GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: haveaharp on July 05, 2010, 09:25:08 AM

Title: The why do Kerry players get away with Blue Murder thread
Post by: haveaharp on July 05, 2010, 09:25:08 AM
I'd like to hear your views on this.

O Se yesterday gets away with 2 elbow/forearm smashes to Stephen Kellys head. Not only does the ref do nothing the pundits commentating gloss over it like it was nothing. Same thing in All Ireland final last year. Tadgh Kennelly straight in with the elbow in the first 10 seconds, should have been straight red. Galvins constant knavery is another example, the pundits gloss over it with words like great competitor, putting you hand inside another mans mouth and trying to rip his face is not being a great competitor its being a tr**p. My point is that other counties get labelled as negative or downright dirty when Kerry seem to have this myth surrounding them that they are clean and whiter than white. Come on RTE grow a set and show/tell it as it is.
Title: Re: The why do Kerry players get away with Blue Murder thread
Post by: The Konica on July 05, 2010, 09:28:07 AM
The reason O'Se's was glossed over last night was that the Sunday Game will be accused of an anti-Kerry witch hunt if it dragged that one up.

I don't see any other reason for it.

I don't think Kerry are a particularly dirty team, though they all know how to cross the line and do so often enough.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2010, 09:30:41 AM
Stupid thread. Paul Galvin has been suspended more often than he's been playing in the last few years. Tomás O'Sé will get his punishment this week.

We can't give out about the TV getting players suspended (See Harte, M.) on one hand, and then roar at them to make a song and dance about another.

Last night's treatment of O'Sé and O'Hara was fair enough, left enough room for doubt with the CCCCCCCCCCCCC.
Post by: haveaharp on July 05, 2010, 09:39:02 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 05, 2010, 09:30:41 AM
Stupid thread. Paul Galvin has been suspended more often than he's been playing in the last few years. Tomás O'Sé will get his punishment this week.

We can't give out about the TV getting players suspended (See Harte, M.) on one hand, and then roar at them to make a song and dance about another.

Last night's treatment of O'Sé and O'Hara was fair enough, left enough room for doubt with the CCCCCCCCCCCCC.

Whats stupid about it ? I genuinely feel their actions get glossed over more than any other county while the pundits have a collective orgasm every time the gooch or Donaghy throw themselves on the ground to win a free.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2010, 09:42:05 AM
Whatever about the ooohing and aaahing whenever Gooch kicks a free, it's nuts to say they don't get suspensions etc.
Sure Galvin is the enfant terrible of the GAA.
Post by: haveaharp on July 05, 2010, 09:44:11 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 05, 2010, 09:42:05 AM
Whatever about the ooohing and aaahing whenever Gooch kicks a free, it's nuts to say they don't get suspensions etc.
Sure Galvin is the enfant terrible of the GAA.

What suspension did Kennelly get for his elbow in the AIF ?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2010, 09:45:00 AM
That's one incident. And he never played again :D
Post by: Jinxy on July 05, 2010, 09:51:24 AM
I'm getting a bit tired of the language that's thrown around in the aftermath of every controversial incident nowadays.
"tr**p", "sc**bag" etc.
You'd swear half the lads here had never played the game.
By all means players need to be punished for aggressive/violent acts on the field but we don't need to go down the route of condemning players as human beings.
Post by: orangeman on July 05, 2010, 09:54:04 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 05, 2010, 09:51:24 AM
I'm getting a bit tired of the language that's thrown around in the aftermath of every controversial incident nowadays.
"tr**p", "sc**bag" etc.
By all means players need to be punished for aggressive/violent acts on the field but we don't need to go down the route of condemning players as human beings.

Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2010, 09:56:30 AM
"tr**p", "sc**bag" etc.

Well said jinxy. Imagine if Liam Harnan and Mick Lyons played now? Liveline would be choc full of aul women looking for them to get jail.

As you said, bad acts if spotted need to be punished, but we go too far with the outrage these days.
Post by: spuds on July 05, 2010, 10:00:27 AM
"tr**p", "sc**bag" etc.
++++++++
Post by: haveaharp on July 05, 2010, 10:01:42 AM
"tr**p", "sc**bag" etc.

Ive played plenty and i can call it dirt when i see it.
AZ reckons O Se will get his punishment this week, no he wont. The punishment should have been a straight red, in which case Limerick could have won the game. After the event is not good enough.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2010, 10:05:35 AM
That's a moot point haveaharp (whether Limerick would have won) but O'Sé should have got the line (probably 3 times!). However, his punishment if he got the line would have been a month, plus one game. I fully expect him to get a month plus one game at least.

I take your point about it being unsatisfactory in that you would prefer the ref to cop it and take the action real time, but sure there's loads of instances like that, you can't legislate for bad refereeing or missed incidents. All you can do is try to address it as soon as possible.

Although in fairness Fox was so bad yesterday, when the CCCC send him the DVD to 'consider his decision', he might say he was correct :D
Post by: haveaharp on July 05, 2010, 10:08:56 AM
Is it time to use todays technology and have a ref behind a monitor with a radio link to the ref on the pitch ? Too many poor decisions are directly affecting the outcome.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2010, 10:16:07 AM
Quote from: haveaharp on July 05, 2010, 10:08:56 AM
Is it time to use todays technology and have a ref behind a monitor with a radio link to the ref on the pitch ? Too many poor decisions are directly affecting the outcome.

For that type of incident, I don't think so.. Those were very clear cut, but a lot of them would be subjective. One man's opinion would be different on the Eamon O'Hara incident, for example. So who is the actual referee? I'd agree with instant replay for points/wides etc, but not for 'opinion' judgments.
Post by: highorlow on July 05, 2010, 10:24:37 AM
I thought the Sunday Game said it as it is for once.

It's a mans game not like some other sports that get mass coverage on our screens where lads roll around on the ground as if they were shot in the balls every time.

O'Shea went in hard a few times but in the heat of the battle everyone does this. There was no vindictiveness in his tackles. Similar to the O'Hara incident. For God's sake Eamonn couldn't get out of yer mans way.

As for Tadhg Kennelly's approach in the AIF, he was probably verging on the borderline alright but still no harm done, he was trying to soften up the Cork lads from the outset. Cork should have nailed him later in the game. Whealan on MacGarrity in 06 was another borderline one.

It's worthwhile listening to David Brady when he is co commenting he tells it as it is and a hard tackle every now and again IMO is ok as long as there is no vindictiveness behind it.

