GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: wherefromreferee? on June 28, 2010, 02:51:08 PM

Title: Westmeath v Derry. Round Two Qualifier. July 10th/11th
Post by: wherefromreferee? on June 28, 2010, 02:51:08 PM
Disarray in the Derry camp (apparently) and Westmeath beaten by the wee county at the weekend.  Home advantage might swing it in WM's favour.
Title: Re: Westmeath v Derry. Round Two Qualifier. July 10th/11th
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 28, 2010, 05:29:11 PM
...and john macs pub (I think its called) beside the Dunnes stores shopping centre and beside the football grounds is a great wee pub for a pint adn a bit of food !
Looking forward to this !
Derry aren't Derry without disarray !
:)
Post by: Midlands Man on June 28, 2010, 06:01:27 PM
Reckon Derry could badly do with Bradley for this one , wont be easy..
Post by: shark on June 28, 2010, 09:30:31 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 28, 2010, 05:29:11 PM
...and john macs pub (I think its called) beside the Dunnes stores shopping centre and beside the football grounds is a great wee pub for a pint adn a bit of food !

A victim of the recession I'm afraid. Shut a few months ago.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 29, 2010, 09:53:53 AM
Quote from: shark on June 28, 2010, 09:30:31 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 28, 2010, 05:29:11 PM

A victim of the recession I'm afraid. Shut a few months ago.
feck, was only in it there about 4 months ago - a fantastic spot !

ok, its Danny whatshisnames  (dunnes?) instead on the main st
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 29, 2010, 10:06:47 AM
Danny Byrnes is where your thinking about, its a kip go past it and walk further up the main street to the west, get to the market square 100 yards from Dannys and there you will find the best pub in Mullingar, Canton Caseys.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 29, 2010, 10:36:29 AM
ffs, first few entries on a new thread, all about drinkin/pubs, is it any wonder our star player fell off the wagon with eejits like yous about

Post by: lynchbhoy on June 29, 2010, 12:48:42 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 29, 2010, 10:36:29 AM
ffs, first few entries on a new thread, all about drinkin/pubs, is it any wonder our star player fell off the wagon with eejits like yous about
our supporters who might want to have a drink or two before/after the game are in a perfect position to do so, they are not playing.
what this has to do with the players I am not quite sure...

I will be driving so wont be drinking - will prob also have my oul lad and two nephews there with me.
So quityourjibberjabber - go and quit your jibber jabber !!

GerryK - Caseys decent pub, but more talent was in Danny Byrnes - def better now since its gone all dark an 'gothic' as opposed to the discobar it was 15 years ago !
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 29, 2010, 12:59:31 PM
lynchboy, please take heed of smiley faces before you go off on one of your elongated replies........ ;D
Post by: thebuzz on June 29, 2010, 01:20:21 PM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on June 28, 2010, 02:51:08 PM
Disarray in the Derry camp (apparently) and Westmeath beaten by the wee county at the weekend.  Home advantage might swing it in WM's favour.

Despite getting beat by Louth, Westmeath look a lot better this year than they did last year. Wish the same could be said for Derry. We would need to improve a lot for another way game.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 29, 2010, 01:32:18 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 29, 2010, 12:48:42 PM
our supporters who might want to have a drink or two before/after the game are in a perfect position to do so, they are not playing.

I will be driving so wont be drinking - will prob also have my oul lad and two nephews there with me.

GerryK - Caseys decent pub, but more talent was in Danny Byrnes - def better now since its gone all dark an 'gothic' as opposed to the discobar it was 15 years ago !

he started off talking about drink, now he's talking about fanny - you can take the boy out of derry, but.................

BTW, there is a match on !
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 29, 2010, 02:01:45 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on June 29, 2010, 10:06:47 AM
Danny Byrnes is where your thinking about, its a kip go past it and walk further up the main street to the west, get to the market square 100 yards from Dannys and there you will find the best pub in Mullingar, Canton Caseys.

And you'll also get the opportunity to get your picture taken with Joe...
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 29, 2010, 03:27:39 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 29, 2010, 12:59:31 PM
lynchboy, please take heed of smiley faces before you go off on one of your elongated replies........ ;D
jeezuz that wasnt long....have you not seen one of my wee rants !!
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 29, 2010, 03:32:01 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on June 29, 2010, 01:32:18 PM

he started off talking about drink, now he's talking about fanny - you can take the boy out of derry, but.................

