GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: RadioGAAGAA on August 30, 2010, 02:51:59 PM

Title: A rumour from yesterday...
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on August 30, 2010, 02:51:59 PM
I did not see this, but I was told; supporters had a banner on the Hill, said "Down with Fences" on it.

Apparently the stewards had it taken down.

Now, you can have your disagreements with the fences, but if this happened, it is a pathetic action from those in charge at Croke, who in my opinion are getting ideas far above their station.
Title: Re: A rumour from yesterday...
Post by: muppet on August 30, 2010, 02:53:12 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on August 30, 2010, 02:51:59 PM
I did not see this, but I was told; supporters had a banner on the Hill, said "Down with Fences" on it.

Apparently the stewards had it taken down.

Now, you can have your disagreements with the fences, but if this happened, it is a pathetic action from those in charge at Croke, who in my opinion are getting ideas far above their station.

Someone should have one next week saying 'Up with Banners' and see what happens.
Post by: rrhf on August 30, 2010, 02:53:55 PM
or Brolly is a tool
Post by: swagger on August 30, 2010, 03:25:43 PM
aye a crowd from saval were gonna put the banner up at the top of the hill until the stewarts called in a guard and told them to take it down. The stewart got some amount of abuse when he took it down, all a bit unnecessary!
Post by: Hardy on August 30, 2010, 04:37:14 PM
The reign of Ayatollah Duffy gets ever more disturbing.
Post by: Jinxy on August 30, 2010, 04:46:32 PM
I hope someone smuggles in a hammer the next day and takes care of that nice, shiny perspex.
Post by: JMohan on August 30, 2010, 05:59:30 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 30, 2010, 04:46:32 PM
I hope someone smuggles in a hammer the next day and takes care of that nice, shiny perspex.
Oh I'd say there's people planning that!
Not being from Ulster Jinxy you'd not be used to seeing some fans with wire cutters getting onto the field a few years ago!

If Down win I'd not want to be a steward trying to stop them!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 31, 2010, 02:25:40 PM
According to a few of my mates that were up on the Hill some Allenwood lads had a banner that said: 'The fence wont keep us Down as JD and Shorty are in town'

One steward spotted it just after the parade and got a few guards up to confiscate it.
Post by: Banana Man on August 31, 2010, 02:29:51 PM
This is fu*king ridiculous - when did we move to North Korea  ???

It will be interesting to see how the supporters at the hurling final behave, should be a good indicator
Post by: boojangles on August 31, 2010, 02:34:27 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 30, 2010, 04:37:14 PM
The reign of Ayatollah Duffy gets ever more disturbing.

He's a direct descendant of Colonel Gaduffy of Libya
Post by: AZOffaly on August 31, 2010, 02:49:53 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 31, 2010, 02:25:40 PM
According to a few of my mates that were up on the Hill some Allenwood lads had a banner that said: 'The fence wont keep us Down as JD and Shorty are in town'

One steward spotted it just after the parade and got a few guards up to confiscate it.

Always Allenwood :D

The security guard was brave though. They could have had a lock of turf up there :D
Post by: wdusln on August 31, 2010, 03:08:45 PM
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF628/455604.jpg)
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF628/455606.jpg)
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF628/455607.jpg)
Post by: AZOffaly on August 31, 2010, 03:13:04 PM
That is beyond pathetic.
Post by: downredblack on August 31, 2010, 03:23:17 PM
Heard 2 , one was that Ambrose will not kick another ball this year , the other involves 1 million dollars , I hope to fook both are not true .
Post by: maddog on August 31, 2010, 03:24:25 PM
Seen them one year make the lads take down the Garvaghy Rd Orangemen on Tour banner which was draped off the upper deck of the canal end. Think it was the ulster final against Donegal about 5 years ago. A bit OTT really.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 31, 2010, 03:25:31 PM
This really annoys me. I sent this email to Croker. I wonder will they deign to repy?

A Chairde.

I wonder would it be possible to get the official stance from Croke Park on the issue of banners on the hill, or elsewhere in Croke Park. Last Sunday a banner erected by Kildare fans read 'They fenced us in, but they won't keep us Down because Doyler and Shorty are in town'. 3 Stewards saw this banner and forced the Kildare fans in question to hand the banner over. I have seen the photographs of this incident, and I must admit it reflects very badly on the GAA in terms of their treatment of supporters, or 'patrons' in the new vernacular.

Is there something offensive about this banner in particular, or is it that Croke Park is hyper sensitive towards criticism of the new barriers on Hill 16? As can be seen from the photographs, which I can send on to you if you wish, the Kildare fans were actually at the back of the Hill, so even the argument about interfering with other fans' views is irrelevant.

