GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Porterbelly on February 14, 2007, 02:09:52 PM

Title: Interested in joining a GAA Club in Dublin?
Post by: Porterbelly on February 14, 2007, 02:09:52 PM
Portobello GAA Club
Interested in joining a GAA Club in Dublin?

The Portobello GAA Club, consisting of Camogie, Mens & Ladies Football teams are always looking for eager and enthusiastic players to join or train along with.

Centrally located in the heart of Rathmines in Dublin 6, Portobello is ideal for any player living in Rathmines or the surrounding area. Players are drawn from every county and the club has an enjoyable social scene.
Training takes place in Leinster Road, Rathmines and is already underway for all three teams:

Mens training Tuesday & Thursday 7.30pm
Ladies training Monday & Wednesday 7.00pm
Camogie Tuesday & Thursday
If you are interested in playing football or camogie with Portobello GAA for 2007 please directly call one of the following:
Camogie - Mick Murphy
Mens Football – Tom Brennan
Women's Football – Pat Keane
We can be contacted on our web site: http://homepage.eircom.net/~portobellogaa/index.htm

We are looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Title: Re: Interested in joining a GAA Club in Dublin?
Post by: Canalman on February 14, 2007, 09:19:30 PM
Not a bad club to join for a lad up from the country. Not a member. Have been told that they like saucing  together.We played them this year in AFL 6 and while they are not the greatest of teams (they still beat us ) they seemed a sound bunch of lads.

You could do worse. They are very like any GAA club in Oz or USA with a constant turnover of players.
Post by: Blacksheep on February 15, 2007, 07:45:06 AM
Start a youth team and ground your own!
Post by: Bogball XV on February 15, 2007, 11:51:43 AM
what divisions do yer football team play in? 
Post by: Porterbelly on February 15, 2007, 12:45:32 PM
There are 13 divisions in Dublin.
First 2 are Senior, second 2 Intermediate and the rest are Junior.
We are Div 7 which is Junior 3.

It's a secure floodlit pitch and we have full access to it at peak training times during the week.

Anyone who wants to come along just for the training is very welcome.

Post by: Porterbelly on March 06, 2007, 01:32:20 PM
Bump  ;)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 06, 2007, 01:41:53 PM
Counter offer

St James gaels is based in crumlin and provides a good atmosphere. Theres a decent mix of country & local lads.
There are minor teams and 2 junior teams
Junior 1, div 5, just relegated last year and with serious aspirations to return to intermediate staus
Junior 5, div 9, a bit of craic and should do well this year with a good chance of winning the sheridan cup

Training Mon & Wed 7.30 iveagh grounds
Post by: magpie seanie on March 06, 2007, 01:54:43 PM
These type of ads annoy the f**k out of me.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 06, 2007, 02:00:49 PM
Why?
Lots of lads move to dublin and know nobody playing ball & aren't good enough to be heading home every weekend, its more for a bit of fitness and the craic.
Esp lads that are finishing college and living in dublin for their first summer
Post by: magpie seanie on March 06, 2007, 02:17:19 PM
GAA clubs touting for other clubs members doesn't sit well with me for some reason.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 06, 2007, 02:31:27 PM
The kind of lads that play in this kind of club are fella who wouldn't play at all if they didn't play here, I know I'm one of them.
I would never have the ability or commitment to travel a 300 mile round trip to train at home at the weekends or play a match but i love playing and get the oppurtunityy to here, its great craic and it lets me keep up the game. These clubs are different to the likes of Na Fianna, Bridgets, Kilmacud, who tout for inter-county players.
The lads we would want are fellas that are sitting at home watching DVDs on a wednesday nite and in bed with a hangover sunday morning.
Post by: baoithe on March 06, 2007, 02:43:25 PM
I'm with Mayo4Sam on this one. Seanie I dont see why 'ads like this' annoy you so much. Undoubtedly, touting for country players by clubs such as Na Fianna is sickening but they usually seek out players that would be operating at a fairly high level. Plus, I've never heard of them advertise on a forum like this. Ads like this are for Junior clubs and as someone who just doesnt have the time to go all the way to Sligo every weekend to play some football, I think that having the opportunity to play in Dublin is great.
Post by: Fionntamhnach on March 06, 2007, 02:47:42 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 06, 2007, 01:54:43 PM
Agreed. I refuse to publish any who sign our club "guestbook" who advertise. Any club that repeatedly posts will see their ISP getting a spam abuse report too.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 06, 2007, 02:52:45 PM

Well if it wasn't for spotting a similar type "ad" on the Hoganstand a couple of years ago I'd be sitting in tomorrow night watching the Champions League or out playing 5 aside soccer. Have aspirations to pick up the small ball as well during the summer so wind ur neck in there a bit.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 06, 2007, 03:00:13 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on March 06, 2007, 02:47:42 PM
Agreed. I refuse to publish any who sign our club "guestbook" who advertise. Any club that repeatedly posts will see their ISP getting a spam abuse report too.

