Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: funtime frankie on May 24, 2010, 04:24:11 PM

Title: LIAM HANNAWAY HUNGER STRIKE
Post by: funtime frankie on May 24, 2010, 04:24:11 PM
Has anybody any idea why this fella is on hunger strike?

He's now 41 days into his strike which means its now in the critical phase and I'm worried that we are walking into the past without even realising it.

I'd be interested to find out what Hannaway's grievance is to drive him to hunger strike.
Title: Re: LIAM HANNAWAY HUNGER STRIKE
Post by: orangeman on May 24, 2010, 05:23:04 PM
Adams cousin in hunger strike death request
Times Online 23/05/10

A second cousin of Gerry Adams, the Sinn Fein leader, is entering his 40th day on hunger strike this week and has signed legal papers stating that he should not be revived if he slips into unconsciousness.

Liam Hannaway, a Republican dissident prisoner in his late thirties, started his fast inside the Maghaberry high security prison outside Belfast in protest at being held in its special segregation unit. He wants to be moved into the republican wing of the prison.

Hannaway is a member of a well-known Belfast republican family and his grandfather, also Liam, was one of the founders of the Provisional IRA.

Supporters of the prisoner, who belongs to Saor Uladh, a republican splinter group opposed to the peace process, confirmed he has left instructions that he should not be revived in the prison hospital.

Carl Reilly from the Republican Network for Unity, said he had spoken to Hannaway's father on Friday evening. Asked about reports that Hannaway had left instructions about what should happen if he becomes unconscious, Reilly said: "Yes, I am led to believe that."

"We are entering a critical phase," he said. "Liam was already being treated for coronary problems before he went on his hunger strike. The prison authorities and the Northern Ireland Office have been trying to play this situation down but now it has reached a serious turning point."

Reilly said Hannaway alleged he had been subject to brutality in the special segregation unit. He also alleged his food had been tampered with by loyalists working in the kitchens.

Hannaway, who is serving 10 years for possessing explosives, has demanded a transfer to a part of the jail that holds 32 republicans aligned to the Real IRA and the Continuity IRA.

"The Northern Ireland Office and prison service claim there is intelligence from the police that Liam's life would be under threat from rival republicans if he was transferred to their houses," Reilly said. "Republican Unity Network has spoken to all the major republican organisations with prisoners in Roe houses 3 and 4 in Maghaberry and all of them say there is absolutely no threat to Liam Hannaway."

The Northern Ireland Prison Service said this weekend Hannaway had not applied for a transfer. He added: "The Prison Service is attempting to work through the issues of concern with Mr Hannaway. However, the safety of prisoners is paramount and the Prison Service has received intelligence of a specific threat against Mr Hannaway. We cannot comment on the nature of the threat."

Post by: Minder on May 24, 2010, 05:23:32 PM
Cousin of Gerry Adams according to the Sunday Times.
Post by: orangeman on May 24, 2010, 05:32:52 PM
Why have we not heard about this before now ??

Why no song and dance ? Why no beating of bin lids in Andersonstown, The Creggan etc ?
Post by: Ulick on May 24, 2010, 05:41:37 PM
Quote from: orangeman on May 24, 2010, 05:32:52 PM

Why no song and dance ? Why no beating of bin lids in Andersonstown, The Creggan etc ?

Maybe people are afraid to voice concern in case they end up on Hardy's RIRA suspect list and before they know it are charged with building a bomb factory from sticky back tape and a corn flakes box.
Post by: orangeman on May 24, 2010, 05:44:32 PM
Quote from: Ulick on May 24, 2010, 05:41:37 PM

Maybe people are afraid to voice concern in case they end up on Hardy's RIRA suspect list and before they know it are charged with building a bomb factory from sticky back tape and a corn flakes box.

Post by: Tony Baloney on May 24, 2010, 05:48:56 PM

Wrong type of republican.
Post by: orangeman on May 24, 2010, 05:53:28 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 24, 2010, 05:48:56 PM

Wrong type of republican.

It didn't matter back in the day, all Irish men were equal fighting the same fight, regardless of whether they were PIRA, INLA, IPLO etc etc.

All a matter of timing.

There's an Irishman starving to death for his "cause£ and there's not a word about it ???

Newsmanagement at its best.
Post by: longrunsthefox on May 24, 2010, 05:54:39 PM
They don't have the popular support but it is very concerning that this man is so long on hunger strike. He should not be abandoned by nationalist/Republican politicians.
Post by: orangeman on May 24, 2010, 05:56:17 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 24, 2010, 05:54:39 PM
They don't have the popular support but it is very concerning that this man is so long on hunger strike.

I know they don't have the popular suport but is concerning that an Irishman in a British jail is dying from hunger and the politicians, media aren't making an issue of it.

Incredible. I knew we had supposedly moved on but this is ridiculous.
Post by: Hardy on May 24, 2010, 06:24:56 PM
Quote from: Ulick on May 24, 2010, 05:41:37 PM

That's cheap and pathetic, Ulick. Debate the debate in the debate forum and don't drag me into a thread I made no comment on. For the record, though it shouldn't be necessary to point this out to reasonable people, I don't, of course, have a RIRA suspect list. And nobody has been charged with building a bomb factory.
Post by: Evil Genius on May 24, 2010, 06:26:34 PM
"We'll never forget you,    ... hang on! What was his name again?"
Post by: Ulick on May 24, 2010, 07:04:56 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 24, 2010, 06:24:56 PM
That's cheap and pathetic, Ulick. Debate the debate in the debate forum and don't drag me into a thread I made no comment on. For the record, though it shouldn't be necessary to point this out to reasonable people, I don't, of course, have a RIRA suspect list. And nobody has been charged with building a bomb factory.

Just using your attitude on the other thread as an example Hardy. If people believe that they will be put onto some RIRA suspects list by commenting on such incidents then they will be reluctant to do so - you only have to look at some of the replies I'm getting there for daring to suggest that there should be a presumption of innocence in a paramilitary case.   
Post by: Hardy on May 24, 2010, 07:12:01 PM
Where has there been a presumption of guilt?
Post by: Ulick on May 24, 2010, 07:14:22 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 24, 2010, 07:12:01 PM
Where has there been a presumption of guilt?

The press releases.
Post by: Hardy on May 24, 2010, 07:17:44 PM
Hmmm ... must read them.

Anyway - in what way is inclusion on a list of suspects an infringement of rights?
Post by: Main Street on May 24, 2010, 07:23:34 PM
The Northern Ireland Prison Service have presented a ridiculously absurd argument to explain why they keep him away from the republican wing.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 24, 2010, 07:28:43 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 24, 2010, 07:23:34 PM
The Northern Ireland Prison Service have presented a ridiculously absurd argument to explain why they keep him away from the republican wing.
They don't want anyone killing him so they're letting him slowly kill himself. Makes sense to me!?
Post by: pebble-dasher on May 24, 2010, 07:46:52 PM
Liam Hannaway is on hunger strike laying handcuffed to a bed, because he wants to be put back onto the republican wing and to highlight the mis-treatment of the pows in maghaberry prison. 
The screws say he is under death threat from those on the republican wing but in a recent statement it was said that there was no threat against him.
He also wouldnt have the support of many republicans in the jail because of his past actions.

The prisoners in maghaberry have been subjected to terrible treatment since the protest on easter sunday.  They are locked up 23 hours a day in single cells, denied washing and toilet facilities and subject to regular strip searches and beatings.

There is no media coverage about this because it didnt suit the sf agenda coming up to the elections.  They must forget their past and the dirty tricks of the ruc. 
Post by: Myles Na G. on May 24, 2010, 08:22:05 PM
Quote from: orangeman on May 24, 2010, 05:56:17 PM
They don't have the popular support but it is very concerning that this man is so long on hunger strike.

I know they don't have the popular suport but is concerning that an Irishman in a British jail is dying from hunger and the politicians, media aren't making an issue of it.

I think you'll find that it's an Irish jail, staffed in the main by Irishmen and women.
Post by: Nally Stand on May 24, 2010, 09:01:17 PM
Quote from: stew on May 24, 2010, 08:51:10 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on May 24, 2010, 08:22:05 PM

I think you'll find that it's an Irish jail, staffed in the main by Irishmen and women.

