Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: JimStynes on March 11, 2010, 11:34:46 PM

Title: The Official Blackberry Thread
Post by: JimStynes on March 11, 2010, 11:34:46 PM
Anyone have a blackberry phone. I was thinking of getting one of Blackberry 9700 and was wondering if anyone has got this type of phone. I have been a nokia man for years and was also interested in the Nokia E72 which looks pretty similar to the Blackberry. Is a Blackberry worth all the hype?
Title: Re: Blackberry
Post by: Archie Mitchell on March 11, 2010, 11:36:58 PM
iPhone all the way Jim!
Post by: Orior on March 11, 2010, 11:56:10 PM
Why not an iPhone Jim?
Post by: JimStynes on March 12, 2010, 12:05:17 AM
Dont like touch screen phones lads. Ive been lookin at the Blackberry 9700 and the nokia e72 and i like the size of them and the qwerty keyboard thing. The instand chat thing looks like a good job with the blackberry aswell.
Post by: Uladh on March 12, 2010, 12:16:11 AM

Forgive my ignorance on blackberries / iphones, but...

you can connect to the net via your home wireless?

you have constant fast access to the net?

what are the costs of  the above?

what are the general costs of the handsets and the monthly usage?
Post by: JimStynes on March 12, 2010, 12:29:04 AM
The one i would be looking at would be 35 quid per month, free phone, for 600 mins, unlimited texts, free internet and free blackberry pack that you need apparently. I also get 50 for handing in my old phone and 3 months free insurance. That with phones 4u and a vodafone network.
Post by: muppet on March 12, 2010, 12:46:48 AM
Quote from: hardstation on March 11, 2010, 11:40:01 PM
Flowers, dresses, hotels, cars, meals, bands all the way Jim.

It's iPhone Jim, but not as we know it.
Post by: Puckoon on March 12, 2010, 12:49:48 AM
Quote from: Uladh on March 12, 2010, 12:16:11 AM

Forgive my ignorance on blackberries / iphones, but...

you can connect to the net via your home wireless?

you have constant fast access to the net?

what are the costs of  the above?

what are the general costs of the handsets and the monthly usage?

Yes

Yes - depending on the strength of the 3G signal in your area

Not sure about tarrifs at home, but its expensive enough monthly bill here $100+

I guess you can get them free on some tarrifs and service providers

There is a full thread on it - just search iPhone 3G
Post by: Candyman on March 12, 2010, 01:34:46 AM
I always had an iPhone but recently made the jump to Blackberry and have to say I'm well impressed!! Better all-rounder than the iphone and the blackberry server is superb!!! ;-)
Just 1 thing Jim, check Voda's fair usage policy for data and unlimited texts!!!
Post by: GetOffThePitch on March 12, 2010, 10:25:40 AM
was always a Nokia man and in the last few months went Blackberry. The curve 8900 i think it is.

Class phone- it's not flash and it does lack some of the addons my last Nokia maybe had but it just does all i need without any pissing about to be honest. Having messenger and email on the go at all times is a bonus. Would defo recommend. iPhones are for losers.
Post by: ONeill on March 12, 2010, 10:31:22 AM
I have the iPhone, herself has the Blackberry. I don't really see anything, at all, that'd make me want to jump across.
Post by: thebigfella on March 12, 2010, 10:50:34 AM
Quote from: GetOffThePitch on March 12, 2010, 10:25:40 AM
was always a Nokia man and in the last few months went Blackberry. The curve 8900 i think it is.

Class phone- it's not flash and it does lack some of the addons my last Nokia maybe had but it just does all i need without any pissing about to be honest. Having messenger and email on the go at all times is a bonus. Would defo recommend. iPhones are for losers.

Are you 14  ::) Maybe you should get a job as a technology journalist.
Post by: thebigfella on March 12, 2010, 10:59:44 AM
Would not recommend the Storm but couldn't say a bad word against the Curve and 9700. Again it depends on your requirements, if you send alot of mails on the move they are ideal due to the keyboard. I'd disagree about it being a better all rounder, browsing the web is tedious and the media player is no where near as good as the Iphone. For all the shite in the Iphone app store, there are apps I couldn't live without. The Sonas controller app is superb, I can switch the music on in the house before I get in the front door  ;)
Post by: muppet on March 12, 2010, 11:05:06 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 12, 2010, 10:31:22 AM
I have the iPhone, herself has the Blackberry. I don't really see anything, at all, that'd make me want to jump across.

Different thread for that sort of thing, we're talking about phones here.
Post by: Asal Mor on March 12, 2010, 11:23:24 AM
I've been experimenting with having no mobile for the last few weeks. There's a lot to be said for it - great peace without it. I'd only miss it in an emergency. God be with the days when a blackberry was a fruit.
Post by: JimStynes on March 12, 2010, 11:27:50 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on March 12, 2010, 11:23:24 AM
I've been experimenting with having no mobile for the last few weeks. There's a lot to be said for it - great peace without it. I'd only miss it in an emergency. God be with the days when a blackberry was a fruit.

