GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: rocco on March 29, 2010, 10:36:03 PM

Title: CONNAUGHT U21 FOOTBALL FINAL
Post by: rocco on March 29, 2010, 10:36:03 PM
ROSCOMMON V SLIGO  sat 3rd april
Title: Re: CONNACHT U21 FOOTBALL FINAL
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 29, 2010, 11:31:44 PM
Connacht, is spelt this way im reliably informed..

I say bring it on, look we are underdogs, but sure we'll turn up anyway as its in Sligo ;)... to be honest I cant wait to see the team, alot hinges on that.

Throw in is at 17.00, game is preceded by Sligo v Roscommon minors, at 15.15.

Can Sligo win our first u21 title? Would be great to start off the week that way with St Attractas in an All Ireland final and Sligo gunning for Div2 the weekend after. Sligo football is on the move.
Title: Re: CONNAUGHT U21 FOOTBALL FINAL
Post by: Rossfan on March 30, 2010, 06:15:48 PM
I hear now it's at 5.30.
If we play as we did in the second half v Rhubarbland then Sligo will have to be good to beat us.
For me it's a 50/50 game and hopefully Ros/Sligo Connacht Finals will be a more regular feature in years to come esp at Senior level.
Post by: GAA_Punter on March 30, 2010, 08:54:03 PM
One would have to fancy Ross for this one big time
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 30, 2010, 10:18:02 PM
CONNACHT
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 30, 2010, 11:02:15 PM
I heard Vincent Neary is the ref. He reffed Galway v Sligo, to be honest he is very whistle happy but fair and I'll take that anyday over some of the bias refereeing ive seen lately.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 31, 2010, 11:34:30 AM
Jes lads, if Mayo were in this there'd be a couple of pages on it already. Ye are both either too excited to post or afraid to in case ye're predictions turn out to be wrong. ;) So which one is it?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 31, 2010, 01:15:40 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 31, 2010, 11:34:30 AM
Jes lads, if Mayo were in this there'd be a couple of pages on it already. Ye are both either too excited to post or afraid to in case ye're predictions turn out to be wrong. ;) So which one is it?

In fairness if they handed out medals for talking about football ye Mayo lads would be carting them around in wheelbarrows.
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on March 31, 2010, 01:18:12 PM
Much as we alll enjoy the pages and pages of Mayo navel gazing, the Ros and Sligo lads are by nature slower to start but a hoor to stop once we get going. We might need to debate the proper way to spell Connacht first before we move onto the real thing. It's definitely Connacht. Connaught is usually the preferred spelling of the big gentry landlords over in Galway and Mayo. Those lads will be out counting their horses and cattle Saturday evening wondering where the extra hour of daylight came from.
Post by: heineken_on_tap on March 31, 2010, 01:33:37 PM
Board seems to have plenty of Mayo lads alright, not all that many from Ros or Sligo.

As Rossfan said its a 50/50 game but whoever wins should have the quality to cause plenty of problems for any of the teams remaining.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 31, 2010, 02:09:42 PM
To be honest alot of the Sligolads have left the board. Dont know why ;)..

But sometimes i feel im talking to myself :D. The Sligo club is more a blog than anything else.

The Sligo team Id like to see picked would be the following:

McGovern
Gaughan C Davey Daniel Maye
G Gilsenan B O Boyle K Cawley
Burns J Clarke
P Kelly J Hynes D Gilsenan
Judge P Clarke David Maye

Alot depends on the team selection, to be honest I wont say it on here, but when I see the team picked I'll know straight away if we have a chance.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 31, 2010, 02:25:58 PM
That's how to spell the name of the province in which I live. Happy now.
Post by: Rossfan on March 31, 2010, 06:34:37 PM
Ros team announced ...
O'Malley, Sharkey Collins M.Higgins, McKeague Daly Bannon, K.Higgins Carty,Garvey Shine Murtagh, Kilroy Shine McDermott.
It's along expected lines and Darren McDermott , if fully fit, should improve the forward line from the starting line up the last day.
Post by: Shrewdness on March 31, 2010, 10:44:49 PM
Definitely potential for scores from those Ros forwards, but delivery on the day is what will count.
Otherwise, all the potential means nothing. I rate it a 50/50 game.
Post by: neilthemac on April 01, 2010, 02:16:44 AM
Roscommon to win by at least 4 points.
I always remember the 1999 U21 final in the Hyde with Sligo supporters outnumbering the locals by at least 3-1. It was great to see them leaving early in the heavy rain and set off down the road towards Foxe's
Post by: macdanger2 on April 01, 2010, 02:38:15 AM
With Kerry out of now, sure the Rossies' heart won't be in it at all........ ;)

Sligo by two....
Post by: rossie mad on April 01, 2010, 11:15:41 AM

Another under age connacht final to look forward too who needs the seniors ;)

Really looking forward to this and i can see a very close game.Is there extra time if a draw?

I think both teams will take a lot of confidence from their last games with sligo defeating a very good galway side and are sure to be favourites with home advaantage.

The sligo lads are all very good footballers but if the our lads play well they may spring a suprise but its a hard ask but sure we still have to travel and support.

I have one gripe witht the geniuses in our county board who have fixed club league matches for the day after because IF we cause an upset i or my club mates cant go for a few celebratory drinks as is the case with alot of club players around the county but the liklihood of that happening is slim but all the same they could have put them back a week especially as there is another round of games tomorrow.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 01, 2010, 11:50:33 AM
Quote from: neilthemac on April 01, 2010, 02:16:44 AM
I always remember the 1999 U21 final in the Hyde with Sligo supporters outnumbering the locals by at least 3-1. It was great to see them leaving early in the heavy rain and set off down the road towards Foxe's

Harsh neilthemac! I ws one of those Sligo fans though I am not in the habit of leaving early. We actually had a good group of players in that team but with on or two notable exceptions they completely froze on the day. Maybe the opposite will be the case on Saturday (what with the reverse karma from 1999 in another code during the last few days)  ;)

Our team is good and can win. Would be of a similar mind to Sligonian bar one position though not knowing the injury situation etc makes things difficult. Don't know enough about Rossies either but would suspect they are quite good. Looking forward to it.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 01, 2010, 01:54:11 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 01, 2010, 11:50:33 AM
Quote from: neilthemac on April 01, 2010, 02:16:44 AM

Harsh neilthemac! I ws one of those Sligo fans though I am not in the habit of leaving early. We actually had a good group of players in that team but with on or two notable exceptions they completely froze on the day. Maybe the opposite will be the case on Saturday (what with the reverse karma from 1999 in another code during the last few days)  ;)

Our team is good and can win. Would be of a similar mind to Sligonian bar one position though not knowing the injury situation etc makes things difficult. Don't know enough about Rossies either but would suspect they are quite good. Looking forward to it.

Just seen the weather forecast, its going to be raining.. the rossies will probably outnumber us 3-1 this time, plus they are favs and very confident coming to markievicz. Complete opposite to 1999. I really hope jonston picks the right team. Two notable exceptions, mcpartland was one who was the other?
Post by: magpie seanie on April 01, 2010, 03:37:21 PM
I can't remember anyone else but was trying to be kind!
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 01, 2010, 06:31:17 PM
Quote from: Turlough O Carolan on March 31, 2010, 01:18:12 PM
Much as we alll enjoy the pages and pages of Mayo navel gazing, the Ros and Sligo lads are by nature slower to start but a hoor to stop once we get going. We might need to debate the proper way to spell Connacht first before we move onto the real thing. It's definitely Connacht. Connaught is usually the preferred spelling of the big gentry landlords over in Galway and Mayo. Those lads will be out counting their horses and cattle Saturday evening wondering where the extra hour of daylight came from.

