GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: imagine on November 14, 2006, 08:39:46 PM

Title: Down Sen Footballers 2007
Post by: imagine on November 14, 2006, 08:39:46 PM
Not long to go now until the launch of a new era in Down's history.Here's hoping.
Title: Re: Down Sen Footballers 2007
Post by: Guillem2 on November 14, 2006, 08:53:53 PM
Do you not have a thread on this already? Are Down turning into Armagh?
Post by: armaghniac on November 14, 2006, 09:06:26 PM
QuoteAre Down turning into Armagh?

In their dreams!
Title: Nightmare scenario 1 all ireland
Post by: passedit on November 14, 2006, 10:46:17 PM
Apparently the gael is conducting preliminary trials in Renshaws at this very moment.
Post by: rosskarr on November 15, 2006, 12:10:57 PM
 The rough diamonds I'm hoping do exist as the panel last year wasn't up to it both in terms oF personnell and application.The application will be corrected but there is room for more brawn rather than brain for the coming year!
Post by: TORGAEL on November 15, 2006, 06:08:39 PM
Well, i certainly witnessed plenty of brawn in division 3 this year.darragh,drumgath,ardglass & banbridge were plenty physical.perhaps our"more brawn than brains" rough diamond will be found here.
Post by: Cloc Mor on November 15, 2006, 07:51:31 PM
Have we not enough threads about the same subject without starting a new one.
Title: Cloc Mor
Post by: rosskarr on November 15, 2006, 10:12:29 PM
 This is a serious thread.Not for school children.
Post by: Cloc Mor on November 15, 2006, 10:20:14 PM
Should you not be in bed then?
Post by: lfdown2 on November 16, 2006, 02:26:25 AM
delete or merge this shite  :-X
Post by: rosskarr on November 28, 2006, 01:03:19 PM
 Our first match away to Louth.Good test for our panel!
Post by: illdecide on November 28, 2006, 01:11:27 PM
Pity it will not be much of a test for Louth ;)
Post by: amallon on November 28, 2006, 02:37:33 PM
When is the Game?
Post by: downredblack on November 28, 2006, 02:39:36 PM
O'rahilly's , I think . Thats where we played them Div 2 three years ago .
Post by: cloneman on November 28, 2006, 03:26:55 PM
 I take it all our home matches will be in Newcastle.  Any word on how the Marshes is getting on?
Post by: downredblack on November 28, 2006, 04:05:04 PM
No roof on stand yet .
Post by: cloneman on November 28, 2006, 07:27:40 PM
Have the trials finished yet?  Does anyone know when our new squad start their prep for 2007?
Post by: Brick Tamlin on November 29, 2006, 10:50:09 AM
preliminary panel picked as far as i know, meetin thurs nite in burrendale.
Post by: TORGAEL on November 29, 2006, 02:46:37 PM
Any news as to who is on this preliminary panel ?
Post by: wobbller on January 07, 2007, 03:58:46 PM
 0-9 each in terrible conditions
Post by: Mourne Rover on January 07, 2007, 05:10:31 PM
The county board should explain why today's game was taken away from Newcastle, which has a stand, to Downpatrick, which has no covered accommodation, on the first Sunday in January when it was bound to rain. The match started in a downpour and it got steadily worse during the afternoon. The conditions were barely playable by the closing stages, so it was probably unfair to judge anyone. However, apart from a sound diisplay from our keeper, there was little to get excited about. Jackie Lynch lacked confidence at midfield, but deserves another look, while Brendan Loughran has a bit of pace but is probably too light for county football. Stephen Kearney apparently ended up in hospital, and we could easily have picked up other injuries. The decision to keep the established players out of the McKenna Cup squad was definitely the right one, and at this stage it is difficult to see too many new faces joining them for the league campaign.
Post by: TORGAEL on January 07, 2007, 05:17:00 PM
ive been told that jackie lynch played today despite suffering from flu.perhaps this had an effect on his performance
Post by: Dubh driocht on January 07, 2007, 05:27:52 PM
Think the Rover got it right. Also, seven quid was bit steep to wade in muck with NO protection. Fair play to Ross, DJ and the players.One point in the bag , UUJ are poor and we clinch the semi-final place by bringing on Liam Doyle in Ballybofey to exorcise the demons and score the winning 45.
Post by: No1 on January 08, 2007, 11:42:05 AM
  As this is the Down Senior Football thread I will post here, the other thread is titled club hurling and football.

Stephen Toner was quite good and I thought McGourty was the stand out Down player.  Brendy Loughran doesn't like to pass! 

I assume that all the boys who didn't start this week will start next? 

It would have been good to see big Magic thrown in for the second half and some direct ball played in to see how he got on.

Anyone know where the game is next week?
Post by: amallon on January 08, 2007, 12:01:13 PM
I would have liked to seen Magic play again as well but I he was taken off in the All Stars game at the start of the 2nd half.  He could possiblly have picked up an injury.  I didn't see him with the Down subs at half time yesterday.