Simple times, better times  ;)

Post by: GetOffThePitch on March 12, 2010, 01:00:29 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on March 12, 2010, 10:50:34 AM
Quote from: GetOffThePitch on March 12, 2010, 10:25:40 AM

Are you 14  ::) Maybe you should get a job as a technology journalist.

Certainly not 14. and i stand over my statement. People with iPhones have certain needy personality types.  They rave about what they have, and what other phones don't have. Yet when you think about it- the iPhone is useful for being able to do a lot of pretty useless stuff :)

Is that critique OK?
Post by: Uladh on March 12, 2010, 01:22:53 PM

What's the story with the blackberry / iphone when you're out of the country? same massive roaming charges as the ordinary phone?
Post by: Billys Boots on March 12, 2010, 01:39:23 PM
I thought there was supposed to be new EU legislation to prevent rip-off roaming charges - am I dreaming?
Post by: The Iceman on March 12, 2010, 02:12:54 PM
I believe iPhones and Blackberrys are the worst inventions ever made.  I'm not even crazy about having a mobile phone these days aside from emergencies.

We're all becoming too consumed with technology and more and more I see kids especially always texting or online or on their DS or whatever gadget it is.  Sit in a restaurant or even a bar and people are together but texting   -there's no interaction. 

Having a Blackberry means you check every email as it comes in.  Unless you are waiting on important news why is it necessary to read your emails immediately?

Also if your blackberry is connected to work emails you are never off work....
Post by: mournerambler on March 12, 2010, 03:06:42 PM
http://www.t3.com/feature/iphone-4-rumours-10-things-we-know-so-far

If you can hold off until June/July this year Jim, strong rumors that the 4G iphone will be available then, beware of great deals on the 3GS version now, it's their way of getting rid of them before the new version comes to the market.
Post by: Mickey Linden on March 12, 2010, 03:45:42 PM
Iphone is your only job Jim!
Post by: JimStynes on March 12, 2010, 04:07:37 PM
Definately not going to go for an iphone, i hate touchscreen phones plus i love the blackberry qwerty keyboard.
Post by: Puckoon on March 12, 2010, 04:34:29 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on March 12, 2010, 02:12:54 PM
I believe iPhones and Blackberrys are the worst inventions ever made.  I'm not even crazy about having a mobile phone these days aside from emergencies.

We're all becoming too consumed with technology and more and more I see kids especially always texting or online or on their DS or whatever gadget it is.  Sit in a restaurant or even a bar and people are together but texting   -there's no interaction. 

Having a Blackberry means you check every email as it comes in.  Unless you are waiting on important news why is it necessary to read your emails immediately?

Ah and then you hit them with the overtime bill at the end of the year.

Thats a Bingo!
Post by: lurganblue on March 12, 2010, 05:05:24 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on March 12, 2010, 03:06:42 PM
http://www.t3.com/feature/iphone-4-rumours-10-things-we-know-so-far

If you can hold off until June/July this year Jim, strong rumors that the 4G iphone will be available then, beware of great deals on the 3GS version now, it's their way of getting rid of them before the new version comes to the market.

holding out for this too and hoping I can upgrade my 3g to it in September.

The wife has a blackberry and tells me that it is better than the iPhone but I think she is talking dung. She doesn't like touch screen phones either after her experience with the lg cookie (which as a touch screen doesn't compare to the iPhone at all).
Post by: ziggysego on March 12, 2010, 05:08:45 PM
I was showing my mate who has a Blackberry my iPhone the other week. He was very impressed with the iPhone, as he was never that happy with his Blackberry. I think it was Storm, but I wouldn't swear to it.
Post by: The Iceman on March 12, 2010, 05:39:57 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 12, 2010, 04:34:29 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on March 12, 2010, 02:12:54 PM

Ah and then you hit them with the overtime bill at the end of the year.

Thats a Bingo!

If only there was over time   - I would be a rich iceman
Post by: mournerambler on March 12, 2010, 09:40:17 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on March 12, 2010, 04:07:37 PM
Definately not going to go for an iphone, i hate touchscreen phones plus i love the blackberry qwerty keyboard.

Just in case your not aware Jim, the iphone also has a full qwerty keyboard feature.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on March 12, 2010, 09:52:55 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on March 11, 2010, 11:34:46 PM
Anyone have a blackberry phone. I was thinking of getting one of Blackberry 9700 and was wondering if anyone has got this type of phone. I have been a nokia man for years and was also interested in the Nokia E72 which looks pretty similar to the Blackberry. Is a Blackberry worth all the hype?