This toughness has been in the game since day 1 (just as Mickey Ned) so 'harping' on about it isn't going to solve it or accusing one county over another isn't doing any good either.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mc9VY7BKKCw

Post by: blanketattack on July 05, 2010, 10:29:47 AM
A more pertinent question is how come every Kerry incident is highlighted in full yet incidents by other teams are left unhighlighted e.g. Derek Kavanagh on Gooch, Carr pushing the ref, the Limerick back belting Kieran O'Leary twice?

Personally I didn't think any of them required a second look, but if you are going to highlight incidents, at least be consistent.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2010, 10:30:28 AM
Quote from: highorlow on July 05, 2010, 10:24:37 AM

It's a mans game not like some other sports that get mass coverage on our screens where lads roll around on the ground as if they were shot in the balls every time.

O'Shea went in hard a few times but in the heat of the battle everyone does this. There was no vindictiveness in his tackles. Similar to the O'Hara incident. For God's sake Eamonn couldn't get out of yer mans way.

As for Tadhg Kennelly's approach in the AIF, he was probably verging on the borderline alright but still no harm done, he was trying to soften up the Cork lads from the outset. Cork should have nailed him later in the game. Whealan on MacGarrity in 06 was another borderline one.

It's worthwhile listening to David Brady when he is co commenting he tells it as it is and a hard tackle every now and again IMO is ok as long as there is no vindictiveness behind it.

This toughness has been in the game since day 1 (just as Mickey Ned) so 'harping' on about it isn't going to solve it or accusing one county over another isn't doing any good either.

I agree with nearly all of that, but I disagree with the bit in bold. That last elbow was pure spiteful. It was late, it was pure elbow and it was on the jaw. After a man kicked a point.

That one was a straight red in my opinion.

When you see that incident, the previous two suddenly get a different slant as well. Was the trip just reckless, and was the other shoulder to the face just slightly high?
Post by: Hound on July 05, 2010, 10:30:56 AM

There was no vindictiveness in his tackles.
The elbow to Kelly's head after he had kicked the point was pure vindictiveness
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2010, 10:33:07 AM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 05, 2010, 10:29:47 AM
A more pertinent question is how come every Kerry incident is highlighted in full yet incidents by other teams are left unhighlighted e.g. Derek Kavanagh on Gooch, Carr pushing the ref, the Limerick back belting Kieran O'Leary twice?

I don't think it's as bad as that either blanketattack, but I do think you are right. Players from every team get picked up by the TV and suddenly the CCCC feels the need to investigate, and players from every team get away with incidents which are not picked up by the Sunday Game and they never get punished.

It's the system that's wrong, the treatment is more or less consistent when the Sunday Game decides it needs looking at.

Post by: highorlow on July 05, 2010, 10:35:34 AM
QuoteThat last elbow was pure spiteful. It was late, it was pure elbow and it was on the jaw. After a man kicked a point.

I might have to look at that one again, when i saw it last night I thought the Limerick guys head jumped up into O'Shea's elbow.

I think the point about the ref is getting lost here. He was poor that he didn't have O'Shea on a yellow first off, for the trip even if it was a bit accidental.
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on July 05, 2010, 10:36:43 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 05, 2010, 10:16:07 AM

For that type of incident, I don't think so.. Those were very clear cut, but a lot of them would be subjective. One man's opinion would be different on the Eamon O'Hara incident, for example. So who is the actual referee? I'd agree with instant replay for points/wides etc, but not for 'opinion' judgments.

Realtime review of transgressions would be a nightmare and not actually needed. All that is needed is a citing officer assigned to go through tapes post match with the authority to lay charges on any aggressive transgressions that were missed. 1 month or more suspensions handed out routinely would soon stop O'Se and others from deliberately lifting their elbows knowing the certainty of the suspension to follow even if they get away with it on the day. The current system for review is too haphazard and inconsistent (and, more importantly, too open to outside influence) to be effective.

Seemed to work in cleaning up the AFL no end...
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on July 05, 2010, 10:39:45 AM
Anthony Tohill looked a broken man, the bully boy tactics succeeded. Pathetic how they tried to insinuate that Kelly giving him a little shoulder was provocation enough to get a muay thai elbow to the side of your face.

The refs let Kerry get away with murder because they know if the yerras take a dislike to you, then youre going to be objected to whenever Kerry make a final. And since kerry make a lot of finals you can forget about being one of the top refs.
Post by: Jinxy on July 05, 2010, 10:40:29 AM
Quote from: highorlow on July 05, 2010, 10:35:34 AM
QuoteThat last elbow was pure spiteful. It was late, it was pure elbow and it was on the jaw. After a man kicked a point.

I might have to look at that one again, when i saw it last night I thought the Limerick guys head jumped up into O'Shea's elbow.

I think the point about the ref is getting lost here. He was poor that he didn't have O'Shea on a yellow first off, for the trip even if it was a bit accidental.

Ah come on now!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2010, 10:40:36 AM
Quote from: OverThePostsAWide on July 05, 2010, 10:36:43 AM

Realtime review of transgressions would be a nightmare and not actually needed. All that is needed is a citing officer assigned to go through tapes post match with the authority to lay charges on any aggressive transgressions that were missed. 1 month or more suspensions handed out routinely would soon stop O'Se and others from deliberately lifting their elbows knowing the certainty of the suspension to follow even if they get away with it on the day. The current system for review is too haphazard and inconsistent (and, more importantly, too open to outside influence) to be effective.

I agree, but you'd have to have all matches taped for consistency as well.
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on July 05, 2010, 10:41:18 AM
Quote from: highorlow on July 05, 2010, 10:35:34 AM

You must be on the wind up highorlow  ::)

"...I thought the Limerick guys head jumped up into O'Shea's elbow"
"...for the trip even if it was a bit accidental"

Are you Mickey Harte in disguise?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2010, 10:42:47 AM
Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on July 05, 2010, 10:39:45 AM
Anthony Tohill looked a broken man, the bully boy tactics succeeded. Pathetic how they tried to insinuate that Kelly giving him a little shoulder was provocation enough to get a muay thai elbow to the side of your face.

The refs let Kerry get away with murder because they know if the yerras take a dislike to you, then youre going to be objected to whenever Kerry make a final. And since kerry make a lot of finals you can forget about being one of the top refs.

Ara come off it. There's no point trying to have a sensible debate if you come out with stuff like that. Does Galvin 'get away with murder'? Quite the opposite I'd suggest.

Post by: highorlow on July 05, 2010, 10:43:21 AM
QuoteQuote
That last elbow was pure spiteful. It was late, it was pure elbow and it was on the jaw. After a man kicked a point.

Ah come on now!

Shur ye Meath lads will sort Kerry out when the time comes.
Post by: highorlow on July 05, 2010, 10:45:48 AM
I still blame the ref / linesman / umpire and not Kerry or O'Shea.

