Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 17, 2010, 04:56:04 PM

Title: Well done Enda.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 17, 2010, 04:56:04 PM
Fair play to Enda Kenny on winning today. Now its time for Cowan to go.
Title: Re: Well done Enda.
Post by: muppet on June 17, 2010, 04:58:24 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 17, 2010, 04:56:04 PM

We discussed Kenny v Bruton on the Gilmore thread.

No you want to discuss getting rid of Cowen on a 'Well done Enda' thread?
Post by: ross4life on June 17, 2010, 05:09:41 PM
I can't stand Cowan or kenny can they not both go?
Post by: muppet on June 17, 2010, 05:11:15 PM
Quote from: ross4life on June 17, 2010, 05:09:41 PM

That would leave Happy Gilmore, Gormley agus Caoimhin.

Can they not all go?
Post by: magpie seanie on June 17, 2010, 05:18:10 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 17, 2010, 05:11:15 PM
Quote from: ross4life on June 17, 2010, 05:09:41 PM

That would leave Happy Gilmore, Gormley agus Caoimhin.

Can they not all go?

Unhappy Gilmore is more apt.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 17, 2010, 05:20:23 PM
well thats fine gaels chance of me voting for them in the next election gone now inda stays as leader !
Post by: boojangles on June 17, 2010, 05:27:29 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 17, 2010, 05:20:23 PM
well thats fine gaels chance of me voting for them in the next election gone now inda stays as leader !

Post by: no mo do yakamo on June 17, 2010, 05:43:42 PM
Sure why didnt Enda go the whole hog and vote himself taoiseach at todays meeting.
Post by: muppet on June 17, 2010, 05:54:06 PM
Quote from: no mo do yakamo on June 17, 2010, 05:43:42 PM
Sure why didnt Enda go the whole hog and vote himself taoiseach at todays meeting.

Bit early for the sauce?
Post by: muppet on June 17, 2010, 06:01:12 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 17, 2010, 05:20:23 PM

I'd say 99% of the country wouldn't vote for Mary Harney but she is Minister for Health? Do you think we live in a democracy or something?
Post by: MadMayo on June 17, 2010, 06:03:54 PM
He should banish Bruton now and anyone else who opposed him.... time to crack on....
Post by: Capt Pat on June 17, 2010, 06:04:05 PM
The whole front bench resigned, now Coveney and Veradkar and Bruton and Olivia Mitchell etc have no future in politics unless they get rid of Enda. So I think you can still expect a leadership challenge from one or more of those former front benchers.
Post by: muppet on June 17, 2010, 06:07:43 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on June 17, 2010, 06:04:05 PM
The whole front bench resigned, now Coveney and Veradkar and Bruton and Olivia Mitchell etc have no future in politics unless they get rid of Enda. So I think you can still expect a leadership challenge from one or more of those former front benchers.

If they do it again they might succeed in doing a PDs on it. I doubt we will see it. Bruton was the media choice and was seen as the obvious replacement with the intellect to make it happen. If he couldn't do it none of the other idiots will do it now. At the next election he will either be Taoiseach or finished.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 17, 2010, 06:08:40 PM
If it looks like a lame-duck, walks like a lame-duck, and talks like a lame-duck, then it probably is a lame-duck  :P
Post by: MadMayo on June 17, 2010, 06:11:45 PM
Good man Enda. Lead us out of this recession.... Its time for biffo to go.....
Post by: Bogball XV on June 17, 2010, 07:13:04 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on June 17, 2010, 06:04:05 PM
I've no love for FG, nor hatred of Kenny, but someone mentioned a stay of execution and that sums it up best.  I don't even think it'll be a particularly long one, will he even see out the summer?
Post by: muppet on June 17, 2010, 07:14:22 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 17, 2010, 06:08:40 PM
If it looks like a lame-duck, walks like a lame-duck, and talks like a lame-duck, then it probably is a lame-duck  :P

She is still Minister though.
Post by: no mo do yakamo on June 17, 2010, 07:21:47 PM
With a big Portfolio ;)
Post by: muppet on June 17, 2010, 08:16:53 PM
I am usually a floating voter, but Fianna Fail have nearly drowned me.

