Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Sandino on June 24, 2010, 02:21:54 PM

Title: Firestarters
Post by: Sandino on June 24, 2010, 02:21:54 PM
What the feck is it that makes people start fires in our countryside?
Title: Re: Firestarters
Post by: ziggysego on June 24, 2010, 02:30:39 PM
Twisted
Post by: Catch the high ball on June 24, 2010, 02:43:53 PM
There has to be a screw loose up there.
Post by: 118cmal on June 24, 2010, 02:54:04 PM
Some people (myself included) have an infatuation with fire.  If I see a box of matches I have to light one of them.  Even if its in a car or whatever I'd have a serious urge to see it lit.  I have no doubt that a lot of these people who start fires in the countryside are  mindless vandals, but others have an illness which makes them need to burn things.  These people should be medically treated, it's a physcological disease. 
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 24, 2010, 02:59:59 PM
I'm the self inflicted, mind detonator - yeah. I'm the one infected, twisted animator.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 24, 2010, 03:08:56 PM
Quote from: 118cmal on June 24, 2010, 02:54:04 PM
Some people (myself included) have an infatuation with fire.  If I see a box of matches I have to light one of them.  Even if its in a car or whatever I'd have a serious urge to see it lit.  I have no doubt that a lot of these people who start fires in the countryside are  mindless vandals, but others have an illness which makes them need to burn things.  These people should be medically treated, it's a physcological disease.

I knew someone once who had such a disease and ended up burning down their house and killing themself. Very sad.
Post by: 118cmal on June 24, 2010, 03:52:48 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on June 24, 2010, 03:08:56 PM
Quote from: 118cmal on June 24, 2010, 02:54:04 PM

I knew someone once who had such a disease and ended up burning down their house and killing themself. Very sad.

It's a real problem.  Sadly, it seems a bit of a taboo  :-\
Post by: gerry on May 01, 2011, 10:43:59 PM
Mountain beside me (pigeon top) on fire for two days now, having to keep the windows close with the smoke. You would swear it was snowing with the ash in the air at times.  My cousins are helping a neighbour take furniture out of their home as they reckon that a fire in the gortin glens may take their home. With 90% of fire started on purpose it would make you think what goes on in these peoples head.
Post by: gerry on May 01, 2011, 10:52:24 PM
That's what happens when you post from your phone.
Post by: Sandino on May 01, 2011, 10:59:40 PM
The fire in Gortin Glens seems massive. Today is the second time I have been rerouted due to a fire in the glens. Will it take the loss of a life to stop this stuff.
Post by: Orior on May 01, 2011, 11:02:30 PM
Some of them are only wee feckers, primary school age. Those are the ones whose parents (or guardians) should be held to account.

Some think its a victim-less crime. They should be made to pay for the fire brigade.

Some are just sick, and need a bit of a kicking.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 01, 2011, 11:08:22 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 01, 2011, 11:02:30 PM
Some of them are only wee feckers, primary school age. Those are the ones whose parents (or guardians) should be held to account.

Some think its a victim-less crime. They should be made to pay for the fire brigade.

Some are just sick, and need a bit of a kicking.
Was a popular pastime in the Glens years ago. Generally around Halloween though.
Post by: gerry on May 01, 2011, 11:13:20 PM
My cousins who live opposite the history park at the gortin glens have now being evacuated from their homes tonight due to the dense smoke.
Post by: Sandino on May 01, 2011, 11:21:37 PM
Imagine if there was a house fire or a car crash tonight implications could be dreadful
Post by: Sandino on May 01, 2011, 11:53:35 PM
Fire brigade attending a fire at sacred heart college in omagh tonight.
Post by: Sandino on May 02, 2011, 11:03:50 AM
I was out in the Gortin Glens this morning
Its a scene of utter devestation. Wildlife ruined and a natural resource ruined. A fire is burning at the moment and the smoke is bad even in NTS.
Post by: The Gs Man on May 02, 2011, 01:36:46 PM
I was up the Mournes yesterday.  Smoke was very thick.  Flames were 40ft high in places.  Could have got dangerousfor a lot of people if the wind had've changed.
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 02, 2011, 07:34:43 PM
Ballina to sligo road closed due to fires on mountains between dromore west and culleens
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 02, 2011, 11:11:27 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on May 02, 2011, 07:34:43 PM
Ballina to sligo road closed due to fires on mountains between dromore west and culleens

The situation is getting very serious now with fires breaking out in so many places. They are copy cat affairs and I just hope for a good spill of rain to break the cycle.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 03, 2011, 09:55:53 AM
Lads, excuse my ignorance here, but are you saying these fires are started deliberately?

I know some are started through stupidity, with people burning gorse on mountains, and then it getting out of hand.

I'm used to bog fires, which were a nightmare, back when I was growing up, and my auld lad would disappear for a whole night as they tried to put them out (he was in Bord na Mona), but I always thought they were started by stupidity, carelessness and hot, dry weather.

Lar's 'copycat' comment seems crazy to me. (crazy in the sense that I can't believe people would do that on purpose)
Post by: oakleafgael on May 03, 2011, 10:09:39 AM
Some are started accidentally by discarded butts etc but the vast majority are started deliberately. Either by farmers, those looking to remove the gorse to dig turf or by arsonists/pyromaniacs. A 10 & 15 yearold are being questioned about one of the fires in County Tyrone.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 03, 2011, 10:18:03 AM
Quote from: oakleafgael on May 03, 2011, 10:09:39 AM
Some are started accidentally by discarded butts etc but the vast majority are started deliberately. Either by farmers, those looking to remove the gorse to dig turf or by arsonists/pyromaniacs. A 10 & 15 yearold are being questioned about one of the fires in County Tyrone.

