GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Kerry Mike on February 15, 2007, 09:38:10 AM

Title: AI Club finals - the dates and times
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 15, 2007, 09:38:10 AM
Lots of action this weekend in the AI Senior, Intermediate and Junior football competitions with all semi finals down for decision.

Best of luck to the 3 Kerry representatives, Dr. Crokes, Ardfert and Duagh in their respective games.

SINSEAR (AIB)
Semi-Finals - 18.02.2007
Mullingar 2.15 St Brigids v Crossmaglen
Referee: Eugene Murtagh, Longfort

Limerick 2.15 Moorefield v Dr. Crokes *Live TG4
Referee: Brian Tyrell, T. Árann

IDIR-MHEANACH
Semi-Finals - 18.02.2007

Kingspan 2.30 Touramakeady v Ballymacnab
Referee: Joe McQuillan, An Cabhán
E.T. if necessary

Limerick 12.30 Confey v Ardfert
Referee: Maurice Condon, Port Láirge
E.T. if necessary

SÓISEAR
Semi-Finals -17.02.2007
Moneygall 2.30 Park/Ratheniska  v Duagh
Referee: Michael Collins, Corcaigh
E.T. if necessary

SÓISEAR - 18.02.2007
Markievicz Pk 2.00 Killala v Greencastle
Referee: Derek Fahy, Longfort
E.T. if necessary
Title: Re: AI Club Games this weekend
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on February 15, 2007, 09:42:37 AM
Best of luck to Tourmakeady. A great day for our little gaeltacht club. Hopefully we can do the buisness!  8)
Post by: Spiritof98 on February 15, 2007, 09:43:19 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on February 15, 2007, 09:38:10 AM
Lots of action this weekend in the AI Senior, Intermediate and Junior football competitions with all semi finals down for decision.

Best of luck to the 3 Kerry representatives, Dr. Crokes, Ardfert and Duagh in their respective games.

SINSEAR (AIB)
Semi-Finals - 18.02.2007
Mullingar 2.15 St Brigids v Crossmaglen
Referee: Eugene Murtagh, Longfort

Limerick 2.15 Moorefield v Dr. Crokes *Live TG4
Referee: Brian Tyrell, T. Árann

IDIR-MHEANACH
Semi-Finals - 18.02.2007

Kingspan 2.30 Touramakeady v Ballymacnab
Referee: Joe McQuillan, An Cabhán
E.T. if necessary

Limerick 12.30 Confey v Ardfert
Referee: Maurice Condon, Port Láirge
E.T. if necessary

SÓISEAR
Semi-Finals -17.02.2007
Moneygall 2.30 Park/Ratheniska  v Duagh
Referee: Michael Collins, Corcaigh
E.T. if necessary

SÓISEAR - 18.02.2007
Markievicz Pk 2.00 Killala v Greencastle
Referee: Derek Fahy, Longfort
E.T. if necessary

The Nab were beaten last night in the Ulster Final Replay by Coleraine.
Post by: Hardy on February 15, 2007, 09:46:00 AM
TG4 are also showing deferred coverage of Crossmaglen v. St. Brigids and Tipp v. Limerick. Should be another great afternoon's entertainment on Tina Gee.
Post by: ziggysego on February 15, 2007, 09:47:49 AM
Good Luck to Greencastle this weekend. A date with Croke Park awaits.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on February 15, 2007, 09:57:00 AM
might just head to the Crokes v Moorefield game in Limerick.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on February 15, 2007, 04:12:59 PM
best of luck to the moores and confey.

would love to see paddy murray get an all-ireland medal after two horrible years with injury.

moorefield are big hoors, only saw a bit of crokes v the neath and they must be worried about the power they are facing.
Post by: thebandit on February 15, 2007, 06:00:52 PM
Best of luck to the mighty rangers
Post by: ziggysego on February 17, 2007, 04:48:57 PM
Any word from the Ratheniska  v Duagh game? Can't find anything on the Internet or Aertel
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on February 17, 2007, 07:48:08 PM
will be in mullingar shouting on st. brigids. we've beaten curry, crossmolina, corofin hopefully crossmaglen and the crokes on Mar 17th.
Post by: Orior on February 17, 2007, 11:26:43 PM
Good luck to Eoghan Rua from Coleraine and me old mate Sean Boyle.
Post by: Midman on February 18, 2007, 01:15:25 PM

Anyone know if either of the senior games can be listened to on the old interweb?
Post by: Armamike on February 18, 2007, 11:08:16 PM
Well done to Crossmaglen.  A lot of the personnel may have changed since their last AI final appearance, but the team ethic and style of play is still the same.  I thought the difference in the teams was the range of scoring options Cross had, with St Brigids over reliant on Dolan for frees.  McConville was key again, but the younger guys like McNamee, Hanrarry, McKenna and Murtagh did the business when needed. John McEntee had his best game (at any level) in a long time.  Donal Murtagh seems to have something about him as a manager - making the right switches at the right time.  Has the makings of a good  final, regardless of who gets through from the  replay.   
Post by: aontroim on February 18, 2007, 11:56:42 PM
Well done to Greencastle and Coleraine also on making the JFC & IFC Finals today - ziggy probably still out celebrating.
Post by: Armamike on February 18, 2007, 11:58:45 PM
They both win too? Couldn't see the result on teletext earlier.Great weekend for Ulster clubs.

Post by: SuperDooperCooper on February 19, 2007, 09:11:25 AM
Not a bad weekend for Kerry clubs either. Well done Duagh and Ardfert. How Ardfert keep scoring goals I will never know. Some achievement winning the junior All-Ireland last year and making the intermediate final this year. Was at the two games yesterday. Crokes let it slip in the last 10 minutes, they were lucky to get a draw in the end, if Brian Looney found the net with Gooch's quick free that was it. Thought ref didn't have the best on days (on both sides) but a good honest game of football anyway. Those Kildare boys are big especially the full forward....Hard to see Cross beaten in the final however.
After Finuge and Ardfert winning the junior club all-Irelands in 05 & 06 Kerry clubs going for a three in a row at that level.
Question for the other Kerry lads on the board - did any of ye think club football in Kerry was this strong - I didn't.
About to give out now: you can get some meaningless English/Scottish third division result on RTE but not the final score in the junior or intermediate club all-Ireland, national broadcaster my arse...and I'm not even looking for highlights....
Post by: Mack the finger on February 19, 2007, 10:28:00 AM
Quote from: Armamike on February 18, 2007, 11:08:16 PM
Well done to Crossmaglen.  A lot of the personnel may have changed since their last AI final appearance, but the team ethic and style of play is still the same.  I thought the difference in the teams was the range of scoring options Cross had, with St Brigids over reliant on Dolan for frees.  McConville was key again, but the younger guys like McNamee, Hanrarry, McKenna and Murtagh did the business when needed. John McEntee had his best game (at any level) in a long time.  Donal Murtagh seems to have something about him as a manager - making the right switches at the right time.  Has the makings of a good  final, regardless of who gets through from the  replay.   

