Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 13, 2010, 11:34:19 AM

Title: Help needed, 12 ft Tricolour
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 13, 2010, 11:34:19 AM
Lads and lasses, I have a friend heading to South Africa for the World cup and he wants to get a big Tricolour something round 12ft x 6ft, was hoping not to have to pay too much for it.
Does anyone in the Belfast or Ardboe area know where he could get one?

Any help greatly appreciated.
Title: Re: Help needed, 12 ft Tricolour
Post by: Zapatista on May 13, 2010, 11:36:36 AM
Make one is prob the cheapest way.
Post by: Minder on May 13, 2010, 11:45:44 AM
I think this thread should be split into three separate threads.
Post by: Onion Bag on May 13, 2010, 11:49:51 AM
Tell your friend that Ireland arent in the world cup
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 13, 2010, 11:53:27 AM
Quote from: Onion Bag on May 13, 2010, 11:49:51 AM

Maybe he wants a French Tricolour.
Post by: Denn Forever on May 13, 2010, 11:54:39 AM

Surely you have the contacts (see bottom banner) Onion?
Post by: Onion Bag on May 13, 2010, 11:57:14 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on May 13, 2010, 11:54:39 AM

Only have county colours, no Tri Colours
Post by: small white mayoman on May 13, 2010, 12:02:37 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on May 13, 2010, 11:57:14 AM

sure get him an offally flag no one will no the difference
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 13, 2010, 12:05:55 PM

Thats not very fair on Carlow people...
Post by: Onion Bag on May 13, 2010, 12:07:11 PM
Oh i think they will notice the difference alright

(http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~fianna/county/images/ie-offaly.gif)

(http://musicmaven.files.wordpress.com/2008/03/ireland_flag.gif)
Post by: Onion Bag on May 13, 2010, 12:09:20 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 13, 2010, 12:05:55 PM

I can get my hands on some Carlow flags,

(http://teamcarflagireland.com/catalog/images/CARLOW%20CF.jpg)

Post by: glens abu on May 13, 2010, 12:10:13 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 13, 2010, 11:34:19 AM
Lads and lasses, I have a friend heading to South Africa for the World cup and he wants to get a big Tricolour something round 12ft x 6ft, was hoping not to have to pay too much for it.

Can buy a 6ftx3ft at Sinn Fein online store
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 13, 2010, 12:11:09 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on May 13, 2010, 12:09:20 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 13, 2010, 12:05:55 PM

I can get my hands on some Carlow flags,

(http://teamcarflagireland.com/catalog/images/CARLOW%20CF.jpg)

Good stuff I'll take 10
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 13, 2010, 12:14:39 PM

Ireland mightn't be there, but the lads want to make sure that people know that the Irish are there.  ;)
Post by: small white mayoman on May 13, 2010, 12:14:53 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on May 13, 2010, 12:07:11 PM
Oh i think they will notice the difference alright

(http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~fianna/county/images/ie-offaly.gif)

(http://musicmaven.files.wordpress.com/2008/03/ireland_flag.gif)

not at all , the will think the gold faded in the sun
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 13, 2010, 12:19:31 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on May 13, 2010, 11:53:27 AM

Maybe he wants a French Tricolour.

Now Myles you know I would have asked for a Tricolore if I'd wanted that.  ;)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 13, 2010, 12:26:57 PM
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/8/86/Flag_of_Cote_d%27Ivoire.svg/450px-Flag_of_Cote_d%27Ivoire.svg.png)

He could get one of these and double job as a Drogba fan!!!
Post by: Orior on May 13, 2010, 01:14:56 PM
You can buy tri-colours in the flag shop on the Newtownards Road in Belfast. These are all for the top of bonfires.
Post by: haranguerer on May 13, 2010, 01:20:52 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 13, 2010, 12:14:39 PM

Ireland mightn't be there, but the lads want to make sure that people know that the Irish are there.  ;)

Everyone will just think hes holding the Ivory Coast flag upside down....
Post by: ziggysego on May 13, 2010, 01:29:24 PM
A former friend of mine when to see Michael Jackon in concert in the late 90s in Germany. A group of them got two huge flags. A Tricolour and Union Flag. Stitched them together, with the words "Michael Jackson, You Bring Peace to Northern Ireland".

The shame of it made me end the friendship.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 13, 2010, 01:31:08 PM
12' x 6' is an odd flag size - you'd have to get that made specially
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 13, 2010, 01:38:36 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on May 13, 2010, 01:31:08 PM
12' x 6' is an odd flag size - you'd have to get that made specially

Think he just wants it "normal flag" shaped Gab, but also about 12 foot long.
Post by: Aerlik on May 13, 2010, 02:14:12 PM
I've a 9'x4' tricolour.  Isn't our flag non-symmetrical, ie 6x3 or 12x6 not standard?  Isn't the height supposed to be less than half the size of the length?  Read that somewhere ages ago.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 13, 2010, 02:21:45 PM
He's just let me know that he got one 9 x 6.
Post by: dec on May 13, 2010, 02:40:22 PM
http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/attached_files/Pdf%20files/The%20National%20Flag.pdf

1 The National Flag is rectangular in shape, the width being twice its depth. The three colours – green, white and orange – are of equal size, and vertically disposed. Often different shades of yellow, instead of orange, are seen at civilian functions. This misrepresentation of the National Flag should be actively discouraged. The Flag should normally be displayed on a staff, the green being next to the staff, the white in the middle and the orange farthest from the staff.

