Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: magickingdom on February 26, 2010, 10:06:50 PM

Title: Cuban Political Prisoner dies on Hunger Strike
Post by: magickingdom on February 26, 2010, 10:06:50 PM
from yesterdays irish times, not that long ago it was going on here. may he rest in peace. very little coverage in the news in ireland but at least he got a mention

A CUBAN political prisoner died on Tuesday after 83 days on hunger strike in protest at his treatment in jail.

Orlando Zapata Tamayo, a 42-year-old plumber, died in a military hospital in the capital Havana, according to his family.

Considered a prisoner of conscience by Amnesty International, he was jailed for demanding the release of another dissident and is the first political prisoner to starve himself to death on the communist island since 1972.

Zapata's mother said her son's death was "premeditated murder" by the Cuban authorities.

In an interview with Miami's El Nuevo Herald newspaper Reina Luisa Tamayo said: "They managed to do what they wanted. They ended the life of a fighter for human rights."

Cuban President Raúl Castro has expressed regret about the death and said he was not tortured or executed because neither practice existed in Cuba, according to a state-run website.

Cuba's regime customarily refers to political prisoners as agents of the United States. Since the communist revolution in 1959, the island's government has suppressed all political opposition to its rule.

Zapata was arrested in a crackdown on dissidents in 2003. Initially sentenced to three years in prison for disrespecting the regime, by May of last year his term had been increased to 36 years following a series of clashes with prison authorities, according to Amnesty.

During his detention he was convicted of "disorder in a penal establishment" and among other acts his refusal to wear a prison uniform, claiming as a political prisoner he would not dress as a common criminal.

His mother said Zapata was "skin and bones, his stomach is just a hole" and his back was "tattooed with blows" by the time he was transferred to a military hospital on February 17th.

Amnesty says there are 55 prisoners of conscience in Cuba and that repression has increased in recent months.

"We have seen an increasing number of arrests, detentions and harassment in Cuba. There is ongoing intimidation of human rights activists," says Gerardo Ducos, Cuba researcher at Amnesty International.

Some 50-jailed dissidents have sent an open letter to Brazil's President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva pleading for him to intercede on their behalf.

President Lula was due to meet Fidel and Raul Castro yesterday as part of his three-day trip to the island.

Title: Re: Cuban Political Prisoner dies on Hunger Strike
Post by: Tyrones own on February 27, 2010, 03:53:16 AM
Quote from: magickingdom on February 26, 2010, 10:06:50 PM
from yesterdays irish times, not that long ago it was going on here. may he rest in peace. very little coverage in the news in ireland but at least he got a mention

A CUBAN political prisoner died on Tuesday after 83 days on hunger strike in protest at his treatment in jail.

Orlando Zapata Tamayo, a 42-year-old plumber, died in a military hospital in the capital Havana, according to his family.

Considered a prisoner of conscience by Amnesty International, he was jailed for demanding the release of another dissident and is the first political prisoner to starve himself to death on the communist island since 1972.

Zapata's mother said her son's death was "premeditated murder" by the Cuban authorities.

In an interview with Miami's El Nuevo Herald newspaper Reina Luisa Tamayo said: "They managed to do what they wanted. They ended the life of a fighter for human rights."

Cuban President Raúl Castro has expressed regret about the death and said he was not tortured or executed because neither practice existed in Cuba, according to a state-run website.

Cuba's regime customarily refers to political prisoners as agents of the United States. Since the communist revolution in 1959, the island's government has suppressed all political opposition to its rule.

Zapata was arrested in a crackdown on dissidents in 2003. Initially sentenced to three years in prison for disrespecting the regime, by May of last year his term had been increased to 36 years following a series of clashes with prison authorities, according to Amnesty.

During his detention he was convicted of "disorder in a penal establishment" and among other acts his refusal to wear a prison uniform, claiming as a political prisoner he would not dress as a common criminal.

His mother said Zapata was "skin and bones, his stomach is just a hole" and his back was "tattooed with blows" by the time he was transferred to a military hospital on February 17th.

Amnesty says there are 55 prisoners of conscience in Cuba and that repression has increased in recent months.

"We have seen an increasing number of arrests, detentions and harassment in Cuba. There is ongoing intimidation of human rights activists," says Gerardo Ducos, Cuba researcher at Amnesty International.

Some 50-jailed dissidents have sent an open letter to Brazil's President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva pleading for him to intercede on their behalf.

President Lula was due to meet Fidel and Raul Castro yesterday as part of his three-day trip to the island.