If he wants to kill himself so be it, the world would be a better place if the likes of him were no longer in it.

Whether you agree with him or not, that post makes you one horrible b*****d
Post by: stew on May 24, 2010, 09:29:45 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on May 24, 2010, 09:01:17 PM
Quote from: stew on May 24, 2010, 08:51:10 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on May 24, 2010, 08:22:05 PM

If he wants to kill himself so be it, the world would be a better place if the likes of him were no longer in it.

Whether you agree with him or not, that post makes you one horrible b*****d

These dissidents are scumbags trying to destabilize the north, trying to bring us back to the bad old days of murder and mayhem, I will shed no tears for him, that said what I wrote was inappropriate and for that I apologise.

I will remove the post.

Post by: dodgy umpire on May 24, 2010, 09:48:03 PM
Fair play stew. Ill remove the quote as well
Post by: Down South on May 24, 2010, 09:48:42 PM
Quote from: pebble-dasher on May 24, 2010, 07:46:52 PM
He also wouldnt have the support of many republicans in the jail because of his past actions.

What is his past? How come this is not in the news, or is it just on the northern news?
Post by: stew on May 24, 2010, 10:01:22 PM
Quote from: dodgy umpire on May 24, 2010, 09:48:03 PM
Fair play stew. Ill remove the quote as well

When I read it back to myself it didnt sound like me, sorry to have offended you lads.

Obviously I would rather the man live and come off his hunger strike.
Post by: Orior on May 24, 2010, 10:06:48 PM
Hannaway says he wants moved to the Republican wing of the prison.

NIPS say they have not received any such request.

I'm no expert in these matters, but could they not move him, to a secure area of the republican wing?
Post by: Maguire01 on May 24, 2010, 10:16:29 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 24, 2010, 10:06:48 PM
I'm no expert in these matters, but could they not move him, to a secure area of the republican wing?
I'm no expert either, but if he's in a secure area, what difference dies it matter what wing he's in?
Post by: Candyman on May 24, 2010, 11:35:19 PM
In fairness lads, no matter what your political views..... Love him, support him or hate him what this man has decided to go through is mad!! Also, the fact it hasn't got any media attention is also worrying?
Post by: orangeman on May 24, 2010, 11:39:30 PM
Whatever the reason for this man's imprisonment or the reason for his palcement within the prison, I find it incredible that there is an Irishman lying in a jail in Northen Ireland literally dying on a hunger strike and nobody is saying anything about it, making an issue out of it and that it's not newsworthy.

As I said earlier, I'm simply astonished and wonder why this is so.

Have republicans become so sanitised and so under the influence of the Brits that they refuse to highlight his case in public ?

Back in the day, they orgainsed riots, protests and had the world's media on site.

Worse still, the man is a cousin of SF leader Gerry Adams.

??? ???

Post by: J70 on May 25, 2010, 05:03:32 AM
While I would hope that any prisoner would be treated humanely, its hardly surprising that there aren't many people lining up to advocate for these people who want to plunge the north back into war and don't care who they murder or maim. Perhaps if he repudiated his "cause", he might get a bit of public support. Otherwise, I doubt if too many will lose too much sleep over him.
Post by: JUst retired on May 25, 2010, 06:55:27 AM
While I have no sympathy for his cause,  he should not be allowed to die. There is a simple solution to  to this. Move him to the wing he wants to go to. Are we in for another" Maggie Thatcher" type solution?
Post by: Zapatista on May 25, 2010, 07:07:21 AM
Quote from: J70 on May 25, 2010, 05:03:32 AM
While I would hope that any prisoner would be treated humanely, its hardly surprising that there aren't many people lining up to advocate for these people who want to plunge the north back into war and don't care who they murder or maim. Perhaps if he repudiated his "cause", he might get a bit of public support. Otherwise, I doubt if too many will lose too much sleep over him.

I think that after over 40 days on hungerstrike we can accept he won't be repudiating anything. He has a right to be in the Republican wing. The actions of the prison athourities are doing more to plunge the north back into war than one republican actions can ever do. The republicans are in lock up in individual cells for 23 hours a day yet feel like they can't protect him for one hour a day. Lies!!

This is a disgrace. Move him to where he wants to go. If he dies his blood will be on the hands of the prison athourities.
Post by: Myles Na G. on May 25, 2010, 07:35:06 AM
The Earwiggy Wankers (and all the various splinter groups) are desperate to have a martyr in order to add a bit of impetus to their campaign. The authorities shouldn't grant them their wishes. Hannaway should be shifted to wherever it is he wants to go, and then allowed to rot in obscurity for the duration of his sentence. Which is hopefully a considerable length of time.
Post by: Zapatista on May 25, 2010, 07:48:56 AM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on May 25, 2010, 07:35:06 AM
The Earwiggy w**kers (and all the various splinter groups) are desperate to have a martyr in order to add a bit of impetus to their campaign. The authorities shouldn't grant them their wishes. Hannaway should be shifted to wherever it is he wants to go, and then allowed to rot in obscurity for the duration of his sentence. Which is hopefully a considerable length of time.

You are mixing Earwiggy up with someone else. They don't support armed republicanism.
Post by: funtime frankie on May 25, 2010, 08:57:08 AM
From what I read, I can see that Hannaway wants to be moved on to the Republican wing. So, what's the big deal?

It smacks of the prison authorities are trying to break him to use him as an example. Will they ever learn? The H Blocks was the battlefield where the last phase of the struggle was won.

The other lesson from history is that the prison struggle brought many people into the conflict who may not have been involved and my fear is that if this situation gets out of control then history will repeat itself.

I cannot understand why the plight of the prisoners in the jail is not being highlighted. Why has McGuinness as DFM not made a statement or used his office to intervene? Surely, it is in everybody's interest to have this worrying situation resolved, not least for Hannaway and his family.
Post by: Club Rossa on May 25, 2010, 09:06:35 AM
The Republican prisoners in Maghaberry are being treated shamefully.They are being denied the basic human right of washing,do not get their food on a regular basis and are being denied the right to exercise.
Obviously plenty of people do not agree with their politics and that's understandable but that does not justify the treatment they are getting.
Post by: Zapatista on May 25, 2010, 09:15:06 AM
Would this not be a job for the new Justice Minister?
Post by: Minder on May 25, 2010, 09:16:54 AM
Locked up for 23 hours? That's how it should be in prison.
Post by: Zapatista on May 25, 2010, 09:20:10 AM
THe Minister visited the prison last week and felt no reason to mention protesting prisoners even though one of them was entering the citical stage of a hungerstrike.

http://www.dojni.gov.uk/index/media-centre/minister_visits_maghaberry_prison.htm

I suggest to anyone who cares to email the minister and ask for his position.
Post by: Club Rossa on May 25, 2010, 09:21:51 AM
Minder,what about the beatings and the fact that they sometimes go 24-48 hours without food and days without washing.Do you approve of that too?
Post by: funtime frankie on May 25, 2010, 09:28:06 AM
Cleraly, this situation in the jail has to be resolved.

The last thing I want to see is the coffins of young Irishmen being carried throughout our countryside.

This madness needs to be resolved and resolved now before it gets too late
Post by: Hereiam on May 25, 2010, 09:29:50 AM
Its shows that the southern media have there own agenda as well. Not a mention of it on any of the stations or on the main website. This is shamefull on there part.
Post by: Minder on May 25, 2010, 09:54:36 AM
As someone said he is the wrong type of Republican, if he was the other type this thread would be on it's 50th page with all sorts of press releases and blogs from the usual lackeys.
Post by: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 10:06:16 AM
Quote from: J70 on May 25, 2010, 05:03:32 AM

It's simply shocking that a republican in an Irish jail who wants to move to another part of the jail and is being denied his wish and it's even more shocking that not many people will lose much sleep over him. Just because he is not the so called "right" kind of republican.

Surely it's a case of history repeating itself on the part of the Brits but just because so called mainstream republicanism has "moved on" there's not a word from them.

Breathtaking in fact.

Post by: Ulick on May 25, 2010, 10:09:24 AM
Quote from: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 10:06:16 AM
It's simply shocking that a republican in an Irish jail who wants to move to another part of the jail and is being denied his wish and it's even more shocking that not many people will lose much sleep over him. Just because he is not the so called "right" kind of republican.