The Limerick corner back was pulling and dragging out of the Gooch all the way through the match, this wasn't pciked up by the officials or highlighted on the Sunday game.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 05, 2010, 10:54:19 AM
Quote from: OverThePostsAWide on July 05, 2010, 10:36:43 AM

spot on
Post by: blanketattack on July 05, 2010, 10:59:25 AM

Well said. They was no highlighting of Tommy Walsh's wild pull yesterday and rightly so. Hurling is accepted as being a man's game and as a result TSG hurling analysts aren't a 1/4 as pernickety as their football counterparts for highlighting incidents, they prefer to use their time analysing good play and tactics rather than the lazy analysis of the football crowd who even try to make up incidents that weren't there e.g. Stephen Kelly's "bump" on Tomás Ó Sé.
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on July 05, 2010, 11:10:35 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 05, 2010, 10:42:47 AM
Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on July 05, 2010, 10:39:45 AM

Ara come off it. There's no point trying to have a sensible debate if you come out with stuff like that. Does Galvin 'get away with murder'? Quite the opposite I'd suggest.

Your head is in the sand, boy. Down in Cork we see Galvin more than anyone else, when youre watching on TV you only see him when he's on the ball. What he does off the ball is the problem.

Post by: lynchbhoy on July 05, 2010, 11:25:03 AM
Galvin doesnt get away with murder (any more) because he is consistently doin it and now consistently caught.
if it was he and not o'Se kicking or using the elbow yesterday he would have had a red card three times.
Refs are watching out for him. But as he consistently does it and gets caught now, he brings it on himself. Thats the line he has to ensure he doesnt cross.

I said on a prev thread that the GAA need to do something about this.
Its not like 10-15 yeas ago - football has become less 'violent'. A lot of these incidents would not cause an eye to blink back then.
Mick Lyons btw did not actualy resort to that kind of stupid tackle - his reputation was forged from retaliating and fighting back at the aussies in the inaugrual compromise rules games.
That old meath team hit but it was not from behind off the ball. You got it when you had the ball b that was football back then. This kind of intimidation is gone from the game.
We need CCtv digital cameras at each championship venue and a citing officer to look into any reported incidents.
I know mothers that are afraid to let their lads play football because of the bad violent reputation it had ...these small incidents are not as bad or as frequent as yesteryear, but are highlighted more by the media in their quest for 'headlines'.
So a citing officer should be used to help eradicate this from the game. Players will soon learn to stop this craic in the same manner as we learned the change from taking all frees and sideline from the ground or no handpassing into the goals.
Players (human nature) need an incentive or deterrant. A citing officer is vitalhere imo.
We CAN afford it and the cheap cost of cameras as a one off hardware installation - maybe Bud weiser could give them a cheap quote !
Post by: blanketattack on July 05, 2010, 11:42:56 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 05, 2010, 11:25:03 AM
That old meath team hit but it was not from behind off the ball. You got it when you had the ball b that was football back then. This kind of intimidation is gone from the game.

Please tell me you're joking? You couldn't be that naïve!
Do you think Colm O'Neill's retaliatory punch on Mick Lyons in 1990 was because of what Lyons had done to him when he had the ball? It was because of at least 5 digs off the ball previously.

Do you really think Meath players never did any dirty shenanigans off the ball?
Post by: highorlow on July 05, 2010, 12:11:32 PM
QuoteDo you really think Meath players never did any dirty shenanigans off the ball?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nWdn6Gmrkz8

Shur Meath are pure gents.
Post by: blanketattack on July 05, 2010, 12:19:07 PM
I also have to say while Meath were no angels you also never heard a word of complaint from a Meath player or Meath manager about a belt. They gave it and they also took it. It's strange to see Colm O'Rourke picking out incidents that weren't half as bad as some of things he was subjected to which he didn't bat an eyelid to.
Post by: Hound on July 05, 2010, 12:26:32 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 05, 2010, 12:19:07 PM
I also have to say while Meath were no angels you also never heard a word of complaint from a Meath player or Meath manager about a belt. They gave it and they also took it. It's strange to see Colm O'Rourke picking out incidents that weren't half as bad as some of things he was subjected to which he didn't bat an eyelid to.
Ah now, Colm was an awful moaner in his day. But then again he's not a real Meathman.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 05, 2010, 01:02:44 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 05, 2010, 11:42:56 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 05, 2010, 11:25:03 AM

Please tell me you're joking? You couldn't be that naïve!
Do you think Colm O'Neill's retaliatory punch on Mick Lyons in 1990 was because of what Lyons had done to him when he had the ball? It was because of at least 5 digs off the ball previously.

Do you really think Meath players never did any dirty shenanigans off the ball?
having played along with Lyons I'd know him as a team mate quite well.
he would generally NEVER start it. Not always , but mostly !
Most opponents would do so - like vinny murphy or colm oneill, then Mick would get going.
Some other meath men would retaliate first, but the two you mentioned were the two that wouldnt start anything - they just finished it !!

I can name other meathmen that did start stuff - one of which would be Micks brother !
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 05, 2010, 01:42:59 PM
Origin of expression BLUE MURDER...

"Getting away with blue murder"
Implies a person has gotten away with something so bad that they were expected to get get caught for.
If you a royal was murdered it would be assumed that the culprit would be apprehended as there would be an unusual large manhunt undertaken making getting away with this murder harder than the murder of a normal person. And since royals are known as blue bloods this is were the term originated.
Post by: Jinxy on July 05, 2010, 02:13:06 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 05, 2010, 12:11:32 PM
QuoteDo you really think Meath players never did any dirty shenanigans off the ball?

That was self-defence.
Finnerty started it!
Post by: blanketattack on July 05, 2010, 02:22:57 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 05, 2010, 01:42:59 PM

Implies a person has gotten away with something so bad that they were expected to get get caught for.
If you a royal was murdered it would be assumed that the culprit would be apprehended as there would be an unusual large manhunt undertaken making getting away with this murder harder than the murder of a normal person. And since royals are known as blue bloods this is were the term originated.

This is what I thought he meant by Kerry players committing blue murder...

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF513/371120.jpg)
Post by: maddog on July 05, 2010, 02:37:18 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 05, 2010, 02:22:57 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 05, 2010, 01:42:59 PM

This is what I thought he meant by Kerry players committing blue murder...

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF513/371120.jpg)

Post by: Zapatista on July 05, 2010, 02:38:01 PM
"tr**p", "sc**bag" etc.

This probably should have been the last post on this thread. I find it hard to believe the Sunday Game plays such a big role (other than it's intended role) in our games.
Post by: paddypastit on July 05, 2010, 02:39:59 PM
Two points that add nothing to the discussion but just struck me.

