GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 09:35:51 AM

Title: What has happened Ulster Football?
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 09:35:51 AM
Around this time of year a few years ago news bulletins reported, on at least two times in two years anyway, that large black Puma's were seen roaming the countryside around Tyrone and South Armagh.  I always thought it strange that these sightings always coincided with either one or the other county being dumped out of the championship and in a way were designed to deflect attention from their predicament.  Not even the spotting of an elephant in Tony Fearons back garden could deflect attention from the state of football in Ulster today.

The Ulster final was the worst game of football I have ever had to endure watching in all my life (first half because I didn't bother with the second) and the rest of the games were no better. Even when Kildare who were out of the Leinster championship hopped into their landrovers and went up and beat Derry it was even worse. True, it can be said football is not great in Leinster and the Dubs took a leaf out of the Nordies book and sent penguins walking around the city to deflect from them losing the Leinster Semi-Final but Kildare, Louth, Dublin, Meath, and possibly Laois are still in the championship.

So how long will it be before we see personalized number plates around Croker again, or what has happened to football in Ulster?
Title: Re: What has happened Ulster Football?
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2010, 09:46:09 AM
Is it true that the last time Leinster produced an All-Ireland finalist Dana was in top lilting form, Fearon was 12 stone and Peter Canavan had long flowing golden locks?
Post by: Zapatista on July 20, 2010, 09:49:29 AM
Regardless of Pumas and penguins the querky opening post  doesn't deflect from this being another stupid thread on another stupid topic.
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2010, 09:54:20 AM
Unfortunately the once-sharp Bud's winding skills are as subtle as a Colm Parkinson interview.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 09:59:31 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on July 20, 2010, 09:49:29 AM
Regardless of Pumas and penguins the querky opening post  doesn't deflect from this being another stupid thread on another stupid topic.

Incorrect, it is in the interest of the GAA in general to find out why has such a demise come about in Ulster. Apart from that, the attendances at GAA games this year is already a concern and if the downword slide continues the quality of games, in particular the Ulster Championship has to be questioned.  Not even the Dubs would turn up in Croke Park when they heard it was Armagh, I suspect their theory being, if they are good enough to beat us we (Dubs) are no good at all, or, we beat them it does not matter until we play an exciting team.  Quirky and stupid you might call this thread but by the end of year if something is not done about the quality of football it is the GAA that will look quirky and stupid. Apart from the Connaught championship it is the luck of God we have hurling or the GAA wouldn't get as much as what is put on a church collection plate for some of the games they are providing in football.
Post by: Bensars on July 20, 2010, 10:00:11 AM
On that note, what has happened to fearon?  Has been banned ?
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 10:02:34 AM
Quote from: Bensars on July 20, 2010, 10:00:11 AM

I'd say like thousands of others he has become totally disillusioned with Ulster football.
Post by: under the bar on July 20, 2010, 10:07:30 AM
QuoteOn that note, what has happened to fearon?  Has been banned ?

Did anyone spot him at the Ulster final on his freebee tickets?   
Post by: Hardy on July 20, 2010, 10:09:22 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 10:02:34 AM

I'd say like thousands of others he has become totally disillusioned with Ulster football.

See - there's a positive side to everything.
Post by: Zapatista on July 20, 2010, 10:12:09 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 09:59:31 AM

Incorrect, it is in the interest of the GAA in general to find out why has such a demise come about in Ulster. Apart from that, the attendances at GAA games this year is already a concern and if the downword slide continues the quality of games, in particular the Ulster Championship has to be questioned.  Not even the Dubs would turn up in Croke Park when they heard it was Armagh, I suspect their theory being, if they are good enough to beat us we (Dubs) are no good at all, or, we beat them it does not matter until we play an exciting team.  Quirky and stupid you might call this thread but by the end of year if something is not done about the quality of football it is the GAA that will look quirky and stupid. Apart from the Connaught championship it is the luck of God we have hurling or the GAA wouldn't get as much as what is put on a church collection plate for some of the games they are providing in football.

I see.
Post by: johnneycool on July 20, 2010, 10:22:15 AM

The standard of the hurling hasn't been great either this year with some of the better games being the likes of Clare v Waterford and Galway v Offaly.

Attendences are also well down as I've been to many's a Munster final where tickets were like hens teeth yet there was plenty of empty seats at both the replay and the initial final.

Post by: mackers on July 20, 2010, 10:29:54 AM

You and Real Laoislad still haven't got over the couple of tankings we gave you a few years back. Even in our disillusioned state we still came down and beat ye in your own back yard this year. Give me a Dub any day, better sportsmen that ye Laois crowd.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 10:32:21 AM
QuoteThe standard of the hurling hasn't been great either this year with some of the better games being the likes of Clare v Waterford and Galway v Offaly.

Attendences are also well down as I've been to many's a Munster final where tickets were like hens teeth yet there was plenty of empty seats at both the replay and the initial final.

That is because the drink drive laws are being adheered to more than ever now, pubs closing down and punters won't travel from the five mile radius around Semple Stadium.  It is also because the GAA have failed to engage with Iarnrod Eireann to encourage train timetables that would allow punters to travel.  I saw on the hurling thread where some lads came from Down to Semple Stadium but stayed overnight.  If you check the timetables this week you will see the last train from Thurles was about the same time as the final whistle and it is the same in Galway, Limerick and Killarney/Tralee and every other ground.

When you have people from Down and Antrim travelling to Thurles for a hurling match (see the hurling section) it tells you what the state of football in Ulster is like. The GAA need to take teams like Tyrone one year, Armagh the following year and Derry etc on an annual basis and put one of them into Leinster or Munster or Connaught and let them get a bit of bottle to bring back excitement to Ulster football.  If the slide continues at its present rate nobody will be going to a football game in Ulster in a few years.
Post by: supersarsfields on July 20, 2010, 11:03:29 AM
Don't ya just love the Leinster boyos getting cocky just because they've knocked a few Ulster teams out and actually have a few teams still involved at this stage. No doubt, like every other year for god knows how long, ya'll have to pick your favorite from Munster, Ulster or Connaught again in September to support.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 11:14:38 AM
I am already trying to get my hands on a copy of the Connaught Final.  Best game of football this year.  Leinster would be good too only for the fact that, not being happy with foookin up your own provincial championship, ye send us down a referee to try and foook up ours as well and then when he is offered the courtesy of a Garda escort of the field he is supposed to have said "I don't want no f'n free state police protection"  and stays there dictating to all and sundry.

There is a chance that the football championship can be rescued and we might see another game of football like the Connaught final but it won't involve an Ulster team with their style of today. I am not taking cheap shots here at all or getting cocky as you put it, I am really really concerned about the demise of football in Ulster.
Post by: Onlooker on July 20, 2010, 11:22:36 AM
Bud Wiser, I don't understand what you are saying about Laois, possibly, being still in the Championship.  I am sure that I saw them losing to Tipperary in Thurles in the 1st Round of the qualifiers.  Tipp played Dublin in Croke Park the following week, so I don't see where Laois get back into the Championship.  Is it something like John Delaney's 33rd team? ??? ??? ???
Post by: Zapatista on July 20, 2010, 11:22:45 AM
I think Ulster are in a new period of reinventing how football is played. When this transition period is complete Ulster will be clocking up Sams again and the rest will soon adopt this new type of football. In the constant reinvention ulster is actually saving football. it's a small price to pay and in the meantime we have Tyrone anyway.
Post by: johnneycool on July 20, 2010, 11:28:28 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 10:32:21 AM

When you have people from Down and Antrim travelling to Thurles for a hurling match (see the hurling section) it tells you what the state of football in Ulster is like.

I don't see how you can draw that conclusion as the two aren't related.

