stubborn when dealing with players, and Alonso was a prime example of that.

Post by: BennyHarp on November 03, 2010, 10:58:27 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 03, 2010, 10:52:21 AM
I wouldn't. For whatever reason he had gone stale instead of pushing on after the 2nd place finish. It was time to get rid of him, but Hodgson is the wrong replacement.

A lot of hysterical talk about how bad Benitez was, but he wasn't, isn't, a bad manager. His time was up at Liverpool, but that happens. Doesn't make him a bad manager.

However, he's not a fantastic manager either. His transfer dealings are suspect, and he tends to be very stubborn in the way he sends his teams out. He also seems to get stubborn when dealing with players, and Alonso was a prime example of that.

I think he had gone stale because the whole club had under the two Yanks!
Post by: nrico2006 on November 03, 2010, 11:05:52 AM
Quote from: Two Hands FFS on November 03, 2010, 10:41:04 AM
If someone who replaced in your job & slated you would you not defend yourself. Hodgson was the one who tried to deflect the attention of the shit job he is doing by blaming Benitez for the mess he supposedly left. Hodgson has bought Konchesky & Poulson FFS!!!!! And the English media fall for it as well because they didn't like Benitez but constantly fall for the shit that Ferguson, Redknapp & Hodgson come out with.

Hodgson is only in the door and is basically left with the mess that Benitez made.  He has not had any money to spend yet and has bought two relatively cheap players that were never going to be Player of the Year material. 

Quote from: Geoff Tipps on November 03, 2010, 10:34:29 AM

Another Champions league final appearance which they should have won, a second place finish in the league and an FA cup.

To improve Liverpool Hodgson will not have that much to do going on last years performances. 
Post by: Geoff Tipps on November 03, 2010, 11:14:50 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 03, 2010, 11:05:52 AM
Quote from: Two Hands FFS on November 03, 2010, 10:41:04 AM

Hodgson is only in the door and is basically left with the mess that Benitez made. He has not had any money to spend yet and has bought two relatively cheap players that were never going to be Player of the Year material. 

Quote from: Geoff Tipps on November 03, 2010, 10:34:29 AM

To improve Liverpool Hodgson will not have that much to do going on last years performances.

Spent the guts of £10m on Konchesky and Poulsen. No one said they were going to be player of the year material but surely if you're going to buy players they should be some improvement on what's there already. You think??

If you really think Hodgson will improve on last year you mustn't have watched any game Liverpool have played this season. They've been woeful and the sooner he's shown the door the better.
Post by: gawa316 on November 03, 2010, 11:33:07 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on November 03, 2010, 10:58:27 AM
I think he had gone stale because the whole club had under the two Yanks!

Exactly, how a manager is supposed to improve a team year on year, when the club is selling more than it's bringing in, is beyond me
Post by: AZOffaly on November 03, 2010, 11:41:19 AM
the ownership situation obviously didn't help, but it wasn't much better in 2008 and he did well then. When you are operating under those conditions it needs a better 'squad builder' than Benitez. He's fine, but stubborn, as a tactician. But when you consider some of the signings he made, and the whole Alonso situation, I think that is indicative of the underlying problem with Rafa.

I think he did a grand job at the club, but wasn't going to do any better than his 2008-2009 finish.

the real problem Liverpool has now is that the man given the job of taking it on to the next level is not capable of it.
Post by: armagho9 on November 03, 2010, 02:37:58 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on November 03, 2010, 10:51:07 AM

How anyone could say he fluked the CL doesn't know anything about Football. As GAWA says above he managed to get them to the later stages most years including another final. But don't let that get in the way of an good story.

pretty lucky to get out of the group finishing joint with i think Olympiacous on 10 points thanks to a very late goal by Gerrard in the last game otherwise they would have been out.  a very dubious goal to sneak through against Chelsea in the quarter or semi final.  Fair amount of luck involved to be fair but on the other hand there is very few teams that do not ride their luck at some stage throughout a competition that they end up winning.
Post by: gawa316 on November 03, 2010, 02:46:35 PM
Quote from: armagho9 on November 03, 2010, 02:37:58 PM
pretty lucky to get out of the group finishing joint with i think Olympiacous on 10 points thanks to a very late goal by Gerrard in the last game otherwise they would have been out.  a very dubious goal to sneak through against Chelsea in the quarter or semi final.  Fair amount of luck involved to be fair but on the other hand there is very few teams that do not ride their luck at some stage throughout a competition that they end up winning.

So what exactly is your point? A game lasts 90 mins, are you not allowed to score near the end or are all late goals lucky?

The goal was actually in the semi and (can't believe I'm going to say this again) if it hadn't been given a goal, Cech would have been sent off and a penalty given to Liverpool. I know which scenario I would've taken at the time
Title: Rafael Benitez
Post by: muppet on November 03, 2010, 02:47:41 PM
Cliché alert #1:"Sometimes it is better to be lucky than good"

Cliché alert #2: "Sometimes your luck runs out"
Post by: supersarsfields on November 03, 2010, 03:04:49 PM

I think you kinda answered your own point there. As you say most teams need a spot of luck to get there and I don't believe Liverpool were ay luckier than any other team. But the Chelsea game was not luck. Should have been a penalty and bye bye Cech if the goal hadn't stood.
The whole idea that they fluked the CL just doesn't stack up for me.
Post by: thebigfella on November 03, 2010, 03:20:42 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on November 03, 2010, 03:04:49 PM

I think you kinda answered your own point there. As you say most teams need a spot of luck to get there and I don't believe Liverpool were ay luckier than any other team. But the Chelsea game was not luck. Should have been a penalty and bye bye Cech if the goal hadn't stood.
The whole idea that they fluked the CL just doesn't stack up for me.

Utd 99? Fluke or no fluke?
Post by: supersarsfields on November 03, 2010, 03:26:04 PM
Ah now that was a complete fluke............
Post by: armagho9 on November 03, 2010, 03:38:30 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on November 03, 2010, 02:46:35 PM

So what exactly is your point? A game lasts 90 mins, are you not allowed to score near the end or are all late goals lucky?

The goal was actually in the semi and (can't believe I'm going to say this again) if it hadn't been given a goal, Cech would have been sent off and a penalty given to Liverpool. I know which scenario I would've taken at the time
i would have thought my point was obvious, very few teams win anything without a bit of luck along the way, i was just pointing out a few incidents whre i thought Liverpool were lucky along the way.  Most people could probably do the same with any team that wins a competition that lasts 12 games.  Some people could see this as being flukey, i would be more inclined to think that it tends to balance itself out over the course of a competition
Post by: Geoff Tipps on November 03, 2010, 03:55:23 PM
Quote from: armagho9 on November 03, 2010, 03:38:30 PM

i would have thought my point was obvious, very few teams win anything without a bit of luck along the way, i was just pointing out a few incidents whre i thought Liverpool were lucky along the way.  Most people could probably do the same with any team that wins a competition that lasts 12 games.  Some people could see this as being flukey, i would be more inclined to think that it tends to balance itself out over the course of a competition

So your point is that you need some luck to win a competition like the Champions League. I can't wait for your next revelation  :)
Post by: armagho9 on November 03, 2010, 04:23:38 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on November 03, 2010, 03:55:23 PM
Quote from: armagho9 on November 03, 2010, 03:38:30 PM

So your point is that you need some luck to win a competition like the Champions League. I can't wait for your next revelation  :)

i had quoted the sarsfield guy, and i was only pointing out why some people might see liverpools success as being flukey when he had said anyone who thought that clearly hadnt a clue.  Obviously some people would see any form of luck as being flukey.  I dont, i was actually agreeing with you and Sarsfield but you're clearly a grumpy fecker who couldnt agree with someone on the colour of the sky.  So on that note i will leave it
Post by: ross4life on November 03, 2010, 05:39:48 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on November 03, 2010, 03:26:04 PM

United scoring late goals flukey? sure that same season solskjaer gave warning of what was going to happen in the Fa cup tie v pool

Wining cups is all about luck! & bayern were almost the luckiest of the lot last season
Post by: supersarsfields on November 03, 2010, 08:29:26 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 03, 2010, 05:39:48 PM

United scoring late goals flukey? sure that same season solskjaer gave warning of what was going to happen in the Fa cup tie v pool

Wining cups is all about luck! & bayern were almost the luckiest of the lot last season

Post by: nrico2006 on November 04, 2010, 09:07:47 AM

United in 99 were by far the best team in Europe and on their way to victory they played some unbelievable football with Yorke and Cole terrorising every defence they faced.  They had to beat the big guns on their way to the title and they won the final without playing to their best, but they still outscored the opposition with 2 legitimate goals.  That was on top of the fact that they were unbeaten in the competition and were in a group that included both Bayern and Barcelona.

