GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Mid Mon on August 07, 2010, 02:50:17 PM

Title: Barriers to keep the dubs in.
Post by: Mid Mon on August 07, 2010, 02:50:17 PM
Des Cahill sports show had story on the installation of 2 and a half metre tall barriers around Hill 16 to prevent pitch invasions.
Title: Re: Barriers to keep the dubs in.
Post by: Mid Mon on August 07, 2010, 02:51:37 PM
The Central Council of the GAA have endorsed a recommendation to increase the height of the front barrier at the Hill 16 end in Croke Park to 2.8metres.

The decision has been made after the unsavoury incidents that followed Meath's victory in the Leinster Senior Football final as referee Martin Sludden was attacked by supporters.

GAA President Christy Cooney warned last month that something had to be done about pitch invasions for the safety of players and fans.
Post by: Dont Matter on August 07, 2010, 02:55:03 PM
Quote from: Mid Mon on August 07, 2010, 02:50:17 PM
Des Cahill sports show had story on the installation of 2 and a half metre tall barriers around Hill 16 to prevent pitch invasions.

Sure most of the Dubs on the hill are used to being locked behind bars.
Post by: Gaffer on August 07, 2010, 03:34:09 PM

Must think the Dubs are gonna win Sam this year.
Tellin' youse now
NOT A CHANCE !!!
Post by: ross4life on August 07, 2010, 03:51:11 PM
If Dublin beat Cork expect a pitch invasion as it will be there first final for 15 years
Post by: Hound on August 07, 2010, 05:34:45 PM
Quote from: Mid Mon on August 07, 2010, 02:51:37 PM
The Central Council of the GAA have endorsed a recommendation to increase the height of the front barrier at the Hill 16 end in Croke Park to 2.8metres.

The decision has been made after the unsavoury incidents that followed Meath's victory in the Leinster Senior Football final as referee Martin Sludden was attacked by supporters.

GAA President Christy Cooney warned last month that something had to be done about pitch invasions for the safety of players and fans.
Those pesky Dubs, eh?
Post by: 5 Sams on August 07, 2010, 06:21:35 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on August 07, 2010, 02:55:03 PM

Sure most of the Dubs on the hill are locked.

Fixed that for ye Dont Matter.
Post by: red hander on August 07, 2010, 07:18:35 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on August 07, 2010, 02:55:03 PM

Sure most of the Dubs on the hill are used to being locked behind bars.

Post by: INDIANA on August 07, 2010, 08:53:14 PM
Well if the Gaa want to create another Hillsborough this is the way to do it. This is a disgrace. Cooney is easily the worst president we've had. He has achieved nothing in his tenure. Nothing.
Post by: cornafean on August 07, 2010, 10:50:04 PM
I cant see this getting planning permission.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 07, 2010, 10:53:54 PM
Very stupid, they are raising the fence to a height that no-one could scale in an emergency and its only on the hill, what they don't think people can enter the pitch from the other stands. It is beyond braindead.

To be honest how is a pitch invasion any more dangerous than a concert, a victory celebration in a town or city park, a road-race etc. There should be sufficient Gardai and stewards to protect players, patrons and officials, but fences are not the answer.
Post by: Hound on August 08, 2010, 09:28:16 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 07, 2010, 10:53:54 PM
Very stupid, they are raising the fence to a height that no-one could scale in an emergency and its only on the hill, what they don't think people can enter the pitch from the other stands. It is beyond braindead.
Agree completely.

QuoteTo be honest how is a pitch invasion any more dangerous than a concert, a victory celebration in a town or city park, a road-race etc. There should be sufficient Gardai and stewards to protect players, patrons and officials, but fences are not the answer.
This is what Sean Cavanagh said about the pitch invasion after the 2008 All Ireland Final:

I remember I was around the 14-yard line in front of the Hill and for about two seconds I think I got to hug Phillip Jordan and Kevin Hughes but that is all you get - two seconds - and then all of a sudden there were floods of people around us and we were on our knees surronded.

After that we were pushed and shoved for the next 10 minutes while we tried to make our way to the presentation area, which obviously took the shine off that first initial reaction that we had won the All Ireland.

Hand on heart, it is quite scary. At that stage your legs are tired, your body is tired and all you want to do is go and lie somewhere or even just take a minute to yourself.

I know now you can't afford to drop to your knees because if you do, you get knocked around like a rag-doll and that's a recipe for disaster and if something doesn't change there will be a tragedy and change will be forced on us after that.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 08, 2010, 10:26:46 AM
Just when you think you couldn't be amazed anymore by the stupidity....
Post by: Pangurban on August 08, 2010, 06:30:02 PM
This crazy proposal will be rejected on Health and Safety grounds
Post by: Maguire01 on August 08, 2010, 07:42:18 PM
I can't understand why they would fence in the Hill and leave the rest - it doesn't seem to make any sense. If anything, the Hill should be the last place fenced as it's the most likely part of the ground to have a crowd surge / crush.
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on August 08, 2010, 07:55:39 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 08, 2010, 07:42:18 PM
I can't understand why they would fence in the Hill and leave the rest - it doesn't seem to make any sense. If anything, the Hill should be the last place fenced as it's the most likely part of the ground to have a crowd surge / crush.

Exactly.. What happens when the other 3 stands go for the pitch and the Hill are left looking at them?..

Also i never realised til i was on it, how steep it is compared to other terraces..
Post by: Coddler on August 09, 2010, 09:49:35 AM
The stadium director (McKenna?) was on RTE radio this morning citing the attack on Sludden as a main reason for the new fencing in front of the Hill.
The RTE reporter missed the fairly obvious question. Did the people who attacked Sludden invade the pitch from the Hill or did they come from the stands?
From what I saw on the T.V that day it looked like they came from the stands. This looks like a pretty brainless kneejerk reaction from the GAA.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 09:52:57 AM
I can't believe this, and I can't believe it will be allowed to actually happen.

1) This actually raises the risk of a serious incident. Stadia around europe are getting rid of fences, not building them.
2) It's not only the hill that people invade from, or is this some sort of statement from the GAA that those on the cheaper tickets are less civilised than those in the stands?

