GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Maguire01 on March 28, 2010, 04:14:15 PM

Title: Ciarraí V Muineachán
Post by: Maguire01 on March 28, 2010, 04:14:15 PM
Was today's loss part of a bigger plan? Are Monaghan to stay in Division 1 by sending Kerry to Division 2?  :P

Anyway, one last throw of the dice. Monaghan are definitely capable of Division 1 football and it would be a great boost going into the Championship if we could maintain that status.

All roads lead to Killarney this day 2 weeks.
Title: Re: Ciarraí V Muineachán
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on March 28, 2010, 04:33:25 PM
Yea all  down to this game really - a relegation playoff.

If Kerry win, we are safe. Monaghan relegated if Tyrone get anything in Omagh; otherwise Tyrone relegated as Monaghan beat them.

If Monaghan & Kerry draw; Tyrone relegated if they fail to get anything from Dublin; if Tyrone draw then mini-league between the three team and we would be safe as we have a superior scoring difference (+4). Not sure what Tyrone's is but Monaghan are -7.

If Monaghan win, we are down as Tyrone beat us.
Going down not ideal but wouldn't be the end of the world either.
Either way a good game for both teams to sign off on, a game with something on the line.

Galvin will be back and hopefully Tomas will make his seasonal bow as well.
Hopefully the u-21 will not be available but that is dependant on the Munster final on Wednesday night (v Tipp in Tralee).

Kerry away on Monday for a weeks warm weather training.
Post by: trileacman on March 28, 2010, 07:15:27 PM
Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on March 28, 2010, 04:33:25 PM
Yea all  down to this game really - a relegation playoff.

If Kerry win, we are safe. Monaghan relegated if Tyrone get anything in Omagh; otherwise Tyrone relegated as Monaghan beat them.

If Monaghan & Kerry draw; Tyrone relegated if they fail to get anything from Dublin; if Tyrone draw then mini-league between the three team and we would be safe as we have a superior scoring difference (+4). Not sure what Tyrone's is but Monaghan are -7.

If Monaghan win, we are down as Tyrone beat us.
Going down not ideal but wouldn't be the end of the world either.
Either way a good game for both teams to sign off on, a game with something on the line.

Galvin will be back and hopefully Tomas will make his seasonal bow as well.
Hopefully the u-21 will not be available but that is dependant on the Munster final on Wednesday night (v Tipp in Tralee).

Kerry away on Monday for a weeks warm weather training.
How do you see it going?

I'd say Kerry to be honest.
Post by: Main Street on March 28, 2010, 07:19:07 PM
Honesty doesn't need much of a test to choose Kerry in a must win for them in Tralee, to survive in Div 1
Post by: Schkite on March 28, 2010, 08:14:55 PM
Aye it looks an impossible task, our best chance may be the Dubs doing us a favour in Omagh.
Post by: johnpower on March 28, 2010, 11:55:00 PM
I wonder how Jack will handle the training trip ? will the lads have recovered by the time they meet Monaghan .? Kerry not going well at all ,looks like we start our crisis early this season . I would not have too much confidence at present
Post by: The Subbie on March 29, 2010, 12:33:49 PM
My moneys on Galvin to win the tan off with cooper
Post by: Main Street on March 29, 2010, 01:07:07 PM
It's well for the rich counties and their warm weather training, meanwhile the Monaghan lads will be pumping their lungs up and down drumlins.
Post by: The Subbie on March 29, 2010, 02:31:01 PM
Canaries for Kerry.
Cremartin for Monaghan.
Post by: magickingdom on March 29, 2010, 08:01:10 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 28, 2010, 07:19:07 PM
Honesty doesn't need much of a test to choose Kerry in a must win for them in Tralee, to survive in Div 1

this game is in killarney. i think monaghan have a great chance, kerry are not playing well and are there for the taking
Post by: The Subbie on March 29, 2010, 08:31:29 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on March 29, 2010, 08:01:10 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 28, 2010, 07:19:07 PM

this game is in killarney. i think monaghan have a great chance, kerry are not playing well and are there for the taking