Anyone who thinks Vuvuzela Gilmore is an option needs to stay out of the Head Shops. It is easy to stand up and throw stones without burdening oneself with policy suggestions.

Kenny might not be an Obama or a Blair but he has integrity and was incredibly magnanimous today despite the assault on his character by some of his own people. He probably surprised even loyal supporters with his skillful outmaneuvering of Bruton. Whether he is Taoiseach material or not, he certainly proved he is a better leader than Bruton.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 17, 2010, 08:38:42 PM
The loudest cheer today was within the ranks of the Labour Party.

The simple unpalatable truth, for the Fine Gaelers, is that Kenny is decidedly and definitely not Taoiseach material, not in a thousand years. And it matters not a whit how much of a party leader he looks of late, or how persuasive he is with his Oireacthas colleagues, he has little appeal for your average Joe or Josephine as state leader. Little wonder too, that the most laudatory posts on this board are from his very own county folk, something that the Dubs, for example, are only too aware of, i.e., he may be Fine Gael leader, but he's an out and out culchie.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 17, 2010, 08:51:26 PM
The old Mayo lads have circled the wagons around Enda. Must be taking tips from the Kerry boys and Paul Galvin. ;D

Enda carries on for now but hard to see a long-term future for a man who barely has the backing of 50% of his own party let alone an electorate who clearly are not too keen on seeing him as Taoiseach despite all the ills of FF.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 17, 2010, 08:56:09 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 17, 2010, 08:38:42 PM
The loudest cheer today was within the ranks of the Labour Party.

The simple unpalatable truth, for the Fine Gaelers, is that Kenny is decidedly and definitely not Taoiseach material, not in a thousand years. And it matters not a whit how much of a party leader he looks of late, or how persuasive he is with his Oireacthas colleagues, he has little appeal for your average Joe or Josephine as state leader. Little wonder too, that the most laudatory posts on this board are from his very own county folk, something that the Dubs, for example, are only too aware of, i.e., he may be Fine Gael leader, but he's an out and out culchie.
He may have the support of the oireachtas colleagues and MEP's, but apparently he doesn't have the support of his td colleagues.  For those FGers celebrating, maybe the next opinion poll will waken them up to the damage they've done their cause.  Good luck to him, but i fear the victory is pyrrhic.
Post by: muppet on June 17, 2010, 09:10:52 PM
At the next election I expect people to vote for:

1) the usual small minded local issue
2) anti-FF backlash
3) those who get thus far might consider their vote as significant
regarding the make up of the parties of next Government
4) the few who get this far might consider who will be Taoiseach.

If Kenny makes it to Taoiseach it will be with a mandate. Unlike the current incumbent
who has no mandate and is even less popular.
Post by: Pangurban on June 17, 2010, 09:12:01 PM
A lot of Northerners will be happy to see Bruton get his come-uppenance. As for Kennys long term future, its off little relevance to anyone outside of the Blueshirts, as they will never get a sniff of government. The country is angry, not stupid
Post by: muppet on June 17, 2010, 09:16:26 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on June 17, 2010, 09:12:01 PM
A lot of Northerners will be happy to see Bruton get his come-uppenance. As for Kennys long term future, its off little relevance to anyone outside of the Blueshirts, as they will never get a sniff of government. The country is angry, not stupid

We are way past stupid and we are certainly not angry
or we would be on the streets.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 17, 2010, 09:19:07 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on June 17, 2010, 09:12:01 PM
if the blueshirts don't get into govt, who do you suggest??  and more pressingly, why??
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on June 17, 2010, 09:19:36 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 17, 2010, 08:16:53 PM
I am usually a floating voter, but Fianna Fail have nearly drowned me.

Anyone who thinks Vuvuzela Gilmore is an option needs to stay out of the Head Shops. It is easy to stand up and throw stones without burdening oneself with policy suggestions.

