GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: stevecw on May 10, 2010, 08:22:33 PM

Title: Wicklow v Carlow
Post by: stevecw on May 10, 2010, 08:22:33 PM
It seems to be the forgotten game of the weekend, but this one will be tasty. Carlow and Wicklow over the past 3 years have grown to hate each other, mainly over the whole Thomas Walsh affair.

I'm sure everyone knows the story with Tom leaving Carlow to join Wicklow, as soon as Micko arrived and as did Ballymore properties as a major sponsor to Wicklow. Suddenly Tom has a Wicklow address, as it happens living in a Ballymore property somehow!!

Anyway they did well with him anchoring their mf, especially in last years great run, beating all the Ulster sides in Aughrim.

But the money ran out and Tom's home was not free anymore, and so he had to go back to the parents in Carlow. He transfered back to his home club last year, and now is back with his native county.

As it happened the Leinster draw pits Carlow v Wicklow and with Walsh facing his teammates from last year it should add to this one!
Brendan Murphy & Tom in mf will give Carlow a huge advantage there. News that Wicklows quality corner back Hyland is probably out of Sundays game adds to my hope that we can beat them.

In recent challenge games we have bet Clare by 8 pts and London by 24, and confidence is high.

I am too used to losing 1st round games, but this time I reckon Carlow have enough to beat Wicklow. 7/2 with Paddy Powers on this happening is a great bet.
Title: Re: Wicklow v Carlow
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 10, 2010, 08:48:30 PM
Murphy and Walsh will be a fairly serious midfield partnership. They should be well capable of matching anyone else in Leinster.

I wouldn't read too much into Wicklow's NFL form. Micko never really bothered with it when he was with us and I don't think he's changed much in 10-15 years! Anyone know if Wayne O'Gorman is back playing football after his injury? He would be a serious addition to their forward line if back to his best.

Might head down to this on Sunday. Should be a good game. Carlow +4 on the handicap is fairly tempting.
Post by: Dougal on May 10, 2010, 09:17:47 PM
looking forward to this,would love to go to it,and prob would if it was within 100 miles of me.any idea of a starting team steve?many of the u21's make the step up?thats a very good midfield,hopefully il get to see brendan murphy live before the end of the year.im going to stick a few pound on carlow anyway,they are very good value.
Post by: stevecw on May 10, 2010, 09:26:44 PM
Quote from: Dougal on May 10, 2010, 09:17:47 PM
looking forward to this,would love to go to it,and prob would if it was within 100 miles of me.any idea of a starting team steve?many of the u21's make the step up?thats a very good midfield,hopefully il get to see brendan murphy live before the end of the year.im going to stick a few pound on carlow anyway,they are very good value.

I know what starting team will be, but no point posting it here as nobody knows who most of them are.
There will be 3 of this years 21s will start on Sunday with 2 more as the 1st options off the bench.

The midfield of Murphy and Walsh is as good a midfield as whats out there. They will win so much posession, its up to our forwards to see if they can take advantage. But we know Wicklow, and at training yesterday morning the lads were saying Tom Walsh gave the team a full run down on the strengths and weaknesses of Wicklow, and what areas to target. Its the best inside info you can ever wish for.

7/2 on Carlow are crazy odds to be honest, looking at all the facts we really should win this!!!
Post by: Dougal on May 10, 2010, 09:48:31 PM
Quote from: stevecw on May 10, 2010, 09:26:44 PM

I know what starting team will be, but no point posting it here as nobody knows who most of them are.
There will be 3 of this years 21s will start on Sunday with 2 more as the 1st options off the bench.

The midfield of Murphy and Walsh is as good a midfield as whats out there. They will win so much posession, its up to our forwards to see if they can take advantage. But we know Wicklow, and at training yesterday morning the lads were saying Tom Walsh gave the team a full run down on the strengths and weaknesses of Wicklow, and what areas to target. Its the best inside info you can ever wish for.