Don't get it Jim...No signal where we live!!  Paying for something you can't use!
Post by: ONeill on March 12, 2010, 10:28:57 PM
Jim,

Just wanted to type Jim, .
Post by: ONeill on March 12, 2010, 10:46:48 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on March 12, 2010, 10:32:55 PM
Why type Jim, and not just Jim?

Ach I'm old-fashioned. It's like the way people used to write letters. I haven't written a letter in 3 years.
Post by: Puckoon on March 12, 2010, 10:54:47 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on March 12, 2010, 10:53:41 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 12, 2010, 10:46:48 PM

Ach I'm old-fashioned. It's like the way people used to write letters. I haven't written a letter in 3 years.

Amazing!  I usually write and send an average of 4 letters per day and that doesn't include mailshots.

I got one of them kind of letters once. It wasnt your signature at the bottom, but needless to say the old man drove me into your office first thing the next morning.
Post by: ONeill on March 12, 2010, 10:55:25 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on March 12, 2010, 10:53:41 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 12, 2010, 10:46:48 PM

Amazing!  I usually write and send an average of 4 letters per day and that doesn't include mailshots.

Hand written?
Post by: JimStynes on March 13, 2010, 12:07:40 PM
http://noknok.tv/2009/11/16/nokia-e72-hits-uk-market/
I like the look of this bad boy aswell... Cant decide on what to do
Post by: Candyman on March 13, 2010, 01:09:54 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on March 13, 2010, 12:07:40 PM
Ball of Scrap Jim and dont even come close to the Blackberry or iPhone!!!
Post by: JimStynes on March 13, 2010, 01:40:44 PM
Quote from: Candyman on March 13, 2010, 01:09:54 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on March 13, 2010, 12:07:40 PM
Ball of Scrap Jim and dont even come close to the Blackberry or iPhone!!!

I have always used nokia phones and this one gets good reviews plus it looks nice. Maybe its time for me and Nokia to part ways and go for the Blackberry.
Post by: Candyman on March 13, 2010, 01:46:09 PM
Nokia E series AFAIK use the old symbian menu system.... In a nutshell its a new style handset with an old operating system!! Honestly wouldnt touch it!!
Post by: JimStynes on March 13, 2010, 07:17:34 PM
Ordered the blackberry lads, it will be here on Tuesday  ;D
Title: Re: The Official Blackberry Thread
Post by: JimStynes on March 18, 2010, 06:09:33 PM
Anybody know some good apps worth downloading to the Blackberry? Only got the phone today and so far so good, still getting used to the qwerty keyboard though. My last phone was a nokia 6300 so its a big upgrade for me and it will probably take me a while getting used to this up to date technology.
Post by: Candyman on March 18, 2010, 07:46:14 PM
Google talk... Great tool and I use it a lot!! Also the facebook app
Post by: Orior on March 18, 2010, 08:22:21 PM
Blackberry users - do you sync MS Outlook with your home PC or work PC?
Post by: Orior on March 18, 2010, 08:45:09 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on March 18, 2010, 08:36:03 PM
Quote from: Orior on March 18, 2010, 08:22:21 PM
Blackberry users - do you sync MS Outlook with your home PC or work PC?

I am able to sync my emails with OWA, the web version of Outlook.  However, it doesn't sync the calendar unless you get a meeting request which goes to my calendar.  I am not sure how it would work if I had the MS Exchange connection.

Corporately, you need a thing called Blackberry Exchange Server (BES). But people who buy BB for themselves wouldnt be into that.
Post by: tyroneboi on March 18, 2010, 08:48:47 PM
Quote from: Candyman on March 18, 2010, 07:46:14 PM
Google talk... Great tool and I use it a lot!! Also the facebook app

Found the facebook app to be pure crap I would just use the normal browser for that. If your into sports/football get the Goal and Score Apps. Current affairs i have the Reuters app which is pretty good. I also have the Flixter movie app which is good for movie reviews etc. Wish there was more UK based apps but im sure in time there will be more developed.

Crackberry and its forums are also worth checking out on a regular basis for tips, info and any problem you need solved.
Post by: ballela-angel on March 18, 2010, 11:06:01 PM
Anybody know some good apps worth downloading to the Blackberry? Only got the phone today and so far so good, still getting used to the qwerty keyboard though. My last phone was a nokia 6300 so its a big upgrade for me and it will probably take me a while getting used to this up to date technology

Jim - I use the Word, Excel and PDF features from the Data-Viz application a lot in my business
Post by: JimStynes on March 18, 2010, 11:40:07 PM
Finding it a real pain in the ass finding good free apps.  >:(

Also my new contract has unlimited internet plus the BIS thing. If u get BIS does this mean that there is no need for the unlimited internet that vodafone offer as BIS already offers unlimited internet?
Post by: tyroneboi on March 19, 2010, 12:11:06 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on March 18, 2010, 11:40:07 PM
Finding it a real pain in the ass finding good free apps.  >:(

Also my new contract has unlimited internet plus the BIS thing. If u get BIS does this mean that there is no need for the unlimited internet that vodafone offer as BIS already offers unlimited internet?