Kenny might not be an Obama or a Blair but he has integrity and was incredibly magnanimous today despite the assault on his character by some of his own people. He probably surprised even loyal supporters with his skillful outmaneuvering of Bruton. Whether he is Taoiseach material or not, he certainly proved he is a better leader than Bruton.

Spot on the money Muppet, stuck 2 fingers up to his opponents, stuck to his guns,took them on, beat them and made them look they were badly led, ill judged and incompetent in the space of 7 days. When is the last time this happened in this country. This will be the making of Kenny. Well done Enda. (i'm not FG in anyway)
Post by: Capt Pat on June 17, 2010, 09:33:20 PM
I disagree with Fine Gael will never be in power. I think that at this moment in time, they are on course for power, the Bruton challenge was a big push for power by the east coast fine gael clique and it might not be over yet.
If an election was called tomorrow for 3 months time, Fianna Fail, Fianna Gael and labour would be 1,2 and 3, respectively with a Fine Gael labour coalition maybe with the greens as well being the new government.

John Bruton and his buddies can see this but so far their plan has backfired.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 17, 2010, 09:35:39 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on June 17, 2010, 09:33:20 PM
I disagree with Fine Gael will never be in power. I think that at this moment in time, they are on course for power, the Bruton challenge was a big push for power by the east coast fine gael clique and it might not be over yet.
If an election was called tomorrow for 3 months time, Fianna Fail, Fianna Gael and labour would be 1,2 and 3, respectively with a Fine Gael labour coalition maybe with the greens as well being the new government.

i agree, why does everyone else think this is over?
Post by: Capt Pat on June 17, 2010, 09:39:31 PM
The bad thing about all of this for Fine Gael is the loss of their talking heads Bruton,Veradkar, Coveney and Mitchell from the front bench. This may damage the parties image and presentation.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 17, 2010, 10:04:38 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on June 17, 2010, 09:33:20 PM

Too late for him, his brother might see it though  ;)
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on June 17, 2010, 10:43:19 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on June 17, 2010, 09:39:31 PM
The bad thing about all of this for Fine Gael is the loss of their talking heads Bruton,Veradkar, Coveney and Mitchell from the front bench. This may damage the parties image and presentation.

Maybe it'll stand to them. What have these people ever done except blow their own vuvuzelas? What makes them so great? What is this based on?
Post by: Bogball XV on June 17, 2010, 11:22:59 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on June 17, 2010, 10:43:19 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on June 17, 2010, 09:39:31 PM

Maybe it'll stand to them. What have these people ever done except blow their own vuvuzelas? What makes them so great? What is this based on?
Well, I'm just watching Jimmy Deenihan being wheeled out on the Vincent Browne show and whilst I have respect for Jimmy, I get the feeling the majority who know nothing about the man may not be so be respectful.
Post by: stephenite on June 18, 2010, 02:15:21 AM
Fine Gael=clueless bunch of idiots

Most of their front bench come out and say that Enda is no longer a credible alternative Taoiseach, and he beats them.

What does that say to the majority of voters?

Might as well have handed the election back to FF, and the sad thing is the country might well be better off, if they are this stupid in opposition they're in no position been given any power.
Post by: Zapatista on June 18, 2010, 08:38:58 AM
Fecking delighted with how that went. I would rather eat glass than vote FG but still couldn't help to hope Kenny won it on a human level.

Delighted to see Varadkar and Crieghton take a slap. They have a real sense of themselves which is more than they are actually valued and worth. The Big Boom (loan) bred a class of young educated ambitious people who believed the hype about how much politics needs them. VAradkar and Creighton are two of the these types of snake.

Billy Boots, I finally got something right ;)

Post by: magpie seanie on June 18, 2010, 09:26:54 AM
I personally think if people stand back and jusdge this fairly without knee jerk reactions that it reflects very well on Kenny. He showed serious political nous here and major cojones. Loads of things I don't like about Kenny but I cannot see where the "conventional wisdom" of how much better Richard Bruton would be comes from. It just baffles me.
Post by: Canalman on June 18, 2010, 11:14:31 AM
Labour and FF here in Dublin will be buoyed by the "Up Mayoing" heard outside the Dáil yesterday. Not very media savy imo. To win the next GE FG need to be winning the 2nd seats here ( as opposed to Labour).