7/2 on Carlow are crazy odds to be honest, looking at all the facts we really should win this!!!

have an idea of a few players,could you PM me if you dont want to put it up here?id be interested seeing the team before i decide just how much money il put on them.

anyone know the wicklow team?
Post by: stevecw on May 10, 2010, 10:08:23 PM
Quote from: Dougal on May 10, 2010, 09:48:31 PM
Quote from: stevecw on May 10, 2010, 09:26:44 PM

have an idea of a few players,could you PM me if you dont want to put it up here?id be interested seeing the team before i decide just how much money il put on them.

anyone know the wicklow team?

PM sent, well worth getting that 7/2 before it goes down as the week goes on!!!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 10, 2010, 10:12:12 PM
Have to say Carlow have been my second favourite county after that disgraceful bit of poaching a few yrs ago so Best of luck. Still though i wouldnt be a fan of walsh even with him going back. What do the Carlow lads make of him?
Post by: stevecw on May 10, 2010, 11:10:16 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 10, 2010, 10:12:12 PM
Have to say Carlow have been my second favourite county after that disgraceful bit of poaching a few yrs ago so Best of luck. Still though i wouldnt be a fan of walsh even with him going back. What do the Carlow lads make of him?

Thanks for the support Sligonian!!! To be honest we have hated Walsh over last 3 years!!! But the guy followed the money and free house so can't blame him!! The Micko + Ballymore Properties was the Wicklow dream!!! Kinda like Abromovic with Chelsea, lets try that with Wicklow!!!
This year its funny to see them Balymore have gone bust, with it went Thos Walshes house, so he had to go back to mammy & daddy in Carlow!!! Hence he is playiing rightly for Fenagh where he belongs!!! Hence play with Carlow which he is doing!!!!
Post by: ballinaman on May 11, 2010, 08:05:51 AM
Quote from: stevecw on May 10, 2010, 11:10:16 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 10, 2010, 10:12:12 PM

Thanks for the support Sligonian!!! To be honest we have hated Walsh over last 3 years!!! But the guy followed the money and free house so can't blame him!! The Micko + Ballymore Properties was the Wicklow dream!!! Kinda like Abromovic with Chelsea, lets try that with Wicklow!!!
This year its funny to see them Balymore have gone bust, with it went Thos Walshes house, so he had to go back to mammy & daddy in Carlow!!! Hence he is playiing rightly for Fenagh where he belongs!!! Hence play with Carlow which he is doing!!!!

So if Balymore hadn't gone bust and his free house was still there he would be still playing in Wicklow???Hmmm...pity Carlow need him because a nice "you a f'in stay in Wicklow" would be warranted imo.
Post by: Dougal on May 11, 2010, 11:18:55 AM
im guessing it's not on telly,is it on any radio stations??
Post by: stevecw on May 11, 2010, 12:31:18 PM
Its live on the RTE player thing at rte.ie
Post by: laoisgaa on May 12, 2010, 11:35:58 AM
And KCLR (www.kclr96fm.com) and East Coast Radio (www.eastcoast.fm) will also be providing live commentary.

Looking forward to this game and will be there myself. No matter what anyone says this will be a juicy enough start to the Leinster Championship - much of a buzz in Carlow about it Steve?

Murphy and Walsh are shaping up to prove themselves as one of the best midfield partnerships in this years Championship I reckon.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 12, 2010, 12:29:06 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on May 12, 2010, 11:35:58 AM
And KCLR (www.kclr96fm.com) and East Coast Radio (www.eastcoast.fm) will also be providing live commentary.

Looking forward to this game and will be there myself. No matter what anyone says this will be a juicy enough start to the Leinster Championship - much of a buzz in Carlow about it Steve?

Murphy and Walsh are shaping up to prove themselves as one of the best midfield partnerships in this years Championship I reckon.
For me its game of the weekend, love these type of clashes. Raw local derbies with plenty of spice.
Steve fair play to youse forgiving walsh, i would personnally be glad hes back but I wouldnt respect him as much as the other players who stay loyal. I have very strong beliefs with regards the ethos of gaa, and alot of players dont make the grade, alot of them are in it for themselves rather than there county. No money in the world would make me turn my back on Sligo.

