Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: mhacadoir on April 06, 2010, 10:28:37 AM

Title: UK General election 2010
Post by: mhacadoir on April 06, 2010, 10:28:37 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/8603591.stm

Will Sinn Féin and DUP lose many voters after the Robinson and Adams scandals?

Will SDLP/ Ulster Unionists and Conservative whatever they are called gain?

Will the TUV get any seats?

Does anyone really care?
Title: Re: UK General election 2010
Post by: Maiden1 on April 06, 2010, 11:43:20 AM
Ulster Unionists made a big mistake joining the conservatives especially now that there only MP Silvia Herman has left because of it and she will probably get elected as an independent.

The BBC and media 'witch hunt' against the Robinsons might even help the DUP.  I have tried to make a joke with a couple of people of unionist persuasion about the Iris thing and it went down like a lead balloon.  They seem p1ssed off that Peter has to answer questions and is getting a hard time when his wife has been seen to be putting it about.  i.e.  They feel sorry for him.

I am not a fan of Labour but the Conservatives are a bunch of hateful toff c&*ts.  They look they getting in but I hope not.
Post by: Canalman on April 06, 2010, 12:43:29 PM
Personally hope Labour win. The Tories have a nasty edge to them and attract an obnoxious mé féiner type.
Think this will be a lot closer than people think.
Post by: maddog on April 06, 2010, 12:56:45 PM
Quote from: Canalman on April 06, 2010, 12:43:29 PM
Personally hope Labour win. The Tories have a nasty edge to them and attract an obnoxious mé féiner type.

I think Labour will get back in. There has been a lot of dissatisfaction with them (a lot of it about the economy which is a world issue) but when it comes to the crunch who in gods name would vote for that odious p***k Cameron.
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 06, 2010, 01:04:42 PM
cant see the conservatives lose

while people wont want to vote for cameron, equally as many or as little would want to vote for brown
(because of his 'personality' and that he is a jock more so than his recent political record)
Post by: oakleafgael on April 06, 2010, 01:06:57 PM
Would be hopeful that Labour will get the boot but it remains to be seen if the masses will vote for the Tories. Will be interesting to see how the BNP fare, especially with the stories in the press over the last week.
Post by: Maiden1 on April 06, 2010, 01:14:03 PM
The bookies have the Conservatives as red hot favourites to be elected.  With a hung Parliament as second favourite and a Labour majority something like 14-1.  I read somewhere that in the key marginals that the Conservatives are ahead in a lot of them.  So even if conservatives are on 34% nationwide and Labour 33% as it is first past the post they only need to be ahead by 1 vote in all these marginals to take the seat.
Post by: seafoid on April 06, 2010, 02:34:55 PM
It will probably be a hung parliament or else a narrow Conservative win which would be no better than a hung parliament. Remember all the trouble John Major had when he won an unexpected victory in 1992 and his majority died off one by one ? 

I can't really see any difference between Labour and the tories. In the old days Labour never would have gone to war against Iraq.  They support the PFI even more than the Tories do. So it's tweedledum and tweedledee.   
Post by: muppet on April 06, 2010, 02:45:41 PM
Quote from: maddog on April 06, 2010, 12:56:45 PM

I think Labour will get back in. There has been a lot of dissatisfaction with them (a lot of it about the economy which is a world issue) but when it comes to the crunch who in gods name would vote for that odious p***k Cameron.

I can't warm to him at all. He has the charisma of John Major, the like-ability of Margaret Thatcher and is as convincing as William Hague. Quite the package.
Post by: bennydorano on April 06, 2010, 04:44:19 PM
The Sunday Times had the Tories 10pts ahead at the weekend, a significant jump from the 4/5pts their lead had been whittled down to.  As has been mentioned Lord Ashcroft (who really dropped them in it over a non-dom tax row) has been head of a campaign that has been targetting marginals and a lot of commentators believe that this will be huge, even a nationwide 4/5pt lead could return a relatively large tory majority because of this targetting.  Tories seem to be panicking a bit of late IMO.

I would buy the Times(UK) on a semi-daily basis and they have been in tory election mode for quite a while, which has pissed me off a bit as I like it as a paper.

Post by: Tony Baloney on April 06, 2010, 04:50:25 PM
If I was living over there it would be Conservatives all the way. The level of waste during this Labour government has been shocking. They've literally spent tens of billions on nothing of note.
Post by: bennydorano on April 06, 2010, 05:18:44 PM
The Tories are driving hard on the basis that they will tackle the deficit quicker than Labour, implement swingeing spending cuts while also producing un-costed policies such as marriage allowances, reversal of NI contibution rises, they are sending out mixed signals which could do them harm.  They also seem keen to run to experts who back up their Economic claims which are then refuted by the experts that Labour wheel out, pointless exercises that make them look sillly imo.

