GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: lilpaulie85 on August 19, 2010, 12:14:25 PM

Poll
Question: 2010 All Ireland Champions?
Option 1: Kilkenny
Option 2: Tipp
Title: All Ireland S.H.C. Final
Post by: lilpaulie85 on August 19, 2010, 12:14:25 PM
So who is going to take it? I cant see tipp winning on their semi display, shipping 1-18 to a team playing with one forward for long spells, Alot was made of the manner of their victory over waterford and that the scoreline didn't reflect fully their dominance. The fact is that the manner in which you have won does not matter if you havent put that dominance on the scoreboard. The cats rarely have the ball in their possession for longer than 20 - 30 seconds in total before an attempt on goal is made and usually converted in fairness. It's this ability to keep the score board ticking over constantly which i think is kilkennys defining characteristic, and which is what makes them so hard to compete with let alone beat. tipp may well push them close however unless they can convert more possession into scores than they have all year i think the cats will get the 5.
Title: Re: All Ireland S.H.C. Final
Post by: Canalman on August 19, 2010, 03:58:42 PM
Absolutely convinced that Tipp will win it and alot easier than people think. The end comes quickly and harshly to all great teams and imo you cannot underestimate hunger to win. For the 1st time I see one or two passengers on a Cody team.

Tipp by 5 points. 

Hope to be there myself.
Post by: orangeman on August 19, 2010, 04:13:24 PM
Quote from: Canalman on August 19, 2010, 03:58:42 PM
Absolutely convinced that Tipp will win it and alot easier than people think. The end comes quickly and harshly to all great teams and imo you cannot underestimate hunger to win. For the 1st time I see one or two passengers on a Cody team.Tipp by 5 points. 

Hope to be there myself.

Like who ?
Post by: lilpaulie85 on August 19, 2010, 04:16:36 PM
i think thats a bit much, Cody has shown he doesn't bring passengers the bench is too strong to be sure of your place in the starting 15.
Post by: gallsman on August 19, 2010, 04:35:25 PM
Would also love to know who the passengers are Canalman. I think KK are every bit as good as last year, perhaps even better.
Post by: Canalman on August 19, 2010, 04:52:53 PM
Weak links (on 2010 form anyway and mindful how woeful Cork were)

Eddie Brennan
Aidan Fogarty
Comerford ( dropped )

Don't get me wrong these lads are/were brilliant hurlers but I just think that their best days(admittedly brilliant) are behind them.

However, don't be surprised if each of them have great games in AIF and prove me wrong.

Would these lads be starting if KK had a fully fit panel? I have my doubts.

Just think Tipp have a better balance and more players hitting form at right time.

I am not wumming by the way and don't mean any disrespect to the lads mentioned.
Post by: orangeman on August 19, 2010, 04:55:57 PM
Quote from: Canalman on August 19, 2010, 04:52:53 PM
Weak links (on 2010 form anyway and mindful how woeful Cork were)

Eddie Brennan
Aidan Fogarty
Comerford ( dropped )

Don't get me wrong these lads are/were brilliant hurlers but I just think that their best days(admittedly brilliant) are behind them.

However, don't be surprised if each of them have great games in AIF and prove me wrong.

Would these lads be starting if KK had a fully fit panel? I have my doubts.

Just think Tipp have a better balance and more players hitting form at right time.

I am not wumming by the way and don't mean any disrespect to the lads mentioned.

You have to be on the wum !
Post by: gallsman on August 19, 2010, 05:19:33 PM
Who would you replace Eddie Brennan with from a "fully fit" KK panel? Richie Hogan? Hasn't proved himself. Mulhall? Hasn't started a championship match. Brennan is still one of the best men in the country to bag a goal.

Fogarty? Has never nailed down a spot but, to my mind, has never once let Kilkenny down. Scored 1-1 the last day.

Gorta? Cam on the last day and scored a wonder point with his first touch. Comerford isn't there to be flashy and classy like Shefflin and Power, he's there to absolutely work his hole off, which he does brilliantly.

With regards to Tipp having players hitting form at the right time, seven Kilkenny forwards scored from the first half against Cork, as did Michael Fennelly. Players like McGrath and O'Brien will get nowhere near the space and time they did against Waterford and their midfield will be hassled and harried all day by whatever combination Cody picks - he has four of the best midfielders in the country to choose from.

Don't get me wrong, Tipp could certainly win this match, but I think you're stretching it a bit to say that Tipp will win it handily and that KK are on the way down.
Post by: gallsman on August 31, 2010, 12:14:47 PM
Time to crank up the hype levels a little bit?

I have to ask, is this the biggest hurling match in history? (Reillers, you opinion doesn't count) My dad has been going to Croke Park for over fifty years and I've never seen him so excited. My first final was Wexford-Limerick in 1996 and it's certainly the biggest I can remember.
Post by: EddieMerx on August 31, 2010, 01:05:28 PM
Can't see Tipp doing this, they need a 100% fit Eoin Kelly to stand any chance but unfortunately he is not at his best. I am making the bold claim that this will be over by half time... Kilkenny to turn in a performance unlike anything we have seen before in Croker :)
Post by: cicfada on August 31, 2010, 01:19:12 PM
I  would love to have passengers like Brennan and Fogarty in my team. It's a habit that Kilkenny have that one day a player plays well and then the next day it's someone else's turn. Like Power in the semifinal it'll be Fogarty or brennan the next! I wonder how fit  Shefflin really is to be honest because without him Kilkenny could struggle!It's just that he directs things around him and inspires the rest of them! For Tipp to  win they need Kelly and Corbett and another forward to play out of their skins. John o Brien is fierce windy and rarely puts 2  good games back to back!! it might be the stage for Noel Mc Grath to do his stuff. Meanwhile it's the backs that have to keep all the Kilkenny  forwards quiet  and that will not happen! I don't really know who I want to win this as I am sick of the sight of the cats while still admiring their brilliance! And Tipp are still the most arrogant county around which is amazing when you consider that Offaly have won more all Irelands than them in the last 30 years!! Also the fact that the All Ireland  U21 final is fixed in Thurles, basically a home game for them, leaves a  poor taste in my mouth! THe Tipp management had nothing to do with it but it's so unfair! Unfortunately these days I work weekends and so will not see the match live but Micheal O muircheartaigh will keep me  informed I'm sure!!
Post by: bottlethrower7 on August 31, 2010, 04:24:30 PM
Quote from: Canalman on August 19, 2010, 03:58:42 PM
Absolutely convinced that Tipp will win it and alot easier than people think. The end comes quickly and harshly to all great teams and imo you cannot underestimate hunger to win. For the 1st time I see one or two passengers on a Cody team.

Tipp by 5 points. 

Hope to be there myself.

agreed. In fact I think Tipp's subs would beat Kilkenny who, quite frankly, have no chance at all.

word has it theres lots of spare tickets in Kilkenny as they won't travel in any great numbers, due to the lack of any real hope that Kilkenny have in this game.
Post by: Karinalawlor on August 31, 2010, 11:10:58 PM
Why all negative about tipp?? We have the utmost respect for the Kilkenny team in Tipperary, and I'm sick of people writing us off as a team bottom line it will be the best match of the year between the best two counties in Ireland and I can't wait for it!
Post by: lilpaulie85 on September 01, 2010, 10:37:36 AM
Quote from: Karinalawlor on August 31, 2010, 11:10:58 PM
Why all negative about tipp?? We have the utmost respect for the Kilkenny team in Tipperary, and I'm sick of people writing us off as a team bottom line it will be the best match of the year between the best two counties in Ireland and I can't wait for it!

Just calling it as we see it is all, thats not to say i haven't been wrong before just don't think tipp will win it this year
Post by: johnneycool on September 02, 2010, 09:04:04 AM
Quote from: Karinalawlor on August 31, 2010, 11:10:58 PM

Tipps dire performance down by the Lee is still fresh in the mind even though they've seen off Wexford, Galway and Waterford since.

Certainly they have improved and if their defence can  improve a bit more then I can see a real game taking place on Sunday. Tipp will need to get at least three goals to win it as they'll conceed some down the other end.

Still going with Kilkenny by two points even minus Shefflin.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 02, 2010, 09:35:22 PM
I think Tipp will win, by 3/4.
Post by: The Wedger on September 03, 2010, 08:00:30 AM
Tipp name an unchanged side:

Tipperary (All-Ireland SHC final v Kilkenny) - Brendan Cummins, Paddy Stapleton, Paul Curran, Michael Cahill, Declan Fanning, Conor O'Mahony, Padraic Maher, Brendan Maher, Shane McGrath, Gearóid Ryan, Patrick Maher, John O'Brien, Noel McGrath, Eoin Kelly, Lar Corbett.
Post by: The Wedger on September 03, 2010, 08:03:19 AM
Leahy fears sideline clash could haunt Tipp

Tipperary legend John Leahy fears that the sideline altercation between Liam Sheedy and Brian Cody earlier this year could come back to haunt the Premier County.

The rival managers squared up to each other on the Semple Stadium sideline during Tipp's National League victory in March, and Leahy believes Kilkenny could use the incident as motivation in Sunday's All-Ireland final.

Cody pointed a finger at Sheedy, who responded by pushing the Kilkenny manager in the chest. But the pair shook hands at the final whistle and dismissed the flashpoint after the game.

"Kilkenny's performances over the last few years show that they are the best team in the country," 1989 and '91 All-Ireland winner Leahy said.

"On top of that, also, I'm a bit concerned with the Tipp-Kilkenny match that happened in Thurles when Liam Sheedy had a go at Cody. Will that come back to haunt Tipperary hurling for the final? That'll give Kilkenny a huge incentive to play against Tipperary.

"The ideal situation from a Kilkenny point of view would be that if you did want to do five-in-a-row, you would want to beat Tipp to do it. Living on the border (Mullinahone), I hear huge rivalry there.