Surely it's a case of history repeating itself on the part of the Brits but just because so called mainstream republicanism has "moved on" there's not a word from them.

Breathtaking in fact.

Eh? Just because Minder likes to spout off doesn't actually mean it's true.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on May 25, 2010, 10:33:51 AM
I am a firm supporter of Sinn Fein strategy regarding the peace process, I believe that we are on the right road to an equal and shared society where all our children can live in harmony. Although everything with this powersharing agreement does not sit easy with me, its definitely a better option than conflict in the 21st century we live in. There is still a rotten core to the British establishment and it exists at the top level and I fear that the torys will recruit more RIRA than arrest, they are so young in my community its scary. A lot of the diss Republicans have been labelled scumbags, traitors etc by all areas of our community, but over this struggle for 500 years they are merely 20 years behind our Deputy first minister in their theory of thinking, why hasnt there been a mass offensive to try and educate these people and their young minds. I feel Liams situation needs to be addressed now and the Sinn fein leadership should show their people that they can still support a republican getting a raw deal irrespective of his back ground, we cannot walk on egg shell around the unionists on every aspect.
Post by: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 10:42:21 AM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on May 25, 2010, 10:33:51 AM
I am a firm supporter of Sinn Fein strategy regarding the peace process, I believe that we are on the right road to an equal and shared society where all our children can live in harmony. Although everything with this powersharing agreement does not sit easy with me, its definitely a better option than conflict in the 21st century we live in. There is still a rotten core to the British establishment and it exists at the top level and I fear that the torys will recruit more RIRA than arrest, they are so young in my community its scary. A lot of the diss Republicans have been labelled scumbags, traitors etc by all areas of our community, but over this struggle for 500 years they are merely 20 years behind our Deputy first minister in their theory of thinking, why hasnt there been a mass offensive to try and educate these people and their young minds. I feel Liams situation needs to be addressed now and the Sinn fein leadership should show their people that they can still support a republican getting a raw deal irrespective of his back ground, we cannot walk on egg shell around the unionists on every aspect.

Fair play.

He's still an Irish man.

A relative of SF leader Gerry Adams.

Dissident republican / mainstream republican or anywhere in between, we can't and shouldn't have any more Irish men dying on hunger strike in British jails.

We don't want history repeating itself. Something should be done about it.
Post by: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 10:45:20 AM
In all fairness, I suppose there are other more important priorities for the Justice Minister to attend to at the moment :

Injured police officers pensions to reviewed

David Ford announced the review after meeting the Victims Commissioners Pension arrangements for injured police officers are to be reviewed, Justice Minister David Ford has announced.

Some RUC officers injured during the Troubles have claimed their pensions are being withdrawn unfairly.

It is understood about 150 cases are currently under appeal.

Mr Ford said the Policing Board and the Department of Health and Social Services would be part of the "urgent review", with an initial progress report due by the end of next month.

"I will also want to consult with the chief constable to ensure that he is content with the service provided to his officers," he added.

Mr Ford was asked by the Victims Commissioners on Monday to examine the appeals process surrounding the pensions.

The company carrying out the assessments, Capita, has said the system is independent.

The cases have been reviewed as part of a regular reassessment.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 25, 2010, 10:50:09 AM
I A lot of the diss Republicans have been labelled scumbags, traitors etc by all areas of our community, but over this struggle for 500 years they are merely 20 years behind our Deputy first minister in their theory of thinking, why hasnt there been a mass offensive to try and educate these people and their young minds.

Each time a constitutional settlement is approved electorally these guys lose (a further) piece of understanding from the wider community and distance themselves from the 500 year struggle (where ever that figure came from).

The fact is that most non-sc**bag people realise that the majority on this island saw their vote in 1998 as one against violence (regardless of their views on every detail of the GFA). 

Hence they are exasperated as what can be done for these guys to stop their violent actions.  Hence f*ck all support for this toe-rag and his "struggle".   When the political and electoral repudiation is as overwhelming as it is now, there is no justification for their actions or even labelling of their actions as political.  Hence in my view these guys are criminals and not political prisoners and have no rights to have particular wings etc..

/Jim
Post by: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 11:00:06 AM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 25, 2010, 10:50:09 AM
I A lot of the diss Republicans have been labelled scumbags, traitors etc by all areas of our community, but over this struggle for 500 years they are merely 20 years behind our Deputy first minister in their theory of thinking, why hasnt there been a mass offensive to try and educate these people and their young minds.

Each time a constitutional settlement is approved electorally these guys lose (a further) piece of understanding from the wider community and distance themselves from the 500 year struggle (where ever that figure came from).

The fact is that most non-sc**bag people realise that the majority on this island saw their vote in 1998 as one against violence (regardless of their views on every detail of the GFA). 

Hence they are exasperated as what can be done for these guys to stop their violent actions. Hence f*ck all support for this toe-rag and his "struggle".   When the political and electoral repudiation is as overwhelming as it is now, there is no justification for their actions or even labelling of their actions as political. Hence in my view these guys are criminals and not political prisoners and have no rights to have particular wings etc..
/Jim

Thatcher thought Sands was a toe rag and a criminal.

All a matter of timing.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 25, 2010, 11:21:41 AM
Quote from: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 10:45:20 AM
In all fairness, I suppose there are other more important priorities for the Justice Minister to attend to at the moment :

Injured police officers pensions to reviewed

David Ford announced the review after meeting the Victims Commissioners Pension arrangements for injured police officers are to be reviewed, Justice Minister David Ford has announced.

Some RUC officers injured during the Troubles have claimed their pensions are being withdrawn unfairly.

It is understood about 150 cases are currently under appeal.

Mr Ford said the Policing Board and the Department of Health and Social Services would be part of the "urgent review", with an initial progress report due by the end of next month.

"I will also want to consult with the chief constable to ensure that he is content with the service provided to his officers," he added.

Mr Ford was asked by the Victims Commissioners on Monday to examine the appeals process surrounding the pensions.

The company carrying out the assessments, Capita, has said the system is independent.

The cases have been reviewed as part of a regular reassessment.

Yes orangeman, I see that the "fatman" has taken this up as his latest "cause" as well.
How much more money can we throw at "these" (police, UDR, reservists, widows, families etc...) people, while we have to start losing our nurses, home helps, care workers, binmen etc...
Post by: Ulick on May 25, 2010, 11:33:09 AM

How should they address it?

By visiting the prison?
http://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/18568 (http://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/18568)  (14th May)

Releasing statements?
http://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/18414 (http://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/18414) (7th April)
http://fenian32.livejournal.com/5104932.html (http://fenian32.livejournal.com/5104932.html)  (20th May)

Contacting the media?
http://www.londonderrysentinel.co.uk/news/Hunger-strike-can-be-resolved.6311557.jp (http://www.londonderrysentinel.co.uk/news/Hunger-strike-can-be-resolved.6311557.jp) (21st May)

Highlight the issue in their own media outlets?
http://www.anphoblacht.com/news/detail/39939 (http://www.anphoblacht.com/news/detail/39939) (20th May)

Just because the issue is new to you doesn't mean others haven't been paying attention.
Post by: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 11:38:06 AM
Why is it not on BBC / RTE / UTV /SKY NEWS ??

If he dies, will it get a mention ?
Post by: Ulick on May 25, 2010, 11:43:11 AM
Quote from: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 11:38:06 AM

The media outlets have their own agenda, the Irish News in particular has shown itself up again to be the PR wing of the Stoops. Wouldn't expect anything different from the Free State media.

One of Hannaway's problems is that he is not aligned to any of the main dissident groups. He's in on old CIRA charges but is known to have left them a long time ago, and he's disliked by those in that group and the RIRA.
Post by: funtime frankie on May 25, 2010, 12:37:49 PM
Ulick, why is he disliked?

If he is disliked then why does he want to be on the same wing?

Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 25, 2010, 12:45:35 PM
Quote from: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 11:00:06 AM

Thatcher thought Sands was a toe rag and a criminal.

All a matter of timing.

My point is timing:  The timing of the actions of these people post-GFA and it's overwhelming electoral approval, island-wide takes from the support/sympathy base these guys have.