Its hard to take anything from yesterdays game as the conditions were terrible. 

Were there any programs yesterday?  I didn't have one so there were only 3 Down players I could put a name to.  Who was the man that put over the long range frees near the end? 
Post by: thewobbler on January 08, 2007, 12:13:07 PM
The huge one from the right was Fintan McGreevey. The earlier one was Kevin Gracey.

McGourty kooks atheltic and he saw a lot of ball, but he used it well very rarely. But then again, who would want to play centre-forward on a day like that? It really is impossible to pass judgement on anything that happened yesterday.
Post by: downredblack on January 09, 2007, 02:57:13 PM
I don't remember Big Ambrose landing a 45 last year in the league / Championship , Who will this duty fall to this year ? A. Carr ? F. McGreevey ?
Post by: Dubh driocht on January 09, 2007, 07:20:12 PM
Doyler is the obvious man for the 45s if he hasn't got repetitive starin injury. It was a good score from mc Greevy mind you.
Post by: Mourne Rover on January 09, 2007, 11:24:06 PM
To the best of my knowledge, Ambrose took and missed every 45 we were awarded in both the league and the championship - except the very last one in the closing stage of the Sligo disaster. When we were already a well beaten team, Aidan Carr was given his chance and put it straight over the black spot. The 45s were unfortunately another indictment of Paddy's approach. He decided that Ambrose was our long distance free taker and stuck with him even when it was obvious that his confidence had (hopefully temporarily) gone. One of the 45s which was missed from a fairly central position against Donegal would have given us a draw which we would not have deserved. The message for Ross, who knew a thing or two about freess, is that you have to have options. His son is a decent place kicker, but we need at least two others in our squad.
Post by: Fear Boirche on January 10, 2007, 10:21:03 AM
The one thing that gives me cause for optimism about Ross over POR is that he likely to change things it they aren't working. Equally, I don't think he would have a problem dropping or picking his own son based on form alone. IMO, I think Aidan Carr should be given a chance for his dead ball skills, that's one thing we've be crying out since, well, Ross retired!
Post by: downredblack on January 12, 2007, 09:39:04 AM
From the BBC

Daniel Hughes has been included in Down's squad for Sunday's Gaelic Life McKenna Cup game against UUJ.
Manager Ross Carr didn't include any of the team that started in Down's championship defeat by Sligo in Sunday's draw against Antrim.
However, Hughes was a championship regular last summer and is called up to the squad for the Burren contest.
Neil Sweeney and Joe Doran are added to the panel which will be minus injured Stephen Kearney and Ruairi McArdle.
Downpatrick club-man Peter Turley and his namesake from the Saval club drop out of the squad after being involved against Antrim as does Kevin Duffin.
McArdle and Kearney picked up injuries in Sunday's game against Antrim.
Kearney was stretchered off in the second half at Downpatrick because of ankle ligament damage while McArdle sustained a knee injury.
Post by: wobbller on January 14, 2007, 11:14:08 PM
 All quiet after today.Any thoughts or views?
Post by: Dubh driocht on January 14, 2007, 11:20:35 PM
Wasn't there but if the BBC report is accurate, the form of Colgan and the scores from Downey and Boyle justify the decision of Ross and DJ to take a different path to Mickey Harte.Colgan could be the man ifor CHB or midfield as long as he's not expected to keep UUJ, An Riocht and Down together - he is still 19 after all.
Post by: Fear Boirche on January 15, 2007, 11:17:35 AM
Quote from: Dubh driocht on January 14, 2007, 11:20:35 PM
Colgan could be the man ifor CHB or midfield as long as he's not expected to keep UUJ, An Riocht and Down together - he is still 19 after all.

....and Down U21s!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on January 15, 2007, 12:04:28 PM
Jeez boys it wasnt good at all yesterday inho.
Il try not to go into too much detail.

the best down players on view yesterday were wearing blue jersies - Colgan was the best Midfielder on view bar none, as the game wore on he seemed to get stronger & Stronger as the game wore on - came into his own in the 2nd half when UUJ really put down to the sword.Quite worrying to think that none of our midfielders could stiffle his influence on the game - could be the answer to Down's no 6 problem.

Packie Downey possibly the best forward on view too - solely for the amount of havoc he caused down's defence - played the target man role to perfection - took scores from all angles, showed in front, layed off or broke ball and generally was a pain in the arse for down defence. Would be quite an addition to Ross squad later on if he kept this kind of form up.

John Boyle was chief playmaker on the park and looked every inch a no 11 of the future for down. Time and again cut through the down defence with ease, sprayed ball about the forward line with great effect and nearly every penetrating run he made yielded a UUJ scorre. Correct me if im wrong but gave at least 2 different markers the run around.