"It's great, but it's intense as well and I'm sure every Kilkenny player would think if you're going to do five-in-a-row, then why not cap it off by beating Tipperary, one of their main rivals?"
Post by: bottlethrower7 on September 03, 2010, 10:05:32 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 02, 2010, 09:35:22 PM

good detailed analysis there
Post by: bottlethrower7 on September 03, 2010, 10:06:20 AM
Quote from: The Wedger on September 03, 2010, 08:03:19 AM
Tipperary legend John Leahy fears that the sideline altercation between Liam Sheedy and Brian Cody earlier this year could come back to haunt the Premier County.

Leahy has run Tipp down before every single game they played this year. Hes the new Babs.
Post by: johnneycool on September 03, 2010, 11:39:44 AM

The rival managers squared up to each other on the Semple Stadium sideline during Tipp's National League victory in March, and Leahy believes Kilkenny could use the incident as motivation in Sunday's All-Ireland final.

Cody pointed a finger at Sheedy, who responded by pushing the Kilkenny manager in the chest. But the pair shook hands at the final whistle and dismissed the flashpoint after the game.

"Kilkenny's performances over the last few years show that they are the best team in the country," 1989 and '91 All-Ireland winner Leahy said.

"On top of that, also, I'm a bit concerned with the Tipp-Kilkenny match that happened in Thurles when Liam Sheedy had a go at Cody. Will that come back to haunt Tipperary hurling for the final? That'll give Kilkenny a huge incentive to play against Tipperary.

"The ideal situation from a Kilkenny point of view would be that if you did want to do five-in-a-row, you would want to beat Tipp to do it. Living on the border (Mullinahone), I hear huge rivalry there.

"It's great, but it's intense as well and I'm sure every Kilkenny player would think if you're going to do five-in-a-row, then why not cap it off by beating Tipperary, one of their main rivals?"

That'll not matter a jot to Cody and Kilkenny.

Beating Cork and Tipp on their way to five in a row will be incentive enough I'd have thought.
Post by: lilpaulie85 on September 03, 2010, 11:49:42 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 03, 2010, 11:39:44 AM

That'll not matter a jot to Cody and Kilkenny.

Beating Cork and Tipp on their way to five in a row will be incentive enough I'd have thought.

Just winning is enough for cody id have taught
Post by: mouview on September 03, 2010, 01:40:12 PM
Why KK will win on Sunday;

•   Proven winners and big day performers, don't panic or do off-days
•   They are so in-sync with each other's style of play, e.g. under the dropping ball and in a ruck, invariably a black-and-amber jersey emerges with the sliotar
•   They don't need to do tactics or systems, just play the orthodox 15 in position
•   Great back-up off the bench, especially for the crucial midfield sector
•   5-in-a-row is a great incentive

Why KK mightn't win on Sunday;
•   I don't necessarily believe they're better this year than last; their league campaign wasn't as good and the toughest test they've had to date was against a poorly-selected and tactically-bad Galway side who still stuck with them for 35 minutes. In 2009 Galway gave them a tougher test and W'ford did too in the semi.
•   The KK forward division rely on Shefflin much more than many realise; the rest of them, bar Power, are having relatively quiet years. Additionally the full-back line may be vulnerable; Dalton may not be the finished article (yet), Hickey can be slow and Tyrrell had a tough outing v Cork. If they all start, I predict that at least 4 of the following will be replaced on Sunday *by necessity* - Dalton, Hickey, Comerford, Reid, Brennan, Larkin, Fogarty.
•   Tipp have had a tougher campaign to date; had a great win over Galway and had a good outing v W'ford. Their form is good, especially in the forwards. Also, they have the only midfield in the country that can possibly break even with KK. Their bench has improved too.
•   Tipp won't lack for hunger and will want revenge for last year.
•   KK's injuries and fitness doubts may finally catch up with them.

A lot of permutations there; it's dodgy to back against the house but I just think Tipp have more going for them and that KK have too many question marks over their heads. Tipp, (by anything up to 7!!).
Post by: passedit on September 03, 2010, 05:22:56 PM
all fair points mouview and it's hard to overestimate the importance of the feeling they left it behind them last year (whether thats true or not) as a motivating and confidence building factor.

Tipp honestly believe they are a match for kilkenny and belief goes a long way.

The comparison has already been made with offaly and Kerry and indeed offaly were kerry's victims the year before while kerry were struggling with injuries and expectation in 82. I think it'll be a cracking match and if we get a finish like 82 that'd be nice. (any of the tipp subs play in 01?).

It's a third tipp down double for me so.
Post by: Bud Wiser on September 03, 2010, 07:26:08 PM
QuoteI predict that at least 4 of the following will be replaced on Sunday *by necessity* - Dalton, Hickey, Comerford, Reid, Brennan, Larkin, Fogarty.

Brennan & Dalton?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w-9jb51F_to (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w-9jb51F_to)

Fogarty is not much faster.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9O0K6i4ewaw (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9O0K6i4ewaw)

Comerford gave the impression to me that he could score a point sleepwalking when he came on against Cork and knows where the net is too?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhU_kT1tgZY (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhU_kT1tgZY)

Reid?  There are plenty of Tipp lads would rather see him sitting in the stand than anywhere near  the 20 meter line !!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GZITlDlAb8Y (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GZITlDlAb8Y)

In any case, all the talking is done now and in an hour and a half Cody will announce his team.  Right up until then nobody knows who will make the starting fifteen, Charlie Carter comes to mind but it won't matter because they are all playing as a squad and the build up is absolutely fantastic.  May the best team win. C'mon the Cat's.

Post by: Minder on September 03, 2010, 09:51:09 PM
No Rice or Hogan.

Ryan
Dalton Hickey Tyrrell
Walsh Tennyson Delaney
Cha Fitz Fennelly
Reid Shefflin Larkin
Brennan Power Fogarty
Post by: orangeman on September 03, 2010, 10:12:07 PM
Henry Shefflin and John Tennyson will start for Kilkenny in the GAA Hurling All-Ireland final on Sunday.

Ballyhale Shamrocks star Shefflin was expected to miss the game immediately after suffering a cruciate ligament injury during the Cats' All-Ireland semi-final victory over Cork.

But he has trained with the squad in recent weeks without showing any adverse reaction and has been deemed fit to start in the half-forward line.

Tennyson was also considered a doubt due to a ruptured cruciate suffered in the build-up to the semi-final but Kilkenny manager Brian Cody has decided that he is fit enough to take his place in the starting line-up.

The Carrickshock man will line out at centre-back in place of Brian Hogan, who suffered a broken finger during training in the lead-up to the final.

James Ryall, who replaced Hogan when he was forced off after 15 minutes of the semi-final with a shoulder injury, is named on the bench along with 2009 All Star winning midfielder Michael Rice.

There had been speculation that Rice would be brought into the forward division at the expense of Eddie Brennan or TJ Reid but Kilkenny have opted to stick with the status quo.

Michael Kavanagh, Derek Lyng and Martin Comerford are also among the options on the bench while Hogan is also named as a substitute.

Shefflin's selection means that the inclusion of Tennyson is the only change from the Kilkenny team that beat Cork on 8 August.

TJ Reid of Ballyhale Shamrocks captains the team.

Kilkenny team to play Tipperary in the GAA Hurling All-Ireland final on Sunday 5 September (3.30pm):

1. PJ Ryan (Fenians)
2. John Dalton (Carrickshock)
3. Noel Hickey (Dunnamaggin)
4. Jackie Tyrrell (James Stephens)
5. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)
6. John Tennyson (Carrickshock)
7. J.J. Delaney (Fenians)
8. James 'Cha' Fitzpatrick (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
9. Michael Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
10. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks) (Captain)
11. Henry Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
12. Eoin Larkin (James Stephens)
13. Eddie Brennan (Graig Ballycallan)
14. Richard Power (Carrickshock)
15. Aidan Fogarty (Emeralds)
Post by: ardmhachaabu on September 03, 2010, 10:33:04 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 03, 2010, 09:51:09 PM
No Rice or Hogan.

Ryan
Dalton Hickey Tyrrell
Walsh Tennyson Delaney
Cha Fitz Fennelly
Reid Shefflin Larkin
Brennan Power Fogarty
Cody's spoilt for choice
Post by: sammymaguire on September 03, 2010, 10:42:37 PM
Quote from: bottlethrower7 on September 03, 2010, 10:05:32 AM

And the guy needs a comprehensive analysis to accompany his post about his opinion on the game on this thread to keep you happy does he??
Post by: ha ha derry on September 04, 2010, 07:35:58 AM
Last week i was thinking it would be a close game with the cats just edging it. This week i think Kilkenny by 6/7 just pulling away (as they always do) it the last ten minutes. Kilkennys superior mental strength being the difference. Hope its as good as last years epic!
Just got a ticket there on wed nite.
Post by: slow corner back on September 04, 2010, 12:08:32 PM
If Tennyson and Shefflin manage 70 minutes tomorrow it will be nothing short of miraculous. If they are both 100% the Cats will win by 8-10 points. Since last year the Cats have restored Noel Hickey allowing JJ Delany to move back to left half back. This has delivered overwhelming possesion to them in every championship match this year. If KK get 50% possesion they will beat any team in the country comfortably. This year like 2008 they are gaining 60% + possesion last year they won games against Tipp and Waterford while getting less than 50% and conceding goals and goal chances. This year the keeper has barely made a save and they have conceded 1 goal in three games.
Post by: Kerry Mike on September 04, 2010, 01:52:09 PM
QuoteInteresting how Mick Galwey was involved

Mick is a dead on fellow and still has very strong GAA ties and is living in Killkenny for years and would have had the contacts with Hartman through Munster Rugby and would know many of the hurling fraternity in Kilkenny, hopefully Henry will make it through the full 70 tomorrow though I am shouting for Tipp.