All governments are wasteful to an extent, just happens that if you agree with what they are tartgeting with their spending priorities you wont see it as wasteful and vice versa.  I'd like to see the military budget targeted, but it seems a taboo subject, as are the NHS and Education.  Labour have made many mistakes, but they would get my vote.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 06, 2010, 05:47:10 PM
Do the UKIP run in this election or is it just in the European elections?
Post by: Denn Forever on April 06, 2010, 06:21:38 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 06, 2010, 05:47:10 PM
Do the UKIP run in this election or is it just in the European elections?

Depending where you are based they do.  As well as the BNP or the Greens.
Post by: T Fearon on April 06, 2010, 07:10:01 PM
The biggest issue in this election is the potential to see a staunchly nationalist area like Fermanagh S Tyrone pass into Unionist Control. and quite possibly Unionist/Conservative Control, if the Unionists (and I don't differentiate between any unionist, TUV,DUP.UCUNF,all bitter anti catholic cnuts) come up with an agreed candidate.

In this event surely the Stoops and Sinn Fein must respond in kind and ensure only one nationalist candidate stands and ensures this area is not misrepresented by any Unionist/Conservative
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 06, 2010, 07:44:09 PM
Quote from: maddog on April 06, 2010, 12:56:45 PM

I think he comes across well, straight talking, no nonsense type. He did very well around the time of the MP expenses issues. He seems to be just as smarmy as Tony Blair though and he is a conservative so I wouldnt trust him as far as I could throw him!
Brown comes across as a decent sort but he looks like he hasn't slept in years, is ready to burst in to tears and is in a job he doesn't want to do.  When did he last smile? 

I can't see Labour winning.
Post by: Rois on April 06, 2010, 08:00:39 PM
Hasn't taken Sinn Fein long, the Gerry Kelly posters are up on lamposts on the Antrim Road already.
Post by: T Fearon on April 06, 2010, 09:32:25 PM
Alasdair Mc Donnell posters up round Malone Area a week and a half ago
Post by: ziggysego on April 06, 2010, 10:56:37 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 06, 2010, 07:44:09 PMWhen did he last smile? 

(http://www.fhr-net.co.uk/imgs/news/airport_protection_stepped_up_as_swine_flu_cases_increase.jpg)
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 15, 2010, 08:01:48 PM
Anyone watching the debate tonight, odds on brown to f**k it up.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 15, 2010, 08:36:52 PM
Opening statement and Brown's in the lead..imo
Post by: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 09:11:44 PM
Like Clegg so far. Think he's about to tell the other two to fcuk up.
Post by: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 09:16:58 PM
Brown and Cameron too afeard of saying something wrong. Clegg getting wired in.
Post by: take_yer_points on April 15, 2010, 09:19:56 PM
I hate that stupid grin Brown puts on when the other two are talking. I'd go for Clegg so far as well- I'd say Brown's bottom of the pile.

As a side note, I don't like Alastair Stewart!
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 15, 2010, 09:21:19 PM
Don't like Clegg, he was struggling desperately at the start but has been improving. He won points on the election reform.
Brown doing a lot better than expected, he bate the head of cameron on the policing and he's the only one that looks like a leader. (I'm surprised)

There doesn't seem to be much substance to cameron.
Post by: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 09:24:05 PM
Cameron coming across a bit of a slimey idiot.
Post by: Minder on April 15, 2010, 09:29:19 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 09:24:05 PM

What else could he come across as ?
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 15, 2010, 09:30:08 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 09:24:05 PM

He is and he's starting to struggle as Clegg is coming in to more.
He has to stop that frowning when someone else is talking too.

Post by: pintsofguinness on April 15, 2010, 09:31:06 PM
Cameron train is off the tracks....
Post by: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 09:34:33 PM
Cameron's notes revealed:

http://tweetphoto.com/18558284
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 15, 2010, 09:38:56 PM
My god you just need to compare Cameron and Brown's comments on the army
Brown comes across as sympathetic and genuine, just the right amount of emotion
Cameron just isn't genuine enough - every time he attacks Brown or Labour Brown calmly explains the reasons and comes across as the most reasonable person in the world
Post by: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 09:52:30 PM
I think Clegg is just in front of Brown with Cameron lagging, though it's easy to attack the status quo than to defend it.
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 15, 2010, 09:53:52 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on April 15, 2010, 09:19:56 PM
I hate that stupid grin Brown puts on when the other two are talking. I'd go for Clegg so far as well- I'd say Brown's bottom of the pile.

As a side note, I don't like Alastair Stewart!