I suppose what people are getting and with regards to 05 is that even battle hardened Liverpool fans will acknowledge that they were extremely fortunate to win the trophy in light of the goal that never was againts Chelsea and they did comeback well to draw with Milan in the final.
Post by: supersarsfields on November 04, 2010, 09:20:00 AM
Jeez lads does it have to be spelt out to yas that the above comment was tongue in cheek.

But I can't see why people are bringing up the Chelsea goal as lucky. It was either a goal or Cech was getting the line and a penalty. As someone mentioned earlier I know which would have been the best option at the time for Liverpool. So if anything they were hard done by.

(Waits for on coming arrival of NT)
Post by: Hound on November 04, 2010, 09:52:20 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 04, 2010, 09:07:47 AM

United in 99 were by far the best team in Europe and on their way to victory they played some unbelievable football with Yorke and Cole terrorising every defence they faced.  They had to beat the big guns on their way to the title and they won the final without playing to their best, but they still outscored the opposition with 2 legitimate goals.  That was on top of the fact that they were unbeaten in the competition and were in a group that included both Bayern and Barcelona.

I suppose what people are getting and with regards to 05 is that even battle hardened Liverpool fans will acknowledge that they were extremely fortunate to win the trophy in light of the goal that never was againts Chelsea and they did comeback well to draw with Milan in the final.

In 1999 final, Bayern totally outplayed United and were very unlucky not have been more ahead. And United's equaliser was a complete fluke when a mishit shot got a very unusual and kind bounce. United were of course understrength for the final, but the wrong team was picked by Ferguson and it was only when he rectified it late on with substitutions that they came into the game.

Liverpool were also lucky in the 2005 final not to be more than 3 behind, but in particular Shevchencko missed a sitter late on. Benitez also made errors with the starting team that was rectified at half time when Hamann came on.
There was no luck in the defeat of Chelsea. Liverpool were the better team, and Chelsea were lucky the ref didnt award a red card and pen, otherwise the defeat would have been far more clearcut.
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 04, 2010, 10:05:35 AM
I think Bayern hit the woodwork a few times in that game too, lucky Utd fcukers!
Post by: Minder on November 04, 2010, 10:26:54 AM
Scholl and Jancker both hit the bar I think.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 04, 2010, 10:41:13 AM
man utd deserved to get to th efinal but without the suspended Keane were destroyed on the pitch and never looked like competing let alone scoring wth bayern carelessly fluffing golden opportunities to score. then two goals at the death. May not have deserved the win but they did it but it was flukey none the less.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 13, 2010, 10:47:43 PM
Milan derby tomorrow!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 13, 2010, 10:51:58 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 13, 2010, 10:47:43 PM
Milan derby tomorrow!

are you going ?
Post by: Minder on November 13, 2010, 11:05:57 PM
Come back Rafa, Roy will be gone tomorrow.
Post by: SambaSaffron on November 14, 2010, 09:56:30 PM
Inter going great guns at the minute as well.   :D
Post by: Orangemac on November 14, 2010, 11:54:47 PM
See they lost the derby tonight.

No doubt Rafa will complain about the poor team he inherited, lack of money and that progress is being made.

Rafa is the only man who can make big Sam Allerdyce look like he is taking any responsibilty for his team.
Post by: ross4life on November 15, 2010, 05:26:11 AM
Jose Mourinho never lost a Milan derby or a home game but comparing rafa to jose is like chalk & cheese though in Rafa case milk  :D
Title: OUCH! Inter fans
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on November 22, 2010, 10:33:15 AM
"In this team talk right now the pig needs to be told that this is INTER, not the heroin fields of Anfield. He need to be told that he should pack his bags and leave Italy immediately, we MUST remove this horrible pink pig from our club, what he does to us is a disgrace."

http://forzainterforums.com/showthread.php?7783-Rafael-Ben%EDtez/page160
Post by: ross4life on November 26, 2010, 02:06:36 PM
Clock must be ticking on Rafa? 6th in Serie A full 9 points behind the leaders AC Milan & it looks like the European Champions will have to settle for a 2nd placed finish behind debut boys Spurs in Champions league.

For those that think Rafa can turn it around by winning the Champions league (he did it in 2005) you can get odds of 25/1
Post by: Bogball XV on November 26, 2010, 03:20:32 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 26, 2010, 02:06:36 PM
Clock must be ticking on Rafa? 6th in Serie A full 9 points behind the leaders AC Milan & it looks like the European Champions will have to settle for a 2nd placed finish behind debut boys Spurs in Champions league.

For those that think Rafa can turn it around by winning the Champions league (he did it in 2005) you can get odds of 25/1
they're already doubting how much longer he'll last, not only is he playing the uninspiring football last seen in the days on Il Manc, he's not winning. 
Post by: EC Unique on November 26, 2010, 04:19:40 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 26, 2010, 03:20:32 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 26, 2010, 02:06:36 PM

they're already doubting how much longer he'll last, not only is he playing the uninspiring football last seen in the days on Il Manc, he's not winning.

Please let him come back to Liverpool. PLEASE...
Post by: ross4life on December 03, 2010, 10:06:17 PM
Another bad beating for Inter tonight!
Post by: Minder on December 03, 2010, 10:48:58 PM
About 8 first teamers out injured tonight. Tough luck Rafa.
Post by: armagho9 on December 03, 2010, 10:49:42 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 03, 2010, 10:06:17 PM

playing Lazio?  what was the score
Post by: Minder on December 03, 2010, 10:51:45 PM
Quote from: armagho9 on December 03, 2010, 10:49:42 PM

3-1 Lazio, two of the three Lazio goals wer dubious to say the least.
Post by: EC Unique on December 04, 2010, 10:18:58 AM
Quote from: Minder on December 03, 2010, 10:51:45 PM
Quote from: armagho9 on December 03, 2010, 10:49:42 PM

3-1 Lazio, two of the three Lazio goals wer dubious to say the least.

:D :D

Post by: ross4life on December 04, 2010, 08:26:46 PM
AC Milan currently 3-0 up, looks like Rafas men will be 10 points behind tonight.

Post by: Rossie11 on December 04, 2010, 08:36:19 PM
Ibra looking good for his 8th league title in a row..
Post by: ross4life on December 04, 2010, 08:38:15 PM
Yup though Italian football seems to suit him best.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 18, 2010, 06:00:35 PM
2-0 up in the World Club Cup Final at half time.....
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 18, 2010, 06:48:54 PM
3-0
Title: Re: Rafaelbenitezsfcinternazionale World Champions 2010
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 18, 2010, 06:57:28 PM
FT 3:0
Post by: ross4life on December 18, 2010, 06:58:31 PM
Rafas a genius!!! he alone defeated the might of Congo.
Post by: Minder on December 18, 2010, 07:03:05 PM
Well done Rafa

(http://goodbusiness.net.au/blog/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/applause.gif)
Post by: Joxer on December 20, 2010, 12:10:19 PM
Looks like his days are numbered!

Inter will not take the shite Liverpool took from him!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/europe/9302348.stm
Post by: Rossie11 on December 20, 2010, 12:23:41 PM
Rumours he has got the bullet!!!
Post by: supersub on December 20, 2010, 01:16:02 PM
Heard this myself, will be interesting to see if there is anything official put out soon
Post by: magpie seanie on December 20, 2010, 04:01:01 PM
He really is some gobshite.
Post by: ross4life on December 20, 2010, 04:01:43 PM
Got to give the man credit though. Could make upwards of 10 million this year in compensation alone for being shite.
Post by: Eddie Stobart on December 20, 2010, 04:07:31 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 20, 2010, 04:01:43 PM
Got to give the man credit though. Could make upwards of 10 million this year in compensation alone for being shite.

Think you'd do better?
Post by: ross4life on December 20, 2010, 04:17:41 PM
Quote from: Eddie Stobart on December 20, 2010, 04:07:31 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 20, 2010, 04:01:43 PM

Think you'd do better?

No. getting that amount of money in 6/7 months takes a special talent.
Post by: Bingo on December 20, 2010, 04:42:32 PM
He took on the impossible job and is paying the price now by looks of it.

He'll always be welcome round my house anyways, In Rafa we trust.
Post by: Minder on December 20, 2010, 05:01:40 PM
The injuries have been a killer for Rafa.
Post by: ross4life on December 20, 2010, 05:18:50 PM
Quote from: Minder on December 20, 2010, 05:01:40 PM

Ancelotti had as much if not more. Rafa wants to buy 4/5 players to improve a squad that just won the Treble.

Post by: Bingo on December 20, 2010, 05:26:09 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 20, 2010, 05:18:50 PM

Ancelotti had as much if not more. Rafa wants to buy 4/5 players to improve a squad that just won the Treble.