As for the Down team there really wasnt much to shout about, players playing out of position aside, not being too familiar with each other etc i would have expected alot more from some of the players that took the field, especially people that had previously played under POR. Actually their performance probably reaffirms to Ross etc who isnt fit for the squad.

Mc Veigh - Did what was expect of him, quiet match, didnt have much to do. The goal was a terrible f*ck up between him and Rooney which was just disastrous.

D Rooney - Played out of position, was due to trach Lynch out the field as roamin 3rd midfielder but that tactic never materialised and looked out of place at stages - Lynch didnt do too much damage though and never really lost him.

S Toner - After last weeks fine performance this week was pretty forgettable - Started sprightly and showed well in 1st 15 mins or so but after that he was strugglin with Downey's brute aggression and size, could neither get hands in to break ball or win cleanly out in front - although dont forget the size difference, maybe he shouldnt have been left on Downey for that long.

P Mattews - His first match back after a long absence was a pretty quiet one, didnt do too much wrong, although one thinks he would be alot more comfortable and maybe offer alot more in the half back line.

Colm Murtagh - Scored a monstrous point near the end, put himself about as usual (bordering on GBH sometimes) and generally got stuck in, but he was part of a half back unit that was dragged all over the field at times. Mobility has to be questioned.

C Mc Crickard - this wasnt one to remember for the Fontenoys man, was given torrid time by Boyle in 1st half, got his hands on some good ball but really his distribution let him down badly, just a bad day at the office for him, can definitely do better.

A Carville - Kicked himself a fine point in first half and got through alot of donkey work around the middle but he was among a number of big strong  Down men that won frig all possession in middle 3rd.

Magic Johnston - a let-down to say the least, given the hype. Really think this one passed him by and again was one of those that struggled in midfield.

Jackie Lynch - Added little to a sinkin ship - caught maybe 2 clean balls or am i being generous.

Gribben was quite lively when on the ball, ran some good lines and took his goal very well, one of the better performers, looked like he has learnt from last year or improved somewhat.

Barry Doran although anonymous for long spells showed a good range of passing and intelligent link play but offered no real threatgoing forward but then again he is supposed to be a link man - must mention dreadful free kick - near hit the scoreboard it was that far wide.

Danny Hughes showed hunger for the ball, looked lively but again tried too much on his own (Maybe due to the fact that he had limited options.) Mooney got to grips with him and physicaly was more than able to put danny under pressure. His day was summed up when his 2nd marker Murray got up from corner back to kick a lovely score 5 mins from end. His selection didnt have the desired affect.

dont get me wrong there is absolutely no questioning the comittment, enthusiasm and hunger of most of those boys yesterday but for me they just either cant cut it at this level or they just happened to have a bad game and things didnt go their way, and in a way i suppose its probably becomming clearer to Ross etc who is fit for it and who isnt, after all thats what he is using these games as-trials
By the way i got bored going through every player so stopped half way.anyone care to take up where i left off.
Post by: downredblack on January 15, 2007, 12:20:41 PM
Wasn't at it  thank God . Sounds like the bulk of 6 or 7 players Ross is looking for will be found in our U21 squad .
Post by: downredblack on January 17, 2007, 02:12:51 PM
With the National League less than a month away does anyone know If Ross and DJ are doing any work with our " regulars" from last year ? Will we see a few more of them line out against Donegal ?
Post by: goldenyears on January 17, 2007, 03:11:13 PM
the regulars are back in full training with the others at this stage.

the others will see out the mckenna cup then be culled, i am guessing less than 6 will be kept. no u21s/sigerson players will initially be included, no u21s will be included at all.
Post by: downredblack on January 17, 2007, 03:18:53 PM
GY , have you heard how things are going ? Are the senior players happy with the approach from the new management ? You usually have a bit of inside info .
Post by: amallon on January 17, 2007, 03:20:52 PM
No U21's - Is that for the whole season or just until the U21's are over?
Post by: downredblack on January 17, 2007, 03:47:35 PM
Hope he doesn't keep the u21's away from the team during the league , Sure we are looking for a bit of fresh blood about the place to freshen things up . A bit of league experience will do them no harm (IMO)
Post by: goldenyears on January 17, 2007, 05:19:06 PM
I believe all delighted, great approach, training extremely tough at minute (one regular quoted as hardest training he has ever done), lots of hard work going on, v professional approach with a v good hands on man management style is what I heard. Maybe some diff stories will come out when the mckenna cup crew get ditched, but then after the results they can hardly blame anyone else...

Most of regulars v impressed, but watch out when the teeth get stripped! a few surprises in store i feel ie ould hands getting dumped from the panel|! boys that maybe think they are a sure thing!
Post by: goldenyears on January 17, 2007, 05:22:04 PM
Learning curve: Ross Carr saw his Down side lose by 13 points to UU Jordanstown in the McKenna Cup on Sunday, but the Clonduff man insists his experimental panel can learn from the experience

THE ice bath might have felt a bit more comfortable. A 13-point beating from UUJ's Sigerson Cup hopefuls left the rookies Down manager Ross Carr handed trials to at Burren for Sunday's Dr McKenna Cup game with bruised pride.