Yerra whist
Post by: Main Street on March 29, 2010, 11:15:09 PM
Are you trying to bullsh1t a bullsh1tter?
Post by: The Subbie on March 30, 2010, 09:38:37 AM
Quote from: Main Street on March 29, 2010, 11:15:09 PM

My God main street how crass can you get. Did you not know that MK is practicing the ancient and noble Kerry art of "cute hoorism" a la http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13341.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13341.0) 13th or 14th post amongst all the other supreme examples of this cult of cute hoorism that seeps into every facet of Kerry life, its the way things are down there, at the same time he's on the wind up.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on March 30, 2010, 12:47:40 PM
See M O Se is out: http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=126412 Had he planned on making a return for this fixture??

BTW, Kerry Mike, wherrrrrrrrrre arrrrrrrrrrreeee youuuuuuuuuu? Is ths missus not allowing you to comment on this one??  ;)

Post by: Main Street on March 30, 2010, 01:23:21 PM
It's Tomas who is out for the game.

But does he miss out on the 5 days in Portugal?
Post by: magickingdom on March 30, 2010, 08:00:57 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on March 30, 2010, 09:38:37 AM

My God main street how crass can you get. Did you not know that MK is practicing the ancient and noble Kerry art of "cute hoorism" a la http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13341.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13341.0) 13th or 14th post amongst all the other supreme examples of this cult of cute hoorism that seeps into every facet of Kerry life, its the way things are down there, at the same time he's on the wind up.

ha ha you have to careful what you say on this board :D we got lucky last year as the tyrone heads keep saying!
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 30, 2010, 08:25:59 PM
QuoteBTW, Kerry Mike, wherrrrrrrrrre arrrrrrrrrrreeee youuuuuuuuuu? Is ths missus not allowing you to comment on this one??

shhhhh, I here in the background taking it all in. Will not be commenting until we see how many come back with sun burn from the holidays. 
Post by: moysider on March 30, 2010, 10:49:09 PM

If Monaghan can do what they did in Castlebar they have a chance imo. Mayo badly needed the 2 goals to rescue that game. Trouble for Monaghan is that the nature of their game means those in the middle third will be well tired after an hour. Also they played Tommy Freeman behind the midfield second half as a kind of ball handler - is nobody else able to do this apart from their most lethal forward?
I expect Scanlon will start here again so the Kerry midfield will be better than what Mayo played against in Tralee. Moran and Maher have abit to go. I still expect Monaghan to do well in midfield. And Monaghan s free taking is probably the best there is around. If Monaghan can shut out Kerry they will win it. It has to be said that even though they do a good job clogging up between the 45s they are vulnerable to the early ball over the top into corner men and of course a big target man if you have one.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 31, 2010, 12:34:49 AM
We definitely need JP in from the start on Donaghy, if he's fit enough. None of this leaving him on the bench until it's too late.
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2010, 12:27:49 PM
Moysider makes a few fair points but Mayo created enough opportunities to score their 2 goals, whereas Monaghan only created one whiff of a chance. Kerry should be able to exploit the same weaknesses.
Did we convert all our frees against Mayo? anyway it was an exemplary free-taking display including one from a dimension beyond.

Relegation could be part of another devious plan for Kerry, like last year's roller coaster performances, appearing like they were almost dead and buried in between the League and the AIF.

Post by: timmyot501 on March 31, 2010, 01:31:11 PM
Think Monaghan only missed one free against Mayo though it was in the second half at a vital stage and it was no certainty against the wind. Bar the Dublin match our free-taking has been fairly consistent alright
Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2010, 03:40:42 PM
While the Kerry squad fly out to the Faro beaches this evening,
Monaghan lads get ready to rebuild their fortitude with some opportune local arctic endurance training.

(http://www3.babson.edu/Centers/Glavin/GPS/ISS/images/Boston_blizzard.jpg)

Post by: thebandit on March 31, 2010, 05:22:37 PM
Is this game due to be televised?

Post by: Main Street on March 31, 2010, 06:28:54 PM
There is no indication of which games TG4 will televise.
At least one live and one deferred.

