Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Gs Man on April 05, 2010, 01:25:44 PM

Title: Captain Kennedy New Single Out 5th April
Post by: The Gs Man on April 05, 2010, 01:25:44 PM
Stretch that Penny / Sweetest Friend

Ahead of their debut album hitting the shops in early summer 2010, Captain Kennedy will be releasing a download only, double A-side of Stretch That Penny / Sweetest Friend.  The single will be available for download from iTunes, Amazon and other online retailers from TODAY, 5th April 2010.

CLICK HERE TO LISTEN/PURCHASE (http://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/stretch-that-penny-sweetest/id357402686)

Stretch That Penny, powered by fiddle and gin-soaked piano, has already been featured as part of the BBC's Raw Money campaign, providing sound advice for hard times.

Sweetest Friend
, often regarded as the band's signature tune and a firm favourite with Captain Kennedy fans, has been given a new lease of life with this release.  Often described as a heartfelt and poignant ballad, Ciaran Lavery's gravel infused vocals ensure the song keeps its rawness and spontaneity.

BIOGRAPHY

Captain Kennedy are a 7-piece band from Northern Ireland.  2009 saw the band establish their position on the Irish music scene with a number of high profile festival appearances, the highlight being two dates at the prestigious Open House Festival.  Other impressive gigs including sharing the stage with the likes of Alela Diane, Noah and the Whale and Foy Vance and appearances on the same festival bills as renowned artists such as Steve Earle, Mumford and Sons and Laura Marling, have cemented Captain Kennedy's reputation as a formidable live act.

2010 sees the band release their debut album "See You When I See You".  The album, produced, recorded and mixed by well renowned producer Mudd Wallace (Therapy?, Andy White, Pat McManus), sees the band play on their strengths, namely the ability to deliver a catchy, melodic tune whilst maintaining their edgy, raw sound, an enduring feature of Captain Kennedy's live shows.

(http://c1.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images02/121/l_104df21526fa4454947dbfb91f4550b0.jpg)

We will be playing an acoustic session on tonight's ATL programme to mark the release, so tune in between 8pm and 10pm, 94.5 on your FM dial!

That is all........ :P
Title: Re: Captain Kennedy New Single Out TODAY
Post by: Main Street on April 05, 2010, 02:50:42 PM
Well done and good luck.

What is meant by  "powered by a gin-soaked piano"?
Post by: The Gs Man on April 05, 2010, 06:23:47 PM
It's a style of piano playing.  Bluesy, like Howlin' Wolf, Tom Waits kinda sound about it.

Plenty of plinkity plonk.... :P
Post by: rosnarun on April 05, 2010, 06:38:03 PM
are you in some kind of a band?
you should have mentioned it before....
Post by: The Gs Man on April 05, 2010, 10:23:18 PM
 :-*

You love us...
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 05, 2010, 10:29:03 PM
Good luck with that.

Remember well a day spent cutting a demo one Sat as part of 'Under the Wobbly Ashtray' whose manager was one Billys Boots in 1988.

We never made it but we have some feathers in cap like playing The Baggott Inn, The Underground, having a support act once (TD Terrorist), mention in Hot Press........
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 05, 2010, 10:29:57 PM
I'll wait until it's on pirate bay gs man.
Post by: The Gs Man on April 05, 2010, 10:41:19 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 05, 2010, 10:29:03 PM
Good luck with that.

Remember well a day spent cutting a demo one Sat as part of 'Under the Wobbly Ashtray' whose manager was one Billys Boots in 1988.

We never made it but we have some feathers in cap like playing The Baggott Inn, The Underground, having a support act once (TD Terrorist), mention in Hot Press........

Under the Wobbly Ashtray!!  Class name.

Although not quite as class as a band from Belfast called Jimmy Floyd and the Hasslebainks.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 05, 2010, 11:04:59 PM
QuoteUnder the Wobbly Ashtray!!  Class name

Perhaps - but we only came second in the 1988 Hot Press Whacky Band Name competition. The results were:

1. Fergal is the Applejack
2. Under the Wobbly Ashtray
3. The Garden hasn't changed much

Ah - dem were the days. Then I got boring, came off the class A and became an accountant.
Post by: J OGorman on April 05, 2010, 11:28:50 PM
First class sir. The very best of luck with the single and album. Have ye contacted Glasgowbury and Sea Sessions for potential festival gigs?
Post by: The Gs Man on April 05, 2010, 11:34:21 PM
Glasgowbury submission is in....however, we played a dozen or so festivals last year, TV appearances etc. and still didn't get a look-in for Glasgowbury....so we'll see!
Post by: Orior on April 05, 2010, 11:43:52 PM
What if one doesnt have iTunes, and cant download it onto a work PC?
Post by: Hardy on April 06, 2010, 12:22:43 AM
Then one probably should be listening to one's Daniel O'Donnell cassettes instead.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on April 06, 2010, 09:38:35 AM
What was the name of the song that was played on BBC Radio Ulster last night at approx 2115hrs G Mans?  I liked the sound of it but never caught the track name?
Post by: The Gs Man on April 06, 2010, 12:13:16 PM
That would be "Suppertime".  It's on the new album.

Should be up on the BBC iPlayer Listen again thing.

Quote from: Orior on April 05, 2010, 11:43:52 PM
What if one doesnt have iTunes, and cant download it onto a work PC?

Send me a message with your email address!
Post by: Orior on April 06, 2010, 12:20:54 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 06, 2010, 12:22:43 AM
Then one probably should be listening to one's Daniel O'Donnell cassettes instead.

One sat beside Daniel on a flight from Belfast to Heathrow once. One chatted to him about golf. One never mention music nor GAA at all. One has a soft spot for Daniel. Its a bog in the ring of Gullion.

Its okay G's man. I'll listen to it on my home laptop.
Post by: Puckoon on April 06, 2010, 04:19:52 PM
The stretch the penny song is pretty good. I really like it. Good work fella.
Post by: The Gs Man on April 06, 2010, 05:20:35 PM
Cheers Puck, some good reviews etc so far.  Here's a wee Hot Press article.....

"On April 5, seven-piece whiskey soaked troubadours Captain Kennedy release their new double A-Side single 'Scratch That Penny'/'Sweetest Friend' via all major download sites as a pre-cursor to their hugely anticipated debut record which comes out in the summer. Last month Hot Press became the first ones to hear the single besides the band (yes, get us) and both tracks really are songs to fall in love to and 'Sweetest Friend' in particular has greatness stamped all over it, so make sure you (virtually) pick it up. For more information on the Lurgan lads and lass, check out www.myspace.com/captainkennedy."

So, if you want to fall in love......buy the songs.   :P
Title: Re: Captain Kennedy New Single Out 5th April
Post by: DickyRock on April 06, 2010, 08:06:58 PM
Seen yous a couple of times. Keep up the good work :-D

bought them on iTunes yesterday, always happy to part with a few quid for good local talent
Post by: Main Street on April 06, 2010, 09:14:15 PM
Just as soon as I get my head around the "gin soaked piano",
now you're all supposed to be "whiskey soaked"  ??
Post by: The Gs Man on April 06, 2010, 09:50:28 PM
Quote from: DickyRock on April 06, 2010, 08:06:58 PM

bought them on iTunes yesterday, always happy to part with a few quid for good local talent

Cheers Dicky!!  Few gigs up on the myspace now as well.

Quote from: Main Street on April 06, 2010, 09:14:15 PM

;D  Bourbon, gin, whisky....sure isn't it all the same!

Quote"if you prefer your folkies with a little less glitter and a little more beard then have no fear – Armagh men Captain Kennedy play the kind of deliciously warm, woodsmoked blues that mark them out as the Irish equivalent of Mumford & Sons – and true, be-whiskered frontman Ciaran Lavery's bluesy howl and heartbroken sincerity means he bears more than a passing resemblance to Marcus Mumford, although Captain Kennedy serve their grimy Americana with a twist of gin – their sound is far more enthralled to Old Crow Medicine Show's dirty 'hey y'alls!' than Marcus's scrubbed-up take on folk. A band of true authentics......"
Post by: Hardy on April 07, 2010, 09:23:32 AM
Quote from: Main Street on April 06, 2010, 09:14:15 PM

Most music critics are the fuzzy, smelly stuff that's underneath whatever is in the bottom of the journalism barrel. They will torture a metaphor until it's mutilated and trot a cliche up and down the page till it collapses, all the time desperate to imply that they are so cool that the lower reaches of the celsius scale struggle to do them justice. In other words, they will write shite like the above two sentences until the cows come home from Capistrano to roost.

