Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Hereiam on March 09, 2010, 03:59:29 PM

Title: Would you stand up to the Orange Order
Post by: Hereiam on March 09, 2010, 03:59:29 PM
Was just wondering if there are many people on this board who would block an O.O parade going through their local town. Not by violent means as seen in Belfast but by just standing on the road on the day instead to let them know that they are not welcome. I know it would only take a few ass holes to try and kick things off. I just think its a pity that the nationalist comunity cannot do something to limit the number of these parades. I am all for the O.O celebrating their "culture" but a march in nearly every town a couple of times a year should be put to an end. I feel a parade on the twelve in each county should be enough. So would you be seen standing against the O.O
Title: Re: Would you stand up to the Orange Order
Post by: illdecide on March 09, 2010, 04:05:48 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on March 09, 2010, 03:59:29 PM
Was just wondering if there are many people on this board who would block an O.O parade going through their local town. Not by violent means as seen in Belfast but by just standing on the road on the day instead to let them know that they are not welcome. I know it would only take a few ass holes to try and kick things off. I just think its a pity that the nationalist comunity cannot do something to limit the number of these parades. I am all for the O.O celebrating their "culture" but a march in nearly every town a couple of times a year should be put to an end. I feel a parade on the twelve in each county should be enough. So would you be seen standing against the O.O

Does Garvaghy Road not ring a bell with ya
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 09, 2010, 04:09:24 PM
You even cross the road between the lodges and bands and they will rip you a new one!
Post by: delboy on March 09, 2010, 04:14:13 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 09, 2010, 04:09:24 PM
You even cross the road between the lodges and bands and they will rip you a new one!

Rubbish, lots of people scoot back and forth in between bands/lodges, however they don't take kindly to you actually walking through the ranks, that might get you a tap with a blackthorn.
Post by: Hereiam on March 09, 2010, 04:17:51 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 09, 2010, 04:05:48 PM
Indeed it does and the rest of us should have seized the opportunity after that to rid the towns of this show of strength during the summer months.
Post by: illdecide on March 09, 2010, 04:24:33 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on March 09, 2010, 04:17:51 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 09, 2010, 04:05:48 PM
Indeed it does and the rest of us should have seized the opportunity after that to rid the towns of this show of strength during the summer months.

It could only be done in big towns or Cities as the small villages are normally out numbered and would be burned out for it or even worse. OO were stopped from Marching down 2 different routes/roads in Lurgan a few years back
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 09, 2010, 04:29:49 PM
Quote from: delboy on March 09, 2010, 04:14:13 PM

Rubbish, lots of people scoot back and forth in between bands/lodges, however they don't take kindly to you actually walking through the ranks, that might get you a tap with a blackthorn.
which is assault by the way !!
but maybe unintentionally you portray this act as a 'jolly jape' !
Post by: Hereiam on March 09, 2010, 04:33:37 PM
Just puttin it out there, but why do we let this happen? As a nationalist community who aren't that far out numbered we just sit back and do nothing. I now it sounds riduculous but what is needed is a strong voice on our side who can shout at these people and but the fear of god into them
Post by: fitzroyalty on March 09, 2010, 04:42:04 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on March 09, 2010, 04:33:37 PM
Just puttin it out there, but why do we let this happen? As a nationalist community who aren't that far out numbered we just sit back and do nothing. I now it sounds riduculous but what is needed is a strong voice on our side who can shout at these people and but the fear of god into them
Depends, many people are happy enough for orange parades to happen as long as they don't impinge on their own lives. It is the minority of contentious parades that need to be addressed. What I think is more important is addressing the mindset of the OO, this notion that they have the right to march wheve ever they want needs to be put to bed.
Post by: orangeman on March 09, 2010, 05:08:32 PM
Let them go where they want. It's no big deal anymore.

There's worse things happening in Northern Ireland and there's not a word about them.
Post by: tyssam5 on March 09, 2010, 05:25:25 PM
As long as it's seen as a privilege and not an immutable right, then I would let them have their stroll once a year.

That is coming from a town where they are very much the minority though, so the power relationship is a wee bit different.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 09, 2010, 07:59:00 PM
I'm proud and happy to say that the nearest OO lodge to me are legally not permitted to march through my town. They tried it once about 50 years ago under the cover of night, attacking houses as they entered the town. Unfortunately for them, a dance was on that night and the hall emptied onto the street on hearing the noise. The result was that the brave OO got seventeen shades of sh1te bate out of them and were ordered by court after to never march in the town again.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on March 09, 2010, 08:12:31 PM
I've lived in Newry (90% nationalist) and Lurgan (roughly 50/50).

