Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: magickingdom on May 02, 2010, 08:47:34 PM

Title: Mcllory closing in on first PGA Title?
Post by: magickingdom on May 02, 2010, 08:47:34 PM
tied for the lead with 7 holes left

http://www.pgatour.com/r/leaderboard/
Title: Re: Mcllory closing in on first PGA Title?
Post by: Orior on May 02, 2010, 08:55:09 PM
Its gonna be a tight one.
Post by: Bogball XV on May 02, 2010, 09:07:04 PM
i'd say he'll be found out on the back 9, he has 2 multiple major champions breathing down his neck too.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 02, 2010, 09:13:44 PM
British golfers going well this year
Post by: Minder on May 02, 2010, 09:17:57 PM
Who was the last British golfer to win on the US tour?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 02, 2010, 09:19:58 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 02, 2010, 09:17:57 PM

Well Ian Poulter won a World Golf Championship a few months ago,not sure if that's counted as a US Tour event
Post by: Orior on May 02, 2010, 09:20:14 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 02, 2010, 09:17:57 PM

Ian Poulter.

Wonder boy now two shots ahead.
Post by: Lady GAA GAA on May 02, 2010, 09:26:53 PM
CoolFM will be even harder to listen to after this.
Post by: Minder on May 02, 2010, 09:27:52 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 02, 2010, 09:22:20 PM
This is Ulick's cousin yis are on about. He can't be a Brit.

He refers to himself as one. McIlroy that is.
Post by: Orior on May 02, 2010, 09:29:26 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 02, 2010, 09:27:52 PM

But that was only to wind up Poulter?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 02, 2010, 09:32:02 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 02, 2010, 09:29:26 PM

He said before the Masters that he was hoping he would win it as it had been so long since a Brit won it
Post by: Orior on May 02, 2010, 09:36:19 PM
Rory eagles the 15th!
Post by: Orior on May 02, 2010, 09:37:55 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 02, 2010, 09:32:02 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 02, 2010, 09:29:26 PM

He said before the Masters that he was hoping he would win it as it had been so long since a Brit won it

Anyway, the only people who call themselves Brits are the six county planters. The rest of the british isles is comprised on Irish, English, Scots and Welsh.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 02, 2010, 09:42:51 PM
some shot out of the fairway bunker on the 16th
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 02, 2010, 09:45:07 PM
Donagh has maybe secured a postal votail for the Shinners. Just the one mind ;)
Post by: Bensars on May 02, 2010, 09:46:31 PM
Purse: $6.4 million      Winning Share: $1,152,000         FedExCup Points: 500

Not bad for 4 days work
Post by: Orior on May 02, 2010, 09:50:27 PM
9 under after 16 holes - he's some bucko
Post by: Bensars on May 02, 2010, 09:52:50 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 02, 2010, 09:07:04 PM
i'd say he'll be found out on the back 9, he has 2 multiple major champions breathing down his neck too.

5 under for the first 7 holes of the back nine.
Post by: Minder on May 02, 2010, 10:03:05 PM
Steven Watson.............
Post by: mournerambler on May 02, 2010, 10:04:38 PM
Probably the best round of golf I have watched on TV, there are going to be lots more titles for Rory if he continues with this form, great to see, the only negative point of this is having to listen to the gobshite that is Graham McDowell on commentary.

My mistake, it was Feherty, just as hard to listen to as McDowell mind you.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 02, 2010, 10:06:28 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 02, 2010, 10:03:05 PM
Steven Watson.............
...has just cum over his David Healy poster.
Post by: Bogball XV on May 02, 2010, 10:07:15 PM
Quote from: Bensars on May 02, 2010, 09:52:50 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 02, 2010, 09:07:04 PM

5 under for the first 7 holes of the back nine.
I was going to post that myself, good call!!
Post by: Orior on May 02, 2010, 10:14:00 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on May 02, 2010, 10:04:38 PM
Probably the best round of golf I have watched on TV, there are going to be lots more titles for Rory if he continues with this form, great to see, the only negative point of this is having to listen to the gobshite that is Graham McDowell on commentary.