BTW, there is a match on !
can you imagine what I was like BEFORE I got married !!

when I used to go boozing I'd be looking for a good pub that had plenty of talent to look at - you might as well try to get all your wants sorted out in the same place. While handy like for near closing time too !

as for there being a game on, I know , I have been to a few Derry games this weekend, If I was a sigle man travelling down from the mountainy homeland , I'd want to have some other sorts of attractions (booze and chicks) to placate me if we continue playing the same was as the first 6 months of the season !
Post by: turk on June 29, 2010, 05:15:22 PM

Dark and gothic indeed! Bring a miner's helmet or guide dog to get around in it!
Post by: Main Street on June 29, 2010, 06:36:01 PM
I can imagine the darkness but what makes it gothic?
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 30, 2010, 09:10:59 AM
Quote from: Main Street on June 29, 2010, 06:36:01 PM
prob the 'mission/cure ' looking fans that were dotted drinking about the place, plus big velvety curtains blocking passageways, almost like rooms from some scenes from 'interview with a vampire' or 'twin peaks'.
Was driving that night (2 years ago) and couldnt believe the state of the place- interesting if not nice.
Plus the talent in there was fecking serious !!
Post by: Bogball XV on June 30, 2010, 09:45:29 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 30, 2010, 09:10:59 AM
prob the 'mission/cure ' looking fans that were dotted drinking about the place, plus big velvety curtains blocking passageways, almost like rooms from some scenes from 'interview with a vampire' or 'twin peaks'.
Was driving that night (2 years ago) and couldnt believe the state of the place- interesting if not nice.
Jaysus LB, wouldn't have thought you'd be into all that goth chick look, black make-up and the like.  Sometimes I doubt whether you're from Park/Feeney at all, that sounds more like a town man to me, must be Dungiven so ;)
Post by: Main Street on June 30, 2010, 10:26:20 AM
Whatever about Lynchbhoy's sense of appreciation (or desperation), he does possess an admirable natural night vision.
Post by: orangeman on June 30, 2010, 11:17:04 AM
Any word on Derek Heain's injury ?
Post by: whiskeysteve on June 30, 2010, 11:19:28 AM
Yeah, he's still missing a v
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 30, 2010, 12:21:53 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 30, 2010, 09:45:29 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 30, 2010, 09:10:59 AM
Jaysus LB, wouldn't have thought you'd be into all that goth chick look, black make-up and the like.  Sometimes I doubt whether you're from Park/Feeney at all, that sounds more like a town man to me, must be Dungiven so ;)
venue was in a gothic style, the ladies were not !

MS - my night vision is pretty darn good alright !
Unfortunately my beer goggle vision is (was) worse than most !
:o

anyhow thats the venue sorted out for the visiting Derry fans if we need to take our minds off the standard of football served up by our lads of late - but the game should be interesting.
Westmeath not great, but a consistent enough team. Derry's selection policy looks like DC picks names out of a had in order from numbers 2-15 with only the keeper getting the same jersey each day out !
It wouldnt be Derry if we werent making it hard for ourselves!
At least Muldoon is back !
Post by: J OGorman on June 30, 2010, 01:06:30 PM
Heading down for this one..anyone recommend somewhere for a nice bite in Mullingar?

cheers
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 30, 2010, 03:31:42 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on June 30, 2010, 01:06:30 PM
Heading down for this one..anyone recommend somewhere for a nice bite in Mullingar?

cheers
that john mac's place was one of the better ones - but apparantly now closed !
dont know where else would be decent in Mullingar !
Post by: shark on June 30, 2010, 04:48:34 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 30, 2010, 11:17:04 AM
Any word on Derek Heain's injury ?

