Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on May 07, 2010, 09:46:55 AM

Title: Championship Playoff Final Blackpool v Cardiff
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 07, 2010, 09:46:55 AM
Blackpool v Forest
Leicester City v Cardiff

I have been following the fortunes and misfortunes of Notts Forest for many a year,I suppose you could call them my second team,I have gone over to the City Ground a dozen or so times in the last few years,I would love it if the got back into the Premier League.
Will do my best to make the playoff final if they get to it.
Title: Re: Championship Playoffs
Post by: Denn Forever on May 07, 2010, 09:53:58 AM
Sorry RL but I hope Blackpool go up if only to hear Ian Holloway being interviewed for MOTD.

Post by: Hound on May 07, 2010, 09:58:24 AM
Oh for the days when Forest were any good... Remember beating them 5-0 when they were the 2nd best team. Or Aldo laughing at Brian Laws after he'd scored an og in the FA Cup semi final!

Anyways I'd like to see Cardiff come through, to give Stephen McPhail one more run in the top flight. Tremedous achievement for him to return to the first team so soon after beating the big C.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 07, 2010, 10:04:26 AM
Gees didn't know McPhail had the big C.

I'd like to see Cardiff go up for the sake of havign a welsh team in it.

Holloway is some craic though. Analogising playing bad in a game and winning with pulling a fat bird was genius.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 07, 2010, 10:29:24 AM
f**k McPhail and Holloway, and Leicester too
Come on the Trees !!!!
Post by: Billys Boots on May 07, 2010, 10:47:38 AM
I'm on the McPhail bandwagon.  ;)
Post by: Denn Forever on May 07, 2010, 10:52:29 AM
Once Leeds, always Leeds.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 07, 2010, 11:01:55 AM
He's a local lad, from Rush (north county Dublin). 
Post by: Larry Duff on May 07, 2010, 11:54:20 AM
Quote from: Hound on May 07, 2010, 09:58:24 AM
Or Aldo laughing at Brian Laws after he'd scored an og in the FA Cup semi final!

That was Steve Chettle in the re-arranged semi-final after the Hillsborough disaster - Aldo displaying what a classy guy he really is

Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 07, 2010, 11:58:32 AM
Quote from: Larry Duff on May 07, 2010, 11:54:20 AM
Quote from: Hound on May 07, 2010, 09:58:24 AM
Or Aldo laughing at Brian Laws after he'd scored an og in the FA Cup semi final!

That was Steve Chettle in the re-arranged semi-final after the Hillsborough disaster - Aldo displaying what a classy guy he really is

It was Brian Laws who scored the own goal as I remember,also Aldo apologised afterwards and said he shouldn't have done it but with everything that happened in the previous few weeks (Hillsborough)he got caught up in the emotion.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 07, 2010, 11:58:53 AM
speaking of Brian Laws, his managerial prowess has taken a bit of a battering recently. He managed 2 teams this year, and BOTH of them got relagated. Not good for the old CV that. Fine right back in his day though
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 07, 2010, 12:04:38 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on May 07, 2010, 10:52:29 AM
Once Leeds, always Leeds.

Does the same apply to Cantona,Ferdinand and Alan Smith ?
Post by: Denn Forever on May 07, 2010, 12:20:18 PM
I said this as Billy is a Leeds supporter, McPhail played at Leeds.  Nothing else.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 07, 2010, 12:45:20 PM
Dont be on about Leeds, this thread is about C'ship clubs ;) ;)
Post by: Billys Boots on May 07, 2010, 12:49:36 PM
We were talking about a Cardiff player when you brought your irrelevant comment to the table.  ;)
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 07, 2010, 12:55:49 PM
Cardiff applies to the thread title ;) OK maybe tomorrow at 5.00PM Leeds will be a C'ship club, but until then.......panic !!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 07, 2010, 12:56:52 PM
Wink smiley overload on the last few posts

Post by: Billys Boots on May 07, 2010, 12:57:16 PM
The panic happened ages ago, I'm quite accustomed to it at this stage.  Cool as an Arctic breeze in Bootsland today.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 07, 2010, 01:00:18 PM
paddypower odds for promotion

Forest 9/4
Cardiff 12/5
Leicester 11/4
Blackpool 3/1
Post by: Billys Boots on May 07, 2010, 01:14:52 PM
Have you no plugs to wire?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 07, 2010, 01:16:05 PM
i hoped we wouldnt finish 3rd, that's why were favourites. 3rd place teams dont have a great play-off record.
Laois Lad, you could change the thread title to Football League Playoffs, just to make everyone feel at home.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 07, 2010, 01:17:45 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 07, 2010, 01:14:52 PM
Have you no plugs to wire?