Tipp Tipp Tipp Tipp
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 04, 2010, 08:12:51 PM
I'd like to see KK drive for five but I've a sneaking feeling Tipp are coming strong. I'd put Lar in on Hickey & test him for speed. Will there be a couple of changes at 3.25 tomorrow, time will tell. This is not a normal build up for KK & it could have an impact, Tipp by 1
Post by: imtommygunn on September 04, 2010, 08:25:37 PM
Who partnered Cha at midfield against Cork? Was it not Rice? If so he was amazing in that game and must be a bit peeved not to be on.
Post by: Minder on September 04, 2010, 08:46:42 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 04, 2010, 08:25:37 PM
Who partnered Cha at midfield against Cork? Was it not Rice? If so he was amazing in that game and must be a bit peeved not to be on.

I think Fennelly and Cha were the midfield pairing, I don't think Rice started. They have some replacements on that bench.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 04, 2010, 09:02:36 PM
Quote from: bottlethrower7 on September 03, 2010, 10:05:32 AM

Prediction, not analysis. :P
Post by: ross4life on September 04, 2010, 09:47:37 PM
Historic Final tomorrow whatever happens! it's a repeat of the Kerry v Offaly football final in 1982

If Tipp win they will be legends like Seamus Darby Martin Furlong if the cats wins they will go down in history as perhaps the greatest GAA team of all time
Post by: Bacon on September 05, 2010, 10:26:28 AM
Kilkenny to win by at least 5.
Post by: lilpaulie85 on September 05, 2010, 10:47:32 AM
can't wait for thisto start now, throw it in to f**k  :P
Post by: dowling on September 05, 2010, 11:15:21 AM
What about a draw?
Post by: Canalman on September 05, 2010, 11:45:33 AM
Still convinced that Tipp will win today and quite comprehensively as well. Tipp by at least 5 points.
Kilkenny's weaknesses (minimal I know) to be exposed by a team on the up and hungry as hell.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 05, 2010, 11:52:16 AM
Really canalman? i was going for a 4 point cat win.  will the minors beat the handicap?? 9 points
Post by: Canalman on September 05, 2010, 11:56:48 AM
Imo the best minor KK team ever produced. Hard to say though with kids, they will beat the handicap if they get an early goal.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 05, 2010, 12:50:20 PM
I find this a hard one to call. There are several questions in my mind. Are Tipp really timing a run, improving all the time? Are Kilkenny really going to be at 100%, can they possibly be?

Normally when analysing a hurling game, the first place I look is the half back lines. I think Kilkenny are stonger on paper this year than last year because of Noel Hickey's return. I haven't seen the stats, but I'd imagine Kilkenny are conceding less goals this year, and that's down to his return in large part. Equally important though is it has set the way for JJ to return to wing back. JJ - Hogan - Walsh is a formidable line, as indeeed is JJ - Tennyson - Walsh. A platform like that would normally set you on the way to a win, especially against a Tipp half forward line that was very inconsistent all year. *However* if Tommy Walsh's shoulder is not 100%, and Tennyson is a little below 100% as well, Tipperary have an opportunity to land a mortal blow. They always say the place to attack an opponent is where he is strong. If the Tipp half forwards can continue along the vein they started against Waterford, then Kilkenny will not be able to survive at less than full pace there and then we'll have to see changes, which might unsettle them.

On the other side, I cannot see Henry going toe to toe with Conor O'Mahoney if his  knee is bothersome, althought I have more or less come to the conclusion that he's far better than was reported by the media inthe aftermath of the semi final.

Like the half forward line, Tipp's half back line has been exposed at times this year, especially Conor O'Mahoney at #6. He's a grand lad, and a no nonsense, look after the basics, centre back. But if he is getting dragged around, he becomes way less effective than when he is just anchoring the centre.  I wouldn't be suprised to see Shefflin going in to the corner initially to try and get into the game, with Larkin or Reid going into the centre.  Either of those lads are mobile, and you will know if Tipp are getting worried there if Fanning makes that switch. If O'Mahoney goes to wing back, the next stop will be the dugout.
In the other areas of the field, I think midfield should be a wash. Cha and McGrath are similar players, very mobile, very fast and very accurate. Maher and Fennelly will be interesting, but I'd probably give the nod to Kilkenny there.
Tipperary's full forward line versus Kilkenny's full back line will depend a lot on the half forward battle. I think Eoin Kelly is tailor made for Noel Hickey if Tipp leave him in there, and I wouldn't be surprised to see Corbett started in around there, with McGrath moving out altogether to maybe let Gearoid Ryan in there to start. Tyrell or    Dalton could very quickly put McGrath out of a game because they are so tight, but he might thrive in more open spaces. Also don't be surprised if Seamus Callinan comes in as the game opens up, and his pace coming through the middle would then allow McGrath to go back into the corner.
Lar Corbett is obviously the ace in the hole, and a shut down job on him would go a long way to winning it for Kilkenny, regardless of how the battles out the field are going. I'm not sure if Hickey will do it, but I think Tyrell probably has a chance. As Lar drifts out, Jackie will be comfortable.
On the other side of the field, I think Eddie Brennan could have a big day because he knows if he starts slowly again, he'll get the curly finger. There might be slightly more of a grace period because of Shefflin's situation, but I think he'll want to start quick to reassure Cody he's up for it. As I've said, I can see Shefflin going in there to get going, either in the corner or full back, but on the basis he can't be 100% (or can he :)) I'd have to assume the Tipp full back line can handle him to some extent. Will Power be as good against Tipp as he was against Cork? That would be hard and Curran is better than Cadogan. However Curran is not showing us he is completely comfortable, but I do think Power might suit him because he operates in fairly tight quarters.
I think it's very tight, but I'll break it down like this.
Goalkeepers - Tipperary advantage, but both are good. Cummins' puckouts cannot allow the Kilkenny half backs to clean up if they are going well though.
Tipp FB v KK FF - Advantage Tipp, but I think Brennan will be good.
Tipp HB v KK HF - Very close, I think I might give Advantage KK, barely.
Midfield - Again close, Advantage Kilkenny
Tipp HF v KK HB - The crucial area. I'm going on the basis that they can't be 100%. Advantage Tipp.
Tipp FF v KK FB - If Tipp win the half forward line, then advantage Tipp. Otherwise Hickey will strangle Kelly, and Tyrell and Dalton will minimise the impact of Corbett and whoever else is in there living off scraps. Feck it, on the basis of above, advantage Tipp.
Even as I've typed all that I still can't make up my mind, because I don't know the answers to the questions I've raised myself. We'll know an awful lot more at 3.45 than we will at 3.25, but in the interests of making some sort of prediction, here goes.
I think Noel Hickey being back and Delaney at wing back versus Walsh, Tennyson and Shefflin being out of sorts is a net negative (just about) for Kilkenny. I think Tipperary have poorer form this year, but I still think they should be better than last year because of the experience of being there and matching Kilkenny last year, and because Lar Corbett is flying, and Noel McGrath is becoming even more influential.

The hell with it, I'd like to see Kilkenny getting their 5 because they have been magnificent, but I think they are primed for the taking today if Tipperary are right. I think they will be. I said after the final last year that I'd pick Tipp for 2010, and I'm not changing now, even though I was more confident a year ago.
For a final omen, in Toomevara there is a pub owned by an Offaly man. His name? Seamus Darby, yes that one.
Tipperary by 4.
Post by: Minder on September 05, 2010, 12:58:36 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 05, 2010, 11:52:16 AM
Really canalman? i was going for a 4 point cat win.  will the minors beat the handicap?? 9 points

Did you not go down?
Post by: Rav67 on September 05, 2010, 03:13:00 PM
Any streams for the game?
Post by: Hardy on September 05, 2010, 03:39:33 PM
Do we have to have a fit of buckleppin and fist pumping for every free? Irritating shite.
Post by: ross4life on September 05, 2010, 03:45:45 PM
Tipp all over the kats at the moment can they keep it up?
Post by: Asal Mor on September 05, 2010, 03:51:55 PM
any updates lads? I'm stuck out in China and cant even get a radio feed at the mo.
Post by: Homer on September 05, 2010, 03:52:50 PM
Tipp 1-06
Kilkenny 0-04

Shefflin substituted through injury
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2010, 03:54:38 PM
If Tipp keep going the way they are and don't shit themselves in the last 10 minutes they'll win it by 3 or more. The Henry gamble didn't work. I don't understand why Cody didn't hold him in reserve til the last 15 mins.
Post by: Asal Mor on September 05, 2010, 03:55:00 PM
thanks Homer. Shame about Henry though.
Post by: comethekingdom on September 05, 2010, 03:55:13 PM
Shefflin gone (knee)!! I put a few bob on tipp there with Paddy power at 9/4. hope it pays off!!!
Post by: Homer on September 05, 2010, 04:01:08 PM
Tipp 1-08
Kilkenny 0-07

29 minutes played

Brendan Cummins scores from inside his own '45
Post by: Asal Mor on September 05, 2010, 04:02:16 PM
aertel is completely useless of course. Score hasn't changed in 10 mins. Still 1-6 to 0-3 on there.
Post by: comethekingdom on September 05, 2010, 04:05:28 PM
Tpp keeping it very tight at the back. If they can keep it up they'll win it. Tipp up by 3 now. GOAL for Power!!
Post by: Homer on September 05, 2010, 04:05:58 PM
Tipp 1-10
Kilkenny 1-07

Richie Power gets the goal

32 mins played
Post by: Asal Mor on September 05, 2010, 04:09:52 PM
Good man Homer. Anyone like to give a half - time summary? It would be greatly appreciated here.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2010, 04:13:37 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 05, 2010, 04:02:39 PM
Even Cummins is scoring. KK will still win.
Game on now. Tipp have dominated but Kilkenny are still in it.
Post by: Asal Mor on September 05, 2010, 04:16:45 PM
Got the match tracker on gaa.ie - better than nothing.
Post by: Homer on September 05, 2010, 04:16:57 PM
Tipp 1-10
Kilkenny 1-09

HT

Exciting stuff. Tipp playing with a lot of tenacity and have dominated but let themselves down by giving away so many frees. Should be at least five up and now have to face the wind now.
Post by: Homer on September 05, 2010, 04:19:21 PM
Not meaning to advertise another forum but the thread on boards seems to be well updated and may probably serve you better than the tracker Asal