Firstly, anybody tyhat was watching the Sunday Game and thought that the O'Se incidents were glossed over was not watching the same programme as I was.

Secondly, haven't we all gone awful soft!! When Mickey Ned was poleaxed, the ref tapped him on the leg and nobody went near him for a full 35 secs and even when they did there was bugger all excitement - wasn't Mikey Sheehy placing the ball fro the free and wondering what the delay was about.  Can you imagine today.  Firstly there would have been an all out arm waving contest among the players with 20 odd involved and not a punch thrown.  Then we would have had half the state ambulance service in attendance and the fuss afterwards - front page news the next day...
Post by: highorlow on July 05, 2010, 03:16:07 PM
QuoteSecondly, haven't we all gone awful soft!! When Mickey Ned was poleaxed, the ref tapped him on the leg and nobody went near him for a full 35 secs and even when they did there was bugger all excitement - wasn't Mikey Sheehy placing the ball fro the free and wondering what the delay was about.  Can you imagine today.  Firstly there would have been an all out arm waving contest among the players with 20 odd involved and not a punch thrown.  Then we would have had half the state ambulance service in attendance and the fuss afterwards - front page news the next day...

I noticed that alright in the youtube clip. It's as if the players all of them including the Kerry byes were just standing back and saying to themselves 'ah well Mickey is polaxed but shur its all part of the game anyhow'.

I remember a school game I was playing in once and our coner back got polaxed, we were coached by a priest at the time and he ran onto the field and did the "3 finger in front of the eyes trick" with the young lad, asked him how many fingers he was holding up, the young lad said 4, the priest said 'near enough' and we carried on playing.
Post by: Logan on July 05, 2010, 03:57:45 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 05, 2010, 02:13:06 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 05, 2010, 12:11:32 PM

That was self-defence.
Finnerty started it!

Correct!

And then lay down!
Post by: tyssam5 on July 05, 2010, 09:22:59 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 05, 2010, 10:30:56 AM

There was no vindictiveness in his tackles.
The elbow to Kelly's head after he had kicked the point was pure vindictiveness

Agree thought it was just late and high, but seeing the other angle during the review it was beyond late and he picked his spot deliberately. Could have done damage. Like Big Anthony said, if he got booked for the trip (how did he not?) none of the rest would have happened. Not sure why the TSG tried to make up a 'running battle' between him and Kelly, there was no evidence of that. Must have a been scared off by the Kerry media machine's reaction to Galvin.

Shame to be talking about this side of it as well. Only saw the highlights but it looked like a great game. Point the Limerick guy got after flicking it over O'Se head (was that what pissed him off?) was as good as we will see all year.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 05, 2010, 09:49:07 PM
TySam: it was a cracking game but again its always a few indescretions that get picked on in the media, 

as for Kelly and O'Se there is a lot of history going back years in that pair, no angels the pair of them but O' Se should have been pulled up for it yeaterday.

When you play counties so regurely like we do in Munster there is always personal battles to be sorted out, Think Darragh O'Se and Pierce O'Neill, Galvin and O'Leary and more recently Galvin and Cadogan. too much mouthy crap going on in games,  Like they used to say years ago "tis many an open mouth caused a broken nose" but if you get caught you do the time. And Galvin is doing that, there is no probelm with that just want to see the rules applied to others as well. 

Canty getting his red card over-turned and Derek Kavanagh does not even get pulled now that the kind of f**king shite that gets up Kerry people. 

But anyway thats the joys of football it makes the summer interesting.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 06, 2010, 10:12:28 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 05, 2010, 09:49:07 PM
TySam: it was a cracking game but again its always a few indescretions that get picked on in the media, 

as for Kelly and O'Se there is a lot of history going back years in that pair, no angels the pair of them but O' Se should have been pulled up for it yeaterday.

When you play counties so regurely like we do in Munster there is always personal battles to be sorted out, Think Darragh O'Se and Pierce O'Neill, Galvin and O'Leary and more recently Galvin and Cadogan. too much mouthy crap going on in games,  Like they used to say years ago "tis many an open mouth caused a broken nose" but if you get caught you do the time. And Galvin is doing that, there is no probelm with that just want to see the rules applied to others as well. 

Canty getting his red card over-turned and Derek Kavanagh does not even get pulled now that the kind of f**king shite that gets up Kerry people. 

Exactly. There are incidents in almost every game that could/should merit revisiting and the problem is that only ones highlighted on the Sunday Game seem to be. TSG only highlight incidents involving big name players or the ones that most people text in to crib about. A bit of a Joe Duffy ould wan jury.
Post by: Kerry1980 on July 06, 2010, 04:14:02 PM
Nobody would care about Galvin or any other Kerry player's behavior if they weren't so successful. The hatred of Kerry has to be expected as any top side that dominates any sport is on the receiving end and while at first I was confused by what I saw as mindless attacks I have now learned to simply put it down to anger, frustration and just plain jealousy and take no notice of it anymore.
Post by: spuds on July 06, 2010, 06:58:54 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 06, 2010, 10:12:28 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 05, 2010, 09:49:07 PM

Exactly. There are incidents in almost every game that could/should merit revisiting and the problem is that only ones highlighted on the Sunday Game seem to be. TSG only highlight incidents involving big name players or the ones that most people text in to crib about. A bit of a Joe Duffy ould wan jury.

that might be the case normally but tomas o se getting away with last sundays elbows etc was disgraceful
would be different if only a wee dig but there is a point where this behaviour has to be stopped
he deserves to be pulled up on this
Post by: magickingdom on July 06, 2010, 07:20:37 PM
fair play to kelly

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=131682
Post by: ross matt on July 06, 2010, 08:29:30 PM
Yeah very honourable in fairness but it's not up to him. It's up to whether this should be allowed in the game or not and if not whether the Sunday Game is the correct forum for highlighting it.

Personally I'm very disappointed with O'Se. Never seen him do anything like this before. I think he's been the most consistent footballer in the country for a number of years. But for some reason on Sunday he seemed like a lad that couldnt give a shit whether he got the line or not he was so blatant. Despite this he still hit 2 points which showed his class.
Post by: spuds on July 06, 2010, 09:34:40 PM
fair play indeed to kelly
Post by: bloodybreakball on July 06, 2010, 10:59:00 PM
rossmatt, i can mind him giving cathal o rourke a wild hammering when he started out, was in the replay against armagh, right enuff wz 10 years ago and he's played fantastic football since. But all the hysteria from kerry is a disgrace and a joke it is only cute hoorism, think somebody hit on the head when they said that they reckon they'll do nothing on him now because of galvin, the tack;es were way over the top, and he deserves suspension, frig him
Post by: Declan on July 07, 2010, 08:17:19 AM
Good to see Daragh o'Se being as objective as usual when it come to the Kingdom ;)

[/b]Stephen and Tomás had a running battle. To be fair to both of them, they shook hands afterwards and got on with it. Some of Tomás's actions were highlighted by The Sunday Game but Stephen came out yesterday stating the referee was closer than most. Remember, this is championship football. Whatever Stephen got or gave – he seemed to get on with it.

