Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: pintsofguinness on April 28, 2010, 09:39:31 PM

Poll
Question: Well? are you a ****?
Option 1: Yes
Option 2: No
Title: Are you a snobby ****
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 28, 2010, 09:39:31 PM
Here, almost everyone when introducing themselves don't use their first name, they're "Mrs Smith" "Mr Jones" etc and it gets on my f**king nerves!
What is the point! Why wouldn't you use your first name? To me, if someone does that they are being a snobby f**ker and they're almost requiring you to refer to them as Mrs Smith or Mr Jones (I met a Mrs Topliss last week but that's off topic).
I instantly find it very hard to like them. I would NEVER introduce myself, to anyone, as Mr ____________. 

I've a feeling it's more of an English thing but does anyone here do it and if so, why?!  I want to hear your justification. 
Title: Re: Are you a snobby ****
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 28, 2010, 09:47:27 PM
Only to the children I teach. That's because I don't want them finding out other personal stuff about me.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 28, 2010, 09:48:26 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 28, 2010, 09:47:27 PM
Only to the children I teach. That's because I don't want them finding out other personal stuff about me.
Well teacher's do that, I think that should be done away with though but it doesn't bother me.

Do you think the children don't know your first name though?
Post by: ziggysego on April 28, 2010, 09:51:04 PM
When people call me Mr. _________, I get all weird and automatically assume something's wrong.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 28, 2010, 10:04:31 PM
It must be an English thing as I don't know anyone who refers to themselves as Mister. Young fellas in Belfast are fond of referring to people as Mister i.e "here mister go into the offie for us".

The teachers in the wife's school refer to the Head as "Mister..." rather than his first name. Strange!
Post by: dubai2000 on April 28, 2010, 11:09:32 PM
when i take a call from HM Revenue & Customs you ask who is calling its Mr/Mrs etc.

I rang up 1 day, answered hello hmrc leonard speaking, I said yes leonard hows it going, the reply was that its mr leonard lol!!!

Post by: ziggysego on April 28, 2010, 11:10:57 PM
I wonder what words of wisdom Mr. Olly will have on this.
Post by: leenie on April 28, 2010, 11:17:46 PM

i look down my nose at snobs!
Post by: Tyrones own on April 29, 2010, 12:07:15 AM

Oh definitely, as a matter of fact I think I'll have you all address me as Mr.Tyrones own from here on out
...just out of respect like ;D
Post by: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 12:17:20 AM
Someone once addressed me as ______ _______ Esquire. I found that a bit weird. I wonder if the fact she was a Lady had anything to do with it?
Post by: Never beat the deeler on April 29, 2010, 12:46:18 AM
'Maybe, just once, someone will call me "sir" without adding, "you're making a scene."'

Homer J  8)
Post by: Pangurban on April 29, 2010, 02:26:35 AM
Its a matter of courtesy and good manners, to address someone as they themselves wish to be addressed. Some people , particularly from the older generation are uncomfortable with familiarity.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 29, 2010, 09:02:04 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 28, 2010, 09:48:26 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 28, 2010, 09:47:27 PM
Well teacher's do that, I think that should be done away with though but it doesn't bother me.

Do you think the children don't know your first name though?

More than likely they do, but I wouldn't like them calling out my first name in a class situation. I don't know why.
Post by: passedit on April 29, 2010, 09:15:09 AM
Quote from: Pangurban on April 29, 2010, 02:26:35 AM
Its a matter of courtesy and good manners, to address someone as they themselves wish to be addressed. Some people , particularly from the older generation are uncomfortable with familiarity.

Indeed PB, I still, after many years of marriage can't bring myself to address the MIL by her first name and I find it extremely odd when my BIL's do.

On another related (sic) note my mother used to have a stock answer of 'there's noone here by that name' when anyone called asking for any of the shortened version's of my name. I was just happy they were using any version of my first name as I got only my surname out and about.
Post by: Hardy on April 29, 2010, 11:13:46 AM
Definitely an English thing, in my experience. I often wonder how that race ever managed to reproduce itself.