He is? Usually its David Feeehhhhheeeerrrrrrrty
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 02, 2010, 10:15:34 PM
Phenomenal round of golf, his swing is bloody perfection..
Post by: heganboy on May 02, 2010, 10:15:53 PM
62, course record by 2- some finish for 3 on 18...
Phil needs 5 shots on 3 holes
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 02, 2010, 10:16:10 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 02, 2010, 10:14:00 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on May 02, 2010, 10:04:38 PM

He is? Usually its David Feeehhhhheeeerrrrrrrty

It is yer man Feherty sp?
Post by: Orior on May 02, 2010, 10:18:29 PM
Quote from: heganboy on May 02, 2010, 10:15:53 PM
62, course record by 2- some finish for 3 on 18...
Phil needs 5 shots on 3 holes

Yes, and it puts my 23 over on Saturday into perspective.
Post by: heganboy on May 02, 2010, 10:28:23 PM
mcilroy wins by 4 from Phil. Is this the new era of golf- rory wins his first on the USPGA and tiger heads home after 2 days...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 02, 2010, 10:30:09 PM
Quote from: heganboy on May 02, 2010, 10:28:23 PM
mcilroy wins by 4 from Phil. Is this the new era of golf- rory wins his first on the USPGA and tiger heads home after 2 days...

Wouldn't be getting to carried away just yet
Post by: Minder on May 02, 2010, 10:33:56 PM
If he wins a major, maybe.
Post by: saffron sam2 on May 02, 2010, 10:37:18 PM
Don't like him, but like the way he caught the ferry over to Celtic Park the Ulster rugby game during the no fly shite.
Post by: mournerambler on May 02, 2010, 10:39:15 PM
Congrats to Rory McIlroy on an amazing display & was nice to hear him refer to 'the North of Ireland' in the interview afterwards  ;)
Post by: magickingdom on May 02, 2010, 10:46:35 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on May 02, 2010, 10:39:15 PM
Congrats to Rory McIlroy on an amazing display & was nice to hear him refer to 'the North of Ireland' in the interview afterwards  ;)

'north of ireland' is actually the name of an amateur golf event like the better known 'west of ireland' but im not sure if thats what he meant. feherty managed to mention ulster and ni about 4 times in the interview. like it or not mcllory call himself british more often than not (and i for one dont like it but its his call). anyway super super golf and a real nice guy in interviews
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 02, 2010, 10:49:57 PM
Would being British not be better for his career ala Barry McGuigan, just asking the question btw
Post by: magickingdom on May 02, 2010, 10:53:46 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 02, 2010, 10:49:57 PM
Would being British not be better for his career ala Barry McGuigan, just asking the question btw

why? its an individual sport
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 02, 2010, 10:54:21 PM
commercial activities
Post by: Orior on May 02, 2010, 11:03:42 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on May 02, 2010, 10:46:35 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on May 02, 2010, 10:39:15 PM

'north of ireland' is actually the name of an amateur golf event like the better known 'west of ireland' but im not sure if thats what he meant. feherty managed to mention ulster and ni about 4 times in the interview. like it or not mcllory call himself british more often than not (and i for one dont like it but its his call). anyway super super golf and a real nice guy in interviews

Yeah, I think he was referring to the golf tournament. Anyway, this must be good news for the "we exist" brigade, who seem to have left GAA Board en masse.
Post by: ONeill on May 02, 2010, 11:05:24 PM
Well done Ruairí
Post by: Orior on May 02, 2010, 11:16:01 PM
In an interview Ruairi said he would phone his parents, then Holly. I thought he'd dumped Holly?