Technical data:
Pantone Matching System colours:
Green 347, Orange 151.

2 Provided that the correct proportions are observed, the Flag may be made to any convenient size.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 13, 2010, 03:05:42 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 13, 2010, 02:21:45 PM
Thats great I can stop worrying about him now.....
Post by: Celt_Man on May 13, 2010, 03:17:46 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 13, 2010, 01:29:24 PM
A former friend of mine when to see Michael Jackon in concert in the late 90s in Germany. A group of them got two huge flags. A Tricolour and Union Flag. Stitched them together, with the words "Michael Jackson, You Bring Peace to Northern Ireland".

Jaysus.... words failing me here
Post by: Zapatista on May 13, 2010, 03:33:50 PM

Yeah, the Shame. Everyone knows it was Bono.
Post by: red hander on May 13, 2010, 05:07:28 PM

I could have lent him a 9 x 6 one with DUNGANNON written across it in big black letters  ;)
Post by: The Worker on May 13, 2010, 05:58:31 PM
Quote from: red hander on May 13, 2010, 05:07:28 PM

I could have lent him a 9 x 6 one with DUNGANNON written across it in big black letters  ;)

Don't think hes planning to attend any portugal matches
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 13, 2010, 06:16:36 PM

Will be handy fixed if Dunga ever takes over as manager of the Irish national team.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 13, 2010, 07:04:36 PM
I see today a neighbour of mine has a England flat hanging out of one of the upstairs windows and massive, half the ground floor windows are covered by it.  It's quite a sight.
Post by: passedit on May 13, 2010, 07:17:30 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 13, 2010, 06:16:36 PM

Will be handy fixed if Dunga ever takes over as manager of the Irish national team.

Ye could shorten that a bit more if the Gaffer ever gets another stint (or Big Jack for that matter)
Post by: Nally Stand on May 13, 2010, 07:26:08 PM
I could be completely mistaken but the Conway Mill on the Falls Rd I think used to be able to provide such a thing. Not sure though.
Post by: Myles Na G. on May 13, 2010, 10:34:40 PM

Appalling. No other word for it. Letting Jacko think we're all staters or unionists. FFS.
Post by: saffron sam2 on May 13, 2010, 10:43:22 PM

I can only assume your 'friend' wants to debase our national flag.

I can, therefore, be of no assistance.
Post by: ONeill on May 13, 2010, 10:47:36 PM
(http://static.stuff.co.nz/1259102915/093/3096093.jpg)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 14, 2010, 09:50:23 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on May 13, 2010, 10:43:22 PM

I can only assume your 'friend' wants to debase our national flag.

I can, therefore, be of no assistance.

Not that I'm aware of.

Thanks to the few of you that offered "advice"  :D ;)

The mate is going over with another lad from Belfast and a couple of Slovenians he has met on previous trips, think the idea is to attend all the Slovenia matches with the two flags side by side.
Post by: Malvinas on May 15, 2010, 07:20:33 PM
We got a 6 x 12 foot tricolour to take to a Celtic match in Barcelona a few years ago, we got the Tyrone badge on the middle white bit so it covers us for Croke Park aswell. I think it was about £170 plus postage, which wasnt bad when split between the fellas, and a friend of mine then got another one at the same size for a bit cheaper. The material's durable, cant see it ripping easily and the letterings hand sewn, ours was a great job, managed to get a close up of it on tv at the Tyrone Dublin fireworks game a few years ago. Il maybe try and get the clip up later if I can.

Anyway, you can contact her at: mandy@aaflags.co.uk. Tell her you know the fellas who ordered the Tyrone Mongandii and Wexford Three Rocks flags and that your looking for a good deal.

And if the fellas go to the world cup make sure they bring it to the French games to shame Henry and the rest of them hoors.
Post by: rolloutking on May 15, 2010, 07:36:08 PM
I know a fella who has a 36 foot long tricolour. He will want a lot of money for it though
Post by: Aerlik on May 16, 2010, 11:08:28 AM
Count yourselves lucky the N.Koreans aren't taking the flag and flagpole at Panmunjom with them.  They might not win the soccer but they'll win "biggest flagpole with flag on top" gold.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 16, 2010, 11:13:31 AM
Quote from: rolloutking on May 15, 2010, 07:36:08 PM
I know a fella who has a 36 foot long tricolour. He will want a lot of money for it though
How does he get that folded up