Do you think that if Fergie left in the morning that the new manager, regardless of who they are, wouldn't want to take their own men in or would get near as much out of the team as he fergie can? I reckon only Jose would have a chance of following his recent record and he'd even look to spend.
Post by: ross4life on December 20, 2010, 06:00:41 PM
Inter spent millions on the team under Jose including one of the best midfielders,Goalkeepers & strikers etc.. i'm sure Massimo Moratti was shocked with those rebuilding comments from Rafa.

IMO Inter had a great chance to become the first team since Ac Milan to win back to back European cups (if jose stayed) Now they will be lucky to get over a struggling Bayern.

Title: Re: No longer Rafaelbenitezsfcinternazionale World Champions 2010
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 21, 2010, 08:41:28 PM
Rafa gone,best of luck to him..
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 21, 2010, 08:49:24 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 21, 2010, 08:41:28 PM

Source?  He is due to spend Christmas in Liverpool, queue the rumour mill going into over drive!!!!
Post by: ross4life on December 21, 2010, 08:52:58 PM
10 million in compensation in 5/6 months didn't he do well?? With Rafa now sacked! i may put some money on Inter to regain the Champions league 20/1 great value.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 21, 2010, 08:54:42 PM
he is in liverpool. was on Sky earlier
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 21, 2010, 08:56:21 PM
Odds on Roy going back to Inter to his old friend massimo and rafa taking his place in Liverpool? :P
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 21, 2010, 08:59:57 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 21, 2010, 08:52:58 PM
10 million in compensation in 5/6 months didn't he do well?? With Rafa now sacked! i may put some money on Inter to regain the Champions league 20/1 great value.

Not a hope. It was the Mourinho affect that took them there last year.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 21, 2010, 09:01:59 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 21, 2010, 08:49:24 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 21, 2010, 08:41:28 PM

Source?  He is due to spend Christmas in Liverpool, queue the rumour mill going into over drive!!!!

Sky Sports News.
A good manager like him won't  be out of work long I'm sure any number of clubs would take him.
Post by: ross4life on December 21, 2010, 09:03:28 PM
Former Roma boss Spalletti is taking over at inter

(http://www.imperogiallorosso.it/risultati/stagione-2006-2007/champions-league/quarti-andata/roma-manchester/post-2173-1175849868.jpg)

Best for Rafa to head back to Spain (plenty of restaurants looking for waiters)
Post by: new devil on December 21, 2010, 09:11:24 PM
Shows him up for the shite manager he is...
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 21, 2010, 09:16:21 PM
Quote from: new devil on December 21, 2010, 09:11:24 PM

QuoteExtremadura

* Segunda División
          o Promotion (1): 1997–98

Tenerife

* Segunda División
          o Winner (1): 2000–01

Valencia

* La Liga
          o Winner (2): 2001–02, 2003–04
    * UEFA Cup
          o Winner (1): 2003–04

Liverpool

* UEFA Champions League
          o Winner (1): 2004–05
          o Runner Up (1): 2006–07
    * Premier League
          o Runner Up (1): 2008-09
    * FA Cup
          o Winner (1): 2005–06
    * League Cup
          o Runner Up (1): 2004-05
    * FA Community Shield
          o Winner (1): 2006
    * UEFA Super Cup
          o Winner (1): 2005
    * FIFA Club World Cup
          o Runner Up (1): 2005

Internazionale

* Supercoppa Italiana
          o Winner (1): 2010
    * UEFA Super Cup
          o Runner Up (1): 2010
    * FIFA Club World Cup
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 21, 2010, 09:20:31 PM
I'd love him to buy 2 tickets behind the Liverpool bench at every game for the rest of the season and heckle Hodgson throughout the game  :D
Post by: ross4life on December 21, 2010, 09:24:17 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on December 21, 2010, 09:16:21 PM
Quote from: new devil on December 21, 2010, 09:11:24 PM

QuoteExtremadura

* Segunda División
          o Promotion (1): 1997–98

Tenerife

* Segunda División
          o Winner (1): 2000–01

Valencia

* La Liga
          o Winner (2): 2001–02, 2003–04
    * UEFA Cup
          o Winner (1): 2003–04

Liverpool

* UEFA Champions League
          o Winner (1): 2004–05
          o Runner Up (1): 2006–07
    * Premier League
          o Runner Up (1): 2008-09
    * FA Cup
          o Winner (1): 2005–06
    * League Cup
          o Runner Up (1): 2004-05
    * FA Community Shield
          o Winner (1): 2006
    * UEFA Super Cup
          o Winner (1): 2005
    * FIFA Club World Cup
          o Runner Up (1): 2005

Internazionale

* Supercoppa Italiana
    * UEFA Super Cup
          o Runner Up (1): 2010
    * FIFA Club World Cup

What did the late great Bill Shankly say? first is everything second is...........
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 21, 2010, 09:27:43 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on December 21, 2010, 09:20:31 PM
I'd love him to buy 2 tickets behind the Liverpool bench at every game for the rest of the season and heckle Hodgson throughout the game  :D

I'm sure the last thing Hodgson wants is Rafa turning up for every game sitting up in the stand with Dalglish. Although it's certainly a possibility as he'll be back living in Liverpool again.
Post by: magpie seanie on December 21, 2010, 11:37:27 PM
Surprised he lasted this long. Was never up to this job.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 22, 2010, 12:05:39 AM
He probably should have taken 6 months to a year off after leaving Liverpool to recharge the batteries rather than diving straight back in. He had taken such a constant and eventually rather xenophobic battering from the football media and cosy cartel of pundits over in England along with people who get their football knowledge from the back page of the Sun that he was fairly worn down by the time he left Anfield. Don't think his heart was ever really in the Inter job but I guess it was hard to turn down at the time. It didn't help then that Inter had their worst run of injuries in years while he was there and his constant digs at Moratti seem like someone who was working their ticket and wanted out. Even looking at it now if they win their 2 games in hand they would only be 4 points off 2nd. They could easily be back in the hunt yet by February/March.

That said it seems he's still there for the moment anyway.
Post by: ross4life on December 22, 2010, 12:32:25 AM
Where talking about a Inter team that won 4 in row league titles in Italy (were awarded 5th due to juve/milan match fixing) so 4 points off 2nd place is a big fall back don't you think?

Moratti clearly thought he was a great manager, did good job with Valencia winning La-Liga (when Madrid,Barca were rebuilding) & winning a European cup for mediocre Liverpool side

Moratti hoped he would bring that type of success instead he got Rafas form from last season!

There are very few great managers in the game of football and Benitez isn't one of them.

Post by: deiseach on December 22, 2010, 08:44:14 AM
Quote from: ross4life on December 22, 2010, 12:32:25 AM
Where talking about a Inter team that won 4 in row league titles in Italy (were awarded 5th due to juve/milan match fixing) so 4 points off 2nd place is a big fall back don't you think?

Moratti clearly thought he was a great manager, did good job with Valencia winning La-Liga (when Madrid,Barca were rebuilding) & winning a European cup for mediocre Liverpool side.

Madrid and Barca were 'rebuilding' for the entire three year period during which Valencia won La Liga twice? You have to go back to Athletic Bilbao back in 1984 to find a club other than Madrid and Barca who won two titles in such close proximity. And the one blot on Jose Mourinho's copybook is his failure to win the European Cup with Chelsea. Guess whose team knocked them out twice in his time at the Bridge?

Still, I think it's clear that Rafa has lost his mojo. Your point about Inter lording over all and sundry in Italy before Rafa arrived is a good one. You can't inherit a team that has so won much and then claim it needs to entirely rebuilt with a straight face
Post by: nrico2006 on December 22, 2010, 09:35:13 AM

Every team suffers injuries, Benitez has suffered no more than United or Chelsea have in the past year.
Post by: EC Unique on December 22, 2010, 09:55:53 AM
At least Inter caught on to him quick enough. Cluless twat :D :D
Post by: J OGorman on December 22, 2010, 10:09:30 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on December 22, 2010, 09:55:53 AM
At least Inter caught on to him quick enough. Cluless t**t :D :D

well rear'd

Post by: Bingo on December 22, 2010, 10:14:06 AM
The usual suspects with the knifes out for Rafa.

Ronnie Whelan is a clueless Twat in terms of management, Roy Keane similar. For a clueless twat in management he has achieved a hell of a lot in the game.

Inter was a tough job to take on, following Jose where the players have said they would die for him is never easy, look at Chelsea and the managers they went through after Jose left. Inter had won all before Rafa arrived but it is an old squad and after last years mamonth season followed by a world cup summer, it was never going to be easy. Rafa actually started well but when the injuries kicked in, the results suffered, by no means where they out of the picture but after the success of the last few years, such results is seen as failure.