I should point out that I am neither a Kildare fan, nor anyone with a vested interest in the Hill 16 debate, but I do have an uneasy sense that the hierarchy in the GAA are moving further and further from being an organisation that is designed to embrace our games, and the people who support and engage in them. It seems to me that the GAA is now taking on some of the more impersonal, business first attitudes of professional sports, and this episode does nothing to challenge that impression. I love Gaelic Games, I'm not sure I love the 'GAA' any more.

Is mise le meas
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 31, 2010, 03:38:30 PM
Good man AZ. Very well said. There'll be cut price turf coming your way from Allenwood this winter!

What is remotely offensive about that banner? Just a few lads showing their support and appreciation for two individual players who could be their friends, clubmates or relatives for all we know. Johnny Doyle has contributed more to the promotion of the GAA than all the suits and bean counters in Croke Park combined.
Post by: Declan on August 31, 2010, 03:41:21 PM
Well put AZ. I remember stewards taking poles of us going into the Hill in years gone by as they could be used as weapons!! Of course it was only the Dublin fans that were subjected to this ;) ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on August 31, 2010, 03:47:50 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 31, 2010, 03:38:30 PM
Good man AZ. Very well said. There'll be cut price turf coming your way from Allenwood this winter!

What is remotely offensive about that banner? Just a few lads showing their support and appreciation for two individual players who could be their friends, clubmates or relatives for all we know. Johnny Doyle has contributed more to the promotion of the GAA than all the suits and bean counters in Croke Park combined.

Turf coming from Kildare to Offaly? Does the phrase 'sand to Arabs' mean anything to you? :D

I just have a real sense that the GAA is morphing into 'The suits in Dublin' as opposed to being a euphemism for 'Us'.

I always felt I was part of the GAA. Now I feel like I am on the outside looking in, even as someone who is involved in coaching, and has played for years.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 31, 2010, 03:51:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 31, 2010, 03:47:50 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 31, 2010, 03:38:30 PM

Turf coming from Kildare to Offaly? Does the phrase 'sand to Arabs' mean anything to you? :D

I just have a real sense that the GAA is morphing into 'The suits in Dublin' as opposed to being a euphemism for 'Us'.

I always felt I was part of the GAA. Now I feel like I am on the outside looking in, even as someone who is involved in coaching, and has played for years.

Far superior quality of turf-cutting around Allenwood, Carbury and Robertstown. Sure ye're only hurling sods of the stuff at each other over in Biffoland!
Post by: AZOffaly on August 31, 2010, 03:53:45 PM
Come here now, I'll listen to a lot of stuff from Kildare lads, especially when it comes to Horses or SUVs. But when it comes to the brown gold, I'll bow to no Lilywhite :) Sure ye only scrape it off the top.

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 31, 2010, 03:58:28 PM
Tomás Connor and Mick Wright had to move here to learn to use the sleán correctly.

Plenty of turf around Clane and Celbridge nowadays!  :D
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 31, 2010, 04:21:45 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 31, 2010, 03:58:28 PM
Tomás Connor and Mick Wright had to move here to learn to use the sleán correctly.

Plenty of turf around Clane and Celbridge nowadays!  :D

Well put Az it will be interesting to se if you get a reply , and speaking of slean' s ( apologies in advance Hardy  ;) ) any one know where ya  can pick up a  left handed one
Post by: Hardy on August 31, 2010, 04:24:43 PM
Well done and well said, AZ.
Post by: Celt_Man on August 31, 2010, 04:42:23 PM
Just pathetic....

Do the stewards have the power to take that off them anyway?  I couldn't actually see me handing it over to be honest...

excellent work there AZ too
Post by: ziggysego on August 31, 2010, 04:46:50 PM
Great letter AZ. A sensible and dignity letter. Hopefully the reply will be the same, if one is forecoming.
Post by: Hardy on August 31, 2010, 04:47:35 PM
What, Ziggy?
Post by: Billys Boots on August 31, 2010, 04:50:53 PM
Come again, Zig?
Post by: antoinse on August 31, 2010, 04:59:14 PM
AZ you are a hero for putting together such a sweet script. I do not expect you will get a response from Duffy, Cooney, Mc Gill or Mc Kenna.
I wonder how brave that steward would have been if it was the Dubs had the banner!
Post by: AZOffaly on August 31, 2010, 05:14:32 PM
Quote from: antoinse on August 31, 2010, 04:59:14 PM
AZ you are a hero for putting together such a sweet script. I do not expect you will get a response from Duffy, Cooney, Mc Gill or Mc Kenna.
I wonder how brave that steward would have been if it was the Dubs had the banner!

Ara lads, I'm only asking them a question. They'll hardly be putting my face on stamps. I was just talking about this with my father there at the weekend, and he's been involved for years, and is currently manager of our senior club team at home. His opinion is the same as mine, everyone is being alienated and talked down to, in the interests of big money. I think Croker has taken it's eye off the ball, and what makes our games special.