Well said.

Thought it was a good competitive game of football.

Bit more composure up front and St Brigids might have run them a lot closer. Dolan kept them in it for long spells.

Cross never panicked. Was impressed with young Hanratty in the second half, got into the game a lot more. And you're right about McEntee, best I've seen him playing in an age. Oisisn did the business when needed.

Only gripe; 15 yoyo's seemed a bit steep to pay into a stand that was already full. If it had rained there would have been a quare scattering session like in 'cross the week before.

Huge difference in the warm ups as well. Whilst Cross were engaged in disciplined routines, St Bridgids were happy enough toddling about. Mind you, St bridgets seemed first to the ball for large parts of the first half. Slow and Steady wins the race though.
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on February 19, 2007, 03:36:41 PM
Semi-Final Replay - 24.02.2007 (Sat)
Nenagh   2.00      Moorefield      v   Dr. Crokes
Referee:      Maurice Deegan, Laois

Terrible time to have the replay on, Neagh is a big distance from Killarney too. Tigher pitch should suit Moorefield.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 19, 2007, 04:21:37 PM
QuoteTigher pitch should suit Moorefield.

You could be right they're own pitch is pretty tight and the County grounds where they played all their championship games is pretty small as well. They're a big physical side and Sundays game will have brought them on, I really fancy them to win the replay especially if they stick Kevin O'Neill on Cooper from the start.
Post by: cill_dara on February 19, 2007, 05:56:25 PM
Heard Moorefield have serious doubts over three players for next saturday.
Glavin Flynn and Ian Lonergan all very doubtful.
That will be a huge blow to the moores.
Post by: ONeill on February 19, 2007, 06:54:40 PM
Congratulations Crossmaglen. One mighty club.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on February 19, 2007, 07:06:42 PM
great game of football yesterday, county standard from clubs sides is very rare (moorefield v dr. crokes). though experience was the key fo crossmaglen although hanrathy at 14 was excelllent in the 2nd half. Is he only 19? Brigids hit a number of easy shots wides, Karl Mannion and Jimmy nail (14) being the biggest culprits. Jimmy is 25 by the way not 40 like alot of the Crossmaglen supports though. while cross got some great scores from out on the sidelines. Ref was poor and missed many pick ups off the ground by both sides and was very liberal with steps taken by cross players while didn't give the smae to brigids i.e when donal o'connor no.7 took the first shoulder he had taken two steps before he hit the ground the ref gave a free for over carrying. Cross no.8 contantly took more than 4 steps. Also the cross goal the camera angle didn't show if it was square ball but it was close and Oisin definately fouled the ball by throwing it to himself when dumbing the last back.

Cross were hot favourites to win i'd say the thing that will hurt Brigids the most is they were an equal match for them (not sure if the belief was there from the players or support) but they didn't take enough of their chances and got tactics wrong in last 10 minutes.

best for brigids were John tiernan and Frankie Dolan and donal o'connor
best for cross - hanrathy no.8 and oisin.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on February 19, 2007, 07:35:07 PM
ya i definitely taught oisin fouled the ball in the lead up to the goal, brigids could have definitely won it, i taught they lacked composure and kicked some bad wides in the last 10 mins which could have won them the game.
Post by: ziggysego on February 19, 2007, 07:48:04 PM
After watching UTV this evening, you wouldn't even have known that any club Ulster clubs were playing. What's this all about UTV?  >:(
Post by: Orior on February 19, 2007, 07:55:49 PM
Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on February 19, 2007, 09:11:25 AM

About to give out now: you can get some meaningless English/Scottish third division result on RTE but not the final score in the junior or intermediate club all-Ireland, national broadcaster my arse...and I'm not even looking for highlights....

Hey Super,

I thought that was something I suffered because I live in the occupied six. Didnt realise it was a problem all over!

And you'll be glad to know that I bear no grudge for last years senior all-Ireland football quarter final. Good luck to Armagh, Derry and Tyrone about those Kerry boys in the finals (and Kildare boys in the replay).

Post by: Armamike on February 19, 2007, 09:12:07 PM
QuoteAbout to give out now: you can get some meaningless English/Scottish third division result on RTE but not the final score in the junior or intermediate club all-Ireland, national broadcaster my arse...and I'm not even looking for highlights....

Exactly. RTE (and UTV/BBC i think) never give the results of the junior and intermediate games. Bit of a disgrace really.
Post by: ziggysego on February 19, 2007, 09:55:12 PM
Pictures of Greencastle's win over Killala of Mayo are now up on the Greencastle website.
Post by: ziggysego on February 19, 2007, 10:22:33 PM
Quote from: Armamike on February 19, 2007, 09:12:07 PM
QuoteAbout to give out now: you can get some meaningless English/Scottish third division result on RTE but not the final score in the junior or intermediate club all-Ireland, national broadcaster my arse...and I'm not even looking for highlights....

Exactly. RTE (and UTV/BBC i think) never give the results of the junior and intermediate games. Bit of a disgrace really.

Can't even get the results on the GAA website.
Post by: Orior on February 19, 2007, 10:34:14 PM
I suppose these are relativey new competitions, is that a good excuse for the tv channels?
Post by: ziggysego on February 19, 2007, 10:48:59 PM
Quote from: Orior on February 19, 2007, 10:34:14 PM
I suppose these are relativey new competitions, is that a good excuse for the tv channels?

Setanta Cup is relativey new. It was splash all over UTV tonight.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on February 19, 2007, 10:50:10 PM
Well done to Eoghan Rua who beat us on Sunday. A game not for the purist but 100% effort by both teams. Cant fault the result, we dominated most of the first half but kicked some terrible wides. Eoghan Rua finished the stronger team and best of luck to them in the final.
Post by: bennydorano on February 20, 2007, 10:00:50 AM
Congrats to Cross, they really are something special.  I heard as well that 4 or 5 of the team played with the 'bug', john McEntee being one of them - who had a fantastic game.