I would never be looking to take players from another club, this type of football is for lads who would otherwise not be playing football and live in a reasonable locality of crumlin, portabello wherever. But the nature of these clubs is that they lose players every year to lads going travelling or moving jobs. I've been involved with james for the last 8 years but have missed 4 summers thru working in belfast, mayo and travelling.
There is not one member of our team who wowuld be prepared to travel home for matches and so instead just wouldn't be playing
Post by: magpie seanie on March 06, 2007, 03:50:16 PM
QuoteWell if it wasn't for spotting a similar type "ad" on the Hoganstand a couple of years ago I'd be sitting in tomorrow night watching the Champions League or out playing 5 aside soccer. Have aspirations to pick up the small ball as well during the summer so wind ur neck in there a bit.

As you may work out from the title of this website (though with you having to read an ad to let you know that there are GAA clubs for you to play with I'm not taking this for granted) that this is a discussion board. i'm entitled to my opinion and will not wind my neck in for you or anyone.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on March 06, 2007, 03:55:06 PM
I see nothing wrong with this kind of advertising.
There are a lot of clubs in Dublin who have no underage set up who need to be constantly recruiting to survive.
There are thousands of young people who are moving to Dublin and other cities who are decent players but wouldn't make any adult teams back home. There is a big bottleneck from minor and U21 to adult grades and realistically only a small handful of underage players will be catered for at adult level. Any one who wants to play gaelic games, even if they aren't elite club players should be catered for. You shouldn't need to be willing to drive 300 miles to prove your credentials.
Post by: Romeo on March 06, 2007, 03:56:16 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 06, 2007, 03:50:16 PM
QuoteWell if it wasn't for spotting a similar type "ad" on the Hoganstand a couple of years ago I'd be sitting in tomorrow night watching the Champions League or out playing 5 aside soccer. Have aspirations to pick up the small ball as well during the summer so wind ur neck in there a bit.

As you may work out from the title of this website (though with you having to read an ad to let you know that there are GAA clubs for you to play with I'm not taking this for granted) that this is a discussion board. i'm entitled to my opinion and will not wind my neck in for you or anyone.

Well Seanie, if you're so good at reading things, surely you would have figured out that the link you clicked on to get into this topic was an ad! So if they sicken you, don't click on them to read them!
Post by: Mid Mon on March 06, 2007, 03:59:40 PM
You cant beat the civil service football team for a bit a craic with lads from all over the country.

Contact john gaffney @ "The Hut" phibsbourgh
Post by: Bord na Mona man on March 06, 2007, 04:09:59 PM

I think lots of people, choosing who to play for is not a straightforward choice.
You might want to suss out the vibe of the club and how welcoming they are to outsiders.
If they are club with a conveyer belt from underage to adult, then there is a good chance they will be more clannish and less welcoming.
Also, some people would rather join a club with a lot of outsiders who they'd have more in common with, rather than a club with a team sheet of Antos and Decos.  ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 06, 2007, 04:13:59 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 06, 2007, 02:31:27 PM
The kind of lads that play in this kind of club are fella who wouldn't play at all if they didn't play here, I know I'm one of them.
I would never have the ability or commitment to travel a 300 mile round trip to train at home at the weekends or play a match but i love playing and get the oppurtunityy to here, its great craic and it lets me keep up the game. These clubs are different to the likes of Na Fianna, Bridgets, Kilmacud, who tout for inter-county players.
The lads we would want are fellas that are sitting at home watching DVDs on a wednesday nite and in bed with a hangover sunday morning.

what a load of b**s
these clubs dont 'tout' for intercounty players.
not in the way you seem to think.
Yes if good players come along and usually they show an interest in joining a club -whether through friends etc- but its not a hunt the way you seem to think it is and that is slightly annoying- the ignorance of some people over this.
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 06, 2007, 04:16:36 PM
Quote from: Mid Mon on March 06, 2007, 03:59:40 PM
You cant beat the civil service football team for a bit a craic with lads from all over the country.

if you can drink 24x7
have no discipline
love a crazed social scene and copper faced jacks
have no real desire to win that much , but love playing football and are willing to put in the bare minimum (train the odd time)
then if you can find them ,you might be able to join
the Civil Service team

seriously, if yer in a relationship - dont join them. Also if you have a weak constitution or bad liver...
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 06, 2007, 04:17:33 PM
I dont think that they advertise in the fcukin evening herald and yes the players have to be lads that are waivering anyway but they still do a good marketing job
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 06, 2007, 04:19:46 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 06, 2007, 04:17:33 PM
I dont think that they advertise in the fcukin evening herald and yes the players have to be lads that are waivering anyway but they still do a good marketing job

b*lls again
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 06, 2007, 04:21:57 PM
Certainly not balls again. Bridgets are a prime example.