Knob. I heard him interviewed earlier today when he compared himself (and I paraphrase) to the great conductors who conduct the great orchestras as they perform the great works.
Post by: Lecale2 on April 15, 2010, 09:56:32 PM
I can't believe you guys are watching this. I'll wait and read the papers tomorrow.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 15, 2010, 09:57:30 PM
Clegg is doing very well now alright but then he's not under the same scrutiny, he knows he won't be calling the shots in May.
Brown should be pleased with his performance, only one that looks like a Prime Minister I think although reading the comments on the BBC site they must be watching a different debate than me.
Cameron, well I thought he was doing very well in the campaign until tonight, all attack and sound bites, no substance. Someone on the BBC site described him as a sales man and that just hits the nail on the head.
Post by: attheraces on April 15, 2010, 10:01:40 PM
I think Brown is going to be most satisfied with this first debate. Clegg has certainly came across as a strong, genuine leader. Cameron is coming across as a phony in my opinion. Impressed with Brown, stating what the next parliament will deliver with right balance of criticising other parties. Cameron attacking labour far too much. Clegg has appeared very honest, played the game everybody expected him to.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 15, 2010, 10:10:25 PM
BBC more or less calling Clegg the winner with a draw between the other two eejits ???
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 15, 2010, 10:12:39 PM
If everyone is sure that there's going to be a hung parliament, Ladbrokes have an outright Tory majority at 1/2 ???
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 15, 2010, 10:15:00 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on April 15, 2010, 10:10:25 PM
BBC more or less calling Clegg the winner with a draw between the other two eejits ???
It depends on how you define win I suppose, Clegg may say what people like to hear but that's very easy when you're in his position.

I don't care what anyone says Brown was well ahead of Cameron and if anyone votes conservative after that tonight they deserve all they get.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 15, 2010, 10:16:57 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 15, 2010, 10:15:00 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on April 15, 2010, 10:10:25 PM
It depends on how you define win I suppose, Clegg may say what people like to hear but that's very easy when you're in his position.

I don't care what anyone says Brown was well ahead of Cameron and if anyone votes conservative after that tonight they deserve all they get.

You're dealing with the English here pints...anything could happen ;D
Post by: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 10:19:41 PM
I didn't hear anything over and beyond banal electioneering tripe from Cameron. Brown was assured albeit a little uninspiring. Clegg had his homework done in terms of body language and line of attack.

I wonder will The Sun claim a resounding success for Cameron tomorrow. Guardian has it 60-30-10 for Clegg-Brown-Cameron.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 15, 2010, 10:21:37 PM
I think the tories will still win. 
Lots of idiots willing to believe Cameron's bullshit - judging by tonight cameron could win but he'll not a f**king clue to do after that!
Post by: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 10:22:37 PM
Sky have just released the results of the polling they did after the first hour. It shows Cameron on 41%, Clegg on 32% and Brown on 27%.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 15, 2010, 10:23:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 10:22:37 PM
Sky have just released the results of the polling they did after the first hour. It shows Cameron on 41%, Clegg on 32% and Brown on 27%.

See what I mean....
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 15, 2010, 10:24:35 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on April 15, 2010, 10:23:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 10:22:37 PM

See what I mean....

Just shows the world's full of idiots, George Bush was elected twice ffs...
Post by: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 10:34:38 PM
I think the British want Brown out no matter what as it's fashionable (sorry, The Sun does) and they're going to vote Tory unless Cameron slags off Wayne Rooney.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 15, 2010, 10:36:06 PM
12 months of a conservative government they'll be crying for labour to come back...
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 15, 2010, 10:37:41 PM
I think the tories will get a decent majority (40-50).  At least if this happens it will make Rodney Connor a spare part...

We need to get these guys along to Breakfast with Baker for a real debate!!!
Post by: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 10:38:00 PM
Viewers in a YouGov poll say that Clegg was the winner with 51% Cameron 28% and Brown 19%

The ITV figures are:

Clegg: 43%
Cameron: 26%
Brown: 20%
Post by: Orior on April 15, 2010, 10:39:15 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 10:34:38 PM
I think the British want Brown out no matter what as it's fashionable (sorry, The Sun does) and they're going to vote Tory unless Cameron slags off Wayne Rooney.

Thats about the long and the short of it.

About 30% think it all through, weighing up the pros and cons
About 30% vote for who the Sun tells them to vote for
About 30% vote based on what someone looks like
Post by: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 10:39:37 PM
Didn't see what Brown did particularly wrong but I suppose people will see what they want depending on their current loyalties. Cameron is smarmy enough for the Brits to like him.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 15, 2010, 10:40:39 PM
Brown bottom in all polls so far (bar the Grauniad of course).  To be fair I thought he was better than expected, though expectations were low
Post by: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 10:43:10 PM
Agree with the commentator who said this - On style, Clegg won. On substance, Brown won. Cameron was squeezed in the middle.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 15, 2010, 11:00:24 PM
John sergeant talking sense on question time...
Post by: Maguire01 on April 15, 2010, 11:22:11 PM
Clegg won it for me. Didn't think Brown did too bad really. Still can't stand Cameron.
Post by: bennydorano on April 16, 2010, 12:07:41 AM
Quote from: ONeill on April 15, 2010, 10:43:10 PM
Agree with the commentator who said this - On style, Clegg won. On substance, Brown won. Cameron was squeezed in the middle.
Alan Johnston, Labour MP.  Doesn't really count.