/Jim
Post by: glens abu on May 25, 2010, 12:50:10 PM

Sinn Fein are working to end these conditions and support the prisoners.

There are thirty-two republican prisoners in Roe House in Maghaberry Prison living in appalling conditions and one prisoner, Liam Hannaway, has been on hunger strike in another part of the prison for the past month.

The prisoners in Roe House are being subjected to a regime which seems not to have learned the history lesson from the H-Blocks and Armagh Women's prison in the seventies and eighties.

The essential and important difference between then and now is that the prisoners have their own clothes, live in segregated conditions and there is no British government sponsored campaign trying to criminalise them.

That to one side there is a common denominator and that is the attitude of the prison administration and in particular the Prison Officers Association towards the prisoners.

Incredible though it might seem with all the political changes that have taken place in the last decade-and-a-half which has delivered new politics on this island the six counties prison regime remains untouched and behaves as if it is a law onto itself and abuses the power it has over prisoners.

The day-to-day life of the prisoners amounts to inhuman and degrading treatment by the prison staff.

The prisoners are held in practically 24 hour cellular confinement. The rare times they are out of their cells they are subject to controlled movement by prison officers.

Between 9am and 10am breakfast is available. Each prisoner, on his own, is forced to eat his breakfast standing in the canteen and each prisoner is strictly allocated 15 minutes each to do so.

This time limit means that not all prisoners get breakfast.

The same restrictions apply to dinner and to tea. The end result of this is the prisoners exist on a reduced diet.

The prisoners are also subjected to a time-limited rota when washing which also results in many of them not being washed daily or adequately. Some have decided not to shave so infrequently have they washed.

Under prison rules a prisoner is entitled to an hours exercise a day but the warders twist the rules to ensure there are barriers in place to block access to it. The prisoner is forced to choose between using the gym, having breakfast, having a wash, or exercising in the yard.

A deterioration of conditions led to the prisoners on protest damaging their cells including the cell toilet.  This has led to the situation where nightly the prisoners are pouring urine out of their cells underneath their cell doors. Their human waste is placed in a bag and left on the prison landing where it is collected by warders.

The prisoners are stripped search excessively especially before and after visits with relatives. A refusal to be stripped search – which means the removal of all ones clothes followed by a naked-body search – results in the prisoner being denied his visit and punished for disobeying an order from a prison officer.

Last Friday three prisoners experienced this treatment.

Warders also abuse prison Rule 23 which gives them the power to arbitrarily remove a prisoner they view as 'difficult' and put him or her in isolation. One republican prisoner was over a week in isolation as of last Friday.

These are the circumstances a Sinn Féin delegation met when they visited the prison last week to speak with the prisoners.

The five-person delegation, three are former political prisoners, included MLAs, Raymond Mc Cartney, Caral Ni Chulain, Paul Maskey and John O' Dowd  and Michael Culbert,  Director of an Coiste na Niarchimi, an ex-political prisoner organisation.

The delegation met Liam Hannaway and ten of the prisoners held in Roe House. The meetings were cordial and focused on the prison conditions and the background to the dispute.

The delegation also met the head of the prison service in the north, Magabherry's governor and prison staff. To all they stressed the rights of the prisoners must be respected..

They found the senior prison staff receptive to their views.

Resolving this unacceptable situation should be high on the agenda of new minister for justice David Forde.

It is welcome news that the minister has decided to carry out a review of the north's prisons beginning with Magabherry but in the short term the situation at the prison needs urgently resolved.

Post by: pebble-dasher on May 25, 2010, 01:06:45 PM
Hannaway is a suspected informer and this is a reason why he hasnt got the full support of the people the media and sf call dissidents.  He was suspected of gathering info on other republicans before the time of his arrest.  He is supposed to have signed legal forms to stop doctors intervention in the strike. 

No matter about his past, no man should die in this way and it would be a tragedy.  He is on 42 days and i think was transfered to the hospital wing yday in bad health.
Post by: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 01:11:39 PM
Quote from: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 11:38:06 AM

It's now on  BBC /RTE news etc etc - are they reading the thread ?  ;)

I don't care what he is or who he is, what kind if republican he is etc - he's still an Irishman dying from hunger in a British jail.

This can't be right. Surely there should be something done about it ?

As for him being an informer, if he was, he was and is certainly not on his own !
Post by: Down South on May 25, 2010, 01:13:07 PM
Quote from: Club Rossa on May 25, 2010, 09:21:51 AM
Minder,what about the beatings and the fact that they sometimes go 24-48 hours without food and days without washing.Do you approve of that too?

The above is absolute nonsense. Prisoners are fed 3 times a say and get a snack for supper every evening. Even the man who is on hunger strike will be offered food, probably better food than the others. Prisoners also have a toilet and sink in their cells, while a sink is not perfect for washing, it will do until they get access to a shower.
I think everyone of us need to ask why this isn't headline news. Gerry Adams brother was headline news for weeks/months over child abuse allegations, that are as yet unproven. His cousin has been on hunger strike and the first I heard of it was on a poster on a telegraph pole, I then read it here and only realised who it was. Why is this man being ignored? Why haven't the pro Sinn Fein media not taken up his case? Why is Adams not on his case? Is this even being reported in the Irish News?
Physical force republicanism has been sidelined by Sinn Feins acceptance of British rule in the north. I think they will wash their hands or Liam Hannaway as it reminds them of where they came from. Whatever happened to "Greater love have no man for his friends than to lay down his life for them."
Post by: glens abu on May 25, 2010, 01:32:25 PM
Quote from: Down South on May 25, 2010, 01:13:07 PM
Quote from: Club Rossa on May 25, 2010, 09:21:51 AM

The above is absolute nonsense. Prisoners are fed 3 times a say and get a snack for supper every evening. Even the man who is on hunger strike will be offered food, probably better food than the others. Prisoners also have a toilet and sink in their cells, while a sink is not perfect for washing, it will do until they get access to a shower.
I think everyone of us need to ask why this isn't headline news. Gerry Adams brother was headline news for weeks/months over child abuse allegations, that are as yet unproven. His cousin has been on hunger strike and the first I heard of it was on a poster on a telegraph pole, I then read it here and only realised who it was. Why is this man being ignored? Why haven't the pro Sinn Fein media not taken up his case? Why is Adams not on his case? Is this even being reported in the Irish News?
Physical force republicanism has been sidelined by Sinn Feins acceptance of British rule in the north. I think they will wash their hands or Liam Hannaway as it reminds them of where they came from. Whatever happened to "Greater love have no man for his friends than to lay down his life for them."

Wise up do you really think Gerry Adams and Sinn Fein want this man to die. Sinn fein are working on it and if you read my post earlier you will see that they have already visited him.Who are the pro Sinn Fein media you are talking about?
Post by: Ulick on May 25, 2010, 01:39:03 PM
Quote from: funtime frankie on May 25, 2010, 12:37:49 PM
Ulick, why is he disliked?

If he is disliked then why does he want to be on the same wing?

Not sure. Apparently he's not an easy character to get along with. He was a bit of a late-comer to militant republicanism, got involved with RSF/CIRA and then left to form his own group - a reincarnation Saor Uladh.

The republican 'wing' of Maghaberry houses prisoners from all groups (IRA, RIRA and CIRA). Presumably he wants the political recognition and free association, though I heard in an interview the other night he would even be happy with a move to general population - anything other than isolation. 
Post by: Down South on May 25, 2010, 01:40:22 PM
Is all the media in the north not pro Sinn Fein now that they have turned their backs on heir past? I am looking at this from Southern prospective, this mans hunger strike, which must now be nearing a critical stage, is getting no coverage down here, or none that I have seen/heard. I will be up north this afternoon and will listen to the BBC Ulster news to see if it gets a mention. If Sinn Fein are working on it as you say, then surely this would be a national or even international story.
Post by: Ulick on May 25, 2010, 01:43:51 PM
Quote from: Down South on May 25, 2010, 01:13:07 PM

Not totally true. Since the protest at Easter, they are given an hour to wash, eat and exercise in the mornings. As they refuse to eat in their cells and only 1 person is allowed into the canteen at a time, they have to eat their meals in 15 minute intervals standing-up. This doesn't allow them all time to get fed so they have to take it in turns to skip meals and washes. Again since Easter, there are no toilets or sinks in the cells, so they are emptying piss pots under the door and faeces in plastic bags. 
Post by: Ulick on May 25, 2010, 01:46:15 PM
Quote from: Down South on May 25, 2010, 01:40:22 PM
Is all the media in the north not pro Sinn Fein now that they have turned their backs on heir past? I am looking at this from Southern prospective, this mans hunger strike, which must now be nearing a critical stage, is getting no coverage down here, or none that I have seen/heard. I will be up north this afternoon and will listen to the BBC Ulster news to see if it gets a mention. If Sinn Fein are working on it as you say, then surely this would be a national or even international story.