Have to mention the performance os Stephen Kernan, he was shocking, I've been one of very few who's being giving him the benefit of the doubt, but maybe he's jsut not going to make it.
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on February 23, 2007, 03:39:17 PM
Anyone know if the Crokes v Moorefield replay is on TG4 tomorrow?
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on February 23, 2007, 03:43:10 PM
Answering my own question:
13:55  GAA Beo
Craoladh beo ar Chluiche Leath Cheannais Peile, Athimirt i gCraobh Club AIB - Achadh Uí Mhórdha (Cill Dara) v Crócaigh Chill Airne (Ciarraí). Tráchtaireacht le Brian Tyers. Beo ó Páirc Mhic Dhonncha, An tAonach.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hopefully be heading to Croker with a smile on my face. Crokes will have to up their performance significantly but I'm hopeful they can.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 23, 2007, 03:52:46 PM
I didn't realise that there was a thread on this.  Since the gfecking change over a few weeks ago the computer is a wee bit tempremental(or maybe that is the wife).  Anyway,  I have to say it is some achievement for the boys to be back in HQ.  Ten years on from the first and they are still going strong.  It will be strange to watch it from the stand but I have had my piece of that cake so I am well and truly full ;D  I was very impressed with young Hanratty and David McKenna.  The difference in this team and our previous ones is that there are so many more viable options for Management and there are more coming through.  To think that there are only 4 from the first team that won in Croke Park is a great testimony to the club structures and the undergae structures.

A few things on the game itself.  Mickey Mac was not in the square when the ball entered the square.  It was played across the square and he ran onto it.  Oisin possibly fouled the ball but this happens and balances itself out over a game.  

I thought the work rate of the team was excellent.  They tackled like demons and credit must go to my wily old training adversaries Califf and Donal on marshalling them so well.

Finally, Cross have for the first time in a number of years so many scoring options.  The pressure is no longer on Oisin and he seems to be thriving on it and playing much better football.  Also captaincy suits him.

Whoever comes out of the other game will be difficult to beat, so it will be a tough final all the same.  I will keep my opinion on it till closer to the time.
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 26, 2007, 04:15:08 PM
Well done to Crokes who will represent Kerry in the Senior final on the 17th March and Ardfert and Duagh who will represent us in the Intermediate and Junior finals also in Croker on the 10th March.

It will be a tough Ulster challenge for all 3 kerry teams but hopefully they can all turn in match winning performances and bring a few more All Irelands back to the Kingdom.

Ardfert won the Junior AI last year and its a huge achievement for them to get back to Croke Park to play for the Intermediate title the following year. Has anyone stepped up a level and won a another title.

In the senior final we have to go back to Laune Rangers in 1996 to see the last Kerry winner and before that to 1992 when Dr Crokes won the title, with An Ghaeltacht the only Kerry club to play in a final since then, losing recently to Caltra.

Pat O'Shea the Crokes and Kerry manager was a good corner forward on their last win in Croker and a certain Colm Cooper was the mascot that day, there was a bit of hassle before the game when some suit in Croke Park tried to stop him running out with the team.

Crossmaglen with their Armagh contingent and their great history in the competition will probably start the final as favourites and they will present a formidable challenge. The McEntees , McConville, Bellew have been around for what seems a long time but with the Kernan Clan and other young bloods there
is plenty of football in that team yet.

But Crokes will be no pushover with Gooch and Brosnan leading the way. Gooch's tussle on the edge of the square with the other Ginger wonder Mr Bellew will have a big bearing on the outcome. Crokes have strong competitors in the middle with Ambrose O'Donavan (yes he's the son of the legendary 1984 captain) and Mike Moloney playing well in the midfield region. Add in Kieran O'Leary a Kerry senior panalist from last year and Kerry sub goalie Kieran Cremin and they have a good solid line up.

Beaten for the last 2 years in the Kerry Championship final by South Kerry, they have a point to prove to earn recognition within the Kingdom at least, they have a typical townie arrogant approach and will put on a big battle to bring the Andy Merrigan back to the Tatler Jack pub in Killarney.

Hard game to call and its really down to the team that clicks on the day. My heart hopes for a Crokes win but my head is leaning towards a stronger looking Cross victory.

Will both teams change jerseys from their normal black and amber.

Should be a great day out, BC1 we will have to meet for a pint.

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 26, 2007, 04:29:28 PM
Mike, sure I am heading up from Cork to watch it, we could go up together! 

I don't think the jersey's would be much of an issue, same colours but fairly different.  With all 4 provinces represented on the day there should be a fair crowd, Cross always bring a huge contingent.  What I have seen of both teams this year Cross should be starting as lukewarm favourites.  They have a great blend of experience and youth, but there are only 4 of the team that won the first one ten years ago on the team.   For many of the young lads on both teams it will be their first time playing in such a huge game and the result will depend on how they adopt to the occassion.  From a very selfish point of view it is a pity the football is the first game on as I think it might be difficult to keep fans off the pitch if Cross win. 

From what I have seen of both teams this year, the repective full back lines will be the winning and losing of the game.  Whoever can control the FF lines best will win the game.  As always MF is crucial and Cross have a very strong central zone.  Brosnan and O'Donovan will have to be very much at their best to influence this area.

All in all it will hopefully be a great occassion, and watching ti from the stands will be a very nice change.
Post by: SlimShady on February 26, 2007, 04:31:03 PM
bc, whats the average age of your lot? roughly...

i cant see Cross being beaten to be honest.
Post by: ziggysego on February 26, 2007, 04:32:06 PM
Something tells me it's Cross' name on the Cup this year.

I'm hoping for a clean sweep of Ulster teams this year ;)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 26, 2007, 04:44:29 PM
Slim, I did a quick calculation on all the players used this year and it is about 23-24.  In the last game outside of the Macs, Hearty, Oisin, Francie, JD, and Stephen Clarke, all the players are under 25 with at least 4 of them under 21. 

I hope it is their year.  Recently there was an article in the Evening Echo about how Cross were good but nowhere near as good as Nemo.  I tend to disagree with the journalist!
Post by: SlimShady on February 26, 2007, 04:46:54 PM
jeez, that is not what i'd have thought! i was thinking around 28/29...

very young team then and with the experience from the others mentioned they'll be hard to beat.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 26, 2007, 05:03:38 PM
Over recent years all us older, fatter boys have moved on :P  The underage structure is great and producing 3-4 senior standard minors every year.  Two of the better players from last weekend were Johnny Hanratty and David McKenna, both are only 19 while there are at least 5 others who played on the u 21 team that won the county this year have played in this year senior championship.  There would also be another 4-5 squad players.  The rest would Aaron and Stephen Kernan, Brendan McKeown John Murtagh and Sean & Mickey McNamee.  They were all minors in 2001 so that would make them 24 maximum.
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 26, 2007, 05:20:24 PM
As one not really knowing the club standard in Armagh, what is Cross's record like in recent minor and U21 competition, is there a big conveyor belt of talent coming through and why are they so successful.

