Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: GalwayBayBoy on February 12, 2007, 10:57:11 PM

Title: Barcelona - things to see and do?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 12, 2007, 10:57:11 PM
Going to Barcelona shortly and was just wondering can anyone recommend things to see there? Places to eat? Bars? Etc, etc.

Title: Re: Barcelona - things to see and do?
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on February 12, 2007, 11:08:19 PM
bus tour - cannot go wrong with the bus tour. i thought the park guell (sp) was a very nice spot, my favourite spot in barca anyway.
Post by: Over the Bar on February 13, 2007, 12:10:22 AM
OK don't miss the Gaudi houses and get the audio tour at each otherwise it can all go over your head a bit.  Get there early tho.   They have to be seen to be believed. Secondly the Sagrada Familia cathedral and Park Guell.  The Red & Blue bus routes are about €20 for 2 days.  Buy both as a package instead of seperately.  The will stop at every worthwhile sight and you hop on and off.

Most importantely do not miss montserrat. Its about 45 mins in the train and utterly breathtaking.  The pics here do not do it justice.  If you get there before lunch you'll be treated to the gregorian chanting in the catherdral. 

http://www.catalunatics.com/es/Montserrat/MO.htm 
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on February 13, 2007, 09:15:26 AM
Montserrat is spectacular, a must see.

Bars wise, the main spot is along the Ramblas.  loads of stuff goin on round there.  at the bottom of the street there is a pier which takes u to a spot where there's loads of nightclubs.

Watch the pockets.  there was about 20 of us over.  one fella got his wallet robbed and one of the girls had to fight one of the locals off when he grabbed her handbag.  she kicked him in the stones, sorted him out.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 13, 2007, 10:47:42 AM
at the bottom of la ramblas, there is a square- place real
in there yo u will find two restaurants in each side of one of the corners
go to the cheaper place - the food is great and very inexpensive
may have to queue though..

Park guell, la sagrida la famillia, the gaudi houses, Camp nou
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 13, 2007, 11:00:45 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 13, 2007, 10:47:42 AM

I think the restaurant to which you refer is Les Quinze Nits in Place Reial - an excellent call, particularly if you get a seat outside.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 13, 2007, 12:39:58 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 13, 2007, 11:00:45 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 13, 2007, 10:47:42 AM

I think the restaurant to which you refer is Les Quinze Nits in Place Reial - an excellent call, particularly if you get a seat outside.
dunno about the nits but 'Quinze' something or other rings a bell - and thats after a couple of bottles of vino in there
great place
careful not to be drawn into plastic Irish bar behind it
fake place , fake atmosphere and realistic Irish prices... :o
Post by: Over the Bar on February 13, 2007, 12:46:19 PM
Quotedunno about the nits but 'Quinze' something or other rings a bell

Yes its Les Quinze Nuits which if my o level french teacher wasnt a liar means 'fortnight'.  Top-class dining at reasonable prices.  Bring a couple of bottles of plonk and some plastic cups to drink in the queue as you could be there a while! well worth it tho!
Post by: Mack the finger on February 13, 2007, 01:23:09 PM
All of the aforementioned.

if ye have a couple of hours of your hands, check out Salvador dali's museum in Figureres - short train ride away. Mad as a box of frogs.

The cable car up to the castle that overlooks barcelona, and the museum beside it is nice too.

After you've climbed sagrada da familia, cross the park for a nice pint in the Irish pub (can't remember name).

Camp nou is great - go early, serious crowds. Same for the Picasso museums.

Los Ramblos is great at night - going towards the harbour, I wouldn't stray too far to the right hand side - some dodgies around there.

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 13, 2007, 04:36:54 PM
Thanks for the tips lads.

Any more would be welcome.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 13, 2007, 04:47:33 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 13, 2007, 04:36:54 PM
Thanks for the tips lads.

Any more would be welcome.
dont eat in the fast tapas bars.
the stuff is carp in comparison to the good stuff you can get in the wee tapas bars - in the gothi-barric region.

you can get loads of cheap straw donkeys down round the sea front.
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 14, 2007, 08:24:40 AM
I have been told that you should try a restauarant called Can Cortada, Av. Estatut de Catalunya.  It is about a 20 minute taxi journey form Las Ramblas, but the steak are supposed to be the best in the city.  Taxi should cost no more than 20 euros and it is well worth it, apparently.  I don't have directions, but your hotel and / or taxi man will know exactly where it is.