Anyway glad to see Kenny survive the Palace Coup even though I am NOT a Fine Gaeler. Seems a likeable sort.............. has shown bottle in facing down the coup............. can now show himself to be gracious/statesmanlike by reinstating the putschists back into the front bench.

Plenty of time (in theory anyway) before next GE.
Post by: The Subbie on June 18, 2010, 11:19:35 AM
If it was raining soup the blueshirts would be out with forks. There is 13 + pages in the Irish independent today on this side show.
FF are rubbing their grubby hands with absolute glee, during the week when anglo and ebs get even more  and more €bn's the whole country is listening to the FG culchie/ pale dwellers spat.
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2010, 11:43:26 AM
It's an unbelievable debacle from start to finish. The only one to show even the slightest pinch of cop-on was Kenny and he comes out of it with his reputation enhanced, but with his unelectability and FG's chances of seats in Dublin both worsened by the yahooism displayed by the party at large.

Bruton's reputation and his political career are in tatters and we can only be thankful that we didn't get such a hapless, blundering chancer as Taoiseach. The problem is who will we end up with? I can't see anyone in FG up to the role. So Eamon Gilmore? Surely not?
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 18, 2010, 11:48:31 AM
QuoteFecking delighted with how that went. I would rather eat glass than vote FG but still couldn't help to hope Kenny won it on a human level

My sentiments exactly. I had to chuckle to myself at Lucinda Creighton on the radio yesterday... she seemed like she didn't know what to say! Some opposition...or better still some government (IF elected). And I've said this before, FF are shocking bad in govt at this time, but what in the name of God would FG do if they were in it given all this malarkey that has gone on all week.

And the Up-Mayo antics of the people in C'bar were embarrassing to say the least.
Post by: Declan on June 18, 2010, 11:50:48 AM
QuoteSo Eamon Gilmore? Surely not?

Why not?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 18, 2010, 11:53:30 AM
What was the margin of voctory?  I though I heard one the radio that is was 36 to 33.  hardly a resounding vote of condfidence.  Bruton is a snake in the grass, but while this may have given Enda some time to build on his new found Leadership qualities(where have they been for the last number of years?) FF will rub their hands with this I reckon.  Easy to make hay with someone who doesn't have his party behind him.  i can just hear it, "how can you unite the country when you can't unite your own party?" 

It is time for real politics to start in the Republic.  labour need to really stand up now and make more of the bounce they have received of late.  Start asking serious questions about the whole banking crisis and don't be put of with lame pass offs.  They can really make inroads in local issues as well.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 18, 2010, 11:55:29 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 18, 2010, 11:48:31 AM
QuoteFecking delighted with how that went. I would rather eat glass than vote FG but still couldn't help to hope Kenny won it on a human level

My sentiments exactly. I had to chuckle to myself at Lucinda Creighton on the radio yesterday... she seemed like she didn't know what to say! Some opposition...or better still some government (IF elected). And I've said this before, FF are shocking bad in govt at this time, but what in the name of God would FG do if they were in it given all this malarkey that has gone on all week.

And the Up-Mayo antics of the people in C'bar were embarrassing to say the least.

Could they not have got someone below 70 with more than 10 teeth in their head to (a) be there and (b) say a few words without foaming at the mouth. That didn't do Kenny or the West any favours (though I'd be suspicious that its exactly what the national broadcaster was looking for).

On the Labour matter I don't think their showing in the previous poll was real and cannot see them getting more seats than FG in a general election.
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2010, 11:58:03 AM
Quote from: Declan on June 18, 2010, 11:50:48 AM
QuoteSo Eamon Gilmore? Surely not?