Far more likely to be out guarding their sheep when they hear that a mob large and disorganised crowd of disenchanted, disaffected and disorientated sheepophiles will be streaming out of Markey Park around the time that late hour kicks in.
BTW: Probably thoroughly disinfected as well.

Let yee all keep the faith, Sligonian; it's now or never time!
Post by: ross4life on April 01, 2010, 06:34:21 PM
from www.connachtgaa.ie)

Cadburys Connacht U21 Final
Sligo V Roscommon, Markievicz Pk, Sligo.
Saturday April 3rd 5.30.

This years Connacht U21 Football final should bring a huge crowd of supporters to Markievicz Pk on Saturday evening next as Sligo and Roscommon do battle for the title of "Best in the West". Connacht U21 Finals without either of the "Big 2 ( Galway and Mayo) are rare indeed. In fact in 46 years of the competition it has only happened twice previously ( 1999- when Roscommon defeated Sligo, and 1977 when Leitrim had one of their 2 wins by defeating Roscommon). Indeed Mayo and Galway have between them captured 39 of those 40 titles. So it is natural that a final without either heightens expectations in the competing counties.

Sligo have never previously won a Connacht U21 title. They have been defeated in 6 finals, the most recent being last year when they were well beaten by Mayo 3-14 to 1-8 so victory on Saturday would be a huge boost to the county and would be applauded throughout the province
Roscommon have been successful on 5 previous occasions, their most recent being in 1999 and twice they have gone on to All- Ireland success ( 1966 & 1978 ). They have been having a lean time at Senior level in recent years and victory here would represent significant progress, following on from the Minor All-Ireland victory in 2006.

Both semi -finals took place on St Patricks Day. Roscommon edged out Mayo by one point after an exciting encounter during which fortunes ebbed and flowed throughout the hour.
There were heroic performances from Neil Collins, Michael Higgins, Niall Daly, and James Mc Keague, but it was the experience of Senior players Paul Garvey, and Donal Shine that edged them through in the hectic final minutes. Big performances will again be required from all of these and the rest if Roscommon are to bridge an eleven year gap at this level.

Sligo surprised many pundits when they overcame a fancied Galway side that had won the All- Ireland at minor level three years previously. They did it the hard way too, in Galways backyard of Tuam stadium and after extra time. They showed great character to overhaul a four point deficit in the second half and to edge their opponents by a single point in a close finish to extra time.

They had notable performance from Ronan Mc Garrigle and Keelan Cawley in defence and top scoring man of the match David Maye.

This will be a close encounter, Sligo will have the advantage of playing in front of their home supporters and will be boosted by their great semi-final victory. Roscommon will have to overcome the weight of the expectations of their supporters as well as a very good Sligo team.
It is a game not to be missed to witness an early ' Easter Rising for one or other of the protagonists.

The game will be preceded by a Connacht Minor league encounter between the same counties
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 01, 2010, 06:37:11 PM
Im honestly shitting myself, this team selection is vital, i have huge fears jonston will pick the wrong team and like 02 all the fans going to the final will know that aswell. Not rocket science, but if jonston starts the same team as galway were giving Roscommon a few point head start.

It worries me too, when I see Jonston quoted saying " it was outstanding performance against Galway" what game was he watching. It was mediocre performance IMO where one man got us out of jail and Galway were poor.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 01, 2010, 07:08:47 PM
Which ever of ye wins it, remember Mayo are giving it out on loan. ;)
Post by: ross4life on April 01, 2010, 07:24:13 PM
what kinda like a Anglo Irish bank loan  :D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 02, 2010, 06:29:41 PM
Team is picked, McGovern, Daniel Maye, G Gilsenan, Gaughan, McGarrigle, B O Boyle, K Cawley, Burns, C Davey, P Kelly, P Clarke, D Gilsenan, Judge, Maye, Dunne. Absoultely gutted to be honest.

Its a joke, the management have learned nothing from Galway are giving roscommon a 4/5 pt headstart. Hynes, J Clarke must be disillusioned. ITS 2002 all over again when everyone bar the manager knew we had the wrong team out in connacht final. Sligo cannot afford this stupidity. Weve just thrown away another great chance. No one who was at the game paddys day will argue with me. Roscommon will not be as forgiving as Galway. Again we messed up a potential Connacht title and talented bunch of players.

Im not going into specifics but that team has so many holes in it i wouldnt know where to start.
Post by: Rossfan on April 02, 2010, 07:45:40 PM
Good try at Kerry Kutehoorism there Sligonian but we aint buying. ;) ;D
We know we're up against it but will travel in hope that we have enough good players to do the job.
Anyway let them at it and we'll see how she goes.

UP ROS
Post by: magpie seanie on April 02, 2010, 11:26:54 PM
That's not cute hoorism by Sligonian. He's genuine in what he is saying and I tend to agree with a lot of it to be honest. I only hope and pray we can survive/keep in touch long enough that when our good subs are introduced we are close enough to possibly do it.

I have some sort of a mental illness when it comes to Sligo football that makes me always look for the positive in a situation so indulge me. Lads who maybe don't do the business the last day are getting another chance to do it and maybe they will. If they don't we have great options to bring in. Not disagreeing with Sligonian at all but seeing as the team is now picked lets go with it and support them as best we can. All it will take is one or two lads ho were not great the last day to perform well and we're in business. Fingers crossed.
Post by: Mano on April 03, 2010, 11:01:16 AM
Best of luck to Sligo this evening. Don't know much about the Sligo players as i have lost touch over the last few years with the exception of the Tourlestrane lads. Gaughan won't let you down is tenacious and tight marker. Dunne is fast, a good man to get the ball and run with it and take a point but tends to take the wrong option and be dispossessed easily. Surprised a stronger player is not in there to start

Contrary to what the Roscommon posters say Roscommon are favorites for this game. There are 3 that i know of from the all-Ireland winning minor team (Garvey, Carty, Shine) - Paddy power have them at 4/6 and they are seldom wrong.

Hopefully home advantage will count this year and we get a good start and get the sizeable home crowd behind us. Unfortunatley i won't be there as i am currently busy with hopefully a future Sligo player who arrived last week ;)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 03, 2010, 12:38:07 PM
Quote from: Mano on April 03, 2010, 11:01:16 AM
Best of luck to Sligo this evening. Don't know much about the Sligo players as i have lost touch over the last few years with the exception of the Tourlestrane lads. Gaughan won't let you down is tenacious and tight marker. Dunne is fast, a good man to get the ball and run with it and take a point but tends to take the wrong option and be dispossessed easily. Surprised a stronger player is not in there to start

Contrary to what the Roscommon posters say Roscommon are favorites for this game. There are 3 that i know of from the all-Ireland winning minor team (Garvey, Carty, Shine) - Paddy power have them at 4/6 and they are seldom wrong.

