GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: INDIANA on March 24, 2010, 11:08:51 AM

Title: Dublin v Galway
Post by: INDIANA on March 24, 2010, 11:08:51 AM
Big game for Dublin. A win will see them into the league final unless Mayo beat Cork. Galway missing some key players but Dublin on the back of a humiliating defeat last weekend.
Hard to know how it will go. Team selection will be interesting.
Title: Re: Dublin v Galway
Post by: Declan on March 24, 2010, 11:10:54 AM
Don't have much source for optimism Indiana myself but as you said team selection will be interesting
Post by: INDIANA on March 24, 2010, 11:21:09 AM
Quote from: Declan on March 24, 2010, 11:10:54 AM
Don't have much source for optimism Indiana myself but as you said team selection will be interesting
If we can't beat Galway missing Armstrong and Meehan and P Joyce at home Declan we can pack it up.
Joe Kernan is a cute hoor and I've huge faith in his mangerial abilities. Had the county board pushed the issue he could be managing us. No secret the Dublin job was the one he wanted.

I hope we will see a more offensive system. I've never seen a version of Dublin 's blanket defence before. I've watched Tyrone at length and their system is completely different. Can't figure out why we need a massed defence playing a sweeper. Just can't figure it out.

We're at home its up to us to set the tempo and not let them dictate matters. Galway are natural footballers so we can't afford to give them the ball and invite them onto us.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 24, 2010, 01:00:59 PM
We had a good win over Tyrone alright but I'm not sure I would hold out much hope for this one. Granted we only lost by 2 down in Cork but that was with Meehan on board. I think our division one status will come down to the home game against Derry on the final day. One win should see us safe I think but we can't afford for our points difference to go to pot either. It's very tight down there.
Post by: tyronefan on March 24, 2010, 01:06:25 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 24, 2010, 11:21:09 AM
If we can't beat Galway missing Armstrong and Meehan and P Joyce at home Declan we can pack it up.
Joe Kernan is a cute hoor and I've huge faith in his mangerial abilities. Had the county board pushed the issue he could be managing us. No secret the Dublin job was the one he wanted.

I hope we will see a more offensive system. I've never seen a version of Dublin 's blanket defence before. I've watched Tyrone at length and their system is completely different. Can't figure out why we need a massed defence playing a sweeper. Just can't figure it out.

We're at home its up to us to set the tempo and not let them dictate matters. Galway are natural footballers so we can't afford to give them the ball and invite them onto us.

Funny would have said the same ourselves last week
Post by: Canalman on March 24, 2010, 01:13:56 PM
Agree with you there a tad about blanket defence Indiana. Watch a fair bit of AFL2 club football and imo the blanket defence is totally alien to our way of playing the game.
The only club I saw using it were St Vincents when winning the AICF and their system was imo a very watered down version of it........half forwards/backs and midfiield all fluid.......... but always a couple of lads sniffing around off Gilroy in the full forward line.

Think personally that the 3 Crokes lads are sticky enough markers to discard the total blanket defence.

Kudos though to Gilroy in trying out something new.

Think the tight confines of PP will not suit Galway.
Post by: INDIANA on March 24, 2010, 01:48:05 PM
Quote from: Canalman on March 24, 2010, 01:13:56 PM
Agree with you there a tad about blanket defence Indiana. Watch a fair bit of AFL2 club football and imo the blanket defence is totally alien to our way of playing the game.
The only club I saw using it were St Vincents when winning the AICF and their system was imo a very watered down version of it........half forwards/backs and midfiield all fluid.......... but always a couple of lads sniffing around off Gilroy in the full forward line.

Think personally that the 3 Crokes lads are sticky enough markers to discard the total blanket defence.

Kudos though to Gilroy in trying out something new.

Think the tight confines of PP will not suit Galway.

Vincents system involved one player Diamond. Everybody else was relatively orthodox as you say. We'll see what happens.
Post by: INDIANA on March 24, 2010, 01:48:44 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on March 24, 2010, 01:06:25 PM

Thats why I think Tyrone are slipping a bit. The old Tyrone would never have lost that game.
Post by: mouview on March 24, 2010, 03:42:01 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 24, 2010, 01:48:44 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on March 24, 2010, 01:06:25 PM

Thats why I think Tyrone are slipping a bit. The old Tyrone would never have lost that game.