Name me one media outlet in Ireland that is "pro Sinn Fein".
Post by: pebble-dasher on May 25, 2010, 01:48:27 PM
The prisoners are getting beatings.  Did turlouch mc allister from cross brake his own arm! 
The conditions the pows are subject to are geting as bad as the blanket no wash protest. 

It doesnt suit sf to take up the case of the pows.  Yes they sent in a team to meet with the prisoners but they were denied access to hannaway. 
Post by: glens abu on May 25, 2010, 01:49:48 PM

Why because Sinn Fein have been to the goal and met the justice minister over it do you think the press were you live give a fiddlers,please tell me which paper you read and I will tell you how much they are pro Sinn Fein.Its been in the Irish news, on BBC,ITV and the local papers Andytown News and others have been covering it for weeks.Think you will get more information  from those telegraph polls you are climbing than you will from the media in the South
Post by: Ulick on May 25, 2010, 01:50:30 PM
Quote from: pebble-dasher on May 25, 2010, 01:48:27 PM
It doesnt suit sf to take up the case of the pows.  Yes they sent in a team to meet with the prisoners but they were denied access to hannaway.

Not so, they met with Hannaway.
Post by: glens abu on May 25, 2010, 01:53:11 PM
Quote from: pebble-dasher on May 25, 2010, 01:48:27 PM
The prisoners are getting beatings.  Did turlouch mc allister from cross brake his own arm! 
The conditions the pows are subject to are geting as bad as the blanket no wash protest. 

you obviously are not very well informed as they did meet Liam Hannaway so get your facts right before coming on here and talking nonsense
Post by: Down South on May 25, 2010, 02:00:03 PM
Yet again why are we only hearing about this on an GAA discussion board? This are appalling conditions for anyone to be kept in and while the prison authorities will argue that they are of the prisioners own making, something has to be done on both sides.
Regarding eating in the cells, is it the norm throughout the jail or are republicans being forced to do it as a punishment?
Post by: Down South on May 25, 2010, 02:01:00 PM
Quote from: Ulick on May 25, 2010, 01:46:15 PM

Name me one media outlet in Ireland that is "pro Sinn Fein".

Surely the pro British media in the north are sympathetic to the pro British parties? Is that not logical?
Post by: glens abu on May 25, 2010, 02:07:23 PM
Quote from: Down South on May 25, 2010, 02:00:03 PM
Yet again why are we only hearing about this on an GAA discussion board? This are appalling conditions for anyone to be kept in and while the prison authorities will argue that they are of the prisioners own making, something has to be done on both sides.
Regarding eating in the cells, is it the norm throughout the jail or are republicans being forced to do it as a punishment?

Wrong again,you are only hearing about it on the GAA board others who have an interest in such matters have known about it for a long time.You should right a letter to which ever paper you read and complain .
Post by: Down South on May 25, 2010, 02:11:36 PM
Quote from: glens abu on May 25, 2010, 02:07:23 PM

Wrong again,you are only hearing about it on the GAA board others who have an interest in such matters have known about it for a long time.You should right a letter to which ever paper you read and complain .

Is it not the medias job to inform Joe Public about this mans case? Surely there has to be some sort of campaign being run by one or other of the republican grpups in the north to highlight this hunger strike and if not why not?
I`ll leave the letter "righting" to you.
Post by: glens abu on May 25, 2010, 02:13:13 PM
Quote from: Down South on May 25, 2010, 02:11:36 PM
Quote from: glens abu on May 25, 2010, 02:07:23 PM

Is it not the medias job to inform Joe Public about this mans case? Surely there has to be some sort of campaign being run by one or other of the republican grpups in the north to highlight this hunger strike and if not why not?
I`ll leave the letter "righting" to you.

you are probably right to do that as I will be more informed
Post by: Down South on May 25, 2010, 02:19:34 PM
You seem very well informed indeed. Is it any wonder that this man is likely to die, in vain, with people like you on the case.
Jesus feckin wept.
Post by: Zapatista on May 25, 2010, 02:29:48 PM
Yet again why are we only hearing about this on an GAA discussion board? This are appalling conditions for anyone to be kept in and while the prison authorities will argue that they are of the prisioners own making, something has to be done on both sides.Regarding eating in the cells, is it the norm throughout the jail or are republicans being forced to do it as a punishment?

The problem is that the vast majoity of the established politicians and media both north and south are anti-republican.
Post by: Down South on May 25, 2010, 02:37:05 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on May 25, 2010, 02:29:48 PM
Yet again why are we only hearing about this on an GAA discussion board? This are appalling conditions for anyone to be kept in and while the prison authorities will argue that they are of the prisioners own making, something has to be done on both sides.Regarding eating in the cells, is it the norm throughout the jail or are republicans being forced to do it as a punishment?

The problem is that the vast majoity of the established politicians and media both north and south are anti-republican.

Including Sinn Fein it seems.
This situation could be fixed very easily, without the need for political intervention. This young mans legal representatives should be able to take a case (judicial review) to force the prison governor to move him to a wing were he would be more suited. If the republicans in the jail are willing to accept him then that should be the end of the matter. It is then simply a matter of moving him to a hospital until he is fit enough to fend for himself again, I am assuming that after 40 odd days on hunger strike that he will be in poor physical shape.  When he is fit and well again allow him onto the wing and end of problem.
Post by: Zapatista on May 25, 2010, 02:40:29 PM
Quote from: Down South on May 25, 2010, 02:37:05 PM
Including Sinn Fein it seems.
This situation could be fixed very easily, without the need for political intervention. This young mans legal representatives should be able to take a case (judicial review) to force the prison governor to move him to a wing were he would be more suited. If the republicans in the jail are willing to accept him then that should be the end of the matter. It is then simply a matter of moving him to a hospital until he is fit enough to fend for himself again, I am assuming that after 40 odd days on hunger strike that he will be in poor physical shape.  When he is fit and well again allow him onto the wing and end of problem.

I wasn't including SF in that.

He will be dead before any legal action can have any effect. He will also have to deal with a legal system stacked against republicans.
Post by: Down South on May 25, 2010, 02:55:26 PM
An emergency application can be made to the courts at any time. It seems that Liam Hannaway, like Bobby Sands, will be allowed to die to further someone elses ideals. A sad waste of life.
Post by: Ulick on May 25, 2010, 02:59:26 PM
Die for someone else's ideals - would you care to explain?
Post by: Down South on May 25, 2010, 03:25:43 PM
Quote from: Ulick on May 25, 2010, 02:59:26 PM

The ten men who died on the 1981 hunger strike, were allowed to die by the republican leadership, to further a political objective. They did not die as they believed, in search of political status or for their demands. Towards the end of the strike, the families, those closest to the men who were dying began to see through everything and pulled them off the strike one by one and a deal was reached. I believe a deal could have been reached much sooner, but that did not suit certain people.
I have the up most respect for each of the men who died, not just as republicans but as human beings. They had nothing else to give, so they gave their lives for something they believed in.
I do not know a lot about Liam Hannaway. I assume he is a cousin on Gerry's mothers side of the family, I think she was a Hannaway. His death will be used to further someone else's cause, however misguided or ill informed. If anyone was interested in Liam Hannaways well being, this matter which is really quite trivial, could be sorted out before lock up is called this evening.
Gerry Adams is one of the most powerful men in the north. Are you seriously trying to tell me that he could not exert some influence, be that through political means within the NIO or through his republican family connections to try to broker a deal. This is his own family we are talking about. Never mind calling a decent solicitor and getting the matter before the courts.
Bobby Sands famously said something along the lines of "everyone, republican or otherwise has his/her own part to play" Have republicans in the north forgot those words? Can no one play their part and save this mans life? Are we really going to allow a man to die simply because he is in the wrong cell?
Post by: Ulick on May 25, 2010, 03:37:16 PM
I'm still not sure of the point you are trying to make about dying for someone else's beliefs. No matter, regarding Adams, if you Google Hannaway you'll find that there is no love lost between the two and Hannaway has publically heckled Adams on a number of occasions. It's credit to Adams that he hasn't held this against him and is publically supporting his protest.
Post by: Zapatista on May 25, 2010, 03:45:12 PM
This board is getting rediculous beyond belief. First people were trying to blame the IRA for a vicious murder in NY and now Adams is to blame for a Republican who might die on Hungerstrike. It's beyond belief.