You don't keep a dog and bark yourself
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on May 07, 2010, 01:27:28 PM
Although Coleman will return to Everton after the games I'd still like to see Blackpool getting up.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 08, 2010, 01:02:08 PM
Great start for Forest....and what a goal  :o
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 08, 2010, 01:08:57 PM
Worthy of the Premiership that goal ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 08, 2010, 02:06:43 PM
 :(
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 08, 2010, 02:27:18 PM
Will take a 2-1 defeat at this stage (10 mins to go). wouldn't be the worst at Half Time with home leg to go
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 08, 2010, 03:28:05 PM
What way to away goals count in this Hoof? Is it only after extra time or what?
Post by: sammymaguire on May 08, 2010, 03:42:21 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 08, 2010, 03:28:05 PM
What way to away goals count in this Hoof? Is it only after extra time or what?

away goals don't count extra at any stage
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 08, 2010, 03:53:15 PM
thats correct sammy, they used to count double AET, but that was scrapped.
Post by: ross4life on May 11, 2010, 09:24:03 PM
anybody else watching this tonight? forest 2 Blackpool 3 at the moment the 3rd pool goal was barca type goal  :o
Post by: ross4life on May 11, 2010, 09:27:18 PM
2-4 Blackpool on there way to Wembley hope they go all the way now
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 11, 2010, 09:30:52 PM
Gutted for Forest, had really hoped they would get promoted
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 11, 2010, 09:51:24 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 07, 2010, 01:00:18 PM
paddypower odds for promotion

Forest 9/4
Cardiff 12/5
Leicester 11/4
Blackpool 3/1

Not sure who dreams up these odds for 50-50 games

Blessing in disguise maybe. Billy Davies was interviewed earlier in the year and he more or less said they werent ready to go up, he said he went up with a team before who werent ready and he lost his job over it (Derby in 2007). He even said this week that none of the 4 teams were good enough to go up. Whilst he will be dissapointed for a couple of days, i think he get over it fairly quickly. It would have been nice to see us on MOTD next year instead of the programme after it, but not getting beat by 3, 4 or more every week. Fair play to Blackpool they were class tonight. but if they get up, you would have to fear for them next season
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 11, 2010, 09:56:23 PM
Wasn't able watch it tonight Hoof, shocking pity I was looking forward to going to both Liverpool v Forest games next year..
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 11, 2010, 09:57:52 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 11, 2010, 09:30:52 PM
Gutted for Forest, had really hoped they would get promoted

You're not the only one.
Post by: Declan on May 11, 2010, 10:03:41 PM
Enjoyable game and some good goals. Blackpool are a decent footballing side but will struggle alright if they go up. Young Coleman looks a decent prospect for us
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 11, 2010, 10:11:54 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 11, 2010, 09:56:23 PM
Wasn't able watch it tonight Hoof, shocking pity I was looking forward to going to both Liverpool v Forest games next year..

yes, was making plans earlier with a liverpool mate of mine who was in my house when Forest went 1-0 up. We were discussing how to go about getting tickets for the City Ground :D

Maybe next year !!
Post by: ross4life on May 11, 2010, 10:16:22 PM
DJ Campbell scored a nice hat-trick tonight, Blackpool is good place to spend a weekend away next season me thinks  :P
Post by: Denn Forever on May 12, 2010, 12:30:57 PM
Well done the 'pool.

Not a phase that has been used too much lately.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 12, 2010, 12:42:18 PM
Was glad for Blackpool, Seamus Coleman who is on loan from Everton was great player for Sligo Rovers for yrs, still only young and developing well.

I have great time for Holloway aswell, would love to see him in the premiership. I did feel sorry for Forest, I like to see bug clubs back where they belong like ourselves so hopefully theyll do better next yr.