In Newry, at least in the 80s, OO parades were a novelty and we went down and watched them out of curioristy.

In Lurgan, they get marching down the main street, and have got down the main throughfare to the train station, with many stand-offs, violence, triumphalism and an undercurrent of tension. 

To me, it shows why they continue to march in areas where they cause controversy.
Post by: new devil on March 09, 2010, 08:16:38 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 09, 2010, 07:59:00 PM
I'm proud and happy to say that the nearest OO lodge to me are legally not permitted to march through my town. They tried it once about 50 years ago under the cover of night, attacking houses as they entered the town. Unfortunately for them, a dance was on that night and the hall emptied onto the street on hearing the noise. The result was that the brave OO got seventeen shades of sh1te bate out of them and were ordered by court after to never march in the town again.

Only in carmen  :P
Post by: Capt Pat on March 09, 2010, 08:20:32 PM
Well we stopped their parade down here in Dublin, are yee all gone soft up there or what lads? :P
Post by: Maguire01 on March 09, 2010, 08:26:28 PM
Let them parade away where there's no disputes. What's the harm?
Post by: Harold Disgracey on March 09, 2010, 08:38:23 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 09, 2010, 08:26:28 PM

Aye let them march away in Cross, there are no contentious parades there.
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 09, 2010, 08:40:11 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on March 09, 2010, 08:20:32 PM
Well we stopped their parade down here in Dublin, are yee all gone soft up there or what lads? :P

That's the day youse looted the shops for Ireland... well done boys  8)
Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 09, 2010, 09:54:06 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on March 09, 2010, 04:33:37 PM

Maura Harrington
Post by: ziggysego on March 09, 2010, 10:41:51 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on March 09, 2010, 08:20:32 PM

You just let the Love Ulster boyos march, eh Capt Pat ;)
Post by: delboy on March 09, 2010, 11:02:59 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 09, 2010, 04:29:49 PM

Indeed it would but then what sort of ignoramus would walk through the ranks anyway, i certainly wouldn't look at a hiberan parade and think it would be fine to march across the road through the ranks.
Post by: boojangles on March 09, 2010, 11:04:30 PM
Quote from: delboy on March 09, 2010, 11:02:59 PM

Indeed it would but then what sort of ignoramus would walk through the ranks anyway, i certainly wouldn't look at a hiberan parade and think it would be fine to march across the road through the ranks.

A What?
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 09, 2010, 11:16:44 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 09, 2010, 11:12:19 PM
Quote from: boojangles on March 09, 2010, 11:04:30 PM

A What?
Ok, he spelt it wrong, give him a break ffs.

What he means is, would you cross over the top of loads of squirrels as they headed to their den for a month's break?

They'd go feckin nuts.
You're getting worse.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 09, 2010, 11:18:26 PM

Years ago I happened to be in Newry on Black Sunday and was in a rush so ran across the road when the Black were parading, some red-faced gorilla with a blackthorn attempted to decapitate me but I was too quick for him
Post by: ziggysego on March 10, 2010, 12:08:08 AM
I once went into Omagh for a few drinks. Unbeknown to me, the OO were marching. The look of terror on my face, had the police laughing. They knew I felt like I was gonna get my head kicked in. So they sneaked me into Bogan's. That scared me too. The look of anger of me coming in, they thought I was out watching the parade.

Ah, ya can't win.
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 10, 2010, 09:52:42 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 09, 2010, 07:59:00 PM
also assault and a 'jolly jape' it seems !
Post by: johnneycool on March 10, 2010, 10:17:25 AM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 09, 2010, 11:18:26 PM

Years ago I happened to be in Newry on Black Sunday and was in a rush so ran across the road when the Black were parading, some red-faced gorilla with a blackthorn attempted to decapitate me but I was too quick for him

I always thought that Black saturday, the last saturday in August was the end of the marching season, but it seems to have been extended recently, was I wrong?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 10, 2010, 10:17:48 AM