I've been going to Munster finals since the early 90's when Ulster footballers were winning AI's and indeed my own county won two in that era. I've always loved the Munster final as a spectacle and my first love is hurling anyway and if it's anything in decline its the interest attendance wise of the Munster hurling championship nad that should be of concern more so than the performance of Ulster counties still in AI contention.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 11:33:56 AM
Quote from: Onlooker on July 20, 2010, 11:22:36 AM
Bud Wiser, I don't understand what you are saying about Laois, possibly, being still in the Championship.  I am sure that I saw them losing to Tipperary in Thurles in the 1st Round of the qualifiers.  Tipp played Dublin in Croke Park the following week, so I don't see where Laois get back into the Championship.  Is it something like John Delaney's 33rd team? ??? ??? ???

In the replay against Meath in Tullamore Joe Sheridan very clearly threw the ball into the Laois net for the important goal that led to our lads putting their heads down.  (it was the goal where he received a pass across the goalmouth from the right hand side and he was standing in the square on the left) I tried to find it but I my understanding is that the LCB have it and are formulating an appeal but were just waiting the outcome of the Louth game before lodging it. I'd say it will be 2015 before the Leinster championship is sorted.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 20, 2010, 11:35:07 AM
Jeez bud, theres a demise in ulster , leinster and connacht this year if some people and media are to believed ! (likewise a demise in leinster and ulster hurling given that only Kilkenny are of any use in leinster - Antrim beating Dubs ,Offaly improving but laois, meath etc all no hopers).

Thats football - standards are levelling off and only the big three remain at the top of the pile by some distance. Wheras some counties have the potential to catch up (ie Dublin, maybe Monaghan for the next season or so) other counties have the talent but will most likely never get close (Meath, kildare, louth,Down, Armagh, Derry, Donegal, Mayo, Galway).

Next season we may see Donegal and Galway get to the AI semi finals.
Its the unpredictability of football outwith the top three that keeps us going ot games in hope more than expectation.
With the top three you know they will usually produce on the big stage and what they are capable of. Only a bad day out (which happens every team at least once a season) can catch them cold.
Otherwise its a straight shoot out between Kerry, Cork and Tyrone.
With Cork peoples favourites but they have yet to hit form. Tyrone with their new 'anti-cork' defence tested last sunday wil be gunning for them, while champions Kerry will try to ambush one or both of these to regain their title.
Demise Bud ? Naw, its the beautiful unpredictibility of football.
Only one thing you can predict - Mickey hartes tactics will ensure the red arses arent far away at the end of it all !
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 11:36:32 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 20, 2010, 11:28:28 AM

When you have people from Down and Antrim travelling to Thurles for a hurling match (see the hurling section) it tells you what the state of football in Ulster is like.

I don't see how you can draw that conclusion as the two aren't related.

I've been going to Munster finals since the early 90's when Ulster footballers were winning AI's and indeed my own county won two in that era. I've always loved the Munster final as a spectacle and my first love is hurling anyway and if it's anything in decline its the interest attendance wise of the Munster hurling championship nad that should be of concern more so than the performance of Ulster counties still in AI contention.

That I have to admit is fair comment johnny.  Yep, fair comment enough.
Post by: donelli on July 20, 2010, 11:37:35 AM
Going on the national league tables 2010, Ulster still have 5 teams in the top 10.
We'll see what the representaion is like in the AI semi-finals come August..
Post by: supersarsfields on July 20, 2010, 11:41:38 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 11:14:38 AM
I am already trying to get my hands on a copy of the Connaught Final.  Best game of football this year.  Leinster would be good too only for the fact that, not being happy with foookin up your own provincial championship, ye send us down a referee to try and foook up ours as well and then when he is offered the courtesy of a Garda escort of the field he is supposed to have said "I don't want no f'n free state police protection"  and stays there dictating to all and sundry.

There is a chance that the football championship can be rescued and we might see another game of football like the Connaught final but it won't involve an Ulster team with their style of today. I am not taking cheap shots here at all or getting cocky as you put it, I am really really concerned about the demise of football in Ulster.

Well to be fair it looks like you are being cocky and taking cheap shots. especially your crap about a Sludden. How's that's relevant to the standard of football in Ulster?
As Zap said Ulster will continue taking the odd Sam of the Kerry boys, but maybe if you Leinster boys are done slapping each other on the back you might want to give that a go yourself or have ya's forgotten that there's life outside Leinster.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 20, 2010, 11:46:26 AM
Bud, are you Olly in disguise??
Post by: Maguire01 on July 20, 2010, 06:43:15 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 09:35:51 AM
So how long will it be before we see personalized number plates around Croker again, or what has happened to football in Ulster?
Probably the weekend of the quarter finals when Tyrone roll in. Possibly joined by Down.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 20, 2010, 06:47:14 PM
it is in the interest of the GAA in general to find out why has such a demise come about in Ulster. Apart from that, the attendances at GAA games this year is already a concern and if the downword slide continues the quality of games, in particular the Ulster Championship has to be questioned.
Yet attendances in Ulster have held up. And will no doubt continue to do so.

Not even the Dubs would turn up in Croke Park when they heard it was Armagh, I suspect their theory being, if they are good enough to beat us we (Dubs) are no good at all, or, we beat them it does not matter until we play an exciting team. 
Or maybe they are just fickle. They didn't turn up for Tipp either. They're not used to playing Saturday evening qualifiers. There are any amount of possible explanations - why you conclude that it's due to the standard of Ulster football, I don't know.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 20, 2010, 06:48:19 PM

Not so - he's still to be found talking crap elsewhere.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 20, 2010, 06:53:38 PM
There are plenty of stupid comments on this thread, but this is right up there. Surely this would tell you the state of Ulster hurling, no? They're not travellng to see the Munster football championship.
EDIT: Forgot to mention - you should check out the 'Ulster Final Virgin' thread. When you have have people from Leinster travelling to Clones for a football match...

If the slide continues at its present rate nobody will be going to a football game in Ulster in a few years.
What slide? Show me how attendences in Ulster are suffering disproportionately to any other province.
Post by: armaghniac on July 20, 2010, 07:09:32 PM
QuoteWhat slide? Show me how attendences in Ulster are suffering disproportionately to any other province.

There is a definite slide. For instance, Armagh v Monaghan had relatively few Armagh people at it and even fewer Monaghan people. I was Armagh v Monaghan games in the 80s with bigger crowds. 
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 20, 2010, 07:16:52 PM
QuoteEDIT: Forgot to mention - you should check out the 'Ulster Final Virgin' thread. When you have have people from Leinster travelling to Clones for a football match...

Very enjoyable too
Post by: Maguire01 on July 20, 2010, 07:24:17 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 20, 2010, 07:09:32 PM
QuoteWhat slide? Show me how attendences in Ulster are suffering disproportionately to any other province.

There is a definite slide. For instance, Armagh v Monaghan had relatively few Armagh people at it and even fewer Monaghan people. I was Armagh v Monaghan games in the 80s with bigger crowds.
Yes, but you have to factor in that Armagh insisted on dragging that game to Belfast. Although there's no doubt that the Armagh bandwagon has lost a good few members, there's no evidence that overall attendances in Ulster are in freefall. There was almost 35,000 at the game on Sunday - up almost 2,000 on 2009.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 08:00:29 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 20, 2010, 07:16:52 PM
QuoteEDIT: Forgot to mention - you should check out the 'Ulster Final Virgin' thread. When you have have people from Leinster travelling to Clones for a football match...

Very enjoyable too

Friend of mine is a Range Rover expert, tells me that there is an EGR valve to do with the Emmissions and something to do with the turbo kick in time and if you continously only do short trips you will have problems. Dinnys trip may have nothing at all to do with watching the 'spectacle' of Ulster football.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 08:06:00 PM
QuoteUlster.

Well to be fair it looks like you are being cocky and taking cheap shots. especially your crap about a Sludden.