But I hope Holly wasnt watching when Ruairi was signing autographs (picture the Happy Gilmore scene when Happy signs a girls breasts)
Post by: JimStynes on May 03, 2010, 12:02:31 AM
Is he Catholic or a Prod? I heard his ma is from Taghnaven in lurgan.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 03, 2010, 12:05:10 AM
he's a Catholic
Post by: ONeill on May 03, 2010, 12:08:03 AM
Dennis Taylor, Barry McGuigan, Ruairí Mac Giolla Ruaidh, Pat Jennings

Who was the greatest international taig?
Post by: gorm agus bui on May 03, 2010, 12:40:46 AM
Doesn't his uncle referee GAA in Down?
Post by: mournerambler on May 03, 2010, 12:50:55 AM
I'm pretty sure that it is his Uncle who referee's for the St. Pauls (Holywood) club.
Post by: Orior on May 03, 2010, 12:56:45 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 03, 2010, 12:08:03 AM

Liam Neeson (boxer)
Martin O'Neill (soccer)

RoryMcRory is the greatest
Post by: Ulick on May 03, 2010, 01:13:20 AM
Quote from: mournerambler on May 03, 2010, 12:50:55 AM
I'm pretty sure that it is his Uncle who referee's for the St. Pauls (Holywood) club.

Dunno about the fathers side but his uncle on the mothers side used to play for St Paul's, Lurgan (and Armagh).
Post by: ziggysego on May 03, 2010, 01:15:26 AM

Sean Cavanagh....
Post by: angermanagement on May 03, 2010, 01:16:29 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on May 03, 2010, 12:02:31 AM
Is he Catholic or a Prod? I heard his ma is from Taghnaven in lurgan.

Who gives a f**k what religion he is. Fair play to him it was some round of golf he could do no wrong.
Post by: ziggysego on May 03, 2010, 01:20:56 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 03, 2010, 01:17:19 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 03, 2010, 01:15:26 AM

Sean Cavanagh....
Tom McDermott.

Don't think he played any sports on an International basis. However he did show the English lads in the BB House his good ball control. Does that count?
Post by: stephenite on May 03, 2010, 01:26:45 AM
Fair play to Rory - terrific talent for such a young cub, thought he was going to slide into that second season syndrome that got both Kim and Villegeas after 2008 but the work he's done with Rotella has obviously worked
Post by: heganboy on May 03, 2010, 03:19:54 AM
Quote from: angermanagement on May 03, 2010, 01:16:29 AM
Who gives a f**k what religion he is. Fair play to him it was some round of golf he could do no wrong.

we sound like some bunch of feckin' eejits, not a great sign for the future that a 20 year old kid wins a golf tournament and all the action on this board is over what religion he is.
Post by: tyssam5 on May 03, 2010, 06:12:16 AM
Would be a right pain not being able to have a feed of pints after that!
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on May 03, 2010, 09:43:09 AM
Fantastic win for young SmackIlroy......watched him as a 12 year old at Ulster boys when the clubs were nearly as big as him,

hope he goes on to even more success.
Post by: Hardy on May 03, 2010, 11:55:15 AM
Quote from: heganboy on May 03, 2010, 03:19:54 AM

we sound like some bunch of feckin' eejits, not a great sign for the future that a 20 year old kid wins a golf tournament and all the action on this board is over what religion he is.

It's depressing.
Post by: ONeill on May 03, 2010, 12:07:34 PM
Still think his eyes are very close together.
Post by: ziggysego on May 03, 2010, 12:44:18 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 03, 2010, 12:07:34 PM

The BBC are saying he's the poster boy for post-conflict Northern Ireland.
Post by: Puckoon on May 03, 2010, 04:09:17 PM
He's like a white Phil Lynnot with that barnet.
Post by: Minder on May 03, 2010, 04:10:14 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 03, 2010, 12:44:18 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 03, 2010, 12:07:34 PM

The BBC are saying he's the poster boy for post-conflict Northern Ireland.

He could probably get a grant for that.
Post by: stew on May 03, 2010, 04:30:43 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 03, 2010, 04:09:17 PM
He's like a white Phil Lynnot with that barnet.