Im by no means an expert but for a Blackberry its all about having the BIS to operate email and internet. The unlimited internet means nothing for a Blackberry so maybe its best to speak to Vodafone to make sure your not getting charged for both.
Post by: Candyman on March 24, 2010, 01:16:06 PM
a quick plug...

I've a brand new Blackberry 8520 for sale if anyones interested PM me!!  ;D
Post by: JimStynes on April 21, 2010, 02:26:31 PM
Anyone know a good place to get phone insurance for the Blackberry Bold? Vodafone is 7.50 per month, is this reasonable enough?
Post by: thebigfella on April 21, 2010, 02:36:56 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on April 21, 2010, 02:26:31 PM
Anyone know a good place to get phone insurance for the Blackberry Bold? Vodafone is 7.50 per month, is this reasonable enough?

If you have contents insurance on your house, you should be covered but double check. Mobile insurance is the biggest f**king scam ever.
Post by: gorm agus bui on April 21, 2010, 03:29:07 PM
Just of late I cannot open excel spreadsheets that come as attchments
Is there anything I have done to cause this or what do i do to reactivate
Post by: Puckoon on April 21, 2010, 03:30:08 PM
Just out of curiosity - when you are looking at a whole bunch of blackberries - how do you know which one to pick?
Post by: Candyman on May 07, 2010, 04:26:52 PM
Some great deals on Blackberry out at the moment...

Unlimited o2 calls
Unlimited texts (all networks!!)
Unlimited calls to any UK landline
Unlimited internet & email
600 cross network mins
Free Blackberry 8520
£35.25 / Month

Contact me for further details  ;D
Post by: The Worker on September 02, 2010, 06:31:22 PM
Looking to get a sim free blackberry phone, any1 recommend any in particular?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2010, 10:28:46 PM
Is the Blackberry Storm any good?
Was gonna buy 2nd hand one off ebay to keep me going until I can get Iphone 4 next May.
Post by: winsamsoon on January 03, 2011, 11:34:30 PM
Got a blackberry 8520 curve and can't seem to get on the internet with it only through the home wi-fi. I have took out a bolt on that includes the internet package. Has this to be registered on o2 aswell ? All suggestions welcome
Post by: laoislad on March 16, 2011, 09:45:43 AM
Hard to get this out of your head once you hear it..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FPZH4OysGZI
Post by: Karl Kennedy on April 11, 2011, 08:48:15 PM
Quick question on the blackberry pearl..

Is there anyway to get a text message conversation on to your computer? I have about an important conversation that takes up about 300 messages (due to amount of words used) and I would like to get it saved on to computer but don't know how to. I have tried the 'send to email' option but that only works if you send each message individually. Is there a way to get it all on to computer in one go?

Thanks
Post by: Square Ball on April 11, 2011, 09:07:12 PM
would it not be easier to send it to a web based email address then save it that way?
Post by: Karl Kennedy on April 11, 2011, 09:17:32 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 11, 2011, 09:07:12 PM
would it not be easier to send it to a web based email address then save it that way?

But you have to do it 300 times then, as it won't send the whole conversation, only each individual message at a time..Is there any quicker or easier way?
Post by: Just Puck It on April 11, 2011, 11:29:37 PM
Quote from: Karl Kennedy on April 11, 2011, 09:17:32 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 11, 2011, 09:07:12 PM

But you have to do it 300 times then, as it won't send the whole conversation, only each individual message at a time..Is there any quicker or easier way?

I know with the BlackBerry Desktop software that I use with my 8520 I can hook up the phone and view the conversations within my text messages.  Not sure what the 'copy and paste' possibilities are once you're looking at it on the computer but I'm assuming their should be a save feature there somewhere! Don't have the lead on me at the minute or I would check.  Give it a go - should work!
Post by: JohnDenver on April 12, 2011, 10:14:09 AM
Quote from: Karl Kennedy on April 11, 2011, 08:48:15 PM
Quick question on the blackberry pearl..

Is there anyway to get a text message conversation on to your computer? I have about an important conversation that takes up about 300 messages (due to amount of words used) and I would like to get it saved on to computer but don't know how to. I have tried the 'send to email' option but that only works if you send each message individually. Is there a way to get it all on to computer in one go?