It proved a harsher than anticipated experience, but for Carr it was valuable nonetheless.

Attitudes are likely to be that more focussed on the demands when they resume practice drills this week, with many likely to try out the learning curve again on Sunday at MacCumhaill Park against Brian McIver's Donegal.

Carr admitted "the luckiest ones" in the experimental squad he and assistant manager DJ Kane are running the rule over prior to the return of rested regulars for the NFL were those not on the pitch to experience such an emphatic defeat.

But, the McKenna Cup is serving a purpose and while the students' victory margin was unsatisfactory, it can only drive on the players on trial to work to improve.

"What we were hoping for was that we could get a group of players that would keep battling away and battling away," said Ross.

He added: "Unfortunately, there was that much of a difference, a gulf in class, and it was nearly impossible for people from midfield up to shine because they were under so much pressure.

"Afterwards we said to them it's not just about training. You have got to be able to go out and produce it on a given day and if you need to get better you've got to get playing against better teams and against Jordanstown I suppose the luckiest ones were those who didn't get to play."

He said that the management did not want any of those involved heading home from Burren thinking that because they had just represented a county team that had been beaten by 13 points (1-19 to 1-6) their chance "was over". Carr stressed that the process cannot "work like that".

Opportunities will continue to be given for the Donegal match, after which the squad will be revised, the seasoned county players of the past few years will return to prepare for the National League, with a number of those being looked at during the McKenna Cup hopefully graduating to the NFL panel.

Carr pointed out, however, that the inexperienced group they are working with at the moment "have also got to realise too that they have got to be able to step up to the mark, and if that's the standard that has to be attained well then we've got to get to that standard We've got to get the personnel that are able to do it, and some people are going to be disappointed".

There were plenty of positives for Down's management, though, the majority delivered by UUJ's performance as Jordanstown started with six Down players, U21s, used seven in total, with star performances on the day coming from Warrenpoint play-maker John Boyle at centre half-forward, Eamon McConville at half-back and Drumgath's Packie Downey in the full-forward line.

Boyle and Downey contributed six points between and created many more chances for others to profit by.

Ross said: "The supply of the ball into the Jordanstown full forward line was excellent. Their support play out of defence and from midfield opened up a lot of space. John and Packie definitely revelled in that space. James Colgan competed very very well in the middle of the field and Eamon McConville played very well at wing half back and Shane O'Hagan did well in corner back. They are all U21s, and it is a big plus for Down."

Conor Gribben and Adrian Carville showed well at times for Down's select, Gribben scoring

1-2, but on Sunday management will be hoping that the collective "step up to the mark" a bit better at Ballybofey after the lessons taken from UUJ's display.
Post by: TORGAEL on January 22, 2007, 07:58:28 PM
So, who from all the down players who have been competing in the McKenna cup will make it onto the panel fort the national League ? Any thoughts on which established players who might not make the cut ?
Post by: Pangurban on January 22, 2007, 09:01:19 PM
IN...Lynch, Doran, Gribben
Out...Doyle
Post by: Brick Tamlin on January 23, 2007, 10:17:27 AM
Challenge matches this weekend against Meath twice it seems. One away and one home match, then panel being trimmed down.
Post by: amallon on January 23, 2007, 11:23:32 AM
Any word on venues & times?
Post by: No1 on January 23, 2007, 11:34:00 AM
  I can't see that Jackie Lynch will add anything to a Down team. 

He might be a decent squad member to have at the training to push other better players along.

Don't get me wrong he had a fantastic last season, but I don't think he is up to inter-county football.

I don't think we have unearthed any hidden gems.
Post by: TORGAEL on January 23, 2007, 01:33:55 PM
I cant say that i entirely agree with your comments re Jackie Lynch No1. My opinion is that he would be a welcome versatile addition to a Down panel which as we all know requires new blood. I believe that would thrive in a Down team with better quaiity players around him than have been playing in the McKenna cup[no disrespect intended to those players]. Unfortunately this is only my opinion & there is only one way of finding out if this is correct-only time will tell.
Post by: No1 on January 23, 2007, 01:45:56 PM
  Fair enough comment TOR.  I'd love to be proven wrong.  As you say, time will tell!
Post by: downredblack on January 24, 2007, 08:59:26 AM
D Rafferty is interviewed in the IN today , anyone seen the article yet ? How is his injury doing ?
Title: Down V Louth
Post by: 5 Sams on January 24, 2007, 10:46:00 AM
Apparently this game is all ticket and the county have received 1900 tickets....any word on where it is yet?
Post by: goldenyears on January 24, 2007, 10:57:20 AM
Down need determination 
NFL Focus 2007 - Down 
By Eamonn O'Hara 

KNOCKED back at the first time of trying. Knocked back at the second. At 5'9'' both Peter McGrath, manager of two All-Ireland SFC winning squads, and Paddy O'Rourke, the captain of the first of them, thought he might be a shade too small. At 10 stone, Damian Rafferty was told he was too light on the scales, into the bargain.