On the other hand, everyone has his own comfort level with familiarity and there is an age dimension to it. Many older people are uncomfortable with being addressed by their first names by people in the health service. And I find myself resenting being addressed by my first name by gardai - I think that's a situation that requires fairly strict formality. But then most guards wouldn't recognise manners and decorum if you labelled them in phonetic spelling.

One interesting one - friends of ours are addressed by their first names by their kids. Anyone here do that? I kinda like the idea, I think.
Post by: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 11:16:27 AM
Quote from: Hardy on April 29, 2010, 11:13:46 AM
One interesting one - friends of ours are addressed by their first names by their kids. Anyone here do that? I kinda like the idea, I think.

My mate addresses his father by his first name and always has done. I've always found it a bit strange.
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 29, 2010, 11:41:44 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 28, 2010, 09:39:31 PM
Here, almost everyone when introducing themselves don't use their first name, they're "Mrs Smith" "Mr Jones" etc and it gets on my f**king nerves!
What is the point! Why wouldn't you use your first name? To me, if someone does that they are being a snobby f**ker and they're almost requiring you to refer to them as Mrs Smith or Mr Jones (I met a Mrs Topliss last week but that's off topic).
I instantly find it very hard to like them. I would NEVER introduce myself, to anyone, as Mr ____________. 

I've a feeling it's more of an English thing but does anyone here do it and if so, why?!  I want to hear your justification.

I once met a young wan who went by the name of Ms. Bumsey; I wonder if the pair of them could be related.
Post by: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 11:46:36 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 29, 2010, 11:41:44 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 28, 2010, 09:39:31 PM

I once met a young wan who went by the name of Ms. Bumsey; I wonder if the pair of them could be related.

I mis-pronounced the name of one of my clients when I first met her. Mrs. Cockburn....  :-[
Post by: Minder on April 29, 2010, 11:49:50 AM
Ate you sure you were not one of her "clients" Ziggy?
Post by: passedit on April 29, 2010, 12:04:59 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 29, 2010, 11:49:50 AM
Ate you sure you were not one of her "clients" Ziggy?

Indeed, and possibly you're confusing her name with possible side effects.
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on April 29, 2010, 12:14:06 PM
I remember working in London and answering the phone, the woman at the other end told me her name was Ms Bates.....I asked her if her son was Master Bates....nearly got sacked :D
Post by: armaghniac on April 29, 2010, 01:21:54 PM
I think that "Mr" is a bit casual, I like to be addressed as "your esteemed eminence".
Post by: Billys Boots on April 29, 2010, 01:30:30 PM
QuoteOne interesting one - friends of ours are addressed by their first names by their kids. Anyone here do that? I kinda like the idea, I think.

My daughter calls me by my first name when she's giving out about something I've done or not done - so, on the basis of regularity, I think it's safe to say that she does primarily call me by my first name.  My son still calls me Da, but that's unlikely to last.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 02:12:14 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on April 29, 2010, 02:26:35 AM
What about the courtesy and good manners of not putting yourself a level above someone else?

I find it strange, particularly on Hardy's point in the health service, that people want to be called Mr and Mrs due to a concern about familiarity when they're having their bum looked up or something. 

My brother, from no age, always referred to our mother by her first name. I don't know why. Now that grandchildren have come along in our family my parents get "granny and granda" from everyone.

Passedit, I can't believe you refer to your mother in law as Mrs!
Post by: Hardy on April 29, 2010, 02:18:07 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 02:12:14 PM
I find it strange, particularly on Hardy's point in the health service, that people want to be called Mr and Mrs due to a concern about familiarity when they're having their bum looked up or something.