What about the case of the woman (nearly sure she was pregnant as well) getting attacked while crossing the road in front of City Hall?
Post by: Wee Roddy on March 10, 2010, 10:33:12 AM
That story about the OO trying to March under the cover of night in Carmen is true. There is actually a song written about it called "The boul Sam Colhoun". The question has to be asked is where an under god were they going with 100 men into one of the most Republican area in Tyrone. It just goes to should that they think it is their right and not a privilege and things haven't changed in the 60 or so years since.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on March 10, 2010, 10:39:47 AM
Roddy or Nally, was Paisley along with the boul Sam that night? Or was his name just brought up in the song.  Nally Stand should write out a few verses for us, i cant remember it all.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 10, 2010, 10:54:40 AM
Doubt very much if paisley was there. I'd say he wouldn't have had the balls and probably wouldn't have got out alive! Is that the same song as was in an old edition of An Tearman? I'll have a hoke for it in a few weeks wen I'm about home. I remember a few lines about Jack Kettle etc up in court over it. A fine piece of work!
Post by: delboy on March 10, 2010, 11:00:56 AM
Quote from: Wee Roddy on March 10, 2010, 10:33:12 AM
That story about the OO trying to March under the cover of night in Carmen is true. There is actually a song written about it called "The boul Sam Colhoun". The question has to be asked is where an under god were they going with 100 men into one of the most Republican area in Tyrone. It just goes to should that they think it is their right and not a privilege and things haven't changed in the 60 or so years since.

Surely thats out of character for nationalists/republicans to write a song about a time they actually won a fight, much better to stick to the usual and write laments about the time they got the shite kicked out of them  ;)
Post by: Hardy on March 10, 2010, 11:02:48 AM
Apostrophe abuse alert.  Questionable sentence construction.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on March 10, 2010, 11:10:08 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 10, 2010, 10:54:40 AM
Doubt very much if paisley was there. I'd say he wouldn't have had the balls and probably wouldn't have got out alive! Is that the same song as was in an old edition of An Tearman? I'll have a hoke for it in a few weeks wen I'm about home. I remember a few lines about Jack Kettle etc up in court over it. A fine piece of work!

I think your right about it being in An Tearman.  Few lads around here would enjoy it!
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 10, 2010, 11:36:20 AM

well walking through the ranks of a parade is plain stupid

however imo ALL parades should be banned - including st Patricks day ones etc - as it is obvious that the current mindsets in the north of Ireland cannot rise above childish tit for tat one upmanship.
that would stop all talk about things being 'contentious' !
Post by: delboy on March 10, 2010, 11:48:13 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 10, 2010, 11:36:20 AM

well walking through the ranks of a parade is plain stupid

however imo ALL parades should be banned - including st Patricks day ones etc - as it is obvious that the current mindsets in the north of Ireland cannot rise above childish tit for tat one upmanship.
that would stop all talk about things being 'contentious' !

I'll be honest and say i think there is far to many of them, and i don't think any town be it unionist or nationalist should be subjected to any more than one parade a year, they are an expression of culture but they are also a major ballache for the average person.

Oh and im a firm beliver that if you aren't wanted in an area then you shouldn't be there.
Post by: Hereiam on March 10, 2010, 12:04:59 PM
I like dellboy
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 10, 2010, 06:56:06 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 10, 2010, 11:02:48 AM
Apostrophe abuse alert.  Questionable sentence construction.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 10, 2010, 07:17:16 PM
And many's a lad would find it offensive, politically incorrect etc etc etc stateside! I'll stick it up in a few weeks anyway ;-)
Post by: Trevor Hill on March 12, 2010, 04:48:56 PM
Wolf Tones music at Orange march sees driver fined

Playing Irish rebel music as he passed an Orange parade has landed a Londonderry motorist a suspended three-month prison sentence and a £250 fine.

Sean Johnston, 27, of Holymount Park, admitted behaviour likely to cause a breach of the peace and disorderly behaviour on 13 July last year.

He was arrested after driving past parade supporters on Spencer Road, while loudly playing Wolfe Tones music.

District Judge Barney McElholm said it was a "seriously stupid action".

He said that if there was such a thing as "a good time and good place" to play music by the Wolfe Tones, it was not during Orange Order parades.

Formed in 1963 the Dublin band are named in honour of Theobald Wolfe Tone, one of the leaders of the 1798 United Irishmen rebellion.

In 2002 their recording of A Nation Once Again, written in the 1840s in support of the fight to end British rule in Ireland, topped a BBC World Service poll as the world's favourite.

Other releases by the group include Rifles of the IRA and Up the Rebels.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/8565067.stm
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 12, 2010, 05:45:21 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on March 12, 2010, 04:48:56 PM

Playing Irish rebel music as he passed an Orange parade has landed a Londonderry motorist a suspended three-month prison sentence and a £250 fine.

Sean Johnston, 27, of Holymount Park, admitted behaviour likely to cause a breach of the peace and disorderly behaviour on 13 July last year.

He was arrested after driving past parade supporters on Spencer Road, while loudly playing Wolfe Tones music.