He was crashing into fellas – giving good, quality ball into the forwards, where Ger Collins, in particular, profited. He left everything out on the field when they eventually hauled him ashore before the finish.

There was plenty of heavy hitting as two physical teams went toe to toe. An excellent contest with no quarter asked or given.

It was one of those games when you had no choice but to get stuck in.[/b]
Post by: Hound on July 07, 2010, 08:25:37 AM
Quote from: Declan on July 07, 2010, 08:17:19 AM
Good to see Daragh o'Se being as objective as usual when it come to the Kingdom ;)

This was my favourite bit from Darragh's article today:

A lot of tackles went unpunished. This suited Limerick

Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2010, 08:40:25 AM
Quote from: ross matt on July 06, 2010, 08:29:30 PM
Yeah very honourable in fairness but it's not up to him. It's up to whether this should be allowed in the game or not and if not whether the Sunday Game is the correct forum for highlighting it.

Personally I'm very disappointed with O'Se. Never seen him do anything like this before. I think he's been the most consistent footballer in the country for a number of years. But for some reason on Sunday he seemed like a lad that couldnt give a shit whether he got the line or not he was so blatant. Despite this he still hit 2 points which showed his class.

When the pressure is on you are practically guaranteed he will burst forward and kick a point.
A great man to step up when the team looks like they might be in trouble.
He's probably the best wing-back I've ever seen.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 07, 2010, 08:42:47 AM
David Whyte from Kildare after the Louth game was hit with a 4 week suspension for an off the ball incident, David and Kildare took the suspension no whinging. Kerry need to man up and stop being so precious. And it wasn't Kildare's first suspension this year either we had 3 suspended after an O'Byrne cup game maybe Kildare should play the victimised card and maybe refs might give them an easy ride too....
Post by: orangeman on July 07, 2010, 11:10:04 AM
Tomás Ó Sé suspended

Tomás Ó Sé has been notified by the CCC that he has been charged with a Category 2 Offence (striking with the elbow). The proposed penalty is suspension for one month and the next game. Tomás Ó Sé is not seeking a hearing.
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on July 07, 2010, 11:57:40 AM
Another sad anti-Kerry thread!
Anyone else suspended from last week or is it just Tomas.
I think all eyes (and Sky+ boxes) will be on the action this weekend.
As it stands we are taking this on the chin again but the fact Canty acted the maggott in both game against us and got his card resinded hurts.
Post by: Main Street on July 07, 2010, 12:06:15 PM
"Taking it on the chin" and 'whataboutery' are mutually exclusive.
Post by: blanketattack on July 07, 2010, 12:12:53 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 07, 2010, 08:42:47 AM
David and Kildare took the suspension no whinging.

Tomás has done likewise
Post by: AZOffaly on July 07, 2010, 12:37:14 PM
Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on July 07, 2010, 11:57:40 AM
Another sad anti-Kerry thread!
Anyone else suspended from last week or is it just Tomas.
I think all eyes (and Sky+ boxes) will be on the action this weekend.
As it stands we are taking this on the chin again but the fact Canty acted the maggott in both game against us and got his card resinded hurts.
`

In fairness I think it was Stephen Kelly that took it on the chin.

As for the Cork lads, sure that's all Frank Murphy.
Post by: Ball Hopper on July 07, 2010, 01:03:35 PM
"Tomás Ó Sé has been notified by the CCC that he has been charged with a Category 2 Offence (striking with the elbow). The proposed penalty is suspension for one month and the next game. Tomás Ó Sé is not seeking a hearing. "

Is that a bit vague...he is suspended for a month...July 5 to August 4, presumably.  Then comes "and the next game" which appears to say the game after the month is up.  If Kerry come through the quarter-final (or it goes to a replay), does he miss that game as well?

Or did they mean to say "suspension for Kerry's next game and from July 5 to August 4"...and be clear about it.

If Kerry win the q/f game and get Cork in the semi, will Frank be all over this?

I think we all know what they meant, but if it is written badly, can that be taken literally?

Incidentally, since the beginning of 2000 to now, Tomas has failed to appear in exactly 1 Kerry championship game...he was suspended for the Meath AI semi-final in 2001 after being sent off versus Dublin.  That is 68 appearances out of 69 games till now.  he also has 4 appearances for 98 and 99.

Some going, in fairness.
Post by: cicfada on July 07, 2010, 01:13:22 PM
Why most people would have no sympathy, is the self-created image that Kerry have,  that they are the "purest"  of football teams while Tyrone and other teams  would be "dirty"!! While I agree that Tomas O Se is not usually a cynical footballer he was last Sunday and deserves his punishment. Are Kerry footballers that thick that they can't watch themselves while playing knowing that the miscroscope is on them??  If  the ref had done his job he would have been sent off with 2 yellows with minimal suspension but now he is gone for longer. While that passes some of the blame onto the ref, whoat possessed O Se to play like he did?  I swear to God, I was listening to 2 Kerrymen telling  me that they felt like kicking their tvs when they were listening to canavan and Hayes at  the halftime break last Sunday. When I pressed them they agreed that O Se deserved to be sent off but that they didn't like Hayes and canavan saying it!! Talk about stupid!! Yes other players deserve the CCCC treatment as well but I am sorry most of the attention will logically be on the  bigger teams at present!
Post by: Hardy on July 07, 2010, 01:20:23 PM
I didn't want to contribute to this thread because I think it's shite, but I have to ask what do they mean by "proposed suspension"? Is he getting a month or not?
Post by: Keyser soze on July 07, 2010, 01:41:12 PM
TOS probably deserves a wee suspension for that, he was very naughty, i'm sure he takes the view that you do the crime you do the time.

Why i can't understand is why isn't the referee getting suspended, he must be farkin blind to have missed what i felt were 3 reckless, if not dangerous, tackles, all of which were blatant and right in front of him . Should never get another game imo. C**t probably booked a rake o' boys for jersey pulling!!

Off topic but i hafta agree with those saying what a player TOS is, right up there with the all time great half backs imo.

Post by: AZOffaly on July 07, 2010, 01:56:03 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 07, 2010, 01:20:23 PM
I didn't want to contribute to this thread because I think it's shite, but I have to ask what do they mean by "proposed suspension"? Is he getting a month or not?