:D :D There's no answer to that!
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 29, 2010, 02:39:25 PM
I worked with a lad in the UK who answered his phone "Carruthers" no hello, or can I help you just his surname nothing else. He was a knob
Post by: Puckoon on April 29, 2010, 02:42:58 PM
Quote from: Hedley Lamarr on April 29, 2010, 12:14:06 PM
I remember working in London and answering the phone, the woman at the other end told me her name was Ms Bates.....I asked her if her son was Master Bates....nearly got sacked :D

Oh My God! Are you serious!?
Post by: The Iceman on April 29, 2010, 02:45:52 PM
Never felt comfortable being called Mr. but I think its a generation thing.

When anyone calls me Mr. XXXX I think my Da is standing behind me or something.

Wouldn't be a big fan of calling parents by their first names - IMO its disrespectful but each to their own.
Post by: muppet on April 29, 2010, 02:50:46 PM
Homer:

Maybe, just once, someone will call me "sir" without adding, "you're making a scene."
Post by: passedit on April 29, 2010, 03:02:49 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 02:12:14 PM
Passedit, I can't believe you refer to your mother in law as Mrs!

True bill pog, same as i don't address my own oul wans by their first name. My young fella refers to me by a shortened version of my first name when he wants to wind me up and usually when he's just out of range. His granny will blindside him for it at some stage i'd say.

Quote from: gerrykeegan on April 29, 2010, 02:39:25 PM
I worked with a lad in the UK who answered his phone "Carruthers" no hello, or can I help you just his surname nothing else. He was a knob

Worked with a few boyos like that in london myself. Public school thing I'd say. Yes they were invariably knobs.
Post by: deiseach on April 29, 2010, 03:05:42 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on April 29, 2010, 02:39:25 PM

Carruthers? I thought that was a name made up by PG Wodehouse
Post by: bingobus on April 29, 2010, 03:12:22 PM
This whole thread is beneath me.
Post by: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 03:15:17 PM
Quote from: bingobus on April 29, 2010, 03:12:22 PM
This whole thread is beneath me.

Well at this point of posting, the vast majority is above you.

I'll get my coat  :-\
Post by: Celt_Man on April 29, 2010, 03:25:31 PM
Strange that I would still refer to the auld pair as Mam and Dad, while the sister calls one by her first name but Dad is still Dad.

I remember when I was younger one of my aunts wanted me to refer to her as Auntie Mary or whatever...  it never took and the auld pair thought it was stupid too and would have stop me saying it anyway
Post by: Puckoon on April 29, 2010, 03:53:30 PM
If I called my folks by "the auld man, or the auld doll" my dad would probably hit me a good dig in the gob.

I realise its ridiculous but here I am at 29 still calling 5ft women auntie kate, and auntie mary and so on. Nonsense when you think about it.
Post by: The Iceman on April 29, 2010, 04:47:23 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 29, 2010, 03:53:30 PM
If I called my folks by "the auld man, or the auld doll" my dad would probably hit me a good dig in the gob.

I realise its ridiculous but here I am at 29 still calling 5ft women auntie kate, and auntie mary and so on. Nonsense when you think about it.

I'm the same Puck. I dont think its that strange though to call anyone Aunt Mary or Aunty Jane or whatever - I don't know - always done in my family. My father still calls his Aunt, Aunt Maura....
Post by: tyrone girl on April 29, 2010, 05:14:45 PM
Dont think have ever called my old pair ma or da or mum or dad to their faces - its always mummy or daddy if im addressing them - sounds ridiculous - though brothers and sisters are all the same
Post by: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 05:37:52 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on April 29, 2010, 05:14:45 PM
Dont think have ever called my old pair ma or da or mum or dad to their faces - its always mummy or daddy if im addressing them - sounds ridiculous - though brothers and sisters are all the same

Same with me. Mummy and Daddy. However if I'm referring to them, it's Mum and Dad.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 06:37:37 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 29, 2010, 02:45:52 PM

Wouldn't be a big fan of calling parents by their first names - IMO its disrespectful but each to their own.
It's disrespectful to call someone by their name????

We don't use aunty _______ or uncle _________ in my family either apart from one aunty and she's only called aunty____________ because an uncle is married to someone of the same name.