It's a disgraceful stance in my view.
Post by: DoireGael on August 09, 2010, 10:29:17 AM
Dinasour attitude am thinking, 'Them young folk causing bother in the hill again'

Ridiculus if this happens
Post by: Hardy on August 09, 2010, 10:45:11 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 09:52:57 AM
I can't believe this, and I can't believe it will be allowed to actually happen.

1) This actually raises the risk of a serious incident. Stadia around europe are getting rid of fences, not building them.
2) It's not only the hill that people invade from, or is this some sort of statement from the GAA that those on the cheaper tickets are less civilised than those in the stands?

McKenna addressed those points in the interview this morning. How convincingly? Decide for yourself.

He said the barrriers will meet all Health and Safety requirements and will have gates, etc. that can be opened in emergencies.

He said the strategy for the stands was to keep the first few rows empty. He was a bit vague on this and didn't (as far as I recall) mention the plastic crowd-control netting  :). This seemed to be his rebuttal of the suggestion that the Hill customers were being singled out. He also said that the front rows empty strategy wouldn't apply for the finals, but that these seats would be sold in non-competing counties! It seems the thinking is that pitch invaders come only from the front rows.
Post by: Canalman on August 09, 2010, 10:46:32 AM
Sabre Rattling only at the minute. Need Planning Permission first to put  up the fences. They won't get it either imo............ they will be told to either pay for more Gardaí or hire more stewards.
Post by: Hardy on August 09, 2010, 10:47:13 AM
Quote from: Canalman on August 09, 2010, 10:46:32 AM
Sabre Rattling only at the minute. Need Planning Permission first to put  up the fences. They won't get it either imo............ they will be told to either pay for more Gardaí or hire more stewards.

McKenna says they'll be up for the Down-Kildare game.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 10:50:05 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 09, 2010, 10:45:11 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 09:52:57 AM

McKenna addressed those points in the interview this morning. How convincingly? Decide for yourself.

He said the barrriers will meet all Health and Safety requirements and will have gates, etc. that can be opened in emergencies.

He said the strategy for the stands was to keep the first few rows empty. He was a bit vague on this and didn't (as far as I recall) mention the plastic crowd-control netting  :). This seemed to be his rebuttal of the suggestion that the Hill customers were being singled out. He also said that the front rows empty strategy wouldn't apply for the finals, but that these seats would be sold in non-competing counties! It seems the thinking is that pitch invaders come only from the front rows.

I didn't hear him this morning, but if his second point was as you've summarised, then you really do have to wonder what goes on in their heads.

And the fences will have gates? I remember the days, as I'm sure you will too Hardy, when fellas would throw their jacket onto the top of barbed wire fences so they could climb over them, all around the stadium. A big fence will not stop lads trying to climb it, and when they do, and the crowd start pushing down from behind screaming for the gates to be opened so they can get out onto the pitch, what will happen?

I just can't understand why they don't do a bit of lateral thinking here.
Post by: blanketattack on August 09, 2010, 10:58:28 AM
The only way they're going to stop pitch invasions is to arm the stewards with machine guns.
Post by: Jinxy on August 09, 2010, 10:59:12 AM
I'm honestly worried about this barrier.
Far more worried than I would be about people going on the pitch.
Post by: omagh_gael on August 09, 2010, 10:59:34 AM
You have to wonder do these people ever watch videos of previous pitch invasions. The vast majority of 'invaders' come from the steps leading down the stand not from over the advertising hordings. No amount of red plastic/tape over the first few rows of seats will prevent an invasion.

Where has this idea come from to fence in the hill, most of the gombeens who attacked Sludden came from the stands!

A disaster in waiting as all counties left going for Sam haven't won it in a long long time so there will be a major scram to get on the pitch as soon as the final whistle goes on the third Sunday in September.
Post by: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 11:00:24 AM
A genuine question AZ, do you have any lateral thoughts on the issue yourself.
Personally I think supporters have no place on the pitch for all sorts of reasons and just because it is tradition doesnt mean its good. I dont think additional stewards or Gardai will stop a mass invasion any more than fences will.
Whats to be done ?
Post by: ballinaman on August 09, 2010, 11:00:35 AM
What a bollox that McKenna truly is. This will be a disaster.
Post by: orangeman on August 09, 2010, 11:00:54 AM
Talking to a lot of supporters, their view is that the erection of the fences is an absolute disaster waiting to happen as soon as Down, Kildare, Dublin or Cork win this year's football All Ireland or if Waterford / Tipp win the hurling.

It seems that Peter Mc Kenna reckons he'll be able to "deal" with the supporters in the other parts of the stadium apart from the Hill by bringing in a few more bouncers.

AZ had put forward a good suggestion. I'd back that one.
Post by: Hardy on August 09, 2010, 11:01:11 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 10:50:05 AM
I remember the days, as I'm sure you will too Hardy, when fellas would throw their jacket onto the top of barbed wire fences so they could climb over them, all around the stadium.

Sure I even remember the days when there would be a line of lads sitting all the way along the top of the wall at the back of Hill 16. The lads out at the end must have had at least 50 feet of nothing between them and the concrete below. They would climb up at the low end and then they'd have to shift along as more joined and then arse their way back along again when the match was over. With my life-long phobia about heights it used to spoil my enjoyment of the match looking at them.

Sorry - nothing to do with fences - just reminiscing.
Post by: Declan on August 09, 2010, 11:03:28 AM
Heard McKenna on Newstalk this morning and wasn't convinced by his arguments - He actually said that the main reason for the barriers was to limit the number of people that would subsequently exit through the Hogan onto Jones Road from the pitch and that as part of their exit strategy that this could cause a problem. All the arguments here re fences etc are correct. This seems like a plan that wasn't thought through properly
Post by: DoireGael on August 09, 2010, 11:03:47 AM
Would it be that tough to organise moving people onto the pitch in an ordered fashion, there must be enough stewards?? The HQ has to admit defeat here and structure this before someone is actually hurt by caging people in, i suppose the ticket prices will be going up to pay for it.

I personnally have a sneaking suspiciton its down to preventing damage to the pitch and more about €€€€€€'s.