The CCCC only 'proposes' suspensions. They have to be ratified, which they always are barring appeal. If Tomás doesn't appeal, he'll get a month and 'at least' one championship game.
Post by: George Foreman on July 07, 2010, 01:57:20 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on July 07, 2010, 01:03:35 PM
"Tomás Ó Sé has been notified by the CCC that he has been charged with a Category 2 Offence (striking with the elbow). The proposed penalty is suspension for one month and the next game. Tomás Ó Sé is not seeking a hearing. "

Is that a bit vague...he is suspended for a month...July 5 to August 4, presumably.  Then comes "and the next game" which appears to say the game after the month is up.  If Kerry come through the quarter-final (or it goes to a replay), does he miss that game as well?

Or did they mean to say "suspension for Kerry's next game and from July 5 to August 4"...and be clear about it.

If Kerry win the q/f game and get Cork in the semi, will Frank be all over this?

I think we all know what they meant, but if it is written badly, can that be taken literally?

Incidentally, since the beginning of 2000 to now, Tomas has failed to appear in exactly 1 Kerry championship game...he was suspended for the Meath AI semi-final in 2001 after being sent off versus Dublin.  That is 68 appearances out of 69 games till now.  he also has 4 appearances for 98 and 99.

Some going, in fairness.

It's just poorly worded, the ruling as always is that he's suspended for a month unless the next championship game falls outside that period, in which case he'll be suspended for it.
Post by: Hardy on July 07, 2010, 02:07:13 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 07, 2010, 01:56:03 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 07, 2010, 01:20:23 PM

The CCCC only 'proposes' suspensions. They have to be ratified, which they always are barring appeal. If Tomás doesn't appeal, he'll get a month and 'at least' one championship game.

OK - thanks AZ.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 07, 2010, 02:28:22 PM
Pedantic time but its 4 weeks as well, not a month. The reason a game is mentioned is that if there was no game in that 4 weeks the suspension would extend to include the next game.

The disciplinary body (CCCC in this case) "proposes" a suspension and if it isn't appealed its deemed to be accepted.

As if not having a great selection of players, top manager and great hunger wasn't enough now Kerry have enough ammo to build up a siege mentality with the singling out of Galvin and O'Se.
Post by: Hardy on July 07, 2010, 02:56:11 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 07, 2010, 02:28:22 PMAs if not having a great selection of players, top manager and great hunger wasn't enough now Kerry have enough ammo to build up a siege mentality with the singling out of Galvin and O'Se.

Exactly, and they sure know how to use it.
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on July 07, 2010, 03:25:39 PM
Most (if not all Kerry) fans have no issue with the two bans.
On viewing it on telly both were out of line.
What has annoyed us is that the media are falling over themselves to have a go at us alone.
Christ how can Tomas be the only guy suspened after last weekend? 
O'Hara, the galway corner back, Tommy Walsh, eddie Brennan, the tipp & wexford guys!!
Not to mention the Cavan guy who pushed the ref - good job he didn't touch his notebook or he would have got a 6 month ban.
Like refeering all this is looked for is consistency which was sadly lacking at the CCCC on their conference call this week.
In the face of this we can only assume that the CCCC have decided to only watch replays involving Kerry players.
We are now missing 6 players from last september, this should be game over this time.
Personnally I feel they will target Gooch and Donaghy for bans if by some miracle we win the next day.
Post by: spuds on July 07, 2010, 03:33:02 PM
Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on July 07, 2010, 03:25:39 PM
Most (if not all Kerry) fans have no issue with the two bans.
On viewing it on telly both were out of line.
What has annoyed us is that the media are falling over themselves to have a go at us alone.
Christ how can Tomas be the only guy suspened after last weekend? 
O'Hara, the galway corner back, Tommy Walsh, eddie Brennan, the tipp & wexford guys!!
Not to mention the Cavan guy who pushed the ref - good job he didn't touch his notebook or he would have got a 6 month ban.
Like refeering all this is looked for is consistency which was sadly lacking at the CCCC on their conference call this week.
In the face of this we can only assume that the CCCC have decided to only watch replays involving Kerry players.
We are now missing 6 players from last september, this should be game over this time.
Personnally I feel they will target Gooch and Donaghy for bans if by some miracle we win the next day.
less of that talk super pooper or well have you banned from here for 4 weeks
Post by: ross matt on July 07, 2010, 03:45:49 PM
Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on July 07, 2010, 03:25:39 PM

At least you're not getting paranoid about the whole thing anyway Superdoopercooper...
Post by: omagh_gael on July 07, 2010, 04:39:38 PM
SuperDooper, now you know how us 'paranoid nordie's' feel in Tyrone ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 07, 2010, 07:50:15 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 07, 2010, 02:28:22 PM
As if not having a great selection of players, top manager and great hunger wasn't enough now Kerry have enough ammo to build up a siege mentality with the singling out of Galvin and O'Se.

Not at all. Sure if it isn't the rest of the country giving them a hard time they're knocking lumps out of each other in training. They'll just go a bit easier on the skelps on the training pitch now  ;)
Post by: Frank Casey on July 07, 2010, 09:49:23 PM
With apologies to Kevin Barry........................

Another martyr for the Kingdom,
Another murder for the Sunday Game,
Whose brutal replays may kill old Ciarrai,
But can't keep their spirit lame.
Lads like Tomas are no cowards,
From the foe they will not fly;
Lads like Tomas will wn the All Ireland,
For its sake they'll live and die.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 07, 2010, 10:07:10 PM
Or...

A great crowd had gathered beyond in Killarney,
their heads all uncovered, they listened for news.
When the word came from Dublin,
Four Weeks - plus the 'quarter'
They banished poor Tomás,
The Ventry rebel.

He poured scorn on his fate like a true son of Kerry
With a shrug of his shoulders, like Galvin before
When auld Tohill proclaimed there'd be trouble for elbows
An Riocht just said we'll be soon back for more.

God's curse on you Cooney, you lackey for Brolly
No decision is taken without RTE's say
But while the Kerry supporters will cry out for justice
They all know that, yerra, there'll be other days

Post by: ardmhachaabu on July 07, 2010, 10:33:50 PM
AZ, WTF?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 07, 2010, 10:37:47 PM
It's my wife's fault :D
Post by: Frank Casey on July 07, 2010, 10:43:38 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 07, 2010, 10:37:47 PM
It's my wife's fault :D

Twas many a good man got turned in the bed.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 07, 2010, 10:49:13 PM
No Tomas and Galvin now for a 1/4 final huge loses but we will get on with it no one will doubt they deserve the suspensions but again if the system was fair I ask what about the likes of

QuoteO'Hara, the galway corner back, Tommy Walsh, eddie Brennan, the tipp & wexford guys!!

and others from every game all summer, Nope not a mention, and the worst sinner Derek Kavanagh before that all off scot free.... there is a smell off the whole system

Darren O'Sullivan will step in for Galvin and Aidan O'Mahony is a useful replacement for Tomas and O'Mahony will have a few doubters to prove wrong, training will be cracking for the next few weeks. Not that we need a cause every year to make an assault on Sam but it helps.