What crap about Sludden, are you referring to where he told the Garda that he 'didn't want no state police protection'?
Post by: supersarsfields on July 20, 2010, 08:11:11 PM
I'm asking what relevance anything that happened in the Leinster final has too do with the standard of football in ulster. Which was wat this thread was talking about before your rant about sludden.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 08:15:19 PM
Because I said that, not being happy with having a crap unwatchable Ulster Football Final ye nordies graced us with one of your referees to make sure the Leinster final was not much better, that was the relevance.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 20, 2010, 08:22:33 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 08:15:19 PM
Because I said that, not being happy with having a crap unwatchable Ulster Football Final ye nordies graced us with one of your referees to make sure the Leinster final was not much better, that was the relevance.
Would have thought that kind of kerfuffle would be right up your street Bud after years wathing the 'poetic' Laois SF finals between Port and Port (with the odd stradbally apperarance showcasing their black belt expertise also !)
Post by: supersarsfields on July 20, 2010, 08:24:36 PM
Sludden's reffing of the Leinster final has little to do with the quality of ulster football. That was my point. And after the behaviour of some of the Leinster fans I can't see too many queing up for the job.
Post by: Nally Stand on July 20, 2010, 08:25:37 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 08:15:19 PM

Bud, If I hear that term used again it won't just be Sludden talking of "free staters". Knock it off.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 08:43:54 PM
Nordies, Mexicans, Alaskans, Culchies etc, etc, etc, has been used on this board since I joined it over ten or fifteen years ago.  Get used to it, you will probably hear it again lots of times. As a matter of fact, the term asshole is often used but not that often.
Post by: Nally Stand on July 20, 2010, 08:56:02 PM
I am used to it. Doesn't mean I don't completely hate it.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 09:03:16 PM
Well in this DB context of things you shouldn't because there is no hate meant and it has been a long term expression on this board. 
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 20, 2010, 09:16:26 PM
Ulster football is still in a better state than Mayo football at the moment.
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2010, 09:31:45 PM
Bud I think what you're getting mixed up with is exciting games v decent football. An U12 Ladies game between one-legged Leitrim cailini might be brilliantly exciting. I've watched some clinking Leinster games over the last decade but you knew that as soon as they played teams that can actually play football, they'll be bate out the gate. Sure in Leinster you win titles by throwing the ball and mercilessly attack officials as post-match recreation.

Tyrone had 10 different scorers on Sunday. 1-12 of their 1-14 came from play. You can't bate that.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 09:38:59 PM
QuoteTyrone had 10 different scorers on Sunday. 1-12 of their 1-14 came from play. You can't bate that.
H'mm. Aye, I see, I suppose considering that I said the Connaught Final was the best ever and Roscommon scored ten points from frees you have a fair ould point there O'Neill.
I think I will throw the lock on this thread now.

PS You never mentioned Colm Parkinson this time ??
Post by: armaghniac on July 20, 2010, 09:43:12 PM
QuoteYou can't bate that.

Cork can.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 20, 2010, 09:44:06 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 20, 2010, 09:43:12 PM
QuoteYou can't bate that.

Cork can did.

Fixed that for you, bring them on in 2010.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 20, 2010, 10:08:41 PM
I think the thread also points to the unfairness of the provincial system. Why is it that we have to play quality teams like Cork and Limerick whereas Tyrone cruise past powder puff teams. Surely this unbalanced competition cannot sustain itself.

What structures are in place to develop football in weaker counties like Armagh and Down ? ...and to think it was only a couple of years ago that the Ulster council were moving their "product" to croke park, christ they were so conceited. Maybe there should be a NAMA for Ulster football ?
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2010, 10:13:16 PM
"They're the ghost that just won't go away"

Dara Ó Cinnéide 2010.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 20, 2010, 10:16:23 PM
The lads feel that if they don't win this final, that it will devalue the wins in the last two years.

Eoin 'Bomber' Liston, September, 2008
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 20, 2010, 10:20:28 PM
"Tyrone are terrible cheaters and divers"

Mike sheehy, gaaboard 2010
Post by: Frank Casey on July 20, 2010, 11:00:19 PM
To answer the original question and borrowing from an Ulster man it hasn't gone away you know, much and all as we sometimes wish it would ;)

Post by: Nally Stand on July 20, 2010, 11:00:59 PM
Remind me again who won that final Bomber Liston spoke of Fear ón Srath Bán

Nally Stand, Gaaboard 2010
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 20, 2010, 11:07:54 PM
The quoting of ex-Kerry players above just proves what I have always said i.e that Tyrone crave Kerry's approval...
Post by: Nally Stand on July 20, 2010, 11:20:22 PM
The quoting of Kerry players is a method of proving a point directly from the horses mouth.

Somehow I think the views expressed by Dara O'C and by Bomber Liston are possibly more representative of the views within the Kerry camp that the views expressed by an anonymous discussion board poster like yourself.

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3236/2947665805_d29675d935.jpg)
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 20, 2010, 11:24:36 PM
here a photo for the CCCC to have a good look at !!

(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00159/galvin_159398t.jpg)
Post by: Nally Stand on July 20, 2010, 11:37:46 PM
Metro metro maaaaaan!!!
Post by: Zapatista on July 20, 2010, 11:41:30 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 08:06:00 PM
QuoteUlster.

Well to be fair it looks like you are being cocky and taking cheap shots. especially your crap about a Sludden.

What crap about Sludden, are you referring to where he told the Garda that he 'didn't want no state police protection'?

I heard he didn't say anything but laughed a little at the offer. Unless he said it while laughing at the offer ???
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 20, 2010, 11:43:51 PM
QuoteMetro metro maaaaaan!!!

With 4 All Ireland Medals, thats the important bit.
Post by: Nally Stand on July 20, 2010, 11:53:48 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 20, 2010, 11:43:51 PM
QuoteMetro metro maaaaaan!!!
With 4 All Ireland Medals, thats the important bit.

True enough!! Mind you, according to Eoin 'Bomber' Liston, two of those are "devalued"!!

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 20, 2010, 10:16:23 PM
The lads feel that if they don't win this final, that it will devalue the wins in the last two years.

Eoin 'Bomber' Liston, September, 2008
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 20, 2010, 11:58:39 PM
Devalued me hole, an All Ireland is an All ireland, yerra the Bomber won one of his 7 medals with his apendix hanging out of him but I'm sure he values it all the same, the medal that is, the apendix is long flushed down some surgery sink hole.
Post by: Nally Stand on July 21, 2010, 12:10:00 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 20, 2010, 11:58:39 PM
Devalued me hole, an All Ireland is an All ireland, yerra the Bomber won one of his 7 medals with his apendix hanging out of him but I'm sure he values it all the same, the medal that is, the apendix is long flushed down some surgery sink hole.

Ah relax, sure i'm only quoting the Bomber!
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 21, 2010, 04:33:04 AM
The quality of football and the level of competition in Ulster is atrocious. I think they are now beginning to reap the rotten harvest of a decade or more devoted to negative football. Hopefully Donegal will get their act together some day because they are the only Ulster county that play the game in the right spirit (even if they do overdo the handpassing sometimes).

Now, I know this is not something that Ulster people want to hear but they have to do something or else they will be responsible for killing the art of Gaelic football in the province.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 21, 2010, 06:49:16 AM
That was why I started the thread but Nally Stand wanted to turn it into a political discussion rather than discuss the problem. When Tyrone and Armagh won their Al-Irelands I was happy for them, for Gods sake I even wrote a poem about Brian Doohers famous point and teams were even trying to copy and emulate the way they played.  If you can imagine Dooher played his first senior game in 1995, over fifteen years ago and he is corectly rated today as one of the best players in Ulster then you see my point. When the commercial brigade moved in and we had autobiographies and books and managers flying into Galway and Kildare * and it was all downhill from there.