Maybe I'm a geek, but I thoroughly enjoyed that.  It has been said for a while, no matter what happens in these debates, there will only be one winner - Nick Clegg, and I dont mean actually winning the debate, but for the exposure that the Liberals are receiving because of it. 

The whole way through the debate, I felt that Cameron and Brown wanted to blood eachothers' noses and were treating Clegg as a mild irritant getting in the way of the big boys, but he continaully outflanked both.  If the Liberals can translate this into genuine support they could be a player again.  Their best prospect is a hung Parliament, where they can get PR introduced and they will defintely be back at the top table in such a scenario.
Post by: ONeill on April 16, 2010, 12:10:53 AM
Why does it not count if i agree with it?
Post by: bennydorano on April 16, 2010, 12:57:45 AM
True. 

As an assessment of the debate it could be seen as a dubious because of his loyalties.
Post by: Hound on April 16, 2010, 09:53:02 AM
I'd agree a lot more with the analysis on here than any analysis I've read in the papers or seen on TV this morning!

For me it came across as a man (Brown) against two boys. Brown was the only one with a personality, which surprised me as I thought he was just ignorant and gruff like Cowen.

Cameron was very poor. I thought he might show some charisma, but he certainly didnt. When Brown tried to engage him, he refused to look at him and had to try very hard to keep his eyes off the floor.

Clegg did fine, stood his ground well. No flair about him though, and tended repeated himself more than the others.

Clegg and Cameron both reminded me (stylewise) of recent FG leaders.

IMO: 1 Brown, 2 Clegg, 3 Cameron.

Edit Sky News Poll!
Who won the debate?

England said Clegg
Wales said Clegg
Scotland said Brown
NIreland said Cameron
Post by: Olly on April 16, 2010, 10:10:45 AM
So it's the Scots and Norn Irish who cannae be swayed no matter what.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 16, 2010, 10:16:40 AM
Quote from: Hound on April 16, 2010, 09:53:02 AM
I'd agree a lot more with the analysis on here than any analysis I've read in the papers or seen on TV this morning!

For me it came across as a man (Brown) against two boys. Brown was the only one with a personality, which surprised me as I thought he was just ignorant and gruff like Cowen.

Cameron was very poor. I thought he might show some charisma, but he certainly didnt. When Brown tried to engage him, he refused to look at him and had to try very hard to keep his eyes off the floor.

Clegg did fine, stood his ground well. No flair about him though, and tended repeated himself more than the others.

Clegg and Cameron both reminded me (stylewise) of recent FG leaders.

IMO: 1 Brown, 2 Clegg, 3 Cameron.

Edit Sky News Poll!
Who won the debate?

England said Clegg
Wales said Clegg
Scotland said Brown
NIreland said Cameron

Yes, a psychotic

It seems that the studio audience's reaction to Brown was quite negative and that may well explain why commentators are saying he came third?
Post by: Bensars on April 16, 2010, 10:19:17 AM
Thought Cameron came across pedantic and constant wanted to have a go at Brown but without the substance to back up the little jibes.
Thought Brown done relatively well and of all three seemed the most competent and had rational argument to counter all of Camerons jibes.
Clegg done well but is positioning himself for a hung parlament, lost count of the number of times he brought about the parties working together

2 more debates to go and you will see a completely different Cameron as a result of the shocking inital exit poll results/analysis. It will just confirm how false he is. IMO.

I dont think Brown will change, and that will be in his favour as people want stability.

Due to the apparent success of how clegg has come across i would imagine he will continue doing what hes doing
Post by: bennydorano on April 16, 2010, 05:25:44 PM
I would say Clegg would kill for an election today, there's only one way for him to go in the next 2 debates and that's downwards.  The novelty effect will have subsided and Brown and Cameron will have ironed out their kinks and will pay him more heed next time out. 

Cameron is going to be under the most pressure now, Brown only indulged this idea of Televised debates as Labour were so far behind in the polls they had nothing to lose, he's not a media darling, but people realise his strengths as a leader.  Clegg just cant believe his luck.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 16, 2010, 06:19:04 PM
No idea who is being called to do the polls, anyone I spoke to today about the debate had clegg doing well, possibly winner, brown second (winner on substance) and Cameron as a phony.  It seems Cameron lost a lot of support last night...

I think the other two will concentrate more on Clegg in the coming weeks and in the other debates and he'll slip back.

QuoteFor me it came across as a man (Brown) against two boys.
I thought that too and it shocked me!
Post by: ONeill on April 22, 2010, 08:24:54 PM
Brown has started well. Cameron such a w**ker with his pointless anecdotes.
Post by: bennydorano on April 22, 2010, 08:28:40 PM
Cringeworthy, wonder it wasn't a black, gay, disabled veteran he was running with to show how dead on he is.