Post by: dodo on February 14, 2007, 12:03:30 PM
Some previous info

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=368.msg10062#msg10062
Post by: Yer Ma on February 14, 2007, 03:16:44 PM
I thought the Picasso Museum was pretty boring, though admittedly I'm not much of an art boffin. It's always well queued up so if you want to go be prepared for a half hour wait or so.

Beware to of the prices of the sangria on La Ramblas - we took a seat outside at one of the bars and got two jugs of sangria, then got a bill for €36 which was a bit steep. I think it's best to eat and drink away from the main street.
Post by: bailestil on February 14, 2007, 05:36:03 PM
Staying in Rabmla de Catalunya last year, great spot just up from Las Ramblas which had the bars and cafe's either side with seating in the middle of the road. Good spot to get food and would be a bit cheaper than La Rambla, and a bit quieter.

Plaza Real just off las ramblas has some nice spots and a niteclub in the corner which is a good place to go.

As someone said the bus routes are the best way around all the sites. But sitting on a open double decker bus all day will be a surefire way to slowly cook youself to death, so bring water and a hat in the high summer!

Barcalona is definately the nicest city i've ever set foot in.
Post by: passedit on January 08, 2008, 10:24:48 AM
I'm in Barcelona this weekend for a stag do and I see Barcelona are playing R Murcia on Saturday. Anybody any idea how hard or easy it would be to get tickets for this or how you'd go about it at this stage?
Post by: Billys Boots on January 08, 2008, 10:32:49 AM
I made inquiries before P, and I'm led to believe you can buy tickets in kiosks on the streets surrounding the stadium in the days leading up to a match.
Post by: passedit on January 08, 2008, 10:42:53 AM
Thanks for that Billy, one of the lads is out early on friday and that'll be his task for the day i'd say.
Post by: ardal on January 08, 2008, 10:57:07 AM
Passedit, not sure about the kiosks, but you can definitely get tickets at the tourist information office in plaza catalunya (across the road from cort de Ingles). Go there first before you try anywhere else. they are also on sale at the stadium in the mornings I think. You shouldn't have any bother getting them one way or the other. You may pay a wee bit more, but try for seats in the "tribunal"; perhaps €80 or €90
Post by: passedit on January 08, 2008, 11:02:31 AM
Thanks Ardal.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 08, 2008, 11:35:07 AM
Going to Barcelona myself on the 19th of this month..Having been there before i would recommend doing the bus tours it's really the best way to see the city..
Do a tour of the Nou Camp as well it's well worth it..
Ask at the Hotel reception about tickets they should be able arrange them for you i know people who have got them that way before.
Im going to see Barcelona v Racing Santander but we already have our tickets got thru the club,who are sending them to the hotel for collection on the morning of the match
Post by: Hardy on January 08, 2008, 12:33:56 PM
I endorse the bus tour - there are two separate ones and both are excellent, taking in just about all the attractions (except restaurants, bars, tapas, etc. which you're well capable of sorting out for yourself!). The tours are hop-on, hop-off, so you can pick your stops and spend as long as you like at each one.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 08, 2008, 12:43:38 PM
Also watch out for the pickpockets around La Ramblas
Post by: Hardy on January 08, 2008, 12:47:19 PM
Good advice, I'm sure. Ironically to report on this GAA forum, the only place I was ever pickpocketed was in Croke Park! (No dubs jokes now, or the lads will get upset - for the record, it was the langers we were playing).
Post by: imtommygunn on January 08, 2008, 12:53:35 PM
I was in Barcelona a few years ago with a few mates and we were out til late on night on La Ramblas. At this stage the street was filled with hookers and one of them approached my mate, very shy sensible guy, grabbed his hand and said "pay for sex". He looked appalled at this and said no at which she chased him down the street shouting "pay for sex pay for sex". Was very funny. There's are some good night clubs down 3/4 down la ramblas on the left hand side in a wee square. There's also a good irish bar in there. I can't remember names though.