BC1 I know you are biased here and probably opening up a big can of worms here but has Crossmaglens dominance in the Senior title over the last decade been good for Armagh club football and their intercounty teams. Or has having too many from the one club stiffled some other young talent within the county.
Post by: thebandit on February 27, 2007, 09:49:39 AM
Any team that wins the ulster club championship without Francie and Aaron (2 of the finest defenders in Ulster) are some team.

We played Cross Bs recently and Gary McShane was MOTM - Cross have serious defensive options
Title: Kerry Mike
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 27, 2007, 10:24:18 AM
In 1993 we won the minor championship.  The team had the Mac's, Francie, Oisin, Hearty and Cathal Short who all went on to play for Armagh seniors.  There were 4 more I think went on to play in the first AI club winning team.  We won the U-21 1993-1996 and have won it twice since then I think, last year being the most recent.  The minors won it the last 2 years as well and in 2001.  The 2001 team produced 7 of the lads who played against St Brigids and the recent minor teams have 6-7 palying and squad members.  The underage structure in Cross is fantastic and has been worked on fro 25 years.  It is starting to really bear fruit and many posters on here believe that because of it the continued success of Cross in Armagh at least is nearly iron clad guaranteed.

As regards whether this is causing progression of other talent there are two trains of thought.

Many people argue that Joe Kernan unfairly shows bias to Cross players in picking his Armagh squad.  There are a number of clubs,eg Dromintee, Harps and the Lurgan based clubs who feel that they have players equal to or better than Cross players that Joe picks.  There may be merit in saying that Joe has a bias, but in recent times he has had his hand forced to pick other players for the League such as Charlie Vernon and Peader Toal of Armagh Harps, and Micheal O'Rourke of Dromintee so they have their chance in my view to cement their places.  As regards the club scene, at under age Armagh Harps and Pearse Ogs have been just as ,if not more,successful than Cross in the last 15 years but cannot translate that to senior level.  There are many factors, such as social factors that contribute to that, but in my view the main one is that in Cross football is everything, absolutley everything and the more success we egt the more we want and this breeds down throught the underage teams.  When they are coming out of minors they are coming into a winning mentality and this sticks, a bit like Kerry I suppose.

The other side to the argument, and this is my view is that Armagh's greatest period of success has coincided with Cross's.  Both of these are mutually beneficial and if Cross players are so good that they are better than everything else than they should get preference.  All in all I think the benefits of Cross's success far outweigh any negatives, and I firmly believe we would still be waiting for Sam if it hadn't have been for the Cross factor.
Post by: illdecide on February 27, 2007, 10:53:10 AM
Here's a question for yous, what football rigs/skips/tops whatever you want to call them will the two teams wear in the final as both play in similar colours and it would be a mess if they both wore their own tops. I have seen teams recently wearing their county tops for finals but Cross might not want that?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 27, 2007, 10:58:30 AM
With Crokes jersey being mostly black with a single amber band I think both teams will wear their own jerseys.  You would need to be thick to mix them up.
Post by: SlimShady on February 27, 2007, 11:00:19 AM
it will be up to the referee, surely if there was a squirmish in the game it'd be difficult for him to pick players out if there was 10 or 12 bodies in black and amber!
Post by: armaghniac on February 27, 2007, 11:06:08 AM
Quoteit will be up to the referee, surely if there was a squirmish in the game it'd be difficult for him to pick players out if there was 10 or 12 bodies in black and amber!

it would only really be problem if some of the players were horizontal!
Post by: illdecide on February 27, 2007, 01:12:37 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 27, 2007, 10:58:30 AM
With Crokes jersey being mostly black with a single amber band I think both teams will wear their own jerseys.  You would need to be thick to mix them up.

Even if the ref was looking a change of tops you's stains are that arrogant you's would refuse and prob get your way. Some refs can mix up blue from black & amber so i don't see any reason why it can't happen with two teams playing in the same colour you tube
Title: Illdecide
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 27, 2007, 01:18:19 PM
Who rattled your f**king cage?  Take you wee jealous Lurgan mind back to where it belongs >:(
Title: Re: Illdecide
Post by: illdecide on February 27, 2007, 01:23:45 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 27, 2007, 01:18:19 PM
Who rattled your f**king cage?  Take you wee jealous Lurgan mind back to where it belongs >:(

You did, all i asked was a civil question and expected a civil answer back. and who said i was from Lurgan?
Title: AI Club Junior and Intermediate finals
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 27, 2007, 05:12:00 PM
The finals of the All Ireland Club Junior and Intermediate competitions in football and hurling will take place in Croke Park on the weekend of March 10th/11th.

The football finals, between Duagh of Kerry and Greencastle of Tyrone (5.30pm) in Junior and the Intermediate between Eoghan Ruadh of Derry and Ardfert of Kerry (7.30pm) will be played on Saturday, March 10th . The hurling finals see Danesfort of Kilkenny play Clooney Gaels of Antrim in Junior (2pm) and Kilimordaly (Galway) against London Champions Robert Emmets in the Intermediate decider (3.40pm)) on Sunday March 11th.

Tickets for these games are currently on sale through the GAA Website, GAA Ticket Office (01-8658657), Ticketmaster outlets nationwide and are priced at Eu15 for adults, Eu5 for juveniles and Eu7 for Students and Senior Citizens (students and senior citizens must enter by stiles G8-10 only). The Hogan Stand only will be open for the finals
Title: Re: AI Club finals - the dates and times
Post by: Bogball XV on February 27, 2007, 09:56:01 PM
Anyone know the times of the hurling and football finals (senior), is it always the hurling first nowadays?
Post by: aontroim on February 27, 2007, 10:10:43 PM
The Football Finals on Sat 10th March have been put back 30 mins each, now at JFC 6pm & IFC 8pm

Senior Finals are on March 17th Football 2pm Hurling 3:40pm.
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 07, 2007, 01:21:24 PM
All-Ireland Junior Club Football Championship 2007 - Final

Sat 10 Mar  Croke Park, 6pm  Duagh - v - Greencastle (Tyrone) 

All-Ireland Intermediate Club Football Championship 2007 - Final

Sat 10 Mar  Croke Park, 8pm  Ardfert - v - Eoghan Ruadh (Derry) 

Tickets for these games are currently on sale through the GAA Website, GAA Ticket Office (01-8658657), Ticketmaster outlets nationwide and are priced at 15 for adults, 5 for juveniles and 7 for Students and Senior Citizens. The Hogan Stand only will be open for the finals.

Its Kerry v Ulster in both games so I suppose its easy to see where my loyalties are.

Anyone going along to Croker on Saturday evening for these games, I know Ziggy has a vested interest in the Junior final but has anyone else here any direct involvement with any of the teams. I hope to make it along for what should be 2 good games and give me a look at the state of lower grade Kerry club football.