Agree; goodish game in Tuam from a Galway point of view but Tyrone are a team in decline IMHO.

'Twas a good win for Galway but Tuam is worth 3-4 points *usually* for the home side; there should be a clamour to play the Derry game there also. Joe Bergin fairly upped the performance from previous games - a free-ranging wing-forward is probably his best position now. Even poor old Mattie Clancy looked like a county player this time. On the debit side, Damien Burke continues to foul, Gary O Donnell was a mile off his man all first half and Fiachra Breathnach again wasted so much possession. (Why does Frank Morris on GBFM refer to him as a new player? He's been there since 2007 and he's still bloody useless! And while we're on it, can someone point out to GBFM commentators the rather obvious differences between a short and a quick puck-out / free kick).

Anyway, Dublin to win by no more than 4 and league survival to come down to the final game.
Post by: Duine Eile on March 25, 2010, 09:55:28 PM
Galway team named:

1 Éoin Ó Conghaile Éoin Ó Conghaile Leitir Mór
2 Daithí Ó Raghallaigh David Reilly Mionlach
3 Finian O hÁinle Finian Hanley Bothar na Tra/Cn na Cathrach
4 Damien Dé Burcha Damien Burke Corafinne
5 Deaglan Ó Miochain Declan Meehan Cealltrach
6 Diarmaid Dé Blacha Diarmuid Blake Baile Mhuilinn
7 Gearóid Bradseach Garreth Bradshaw Maigh Cuilinn
8 Baróid Ó Cuilleanáin Barry Cullinane Baile Clár na Gaillimhe
9 Niall Ó Colmáin Niall Coleman Anach Cuain
10 Gearóid Ó Saigheas Gary Sice Corafinne
11 Fiachra Breathnach Fiachra Breathnach Leitir Mór
12 Seosamh Ó Beirgin Joe Bergin An Creagán-Maigh Locha
13 Éoin Ó Concannáin Eoin Concannon Naomh Sheamus
14 Nioclas Seoighe Nicky Joyce Cill Fhir Iarainn
15 Maitiú MacFhlannchadha Matthew Clancy Uachtar Ard

Garreth Bradshaw and Barry Cullinane in for Gary O'Donnell and Paul Conroy, can't see any other changes. The lads really need to up it another gear for this one, they were well up for the Tyrone game, hopefully we see more of the same this weekend.
Post by: seafoid on March 26, 2010, 09:02:27 AM
Quote from: Duine Eile on March 25, 2010, 09:55:28 PM
Galway team named:

Who puts the Erse on the names?  Dé Burcha  and Dé Blacha are wrong. there are a few fadas missing as well .
Go bhfoire Dia orainn.
Post by: Canalman on March 26, 2010, 09:17:49 AM
Missed a fada there on your own username there SeafÓid.

Also sure there should be a fada on the "bhfoire".

Post by: INDIANA on March 26, 2010, 10:46:56 AM
Stephen Cluxton; Paul Conlon, Rory O'Carroll, Philly McMahon; Hugh Gill, Cian O'Sullivan, Barry Cahill; Eamonn Fennell, Ross McConnell; Alan Hubbard, Paul Flynn, Kevin Bonner; David Henry, Bernard Brogan, Kevin McManamon.

Disappointing to see Mc Auley dropped. the logic there escapes me I'm afraid. Good to see Baz back. Not sure it will be that high scoring. Both teams look fairly thin up front. Good be tight enough this one.
Post by: Declan on March 26, 2010, 11:07:33 AM
Hard to call this one but glad to see Cahill back and Alan back training. After being pessimistic early in the week I'm slightly more hopeful now and with it being at home fancy we might sneak it
Post by: mouview on March 26, 2010, 11:17:05 AM
Galway team named:

Garreth Bradshaw and Barry Cullinane in for Gary O'Donnell and Paul Conroy, can't see any other changes. The lads really need to up it another gear for this one, they were well up for the Tyrone game, hopefully we see more of the same this weekend.