Thanks

Selwyn Black in disguise?
Post by: Hilltresk on April 12, 2011, 10:48:41 AM
I can't get 'places' working on the facebook application. Anyone else have this problem?
Post by: Candyman on April 12, 2011, 11:59:09 AM
Go to options, location services and make sure they are "ON"
Post by: orangeman on May 13, 2011, 01:12:47 PM
Is the Blackberry 9300 any use ?
Post by: EagleLord on May 23, 2011, 10:32:46 AM
Please tell me someone still reads this thread?? Im going out of my head! I had the blackberry appworld on my phone in my 'downloads' folder. But now its dissapearred! I cant see it anywhere?! I have googled it on my phone, downloaded the new version of it, but alas still cant find it anywhere on my phone?! >:(
Post by: NAG1 on June 22, 2011, 12:25:22 PM
Request for help, apologies if this has been repeated before.

I have a Blackberry curve had it a while now, but it keeps completely freezing on me and cant move the mouse pad button on it at all. Have to try and negotiate it using the buttons which only works occasionally.

Has this happened to anyone else and did you find any solutions for it.

At the moment it is spending more time frozen than working really frustrating, a battery pull does not solve it either.
Any help appreciated.
Post by: J OGorman on June 22, 2011, 12:29:39 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on June 22, 2011, 12:25:22 PM
Request for help, apologies if this has been repeated before.

I have a Blackberry curve had it a while now, but it keeps completely freezing on me and cant move the mouse pad button on it at all. Have to try and negotiate it using the buttons which only works occasionally.

Has this happened to anyone else and did you find any solutions for it.

At the moment it is spending more time frozen than working really frustrating, a battery pull does not solve it either.
Any help appreciated.

they stick from time to time, same with the ball. would say its hardware as opposed to software (though you could connect to desktop manager and upgrade, do no harm) or if its in warranty, get it replaced
Post by: Candyman on June 22, 2011, 12:30:13 PM
Download the desktop manager and upgrade the software. Make sure to back up all data first...
Post by: NAG1 on June 22, 2011, 12:31:28 PM
Lads have never really synced it up to the computer so how would I go about this?

Thanks for the help, when its working it works perfectly which leads me to think its not a hardware issue if that makes sense.

Update: Downloaded the latest version of the software from Blackberry and it still hasnt fixed the tracker ball issue? Any other suggestions?
Post by: Jimmylong on June 22, 2011, 04:28:41 PM
any of you tech kids know how much it costs to use the BBM feature?

I have been told it costs nothing by some people however others say that the charges relate to Data being used...

The reason I ask is, my phone is a work phone, and I'm afriad of getting a eating for a large bill very soon
Post by: J OGorman on June 22, 2011, 04:55:14 PM
Quote from: Jimmylong on June 22, 2011, 04:28:41 PM

I have been told it costs nothing by some people however others say that the charges relate to Data being used...

The reason I ask is, my phone is a work phone, and I'm afriad of getting a eating for a large bill very soon

you'll be grand, its part of the data usage and uses very little...if your usage did rocket, the internet bolt can be added for around 8 - 10 quid per month with unlimited data
Post by: Jimmylong on June 23, 2011, 12:37:18 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on June 22, 2011, 04:55:14 PM
Quote from: Jimmylong on June 22, 2011, 04:28:41 PM

you'll be grand, its part of the data usage and uses very little...if your usage did rocket, the internet bolt can be added for around 8 - 10 quid per month with unlimited data

sound man, cheers
Post by: gerry on July 20, 2011, 10:25:06 PM
Have to say loving the fact that I get 10mb per day for international data roaming. Plenty for facebook, twitter and on here.
Post by: Don Johnson on July 21, 2011, 10:49:41 AM
What are the main apps you all use?

At the minute I have:

Sky Sports Score Centre
Flixster
The Independent

As well as the Facebook, Twitter, Youtube that come with it...
Post by: J OGorman on July 21, 2011, 10:59:54 AM
Quote from: Don Johnson on July 21, 2011, 10:49:41 AM
What are the main apps you all use?

At the minute I have:

Sky Sports Score Centre
Flixster
The Independent

As well as the Facebook, Twitter, Youtube that come with it...

TuneWiki for radio stations
Copter
Who is it? assign colours for different folk ringing (complete gimmick but good craic)
BBC iplayer
Post by: gerry on July 21, 2011, 11:09:00 AM
Blackberry must have the worst set of apps available
Post by: thebigfella on July 21, 2011, 11:51:40 AM
Quote from: gerry on July 21, 2011, 11:09:00 AM
Blackberry must have the worst set of apps available

Worst set of handsets too.
Post by: NAG1 on October 12, 2011, 11:21:25 AM
Any one else gettnig pissed off with the current problems with Blackberry?
Post by: EagleLord on October 12, 2011, 02:18:31 PM
Aye, BBM is fucked up! Heard that it will last all week?
Post by: screenexile on October 12, 2011, 02:20:10 PM
All we need now is the iPhone playing up then we can have the dream headline:

