Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Lazer on August 27, 2010, 02:04:35 PM

Title: Hairdressers
Post by: Lazer on August 27, 2010, 02:04:35 PM
Can any of the ladies on this board recommend a hairdressers in Belfast!

Reasonably priced ie: c. £25 for wash cut a blow dry!
Title: Re: Hairdressers
Post by: ziggysego on August 27, 2010, 02:06:09 PM
That reminds me, I need a haircut.
Post by: Puckoon on August 27, 2010, 02:13:09 PM
I'll never get this fascination with the wash and blow dry.

My mother has been going to the same hairdresser every Saturday morning at the same time for the same damn wash and blow dry since I was knee high to a grass hopper.

She has a perfectly good hairdryer at home. Granted, the water pressure in the shower could be better - but sure with all the shampoos that are available these days.

I just don't get it.
Post by: Rois on August 27, 2010, 02:19:41 PM
Great topic - got my hair done yesterday.

Zuni on Botanic Avenue, above the Cancer Research shop -  not sure if it would be that cheap though.  Ask for a girl called Maeve. 

Peter Mark at Forestside is grand too, just don't get the senior stylist as they're dearer.

Could give you North Belfast ones that are prob a bit cheaper but not as attractive to non-locals.

The old Foxy's on Agincourt Avenue is now a blow dry bar and does it for very little, but don't think they cut hair.

Post by: Minder on August 27, 2010, 02:22:29 PM
My wife goes to one on the Antrim Rd, can't remember the name, which isn't much use.
Post by: gerry on August 27, 2010, 02:41:22 PM
i use this man

(http://twistedhumor.info/images/cutting-the-grass-on-a-bald-head-tags-funny-tatoo-idea.jpg)
Post by: blewuporstuffed on August 27, 2010, 02:44:17 PM
Quote from: Rois on August 27, 2010, 02:19:41 PM

Zuni on Botanic Avenue, above the Cancer Research shop -  not sure if it would be that cheap though.  Ask for a girl called Maeve. 

Peter Mark at Forestside is grand too, just don't get the senior stylist as they're dearer.

Could give you North Belfast ones that are prob a bit cheaper but not as attractive to non-locals.

The old Foxy's on Agincourt Avenue is now a blow dry bar and does it for very little, but don't think they cut hair.

A what?  ???
Post by: Orior on August 27, 2010, 02:57:02 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 27, 2010, 02:22:29 PM
My wife goes to one on the Antrim Rd, can't remember the name, which isn't much use.

They dont cut hair any longer.
Post by: Lazer on August 27, 2010, 03:08:40 PM
I've now made an appointment at Lisa hair design on Rosemary Street

Tyoical me - i left it to the last minute, going to an wedding evening reception tomorrow night and hadn't sorted anything out

Still haven't decided what i'm wearing either!

The Semi Final is demanding my attention more than the wedding!
Post by: Hardy on August 27, 2010, 03:17:28 PM
Oh sweet jesus. One fella wants to tell us all about his fumbling about in a car as a substitute for a sex life and now we have running commentaries on fu**in haircuts.

I think I'll start a blog here on the planning, execution and aftermath of my toenail cutting sessions.
Post by: supersarsfields on August 27, 2010, 03:25:05 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 27, 2010, 03:17:28 PM
Oh sweet jesus. One fella wants to tell us all about his fumbling about in a car as a substitute for a sex life and now we have running commentaries on f***in haircuts.

I think I'll start a blog here on the planning, execution and aftermath of my toenail cutting sessions.

that's harsh hardy, the OP was just looking advise for somewere for a haircut in Belfast! Been plenty of threads on here looking to get locals advise on things from stag do's to places to eat!

Are you bald by any chance?   :P
Post by: samboswig on August 27, 2010, 03:30:12 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 27, 2010, 02:57:02 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 27, 2010, 02:22:29 PM

They dont cut hair any longer.

Surely they cut it shorter.
Post by: maggie on August 27, 2010, 03:33:06 PM
When i was in America, they called a blow-dry a 'blow-out'.
Always made me  :) when i saw the sign in the window for it.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 27, 2010, 04:35:05 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 27, 2010, 02:13:09 PM
I'll never get this fascination with the wash and blow dry.

My mother has been going to the same hairdresser every Saturday morning at the same time for the same damn wash and blow dry since I was knee high to a grass hopper.

She has a perfectly good hairdryer at home. Granted, the water pressure in the shower could be better - but sure with all the shampoos that are available these days.

I just don't get it.

Have ye much lime? Put the shower head in a bowl of vinegar overnight and it will clean it out.

As for hairdressers? Ha what are them  :-[
Post by: Orior on August 27, 2010, 04:35:30 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on August 27, 2010, 03:25:05 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 27, 2010, 03:17:28 PM
Oh sweet jesus. One fella wants to tell us all about his fumbling about in a car as a substitute for a sex life and now we have running commentaries on f***in haircuts.

that's harsh hardy, the OP was just looking advise for somewere for a haircut in Belfast! Been plenty of threads on here looking to get locals advise on things from stag do's to places to eat!