One step up, one step back. Big Barry's er, 'injury' seems to have cleared up. Is Conroy being rested? At least there's no O Donnell but Damien Burke holds on again. Why not give a run to Bane? Why Breathnach? Why?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 26, 2010, 11:19:01 AM
Quote from: mouview on March 26, 2010, 11:17:05 AM
Galway team named:

One step up, one step back. Big Barry's er, 'injury' seems to have cleared up. Is Conroy being rested? At least there's no O Donnell but Damien Burke holds on again. Why not give a run to Bane? Why Breathnach? Why?

I'd say Conroy is being rested. He had 3 games in a week last week.
Post by: Hound on March 26, 2010, 11:49:17 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 26, 2010, 10:46:56 AM
Stephen Cluxton; Paul Conlon, Rory O'Carroll, Philly McMahon; Hugh Gill, Cian O'Sullivan, Barry Cahill; Eamonn Fennell, Ross McConnell; Alan Hubbard, Paul Flynn, Kevin Bonner; David Henry, Bernard Brogan, Kevin McManamon.

Disappointing to see Mc Auley dropped. the logic there escapes me I'm afraid. Good to see Baz back. Not sure it will be that high scoring. Both teams look fairly thin up front. Good be tight enough this one.
Well McAuley hasnt been up to much in the last two games, but neither have the other two half forwards, and neither has Bonner in the games he's played. Personally I would have liked to see McAuley in midfield and McConnell at centre forward - just to at least try it out. Brendan McManamon has been a bit hard done by not to see more action, given he's made a positive difference any time he's been used.
Post by: INDIANA on March 26, 2010, 12:19:20 PM
Quote from: Hound on March 26, 2010, 11:49:17 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 26, 2010, 10:46:56 AM

Well McAuley hasnt been up to much in the last two games, but neither have the other two half forwards, and neither has Bonner in the games he's played. Personally I would have liked to see McAuley in midfield and McConnell at centre forward - just to at least try it out. Brendan McManamon has been a bit hard done by not to see more action, given he's made a positive difference any time he's been used.

I can't see the point in playing midfielders who don't at least carry the threat of catching the ball. Midfielders who carry that threat frighten the life out of the opposition goalkeepers. We're really struggling in this area of fiedling and should be thankful that Galway are in a simailr boat- thus I don't see midfield as a defining factor on Saturday. Fortunately- both sides will probably break even there.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on March 26, 2010, 01:21:15 PM
Quote from: mouview on March 26, 2010, 11:17:05 AM
Galway team named:

Thats the annual $64,000 dollar question with FB!!  Banjo  made a difference when he came on last weekend and I did think he would get a start against the Dubs but it looks like another inpact sub role for him.  Bar last year, when we gave them a trimming in Pearse Stadiium, our record against the Dubs is muck and they tend to be difficult enough to beat in Parnell Park so unless we up it another notch or two from last weekend I think we will be going into our last game v Derry needing a win to guarantee our Div 1 status.  Hopefully I'm wrong!
Post by: seafoid on March 26, 2010, 04:36:01 PM
Why is it that Galway have such a bad record against the Dubs?
Post by: GBXII on March 27, 2010, 12:29:08 PM
Anyone know how much it is in to the match tonight (student rate)?
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 27, 2010, 12:53:56 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 26, 2010, 04:36:01 PM
Why is it that Galway have such a bad record against the Dubs?

Unable to break that losing tradition against them perhaps. It's hard to imagine that Dublin went 73 years without losing to a Connacht team in the championship before Mayo beat them in 06. Saying that, Galway would probably have beaten them in the late 90s, early 00s if they met each other. We'll never know now...
Post by: seafoid on March 27, 2010, 09:14:25 PM
Dublin 0-13 Galway 1-14

A great win there and to hell with tradition
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 27, 2010, 09:18:55 PM
Agreed. If Mayo win tomorrow, we 'only' need a point against Cork to get to league final.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 27, 2010, 09:19:07 PM
Great win for us especially considering Tyrone's late winner. Thought we were in trouble when the dubs got on a roll in the 2nd half there but we finished strong after Deccie Meehan got sent-off.