On another note was actually doing the stadium tour the other week, and an ole boy walked in on to the pitch (He said he had played back in the 60's for Clare), not even on over the sideline, some english guy starts screaming 'GET OFF THE PITCH,GET OFF THE PITCH'  Ole boys reply 'theres gonna be 50000 on her in Septemeber. Whole show was laughing there heads off!  :D :D
Post by: ballinaman on August 09, 2010, 11:03:57 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 09, 2010, 11:00:54 AM
Talking to a lot of supporters, their view is that the erection of the fences is an absolute disaster waiting to happen as soon as Down, Kildare, Dublin or Cork win this year's football All Ireland or if Waterford / Tipp win the hurling.

It seems that Peter Mc Kenna reckons he'll be able to "deal" with the supporters in the other parts of the stadium apart from the Hill by bringing in a few more bouncers.

AZ had put forward a good suggestion. I'd back that one.
Doubt the Kilkenny fans will stay off if they do the 5 in a row either!!
Post by: Hardy on August 09, 2010, 11:08:35 AM
Quote from: Declan on August 09, 2010, 11:03:28 AM
Heard McKenna on Newstalk this morning and wasn't convinced by his arguments - He actually said that the main reason for the barriers was to limit the number of people that would subsequently exit through the Hogan onto Jones Road from the pitch and that as part of their exit strategy that this could cause a problem. All the arguments here re fences etc are correct. This seems like a plan that wasn't thought through properly

Yeah - forgot to mention that. Another major point of his supporting case was the need for ambulances to have access to the pitch, which would be compromised by people on the pitch. Sounded a bit bogus to me. I think any crowd would get fairly quickly out of the way of an ambulance with a siren. (Even a Louth crowd  ;D)
Post by: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 11:08:49 AM
Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 11:00:24 AM
Personally I think supporters have no place on the pitch for all sorts of reasons and just because it is tradition doesnt mean its good. I dont think additional stewards or Gardai will stop a mass invasion any more than fences will.
Whats to be done ?

I made a suggestion before fear, the cheek of you not to read all my posts and remember them :D

Basically the major issue I have with ptich invasions is the potential hassle, and trouble, that can be caused to players (winners and losers) and officials. However I do understand the desire of people to be out on the hallowed ground in triumph, and to look up at their captain accepting the cup in the Hogan Stand, a mass of colour and flags down below.

So... What I would suggest is the following. Rather than the Orwellian 'Pitch Invasions Bad, Fences and Barriers Good' I would do the following if I were the GAA.

Publish a piece in the newspapers and TV on the day up to the game, and in the program on the gameday itself, backed up with the following announcement before the start of the national anthem for the senior game.

'A Chairde Gael. The GAA values and respects the wishes of supporters to enjoy celebrations on the pitch after the match, however it is the GAA's primary concern that players, officials and spectator safety is paramount.

Therefore there will be a 5 minute delay after the end of the game, to allow players and officials to leave the pitch. After this all gates will be opened to allow an orderly exodus onto the field for those who wish to take advantage.

Please obey all announcements and stewards in this regard.

Please note, any person who ignores this policy, and invades the pitch before the alloted time, will be escorted from the stadium, disqualified from purchasing GAA tickets, and fine €500. '

That'd be my lateral thinking on it.
Post by: orangeman on August 09, 2010, 11:10:53 AM
Quote from: DoireGael on August 09, 2010, 11:03:47 AM
Would it be that tough to organise moving people from onto the pitch in an ordered fashion, there must be enough stewards??

I personnally have a sneaking suspiciton its down to preventing damage to the pitch and more about €€€€€€'s.

On another note was actually doing the stadium tour the other week, and an ole boy walked in on to the pitch (He said he had played back in the 60's for Clare), not even on over the sideline, some english guy starts screaming 'GET OFF THE PITCH,GET OFF THE PITCH'   Ole boys reply 'theres gonna be 50000 on her in Septemeber. Whole show was laughing there heads off!  :D :D

I know of a certain county manager who was told by this same english guy when they came up to have a run out on it in the run up to an AI semi final, that it was HIS PITCH and that he could only get 10 minutes on it with his team and when they overstayed their welcome, the english boyo turned on the sprinklers on one side of the pitch and sent the grass cutters out on the other side.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 11:14:17 AM
Would that English guy be the caretaker of the pitch? I think I read somewhere that they had hired some lad who was used to that grass etc from the Premiership.

If so, then it's not unusual that he'd be protective of it in fairness, and it's a good thing he sees it as 'his' pitch. That's professional pride.
Post by: Hardy on August 09, 2010, 11:16:01 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 11:14:17 AM
Would that English guy be the caretaker of the pitch? I think I read somewhere that they had hired some lad who was used to that grass etc from the Premiership.

If so, then it's not unusual that he'd be protective of it in fairness, and it's a good thing he sees it as 'his' pitch. That's professional pride.

The head groundsman is English, I seem to remember.

Edit - googled him - previously head groundsman at Huddersfield soccer ground.
Post by: DoireGael on August 09, 2010, 11:18:32 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 09, 2010, 11:10:53 AM
Quote from: DoireGael on August 09, 2010, 11:03:47 AM
Would it be that tough to organise moving people from onto the pitch in an ordered fashion, there must be enough stewards??

On another note was actually doing the stadium tour the other week, and an ole boy walked in on to the pitch (He said he had played back in the 60's for Clare), not even on over the sideline, some english guy starts screaming 'GET OFF THE PITCH,GET OFF THE PITCH'   Ole boys reply 'theres gonna be 50000 on her in Septemeber. Whole show was laughing there heads off!  :D :D

I know of a certain county manager who was told by this same english guy when they came up to have a run out on it in the run up to an AI semi final, that it was HIS PITCH and that he could only get 10 minutes on it with his team and when they overstayed their welcome, the english boyo turned on the sprinklers on one side of the pitch and sent the grass cutters out on the other side.

Saw the Clare minor hurlers there as well, same story but they were only allowed to walk around the perimeter of the pitch, one of the young lads made a dash across the pitch for he craic, English guy, to the manager,  "thats it round it up". The whole show was sent packing
Post by: orangeman on August 09, 2010, 11:22:34 AM

I've no problem with him taking pride in the pitch - that's only natural and to be expected. But to say it was "his" pitch and to turn on the sprinklers after having spent 10 minutes on it and having travelled over 100 miles for the privilege was disrespectful. He was told as much.
Post by: Hardy on August 09, 2010, 11:29:17 AM
Croke Park - In the name of love (http://www.pitchcare.com/magazine/croke-park-in-the-name-of-love.html)
Post by: deiseach on August 09, 2010, 11:34:49 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 09, 2010, 11:01:11 AM
With my life-long phobia about heights it used to spoil my enjoyment of the match looking at them.