Apple and Blackberry Crumble!!
Post by: Hashtag on October 12, 2011, 04:33:43 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on October 12, 2011, 11:21:25 AM

I feel so old school without BBM and internet on my phone. I haven't been on any social networks as I wouldnt bother logging onto them on computer. I constantly keep sending my text messages too early now as with BBM I used to send after a line or two and write the next bit if you know what i mean. Now this means im sending mulitiple texts.
Aw well.
Worse things in the world than the Blackberry Network being down. Maybe I will find myself now that I am out of the hub of social twittering. #notlikely
Post by: maggie on October 12, 2011, 04:45:57 PM
Quote from: Hashtag on October 12, 2011, 04:33:43 PM

I feel so old school without BBM and internet on my phone. I haven't been on any social networks as I wouldnt bother logging onto them on computer. I constantly keep sending my text messages too early now as with BBM I used to send after a line or two and write the next bit if you know what i mean. Now this means im sending mulitiple texts.
Aw well.
Worse things in the world than the Blackberry Network being down. Maybe I will find myself now that I am out of the hub of social twittering. #notlikely

I thought it was just mine that was playing up. Obv not then.
BBM and the net is all i really use mine for as well = BBM crying face.
Post by: Candyman on October 12, 2011, 04:50:04 PM
Quote from: maggie on October 12, 2011, 04:45:57 PM

Aw well.

Whats your Pin Maggie?  ;) Thought I'd ask before Ziggy  :-*
Post by: ziggysego on October 12, 2011, 04:55:46 PM
The 'iPhone brigade', as you put it maggie, phones are still working.
Post by: Hashtag on October 12, 2011, 04:58:12 PM

Aw well.

Do you not listen to the news Maggie. This has been on the news for the past three days. BB are having IT problems in one of their centres in England. Messing up all BB's in Europe, Asisa and Africa. Their back-up's failed. Plan B was a complete failure.
Post by: Hashtag on October 12, 2011, 04:58:46 PM
Quote from: Candyman on October 12, 2011, 04:50:04 PM

Aw well.

Whats your Pin Maggie?  ;) Thought I'd ask before Ziggy  :-*

#daterapealert
Post by: windyshepardhenderson on October 12, 2011, 07:58:24 PM
Is bbm still not working? Wile pain in the arse, it worked a bit for me yesterday then she's gone again today  >:(
Post by: ziggysego on October 12, 2011, 10:11:28 PM
Quote from: windyshepardhenderson on October 12, 2011, 07:58:24 PM
Is bbm still not working? Wile pain in the arse, it worked a bit for me yesterday then she's gone again today  >:(

They got it going and a few hours later, it broke again and spread to North America.
Post by: maggie on October 13, 2011, 08:57:09 AM
Quote from: Hashtag on October 12, 2011, 04:58:12 PM

Aw well.

Do you not listen to the news Maggie. This has been on the news for the past three days. BB are having IT problems in one of their centres in England. Messing up all BB's in Europe, Asisa and Africa. Their back-up's failed. Plan B was a complete failure.

No, and my phone is broken.  ::)
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2011, 01:37:58 PM
Ok im gona finally take the plunge and try get a decent phone. Was gonna go for a blackberry but have this notion that il never get used to it and it be too hard to use or some crap. I havnt a clue about phones and normally just use any aul one that allows me to text and take calls. O2 have offered contract for £18.50 a month for blackberry 9300 with unlimited texts, 200 calls to any network and 250 to 02 numbers. Is this good? Ive always been pay and go but dont wanna change to contract with a blackberry then hate them.
Post by: Hashtag on October 14, 2011, 02:24:25 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on October 14, 2011, 01:37:58 PM
Ok im gona finally take the plunge and try get a decent phone. Was gonna go for a blackberry but have this notion that il never get used to it and it be too hard to use or some crap. I havnt a clue about phones and normally just use any aul one that allows me to text and take calls. O2 have offered contract for £18.50 a month for blackberry 9300 with unlimited texts, 200 calls to any network and 250 to 02 numbers. Is this good? Ive always been pay and go but dont wanna change to contract with a blackberry then hate them.

:D complete technology fail.

Yes i would advise you go for this deal.  Can I be the first to welcome you to 2011.
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2011, 02:37:23 PM
 ::) ::)
Whats wrong with the fact that i havnt got a blackberry or an iphone?  I have this notion il hate it. I like the wee touch screen nokia i have at the minute. It does my job. Just when they phoned me with this offer got me thinking about maybe going with what everyone else has
Post by: screenexile on October 14, 2011, 03:00:43 PM
Used to have an iPhone, then got a HTC and also have a Blackberry through work. All have differing plus points and also down sides.

iPhone has more Apps but mine was a 3G and could be slow as well as signal problems for internet and no flash player (for online videos of American TV Shows).