The Nou Camp is great for a tour. I made it to a game in the olympic stadium as well. It's very impressive. It was two south american teams and there were mass riots in the crowd which was interesting/worrying. It's also worth seeing - more the walk up to it than the stadium - fountains etc. Send someone with a hangover up  that spiral staircase in the cathedral designed by Gaudy(can't mind the name) and see what that does to them too!
Post by: passedit on January 08, 2008, 01:38:12 PM
Was there during the summer with the missus and did the tourist bit then, very impressive it was too. This time it's just a crowd of oul fellas trying to be youngfellas (the stag is the longest run fox among us) so i'm looking forward to the game as a welcome break from non stop boozing.

As an aside i'm flying into Girona and out of reus, any ideas on the quickest way in from Girona? Is the train station anywhere near the airport?
Post by: Rossie11 on January 08, 2008, 01:56:00 PM
Passedit. You flying with Ryanair?
Buses after every arrival into city centre. Think its 16euro return. Very handy
You will have no problem with match tickets either.
Shouldnt be a full house for Murcia
Check out the link. Nose bleed seats for only 18euro!!

http://www.fcbarcelona.com/web/english/futbol/temporada_07-08/arxiu_partits/lliga/jornada19/Barcelona_Real_Murcia/entrades.html
Post by: girt_giggler on January 09, 2008, 09:12:13 AM
we found 3/4 wee irish bars in a wee side street just off La Ramblas. There was a Mcdonalds & KFC at the bottom of the street (La Ramblas sie). they were pretty decent.  We also noticed that when you are emptying out of bars at end of the night drunk, there were guys selling beer, & obviously at the end of the night when you cant get served anymore its obviously tempting to purchase......dont! your wallet/loose cash will disappear very quickly.

Barcelona is a superb city though
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 09, 2008, 11:16:04 AM
Barcelona - things to see and do?

March the 4th Barca v Celtic!!  ;D
Post by: thejuice on January 09, 2008, 03:20:34 PM
Aye Barca is great, theres a good hotel that we stayed in, just of the Ramblas, If i can get the name of it ill post it later. The olympic area is great. We were over there to look at the regeneration of the city, where its worked and hasnt worked. They used the olympic money to pay for it all. Happened to bump into Ken Livingstone while we were there, doing the same thing as ourselves.

Check out Guadi's cathedral, its a feat of engineering genius. Park Guell is another masterpiece. Lots of great bars as well, must point you in the direction when i get the info. Theres one we went into which was tiny, but was real lively, very mediterrainean, staggered out of there at got knows when, but managed to get back to the hotel in one piece.

Dont let your valuables out of your sight or out of your pocket. beware of kids asking for money, they came into a resturaut we were in, two small kids, begging, and without anyone noticing lifted a wallet from one of our party.

The Ramblas is alright but but you have to be wary at night, lads just walk right up to ya, and offer you coke, heroin, E and whatever. As for the women......
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on January 09, 2008, 03:39:12 PM
Quote from: ardal on January 08, 2008, 10:57:07 AM
Passedit, not sure about the kiosks, but you can definitely get tickets at the tourist information office in plaza catalunya (across the road from cort de Ingles). Go there first before you try anywhere else. they are also on sale at the stadium in the mornings I think. You shouldn't have any bother getting them one way or the other. You may pay a wee bit more, but try for seats in the "tribunal"; perhaps €80 or €90

Was there last year and picked up a couple of tickets at the kiosks right next to the Camp Nou, I understand they are on sale there in the days leading up to every game and reasonably priced (we paid just under 50 EURO I think). Barca actually had a chance of clinching the title at the game we were at but it was still easy to get hold of tickets so you should have no bother getting hold of them for Murcia.Great atmosphere in and around the place on the night of the match as well.
As for the city itself Id recommend just wondering around all the wee squares and sidestreets just off Las Ramblas, loads of great cafes and bars and much cheaper than on Las Ramblas itself. Try some of the Basque cider as well ;D
Post by: southderryman on January 09, 2008, 03:45:55 PM
lads anyone know about getting tickets for champions league games at the nou camp?