Down South, did you look at those at the other end of the protest? They are claiming his life would be in danger if they moved him. Unless you can prove that he is safe every court and judge will side with those claims. Perhaps you should direct your anger at those keeping him in isolation as opposed to those who are trying to help him move to the republican wing.
Post by: Club Rossa on May 25, 2010, 04:06:22 PM
Down South,it's a shame you dismissed my post as absolute nonsense.There's a fella from my part of the country in Maghaberry at the minute,i have been to see him on numerous occasions and i can assure you that he doesn't get fed 3 times a day.He has been made to miss meals,has been continiously strip searched and has a sink to wash himself in,hardly ideal.He has also been told that his beating is coming very soon.I don't know who informed you about getting fed 3 times a day and with snacks,but that is complete bullshit.
Post by: pebble-dasher on May 25, 2010, 04:13:17 PM
I was told sf didnt get to meet hannaway, but you could be right ulick,

ZAP
The republican prisoners did release a statement saying that there was no threat against liam hannaway and that he would be welcomed on the wing.
Post by: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 04:40:42 PM
Whatever the rights and wrongs of this particular type of republican, this man should not be allowed to die. I don't see why the entire focus should be on SF in order to highlight the case. The SDLP could do it - Fianna Fail could do it -

Where is the Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission ?.

Where is his solicitor / barrister ?

Where is the prison chaplain ?

Common sense should prevail. The hunger strikes and the deaths of 10 men in 1981 was the biggest recruiting sargent for the IRA. That hunger strike provoked one the biggest reactions in N.Ireland in the history of the state.

Now 30 years later, another Irish republican is ready to die and some people on here at least are saying, to hell with him, let him die.

Words fail me.
Post by: Club Rossa on May 25, 2010, 04:42:18 PM
Well summed up Orangeman.
Post by: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 04:44:22 PM
Thankfully SF are again taking up the case.

Hunger striker Liam Hannaway on prison health watch

Page last updated at 13:01 GMT, Tuesday, 25 May 2010 14:01 UK
E-mail this to a friendPrintable version A dissident republican on hunger strike for 42 days has been moved to the health care unit at Maghaberry prison.

Liam Hannaway has served almost two and a half years of a 10-year sentence for possessing explosives and ammunition.

His family say he is refusing food in protest at being held in a vulnerable prisoners unit rather than on a wing with other dissidents.

They reject prison authorities' claims his life would be in danger if he was moved to the republican wing.

Hannaway is from a well-known west Belfast republican family and is a relative of Sinn Fein leader Gerry Adams.

It is understood the 40-year-old was moved to the health care unit at Maghaberry on Monday night.

Prison sources say there are no immediate concerns for his health and the move is to enable medical staff to monitor his condition more closely.

A Sinn Fein delegation led by Martin McGuinness and Raymond McCartney is to discuss the situation at Maghaberry with Justice Minister David Ford later on Tuesday.
Post by: funtime frankie on May 25, 2010, 05:09:13 PM
Please God this situation will get sorted and the Republican leadership will lead. I just can't get my head around why the prison authorities will not let Hannaway on to the Republican Wing.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but Hannaway's protest is not about the degradation being suffered by the prisoners but because of his isolation?

The undignified treatment of the prisoners is a different issue?

I am shocked, saddened and ashamed to see those people come on o this sight and adopt the attitude of, "F**k him, let him die." Much the same as attitude Thatcher which really says it all.

I don't agree with those who maintain that armed struggle is still necessary. To me, armed struggle is a tactic and should only be used when there is no viable alternative. The current political process offers that alternative.

Having said that, it is wrong to become a spectator and stand by and watch a fellow Irishman die in a prison cell without doing anything to help save him and to stop us from making the mistakes of the past. But in supporting the prisoners' calls from more humane treatment and Hannway's call to be housed with other republican prisoners doesn't mean that I agree with their political analysis
Post by: stew on May 25, 2010, 05:24:58 PM
Quote from: funtime frankie on May 25, 2010, 05:09:13 PM
Please God this situation will get sorted and the Republican leadership will lead. I just can't get my head around why the prison authorities will not let Hannaway on to the Republican Wing.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but Hannaway's protest is not about the degradation being suffered by the prisoners but because of his isolation?

The undignified treatment of the prisoners is a different issue?

I am shocked, saddened and ashamed to see those people come on o this sight and adopt the attitude of, "F**k him, let him die." Much the same as attitude Thatcher which really says it all.

I don't agree with those who maintain that armed struggle is still necessary. To me, armed struggle is a tactic and should only be used when there is no viable alternative. The current political process offers that alternative.

Having said that, it is wrong to become a spectator and stand by and watch a fellow Irishman die in a prison cell without doing anything to help save him and to stop us from making the mistakes of the past. But in supporting the prisoners' calls from more humane treatment and Hannway's call to be housed with other republican prisoners doesn't mean that I agree with their political analysis

I would be one who has absolutely no time for these dissidents, I think they are a bunch of cnuts. I also think that this man is being unfairly treated but for fecks sake going on hunger strike and killing yourself is no way to get what you want, all he is doing is what the brits want him to do, to die and they show paddy the stiff upper lip, that they wont be broken.

The media coverage or lack therof is shocking and I hope he lives however just like the times when the loyalist fueds were going on, if a bunch of dissident republicians started bunmping each other off I would be ok with that, to me they are scumbags to a man.
Post by: Nally Stand on May 25, 2010, 06:40:50 PM
"
Quote from: Down South on May 25, 2010, 03:25:43 PM
Quote from: Ulick on May 25, 2010, 02:59:26 PM

The ten men who died on the 1981 hunger strike, were allowed to die by the republican leadership, to further a political objective. They did not die as they believed, in search of political status or for their demands. Towards the end of the strike, the families, those closest to the men who were dying began to see through everything and pulled them off the strike one by one and a deal was reached. I believe a deal could have been reached much sooner, but that did not suit certain people.
I have the up most respect for each of the men who died, not just as republicans but as human beings. They had nothing else to give, so they gave their lives for something they believed in.
I do not know a lot about Liam Hannaway. I assume he is a cousin on Gerry's mothers side of the family, I think she was a Hannaway. His death will be used to further someone else's cause, however misguided or ill informed. If anyone was interested in Liam Hannaways well being, this matter which is really quite trivial, could be sorted out before lock up is called this evening.
Gerry Adams is one of the most powerful men in the north. Are you seriously trying to tell me that he could not exert some influence, be that through political means within the NIO or through his republican family connections to try to broker a deal. This is his own family we are talking about. Never mind calling a decent solicitor and getting the matter before the courts.
Bobby Sands famously said something along the lines of "everyone, republican or otherwise has his/her own part to play" Have republicans in the north forgot those words? Can no one play their part and save this mans life? Are we really going to allow a man to die simply because he is in the wrong cell?

I have highlighted two parts of your quote which are remarkably contradictory. As someone who regards the Hunger Strikers as my heroes I must challenge you on that. Unless you can provide specific proof (something which Ed Maloney couldn't do when he initially came up with this argument) then you should not be presenting at as truth. Perhaprs you should be using the words "I believe" more often instead.
Post by: Myles Na G. on May 25, 2010, 06:53:37 PM
Quote from: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 10:42:21 AM

Fair play.

He's still an Irish man.

Dissident republican / mainstream republican or anywhere in between, we can't and shouldn't have any more Irish men dying on hunger strike in British jails.