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056000751&page=23
Post by: Asal Mor on September 05, 2010, 04:27:25 PM
thanks Homer. i'll give it a try. Might need a dictionary though. Check out this post from argosy 2006
"physiologically tipp are beaten now, tipp need to excogitate and show their equanimity,kilkenny are magnanimous though"

Raimeis.
Post by: Homer on September 05, 2010, 04:34:25 PM
Tipp 2-11
Kilkenny 1-10

Lar finds the net again
Post by: imtommygunn on September 05, 2010, 04:34:47 PM
If that hurl had hit your man it'd have hurt!!
Post by: Homer on September 05, 2010, 04:35:31 PM
Tipp 3-11
Kilkenny 1-10

Noel McGrath scrambles one home
Post by: thejuice on September 05, 2010, 04:35:45 PM
nice goal. Thought this was going to go the same ol way with the cats pulling away but thats given me hope. Cats aren't beat though
Post by: Square Ball on September 05, 2010, 04:36:54 PM
Holy feck, great start for Tip indeed
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2010, 04:38:03 PM
Tipp can't start giving away stupid frees now. Long way to go still.
Post by: Square Ball on September 05, 2010, 04:38:40 PM
Loving this
Post by: Homer on September 05, 2010, 04:42:27 PM
Tipp 3-11
Kilkenny 1-12

Tipp continue their indiscipline
Post by: Square Ball on September 05, 2010, 04:44:33 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 05, 2010, 04:36:28 PM
Game over.

not yet
Post by: Homer on September 05, 2010, 04:46:25 PM
Tipp 3-11
Kilkenny 1-14

55 minutes played
Post by: Asal Mor on September 05, 2010, 04:47:31 PM
Sounds like a cracking final. Sounds like TJ is doing well. Who's motm at this point? Corbett?
Post by: Square Ball on September 05, 2010, 04:49:21 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on September 05, 2010, 04:47:31 PM
Sounds like a cracking final. Sounds like TJ is doing well. Who's motm at this point? Corbett?

hard to call, Kelly possibly?
Post by: thejuice on September 05, 2010, 04:49:37 PM
Tipp are all over the place. Think they're in danger of losing it now.
Post by: Homer on September 05, 2010, 04:51:29 PM
Tipp 3-13
Kilkenny 1-15

59 mins

Corbett MOM if Tipp can hold out
Post by: Homer on September 05, 2010, 04:56:34 PM
Tipp 3-15
Kilkenny 1-15

65 mins
Post by: Asal Mor on September 05, 2010, 05:00:04 PM
Looks like Tipp have finally slayed the beast. Galway will take a lot of heart from this result. Come on Ollie - ya have to give it one more year now.
Post by: Homer on September 05, 2010, 05:01:09 PM
Tipp 3-15
Kilkenny 1-17

69 mins
Post by: Square Ball on September 05, 2010, 05:02:27 PM
Pitch invasion?
Post by: Homer on September 05, 2010, 05:03:08 PM
Tipp 3-17
Kilkenny 1-17

70 mins + 1 min (3 to be played)

Home and hosed
Post by: ross4life on September 05, 2010, 05:04:26 PM
The better team won pure & simple! i hope the tipp fans celebrate this win on the field
Post by: Square Ball on September 05, 2010, 05:05:41 PM
Quote from: Homer on September 05, 2010, 04:51:29 PM
Tipp 3-13
Kilkenny 1-15

59 mins

Corbett MOM if Tipp can hold out

yeah
Post by: Homer on September 05, 2010, 05:06:00 PM
Tipp 4-17
Kilkenny 1-18

FT

Congrats Tipp

Pitch invasion being held
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 05, 2010, 05:08:11 PM
Delighted for Tipp.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 05, 2010, 05:15:39 PM
Playing Shefflin was a shocking crazy decision. He'll be wrecked for longer now. Don't think it was the losing of it though.

I thought 5 minutes to go KK sneak a goal and they'd win. Don't know why Richie Power didn't go for a goal. Honestly thought at that point Tipp had it. Fennelly then hit a shot with no belief in it. I thought KK thought they'd lost if before they had.

Post by: ardal on September 05, 2010, 05:17:17 PM
Nice touch to Liam.

Great final from what I gather over the radio.

Congrats Tipp,

I went in with mixed feelings wanting them to do the 5 in a row, but also having great respect for Nicky English
Post by: ross4life on September 05, 2010, 05:23:58 PM
Why are people still voting for tipp in the poll  :D

Wanted to see 5 in a row but would have been injustice if Tipp didn't win that game today fair play to them... will be some craic in Thurles tonight

IMO shame no fans on the field, another great GAA tradition gone  :-\
Post by: Minder on September 05, 2010, 05:30:30 PM
Cooney is a c••t
Post by: Canalman on September 05, 2010, 05:30:55 PM
MOtM will go to Corbett alright, but imo my motm was Declan Fanning..........sensational.

Have to say the end of game  presentation was top notch,ticker tape and all. Well done GAA and I for one stand corrected.

Quiet emotional watching Tipp celebrate and particularly happy for Benny Dunne after his 2009.

My thoughts on Kk were justified and I just can't understand how the demise of this team wasn't widely picked up.
The "experts" will no doubt be telling us all about them next week.
Post by: Kerry Mike on September 05, 2010, 05:41:28 PM
Brillaint result for Tipp delighted for them but you do feel for Kilkenny, I remember a wet day as a young lad in 1982 crying on the steps of the hill after we were beat to the five. Horrible feeling.

They have been great champions for the last 4 years, it not easy to win 1 in any sport never mind 2, 3 or 4 in a row, take a bow KK but today was all Tipp, great start and they got the goals when in mattered mid way through the 2nd half and powered on at the end to seal a famous win, delighted for Corbett, Cummins and Kelly they have battled hard for 10 year in some poorish Tipp teams. Thurles will be rocking all through to tomororrow night. Well done Tipp and all the Tipp lads here.
Post by: mckieran on September 05, 2010, 05:55:40 PM
Terrific match. Tipp deserved to win.

Curran, Maher at No. 7, Maher at No. 8 & Corbett were the pick of Tipps players for me.

Curran won a couple of great balls at the start which is so important against Kilkenny.

It is such a pity Shefflin had to go off; I really hoped he would be fit & able today...
Post by: sammymaguire on September 05, 2010, 05:57:37 PM
I have NEVER seen a team so pumped up as Tipp were today - there was 20 top class hurlers on a mission this afternoon and they fully deserve to be taking Liam back down to Thurles with them tomorrow evening - well done Liam Sheedy for picking them men up to come back 12 months on and beat the best ever hurling team to grace Croke Park
Post by: passedit on September 05, 2010, 06:20:13 PM
fair play to tipp. To win first you must believe you will win. Curran set the tone at the start and the rest  followed. first half of double up.
Post by: Bacon on September 05, 2010, 06:37:02 PM
A Great match and fair play to Tipp. They deserved it.
Post by: tyroneboi on September 05, 2010, 06:57:35 PM
That was an excellent match today. Though Corbett will probably pick up man of the match, I though Maher the no7 and Geroid Ryan for Tipp were excellent.
Post by: Reillers on September 05, 2010, 07:03:36 PM
Well done Tipp, delighted for them, they were a much better team. I've rarely seen a team so pumped up for today as Tipp were, they just went at it like a train and didn't stop. Fully deserve the win, KK were poor and the messing around with Shefflin was wastefull and the gamble did not pay off and God knows now if they've done more damage to it, hopefully not because he's an oustanding player and hopefully it wont take him out of the game longer because of a stupid decision.

Tipp fully deserved it and I'm absolutely delighted for them.  Whether this is the end for KK I doubt it, but it's not the time or the place to discuss it. It's Tipp's day and fair play they by far deserved it.
Post by: slow corner back on September 05, 2010, 07:12:09 PM
Well done to Tipp on a fully deserved victory. Myself and many others on here did not see it coming and stand corrected. While Henry was a gamble I do not think anyone ever thought they would see Noel Hickey cleaned out like that. That KK team has stood for a long time on some central pillars but they were taken out today. Eddie Brennan subbed, Cha subbed, Hickey probably should have been subbed. Tipp had a plan to keep Tommy Walsh out of the game and it worked a treat. Lar Corbett was immense as was Noel McGrath and I thought the half back line were outstanding for Tipp and the full back line very good too. Will be some party in Tipp alright.
Post by: spuds on September 05, 2010, 07:15:54 PM
Great game, Tipp drove into Kilkenny from the off and didn't let up. Thought Shane McGrath at midfield was immense in first half, unreal way on at least 3 occasions blocked opposing player with own body. Noel McGrath pulled the strings setting up scores particularly for Lar Corbett's goal and took his own well also.
Tipp have done hurling a huge service in my opinion.
Post by: orangeman on September 05, 2010, 07:19:39 PM
4-17 conceded by a usually tight KK defence spelt victory for Tipp who got stuck into KK from the off.

I'm not entirely sure if they were 8 points better than KK but that doesn't really matter. Tipp are champions and it's great to see new champions.

KK have been magnificent as past 10 years. They became unstuck today.

I've always said that nothing lasts forever. KK without the inspiration of Henrty and a more subdued Tommy Walsh looked a pale shadow of their former greatness. To be fair Tipp could / should have won last year and got out of jail but no such luck today.

I felt sorry for Clare minor hurlers who gave all they had but still came up short.
Post by: johnpower on September 05, 2010, 08:29:01 PM
What a match , Well done Tipp . I agree i have never seen a team as pumped up for 74 minutes . Delighted for Corbett some record 3 goals in a final . Killkenny will be back but one thing todays result means is another nail in the coffin of the provincal championship .
Post by: AZOffaly on September 05, 2010, 08:36:28 PM
Well done Tipp. It'll make for a big night when Conor and Shane bring the cup back around Newport and Ballinahinch :) We might have to have the regional on standby to pump a few lads out.

Delighted for Tipp, and their genuine fans. Great hurling people. I said last year that Tipp don't fear Kilkenny, and that is something inherent.