Some seem to think that it is all about winning the All-Ireland Final but for spectators what is required is exciting games throughout the provincial championships like what we have in Leinster.

* From my own point of view the Kildare boys did not fully buy into McGeeneys formula in full and I think I might be correct in saying that there was a small upheaval at one stage and Kildare still play what we would call attractive football enough and are plugging away at it.
Post by: LandErIn on July 21, 2010, 09:08:47 AM
Ulster football is not really in decline its just nobody can match Tyrone
Post by: supersarsfields on July 21, 2010, 09:09:31 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 21, 2010, 06:49:16 AM
That was why I started the thread but Nally Stand wanted to turn it into a political discussion rather than discuss the problem. When Tyrone and Armagh won their Al-Irelands I was happy for them, for Gods sake I even wrote a poem about Brian Doohers famous point and teams were even trying to copy and emulate the way they played.  If you can imagine Dooher played his first senior game in 1995, over fifteen years ago and he is corectly rated today as one of the best players in Ulster then you see my point. When the commercial brigade moved in and we had autobiographies and books and managers flying into Galway and Kildare * and it was all downhill from there.

Some seem to think that it is all about winning the All-Ireland Final but for spectators what is required is exciting games throughout the provincial championships like what we have in Leinster.

* From my own point of view the Kildare boys did not fully buy into McGeeneys formula in full and I think I might be correct in saying that there was a small upheaval at one stage and Kildare still play what we would call attractive football enough and are plugging away at it.

There's the problem there bud. Most of the big guys realise the championship only starts after the Provincial finals. The problem with Leinster is that they think it finishes with it. And unfortunately with the standard of football down there I can't see that changing anytime soon. You's would really need to get someone to the AI final again Bud, you know just to give the province a bit of a lift.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 21, 2010, 09:11:58 AM
We have Kilkenny hurlers to do that.
Post by: supersarsfields on July 21, 2010, 09:13:01 AM
Grand so.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 21, 2010, 09:54:21 AM
 ;D  Fine.
Post by: Main Street on July 21, 2010, 10:08:16 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 20, 2010, 11:07:54 PM
The quoting of ex-Kerry players above just proves what I have always said i.e that Tyrone crave Kerry's approval...
Tyrone crave total approval from everyone.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 21, 2010, 10:13:36 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 21, 2010, 04:33:04 AM
The quality of football and the level of competition in Ulster is atrocious. I think they are now beginning to reap the rotten harvest of a decade or more devoted to negative football. Hopefully Donegal will get their act together some day because they are the only Ulster county that play the game in the right spirit (even if they do overdo the handpassing sometimes).

Now, I know this is not something that Ulster people want to hear but they have to do something or else they will be responsible for killing the art of Gaelic football in the province.

Jaysus you haven't a clue. While I accept that the lot of Ulster football has fallen to herald Donegal as the saviours of pure football in Ulster is some laugh. Donegal are the masters of what Pat Spillane calls puke football. They are atrocious to watch and have been now for a long time. The team you love to hate - Tyrone, are playing the best football by far in Ulster. They made Monaghan look like a minor team on Sunday and while that did not make a good final it is hardly Tyrones fault that they were just way too good.
Post by: Hardy on July 21, 2010, 10:37:21 AM
Quote from: Main Street on July 21, 2010, 10:08:16 AM

In as much as we can generalise about such things, that seems largely to be true. What's that about? Rejoice in your puke football, celebrate your expertise in low-flying acrobatics, snuggle comfortably into your blanket defence. They bring All-Ireland titles. Embrace the system and proclaim it proudly.
Post by: seafoid on July 21, 2010, 10:47:49 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 21, 2010, 10:37:21 AM

In as much as we can generalise about such things, that seems largely to be true. What's that about? Rejoice in your puke football, celebrate your expertise in low-flying acrobatics, snuggle comfortably into your blanket defence. They bring All-Ireland titles. Embrace the system and proclaim it proudly.

Surely, Hardy, if Meath were back winning all-Irelands and it was on the back of an incredibly successful tactic of puke football and  sucking pus off the armpits of leprous midgets you wouldn't be complaining. GF is not a sport of beauty or artistry even at the best of times. It is often a mess to watch and maybe it is just that Ulster fuball is messier than average. Hurling, on the other hand , is an art form..   
Post by: Nally Stand on July 21, 2010, 10:57:21 AM
That was why I started the thread but Nally Stand wanted to turn it into a political discussion rather than discuss the problem.

What has Sheehys point got to do with me or the debate on this thread??

And I've no intention of turning it into a debate. I see you as being nothing but a WUM in regards this thread and was only asking you to stop talking about "nordies". That wasn't an invitation to start a debate on partition or any other political discussion you know!
Post by: Hardy on July 21, 2010, 11:26:04 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 21, 2010, 10:47:49 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 21, 2010, 10:37:21 AM

Surely, Hardy, if Meath were back winning all-Irelands and it was on the back of an incredibly successful tactic of puke football and  sucking pus off the armpits of leprous midgets you wouldn't be complaining. GF is not a sport of beauty or artistry even at the best of times. It is often a mess to watch and maybe it is just that Ulster fuball is messier than average. Hurling, on the other hand , is an art form..   

That was my point, seafoid. Apart from your last three sentences, that is. That ould nonsense maddens football people and makes us wonder why hurling people, like Tyrone people, are always looking for affirmation  And I've never seen a football match as bad as a bad hurling match.
Post by: supersarsfields on July 21, 2010, 11:44:58 AM
I wouldn't say we need to be liked. T'is more of a case of we're always seem to be defending ourselves. So, to be honest I blame you southern boyos for driving us to it with your callous words and cruel allegations.

Post by: Bud Wiser on July 23, 2010, 08:48:50 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on July 21, 2010, 10:57:21 AM
That was why I started the thread but Nally Stand wanted to turn it into a political discussion rather than discuss the problem.

And I've no intention of turning it into a debate. I see you as being nothing but a WUM in regards this thread and was only asking you to stop talking about "nordies". That wasn't an invitation to start a debate on partition or any other political discussion you know!

Would you ever get a grip.  There is a little window under your avatar at the top of the page, it has a "SEARCH" function.  Go and put "nordies" in there and select search and see how many times other posters have used the expression.  You will find about 400 posts but it is only when you disagree with something I said that it concerns you. The reason I said you were trying to turn it into a political debate was simply because I clicked on your profile and in your recent posts I clicked on page 44 and worked my way back and it would appear you are very informative on all matters Sinn Fein which is why you took issue.

QuoteBud, If I hear that term used again it won't just be Sludden talking of "free staters". Knock it off.

Was that a threat?
Post by: Zapatista on July 23, 2010, 09:09:50 AM
Bud, you are alledging sludden said something that could be insulting while using quotation marks to confirm it. Either you know he said it or you don't. Now put up or leave the man alone.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 23, 2010, 09:22:57 AM
This thread is about the state of decline in Ulster Football, not about Sludden but as one who talks a fair amount of shite yourself, mostly unqualified, I never tell you what to put up or shut up so don't you get up on your righteous horse to tell me what I can say or not say.  The emphasis of my reply to Nally Stand was on was there a threat in his post, not on Sludden so keep your nose out of it.
Post by: Zapatista on July 23, 2010, 09:24:53 AM
This thread is nothing more than a soap box for you to say as you please and disguise it as tounge in cheek.