Read once that Rafa is a very intense manager and that players can only work under him for a certain period before they find it over bearing.

I didn't want him to leave when he did cause it was as clear as day that the replacement wasn't going to be anything like was needed and its proven true. Roy is hopeless. Maybe his time was up at liverpool but under the circumstances, he was better than we where ever going to attract.
Post by: BennyHarp on December 22, 2010, 10:16:56 AM
Says on Talksport that Rafa has yet to be sacked!
Post by: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 10:30:03 AM
Ive always thought Rafa to be one of the finest managers in the game and it is some achievement to win back to back UEFA Cup/Champions League with two different clubs.

That said the amount of injuries can not be used as an excuse, despite common belief injuries at the top level have very little to do with luck and a lot to with training techniques and game preparation and to this extent Rafa has always been poor with having his players avoid injuries so if he lives by the sword in terms of being so intense he will have to die by it.  I cant find it now but I read an article recently by a dutch fitness coach who was more or less blaming Rafa for the injury proneness of Kuyt and Babbel
Post by: Two Hands FFS on December 22, 2010, 10:43:18 AM
I would class Kuyt as a few things but injury prone is definitely not one of them. I'd say he has played the majority of Liverpools games since he signed. He picked up an injury on international duty this year as well...hardly rafa's fault. Babel has just got a shocking attitude. If only he had dirks attitude.
Post by: Maiden1 on December 22, 2010, 10:57:24 AM
It was always going to be hard to follow after the season Mourinho had last season.  Inter won the treble but they only just won the league with Milito scoring a lot of key goals and Roma coming from a long way back to nearly catch them.  They won the league a lot easier in the previous seasons when the had Ibrahimovic in the side.  Ibrahimovic has moved to AC Milan now and they are clear at the top of the league.  Mourinho thought Inter had a better chance of winning the Champions League win Eto in the team so he did a swap with Barca and got 40 million (or whatever it was) into the bargain but they where not as dominant in the league as the previous seasons.  Mourinho himself said that last seasons scudetto was the toughest league he has ever won.

http://derby-milan.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=877:inter-coach-jose-mourinho-the-toughest-scudetto-i-have-ever-won&catid=43:inter-news&Itemid=101

Inter are still in the champions league and Rafas teams are always hard to beat in big cup games.  It's a bit early to be sacking him though Rafa brings a lot of it on himself by always looking for a fight.
Post by: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 11:02:53 AM
Quote from: Two Hands FFS on December 22, 2010, 10:43:18 AM
I would class Kuyt as a few things but injury prone is definitely not one of them. I'd say he has played the majority of Liverpools games since he signed. He picked up an injury on international duty this year as well...hardly rafa's fault. Babel has just got a shocking attitude. If only he had dirks attitude.

Cant find the article that I was particularly after but heres a similar one from the BBC website

Nearly 40 years after Netherlands legends Rinus Michels and Johan Cruyff unleashed Total Football on an unexpecting world, along comes a Dutchman espousing a new philosophy - periodisation.

If it is a concept that is unlikely to ever acquire Total Football's sexy cache, Raymond Verheijen believes periodisation - in essence a less is more approach to training - is important in allowing clubs to protect their key asset - players.

The 39-year-old Verheijen has an impressive pedigree.  He worked with Guus Hiddink, Frank Rijkaard, Louis van Gaal and Dick Advocaat at three World Cups and three European Championships with Netherlands, Russia and Korea, as well as with the Korean national team at the 2010 World Cup finals in South Africa.

Rijkaard also used Verheijen when he coached Barcelona , asdid Hiddink when he managed Chelsea , while Advocaat used the 39-year-old fitness expert when he was in charge of Zenit St Petersburg.

A lot of coaches treat players the same way, whatever theirage, whatever their body composition, whatever their injury history, whatever their playing position

Former Manchester City boss Mark Hughes also turned to Verheijen at the start of the 2009-2010 season and Craig Bellamy has been so impressed by the Dutchman that he now pays to work with him at his own expense.

"The objective of periodisation is to play every game with your best 11 players," Verheijen told BBC Sport during an hour-long interview, following a presentation at the UKSEM sports medicine conference at the end of last month.

"First of all because you want to win and secondly because the fans deserve to see the best players."

The idea that you start every game with your best team sounds like common sense.

But a look at the statistics shows that it does not always happen, even though it is estimated that up to 70% of Premier League clubs are using computer and medical analysis to measure player performance and fatigue levels.

The website physioroom.com's Premier League injury table on the weekend of 4-5 December recorded there were 108 top-flight players out of action.

On average, that is 5.4 players for each Premier League team or a fifth of each club's designated 25-man squad, with Aston Villa and Tottenham each having as many as 11 players on the treatment table over the weekend.

Verheijen has worked extensively with Guus Hiddink It is not just in England that clubs are having to juggle their resources due to injury. On the weekend of 20-21 November, 124 players were unavailable to play in Italy 's Serie A due to injury.

Since former Liverpool boss Rafael Benitez took charge at Inter Milan, the Italian champions have come under particular scrutiny.

Up to 28 November, Inter had 37 injuries this season, it meant that those injured players missed a total of 68 games.

Before Inter played Spurs in the Champions League on 2 November, Italian newspaper La Gazzetta dello Sport identified 15 muscle-related injuries that had affected Inter players since the start of the 2009-10 campaign.

"All teams have injuries," Benitez said. "We have a certain amount of muscle-related injuries but 40% of them were picked up on national team duty.

Also, 85% of them are recurring from last year."

But for Verheijen, injury clusters demand closer analysis.
He believes as many as 80% of injuries are preventable, arguing that fatigue due to overtraining is the cause, pointing out that 14 of the 23-man 2010 Dutch
World Cup have already been injured this season.

"World Cup players start the pre-season fit but fatigued," stated Verheijen, whose football career was cut short by a hip injury. "So there is no need for fitness training in pre-season as this results in even more fatigue and, eventually, injuries due to a loss of coordination and control.

"People make training so important that it is like survival of the fittest and at the end of the week when you have a game you see who is left and say OK we will play with these 11 players. Benitez during his time at Liverpool was renowned for this and we all saw that with Dirk [Kuyt]"

Verheijen, who has a Uefa A coaching licence, argues that too many fitness coaches are not from a football background and do not fully understand the sport and its relationship to training and preparation.

"Coaches should take the games as a starting point and build training sessions around them so players can fully recover and start the next match fresh," he added.

"They are afraid their team will not be fit enough for the start of the season.

However, with this 'high injury-risk' training regime - subconsciously - they make fitness development more important than team development."

Bellamy, who after leaving City continued to work with Verheijen at Cardiff , is a convert.

Last season Robben benefited from cutting down on the volume of training
"Last season at Manchester City I really felt great and Verheijen played a big part in this," Bellamy told a Feyenoord fan magazine in October.

"In the past, I used to train at 100mph until I was exhausted. No wonder I always broke down halfway through the season. I always thought this was a logical consequence of my playing style and I even started training harder when I was not fit."

Periodisation has been around as nearly as long as Total Football. Developed by Russian researcher Leo Matveev, it is an approach designed to prevent overtraining and result in peak performance.

Most clubs would claim that their fitness regimes are designed to achieve that aim, but Verheijen suspects it is not happening enough.

"If football is an intensity sport, then less is more and you have to focus on the quality of training instead of the quantity," stated Verheijen, whose bête noire is double-training sessions.

"Doing two sessions a day in pre-season...I really I don't understand, because all you are doing is exhausting your players," added Verheijen, who believes different types of players - young players who have just joined the first-team
or experienced defenders - should each be following specialised training plans.

"By doing one session a day with maximum intensity, when you come to November and December your players will be much fitter and fresher than they are normally are with the traditional approach."

Both Bellamy and Carlos Tevez were vocal critics of City manager Roberto Mancini's insistence on weekly double training sessions last season.

Within 10 days of Mancini taking over from Hughes in December 2009, Joleon Lescott, Sylvinho, Roque Santa Cruz, Stephen Ireland, Shaun Wright-Phillips, Micah Richards and Nigel De Jong all picked up injuries.

"That was amateur stuff," said Verheijen.
"You take over a team that has the best statistics in the Premier League in terms of work rate - the most sprints - and you have the best injury record, based on a quality approach: one session a day, with maximum intensity that is
no longer than 90 minutes.

VERHEIJEN'S TRACK RECORD
World Cup 1998:Netherlands defender Winston Bogarde broke leg in training
Euro 2000:Netherlands defender Jaap Stam pulled hamstring during shooting after training
World Cup 2002:No injuries with Korea side that reached semi-finals
Euro 2004:No injuries with Netherlands squad
World Cup 2006:No injuries with Korea squad
Euro 2008:Russia striker Pavel Pogrebnyak injured by tackle in preparation game against Serbia
World Cup 2010:Central defender Kwak Tae Hwi injured by tackle in preparation game against Belarus

"Then you take over and you start doing two sessions, each session two hours long, which is totally the opposite."

