Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: muppet on May 24, 2010, 07:45:39 PM

Title: Beer Cities - Top 6 in the world
Post by: muppet on May 24, 2010, 07:45:39 PM
http://www.lonelyplanet.com/travel-blog/community/?p=2249 (http://www.lonelyplanet.com/travel-blog/community/?p=2249)

(http://www.lonelyplanet.com/travel-blog/community/wordpress_uploads/2010/05/beer_infographic.jpg)
Title: Re: Beer Cities - Top 6 in the world
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 24, 2010, 07:51:34 PM
Just back from Portland, microbrewery heaven especially if you love your pale ales and I do...
Post by: ross4life on May 24, 2010, 07:53:29 PM
Interesting i guess because famous for the beer fest, Prague would have the cheapest of that list? & Dublin the least

Have to agree with the comments Belgium is the top beer country
Post by: stpauls on May 24, 2010, 10:02:01 PM
Quote from: ross4life on May 24, 2010, 07:53:29 PM
Interesting i guess because famous for the beer fest, Prague would have the cheapest of that list? & Dublin the least

now, you see, everyone says it is just because of the Bierfest, but Munich has at least 7 different breweries within the city limits, and not to mention the micro breweries in the towns on the outskirts of the city!!
Post by: tyssam5 on May 24, 2010, 10:19:36 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 24, 2010, 07:51:34 PM
Just back from Portland, microbrewery heaven especially if you love your pale ales and I do...

Agree, plenty of tasty and strong beers in the 7% range for <$5. At least 30 breweries in the city.
Post by: muppet on May 24, 2010, 10:26:18 PM
Thing is Dublin might qualify wrt pubs, but certainly not for beers (stout excepted).

Don't know much about Belgium but the Czech Republic and Germany have some amazing beer.

The only thing I liked in the States was Sam Adams.
Post by: maddog on May 25, 2010, 08:24:04 AM
Bruges is a tourist trap. Antwerp is miles better for the batter.
Post by: Hardy on May 25, 2010, 10:03:40 AM
Even Cork has more locally brewed beers than Dublin.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 25, 2010, 10:53:37 AM
this is a skewed result if Dublin is there...
though there are a lot of locally brewed beers, generally outside the capital in counties kildare and meath !!

Dublin obv included as it is a great place to booze, and if that is the precedent, then New york should be on the list - one of the best places on earth to go drinking !
Post by: Hardy on May 25, 2010, 10:56:01 AM
One of the best places on earth, full stop.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 25, 2010, 11:00:54 AM
Quote from: Hardy on May 25, 2010, 10:03:40 AM

Oh Hardy please, please, please don't tell me you're becoming a Langer!!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 25, 2010, 11:10:21 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 25, 2010, 11:00:54 AM
Quote from: Hardy on May 25, 2010, 10:03:40 AM

Oh Hardy please, please, please don't tell me you're becoming a Langer!!

There's red and white blood running through his veins and he has a pair of Blood and Bandages pyjamas :D
Post by: Hardy on May 25, 2010, 11:39:20 AM
Living in a cage doesn't make you a monkey! I wasn't claiming or according any credit - just pointing out a fact.

I do happen to believe Beamish is the only positive thing Langerland has given the world.

Real men don't wear pyjamas.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 25, 2010, 12:01:57 PM
No, no Hardy, that's exactly the sort of thing they use in (supposedly) everyday conversation.  You've been tainted, irreparably I'd imagine.  I can picture you pointing at County Hall as I type.  Oh dear.
Post by: Hardy on May 25, 2010, 12:33:22 PM
It's still a lie about the pyjamas.
Post by: ziggysego on May 25, 2010, 12:52:34 PM
Quote from: maddog on May 25, 2010, 08:24:04 AM

Never been to Bruges, but Antwerp is a lovely city. There is a lovely big square with a market on it. Some nice beers there.

Germany has the nicest beers I've tasted to date.

Had some Italian beer in London over the weekend, it was lovely too.

Used to be a wile Bud drinker, but I'm finding it terribly gassy now, so I'm on the hunt for a new beer.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on May 25, 2010, 02:36:42 PM
I was in Denmark over easter, there are some nice beers over there, there are several different varieties of Carlsberg and all much better that the muck you get over here.

German beers are great, the wife has been in Bamberg several times with her work I think she said there are 10 breweries in the city. I think I'd like to visit there some time, I believe they have their own beer festival which is popular with beer connoisseurs.

Like one of the previous posters my favourite American beer is Sam Adams. Bud is piss.
Post by: Canalman on May 25, 2010, 02:42:36 PM
Dublin imo is a top city to drink in (even if I am biased in saying so). Tourists seem to love the place and its pubs. The place though has seriously quitened down in the last 5 /10 years or so......... and especially in the last year.

As for the worst, Melbourne isn't great (and I love the place) and Dallas/Houston are useless for pubs. Boston is overrated imo as is Manhattan................ the bars in parts of the Bronx and Queens are better imo.
Post by: delboy on May 25, 2010, 03:01:12 PM
This would be my order of preference for those 6.