Sorry, I should have clarified my 'deliberately'. I actually meant 'maliciously'. I know all about the farmers burning gorse, and then it getting out of control, but that is usually an accidental, albeit careless, occurence. What I can't believe is eejits starting fires maliciously in the wild, either in forests, bogs or mountains. I hope they get jail.
Post by: gallsman on May 03, 2011, 10:22:35 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 03, 2011, 10:18:03 AM

Sorry, I should have clarified my 'deliberately'. I actually meant 'maliciously'. I know all about the farmers burning gorse, and then it getting out of control, but that is usually an accidental, albeit careless, occurence. What I can't believe is eejits starting fires maliciously in the wild, either in forests, bogs or mountains. I hope they get jail.

As terrible as it is, it's often kids "messing about". Are you advocating a potential custodial sentence for a 10 year old?!
Post by: AZOffaly on May 03, 2011, 10:23:31 AM
Quote from: gallsman on May 03, 2011, 10:22:35 AM

As terrible as it is, it's often kids "messing about". Are you advocating a potential custodial sentence for a 10 year old?!

I wouldn't classify a 10 year old messing about as 'malicious', would you?
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on May 03, 2011, 10:35:03 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 03, 2011, 10:23:31 AM

Another reason for the fires is that under the soon to be replaced REPS payment to farmers, commonage land which is in the main, mountains, boggy land etc. is now restricted as regards grazing land. However if bushes or trees beging to grow on this under grazed land, all farmenrs with a share in this land, lose a precentage of their payment for each and every tree/ bush. In fact a farmer i know was advised by a department of Agriculture inspector to throw a match on gorse land last year, when the issue of trees and bushes came up during an inspection.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 03, 2011, 11:06:06 AM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on May 03, 2011, 10:35:03 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 03, 2011, 10:23:31 AM

Another reason for the fires is that under the soon to be replaced REPS payment to farmers, commonage land which is in the main, mountains, boggy land etc. is now restricted as regards grazing land. However if bushes or trees beging to grow on this under grazed land, all farmenrs with a share in this land, lose a precentage of their payment for each and every tree/ bush. In fact a farmer i know was advised by a department of Agriculture inspector to throw a match on gorse land last year, when the issue of trees and bushes came up during an inspection.

+ 1 this appears to be the cause of most bog, mountain and gorse fires in Mayo. Now the forrest fires may be malicious or spread from neighbouring gorse/bogs.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 03, 2011, 01:31:10 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 03, 2011, 09:55:53 AM
Lads, excuse my ignorance here, but are you saying these fires are started deliberately?

I know some are started through stupidity, with people burning gorse on mountains, and then it getting out of hand.

I'm used to bog fires, which were a nightmare, back when I was growing up, and my auld lad would disappear for a whole night as they tried to put them out (he was in Bord na Mona), but I always thought they were started by stupidity, carelessness and hot, dry weather.

Lar's 'copycat' comment seems crazy to me. (crazy in the sense that I can't believe people would do that on purpose)

Okay, Az, tell me what's crazy about it?
A large number of fires have been breaking out in various parts of the country of late. Those areas can be many miles apart. They seem to have started one by one and all can't be explained away by careless people throwing away cigarette butts or by farmers all over the island, north and south, deciding to burn off gorse etc. on their lands.
Especially, when there has been little or no interval between those fires.

None of us like to think that people can be irresponsible enough to do things like this but a certain percentage certainly are- it only needs a single individual to start a conflagration.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 03, 2011, 01:32:30 PM
Crazy as in, 'Jaysus, that's mad, how could anyone be so thick/stupid/ignorant/bad minded' delete as appropriate.

I wasn't saying you're crazy, but you probably are :D
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 03, 2011, 01:48:41 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 03, 2011, 01:32:30 PM
Crazy as in, 'Jaysus, that's mad, how could anyone be so thick/stupid/ignorant/bad minded' delete as appropriate.

I wasn't saying you're crazy, but you probably are :D

From a BIFFO, that's choice!
Pot calling a kettle black etc. ;D
Post by: Banana Man on May 03, 2011, 02:05:08 PM
in the paper that the one in the mournes was started deliberately and some boy was spotted walking with a gerry can of petrol, hoor needs locked up, i was going up over spelga yesterday and the fire was right beside the road, it was crazy
Post by: Sandino on May 03, 2011, 03:57:26 PM
There have been some good points made about why some people start fires. However I think that some are just started for the 'craic' and this is not being done by kids. Some of the people starting these fires are adults who think its all a big laugh! The roads in some places around Omagh have been crazy and dangerous. In Donegal you can see houses that are surounded by scorching as the fires were that close.
Post by: Puckoon on May 03, 2011, 03:59:32 PM
Couldn't believe it when I learned that these fires are being started deliberately. Living in an area of constant wildfire activity - major efforts are taken to ensure they don't occur - and 5-10 times a year these efforts aren't enough.

Will families losing their homes, or some deaths be the only thing that will stop these fire starters?
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 03, 2011, 10:14:40 PM
Taoiseach condemns 'deliberate arson attacks' in north of country

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/taoiseach-condemns-deliberate-arson-attacks-in-north-of-country-503609.html#ixzz1LKHdNdfI

The Taoiseach has condemned what he described as "deliberate arson attacks" on land and gorse in the north of the country.

Although many of the gorse, bog and forest fires have been brought under control, conditions remain dangerous.

The Army has drafted 45 troops and three helicopters into west Donegal to help fire crews battle flames spreading near Falcarragh.

Meanwhile, Bórd na Mona has deployed 450 employees to contain bog fires in the midlands.

Fianna Fáil has called on the Government to provide a compensation package to those worst affected while Sinn Fein has criticised the Government's response rate to the fires.

In the Dáil, the Taoiseach Enda Kenny condemned the arson attacks "by a person or persons unknown".