5 of us heading over for the celtic game, kind of took a chance on it as no tickets allocated to supporters clubs yet. just wondering if it would be sold out for the home section incase we dont get tickets in the celtic end?
Post by: Rossie11 on January 09, 2008, 04:42:46 PM
Southderryman.
I have been over to a few CL games past few years and never had much bother getting them.
Last year for the Liverpool game you could buy tickets (2 per person) at the stadium the day of the game with an irish passport.
The tickets were for the home fans section and they wouldnt sell them to Pool fans with English passports.
Not sure what the situation will be this year with Celtic but I reckon it will be a more relaxed policy as Barca and their fans love Celtic and there wont be the aggro you had with Chelsea or Rangers.

Post by: southderryman on January 10, 2008, 09:57:18 AM
thanks rossie

there's a couple of us in a supporters club and we should get tickets, was just wondering if we could tickets for the others incase our club doesnt get enough.

have only been to nou camp once on a tour about 10/11 years ago, so wouldnt be too familiar with it, you couldn't tell me where the ticket office is?? is it anywhere near the club shop??
Post by: Rossie11 on January 10, 2008, 10:12:36 AM
Its outside the stadium and at the back as you are coming from town. If you walk round the perimeter fence you cant miss it.
Follow the queues...
Post by: southderryman on January 10, 2008, 10:40:57 AM
thanks very much
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 01, 2008, 02:11:24 PM
anyone know where i can get Barcelonas home fixtures for next season or are they out yet?
Post by: dodo on August 01, 2008, 02:23:47 PM

Provisional La Liga fixtures

Jornada 01 Sun 31 Aug  --:--  Numancia  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
September
Jornada 02 Sun 14 Sep  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  Racing  Tickets 
Jornada 03 Sun 21 Sep  --:--  R. Sporting de Gijón  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
Jornada 04 Wed 24 Sep  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  Real Betis  Tickets 
Jornada 05 Sun 28 Sep  --:--  RCD Espanyol  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
October
Jornada 06 Sun 05 Oct  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  At.Madrid  Tickets 
Jornada 07 Sun 19 Oct  --:--  Ath.Bilbao  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
Jornada 08 Sun 26 Oct  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  UD Almería  Tickets 
November
Jornada 09 Sun 02 Nov  --:--  Málaga CF  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
Jornada 10 Sun 09 Nov  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  R. Valladolid  Tickets 
Jornada 11 Sun 16 Nov  --:--  Recreativo  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
Jornada 12 Sun 23 Nov  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  Getafe CF  Tickets 
Jornada 13 Sun 30 Nov  --:--  Sevilla CF  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
December
Jornada 14 Sun 07 Dec  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  Valencia CF  Tickets 
Jornada 15 Sun 14 Dec  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  Real Madrid  Tickets 
Jornada 16 Sun 21 Dec  --:--  Villarreal CF  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
January
Jornada 17 Sun 04 Jan  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  RCD Mallorca  Tickets 
Jornada 18 Sun 11 Jan  --:--  Osasuna  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
Jornada 19 Sun 18 Jan  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  Deportivo  Tickets 
Jornada 20 Sun 25 Jan  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  Numancia  Tickets 
February
Jornada 21 Sun 01 Feb  --:--  Racing  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
Jornada 22 Sun 08 Feb  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  R. Sporting de Gijón  Tickets 
Jornada 23 Sun 15 Feb  --:--  Real Betis  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
Jornada 24 Sun 22 Feb  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  RCD Espanyol  Tickets 
March
Jornada 25 Sun 01 Mar  --:--  At.Madrid  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
Jornada 26 Sun 08 Mar  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  Ath.Bilbao  Tickets 
Jornada 27 Sun 15 Mar  --:--  UD Almería  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
Jornada 28 Sun 22 Mar  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  Málaga CF  Tickets 
April
Jornada 29 Sun 05 Apr  --:--  R. Valladolid  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
Jornada 30 Sun 12 Apr  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  Recreativo  Tickets 
Jornada 31 Sun 19 Apr  --:--  Getafe CF  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
Jornada 32 Wed 22 Apr  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  Sevilla CF  Tickets 
Jornada 33 Sun 26 Apr  --:--  Valencia CF  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
May
Jornada 34 Sun 03 May  --:--  Real Madrid  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
Jornada 35 Sun 10 May  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  Villarreal CF  Tickets 
Jornada 36 Sun 17 May  --:--  RCD Mallorca  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 
Jornada 37 Sun 24 May  --:--  FC Barcelona  -  Osasuna  Tickets 
Jornada 38 Sun 31 May  --:--  Deportivo  -  FC Barcelona  Tickets 