Real potential shock value to this game though :)

Post by: donelli on April 02, 2010, 07:43:54 PM
Looking some advice from the kerry folk.

considering getting the train from dublin to killarney on the morning of the match. is it far from the station to the ground (as its less than an hour between train pulling in and throw in, 1.34 to 2.30).

also looking at flying back up to dublin. how much is a taxi normally to kerry airport from the town?

Post by: omagh_gael on April 02, 2010, 09:07:57 PM
Quote from: donelli on April 02, 2010, 07:43:54 PM

considering getting the train from dublin to killarney on the morning of the match. is it far from the station to the ground (as its less than an hour between train pulling in and throw in, 1.34 to 2.30).

also looking at flying back up to dublin. how much is a taxi normally to kerry airport from the town?

I know Kerry airport is in Faranfore which, according to google maps, is 13km out from killarney so it'd be steep enough
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 02, 2010, 10:17:57 PM

Yerra, 'tis not that far at all: Killarney (http://www.multimap.com/maps/?qs=killarney&countryCode=IE#map=52.06209,-9.5012%7C16%7C4&bd=useful_information&loc=IE:52.05745:-9.51359:14%7Ckillarney%7CKILLARNEY,%20KERRY)

Post by: Main Street on April 03, 2010, 06:21:34 PM
Follow the smell of hay.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 05, 2010, 10:30:18 PM

15 minute walk from the train station.
Post by: Mid Mon on April 06, 2010, 12:28:26 PM
DAVID MORAN has been ruled out of Kerry's crucial NFL Division One clash against Monaghan next Sunday in Killarney after fracturing his thumb during the county's warm-weather training camp in Portugal.

The Kerins O'Rahilly's player sustained the injury on Saturday during a full-scale training game and is set to be sidelined for a number of weeks.

Read more: http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/moran-to-miss-monaghan-clash-116464.html#ixzz0kJmuYSzm
Post by: Cde on April 06, 2010, 02:29:17 PM
Damien Freeman is back on the panel for this game

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2010/0406/freemand.html
Post by: Main Street on April 06, 2010, 03:09:39 PM
That RTE news article reports that Tomás O'Se is expected to be available for selection.

Previous reports of his injury may well have been over-pessimistic (or just over-optimistically interpreted).
Post by: Schkite on April 06, 2010, 06:36:37 PM
Colm Greenan is out, hopefully JP is fit to start.
Post by: Carbery on April 06, 2010, 10:13:06 PM
Quote from: thebandit on March 31, 2010, 05:22:37 PM
Is this game due to be televised?

The games covered by TG4 are:-
Tyrone v Dublin (Live)
Donegal v Armagh (Deferred)
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 07, 2010, 11:19:32 AM
Quote from: Schkite on April 06, 2010, 06:36:37 PM
Colm Greenan is out, hopefully JP is fit to start.

Good new about D Freeman too. He can still do a job for Monaghan either from the start or from the bench. Keepin D Hughes further out the field is important IMHO and getting JP back in at FB is crucial also. 'If If If' Monaghan can get out of the blocks like they did against Mayo and not let the concentration lapse (like they did against Mayo..) then they're well in with a shout. Kerry don't seem to be firing on all cyclinders (yet!) so if we' can keep our noses in front we'll give them plenty to think (worry!) about and can do it.. That's a serious amount of 'ifs' though...  ::)
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on April 07, 2010, 12:46:28 PM
Cant wait for this one.. And i know everyone would prefer it to be a Saturday night affair, (starting to head to monagahan round half 4 on sunday doesn't sound appealing) but.. lets say it was Saturday night and we lost... then it would kinda ruin the Saturday night in Killarney so.... leave it to the sunday get the 2 nights on the beer (full of the optimism that we are going to win of course) and leave it all to sunday!!! Up monaghan!!!
Post by: Main Street on April 07, 2010, 03:12:06 PM
I guess Northern Sound will have a commentary on the game, but out of a misguided sense of PC they also cut away for excruciatingly long stretches to a Cavan game.

Is there a local Kerry station streamed on the internet which does a commentary on the game?
Subtitled commentary would be grand but not expected.