He refused to accept his ambitions of playing senior football for Down would fall on the sword of either, size or weight.

Mark Twain once said "it's not the size of the dog in the fight, it's the size of the fight in the dog". Rafferty had pace to burn and as his manager at Newry Shamrocks, DJ Kane, appreciated, he had tenacity coursing through his defensive qualities.

A year spent in Dublin working for the family's building firm required a transfer to the St Jude's club to maintain his Gaelic interests and it was there, at the club's gym facility, that Damian spent extra time working weights and developing body mass.

"I was told I was too small and light, too lightly built. After a squad trial when Paddy took over he said to me to go away and put on some beef, so I did. Two years ago I made the squad and I am now up to 11 and a half stone and that extra stone and a half has made a difference," he said.

"I have done a lot of work in the gym, a lot of strength and conditioning. I needed to get stronger when I moved to St Jude's because Dublin club football is very tough. I can feel the difference now, especially when you're making tackles. Instead of being knocked over and getting hurt, you bounce back up and it doesn't hurt as much now."

As with his approach to the game and the task of trying to man-mark tricky and tough forwards, Damian was never one to shirk a challenge and his determination to get over his initial obstacles has established himself in the senior county squad over the past two seasons.

With the new season, there's a new management in place. DJ Kane, who guided his development when he stepped up from minor football at Shamrocks, is in with Ross Carr. For each player, there is a new challenge, fresh demands and no place to hide as Carr and Kane seek to get Down football moving forward from last year's disappointing conclusions to both NFL and Championship campaigns.

The low point of 2006 arrived as the sun went down at Markievicz Park in Sligo on Saturday, June 17.

From the early moments of their All-Ireland SFC Qualifier against Tommy Brehony's 'All Blacks', potential disaster stalked their every misplaced pass, stumble and almost non-existent scoring threat. The first score was Sean Davey's goal and while only three points in it at the turn, Down suffered 35 minutes without raising a flag, managed just four points, only one from play and lost.

It echoed the tail-off to the League when, in their final Division One game, they managed only four points at home to Galway and ended up comprehensively beaten. The year had started so brightly, four wins in five games. But, as they left Sligo last June the season had turned very bleak.

The challenge to identify the reasons for what happened and get Down football back on track this year is one, like others he's dealt with just to be part of senior county football, that Damian will not take a single step back from.

"What happened at Markievicz Park was desperate. We couldn't do anything that day. We had no ideas how to beat them at all, couldn't get going and the defeat was an embarrassment more than anything else," he said.

"I couldn't put my finger on what caused it. At the start of last season things were going great, then Laois beat us and in our last League game at home to Galway they hammered us. Sligo was terrible. At the start of the year things were great and I don't know what changed in between.

"As players we've chatted about what happened and it's up to the players to sort it out and make sure we've got our heads right before every game and make sure what happened then doesn't happen again."

Ross and DJ will have their own thoughts on it. In the last number of weeks they have used the McKenna Cup to try out a raft of inexperienced players. The squad for the League may show a few changes, offer tougher competitive opportunities to some of those involved in the McKenna trials. Building towards the Championship will then gain steady momentum, one way or another, before Down go to Cavan in the Ulster first round.

In spite of the setbacks endured last year, Damian is relishing the prospect of fighting for his place in the new-look red and black 15 and says:

"I have really enjoyed it so far. It is tough, a lot quicker playing county football than club, because you don't get as much time on the ball don't get as much time on the ball and you're getting hit from all angles. I enjoy the challenge. It is great. I love it. I've marked some very tough forwards, Ross Munnelly of Laois, Peter Canavan in the Championship and you learn something from every player you play against and then work in training to improve your game.

"With a new management in, there's a bounce about the place but that is nothing against the last management. When a new manager comes in there's new ideas, bit of fresh optimism, but everybody knows they have to up their game to try and improve, to try and impress Ross and DJ. It's a new challenge for everyone. The McKenna Cup has been used for trials and hopefully a couple of players will come through from that.

"While a young group of players have been in at the deep end in the McKenna Cup, the rest of the squad have been at all the training sessions, training two or three times a week, working in the gym. Ross and DJ are looking long term, the next three or four years, but they are aiming to stay in Division One this year.

"We need to be in there playing Division One football. That is important and we will be aiming for the top four so that we're in Division One next year when they do the restructuring of the National League. The aim is to get Down back to where we were. Last year, when it came to the bit, against Galway in the League and Sligo in the Qualifiers, we crumbled away.

"Now it's about getting a bit of Down steel back into it."

ONES TO WATCH

On some of the better performances delivered last season, the likes of Daniel Hughes, Ambrose Rogers, if he recovers well enough from knee surgery last Autumn, and Eoin McCartan look capable of impacting strongly.