Anyone in the mood to answer a few questions:

Who is in the CCCC ? Is Frank Murphy somehow involved?.

Where/ When do they meet? Is it normally a meeting or a phone conf or video conf like what happened this week, do all the delegates review the same information.

What games do they review? What is the reviewing process, full games or only selected incidents and are these selected incidents those which are highlighted in the media.

Who was the last player exonerated by the CCCC.

Why are hearing results not published on GAA.ie or through official GAA media press releases, RTE.ie got the leak about Tomas off the KerryGAA website today

Can the minutes or recordings of CCCC meetings be published, should be an easy thing to do in this age of technology?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 07, 2010, 10:59:47 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 07, 2010, 10:49:13 PM
No Tomas and Galvin now for a 1/4 final huge loses but we will get on with it no one will doubt they deserve the suspensions but again if the system was fair I ask what about the likes of

QuoteO'Hara, the galway corner back, Tommy Walsh, eddie Brennan, the tipp & wexford guys!!

and others from every game all summer, Nope not a mention, and the worst sinner Derek Kavanagh before that all off scot free.... there is a smell off the whole system

Darren O'Sullivan will step in for Galvin and Aidan O'Mahony is a useful replacement for Tomas and O'Mahony will have a few doubters to prove wrong, training will be cracking for the next few weeks. Not that we need a cause every year to make an assault on Sam but it helps.

Where/ When do they meet? Is it normally a meeting or a phone conf or video conf like what happened this week, do all the delegates review the same information.

What games do they review? What is the reviewing process, full games or only selected incidents and are these selected incidents those which are highlighted in the media.

Why are hearing results not published on GAA.ie or through official GAA media press releases, RTE.ie got the leak about Tomas off the KerryGAA website today

Can the minutes or recordings of CCCC meetings be published, should be an easy thing to do in this age of technology?

Mickey Harte raised all these questions regarding the transparency of the CCC ages ago and was called a moaner. Many on here said it didn't matter that his players were treated differently to others, that they should take their punishment. Personally I think the use of video evidence is a joke and unfair.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 07, 2010, 11:16:12 PM
The Central Competitions Control Committee
(a) It shall consist of a Chairperson and one member
from each of the four Provinces, appointed by the
Management Committee. These members shall have
a responsibility in relation to each function outlined
in this Rule.
Additionally, the Secretary of each of the four
Provincial Councils, shall be members with joint
responsibility with the other members for the
functions outlined in (b) below.
(b) It shall be responsible for Competition Scheduling
and for Arrangements and Control of Games
(excluding appointment of Referees) under the
jurisdiction of the Central Council.
(c) It shall investigate and process matters relating
to the Enforcement of Rules (including hearing
Objections and Counter Objections) and Match
Regulations arising from Competitions and Games
under the jurisdiction of the Central Council.
(d) It shall investigate and process matters relating to
the Enforcement of Rules (excluding Objections
and Counter Objections) and Match Regulations
arising from Provincial Inter-County Senior
Championship Games.
(e) It shall have the authority to direct Committees
within Provinces and Counties to enforce the
penalties prescribed in these Rules relating to
Disciplinary Matters arising from Games.
(f) It shall prepare Match Regulations for the
consideration and decision of the Management
Committee and Central Council.
Post by: ross matt on July 08, 2010, 11:15:15 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 07, 2010, 10:49:13 PM

I take your point re the unbalance of highllighting the instances Mike but the Galway corner back incident bears no comparison to any of the others mentioned.
Post by: Hardy on July 08, 2010, 11:19:28 AM
KM, I've been blathering here for at least three years about how the CCCC seems to be operated remotely by the Sunday Game and about the need for a properly organised and transparent citing system.

So welcome aboard the campaign.
Post by: robbedin82 on July 08, 2010, 02:15:04 PM
haveaharp

What a stupid thread. Are you brain-dead or have you been living on different planet? Only Kerry players are being punished this summer. What about Eamon O Hara's stamp on a Galway player last weekend. What about the incidents in the Wexford/Tipp hurling match. Pull your head out!
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 08, 2010, 09:13:45 PM
QuoteSo welcome aboard the campaign.

When is the first meeting of the Anti-CCCC taking place ?
Post by: ONeill on July 08, 2010, 09:45:45 PM
Kerry are tough enough hoors without giving them two more reasons to burst a gut.

Free the Kerry 2.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 09, 2010, 01:57:16 AM
There is a serious anti-Kerry sentiment in the country which has permeated the media, the Sunday game and the disciplinary bodies..and of course its rife on here and other internet forums. Its a pity that every means possible are being used to stop us.

Post by: stephenite on July 09, 2010, 02:46:29 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 09, 2010, 01:57:16 AM
There is a serious anti-Kerry sentiment in the country which has permeated the media, the Sunday game and the disciplinary bodies..and of course its rife on here and other internet forums. Its a pity that every means possible are being used to stop us.

It could be worse for ya Mikey boy - would you rather be from Mayo?
Post by: ballinaman on July 09, 2010, 03:04:54 AM
Worlds smallest violin being played here for ye...
Post by: magpie seanie on July 09, 2010, 10:38:58 AM

Same could be said about Kilkenny in the hurling.

Just to ease your worried mind - there are quite a few of us that admire ye as well.
Post by: kerrylions on July 09, 2010, 07:27:46 PM
the cccc couldnt see the cavan player push the ref after he was sent off .that offence is a 6 month ban and theres plenty more incidents with nothing been done about it.the gaa should be leading the way and be seen to be fair and not picking up on what paid analaysts are saying on tele.if you want to call one incident you have to call them all or none at all.what happens if an offical is assaulted in a club game and the player says intercounty players are getting away with assault so i can aswell.let the gaa hirearchy deal with the mess then all theyll do is pass the buck as usual
Post by: 5 Sams on July 09, 2010, 07:40:01 PM
I would have a lot of time for Kerry and the O Ses in particular but if the CCCCCCCC :-\ allows video evidence to be used to exonerate players whats the problem with it being used to prosecute them as well. Tomas was stupid...I was surprised at what he did but I think he got off light with a month.