Post by: bingobus on April 07, 2010, 03:30:00 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 07, 2010, 03:12:06 PM
I guess Northern Sound will have a commentary on the game, but out of a misguided sense of PC they also cut away for excruciatingly long stretches to a Cavan game.

Is there a local Kerry station streamed on the internet which does a commentary on the game?
Subtitled commentary would be grand but not expected.

That can be madness at times, not getting on to coverage of the Cavan games but the commentator goes off on complete tangents. A few weeks back he started to let someone know he called to their house in Baileboro the other evening but they where out and he'd call back next week, took him about a minute to detail all that. At times Northern Sound just cut him off mid flow as he won't stop talking about everything and anything. Michael Tynan is it?
Post by: timmyot501 on April 07, 2010, 03:50:34 PM
Michael Tynan is the guy alright. He is just a bore-fest and all the while you just want them to flick back over to the Monaghan match!! He is no Willie Hegarty!!
Post by: Main Street on April 07, 2010, 06:45:04 PM
Not many things can compare to the relief when Nudie comes back on with his breathless machine gun analysis about the Monan game.

Ironically, probably what keeps that station alive is the Death Notices program.
But I digress a little, no doubt some of ye Monaghan heartless feckers may well have on occasion painfully burst a gut laughing as soon as the dulcet tones of that intro hit your ears.

Probably  Radio Kerry are doing the game.

2pm Weekend Sport with Gary O'Sullivan?

Looks like I have missed this program,

The Greatest Day - April 6th - 1975

Episode 23, April 6th, 1975-
Enter Mick O'Dwyer as manager
Kerry fans worried about Munster Championship first round trip to Tipp
Second half switch of John Egan saves Kingdom against Premier County
Cork own goal the turning point in Provincial decider
Sligo torn asunder as Kingdom set up All-Ireland Final against Dublin
Kerry upset formbook as the Years Of Glory era begins

Episode 23 and ye are only up to 1975?

Post by: Kerry Mike on April 07, 2010, 07:30:53 PM
http://www.radiokerry.ie/   will have the game live on Sunday with Weeshie Fogarty.

QuoteEpisode 23 and ye are only up to 1975?

Only another 13 All Ireland's after that to bring us up to date  ;) 

and here is Weeshie at his best http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zNOUbD2I6XU&feature=related
Post by: Main Street on April 07, 2010, 09:55:02 PM
Weeshie ;D

Now it's a double blind between Weeshie or Tynan's mind wandering down Cavan's boreens.

Post by: Kerry Mike on April 08, 2010, 09:43:46 PM
Kerry team out tonight (maybe)

Watch out for a surprise or 3....
Post by: imtommygunn on April 08, 2010, 09:58:00 PM
Dara O'Se, Tommy Walsh and Paidi O'Se back in the team?
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 09, 2010, 09:35:41 AM
I wish, for the sake of message boards, that Banty would announce 'any' team longer than 5 minutes before thrown in time.. Jaysus give us something to talk/discuss/gossip about Banty.. I hate these big 'pregnant' silences in the 2/3 days leading into matches.. I reckon it'd create a good positive buzz about the place if we knew the team of a Friday..

Rant over.
Post by: Main Street on April 09, 2010, 11:53:28 AM
KM could be referring to the one known as Gallivin down there, to rescue their survival chances.
You can imagine Kerry are desperate, mad keen to hose off the smell of getting beat by Tyrone.
Although the bookies have them at 1/4 certs to win this this game, it does not hide the cruel truths that key players have lost the appetite for the good fight. The moral rot has set in deep in the Kingdom.
Galvin at centre half back is a desperate attempt to dress an old saviour in new clothes. Can he alone rescue the Kingdom without the other proven components, McCarthy, Darragh, O'Mahony, Kennelly and that big fecker Walsh?
Jack O'Connor has his work cut out.

Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 09, 2010, 12:04:11 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 09, 2010, 11:53:28 AM
KM could be referring to the one known as Gallivin down there, to rescue their survival chances.
You can imagine Kerry are desperate, mad keen to hose off the smell of getting beat by Tyrone.
Although the bookies have them at 1/4 certs to win this this game, it does not hide the cruel truths that key players have lost the appetite for the good fight. The moral rot has set in deep in the Kingdom.
Galvin at centre half back is a desperate attempt to dress an old saviour in new clothes. Can he alone rescue the Kingdom without the other proven components, McCarthy, Darragh, O'Mahony, Kennelly and that big fecker Walsh?
Jack O'Connor has his work cut out.

If we concede scores at crucial times like we did against Mayo then 'cutting out work' will not be as onerous for Jack..

D Freeman is a boost for us especially with young Greenan out. JP would be my man to mark Donaghy but I've a feeling Darren Hughes will be assigned that task given his athleticism. Again, having Freeman as a half back option offsets his loss in that line, if it happens. A similar start to that in Castlebar is needed and this time 'keepin the toe in er' and not conceding soft f**cking goals at critical stages! It was the same again Cork, 1-1 or 1-2 in first half injury time..

Corey needs to be utilised big time in this game. Him and Tommy at full forward with Woods/Gollogly on the 40 like the old days and Malone and McManus coming through at speed.. I really hope Banty does not persist with this craic of playing Tommy Freeman behind mid-field, the mind boggles on that one I have to say!  ::)

Post by: Main Street on April 09, 2010, 03:52:39 PM
You'd wonder if the Kerry posters here are worried, too worried to even give the usual token respect to the Monaghan team - 'a  close contest but we might just edge it in the end'  kind of stuff. Surely they know this match is coming up and has some deal of importance.
Could it be the  Kerry posters know the Kerry team is in deep doodoo and are waiting for 'another coming'  but are not quite sure who, if anybody, is going to come in time?
Post by: Schkite on April 09, 2010, 10:17:55 PM
Monaghan team by all accounts:

1   Shane Duffy
2   Dessie Mone
3   Vincent Corey
4   Neil McAdam
5   Damien Freeman
6   Darren Hughes
7   Colin Walshe
8   Dick Clerkin
9   Paul Finlay
10   Stephen Gollogly
11   Dermot Malone
12   Kieran Hughes
13   Conor McManus
14   Rory Woods
15   Tomás Freeman

16   Sean Gorman
17   Martin McElroy
18   Francis Caulfield
19   Hugh McElroy
20   Gavin Doogan
21   Mark McNally
22   Darach Mooney
23   John Paul Mone
24   Ciarán Hanratty
Post by: Kerry Mike on April 09, 2010, 11:04:16 PM
The Kerry Senior Football Team to play Monaghan is as follows: :

1. Brendan Kealy, 2. Marc Ó Sé, 3. Tommy Griffin, 4. Tom O Sullivan, 5. Daniel Bohan, 6. Tomás Ó Sé, 7. Killian Young, 8. Seamus Scanlon, 9. Anthony Maher, 10. Paul Galvin, 11. Declan O Sullivan, 12. Donncha Walsh, 13. Colm Cooper, 14. Kieran Donaghy, 15. Darran O Sullivan.
The substitutes are:
16. David Hennessy, 17. Kieran O Leary, 18. Adrian O Connell, 19. Brian Sheehan, 20. Mícheál Quirke, 21. Pat Corridan,
22. Brendan Guiney, 23. Gary O Driscoll, 24. Aidan O Sullivan, 25. Barry John Keane.

I like the look of our team, nearly at championship looking strength. Great to see Tomas back for another tilt at the season and also Galvin to build up the half line, ye didn't fall for that old Galvin at centre back lark did ye?

Sunday will be a tough game have no doubt about it, I have seen enough of Monaghan up close over the last few years to know their potential and we will have to play well to survive in Division One.