It's funny the high grounders here are fierce quiet on this atrocity, but then again,
it did happen in Marxist Cuba.... so that's alright then I suppose ::)

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 27, 2010, 07:17:54 AM
A sure Cuba is the Marxist paradise we should all aspire to emulate.
Post by: deiseach on February 27, 2010, 11:59:14 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on February 27, 2010, 03:53:16 AM
It's funny the high grounders here are fierce quiet on this atrocity, but then again,

I hate to agree with you, but I agree with you. Cuba is a repressive police state. Anyone who says otherwise, or tries to blame the United States for it, is living in cloud-cuckoo land
Post by: Rossfan on February 27, 2010, 10:44:50 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 27, 2010, 07:17:54 AM

It would remind you of Mayo  :D
Post by: muppet on February 27, 2010, 11:11:01 PM
Quote from: deiseach on February 27, 2010, 11:59:14 AM

I hate to agree with you, but I agree with you. Cuba is a repressive police state. Anyone who says otherwise, or tries to blame the United States for it, is living in cloud-cuckoo land

It certainly is.

But if the hunger striker was on another part of Cuba, oh say Guantanamo, he would be force fed. He wouldn't even be allowed to hunger strike.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on February 27, 2010, 11:15:12 PM

I don't think it's quite as simple as that.  From what I know, their health system is second to none.  I agree that Cuba has human rights issues it needs to address, although I don't think there is a country which hasn't room for improvement in terms of human rights issues though, US & UK included
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 27, 2010, 11:16:25 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 27, 2010, 10:44:50 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 27, 2010, 07:17:54 AM

It would remind you of Mayo  :D

And they wonder why the Mayo lads have a go at ye every time your football team gets slaughtered, yet again.  ::)
Post by: deiseach on February 28, 2010, 09:34:43 AM
It's typical of the blinkers some people have regarding Cuba that the stock response is to point out the sins of the United States. Clearly two wrongs do make a right
Post by: Massey-135 on February 28, 2010, 09:35:57 AM

Maybe people are quiet because it's only half 9 in the morning here, we were all fast asleep in our beds when you were making that smartass comment. Personally, I've never heaped much praise on Cuba, it is an oppressive state and there's no two ways about it. Terrible situation and it's a wonder there hasn't been more coverage of this in the press, most outlets are more concerned with Wayne Bridge not shaking John Terry's hand. As regards Cuba having a great healthcare system, we're always told this but I seem to remember a part in Michael Moore's documentary Sicko where it showed the USA's ranking in health systems and it was 31 or something, and Cuba was one place below it at 32. So not sure if it's that great, not an expert on it by any means though
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 28, 2010, 09:39:18 AM

I know the folk you are trying to stir but it is difficult when you have 2 sacred cows clashing.

Did someone mention their health system yet?

/Jim.

EDIT:  I see it has been mentioned.
Post by: muppet on February 28, 2010, 03:45:43 PM
Quote from: deiseach on February 28, 2010, 09:34:43 AM
It's typical of the blinkers some people have regarding Cuba that the stock response is to point out the sins of the United States. Clearly two wrongs do make a right

Discussing Cuba without mentioning the USA would be like discussing Irish history without mentioning Britain. Now that would be blinkered.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on February 28, 2010, 03:57:25 PM
Quote from: Massey-135 on February 28, 2010, 09:35:57 AM

Maybe people are quiet because it's only half 9 in the morning here, we were all fast asleep in our beds when you were making that smartass comment. Personally, I've never heaped much praise on Cuba, it is an oppressive state and there's no two ways about it. Terrible situation and it's a wonder there hasn't been more coverage of this in the press, most outlets are more concerned with Wayne Bridge not shaking John Terry's hand. As regards Cuba having a great healthcare system, we're always told this but I seem to remember a part in Michael Moore's documentary Sicko where it showed the USA's ranking in health systems and it was 31 or something, and Cuba was one place below it at 32. So not sure if it's that great, not an expert on it by any means though
I was quoting someone I know who has visited there for 6 months, he says they have a cure for meningitis but due to the embargo they can't get it out to the rest of the world.  I am no expert though the fella who told me has no reason to lie about it
Post by: magickingdom on February 28, 2010, 04:11:34 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on February 28, 2010, 03:57:25 PM

I was quoting someone I know who has visited there for 6 months, he says they have a cure for meningitis but due to the embargo they can't get it out to the rest of the world.  I am no expert though the fella who told me has no reason to lie about it

how exciting is that? maybe they could mail it to someone.
Post by: magickingdom on February 28, 2010, 04:14:18 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 28, 2010, 03:45:43 PM

Discussing Cuba without mentioning the USA would be like discussing Irish history without mentioning Britain. Now that would be blinkered.

hardly, the US ignores/boycotts cuba. the brits have their fingers in a lot of pies in ireland
Post by: ardmhachaabu on February 28, 2010, 04:15:04 PM
If it's true it would potentially save a lot of lives
Post by: Zapatista on February 28, 2010, 05:08:43 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on February 28, 2010, 04:14:18 PM
hardly, the US ignores/boycotts cuba. the brits have their fingers in a lot of pies in ireland

Ignores and boycotts are very different things. The US don't ignore Cuba they actively try to distable it through the emarbgo and through sponsership of Cuban resistance to the Cuban administration.