Hopefully home advantage will count this year and we get a good start and get the sizeable home crowd behind us. Unfortunatley i won't be there as i am currently busy with hopefully a future Sligo player who arrived last week ;)
Sure bring him in, there never too young you know ;) congrats..
Post by: spuds on April 03, 2010, 03:42:13 PM
good luck to sligo hope ye do it and congrsts mano
Post by: GAA_Punter on April 03, 2010, 05:41:06 PM
Cadbury Connacht U21FC final
Sligo 0-01 0-00 Roscommon, Markievicz Park, 5.35pm

http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2010/04/03/weekend-gaa-fixtures-live-scores-results-3rd-4th-april-2010/
Post by: ross4life on April 03, 2010, 05:58:30 PM
match was delayed! 14mins gone Rossies 4 Sligo 1
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 03, 2010, 06:00:15 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 03, 2010, 05:58:30 PM
match was delayed! 14mins gone Rossies 4 Sligo 1

Not the Dubs fault this time surely!
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 03, 2010, 06:03:27 PM
4-3 to Ros.

Ros playing with the wind. Shine missing chances
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 03, 2010, 06:05:46 PM
I don't begrudge either of them a Connacht title and I hope the winner goes all the way. I got a slight preference for Sligo however as this would be their first.
Seems close enough at the moment.
Post by: ross4life on April 03, 2010, 06:06:55 PM
yep 4 pts to 3, we have strong wind, playing badly 5 wides so far. 5 mins to go in the 1st half

Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 03, 2010, 06:11:27 PM
5-3 to Ros, Half Time now.

Listening to civilised commentary on Ocean, but as usual when Roscommon are involved I can hear Willie yipping and shouting in the background on Shannonside.
Post by: Mano on April 03, 2010, 06:15:41 PM
Not too bad at half time for us with a strong wind at our backs in the second half. The wind doesn't win games though as we found out in Kiltoom 2 years ago. We need to get a more physical player into the full forward line in the second half and get the ball in fast. Anyones game. Come on Sligo
Post by: Mano on April 03, 2010, 06:36:38 PM
Sligo need to get some forward subs on. Ross kicking game away
Post by: GAA_Punter on April 03, 2010, 06:39:38 PM
Cadbury Connacht U21FC final60min
Sligo 0-04 0-05 Roscommon, Markievicz Park, 5.35pm 45min
10wides fro Roscommon

http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2010/04/03/weekend-gaa-fixtures-live-scores-results-3rd-4th-april-2010/
Post by: Rudi on April 03, 2010, 06:51:35 PM
Goal Ros 1.5 to 4
Post by: Mano on April 03, 2010, 06:53:50 PM
That should be it. We should have put a target man in full forward. Commentary are saying Sligo have no forward line. Another oppurtunity lost :(
Post by: sligoman2 on April 03, 2010, 06:56:20 PM
pathetic performance from the forwards and the mgmt team.
sligonian will have a field day
Post by: Rudi on April 03, 2010, 06:58:38 PM
Happy days are back. Shine had a stinker from frees. 1.6 to 0.4. Deserved win according to Ocean fm
Post by: ross4life on April 03, 2010, 06:59:14 PM
1-6 to 0-4 for us looking good  ;D
Post by: ross4life on April 03, 2010, 07:06:27 PM
after the many years of bad luck manly v mayo we finally have the title back home

Happy days  ;D

I hope Sligo are not to downbeat & come back stronger next year

Westmeath play Dublin tomoro

So it's the winners v us
& Donegal/cavan v tipp

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 03, 2010, 07:12:28 PM
*Bookmarks page in anticipation of Sligonian going nuclear later this evening.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 03, 2010, 08:25:15 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 03, 2010, 07:12:28 PM
*Bookmarks page in anticipation of Sligonian going nuclear later this evening.

In fairness to Sligonian he did call it. We had no target inside and it was a key point in his pre match posts. Its unreal we never addressed this and compounded it by bringing Maye out the field. I'm too sick to post much at this stage. Why oh why do we beat ourselves? Its not as if its not hard enough. I know the management must take a good share of blame but the process of appointment of the management was a complete disgrace and the people person behind that will get no blame from 99% of Sligo people. This was a panel good enough to win a title and we ballsed it up ourselves.

Congrats to the Rossie lads.

I'm too sick to say any more.
Post by: shapes on April 03, 2010, 08:39:19 PM
Frustrated and sick.
This was another great chance, it was there for the taking.
We lost it on the line.
A brutal game of football to watch.
Also annoying the way the roscommon manager and selectors ran out on the pitch telling their players to lie down after the goal.
Post by: mannix on April 03, 2010, 09:21:48 PM
hard luck sligo.I was hoping you would beat them.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 03, 2010, 10:51:51 PM
Quote from: shapes on April 03, 2010, 08:39:19 PM
Frustrated and sick.
We lost it on the line.
Also annoying the way the roscommon manager and selectors ran out on the pitch telling their players to lie down after the goal.

Disgraceful if true. Can anyone else confirm?
Post by: Azzurri on April 04, 2010, 12:26:12 AM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 03, 2010, 10:51:51 PM
Quote from: shapes on April 03, 2010, 08:39:19 PM
Frustrated and sick.
We lost it on the line.

Disgraceful if true. Can anyone else confirm?

Yes did this happen. But to be honest, it happens in most games these days which is unfortunate. I suppose its up to the referee to add on the time which in this case he didnt with only 3 minutes injury time. Also, alot of the Ros supporters were annoyed by the time taken by the Sligo keeper with his kickouts in the first half when Ros were playin with a strong wind advantage but these things happen.

On the game itself, it was extremely poor quality full of errors.
Still though a win is a win.
Post by: mjg on April 04, 2010, 02:36:27 AM
God the better team won jeez any congrats from any of ye?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 04, 2010, 12:01:18 PM
How could anyone congratulate any team yday? Worthless final.

I dont blame our players, who massively handicapped by a management.

Any Connacht final Sligo are involved in should be renamed the Charity Connacht final. We had no gameplan, we lost our shape 10mins in to the 2nd half, and we had no forwards, and Roscommon want congrats for being shite aswell. Denis Jonston should of just handed ye the trophy before the game and would of saved us alot of trouble.

I dont think I was ever as down after game, we had far more talent than ros and we blew it big time. The ros lads on here wont understand where im coming from because they dont know our players but the Sligo lads will.

[Mod edit: Unnecessary abuse]
Post by: ross4life on April 04, 2010, 02:29:08 PM
Indeed us Ross lads don't know where your coming from?

far more talent? us Rossies have the best bunch of Young players coming through for 4/5 years now  but we try not to hype them up but i wasn't aware of the Sligo talent coming through?

maybe you overated your boys? & good players don't make a great teams!

Sure it was a low scoring poor game yesterday but the last two years we played Mayo in two high scoring exciting games & lost >:(

so i know which one i prefer  ;)
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 04, 2010, 02:35:45 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 04, 2010, 02:29:08 PM

far more talent? us Rossies have the best bunch of Young players coming through for 4/5 years now  but we try not to hype them up but i wasn't aware of the Sligo talent coming through?

Sure it was a low scoring poor game yesterday but the last two years we played Mayo in two high scoring exciting games & lost >:(

You try not to hype them up??!!!