Dislocated kneecap.  Not the worst of injuries, although he won't make the Derry game obviously.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 01, 2010, 02:55:45 PM
apart from where is good to get food (decent- not the roma cafe after a feed of drink in the 'greville' either)
I would also like to know can you pay at the gate for the westmeath v Derry game?
what price is it for kids (u 10's) if anyone knows ! TIA
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 01, 2010, 03:19:29 PM
I'd safely say it'll be pay at the gate LB, kids are prob a fiver, if I hear anything further I'll post it here. Food, rarely get to eat out in Mullingar, Danny's does a decent carvery last I checked that ye can throw into ye before the game. Not sure what my plans are yet but if I can make it I'll pop into Danny's & stand u a pint. I'll just follow the wolf whistles to source...  :P
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 01, 2010, 03:52:48 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 01, 2010, 03:19:29 PM
I'd safely say it'll be pay at the gate LB, kids are prob a fiver, if I hear anything further I'll post it here. Food, rarely get to eat out in Mullingar, Danny's does a decent carvery last I checked that ye can throw into ye before the game. Not sure what my plans are yet but if I can make it I'll pop into Danny's & stand u a pint. I'll just follow the wolf whistles to source...  :P
aye, I'll be bringing in the u 10 nephews to start them off on their 'objectification of women' training ! see you in Dannys ! :D
Post by: offtheground on July 02, 2010, 11:42:09 AM

cheers

Its been a while since i was down that direction, but I've eaten in the The Druids Chair in Mullingar which was pretty good. It's dead handy for getting to the pitch too...

http://www.yelp.ie/map/druids-chair-mullingar-2 (http://www.yelp.ie/map/druids-chair-mullingar-2) - just click on satellite and you'll see the pitch above it..
Post by: gerrykeegan on July 02, 2010, 12:04:59 PM

cheers

You will need to book it but it is Mullingars busiest restaurant.

Oscars Restaurant
Category: Restaurant

Oscars Restaurant
21 Oliver Plunkett Street Mullingar Co Westmeath
Tel:+353 (0)44 934 4909
Please mention ireland-guide.com when enquiring.
Oscars Restaurant

This smartly painted centrally located restaurant enjoys enduring popularity locally, pleasing people of all ages with its lively atmosphere and mix of traditional and contemporary favourites in Mullingar at reasonable prices.

This is beef country, so a section of the menu given over to steaks should come as no surprise, but there's much else besides, ranging from '80s' classics like deep-fried mushrooms with garlic & cucumber dip, through spicy chicken wings to simple smoked salmon.

Main courses include steaks various ways, honey glazed lamb shanks, chicken Oscars style and crispy Silver Hill duckling. Pastas and pizzas too - this is popular food, well executed at fair prices - and with cheerfully efficient service to match.

Oscars offers an affordable outing with something for everyone, and wines (from an accessible and informative list, with details on grape varieties as well as a well-balanced selection) starting at under €20.

Oscars Restaurant : Seats 70; air conditioning. D daily, 6-9.30 (to 10 Fri/Sat, to 8.15 Sun), L Sun only, 12.30-2.15. A la carte D. Set Sun L €29. House wine €18.50. Closed 25/26 Dec, first 2 weeks Jan. MasterCard, Visa, Laser.

Directions:
Centre of town opposite town mall.
Post by: Overthebar! on July 05, 2010, 01:32:43 PM
anyone heading down for the match?should be a close one. crowd of us heading down. looking for a hostel tho tempted to just stay in dublin. these weekends away aren't cheap!
Post by: wherefromreferee? on July 07, 2010, 04:42:20 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/8797831.stm

Massive loss for Derry.  Fergal not fit.
Post by: cavanmaniac on July 08, 2010, 04:28:34 PM
Oscars is savage for the bit of grub. Now.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 09, 2010, 12:51:27 PM
Keane starts for Westmeath

John Keane has been handed his first start of the season by Pat Flanagan for tomorrow's crunch All-Ireland SFC qualifier against Derry.

Keane, who only returned to the panel this summer after sitting out the league, is one of three changes to the team which lost out to Louth in the Leinster SFC semi-final last month and starts at centre-back.

The other two see John Gaffney starting in the place of Donal O'Donoghue at full-back and Kieran Martin taking Derek Heavin's role at right half-forward as the latter has been ruled out for the remainder of the season after picking up a serious knee injury in the Lake men's last outing.

Westmeath (All-Ireland SFC v Derry): G Connaughton; F Boyle, J Gaffney, K Maguire; M Ennis, J Keane, D Harte; D Duffy, P Bannon; K Martin, C Lynam, G Egan; P Greville, D Dolan, D Glennon.