I can empathise with this. I can't look at people sitting on top of the prom in Tramore without recoiling in horror.
Post by: heffo on August 09, 2010, 12:40:42 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 09, 2010, 11:22:34 AM

I've no problem with him taking pride in the pitch - that's only natural and to be expected. But to say it was "his" pitch and to turn on the sprinklers after having spent 10 minutes on it and having travelled over 100 miles for the privilege was disrespectful. He was told as much.

Sounds like the treatment the Dubs get up in Healy park for league games - your minors probably got hot water in the showers though!
Post by: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 01:35:34 PM
Is it just me or have the GPA gone awfully quiet since they were embraced into the fold of the GAA hierarchy.
Are pitch invasions not an issue affecting player welfare. Were the numerous incidents around the Leinster football final not related to player treatment and player welfare.
Are Dessie and the boys too busy counting the coppers.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 01:37:44 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 01:35:34 PM
Is it just me or have the GPA gone awfully quiet since they were embraced into the fold of the GAA hierarchy.
Are pitch invasions not an issue affecting player welfare. Were the numerous incidents around the Leinster football final not related to player treatment and player welfare.

I dunno what the reasons for it, but I think you are right. If the GPA were outside the tent, they'd be doing some pissing inwards about this issue.

I suppose they will say their input is part of the process for these GAA policies. I know there was some half hearted ad with a few players about pitch invasions recently on the Jumbo screen.
Post by: orangeman on August 09, 2010, 02:08:00 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 09, 2010, 12:40:42 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 09, 2010, 11:22:34 AM

Sounds like the treatment the Dubs get up in Healy park for league games - your minors probably got hot water in the showers though!

Didn't youse ?  :D

That's terrible. Tut tut !
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 09, 2010, 02:08:21 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 11:08:49 AM
Whats to be done ?

I made a suggestion before fear, the cheek of you not to read all my posts and remember them :D

Basically the major issue I have with ptich invasions is the potential hassle, and trouble, that can be caused to players (winners and losers) and officials. However I do understand the desire of people to be out on the hallowed ground in triumph, and to look up at their captain accepting the cup in the Hogan Stand, a mass of colour and flags down below.

So... What I would suggest is the following. Rather than the Orwellian 'Pitch Invasions Bad, Fences and Barriers Good' I would do the following if I were the GAA.

Publish a piece in the newspapers and TV on the day up to the game, and in the program on the gameday itself, backed up with the following announcement before the start of the national anthem for the senior game.

'A Chairde Gael. The GAA values and respects the wishes of supporters to enjoy celebrations on the pitch after the match, however it is the GAA's primary concern that players, officials and spectator safety is paramount.

Therefore there will be a 5 minute delay after the end of the game, to allow players and officials to leave the pitch. After this all gates will be opened to allow an orderly exodus onto the field for those who wish to take advantage.

Please note, any person who ignores this policy, and invades the pitch before the alloted time, will be escorted from the stadium, disqualified from purchasing GAA tickets, and fine €500. '

For this to work they must in fact remove the fence fromHill 16 or a crush will build in the intervening 5 minutes, there should be a 2.5 metre space between the pitch edge and the front supporters, there should be a double line of Gardai and Sweards. The Hill shoul be the first stand allowed to funnel on to the pitch, with the stands following 1 minute later.

As AZ said anyone breaking through onto the pitch should be restrcited by a third loose line of Gardai behind. If a Mass push breaks the line, there should be announcement that the Cup will be awarded to the winning team in the dressing rooms. This weill mean less revenue for the GAA due to reduced Hill 16 Capactiy and an extra cost of Gardai, but preserving a tradition and far more importantly ensuring safety is makes it worthwhile.
Post by: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 02:21:33 PM
How many Gardai standing shoulder to shouder would it take to circle Croke Park three times.

The lads around Sheriff Street will be in their element knowing half the gardai in the country are on duty in or around Croke park.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 02:23:31 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 02:21:33 PM
How many Gardai standing shoulder to shouder would it take to circle Croke Park three times.

The lads around Sheriff Street will be in their element knowing half the gardai in the country are on duty in or around Croke park.

Sure they'll be on the hill anyway :D

But if you are going to keep them off the pitch, no matter what, you might need 5 lines of Gardai, with Riot Gear if Waterford win the hurling or anyone apart from Cork win the football.
Post by: Hound on August 09, 2010, 02:28:37 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 01:37:44 PM

I dunno what the reasons for it, but I think you are right. If the GPA were outside the tent, they'd be doing some pissing inwards about this issue.

I suppose they will say their input is part of the process for these GAA policies. I know there was some half hearted ad with a few players about pitch invasions recently on the Jumbo screen.
The GPA are on record as being against pitch invasions. Do people expect them to repeat this ad nauseum?

http://www.gaelicplayers.com/press/560-gpa-appeal-to-supporters
Post by: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 02:38:16 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 09, 2010, 02:28:37 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 01:37:44 PM

The GPA are on record as being against pitch invasions. Do people expect them to repeat this ad nauseum?

http://www.gaelicplayers.com/press/560-gpa-appeal-to-supporters

In a word Hound, yes. It's a newsworthy topic, so they should be vocal about it, whatever their stance.

In fairness though, as I said, they would probably say that the GAA is reflecting their view now, so there's no need for a separate statement.
Post by: mrgaa1 on August 09, 2010, 02:42:04 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 11:08:49 AM
Whats to be done ?

Basically the major issue I have with pitch invasions is the potential hassle, and trouble, that can be caused to players (winners and losers) and officials. However I do understand the desire of people to be out on the hallowed ground in triumph, and to look up at their captain accepting the cup in the Hogan Stand, a mass of colour and flags down below.

+1 But I'd go even further.  The two finalists who are taking part should pre-record a video message that is played prior to the match and at half-time reminding patrons not to invade the  pitch.  Show pictures of Hilssborough and of fans being stampeded upon as images and let players/past players/managers be the voice of the message.  There are two big screens and a PA sytem.  Also in the build up to the match during the week on Radio and TV do the same. 