Sice, Bradshaw, Kieran Fitz were best for us I thought apart from Eoin Concannon who has really taken his chance with other players out and produced two great displays in a row. Word as well for Donal O'Neill who replaced Damien Burke early and completely shut his man down who was rampant early on (Hubbard I think).

Bernard Brogan was excellent for the dubs and that McCauley lad made a difference when he came on at the break.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on March 27, 2010, 09:23:33 PM
Not looking good for the Dubs now as regards a league final appearance. Omagh next and Tyrone still need the points to stay in Division 1.
Post by: Jinxy on March 27, 2010, 10:15:15 PM
Battle of Omagh Round 2!
Post by: Jinxy on March 27, 2010, 10:22:50 PM
Sounds like some performance by Bernard Brogan.
Post by: seafoid on March 27, 2010, 10:29:22 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 27, 2010, 09:18:55 PM
Agreed. If Mayo win tomorrow, we 'only' need a point against Cork to get to league final.

The Dubs look to have more flop potential than Mayo considering they still have throne to play and they lost a handy match against Galway who have a number of injuries etc etc. So up Mayo. If ye lose Galway would still be in with a chance of the final, unbelievable really.   
Post by: galwayman on March 27, 2010, 11:01:26 PM
Really good win for us tonight and fully deserved imho. Fitzy was outstanding in the fb line. I have been saying for the last few years he is by far our best fullback line player and hopefully the management will recognise this now and keep him in there. We are in trouble in this line though because Hanley and Burke are playing dreadful football at the moment and from what I have seen O'Neill isn't good enough.Far too small and light for this level of football playing in the fullback line.

On the poisitive side Bradshaw,Sice and Concannon were outstanding while Paul Conroy made a big difference on his introduction. He is very comfortable and skillful on the ball and set up a lot of attacks. Bergin also played quite well while Dedccie Meehan stepped it up big time today.
Owen Concannon kicked 8 points I think - 3 from play. We are not going to outfield too many teams in the middle of the park but at least with Coleman and Conroy in there and Bergin helping out we can compete and Conroy offers an awful lot from a footballing point of view from that position apart from high fielding. Coleman did quite well as well tonight.

Not too bad considering we have our 2 best forwards to come back in (Meehan and Army) and PJ who will probably be used for impact off the bench initially at least as he comes back from injury.

The full back line and midfield are probably our 2 main problem areas. I don't really have a solution to the fb line issue as I can't really think of too many players who would improve the situation. Alan Burke could get a chance maybe but I fear he is more of a wing back and would not be comfortable in the corner. Kieran McGrath from Corofin could maybe an option? I have always rated him.
Post by: INDIANA on March 27, 2010, 11:22:56 PM
Very disappointing from Dublin. Less said the better. Good start but faded. Say more on it  in the coming days

Galway well worth there win. They've a long way to go but they play an enterprising brand of defending and attacking football and seem to have the balance right with Sice as the sweeper. Bradshaw is a gem though. Pretty sure I earmarked him 12 months ago for stardom.

Galway will be very good when they get the 3 lads back. Kernan has them in his pocket now and that can only be good for Galway football. Might take  acouple of seasons though

Unfortunately though overall I doubt either side will be at the business end of the all-ireland this year. we certainly won't be anyway.
Post by: Hound on March 28, 2010, 09:00:40 AM
A game the Dubs definitely should have won IMO.

Absolutely rampant at the start, but missing the two gilt edged goal chances came back to haunt us, and we brought Galway into the game by giving away stupid frees.

How de fack do our lads not understand the handpass rule. Feckin eejits. Galway were only caught once or twice, we were caught out a heap of times, and in crucial areas - twice in front of their posts and once right in front of ours. 3 points down the drain in a flash. (seeing the Gooch not pulled up for the blatant palm for the Kerry goal in the other match added to the frustration!)