Someone said mr and mrs is a generation thing, it's not here, nor is it a class thing, every bollocks introduces themselves as mr ___________ and mrs ____________.  Thing that gets me though is that most of them would call me by my first name...

and passedit, shes's you're mother in law, the grandmother to your children, part of your family (whether you like it or not) and you're calling her mrs?  ???
Post by: Lady GAA GAA on April 29, 2010, 06:42:58 PM
This'll get my vote for thread of the year when the time comes.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 29, 2010, 06:44:32 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 05:37:52 PM

Same with me. Mummy and Daddy. However if I'm referring to them, it's Mum and Dad.

Mummy and Daddy  :D I find it hilarious that someone over the age of 5 would say Mummy  :D

I call my parents Ma and Da when talking to them and about them
Post by: leenie on April 29, 2010, 07:02:34 PM
i would never call my parents by their names... always mammy and daddy, ocassionally ould boy and ould doll but thats when i am messing with them, Mother and father when they are annoying me.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2010, 07:25:49 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 29, 2010, 06:44:32 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 05:37:52 PM

Mummy and Daddy  :D I find it hilarious that someone over the age of 5 would say Mummy  :D

I call my parents Ma and Da when talking to them and about them
Same as that. Ma and da everytime.
Post by: lurganblue on April 29, 2010, 07:26:39 PM
Girls seem to go with the mummy and daddy craic. The wife still calls her parents mummy and daddy.

I use ma and da. Or in lurgan it's mai and dai
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 07:27:57 PM
I hate "mummy" - "mammy" is much better.

I also hate "mum"
Post by: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 07:29:28 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 07:27:57 PM

I suppose it is mammy I say, now I some to think of it. Well it sounds like mammy, even though in cards I write mummy.
Post by: lurganblue on April 29, 2010, 07:31:43 PM

I also hate "mum"

mammy makes you sounds like the "I shot JR" guy out of father ted
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 07:33:21 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on April 29, 2010, 07:31:43 PM

I also hate "mum"

mammy makes you sounds like the "I shot JR" guy out of father ted

"Mummy" or "mum" makes you sound like you're trying to be posh and failing miserably
Post by: Minder on April 29, 2010, 07:34:00 PM
It is Ma and Da
Post by: armaghniac on April 29, 2010, 07:34:06 PM
QuoteI hate "mummy" - "mammy" is much better.

now now Pints, there are those of planter stock among us, you can't be insisting on Irish expressions.
Post by: Puckoon on April 29, 2010, 07:42:15 PM
I think we would all agree that it is definitely "Your ma"
Post by: leenie on April 29, 2010, 07:43:09 PM
i'd never use mummy reminds me of the wee nerd fella in the beano comics, the one denis the menice use to pick on, can't remember his name!
Post by: muppet on April 29, 2010, 08:07:02 PM
Quote from: leenie on April 29, 2010, 07:43:09 PM
i'd never use mummy reminds me of the wee nerd fella in the beano comics, the one denis the menice use to pick on, can't remember his name!

Steve Davis?
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2010, 08:31:44 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 29, 2010, 08:07:02 PM
Quote from: leenie on April 29, 2010, 07:43:09 PM

Steve Davis?
Walter.
Post by: The Iceman on April 29, 2010, 09:53:32 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 06:37:37 PM

I feel like calling my Da by his real name would take something away from him and would be disrespectful.  Like I was denying that he was my parent.

I always found it strange when other people called their parents by their first names, especially young children.  IMO its just not right.
Post by: ONeill on April 29, 2010, 10:01:30 PM
I was talking today about my preference to be called by my first name in school. I had 0% support, even though no one had a sound argument as to why not.

Surely being called Mr O'Neill doesn't mean I'll have more respect than being called Shane.

Also felt bad about my wife giving up her surname but I understand the logistics of it.
Post by: Capt Pat on April 29, 2010, 10:38:44 PM

I also hate "mum"

Mummy is an ancient Egyptian pharoah. Mam or ma or mammy when you are younger. This mum or mummy thing or changing from the more natural mammy versions to mummy half way through to be more posh. Ridiculous.
Post by: Puckoon on April 29, 2010, 10:41:54 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 29, 2010, 09:55:05 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 29, 2010, 09:53:32 PM

I feel like calling my Da by his real name would take something away from him and would be disrespectful.  Like I was denying that he was my parent.