Bruge -(although other belgian cities would figure higher in my books) for the sheer divesrity of beer and its use in cooking.
Portland - Home to the new wave of very passionate american brewers creating beers that are just bursting with flavour.
London - 700 breweries in the UK making all styles of beer not just fizzy lager.
Munich - Lager but not as we know it over here, the real deal full of flavour compared to the guff we get.
Prague- Czech republic the birthplace of pils.
Dublin - Over-priced mass produced, mass marketed bland beer that you can get anywhere else in the world anyway. 
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 25, 2010, 03:20:53 PM
I'd expect London , like Dublin is in there more for the fun of drinking there than the beer.
Def delboy there are some fantastic beers (well def the ales and bitters can be superb) but trying to find a decent pub in london that served decent beer USED to be a nightmare.
Maybe this has changed, but when over there last about 4 years ago, that was the case. Firs pub I went to was full of rubbish lagers. A second pub down the road had wonderful ales on tap ! Others over the weekend I was there were as disappointing as the first.

Sure isnt the fun, experience and craic mostly what ya go for, lets face it, after a handfull of pints, taste goes out the window (in many differeing ways !!)
Post by: delboy on May 25, 2010, 03:34:50 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 25, 2010, 03:20:53 PM
I'd expect London , like Dublin is in there more for the fun of drinking there than the beer.
Def delboy there are some fantastic beers (well def the ales and bitters can be superb) but trying to find a decent pub in london that served decent beer USED to be a nightmare.
Maybe this has changed, but when over there last about 4 years ago, that was the case. Firs pub I went to was full of rubbish lagers. A second pub down the road had wonderful ales on tap ! Others over the weekend I was there were as disappointing as the first.

Sure isnt the fun, experience and craic mostly what ya go for, lets face it, after a handfull of pints, taste goes out the window (in many differeing ways !!)

You'd need to have the camra guide to find the wheat amongst the chaff, I agree with you though that its more about having fun than the beer itself but then it should have been the best 6 party cities rather than the best 6 beer cities.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 25, 2010, 10:12:06 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 25, 2010, 12:52:34 PM

Never been to Bruges, but Antwerp is a lovely city. There is a lovely big square with a market on it. Some nice beers there.

Used to be a wile Bud drinker, but I'm finding it terribly gassy now, so I'm on the hunt for a new beer.

Do yourself a favour....3 bottles for a fiver in Curleys...beautiful stuff..

(http://tikrasalus.lt/wp-content/uploads/2008/06/405px-franziskaner_weisse_16_9_ozglass2.jpg?w=202)
Post by: muppet on May 25, 2010, 10:55:38 PM
Quote from: delboy on May 25, 2010, 03:01:12 PM

Bruge -(although other belgian cities would figure higher in my books) for the sheer divesrity of beer and its use in cooking.
Portland - Home to the new wave of very passionate american brewers creating beers that are just bursting with flavour.
London - 700 breweries in the UK making all styles of beer not just fizzy lager.
Munich - Lager but not as we know it over here, the real deal full of flavour compared to the guff we get.
Dublin - Over-priced mass produced, mass marketed bland beer that you can get anywhere else in the world anyway.

Plzen was the birthplace of Pils not Prague.

Went to the Pilsner Urquell brewery a few years ago and a good day it was too, though I had a better day at the Budvar Brewery in Ceske Budjevice.  ;D
(http://www.prag-eksperten.dk/images/pilsner_urquell_02.jpg)
Post by: delboy on May 26, 2010, 11:16:50 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 25, 2010, 10:55:38 PM
Quote from: delboy on May 25, 2010, 03:01:12 PM

Plzen was the birthplace of Pils not Prague.

Went to the Pilsner Urquell brewery a few years ago and a good day it was too, though I had a better day at the Budvar Brewery in Ceske Budjevice.  ;D
(http://www.prag-eksperten.dk/images/pilsner_urquell_02.jpg)

I know hence why i opened it up geographically to the czech republic as a whole rather than prague. Of course the boyos over in burton beat them to the title of the first pale beer by quite some time.
Post by: Ulick on May 26, 2010, 11:27:19 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 25, 2010, 10:12:06 PM

(http://tikrasalus.lt/wp-content/uploads/2008/06/405px-franziskaner_weisse_16_9_ozglass2.jpg?w=202)

Fat Monk, gotta be one of my favourite beers. Cloudy as feck and gives an me awful sore head in the mornings. Just like the wife in many respects.
Post by: ballinaman on May 27, 2010, 12:48:24 AM
Pub in Brussels that has a menu of 2000 beers....enough said.

http://www.deliriumcafe.be/
Post by: Billys Boots on May 27, 2010, 09:15:09 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 27, 2010, 12:48:24 AM
Pub in Brussels that has a menu of 2000 beers....enough said.

http://www.deliriumcafe.be/

I've been there, it's a bit of a barn.  There are some great bars and some great beer in Brussels alright.
Post by: stpauls on May 27, 2010, 09:35:49 AM

a man after mt own heart, thought The Vineyard on the Ormeau Road does them at 4 for £6!
Post by: ziggysego on May 27, 2010, 09:46:35 AM
Quote from: stpauls on May 27, 2010, 09:35:49 AM

a man after mt own heart, thought The Vineyard on the Ormeau Road does them at 4 for £6!

I feel the gaaboard's first love story is about to begin soon... ;) Though disappointed in you stpauls, you're about to become a father! :P
Post by: stpauls on May 27, 2010, 09:53:44 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 27, 2010, 09:46:35 AM
I feel the gaaboard's first love story is about to begin soon... ;) Though disappointed in you stpauls, you're about to become a father! :P

it wouldn't last ziggy, he is a Down man, which is a hell of a lot worse than being married to a Tyrone woman!!  :P