You and NS can go at it all day f you like. My gripe is that you are quoting a man while you do not know what he said.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 23, 2010, 09:29:32 AM
The board in general is designed for exactley that reason, for everyone to say as they please, not for assholes to come alone and tell you to shut up.   
Post by: Zapatista on July 23, 2010, 09:32:44 AM
You can say what you like but you can expect to challenged on protraying hearsay as fact (in particular when is negative).
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 23, 2010, 09:43:17 AM
Now, I'm off to work but if you want I will pick up this conversation again.  I have no problem being challenged about anything I say, go ahead, challenge me but do not tell me to shut up. Another thing I will not tolerate is veiled threats.  If they are to continue then the board is finished.  You may not be aware of this but a certain poster on here received some of those type of threats and shortly after that, coincidently, but not necessarily because of the threats,  the four tyres on his car and the four tyres on his wifes car were slashed.   So if you, or anyone else for that matter want to challenge anything I say, do so, on this board but don't take the high ground and dictate who can say what and when they can say it.

PS.  I make it perfectly clear that Nally Stand and yourself are totally and absolutely far removed from the type of thing happened another poster and poor ould nally got uptight over the term nordies when he realized I was absolutley right about the decline in the standard of Ulster Football. 
Post by: Nally Stand on July 23, 2010, 09:58:53 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 23, 2010, 08:48:50 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on July 21, 2010, 10:57:21 AM

Would you ever get a grip.  There is a little window under your avatar at the top of the page, it has a "SEARCH" function.  Go and put "nordies" in there and select search and see how many times other posters have used the expression.  You will find about 400 posts but it is only when you disagree with something I said that it concerns you. The reason I said you were trying to turn it into a political debate was simply because I clicked on your profile and in your recent posts I clicked on page 44 and worked my way back and it would appear you are very informative on all matters Sinn Fein which is why you took issue.

QuoteBud, If I hear that term used again it won't just be Sludden talking of "free staters". Knock it off.

Was that a threat?

Firstly, who cares how many times "nordie" appears on the site. It doesn't take away from the fact that I'm just asking you nicely not to use it. We're supposed to be a 32 county organisation in the GAA.
And the content of my previous posts on other threads has nothing to do with it. Fact is that I asked nicely for the term not to be used. I used the term "free stater" on this thread many times too until I was asked, in a similar fashion, to stop. I did so without accusing those who asked me to, of turning the thread into a political discussion.

Anyway, would you relax, it was a simple request and you have become slightly fixated with it. Any chance you could come down from your high horse and let us carry on with the topic of the thread??
Post by: Zapatista on July 23, 2010, 10:15:25 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 23, 2010, 09:43:17 AM
Now, I'm off to work but if you want I will pick up this conversation again.  I have no problem being challenged about anything I say, go ahead, challenge me but do not tell me to shut up. Another thing I will not tolerate is veiled threats.  If they are to continue then the board is finished.  You may not be aware of this but a certain poster on here received some of those type of threats and shortly after that, coincidently, but not necessarily because of the threats,  the four tyres on his car and the four tyres on his wifes car were slashed.   So if you, or anyone else for that matter want to challenge anything I say, do so, on this board but don't take the high ground and dictate who can say what and when they can say it.

PS.  I make it perfectly clear that Nally Stand and yourself are totally and absolutely far removed from the type of thing happened another poster and poor ould nally got uptight over the term nordies when he realized I was absolutley right about the decline in the standard of Ulster Football.

If you are going to pick it up again then please do so with us both starting from the same place. First of all you need to accept that I didn't ask you to shut up, I asked you to put up or leave the man (sludden) alone. But then again my whole point was your misleading posts so perhaps i'm wasting my time.

Also, if you wish to reply to Nally about threats and and argue over the use of words then go ahead but please reply to me separately. I get the feeling you are trying to drag my comment down to a childish level I don't get upset about. There is no link between Nally's view on the term 'nordies' and my view on misquoting.

EDIT- This is all conviently going off track. I've made my point.
Post by: southsidejohnny on July 23, 2010, 10:34:00 AM
There is nothing wrong with Ulster football. There is everything wrong in Connacht. Mayo and Galway are crap, Longford and Wexford have proved that. Roscommon proved it when they beat a poor Sligo side. Both will have their status confirmed over the next few weeks. Ros in div four with the following wins shows how poor the provinve is. They won once in the league and beat.....wait for it....London, Leitrim and Sligo to win a Connacht title. Now that is not awsome  no matter how you dress it up. Shite province , crap teams.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 23, 2010, 11:20:27 AM
Bud et al.
I think this happens every couple of seasons or in parts of every season.
People say that standards in a certain province are falling or that standards in football/ hurling are falling.
Maybe its just that there is a levelling off of standards now !
Connacht, Leinster are both so even that they could be won by a handful of counties now rather than the one or two that were way above everyone else.
Ulster and Munster still have a couple of counties above the rest (Tyrone,Monaghan , Kerry, cork). the rest of the counties are on a par with the rest of the footballing counties in leinster and connacht. In ulster Derry and Donegal have dipped down again as both do year in year out, Down and Armagh are bringing up new young sides. Antrim have never been as good in decades. So I think Bud is fishing a bit here by suggesting there is a decline in ulster, Teams are always up and down. We always wanted competitveness in football and hurling and now we are getting it- we should be delighted that championship (in football at least) is getting close to being winnable by upwards of 12 counties (ok the top three still are a bit above- but the gap is closing).
Post by: heffo on July 23, 2010, 11:24:44 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 23, 2010, 09:43:17 AM
Now, I'm off to work

You're some man Bud keeping those hours - you don't work in a Public Service union do you??!
Post by: Mickeys beard on July 23, 2010, 11:25:11 AM
After this weekend, things will be much clearer.  Strong possibility that there will be 3 Ulster teams, 2 Munster, 2 Leinster and one Connaught after the weekend.  If Ulster are left with just Tyrone flying the flag after Saturday, then maybe there is substance in the opening statement, the reason for this being Armagh and Derry's transitionary periods-hard to replace experience.  I fancy Down and Monaghan, though.
Post by: Main Street on July 23, 2010, 11:59:16 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on July 23, 2010, 09:32:44 AM
You can say what you like but you can expect to challenged on protraying hearsay as fact (in particular when is negative).
Are you harping on about  this from Bud?
QuoteWhat crap about Sludden, are you referring to where he told the Garda that he 'didn't want no state police protection'?
Quotation marks are used to indicate actual speech. Bud did not use quotation marks. The Apostrophe is not a quotation mark.
Feckin' Tyrone nordies and their 'sensitivities' ::) not just content to choke the life out the beautiful game they want to choke a decent wind-up thread with insipid pedantry.
Post by: armaghniac on July 23, 2010, 12:00:28 PM
Listening to Paddy Heaney on the RTE yesterday he suggested two things had happened. Armagh had lost top class players who were difficult to replace. For the other Ulster counties they had more quickly learned from Armagh and Tyrone aproaches earlier in the decade, but now these ideas were widespread so the Ulster advantage was lost.
Post by: Zapatista on July 23, 2010, 12:25:25 PM

I forgive the mistake Main Street as I'm sure you just missed it. I don't see the need for the tone of the lecture though.

Post by: Main Street on July 23, 2010, 12:27:47 PM
he is supposed to have said

Post by: Zapatista on July 23, 2010, 12:33:47 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 23, 2010, 12:27:47 PM
"he is supposed to have said"

fixed it for you
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2010, 08:13:24 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on July 23, 2010, 12:25:25 PM

I forgive the mistake Main Street as I'm sure you just missed it. I don't see the need for the tone of the lecture though.

"I forgive the mistake Main Street as I'm sure you just missed it. I don't see the need for the tone of the lecture though."

That's the whole problem with ye nordies, ye don't like being told anything at all, ye think ye own this board, look at the post up already about Tyrone V Dublin AN Other?.  Then, when ye are told a few home truths about the quality of the Ulster football championsip ye start throwing tantrums and whinging about the term nordies and my criticism of Martin Sludden.