James Colgan (below) fits that profile also and after watching UUJ's Sigerson Cup hopefuls carve out an emphatic win over an experimental, inexperienced Down select in the McKenna Cup, full-forward line player Packie Downey looks an option as does Jordanstown's creative half-forward John Boyle and UUJ half-back Eamon McConville. Impossible though to suggest many individuals, indeed if any, with the new squad for the National League yet to be confirmed. Whether those named are included obviously remains to be determined.

THE VERDICT

By the time Ross Carr and DJ Kane offer words of motivation and advice in Galway's home field on April 8, a honeymoon period for the new management team that will take them a few miles down the road to visit Louth, to Mullingar and Crossmaglen will be virtually at an end. They will hope to see a place in Division One for 2008, if not already secured, there for the players to fight for against the Tribesmen.

The core of last season's faltering squad, which for some reason lost its way in both the League and, most alarmingly, the Championship is expected to provide many of the building blocks for Ross and DJ. Improved attitude, commitment to winning each and every game and improvements in all key areas will be anticipated during the NFL to ready themselves for May's first Championship D-Day at Breffni Park against time-honoured rivals, Cavan.

The management and fitness coaches can only do so much in movitating, preparing, developing a tactical game plan designed to play to team strengths and getting all the necessary strength and stamina targets reached. As others have stated in the past, once the players cross the white line on match day, it is down to them to apply themselves, apply the game plan and, at the heels of the hunt, hope things go well enough for the forwards to deliver the finishing to challenge for NFL points or SFC successes consistently. The latter was missing last year in both results and scoring quality – the fragile four points managed against Galway in the final League game and at Sligo in the Qualifiers the stark examples.

A fresh start for all, renewed optimism, renewed commitment to battle for the red and black jersey. Ross and DJ enjoyed the highest possible achievements during their playing careers with Down and while season one will be a learning curve, improvement on 2006's inconsistencies is the bottom line. Year one of a longer termed plan, the aim beyond this will be to steer Down back to being a competitive force at the business end of the two main competitions – a genuine contender again for Gaelic football's 'Holy Grail' – sooner rather than later. They appear a long way off that target at present.

For this year, patience and some measured progress. Retained Division One status is the initial bonus hoped for. With away games at up-and-coming Louth, at Westmeath, Armagh and Galway, a top four finish is a very tough ask. After that, an extended, exciting run in the Championship (through either front or back door) is the challenge. Again, with a first game at Cavan, a very tough ask. Forming a team, the depth of squad needed, to challenge at either Division One or Championship levels will take time and players with the talent and temperament Ross and DJ are looking for and need to move Down forward. Championship is where it's at for Down football fans but titles are some way off on the evidence of last year and, whatever about the League, there is a substantial gap between them and rival neighbours Armagh and Tyrone, for example, at Championship level.

Like all good, quality workmanship, there's no quick fix method. The task is the cliched 'tall order' and is bound to require a lot of time, dedication and determination – if all the best of material can be sourced – to get to a point that completion is in sight. For the moment, this looks a long way off.

NFL SQUAD

No information available. A panel will be announced prior to the National League first round game away to last season's Division Two title winners Louth. This follows assessment of an experimental squad used for the Dr McKenna Cup and their university players.

Title: Down Sen Footballers 2007
Post by: 5 Sams on January 24, 2007, 10:57:41 AM
Yes sorry LOUTH V Down ffs..... ???
Post by: thewobbler on January 24, 2007, 11:07:38 AM
5ive times - People who live in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.
Post by: thewobbler on January 24, 2007, 11:19:23 AM
Newcastle wouldn't be fit to host any sort of a big game these days. So while Newry is out of action, Down are pretty much at the bottom of the pile in regards county grounds.