Clegg more than holding his own again, just swotted away a dual attack on the Lib's supposed achilles heal- nuclear weapons/war, classy operator.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 22, 2010, 08:31:57 PM
Very surprised with Brown again - he really isn't the bumbling idiot the media would have you believe he is.  Cameron doing better this week  but he's no prime minister, Clegg doing well to hold his own as the big boys are giving him more attention - for me though brown is still head and shoulders above the two of them. 
Post by: ONeill on April 22, 2010, 08:55:05 PM
I can see the young voters plumping for the lib dems. He speaks their language. But as Pog says, Brown has more about him when he speaks - the other two talk of a fantasy world
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 22, 2010, 09:01:33 PM
Clegg just says what people want to hear - he stopped Brown from bating the head of Cameron on the inheritance tax as he wanted to go back, yet again, to the corrupt MPs
Post by: ONeill on April 22, 2010, 09:04:13 PM
Oooohhhhhhh, feisty this week between Brown and Cameron. Brown def on the front foot this week.
Post by: ONeill on April 22, 2010, 09:16:50 PM
Why is Boulton giving Clegg a hard time. Sky's pro-con bias showing.
Post by: 5 Sams on April 22, 2010, 09:32:32 PM
Cant find anywhere else to put this but.....watchin Jim Dougal's show now on UTV...
Thon Margaret Ritchie wouldnt inspire you if you were a stoop..... ???
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 22, 2010, 09:36:59 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 22, 2010, 09:16:50 PM
Why is Boulton giving Clegg a hard time. Sky's pro-con bias showing.

funny, read a comment on bbc saying he wasnt allowing cameron his allocated time because his wife use to be an advisor to tony blair.

boy from the SNP (doing them no favours) and the presenter on bbc news nearly coming to blows...
Post by: Rois on April 22, 2010, 09:39:27 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 22, 2010, 09:32:32 PM
Cant find anywhere else to put this but.....watchin Jim Dougal's show now on UTV...

Isn't Gerry Adams class?  He's sitting laughing at her and rightly so. 
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 22, 2010, 09:41:10 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 22, 2010, 09:32:32 PM

Her opening remarks were ridiculous. So clearly 100% scripted and she kept having to glance down to read them.
Post by: bennydorano on April 22, 2010, 09:51:24 PM
I dont watch Sky news, always preferring the BBC.  Is that what passes for journalism, the questioning of Allaister Campbell??

Instant poll (for the Sun :o) says Cameron won, clegg 2nd and Brown third.  I dipped in and out of the debate, but I find that hard to take in from what I  watched.

Post by: ONeill on April 22, 2010, 10:06:30 PM
What a load of crap that UTV one was. Did you pay £5 for land...were you a member of the IRA....same oul shite.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 22, 2010, 10:09:05 PM
http://www.u.tv/MediaPlayer/ProgrammeClips.aspx?viewtype=1&filter=103684 (http://www.u.tv/MediaPlayer/ProgrammeClips.aspx?viewtype=1&filter=103684)

Can't see me sticking out to watch all of this but good God Margaret Ritchie was atrocious in the opening statements.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 22, 2010, 10:14:22 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 22, 2010, 10:09:05 PM
http://www.u.tv/MediaPlayer/ProgrammeClips.aspx?viewtype=1&filter=103684 (http://www.u.tv/MediaPlayer/ProgrammeClips.aspx?viewtype=1&filter=103684)

Can't see me sticking out to watch all of this but good God Margaret Ritchie was atrocious in the opening statements.
I give up, 8 minutes in.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 22, 2010, 10:21:10 PM
It was quite funny when Dougal suggested that Empey could possibly be part of the next cabinet, Gerry and Peter had some laugh at that!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 22, 2010, 10:27:30 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 22, 2010, 10:21:10 PM
It was quite funny when Dougal suggested that Empey could possibly be part of the next cabinet, Gerry and Peter had some laugh at that!

Is it that outlandish a prospect?
Post by: omagh_gael on April 22, 2010, 10:45:05 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 22, 2010, 10:27:30 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 22, 2010, 10:21:10 PM

Is it that outlandish a prospect?

If they were to get in would he possibly be given a spot as a pat on the head for their unification?
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 22, 2010, 10:53:44 PM
Have to say Bristol got great publicity tonight, it's a city I've never been to.

In terms of polls, it's now 30-30-30 average. Leaves 10% for the Greens/BNP/Plaid/SNP.
Post by: ziggysego on April 23, 2010, 12:03:27 AM
Quote from: ONeill on April 22, 2010, 10:06:30 PM
What a load of crap that UTV one was. Did you pay £5 for land...were you a member of the IRA....same oul shite.

I gave up watching it after 5 mins. Bored me to tears. Tuned back to watch the final 10 mins. Still bored me to tears.
Post by: barelegs on April 23, 2010, 01:40:00 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on April 22, 2010, 09:51:24 PM
I dont watch Sky news, always preferring the BBC.  Is that what passes for journalism, the questioning of Allaister Campbell??