...and before anyone starts yes O'Hara should have got the same treatment as should thon hallion from Wexford in the stick fighting...inconsistency across the board and Kerry being the most high profile team in the country are the victims.
Post by: kerrylions on July 09, 2010, 08:01:24 PM
all a player wants is to be treated fairly no matter what county hes from. thats not the case and players will get fustrated if there seems to be one rule for 1 player and another rule for a different player
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on July 09, 2010, 11:04:13 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 09, 2010, 07:40:01 PM
I would have a lot of time for Kerry and the O Ses in particular but if the CCCCCCCC :-\ allows video evidence to be used to exonerate players whats the problem with it being used to prosecute them as well. Tomas was stupid...I was surprised at what he did but I think he got off light with a month.

...and before anyone starts yes O'Hara should have got the same treatment as should thon hallion from Wexford in the stick fighting...inconsistency across the board and Kerry being the most high profile team in the country are the victims.

Tomas Freeman - "attempted headbutt" (the gayest most feeble attempt i have ever seen) = 2 months
Tomas O Se - "elbow in the face" (whilst in full flight, off the ball and executed with perfection) = 1 month

By your logic Monaghan must have have a few all irelands lying about the place that i never heard tell of..
Post by: kerrylions on July 10, 2010, 09:26:51 AM
like i said theres no consistancy by the top brass of the gaa and never will.i dont know if monaghan ever won an allireland and logic says they wont be winning one in the near future either
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 10, 2010, 12:09:40 PM
Quotei dont know if monaghan ever won an allireland and logic says they wont be winning one in the near future either

Jaysus If I said that about my house there would be holy fecking war or even a jihad, keep telling them this will be their year is the way to an easy life for Kerry Mike when dealing with the Monaghanese , then when September comes around you feck off to Kerry on the beer for a month, live in the dog house in Oct and all will be forgotten come November  ;)

But seriously I think if Monaghan finally get a an Ulster title under their belts it will either drive them bananas on the beer for the rest of the summer or they will become serious contenders for the main course in Sept.
Post by: Main Street on July 10, 2010, 04:00:05 PM
Maybe you should change your name to the 'Kerry Monk' :)

I don't know why that woman sacrifices so much for a man who doesn't put her first.

Post by: screenexile on July 10, 2010, 04:22:29 PM
Dear Lord how can ye still be crying about this?? Meath, Monaghan, Kildare, Derry, Tyrone and many more have had retrospective bans in recent times how can Kerry still be complaining?

There is a simple concise saying that applies in this situation across the board 'Don't do the crime if you can't do the time!'
Post by: muppet on July 10, 2010, 04:41:24 PM
Why is murder blue?
Post by: kerrylions on July 10, 2010, 06:37:49 PM
whats the difference between paul galvin getting 6 months for knocking the refs notebook out of his hand and a cavan player pushing a ref and getting away with it.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 10, 2010, 08:38:36 PM
Quote from: kerrylions on July 10, 2010, 06:37:49 PM
whats the difference between paul galvin getting 6 months for knocking the refs notebook out of his hand and a cavan player pushing a ref and getting away with it.

I suppose that we're still in the championship and cavan aint. ;)

Post by: BallyhaiseMan on July 10, 2010, 08:59:06 PM
Quote from: kerrylions on July 10, 2010, 06:37:49 PM

Kerry are the most talented high profile, relevant and media worthy county in the championship,most of whose games are shown live,and each of their players would be high profile and well known,so its obvious they are scrutinised more than teams like Cavan whom are only shown live once in a while and whom no-one bar our own and only keen,educated fans of the game would know anything about bar one or two players.
There is no difference though in the incident you're right,Corr was dead lucky to get away with putting his hands on the referee,The CCC just probably didnt bother their hole watching the game between Cavan and Wicklow or two no-hopers as they see.
Post by: kerrylions on July 10, 2010, 09:47:03 PM
ya but thats wrong its discrimination and the cccc should be made answer for their actions .the gaa are anti kerry and this proves it and i have plenty more incidents to prove it
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on July 11, 2010, 10:33:26 AM
If Kerry stop elbowing and gouging then they wont be suspended.
But thats not going to happen, they cant help being scum. So they attack the messenger like RTE or TV3.
Sad.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 11, 2010, 11:47:39 AM
QuoteIf Kerry stop elbowing and gouging then they wont be suspended.
But thats not going to happen, they cant help being scum. So they attack the messenger like RTE or TV3.
Sad.

The County that has "The Throat Grabber" Kavanagh and "The Ball Grabber" Counihan in its ranks cannot preach.  Did Cadagon ever get that tooth fixed that Galvin was so worried about.
Post by: JMohan on July 11, 2010, 12:19:38 PM
Sure the Kerry boys are even boxing each other out now ...

Post by: Kerry Mike on July 11, 2010, 12:39:59 PM
Its called skelping in Kerry and yerra we've been known to throw a few skelps in training over the years.
Post by: kerrylions on July 11, 2010, 12:50:43 PM
kerry are not scum.jealous and narrow minded people should keep their narrow minded opinions to themselves.sometimes when stupid people get a small bit of integilence its more stupid they become
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 11, 2010, 04:02:40 PM
phew at least this will be well buried now...
Post by: Main Street on July 11, 2010, 04:05:59 PM
Kerry get away with blue murder again.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 11, 2010, 04:06:52 PM
QuoteKerry get away with blue murder again.

Boom boom
Post by: comethekingdom on July 11, 2010, 11:05:23 PM
With all the hullabaloo (and rightly so) about the Leinster final today - I wonder, if the munster football final were played today - would Tomas O se be staring suspension in the face ??
Post by: Hound on July 14, 2010, 08:59:44 AM
Quote from: comethekingdom on July 11, 2010, 11:05:23 PM
With all the hullabaloo (and rightly so) about the Leinster final today - I wonder, if the munster football final were played today - would Tomas O se be staring suspension in the face ??
Good point. I'm sure there would have been more about this but for the Louth-Meath controversy

QuoteKerry's twin towers Kieran Donaghy and Michael Quirke came to blows in a fiery club championship encounter last night.

The incident occurred 25 minutes into the county semi-final between Kerins O'Rahillys and Austin Stacks at Austin Stack Park in Tralee.

Donaghy appeared to lash out with his fist and Quirke was knocked to the ground. Quirke subsequently retaliated and a general melee involving a number of players from both teams broke out.

When the referee eventually restored order he consulted with his linesman before issuing yellow cards to Donaghy and Quirke ( ;D ). However Mikey Collins of Austin Stacks and John O'Connor of O'Rahillys (taking one for the boys), who is Kerry boss Jack O'Connor's nephew, were not as lucky -- both were sent to the line.

Kerins O'Rahillys ran out eventual winners 0-10 to 0-8, they will now meet the winners of Rathmore and Laune Rangers in the final.