Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: DirtyDozen12 on March 09, 2010, 04:23:30 PM

Title: Renshaws Return??
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on March 09, 2010, 04:23:30 PM
Heard a rumour that Ex student hotspot Reshaws, University Street, Beal Feirste is re-opening today??????  Obvioulsy not going under the name of Renshaws as its called the Ibis hotel and has been open a while but not really to the student crowd.  Opening a week before St Paddy's, a great business move?  Can someone confirm these rumours?

If so I hope they bring back the 3 4 5  ;D
Title: Re: Renshaws Return??
Post by: fitzroyalty on March 09, 2010, 04:26:07 PM
I will be visiting in the next week or so and shall report back with my findings  ;D
Post by: tyrone girl on March 09, 2010, 04:31:20 PM
God bringing back memories thinking of it - id love a month or so back to being a student- couldnt stick much more - but just a month of that stress free lifestyle - drink, men , partying  :'( :'( :'( - seems like a lifetime ago now.
Post by: Puckoon on March 09, 2010, 04:32:25 PM
Could be worse - you could be a hypotheical person in a 5 year loveless going nowhere relationship!
Post by: tyrone girl on March 09, 2010, 04:33:08 PM
 :D :D :D - isnt it just as well i aint that person then  ;)
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on March 09, 2010, 04:39:45 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on March 09, 2010, 04:26:07 PM
I will be visiting in the next week or so and shall report back with my findings  ;D

You truely are a brave soldier for taking the tiem out to investigate this matter  ;D
Post by: ziggysego on March 09, 2010, 04:41:38 PM
I was never a student of Belfast, but even I have hazy memories of Renshaws. Funny enough, I was just talking about it yesterday.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on March 09, 2010, 04:52:26 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 09, 2010, 04:32:25 PM
Could be worse - you could be a hypotheical person in a 5 year loveless going nowhere relationship!

:D :D :D
Post by: tyrone girl on March 09, 2010, 04:56:14 PM
I could bite at that and say somethin else it may be worse to be - but il refrain - would do some well to take heed of their own relationships before they slag anyone elses   :-X :-X :-X
Post by: maggie on March 09, 2010, 04:58:35 PM
Loved that place.
Many a happy evening was spent in Renshaws
Post by: blewuporstuffed on March 09, 2010, 05:03:55 PM
the the old renshaws was class, but it turned into a real dive before it closed
Post by: WeeDonns on March 09, 2010, 05:05:59 PM
Have heard rumours of this as well. I'd love to get back to it for an all day rip. St.Paddy's might be too mad, but it may have to be visited on Tuesday after work :)
Post by: Puckoon on March 09, 2010, 05:07:27 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on March 09, 2010, 04:56:14 PM
I could bite at that and say somethin else it may be worse to be - but il refrain - would do some well to take heed of their own relationships before they slag anyone elses   :-X :-X :-X

Before I comment again - and I will, infact Id love to - is that comment directed at me?
Post by: supersarsfields on March 09, 2010, 05:09:46 PM
Quote from: maggie on March 09, 2010, 04:58:35 PM
Loved that place.

Indeed. In 1999 and 2000 it managed to hoover up a large portion of my student loan. T'was a great pub for drinking in during the day. But was never really that fussed on it at night time. That is apart from the £1 a drink promos they used to do upstairs.
Post by: Puckoon on March 09, 2010, 05:10:31 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on March 09, 2010, 05:09:46 PM
Loved that place.

Indeed. In 1999 and 2000 it managed to hoover up a large portion of my student loan. T'was a great pub for drinking in during the day. But was never really that fussed on it at night time. That is apart from the £1 a drink promos they used to do upstairs.

Exactly - night time best avoided.
Post by: haranguerer on March 09, 2010, 05:10:56 PM
Loved that place.

Evening? You must have been part of the 'third wave'!!

It was some craic. There was talk of taking a day off and getting a crowd together to invade the new place, to let them know the history of the site.
Mountains of school/kit bags piled to the right of the door, place pumping at midday, a crowd of fat whores singing 'the ranch, the ranch, the ranch is on fire...'. 3 4 5 being properly abused by getting pints of fat frog, the chippie lad outside going mental as someone else turned off the gas while his mates stole burgers... Oh the memories... :)
Post by: Archie Mitchell on March 09, 2010, 05:13:19 PM
I hear charlie stubbs is cutting the red tape at the official opening.
Post by: goal and a point on March 09, 2010, 05:46:27 PM
Shows you the cycle of the pub - i mind it in 98+ as the old renshaws and them doing it up in 2001 and then 7 years later it was closed.

I mind queuing to get into Renshaws at 2pm on a monday.

Sanjay, decky etc were the cult bar men at that time
Post by: supersarsfields on March 09, 2010, 06:00:45 PM
Quote from: goal and a point on March 09, 2010, 05:46:27 PM
Shows you the cycle of the pub - i mind it in 98+ as the old renshaws and them doing it up in 2001 and then 7 years later it was closed.