I work with a lad from Duagh who's on the panel and they are looking forward to the day out and hopefully to land the Junior title.

Ardfert are chasing a unique Junior and Intermediate double and will hopefully use their experience from last year to bring home the Intermediate title.
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 07, 2007, 01:26:34 PM
was at a seminar in Croker this morning and was able to see them putting up seating in the hill 16 end.

It looks good,not really seen when the place is full during the rugby...if the seating was used on those days.
If not, then it must be for the soccer games and for them to comply with international safety directives
Post by: AZOffaly on March 07, 2007, 01:28:28 PM
QuoteArdfert are chasing a unique Junior and Intermediate double and will hopefully use their experience from last year to bring home the Intermediate title.

Be some achievement for Ardfert if they do it. To win the county intermediate championship after being promoted is tough enough, but to continue on and qualify for the All Ireland Club again is a great feat in itself.
Post by: ziggysego on March 07, 2007, 01:43:58 PM
I'm sure Kerry Mike will understand I hope that the two Ulster teams win this weekend and that Crossmaglen continue the run on St. Patrick's Day.

Where abouts will you be seated KM? I will be in a corporate box... unfortunately. I'd rather be out in the Lower Tier of the Hoganstand with the rest of the Greencastle supporters, but my wheelchair prevents me in doing so. If you see me, give me a howler. Also, I will be in the Regency Hotel after the game as well. Might as well put a face to the name.
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 07, 2007, 02:10:42 PM
Ziggy not sure yet if I will make it, wont know until Sat, will be in Dublin alright and hope to be free in the evening, but if I do go I will look out for you. Do you know if tickets are on sale outside Croker

AZ to win the Kerry Junior and Intermediate in consecutive years was a huge achievement for Ardfert, the Kerry Inrtermediate title is a tough one to win, but if they can pull off the AI double it will be massive thing for them.

Stephen Wallace would be one of their bettter known players and was on the captain for the Kerry Junior's that won the AI last year as well.
Post by: thebandit on March 07, 2007, 02:23:05 PM
Its very interesting that its Ulster v Kerry in all 3 games, it gives an indication of where the power lies!

IMO the club finals are the best occasion in the GAA calendar - nothing beats the passion of the club - Enjoy Ziggy, its the day of a lifetime if your club is involved.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 07, 2007, 02:33:57 PM
Quote from: thebandit on March 07, 2007, 02:23:05 PM
Its very interesting that its Ulster v Kerry in all 3 games, it gives an indication of where the power lies!

Well considering last year there was a Galway team in all 3 games maybe it doesn't say as much as you think.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 07, 2007, 02:42:57 PM
Good luck to all invoved and best wished to Ziggy. It must be absolutely amazing to be going to Croke Park to see your club. This is the magic of the GAA for me.
Post by: ziggysego on March 07, 2007, 03:52:24 PM
I can tell you one thing. The excitement to the build up to the All Ireland Finals in 2003 and 2005 were amazing, but when it comes to the build up of seeing your own club in an All Ireland Final... well nothing can beat it. I'm finding it really hard to focus on anything else this week.

As for KM, as far as I am aware you can get tickets down at Croke Park on Saturday.
Post by: thebandit on March 07, 2007, 04:11:22 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 07, 2007, 02:33:57 PM
Quote from: thebandit on March 07, 2007, 02:23:05 PM

Well considering last year there was a Galway team in all 3 games maybe it doesn't say as much as you think.

Duly noted!!!
Post by: phpearse on March 07, 2007, 04:27:32 PM
Would expect a very strong representative in the Intermediate Club Championship from Tyrone in the 2008 season. With possibly eight senior clubs being relagated to a Div 2 at the end of this season. The current make up in Tyrone has 2 senior leagues, 1A and 1B with 12 teams in each for a total of 24 teams playing in the senior championship. At the end of this season the leagues are restructured and there will be only 16 senior clubs, with the remaining clubs going to division 2. It should leave for a very competitive intermediate championship and with the added profile of the Club championships, may ease the blow of dropping out of the senior championship for those clubs involved.

Good luck to Greencastle on Saturday.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 07, 2007, 04:32:06 PM
Surely league status doesn't determine championship status in Tyrone?
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on March 07, 2007, 04:33:03 PM
Disappointed not be making the trip to Croker for the junior and intermediate finals on Saturday, a prior engagement in Edinburgh I'm afraid.
I think the enduring legacy of Sean Kelly will be the opening up of Croke park to the junior and intermediate teams.
It is now a legitimate aim for every club in Ireland to aim for a big day out in Croker.
Ziggy I wish you all the best on Saturday, to see your club team run out will be special, I only hope my club team will make it there one day.
Best of luck to the two Kerry team involved.
Thankfully the tickets arrived for the Paddy's day games.
Post by: loughshore lad on March 07, 2007, 04:43:52 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 07, 2007, 04:32:06 PM
Surely league status doesn't determine championship status in Tyrone?

Yes it does. this season any club in Division 1A or 1B (21 teams in each division) are in the senior championship, any club in Division 2 is in the intermediate championship and so on
Post by: Over the Bar on March 07, 2007, 04:49:57 PM
The AI Senior Club championships have been on the go for about 30 years.  How long have the junior & intermediate been going?
Post by: magpie seanie on March 07, 2007, 04:52:26 PM
First:

QuoteDisappointed not be making the trip to Croker for the junior and intermediate finals on Saturday, a prior engagement in Edinburgh I'm afraid.

Then:

QuoteI think the enduring legacy of Sean Kelly will be the opening up of Croke park to the junior and intermediate teams.

Surely a wind up.
Post by: realredhandfan on March 07, 2007, 04:52:52 PM
Ziggy I wish you all the very best.  Tell me this did Big sean Teague ever play in Croke Park? I dont think so...
Post by: Square Ball on March 07, 2007, 04:53:08 PM
All the best to all the Ulster clubs, pity it wasnt my own club, ah theres always next year.

all the best Ziggy, remain calm at all times...........
Post by: magpie seanie on March 07, 2007, 04:54:54 PM
QuoteYes it does. this season any club in Division 1A or 1B (21 teams in each division) are in the senior championship, any club in Division 2 is in the intermediate championship and so on