Personally I don't understand how anyone could like Newcastle. I've been there maybe 20 times in the last 3-4 years between county and club games, and not once has the sun shone. At best it is damp and grey, at worst (such as Galway last year), it is is downright inhospitable for spectators. It is the dampest, bleakest venue in the country as far as i'm concerned.
Post by: downredblack on January 24, 2007, 11:23:02 AM
Agree about facilities at Newcastle , couldn't get into the stand last year for the Galway game and got a right drowning over the other side . Added to that the woeful Down preformance not a good day out . Will Newry be ready for any games in the league ?
Post by: thewobbler on January 24, 2007, 11:37:30 AM
That's a bit of a selective thought process there 5iveTimes. If you stand on the Newry bank at the Marshes and look up, I presume you miss the meat factory and instead you can see the Mournes on one side and Carlingford Mountain on the other. I say presume because I don't go to matches for the scenery! Maybe my mind is playing tricks, but the stands at Navan and Crossmaglen surely dwarf that at Newcastle? I can't remember Celtic Park, haven't been there since '94.
Post by: downredblack on January 24, 2007, 12:07:59 PM
The money has been spent now so Down fans better get to like Newry . I think it will be a great wee ground when all works have been completed and hopefully the myth that Down don't play well in Newry will be laid to rest .
Post by: amallon on January 24, 2007, 12:52:14 PM
God forbid any trouble ever started in Drogheda, it would end up in a riot.  There is no fence along the front of the stand, I think that is a recipe for disaster.  At the end of the game the a lot of supporters leave the ground by leaving their seat in the stand and heading straight across the pitch.  Its been a few years since I've been there and hopefully these things have been sorted.
Post by: thegael on January 24, 2007, 12:57:29 PM
newry was the only choice and it will be great for the promotion of gaelic games in this soccer infested town/ city!
there even  soccer players in mayobridge now!
Post by: downredblack on January 24, 2007, 12:59:16 PM
Yeah straight across the pitch and lads saying thon boy is useless and then walking into said player . Benny got line the last time we were there , Louth will be a lot harder  opposition this time round .
Post by: thegael on January 24, 2007, 01:04:41 PM
don't think you'd be smart enough to bet sunshine!
Post by: full back on January 24, 2007, 01:08:11 PM
Quote from: thegael on January 24, 2007, 12:57:29 PM
newry was the only choice and it will be great for the promotion of gaelic games in this soccer infested town/ city!
there even  soccer players in mayobridge now!

Soccer players in Mayobridge :o :o
Bet they drink as well ::)
Post by: thegael on January 24, 2007, 01:09:04 PM
don't think you'd be smart enough to bet sunshine!
Post by: wobbller on January 24, 2007, 03:04:08 PM
 And what has all this tripe got to do with Down Sen football?
Post by: thegael on January 24, 2007, 03:45:09 PM
tripe wobblier all your posts seem to be about board issues , i don't seem to recall many posts regarding football !
but then again i imagine you are a poster of many names but anyway congrats on another well thought out post
Post by: Pangurban on January 24, 2007, 08:42:37 PM
Must agree with Fivetimes, the Marshes Is a dump which no amount of development will improve sufficiently to win the hearts of the majority of Down fans. Money should have been invested in creating a centre of excellence which would include Co Ground,Co Offices,Training Pitches, Gym facilities etc. My favoured location would also be around Newcastle/Castlewellan area, which would be fairly central and accessible to all clubs within the Co.
Post by: Dubh driocht on January 24, 2007, 08:54:18 PM
Are the tickets to be distributed through the clubs ? When?
Post by: passedit on January 24, 2007, 10:31:42 PM
QuoteFrom: <secretary@down.gaa.ie>
Reply-To: <secretary@down.gaa.ie>
To: <downclubs@down.gaa.ie>,<countyboard@down.gaa.ie>
Subject: National Football League
Date: Tue, 23 Jan 2007 21:39:21 -0000

A chara

The 1st Round of the National Football League between Louth and Down is an all ticket game.

There are 400 stand tickets and 1500 terrace tickets allocated to the county.

Could you let me know your requirements by Monday 29th Jan.

le gach dea-ghuí

Séamas Breathnach

Rúnaí

Post by: amallon on January 25, 2007, 02:45:58 PM
Maybe the Ross/DJ factor will increase demand.  There wasn't 500 down gaels in Drogheda the last time we played Louth in the league granted that was in Div2b.
Post by: amallon on January 25, 2007, 04:07:12 PM
Dowdalshill would have been handy for us Down folk!

Whats the Louth thinking on the game?  Win loose or draw?

I'd have Down as slight favourites.
Post by: Mourne Rover on January 25, 2007, 10:18:31 PM
Louth have reportedly been in intensive training over the winter and fielded their strongest available side during their O'Byrne Cup campaign. Their performances in January have been solid, they won division two in the league last year and they outplayed Tyrone in the championship. They are clearly a team on an upward curve, and, with home advantage, they will be expecting to start their 2007 league programme with a win.

Down were a shambles last summer, and have quite rightly used the McKenna Cup to experiment with fringe players. Only a handful of them will be retained, and we will mainly be relying on the familiar faces who have just started back to full training plus a few promising youngsters. We don't want to get relegated, but all the indications are that it will take a few matches before the squad really takes shape.

Down are always capable of surprising us, usually for the worst reasons, but Louth are very much the form side. If they are available at anything better than even money, they are an excellent bet.

Down started the league last year with some promising displays, but gradually lost their confidence and hit rock bottom in the last game against Galway in Newcastle. This set the scene for the embarrassments to follow in the championship.