Why not?
I think he's a blustering clown who has never in my hearing uttered a sentence of substance or insight but specialises in mouthing populist shite. Of course, history shows that none of that disqualifies you from being Taoiseach. However, having an ex-stickie union stooge as Taoiseach doesn't appeal to me.
Post by: westmayo on June 18, 2010, 12:03:48 PM
I'd say that it's safe to assume that Creighton was the only Mayo member of the FG parilmentry party to vote against Kenny yesterday
Post by: Billys Boots on June 18, 2010, 12:04:17 PM
QuoteBilly Boots, I finally got something right

Well done Zap, just remember the one about the stopped-clock.  ;)
Post by: Bogball XV on June 18, 2010, 12:08:42 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 18, 2010, 11:53:30 AM
What was the margin of voctory?  I though I heard one the radio that is was 36 to 33.  hardly a resounding vote of condfidence.  Bruton is a snake in the grass, but while this may have given Enda some time to build on his new found Leadership qualities(where have they been for the last number of years?) FF will rub their hands with this I reckon.  Easy to make hay with someone who doesn't have his party behind him.  i can just hear it, "how can you unite the country when you can't unite your own party?" 

It is time for real politics to start in the Republic.  labour need to really stand up now and make more of the bounce they have received of late.  Start asking serious questions about the whole banking crisis and don't be put of with lame pass offs.  They can really make inroads in local issues as well.
Think the margin was 6, it's not going to be released for public consumption - might be leaked though.  Apparently the majority of td's voted against him, it was the senators and MEP's who pulled him though.
I'm not that bothered about this really, but I'm baffled by those who think this was good result for FG, maybe the next year or so will prove me wrong, but they have not made themselves more electable in any way.
As for labour, i used to think they'd get my vote, but i don't like gilmore, he's trying to be a bertie imo, to be all things to all men and there's nothing i hate more.
Post by: Declan on June 18, 2010, 12:18:13 PM
QuoteI think he's a blustering clown who has never in my hearing uttered a sentence of substance or insight but specialises in mouthing populist shite. Of course, history shows that none of that disqualifies you from being Taoiseach. However, having an ex-stickie union stooge as Taoiseach doesn't appeal to me

Well at least that's clear :D

I'd prefer him over our recent crooks liars thieves and chancers and also over Enda, School Teacher who took over Daddy's safe seat in our farce of a system and who has demonstrated nothing but mediocrity in his 30 odd years in the Oireachtas. I do have sympathy for him on a personal basis over recent events but he epitomises everything I detest about our political class. 

As someone said in another thread people here don't vote FOR something rather they vote against lots of things so hence Gilmore's lack of specifics.

In fact the more I think about it the more annoyed I get. Time to pack the bags 
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on June 18, 2010, 12:36:54 PM
Quote from: westmayo on June 18, 2010, 12:03:48 PM
I'd say that it's safe to assume that Creighton was the only Mayo member of the FG parilmentry party to vote against Kenny yesterday

Poor Lucinda is along way from Mayo now, look at the FG Dublin pin up girl! Delighted for her and leo getting what they got, if Kenny does nothing else he showed them who their Daddy was. Also waht have these two done since thay came to the front bench to warrant such praise and exaultation......
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 18, 2010, 02:39:36 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 18, 2010, 09:26:54 AM
I personally think if people stand back and jusdge this fairly without knee jerk reactions that it reflects very well on Kenny. He showed serious political nous here and major cojones. Loads of things I don't like about Kenny but I cannot see where the "conventional wisdom" of how much better Richard Bruton would be comes from. It just baffles me.
I'd say more brass neck and self importance than cajones Seanie !

any debate on financial stuff Bruton sweeps the floor or at least draws.
inda gets destroyed every time.
If people used to laugh a number of years ago at gerry adams or sinn feins lack of thought or planning on finance/economic policy - they look like rockerfeller by comparison to financially clueless inda !
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 18, 2010, 02:41:06 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 18, 2010, 11:43:26 AM
It's an unbelievable debacle from start to finish. The only one to show even the slightest pinch of cop-on was Kenny and he comes out of it with his reputation enhanced, but with his unelectability and FG's chances of seats in Dublin both worsened by the yahooism displayed by the party at large.