I assume you mean 12 teams in each division. I'm surprised by that. League should be totally seperate to championship (unless you have all your county men for all league games).
Post by: laughinpaddy on March 07, 2007, 05:03:08 PM
to my limited knowledge, County players play in at least half there club games. I could be wrong but I think thats the way it works ???
Post by: Deal_Me_In on March 07, 2007, 05:07:25 PM
County players have to be eligable to play for their club for at least one round of the league. i.e they must be available to play against each club at least once.
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on March 08, 2007, 08:57:58 AM
No wind up at all Magpie Seanie.
Very Disappointed not to be going on Saturday but had a stag booked since last September.
It was Sean Kelly who looked for Croke Park to be opened up to the Junior and Intermediate teams for club All-Ireland and he should get the praise for it.
Last year (2006) was the first year the finals were played in Croker prior to that they were played in provincial venues like Portlaoise.
The junior and intermediate club competitions are going for a few years first I heard of them was in 2002 when Finuge lost the junior All-Ireland semi final to a Roscommon team. They are great competitions 'cos they allow very club to aspire to a day out in Croker and that is why an All-Ireland semi final loss at Junior/Intermediate level must be the hardest to take.
Post by: thebandit on March 08, 2007, 11:56:40 AM
Credit must go to Cremartin, who started up the Ulster Junior competition, the Paul Kerr Cup. Subsequently, their parish neighbours Clontibret started the Ulster Intermediate competition.

While its brilliant to see these competitions on the bigger stage, and with more prestige attached, those involved at the weekend should give thanks to those who came up with the idea.

I personally think the Ulster finals should be played in their ground regardless of who is involved.
Post by: Tubberman on March 08, 2007, 01:39:52 PM
Fair play to Nicky Brennan. His comments regarding the club finals are great to hear and will be reassuring to many worried about the direction they think the GAA is headed

QuoteThe Kilkenny man described the playing of the club finals in Croke Park as "essential", despite the fact that the GAA will lose money on staging them at the stadium.

"It's a fantastic occasion. We're going to have eight teams in Croke Park this weekend.

"People came to me after the finals last year and they were almost in tears that their club played in Croke Park. This is the ultimate GAA in action.

"Yes, there will be small crowds, but it's as important to open Croke Park to these people as it is for anyone else. We will have to take a financial hit on the days, but that's irrelevant. This is a debt we owe them and this is a very, very small thing that we can do," he added.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 08, 2007, 06:32:52 PM
QuoteIt was Sean Kelly who looked for Croke Park to be opened up to the Junior and Intermediate teams for club All-Ireland and he should get the praise for it.
Last year (2006) was the first year the finals were played in Croker prior to that they were played in provincial venues like Portlaoise.

You are wasting your time SuperDooperCooper if you think the likes of Magpie Seanie would give Sean Kelly credit for anything.
Post by: Seamus on March 10, 2007, 01:36:25 AM
The followings articles taken from this weeks Kerryman should be of interest to ziggysego

Ulster champs are not so green 

When you look up the Internet to find out more about the village of Greencastle in County Tyrone you are quickly informed that it is a crossroads village off the Omagh/Cookstown road. It had a population of 153 people in the 2001 census and it lies in the foothills of the Sperrin mountains. The most famous person from the village is a guy called Tom McDermott who participated in the Channel 4 reality show Big Brother and the second most famous person is Sean Teague.

The name Sean Teague may not ring too many bells with the people of Kerry but the image of the former Tyrone captain holding the Anglo Celt Cup (presented to the winners of the Ulster Senior Football championship) aloft in 2001 with his arm in a sling may resurrect some memories. He captained the Tyrone senior team that season and at 33 should still be playing Gaelic Football but unfortunately the extremely talented former inter county star has not been able to continue his career due to a catalogue of crippling injuries. However Teague's loss has been Greencastle's gain. Greencastle's most famous GAA son took over the management of the club early last year and has delivered a County and Ulster Junior Club title as well as the Tyrone County League Division 3 title all in one season

Teague spoke to the Kerryman this week and it is obvious that he has done some homework on his opposition already. "It is a pleasant surprise for us that we got so far in this competition. We realise that we are up against it in the final. We have studied some of your paper's reports on our opponents Duagh on the net and we are aware of their strengths and weaknesses. We believe that Anthony Maher is a superb player and their defence are quite solid but we have one or two big men around centre field ourselves. We are worried about this Kerry team because the last time a Tyrone side played Kerry opposition in the final they destroyed us (Finuge beat Stewartstown Harps by 11 points) so we would be fools not to be wary. Kerry are the kingpins of this junior competition and have clubs in every grade in the All Ireland Club finals. Their tradition is awe-inspiring. Despite the fact that Tyrone beat Kerry a couple of times recently Kerry's football brand is still regarded as the best. It seems to be especially so at club level."

Despite his obvious respect for the Duagh side Teague is convinced that his side can give a good account of themselves.

"We are going into the unknown but we have great self belief and hunger. From what I'm led to believe both teams play a similar brand of football. It could all come down to who has the greater appetite and we'll not be found wanting in that regard," he says.

Gaelic Life journalist Alan Rodgers has seen most of Greencastle's games. He is in no doubt that Greencastle are a fine team.

"Greencastle have surprised everyone in Ulster. They are a team of unknowns who play with a fierce passion. The come from the middle of the Sperrin mountains and they have some huge men down the middle, they have a great half back line in which their captain Martin Conway is the driving force and they have nippy forwards in Terry McDermott and Barry Treacy who are well capable of punishing any defence."

Greencastle have shown their fighting qualities right throughout the championship winning their county final by one point, repeating this feat again in both the Ulster semi-final and Final before finally defeating Mayo side Killala by four points in the All Ireland semi-final.

Greencastle were recently awarded the Ulster Herald Club of the Year award while their captain Martin Conway won the Player of the Year award. While they do not include any well known inter county stars they seem to make up for this with a dedicated and professional approach. The Tyrone team booked Croke Park for example last Saturday night and used the opportunity to acclimatise themselves to the lights in the Stadium at the exact time that they would be playing the following week. It is this attention to detail, which has set the Northern teams apart from their southern counterparts in the 21st century.

However Greencastle may have met their match in Duagh. John Dillon and his backroom team's meticulous preparation will also be a factor. Once again it looks likely that we will witness the battle of two team's with mirror images. A bounce of a ball, a refereeing decision or an unforced error could seal either side's fate.

Post by: Seamus on March 10, 2007, 01:38:31 AM
Backroom boys set to fulfil a lifelong dream 

Every club and county has its unsung heroes. Certainly Duagh selector, Eamon Stack, and Duagh backroom man Martin Leane, fit that title perfectly. Stack has been a mentor to the majority of the present Duagh squad since they were 10 years of age. Leane, on the other hand, has been one of the main organisers of the Kerry Supporters Club down through the years.
Martin has travelled the highways and byways of Ireland supporting the 'Green and Gold', but finally, he can now briefly cast that all to one side and follow his beloved 'Maroon and Gold' to the promised land that is Croke Park on All Ireland Final day.