I hope we do things the other way round in 2007, and we need to take some time to completely re-build our defence, so I am not too pushed about the result against Louth.  Mind you, I still wouldn't mind a win...
Post by: Pangurban on January 26, 2007, 02:54:25 AM
A performance from Down is more important than a win, though i fancy our chances. Habit is a major factor in football, i have seen good teams develop a losing habit,and mediocre teams develop a winning one. Its all about perception and expectation. For that reason i believe it is absolutely essential that we develop a winning habit pre-championship,so the time for experimentation is over,lets get our  best available team on the field, revved up and fighting.
Post by: Cloc Mor on January 26, 2007, 08:22:26 AM
I think it would be unrealistic to expect a win.  How many of the Mc Kenna Cup aquad will actually start on Sunday?  Not too many I would think.  Have the so-called 'first 15' been training with the rest of the squad throughout this period?  As you say PB, its the performance we are looking at but a win would be nice.
Post by: superblues on January 26, 2007, 09:20:54 AM
think they have a match tonight against meath and also have a game on sunday so will probably get an idea of his best team for next sunday then
Post by: amallon on January 26, 2007, 09:35:32 AM
Any idea of venues and times of these games?  I assume both games are against Meath as someone suggested earlier.  They would hardly be closed doors would they?
Post by: superblues on January 26, 2007, 09:37:55 AM
think the game tonight is navan and sunday in newcastle
Post by: goldenyears on January 26, 2007, 11:52:11 AM
Benny refreshed and ready to go 
Gaelic Games 
By Brendan Crossan 

BENNY Coulter insists that Ross Carr's decision to rest the majority of his Down squad in the McKenna Cup will improve their Championship prospects this summer.

The Mayobridge ace was one of a number of Mourne players who were relieved of McKenna Cup duties this month, as new manager Carr gave lesser-known players a chance to stake a claim.

Coulter feels rejuvenated after enjoying a two-month break away from football and he added that the rested players will be "definitely" fresher for Championship football.

"I'm glad I've got a break from the McKenna Cup," said Coulter.

"I played in the McKenna Cup since coming into the seniors, but when you step back and look at things, at Championship time we seemed to fail. We'd be doing well in the National League and not do well enough in Championship, so we decided a break mightn't do us any harm."

He added: "I haven't played any football since we lost to Ballinderry (in November). In fact, I wouldn't say I played much that day either. I've had a good two months break without touching a football.

"That's the first time since '99 I've ever had that length of break of doing absolutely nothing because Mayobridge have been playing in Ulster regularly and then it just continued on with Down."

Coulter, who had an indifferent 2006 campaign when Down crashed out of the Championship to modest Sligo, declared that he too will have to "step up a gear" this season.

"I'm happy enough with my fitness, I've been training with the squad since the fourth of January. I'm really looking forward to this particular National League campaign. I can't wait. I definitely think I'll feel fresher for the break."

With the likes of Coulter, Michael Walsh, Ronan Sexton, Brendan Grant, Alan Molloy and Dan Gordon enjoying extended breaks, their absences have given Carr a chance to look at other players in the county.

"Ross named a 35-man McKenna Cup panel and there was a lot of chat around the county that players weren't getting chances and I think Ross decided to take a look at all these players and he's done that," said Coulter.

"It's up to him now whether they're fit to play county football, but at least he's given everyone a chance. It's now up to the boys coming back in to earn a place on the team, including myself."

In their absence, the likes of Kevin Gracey (Downpatrick) and Jackie Lynch (Drumgath) have caught the eye during Down's McKenna Cup games, while former Cliftonville soccer player Peter Telford (Downpatrick) is a viable option at midfield for Carr.

Drumgath goalkeeper Bernard Connell has impressed this month and could offer Michael McVeigh some competition during the National League campaign.

Down are in Division 1B this year and are grouped with the likes of Galway, Armagh and Derry. The Mournemen's first three League fixtures are against the division's lesser lights Louth, Kildare and Westmeath.

Coulter added: "There are a lot of good teams in Division One. Our first game is against Louth, a team that has improved unbelievably... And then you've got Galway, Armagh, Derry and Kildare. It's a tough group, but we're looking forward to it and hopefully we can stay in Division One."

Meanwhile, Coulter's club colleague Michael Walsh will be back in action despite working in England.

The centre half-forward is currently training with rugby side London Irish and hopes to see some League action with the Mournemen this term. Down have again drawn Cavan in the Ulster Championship (May 13).
Post by: amallon on January 27, 2007, 12:45:03 PM
Benny scored 1-5 from mid field.  Hope he carries this form through for the season.
Post by: TORGAEL on January 27, 2007, 04:54:17 PM
any idea of whom the starting 15 were ?
Post by: No1 on January 29, 2007, 08:53:44 AM
Any word of a panel for Sunday yet?
Post by: amallon on January 29, 2007, 09:30:13 AM
The panel is being cut on Tuesday night from 40 to 32.

Down were beat by 4 points yesterday I think (no score board).  Meath got the only goal of the game after Connell dropped a high  ball and gifted Meath the goal.  Down only used 3 players from the Friday night game.  Danny Hughes was Downs star man but could have been a little less greedy.  Ollie Murphy was a pleasure to watch yesterday, still a class act.  Almost unmarkable