Yeah they were still the main ones in 1999 aswell. Tho I think Sanjay went on to some other pub/ nightclub in 2000 ish.
Post by: Onion Bag on March 09, 2010, 06:01:02 PM
It is def happening, I know a girl that works in the hotel and i can confirm that it is opening up, but there is no way it will become the place it was in my days,

i spent 4 years in the place
Post by: gallsman on March 09, 2010, 06:17:35 PM
Culchies the lot of you.
Post by: ziggysego on March 09, 2010, 06:24:26 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 09, 2010, 06:17:35 PM
Culchies the lot of you.

and proud of it ;)
Post by: gallsman on March 09, 2010, 06:25:31 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 09, 2010, 06:24:26 PM
Culchies the lot of you.

and proud of it ;)

Maybe this will have some silver lining and remove some of the cretins who've taken over the bot in the last few years.
Post by: haranguerer on March 09, 2010, 06:53:12 PM
Ah ffs - he was cracking a joke, no harm done, then got pissed off cos someone played the victim - understandable
Post by: DownFanatic on March 09, 2010, 10:34:47 PM
Was 5 years in Shaft and if I drank ten times in there it was ten times too many. An absolute dive infested with rural degenerates who used it as a haven to express their backward ways.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 09, 2010, 10:59:51 PM
A ficking shithole full of rednecks from Tyrone and Armagh. The place should have been torched, preferably with all the munchies still in it. Would have been some fire with all the polyester football jerseys in it.

More of a Dukes man myself.
Post by: Puckoon on March 09, 2010, 11:07:04 PM
Tony Im a tyrone munchie, but preferred Dukes myself. Left half my chin, 2 teeth and my right eyebrow on a kerb outside of it.

Always thought it was particularly classy how they gave you warm wet plastic glasses right out of the dishwasher with your vodka and reef in it. They always made sure the plastic glasses were coloured.
Post by: aontroim on March 09, 2010, 11:34:07 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 09, 2010, 06:25:31 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 09, 2010, 06:24:26 PM
Culchies the lot of you.

and proud of it ;)

Maybe this will have some silver lining and remove some of the cretins who've taken over the bot in the last few years.

gallsman i hate to break it to you but the Bot has been a haven for so called 'culchies' since the late 80's/early 90's if not earlier! granted maybe the chip-eaters get to take it back on a saturday night  ;)
Post by: illdecide on March 09, 2010, 11:52:45 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 09, 2010, 11:07:04 PM
Tony Im a tyrone munchie, but preferred Dukes myself. Left half my chin, 2 teeth and my right eyebrow on a kerb outside of it.

Always thought it was particularly classy how they gave you warm wet plastic glasses right out of the dishwasher with your vodka and reef in it. They always made sure the plastic glasses were coloured.

When TG gets ya she'll finish ya off
Post by: leenie on March 10, 2010, 12:37:48 AM
aww the memories, it will be 10 yrs ago next week that i had my first all day st paddys session in it...

tho i do have to say the "ranch is on fire" is something i could easily forget
Post by: ziggysego on March 10, 2010, 12:40:55 AM
I was in it for the St. Paddy's 2002 session. Not too often I can say this, but I was one of the sensible ones for a change! A mad house!  :D
Post by: maggie on March 10, 2010, 08:35:38 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on March 09, 2010, 05:10:56 PM
Loved that place.

Evening? You must have been part of the 'third wave'!!

It was some craic. There was talk of taking a day off and getting a crowd together to invade the new place, to let them know the history of the site.
Mountains of school/kit bags piled to the right of the door, place pumping at midday, a crowd of fat whores singing 'the ranch, the ranch, the ranch is on fire...'. 3 4 5 being properly abused by getting pints of fat frog, the chippie lad outside going mental as someone else turned off the gas while his mates stole burgers... Oh the memories... :)

I may have been one of those............. Good times.
Post by: behind the wire on March 10, 2010, 08:47:28 AM
Quote from: DownFanatic on March 09, 2010, 10:34:47 PM
Was 5 years in Shaft and if I drank ten times in there it was ten times too many. An absolute dive infested with rural degenerates who used it as a haven to express their backward ways.

Never truer words spoken, an excellent description, take a bow DF.

In saying that im still glad i experienced it, some craic!
Post by: mikasas on March 10, 2010, 08:52:51 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 10, 2010, 12:40:55 AM
I was in it for the St. Paddy's 2002 session. Not too often I can say this, but I was one of the sensible ones for a change! A mad house!  :D
Kicked off something shocking altogether outside her after didn't ziggy. Riot Police involved and everything!
Post by: Rois on March 10, 2010, 09:15:09 AM
Quote from: mikasas on March 10, 2010, 08:52:51 AM
Kicked off something shocking altogether outside her after didn't ziggy. Riot Police involved and everything!