City insist those injuries were due to a glut of games over the Christmas period last season.

"Injuries are inevitable in this period for any club," said a City spokesman in a statement.

"Sylvinho, De Jong, Santa Cruz, Wright-Phillips were all fit for the 4-1 win at home to Blackburn on 11 January - Mancini's first league game after the 10-day period mentioned.

"Lescott and Richards had injury problems both before and after Mancini's arrival last December, so attributing those problems to his arrival is also unfair," added the spokesman, pointing out that City have only one player - Emmanuel Adebayor - who is injured at the moment.

When Verheijen worked with Rijkaard at Barcelona and Hughes at Manchester City, his ideas were initially greeted with scepticism by the players.

None more so than Bellamy, who was so distrustful that he kept a training diary over six weeks during pre-season ahead of the 2009-2010 season so he could argue that Verheijen had been wrong.

"He wrote the diary to kill us with it afterwards," said Verheijen. "But after six weeks it was the first pre-season that he did not get injured in his career."

Verheijen, who has also studied exercise physiology and sport psychology as well as taking a one-year Science in Football course, is not without his critics.
Craig Duncan, head of human performance at Sydney FC, argues a reduction in training is not always positive.

"A problem is that there needs to be more corrective work to decrease the risk of injury through faulty movement patterns," Duncan commented.

"Specific strength training also needs to be incorporated as does flexibility and I have also had positive results from yoga.

"This is all supplementary work to work completed on the pitch. Recovery strategies also need to be enhanced so we don't necessarily have to train less just train smarter."

Other critics of Verheijen argue that his almost injury-free record is distorted by primarily working with international teams and also as a consultant.

Verheijen admits it is more difficult being a consultant but still firmly believes his methods are better than those employed by most coaches.

"A lot of coaches treat all the players the same way, whatever their age, whatever their body composition, whatever their injury history, whatever their playing position - everybody is doing the same training," Verheijen said.

"The culture in football is you either train or you don't train and there is nothing in between."

It is a culture he has spent his career trying to change and he will continue to preach his gospel to the unconverted.

[/qupte]
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 22, 2010, 11:14:09 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on December 22, 2010, 09:55:53 AM
At least Inter caught on to him quick enough. Cluless t**t :D :D

The phrase takes one to know one is quite apt here
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 22, 2010, 11:48:47 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 10:30:03 AM
Ive always thought Rafa to be one of the finest managers in the game and it is some achievement to win back to back UEFA Cup/Champions League with two different clubs.

That said the amount of injuries can not be used as an excuse, despite common belief injuries at the top level have very little to do with luck and a lot to with training techniques and game preparation and to this extent Rafa has always been poor with having his players avoid injuries so if he lives by the sword in terms of being so intense he will have to die by it.  I cant find it now but I read an article recently by a dutch fitness coach who was more or less blaming Rafa for the injury proneness of Kuyt and Babbel

I can barely remember Kuyt ever getting injured playing for Liverpool. In fact his last two injuries have come when he's been away with Holland. Sounds like a Dutch fitness coach covering his own arse.
Post by: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 12:05:31 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on December 22, 2010, 11:48:47 AM

I can barely remember Kuyt ever getting injured playing for Liverpool. In fact his last two injuries have come when he's been away with Holland. Sounds like a Dutch fitness coach covering his own arse.

May well be but the coach wasn't with Holland when Kuyt got injured and Benetiz has had awful 'luck' with injuries at Inter, Liverpool and Valencia.
Post by: nrico2006 on December 22, 2010, 12:43:16 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 12:05:31 PM

May well be but the coach wasn't with Holland when Kuyt got injured and Benetiz has had awful 'luck' with injuries at Inter, Liverpool and Valencia.

Again, he has had no more 'awful luck' with injuries than any other manager.  Excuses are somewhat of a forte of Benitez, and seemingly all those who have followed Liverpool when he was in charge as they constantly try to defend him even now.
Post by: Bingo on December 22, 2010, 12:53:46 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on December 22, 2010, 12:43:16 PM
Again, he has had no more 'awful luck' with injuries than any other manager.  Excuses are somewhat of a forte of Benitez, and seemingly all those who have followed Liverpool when he was in charge as they constantly try to defend him even now.

Liverpool supporters "in defending former manager" shocker. Well i never.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 22, 2010, 12:54:43 PM

At least Rafa never blamed the colour of the  jersey's while he was in charge at Liverpool :)
Post by: nrico2006 on December 22, 2010, 01:37:45 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 22, 2010, 12:54:43 PM

At least Rafa never blamed the colour of the  jersey's while he was in charge at Liverpool :)

Point proven.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on December 22, 2010, 01:42:22 PM

48, 48, 51,53 appearances in kuyts 4 seasons under Rafa is hardly that of an injury prone player..including 38 out of 38 appearances in the league in 08/09. fact
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 22, 2010, 01:44:52 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on December 22, 2010, 01:37:45 PM

Point proven.

QuoteBy Chris Charles
BBC Sport

As news of Manchester United's shock defeat in Hungary reverberated around Europe, there was only one question on everyone's minds.

What excuse would Sir Alex Ferguson give this time?

It's a well-known fact that United never actually lose games, but are the victims of a cunning, worldwide conspiracy.

That's Fergie's story - and he's sticking to it.

Having said that, for a few fleeting moments, it actually looked like the canny Scot was going to take the 1-0 reverse to Zalaegerszeg on the chin.

"They had one attack and scored one goal. But we only have ourselves to blame," he began - as viewers waited for the Do Not Adjust Your Set message to appear.

Sir Alex Ferguson
Have you seen the reffing time?!

Thankfully, normal service was resumed as soon as possible, with Sir Alex continuing: "The pitch was very bumpy which is possibly a reason for the (lack of) smoothness of our passing."

Brilliant! In fact why not go one better and ban any team whose average player earns less than £20,000 a week from hosting matches?

That way everyone would start on a level playing field.

Ferguson faces harsh reality

Mind you, even the hallowed turf at Old Trafford has received the hair-dryer treatment from the great man.

When United were bundled out of the FA Cup by West Ham last year, Ferguson complained there had been too much rugby played on the pitch.

He also insisted the referee had not played enough injury time - unlike the 1999 European Cup Final, of course.

Torrid

In fact, the only thing Sir Alex neglected to mention about that fateful January afternoon was Fabien Barthez's ridiculous taxi-hailing impression, which let in Paolo di Canio for the winning goal.

Time is always of the essence for Ferguson. If United are losing, the referee should add it on, if they're winning, he should blow his whistle.

You can guarantee as a game enters the 89th minute with United hanging on to a one-goal advantage, Fergie will start pointing furiously at his timepiece.

You could almost set your watch by it.

The officials themselves also come in for a torrid time if United lose or have a player sent off.

And in 1996, Fergie infamously accused the entire Leeds team of not trying against Newcastle, prompting Kevin Keegan's legendary "loov it" rant.

Roy Keane
Over here, Roy!

Six months later, Newcastle took their revenge with a 5-0 walloping of United, whose players were subsequently diagnosed as "jet-lagged" by Dr Ferguson.

But of all the excuses he has proferred over the years, one stands head and shoulders above the rest. In fact, it's in a different league.

Cast your mind back to 1996, when United visited Southampton for a league match.

The Red Devils found themselves 3-0 down at half-time and eventually went on to lose the match 3-1.

And the reason? According to Fergie, the grey shirts his men were wearing meant they were unable to see one another.

You couldn't make it up.

Naturally, the strip was immediately replaced with a new design, forcing fans to shell out a fortune for replica kits.

Some things never change.
Post by: J OGorman on December 22, 2010, 01:47:51 PM

Point proven.

excuses are used by EVERY single manager the world over regularly, be it injuries, international duty etc.. and why not, I manage a team and if i had a few of my best players missing, sure as fcuk I will use it as an excuse

I totaled up all the interviews I can find of Alex Ferguson on the whole of the internet and he used injury excuses 16% more often than Benetiz.
Post by: nrico2006 on December 22, 2010, 01:50:22 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on December 22, 2010, 01:47:51 PM

Point proven.

excuses are used by EVERY single manager the world over regularly, be it injuries, international duty etc.. and why not, I manage a team and if i had a few of my best players missing, sure as fcuk I will use it as an excuse

I totaled up all the interviews I can find of Alex Ferguson on the whole of the internet and he used injury excuses 16% more often than Benetiz.