I thought it was a nice touch when Shane McGrath gave his commiserations to Shefflin as he left the field. It reeked of respect, and Shefflin, and the rest of that brilliant team have earned that respect at least. Respect, admiration and thanks for their efforts over the last 10 years. I'm sure they'll be back, but hopefullly for the rest of us, they may just have lost the aura of invincibility, which was probably bad for the game in general.

Thank you Kilkenny, Well done Tipp.

Post by: gallsman on September 05, 2010, 08:37:31 PM
Outstanding Tipp performance, they were streets ahead. Even when KK leveled it up early in the second half they were getting outhurled and outclassed. Tipp platform was definitely every defender on the field - they were fantastic. Depth of the bench was crucial too. Callanan's second point was a beauty from right in front of me.

No KK people could begrudge the likes of Kelly and Corbett another Cross, outstanding players.

Tipp have the ammo to contend for years to come. This KK team (with a few alterations) isn't finished just yet.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 05, 2010, 08:39:30 PM
Have to say I'm already looking forward to next year now as the game(s) between these 2 should be hum dingers. KK will be really up for it now.

Thought Cody made a few mistakes today. Replaced shefflin with a midfielder - more scoring threat would have helped. Hickey and Eddie Brennan hadn't their finest days at the office either and should have been replaced or replaced way earlier.

Tipp were amazing. Noel McGrath was superb in CHF and obviously Corbett too. Defense of Tipp's never gave an inch. KK at times had more possession (I'd be interested in the possession stats) but were making no headway. Eoin Larkin had a hell of a game though.

Post by: Roashter on September 05, 2010, 08:52:55 PM
Fantastic game today, and Tipp were fully deserving winners.

Corbett will almost certainly get MOTM. I thought Paul Curran was outstanding at full back along with Padraig Maher, Brendan Maher & Noel McGrath. Seamus Callinan made a big impact when he came on and I thought Sheedy should have brought him on earlier.
JJ Delaney, Michael Fennelly & Eoin Larkin were Kilkenny's best players.

I thought Cody made a few mistakes on the line today. If we are to believe all the stuff that Cody doesn't do sentiment then how did Noel Hickey last the 70 minutes. Plus he took off TJ Reid who was one of their few forwards who looked capable of scoring from play today.

Anyways, Congrats to Tipp and enjoy the celebrations
Post by: Bogball XV on September 05, 2010, 09:06:06 PM
I'm on curran at 30/1 for man of the match or shane mcgrath at 20/1 - any chance? 
I personally would give it to padraic or brendan maher or noel mcgrath - Whilst corbett would be a worthy winner, there's no guarantee that he'll pick up the award, simply because the panel usually pick someone who wasn't as apparent to the rest of us mere mortals (hence of my choice of the big priced full back and midfielder).
Post by: orangeman on September 05, 2010, 09:15:09 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 05, 2010, 09:06:06 PM
I'm on curran at 30/1 for man of the match or shane mcgrath at 20/1 - any chance? 
I personally would give it to padraic or brendan maher or noel mcgrath - Whilst corbett would be a worthy winner, there's no guarantee that he'll pick up the award, simply because the panel usually pick someone who wasn't as apparent to the rest of us mere mortals (hence of my choice of the big priced full back and midfielder).

3 goals in an All Ireland final - the choice is easy. Larry.

Sorry about that.
Post by: Orangemac on September 05, 2010, 09:59:53 PM
Great game today. Final scoreline doesn't tell whole story.

Best team won no doubt but despite not being at their best for whatever reason Kilkenny still fought to the end with all the courage they have been associated with over the years.

Although undoubtedly the best hurling team in living memory wll this team be remembered by todays defeat the way Kerry in some respects are for losing in 82?
Post by: AZOffaly on September 05, 2010, 10:04:38 PM
God I don't think Kerry are remembered for losing that final. I think they are remembered for all the games they won, and the fact that they were the best team ever. I think that *game* is remembered for the fact that they didn't get their 5 in a row, but the team is not remembered because of that.

I think the same for Kilkenny. today will be remembered as the day the 5 in a row was stopped but Kilkenny won't be remembered because they lost today.
Post by: Aerlik on September 05, 2010, 10:38:53 PM
CONGRATULATIONS TIPP.  GREAT TO SEE.
Post by: All of a Sludden on September 05, 2010, 10:49:37 PM
Delighted for Tipp, especially after last year. Better team on the day. I think the whole 5 in a row thing got to Kilkenny, its all their fans talked about today.
Post by: ziggysego on September 05, 2010, 10:52:45 PM
I really enjoyed the game this afternoon. Really end-to-end stuff. I was always expecting the inevidentable comeback, which nearly happened a few times. Delighted for Tipperary, especially after them failing at the same stage last year, to come back.
Post by: robertemmet on September 05, 2010, 11:02:42 PM
What was the wee logo on back of Tipp jersey all year
Post by: GroverJr on September 05, 2010, 11:14:21 PM
Well Done Tipp. Great match - great to see no controversy surrounding the win too. KK have been great champs and will be back.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 05, 2010, 11:15:34 PM
Lar Corbett MOTM. Spoke well.
Post by: gallsman on September 05, 2010, 11:47:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 05, 2010, 11:15:34 PM
Lar Corbett MOTM. Spoke well.

Could have cracked a smile or two!

Disagree with a few comments on how good today's match was. Slippery conditions ruined things a bit. Just as intense and very physically demanding but I thought the sheer quality of hurling twelve months ago was better.
Post by: funtime frankie on September 06, 2010, 09:10:27 AM
Great game and delighted for Tipp. Richly deserved. It was funny watching the faces of  some of the Tipp people when the Galtee Mountain Boy was sung. Some tried to pretend to know the words and ended up making fools of themselves. A bit like that Brit minister who made an arse of himself with the Welsh anthem - it gets shown on those compilation TV shows.

Corbett was outstanding and given the slippery conditions underfoot there were some excellent displays of skill all around the park.

I was of the opinion that supporters not going on to the pitch would have detracted from the celebrations, however, a clear pitch made for a much more enjoyable spectacle.

Post by: NAG1 on September 06, 2010, 09:14:12 AM
I thought the opposite re: the on pitch celebrations looked so sanitised and like a soccer team doing the lap of honour.
But everyone has a different take on it.

Really delighted to see B Dunne, getting a chance to redeem himself after last year. Tipp just too good on the day.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on September 06, 2010, 09:20:34 AM
Corbett touched the ball 3 times and scored 3 goals. An invaluable contribution certainly, but for me the best player on the field was Brendan Maher. His work may have gone unnoticed by the sunday game analysts, but for me he was the reason Tipperary won that match. He ran the center and was the pick of the 4 midfielders. Once Tipp had control in that sector they seemed to have that little more time to pick out their passes to the inside line. That was in contrast to Kilkenny who seemed to hit every ball under pressure and who seemed hellbent on ballooning high ball after high ball on top of Power. Thats all well and good, but with talented corner forwards, the odd ball to them would have been worth a try too (acknowledged Eddie wasn't at the races at all).

The questions about what would have happened if Tipp took their chances last year were answered yesterday. Rather than coasting to 5 titles, its probably fair to say that Kilkenny actually got one more than they might have by scraping that win last year. But thats Kilkenny. A truly great team, and having lost yesterday does nothing to change that.

Kilkenny's dominance was always going to come to an end at some point. It was always likely Tipp would be the team to end it. Now its up to the likes of Galway and Cork to get themselves up to the level where they can have us all doubting until the very end, as to where Liam McCarthy is bound.

Congrats to Tipp. Somehow I can't see it being 9 years til their next title, but its hard to see anyone other than Kilkenny or Tipp getting their hands on Liam for quite some time.
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2010, 09:32:20 AM
Quote from: bottlethrower7 on September 06, 2010, 09:20:34 AM
Corbett touched the ball 3 times and scored 3 goals. An invaluable contribution certainly, but for me the best player on the field was Brendan Maher. His work may have gone unnoticed by the sunday game analysts, but for me he was the reason Tipperary won that match. He ran the center and was the pick of the 4 midfielders. Once Tipp had control in that sector they seemed to have that little more time to pick out their passes to the inside line. That was in contrast to Kilkenny who seemed to hit every ball under pressure and who seemed hellbent on ballooning high ball after high ball on top of Power. Thats all well and good, but with talented corner forwards, the odd ball to them would have been worth a try too (acknowledged Eddie wasn't at the races at all).

The questions about what would have happened if Tipp took their chances last year were answered yesterday. Rather than coasting to 5 titles, its probably fair to say that Kilkenny actually got one more than they might have by scraping that win last year. But thats Kilkenny. A truly great team, and having lost yesterday does nothing to change that.

Kilkenny's dominance was always going to come to an end at some point. It was always likely Tipp would be the team to end it. Now its up to the likes of Galway and Cork to get themselves up to the level where they can have us all doubting until the very end, as to where Liam McCarthy is bound.

Congrats to Tipp. Somehow I can't see it being 9 years til their next title, but its hard to see anyone other than Kilkenny or Tipp getting their hands on Liam for quite some time.

Agreed.
Post by: gerrykeegan on September 06, 2010, 09:35:26 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 05, 2010, 08:36:28 PM

I thought it was a nice touch when Shane McGrath gave his commiserations to Shefflin as he left the field. It reeked of respect, and Shefflin, and the rest of that brilliant team have earned that respect at least.

That was a special moment for me. The intensity that Tipp were playing at yet the man had the grace to say tough break or whatever he said. I dont know how he could be able to switch off from the mad rush/pace of the match to feel for a member of the opposition. Great match. The time flew by.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 06, 2010, 09:41:36 AM
I thought in all Kilkenny's interviews they were very gracious in defeat. Not a complaint from them. Many's a team could have said about steps for Corbett's goal or pernicity things like that. They deserve a lot of credit for that.
Post by: amallon on September 06, 2010, 10:17:04 AM
Fantastic game, two worthy teams to grace the final.  Well done to Tipp who were deserving winners. 
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2010, 10:39:58 AM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on September 06, 2010, 09:35:26 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 05, 2010, 08:36:28 PM

I thought it was a nice touch when Shane McGrath gave his commiserations to Shefflin as he left the field. It reeked of respect, and Shefflin, and the rest of that brilliant team have earned that respect at least.