Can't for the life of me figure out how Bannon is still starting midfield. I'd give O'Donoghue a run out there, can't be any worse than what's there at present and he did well there in 08. Also can't see how JK is fit to start center back now and couldn't play full back 2 weeks ago, Flanagan is all over the shop here. If it was me I'd move JK back to full back to mark Eoin Bradley, put Gaffney into the corner, move Boyle up to wing back, move Harte up to wing forward where he's much more effective & let Martin stay in the position where he's being playing all year.

Pity Flan isn't fit to start, hopefully we don't need him to pull us out of the fire again. Don't want to see Flanagan take off the young guns if the likes of Glennon are going through the motions like they were the last day. We haven't won a home game in the championship since 07, time to put that right tomorrow evening.

p.s. word of comfort to Heavin who is still laid up in hospital I believe, terrific servant to Westmeath down through the years, get well soon Derek!!!
Post by: AN other on July 12, 2010, 01:02:08 AM
Don't think Pat Flanagan has the head for inter-county management. Some bad decisions.

At the end of the day though, we just don't have a midfield at the moment. Defence and forwards are decent while obviously not the best in the country. We're not a hundred miles off though, find a midfielder somewhere, possibly Heslin, and if some of the younger players step up to replace some of the older guys we could compete for leinster again soon enough. We weren't exactly bet out the gate against Louth.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 12, 2010, 04:24:43 PM
Disappointing end to a season to forget. What was Flanagan doing starting JK center back when he couldn't even run?  ::) As for playing Glennon in midfield, Jaysus give me a break. He might be able to do a job there for Tyrrellspass but inter country is a completely different kettle of fish. No work rate & all he wanted to do when he got the ball was solo it when quick ball was needed inside. Jaysus, Dessie was on fire earlier & we never got any ball to him. Ref was brutal, you'd know that himself and Marty fell off the same tree.

Where to now is key for Westmeath. I hope the Co. Board don't make a bollox of it this time. I don't think Flanagan can be considered for next year (if he's interested) as he was found wanting this year as well as being involved with last years farce. I'd put the same person in charge of the minors & U21s (not Heavin) to concentrate on youth development & let the senior manager concentrate on that job. I think there's still a year or two left in the U21's of 99/00, they're not finished yet...
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 12, 2010, 04:28:50 PM
they are def playing below what they are capable of Croi - and if they had not been so wasteful against louth - there was another leinster final for the taking yesterday !!
Enjoyable game, some great skill apart from being very wet , played in a hard championship fashion but no malice or dirt ! Hard luck
Were you in the main stand ?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 12, 2010, 05:24:48 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 12, 2010, 04:28:50 PM
they are def playing below what they are capable of Croi - and if they had not been so wasteful against louth - there was another leinster final for the taking yesterday !!
Enjoyable game, some great skill apart from being very wet , played in a hard championship fashion but no malice or dirt ! Hard luck
Were you in the main stand ?

The problem with the Louth game was the fact that Eastmeath winning the preceeding semi final threw us completely off kilter. For some reason the lads didn't want to get through to a Leinster Final against the aul enemy. Even Flanagan commented post match about how nervous we were with the ball. Apart from the Wickla game we haven't played with belief or conviction, it seems we're stepping back to the bad old days where teams beat us on tradition rather than by being better than us. We're actually well served in most areas now apart from midfield & that could have been sorted by taking a leaf out of Tyrone's book, very disappointing in that regard.

Was in the main stand alright, had to forfeit Danny's to ensure we got cover, I'll put that pint back on ice. I got fecking drowned in similar conditions this time last year so was well warned. Did yous have a good night after? Paddy Bradley had a great fecking night in the Greville apparently...
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 13, 2010, 08:40:03 AM
denis glennon at mf was a bit of a surprise imo
only way flanagan should have tried that was using him as a third mf.
despite what some people say regarding westmeaths lack of talent, i think the opposite - even yer much maligned big midfielder is worth his place if you get a flanagan back fit beside him.
Was Smith from the downs unfit? Expected to see him on. No kinnegad men on the panel ?
I have heard that 'they are sihte' right now - to quote the brother !