Very refreshing to see us playing proper attacking football at the start (though it didnt last). Hubbard was very good in the corner, but I still think he's a waste of space out the field. Bonner and Flynn were the worst two players on the field in the first half, so not surprised Bonner didnt return for the 2nd. Amazed that Flynn lasted the 70 given he didnt improve. Hubbard lasting till 65 was silly too, he wasnt in it in the 2nd half. McAuley was very good in the 2nd half, but needs to be more composed when in possession. I get really frustrated with Cian O'Sullivan - super footballer, but makes far too many silly mistakes, which more often than not lead to scores. All down to lack of concetration. If he can sort that out he'll be great. Until then he should be a wing back, with Cahill at 6.

Not sure what happened us when the scores went level and they went a man down. Whoever wanted it more was going to win it at that stage, and Galway grabbed the initiative while we went to sleep.

Great performance by Bernard. Surprised Alan didnt come on, he was warming up on the touchline.

I've said it before and I'll repeat it. I don't believe for one second that Gilroy targeted a league final this year. The aim was to beat Kerry in the first game, then wholesale experiment and not get relegated. The reason we were top for a while was wholly down to poor opposition and bit of luck. Hard to believe Gilroy wouldnt want the benefit of a league final in front of a packed Croker, but I think 3rd place will do him just fine.
Post by: INDIANA on March 28, 2010, 01:45:56 PM
Quote from: Hound on March 28, 2010, 09:00:40 AM

Absolutely rampant at the start, but missing the two gilt edged goal chances came back to haunt us, and we brought Galway into the game by giving away stupid frees.

How de fack do our lads not understand the handpass rule. Feckin eejits. Galway were only caught once or twice, we were caught out a heap of times, and in crucial areas - twice in front of their posts and once right in front of ours. 3 points down the drain in a flash. (seeing the Gooch not pulled up for the blatant palm for the Kerry goal in the other match added to the frustration!)

Very refreshing to see us playing proper attacking football at the start (though it didnt last). Hubbard was very good in the corner, but I still think he's a waste of space out the field. Bonner and Flynn were the worst two players on the field in the first half, so not surprised Bonner didnt return for the 2nd. Amazed that Flynn lasted the 70 given he didnt improve. Hubbard lasting till 65 was silly too, he wasnt in it in the 2nd half. McAuley was very good in the 2nd half, but needs to be more composed when in possession. I get really frustrated with Cian O'Sullivan - super footballer, but makes far too many silly mistakes, which more often than not lead to scores. All down to lack of concetration. If he can sort that out he'll be great. Until then he should be a wing back, with Cahill at 6.

Not sure what happened us when the scores went level and they went a man down. Whoever wanted it more was going to win it at that stage, and Galway grabbed the initiative while we went to sleep.

Great performance by Bernard. Surprised Alan didnt come on, he was warming up on the touchline.

I've said it before and I'll repeat it. I don't believe for one second that Gilroy targeted a league final this year. The aim was to beat Kerry in the first game, then wholesale experiment and not get relegated. The reason we were top for a while was wholly down to poor opposition and bit of luck. Hard to believe Gilroy wouldnt want the benefit of a league final in front of a packed Croker, but I think 3rd place will do him just fine.

I don't think being humiliated by Cork in a league final is what is needed Hound. Think we are as well off out of it. Massive barney between Gilroy and Fennell at the end of the first half. We don't have a midfield that can field the ball. Mc Auley is the only option we have and he was dropped.
It is impossible Hound for a half forward line to function when your midfield can't win aerial ball or have a variety of breaking ball systems that the likes of Tyrone have. When you play on your own 45 line like we do- i'd hate to be a half forward on the Dublin team.
Right off to the Neller to watch the hurlers!
Post by: Hound on March 28, 2010, 04:22:45 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 28, 2010, 01:45:56 PM

I don't think being humiliated by Cork in a league final is what is needed Hound. Think we are as well off out of it. Massive barney between Gilroy and Fennell at the end of the first half. We don't have a midfield that can field the ball. Mc Auley is the only option we have and he was dropped.
It is impossible Hound for a half forward line to function when your midfield can't win aerial ball or have a variety of breaking ball systems that the likes of Tyrone have. When you play on your own 45 line like we do- i'd hate to be a half forward on the Dublin team.
Midfield had nothing to do with the non-performance of the half forwards Indy. Its was an odd game in that both midfields were mediocre and there was no dominant fielder.