Prior to Saturday's final both Eamon and Martin were confident that Duagh would give a good account of themselves in Croke Park.

"It will be a very emotional day for all concerned," expressed Stack, as his thoughts quickly turned to a life long love of football in his native parish of Duagh. "I have been involved in football all of my life, worn the Duagh jersey with great pride but with little success. I played as a 17-year old for Duagh back in 1975, in Division 2 of the County League.

"At that time we went from Division 4 down to 2 and back again within the space of six or seven years. I have been with a lot of this current squad since they were 10 years of age. I trained them up until minor and then took a break for a while and came back as a senior selector this year. What a great year it was to make a comeback!" Martin Leane reflected on the personal pleasure of seeing his local team playing in Croke Park.

"I have travelled everywhere with Kerry over the years and it has been great to be part of their success, but this is something special. This means so much to the people of Duagh. To see your own club lining out in the wonderful stadium of Croke Park is just amazing."

Leane admitted that a trip to Croke Park was not on anyone's agenda at the start of the year but as the year unfolded the possibility began to become a reality.

"No team, not even inter county teams, begin their year thinking of Croke Park but we saw how the year was unfolding and certainly after the County Final we started to dream. The dream has now become a reality and it is some feeling."

At the start of the year it could have all been so different for Duagh as Eamon Stack explained. "Every team needs a bit of luck starting off. In our opening match against Kenmare, Paul O'Connor, who was superb on the night, narrowly missed a chance to equalise and bring the game into extra time. We had a ferocious battle against a very good St Pat's side and barely got through. We then scraped through against our local rivals, Beale, in the semi-final. It just shows how competitive the junior championship is in Kerry. Look at the quality of teams competing. Beale are now a Division 2 side in the County League, higher than the Legion who are playing County Championship football. Look at the strength of teams like South Kerry champions, Skellig Rangers, North Kerry champions, Ballyduff and Kenmare."

Martin Leane was very conscious of the impact that this year of success would have on the Duagh GAA club and the parish as a whole.

"You can't quantify what this success means to our people. The structures of the club are good and the impact of all of this should ensure that we have a solid base for many years to come. Look at the impact that success has had on Ardfert. Of course this is a costly year but I think that the day is gone when you measure the cost of success. We will worry about that on another day."

Finally both men were at one when the topic turned to the possible outcome of Saturday's game. "I am extremely confident that we can win the game," ventured Leane. Eamon Stack was also confident but did have a few words of caution about the impact of the big day on the players.

"I agree with Martin. You have no business going to a place like Croke Park unless that you are confident. There is a worry of course that the players might be overwhelmed by the occasion. We are taking all the precautions necessary to prevent that from happening and we know that they are a team that have responded well all year to every situation.

"There is an X-factor to Croke Park that none of us have really experienced and Greencastle will be in the very same position. John Dillon will keep their feet on the ground and all going to plan I believe that we are good enough to bring the cup home," Stack added.

Post by: Seamus on March 10, 2007, 07:32:46 PM
Greencastle 0 -14 Duagh 0-13

Congrats to Greencastle and especially ziggysego. Duagh did themselves proud doing amazingly to get this far.
Post by: the green man on March 10, 2007, 08:51:41 PM
Coleraine down 1-02 to 0-03
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 12, 2007, 03:01:14 PM
Congrats ziggyego, well done at the weekend
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on March 14, 2007, 04:15:03 PM
AIB All Ireland Club Finals – Ticket Information

The AIB All Ireland club finals take place in Croke Park on Saturday next, March 17th. The football final, between Crossmaglen Rangers and Dr Croke's of Killarney will get underway at 2pm and will be followed by the hurling final between Loughrea (Galway) and Kilkenny Champions Ballyhale Shamrocks at 3.40pm. Tickets for these games are currently available from the GAA Website, through Ticketmaster outlets nationwide and in the Croke Park area from the Skylon Hotel, Mc Caughey's Shop on Clonliffe Road or Benny's on Emmet St.  Tickets cost €20 for adults, €5 for juveniles. Students and Senior Citizens must buy a full price Cusack or Davin stand ticket and will receive a €10 refund on production of current, valid photographic ID (Student ID must have an expiry date) at Block D turnstiles prior to entering the ground on the day of the game.

The GAA have advised patrons to purchase their tickets in advance where possible to avoid delays at ticket outlets on the day of the games and to allow for extra traffic due to the St Patrick's Day Parade in the City Centre area when planning travel times.

Patrons are asked to note that Clonliffe College car park WILL NOT be in operation on Saturday
Post by: magpie seanie on March 14, 2007, 04:45:15 PM
QuoteYou are wasting your time SuperDooperCooper if you think the likes of Magpie Seanie would give Sean Kelly credit for anything.

That's not true, I give him plenty of credit for using the GAA to further his own personal circumstances and still having a load of dopes thinking he was a great man. Himself and Micko are well met.
Post by: thebandit on March 14, 2007, 05:58:30 PM
Best of luck to the mighty Cross Rangers who go for number 4 at the weekend
Title: Crossmaglen
Post by: Imposerous on March 14, 2007, 06:09:20 PM
All the very best to Donal, Martin and the whole Cross squad for Saturday. 
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 14, 2007, 07:28:56 PM
QuoteThat's not true, I give him plenty of credit for using the GAA to further his own personal circumstances and still having a load of dopes thinking he was a great man. Himself and Micko are well met

"dopes" is it ? ....sure you wouldnt know a "great man" if he came up and kicked you in the arse. Yourself and that other windbag Greenan should form ye're own association altogther...the backwoodsmen and blowhards association. Then ye can rail away against Sean Kelly and crooked refs and all the other people who have given up their time and voluteered only to be personally ridiculed by gobshites like yourself.
Post by: Sandy Hill on March 14, 2007, 08:21:44 PM
Will be in the corporate sector on Saturday  ;D  cheering on our County Champions; here's hoping you do it and do it well!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: ziggysego on March 14, 2007, 09:09:33 PM
OK everyone, all the photos of Greencastle's match against Duagh are now posted on the Greencastle website. Please come visit. There's 128 pictures to look at.
Post by: Travis T O Justice on March 15, 2007, 12:06:58 PM
Sorry if this has ben answered already but what time is the Cross v Crokes game throwing in at on Saturday is it 2 or 3??
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on March 15, 2007, 12:10:35 PM
Crokes v Cross on at 2pm
Hurling on at 3:40.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 15, 2007, 12:54:46 PM
Quoteall the other people who have given up their time and voluteered only to be personally ridiculed by gobshites like yourself

Right back at you sunshine with a snowball made by yourself.