Carlow is a small county geographically, but population 100,000 approx, decent hurling team, are ye competing with soccer and rugby much, ye had some great clubs but o hanorans are in serious decline, and eire og i dont hear much. What is the problem down there, i think ye can do better?
Post by: INDIANA on May 12, 2010, 01:05:23 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 12, 2010, 12:29:06 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on May 12, 2010, 11:35:58 AM

For me its game of the weekend, love these type of clashes. Raw local derbies with plenty of spice.
Steve fair play to youse forgiving walsh, i would personnally be glad hes back but I wouldnt respect him as much as the other players who stay loyal. I have very strong beliefs with regards the ethos of gaa, and alot of players dont make the grade, alot of them are in it for themselves rather than there county. No money in the world would make me turn my back on Sligo.

Carlow is a small county geographically, but population 100,000 approx, decent hurling team, are ye competing with soccer and rugby much, ye had some great clubs but o hanorans are in serious decline, and eire og i dont hear much. What is the problem down there, i think ye can do better?

Too many sauce merchants
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on May 16, 2010, 03:40:39 PM
Lively start from Wicklow here. Carlow winning plenty of ball in the middle as you'd expect but Wicklow have the forwards.
Post by: GAA_Punter on May 16, 2010, 03:52:41 PM
Leinster SFC first round
Wicklow 0-03 0-03 Carlow, Portlaoise, 3.30pm
T Hannon (W) 0-02 , L Glynn (W) 0-01, B Murphy (C) 0-02 , S Rae (C) 0-01

http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2010/05/16/gaa-live-scores-results-sunday-16th-may/
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on May 16, 2010, 03:59:31 PM
This game is very stop start as well. Refs have obviously been told to be pointlessly picky this weekend. Brendan Murphy standing out.

5-4 to Wicklow now.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on May 16, 2010, 04:06:20 PM
Paul Earls goal for Wicklow - poor enough Carlow defending though.

1-6 to 0-4.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 16, 2010, 04:07:18 PM
This is awful stuff, that goal was a disgrace from a defending point of view. Both teams look dire.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2010, 04:08:39 PM
QuoteBoth teams look dire

Wait until Longford stink the joint out next week   :'(
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on May 16, 2010, 04:10:33 PM
Wicklow man (Murnagh) gone for two yellows in the first half. Which gives an idea of how many cards there have been.

Wicklow leading 1-6 to 0-6 at half time.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 16, 2010, 04:49:47 PM
Wicklow 1-10 Carlow 0-8

Some embarasing stuff from carlow.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 16, 2010, 04:52:01 PM
5 wides in a row now for Carlow, some pathetic efforts though, im frustrated watching it, can only imagine how the carlow fans feel..
Post by: Eastern_Pride on May 16, 2010, 04:52:55 PM
SOME goal by Leighton Glynn there and Brendan Murphy sent off.....
Glynn is some man for one man.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 16, 2010, 04:53:54 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on May 16, 2010, 04:52:55 PM
No credit to the forward, absolute rubbish defending from Carlow,

Brendan Murphy sent off, idiot.
Post by: Bogball XV on May 16, 2010, 04:54:18 PM
Leighton Glynn goal, game well and truly over.  Micko has earned his corn (being a euphemism for travelling expenses, which is a euphemism for moolah).
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on May 16, 2010, 04:54:33 PM
Glynn goal for Wicklow - Brendan Murphy sent off for Carlow, game over.

Carlow only have themselves to blame, they missed enough chances in the last 10 minutes.

Lovely Wicklow point there, Wicklow kicking clear.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on May 16, 2010, 04:59:25 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 16, 2010, 04:53:54 PM

No credit? Admittedly I'm having flashbacks of u10 but he did very well.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on May 16, 2010, 05:05:28 PM
Another great score from Glynn there. Wicklow could be capable of winning a few games this year.

3-13 to 0-12 now. Didn't expect that scoreline.