Instant poll (for the Sun :o) says Cameron won, clegg 2nd and Brown third.  I dipped in and out of the debate, but I find that hard to take in from what I  watched.

The Sky coverage of the debate afterwards was painful. Tabloid television at its worst. Campbell was well able to handle the reporter.

The 'debate' between David Milliband, Liam Fox and Paddy Ashdown afterwards was woeful. Like something you'd see in a pub. Milliband was very impressive though.

Just caught the end of the debate in Belfast. Ritchie wasn't rushing to give any answers to the Afghanistan questions. Sounded like something Adams had kept under wraps for a while. The woman is horrifically out of her depth. I haven't a lot of times for Adams but he is in a different league to her. After McKinney's appalling performance on Sunday, I'd say there may be a few within the SDLP questioning her leadership already. They may hold 3 seats but they could take a hit come the next Stormont elections.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 28, 2010, 03:47:25 PM
Gordon Brown caught on mike referring to some woman in Rochdale as a "bigot" after she challenged him on immigration.  He has since phoned her to apologise and is now at her house :D
Post by: Denn Forever on April 28, 2010, 05:46:26 PM
He went back to apologise in person and the whole circus - media, special branch turned up. 

Spent > 35 minutes inside with her.  I left it before he came out so don't know if he secured her vote.

Post by: pintsofguinness on April 28, 2010, 06:12:54 PM
Poor oul gordon caught saying what he thinks  :D

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/election_2010/8649448.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/election_2010/8649448.stm)
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 28, 2010, 06:53:17 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 28, 2010, 06:12:54 PM
Poor oul gordon caught saying what he thinks  :D

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/election_2010/8649448.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/election_2010/8649448.stm)
What a muppet. Party of the working class.
Post by: Minder on April 28, 2010, 07:10:14 PM
The oul doll will be in the Sun tomorrow.
Post by: Nally Stand on April 28, 2010, 07:34:51 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 28, 2010, 07:10:14 PM
The oul doll will be in the Sun tomorrow.

Bollock naked on page 3
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 29, 2010, 09:07:50 AM
The most telling bit of this was not the "bigot" jibe but when he said "Who put me in front of that woman?"  An ordinary member of the public, a voter, a pensioner and life long Labour supporter and he didn't want to talk to her!! :D
Post by: Minder on April 29, 2010, 09:16:33 AM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on April 29, 2010, 09:07:50 AM
The most telling bit of this was not the "bigot" jibe but when he said "Who put me in front of that woman?"  An ordinary member of the public, a voter, a pensioner and life long Labour supporter and he didn't want to talk to her!! :D

She also worked with "handicapped children".
Post by: gallsman on April 29, 2010, 10:51:50 AM
Saw the DUP election broadcast for the last night. God it was absolutely sickening. At one stage, Peter is standing in a room addressing an audience of unionist voters and they all nod their heads in agreement for about five minutes. At one stage he mentions the sorrows of the Troubles and the camera pans to some doll with a tear slowly running down her cheek. It was shocking.
Post by: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 11:19:12 AM
Better than the TUV's. It's like something the Taliban done. All behind a desk in a row, talking straight to the camera. A dodgy looking backdrop and a wobbly camera.
Post by: Rois on April 29, 2010, 11:25:09 AM
Jim Allister cracks me up - given that he can't say the letter "l" in words and replaces it with "r" (ie he'd say "repwrace" instead of "replace"), I find it hiwarious that he's contesting a general ewection. 
Post by: thebigfella on April 29, 2010, 11:29:04 AM
Is that little c**t Willie Frazer running, seen a few posters up for him but I thought they were left from his last failed attempt.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 29, 2010, 11:37:27 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on April 29, 2010, 11:29:04 AM
Is that little c**t Willie Frazer running, seen a few posters up for him but I thought they were left from his last failed attempt.

He is alright.
Most check on his website to read his manifesto!  ::)
Post by: mountainboii on April 29, 2010, 11:43:18 AM
Quote from: gallsman on April 29, 2010, 10:51:50 AM
Saw the DUP election broadcast for the last night. God it was absolutely sickening. At one stage, Peter is standing in a room addressing an audience of unionist voters and they all nod their heads in agreement for about five minutes. At one stage he mentions the sorrows of the Troubles and the camera pans to some doll with a tear slowly running down her cheek. It was shocking.

Jesus, I thought I'd imagined that. Do people actually buy into that cringeworthy shite?
Post by: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 03:26:41 PM
BBC Northern Ireland political editor Mark Devenport writes: I'm told a woman voter turned up at an Upper Bann primary school this morning ready to do her democratic duty. The somewhat puzzled caretaker pointed out the election isn't until next Thursday.

Feckin' eejit!  :D
Post by: Hardy on April 29, 2010, 04:05:32 PM
Can I be first with the Citywest reference?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 29, 2010, 04:29:51 PM
QuoteCan I be first with the Citywest reference

In like Flynn Hardy  :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 06:50:46 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 29, 2010, 11:19:12 AM
Better than the TUV's. It's like something the Taliban done. All behind a desk in a row, talking straight to the camera. A dodgy looking backdrop and a wobbly camera.