All this whining about pitch invasions etc...  Someone is going to get seriously hurt or worse - and when that happens the call for a public inquiry into why the GAA didn't do this, didn't do that will happen.  So lets pre-empt it. 
Personally no-one should be on the field after - lets adopt the Australian practice - $6,000 Aussie dollar fine if you invade and you don't leave jail until its paid.
Post by: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 02:55:01 PM
The GAA, GPA, participating counties, supporters groups and uncle tom cobley and all shaould all be doing everything humanly possible to put an end to supporters on the pitch. You can be misty eyed as you like about it but it is an incident waiting to happen and when it does, as posted below it will be a case why wasn't more done to prevent this.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 02:56:36 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 02:55:01 PM
The GAA, GPA, participating counties, supporters groups and uncle tom cobley and all shaould all be doing everything humanly possible to put an end to supporters on the pitch. You can be misty eyed as you like about it but it is an incident waiting to happen and when it does, as posted below it will be a case why wasn't more done to prevent this.

Or else to make the process as orderly as possible. Why is the answer to ban them, which is more confrontational, and more likely to lead to the sort of incident you are talking about. One thing is for sure, fences are not any safer than letting people on the pitch.
Post by: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 03:08:18 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 02:56:36 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 02:55:01 PM

Or else to make the process as orderly as possible. Why is the answer to ban them, which is more confrontational, and more likely to lead to the sort of incident you are talking about. One thing is for sure, fences are not any safer than letting people on the pitch.

I agree about avoiding confrontation and trying to impose a ban through fences or gardai or whatever. That will make people more determined and will never succeed.

It has to be a process of persuasion. If every element, as I mentioned, is actively telling supporters they dont want them on the pitch then surely the message would get across to the majority and the stragglers could be dealt with by the authorities.  At the moment it's just the GAA authorities telling people they cant get on the pitch. And we all know how that works in this country.

Any finals I was ever at I always enjoyed the minors celebrations of bring the cup around the pitch.
Post by: Doogie Browser on August 09, 2010, 03:34:14 PM
The Irish News report today said that the first 3/4 rows of seats in the Canal, Hogan & Cusack will be allocated to 'non-competing' counties too in the hope that this will put off invaders. Who makes this crap up?  Generally the majority of these tickets make their way to competing counties in one way or another anyway.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 03:36:18 PM
It doesn't matter if they give the first 4 rows to a touring party from the Dr. John Doe school for children with no sporting interest. It's not going to stop those from rows 5 to 105 coming down the steps.
Post by: Barney on August 09, 2010, 04:16:26 PM
How did they keep people off between 1999 and 2001?

I can't remember but an approach must have been taken which people did respect. The Hill was certainly in use for those finals. Maybe it was the fact that it was the old Hill and had fencing.

I think part of the problem now is the misinformation from Croke Park as to why they need people off the pitch. The reasoning changes all the time. Christy Cooney has zero respect among members and I think this is a last rebellion from members against the changes taking place in the organisation where games are becoming a form of entertainment for many, rather than a passionate quest to win big games; players have never been more removed from supporters, and the more Croke Park say stay off the more there will be a challenge to get on the pitch - which is likely to cause more trouble!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 10, 2010, 01:25:24 AM
Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 02:21:33 PM

I meant having a row of stewards at the hill, with a loose row of Gardai behind them and a handful of gardai behind them. Maybe I didn't make that clear.

3 rows of Gardai around Croke Park probably would be less than needed up in Bellanaboy.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 10, 2010, 01:29:00 AM
Quote from: Barney on August 09, 2010, 04:16:26 PM

I can't remember but an approach must have been taken which people did respect. The Hill was certainly in use for those finals. Maybe it was the fact that it was the old Hill and had fencing.

I think part of the problem now is the misinformation from Croke Park as to why they need people off the pitch. The reasoning changes all the time. Christy Cooney has zero respect among members and I think this is a last rebellion from members against the changes taking place in the organisation where games are becoming a form of entertainment for many, rather than a passionate quest to win big games; players have never been more removed from supporters, and the more Croke Park say stay off the more there will be a challenge to get on the pitch - which is likely to cause more trouble!

1999 - AI Champions - Meath - already did it in 1996
2000 - AI Champions - Kerry - already did it in 1997
2001 - AI Champions - Galway - already did it in 1998
Post by: ross4life on August 10, 2010, 01:31:21 AM

1999 Meath 2000 Kerry 2001 Galway not getting overly excited about their All Ireland win might have something to do with it? Armagh brought the pitch invasion culture back in 2002 when McGeeney started his victory by pleading with his countymen to stop the encroachment of Croke Park
Post by: DuffleKing on August 10, 2010, 01:52:05 AM

Nope, he just asked them to move back
Post by: Rossfan on August 10, 2010, 11:34:37 AM
Some very angry ( and no wonder !!!) Louth fans come in on the pitch from the Stands and have a go at the Ref. A Steward it hit on the head by a plastic bottle thrown from the Stand.
Answer === put a big fence on front of Hill16.
You couldnt make it up  >:(
Post by: Jinxy on August 10, 2010, 11:38:20 AM
It's safe to say the aftermath of the Leinster final was manna from heaven for Cooney & McKenna.
Post by: Hardy on August 10, 2010, 11:43:24 AM
McKenna and Cooney didn't seem to get their ducks in a row properly for their media excursions. McKenna yesterday morning was heavily emphasising the Leinster Final hooliganism as the major impetus for this initiative. Cooney on Radio One last night said the Leinster Final wasn't an influencing factor at all.
Post by: ross4life on August 10, 2010, 07:58:42 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 10, 2010, 01:29:00 AM

Well on those stats alone tells us they won't keep the fans from going onto the field this time

Down last win 1994
Kildare last win 1928
Dublin last win 1995
Cork last win 1990

Raising the height of the fence is accident waiting to happen IMO
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 10, 2010, 08:17:10 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 10, 2010, 07:58:42 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 10, 2010, 01:29:00 AM

Well on those stats alone tells us they won't keep the fans from going onto the field this time

Down last win 1994
Kildare last win 1928
Dublin last win 1995
Cork last win 1990

Raising the height of the fence is accident waiting to happen IMO

A far more sensible suggestion would be to put seats on the hill and remove the current fence.
Post by: cornafean on August 10, 2010, 10:03:12 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 10, 2010, 08:17:10 PM
A far more sensible suggestion would be to put seats on the hill and remove the current fence.

