GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 31, 2010, 08:21:49 PM

Title: Who would you LIKE to see win the All Ireland?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 31, 2010, 08:21:49 PM
Question for the 26 neutral counties (no political connotations intended!)

I'd be split between Down and Kildare. Kildare because of the Armagh link, I'd love to see Geezer winning another All Ireland even if it isn't with Armagh and Down as I'd be sort of friendly with one of the players. Obviously there's no team I enjoy beating more than Down but I suppose I know a lot more Down supporters than any other county so I wouldn't mind seeing them win it.

Cork are still going to actually win it though but that's not the topic for this thread!
Title: Re: Who would you LIKE to see win the All Ireland?
Post by: ONeill on July 31, 2010, 08:25:46 PM
Dublin - Yes. Even though there are serious doubts about the quality of this side, I'd like to see them enter the Championship in 2011 as reigning champs. It'd be some craic.

Meath - Yes. Got a tough time over Sluddengate.

Kildare - Yes. Like McGeeney. Earley. Have family there.

Cork - No. Should've won it last year.

Down - Yes. Like Down's swagger.

Roscommon - Yes. For the craic.
Post by: orangeman on July 31, 2010, 08:27:18 PM
Down.
Post by: ziggysego on July 31, 2010, 08:28:54 PM
Down. Failing that, Kildare.
Post by: johnpower on July 31, 2010, 08:36:46 PM
kildare or Roscommon -would bridge along gap for both teams

Dublin- Have taken a lot of stick

Down - Play a good brand of football

Meath or Cork - Too much whinging from Cork Meath should have offered the re-play
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 31, 2010, 08:47:43 PM
Anybody but Dublin  :)

Would like to see Kildare win it
Post by: From the Bunker on July 31, 2010, 08:50:53 PM
Meath - No - NEVER

Kildare - Would not bother me

Cork - No - hard to warm to the langers

Down - Would not bother me

Roscommon - No, the journeys to Dublin would be horrendous
Post by: deiseach on July 31, 2010, 08:51:06 PM
In order of preference:

1. Roscommon
2. Kildare
3. Down
4. Dublin
5. Cork
Post by: tbrick18 on July 31, 2010, 08:55:31 PM
Down, simply because today has been the best football I've seen all year by far.
I like the way they played and the intensity they played with...it was a real team performance.
After them, Cork probably but based on the way the played last time out I wouldn't be surprised if they got beat the mara.
Post by: magickingdom on July 31, 2010, 08:57:17 PM
1) roscommon
2) down
3) kildare
4) dublin
5) meath
6) it gets called off due to war/famine/end of world
Post by: ross matt on July 31, 2010, 08:58:23 PM
Good thread Tac. If it's not Ross then Kildare for me. Love to see Dermot Junior win the one medal his dad didnt but deserved. Also really admire McGeeney as a player and manager. Interesting character. Man of substance.
Post by: Zulu on July 31, 2010, 09:01:11 PM
I can't say I have a real preference anymore. No offence meant to the Kerry and Tyrone lads but I'm glad it won't be one of them this year. I'd like to see Cork win it if only for all my talk about them  :D and I know a few of them to boot. But I would be delighted to see any of the others win it too. I'd probably go for Kildare at a push as they've been close before but not done it and it would be good for football in the county.
Post by: mountainboii on July 31, 2010, 09:02:49 PM
1. Kildare - for the Armagh lads.
2. Roscommon - for the lulz.
3. Cork, Meath, Dublin - Meh.
6. Down - Didn't mind them winning today, but Jaysus, they'd be hard listened to if they went all the way.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 31, 2010, 09:08:27 PM
I think we need a poll added.
Post by: done and dusted on July 31, 2010, 09:09:32 PM
Cork - To make up for last year, then maybe dublin for beating tyrone!;)
Post by: Orior on July 31, 2010, 09:24:34 PM
1) down
2) roscommon, cause its unlikely to happen
3) kildare, cause of McGeeny and O'Rourke
4) dublin, hill 16 deserve something
5) meath
6) cork
Post by: Fenway on July 31, 2010, 09:33:29 PM
1 Kildare   - Would bring Daz colour to Croker  ;D
2 Roscommon - At least the Sheepstealers wouldnt be another boring winner
3 Down  -  if only to keep the kerrymen having nightmares about what might have been - especially JOC
4 Dublin - really like the new approach - plenty of kick ball - good to watch