Eddie Izzard done a good one here for Labour..."it's thatcher, be afraid, be very afraid"
You tube video in this article

http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2010/apr/15/eddie-izzard-labour-election-broadcast (http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2010/apr/15/eddie-izzard-labour-election-broadcast)
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 08:58:24 PM
Clegg is sickening my arse tonight. The big boys are pushing him out and his only way back in is to accuse them of point scoring. What's he doing then?  ::)
Post by: Minder on April 29, 2010, 08:59:36 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 08:58:24 PM
Clegg is sickening my arse tonight. The big boys are pushing him out and his only way back in is to accuse them of point scoring. What's he doing then?  ::)

I have to say I am sick listening to them all, the same nonsense regurgitated over and over again.
Post by: bennydorano on April 29, 2010, 09:03:11 PM
Brown looks haggard, a defeated man.  He's still good on detail, but he's fucked in this election.

Does look like Cameron and Brown are basically ignoring Clegg, wonder is it a tactic?
Post by: ONeill on April 29, 2010, 09:03:49 PM
Feck feck feck. Forgot about this.
Post by: red hander on April 29, 2010, 09:06:58 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 29, 2010, 08:59:36 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 08:58:24 PM

I have to say I am sick listening to them all, the same nonsense regurgitated over and over again.

I second that
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 09:07:50 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on April 29, 2010, 09:03:11 PM
Brown looks haggard, a defeated man.  He's still good on detail, but he's fucked in this election.

Does look like Cameron and Brown are basically ignoring Clegg, wonder is it a tactic?

Brown's more aggressive tonight, last chance for him though he's wasting his time, there's too many idiots in the country.
I'd say it'll be a conservative/liberal govt who'll spend their time at each others throats and we'll have another election in 12 months.
Post by: Minder on April 29, 2010, 09:15:22 PM
The media and newspapers in particular have always played a big part in elections but I think they will decide who is elected this time.
Post by: ONeill on April 29, 2010, 09:26:19 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 29, 2010, 09:15:22 PM
The media and newspapers in particular have always played a big part in elections but I think they will decide who is elected this time.

Newspapers probably have less impact now than they did 5-15 years ago. Forums, social networking and slagging off oul grannies are the in-thing.
Post by: Minder on April 29, 2010, 09:29:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 29, 2010, 09:26:19 PM

Newspapers probably have less impact now than they did 5-15 years ago. Forums, social networking and slagging off oul grannies are the in-thing.

They probably do but I wouldn't underestimate the clout a rag like the Sun has on its readership.
Post by: ONeill on April 29, 2010, 09:34:23 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 29, 2010, 09:29:28 PM

They probably do but I wouldn't underestimate the clout a rag like the Sun has on its readership.

Personally, one of the biggest reasons I don't want Cameron to take it. If he does, they'll be unbearable even though you don't buy it. Feck I hate the English. Am I a bigot?
Post by: trileacman on April 29, 2010, 09:46:05 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 29, 2010, 09:34:23 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 29, 2010, 09:29:28 PM

Personally, one of the biggest reasons I don't want Cameron to take it. If he does, they'll be unbearable even though you don't buy it. Feck I hate the English. Am I a bigot?
Nah just a Shinner.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 10:02:35 PM
Thought brown was struggling and looking desperate for the last 20 minutes or so but that was an excellent final segment from him.
Post by: bennydorano on April 29, 2010, 10:04:41 PM
Dipped in and out a bit to watch the footy, but for the first time I thought Cameron probably did win pretty clearly.  Interesting to see the dopey polls
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 10:06:07 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on April 29, 2010, 10:04:41 PM
Dipped in and out a bit to watch the footy, but for the first time I thought Cameron probably did win pretty clearly.  Interesting to see the dopey polls
I don't think he won by a lot but won and only because Brown couldn't keep his composure.
Clegg is too wishy washy. 
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 10:15:40 PM
Peter Mandelson on news, looks desperate poor.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2010, 10:35:17 PM
ITV news gave it 35, 33, 26 - Cameron, Clegg, Brown.

Whatever Brown does he isn't going to be PM on 7th May. Would favour a Conservative victory. They all lie and break promises, but New Labour got elected in '97 on the anti-sleaze ticket by promising to be the antithesis of the Conservatives. If anything the lies, wastefulness, arrogance and corruption under Blair/Brown is greater than anything under Maggie T or Major.
Post by: comethekingdom on April 29, 2010, 10:41:37 PM
Watching bbc newsline there - where did ye get that Rodney McCune fella from?  :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 11:01:34 PM
Janet street porter on question time - what a bollocks. Who let her out...
Post by: CiKe on April 29, 2010, 11:26:47 PM
Not seen the second one yet, thought Cameron was pretty decent actually apart from the inheritance, and Clegg was good apart from where Cameron pursued him on 1.2mn immigrants or something. That said I actually agree that some sort of amnesty is necessary and as he said it should not be blanket but tested some way. Brown's closing speech was all out attack which I thought was clever as they couldn't rebutt him.