I even hate the way they refer to us as 'patrons'.
Post by: Hardy on August 31, 2010, 05:26:57 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 31, 2010, 05:14:32 PM

In fact ... they're patronising us.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on August 31, 2010, 07:02:51 PM
They are getting far too big for their boots.

Perhaps someone should get a club motion put forward to congress, a nice and simple motion; remove the bunch of dictators involved with this episode from office.
Post by: Jinxy on August 31, 2010, 07:58:00 PM
For peats sake, its about time we turfed these jokers out.
Sod the stupid fence.
Post by: Blue Island on August 31, 2010, 09:57:08 PM
This is getting ridiculous. Since I was child going to Croke Park I always felt that the place belonged to the people. As far as I was concerned the GAA people built it and therefore a sense of attachment existed that does not exist for example in major soccer grounds.

The hierarchy have lost the run of themselves and have forgotten who actually owns the place. Croke Park is not Wembley and who gave them the right to tell the boys to take their inoffensive banner down in what is essentially their ground.

This crap that is being sold to us about the fence ensuring safety is ludicrous. It is proven time and time again that fences causes injuries not prevent them.
Post by: crossfire on August 31, 2010, 10:14:39 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 31, 2010, 03:25:31 PM
This really annoys me. I sent this email to Croker. I wonder will they deign to repy?

A Chairde.

I wonder would it be possible to get the official stance from Croke Park on the issue of banners on the hill, or elsewhere in Croke Park. Last Sunday a banner erected by Kildare fans read 'They fenced us in, but they won't keep us Down because Doyler and Shorty are in town'. 3 Stewards saw this banner and forced the Kildare fans in question to hand the banner over. I have seen the photographs of this incident, and I must admit it reflects very badly on the GAA in terms of their treatment of supporters, or 'patrons' in the new vernacular.

Is there something offensive about this banner in particular, or is it that Croke Park is hyper sensitive towards criticism of the new barriers on Hill 16? As can be seen from the photographs, which I can send on to you if you wish, the Kildare fans were actually at the back of the Hill, so even the argument about interfering with other fans' views is irrelevant.

I should point out that I am neither a Kildare fan, nor anyone with a vested interest in the Hill 16 debate, but I do have an uneasy sense that the hierarchy in the GAA are moving further and further from being an organisation that is designed to embrace our games, and the people who support and engage in them. It seems to me that the GAA is now taking on some of the more impersonal, business first attitudes of professional sports, and this episode does nothing to challenge that impression. I love Gaelic Games, I'm not sure I love the 'GAA' any more.

Is mise le meas

Well said AZ
Post by: ziggysego on September 01, 2010, 06:44:31 PM
BBC Newsline doing a piece on Down fans who weren't allowed to Croke Park due to similar banners shortly.
Post by: paddypastit on September 01, 2010, 11:02:50 PM
Time was - the 70s certainly - when a key part of the 'colour' of an AI was all those cheesey home made banners with slogans like that that backed up named players - only place you'll see them now is on 'reeling in the years'

Think this is the best line that I have seen on the board in a long time and one that certainly echos true with me
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 31, 2010, 03:25:31 PM

I love Gaelic Games, I'm not sure I love the 'GAA' any more.
Post by: heffo on September 02, 2010, 11:14:54 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 31, 2010, 05:14:32 PM
Quote from: antoinse on August 31, 2010, 04:59:14 PM

So do I - we're not patrons - we're the landlords.

I read a quote from a poster on Res Dubs who tried to justify his very personal criticism of Pat Gilroy - he said something along the lines of 'I spend my money on buying the gear, paying in to see the Dubs and that entitles me to have my say'

Every year we get closer and closer to the Sky Sports model of the Premier league..
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on September 02, 2010, 11:28:59 AM
its all getting a bit like animal farm (the orwell version ;))
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 02, 2010, 11:46:47 AM
Quote from: hardstation on September 02, 2010, 10:45:35 AM
No worse than the mods on here. Someone should send them an email like AZ's.

what have the mods been up to Hardstation ?
Post by: lawnseed on September 02, 2010, 10:19:01 PM
i think the such and such banners on tour are so fukn stupid, the term "on tour" is borrowed from the british army. a term used to describe a tour of duty usally abroad when 'we' had an empire many years ago. sad  ::)
Post by: haranguerer on September 03, 2010, 10:55:32 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on September 02, 2010, 10:19:01 PM
i think the such and such banners on tour are so fukn stupid, the term "on tour" is borrowed from the british army. a term used to describe a tour of duty usally abroad when 'we' had an empire many years ago. sad  ::)

What???? ::)

It means you're on tour - they're just words, not borrowed from anywhere. f**k me.... :-\
Post by: saffron sam2 on September 03, 2010, 11:29:29 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 01, 2010, 06:44:31 PM
BBC Newsline doing a piece on Down fans who weren't allowed to Croke Park due to similar banners shortly.

Saw that. The guy from Saval said someone must have taken offence to their banner.

Brilliant.