http://www.fcbarcelona.com/web/english/futbol/temporada_08-09/arxiu_partits/llistat_lliga/partits_lliga.html
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 01, 2008, 02:37:36 PM
thanks dodo heading over in october and looks likes they are playing at home, from reading other posts here is seems that you can buy tickets on the day
Post by: dodo on August 01, 2008, 03:03:33 PM
Just be a bit wary of the likelyhood of games times etc. being changed, as is stated on the FC Barcelona site on that link. When I was over for a Sunday game we queued up outside the stadium for tickets on Saturday morning and had no problem whatsoever. The queue was long but moved quickly. We went out to the stadium on a thursday evening around 6pm and caught the entire 1st team squad playing an 11 a-side on the pitch at the front entrance to the stadium. You are right up close to the players, was surprised by how open to everyone it was.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 01, 2008, 07:03:10 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 01, 2008, 02:37:36 PM
thanks dodo heading over in october and looks likes they are playing at home, from reading other posts here is seems that you can buy tickets on the day

Was there in January at a match,Great experience it was too,Its a wonderful stadium and the atmosphere for a game is great
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 01, 2008, 08:09:50 PM
bump for kinghen
Post by: kinghen on August 22, 2008, 12:08:23 PM
some spot,
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 22, 2008, 12:16:16 PM
Quote from: kinghen on August 22, 2008, 12:08:23 PM
some spot,

you would say that
Post by: kinghen on August 22, 2008, 12:55:42 PM
great trip away, you'll have to take out another credit union loan and take your woman away our naill, she deserves it! must be 6months now is it??
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 22, 2008, 01:37:19 PM
Quote from: kinghen on August 22, 2008, 12:55:42 PM
great trip away, you'll have to take out another credit union loan and take your woman away our naill, she deserves it! must be 6months now is it??

four and a half

my credit union is maxed out unfortunately
Post by: heganboy on August 22, 2008, 01:46:12 PM
scobies on sunday morning for the GAA
Post by: toiletroller on August 22, 2008, 03:06:01 PM
http://www.irishrockcafe.com/

Visit this place. Great food, loadsa screens for the football and 2 euro pints whichis unusual for Barcelona.
Post by: orangeman on August 22, 2008, 03:15:02 PM
Watch out on the auld Rambler ! You could get your bag emptied and lose your money as well !
Post by: illdecide on June 20, 2010, 10:02:41 PM
Lads I've booked for Barcelona but am looking for some names of good hotels to stay in (September) the one hotel i was looking for (the Royal) is not available so I'd appreciate a few good hotels you'd recommend for me and and old stray bit ;)
Post by: declan85 on June 21, 2010, 11:04:18 AM
Quote from: illdecide on June 20, 2010, 10:02:41 PM
Lads I've booked for Barcelona but am looking for some names of good hotels to stay in (September) the one hotel i was looking for (the Royal) is not available so I'd appreciate a few good hotels you'd recommend for me and and old stray bit ;)

Stayed in this Hotel a few years ago, was really nice, very clean. 3 minutes walk from nearest metro station & the main bus station. 5 mins by metro to las Ramblas.
Cant remember how much it was at the time but for 3 lads sharing i know it was good value...

http://www.confortelhoteles.com/en/hotel-auditori-barcelona/

Post by: tintin25 on June 21, 2010, 04:14:06 PM
Lads, anyone been to the bull run in Pamplona?
Post by: ross4life on June 21, 2010, 06:45:20 PM
I would also recommend the apartments & plenty of choice close to Las Ramblas, Great city Barcelona one of my favourites
Post by: Gaffer on August 03, 2010, 09:18:21 AM
Anyone been to Port Aventura Theme Park while visiting Barcelona? Is it just for youngsters or is there anything for adults? (Apart from the drink of course) 

Any other tips on Barcelona itself?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 03, 2010, 12:31:48 PM
went to port aventura while away this summer. The park is very good and would be mainly adult based rides. would recommend going on a week day as the weekends are usually bunged. would also recommend spend the extra few bob on the express ticket. though you only get to use it for once per ride. (i think)

longest i waited was 40 minutes and it was worth it. its the ride you'll see on entering the Park. the food in the place is grand also with themed regional food.