Martin Sludden was an idiot to do what he done in the Leinster Final and what he said and did after the game made him a bigger idiot.  That was on the day, it is over and he has a life to live too which I agree with,  but,  whether he regrets it or not the arrogance he showed on the day is certainly not my fault.  Please dont go into denial about what he said and what he did because he would not be on his own in some of the comments that can be made by some of ye boyos.  In last weeks Leinster Leader it was reported and reprinted in the Evening Herald,  (talking about the then forthcoming Kildare game) that: "A win over Derry in Celtic Park, it's the stuff dreams are made of. The mind rambles to bygone days. It was back in Micko's early days. A game that saw the great Martin Lynch from Clane play the game in its entirety with his wolly cap firmly in place such was the cold. A time when we were told amid spits and anger to f**k off back to the free state ye shower of b**tards"

Of course the win in Celtic Park was a stroll in the Park for the Leinster side.

EDIT:  Sorry, there is not one thread about Tyrone's next game, there are two or three !
Post by: Zapatista on July 24, 2010, 08:26:50 AM
Who are you talking to Bud ???

Ye are ranting about general crap and multiple posters. If you are going to do that then quote something relevent, not my posts. Someone might get confused and think I'm on the other end of these rants posting equally ridiculous crap about nothing to nobody.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2010, 08:29:32 AM
I am talking to you, as inclusive in my reply.  Do you want me to be more specific to you?
Post by: Zapatista on July 24, 2010, 08:30:18 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2010, 08:29:32 AM
I am talking to you, as inclusive in my reply.  Do you want me to be more specific to you?

No thanks.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2010, 08:59:33 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on July 24, 2010, 08:30:18 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2010, 08:29:32 AM

No thanks.

Good, because all I wanted to say in the first place was, in no particular order:

1.  The quality of football and the excitement provided in the Ulster Football Championship this year was dire.  It is a win at all costs championship that has lost it's appeal.  I may be on my own thinking this, but I am happy on my own thinking it, it is my opinion and I stand by it.

2.  I mentioned what Martin Sludden said or was supposed to have said and I don't give a flying f**k where the apostrophe, hyphen, comma, dot or anything else is or how I termed it, I was told what he said by an actual member of the Gardai for one and I have had three private PM's from Tyrone men no less telling me the same.  The relevance of the referee to this thread was because I said that, not being happy enough with ye sent us down a referee to feck up ours as well which I admit was an off the cuff statement in that the ref was appointed by Croke Park.  However, Colm O'Rourke choose to take his brush out and paint a picture that was green and gold without even a tint of red and he and not me should be qualifying what Sludden said, or if he said it, if he wants to write one sided articles without mentioning names.  All he has to do is ring the Superintendent in Fitzgibbon St or Store Street or the Garda press office, but mouthing out of him about what happened a "well known" Meath gaa man, for f's sake Colm, either say it out like Bud or stick to the teaching.

3.  Nordies/Free Staters.    It doesn't bother me in the slightest, in fact the extract from the Leinster Leader was written in kinda GAA speak that reflects the kind of opponents/comrades that is almost exclusive to the GAA. By this I mean that no matter how the game was described everyone would have shaken hands at the end of it and no real offence was taken by the Kildare men.
Post by: Zapatista on July 24, 2010, 09:27:34 AM
"I heard he said to the Gardai that they were doing a fine job. I heard it from another referee. Not only that but I've had 4PMs (one from each province) confirming it. Looks like it's all a misunderstanding."
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2010, 10:26:20 AM
Sure he thought he was doing a fine job himself as well. On the day, he was the last man in Ireland to be in a position to judge others or to qualify what doing a fine job even meant.  Sometime when you get a chance have a look at a few of the pictures where he is seen to be shouting at the Garda in front of him.  Anyway, don't let this Sluddengate detract from the real purpose of the thread, that the decline in the standards of football in Ulster is a cause for concern.

Not that my proposed solution would be acceptable to any of ye but if I had my way I would send up someone in authority from Croke Park and have them go around every club in the provence and confiscate every football they could get their hands on. Then give out hurling balls and hurls and make them all play hurling for a year, the fast movement of the ball, the skill involved and all the useless blanket defence measures would be a huge learning curve after which they could slip back into football the following year.
Post by: ONeill on July 24, 2010, 10:37:52 AM
Bud, we revel in mediocrity up here. When Churchill spoke of the dreary steeples of Fermanagh and Tyrone he was also including the standard of football being played out in Enniskillen and Omagh. Here's the deal - allow us to wander aimlessly through the boggy bigball era, oblivious to the worry and concern emanating from Laois and beyond. We're happy with the Titanic, Ulysses-Grant homestead, Hugo Duncan, Bushmills, Peter the great, Iris Robinson, The Fry and the BBC.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2010, 11:03:53 AM
Another man in denial. You mention most everything except the Buckfast which I think you must all be on up there for the last month. Why can't you be like us mere mortals down here and be like Hardy, happy in himself going around correcting apostrophes and commas and it's not just Hardy, a comma in a wrong place now instead of a hypen and you could get your knuckles rapped by the board patrol.   "I fixed that there for you"  etc, no dreaming of cigar puffing war generals for us, simple things keep us happy.

Down in Laois we are indeed worried about you and even more so now when you say you are oblivious to the situation. There will be huge withdrawl symptoms from the false dawn that Armagh and Tyrone promised and this is already evident, wandering aimlessly is only one of the first and most mild form of what can become a delusion that has the potential to spread at a rapid rate.

PS  How can you mention Iris The Cougar and omit Brian Dooher, or for that matter, how can you mention Peter and omit Brian.  or should that be a ?

Post by: Maguire01 on July 24, 2010, 11:15:02 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2010, 10:26:20 AM
Not that my proposed solution would be acceptable to any of ye but if I had my way I would send up someone in authority from Croke Park and have them go around every club in the provence and confiscate every football they could get their hands on. Then give out hurling balls and hurls and make them all play hurling for a year, the fast movement of the ball, the skill involved and all the useless blanket defence measures would be a huge learning curve after which they could slip back into football the following year.
Post by: Elias on July 24, 2010, 11:29:30 AM
Bud, you have a massive chip on your shoulder about Ulster football, or it is just us 'nordies' in general?

To blame the Tyrone posters for Sludden is a cheap shot as the Aussies would say. And what the f**k we have got to do with what Colm O'Rourke comes out with I'll never know?

The Ulster Championship was poor this year I agree, but when you have one side so far ahead of those around them that will happen. I'm not really concerned about the USFC as, when Tyrone start to lose thier grip on the Anglo Celt (which may well be next year) the matches will return to being much more competitive. The other teams will be striving to make sure that happens between now and next May.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2010, 11:50:32 AM
No Elias, I have no chip on my shoulder, I am just trying to shine a light for you to see, not necessarily follow.  Three threads about Tyrone's next game and they are still talking about Peter Canavan for f's sake.  You have Antrim playing Cork tomorrow in an All-Ireland quarter final and Armagh minors playing Dublin in an All-Ireland Semi-Final.  If the two teams brought shovels with them to Crossmaglen and started to open a coal mine they would get more coverage than they are getting and the reason for that is simply because there is so much shite talk about Tyrone and Armagh and Ulster football in general when there is not really much to talk about proportional to the excitement that the championship has provided.  Donegal have a lot to answer for as well, like watching paint dry seeing them play lately.  Tactics, tactics, tactics, but all bad ones and win at any cost that is destroying the game as a spectator sport.
Post by: Elias on July 24, 2010, 12:01:54 PM
O'Neills post where he mentioned Peter was in jest I'm pretty sure. Fuzz did start a tread about Tyrone's 1/4 but realised his error, surely this is an issue that the mods should be addressing?