He said that if there was such a thing as "a good time and good place" to play music by the Wolfe Tones, it was not during Orange Order parades.

Formed in 1963 the Dublin band are named in honour of Theobald Wolfe Tone, one of the leaders of the 1798 United Irishmen rebellion.

In 2002 their recording of A Nation Once Again, written in the 1840s in support of the fight to end British rule in Ireland, topped a BBC World Service poll as the world's favourite.

What an utter moron
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 12, 2010, 11:50:42 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 12, 2010, 05:45:21 PM

What an utter moron

What, I sit in the car every day and have to endure that awful gangsta rap shit, I don't like it, but does that mean that the pasty white spide driving the car deserves a suspended three-month prison sentence and a £250 fine?

Behave, what he did may have been unwise, but FFS to be done for it!

Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 12, 2010, 11:51:35 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 10, 2010, 10:17:48 AM

What about the case of the woman (nearly sure she was pregnant as well) getting attacked while crossing the road in front of City Hall?

Well Delboy?
Post by: The Watcher Pat on March 12, 2010, 11:58:18 PM
Stood myself with 2 other guys outside Celtic Club in Lurgan. The day after the 2 children were burnt in beds. Stood with about 10 peelers around me and my uncle and mate but managed to hold a 15ft pole with a black flag hanging over them as they marched down towards the train...Scum!  The OO are responsible for some deaths in this country....
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 12, 2010, 11:58:46 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 12, 2010, 11:50:42 PM

What an utter moron

What, I sit in the car every day and have to endure that awful gangsta rap shit, I don't like it, but does that mean that the pasty white spide driving the car deserves a suspended three-month prison sentence and a £250 fine?

He deserved the fine but the suspended jail sentence was a bit OTT. If a loyalist did the same with his songs near a nationalist paarde would be the same... he must be a gobshite.
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 12, 2010, 11:59:40 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on March 12, 2010, 11:58:18 PM
Stood myself with 2 other guys outside Celtic Club in Lurgan. The day after the 2 children were burnt in beds. Stood with about 10 peelers around me and my uncle and mate but managed to hold a 15ft pole with a black flag hanging over them as they marched down towards the train...Scum!  The OO are responsible for some deaths in this country....

Was it not three children... the Quinns... and the b*****ds still marched down the lower Ormeau Road the next day... the Walk of Shame, the local residents called it. 
Post by: The Watcher Pat on March 13, 2010, 12:02:50 AM

Let them march with no PSNI/RUC protecting them..... See how many wants to march then!
Post by: The Watcher Pat on March 13, 2010, 12:07:03 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 12, 2010, 11:59:40 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on March 12, 2010, 11:58:18 PM

Was it not three children... the Quinns... and the b*****ds still marched down the lower Ormeau Road the next day... the Walk of Shame, the local residents called it.

Correct..shameless...Think they are doing nothing wrong...used to walk past the Celtic Club in slow motion playing the sash!!  About 150 police protecting them...Complete joke the money wasted to let some one flaunt their religion in public....If i done it in work i would be sacked!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 13, 2010, 12:16:31 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 12, 2010, 11:58:46 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 12, 2010, 11:50:42 PM

What an utter moron

He deserved the fine but the suspended jail sentence was a bit OTT. If a loyalist did the same with his songs near a nationalist paarde would be the same... he must be a gobshite.

So I've heard cars playing "flute tunes" on both the Ormeau and Antrim rds, should they not be fined also?
The other thing is, we don't know the details of this man's indisgrision, how close was he, how long was he in their earshot (or was it just a peeler heard him?), also which song was being played at the time, "Quare things in Dublin", "The man from Mullingar" or "The Streets of New York"?
Post by: The Watcher Pat on March 13, 2010, 12:30:04 AM
Me and my mate were stuck between 2 bands other side of Lurgan...He's a bit crazy and would have got out to fight if anyone had have hit his car...So what does he do!! put's on Eire OG!! The Marshall standing beside the war memorial could hardly get outta the way fast enuf by the time we got down there...By the way if any one had have threw a btl at Zola's car he probably would have got out there and then...Leaving me to shit my self in his car!
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 13, 2010, 09:36:29 AM
GDA yer man "admitted behaviour likely to cause a breach of the peace and disorderly behaviour on 13 July last year. "