If Leicester win tonight DJ Campbell wont be allowed play in the final as he is on loan from leicester, so he'll be hoping cardiff win.
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 12, 2010, 12:46:30 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 12, 2010, 12:42:18 PM
Was glad for Blackpool, Seamus Coleman who is on loan from Everton was great player for Sligo Rovers for yrs, still only young and developing well.

I have great time for Holloway aswell, would love to see him in the premiership. I did feel sorry for Forest, I like to see bug clubs back where they belong like ourselves so hopefully theyll do better next yr.

If Leicester win tonight DJ Campbell wont be allowed play in the final as he is on loan from leicester, so he'll be hoping cardiff win.
He said as much last night so I can't see him back at Leicester anyway!
Coleman was v impressive again last night.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 12, 2010, 04:52:49 PM
Coleman is a serious prospect alright and really the ROI senior management should be nurturing him starting now. He's already as good as anything we have in that position and could be really top class. Moyes will make sure his development continues along the right path. Tony Hibbert will be looking nervously over his shoulder.

Always admired McPhail. A bit of a mystery why it never really took off for him. Large slices of bad luck I suppose though he has still had a decent career. Would be a nice story if he can make it to the Prem with Cardiff.

Rained goals at the end last night. Blackpool will take a bit of stopping, hit form at just the right time. Opposite is true of Forest.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 12, 2010, 10:27:42 PM
That Leicester boy who tried to chip the penalty needs a good kick up the arse for it... Doing that in a match that big, shocking...
Post by: Minder on May 12, 2010, 10:30:44 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 12, 2010, 10:27:42 PM
That Leicester boy who tried to chip the penalty needs a good kick up the arse for it... Doing that in a match that big, shocking...

I dunno, if he scored he would have been a great fella. Didn't a Pole do it in the 70's to win the European Championship? If he had of placed it and missed people would be saying he should have blasted it.
Post by: Declan on May 12, 2010, 10:34:50 PM
Delighted for McPhail after his illness. As Seanie said always had time for him - Lovely footballer just lacked that little bit of pace to be top class 
QuoteDidn't a Pole do it in the 70's to win the European Championship?

Panenka I thought his name was for Czechs against the germans - Sepp Maier in goal in 1976 final. Tried it myself at training later that year and got bollicked for it - !!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 12, 2010, 10:51:03 PM
Mark Kennedy hasn't aged at all he still looks like he did when he joined Liverpool back in the '90s
Post by: imtommygunn on May 12, 2010, 10:51:13 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 12, 2010, 10:30:44 PM

I dunno, if he scored he would have been a great fella. Didn't a Pole do it in the 70's to win the European Championship? If he had of placed it and missed people would be saying he should have blasted it.

An occassion that big is no place for that kind of penalty. He may have been a hero on the pitch but behind closed doors his manager probably gave him a good kick up the arse.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 12, 2010, 11:10:11 PM
Stupid hoor, if he drove the ball a mile over the bar no one would have blamed him, to do that in such a important game was idiotic
Wonder what the odds on him being shipped out in the summer are
Post by: Orior on May 12, 2010, 11:14:43 PM
I'm glad Cardiff got through. If it had been Leicester, then the star Blackpool striker could not have played, as he's on loan from Leicester.

With regard the final, it would be good to see either team in the Premiership, but Cardiff should probably make a better fist of it. Their stadium deserves the premiership. too
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 12, 2010, 11:16:31 PM
it was obvious what his team-mates thought of him. the lad Waghorn, who missed the last pen had to be practically carried off the pitch, whilst thon fool frog stood in the middle of the pitch with his head in his hands ! w**ker.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 12, 2010, 11:20:18 PM
Cardiff's City stadium has a maximum capacity of 26,828. cardiff millenium stadium has a capacity of 74,500. Would they use this venue versus the big teams should they reach the top tier?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 12, 2010, 11:24:36 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 12, 2010, 11:20:18 PM
Cardiff's City stadium has a maximum capacity of 26,828. cardiff millenium stadium has a capacity of 74,500. Would they use this venue versus the big teams should they reach the top tier?