I was there too that day - I remember in my semi-drunken state that I thought the police were very heavy handed (strangely).  Headed home shortly after leaving though to avoid any trouble.

My housemate worked in Renshaws in 2001/2002 - nearly failed her degree because of the place. 
Post by: Master Yoda on March 10, 2010, 09:19:46 AM
Renshaws was a pure shit pit and the bouncers where total wankers.
Post by: strongbow316 on March 10, 2010, 10:56:21 AM
I was in Renshaws for a few last saturday night and this place is not Renshaws. It is now a soleless hotel bar with no atmosphere. Probably the worst bar in Belfast. We were even afraid to talk in case we woke anyone up. BTW dukes is even worse. I think the best thing to do is just remember what it used to be like and dont go through the pain of seeing it as it is now.
Post by: Hardy on March 10, 2010, 11:00:15 AM
What were you expecting - fish and chips?
Post by: ziggysego on March 10, 2010, 12:28:42 PM
Quote from: mikasas on March 10, 2010, 08:52:51 AM

I got out of there before the shit really hit the fan. You didn't see me bouncing about did you?
Post by: mikasas on March 10, 2010, 02:52:27 PM
Dont know you from Adam Ziggy, so it could have been you who started the whole thing! Were you the fella in the tyrone top who lobbed a bottle at the cops and then ran home, if so then I saw ye!
Post by: ziggysego on March 10, 2010, 02:54:37 PM
Na, I was wearing a green shirt that day.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 10, 2010, 03:01:33 PM
I have to say that I spent many happy nights in Remshaws 1996-98, Riggs was a good mate and through him met Mrs BC who was working behind the bar at the time.  Anytime after we won anything in Cross we hit it hard there and the usual round of drinks was x amount of Sambuca and 2 Lucozades for the Macs!!!  Too many funny nites in there but one of the most memorable was the night of the Liverpool Newcastle game where it ended 4-3.  Absoluelty mental night!  Also the Monday night after we beat Bellaghy in the Ulster Final in 1996 was unreal with wee Gareth Doc being the MC for a legendary night of singing!
Post by: ziggysego on March 10, 2010, 03:19:00 PM
Anyone here?
(http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en-GB&geocode=&q=64+university+street,+belfast&sll=54.60821,-7.320071&sspn=0.008774,0.019248&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=64+University+St,+Belfast+BT7+1,+United+Kingdom&ll=54.586152,-5.930965&spn=0,359.980752&z=16&layer=c&cbll=54.586153,-5.931127&panoid=dryCRbnl5_nzERALcZaL_g&cbp=12,181.15,,1,5)
Post by: mikasas on March 10, 2010, 03:44:21 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 10, 2010, 02:54:37 PM
Na, I was wearing a green shirt that day.
Ah fair enough, you blended in rightly then!
Post by: mikasas on March 10, 2010, 03:45:07 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 10, 2010, 03:01:33 PM
I have to say that I spent many happy nights in Remshaws 1996-98, Riggs was a good mate and through him met Mrs BC who was working behind the bar at the time.  Anytime after we won anything in Cross we hit it hard there and the usual round of drinks was x amount of Sambuca and 2 Lucozades for the Macs!!!  Too many funny nites in there but one of the most memorable was the night of the Liverpool Newcastle game where it ended 4-3.  Absoluelty mental night!  Also the Monday night after we beat Bellaghy in the Ulster Final in 1996 was unreal with wee Gareth Doc being the MC for a legendary night of singing!
Did some1 put him up on their shoulders so everyone could see him MCing?
Post by: charlie stubbs on March 10, 2010, 09:03:24 PM
Quote from: strongbow316 on March 10, 2010, 10:56:21 AM
I was in Renshaws for a few last saturday night and this place is not Renshaws. It is now a soleless hotel bar with no atmosphere. Probably the worst bar in Belfast. We were even afraid to talk in case we woke anyone up. BTW dukes is even worse. I think the best thing to do is just remember what it used to be like and dont go through the pain of seeing it as it is now.

dont think they ever got a crowd on a saturday
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on March 11, 2010, 12:57:37 PM
Hi,

Was out of circulation there for a couple of days, just getting up to speed on reported posts now. Puck's post has been removed, and he's received a Warning for Personal Abuse.

Cheers
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on March 11, 2010, 03:05:49 PM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on March 11, 2010, 12:57:37 PM
Hi,

Was out of circulation there for a couple of days, just getting up to speed on reported posts now. Puck's post has been removed, and he's received a Warning for Personal Abuse.

Cheers

Jaysus, what did puck do??

Jaysus!!!!!!!!
Post by: wherefromreferee? on March 11, 2010, 04:48:47 PM
Quote from: goal and a point on March 09, 2010, 05:46:27 PM

Sanjeev is now in The  Box.  Decky is in Oz.  I worked in Renshaws for 3 years, and probably know half the hallions on this board. 1999 - 2002 or thereabouts.