Playing against a proper team in Croker would be very beneficial in my view. The rest of Leinster are as bad as us, and we'd learn more in a league final than we will in the whole Leinster championship.
Post by: INDIANA on March 28, 2010, 05:06:26 PM
Quote from: Hound on March 28, 2010, 04:22:45 PM

Midfield had nothing to do with the non-performance of the half forwards Indy. Its was an odd game in that both midfields were mediocre and there was no dominant fielder.

Playing against a proper team in Croker would be very beneficial in my view. The rest of Leinster are as bad as us, and we'd learn more in a league final than we will in the whole Leinster championship.

I disagree. A 10 point hiding by Cork is the last thing we need. We're not equipped to play Cork and Co this season. If you midfield don't even carry the threat of catching the ball the opposition half backs will piss up and down the pitch all day long. I've never seen us so poor in that area.
Post by: Hound on March 28, 2010, 07:40:59 PM
Nevertheless a league final would be the best preparation we had for a non-Leinster championship knockout match that we've had in at least 5 years.
Post by: Boozehell on March 29, 2010, 12:20:15 PM
After a great perfrormance by Down gettin promoted to Div 1 enjoyed a laugh looking at the Dublin result losing AGAIN.  The All Ireland is in the bag for ye lads. PMSL
Post by: INDIANA on March 29, 2010, 12:27:27 PM
Quote from: Boozehell on March 29, 2010, 12:20:15 PM
After a great perfrormance by Down gettin promoted to Div 1 enjoyed a laugh looking at the Dublin result losing AGAIN.  The All Ireland is in the bag for ye lads. PMSL

Sorry Down? Can't beat Fermanagh in the championship. Yep really a team to fear. Lets face it div 2 is a pretty woeful standard this year.
Post by: Hound on March 29, 2010, 12:29:09 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 29, 2010, 12:27:27 PM
Quote from: Boozehell on March 29, 2010, 12:20:15 PM

Sorry Down? Can't beat Fermanagh in the championship. Yep really a team to fear. Lets face it div 2 is a pretty woeful standard this year.
Ah, to be fair, Down have the All Ireland sown up this year. Sure it'd pointless for anyone else to turn up. PMSL.
Post by: Boozehell on March 29, 2010, 12:44:44 PM
The Leinster Championship is that poor a good U-10 team could win it and when you do you think you are world beaters and spout how you are gonna win the All Ireland but actually choke when it comes to the big games.
Post by: Hound on March 29, 2010, 01:00:29 PM
Quote from: Boozehell on March 29, 2010, 12:44:44 PM
The Leinster Championship is that poor a good U-10 team could win it and when you do you think you are world beaters and spout how you are gonna win the All Ireland but actually choke when it comes to the big games.
A big game?

Jeez, its a long time since Down played in one alright.

BTW, please show us some of these posts where Dubs claim we're going to win the All Ireland? That would show that you are not actually a complete tool.
Post by: heffo on March 29, 2010, 01:00:53 PM

Good Lord, perhaps if Down don't get knocked out by a Div 3 team this year you might the opportunity to show everyone else how Down never choke on the big day.
Post by: myball22 on March 29, 2010, 01:04:31 PM
Great result from a Galway point of view. I think there were a number of positives to be taken from the game.

We were 5-1 down and coughed up a couple of goal chances, I thiught we were going to be on the end of a hammering. The long ball in wasn't working and Dublin were using the blanket defence to good effect. Then Galway realised that when the Dublin half-foward line was pushed back into defence and the full-foward line holding their positions. Then Galway could try to attack up one side of the pitch, if it wasn't working out they could retreat to the half back line, regroup and attack again. I couldn't understand how Dublin let this continue!!!