The Cardiff Blues do, so i dont see why not, Premier League rules will probably dictate that they cant. Is that all the capacity is ? Looks a lot bigger. and it's always fairly empty during Cardiff Blues games
Post by: ballinaman on May 13, 2010, 12:43:40 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 12, 2010, 10:51:13 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 12, 2010, 10:30:44 PM

An occassion that big is no place for that kind of penalty. He may have been a hero on the pitch but behind closed doors his manager probably gave him a good kick up the arse.

Sure Zidane did it in the WC final and got away with it...barely though!
Post by: Billys Boots on May 13, 2010, 09:20:24 AM
Quote from: Declan on May 12, 2010, 10:34:50 PM
Delighted for McPhail after his illness. As Seanie said always had time for him - Lovely footballer just lacked that little bit of pace to be top class 
QuoteDidn't a Pole do it in the 70's to win the European Championship?

Panenka I thought his name was for Czechs against the germans - Sepp Maier in goal in 1976 final. Tried it myself at training later that year and got bollicked for it - !!!

Delighted for McPhail - I think Cardiff will do it now, though they'll really struggle in Premier League.

That penalty-taker should never play professional football again - disgraceful irresponsibility toward his club and his team-mates.
Title: Re: Championship Playoff Final Blackpool v Cardiff
Post by: Club Rossa on May 13, 2010, 09:28:29 AM
Should be a good game at Wembley,both teams are very attack minded,think Cardiff have a bit more quality though.
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 13, 2010, 09:33:36 AM
Would love to see Holloway take Blackpool up, he is a bit of an eccentric although I do think he uses this 'clown' facade to his advantage.
Post by: bingobus on May 13, 2010, 09:36:28 AM
These playoff games never fail to entertain, in the past the finals have been some of the best games you'll ever see in terms of goals, excitment, dramatic endings, incidents etc. Some bagful of goals the last two nights.

Cardiff seemed to have the edge last night once they got that penalty. The soul crew march onto wembley now!

Holloway would be good entertainment for the premiership though!
Post by: From the Bunker on May 13, 2010, 10:24:02 AM
for those of you who missed last nights drama..........

http://www.freesoccerhighlights.com/soccer/highlights/2010/05/12/cardiff-city-2-3-leicester-city-4-3-on-penalties-english-championship-wednesday-may-12-2010/
Post by: charlie stubbs on May 13, 2010, 11:13:40 PM
"To put it in gentleman's terms, if you've been out for a night and you're looking for a young lady and you pull one, you've done what you set out to do. We didn't look our best today but we've pulled.

Some weeks the lady is good looking and some weeks they're not. Our performance today would have been not the best looking bird but at least we got her in the taxi.

She may not have been the best looking lady we ended up taking home but it was still very pleasant and very nice, so thanks very much and let's have coffee."

ian holloway et al!legend
Post by: Never beat the deeler on May 13, 2010, 11:34:17 PM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on May 13, 2010, 11:13:40 PM
"To put it in gentleman's terms, if you've been out for a night and you're looking for a young lady and you pull one, you've done what you set out to do. We didn't look our best today but we've pulled.

Some weeks the lady is good looking and some weeks they're not. Our performance today would have been not the best looking bird but at least we got her in the taxi.

She may not have been the best looking lady we ended up taking home but it was still very pleasant and very nice, so thanks very much and let's have coffee."

ian holloway et al!legend

I agree. holloway has come out with some crackers.

BTW Why did you put 'et al' after his name???
Post by: Capt Pat on May 13, 2010, 11:37:33 PM
I see that Mark Kennedy is back from the dead.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 17, 2010, 06:54:27 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iad3gV-9C1U

Thought this parody of the Leicester penalty was very funny!
Post by: gallsman on May 17, 2010, 06:55:39 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 17, 2010, 06:54:27 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iad3gV-9C1U

Thought this parody of the Leicester penalty was very funny!