You never f**king shut up about them!
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on April 04, 2010, 02:44:59 PM
Sligonian, we know Sligo have a very talented team. You don't simply beat Galway in Tuam (who were All-Ireland minor champs at this grade in 2007) without being a very good team. Ros actually beat Sligo comprehensively in the corresponding minor fixture in 2007 (with many of the same players involved). That gap has clearly narrowed. Yesterday was ugly due to many things, including the weather and the considerable pressure on both teams: Sligo to win their first U21 title with home advantage before a big crowd, Ros - younger players - to once again haul their county out of the dumps as the seniors head for Division 4. That tension was felt by everyone, players and supporters alike. As already noted, we've had very talented U21 teams in 2008 and 2009 who went out in thrillers to Mayo. We'll take this very ugly win. That Ros team can and will play a lot better now that they've left behind the dogfight that was the Connacht U21 title this year. Hard luck to Sligo, there's no county in Connacht that we'd rather see win Connacht titles than the Sligo men and a bit more attention to the underage structures in the county would surely pay of, as it has for Ros this last number of years.
Post by: ross4life on April 04, 2010, 02:48:03 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 04, 2010, 02:35:45 PM

nope i mostly talk about the bad luck our young players had v your lot

thankfully that changed for the better this year ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on April 04, 2010, 02:50:56 PM
Quote from: mjg on April 04, 2010, 02:36:27 AM
God the better team won jeez any congrats from any of ye?

Can you not read?

Good post Turlough. The tension did play a part but our management got things badly wrong. One lad who came on in midfield in Tuam just after half time and excelled was never introduced at all and that's just one example.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 04, 2010, 03:23:56 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 04, 2010, 02:48:03 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 04, 2010, 02:35:45 PM

nope i mostly talk about the bad luck our young players had v your lot

thankfully that changed for the better this year ;)

Not you personally, I mean Rossies in general.

That's why it was so funny when the same ones who were in your face week after week gloating about the 2006 minors for 3 years solid suddenly started running for cover when I met them around late June last year.

"Go way from me, I don't want to talk to ya"

"But i couldn't get rid of you for three years. How'd you manage to get beat by 20? I thought Fergie was going to be your messiah?"

"Ah he's only a bollix, hasn't a clue on the line"

"But...but..."

<Roscommon man legs it into shop>

Priceless stuff!!
Post by: ross4life on April 04, 2010, 03:37:29 PM
fair Enough Kramer

for the record of the 2006 minor team only Domican, Flynn, Shine, Devaney & McHugh Started that 20 point defeat

& Flynn & Devaney haven't played much for the seniors since

Looks like Dubs next up for us as they lead westmeath 0-8 to 0-3
Post by: small white mayoman on April 04, 2010, 04:21:15 PM
well done to the rossies on yesterdays win , i had the misfortune for the 1st time in my life to listen to commentary from ocean fm and tommy clarke , lord lanteren jesus i thought someone was taking the pis* i swear to god all you could hear for the full match was" the roscommon man has the ball he passes to another roscommon man the ball is intercepted  by a sligo man who passes it to another sligo man " the only man he seemed to know on the pitch was vincent neary, and i thought mad west was bad
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 04, 2010, 04:23:24 PM
Quote from: Turlough O Carolan on April 04, 2010, 02:44:59 PM
Sligonian, we know Sligo have a very talented team. You don't simply beat Galway in Tuam (who were All-Ireland minor champs at this grade in 2007) without being a very good team. Ros actually beat Sligo comprehensively in the corresponding minor fixture in 2007 (with many of the same players involved). That gap has clearly narrowed. Yesterday was ugly due to many things, including the weather and the considerable pressure on both teams: Sligo to win their first U21 title with home advantage before a big crowd, Ros - younger players - to once again haul their county out of the dumps as the seniors head for Division 4. That tension was felt by everyone, players and supporters alike. As already noted, we've had very talented U21 teams in 2008 and 2009 who went out in thrillers to Mayo. We'll take this very ugly win. That Ros team can and will play a lot better now that they've left behind the dogfight that was the Connacht U21 title this year. Hard luck to Sligo, there's no county in Connacht that we'd rather see win Connacht titles than the Sligo men and a bit more attention to the underage structures in the county would surely pay of, as it has for Ros this last number of years.

What was wrong with the weather yday? Pressure, Sligo team shouldnt of been under pressure.

We were poor in Tuam, but finished strong with the right team. I still cant believe Conor Brady was first sub on yday and james clarke didnt even get a run.

You can have all the underage structures who want, but when you have managers over underage teams who havent a clue, about keeping the shape, picking the right team, etc... it can mess it up.

I honestly didnt see one footballer on the ross side, it was just hoof it in and hope for a free, and shine is poor from play, he is a giant of man, but cant pass and he was inconsistent from frees. It'll be interesting to see him next weekend under no pressure. I can see how yer talent isnt coming through, not much football ability.
Post by: ross4life on April 04, 2010, 04:35:38 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 04, 2010, 04:23:24 PM

I honestly didnt see one footballer on the ross side, it was just hoof it in and hope for a free, and shine is poor from play, he is a giant of man, but cant pass and he was inconsistent from frees. It'll be interesting to see him next weekend under no pressure. I can see how yer talent isnt coming through, not much football ability.

Common Sligonian are you gonna judge Rossies players on one display yesterday?

it was a dogfight one which may help us in the long run

As for talent not coming through  ::) our best players today in Seniors are Domican, shine & higgins,  it's the Experience players that are useless

But having talent coming through from good under age teams doesn't seem to be a problem for sligo or maybe i'm forgeting a good team you had in minor or under 21 in recent years?
Post by: ross4life on April 04, 2010, 04:42:53 PM
Well it's Dubs next!  Dublin 1-12 Westmeath 0-9

April 17th maybe longford or Portlaoise

Post by: neilthemac on April 04, 2010, 04:44:27 PM
If you don't have a good manager and management team then you'll win sweet f all.

Ros over the last two years had the winning of that Connacht U21 title but the management just couldn't get them over the line and a bit of experience was lacking in the management side. Similarily with our minor team the last few years we have just narrowly failed to win the title. Coaching skills is one thing, but you have to know the players well. And how to run a game from the sideline

So you can sing all you want about talent and structures, but its down to the county board to ensure a very capable and experienced manager is in charge of a county team. At any level. U16 up to senior

And well done Ros.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 04, 2010, 07:03:04 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 04, 2010, 04:35:38 PM

Common Sligonian are you gonna judge Rossies players on one display yesterday?

it was a dogfight one which may help us in the long run

As for talent not coming through  ::) our best players today in Seniors are Domican, shine & higgins,  it's the Experience players that are useless

But having talent coming through from good under age teams doesn't seem to be a problem for sligo or maybe i'm forgeting a good team you had in minor or under 21 in recent years?

No but, come on Im not far off the mark with what ye showed yday. I said i look forward to seeing shine next Sunday didnt I. Well your knowledge of Sligo underage over the last few yrs is what ross4life? Zero. Im very optimistic about Sligos future at senior.

Neilthemac gets my point, we might not win anything underage because our county board select there cronies as managers, and thus ensure we mess it up time and time again, but it looks like at Senior we have the right man, he maybe a bit slower than me to see things but he gets there unlike the clowns at underage. I reserve my judgement on mulhern until after june 27th but that was a positive yday with all the attractas lads missing and injured players.

I actually rememeber in the early 2000s that Queenan who was CB Chairman at the time, apologises to families of players and supporters at how badly prepared our u21 team was for championship. Thats Sligo football for ya. We should get one off Murphy this yr. I also remember my relations in Meath who came down to play Sligo for a challenge and were disgusted at how bad we were prepared.

We have the talent and coaching and structures nearly all in place to maximise our potential, and someday we will get lucky and have the right man in charge at underage, I hope Bernard is one.

The shape of the seniors is coming along nicely, so im happy enough there. Next Sunday cant come quick enough.