They seem never to have heard of the old comparison between critics and eunuchs. If they know so much about music, how come we never see them on stage?

"Talking about music is like dancing about architecture".

Good stuff, Gs Man. Good luck with it.
Post by: Denn Forever on April 15, 2010, 03:36:34 PM
Was listening to Stuart Baillie when a song that sounded good but I didn't know from where.  Well you guessed it.

Didn't sound out of place so good on ya.
Post by: The Gs Man on April 16, 2010, 09:42:39 PM
Nice one Denn.

Glad you enjoyed it!
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 16, 2010, 09:49:07 PM
Quote from: DickyRock on April 06, 2010, 08:06:58 PM

Surely you mean "a few quid for local talent". :)
Post by: The Gs Man on April 16, 2010, 09:57:21 PM
What can I say Mr Baloney??  The man knows good music when he hears it!  :D
Post by: Puckoon on April 16, 2010, 10:15:05 PM
How much was the album in her majesty's pounds?
Post by: The Gs Man on April 16, 2010, 11:07:29 PM
Album isn't out just yet.......the double A-Side single is though......

http://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/stretch-that-penny-sweetest/id357402686

£0.79 a song.....
Post by: lurganblue on April 17, 2010, 10:08:32 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on April 16, 2010, 11:07:29 PM
Album isn't out just yet.......the double A-Side single is though......

http://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/stretch-that-penny-sweetest/id357402686

£0.79 a song.....

when is the album out g?
Post by: The Gs Man on April 20, 2010, 10:21:57 PM
It's all recorded/mixed.  Just need to get it mastered now.  So we're looking at a release date during the summer.  No doubt I will plug it up here anyways!!  :D
Post by: muppet on April 20, 2010, 10:35:47 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on April 06, 2010, 05:20:35 PM
Cheers Puck, some good reviews etc so far.  Here's a wee Hot Press article.....

"On April 5, seven-piece whiskey soaked troubadours Captain Kennedy release their new double A-Side single 'Scratch That Penny'/'Sweetest Friend' via all major download sites as a pre-cursor to their hugely anticipated debut record which comes out in the summer. Last month Hot Press became the first ones to hear the single besides the band (yes, get us) and both tracks really are songs to fall in love to and 'Sweetest Friend' in particular has greatness stamped all over it, so make sure you (virtually) pick it up. For more information on the Lurgan lads and lass, check out www.myspace.com/captainkennedy."

So, if you want to fall in love......buy the songs.   :P

Just bought both.......very good.......isn't it stretch not 'scratch'?.........Whaaaaaa yer from Lurgan????....... :o.....
Post by: The Gs Man on April 20, 2010, 11:04:53 PM
Aye, it's Stretch! 

Don't know what the frig happened there to be honest.  Somebody must have been messing about with the Press Release.  I've noticed that everywhere!!!!
Post by: Main Street on April 20, 2010, 11:45:22 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on April 20, 2010, 10:21:57 PM
It's all recorded/mixed.  Just need to get it mastered now.  So we're looking at a release date during the summer.  No doubt I will plug it up here anyways!!  :D
I hope the mastering doesn't transform the gin soaked authenticity into lager and lime ;D

Do you have to pay for the mastering? Do you work with the mastering engineer?

Post by: The Gs Man on April 21, 2010, 07:44:56 PM
The difference between an un-mastered song and a mastered song is like night and day.  Mastering basically puts a bit more life into the track.  Shines it all up and adds a bit of sparkle!  :D It's mixed to a certain volume level at the minute but when it's mastered it is brought up to the level required for radio and a professional sounding cd.

It can cost quite a bit if you have a decent mastering engineer and we'll more than likely be sitting with him when he's doing it.

The two tracks on the single were mastered but will be re-mastered for the album, just to ensure that everything is at the same level across all songs on the cd.  If you know what I mean.....   
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 24, 2010, 12:18:25 AM
Good stuff, ye Armagh shower of fecks  ;)
Post by: The Gs Man on April 25, 2010, 01:36:24 PM
Armagh/Antrim/Down.  We're a mixed up shower of fecks.
Post by: Main Street on April 25, 2010, 03:56:46 PM
An unholy trinity.
Post by: muppet on April 25, 2010, 09:45:45 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on April 25, 2010, 01:36:24 PM
Armagh/Antrim/Down.  We're a mixed up shower of fecks.

At least you're all promoted.