Equal last Meath and Cork  - if these 2 are in the final I may go to the Aran Islands for the day  >:(
Post by: Jinxy on July 31, 2010, 09:35:59 PM
Thanks lads!
These lists are in reverse order aren't they?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 31, 2010, 09:40:45 PM
1) Cork  (c'mon Munster)
2) Roscommon
3) kildare,
4) Dublin
5) Meath/Down
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 31, 2010, 09:44:42 PM
Dublin/Down/Kildare
Post by: caughtredhanded on July 31, 2010, 09:46:51 PM
I would love to see Down bring Sam up North again but would also genuinly be delighted to see the Dubs win it. They showed great fire in their bellies today.
Post by: gerrykeegan on July 31, 2010, 09:49:39 PM
Dublin

Living in the Capital, married to a Dub and my two boys are Dubs.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 31, 2010, 09:56:39 PM
I'd have a slightly preference for Meath, but regardless of who wins it will be a momentous win.
We're guaranteed bonfires, tens of thousands at the homecomings and a few months solid of celebrating.

It could be the like the glory days of the 90s in hurling, when the old guard didn't get a look in for a few years and the likes of Wexford and Clare came through from the doldrums.
Post by: Rossfan on July 31, 2010, 09:57:58 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 31, 2010, 08:51:06 PM
In order of preference:

1. Roscommon

You are one true gentleman.
Post by: ardal on July 31, 2010, 10:08:25 PM
1) Roscommon
2) kildare
3) Down
4) Cork
5) Meath
6) Dublin

If any of the top 3 win, I'd be delighted for them
Post by: deiseach on July 31, 2010, 10:10:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 31, 2010, 09:57:58 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 31, 2010, 08:51:06 PM
In order of preference:

1. Roscommon

You are one true gentleman.

At the risk of getting mawkish, it would be a splendid tribute to Dermot Earley. Not that Roscommon need any extra incentive, but it would be a lovely story.

Anyone other than Cork or Meath would be fabulous. Consider the other four officially jinxed
Post by: Jinxy on July 31, 2010, 11:00:07 PM
If the flourbags win there won't be a horse milked in Kildare for a week.
Post by: Sandy Hill on July 31, 2010, 11:14:03 PM
Kildare
Meath
Cork
Roscommon
Dublin
Down

Current betting with PP
Cork        5/4 (ffs to win 3 matches)
Dublin      9/4
Down      7/2
Meath      8/1
Kildare      9/1
Roscommon 80/1
Post by: Maguire01 on July 31, 2010, 11:18:32 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 31, 2010, 11:00:07 PM
If the flourbags win there won't be a horse milked in Kildare for a week.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on July 31, 2010, 11:31:16 PM
It's great to see it so wide open after two thoroughly enjoyable games today.

Wouldn't have a particular preference for AI but would like to see a Leinster county win out
- despite neighbourly rivalry I would be in the majority of Laoismen who wish the Lilywhites all the best
- living in Dublin I would not begrudge the Dubs victory
- Meath will fear nobody and good luck to them too.

Post by: The Worker on July 31, 2010, 11:52:55 PM
An Dun

Benny Coulter for player of the year also
Post by: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 12:10:24 AM
Quote from: The Worker on July 31, 2010, 11:52:55 PM
Let's not get carried away.
Post by: The Worker on August 01, 2010, 12:10:57 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 12:10:24 AM

whos ur player of the year so far then
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 01, 2010, 12:18:26 AM
Quote from: The Worker on August 01, 2010, 12:10:57 AM

Bernard Brogan
Post by: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 12:20:10 AM

I'd have to think about it. But Coulter doesn't particularly stand out.
Post by: The Worker on August 01, 2010, 12:21:42 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 12:20:10 AM

maybe think about your smart remarks in future then first

how many down games have you seen this year?
Post by: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 12:26:52 AM
Quote from: The Worker on August 01, 2010, 12:21:42 AM

Smart remarks? Just my opinion.
I've seen the game against Donegal and today's game on TV; I was at the Tyrone game.
I didn't see the other 3 games, although they were obviously against lesser opposition, so it's harder to judge.
I admire Coulter as a player, but he's not standing out as a player of the year, although he has time yet.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 01, 2010, 12:29:06 AM
Kildare - no time for Mr. Personality but like the cut of their jib.
Dublin - for the annoyance factor
Ross - fairytale
Meath - do it for Louth yis c***ts
Down - I was at Casement for their match against Tyrone and their second half performance was embarrassing. Tyrone could have bate them with 10 men so it would make a mockery of the thing if such a shower of shite won it.
Cork - horrible, striking counts.
Post by: The Worker on August 01, 2010, 12:30:17 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 12:26:52 AM

I've seen the game against Donegal and today's game on TV; I was at the Tyrone game.
I didn't see the other 3 games, although they were obviously against lesser opposition, so it's harder to judge.
I admire Coulter as a player, but he's not standing out as a player of the year, although he has time yet.

well you have said enough here, Coulters performance against Donegal wont be bettered this year.