In saying all of the above I do hope Roscommon improve ALOT to win it out, goes without saying good luck.
Post by: ross4life on April 04, 2010, 07:15:57 PM
Well i wouldn't say Zero as i know ye got too the under 21 final last year but got hammered by Mayo

even leitrim have won two under 21s connaughts

at minor level it's 1998 since ye even got to a connaught final

my point is Roscommon & leitrim need underage success to make a break through at senior level & Stats alone on Sligo proves different?

you just seem to find good players without success at underage

Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 04, 2010, 07:23:46 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 04, 2010, 07:15:57 PM
Well i wouldn't say Zero as i know ye got too the under 21 final last year but got hammered by Mayo

even leitrim have won two under 21s connaughts

at minor level it's 1998 since ye even got to a connaught final

my point is Roscommon & leitrim need underage success to make a break through at senior level & Stats alone on Sligo proves different?

you just seem to find good players without success at underage

That would be well known in Sligo that we somehow dont need underage success to produce good seniors. Alot of our players develop after 21 far more so than other counties. We have the players at every level to win Connacht most years, mental blocks and poor management cost us, that is my firm belief.
Post by: neilthemac on April 04, 2010, 07:35:25 PM
its probably why Sligo don't win underage titles. Ye take yer beatings and don't learn from them.

the last few years Mayo identified having better and experienced managers at underage levels as being crucial.

success and a winning habit at underage will eventually filter through to senior teams.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 04, 2010, 07:45:58 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on April 04, 2010, 07:35:25 PM
its probably why Sligo don't win underage titles. Ye take yer beatings and don't learn from them.

the last few years Mayo identified having better and experienced managers at underage levels as being crucial.

success and a winning habit at underage will eventually filter through to senior teams.

We beat Galway in Tuam and I saw loads of areas to improve the team which the management didnt. We do learn from defeats even victories but what can fans do only support.

The problem in Sligo is people like me arent getting underage jobs. Id love to get involved. Call me if your listening. ;) Brennan should of got the u21 job this yr. Murphy didnt even interview him. That is unforgivable. Problem in Sligo is our County chairman and thank God for the 5 yr rule.

The ironic thing about Sligo is our seniors have out performed our underage massively last 15 yrs...
Post by: Rossfan on April 04, 2010, 07:58:17 PM
It seems we only won the U21 Final because Sligo had a bad manager  ::)
Well done to all concerned on a Title we badly needed to win to show that the recent good minor performances are following on.
We werent great yesterday but we never gave up despite a precarious lead after playing with the wind , an unsympathetic Prent Referee and some silly second half tactics e.g Donie as well as missing frees kept passing balls to Sligo lads and also kept lorrying in high ones to a small full forward line.
Upwards and onwards but we have no hope at all against Dublin.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 04, 2010, 08:26:02 PM
I'm surprised that Sligo lads aren't blaming Vincent Neary for another loss!!!
Post by: Zulu on April 04, 2010, 08:53:01 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 04, 2010, 07:45:58 PM

We beat Galway in Tuam and I saw loads of areas to improve the team which the management didnt. We do learn from defeats even victories but what can fans do only support.

The problem in Sligo is people like me arent getting underage jobs. Id love to get involved. Call me if your listening. ;) Brennan should of got the u21 job this yr. Murphy didnt even interview him. That is unforgivable. Problem in Sligo is our County chairman and thank God for the 5 yr rule.

The ironic thing about Sligo is our seniors have out performed our underage massively last 15 yrs...

Do you coach yourself and why haven't you applied for the minor or U21 job, or have you?
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 04, 2010, 09:23:37 PM

The problem in Sligo is people like me arent getting underage jobs. Id love to get involved. Call me if your listening.

If anyone with any authority in Sligo reads this, please make that happen...that might just be the most entertaining managerial appointment in the history of the GAA!

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 04, 2010, 09:28:13 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 04, 2010, 09:23:37 PM

The problem in Sligo is people like me arent getting underage jobs. Id love to get involved. Call me if your listening.

If anyone with any authority in Sligo reads this, please make that happen...that might just be the most entertaining managerial appointment in the history of the GAA!

(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2009/2/3/1233678110906/Gallery-Sky-20th-annivers-007.jpg)
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 04, 2010, 09:42:57 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 04, 2010, 09:28:13 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 04, 2010, 09:23:37 PM

(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2009/2/3/1233678110906/Gallery-Sky-20th-annivers-007.jpg)

;D Luv it!

Same team colours and everything...
Post by: magpie seanie on April 05, 2010, 01:06:14 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 04, 2010, 08:26:02 PM
I'm surprised that Sligo lads aren't blaming Vincent Neary for another loss!!!

I know. In this case we have to take the plank out of our own eye before we go after Vincent's splinter.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 05, 2010, 12:35:25 PM
I did have this symbol after that line in bold below ;), I wouldnt take it seriously now but in 10yrs time it maybe differnet. No 27yr old will get a Sligo job ::). I think I said something in the past and GBB came up with the goods. Well played.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 05, 2010, 12:51:35 PM
I don't know Denis Johnston too well but I know he wasn't too well regarded after he managed Charlestown but . . .

I know it is frustrating to lose a game ye feel ye might have won. But after seeing Roscommon in the semi-final, they are a good side and well organised. Which is key.

But one question if we are looking at games in isolation. How could Sligo improve so much from last year's Connacht final where Mayo didn't have to leave second gear to beat them by about ten points? Maybe Roscommon played poorly but still did enough to win?

Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 05, 2010, 04:28:44 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 05, 2010, 12:51:35 PM
I don't know Denis Johnston too well but I know he wasn't too well regarded after he managed Charlestown but . . .

I know it is frustrating to lose a game ye feel ye might have won. But after seeing Roscommon in the semi-final, they are a good side and well organised. Which is key.

But one question if we are looking at games in isolation. How could Sligo improve so much from last year's Connacht final where Mayo didn't have to leave second gear to beat them by about ten points? Maybe Roscommon played poorly but still did enough to win?

Well I played for Sligo vocational county team for 2yrs under Johnston, he didnt impress me at all. Fitness coach and thats about it. Old school and boring trainer, no tactics at all. If we had played Padraic Clarke and Maye in the FF line we won enough at midfiled to win the game. I never have and never will buy into the best team always wins. Roscommon won but sure in so many ways it was handed to them on plate by our line like 08.

If we improved what were like last yr? We were poor enough this yr at u21. I wouldnt be Fergal O Flatherty biggest fan either, in 08 we blew a Connacht semi because of inaction on the line. Basic stuff again.

There is only 1 problem in Sligo is Manager Selection at Underage. No one in Sligo rates Moyles, FOF and now Johnston will have very few fans. Mulhern is under pressure but June 27th will decide his fate.

No point looking back to 09. Different players, different managers.
Post by: ross4life on April 05, 2010, 04:50:36 PM
i know you have given your views on where it could have been won Sligonian but i'm sure you were expecting better than one point from play in 60 mins after the hard fought win over a good Galway side

Post by: Shrewdness on April 05, 2010, 05:30:32 PM
I've never read such shite in all my life :o

Any team that could only manage one point in the entire second half, with a strong wind behind them, and home advantage, deserved what they got. NOTHING.

Where the hell is all this supposed underage talent in Sligo. Their minor and U-21 teams are NEVER serious contenders for Connacht titles apart from a once in a blue moon year like this year. I think too much was made of Sligo's win over Galway. Yes, Galway won the minor title 3 years ago, but that has no bearing on anything that's happening now.