That was a special moment for me. The intensity that Tipp were playing at yet the man had the grace to say tough break or whatever he said. I dont know how he could be able to switch off from the mad rush/pace of the match to feel for a member of the opposition. Great match. The time flew by.

Same kind of moment last year after Corbett patted PJ Ryan on the back after one of his wonder saves. Immense respect between the two teams.
Post by: seafoid on September 06, 2010, 10:53:39 AM
I think it's a great result for hurling. The next step would be for one of the non core counties to win the all-Ireland. Galway will surely feel they re not so far off. 

Eoin Kelly definitely deserved another medal.

It will be interesting to see what happens the cats. They came across like Italy in the World cup after all the hype. Surely a load of players will retire.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 06, 2010, 11:02:29 AM
Corbett touched the ball 3 times and scored 3 goals. An invaluable contribution certainly, but for me the best player on the field was Brendan Maher. His work may have gone unnoticed by the sunday game analysts, but for me he was the reason Tipperary won that match. He ran the center and was the pick of the 4 midfielders.
I agree with that, if he hadn't scored that last minute goal would he have got it?  I thought Brendan Maher, Padraic Maher or Noel McGrath had better games than Lar, but it is hard to argue with a 3 goal haul.

Now, if only Galway could come through and take it next year, with Clare building on a few fine underage teams and an Offaly side looking to be on the way up, we could have a championship again.
It's 1998 now since one of the big 3 didn't win the trophy and Galway are 22 years without a title, all the more amazing given their underage success and the fact that they've always been capable of contesting with the big boys throughout that period.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on September 06, 2010, 11:07:30 AM

A good summary BT7 but I would probably go for Padraic Maher as my MOTM.  I thought he was having a super game at wing back and even improved when switched to the centre when Conor O'Mahoney went off injured.  We will have our work cut out for us on Sat night in Thurles to keep the ball pucked out to some of these fella's. 
Post by: mouview on September 06, 2010, 11:33:44 AM
Quote from: mouview on September 03, 2010, 01:40:12 PM
Why KK will win on Sunday;

•   Proven winners and big day performers, don't panic or do off-days
•   They are so in-sync with each other's style of play, e.g. under the dropping ball and in a ruck, invariably a black-and-amber jersey emerges with the sliotar
•   They don't need to do tactics or systems, just play the orthodox 15 in position
•   Great back-up off the bench, especially for the crucial midfield sector
•   5-in-a-row is a great incentive

Why KK mightn't win on Sunday;
•   I don't necessarily believe they're better this year than last; their league campaign wasn't as good and the toughest test they've had to date was against a poorly-selected and tactically-bad Galway side who still stuck with them for 35 minutes. In 2009 Galway gave them a tougher test and W'ford did too in the semi.
•   The KK forward division rely on Shefflin much more than many realise; the rest of them, bar Power, are having relatively quiet years. Additionally the full-back line may be vulnerable; Dalton may not be the finished article (yet), Hickey can be slow and Tyrrell had a tough outing v Cork. If they all start, I predict that at least 4 of the following will be replaced on Sunday *by necessity* - Dalton, Hickey, Comerford, Reid, Brennan, Larkin, Fogarty.
•   Tipp have had a tougher campaign to date; had a great win over Galway and had a good outing v W'ford. Their form is good, especially in the forwards. Also, they have the only midfield in the country that can possibly break even with KK. Their bench has improved too.
•   Tipp won't lack for hunger and will want revenge for last year.
•   KK's injuries and fitness doubts may finally catch up with them.

A lot of permutations there; it's dodgy to back against the house but I just think Tipp have more going for them and that KK have too many question marks over their heads. Tipp, (by anything up to 7!!).

Ahem.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 06, 2010, 11:38:30 AM
You're not the only one to tip Tipp mouview. Self praise is no praise at all :)
Post by: Homer on September 06, 2010, 11:39:21 AM
Quote from: mouview on September 06, 2010, 11:33:44 AM
Quote from: mouview on September 03, 2010, 01:40:12 PM

Ahem.

Ahem, Tipp won by 8  ;)
Post by: funtime frankie on September 06, 2010, 01:26:14 PM
Has anybody got the Galtee Mountain Boy from yesterday on You Tube?
Post by: mouview on September 06, 2010, 02:32:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 06, 2010, 11:38:30 AM

No indeed, but allow me my Fearonesque moment of hubris!

Anyway, congrats to Tipp for doing yesterday to KK what the cats usually do to others; the ecstasy of their fans afterwards was almost visceral. Overconfidence by some KK fans was surprising and out of character - a team carrying injured players into a final (Tennyson spent a good while yesterday limping also) will always be vulnerable.

Thoughts now turn towards the future. Will Tipp and KK dominate the next few years? Maybe. The age profile of this Tipp team is quite young but they also may be a bit immature, i.e. without any insight into the players whatsoever they give me the impression that they could hit the beer and forget about what it was made them reach the summit, thus they could be beatable in 2011. Believe me, no slight intended, but early success could go to young players heads very easily. In addition, winning Tipp teams over the past 2 decades haven't tended to go on and win several AIs over the following few years, unlike Cork and KK.

KK may also be contenders next year, but just by default. Cork are nowhere near producing a team good enough; Waterford's better players are getting old or gone; it's hard to know if Galway have the players and McIntyre needs to learn very quickly from the mistakes made in the past 2 years, especially in midfield and half-forwards, and to stop picking players who aren't of county standard. Clare may be a coming force?

As for KK, a very dangerous thing to say I know, but I think that team as played yesterday may now be slowly past it. Noel Hickey looks vulnerable; the half-back line should be fine but will Michael Fennelly need a new partner in midfield? Cha hadn't a great day yesterday and Derek Lyng is the wrong side of 30. Rice will perhaps be restored to this area next year. Up front the cats will have problems IMO. Henry's importance to this division was shown by his withdrawal but will he be back? As good as ever? Richie Power will still be menacing but Eddie Brennan has regressed; Eoin Larkin has had a quieter year and Taggy Fogarty and TJ Reid don't inspire too much fear on their own, though the latter was unlucky to be subbed yesterday I thought. Gorta isn't going to get better at this stage either and for all the talk about KK's panel and strength off the bench, Tipp were better in this dept. when it came down to it. How many of these will be motivated to come back next year with no 6-in-a-row as a carrot? Cody may pack it in also. The production line may not be as good as was perceived; lost last year's Minor final and weren't overly impressive yesterday; lost 2009 U-21 final and didn't even win Leinster this year.

A whole load of ifs and buts there and it's easy to write this in the wake of a disappointing defeat, however once a team loses it's air of invincibility it makes the rest less fearful.
Post by: orangeman on September 06, 2010, 02:39:33 PM
It's hard to believe how we all can over react to a single defeat / win.

Last night on the Sunday game, they were talking as if KK were finished.

Had KK won yesterday we'd have been saying that Tipp were finished. Somebody was on here after KK bate Cork and said that KK would do 10 in a row.

A few weeks ago, we were saying that Noel Hickey was a colossus - now he's finished.

It's very hard to come to a balanced view in the immediate aftermath of a game like yesterdays given the huge number of variables out there. Tipp were on a mission after last year's final defeat  -after the game in the Pairc on 30th May this year, we were saying Tipp were finished - 94 days / 13 weeks later they're AI champs and are set to dominate ?? I for one don't think so.
Post by: Reillers on September 06, 2010, 02:55:31 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 06, 2010, 02:39:33 PM

Had KK won yesterday we'd have been saying that Tipp were finished. Somebody was on here after KK bate Cork and said that KK would do 10 in a row.

A few weeks ago, we were saying that Noel Hickey was a colossus - now he's finished.

It's very hard to come to a balanced view in the immediate aftermath of a game like yesterdays given the huge number of variables out there. Tipp were on a mission after last year's final defeat  -after the game in the Pairc on 30th May this year, we were saying Tipp were finished - 94 days / 13 weeks later they're AI champs and are set to dominate ?? I for one don't think so.

Cork got the same in 06..and I was like, ya right..good one. But inevdiably, it was true. Whether the same applies for Kilkenny I don't know..I wouldn't set my heart on it. But for me, the main thing that stood out, from a Kilkenny point of view, is how much they rellied on Shefflin. People were saying how Kilkenny had gotten lucky over the years, easy few games a season in Leinster, not testing them, so it was easier to win it, and I was one of them, but at the end of the day you can only beat what's in front of you. Tipp were incredibly unlucky not to win last year, and I think for me KK were on their way down (from their standards) after that win the year before last which was probably the closest thing you've seen to perfection in the game.
This Kilkenny team, were going up and up and hit their peak about 2 years ago, and for every team, even the great Kilkenny, at end of the day, there's only one way to go after that, even Cody can't prevent the impact of time.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 06, 2010, 03:07:27 PM
Quote from: mouview on September 06, 2010, 02:32:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 06, 2010, 11:38:30 AM

No indeed, but allow me my Fearonesque moment of hubris!

Anyway, congrats to Tipp for doing yesterday to KK what the cats usually do to others; the ecstasy of their fans afterwards was almost visceral. Overconfidence by some KK fans was surprising and out of character - a team carrying injured players into a final (Tennyson spent a good while yesterday limping also) will always be vulnerable.

Thoughts now turn towards the future. Will Tipp and KK dominate the next few years? Maybe. The age profile of this Tipp team is quite young but they also may be a bit immature, i.e. without any insight into the players whatsoever they give me the impression that they could hit the beer and forget about what it was made them reach the summit, thus they could be beatable in 2011. Believe me, no slight intended, but early success could go to young players heads very easily. In addition, winning Tipp teams over the past 2 decades haven't tended to go on and win several AIs over the following few years, unlike Cork and KK.