I always found it strange when other people called their parents by their first names, especially young children.  IMO its just not right.
Does your da always call you 'son'? If not, is he denying that you are his son?

My dad always calls me son.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2010, 10:45:05 PM

I agree. It's weird calling parents by their first name.
Post by: ONeill on April 29, 2010, 10:52:50 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on April 29, 2010, 10:38:44 PM

I also hate "mum"

Mummy is an ancient Egyptian pharoah. Mam or ma or mammy when you are younger. This mum or mummy thing or changing from the more natural mammy versions to mummy half way through to be more posh. Ridiculous.

Always been mummy to me. Never mammy, mam or mum.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 29, 2010, 11:03:52 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2010, 10:45:05 PM

I always found it strange when other people called their parents by their first names, especially young
children.  IMO its just not right.
I agree. It's weird calling parents by their first name.

Agree with that, also calling your mother Mummy is a bit Gay IMHO
Post by: Santino on April 29, 2010, 11:11:07 PM
Time for another poll?!
Post by: Puckoon on April 29, 2010, 11:11:59 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 29, 2010, 11:02:00 PM
The Belfast version of Mummy is Moy. As in, "Here, Moy".

Quote from: Puckoon on April 29, 2010, 10:41:54 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 29, 2010, 09:55:05 PM

Does your da always call you 'son'? If not, is he denying that you are his son?

My dad always calls me son.
That's weird.

Whys that?
Post by: ONeill on April 29, 2010, 11:21:54 PM
My da has never called me anything; son, Shane, lad.....just 'well'
Post by: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 11:34:52 PM
Sometimes my Daddy goes through all my brothers' names, before he gets to mine. Come here E***, er B***, I mean F*****, eeks N****..... D*****!
Post by: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 11:43:39 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 29, 2010, 11:38:34 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 11:34:52 PM
Sometimes my Daddy goes through all my brothers' names, before he gets to mine. Come here E***, er B***, I mean F*****, eeks N****..... D*****!
At a guess, Eoin, Bert, Fergal, Niall, Donall.

Bert stands out. You may be missing a star and it could then be Barry.

Fake letters and inaccurate *s, to protect the identity of my siblings young Station.
Post by: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 11:58:53 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 29, 2010, 11:51:35 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on April 29, 2010, 11:50:09 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 29, 2010, 11:46:39 PM
New guesses:
Eric, Bono, Frankie, Nigel, Dickwad.

So Ziggy's brother was Frankie boy from the Rock then? That makes sense considering how much Ziggy hated him,  trying to steal his thunder and all.
Eh? Must have missed this 'joke'?

Over my head too, mind you I'm 3ft tall.....
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 30, 2010, 12:04:42 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 11:58:53 PM
New guesses:

So Ziggy's brother was Frankie boy from the Rock then? That makes sense considering how much Ziggy hated him,  trying to steal his thunder and all.

Guess that makes you a yardie  :o
Post by: ziggysego on April 30, 2010, 12:06:58 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 30, 2010, 12:04:42 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 11:58:53 PM
New guesses:

Guess that makes you a yardie  :o

Why must you mock me fox?  :'(

You saw the photographic evidence of what happened to the last fox that crossed me :P
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 30, 2010, 12:10:43 AM
I aren't mocking you-I wouldn't do that to you Zigester  :'(  You know what a yardie is? 
Post by: passedit on April 30, 2010, 10:19:27 AM
and passedit, shes's you're mother in law, the grandmother to your children, part of your family (whether you like it or not) and you're calling her mrs?  ???

In fairness Pog she rarely gets Mrs as I usually follow O'Neill's Da's example, she never gets her first name though the same as neither of my parents would, it just doesn't seem right to me. At this stage she'd be likely to have a seizure if I did use her first name.