And that's it finished. Murphy and Walsh both sent off for Carlow, disaster of a day for them.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on May 16, 2010, 05:08:01 PM
Wicklow 3-13 0-12 Carlow
The fact three people got sent off less surprising than the relative siz of the final score. An almost facile win but far from perfect, the loss of Thomas Walsh really felt, especially when playing against him!
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on May 16, 2010, 05:13:22 PM
That's because they're idiots.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on May 16, 2010, 05:13:38 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on May 16, 2010, 05:05:28 PM
Another great score from Glynn there. Wicklow could be capable of winning a few games this year.

3-13 to 0-12 now. Didn't expect that scoreline.

And that's it finished. Murphy and Walsh both sent off for Carlow, disaster of a day for them.
sorry hardstattion but I was watchin it on the old rte player don't know where they're getting that from.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on May 16, 2010, 05:54:53 PM
Dempsey denies discipline problem from Hoganstand.
15 May 2010

Luke Dempsey insists that Carlow have not got a discipline problem.

The Barrowsiders finished second bottom in the GAA's Fair Play Index at the end of the NFL, having accumulated 38 yellow cards and two straight reds, while they had two players sent off in the games against Wicklow, Clare and Leitrim.

And with fierce rivals Wicklow next up, there are fears that sparks will fly in tomorrow's Leinster SFC opener at O'Moore Park.

However, the Carlow manager said: "We're a team that is entirely disciplined. It was a sort of a chain reaction. When you see a league brought in for discipline - for me, it was a token effort. And when you see Kilkenny (almost) winning the fair play division ...

"No, it's not a worry. The players being sent off were for a lot of technical reasons, which we have tidied up a great deal since. I'm absolutely confident, and you'll find that out on Sunday when you see the results. We really have worked on it.

"It's starting off a new competition. There was this business where we had two players sent off, nearly consecutively - and it was laughable, some of the sendings-off, to be quite honest with you."

The Mullingar-based schoolteacher also believes Thomas Walsh's return from the Garden County won't heighten tensions between the neighbouring counties.

"It has been so talked about that it's worn out at this stage. The reality is that it's a championship match between two local teams, and it doesn't matter who Thomas Walsh is playing for - it is winner takes all and moves on to play Westmeath on June 6," he added.

Yes thats right Luke,no discipline problem at all  ::)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 16, 2010, 07:01:18 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on May 16, 2010, 04:59:25 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 16, 2010, 04:53:54 PM

No credit? Admittedly I'm having flashbacks of u10 but he did very well.

The 2 carlow backs showed him in towards goal, that is beyond stupidity. What clown of defender doesnt stay goal side but the worse thing about that goal the 2 defenders both pushed him towards goal.

Absolute joke of a performance.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 16, 2010, 10:22:11 PM
How does the artist formerly known as Gerry Kinneavy keep getting games? Absolutely awful refereeing but I bet he gets top marks from the assessors.

Carlow kicked that game away to be honest. They dominated possession for the most part but the wides sucked the confidence out of them. I'm not sure Wicklow have improved since last year. Glynn and Furlong will be a threat to any defence but I think Westmeath will be quietly confident of turning them over with Glennon and Dolan back on board.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2010, 11:34:54 PM
My views on Gerry Kinneavy/aka Gearoid O' Cinneamha (or whatever you are having yourself) are well known.

Hard to see if he made a bags of it from the highlights but if I go on his previous form then he probably did. Typical that the early games get the tough approach. It has always been so. Like the (remind me) game about ten years ago where all 30 players were sent off. Carlow v Laois or Carlow v Wexford.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 17, 2010, 12:19:54 PM
I see Micko thinks that Tullamore is in Westmeath and he wants to play us in a neutral venue  :D A few geography lessons for Mr. Journeyman required, there's no way we're taking the Biffos under our wing, things are bad enough as they are at the minute...  :P
Post by: AZOffaly on May 17, 2010, 01:55:42 PM
I'd say Mic$o knows exactly where Tullamore is. He'd remember playing Offaly in All Ireland Finals (That's a big game at the end of the summer where the winner gets to be called the champion).