Better still, flatten the Ard Comhairle part of the Hogan and install in its place a caged area for delinquents.
Post by: heffo on August 10, 2010, 10:16:48 PM
Quote from: cornafean on August 10, 2010, 10:03:12 PM

Better still, flatten the Ard Comhairle part of the Hogan and install in its place a caged area for delinquents.

We can't have Bertie slumming it in Premium now - we've got to ensure he's looked after in Ard Comhairle
Post by: cornafean on August 11, 2010, 11:09:59 AM
Quote from: heffo on August 10, 2010, 10:16:48 PM

We can't have Bertie slumming it in Premium now - we've got to ensure he's looked after in Ard Comhairle

They could put in a special little cage at the front just for him. The Go-Games children could throw him biscuits and bananas on their way back under the Hogan after their half-time games.
Post by: Jinxy on August 11, 2010, 12:43:28 PM
Very few of the arguments put forward by Cooney & McKenna stand up to scrutiny.
At this stage, if they just said "Look, ye are wrecking the pitch" I'd have a lot more respect for them.
Instead we get insurance, Hillsborough, referees being attacked, only a matter of time before someone is killed etc.
I don't buy any of that tbh.
Post by: omagh_gael on August 11, 2010, 12:54:03 PM
They also took poetic licence regarding the Tyrone steward who took a heart attack. Apparently they were able to get him oxygen within two minutes as the pitch was clear of spectators but what would have happened if this was to occur after the AI final with 40000 people on the pitch?? :(

They claimed they weren't being dramatic....

Only thing is this man took ill in the Croke park hotel not on the pitch :0

I propose a nine foot fence be built around the hotel for safety sake. Anyone want to second this motion in congress?
Post by: orangeman on August 11, 2010, 05:37:32 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on August 11, 2010, 12:54:03 PM
They also took poetic licence regarding the Tyrone steward who took a heart attack. Apparently they were able to get him oxygen within two minutes as the pitch was clear of spectators but what would have happened if this was to occur after the AI final with 40000 people on the pitch?? :(

They claimed they weren't being dramatic....

Only thing is this man took ill in the Croke park hotel not on the pitch :0

I propose a nine foot fence be built around the hotel for safety sake. Anyone want to second this motion in congress?

As someone said earlier, you just couldn't make it up !
Post by: The Wedger on August 11, 2010, 09:12:25 PM
Why can't people simply respect the wishes of the organisers and stay off the field as requested?
Post by: ross4life on August 11, 2010, 09:24:06 PM
Quote from: The Wedger on August 11, 2010, 09:12:25 PM
Why can't people simply respect the wishes of the organisers and stay off the field as requested?

Maybe because most of these people want to keep the long standing tradition of celebrating the win on the field?
Post by: The Wedger on August 11, 2010, 09:41:03 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 11, 2010, 09:24:06 PM

Maybe because most of these people want to keep the long standing tradition of celebrating the win on the field?
There was a long standing tradition of sitting on the roof of the Hogan.
Should we still do it?
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 11, 2010, 09:46:59 PM
The waiting the 5 minutes is unlikely to work. For starters neutrals won't be able to leave their seats to go home as the scrums assemble in the aisles and at all the narrow exit gates. The pressure could start to grow on these gates and cause a crush situation.

A few jubilant (and probably fortified) yahoos are still going to do their utmost to make the break onto the field before the allotted time.
As what happens with normal invasions, once a few people manage to break the cordon, Every other wannabe invader makes a simultaneous burst for it.

The simplest and cheapest solutions are the best

- Put ads on the radio, tv, newspapers, Sacred Heart Messenger. Make stadium announcements, that if fans enter the playing area after the game, there will be NO, repeat NO cup presentation. Don't let there be any doubt about this.
- Be prepared to implement this. Don't just shake your head and hand over the cup as the fans celebrate winning the game and getting one up on Croke Park
- Don't hire tonnes of extra security. Doing this only raises the stakes and dares people to want to get one up on authority.

Most likely the first time, a few hard core, 'this is my pitch', 'its my right to invade', 'who do the GAA think they are telling what me what to do' types will burst onto the field regardless.
Walk away with the cup. There will be consternation, but so what.

Its not as if people weren't warned enough. Even Joe Duffy would find it hard to sympathise with whingers who warned profusely and still did it.

The message will eventually sink in. Fans will realise that managing to invade and get one up on the GAA, or live out 'tradition' is the most pyrrhic of victories imaginable.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 11, 2010, 09:59:30 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 11, 2010, 12:43:28 PM
Very few of the arguments put forward by Cooney & McKenna stand up to scrutiny.
At this stage, if they just said "Look, ye are wrecking the pitch" I'd have a lot more respect for them.
Instead we get insurance, Hillsborough, referees being attacked, only a matter of time before someone is killed etc.
I don't buy any of that tbh.
That's the thing, just be honest.
I read a while back that they said it took 20,000 to repair the field every time it was invaded, complete bullshit, they must think people are stupid.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 11, 2010, 10:38:38 PM
The problem is, we've all heard the 'Plan B' announcement too many times. No one really expects it to work.
Post by: deiseach on August 12, 2010, 11:13:30 AM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on August 11, 2010, 09:46:59 PM
- Put ads on the radio, tv, newspapers, Sacred Heart Messenger. Make stadium announcements, that if fans enter the playing area after the game, there will be NO, repeat NO cup presentation. Don't let there be any doubt about this.
- Be prepared to implement this. Don't just shake your head and hand over the cup as the fans celebrate winning the game and getting one up on Croke Park

Definitely the best suggestion I've read. If safety is so important, it shouldn't be a difficult scenario to countenance.

But they're clearly not countenancing it, and it adds grist to my mill that this has nothing to so with safety or insurance or the state of the pitch and everything to do with eradicating the image of the GAA as a mucksavage organisaton. The only thing that'd look worse than a pitch invasion before the presentation would be no presentation at all
Post by: Jinxy on August 12, 2010, 12:05:29 PM
Quote from: The Wedger on August 11, 2010, 09:41:03 PM

Should we still do it?