Irish jails.  ;)
Post by: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 07:20:02 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on May 25, 2010, 06:53:37 PM
Quote from: orangeman on May 25, 2010, 10:42:21 AM

Fair play.

He's still an Irish man.

Irish jails.  ;)

Irish jails ?
Post by: Maguire01 on May 25, 2010, 07:35:17 PM
Well they're Irish jails if you consider that they fall under the P&J powers devolved to the Assembly. And if they're not Irish, then SF are administering British rule. And many are at pains to say that they aren't.
Post by: Myles Na G. on May 25, 2010, 07:40:07 PM
The prison in which Hannaway is held is on the island of Ireland. It is staffed, in the main, by men and women from the island of Ireland. It is controlled by a local administration of Irishmen and women, voted into office by Irish voters. The political prisoners held there are being held for offences committed against the people of Ireland.

So why is it a British jail?
Post by: Evil Genius on May 25, 2010, 07:52:26 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on May 25, 2010, 07:40:07 PM
The prison in which Hannaway is held is on the island of Ireland. It is staffed, in the main, by men and women from the island of Ireland. It is controlled by a local administration of Irishmen and women, voted into office by Irish voters. The political prisoners held there are being held for offences committed against the people of Ireland.

Because the Brits are paying for it.

Google "Barnett Formula", if it helps (though the rest of your point stands)
Post by: Maguire01 on May 25, 2010, 08:03:45 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on May 25, 2010, 07:52:26 PM
Some of us here pay taxes too.
Post by: Myles Na G. on May 25, 2010, 08:23:50 PM

Google "Barnett Formula", if it helps (though the rest of your point stands)
The English are paying for it, given that Scotland, Wales and NI are all heavily subsidised by the UK Exchequer. Therefore if finance is your only yardstick, it's an English jail.
Post by: Ulick on May 25, 2010, 08:49:59 PM
He has ended his protest.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/10159464.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/10159464.stm)
Post by: Down South on May 25, 2010, 08:57:55 PM
Quote from: Ulick on May 25, 2010, 08:49:59 PM
He has ended his protest.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/10159464.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/10159464.stm)

Hopefully he will be treated fairly now.
Post by: seafoid on May 25, 2010, 09:05:12 PM

the Brits pay 20,000GBP per dyed green in the wool republican family in norn Irn including the most rabid Shinners and 32 county sovereign children but that does not make those people Brutush.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on May 25, 2010, 09:15:49 PM
one dissident arsehole is not worth even 1 page, never mind 7
Post by: Nally Stand on May 25, 2010, 09:26:58 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on May 25, 2010, 09:15:49 PM
one dissident arsehole is not worth even 1 page, never mind 7

It's not up to me to disprove any false accusation you throw at me on this board ardmhaca. Therfore I demand that unless you prove I am a liar, you retract your statement.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on May 25, 2010, 09:36:57 PM
You stupid fcuker.

You made false claims about me so I called you a liar.  It's up to you to prove that what you said about me is correct, you can't do that though because you are a f**king liar.

Gabshite
Post by: Maguire01 on May 25, 2010, 09:38:59 PM
NS, can you get over this or bring it to PMs? I'm sure I'm not the only one bored of this.
Post by: Nally Stand on May 25, 2010, 09:40:46 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on May 25, 2010, 09:36:57 PM
You stupid fcuker.

You made false claims about me so I called you a liar.  It's up to you to prove that what you said about me is correct, you can't do that though because you are a f**king liar.

Gabshite

Resorting to personal abuse??! MATURE INDEED!

What claims did I make? (Other than the ones I backed up with direct quotes from you, icluding dates you quopted them)??

Prove I lied or retract your accusation.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on May 25, 2010, 09:41:24 PM
Fcuk off
Post by: Nally Stand on May 25, 2010, 09:42:05 PM
Why take it up with me and not ardmhacaabu? Is he not the one in the wrong by making false accusations and then telling me it is up to me to disprove them? Then by dishing out personal abuse like in his last three posts?
Post by: Nally Stand on May 25, 2010, 09:42:52 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on May 25, 2010, 09:41:24 PM
Fcuk off

Not until you retract your accusation or provide evidence to support it.
Post by: Ulick on May 25, 2010, 09:45:57 PM
You'll be getting at least a decade of the rosary for that carry-on ardmhachaabu. Make sure you give it up for the virgin mother Margaret, the top stoop could be doing with your prayers. 
Post by: ardmhachaabu on May 25, 2010, 09:48:23 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on May 25, 2010, 09:42:52 PM
Fcuk off

Liar.  Gabshite
Post by: Maguire01 on May 25, 2010, 09:52:11 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on May 25, 2010, 09:42:05 PM
Why take it up with me and not ardmhacaabu?
Because you're the one who keeps bringing it up.
Post by: Nally Stand on May 25, 2010, 09:54:07 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on May 25, 2010, 09:48:23 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on May 25, 2010, 09:42:52 PM
Fcuk off

Liar.  Gabshite

Prove your point or withdraw the accusation.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on May 25, 2010, 09:56:05 PM
You are a liar and a gabshite and I will not retract a word of it.  You have harassed me for weeks on this and I have had enough of your shite.
Post by: Nally Stand on May 25, 2010, 09:56:34 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 25, 2010, 09:52:11 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on May 25, 2010, 09:42:05 PM
Why take it up with me and not ardmhacaabu?
Because you're the one who keeps bringing it up.

Yes because I am the one being accused on the board of being a liar. Why wouldn't I press for the accusor to prove his point or retract. Interesting that you don't have anything to say to ardmhacaabu despite hi, making his accusation, claiming it's OK to make up accusations and leave you to disprove it, and throwing personal abuse.
Post by: Nally Stand on May 25, 2010, 10:02:25 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on May 25, 2010, 09:56:05 PM
You are a liar and a gabshite and I will not retract a word of it.  You have harassed me for weeks on this and I have had enough of your shite.

And I will continue to do so until you wither PROVE YOUR ACCUSATION or RETRACT THE ACCUSATION. Be a man.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on May 25, 2010, 10:12:47 PM
Be a man?

Name the time and place liar
Post by: Nally Stand on May 25, 2010, 10:15:05 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on May 25, 2010, 10:12:47 PM
Be a man?

Name the time and place liar

:D :D :D I thought you were a pacafist and a former possible Priest??! :D :D :D

Time: Now
Place: Here

BACK UP YOUR ACCUSATIONS OR RETRACT THEM
Post by: give her dixie on May 25, 2010, 11:03:41 PM
Dont know if this has been posted already, but Liam has called off his hunger strike.
Was on the news there now
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on May 25, 2010, 11:19:05 PM
Whats a Gabshite????
Post by: Orior on May 25, 2010, 11:20:46 PM
Will someone please think of the children.
Post by: longrunsthefox on May 25, 2010, 11:21:29 PM

Realspirit you got in just before me...  gobshite Loud-mouthed person who talks a lot, but nothing with any value - as in shite coming out of their gob.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on May 25, 2010, 11:22:03 PM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on May 25, 2010, 11:19:05 PM
Whats a Gabshite????
Jaysus, an Armagh man who doesn't know what a gabshite is.  Don't suppose you know what bletherskite means either then?  :D
Post by: Zapatista on May 25, 2010, 11:41:28 PM
Quote from: pebble-dasher on May 25, 2010, 04:13:17 PM
ZAP
The republican prisoners did release a statement saying that there was no threat against liam hannaway and that he would be welcomed on the wing.

I know I just don't think it would be considered over the Prison authorities position in court.

I'm glad he has called off the protest. I hope he can make a full and speedy recover and also that he gets his requests granted.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on May 26, 2010, 01:04:20 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 25, 2010, 11:21:29 PM

Realspirit you got in just before me...  gobshite Loud-mouthed person who talks a lot, but nothing with any value - as in shite coming out of their gob.