Bruton's reputation and his political career are in tatters and we can only be thankful that we didn't get such a hapless, blundering chancer as Taoiseach. The problem is who will we end up with? I can't see anyone in FG up to the role. So Eamon Gilmore? Surely not?
looking at this debacle, you have to take a step back and think that given their ineptitude, could we really risk putting these absolute idiotic clueless morons into goverment !
Def not imo !!
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 18, 2010, 03:07:21 PM
QuoteCould they not have got someone below 70 with more than 10 teeth in their head to (a) be there and (b) say a few words without foaming at the mouth. That didn't do Kenny or the West any favours (though I'd be suspicious that its exactly what the national broadcaster was looking for).

I was going to say combover as well  :)
Post by: muppet on June 18, 2010, 03:28:40 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 18, 2010, 02:39:36 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 18, 2010, 09:26:54 AM
I'd say more brass neck and self importance than cajones Seanie !

any debate on financial stuff Bruton sweeps the floor or at least draws.
inda gets destroyed every time.
If people used to laugh a number of years ago at gerry adams or sinn feins lack of thought or planning on finance/economic policy - they look like rockerfeller by comparison to financially clueless inda !

This really annoys me. I am not a FG supporter but I know Enda and anyone who has met him will say he is the complete opposite of this. Even hacks writing scathing articles about him concede that he is a nice guy and great company.

Edit: I should have added for balance that there are lots of things that he is not, for example an economist, but it seems that if you give a dog a bad name you say can anything and it becomes true.

BTW why have economists suddenly become vital to the recovery? We have as many celebrity economists as we have celebrity chefs. No two of them seem to agree so either only one of them is right, or they are all wrong.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 18, 2010, 03:44:21 PM
QuoteWe have as many celebrity economists as we have celebrity chefs. No two of them seem to agree so either only one of them is right, or they are all wrong.

You may have given TV3 a new idea for a reality show  ;D
Post by: armaghniac on June 19, 2010, 02:31:21 PM
While Kenny has his enemies, he should also watch out for this friends. A good example is the amadán councillor who was roaring "Up Mayo" and who had now criticised FG TDs from outside the pale for not voting for Kenny. If Enda is only good because he is from the West then he is not suitable for the job. If Healy-Rae supporters start this kind of thing then he is doomed, as more people live in the Pale and they won't be keen on someone who doesn't represent them.
Post by: muppet on June 19, 2010, 04:15:34 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 19, 2010, 02:31:21 PM
While Kenny has his enemies, he should also watch out for this friends. A good example is the amadán councillor who was roaring "Up Mayo" and who had now criticised FG TDs from outside the pale for not voting for Kenny. If Enda is only good because he is from the West then he is not suitable for the job. If Healy-Rae supporters start this kind of thing then he is doomed, as more people live in the Pale and they won't be keen on someone who doesn't represent them.

Speaking as a Mayoman I can understand why they were happy but it was cringeworthy nonetheless.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 20, 2010, 01:30:42 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 18, 2010, 02:41:06 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 18, 2010, 11:43:26 AM

looking at this debacle, you have to take a step back and think that given their ineptitude, could we really risk putting these absolute idiotic clueless morons into goverment !
Def not imo !!
seriously LB, look at what's in there now, look at what the bunch of idiots in there have done and the situation they've left us in, how can anyone say, that they deserve aother chance?  No matter who gets my vote next time, it'll be used in such a way as to minimise the chances of FF getting power again.
Post by: joemamas on June 20, 2010, 02:45:49 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 18, 2010, 11:55:29 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 18, 2010, 11:48:31 AM

Could they not have got someone below 70 with more than 10 teeth in their head to (a) be there and (b) say a few words without foaming at the mouth. That didn't do Kenny or the West any favours (though I'd be suspicious that its exactly what the national broadcaster was looking for).

Having been born and raised in Mayo, and now living afar, all one can do is shake your head and laugh.

Where were all these rocket scientists doing for the last 10 years when the country as on the express train to ruin.