That wasn't a tradition.
A handful of people at best.
Post by: Jinxy on August 12, 2010, 12:08:49 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 12, 2010, 11:13:30 AM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on August 11, 2010, 09:46:59 PM

Definitely the best suggestion I've read. If safety is so important, it shouldn't be a difficult scenario to countenance.

But they're clearly not countenancing it, and it adds grist to my mill that this has nothing to so with safety or insurance or the state of the pitch and everything to do with eradicating the image of the GAA as a mucksavage organisaton. The only thing that'd look worse than a pitch invasion before the presentation would be no presentation at all

There you have it in a nutshell.
The powers that be have looked around at presentations in other sports i.e. fireworks, stage, HIGH SPONSOR VISIBILITY etc. and said "That should be us too".
No peasants in the way to spoil the view.
Post by: Jinxy on August 12, 2010, 01:34:37 PM
The Irish Times - Wednesday, August 11, 2010
Spectators' behaviour proving a barrier on safety issue

SEÁN MORAN

On Gaelic Games: It is a pity people just couldn't listen to common sense and not force the erection of fences

"THERE IS a distinct risk that while Croke Park itself can be viewed in the public mind as exemplifying the best in a new Ireland, the issues raised by ownership and access to Croke Park may portray the GAA as an association that is negative, old fashioned, political and redolent of an older Ireland."

The above paragraph is taken from the GAA's Marketing Sub-Committee report of 2005. Of course, the access in question concerns the opening of Croke Park to other sports, but it has a topical resonance with the GAA embroiled in an increasingly bitter row over its attempts to curtail the inclination of spectators to invade the pitch after big matches.
Post by: seafoid on August 12, 2010, 01:55:33 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 12, 2010, 01:34:37 PM
The Irish Times - Wednesday, August 11, 2010
Spectators' behaviour proving a barrier on safety issue

SEÁN MORAN

On Gaelic Games: It is a pity people just couldn't listen to common sense and not force the erection of fences

"THERE IS a distinct risk that while Croke Park itself can be viewed in the public mind as exemplifying the best in a new Ireland, the issues raised by ownership and access to Croke Park may portray the GAA as an association that is negative, old fashioned, political and redolent of an older Ireland."

The above paragraph is taken from the GAA's Marketing Sub-Committee report of 2005. Of course, the access in question concerns the opening of Croke Park to other sports, but it has a topical resonance with the GAA embroiled in an increasingly bitter row over its attempts to curtail the inclination of spectators to invade the pitch after big matches.

That older Ireland wasn't bad. It had balanced budgets and stable house prices.

On-pitch presentations with lots of glitter are naff anyway. It is much better to have the pontius pilate style address to a dhaoine uaisle below before announcing ta an-athas orm to the ecstatic crowd who may be surveyed comprehensively. How else does one appreciate the significance of what has just happened in  the ultimate sporting moment of the year . Anything else is a let down.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 12, 2010, 02:19:28 PM
Quote from: cornafean on August 11, 2010, 11:09:59 AM
Quote from: heffo on August 10, 2010, 10:16:48 PM

They could put in a special little cage at the front just for him. The Go-Games children could throw him biscuits and bananas on their way back under the Hogan after their half-time games.

Mountjoy or Portlaoise have to type of cage that the Dumcondra Don should be housed in.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 12, 2010, 02:22:06 PM
Quote from: The Wedger on August 11, 2010, 09:41:03 PM

Should we still do it?

I remember one of the Mayo V Meath Finals in 1996, there was a lad on the Nally Stand and next time I looked up there was no lad on the roof and a small hole in the top of the stand, always wondered did I imagine that.
Title: Fencing in the Hill
Post by: knockitdown on August 12, 2010, 03:37:43 PM
Off the fence today focused on the ongoing debate on how to stop the crowd entering the pitch at the end of the AI finals.

A 2.8m fence will be in place around the hill in time for both finals this year. Anyone i have spoken to and indeed in the irish news today, the general opion is that it is a disaster.

Theres always one who will agree tho.........     Mr Fearon  >:(   I cant help but wonder if this opinion would change if armagh were still in the running.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 12, 2010, 03:40:13 PM
barrier for Hill16...is it not being installed all the way around the ground...this should be done.

or some kind of automated barrier raising system that gets 'erected' 5 mins before the game ends (with any supporters inside that or or on the pitch once the barriers go up to be arrested and jailed overnight for trespassing.
Not sure if this feat of engineering has been invented, but it cant be too difficult to use hydraulics and cascading foldable Iron fencing that fits neatly benind the advertising hoarding !
(something for you engineering entrepeneurs to come up with and patent!!)

Anyhow the Dubs are the least worst offenders for pitch invasions.
They will have one maybe two invasions left this season I'd reckon ! Who'd have thought 6 months ago that this would be Dublins year !!
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 12, 2010, 03:49:33 PM
They will be installing it all round the pitch, the Hill 16 is the first, it's their test to see does it help keep people off the pitch, they expect a full pitch invasion this year regardless but the barriers are here to stay it looks like
Post by: Jinxy on August 12, 2010, 04:16:03 PM
The gas thing is, if there is a pitch invasion and someone gets hurt BECAUSE of the barrier they'll say "Look, we told you so. Pitch invasions are evil!"
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 12, 2010, 04:27:32 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 12, 2010, 03:49:33 PM
They will be installing it all round the pitch, the Hill 16 is the first, it's their test to see does it help keep people off the pitch, they expect a full pitch invasion this year regardless but the barriers are here to stay it looks like
while I dont like the barriers, I think they are necessary now.

However I dont like the fact that such barriers curtail the view to the patrons of the lower seats.