I'll put as much faith in your statistic as I do in your ability to spell his name correctly.
Post by: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 01:58:51 PM

What I was trying to get at was that he has had so many injuries at his last three clubs that it is clearly something more than luck and is more than likely down to his training regimes and match preparation which was described on here earlier as intense.  I only used the Kuyt example because that was the name given in the article by someone who would be much more of an expert on this than I ever will be
Post by: J OGorman on December 22, 2010, 02:04:08 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on December 22, 2010, 01:50:22 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on December 22, 2010, 01:47:51 PM

Point proven.

I'll put as much faith in your statistic as I do in your ability to spell his name correctly.

i can assure you that my stat is as factually accurate as alot of the 'facts' thrown about here
Post by: Geoff Tipps on December 22, 2010, 02:21:29 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 01:58:51 PM

What I was trying to get at was that he has had so many injuries at his last three clubs that it is clearly something more than luck and is more than likely down to his training regimes and match preparation which was described on here earlier as intense.  I only used the Kuyt example because that was the name given in the article by someone who would be much more of an expert on this than I ever will be

I don't think that during his time at Liverpool he's ever had to endure a particularly long injury list. The problem was that the injuries that did happen were to his 2 best players namely Torres and Gerrard. Some of Torres's major injuries last season happened during meaningless friendlies for Spain - hardly Rafa's fault.
I don't actually recall his reign at Valencia being besieged with injuries either. If it were his record there is even more remarkable. I would have him back at Liverpool in a heartbeat.
Post by: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 02:26:20 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on December 22, 2010, 02:21:29 PM

I don't think that during his time at Liverpool he's ever had to endure a particularly long injury list. The problem was that the injuries that did happen were to his 2 best players namely Torres and Gerrard. Some of Torres's major injuries last season happened during meaningless friendlies for Spain - hardly Rafa's fault.
I don't actually recall his reign at Valencia being besieged with injuries either. If it were his record there is even more remarkable. I would have him back at Liverpool in a heartbeat.

Not being a Liverpool fan I cant recall exact injury lists but did he not have a long run of games were he couldnt field the same team twice in succession due to injuries.  I remember with Valencia he used to get a lot of players who would be out for short times with muscle injuries
Post by: Geoff Tipps on December 22, 2010, 02:41:06 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 02:26:20 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on December 22, 2010, 02:21:29 PM

Not being a Liverpool fan I cant recall exact injury lists but did he not have a long run of games were he couldnt field the same team twice in succession due to injuries.  I remember with Valencia he used to get a lot of players who would be out for short times with muscle injuries

Think that was more down to his rotation policy than injuries.
Post by: Eddie Stobart on December 22, 2010, 02:42:58 PM
Quare amount of fellas on here haven't much of a clue about soccer it seems.

Rafa is a decent manager I can't see how that would even be up for debate,things aren't going his way at the moment much in the same way soccer teams themselves have rough patches but he has already proven himself to be a top manager,his record speaks for itself or do some of ye armchair fans reckon because you are a ace at Championship Manager on the Playstation that you could do better?
I am a West Ham fan and I would certainly love him to come to Upton Park as Boss.
Post by: magpie seanie on December 22, 2010, 02:44:26 PM
I agree with you. Benitez is better than Avram Grant.
Post by: Eddie Stobart on December 22, 2010, 02:46:21 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on December 22, 2010, 02:44:26 PM
I agree with you. Benitez is better than Avram Grant.

Yeah I think so too,I like Grant but he isn't cutting it with West Ham,might be a better No.2
Rafa could be good for West Ham,doubt he would come though I'm sure there are bigger clubs who could offer him more.
Post by: Bingo on December 22, 2010, 02:46:59 PM
Quote from: Eddie Stobart on December 22, 2010, 02:42:58 PM

Rafa is a decent manager I can't see how that would even be up for debate,things aren't going his way at the moment much in the same way soccer teams themselves have rough patches but he has already proven himself to be a top manager,his record speaks for itself or do some of ye armchair fans reckon because you are a ace at Championship Manager on the Playstation that you could do better?I am a West Ham fan and I would certainly love him to come to Upton Park as Boss.

Or alternatively if you are a United fan you know everything and your opinion is all that counts/matters.
Post by: magpie seanie on December 22, 2010, 02:48:57 PM
I expect he'll get a club closer to his home in Murkeydive. Blackburn the most likely at present if his reported severance contract allows him to work immediately.
Post by: magpie seanie on December 22, 2010, 02:50:53 PM
Quote from: Bingo on December 22, 2010, 02:46:59 PM

Rafa is a decent manager I can't see how that would even be up for debate,things aren't going his way at the moment much in the same way soccer teams themselves have rough patches but he has already proven himself to be a top manager,his record speaks for itself or do some of ye armchair fans reckon because you are a ace at Championship Manager on the Playstation that you could do better?I am a West Ham fan and I would certainly love him to come to Upton Park as Boss.

Or alternatively if you are a United fan you know everything and your opinion is all that counts/matters.

Ah come on now. You have to appreciate that United fans are used to the greatest manager in the history of British soccer for the last 20+ years so their standards are bound to be unrealistically high.  :P
Post by: Eddie Stobart on December 22, 2010, 02:51:17 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on December 22, 2010, 02:48:57 PM
I expect he'll get a club closer to his home in Murkeydive. Blackburn the most likely at present if his reported severance contract allows him to work immediately.

Jaysis I'd like to think the Hammers are a more attractive option than Blackburn,despite our lowly position atm..
Post by: Geoff Tipps on December 22, 2010, 02:52:06 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on December 22, 2010, 02:48:57 PM

Only reason he'd take that job is to wind Fat Sam up  :D
Post by: Bingo on December 22, 2010, 02:54:17 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on December 22, 2010, 02:50:53 PM
Quote from: Bingo on December 22, 2010, 02:46:59 PM

Ah come on now. You have to appreciate that United fans are used to the greatest manager in the history of British soccer for the last 20+ years so their standards are bound to be unrealistically high.  :P

I'm glad you said 20+ years and didn't try and put in him in the same bracket as the greatest ever, Bob Paisley  ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 22, 2010, 02:57:58 PM
Ah Bingo welcome back,when did you ride back into town
Post by: deiseach on December 22, 2010, 03:01:33 PM

True, and this Liverpool fan thinks Ferguson is the greatest of them all. Between 1966 and the present day, the Scotish championship has been won by a non-Old Firm team on four occassions. Three of them were by the Aberdeen managed by Alex Ferguson. His record with Man U speaks for itself. He'll be impossible to replace. Fun and games ahead!
Post by: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 03:11:11 PM
Quote from: deiseach on December 22, 2010, 03:01:33 PM

True, and this Liverpool fan thinks Ferguson is the greatest of them all. Between 1966 and the present day, the Scotish championship has been won by a non-Old Firm team on four occassions. Three of them were by the Aberdeen managed by Alex Ferguson. His record with Man U speaks for itself. He'll be impossible to replace. Fun and games ahead!

Jim McClean being the other?
Post by: Lecale2 on December 22, 2010, 03:13:50 PM
I'd love to see Rafa back in charge at Liverpool. Woy is boring.
Post by: Bingo on December 22, 2010, 03:14:54 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 22, 2010, 02:57:58 PM
Ah Bingo welcome back,when did you ride back into town

I had dream one night and it was the gaaboard calling me back, it said you's where getting overrun by the mancs and needed a hand!
Post by: deiseach on December 22, 2010, 03:30:43 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 03:11:11 PM

Jim McClean being the other?

Spot the trivia geek
Post by: screenexile on December 22, 2010, 03:38:31 PM

To be honest I can't wait until he retires for a few reasons. He is the best around and I think the Club will hit a bit of turmoil when he leaves as different managers struggle to win over players/fans. . . they will not be able to handle another manager and will judge them by previous standards which is of course ludicrous but can't be helped in todays culture.

I also think that a club that has had so much integrity in the Premier League while other teams seem to be a revolving door for managers will fall into that trap due to supporter expectation. . . I'm sooo excited I can't wait until that day arrives!!!!

Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 22, 2010, 03:47:15 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 22, 2010, 03:38:31 PM

To be honest I can't wait until he retires for a few reasons. He is the best around and I think the Club will hit a bit of turmoil when he leaves as different managers struggle to win over players/fans. . . they will not be able to handle another manager and will judge them by previous standards which is of course ludicrous but can't be helped in todays culture.

I also think that a club that has had so much integrity in the Premier League while other teams seem to be a revolving door for managers will fall into that trap due to supporter expectation. . . I'm sooo excited I can't wait until that day arrives!!!!