I've seen this shit from Sligo people before. Win one game and they think they're Barcelona.
The same thing happened their seniors in 1998 after they drew with Roscommon in Hyde Park. I well remember listening to the late Willie The Shoe on the MWR Sports talkshop, the following Thursday night, and nearly every man , woman and dog in Sligo must have phoned in.
It wasn't to tell us that they would win the replay, but by how much they were going to win it.
We all know who won.

If, as Sligonian claims, there is no football in this Ros U-21 team, where then does this leave the galacticos that are the current Sligo U-21 team ???
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 05, 2010, 05:36:36 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 05, 2010, 04:50:36 PM
i know you have given your views on where it could have been won Sligonian but i'm sure you were expecting better than one point from play in 60 mins after the hard fought win over a good Galway side

I wasnt that shocked we scored so little, i knew going in maye would get most scores from frees, and would struggle to get in a postion to score with playing so deep, I had a fair idea dunne and judge wouldnt score, i knew darren Gilsenan would run at his man with pace but wouldnt punish roscommon with an end product, he was straight through on goal, with the goal gapping from 5 yards with a slight angle and still didnt back himself enough to shoot, instead passed to roscommon back who must of though it was birthday. I knew Paul Kelly was another good ball carrier like Gilsenan but no real scoring threat. That leaves Padraic Clarke who got our point from play, thats the man I would of start FF, hes good to his back to goal, Johnston would know this if he went Sligo minors in last few yrs.

I knew the 2 wing forward pace would cause roscommon problems and I would created space for them and then i have maye or clarke timing runs off the shoulder. Stuff like that i have worked on the training field.

I didnt think our midfield and defence would do so well so credit there, but that came from Roscommon being alot poorer than I expected in reality. People need to get into there heads that we were poor against Galway. Galway at underage is not the scalp people think they are nowadays. In ways we were better against Roscommon shockingly i know.

Just reading shrewdness, if you read back i didnt get carried away and i wrote the above before your rubbish.
Post by: ross4life on April 05, 2010, 05:38:04 PM
At Minor Level Galway won the Connacht Championship in 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, & 2007 so i was quite surprised to see Sligo beat there under 21 in Tuam

Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 05, 2010, 05:43:37 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 05, 2010, 05:38:04 PM
At Minor Level Galway won the Connacht Championship in 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, & 2007 so i was quite surprised to see Sligo beat there under 21 in Tuam
There players are gone way back.

All the messages im getting is another one thrown away, i agree, if ye rossies cant handle that we handed to ye well tough shit, take the money and run, the Sligo view isnt changing. At least were taking responsibilty for it and not lookingoutside ourselves for scapegoats like refs etc,..
Post by: ross4life on April 05, 2010, 05:56:20 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 05, 2010, 05:43:37 PM
There players are gone way back.

All the messages I'm getting is another one thrown away, i agree, if ye rossies cant handle that we handed to ye well tough shit, take the money and run, the Sligo view isnt changing. At least were taking responsibilty for it and not lookingoutside ourselves for scapegoats like refs etc,..

well that's football even happens at senior level  >:(  like Us rossies handed it to Galway in 1998 & Sligo to kerry last summer

personal i can't read much into Saturdays dogfight & for me we learned more about ourselves v Mayo & i knew we had a decent team after our hasting cup Success in February

Dublin should be a good test looking forward to a good game

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 05, 2010, 06:03:13 PM

in fairness only the 2007 minors would be relevant to this year's U-21's and they actually won the All-Ireland at the time. Last couple of minor teams have done nothing though.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 05, 2010, 06:14:40 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 05, 2010, 05:30:32 PM
I've never read such shite in all my life :o

Any team that could only manage one point in the entire second half, with a strong wind behind them, and home advantage, deserved what they got. NOTHING.

Where the hell is all this supposed underage talent in Sligo. Their minor and U-21 teams are NEVER serious contenders for Connacht titles apart from a once in a blue moon year like this year. I think too much was made of Sligo's win over Galway. Yes, Galway won the minor title 3 years ago, but that has no bearing on anything that's happening now.

I've seen this shit from Sligo people before. Win one game and they think they're Barcelona.
The same thing happened their seniors in 1998 after they drew with Roscommon in Hyde Park. I well remember listening to the late Willie The Shoe on the MWR Sports talkshop, the following Thursday night, and nearly every man , woman and dog in Sligo must have phoned in.
It wasn't to tell us that they would win the replay, but by how much they were going to win it.
We all know who won.

If, as Sligonian claims, there is no football in this Ros U-21 team, where then does this leave the galacticos that are the current Sligo U-21 team ???

I'm sorry Shrewness but what you have posted there is utter tripe. You simply must not have read what people like myself and Sligonian posted on this thread before and after the Galway game and before the final. We know well there are weaknesses in our side and were worried that what happened would happen. Is there any need for you to be so condescending? If you want to make a serious point then do so but spare us the Willie the Shoe phone in shows as evidence ffs.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 05, 2010, 06:19:17 PM

We all know who won.

I think every county over hypes itself at one point or another, I certainly wouldn't single out Sligo in that regard.

Before you have a go at the Sligo lads it's worth remembering that after Roscommon themselves were subsequently beaten in that 98 Connacht Final Replay, they came to Castlebar for the Connacht Semi in 99 treating it as the first step on the road to the All Ireland. Seriously, the fans were sure based on the 98 performance against Galway that that was where they were headed. They were insufferable around town that day before the game.

Still have the match on video, Morrisseys ridiculous hyping of the Rossies and lambasting of the Mayo forwards before/early in the game followed by a 0-21 0-10 hammering and the Ros fans heading out the gate with 15 to go.
Post by: ross4life on April 05, 2010, 06:40:52 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 05, 2010, 06:19:17 PM

We all know who won.

I think every county over hypes itself at one point or another, I certainly wouldn't single out Sligo in that regard.

Before you have a go at the Sligo lads it's worth remembering that after Roscommon themselves were subsequently beaten in that 98 Connacht Final Replay, they came to Castlebar for the Connacht Semi in 99 treating it as the first step on the road to the All Ireland. Seriously, the fans were sure based on the 98 performance against Galway that that was where they were headed. They were insufferable around town that day before the game.

Still have the match on video, Morrisseys ridiculous hyping of the Rossies and lambasting of the Mayo forwards before/early in the game followed by a 0-21 0-10 hammering and the Ros fans heading out the gate with 15 to go.

Yep i remember that game like yesterday & i think it was level at half time & Damien Donlon (our fb) went off injured & with it our hopes went

i Remember a certain casey played a great game for mayo that day
Post by: Shrewdness on April 05, 2010, 06:43:47 PM
Absolutely agree lads that every county's supporters are guilty of over hyping their team, especially the smaller counties who get one win every 5 years and then think they've made it.

I still think Sligonian is giving Ros absolutely no credit for actually winning the game, but is instead portraying an image of Sligo handing it on a plate to them. That's bullshit.

Maybe the Ros defence deserve credit for restricting these Sligo forwards to just 0-4 for the entire game. Ros did manage to score 1-6, despite kicking a lorry load of wides, and Shine missed a lot of kicks he would normally score in his sleep.

Maybe Sligonian should get out onto the sideline at inter county level, and prove his worth,and leave the laptop at home, because he makes himself out to be a top manager and strategist.

Let us know when it happens, won't you. 
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 05, 2010, 07:50:08 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 05, 2010, 06:03:13 PM

in fairness only the 2007 minors would be relevant to this year's U-21's and they actually won the All-Ireland at the time. Last couple of minor teams have done nothing though.