HTC is fast but have had signal problems for the net and also it completely packed in on me after 2 months and is currently away getting fixed, does have Flash Player though which is a huge plus point.

Blackberry is 100% signal wise, I love the keyboard but it doesn't have that many decent apps yet, no flash player and also the last few days of the network being down was a beyatch!!

All 3 much of a muchness I would say so it really depends on yourself!
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 14, 2011, 03:22:40 PM
Iphone 4 looks the business - I've a BlackBerry and it's a heap of shite - do not buy one!

Am looking at switching to iPhone though it's while dear to buy outright (I don't believe in contracts). 
Post by: J OGorman on October 14, 2011, 03:26:41 PM
each to their own..but Ive a BB Torch and by fcuk shes some weapon, by far the best phone Ive had inc iPhone. Class camera, HD video and its great to watch videos / boxsets on
Post by: screenexile on October 14, 2011, 03:42:47 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on October 14, 2011, 03:26:41 PM
each to their own..but Ive a BB Torch and by fcuk shes some weapon, by far the best phone Ive had inc iPhone. Class camera, HD video and its great to watch videos / boxsets on

Eh?? How are you watching boxsets or videos on it?
Post by: maggie on October 14, 2011, 03:49:28 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 14, 2011, 03:42:47 PM

IMO the camera is pretty dung, esp as it doesnt have a flash.  I like the keyboard rather than a touch screen and BBM (when it works) is pretty handy.  If your friends have a BlackBerry-you can message them for free regardless of where you are. 

Post by: J OGorman on October 14, 2011, 03:51:57 PM

4GB of data built in. PCWorld are selling 8 GB micro SD half-price (or they were) giving 12GB in total. Download or copy a boxset / movie to the PC, use Freemake to convert to mp4, connect BB and browse to the video folder and paste the converted video.

Just finished watching Boardwalk Empire, copied 5 episodes at a time. Had the 20 episodes of Forbrydelsen on it previously, 5 episodes at a time. Handy for planes, buses and even the bed at night
Post by: J OGorman on October 14, 2011, 03:53:33 PM
Quote from: maggie on October 14, 2011, 03:49:28 PM

IMO the camera is pretty dung, esp as it doesnt have a flash.  I like the keyboard rather than a touch screen and BBM (when it works) is pretty handy.  If your friends have a BlackBerry-you can message them for free regardless of where you are.

the torch has a flash, think its either the curve or bold that doesnt. The torch has a good big screen and a proper keyboard underneath (that was the main reason i went for it, couldnt be typing on a touch screen)
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 14, 2011, 04:21:44 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on October 14, 2011, 03:51:57 PM

4GB of data built in. PCWorld are selling 8 GB micro SD half-price (or they were) giving 12GB in total. Download or copy a boxset / movie to the PC, use Freemake to convert to mp4, connect BB and browse to the video folder and paste the converted video.

Just finished watching Boardwalk Empire, copied 5 episodes at a time. Had the 20 episodes of Forbrydelsen on it previously, 5 episodes at a time. Handy for planes, buses and even the bed at night
can the same be done for an iphone? wouldnt mind sticking a few movies on it if thats possible - what software etc is needed if it is ?
Or do you have to purchase from itunes? is that the only way ?
TIA
Post by: screenexile on October 14, 2011, 04:28:36 PM

Every day's a school day!!! That's brilliant I didn't even know my phone could do that. . . I would go with the BB Torch then Maggie it has shot up in my estimation!

As for yours lynchbhoy the iPhone is more than capable of doing that also providing you have enough space. It would be the same as JOG has outlined to get it into mp4 format then just add the movie to your iTunes library as you would a song, sync it to your phone and Bob's your uncle!
Post by: bigfrank on October 14, 2011, 06:16:15 PM
My BB still aint workin fully and about two weeks it stopped me sendin my brother is oz and friends in ny messages bia blackberry messenger...im not sure if this was due to blackberry problems or my fone or set up...very frustrating :(
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 14, 2011, 08:17:41 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 14, 2011, 04:28:36 PM

Every day's a school day!!! That's brilliant I didn't even know my phone could do that. . . I would go with the BB Torch then Maggie it has shot up in my estimation!