Ziggy, I have some sympathy with the name calling thing, my mother did it and I find myself increasingly doing it with my girls usually followed with a whateveryernameis.  Reminds me of the joke about the girl on the estate who had six sons and called them all Wayne. When asked how she differentiated, she said she called them by their surnames.

Post by: Rois on April 30, 2010, 11:20:28 AM
My dad taught in the main boys' school at home and my mum taught in the girls' secondary school when they were both known by their pupils as Mr D and Mrs D.  They've both retired, and to this day he gets called "Johnny" and she gets called Mrs D.  So if the two of them are out together, a lot of people say "hello Johnny, hello Mrs D".  I find it hilarious - even my brothers in law are at it.  Sometimes I think it's because her first name is a bit strange so people avoid saying it altogether. 

Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 30, 2010, 11:22:16 AM
Quote from: Rois on April 30, 2010, 11:20:28 AM
My dad taught in the main boys' school at home and my mum taught in the girls' secondary school when they were both known by their pupils as Mr D and Mrs D.  They've both retired, and to this day he gets called "Johnny" and she gets called Mrs D.  So if the two of them are out together, a lot of people say "hello Johnny, hello Mrs D".  I find it hilarious - even my brothers in law are at it.  Sometimes I think it's because her first name is a bit strange so people avoid saying it altogether.
Martin?
Post by: Bing Crosby . on April 30, 2010, 12:42:18 PM

I'm absolutely the snobbiest bastard you'll ever meet/NOT in your lives. I look down my snout upon you all
Post by: leenie on April 30, 2010, 01:31:09 PM
New guesses:

ya don't get it..... you don't remember frankie boy from the rock lol...lol....lol.....lol...lol
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 30, 2010, 01:48:36 PM
I'd say he remembers alright.

The biggest snob on the board is the boy from the Falls who tours round his new home in Jordanstown trying to peer out over the dashboard of his Audi.
Post by: The Iceman on April 30, 2010, 02:44:34 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 29, 2010, 11:30:23 PM
My da's brother always calls him by his proper name even though everyone else (including my granny and granda) have always called him by the 'nickname' of his name.
My da calls the same brother by a nickname he had when he was a kid even though nobody else in the world does.

Strange set up.

Funny you can be so opinionated about Ma and Da and using first names but Granny and Granny are Granny and Granda, not Nancy and Joe.....
Post by: The Iceman on April 30, 2010, 09:44:32 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 30, 2010, 07:12:47 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 30, 2010, 02:44:34 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 29, 2010, 11:30:23 PM
My da's brother always calls him by his proper name even though everyone else (including my granny and granda) have always called him by the 'nickname' of his name.
My da calls the same brother by a nickname he had when he was a kid even though nobody else in the world does.

Strange set up.

Funny you can be so opinionated about Ma and Da and using first names but Granny and Granny are Granny and Granda, not Nancy and Joe.....

Do you call them by their first names or not?

I am only pointing out how the minority think the majority are strange but apply double standards to their own principles......
What?

Had I said Nancy and Joe, would you have known who I was talking about?
See also how I used the words brother and da in the same post and not Mickey and John.

Mickey always calls John by his proper name even though everyone else (including Nancy and Joe) have always called him by the 'nickname' of his name.
John calls Mickey by a nickname he had when he was a kid even though nobody else in the world does.

Gluebag.
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 30, 2010, 11:08:06 PM
Dublin kids, in working class areas anyway, will always refer to their parents as the ma and the da. Other mothers will be called by their first names- even to their faces. All fathers, regardless of what they're like or how they behave, get the mister treatment.
"Howya, Mary and hello, Mr. Browne;" would be fairly common.
Post by: The Iceman on May 03, 2010, 02:23:05 PM
I don't call my brother, brother. I call him by his name. 

I think you'll find you are the minority in your opinion HS.  Most people will not call their parents or grandparents by their first names.

I can't completely define "why" in a way that will satisfy you but for me its about levels of respect or just plain old manners.