Are you bald by any chance?   :P

Mon-Fri yes.

Sat-Sun no, Hardy becomes Harriet with long blonde hair and big eye lashes.
Post by: tyrone girl on August 27, 2010, 04:57:09 PM
Quote from: Rois on August 27, 2010, 02:19:41 PM

Ah aul Foxys was great every wed for the bot  :'( :'( :'(. Dirt cheap and did a great job
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 27, 2010, 05:59:12 PM
I know a woman that goes to the hair dressers about every other day to get it "combed" wtf is that about.

I hate cutting my toe nails.
Post by: Rois on August 27, 2010, 10:26:49 PM
A bottle of the shampoo and conditioner I use costs about £30 for the two, every five or six wks. Serum is a tenner a go.
I have removable extensions that have to be dyed when I get reblonded (every six wks).
Salon hairdryer and ghds but they last a couple of yrs.

Dear God just counted up and I spend at least £1,000 a yr on hair.

Post by: ziggysego on August 27, 2010, 11:34:04 PM
I got my haircut today. Went for a 3 and 2, instead of the usual 2 and 1.
Post by: ONeill on August 27, 2010, 11:39:42 PM
Last visit to the barber: 1999, in Birmingham. Cost: £5.

Bought a shaver on QVC in 1999 for £26.99 and haven't looked back since. Cut her every 6 days.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 27, 2010, 11:40:52 PM
Quote from: Rois on August 27, 2010, 10:26:49 PM
A bottle of the shampoo and conditioner I use costs about £30 for the two, every five or six wks. Serum is a tenner a go.
I have removable extensions that have to be dyed when I get reblonded (every six wks).
Salon hairdryer and ghds but they last a couple of yrs.

Dear God just counted up and I spend at least £1,000 a yr on hair.

Well at least noone could accuse you of being vain, Rois :)
Post by: ziggysego on August 27, 2010, 11:41:51 PM
Girls used to feel my freshly shaven head. Why? It annoyed me.
Post by: Rois on August 28, 2010, 12:00:51 AM
Cheeky bugger Tony (typing this just after I've slapped on a layer of fake tan).
Not vain at all, just not blessed with natural beauty unfortunately so my life is an endless endeavour to fund and carry out procedures to get rid of anything natural!

Post by: Tony Baloney on August 28, 2010, 12:05:16 AM
Quote from: Rois on August 28, 2010, 12:00:51 AM
Cheeky bugger Tony (typing this just after I've slapped on a layer of fake tan).
Not vain at all, just not blessed with natural beauty unfortunately so my life is an endless endeavour to fund and carry out procedures to get rid of anything natural!
Ach I'm only keeping you going. I'm sure it's money well spent. I cry about spending £8 every month or so! Hairdressing must be some racket at the prices you're quoting!
Post by: ziggysego on August 28, 2010, 12:13:35 AM

I know you're fishing here Rois, but you are a beauty.
Post by: Tyrones own on August 28, 2010, 12:15:44 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 28, 2010, 12:13:35 AM

Yea and she has a quare fresh one on the hook now :-X
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 28, 2010, 12:20:08 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 28, 2010, 12:13:35 AM

Creep.
Post by: ziggysego on August 28, 2010, 12:23:44 AM
Jaysus, can't a guy say something nice without there being an ulterior motive?
Post by: Rois on August 28, 2010, 12:27:25 AM
Who do I want to look like? A tan, blonde, perfect-toothed, thinner version of myself will do.

Isn't it obvious I'm in the depths of Tyrone 'the night with nothing to do but talk about hair and tan.

What's your personal grooming secret? Fancy shampoo? Expensive moisturizer?

Ziggy - thank you. Forget about themens.
Post by: Lazer on August 28, 2010, 12:34:24 AM
i could never have predicted what this thread has turn into!

Post by: ziggysego on August 28, 2010, 12:38:10 AM
Quote from: Lazer on August 28, 2010, 12:34:24 AM

You clearly haven't been round here long enough  :D
Post by: Niall Quinn on August 28, 2010, 12:52:41 AM
I've wore a bit of fake tan in my day.
Post by: Lazer on August 28, 2010, 12:59:39 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 28, 2010, 12:38:10 AM
Quote from: Lazer on August 28, 2010, 12:34:24 AM

You clearly haven't been round here long enough  :D

Been around along time, originally just browsing, and still don't post that often!
But i'm still watching
Post by: Niall Quinn on August 28, 2010, 01:16:03 AM
Quote from: hardstation on August 28, 2010, 12:56:19 AM
Quote from: Niall Quinn on August 28, 2010, 12:52:41 AM
I've wore a bit of fake tan in my day.
Hallowe'en - Gandhi.

Arnold from Different Strokes - not easy for a big pale Irish lig to pull off.