The Football Weekly podcast crew on the Guardian website were talking about this earlier. Brilliant.
Post by: Minder on May 17, 2010, 10:36:26 PM
The Charlton player should never be allowed to play professional football again after blasting a penalty over and wide tonight In the shootout tonight
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 22, 2010, 03:12:04 PM
Great start for Cardiff, nice finish from Chopra
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 22, 2010, 03:13:57 PM
1-1 what a free kick  :o
Post by: Denn Forever on May 22, 2010, 03:17:29 PM
Whats with these playoff games.  Hopefuly it'll be a goal fest.
Post by: magickingdom on May 22, 2010, 03:28:32 PM
blackpool all over them
Post by: magickingdom on May 22, 2010, 03:39:32 PM
spoke to soon! whats with all the empty seats? thought this would be one of the hottest tickets in london this w/e
Post by: magickingdom on May 22, 2010, 03:40:53 PM
nuts 2-2
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 22, 2010, 03:40:58 PM
This is brilliant 2-2
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 22, 2010, 03:48:46 PM
3-2 to Blackpool at half time, unreal stuff
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 22, 2010, 03:49:15 PM
3-2
great stuff,defending isn't the greatest but who cares!
Post by: ross4life on May 22, 2010, 03:49:36 PM
great 45mins hopefully more goals in 2nd half
Post by: Minder on May 22, 2010, 03:55:12 PM
f**king fancied Blackpool at the start of the playoffs but didn't back them :'(
Post by: paco on May 22, 2010, 04:40:13 PM
Great game. Heard the commentators mentioning the empty tiers are necessary due to "hospitality regulations", anyone know anything about this? Sounds like a pile of crap.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 22, 2010, 04:53:11 PM
Fair play to Blackpool deserving winners, great game
Post by: Minder on May 22, 2010, 04:55:18 PM
A towering, illuminating performance from Blackpool.
Post by: Schkite on May 22, 2010, 04:55:44 PM
Well done Blackpool, great to see them up.
Post by: ross4life on May 22, 2010, 04:56:01 PM
Well done Blackpool, looking forward to a good weekend over there next season  8) i think tonights game will be a bit more cagey than this game
Post by: Denn Forever on May 22, 2010, 05:10:20 PM
Well done Blackpool.  Living life in the Stratosfear.

Tangerine Dream

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fa0sDk8yqGY
Post by: paco on May 22, 2010, 05:46:35 PM
Really emotional interview with Ian Holloway there now, hope they do well, he deserves his chance in the top flight.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on May 22, 2010, 06:50:52 PM
Even with the relative size of the club, I don't fear for Blackpool against the big boys next year they showed some heart. Ian Holloway is a genius with hypnotically confusing words of steel. Fair play they have some heart.
Post by: Capt Pat on May 22, 2010, 09:01:36 PM
They will get a ton of money if the owner is willing to spend it rather than pocket it.
Post by: Catch the high ball on May 22, 2010, 09:43:32 PM
Blackpool will light up the Premiership next year!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 23, 2010, 12:39:39 AM
the main thing is that he doesnt become a "Billy Davies"

Even if Blackpool get about 3/4 point of the first 30, he doesnt get the boot. That would be a disgrace. (but not impossible)
Post by: Aerlik on May 23, 2010, 07:02:31 AM
Quote from: ross4life on May 22, 2010, 04:56:01 PM
Well done Blackpool, looking forward to a good weekend over there next season  8) i think tonights game will be a bit more cagey than this game

Will you be there for the football or for the fact that it is the gay capital of northern England and second only to Brighton for such indulgences?
Post by: ross4life on May 23, 2010, 07:28:06 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on May 23, 2010, 07:02:31 AM
Quote from: ross4life on May 22, 2010, 04:56:01 PM

Will you be there for the football or for the fact that it is the gay capital of northern England and second only to Brighton for such indulgences?

Yes football of course :D  been to Blackpool loads of time's great nightlife (no nancy boys in sight) beach, illuminations & Pleasure Beach Theme Park, first i heard it was a gay capital...more like the middle aged women on the pull but i guess I'll take your word for it
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 23, 2010, 08:50:47 AM
Ross, Aerlik would know these things, he is well versed on his gay capitals !!
Post by: Aerlik on May 23, 2010, 07:09:17 PM
Who farted...feck off ya hoooooooor ya.  No, I lived in Preston and there was quare craic when the two played each other.  The abuse the Blackpool fans got was something else.  Preston is on the main north west mainline between London and Glasgow and you dreaded any Friday or Saturday night being in Preston station as all the crossdressers, shemales, trannys, ladyboys had to get off their trains to get the Blackpool connection.  And no, who farted, I am/was not a trainspotter either.  By the way, I got that photo of the Bann frozen at Portglenone bridge on the computer.  PM me so I can forward it to you.