Post by: Main Street on April 10, 2010, 12:03:06 AM
I see Vinny is down to play at full back, I guess that means it's a cast iron certainty ::)
Actually thats where I´d expect him to play. Some change was needed there.
Damien Freeman must be some athlete if he is deemed fit enough to start, that might mean his brother will stick to what he does best.
Where Galvin plays doesn't matter. It's not a bad team Kerry are lining out but looks like their bench has been scorched of some quality. I don't know Bohan, could he be one of the surprises KM is alluding to?
You can't trust these Kerry folk, they would plawmas you, disguised in a compliment.
Post by: Main Street on April 11, 2010, 02:46:49 PM
Toe for toe at Killarney.
The Radio Kerry stream is a godsend when Northern Sound drifts off to reports from space cadet Michael Tynan at the Cavan game.
Post by: Main Street on April 11, 2010, 03:05:17 PM
Sounds comfortable so far for Kerry.
5 points ahead after 30 mins in a scrappy game
Post by: Main Street on April 11, 2010, 03:12:08 PM
Half Time,  a bit flattering to Monaghan

Kerry 0-9
Monaghan 1-4

Post by: pk205 on April 11, 2010, 03:29:01 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 11, 2010, 02:46:49 PM
Toe for toe at Killarney.
The Radio Kerry stream is a godsend when Northern Sound drifts off to reports from space cadet Michael Tynan at the Cavan game.

You are being very hard on Michael. Do you not think it is important that we find out about his relations social activities and his grand-daughter's great win in an art competition?

Post by: Main Street on April 11, 2010, 03:50:14 PM
Rory Woods off, 2 yellow cards,
a hand placed on Gallivan's face.
Radio Kerry think it's a fierce harrrshh yellow card

Post by: pk205 on April 11, 2010, 04:00:26 PM
Somebody needs to tell Nudie that Derry's score diff could sink us.
Post by: Main Street on April 11, 2010, 04:00:47 PM
Weeshie has just thanked the lady for the sangwiches that they got at half-time.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on April 11, 2010, 04:14:13 PM
Congrats to Monaghan on staying up (if they have infact stayed up!), well deserved.
Post by: Main Street on April 11, 2010, 04:23:54 PM
Tommy Freeman went off early injured.
Sounds like there was a monster free kick from Darren Hughes to score a fine point which nearly exhausted Radio Kerry Weeshie's repertoire of superlatives.
Post by: Schkite on April 11, 2010, 07:22:06 PM
I was wondering why I didn't hear Tommy's name, just assumed he didn't start.

Hughes' long-range free-taking is a good weapon to have, usually very accurate and jaysus he can hit them some distance.
Post by: Main Street on April 11, 2010, 08:27:11 PM
Monaghan end up being the highest placed Ulster team in the league.

Rory Woods replaced Tommy Freeman early on, by the sounds of Weeshie on Radio Kerry he did alright on Tommy Griffin, he scored 2 points and won the penalty.  O'Sullivan's sending off was also harsh by accounts, it was in extra time but I think it was a straight red.
Weeshie was purring whenever Galvin got on the ball and appeared to be well pleased with him or  possibly he had a vision of another Sam slowly appearing on the horizon.

Radio Kerry coverage of the game was nothing short of excellent.

Post by: Main Street on April 11, 2010, 09:26:18 PM
Monaghan penalty on You Tube

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n25ZOZAg4IE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n25ZOZAg4IE)

Clear enough penalty decision

Good Monaghan crowd there, in the vip seats.
Post by: timmyot501 on April 12, 2010, 09:07:12 AM
We were unlucky in some of the other games this year at times but we must have bottled it up and popped the cork yesterday. Kerry should have been out the gate at half time and a right hiding wouldn't have flattered us. Monaghan were just not at the races in the first half yesterday. Only the penalty kept us in it and god knows how we were only 2 points down. Scanlon, Galvin and Donaghy were all in superb form and a couple of Donaghys scores were unbelievable.
As the second half progressed however and the players became aware that scores still counted Monaghan did manage to put over some good scores and had some fine moves.  But Kerry were always comfortable. It was good to see monaghan battle right to the end all the same and the bonus of staying up was hard earned. 
We are probably punching above our weight a bit in Division one but in every match we have been competitive.  Yesterday though we did look a bit out of our depth and had Kerry brought their shooting boots that would have been the case.  But to get Kerry, Mayo and Dublin visiting Monaghan next year is something to look forward to.
Post by: Main Street on April 12, 2010, 11:13:41 AM
Monaghan's survival chances were literally dead and buried midway through the 2nd half,  well behind, well off their game, no Tommy Freeman then Woods gets a second yellow.
Tyrone were close enough to Dublin and Derry only 3 points ahead but were almost home and hosed.
The last 1/4 saw Monaghan get point after point while the scoreline stayed frozen in Galway and the Dubs took control as Tyrone fizzled out.
The players on the pitch could not have known how close it really was and had plenty of reasons to throw in the towel, but they didn't.
I'm sure all Monaghan folk had a wide smile at the end.
IMO it's a bigger achievement to survive another year in Div 1 than it was to get promoted.
Enthusiastic enough high fives all round.
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on April 12, 2010, 01:29:33 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 12, 2010, 11:13:41 AM