Post by: illdecide on August 03, 2010, 12:33:46 PM
How far away is that park from Barcelona? (city centre)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 03, 2010, 01:59:29 PM
aye its about 45-50 minutes in a car. there's about 4 tolls to go through also!!! handy drive. though would imagine there is a bus that would go directly with price all in. expensive enough I'd imagine.

Barcelona was really warm when i was there (2 weeks ago) the humidity is bad and the bus tour can be hard work
Post by: illdecide on August 03, 2010, 03:09:02 PM
Ohh is that the big water park near Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava?
Post by: J OGorman on August 03, 2010, 03:14:02 PM
Quote from: illdecide on August 03, 2010, 12:33:46 PM
How far away is that park from Barcelona? (city centre)

we took the train to port aventura from Barcelona (picked up a good divers watch cheap @ the jewellers in the train station)...took about 30/40 mins down the coast..nice way to travel. The station is just across the road from the park. The Dragon Khan coaster is a quare yok, loops 8 times. Wee tip, do the water rides first, as we ended up going on the log flumes last and travelled back in the train pure wringin.
Post by: Istabraq on August 03, 2010, 08:41:34 PM
Quote from: declan85 on June 21, 2010, 11:04:18 AM
Quote from: illdecide on June 20, 2010, 10:02:41 PM

Stayed in this Hotel a few years ago, was really nice, very clean. 3 minutes walk from nearest metro station & the main bus station. 5 mins by metro to las Ramblas.
Cant remember how much it was at the time but for 3 lads sharing i know it was good value...

http://www.confortelhoteles.com/en/hotel-auditori-barcelona/
Stayed there myself, highly recommend it, good value
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 03, 2010, 08:46:12 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 03, 2010, 12:31:48 PM
went to port aventura while away this summer. The park is very good and would be mainly adult based rides. would recommend going on a week day as the weekends are usually bunged. would also recommend spend the extra few bob on the express ticket. though you only get to use it for once per ride. (i think)

longest i waited was 40 minutes and it was worth it. its the ride you'll see on entering the Park. the food in the place is grand also with themed regional food.
You okay to get on all the rides?

You didn't hello the other week in Croke Park although you looked half shot!
Post by: The Wedger on August 03, 2010, 10:18:26 PM
Quote from: girt_giggler on January 09, 2008, 09:12:13 AM
we found 3/4 wee irish bars in a wee side street just off La Ramblas. There was a Mcdonalds & KFC at the bottom of the street (La Ramblas sie). they were pretty decent. 
Why bother going to Barcelona if you are going to go on a crawl of Irish bars and eat American fast food?  ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 03, 2010, 10:50:56 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 03, 2010, 08:46:12 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 03, 2010, 12:31:48 PM

You okay to get on all the rides?

You didn't hello the other week in Croke Park although you looked half shot!
aye even managed one or two of the night rides ;)

was well shot on Sunday!!!
Post by: Don Johnson on January 06, 2018, 05:27:24 PM
Bookmark just to read up later on best places to go for a group of lads.
Post by: gallsman on January 06, 2018, 05:28:19 PM
Send me a PM when you need any info.
Post by: thebigfella on January 06, 2018, 05:36:22 PM
Add Philippe Coutinho to the list
Post by: armaghniac on January 06, 2018, 09:19:50 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on January 06, 2018, 05:36:22 PM
Add Philippe Coutinho to the list

He'll be able to afford the tolls.
Post by: Don Johnson on March 20, 2018, 11:38:58 AM
Any advice for a group of about 20 lads heading for a stag this weekend? Other than watch the pockets etc.

We are staying in the SB Icaria hotel just beside the beach so plan on staying round the beach / port area most of the time. Some choice of food places down there so any recommendations are helpful.

Because of the pickpockets etc we are definitely avoiding the Ramblas at night, maybe head for a walk on Saturday during the day just.
Post by: armaghniac on March 20, 2018, 03:52:16 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on March 20, 2018, 11:38:58 AM
Because of the pickpockets etc we are definitely avoiding the Ramblas at night, maybe head for a walk on Saturday during the day just.