I know what a gobshite is though
Post by: ardmhachaabu on May 26, 2010, 09:42:37 AM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on May 26, 2010, 01:04:20 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 25, 2010, 11:21:29 PM

I know what a gobshite is though
http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/voices/atilazed/g.shtml (http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/voices/atilazed/g.shtml)
Post by: glens abu on May 26, 2010, 09:45:53 AM
Quote from: Down South on May 25, 2010, 02:19:34 PM
You seem very well informed indeed. Is it any wonder that this man is likely to die, in vain, with people like you on the case.
Jesus feckin wept.

there you go he has ended his strike,little thanks to people like you who do nothing only blame others.
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 26, 2010, 09:46:04 AM
People like this on hunger strike only serve to besmirch the honour of the previous hunger strikers, this man was never going to follow it through.  A disgrace to the honour of Bobby Sands et al.
Post by: Zapatista on May 26, 2010, 10:16:05 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on May 26, 2010, 09:46:04 AM
People like this on hunger strike only serve to besmirch the honour of the previous hunger strikers, this man was never going to follow it through.  A disgrace to the honour of Booby Sands et al.

That's just madness. Hungerstrike is a common form of protestr. The hope is that no one dies on hungerstrike. It is a tool used to force an issue. Bobby Sands and his comrades were not setting a bench mark for future hungerstrikes. It is a disgrace to his honour to use his death to deter protest.
Post by: orangeman on May 26, 2010, 10:17:43 AM
People like this on hunger strike only serve to besmirch the honour of the previous hunger strikers, this man was never going to follow it through.   A disgrace to the honour of Booby Sands et al.

How do you know he wasn't going to follow it through ?

Post by: Doogie Browser on May 26, 2010, 10:52:56 AM
Quote from: orangeman on May 26, 2010, 10:17:43 AM
People like this on hunger strike only serve to besmirch the honour of the previous hunger strikers, this man was never going to follow it through.   A disgrace to the honour of Bobby Sands et al.

How do you know he wasn't going to follow it through ?

Just a hunch  ;)
Post by: Myles Na G. on May 26, 2010, 10:56:37 AM
People like this on hunger strike only serve to besmirch the honour of the previous hunger strikers, this man was never going to follow it through.  A disgrace to the honour of Booby Sands et al.
Freudian slip, maybe?
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 26, 2010, 11:03:52 AM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on May 26, 2010, 10:56:37 AM
Freudian slip, maybe?
In fairness Myles that made me laugh and it shouldn't have really you bastid  ;)
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 26, 2010, 11:05:42 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on May 26, 2010, 10:16:05 AM
People like this on hunger strike only serve to besmirch the honour of the previous hunger strikers, this man was never going to follow it through.  A disgrace to the honour of Bobby Sands et al.

That's just madness. Hungerstrike is a common form of protestr. The hope is that no one dies on hungerstrike. It is a tool used to force an issue. Bobby Sands and his comrades were not setting a bench mark for future hungerstrikes. It is a disgrace to his honour to use his death to deter protest.
No its not, its normally a last resort.
Post by: Down South on May 26, 2010, 12:45:35 PM
A CROSSMAGLEN man is considering going on Hunger Strike if conditions at Maghaberry Prison don't improve.

Turloch McAllister, who is serving 12 years for making and possessing bombs, says tensions in the jail have reached boiling point as republicans continue to be treated differently from other inmates.

Prisoners at Roe House, the republican wing of Maghaberry, are protesting amidst claims of repeated strip-searching, violence, 23-hour lockdown, reduced visits and some have no functioning toilet facilities in cells.

The protest has been ongoing since Easter and 36-year-old McAllister say they haven't ruled out refusing to eat as options appear "limited".

"I fear things are going to get a lot worse in here," he wrote in a letter to the Democrat.

"WE all know from history where that is going to lead, we are prepared to sort this out sensibly if they meet us halfway but we are also prepared to go all the way."

McAllister's father, former Sinn Fein councillor Jim, visited his son on Wednesday and believes the situation will escalate if it is not addressed immediately.

Asked about his son embarking on a hunger strike, Mr McAllister said: "It's not something I like to think about but it's a worry as the prisoners are under pressure and their options are limited."

A white line picket was organised in Camlough on Friday to "show support and solidarity" for the prisoners.

It fell on the 29th anniversary of the death of Hunger Striker Raymond McCreesh and the irony wasn't lost on organisers.

"Today in 2010 republicans are also being forced to protest for humane conditions and political status," one said.

However, despite the difficulties, Mr McAllister says the prisoners are resilient.

"Turloch has been remarkably strong given all that's going on," he said. "It's a natural human reaction when things are forced on you, it strengthens your resolve and that's what's happening with the prisoners. By demoralising them, it's making them stronger."

Mr McAllister found his son with a bruised face after an alleged beating by the Standby Search Team (SST) within Maghaberry earlier this month.

McAllister has consulted a solicitor about the alleged assault with a view to pursuing legal action against the prison.

The Northern Ireland Inspectorate recommended the disbandment of SSTs in its reports in 2006 and 2009 describing the units as "overly militaristic".

Prisoners are also subject to strip searches on a "too regular" basis, says Mr McAllister.

All 32 republican prisoners housed at Roe House – including McAllister – were involved in a protest at Easter when they barricaded themselves into a dining room for several days.

As a consequence, restrictions have been imposed during which time McAllister's clothing was apparently confiscated and not returned.

"The clothes just seemed to have disappeared. We can't bring clothes into him and the wardens are claiming the records say he has his clothes. It's all psychological torture and it's getting to him," his father said.

A Northern Ireland Prison Service spokesman said any allegation of brutality is "strongly refuted".

"We have a duty of care to all prisoners.

"It is the personal choice of the prisoners whether or not they wish to avail of the regime being offered.

"The withdrawal of goodwill by POA members did lead to a restriction in the regime but this ended early last month."

In relation to searching, NIPS said it has a responsibility to respond to risks posed by the supply of illicit drugs or other contraband within prisons.

"The frequency of full body searching is no greater in Northern Ireland prisons than elsewhere in similar establishments in the UK," said the spokesperson.

"The conditions in Roe House, where republican separated prisoners are located, are amongst the best in the prison estate. However a number of prisoners did smash basins and toilets in their cells on the evening of May 6."

Picket takes protest to streets

REPUBLICANS took to the streets of Camlough on Friday evening in support of prisoners in Maghaberry.

The white line picket took place on the 29th anniversary of Raymond McCreesh's death aged 24 after 61 days on Hunger Strike.

It was described as being organised in conjunction with family and friends of Maghaberry prisoners.

The picket was to highlight the "inhumane conditions" in the prison including strip searches, claims of assaults and criminalisation.

"It is fitting this picket will fall on the 29th anniversary of Raymond McCreesh who, along with his nine brave comrades, paid the supreme sacrifice to achieve better conditions and to smash Thatcher's policy of criminalizing republican POWs," a statement read.

"Today in 2010 republicans are also being forced to protest for inhumane conditions and political conditions."

They are prostesting for inhumane conditions? Only in Camlough  :D
Post by: Zapatista on May 26, 2010, 12:53:35 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on May 26, 2010, 11:05:42 AM

There have been atleast 5 this year and many more that have made the threat. I'd call that common.
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 26, 2010, 12:56:14 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on May 26, 2010, 12:53:35 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on May 26, 2010, 11:05:42 AM

There have been atleast 5 this year and many more that have made the threat. I'd call that common.
thats cleared up then
Post by: glens abu on May 26, 2010, 02:13:43 PM
The prisoners in Roe House are being subjected to a regime which seems not to have learned the history lesson from the H-Blocks and Armagh Women's prison in the seventies and eighties.

The essential and important difference between then and now is that the prisoners have their own clothes, live in segregated conditions and there is no British government sponsored campaign trying to criminalise them.

That to one side there is a common denominator and that is the attitude of the prison administration and in particular the Prison Officers Association towards the prisoners.

Incredible though it might seem with all the political changes that have taken place in the last decade-and-a-half which has delivered new politics on this island the six counties prison regime remains untouched and behaves as if it is a law onto itself and abuses the power it has over prisoners.

The day-to-day life of the prisoners amounts to inhuman and degrading treatment by the prison staff.

needs to be sorted but there is a big difference between now and 1976-1981

Post by: Main Street on May 26, 2010, 02:20:06 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on May 26, 2010, 10:16:05 AM

Many that write on this thread about this hunger strike would not know what a point of principle was, never mind being able  to shut their gob/give up food for 24 hours to defend that point of principle.