Therefore if hydraulic concertina type barriers can be created, invented and installed around the ground, we have the best of both worlds !
Post by: neilthemac on August 12, 2010, 04:39:06 PM
Is funny

just as UEFA and FIFA have gone back to having the presentations in the stand for World Cup and Euro Finals because it was more traditional, the GAA want to present the cup in the middle of the pitch.

the GAA hierarchy really are out of touch with the wider GAA public.
Post by: Minder on August 14, 2010, 12:26:40 AM
I think Micky Harte took a swipe at the GPA today in the Irish News after they backed the installation of barriers. In fairness if the Gaa said all fans should eat a bag of shite at half time the GPA would support them.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 14, 2010, 12:03:46 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 14, 2010, 12:26:40 AM
I think Micky Harte took a swipe at the GPA today in the Irish News after they backed the installation of barriers. In fairness if the Gaa said all fans should eat a bag of shite at half time the GPA would support them.
He also took a bit of a swipe at Sean Cavanagh, albeit indirectly and with no names mentioned.
Post by: Jinxy on August 14, 2010, 12:38:18 PM
Good lord, has anyone read the Indo today.
We need to get these barriers up now!
People will die!
Croke Park will be closed down!
What if there's a fire in the hogan stand and Jones Road is full of people?
What if radical terrorists take the winning team hostage and the army rangers can't get to the dressing rooms?
Jesus H Christ.  ::)
Post by: INDIANA on August 14, 2010, 12:49:31 PM
Anyone know what Mc Kenna's background is? Would have thought he'd be better suited to the Aviva Stadium. rather then telling us how to run our affairs.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 14, 2010, 03:03:57 PM
You know what? I wish they just came out and told the truth.

'Lads, the insurance companies are telling us to keep people off the pitch because of the risk of a big claim'.

They are completely ham fisted in their PR, and communications. Contradicting each other, 'The Louth invasion was the last straw', 'The louth invasion was not significant as a factor'. etc. etc.

Stop lying and pretending to care about safety of patrons. If that was your primary concern you wouldn't be putting f**king fences up on the Hill.
Post by: Rossfan on August 14, 2010, 04:11:21 PM
I think Micky Harte took a swipe at the GPA today in the Irish News after they backed the installation of barriers. .

Any chance Micky Harte would just shut up for a week or two. >:(
Post by: Jinxy on August 14, 2010, 04:31:01 PM
Who's the main driving force behind this?
Is it McKenna?
Is it Cooney?
Is it Duffy?
Because they all seem to have different reasons when they're asked "Why?"
Post by: Redhand Santa on August 14, 2010, 04:50:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 14, 2010, 04:11:21 PM
I think Micky Harte took a swipe at the GPA today in the Irish News after they backed the installation of barriers. .

Is he not entitled to an opinion? Look how often you post opinions on the gaa on a public forum. Only difference is more people are interested in Harte's opinion and he voices his opinions much less often.
Post by: antoinse on August 14, 2010, 10:43:56 PM
Just typical Rossfan - open your mind and LISTEN
Post by: Rossfan on August 15, 2010, 12:40:38 PM
The day Micky Harte says something positive about anything I will probably be too shocked to listen. :o
You can take the man out of the .......... :)
Post by: Gaffer on August 15, 2010, 01:25:49 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 15, 2010, 12:40:38 PM
The day Micky Harte says something positive about anything I will probably be too shocked to listen. :o
You can take the man out of the .......... :)

Just finish what you want to say there, Rossfan, why don't you?
Post by: GAA_Punter on August 16, 2010, 03:52:28 PM
Tragedy Will Shut Croke Park Down
http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2010/08/16/tragedy-will-shut-croke-park-down/
Post by: orangeman on August 16, 2010, 04:01:20 PM
Brolly had a well written article in yesterday's paper. It dealt with a lot of the points very anayltically and addressed the issues that Croke park are talking about.

As AZ said, why don't they just come out and tell us the truth instead of scaremongering and telling stupid, silly lies ?

The one about the Tyrone official taking the heart attack was priceless.

Is Alistair Campbell now working in Croke park ?.
Post by: seafoid on August 16, 2010, 04:18:06 PM
Quote from: GAA_Punter on August 16, 2010, 03:52:28 PM
Tragedy Will Shut Croke Park Down

Love will tear us apart
Post by: seafoid on August 16, 2010, 04:19:33 PM
Which insurers are demanding the fence ?  The GAA could just as easily set up a captive to bypass the insurers and look for cover in the reinsurance market.
Post by: cornafean on August 16, 2010, 04:51:17 PM
(http://a.imageshack.us/img62/2447/getoffmylawn2.jepg)
Post by: Eire2010 on August 18, 2010, 09:22:51 PM
I know there can be accidents and incidents of injuries, but for the supporters to be on the field on all-ireland final day is tradition and if i was to play in one, i would dream of the fans pouring onto the pitch
IMO it shows the outburst of emotion as proud natives show their supports and enthusiasm for their county
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 18, 2010, 09:24:44 PM
.................what about barriers to keep the Dubs out?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 18, 2010, 10:46:08 PM
GAA should install those grip bar things on roller-coasters on all the seats and have standing versions in the Hill. Each person locked in and released one by one.  ;D
Post by: JUst retired on August 19, 2010, 07:28:33 AM
Maygodhelpus. That is a brilliant idea ! Underneath the hill we could fit one of those uppy/down things to make it feel like a fairground waltzer,and get a mexican wave thing going. Olly, who has a great imagination,could maybe come up with more. Let`s all put our heads together and see what we can come up with. ;D
Post by: orangeman on August 19, 2010, 11:02:17 AM
So much for that orange plastic netting over the first 3/4 rows of seats this week.

They're selling away at them on Ticketmaster.ie right now.

You can get 305 row a - not bad seats whenever you consider that all they were selling as psast few days were the seats in the clouds behind the goals in the Canal end.

It's a case of geting the priorities right this week.
Post by: orangeman on August 22, 2010, 08:29:43 PM
(http://dynimg.rte.ie/00039efd-674.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 23, 2010, 11:31:03 PM
Colm Parkinson on Newstalk the other day when asked about the fence being put up at the Hill 16 end.

"There are always loads of lads on the Hill who are legless drunk.If they want to get on the field,nothing's going to stop them"
Post by: The Aristocrat on August 24, 2010, 01:00:10 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 23, 2010, 11:31:03 PM
Colm Parkinson on Newstalk the other day when asked about the fence being put up at the Hill 16 end.

"There are always loads of lads on the Hill who are legless drunk.If they want to get on the field,nothing's going to stop them"

Probably talking about the Kilkenny and Tipp fans at last years final, legless is an understatement, fights, sickness, escorted off, ambulance care. disgraceful.

When was the last time Scruff was on the Hill?