KK may also be contenders next year, but just by default. Cork are nowhere near producing a team good enough; Waterford's better players are getting old or gone; it's hard to know if Galway have the players and McIntyre needs to learn very quickly from the mistakes made in the past 2 years, especially in midfield and half-forwards, and to stop picking players who aren't of county standard. Clare may be a coming force?

As for KK, a very dangerous thing to say I know, but I think that team as played yesterday may now be slowly past it. Noel Hickey looks vulnerable; the half-back line should be fine but will Michael Fennelly need a new partner in midfield? Cha hadn't a great day yesterday and Derek Lyng is the wrong side of 30. Rice will perhaps be restored to this area next year. Up front the cats will have problems IMO. Henry's importance to this division was shown by his withdrawal but will he be back? As good as ever? Richie Power will still be menacing but Eddie Brennan has regressed; Eoin Larkin has had a quieter year and Taggy Fogarty and TJ Reid don't inspire too much fear on their own, though the latter was unlucky to be subbed yesterday I thought. Gorta isn't going to get better at this stage either and for all the talk about KK's panel and strength off the bench, Tipp were better in this dept. when it came down to it. How many of these will be motivated to come back next year with no 6-in-a-row as a carrot? Cody may pack it in also. The production line may not be as good as was perceived; lost last year's Minor final and weren't overly impressive yesterday; lost 2009 U-21 final and didn't even win Leinster this year.

A whole load of ifs and buts there and it's easy to write this in the wake of a disappointing defeat, however once a team loses it's air of invincibility it makes the rest less fearful.

Kilkenny will be back next year undoubtably but they are showing signs of milage in certain positions. Noel Hickey and Eddie Brennan definitely seem to be past their best now and yesterday showed how important Henry Shefflin is to Kilkenny. While their other forwards are good. None of them are Shefflin good. He's also getting up there in age a bit and has to come back from a 2nd serious knee injury now as well. No way could you write them off though. Nobody would be too surprised if they came back to win again next year.

The age profile of the Tipp team is good so you would imagine they should win a couple more in the next few years. Eoin Kelly probably doesn't have too long left given the troubles he has with his back and while Lar Corbett is no spring chicken either he should be around for a few more years yet.

Of the rest I think Galway are probably marginally the closest to challenging the current big two. Still need to unearth a couple new players to fill problem positions like centre-forward though before they can be serious about winning an AI. Are a couple years behind Tipp in terms of team development. Waterford and Clare have had some decent underage teams recently but you sense will be in transition for a while yet. Waterford may lose a couple more apart from big Dan. Difficult to see Cork challenging. May lose a couple more veterans and hard to see where they will find replacements of a similiar standard right now. Offaly and Dublin will hope to continue improving while Limerick badly need to get back on track.

Personally I'd be delighted if we could just sneak in for one while Tipp and KK knock lumps out of each other. ;D
Post by: orangeman on September 06, 2010, 03:21:00 PM
Shefflin is a serious influence alright. Remember the pass he made yesterday on one leg and it went through to Reid ( I think ) - he missed the goal chance - it was a chance made from nothing.
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2010, 03:30:38 PM
Brennan has definitely been poor this year and will be 32 shortly. Might be the end of his road.

Hickey however is still only 29 and had a great year up until yesterday - I think there's a bit left in him yet.
Post by: nrico2006 on September 06, 2010, 03:46:32 PM

True Orangeman, the same has been said of Kerry and Tyrone in the football of late.  Kilkenny won another Minor All Ireland yesterday, no matter 'how impressive' they were.  I would put my house on a wounded Kilkenny winning the LMC next year, they simply have lost the eye of the tiger which is natural in any sport when a team/individual wins for so long.  The age profile of the KK team is not bad at all, and they have a serious conveyor belt of talent aswell.  Cha and Larkin are both young men and just haven't hurled to their best this year, and the potential loss of King Henry was seemingly being played down in the run up to the final, with people believing that because the KK team was so good they would't miss Henry.  People lost the run of themselves a bit and seem to forget that the player in question is arguably the greatest hurler of all time.  The difference yesterday was the hunger between the teams, and the hunger for a first All Ireland (for many of the Tipp players) is far greater than the hunger the KK lads would have had. 
Post by: heffo on September 06, 2010, 04:21:20 PM
Quote from: Reillers on September 06, 2010, 02:55:31 PM

Cork got the same in 06..and I was like, ya right..good one. But inevdiably, it was true.

Ya what (and I don't even mean the 'inevdiably' comment - whatever that means)?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 06, 2010, 04:52:06 PM
It was a cracking contest yesterday, refereed well considering the off the ball stuff the cameras didn't pick up!!

Noticed early on that Kilkenny seemed a bit off or tired looking. Eddie Brennan was woeful and how he stayed on for so long i don't know. Tipp played Kilkenny at their own game, they rotated the forwards, played on the edge and for me the hunger was the drive key that won Tipp the match.

Can't wait for next year!!
Post by: Minder on September 06, 2010, 04:55:02 PM
I hear youse didn't weigh in for the Sevens, Milltown. Disgraceful stuff.
Post by: seafoid on September 06, 2010, 05:11:58 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 06, 2010, 03:07:27 PM

Personally I'd be delighted if we could just sneak in for one while Tipp and KK knock lumps out of each other. ;D

All Galway have to do is learn how to hold on to 3 point leads 5 minutes from the end of tight championship matches and they are sorted.
The end against tipp was too similar to the end against the Déise last year. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 06, 2010, 05:41:12 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 06, 2010, 04:55:02 PM
I hear youse didn't weigh in for the Sevens, Milltown. Disgraceful stuff.

no we didn't field cause the footballers arranged a challenge match!!!!

don't get me started :( :(
Post by: ONeill on September 06, 2010, 06:56:20 PM
 I heard you were pulled out by the manager before a football game was ever organised but your secretary and chairman never bothered to inform Kilmacud. Nothing to do with footballers I hear.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 06, 2010, 08:39:53 PM
I also heard your full of shite O'Neill.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 06, 2010, 09:01:58 PM
It is funny how people seem to think KK have gone away.

Sometimes it's down to on the day and that's what happened yesterday. Tipp were the better team but KK had a bad day at the office too. Next year I expect KK to beat them(perhaps with a few to spare too).

Who are the candidates for retirement for KK? I would imagine maybe Lyng - Hickey and Shefflin to me have a year or two in them and have unfinished business. In fact I think too many have too much unfinished business to be retiring.

Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2010, 10:35:15 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 06, 2010, 09:01:58 PM
It is funny how people seem to think KK have gone away.

Sometimes it's down to on the day and that's what happened yesterday. Tipp were the better team but KK had a bad day at the office too. Next year I expect KK to beat them(perhaps with a few to spare too).

Who are the candidates for retirement for KK? I would imagine maybe Lyng - Hickey and Shefflin to me have a year or two in them and have unfinished business. In fact I think too many have too much unfinished business to be retiring.

Brennan will struggle for a place. Think there will be a good number KK forward spots up for grabs next year. Shefflin (if fit) and Larkin the only absolute certainties. Power has gone missing in big games too often, TJ been given ample opportunity to make the step up to top level player, Fogarty hit and miss. Who willcome in is the big question. Mulhall looked very handy during th league. Hogan is similar to TJ in that he's yet to seize a big game by the scruff of the neck. Might see Cha moving back to the forward line, or either of Rice or Fennelly going into the forwards for a bit of extra muscle in a John Hoyne vein. On this year's form rice is the most likely as I thought Fennelly was the outstanding midfielder in the country this summer.
Post by: johnneycool on September 07, 2010, 09:48:10 AM

It was a good game but the amount of bunching at times spoiled it, ditto the minor game, (it was probably worse for it) but congratulations to Tipp, they took their chances when they arose and didn't concede too many soft ones at the other end.

Lar Corbett didn't touch much ball throughout the game, got a bit lucky for the first goal as Hickey was badly out of position and fell over trying to get back, the spade work was done by Noel McGrath, (??) for the second one and the war was already over for the third one, but hey you still got to be in the right place at the right time to put them away.

My MOTM was Pauric Maher the number 7 who's gotten over his nightmare down in Cork well and certainly seems better suited out the field. It's a fairly young Tipp team and not that Tipp teams lack confidence but this win over Kilkenny will bring them on even further.

Too many Kilkenny lads had a bad day on Sunday but that doesn't mean they are bad hurlers, but certainly it been a while since the likes of Tommy Walsh has been so quiet, Brennan had a mare, thought the keeper put his defence under too much pressure by batting out balls he should be catching and that panic'd them a bit. fogarty did very little, and Larkin who was keeping them in the game in the first half had a lot quieter second half. Power and TJ Reid made a few wrong decisions when in possession but they'll be wiser for it.

There'll maybe be a bit of a cull in Kilkenny but not that much, maybe Lyng and Comerford and possibly Brennan, Hickey and Kavanagh but the main structures of the team will still be there.

I'd be wondering if Cody may decide to quit now and let fresh blood into the management side of things??
Post by: orangeman on September 07, 2010, 09:52:47 AM
On the subject of Cody, did you ever hear a manager who was as gracious in defeat ?

He was unreal and offered not a single excuse.

Will he pack it in now ? I don't think it's in his nature to walk away. He'll rebuild in my opinion.
Post by: lilpaulie85 on September 07, 2010, 10:31:18 AM
Quote from: orangeman on September 07, 2010, 09:52:47 AM
On the subject of Cody, did you ever hear a manager who was as gracious in defeat ?

He was unreal and offered not a single excuse.

Will he pack it in now ? I don't think it's in his nature to walk away. He'll rebuild in my opinion.

Himself and declan kidney are the most gracious managers ive ever seen in any sport, win or lose they conduct themselves in the best manner possible.
Post by: johnneycool on September 07, 2010, 10:36:19 AM
Quote from: orangeman on September 07, 2010, 09:52:47 AM

And considering he doesn't get much practise at it!!  ;)
Post by: fearglasmor on September 07, 2010, 11:00:44 AM
Numerous times now I have heard Tipp players and others claim that the rest of the country were behind them and wanted to see Kilkenny beaten.