Is there a video clip of the Castlebar incident.
Post by: Zapatista on June 21, 2010, 12:01:52 AM
The other side aren't much better.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3elLmrCmOqo

There must be some craic in RTE taking the piss out of these poor guys.
Post by: Zapatista on June 21, 2010, 11:31:19 AM
Will Bruton take a place on the front bench?

I just hope Lucinda and Leo are left out scratching themselves wondering how they fucked up so badly.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 21, 2010, 11:39:19 PM
I see Enda has ruled out sharing power with SF because of the 'army council'. Stupid thing to say when he's up North especially - it plays right into the hands of the anti-powersharing Unionists, who rightly see it as double standards. The parties in the south expect the Unionists to do something that they won't.

Now I'm no SF supporter, but there are 101 reasons/excuses for not going into government with SF without brining up the 'army council'.
Post by: Zapatista on June 22, 2010, 12:05:50 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 21, 2010, 11:39:19 PM
I see Enda has ruled out sharing power with SF because of the 'army council'. Stupid thing to say when he's up North especially - it plays right into the hands of the anti-powersharing Unionists, who rightly see it as double standards. The parties in the south expect the Unionists to do something that they won't.

Now I'm no SF supporter, but there are 101 reasons/excuses for not going into government with SF without brining up the 'army council'.

Yes, there is the equally good argument of someone thinking of the children.

Post by: bcarrier on October 03, 2010, 08:09:52 AM
QuoteOn Friday, in the face of a growing consensus within Fine Gael, Mr Kenny rejected a call by the businessman Denis O'Brien for a "united front" from political parties in the form of a 'Tallaght II'.

Mr Kenny said there would be no repeat of Fine Gael's support of the economic policies of Fianna Fail's minority government from 1987 to 1989.

"Listen, I was a member of Fine Gael when we had Tallaght 1. While it was wonderful from a national perspective to support the Tallaght Strategy, Fine Gael had no power or influence over it and suffered at the polls as a consequence," he said.

The statement in surely political dynamite. Is it not an admission that his personal pursuit of power is a higher priority than the national interest ?

Post by: Rossfan on October 03, 2010, 03:40:03 PM
I would have thought that true of nearly all politicians  >:(
Post by: boojangles on October 03, 2010, 10:59:15 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on October 03, 2010, 08:09:52 AM
QuoteOn Friday, in the face of a growing consensus within Fine Gael, Mr Kenny rejected a call by the businessman Denis O'Brien for a "united front" from political parties in the form of a 'Tallaght II'.

Mr Kenny said there would be no repeat of Fine Gael's support of the economic policies of Fianna Fail's minority government from 1987 to 1989.

"Listen, I was a member of Fine Gael when we had Tallaght 1. While it was wonderful from a national perspective to support the Tallaght Strategy, Fine Gael had no power or influence over it and suffered at the polls as a consequence," he said.

The statement in surely political dynamite. Is it not an admission that his personal pursuit of power is a higher priority than the national interest ?

Where is that quoted from Bcarrier??
Title: Dubhairt?
Post by: drici on October 03, 2010, 11:08:02 PM
Quote from: boojangles on October 03, 2010, 10:59:15 PM

Where is that quoted from Bcarrier??

On Friday, Mr Kenny ruled out what would effectively be a new version of the so-called 'Tallaght Strategy', on the grounds that while it may be good for the country, it would cost Fine Gael votes.

Title: Re: Dubhairt?
Post by: Zapatista on October 04, 2010, 12:07:40 AM
Quote from: drici on October 03, 2010, 11:08:02 PM
On Friday, Mr Kenny ruled out what would effectively be a new version of the so-called 'Tallaght Strategy', on the grounds that while it may be good for the country, it would cost Fine Gael votes.

Could it not be that the Country didn't agree and punished FG for it? To be fair I'd hate to see them all bunched together. If they can't holld the Government to account with an opposition then without one we're really going to be screwed.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2010, 12:14:12 AM
Quote from: bcarrier on October 03, 2010, 08:09:52 AM

The national interest is the utter destruction of Fianna Fail