Your opinion means nothing to me so keep it to yourself!
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 01, 2010, 12:37:02 AM
1.Roscommon
2.Kildare
3.Down
4.Cork
5.Dublin
6.Nope  ;D
Post by: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 12:56:44 AM
Quote from: The Worker on August 01, 2010, 12:30:17 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 12:26:52 AM

well you have said enough here, Coulters performance against Donegal wont be bettered this year.

Your opinion means nothing to me so keep it to yourself!
There's a saying that One Swallow doesn't make a Summer. And no player gets Player of the Year on the basis of a first round performance.

And if we were to keep our opinions to ourselves, none of us would be on a discussion board.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 01, 2010, 12:58:17 AM
I cant really choose between

Kildare or Roscommon, kildare are the best fans ive ever come across by a mile, i get on well with the rossies too, i loved all white colour kldare support bring, and there style is total football, roscommon are connacht but i think kildare have a better chance to be honest. Roscommon will be lifted by today, who knows?

I have a soft spot for the Dubs aswell, there workrate is unreal. The atmosphere they bring to games is class.

I was glad for Down today but from a Sligo perspective. Benny Coulter hasnt a hope of winning player of the year.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 01:03:49 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 01, 2010, 12:58:17 AM
I have a soft spot for the Dubs aswell, there workrate is unreal. The atmosphere they bring to games is class.
That'll be the whistles.

I was glad for Down today but from a Sligo perspective. Benny Coulter hasnt a hope of winning player of the year.
You clearly missed their first round encounter with Donegal.  :P
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 01, 2010, 01:11:23 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 01:03:49 AM
That'll be the whistles.

You clearly missed their first round encounter with Donegal.  :P

Ya sure i never even heard of Benny Coulter until today :P
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 01, 2010, 03:32:00 AM
Don't care a jot.

That said staying ahead of Meath and Cork on the role of honour would be nice but meh! Once we're gone I could care less.
Post by: leenie on August 01, 2010, 03:40:28 AM

roscommon all the way....   (my mammy is from there)

i'm peeved............. with tyrone!

and typsy!

oh well...
Post by: andoireabu on August 01, 2010, 03:57:10 AM
I cant really choose between

Kildare or Roscommon, kildare are the best fans ive ever come across by a mile, i get on well with the rossies too, i loved all white colour kldare support bring, and there style is total football, roscommon are connacht but i think kildare have a better chance to be honest. Roscommon will be lifted by today, who knows?

Not sure about kildare fans. the ones i was near for the derry game were shocking.  half cut and swearing all roud them in front of youngs ones. bad craic in my opinion but they were obviously not a representation of the whole county.  Would love to see down win it just because the dismantled kerry (didn't see the match but listened to the radio and it was all one way). c'mon the rossies just for the craic but can't see them past cork
Post by: Beard on August 01, 2010, 04:22:46 AM
Quote from: ross matt on July 31, 2010, 08:58:23 PM
Good thread Tac. If it's not Ross then Kildare for me. Love to see Dermot Junior win the one medal his dad didnt but deserved. Also really admire McGeeney as a player and manager. Interesting character. Man of substance.

Yup, I'd agree with the above.

I'd love to see Ros win it but deep down I know there is no chance. Kildare have the capacity to go all the way I think. I've been watching them lately and I love the way they play. McGeeney is a top class manager and I believe Kildare will face Cork in final. The head says Cork but the heart says Kildare.

Portloasie in 2003 was one of my favourite days out as a Roscommon supporter, as much for the banter with the Kildare boys as anything else. I lived in Meath for six years and to borrow a phrase..."I'd love it you beat them.......I'd love it".... 
Post by: mackers on August 01, 2010, 10:03:55 AM
Has to be Kildare with the strong Armagh connection although there's nobody in there that I wouldn't like to see winning it.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 01, 2010, 10:06:25 AM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on July 31, 2010, 09:49:39 PM
Dublin

Terrible disease that, Is there nothing you can do to cure them?
Post by: All of a Sludden on August 01, 2010, 11:22:24 AM
1 Dublin
2 Down/Roscommon
4 Kildare
5 Cork
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 01, 2010, 11:38:37 AM
Quote from: leenie on August 01, 2010, 03:40:28 AM

roscommon all the way....   (my mammy is from there)

i'm peeved............. with tyrone!

and typsy!

oh well...