Jayz I wasn't.  I'd have loved to see Kilkenny achive the 5 in a row and I'm sure most neutral hurling people would have too.
Post by: highorlow on September 07, 2010, 11:04:50 AM
QuoteNumerous times now I have heard Tipp players and others claim that the rest of the country were behind them and wanted to see Kilkenny beaten.

Jayz I wasn't.  I'd have loved to see Kilkenny achive the 5 in a row and I'm sure most neutral hurling people would have too.

Yes I kinda felt sorry for the Cats after the game. The way Tipp played on Sunday means they will be around for a few years. Hopefully this will be enough time for them to get over thier fist clenching / gesturing / roaring to the crowd every time they win a free; a new rule should be brought in reversing a free if a player does that; its not the WWF.
Post by: funtime frankie on September 07, 2010, 11:16:37 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9BQlrrIr8uA

Fill yer boots boys. Not All Ireland talent show material but Pat Kerwick lacks nothing in passion. Still makes the hairs stand on the back of the neck.
Post by: Hardy on September 07, 2010, 11:29:13 AM
Quote from: fearglasmor on September 07, 2010, 11:00:44 AM
Numerous times now I have heard Tipp players and others claim that the rest of the country were behind them and wanted to see Kilkenny beaten.

I couldn't agree more.

Quote from: highorlow on September 07, 2010, 11:04:50 AM
Yes I kinda felt sorry for the Cats after the game. The way Tipp played on Sunday means they will be around for a few years. Hopefully this will be enough time for them to get over thier fist clenching / gesturing / roaring to the crowd every time they win a free; a new rule should be brought in reversing a free if a player does that; its not the WWF.

I couldn't agree more.
Post by: Onlooker on September 07, 2010, 11:37:26 AM
Quote from: funtime frankie on September 07, 2010, 11:16:37 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9BQlrrIr8uA

Fill yer boots boys. Not All Ireland talent show material but Pat Kerwick lacks nothing in passion. Still makes the hairs stand on the back of the neck.
Fair play to Pat Kerwick.  That was a great finish to a perfect day in Croke Park.  I have the match on Sky Plus and RTE ignored that part of the celebration (typical), but you can hear it in the background as you are forced to listen to Cyril Farrell & co. spouting away in the studio.  To hear "The Galtee Mountain Boy" in Croke Park last Sunday was something special.  This is the real anthem of Tipperary Hurling and Football.  Well done Pat.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 07, 2010, 11:49:15 AM
Great stuff. The hairs were standing on my arms listening to it again, and I hate Tipp (only joking :D).

At least Croke Park had the cop on to keep the piped music until it was over. Well done Croker as well.
Post by: mouview on September 07, 2010, 11:55:10 AM

No, I was neutral but wanted Tipp to win. Nothing much against KK but sport thrives on competition.
Post by: orangeman on September 07, 2010, 11:56:32 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 07, 2010, 11:49:15 AM
Great stuff. The hairs were standing on my arms listening to it again, and I hate Tipp (only joking :D).

At least Croke Park had the cop on to keep the piped music until it was over. Well done Croker as well.

Spare a thought then for the poor minors who got the Black Eyed Peas and left the Bishop talking into a microphone that wasn't switvhed on.

You could have nearly guranteed a balls up in spite of months of preparation for the day. The look on Christy's face was priceless !!! He was livid !!!  ;)
Post by: Hardy on September 07, 2010, 12:29:35 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 07, 2010, 11:56:32 AM

Spare a thought then for the poor minors who got the Black Eyed Peas and left the Bishop talking into a microphone that wasn't switvhed on.

Top marks to whoever arranged that. Was there ever a more annoying windbag than this ould fart? What exactly is the job of "patron" of the GAA, which is what I believe this character is billed as? Is there something in the constitution that says we have to have one (or more) of these? And if we do, that it has to be a cleric? A catholic cleric? Does anyone know what it's about? What would I say to someone who suggested it's casual, careless sectarianism? Where does it fit with Nicky Brennan's policy of attracting "protestants" to the games? Come to think of it, how did that go? Is it still in action? What is it doing and how?
Post by: AZOffaly on September 07, 2010, 12:46:52 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 07, 2010, 12:29:35 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 07, 2010, 11:56:32 AM

Top marks to whoever arranged that. Was there ever a more annoying windbag than this ould fart? What exactly is the job of "patron" of the GAA, which is what I believe this character is billed as? Is there something in the constitution that says we have to have one (or more) of these? And if we do, that it has to be a cleric? A catholic cleric? Does anyone know what it's about? What would I say to someone who suggested it's casual, careless sectarianism? Where does it fit with Nicky Brennan's policy of attracting "protestants" to the games? Come to think of it, how did that go? Is it still in action? What is it doing and how?

Sure according to Christy, Peter and the boys we are all patrons. I'm going to go up and say a few words in my capacity as Patron of the GAA after the next Offaly game there. (circa 2020).
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 07, 2010, 01:41:13 PM

Not me,I was delighted Tipp won.
Then I did grow up on the Kilkenny border and have had to listen to them more than most on here.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 07, 2010, 03:23:03 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 06, 2010, 06:56:20 PM
I heard you were pulled out by the manager before a football game was ever organised but your secretary and chairman never bothered to inform Kilmacud. Nothing to do with footballers I hear.

I prefer to say nothing, and I'll not get into the reasons here on a public forum regarding my club, airing your dirty linen and all that. As i have said a football match was arranged and we were left short of numbers.

If your source told you then it was bound to come on here.

Hardstation, i think you will find that i know a wee bit more than you with regards to the Sevens no show.
Post by: Minder on September 07, 2010, 09:56:05 PM
Pat Kerwick singing GalteeMountain Boy at Tipp homecoming last night.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxKWLtsl3NQ&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Post by: orangeman on September 09, 2010, 09:25:11 AM
Mick Kavanagh and James Ryall have apparently announced their retirement.

Tony Browne is supposed to be going as well.

3 great defenders.
Post by: lilpaulie85 on September 09, 2010, 12:06:23 PM
Browne was on the radio this morning and said he wouldn't even consider his future till December. as for the other two the kk board have stated that none of them wish to quit the inter county scene
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 10, 2010, 01:36:41 PM
Quote from: highorlow on September 07, 2010, 11:04:50 AM
QuoteNumerous times now I have heard Tipp players and others claim that the rest of the country were behind them and wanted to see Kilkenny beaten.

In fairness to Tipp, they're not the only ones at it.
Post by: seafoid on September 10, 2010, 04:03:04 PM
Looking at some of the tipp activity on youtewb I think Kilkenny will have no shortage of motivation for next year. Tipp haven't won back to back all-Irelands in over 40 years so I wouldn't be sure about them repeating the job next year. Galway will be out to beat them as well.
Post by: saffron sam2 on September 13, 2010, 01:55:36 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 06, 2010, 10:50:27 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 06, 2010, 08:39:53 PM
I also heard your full of shite O'Neill.
Funny that because I heard a similar story to O'Neill. Apparently, yis were never going to have the numbers for the 7s and were pulled out. The football game was arranged after this. On 3 separate occasions your manager told this to the powers that be but they didn't bother pass it on. I also hear that your manager has resigned over this debacle.

I fear it is you who is telling the porkies this time, milltown. I don't understand why unless you have some agenda we don't know about.

Only spotting this now. It appears hardstation is on the button.
Post by: ormondeboy3 on September 20, 2010, 10:29:52 AM
Looked at the All-Ireland on DVD properly at the weekend. Absolutely shocked and stunned at the the carry on of some of the Kilkenny players in the first 10 minutes or so. Several times upon driving out with the ball or where work-rate resulted in a free, they gave a little fist pump and clenched their teeth. There is no place for such emotion and focus in the game.

I believe some of our crowd showed similar emotion as the game developed. I know practically all of the team were on the cusp of their first All-Ireland win and redressing last years thievery..I mean disappointment, but come on.

As the fella said, the best time to kick a cat in the arse is when his tail is in the air. And who better than Tipp to kick.
Post by: Asal Mor on September 20, 2010, 11:00:59 AM
I've always thought it's great to see emotion on the sporting field. I'm surprised at the complaining about it on here. Sport is all about emotion. The extremes of joy and pain, the winner takes all scenario. Surely this is what seperates gripping, edge of the seat sport(All - Ireland finals, The Ryder Cup, State of Origin, Heineken Cup Finals etc.) from the mundane, mediocre stuff (snooker in the last 15 years,O byrne Cup matches, international soccer friendlies etc). As long as the emotion is genuine as it was in the All-Ireland final I think it's brilliant to see. If it's contrived ( WWF, a greedy soccer player kissing a crest, Sky Sports coverage of a mid-table clash between Birmingham and Stoke) then it's annoying bullsh!t.

Apologies for my excessive us of parentheses (brackets) in this post.
Post by: Hardy on September 20, 2010, 11:28:25 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on September 20, 2010, 11:00:59 AM
I've always thought it's great to see emotion on the sporting field. I'm surprised at the complaining about it on here. Sport is all about emotion. The extremes of joy and pain, the winner takes all scenario. Surely this is what seperates gripping, edge of the seat sport(All - Ireland finals, The Ryder Cup, State of Origin, Heineken Cup Finals etc.) from the mundane, mediocre stuff (snooker in the last 15 years,O byrne Cup matches, international soccer friendlies etc). As long as the emotion is genuine as it was in the All-Ireland final I think it's brilliant to see. If it's contrived ( WWF, a greedy soccer player kissing a crest, Sky Sports coverage of a mid-table clash between Birmingham and Stoke) then it's annoying bullsh!t.

Post by: Farrandeelin on September 20, 2010, 12:07:42 PM
Are parentheses not {} and brackets not ()
Post by: ormondeboy3 on September 20, 2010, 12:13:49 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on September 20, 2010, 11:00:59 AM

No problem with the brackets/parentheses/whatever they are. You are however showing scant regard for the "O byrne Cup".

No jokes please.