Was in main stand on 45 yard halfway up - standing above us was ex westmeath panelist Eddie Gallagher of Shandonagh - if you know him....an old college buddy of mine! is Tom Ormsby still alive?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 13, 2010, 12:43:56 PM
Glennon at midfield was stupid, wouldn't even have him near the place as a third midfielder. Duffy isn't that bad but he has zero confidence in himself, I've never seen him kick a point like that before & he's been around for years. Trouble is we have no one to partner him with, Shaugho would be the only credible partner but he's crippled with injury these days unfortunately. Think I saw Smith in the programme (was down the other end so didn't see the bench), wouldn't have an issue with not bringing him on as I don't think he'd offer much as regards changing the game, it was goals we needed at that stage. Kinnegad are pretty poor alright, they've a good corner back who isn't interested in the county and that's about it at the moment, looking good underage though, great facilities out there now.
Post by: shark on July 13, 2010, 05:27:46 PM
Yeah Lynchbhoy, Tom is still alive.  He is only about 45 in fairness.  Gave up soon after winning his 8th Westmeath senior championship medal in 2000.
Midfield is without a doubt Westmeaths major concern, but the 2 u-21 midfielders from this year both look like fantastic prospects.  In fact the 3rd choice midfielder on that panel could turn out to be the best of them all.
Winning a Leinster u-21 next year should be a main priority.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 14, 2010, 10:39:06 AM
Quote from: shark on July 13, 2010, 05:27:46 PM
Yeah Lynchbhoy, Tom is still alive.  He is only about 45 in fairness.  Gave up soon after winning his 8th Westmeath senior championship medal in 2000.
Midfield is without a doubt Westmeaths major concern, but the 2 u-21 midfielders from this year both look like fantastic prospects.  In fact the 3rd choice midfielder on that panel could turn out to be the best of them all.

Not that sold on Carroon shark, he was firmly in Heslins shadow all year I thought, hopefully he can come on though in the next few years. Is Dean McNicholas the 3rd choice midfielder you're referring to? Don't recall him on the panel mind but he was outstanding for the minors, kept us in the game single handily against Longford...
Post by: shark on July 14, 2010, 05:52:24 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 14, 2010, 10:39:06 AM

Not that sold on Carroon shark, he was firmly in Heslins shadow all year I thought, hopefully he can come on though in the next few years. Is Dean McNicholas the 3rd choice midfielder you're referring to? Don't recall him on the panel mind but he was outstanding for the minors, kept us in the game single handily against Longford...

I believe Corroon will do just that.  No point in comparing him to Heslin really, and don't forget it was his catches up against Donie Kingston that turned the game around against Laois.
McNicholas wasn't on the u-21 panel, he was u-16 last year.  Looks a very good player  He is playing corner forward for Tyrrellspass and I think his long term future is in the forward line.
Daragh Daly was the other midfielder on the u-21 panel.  Still underage next year.  Is about 6ft 5 and is very comfortable on the ball.  His performance for Shamrocks against Tyrrellspass in the last round of the club championship was breathtaking.  Like Corroon he was unavailable to Flanagan this year as he is in the US.  The one to watch in my opinion.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 15, 2010, 10:35:37 AM
Quote from: shark on July 14, 2010, 05:52:24 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 14, 2010, 10:39:06 AM

I believe Corroon will do just that.  No point in comparing him to Heslin really, and don't forget it was his catches up against Donie Kingston that turned the game around against Laois.
McNicholas wasn't on the u-21 panel, he was u-16 last year.  Looks a very good player  He is playing corner forward for Tyrrellspass and I think his long term future is in the forward line.
Daragh Daly was the other midfielder on the u-21 panel.  Still underage next year.  Is about 6ft 5 and is very comfortable on the ball.  His performance for Shamrocks against Tyrrellspass in the last round of the club championship was breathtaking.  Like Corroon he was unavailable to Flanagan this year as he is in the US.  The one to watch in my opinion.

Thanks shark, heard Daly is good alright, good to hear he's underage next year, definitely a Leinster there with the right management. McNicholas played corner forward against Carlow & was a good target man but he was sensational in the middle the next day, it'll be interesting to see him develop...