Thats exactly who he is like. :D

Didnt know he was a fenian, didnt need to know, fair fecks to him, he is a great talent and I hope he goes on to win majors like his buddy Harrington.
Post by: Orior on May 03, 2010, 04:33:20 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 03, 2010, 11:55:15 AM

It's depressing.

To be fair, Jim Stynes question was a bit tongue in cheek. I dont think anyone on this board really cares one way or another. And there's no harm in asking if there is any GAA blood in the family. Afterall, this is the GAABoard.
Post by: The Forfeit Point on May 03, 2010, 04:40:35 PM
what does this do for his world ranking?
Post by: Geoff Tipps on May 03, 2010, 04:42:17 PM
Quote from: The Forfeit Point on May 03, 2010, 04:40:35 PM
what does this do for his world ranking?

Up to 9th I think.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 03, 2010, 06:04:35 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 03, 2010, 04:33:20 PM

It's depressing.

To be fair, Jim Stynes question was a bit tongue in cheek. I dont think anyone on this board really cares one way or another. And there's no harm in asking if there is any GAA blood in the family. Afterall, this is the GAABoard.
I never had you down as the naive type. Of course it matters to some people.
Post by: Capt Pat on May 03, 2010, 07:21:40 PM
Can I just be the first on here to say well done rory........... Ah no seriously cut your hair and get a proper job ye hippy
Post by: Hardy on May 03, 2010, 07:35:15 PM

It's depressing.

What would GAA blood have to do with his religion?
Post by: anglocelt39 on May 03, 2010, 07:51:37 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 03, 2010, 07:35:15 PM

It's depressing.

What would GAA blood have to do with his religion?

Very few curny buns involved in the GAA is the simple answer Hardy, assuming its a straight question which I suspect its not :-[
Post by: JimStynes on May 04, 2010, 12:06:43 AM
f**k sake lads cathc a grip.  I asked the question was he a prodestant or catholic out of interest because i always thought he was a prod until the other day when someone said to me that his ma was from Taghnaven in lurgan and some of his family was involved in GAA. I have a passing interest in golf and I had always supported McIlroy and wished him well even though i thought he was a prod. No big deal. Not as if i have started supporting him now because ive found out hes a catholic.
Post by: Capt Pat on May 04, 2010, 12:10:21 AM
Why can't you all take a leaf out of my book and begrudge the lad his victory regardless of his religion. Don't bring religion into the sport of begrudgery you bigots. :P
Post by: Puckoon on May 04, 2010, 12:10:48 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on May 04, 2010, 12:06:43 AM
f**k sake lads cathc a grip.  I asked the question was he a prodestant or catholic out of interest because i always thought he was a prod until the other day when someone said to me that his ma was from Taghnaven in lurgan and some of his family was involved in GAA. I have a passing interest in golf and I had always supported McIlroy and wished him well even though i thought he was a prod. No big deal. Not as if i have started supporting him now because ive found out hes a catholic.

Jim, put down the shovel. ;)
Post by: JimStynes on May 04, 2010, 12:13:37 AM
f**k it i hated him when i thought he was a prod and now i love him. I am a bigot
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 04, 2010, 08:50:49 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on May 04, 2010, 12:13:37 AM
f**k it i hated him when i thought he was a prod and now i love him. I am a bigot
Now was that so difficult?! :D
Post by: Hardy on May 04, 2010, 09:43:00 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on May 04, 2010, 12:06:43 AMwished him well even though i thought he was a prod

That's nothing. Some of my best friends are prods.
Post by: Orior on May 04, 2010, 11:29:50 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on May 04, 2010, 12:13:37 AM

Ah Jim, there's just no pleasing some of the hoors on this board.
Post by: Minder on May 04, 2010, 11:47:22 AM
Jim does it muddy the waters for you in any way that he sees himself as British?
Post by: JimStynes on May 04, 2010, 11:48:14 AM
Now i hate him again
Post by: ziggysego on May 04, 2010, 11:53:17 AM
Quote from: Minder on May 04, 2010, 11:47:22 AM
Jim does it muddy the waters for you in any way that he sees himself as British?