Hungover much Leenie?  :)
Post by: Club Rossa on August 01, 2010, 12:09:59 PM
Hope Down can win it now,if not i would like to see Cork lift it.
Post by: ross4life on August 01, 2010, 12:46:13 PM
1.Roscommon (little chance)
2.Kildare (for Dermot)
3.Down
4.Meath
5.Cork
6.Dublin (won more than everyone else in the list)
Post by: sammymaguire on August 01, 2010, 01:24:59 PM
1. Dublin
2. Down
3. Roscommon
4. Kildare
5. Meath
6. Cork (most self-righteous crowd of hoors in Ireland!)  ;)
Post by: takeyourownpath on August 01, 2010, 03:17:54 PM
down, all the way! bring on cork in the semi's :)
Post by: Maguire01 on August 01, 2010, 03:21:47 PM
Quote from: takeyourownpath on August 01, 2010, 03:17:54 PM
down, all the way! bring on cork in the semi's :)
Eh, you're playing the winners of Kildare and Meath. Do keep up.
Post by: chuculainn on August 01, 2010, 04:00:08 PM
woulld love dubs to win it improving with every game if not then maybe down or kildare ::)
Post by: Puckoon on August 01, 2010, 06:34:21 PM
In order of preference.

1. Down - I always enjoyed the Down teams of the past. Just when I was really getting into football - Linden and Wee James were enthralling to me. I enjoy watching Benny Coulter and I think on their day they can play the most attractive and dangerous brand of football - they are always a goal threat - which isnt something you can say about every team.

2. Kildare - Was a big fan of Niall Buckley back in the day and the whole Kildare resurgence that saw them almost win it in the late 90s I think. Cannot warm to McGeeney at all however, but I'd still like to see the lilly whites take it down.

3. The Dubs - Even though they robbed the arses out of us in 1995 - Ive always enjoyed seeing a good Dublin team play. This is a good Dublin team, and I like the fact that they displayed some levels of intensity against Tyrone yesterday, that I hadnt seen since the Ty Ky 2003 semi final. I always liked Jayo - even though that goal in 1995 broke my heart. I am glad they moved on from Pillar. Bernard Brogan seemed like a good spud when interviewed yesterday after the game, even though I dont like the cut of his brother.

4. No real gra for either of the next quarterfinalists.
Post by: Pangurban on August 01, 2010, 07:58:44 PM
Down
Dublin
Kildare
Cork
Post by: Niall Quinn on August 01, 2010, 08:03:15 PM
Down
new York
Liverpool fc
Post by: 45 metres on August 01, 2010, 08:16:51 PM
Can't say I have a strong preference for any of the last four teams remaining. All have their good and bad points.

Cork. Plus, maybe the best team left and a good team to watch. Minus, that Peoples Republic Of Cork shite is hard to listen to and if they win it this year it will likely be the start of a run like Kerry and Tyrone had done in the last decade.

Dublin. Plus, they bring great colour to Croke Park for the big game. Minus, the Dublin based press will be masturbating hard for a "GAA needed a Dublin All Ireland win" line for years to come.

Down. Plus, a good team to watch, forwards played very well against Kerry. Minus, their support are awful shower of hoors to listen to at the best of times. They will be even harder to listen to if they get this All Ireland out of nowhere like 1994.

Kildare. Plus, it might put a smile again on Mc Geenys face. Minus, it might put a smile again on Mc Geenys face.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 01, 2010, 09:24:27 PM
Anybody but that shower of cocky hoors from Leeside now.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 01, 2010, 11:00:44 PM
1. Dublin
2. Kildare/Down

1,000,000. Cork
Post by: Orior on August 01, 2010, 11:39:55 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 01, 2010, 09:24:27 PM
Anybody but that shower of cocky hoors from Leeside now.

lol
Post by: ballinaman on August 02, 2010, 03:14:04 AM
Kildare or Down!
Post by: Oraisteach on August 02, 2010, 04:58:26 AM
Down.  I grew up listening to Micheal O'Hehir on the radio effuse about Paddy Doherty, Joe Lennon, Sean O'Neill.  My dad went to all the games, a man from the 'Point.

Still, there's also great appeal in picturing Geezer raising Sam one more time.
Post by: Ball Hopper on August 02, 2010, 08:57:39 AM
No matter who wins it...will the supporters be kept off the field afterwards?

I have my doubts, somehow.

A small chance the Tyrone or Kerry supporters would have stayed put, seeing one or the other have been there for the last 7 years...but that's out the window now.