Answer me this Bud - would you prefer for your team to go into a match with no other tactics other than attacking the opponents goalline, but get beat out the door because you were unable to change the plan when the game wasn't going your way? Tactics win games nowadays, in football anyway. I have no authority to speak on hurling but I'm sure this has to apply here also?
Post by: mrgaa1 on July 24, 2010, 12:14:55 PM
nothing has happened to Ulster Football that ain't happening anywhere else - what we are seeing is the demise of championships.  This is all to do with the back-door system now engrained in players and coaches minds - we have a second chance.
Lets go back to the old way - knock out championship.  So what if players train hard blah blah blah - if your good enough you'll win.  SIMPLE.
Post by: crossfire on July 24, 2010, 12:19:18 PM
QuoteThe standard of the hurling hasn't been great either this year with some of the better games being the likes of Clare v Waterford and Galway v Offaly.

That is because the drink drive laws are being adheered to more than ever now, pubs closing down and punters won't travel from the five mile radius around Semple Stadium.  It is also because the GAA have failed to engage with Iarnrod Eireann to encourage train timetables that would allow punters to travel.  I saw on the hurling thread where some lads came from Down to Semple Stadium but stayed overnight.  If you check the timetables this week you will see the last train from Thurles was about the same time as the final whistle and it is the same in Galway, Limerick and Killarney/Tralee and every other ground.

When you have people from Down and Antrim travelling to Thurles for a hurling match (see the hurling section) it tells you what the state of football in Ulster is like. The GAA need to take teams like Tyrone one year, Armagh the following year and Derry etc on an annual basis and put one of them into Leinster or Munster or Connaught and let them get a bit of bottle to bring back excitement to Ulster football.  If the slide continues at its present rate nobody will be going to a football game in Ulster in a few years.

And they should put Laois into the Ladies football championship and they might then win something :)
Post by: Zapatista on July 24, 2010, 01:11:10 PM
Quote from: Elias on July 24, 2010, 12:01:54 PM
O'Neills post where he mentioned Peter was in jest I'm pretty sure. Fuzz did start a tread about Tyrone's 1/4 but realised his error, surely this is an issue that the mods should be addressing?

Answer me this Bud - would you prefer for your team to go into a match with no other tactics other than attacking the opponents goalline, but get beat out the door because you were unable to change the plan when the game wasn't going your way? Tactics win games nowadays, in football anyway. I have no authority to speak on hurling but I'm sure this has to apply here also?

No. There are no tactics in hurling. It's basically win the hurling ball and get it past your opponents line as quick as possible.
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 01:22:22 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2010, 11:03:53 AMHardy, happy in himself going around correcting apostrophes

Your nuts
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 24, 2010, 02:10:20 PM
Big day for Ulster football today. Would be a bad sign if just one team was in the quarter finals. 3 teams and Ulster would be the best represented province.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 25, 2010, 11:14:58 AM
Quote from: mrgaa1 on July 24, 2010, 12:14:55 PM
nothing has happened to Ulster Football that ain't happening anywhere else - what we are seeing is the demise of championships.  This is all to do with the back-door system now engrained in players and coaches minds - we have a second chance.
Lets go back to the old way - knock out championship.  So what if players train hard blah blah blah - if your good enough you'll win.  SIMPLE.

There you have it.  Most sensible post on the thread, which isn't hard considering  that someone said Ulster still have two teams in the championship.  FFS, they have to have the winners of their Ulster final and the back door team, no calculators required.

Remind me again, how many teams from Ulster are still in the championship?  Ye'd want to get a big roll of that attic insulation with the silver foil backing on it and wrap it around Brian Dooher because if anything happens Brian there will be none of ye left.

It would also appear that if you left a hurling ball down on the street in Clones, not to mention Donegal all the natives would gather around it asking "What is that and if it jumped up and bit them they still would not know what it was?"  Can you imagine how long it would take to explain that you can hit it with a stick off the ground over a crossbar from sixty yards out? 

Hardy thinks I am nuts?  You'd want to be a complete f**king lunatic to spend upwards of a hundred pound to go and watch any game of football at the minute, much les Ulster football  and Donegal.   Look at what was served up yesterday for football, a Leinster team having to play an Ulster team and people expected to pay to watch it, only for the TV coverage allowing the ordinary joe soaps to see the skills and commitment of the great Dermot Early it was a damp squib.  True the manager is from Armagh, I mean how could we forget when the camera keeps zooming in on his film star like features but it takes more than the Sundance Kid to win an All-Ireland and Early is the commander in chief of this Kildare team that I predicted will be there or therabouts on All-Ireland Final day.

The GAA  need to now, without delay, stand up and say that they will reorganize the football championship in such a way that games will be exciting and attract more attendance.  This thing is spreading into Leinster, yesterday we had the 6 million euro Vodafone Dubs against the few drops of diesel and cigarettes team from Louth who had engraved in their minds that it was not possible to win in Croke Park because of the madness of aan Ulster referee - for Jaysus sake, they did not even have the sense or decency to offer the young lads from Louth a home game, because no, its the Dubs and it has to be Croke Park.  The acceptance of what is happening in Ulster is a dangerous thing and if the boys in the suits in Croke Park do not do something about the format of the championship then there should be a complete clear out of every office in it. 
Post by: Maguire01 on July 25, 2010, 11:21:25 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 25, 2010, 11:14:58 AM
It would also appear that if you left a hurling ball down on the street in Clones, not to mention Donegal all the natives would gather around it asking "What is that and if it jumped up and bit them they still would not know what it was?" 
You're right. The natives would probably recognise it as a sliotar - not a 'hurling ball'.  ::)

Although i'm not sure of the relevance of this to a football thread.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 25, 2010, 11:33:53 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2010, 11:50:32 AM
No Elias, I have no chip on my shoulder, I am just trying to shine a light for you to see, not necessarily follow.  Three threads about Tyrone's next game and they are still talking about Peter Canavan for f's sake.  You have Antrim playing Cork tomorrow in an All-Ireland quarter final and Armagh minors playing Dublin in an All-Ireland Semi-Final.  If the two teams brought shovels with them to Crossmaglen and started to open a coal mine they would get more coverage than they are getting and the reason for that is simply because there is so much shite talk about Tyrone and Armagh and Ulster football in general when there is not really much to talk about proportional to the excitement that the championship has provided.  Donegal have a lot to answer for as well, like watching paint dry seeing them play lately.  Tactics, tactics, tactics, but all bad ones and win at any cost that is destroying the game as a spectator sport.
I'd contend Bud that football is less 'win at all costs' than in days of old as we have mostly eradicated the dirty fighting and off the ball slaps that dominated football for its entire existence up until year 2000.
Skilful footballers will usually win out these days- not the teams that beat opponents into fear and submission.
Even with overly tactical gameplans - the top teams (Kerry and Tyrone) still have to have ultimate footballing ability to not give away the ball and score and win !

In all of these regards all four provinces are equal imo !

I'd also suggest you go up to the Burt/urris areas of Donegal (around south inishowen penninsula) and see their single commitment to hurling - with slitors and hurling balls !

Hardy can insert the apostrophes where he wants above !
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 25, 2010, 12:07:29 PM
QuoteSkilful footballers will usually win out these days- not the teams that beat opponents into fear and submission.

So do you think that Armagh would have won an All-Ireland without Francie Bellew.  Imagine playing against him and me walking in and shaking his hand and saying, hello Francie, I am Tom from Laois, I hope we both have a very skilful game, enjoy and may the most skilful team win. There is a strong possibility that I would be lying on my back looking up at jet plane vapour trails before a ball even came near me foir jaysus sake.  Are you saying that Ulster teams are soley concentrating on skilful football and that is why the championship is a non event?

Post by: Bud Wiser on July 25, 2010, 12:11:55 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on July 24, 2010, 01:11:10 PM
Quote from: Elias on July 24, 2010, 12:01:54 PM

No. There are no tactics in hurling. It's basically win the hurling ball and get it past your opponents line as quick as possible.