Rory gallagher was given a job in the fcukin club training kids & raymie a job in the bank in crumlin
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 06, 2007, 04:30:25 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 06, 2007, 04:21:57 PM
Certainly not balls again. Bridgets are a prime example.

Rory gallagher was given a job in the fcukin club training kids & raymie a job in the bank in crumlin

is that so?
I must go down and ask for a bank job if Brigids are able to do that

I take it you still believe in Santa claus ?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 06, 2007, 04:31:19 PM
Now i know ur not that naive to think that they didn't?
I
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 06, 2007, 04:33:58 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 06, 2007, 04:31:19 PM
Now i know ur not that naive to think that they didn't?
I

I also happen to know what they were working at...and nothing to do with St Brigids...
knew them before they joined the club.

so away off you with the brothers grimm, maybe you could get a job with the media...
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 06, 2007, 04:36:39 PM
I got a lift with raymie as far as dublin where he told me he was in the bank, just after he started, what training he was doing and about travelling back to fermanagh cause he was the captain
Post by: cavan4ever on March 06, 2007, 04:42:04 PM

if you can drink 24x7
have no discipline
love a crazed social scene and copper faced jacks
have no real desire to win that much , but love playing football and are willing to put in the bare minimum (train the odd time)
then if you can find them ,you might be able to join
the Civil Service team

seriously, if yer in a relationship - dont join them. Also if you have a weak constitution or bad liver...

This sounds like a g8t team to join  ;D
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 06, 2007, 04:45:51 PM

No one says ur not entitled to ur opinion but what kind of a day are people having to be posting this rubbish
QuoteThese type of ads annoy the f**k out of me.
U'd be surprised the amount of people living in Dublin who've drifted away from playing the game and a friendly post does no harm. You claim ur worried about rugby and soccer gaining the hearts of our young yet when an "ad" appears encouraging Junior footballers to join up to a friendly club... Anyways, Romeo sums up the rest of my point, no point regurgitating.
Post by: Fionntamhnach on March 06, 2007, 05:07:37 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 06, 2007, 03:00:13 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on March 06, 2007, 02:47:42 PM

I would never be looking to take players from another club, this type of football is for lads who would otherwise not be playing football and live in a reasonable locality of crumlin, portabello wherever. But the nature of these clubs is that they lose players every year to lads going travelling or moving jobs. I've been involved with james for the last 8 years but have missed 4 summers thru working in belfast, mayo and travelling.
There is not one member of our team who wowuld be prepared to travel home for matches and so instead just wouldn't be playing
My beef is more with clubs outside Ireland, particularly America, London and Australia who always seem to plaster message boards (especially Hoganstand.com) and guestbooks of GAA clubs at home with promotional messages promising jobs etc. some of whom are thinly veiled at attracting home players for the summer especially in America. Most lads and lassies who go away from home for work, travel etc. usually follow paths through their friends or family and would have links to overseas clubs already. How the hell did they all survive before the Internet?
Post by: magpie seanie on March 07, 2007, 09:49:47 AM
Like Fionntamhnach I am more annoyed by the "outside the country" ones but as someone involved in a club who tries to field as many adult teams as possible I'm not a fan of clubs trying to poach guys off clubs like mine in this manner.
Post by: full back on March 07, 2007, 09:52:45 AM
Jaysus Seanie, they are not trying to poach them
As already pointed out they are providing a club for young lads that are now living in Dublin & WONT be travelling back to their home club to play when there
Post by: magpie seanie on March 07, 2007, 09:55:18 AM
So lads that are travelling back would be turned away. Sorry, my mistake.
Post by: full back on March 07, 2007, 09:56:14 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 07, 2007, 09:55:18 AM
So lads that are travelling back would be turned away. Sorry, my mistake.