Post by: Banana Man on August 02, 2010, 09:12:26 AM
If Down win the all-ireland it won't matter if there's Sniper Towers around the ground there will be thousands of mourne men on the pitch, absolutley no chance of keeping us of the pitch!!!
Post by: magpie seanie on August 02, 2010, 01:04:27 PM
My 4 preferred options in order of preference:

Kildare
Down
Dublin
Not awarded/championship abandoned
Post by: The Forfeit Point on August 02, 2010, 01:34:59 PM
are cork really that disliked? i've had nothing but good experiences down on leeside. wouldnt bother me at all if they won it. in fact id be delighted for any of the 4 teams remaining to lift sam. great end to the championship coming up!
Post by: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 03:56:50 PM
I'd like to see a Leinster team win it, preferably Kildare although 'It would be great for the GAA if Dublin won an All Ireland (copyright Irish Independent)'.

Failing a Leinster team, and in fact if Leinster had won one since 1999 or whenever it was, I'd love to see Down winning it.

Finally Cork, but not due to any negative feelings towards Cork. They are probably the best team in it, although not on current form, so would be worthy winners. But just to piss Zulu off :D
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on August 02, 2010, 05:20:24 PM
1. Dubs
2. Down
2. Kildare
4. Thon shower of striking, player power, roll over agin Kerry cnuts
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on August 02, 2010, 05:23:50 PM
I may be paranoid but Im picking up some subtle signals that Cork aren't that liked.

:'(
Post by: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 05:32:08 PM
Don't be silly Chris.

You're not paranoid.
Post by: ross4life on August 02, 2010, 09:07:23 PM
To update..

(1)Kildare (Dermot would like this)
(2) Cork (will make our 9 point defeat look better if they win the all Ireland)
(3) Down (for Ulster)
(4) Dublin (won it 22 times already)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 04, 2010, 01:51:12 PM
Cork as have been telling anyone who'd listen since the start of the year that they'd win it, not a fan of the humble pie...

Failing that wouldn't have a problem with any of the other 3 winning it, it's been a good year for football (outside the Lake County)...

Quote from: gerrykeegan on July 31, 2010, 09:49:39 PM
Dublin

Jaysus Gerry, can u not invoke the parentage rule or something???  :P
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on August 04, 2010, 02:01:43 PM
Down.
Post by: DoireGael on August 04, 2010, 02:13:21 PM
Down (Related to a few, Ulaidh Abu, Great brand of football, Great to watch, Excellent history in the game, 1994 V Derry at Celtic Park the greatest game ever played)
Kildare (Dermott, Geezer, Seems like pure blood and sweat has got them there, They have went a long time without one, respect to the guys in the hill given her 90!)
Cork (Up the rebels, memories of 1993, always sound, great Dual County)
Dublin (Widen the expansion of the games in the capitiol, stop all the D4 cricket/egg chaser chat for a while, show the success of the work been done on the ground)

Couldnt really begrudge any the chance to take it home, but hopefully Down take her.
Post by: Rossfan on August 04, 2010, 05:00:43 PM
Kildare ... 82 years is a long time , and of course the Earley factor.
Of the others Cork/Down/Dublin in that order.
It really is wide open now .
Post by: Armaghgeddon on August 06, 2010, 11:27:26 AM
Kldare - They have had hell of a long wait.
Post by: Oldira on August 06, 2010, 03:04:29 PM
1/ Kildare......lot of friends from there.
2/ Dublin.......the genuine GAA men from Dublin are very sound
3/ Down.......someone has to be 3 rd choice
4/ Cork.........I pray the wont. 1000 Cork fans for a Q/F means they should NEVER be allowed win anything. Tight-fisted shower.
Post by: Hardy on August 06, 2010, 03:15:19 PM
Quote from: Oldira on August 06, 2010, 03:04:29 PM
1000 Cork fans for a Q/F means they should NEVER be allowed win anything. Tight-fisted shower.

I want to put in a word for the Cork fans. The fact that many of them left after the first match meant four of us were able to move from seats looking along the end line at the hill end of the Cusack to seats on the halfway line for the Meath-Kildare game.
Post by: fearglasmor on August 06, 2010, 06:25:14 PM
1. Dublin - I want to see the African-Irish take to Gaelic Football in a big way.
2. Kildare - Theyre a Leinster team with Dermot Earley
3. Down - They have a great history with Offaly from the 60's
4. Cork - Someone has to be last.
Post by: Applesisapples on August 06, 2010, 06:54:35 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on August 06, 2010, 06:25:14 PM
1. Dublin - I want to see the African-Irish take to Gaelic Football in a big way.
2. Kildare - Theyre a Leinster team with Dermot Earley
3. Down - They have a great history with Offaly from the 60's
4. Cork - Someone has to be last.
I always like to see the Ulster teams win, but some of the crap fropm Down fans on this site is making it hard, so failing Down then Kildare for geezer and Aiden O'Rourke.