I would just love Roy Keane to get the job......
Post by: Cde on December 22, 2010, 04:10:31 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 22, 2010, 03:47:15 PM

He will probably be available
Post by: thebigfella on December 22, 2010, 04:43:52 PM
Quote from: Cde on December 22, 2010, 04:10:31 PM

He will probably be available

Not until he gets Ipswich to the 4th round of the FA cup and Carling Cup final :)
Post by: ross4life on December 22, 2010, 05:10:59 PM

The pain of watching 20+ years of united success  :D

(http://i49.tinypic.com/zsr3fa.gif)
Post by: nrico2006 on December 23, 2010, 10:06:09 AM

I'm sure you would, but on another note the first 4 years of Roy Keanes managerial career have been far more successful than that of Benitez.
Post by: Minder on December 23, 2010, 10:17:07 AM
It really is like being in the f**king schoolyard.
Post by: deiseach on December 23, 2010, 10:23:47 AM
Quote from: Minder on December 23, 2010, 10:17:07 AM

And that's being charitable *spits dummy out*
Post by: nrico2006 on December 23, 2010, 10:43:09 AM
Quote from: Minder on December 23, 2010, 10:17:07 AM

I really doubt you were aware of anyone comparing the managerial abilities of Roy Keane and the FSW 15 or 20 years ago.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on December 23, 2010, 12:19:00 PM
Inter have confirmed they've sacked Rafa.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 23, 2010, 02:20:20 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on December 23, 2010, 12:19:00 PM
Inter have confirmed they've sacked Rafa.

Did he walk out on them or was he sent home...
Post by: Minder on January 23, 2011, 02:03:12 PM
Bad 3-1 defeat to Udinese by Rafas men today, he will be under pressure after that.
Post by: paco on January 23, 2011, 02:04:58 PM
Your man Sanchez from Chile had a great game, the one United are supposedly after.
Post by: ross4life on January 23, 2011, 04:25:40 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 23, 2011, 02:03:12 PM
Bad 3-1 defeat to Udinese by Rafas men today, he will be under pressure after that.

When did he re-join them?
Post by: Minder on January 23, 2011, 04:31:42 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 23, 2011, 04:25:40 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 23, 2011, 02:03:12 PM

When did he re-join them?

Think about it.
Post by: paco on February 05, 2011, 12:52:24 PM
Anyone got a link to the interview from football focus today?
Post by: laoislad on May 15, 2013, 09:40:48 PM
Another European trophy for Rafa.
Fair play.
Post by: Minder on May 15, 2013, 09:47:12 PM
Some manager
Post by: laoislad on May 15, 2013, 09:54:58 PM
Terry is some fcuker.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 15, 2013, 09:57:06 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 15, 2013, 09:40:48 PM
Another European trophy for Rafa.
Fair play.

Ah!  ::)
Post by: From the Bunker on May 15, 2013, 09:59:35 PM
Jez, they don't leave much room on these soccer podiums? Could learn allot from the GAA in letting the Captain(s) go up to a higher level to receive the Trophy. A real mess again tonight!
Post by: ballinaman on May 15, 2013, 10:05:26 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 15, 2013, 09:54:58 PM
Terry is some fcuker.
His last contribution to a european final was falling on his arse in Moscow
Post by: From the Bunker on May 15, 2013, 10:16:53 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 15, 2013, 10:05:26 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 15, 2013, 09:54:58 PM
Terry is some fcuker.
His last contribution to a european final was falling on his arse in Moscow

Title: Re: The Rafa Benitez Thread.
Post by: Minder on May 15, 2013, 10:45:11 PM
Torres & Mata become only fourth players ever to win World Cup, European Championships, European Cup/Champions League & UEFA/Europa League
Post by: EC Unique on May 15, 2013, 10:46:01 PM
London will be at a stand still for the bus tour!
Post by: laoislad on May 15, 2013, 10:49:12 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 15, 2013, 10:45:11 PM
Torres & Mata become only fourth players ever to win World Cup, European Championships, European Cup/Champions League & UEFA/Europa League

whose the other two.
Post by: Minder on May 15, 2013, 10:51:16 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 15, 2013, 10:49:12 PM

whose the other two.

Jurgen Kohler & Andreas Moller
Post by: Billys Boots on May 16, 2013, 08:31:19 AM
Quote from: Minder on May 15, 2013, 10:51:16 PM

whose the other two.

Jurgen Kohler & Andreas Moller

What about Roy Race?
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 08:47:14 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 16, 2013, 08:31:19 AM
What about Roy Race?

He's won nowt with England (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roy_Race). Time is on his side though, and I'd take him with one foot over any other player with two! Except for Hamish Balfour.
Post by: AQMP on May 16, 2013, 08:58:39 AM
Another European trophy for Rafa Chelsea.
Fair play.

Fair play to the players indeed.  Chelsea can now be mentioned in the same breath as Ajax, Juventus and AC Milan as winners of all three European competitions (plus the Super Cup).  Throw in the Full Members Cup triumphs of 1986 and 1990 and you have to say...Chelsea, mes que un club!!
Post by: AQMP on May 16, 2013, 09:00:22 AM

whose the other two.

>:(
Post by: seafoid on May 16, 2013, 09:09:34 AM
Quote from: AQMP on May 16, 2013, 08:58:39 AM
Fair play.

Fair play to the players indeed.  Chelsea can now be mentioned in the same breath as Ajax, Juventus and AC Milan as winners of all three European competitions (plus the Super Cup).  Throw in the Full Members Cup triumphs of 1986 and 1990 and you have to say...Chelsea, mes que un club!!
given the owner they have you can also say "que un messy club"
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 09:13:36 AM
Throw in the Full Members Cup triumphs of 1986 and 1990 and you have to say...Chelsea, mes que un club!!

That's the Zenith Data Systems Cup to you.
Post by: seafoid on May 16, 2013, 09:17:27 AM
Quote from: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 08:47:14 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 16, 2013, 08:31:19 AM
What about Roy Race?

He's won nowt with England (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roy_Race). Time is on his side though, and I'd take him with one foot over any other player with two! Except for Hamish Balfour.
Deiseach

Is it true that Melchester Rovers left Mel Park and moved into a new all seater stadium sponsored by SERCO and ultimately owned by a hedge fund who kicked the team out when they ran behind on the rent? 
Post by: magpie seanie on May 16, 2013, 09:18:57 AM
Congrat to Rafa. Another one for his CV.
Post by: AQMP on May 16, 2013, 09:24:09 AM
Quote from: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 09:13:36 AM
Throw in the Full Members Cup triumphs of 1986 and 1990 and you have to say...Chelsea, mes que un club!!

That's the Zenith Data Systems Cup to you.

Fickle corporate shysters may come and go but it'll always be the Full Members Cup to me!!
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 09:27:23 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 16, 2013, 09:17:27 AM
Deiseach

Is it true that Melchester Rovers left Mel Park and moved into a new all seater stadium sponsored by SERCO and ultimately owned by a hedge fund who kicked the team out when they ran behind on the rent?

I heard they were bought by a man claiming to have billions under the radar but who turned out to be a complete shyster then were liquidated due to an unpaid tax bill only to be resurrected in the lower leagues by a bluff Yorkshireman with Melchester fans acting as if nothing had happened. I know, what a ludicrous storyline!
Post by: seafoid on May 16, 2013, 09:52:05 AM
I have a lot of time for Rafa. He gave a sizeable donation to the Hillsborough families when he left Liverpool.
Post by: orangeman on May 16, 2013, 10:37:23 AM
Chelsea fans even after last nights match were singing good riddance to Rafa.

Crazy stuff even in the euphoria of another European trophy.

What do they want ?
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 10:46:30 AM
Quote from: orangeman on May 16, 2013, 10:37:23 AM
Chelsea fans even after last nights match were singing good riddance to Rafa.

Crazy stuff even in the euphoria of another European trophy.

What do they want ?

The Full Members Cup.
Post by: ballinaman on May 16, 2013, 11:01:02 AM
Fair play.

Hope that's tongue in cheek AQMP!
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 11:02:14 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 16, 2013, 11:01:02 AM
Fair play.

Hope that's tongue in cheek AQMP!

I think something is lost in translation from the original Bullshit.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 16, 2013, 11:07:36 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 16, 2013, 09:18:57 AM

FACT!
Post by: ballinaman on May 16, 2013, 11:10:10 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 16, 2013, 11:07:36 AM

FACT!
Fresh copy laminated this morning no doubt. City anyone? Rafa and money, world domination could ensue.
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 11:13:26 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 16, 2013, 11:10:10 AM

FACT!
Fresh copy laminated this morning no doubt. City anyone? Rafa and money, world domination could ensue.

When it comes to CV's, they could do worse.