In fairness to him, Tullamore is almost a home venue for Westmeath. Sure the likes of Kilbeggan, Rochfortbridge, Tyrellspass, Moate and Athlone are only a puck of a ball away. It'd be like ye going down to Carlow/Wicklow border to play them.

Portlaoise would seem a bit more sensible, although ye have a great record in Tullamore.

EDit. oops. Worst kept secret in history further weakened :D
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 17, 2010, 02:00:53 PM
QuoteI'd say Mic$o knows exactly where Tullamore is. He'd remember playing Offaly in All Ireland Finals (That's a big game at the end of the summer where the winner gets to be called the champion).

In fairness to him, Tullamore is almost a home venue for Westmeath. Sure the likes of Kilbeggan, Rochfortbridge, Tyrellspass, Moate and Athlone are only a puck of a ball away. It'd be like ye going down to Carlow/Wicklow border to play them.

Portlaoise would seem a bit more sensible, although ye have a great record in Tullamore.

Wouldn't have any big issue playing in Portlaoise but it's just something for Micko to whinge about to build up the siege mentality for his team and supporters, Micko must be dreading that the maroon curse is about to strike again...  ;D At least we won't be facing any of Mickos mercenaries this year...
Post by: AZOffaly on May 17, 2010, 02:10:13 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 17, 2010, 02:00:53 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 17, 2010, 01:28:49 PM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on May 17, 2010, 01:24:07 PM
I'd say Mic$o knows exactly where Tullamore is. He'd remember playing Offaly in All Ireland Finals (That's a big game at the end of the summer where the winner gets to be called the champion).

Shouldnt you log out and log back in as your username AZ or Croi :D
Close but no cigar Sligonian ;D

Wouldn't have any big issue playing in Portlaoise but it's just something for Micko to whinge about to build up the siege mentality for his team and supporters, Micko must be dreading that the maroon curse is about to strike again...  ;D At least we won't be facing any mercenaries this year...
[/b]

Really? :D
Post by: Denn Forever on May 17, 2010, 02:12:27 PM
Why was the game played in Portlaoise? 
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 17, 2010, 03:23:07 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 17, 2010, 02:10:13 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 17, 2010, 02:00:53 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 17, 2010, 01:24:07 PM

Wouldn't have any big issue playing in Portlaoise but it's just something for Micko to whinge about to build up the siege mentality for his team and supporters, Micko must be dreading that the maroon curse is about to strike again...  ;D At least we won't be facing any of Mickos mercenaries this year...
[/b]

Really? :D
Has a player slipped in under my radar AZ?  ???
Post by: AZOffaly on May 17, 2010, 03:29:15 PM
Not a player, no.
Post by: Main Street on May 17, 2010, 03:36:49 PM
I think the one formerly known (to me) as AZOffaly was slyly referring to the blessed one.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 17, 2010, 03:43:15 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 17, 2010, 01:55:42 PM

EDit. oops. Worst kept secret in history further weakened :D

Keep up the good work.. ;)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 17, 2010, 03:47:19 PM
:D This thread makes absolutely no sense at all now...
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 17, 2010, 03:48:04 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 17, 2010, 03:47:19 PM
:D This thread makes absolutely no sense at all now...

Thats because one of my posts got deleted, tidy it up AZ :D
Post by: Main Street on May 17, 2010, 09:43:52 PM
Micko is a man's man  ;D

(http://www.wicklowgaaonline.com/wp-content/gallery/carlowchamp/img_7919.jpg)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 17, 2010, 09:50:07 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 17, 2010, 09:43:52 PM
Micko is a man's man  ;D

(http://www.wicklowgaaonline.com/wp-content/gallery/carlowchamp/img_7919.jpg)
It looks like there sniffing each other like 2 dogs on heat. :D
Post by: ONeill on May 18, 2010, 12:47:50 AM
Did anyone see Kinneavy hopping the ball on one occasion? He spent yonks making sure no one was near it only the two protagonists and then proceeded to throw the ball clean over the two men into the crowd of players waiting for the outcome. Some boy thon.
Post by: johnnygp on May 18, 2010, 03:52:13 PM
Any one at the match yesterday have a list of subs for each team numbered 16-30.