Now there are some episodes of more serious things in Barcelona, but the proper response to pickpockets alone is to put stuff out of reach, changing where you go is excessive.
Post by: Hardy on March 20, 2018, 05:07:39 PM
Any advice for a group of about 20 lads heading for a stag this weekend? Other than watch the pockets etc.

We are staying in the SB Icaria hotel just beside the beach so plan on staying round the beach / port area most of the time. Some choice of food places down there so any recommendations are helpful.

Are you serious? Twenty lads on the tear and you're afraid to walk down the main boulevard in Barcelona?
Post by: Syferus on March 20, 2018, 05:14:42 PM

This sounds like the tamest stag party on record, Don.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 20, 2018, 05:22:06 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 20, 2018, 05:07:39 PM

Are you serious? Twenty lads on the tear and you're afraid to walk down the main boulevard in Barcelona?
They don't want their hooker money lifted on the first day. Disaster!
Post by: Don Johnson on March 20, 2018, 10:12:25 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 20, 2018, 05:07:39 PM

I've been on it at night before when I've had a few and the amount of ones all over you offering you women and drugs is ridiculous. When you are airlocked it would be easy pickings for them to steal my phone and wallet - I've had it done before on stag dos, an easy target after drinking all day.

Both nights we are planning on staying down at the clubs and casino at the beach just near our hotel.
Post by: gallsman on March 21, 2018, 07:25:29 AM
Quote from: Don Johnson on March 20, 2018, 10:12:25 PM
I've been on it at night before when I've had a few and the amount of ones all over you offering you women and drugs is ridiculous.

That's nonsense. Unless you're walking around with a flag saying "I'm an idiot, rob me" you'll be absolutely fine. Keep wallets and phones in your front pockets etc.

The hookers and dealers have no interest in you unless you engage them. Just say no thank you, keep walking after initial contact and they'll leave you alone..

Where you're staying is just a short hop from the Barceloneta and the old town but there will still be plenty of residents about. If you get on like a bunch of eejits in the middle of the street in the middle of the night, be aware that it is not uncommon for them to f**k eggs at you from their balconies.

Transport wise, buy yourself a T-10 metro ticket. This covers metro, rail and bus and a single trip is interchangable on it all. Costs €10.20.

For getting to and from the airport, use the Aerobus company rather than the train as the train is miles from the terminal and doesn't really being you where you need to do. Costs €10.90 and can be bought online in advance and will bring you to Plaça Catalunya in about 25 mins. From there take the L1 metro (red) to Marina and you've a short walk to the hotel.

Food places, in general avoid the chiringuitos (beachside bars) as they'll either be a rip-off, terrible, or both. Ciutat Comtal near Plaça Universitat os a decent spot for large crowds.

If you want to go to one of the big clubs by the beach, go see them during the day and they'll sort you out with free entry and maybe a free drink as well. The places are shite and extortionate but maybe decent for a stag. Sala Razzmatazz near you is a good nightspot, depends if there's a gig on or not.

If you need to clear the head, go to the church up at Tibidabo for the view of the city. Uses your T-10 to its max - metro, train, funicular, bus. Takes about 40 mins to get up there.

One final thing - it Is not warm here at the minute. I wouldn't expect to do much sunbathing.
Post by: gallsman on March 21, 2018, 07:39:04 AM
Oh, and if buying beer in shops/supermarkets, get Estrella Galicia (of the 1906 version if it's available). Much nicer than Estrella Damm.
Post by: Don Johnson on March 21, 2018, 09:07:39 AM
Gallsman thanks for that, some great advice in there! Will let ya know how we got on next week at some stage!

Yeah I have been checking the weather regularly and see it's due to rain on Saturday, great!
Post by: gallsman on March 21, 2018, 09:31:55 AM
Few other pointers given that it's a stag - Bacoa is a chain with quite a few locations that does really good burgers. If you head up towards the Sagrada Familia there's a really good, cheap Mexican place called El Gato de Oro that's class.

If you're looking for something to help you recover on the Sunday both Flaherty's and Dunne's do a good fry but in general avoid the Irish bars.
Post by: Don Johnson on March 21, 2018, 10:09:58 AM
Yeah was thinking avoid them. Know a couple board members who were on a stag last weekend there and spent the whole time in Irish bars, they will know who they are when they read this I won't shame them.