No tactics in hurling?  Ask Gerald McCarthy, his tactics caused a strike for jaysus sake.

There are even more skills required to take a free in hurling than there are required in an entire game of football.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6lj113j2QYU&feature=PlayList&p=B2B4DD85DCF22228&playnext=1&index=6 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6lj113j2QYU&feature=PlayList&p=B2B4DD85DCF22228&playnext=1&index=6)
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 25, 2010, 12:27:51 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 25, 2010, 11:21:25 AM
It would also appear that if you left a hurling ball down on the street in Clones, not to mention Donegal all the natives would gather around it asking "What is that and if it jumped up and bit them they still would not know what it was?" 
You're right. The natives would probably recognise it as a sliotar - not a 'hurling ball'.  ::)

What in the name of jaysus are you on about, you are worst than the lads patrolling the board correcting commas and dots.
Here is 58,800 pictures of a "Hurling Ball"
(http://i998.photobucket.com/albums/af109/fennetec/Capture-5.jpg?t=1280057085)
Post by: Hardy on July 25, 2010, 12:40:12 PM
Hardy thinks I am nuts? 

No I don't. Where did I say that?
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 25, 2010, 12:41:43 PM
Why are hurling snobs so obsessed with football? Especially in a year when there has been far more entertaining matches and shocks (a shock in hurling is Kilkenny winning by less than 8) in the football than hurling. They constantly try to bad mouth football for some reason.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 25, 2010, 12:50:15 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 01:22:22 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2010, 11:03:53 AMHardy, happy in himself going around correcting apostrophes

Your nuts
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 25, 2010, 12:57:21 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 25, 2010, 12:07:29 PM
QuoteSkilful footballers will usually win out these days- not the teams that beat opponents into fear and submission.

So do you think that Armagh would have won an All-Ireland without Francie Bellew.  Imagine playing against him and me walking in and shaking his hand and saying, hello Francie, I am Tom from Laois, I hope we both have a very skilful game, enjoy and may the most skilful team win. There is a strong possibility that I would be lying on my back looking up at jet plane vapour trails before a ball even came near me foir jaysus sake.  Are you saying that Ulster teams are soley concentrating on skilful football and that is why the championship is a non event?
I dont believe the championship is a non event - I think Bud you are taking the p**s or winding folk up here !
NO team goes out to lose so they can get a better run through the qualifies.
That defies competitive logic and i think is as wrong as wrong can be from the truth !

Secondly, Francie bellew - as per your example- didnt remain on the field and become part of a successful Armagh team without being able to play football and have exceptional skill abilities like high fielding, blocking, fist passing, not giving the ball away, successful tackling (not giving away a free) etc etc etc
skill is not just defined by long range point taking, long range foot passing and support play or grea movement off the ball.
No offence Bud, but if you are blinkering your own views of what skill is within football then its no surprise why you are questioning football in general to have being become a poorer version of what it was way back when ....
but I still contend you are fishing !
Post by: Maguire01 on July 25, 2010, 01:03:06 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 25, 2010, 12:27:51 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 25, 2010, 11:21:25 AM

What in the name of jaysus are you on about, you are worst than the lads patrolling the board correcting commas and dots.
Here is 58,800 pictures of a "Hurling Ball"
Okay, maybe I was being pedantic. But your comments that people wouldn't recognise a sliotar was pretty ignorant. And totally irrelevant.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 25, 2010, 01:07:21 PM
Now there is a post and a half lynchboy and I agree with most everything in it. I fully agree that Francie Bellew had skills, I had great admiration for him as indeed I have for clubs like Crossmaglen who produced a lot more skillful players than some clubs down here and they did so under trying circumstances because of the Brits.  However, I also said at the outset that it is since the boys took up book writing and jetting around the country to manage teams outside of Ulster that the gizz has gone out of Ulster Football.  Tell me one exciting match this year that involved an Ulster team.  The ones that I watched the commentator was nearly asleep much less myself.
Post by: Hardy on July 25, 2010, 01:08:29 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 25, 2010, 12:50:15 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 01:22:22 PM

Your nuts

Exactly. I think you'll find that refers to a part of your anatomy other than your mind.

Since you were winding me up about my devotion to apostrophes, I was just doing a little rewind in return.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 25, 2010, 06:48:30 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 25, 2010, 01:07:21 PM
Now there is a post and a half lynchboy and I agree with most everything in it. I fully agree that Francie Bellew had skills, I had great admiration for him as indeed I have for clubs like Crossmaglen who produced a lot more skillful players than some clubs down here and they did so under trying circumstances because of the Brits.  However, I also said at the outset that it is since the boys took up book writing and jetting around the country to manage teams outside of Ulster that the gizz has gone out of Ulster Football.  Tell me one exciting match this year that involved an Ulster team.  The ones that I watched the commentator was nearly asleep much less myself.
depends on what you are looking for in football Bud.
If you want a scorefest with tit for tat scores and cliffhanger ending with all skills displayed and wonderful high fielding and end to end type fayre - you will be disappointed in most CHAMPIONSHIP games - not just in Ulster.

OK for a decade or so - maybe longer , any Ulster side could defeat the game favourites - indeed it was often to be expected !
However this is not normal for football and Ulster has now replicated this norm from other provinces (and indeed other sports) in its results.
Maybe you are thinking Ulster football have gone down because Tyrone are so far ahead of everyone?
The other 8 counties are still capable of beating each other on their day (yes Cavan folk this includes you too).
But Tyrone - well they have turned the ulster championship into a replica of the munster championship prior to recent few seasons of Cork resurgence- where Kerry enjoyed total dominence up until then.

Back to the football - I enjoyed all the ulster championship games I watched - maybe not the results of the Derry game, but it did have most of the skills and drama (until Derry invariable stopped playing) desired in a championship match.
Monaghans games were underlined with all out attacking and huge scoring performances up until they were shut down by tyrone. Antrim once they allowed their opponents to rack up a lead then played with gaye abandon and flowing attack. Donegal obv played within themselves and conspired to throw away games despite of all the good things they did. Down built and built and fell at one point as expected with a young team - but the hunger and confidence they showed is ominous. Armagh are a season behind Down in rebuilding I think.
Tyrone were efficient in matches until they shut down and destroyed the farney boys, but you were waiting for this tactical trap from Harte.
I enjoyed the high scoring, the hard dogged defending, the 100% commitment and effort (even from Derry though they might not seem to have in each second half), the points scoring, the emergence of new superb players - monaghans darren hughes, tyrones mccarron, Downs clarke x 2, armaghs clarke jr etc etc
whats not to like when watching football.
even if its 0-0 to 0-0 at half time, there must be a supreme defensive effort in there and you hav to appreciate the defenders as much as attackers and scorers normally get the plaudits.Its hard to score when a defender doesnt give you an inch!
I'll say again that I enjoyed the FOOTBALL played in all the games I saw and WHATS NOT TO LIKE and appreciate !!
:)
Post by: Zapatista on July 26, 2010, 08:48:34 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 25, 2010, 12:11:55 PM
There are even more skills required to take a free in hurling than there are required in an entire game of football.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6lj113j2QYU&feature=PlayList&p=B2B4DD85DCF22228&playnext=1&index=6 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6lj113j2QYU&feature=PlayList&p=B2B4DD85DCF22228&playnext=1&index=6)

I wasn't entirely serious.

Hitting frees is a skill not a tactic. I disagree that it is a better skill than hitting a free in football.

I heard on a radio interview over the weekend that after attending a Kilkenny training session an ex-player and now pundit said it was clear that Cody has the team working on winning the ball in the air and if it's on the ground to try and clear it or make it as difficult as possible for your opponent to pick it up. It was concluded that this was the basis to KKs success (not to mention they are pretty good at doing it). Very basic if you ask me.