(http://americandigest.org/800px-simpsons_angry_mob_copy.jpg)
Post by: nrico2006 on May 04, 2010, 11:54:18 AM

Where is the evidence?
Post by: Orior on May 04, 2010, 12:01:43 PM
Stop picking on Jim yis bollix's ye.
Post by: Minder on May 04, 2010, 12:06:07 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 04, 2010, 11:54:18 AM

Where is the evidence?

Before this years Masters  he said he hoped he could win it as it had been a while since a British golfer won it.
Post by: Orior on May 04, 2010, 12:10:18 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 04, 2010, 12:06:07 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 04, 2010, 11:54:18 AM

Where is the evidence?

Before this years Masters  he said he hoped he could win it as it had been a while since a British golfer won it.

Were you running a leg of the marathon yesterday Minder? Thought I saw you sticking like glue to David Forde MLA, lol
Post by: Declan on May 04, 2010, 12:13:52 PM
Absolutely fantastic stuff from McIlroy - As good a round of golf as I've ever seen. Hope he kicks on from it
Post by: ziggysego on May 04, 2010, 12:15:29 PM
Quote from: Declan on May 04, 2010, 12:13:52 PM
Absolutely fantastic stuff from McIlroy - As good a round of golf as I've ever seen. Hope he kicks on from it

According to RTE last night, only 3 other golfers have won it in their early 20s. Before 24 I think and each of them have gone on to take the golfing world by storm.
Post by: Minder on May 04, 2010, 12:19:56 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 04, 2010, 12:15:29 PM

According to RTE last night, only 3 other golfers have won it in their early 20s. Before 24 I think and each of them have gone on to take the golfing world by storm.

Fcuk Ziggy I thought you were gonna say "won US Open, Masters etc". What does "take the golfing world by storm" mean?
Post by: ziggysego on May 04, 2010, 12:21:14 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 04, 2010, 12:19:56 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 04, 2010, 12:15:29 PM

Fcuk Ziggy I thought you were gonna say "won US Open, Masters etc". What does "take the golfing world by storm" mean?

Basically everything you thought I was going to say and plenty of them.
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 04, 2010, 12:30:23 PM
The other three were Tiger the shagger, Seve and Nice guy Phil.
Post by: Ulick on May 04, 2010, 01:02:58 PM
The attempt by Minder to pigeon hole him as British is every bit as bigoted as those who are attempting to claim him as a Fenian. He carries a Brit passport, like a good few Down people on this Board, but has been proud to represent Ireland at every level. Like most other 21 years old with any sense I'm sure he has more important things on his mind, but when questioned about his nationality, he'll normally avoid the question or opt for "Northern Irish". I guess we'll all have to wait until the 2016 Olympics to get the definitive answer, though it's ironic that it's only in the British Isles he gets asked such irrelevant questions. To the rest of the world he's simply another Irishman.
Post by: Orior on May 04, 2010, 01:26:20 PM
Wonder boy will have to contend with two other new kids on the block:

1) Ryo Ishikawa, aged 18 hit a final round of 58 to win a tournament in Asia last weekend

2) Matteo Manassero aged 16 finished the Masters tied 37 and is bing dubbed the next Seve

3) Ricky Fowler, left the BBC's Eastenders programme to take up golf and I reckon has done pretty well
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 04, 2010, 01:28:31 PM
That was some score from Ishikawa, they say a 59 is the holy grail for a golfer, to shoot a 58 is amazing
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 04, 2010, 01:59:23 PM
not to mention it's his eighth title of his career already
Post by: nrico2006 on May 04, 2010, 02:30:56 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on May 04, 2010, 01:59:23 PM

Good score, but isn't the course where he hit the 58 very short distance wise?  How competitive is the Tour of Asia?  Why is he not playing with the big boys if he is so good?
Post by: Minder on May 04, 2010, 03:05:40 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 04, 2010, 02:30:56 PM

Good score, but isn't the course where he hit the 58 very short distance wise?  How competitive is the Tour of Asia?  Why is he not playing with the big boys if he is so good?