(http://www.boxofficefootball.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/BJvDFDICYAAx5bj.jpg)
Post by: AZOffaly on May 16, 2013, 11:16:04 AM
I'm not sure if Real would like his style to be honest. I know he'd love that job.
Post by: rodney trotter on May 16, 2013, 11:20:01 AM
He won the Italian Super Cup, and then World Club Championship with Inter and was sacked a few weeks later. Probaly a bit unfair at the time, though the Seria A form wasn't brilliant. 6 months with Inter. He was never first choice for that job after Mourinho left. Stil he hasn't a bad CV with all those trophies.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 16, 2013, 11:20:49 AM
Why did Liverpool let him go or did he just leave?
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 11:22:19 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 16, 2013, 11:20:49 AM
Why did Liverpool let him go or did he just leave?

He was fired. Remember, we had pretensions to regular CL football back then.
Post by: ballinaman on May 16, 2013, 11:28:22 AM
Quote from: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 11:13:26 AM

FACT!

That picture is going to haunt my dreams for months to come. Thanks! :D
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 11:33:18 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 16, 2013, 11:28:22 AM
That picture is going to haunt my dreams for months to come. Thanks! :D

(http://www.mememaker.net/static/images/memes/843808.jpg)
Post by: spuds on May 16, 2013, 12:08:42 PM

FACT!

(http://www.boxofficefootball.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/BJvDFDICYAAx5bj.jpg)

What has Ger Loughnane got to do with this.
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 12:10:36 PM
Quote from: spuds on May 16, 2013, 12:08:42 PM

What has Ger Loughnane got to do with this.

Now that you mention it, has anyone ever seen Rafa and Marty Morrissey in the same room?
Post by: EC Unique on May 16, 2013, 12:17:02 PM
That is 2 European cups and an FA cup for Torres since he decided to leave Liverpool. He must be happy with his decision when he sees what is going on there.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 16, 2013, 01:24:24 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BKYrAcICEAEIWzH.jpg:large)
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 01:35:34 PM
That's not Marty Morrissey.
Post by: Bingo on May 16, 2013, 02:20:26 PM
Re Rafa, when he was sacked I was livid. It's been 3 seasons and millions of pounds later and we still not back to where we were when he was sacked. Maybe we getting their now and new set up needs time but I think we'd be we'll down the road if he was still in charge.
Post by: stew on May 16, 2013, 03:07:26 PM
Quote from: Bingo on May 16, 2013, 02:20:26 PM
Re Rafa, when he was sacked I was livid. It's been 3 seasons and millions of pounds later and we still not back to where we were when he was sacked. Maybe we getting their now and new set up needs time but I think we'd be we'll down the road if he was still in charge.

That wordsmith hardy will be all over you for that error Bingo. :P
Post by: stew on May 16, 2013, 03:32:14 PM
I always thought him a lucky bastard when at Liverpool and doubted him, I stand corrected, he is a tremendous European manager who has finally figured out squad rotation and what it means, he has better players than his Liverpool days in Chelsea right now but he delivered the goods and has been the consummate professional in his tenure at Chelsea.

Fair play to him and I hope he lands a great gig.

Chelsea, you couldnt like them if you tried, the only redeeming quality they have is lampard.
Post by: Hound on May 16, 2013, 04:11:47 PM
In his last season (2009/10) Liverpool finished 7th - behind Aston Villa, 7pts behind Spurs (4th), 12pts behind Arsenal, 23 pts behind the champions (Chelsea). Not a huge difference between that and the following 3 seasons (although obviously under Hodgson we played worse than at any other time in my memory).

He was very good manager for Liverpool, of that there is absolutely no doubt - but he lost his way. Not all his own doing, he was in constant battle mode with the owners and CEO, therefore, he was under more pressure than most managers, and I think that led to him becoming more defensive, more cranky, he seemed to fall out with a lot of players and I don't think many of them were sorry to see him go. The Alonso-Barry-Aquliani episode was probably single biggest factor in turning the team from CL contenders to also rans.

I think his break has mellowed him again and I think he'd do a good job at Liverpool again if he was given the opportunity. But as a fan I'd be satisfied to stick with Rodgers.
Post by: stew on May 16, 2013, 07:06:43 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 16, 2013, 04:11:47 PM
In his last season (2009/10) Liverpool finished 7th - behind Aston Villa, 7pts behind Spurs (4th), 12pts behind Arsenal, 23 pts behind the champions (Chelsea). Not a huge difference between that and the following 3 seasons (although obviously under Hodgson we played worse than at any other time in my memory).

He was very good manager for Liverpool, of that there is absolutely no doubt - but he lost his way. Not all his own doing, he was in constant battle mode with the owners and CEO, therefore, he was under more pressure than most managers, and I think that led to him becoming more defensive, more cranky, he seemed to fall out with a lot of players and I don't think many of them were sorry to see him go. The Alonso-Barry-Aquliani episode was probably single biggest factor in turning the team from CL contenders to also rans.

I think his break has mellowed him again and I think he'd do a good job at Liverpool again if he was given the opportunity. But as a fan I'd be satisfied to stick with Rodgers.

Feck me, really? I would take Rafa all day long over the eternal optimist.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 16, 2013, 07:17:10 PM
Last nights Europa final was between two sides were that were knocked out in the group stages of the champions league. It still doesn't make sense that teams that fail in one competition are allowed to enter another.

Rafa Benitez was always going to win something with Chelsea and better manager would have won the league cup and FA cup with them this season. Jose Mourinho should win Chelsea the league title next season and they will be one of the teams to beat in the champions league.
Post by: stew on May 16, 2013, 07:28:21 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 16, 2013, 07:17:10 PM
Last nights Europa final was between two sides were that were knocked out in the group stages of the champions league. It still doesn't make sense that teams that fail in one competition are allowed to enter another.

Rafa Benitez was always going to win something with Chelsea and better manager would have won the league cup and FA cup with them this season. Jose Mourinho should win Chelsea the league title next season and they will be one of the teams to beat in the champions league.

That's a load of bollocks, how the hell do you know that? who gives a shite about the league cup? teams sem to try and get knocked out of it and the FA Cup, thanks for Fergie is no longer as big a deal as once it was.

Rafa did a tremendous job given the ridiculous lack of support he got from a classless owner and I would say he overachieved given the situation.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 16, 2013, 08:16:59 PM
Quote from: stew on May 16, 2013, 07:28:21 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 16, 2013, 07:17:10 PM

That's a load of bollocks, how the hell do you know that? who gives a shite about the league cup? teams sem to try and get knocked out of it and the FA Cup, thanks for Fergie is no longer as big a deal as once it was.

Rafa did a tremendous job given the ridiculous lack of support he got from a classless owner and I would say he overachieved given the situation.

Under Benitez Chelsea were beaten by Swansea in the league cup and beaten by Manchester City in the FA cup who weren't good enough to beat Wigan in the final, they also failed to win the super cup and world club cup. Last season Chelsea won the FA Cup and Champions league under Roberto Di Matteo do you think he overachieved?
Post by: magpie seanie on May 17, 2013, 11:02:43 PM
I think it's very unfair to blame United/Ferguson for the cups not being as important. The time United didn't play in the FA Cup was a situation they had no choice in - the English FA wanted them to go to the FIFA World club Cup.

Reality (money) means the league and Champions League (even Europa League) mean more to the people running the clubs. Supporters still love the FA Cup. I for one really want United to win the FA Cup next season to end the drought.
Post by: Rossie11 on May 18, 2013, 12:23:58 AM
Wonder how is Roman feeling tonight after that Copa result..
Week gets better for Rafa.
Title: Re: Rafa Benitez Napoli Manager
Post by: laoislad on May 27, 2013, 09:19:52 PM
New Napoli manager.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 27, 2013, 10:48:09 PM
In Rafa We Trust.

Doesn't be long picking up a new job for a "crap manager".
Post by: EC Unique on May 27, 2013, 11:09:05 PM
Another one for the cv.
Post by: ballinaman on May 28, 2013, 08:58:44 AM
Will do well to hold onto Cavani. Will be interesting to see how he gets on at a club more famed for its anarchy that anything else.
Post by: johnneycool on May 28, 2013, 09:53:19 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 28, 2013, 08:58:44 AM
Will do well to hold onto Cavani. Will be interesting to see how he gets on at a club more famed for its anarchy that anything else.

His years at Liverpool will stand him in good stead   ;)
Post by: ballinaman on May 28, 2013, 11:29:27 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on May 28, 2013, 09:53:19 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 28, 2013, 08:58:44 AM

His years at Liverpool will stand him in good stead   ;)
Napoli is a circus, fans are maniacs. He'll do well because he's a good manager but Napoli is a different story altogether than Liverpool.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 28, 2013, 11:32:59 AM
Just counted - he'll be the 28th manager at Napoli in the last 20 years (June 1993, Claudio Ranieri got the sack). 
Post by: laoislad on March 11, 2016, 02:58:24 PM
He's back!!