As for yours lynchbhoy the iPhone is more than capable of doing that also providing you have enough space. It would be the same as JOG has outlined to get it into mp4 format then just add the movie to your iTunes library as you would a song, sync it to your phone and Bob's your uncle!
thanks lads ,that works!!
Post by: paco on October 17, 2011, 11:52:43 AM
Got the new curve, impressed so far! Quick question though, anyone use the ESPN Goals app? Does it work outside the UK?
Post by: Declan on October 17, 2011, 12:56:55 PM
http://hereisthecity.com/2011/10/13/my-blackberry-is-not-working/ (http://hereisthecity.com/2011/10/13/my-blackberry-is-not-working/)
Post by: NAG1 on October 17, 2011, 02:47:02 PM
What are the apps that they are giving away as compensation for the break down, any one know?
Post by: screenexile on October 17, 2011, 02:50:35 PM
http://crave.cnet.co.uk/mobiles/blackberry-compensation-is-free-apps-but-no-refund-50005665/
Post by: paco on October 20, 2011, 12:58:51 PM
I'm currently on a contract and I'm abroad at the minute so I'm trying to avoid using my internet (5 gig/month) because I've been told that it doesn't last as long outside the UK, does anyone know if using headphones during a phonecall takes away from my internet allowance? It says something about a radio when I plug it in and for some reason my O2 account isn't showing my data allowance usage!
Post by: tyrone girl on October 22, 2011, 10:37:50 PM
Finally got me blackberry up and running still havnt a clue wat im at with it but big time loving the bbm part of it. I take  it its free ???
Post by: bigfrank on October 23, 2011, 11:53:42 AM
Yup its free Tyrone G..class job if u have friends in oz etc..can keep in contact very easily..send voice notes which last up to a minute..send pictures easily etc..
Post by: Don Johnson on October 23, 2011, 11:56:46 AM
Dropped my BB down the toilet last night in my mate's house when I was drunk.

Asshole.

Didn't work last night then worked for half an hour this morning before giving me the WSOD. Now everytime I turn it on it'sa WSOD.
Post by: J OGorman on October 23, 2011, 12:26:26 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on October 23, 2011, 11:56:46 AM

Asshole.

Didn't work last night then worked for half an hour this morning before giving me the WSOD. Now everytime I turn it on it'sa WSOD.

Take the battery out and put battery and phone in the hot press for a couple of days
Post by: Candyman on October 23, 2011, 04:05:29 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on October 23, 2011, 11:56:46 AM

Asshole.

It'll probably need software reinstalled also.... If you haven't it backed up u won't be able to now but the install should work. But as stated, get it dried out properly... Make sure sim and micro sd are removed!!!
Post by: men in black on October 23, 2011, 10:25:06 PM
Get it packed in good old uncle Ben's rice.    Leave it there for 3 or 4 days.   It will suck the moisture out of it.   
Post by: Don Johnson on October 24, 2011, 09:14:06 AM
Already bought myself a new Bold but will try that rice thing anyway.

Not much difference between the Bold and the Curve I had.
Post by: tyrone girl on October 26, 2011, 09:49:14 AM
Anyone know how i can connect to the wifi system at work? Have tried keying in codes from the router but no joy
Post by: Don Johnson on October 26, 2011, 11:29:10 AM
Think I might go get the Bold swapped for an iPhone tonight. Not that impressed it is much of a step up from the Curve to be honest.

Plus it always scrolls up by itself for some reason. When I am typing a message the wee f**ker scrolls up to the previous messages and balls' up what I have been writing.
Post by: Jonah on October 26, 2011, 05:23:45 PM
I have a Blackberry Torch myself and don't really like it,thinking of getting the iphone 4s myself.
Post by: tyrone girl on December 05, 2011, 09:56:43 AM
Need help getting into bbm. There is an error message coming up
'uncaught exception java.lang.nullpointer.exception'

Wtf does it mean does anyone know and any ideas on what to do with it  :-\
Post by: supersub on December 05, 2011, 10:47:54 AM
what's your pin I'll sort it  ;)

Only messin, happened me before, but I just rebooted the phone and it fixed!
Post by: Don Johnson on December 05, 2011, 12:28:03 PM
I added some people to my BBM a while back, they have accepted me, but it still coming up on mine and theirs pending. Anyone had this happen before?? Dunno what's going on with it. It is a puke, fellas I know down south and in America, can't get them added.
Post by: Armaghgael on December 05, 2011, 04:21:34 PM
I'm thinking of getting the new BB Bold would anyone recommend it?
Post by: supersub on December 06, 2011, 01:35:28 PM
Yeah have it myself, very good, I take it you going for it on contract? wouldnt pay the payg price for it!
Post by: paco on December 13, 2011, 08:38:03 PM
Took a picture on my BB today and went to send it to someone, it didn't send and then, when I went to my pictures, they were all gone! Anyone know the problem?
Post by: Square Ball on December 25, 2011, 05:29:19 PM
kids got a blackberry, how do you set up BBM?
Post by: tyrone girl on December 25, 2011, 08:17:19 PM
Think they just go to the bbm icon, it may under instant messaging in some phones then go into view my profile then it will tell u their pin etc and they can add contacts or get their pin to give to others. No real setting up to it as such. Hope they enjoy  :)