There was a definite increase in Galway's intensity and workrate after the first 15 minutes. Also we were pushing pressure on Dublin high up the pitch and turning over possession in good areas. Also it has to be said the ref gave us a few handy frees as any good Meathman would  ;)

There were big performances from Fitzy, Declan Meehan until his sening off, Conroy after his introduction, Sice ad Bradshaw. Also we didn't bottle it when Dublin equalised and we went down to 14 men, but fought hard to get the win. Hopefully we are developing a bit of backbone we've been lacking in recent years. We're still coughing up too many easy frees in defence, and winning ball in midfield is still an issue but I think we're progressing.

For Dublin, Bernard Brogan played well as did Keaney when he came on and I though McConnell had good spells during the game but they need a lot of work like Galway. 

Post by: micka the dub on March 29, 2010, 07:41:40 PM
did you come up with that all by yourself,go on out and play before your ma takes your computer off you .
Post by: AZOffaly on March 29, 2010, 08:11:16 PM
Quote from: heffo on March 29, 2010, 01:00:53 PM

Good Lord, perhaps if Down don't get knocked out by a Div 3 team this year you might the opportunity to show everyone else how Down never choke on the big day.

Did Wicklow not beat Down last year? I'm sure they did. Along with 2 other Ulster counties if I recall correctly. And Wicklow are in Leinster, and Division 4 I believe.

Some bunch of under 10s in fairness.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 29, 2010, 08:30:50 PM
Ah lads, ignore that alp from Down. I was more than surprised to see Galway winning on Saturday. It's hard to believe that Galway are safe.
Post by: seafoid on March 29, 2010, 08:51:54 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 29, 2010, 08:30:50 PM
Ah lads, ignore that alp from Down. I was more than surprised to see Galway winning on Saturday. It's hard to believe that Galway are safe.

If it wasn't for those pesky heron chokers Mayo would have gotten away with it.
Come on now Mayo. It's win the league or get off the pot.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 29, 2010, 09:33:25 PM

I thought we were doomed after the Kerry game and Meehan was carted off. Thankfully they have shown admirable fight and spirit with some of the big names not available and some new lads have put up their hands for selection. Didn't expect to be safe with a game to spare.

Hopefully we can end with a win and finish the league strongly rather than start like a train only to fade like in the previous few years.
Post by: Jimmy14 on March 30, 2010, 08:45:07 AM
Quote from: Hound on March 28, 2010, 04:22:45 PM

Hopefully the Mgt team will learn from the past two games as they do reflect the weaknesses that exist.
To many backs of the pace, No midfield, half forwards not getting on the ball and over reliance on BB.
On the plus side some strong players to coma back in plus Barry Cahill will be getting sharper.
Fingers crossed on all this!
Post by: INDIANA on March 30, 2010, 09:25:16 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 29, 2010, 09:33:25 PM

I thought we were doomed after the Kerry game and Meehan was carted off. Thankfully they have shown admirable fight and spirit with some of the big names not available and some new lads have put up their hands for selection. Didn't expect to be safe with a game to spare.

Hopefully we can end with a win and finish the league strongly rather than start like a train only to fade like in the previous few years.

Kernan has you really well organised. That young lad who came on at corner back looks a find. Sice looks a really good player  as well. Bergin is better suited to wing forward and Concannon has come good. Breathnach is a not a great player but he's a good ball winner and that whjy Joe has him there.
And in Bradshaw you have a superstar- he is some player. Things a re looking up for Galway. Might take a year though.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 30, 2010, 02:00:23 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 30, 2010, 09:25:16 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 29, 2010, 09:33:25 PM

Kernan has you really well organised. That young lad who came on at corner back looks a find. Sice looks a really good player  as well. Bergin is better suited to wing forward and Concannon has come good. Breathnach is a not a great player but he's a good ball winner and that whjy Joe has him there.
And in Bradshaw you have a superstar- he is some player. Things a re looking up for Galway. Might take a year though.

Yeah I think most of Bergin's good performance's for Galway have come in the half-forward line rather than at midfield. Breathnach is not the most skillful player you'll ever see but he's big physical workhorse. Concannon and Sice have done really well up front alright for us recently with Meehan, Army and PJ on the sidelines.

Agree about Bradshaw. When Dublin were flying early on he was like a one man defence. Getting on the ball, driving forward and relieving pressure. If we only had three of him I'd play all three across the half-back line.