What ??? ???
Post by: INDIANA on March 07, 2007, 09:59:19 AM
the dublin club scene is rotten to the core with outside players being paid.others then dress it up like rory gallagher was the club coach with Brigids (that business degree from sligo IT must have come in handy there). People cry where's the proof- you're not going to find any proof to things that are never written down. Managers as well- i'd say the dublin club scene is the most lucrative now in this regard- even going back a few years where a certain manager got an entire extension onto the back of this house for winning the county championship-god's knows what they're getting now.
All for what- for outside players to play a few games a year because of their county commitments- invariably most of the blow ins are pure shite because most of them don't give a monkeys and also they don't have any time to bed into the team- there are every few success stories of these superstars actually making an impact in the club championship.
Post by: full back on March 07, 2007, 10:08:10 AM
Fair point Indiana-but the reason for this thread wasnt really to attract County stars, more lads who were not going to travel home to play with their clubs while living in Dublin & lads who are only playing for a bit of craic
Post by: ludermor on March 07, 2007, 01:38:17 PM
Rory Gallagher has a full time job and it has nothing to do with Brigids.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 07, 2007, 01:55:35 PM
When he went down first he was training in bridgets
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 07, 2007, 02:15:53 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 07, 2007, 01:55:35 PM
When he went down first he was training in bridgets

what the feck has that got to do with anything.
I know he was offered money to join another club and didnt.

that you were told something by a guy giving you a lift down to dublin proves he was either taking the mick, or over emphasising what the situation was - either way, I'd say you were told in confidence, but obv that didnt matter a damn to you...
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 07, 2007, 02:48:30 PM
I didn't consider the conversation a confidential one, & i doubt raymie did either

My point was that rory got a job training in brodgets when he initially moved to dublin & raymie got a job in the bank, neither are state secrets, common knowledge

Post by: lynchbhoy on March 07, 2007, 03:01:59 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 07, 2007, 02:48:30 PM
I didn't consider the conversation a confidential one, & i doubt raymie did either

My point was that rory got a job training in brodgets when he initially moved to dublin & raymie got a job in the bank, neither are state secrets, common knowledge

...and the 'bank job' can be attributed to St. Brigids intervention how? (as you implied it did)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 07, 2007, 03:28:02 PM
I did more than imply it did.
There are footballers up and downt he country who have got bank jobs from their involvement in gaa teams, organised by clubs, it makes good sense for the banks

Ur comment
QuoteI also happen to know what they were working at...and nothing to do with St Brigids...

is at the very best only half true, rory's job was witht he club & i believe that raymies came from the club, you dont believe that, your choice

And i dont appreciate being called ignorant or you questioning my integrity just because you disagree with my POV
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 07, 2007, 03:52:52 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 07, 2007, 03:28:02 PM
I did more than imply it did.
There are footballers up and downt he country who have got bank jobs from their involvement in gaa teams, organised by clubs, it makes good sense for the banks

Ur comment
QuoteI also happen to know what they were working at...and nothing to do with St Brigids...

is at the very best only half true, rory's job was witht he club & i believe that raymies came from the club, you dont believe that, your choice

And i dont appreciate being called ignorant or you questioning my integrity just because you disagree with my POV

yep - its your pov not fact..that you imply or (worse) insist that it is truth then you are what you are...
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 07, 2007, 04:02:13 PM
My ideas are based on what Raymie told me, a fairly sound basis.
But as you say i am what i am
Post by: cavan4ever on March 07, 2007, 04:03:26 PM
Can use guys agree to disagree cos neither of use are gonna give in!!
Post by: Romeo on March 07, 2007, 04:20:30 PM
Jaysus, Portobello will be strong when they get all these Inter-county imports in................ ::) ::) ::)
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 07, 2007, 04:50:08 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 07, 2007, 04:02:13 PM

thats right
St. Brigids own a bank and can give people jobs just like that, even though they might have no qualifications etc.
Thats why the club were in a bit of trouble finding funds to pay for the new all weather pitch last year.

I'm off down the club tonight to get an interest free loan for a gaff in Monte carlo
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on March 07, 2007, 04:58:16 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 07, 2007, 04:50:08 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 07, 2007, 04:02:13 PM

thats right
St. Brigids own a bank and can give people jobs just like that, even though they might have no qualifications etc.
Thats why the club were in a bit of trouble finding funds to pay for the new all weather pitch last year.

I'm off down the club tonight to get an interest free loan for a gaff in Monte carlo

Here Lynchbhoy any chance of a 40K a year job in AIB, an apartment overlooking the quays in the ICFS and a company car if i ply my trade with Brigids next year?  :D
Post by: INDIANA on March 07, 2007, 08:08:01 PM
for all our armagh fans- strong rumours that paddy mc keever could be  joining a top dublin club soon (northside) - see what i mean!!!!
Post by: Davitt Man on July 03, 2007, 12:15:43 PM
Lads

Does anyone have any information about the Castleknock GAA 7 a side bltiz that is taking place this week in islandbridge?
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 03, 2007, 12:44:40 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 06, 2007, 02:17:19 PM
GAA clubs touting for other clubs members doesn't sit well with me for some reason.

Thats how new clubs in Dublin get players, I really think its great to see the GAA colonise the Rugby & Soccer areas. I am a member of one such club in Dublin.