He is probably only about 5" 4
Post by: Evil Genius on May 04, 2010, 04:32:37 PM
Quote from: Ulick on May 04, 2010, 01:02:58 PM
The attempt by Minder to pigeon hole him as British is every bit as bigoted as those who are attempting to claim him as a Fenian. He carries a Brit passport, like a good few Down people on this Board, but has been proud to represent Ireland at every level. Like most other 21 years old with any sense I'm sure he has more important things on his mind, but when questioned about his nationality, he'll normally avoid the question or opt for "Northern Irish". I guess we'll all have to wait until the 2016 Olympics to get the definitive answer, though it's ironic that it's only in the British Isles he gets asked such irrelevant questions. To the rest of the world he's simply another Irishman.
Actually, I'd say those people in the rest of the world who have heard of him (i.e. golf fans) would likely call him "Northern Irish":
http://www.europeantour.com/europeantour/players/playerid=34024/index.html
http://www.pgatour.com/players/02/82/37/
And never having spoken to him myself, I can't say how he designates himself, but I guess this might provide a clue:
http://www.rorymcilroy.com/

Anyhow, whilst I am personally pleased that he sees himself as Northern Irish, I can't say I'd be bothered if he identified himself differently. As for his religion, as an Atheist, I couldn't care less whether/where he says his prayers. And as for the Olympics, whilst it looks likely* that he would choose to play for a "British" team over an "Irish" one, I couldn't give a stuff either way, since I feel that like eg Tennis or even Association Football, Golf shouldn't have any place in the Olympics.

P.S. Like David Cameron ahead of the volcanic ash, this is a "Flying Visit" only, so no need for anyone to panic!  ;)

* - http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/golf/6239835/Rory-McIlroy-would-face-difficult-choice-at-the-2016-Olympic-Games.html
Post by: DennistheMenace on May 04, 2010, 04:39:11 PM
To be fair most Yanks wouldn't have the geographic intelligence and refer to everyone on the isle as Irish.

Who really cares though, some bigotted people that just can't let his religious denomination go.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on May 04, 2010, 04:42:18 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on May 04, 2010, 04:32:37 PM
Actually, I'd say those people in the rest of the world who have heard of him (i.e. golf fans) would likely call him "Northern Irish":
And never having spoken to him myself, I can't say how he designates himself, but I guess this might provide a clue:

Anyhow, whilst I am personally pleased that he sees himself as Northern Irish, I can't say I'd be bothered if he identified himself differently. As for his religion, as an Atheist, I couldn't care less whether/where he says his prayers. And as for the Olympics, whilst it looks likely* that he would choose to play for a "British" team over an "Irish" one, I couldn't give a stuff either way, since I feel that like eg Tennis or even Association Football, Golf shouldn't have any place in the Olympics.

P.S. Like David Cameron ahead of the volcanic ash, this is a "Flying Visit" only, so no need for anyone to panic!  ;)

* - http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/golf/6239835/Rory-McIlroy-would-face-difficult-choice-at-the-2016-Olympic-Games.html

Only in Ireland would you get this sort of Bullshit.  Who cares if he is a Sally Rod or a Catholic, he's a quare golfer and let most other 20 year olds nowadays, im sure he couldnt give a shite about who is what religion.  Such bullshit, half of ye's hoors probably dont even head to the chapel on a Sunday anyway yis pagan bastids
Post by: ziggysego on May 04, 2010, 04:45:54 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on May 04, 2010, 04:42:18 PM
Only in Ireland would you get this sort of Bullshit.  Who cares if he is a Sally Rod or a Catholic, he's a quare golfer and let most other 20 year olds nowadays, im sure he couldnt give a shite about who is what religion.  Such bullshit, half of ye's hoors probably dont even head to the chapel on a Sunday anyway yis pagan bastids

No, but I go to Church though.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 04, 2010, 04:47:23 PM