Ireland play Turkey though the Friday when we arrive 6.30pm Spanish time, don't suppose anywhere would be showing it? Best chance would be one of the aforementioned bars? I wouldn't be overly worried if we miss it though to be fair.
Post by: gallsman on March 21, 2018, 10:48:41 AM
Any Irish bar will have it on if you decide to watch it
Post by: Over the Bar on March 23, 2018, 12:32:32 AM
The Temple Bar... can't go wrong
Post by: gallsman on March 27, 2018, 09:27:17 PM
How'd you get on, Don?
Post by: Don Johnson on March 28, 2018, 09:25:58 AM
Great weekend's craic but still recovering this morning. Haven't slept right since yet up each night with the horrors!

We just went against all of our plans and did the typical Irish lads on a stag craic.

Landed on the Friday then headed down to the port. Think we went to some chicken restaurant for some food. We were due to meet some 'party host' fella for a free bar thing at the port but to be honest at that stage we didn't need it. On to Carpe Diem until they stopped serving us drink then into another few places and ended up in Opium. Back to the hotel then around 6.30am.

Few of the ones that were back earlier got up the Saturday went and did a beer run. So we started drinking very early. Despite what we said about staying away from Irish bars or the Ramblas, we somehow ended up in Flahertys from midday on the Saturday. Ended up there all day. It was good craic to be fair and they kept plying us with free shots. Ran around in the rain trying to get a taxi back to the hotel to get changed at 9pm, think I've for the cold from this. Once I got back to the hotel I just went to bed to warm up and ended up sleeping through to the morning.

Most of the group went to some karaoke bar then for a few hours then back down to the port to around 5/6. The flight home on Sunday was a bit grim for them.

About 6/7 of the 20 either lost their wallet, phone or both. Thankfully I made it back with all my belongings intact.

Few beers at the airport then the plane, then one back in town and that was me done, home and in bed at 7pm on Sunday.
Post by: TabClear on March 28, 2018, 10:01:35 AM
Quote from: Don Johnson on March 28, 2018, 09:25:58 AM
Great weekend's craic but still recovering this morning. Haven't slept right since yet up each night with the horrors!

We just went against all of our plans and did the typical Irish lads on a stag craic.

Landed on the Friday then headed down to the port. Think we went to some chicken restaurant for some food. We were due to meet some 'party host' fella for a free bar thing at the port but to be honest at that stage we didn't need it. On to Carpe Diem until they stopped serving us drink then into another few places and ended up in Opium. Back to the hotel then around 6.30am.

Few of the ones that were back earlier got up the Saturday went and did a beer run. So we started drinking very early. Despite what we said about staying away from Irish bars or the Ramblas, we somehow ended up in Flahertys from midday on the Saturday. Ended up there all day. It was good craic to be fair and they kept plying us with free shots. Ran around in the rain trying to get a taxi back to the hotel to get changed at 9pm, think I've for the cold from this. Once I got back to the hotel I just went to bed to warm up and ended up sleeping through to the morning.

Most of the group went to some karaoke bar then for a few hours then back down to the port to around 5/6. The flight home on Sunday was a bit grim for them.

About 6/7 of the 20 either lost their wallet, phone or both. Thankfully I made it back with all my belongings intact.

Few beers at the airport then the plane, then one back in town and that was me done, home and in bed at 7pm on Sunday.

That's a pretty big proportion! Barcelona living up to its reputation.

Fair play to the lads that did 6am both nights, I would have to be carried to the airport if i tried that now! Was it expensive for drink/food DJ? (assuming you came home with the wallet!  ;))
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 28, 2018, 10:38:47 AM
LOL, good man Don. I'd need the week off work after that!
Post by: gallsman on March 28, 2018, 10:50:31 AM
Sounds like absolute hell on earth but good you enjoyed it! In fairness, with that rain on Saturday there wasn't much else could be done.
Post by: Kickham csc on March 28, 2018, 10:56:50 AM
Quote from: gallsman on March 28, 2018, 10:50:31 AM
Sounds like absolute hell on earth but good you enjoyed it! In fairness, with that rain on Saturday there wasn't much else could be done.

Take time to ramble in the Jewish Quarter, with no time pressure. And stop in the small cafes for a glass of wine and tapas.

I did this with the wife, and it turned into a bit of a cultural wine and tapas crawl, really fun way to see this part of the city