I read somewhere, possibly here, that Galway haven't won an Under 21 game in five years. That would make it the 2005 All-Ireland Minor final v Down, which they won. Incredible stat if true. Can any of the Galway lads confirm? I know they exited first time around this year and last year and we beat the Rossies in the 07 Connacht final so probablythat year too. 2006 and 08 anyone?

That is some run if its the case.

Sligonian 09 is relevant because you will get a feel for how strong a team might be from the team the year before. If a team was weak one year, then it is hard for them to be suddenly strong the following year.
Post by: Beard on April 05, 2010, 08:58:47 PM
Well done Roscommon....this is a much needed boost after the pathetic league campaign and numerous narrow defeats at minor and u-21 since 06.

Didn't see the game but the fact that Ros kicked at least ten wides while still winning a scrappy game by in excess of double scores (away from home) would not indicate that Sligo thew it away.

Would suggest that Sligo expected to win this game mainly because they did not have to face their nemesis Mayo in the final and therefore felt it was one they should win. 
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 06, 2010, 12:21:33 AM
Its like dealing with retards from a mental home on here sometimes. This Sligo team was not overhyped by Sligo people, not on here, not in the pubs etc.... Most who have a brain were worried when we heard the team but hoped for the best anyway but unfortunetly our fears were realised sadly. Stop trying to spin it.

Roscommon outnumbered us hugely in support, what does that say.

Beard maybe if you werent at a game you should keep the mouth shut, or else you look stupid, my word that last sentence should be framed, what an analysis.

Shrewdness the only reason its bullshit is because you have not a clue about Sligo football. Its one thing winning a final, but seeking the pat on the back from us is sad, you dont need it or deserve it. Move on. I dont make myself out to be anything, i know i know my football, simple as that, i'll get the chance someday at club level but at 27 its a few yrs down the line.

Read the early posts in this thread and then comeback and talk to us adults and hopefully then you see Sligo were not OVERHYPED and I can give you a gold star for reading basic english.

Post by: stephenite on April 06, 2010, 12:33:04 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 06, 2010, 12:21:33 AM
Its like dealing with retards from a mental home on here sometimes.

Bit like you on the Tom Parsons issue :D
Post by: moysider on April 06, 2010, 01:09:43 AM

Is that necessary Sligonian?

Go ahead and manage/coach teams. But if you resort to that kind of rhetoric when the going gets tough with players, good look to you. You might also discover that when managing a team, that your appreciation of game management doesnt quite match up with the punters behind the wire. They ll have seen the players for a fraction of the time you will have but will reckon they know more, when your team is in trouble. And the classsic 'lost it on the line' is a common refrain. That s the way it goes.
Post by: ludermor on April 06, 2010, 01:29:22 AM
Quote from: stephenite on April 06, 2010, 12:33:04 AM

Bit like you on the Tom Parsons issue :D
Just the Parsons issue?
Post by: Mano on April 06, 2010, 02:16:06 PM
Firstly congratulations to Roscommon on their win. Very disappointing and emotional for us Sligo people as it was a game that we probably should have won considering the position we were in at half time 2 points down, strong wind behind us and Roscommon having squandered many chances in the first half.

I'm not in the habit of criticising managers or management teams as they are the ones who are closest to the players. They know how players are going in training, know if a player is carrying an injury and know if a player is attending training. Something the supporter or ourselves on this board don't know about. However at half time substitutions should have been made replacing ineffective, weak forwards with stronger players who can take on their man and put the ball over the bar something Hynes, Clarke did in the game against Galway. Harris is also a player who can take a point. In the 2 and a half games that we played Maye scored 10 of or 17 scores the other starting forwards scored 4 and subs scored 3 with limited time.

Anyway another opportunity to win an underage title is lost but Roscommon deserved to win as they took their scores when the game was there to be won in the last 5 minutes
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 06, 2010, 02:26:31 PM
Not really necessary ok but sometimes you have to be harsh and cuttin to get people out of ridiculous thought pattern. Like honestly how anyone can come to the conclusion the Sligo people overhyped this u21 team is delusional. Seanie and Myself even replyed and it still went in one ear and out the other.

On the coaching managing and the supporters criticism, I welcome criticism and other point of views, and Id even take it on board if I thought it would be helpful to the team. I see Criticism at work at sport as Challenge to be better. I always take people opinions on board as I dont think im right all time, just 99% ;). Lost it on line is a way too common reality for Sligo football, and in our case it definitly has merit with some of managers last few yrs, it definitly hasnt been used cheaply.

Im honest enough to say that stephenites comeback is a fair comment ;) not ludermors ;)
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 06, 2010, 05:50:53 PM
QuoteRoscommon outnumbered us hugely in support, what does that say.

That more Rossies made the effort to support their team???
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 06, 2010, 07:25:46 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 06, 2010, 05:50:53 PM
QuoteRoscommon outnumbered us hugely in support, what does that say.

That more Rossies made the effort to support their team???

::), That they were full sure of winning and had more confidence in the team selected.
Post by: spectator on April 06, 2010, 07:47:18 PM

We were poor in Tuam, but finished strong with the right team. I still cant believe Conor Brady was first sub on yday and james clarke didnt even get a run.

You can have all the underage structures who want, but when you have managers over underage teams who havent a clue, about keeping the shape, picking the right team, etc... it can mess it up.

As a humble spectator I don't know anything about managing a team, but it seems to me that Seanie, Turlough, R&Gsniper, Neilthemac & Mano have summed the whole thing up well with their posts.

Sligonian, I'm also puzzled as to why Sligo let a golden opportunity slip by playing a 'men behind the ball' style throughout, with a heavy emphasis on hard hitting. It smacked of negativity, seven yellow cards for Sligo against none for Ros gave a fair indication of how they approached the game, imo. I'm not having a go at Sligo for those tactics - they were lauded for their workrate against Galway after all - but I just found them surprisingly lacking in ambition for a final. Ros were better at putting moves together and played with a good deal more composure and positivity. Maybe if Sligo had had the confidence try a more expansive game, or at least had a plan B with the wind at their backs, it might have worked out better for them? They never really looked like they believed they could win it, tbh. Given that team selection, tactics & mental preparation are down to management, your criticism of them is understandable especially if alternatives - including using quality players who were left on the bench - were available. Well done to Ros on seeing this one through in the end, we badly needed that one no matter how it was won.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 06, 2010, 10:17:24 PM
Quote from: spectator on April 06, 2010, 07:47:18 PM

As a humble spectator I don't know anything about managing a team, but it seems to me that Seanie, Turlough, R&Gsniper, Neilthemac & Mano have summed the whole thing up well with their posts.

Sligonian, I'm also puzzled as to why Sligo let a golden opportunity slip by playing a 'men behind the ball' style throughout, with a heavy emphasis on hard hitting. It smacked of negativity, seven yellow cards for Sligo against none for Ros gave a fair indication of how they approached the game, imo. I'm not having a go at Sligo for those tactics - they were lauded for their workrate against Galway after all - but I just found them surprisingly lacking in ambition for a final. Ros were better at putting moves together and played with a good deal more composure and positivity. Maybe if Sligo had had the confidence try a more expansive game, or at least had a plan B with the wind at their backs, it might have worked out better for them? They never really looked like they believed they could win it, tbh. Given that team selection, tactics & mental preparation are down to management, your criticism of them is understandable especially if alternatives - including using quality players who were left on the bench - were available. Well done to Ros on seeing this one through in the end, we badly needed that one no matter how it was won.