Like Michael Greenan I'm not going to use the work I do in the GAA to get a big government appointed job for pushing their agenda.

Quoteyou wouldnt know a "great man" if he came up and kicked you in the arse

I'd suggest than a "great man" wouldn't be going around kicking fellas in the arse but my definition of "great man" seems to be more stringent than yours.
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 15, 2007, 12:59:52 PM
I still think sean kelly ranks behind sean mccague for self importance and spinning his own agenda as president of the GAA.

Also I think mccague was the architect of the crap that kelly continued on and then implemented

Think our current man (Brennan) is an honest down to earth GAA man with no agendas or notions of creating a political role after GAA presidency after his tenure.

(PS Seanie,
ya kind of know me - does that not count?) :D
Post by: true ulster gael on March 15, 2007, 01:01:36 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 14, 2007, 09:09:33 PM
OK everyone, all the photos of Greencastle's match against Duagh are now posted on the Greencastle website. Please come visit. There's 128 pictures to look at.
well done ziggy
do you think that your win was spoiled by the soiling of the croke park pitch being used for rugby?
Post by: ziggysego on March 15, 2007, 05:31:25 PM
Quote from: true ulster gael on March 15, 2007, 01:01:36 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 14, 2007, 09:09:33 PM
well done ziggy
do you think that your win was spoiled by the soiling of the croke park pitch being used for rugby?

None, thought didn't like seeing the remains of RBS printed on the pitch. Other than that, I had forgotten all about ruggers boys being in, and the soccer ones coming in.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 15, 2007, 07:42:04 PM
Quotemy definition of "great man" seems to be more stringent than yours

your a Greenan fan, thats all we need to know about your "stringent" criteria for greatness. 
Post by: Declan on March 16, 2007, 12:24:23 PM
Best of luck to all the participants in tomorrows games. Looking forward to both of them though it'll be hard watching the football hoping both teams lose!!!!! ;)
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 16, 2007, 12:37:32 PM
Best of luck to Dr Crokes tomorrow.

But until such time as they can actually win a County Championship and maybe beat South Kerry along the way, any possible win tomorrw will be tainted.

Dr Crokes the second best team in Kerry, will hopefully be the best team in the country tomorrow :P
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 16, 2007, 12:53:17 PM
Mike, the insinuation therefore is if Cross win then they are conceiveably not the best team as South Kerry may have been better ;)

Don't be a chicken declan, nail your colours to the mast man and cheer someone on!

Best of luck to all participants tomorrow.  Obviously I want Cross to win but just hope that the game is worthy of the occassion. 
Post by: Bogball XV on March 16, 2007, 01:02:03 PM
Does anyone think Crokes have a chance?  I do, but everyone I talk has totally written them off - strangely the bookies don't make cross the unanimous favs everyone else does.
Hope it's a great game, will the attendance be adversely affected by the rugby do you think?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 16, 2007, 01:15:13 PM
One thing is for certain, Cross themselves do not see themselves as clearcut favourites.  Any team that has ability to get to an All Ireland Final must be feared, and no matter how good or bad teams are from Kerry, they have the mentality of winning finals and that is half the battle. 

A kick of the ball will be between the teams and no more.

As regards the attendance, I think there will be minimum 35000 at the game.  The Cross support will have no interest in the rugby whatsoever.  I cannot speak for the other teams but I am sure they will bring a fair following.  There may be a drop on the neutrals, but generally the ones who go as neutrals to Clubs finals are ones only interested in the GAA and tehrefore rugby will have little impact on their decision.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 16, 2007, 01:18:47 PM
BC (and BC junior), enjoy the day out with the langers.  I'll be thinking of ye on the long drive to Northwest Mayo.
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 16, 2007, 02:06:50 PM
About 4km travelling from Killarney I have heard, and with a few neutral Kerry animals like myself it should be around the 5k mark. I'd expect about 30k in total. But the weather and the rugby will have a big bearing.

BC there is a bit of bad blood between Crokes and South Kerry so thats where I am coming from just a bit of banter for the Killarney boys, I am sure if Cross win they will be worthy champions.

I think Crokes have a great chance but Andrew Kennelly will be a loss, he was injured with the Kerry U21's last week.  Alot will depend on Eoin Brosnan he has caused Armagh teams problems before with his direct running and is a good aman for a goal on his day and then you have the Gooch factor whom Oisin McConville has said is unmarkable, but I am sure Mr Bellew will have plans. Add in Kieran O'Leary who is well able to take his scores and it nots a one man show up front.

Looking at both teams on paper you would have to favour Cross as they have a very strong spine with their county men down the middle but like most games its down to the little things on the day.
Hopefully the day will stay fine and that the referee will have a good day in the office. Other than that its down to a bit of luck.

Best of luck to both teams.
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on March 16, 2007, 02:07:52 PM
Best of luck to the Crokes tomorrow. I fear Cross will be too strong but the Kerry contingent will travel in hope none the less.
Kennelly is a massive loss to the Crokes, a future Kerry player IMO, hopefully he can comeback from the cruciate.
Why Kerry were forced to play the u-21 game last week I will never know. It's a shame for any player to miss an All-Ireland final.
5,000 expected to travel from Killarney. 2/3 club titles wouldn't be bad.......
Weather forecast not great unfortunately and I have a ticket which will see me getting soaked :'(
Post by: Uladh on March 16, 2007, 02:10:05 PM

The best of luck to The Rangers tomorrow. For God and Ulster!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 16, 2007, 02:15:59 PM
While I hope they will have it comfortable I think it will be closer than people think.  These are games where lesser lights become superstars and I don't necessarily think that Gooch or Oisin will be the main men.

Mike if you, or anyone else for that matter, is up to it a few of us will be in Hill 16 pre match for a pint.  Come and join us for the craic.
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 16, 2007, 02:33:42 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 16, 2007, 02:15:59 PM
While I hope they will have it comfortable I think it will be closer than people think.  These are games where lesser lights become superstars and I don't necessarily think that Gooch or Oisin will be the main men.

Mike if you, or anyone else for that matter, is up to it a few of us will be in Hill 16 pre match for a pint.  Come and join us for the craic.

** Cheeky Armagh man takes over Cheeky Dubs 'Hill16 pub' before Club final shocker ***

Look forward to the clash of donaldson trying to stop the run of Brosnan tomorrow (I'll bet it mostly wont be legal)

Post by: thejuice on March 17, 2007, 11:26:21 AM
Wish I was home to watch the club finals, i love going to them, Pity TG4 arent showing them online, dont know why they show everything but the games online. One of the biggest draws for TG4 is their GAA coverage.

Ta me ar buile >:(

Crokes and Ballyhale to win