I love the intended (I'm sure) irony in that post. Very clever :D
Post by: Evil Genius on May 04, 2010, 04:57:46 PM

Rather curious that my "bullshit" post should appear to have provoked this little rant, seeing as I posted: "As for his religion, as an Atheist, I couldn't care less whether/where he says his prayers", which could only be construed as agreeing with your basic premise.  ???
Post by: Ulick on May 04, 2010, 05:31:54 PM

Sorry, you seem to be replying to me but I can't figure out what exactly it is you are replying to. Are you trying to say you speak for the rest of the world now? It's amsuing though that it's taken our Rory to entice you back over these parts. He must be the latest OWC poster boy or something to warrant such a defence - any port in a storm as they say...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 04, 2010, 05:52:29 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 04, 2010, 02:30:56 PM

It was roughly 400yards shorter compared to other courses,but the way these guys hit it thats only a Driver and a pitching wedge shorter so really it can hardly be used as the reason for scoring a 58.

He has been playing with the big boys,He tied 56 in the PGA Championsip last year as a 17 year old which in my book is not bad going and missed the cut in Masters and The Open,also missed the cut in the Masters this year,which Mcilroy also did btw.
Don't forget this guy is only 18 and to score a 58 in tournament play is a phenomenal achievement .

Between Ishikawa and the Italian young lad Manassaro (sp?) who I think will be the real Golfing star in the future and the American guy Fowler,Mcilory won't have it all his own way in the years to come.
Post by: Evil Genius on May 04, 2010, 06:47:53 PM
Quote from: Ulick on May 04, 2010, 05:31:54 PM

Sorry, you seem to be replying to me but I can't figure out what exactly it is you are replying to.
The bit I was replying to was that which I highlighted.

Quote from: Ulick on May 04, 2010, 05:31:54 PM
Are you trying to say you speak for the rest of the world now?
No. I strongly suspect that 99%+ of those people in the world who are not golfing fans will never even have heard of McIlroy.
Whereas those golfing fans who will, will have seen his name in the various media, where he is usually designated as "NIR", with the NI flag etc. After all, that is how he is designated by the two major Tours on which he plays, and how he describes himself (hence the websites etc).
Post by: Ulick on May 04, 2010, 06:50:39 PM
Newsflash Eg: practically no one in the world knows what an NI flag is despite the OWC "We Exist" campaign. To most of the global press over the weekend he was described simply as an Irishman, something Rory has no problem with - though you obviously do. 
Post by: stew on May 04, 2010, 08:03:12 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on May 04, 2010, 04:39:11 PM
To be fair most Yanks wouldn't have the geographic intelligence and refer to everyone on the isle as Irish.

Who really cares though, some bigotted people that just can't let his religious denomination go.

Wheras your comment about the intelligence of yanks is the epitome of fairness and balance, that you dont get the irony of your own statement speaks volumes.
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on May 04, 2010, 08:07:09 PM
Quote from: stew on May 04, 2010, 08:03:12 PM

Wheras your comment about the intelligence of yanks is the epitome of fairness and balance, that you dont get the irony of your own statement speaks volumes.

Not in the same sentence please :D
Post by: Puckoon on May 04, 2010, 08:13:45 PM
Hedley at this stage you are just being a ballix. I mean really - this is coming from the man who claimed on here that he actually (in a real life job no less) asked a Mrs Bates if her son was Master Bates?
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on May 04, 2010, 08:16:56 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 04, 2010, 08:13:45 PM
Hedley at this stage you are just being a ballix. I mean really - this is coming from the man who claimed on here that he actually (in a real life job no less) asked a Mrs Bates if her son was Master Bates?

Yes, and obviously the humour by-pass was a success :D
Post by: Puckoon on May 04, 2010, 08:19:29 PM
Um - You said "I almost got fired"?

I mean really. Fail.
Post by: magickingdom on May 04, 2010, 08:33:15 PM

you of course are an expert on the geography of america...