Fair points, 07 was the same with the negativity but different outcome. At HT we were in a winning position but losing the shape in the forwards 10mins in 2nd half. We didnt even have a Plan A with the wind never mind B. There is so much more that could of been done with these players. Look next yr, Conor Davey, David Maye, Padraic Clarke, James Clarke, Darren Gilsenan, and im sure more are all underage next yr. Honest to God have an intense and thorogh interview process and get the right manager in and we are in Business.

I think enough has been said, im looking forward to some retribution coming up on Sunday ;).
Post by: ross4life on April 07, 2010, 02:18:03 PM
taking it out on relegated team is hardly retribution for under 21 football?

a thank you & goodbye win to division three would be more suitable  ;)

but if Sligo do as Expected beat Roscommon & get promotion i can't help feeling division 2 is a level above them
Post by: Mano on April 07, 2010, 02:46:04 PM
Galway and Kerry last year might disagree.

Division 4 may be a level below where ye are at but we have won our games and ye haven't.
We are at the stage where we have a settled team with one or two new lads coming in every year. This year we probably have the strongest panel in a long time with McGovern, McNamara to come back in whereas Roscommon have a team full of youngsters with very few experienced players. We'll see how it pans out on Sunday.
Post by: ross4life on April 07, 2010, 03:05:16 PM
Quote from: Mano on April 07, 2010, 02:46:04 PM

Division 4 may be a level below where ye are at but we have won our games and ye haven't.
We are at the stage where we have a settled team with one or two new lads coming in every year. This year we probably have the strongest panel in a long time with McGovern, McNamara to come back in whereas Roscommon have a team full of youngsters with very few experienced players. We'll see how it pans out on Sunday.

i think your picking me up wrong?

Roscommon also got promotion to Division two not so long ago, & they soon found out it was a level above them & since that one step forward we have taken 100 back  ::)

if Sligo do get promotion they will be in the Same division as possibly Tyrone, Derry, Donegal , Kildare, Meath at big step up!

& no doubt Sligo put in fine displays v kerry & Galway but you get nothing for moral victories but it sure was a improvement for the year before defeat to London in the Tommy Murphy Cup

P.S Sligo should have no problems on Sunday
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 07, 2010, 03:17:29 PM

Didn't Sligo lose both those games. ;)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 07, 2010, 03:35:46 PM
There isnt much Difference between Div 3 and 4 so I wouldnt be suprised to see Roscommon struggle down there, it is not an easy div to get out of, look at longford and limerick.

On Div2 we might get 4 home games and I would expect us to at least stay up. I think on paper there is 10pts between Sligo and Roscommon at senior, and on the green stuff I wouldnt be suprised if we won and won well on Sunday. I do have concerns about the pressure on us and whether we can cope with that, but its time Sligo delivered with the favourites tag.

Even from last yr, McGee is new, Marren is playing alot better from play, Costello looks more hungry, Put in Kelly, Sweeney, Gaughan is back on form. We have a CHB in Quinn. We are way ahead of last yr in terms of development. O Hara is still unreal. Keelan Cawley is a great prospect aswell and again new in the HB line.

Mano I wouldnt have McNamara near the squad, McGovern if fit I would have in squad as cover for Cawley or Davey.
Post by: ross4life on April 07, 2010, 04:05:03 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 07, 2010, 03:35:46 PM

I think on paper there is 10pts between Sligo and Roscommon at senior, and on the green stuff I wouldnt be suprised if we won and won well on Sunday.

well that would be a turn up for the books as ye only hammered fermanagh in this Division yet & apart from Cavan Game we have not been hammered

but maybe the Rossies will roll over & let sligo rub there bellys  :D

P.S Didn't Wexford hammer ye? so they should be more than capable of beating Antrim at home?
Post by: Mano on April 07, 2010, 04:49:56 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 07, 2010, 03:17:29 PM

I'm fully aware of that - but thanks for the reminder.

What i thought Ross4life was saying was Division 2 would be a step above for Sligo. My response was we nearly beat 2 division 1 teams one of them best team in the country (not Galway) which would indicate we are more than capable for Division 2.

On Div2 we might get 4 home games and I would expect us to at least stay up. I think on paper there is 10pts between Sligo and Roscommon at senior, and on the green stuff I wouldnt be suprised if we won and won well on Sunday. I do have concerns about the pressure on us and whether we can cope with that, but its time Sligo delivered with the favourites tag.

Is it any wonder most Sligo posters have long since left this site with comments like that. Ross have been improving of late and with the local rivalry i think this will be a close game.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 07, 2010, 07:16:57 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 07, 2010, 04:05:03 PM

I think on paper there is 10pts between Sligo and Roscommon at senior, and on the green stuff I wouldnt be suprised if we won and won well on Sunday.

well that would be a turn up for the books as ye only hammered fermanagh in this Division yet & apart from Cavan Game we have not been hammered

but maybe the Rossies will roll over & let sligo rub there bellys  :D

P.S Didn't Wexford hammer ye? so they should be more than capable of beating Antrim at home?
If wexford play like they did against us antrim will beat them well, we were muck that day, we didnt have EOH, Marren, McGee, Maye and Keelan only came on as late sub.

But Fermanagh even beating ye is not a good indicator, Cavan are the only half decent side Ive seen so far against us.
Quote from: Mano on April 07, 2010, 04:49:56 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 07, 2010, 03:17:29 PM

I'm fully aware of that - but thanks for the reminder.

What i thought Ross4life was saying was Division 2 would be a step above for Sligo. My response was we nearly beat 2 division 1 teams one of them best team in the country (not Galway) which would indicate we are more than capable for Division 2.

Is it any wonder most Sligo posters have long since left this site with comments like that. Ross have been improving of late and with the local rivalry i think this will be a close game.

What comment?

Post by: Rossfan on April 07, 2010, 07:32:44 PM
Time to stop diggin Sligonian  :D esp when your awn are telling you to call a halt.
Anyway it's comhgáirdeas do Ros Comáin and hard luck to Sligo ( 4 points will never win any game) .
I  now look forward to the people of the other 4 Connacht ( note spelling) Counties  supporting their Champions in the Semi final where we of course haven't a snowballs against the mighty Dubs,who the bookies have now installed as hot favourites ( like they had Tyrone,then Derry and next  Kerry  8))
Post by: macdanger2 on April 07, 2010, 11:49:07 PM
If Wexford beat Antrim and Sligo beat Ross, I presume it will come down to points difference? (all teams being on ten points). Antrim look safe with a +24 difference and +7 for the other two, it will be very close.....I hope Sligo do it. Playing in the higher divisions can only improve teams IMO,
Post by: Shrewdness on April 08, 2010, 10:03:19 PM
Ros are resting the U-21's for next Sunday. They also have a lot of injuries, and are expecting to struggle to actually name a full squad at all. Looks like they'll be collecting fellas after various masses on Sunday morning, who are willing to volunteer their services.
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 09, 2010, 12:42:45 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on April 07, 2010, 11:49:07 PM
If Wexford beat Antrim and Sligo beat Ross, I presume it will come down to points difference? (all teams being on ten points). Antrim look safe with a +24 difference and +7 for the other two, it will be very close.....I hope Sligo do it. Playing in the higher divisions can only improve teams IMO,
And so do I. A win may mean something to Sligo, whereas I think the result doesn't matter a bit to Roscommon. It's a pity but that is the way things have worked out.
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2010, 03:26:00 PM
Come on the Rossies. Another all-Ireland please.