He doesn't have a pups chance though, but still think he is the most trustworthy (no great compliment). Clegg I must say really grew on me, very very populist though with the banker bashing - think he would do decent job in coalition. Reform needed, but if he had his way there would be no City of London and London house prices would fall 10% overnight!
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 29, 2010, 11:38:57 PM
Watching question time - these eejits are obsessed with immigration!
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 30, 2010, 09:39:42 AM
I can't stand Cameron but I thought that was probably his best performance and for me he was the clear "winner" and in a debate about the economy that might prove significant.  Brown looks as though he's about to cowp and needs about three days sleep.  He has a terrible habit of quoting reams of statistics that mean nothing to 99% of the population.  Clegg looks good and is a good communicator but he's lucky there's not a 4th debate as I think the Lib Dems have run out of policies!!

I'm going to call it as a small Conservative overall majority (maybe 10-20 inc UCUNTS and Prodney Connor), enough to form a government but difficult to govern.  Lib Dems to get more votes than Labour but will not break 100 seats.  Another election in 12-18 months??
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 30, 2010, 09:40:12 AM
Quote from: comethekingdom on April 29, 2010, 10:41:37 PM
Watching bbc newsline there - where did ye get that Rodney McCune fella from?  :D

Mars!
Post by: johnneycool on April 30, 2010, 11:24:49 AM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on April 30, 2010, 09:39:42 AM
I can't stand Cameron but I thought that was probably his best performance and for me he was the clear "winner" and in a debate about the economy that might prove significant.  Brown looks as though he's about to cowp and needs about three days sleep.  He has a terrible habit of quoting reams of statistics that mean nothing to 99% of the population.  Clegg looks good and is a good communicator but he's lucky there's not a 4th debate as I think the Lib Dems have run out of policies!!

I'm going to call it as a small Conservative overall majority (maybe 10-20 inc UCUNTS and Prodney Connor), enough to form a government but difficult to govern.  Lib Dems to get more votes than Labour but will not break 100 seats.  Another election in 12-18 months??

That's all it is, a 'performance' for the masses from how they look at the camera, their suit, how they smile, a load of pish, but hey that's what it takes to get elected, then they'll do whatever they want irrespective of the empty promises.

Brown got nabbed by slabbering into a mic he ddin't know he had on, he'd smiled gleefully when the camera's were rolling but changed tune in the supposed safety of his car. He got caught out, but they're all pressing flesh, telling punters what they want to hear a load of false shite.
Post by: Bensars on April 30, 2010, 11:30:42 AM
if you think Cameron isnt an actor nor very accutely aware of where the cameras are, you are very naive.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-FnmnuDiVno
Post by: Canalman on April 30, 2010, 12:25:01 PM
Get the impression that Labour will do slightly better on election day than the polls indicate.
Post by: ONeill on May 02, 2010, 10:14:10 AM
http://uk.news.yahoo.com/elections/party-matcher

I'm

* 1  Liberal Democrats  64% similarity
* 2 Labour Party 64% similarity
* 3 Conservative Party 54% similarity

Post by: EagleLord on May 02, 2010, 11:43:20 AM
Friend of mine from Preston, , I just said I'd vote for Cameron to piss him off, he says if I vote for Torys he'd never speak to me again! :D He hates this David Cameron with a passion, and having said that, I havent heard anyone say a good word about him, I've only heard people say he's a kunt....
Post by: Minder on May 04, 2010, 10:13:39 PM
Jeremy Paxman getting slammed by Plaid Cmryu economic adviser Dr Eurfyl ap Gwilym.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Gy7f8vP2QY&feature=youtube_gdata
Post by: sammymaguire on May 04, 2010, 10:26:13 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 02, 2010, 10:14:10 AM
http://uk.news.yahoo.com/elections/party-matcher

I'm

* 1  Liberal Democrats  64% similarity
* 2 Labour Party 64% similarity
* 3 Conservative Party 54% similarity

mmmmmmm

1 Liberal Democrats 62% similarity
2 Conservative Party 60% similarity
3 Labour Party 56% similarity
Post by: DuffleKing on May 04, 2010, 11:19:33 PM

How any sane person can take in what is going on around them and still vote tory is beyond me
Post by: ONeill on May 04, 2010, 11:34:44 PM
It's the Sun wot toul them.
Post by: muppet on September 25, 2010, 04:48:00 PM
Didn't know where to put this.

They are reading (very slowly) the results of the Labour Leader ballot.

The candidate know the results but are not allowed to tell.

David Milliband is sitting with a huge grin (which disappears when he knows he's on camera) while the others look about to cry.