Seriously, you have to be an utter moron to do what he did.  He's lucky he got away so leniently, my guess is that it was part of the deal that he admitted it
Post by: fitzroyalty on March 13, 2010, 11:49:03 AM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on March 13, 2010, 12:30:04 AM
Me and my mate were stuck between 2 bands other side of Lurgan...He's a bit crazy and would have got out to fight if anyone had have hit his car...So what does he do!! put's on Eire OG!! The Marshall standing beside the war memorial could hardly get outta the way fast enuf by the time we got down there...By the way if any one had have threw a btl at Zola's car he probably would have got out there and then...Leaving me to shit my self in his car!
He'd prob take them all on...and win  :D
Post by: balladmaker on March 13, 2010, 12:44:40 PM
QuoteSeriously, you have to be an utter moron to do what he did.  He's lucky he got away so leniently, my guess is that it was part of the deal that he admitted it

Harsh in the extreme.  Surely the presence of the Orange Order on the street was a threatened breach of the peace in itself.  As for the Judges comments when summing up his decision, do Judges have complete immunity when speaking in court?

Quotebut does that mean that the pasty white spide driving the car

A bit of a generic statement there, I'd say there are many cars all over Ireland, driven by decent people, many on this board, which currently has a Wolfe Tones CD playing at present.  Are they all pasty white spides?  Catch a grip ffs.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 13, 2010, 12:50:40 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on March 13, 2010, 12:44:40 PM
QuoteSeriously, you have to be an utter moron to do what he did.  He's lucky he got away so leniently, my guess is that it was part of the deal that he admitted it

Harsh in the extreme.  Surely the presence of the Orange Order on the street was a threatened breach of the peace in itself.  As for the Judges comments when summing up his decision, do Judges have complete immunity when speaking in court?
I think they do yeah.

An idiot for what he done but the 2 year suspended sentence is joke and you can be assured if it was the other way around there would be no arrest or anything else.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 13, 2010, 12:55:40 PM

Quotebut does that mean that the pasty white spide driving the car

A bit of a generic statement there, I'd say there are many cars all over Ireland, driven by decent people, many on this board, which currently has a Wolfe Tones CD playing at present.  Are they all pasty white spides?  Catch a grip ffs.

Balladmaker, read what I said, I was talking about "gangsta rap", and yes a generalisation, but the majority of drivers I see/hear playing that music are pasty white spides.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on March 13, 2010, 01:32:43 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on March 13, 2010, 11:49:03 AM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on March 13, 2010, 12:30:04 AM
He'd prob take them all on...and win  :D

You know him then? lol
Post by: Maguire01 on March 13, 2010, 01:55:02 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 13, 2010, 12:50:40 PM

I think they do yeah.

An idiot for what he done but the 2 year suspended sentence is joke and you can be assured if it was the other way around there would be no arrest or anything else.
It was 3 months suspended!

And there's more to it than just playing the music. According to today's Irish News, the police indicated to the driver to stop, but he laughed and drove on. When he was stopped further on up the road he became abusive and then resisted arrest. Now that's looking a bit closer to a 3 month suspended sentence.

As for the judge's comments:
"it was a forlorn hope to think that anyone who goes around playing the Wolfe Tones all day could ever have sense talked into them as their senses had probably been hammered into submission"

But the best quote is at the end of the article from a Sinn Fein Councillor:
"People should have a right to express their culture"
In case anyone's confused, (I think) she was talking about the defendant. Classic.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 13, 2010, 02:03:23 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on March 13, 2010, 12:02:50 AM

Let them march with no PSNI/RUC protecting them..... See how many wants to march then!
I said "where there's no disputes" - i.e. let them march away in their own areas, where there's no need for protection because nobody is opposing them.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 13, 2010, 03:12:39 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 13, 2010, 01:55:02 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 13, 2010, 12:50:40 PM

I think they do yeah.

It was 3 months suspended!

And there's more to it than just playing the music. According to today's Irish News, the police indicated to the driver to stop, but he laughed and drove on. When he was stopped further on up the road he became abusive and then resisted arrest. Now that's looking a bit closer to a 3 month suspended sentence.

As for the judge's comments:
"it was a forlorn hope to think that anyone who goes around playing the Wolfe Tones all day could ever have sense talked into them as their senses had probably been hammered into submission"

But the best quote is at the end of the article from a Sinn Fein Councillor:
"People should have a right to express their culture"
In case anyone's confused, (I think) she was talking about the defendant. Classic.
Oh I dont know where I picked up 2 years from, must have read it wrong but 3 months suspended is still a joke.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on September 22, 2010, 07:21:43 PM
I thought this was the most appropriate thread for this http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-11387169 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-11387169)
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on September 22, 2010, 09:49:03 PM
A 3 month suspended sentence is a bit much -

I could understand it if he was caught listening to Hugo Duncan...