IMO it's a bigger achievement to survive another year in Div 1 than it was to get promoted.

Definitely. Id even go a step further. When some of the older players look back on their footballing days yesterday could rank as one of the sweetest. It does with me anyway. For the 4th smallest population on this isle (according to yesterdays programme) to retain Division 1 status is some achievement. Not saying its the limit for this team and yes, yesterdays game could have been a hammering but credit where its due. Well done to all.

Severely pissed off that i had to miss the "blow out" last night too. Id say theres a few sore heads today. Anyway, great weekend and i cant wait for another year at the top table. If only we could slip in a wee ulster title between now and then........
Post by: Kerry Mike on April 12, 2010, 07:40:15 PM
Happy enough with the performance yesterday and we won pulling up in the end I'd say.  Decent crowd of nearly 7 thousand in Killarney and picked up a bit of sunburn for my sins.

We lorded most of the ball in Midfiled where Scanlon and later Quirke won an amount of marks, Monaghan continue to lack some big men in the middle though Clerkin tried hard, they need to get Eoin Lennon back, was surprised Hughes was not moved out as he has the height and strength out there. Paul Finlay does not have the strength in the middle and his shooting is missed up front , espeically when Freeman went off early. McManus, Hanratty and Gollogly tried hard on the ball but they all lack strength and they seem to get bottled up too easily and it did seem that playing the long ball into Woods was overused too much at times

Woods did well on Tommy Griffin though I think he engineered the penalty pulling Griffin into him, and a stupid sending off when he was on a yellow but got a rush of blood when he saw Galvin in front of him and gave him a hand off into the gob , Clerkin did the same trick to Galvin and then a sneaky dig on Declan for which O'Sullivan was stupid to react and get himself a red card.

Monaghan's backs were under pressure all day and seemed to be well off the pace, Donaghy had a field day on John Paul Mone but alot of the ball he got was in the corners though he kicked 2 great points from out the wing and laid off the goal well , though the Monaghan marking was very poor for the goal.

Paul Galvin was in great form and kicked 3 excellent points and was involved all over the field and Tomas O'Se made a couple of great runs and scored a great point in the second half , great to see him back and the hunger still there. And with Mike McCarthy returning to the panel it give the half back line added strength.

I have concerns about full back where Griffin got the run around from Woods but Marc O'Se looked comfortable.

Losing Gooch early was disapointing but Barry John Keane saw alot of the ball and did well, Bryan Sheehan scored well but again needs to contribute more, he gave the ball away too much. Darren ran hard all day and Declan also tried his best. Anthony Maher faded after a good start and there is still a midfield berth up for grabs. Daniel Bohane carried the ball into attack many times and will be a good option come the summer.

Overall a poor league from us winning just 3 of 7 games but given the poor start we did well to rescue the Div 1 status for next year which is important, you need decent opposition coming into the championship.

So a win-win for Kerry yesterday (2 points and Div 1 Survival secured) and a Lose-Win for Monaghan and I am happy for them and their loyal supporters who travelled in good numbers to Killarney , and a reasonably peaceful house with the outlaws in KM's house last night.
Post by: Kerry Mike on April 13, 2010, 06:56:38 PM
Kerry goal v Monaghan on Sunday

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NdCOmKRetQM (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NdCOmKRetQM)