It's sad when a man must go to such lenghts to highlight his case. It's sad too when it's ignored or misrepresented.

Post by: muppet on February 28, 2010, 07:05:24 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on February 28, 2010, 04:14:18 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 28, 2010, 03:45:43 PM

And that is your argument?  ::)

What about Guantanamo Pie or Bay of Pigs pie?
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 28, 2010, 07:15:07 PM

It's hardly North Korea. The thousands of foreign visitors every year might seem an obvious conduit.
Post by: Ulick on February 28, 2010, 07:24:42 PM

Erm the US is the richest country in the world and it's only 31st. Cuban on the other hand is one of the poorest, has had an embargo placed around it by the richest, and is 32nd out of 200 (the best in the southern hemisphere). You're barking up the wrong tree with that line.   
Post by: Tyrones own on February 28, 2010, 08:17:45 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 27, 2010, 11:11:01 PM

It certainly is.

But if the hunger striker was on another part of Cuba, oh say Guantanamo, he would be force fed. He wouldn't even be allowed to hunger strike.

Now I know nothing would make you happier if that were to be the case but ehhh...nope, not this this time, sorry :'(
but sure don't let that get in the way of another of your hateful, typically spineless and pathetic rants.

By the way, I was forwarded  a personal message that had been doing the rounds recently of the primary school playground
in an embarrassing collaborating effort amongst yourselves in an attempt to collectively snub me on here...
:D :D :D Feck it I cant begin to tell ye how out and out face palm type childish and immature this is :D :D :D

Un f**king believable the depths ye daisy chain makers will plunge to gain a footing on the anti US, anti Religion
anti Democracy, anti anything and anybody that doesn't toe the bleeding heart progressive liberal, anti establishment view point ::)

Thought I was more isolated here than I am, didn't you muppet? ye have a mole in the ranks :D

Tell us, do you have to work hard to be as hateful a human being or was it bred in to ye?
Post by: Zapatista on February 28, 2010, 09:06:43 PM
Another good thread ruined.
Post by: Bensars on February 28, 2010, 09:30:50 PM

Not a chance. Do you realise how much this would be worth to the multnational pharmaceuticals ?  I did a dissertation on competitive intelligence many years ago and once you start researching it, you wouldn't believe the length some of these companies will stoop to gain a competitive intelligence. If indeed there there was a cure you can be guaranteed it would be out of there by some means before Fidel could say viva la revolution !
Post by: ardmhachaabu on February 28, 2010, 09:38:25 PM
Quote from: Bensars on February 28, 2010, 09:30:50 PM

Not a chance. Do you realise how much this would be worth to the multnational pharmaceuticals ?  I did a dissertation on competitive intelligence many years ago and once you start researching it, you wouldn't believe the length some of these companies will stoop to gain a competitive intelligence. If indeed there there was a cure you can be guaranteed it would be out of there by some means before Fidel could say viva la revolution !
Bensars, I was only going by what someone told me.  Anyway, I don't think it's that simple
Post by: muppet on February 28, 2010, 09:53:27 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on February 28, 2010, 08:17:45 PM

It certainly is.

Now I know nothing would make you happier if that were to be the case but ehhh...nope, not this this time, sorry :'(
but sure don't let that get in the way of another of your hateful, typically spineless and pathetic rants.

By the way, I was forwarded  a personal message that had been doing the rounds recently of the primary school playground
in an embarrassing collaborating effort amongst yourselves in an attempt to collectively snub me on here...
:D :D :D Feck it I cant begin to tell ye how out and out face palm type childish and immature this is :D :D :D

Un f**king believable the depths ye daisy chain makers will plunge to gain a footing on the anti US, anti Religion
anti Democracy, anti anything and anybody that doesn't toe the bleeding heart progressive liberal, anti establishment view point ::)

Thought I was more isolated here than I am, didn't you muppet? ye have a mole in the ranks :D

Tell us, do you have to work hard to be as hateful a human being or was it bred in to ye?

Just for clarity, can I whittle that rant down to this, are you saying that the USA did not force feed prisoners in Guantanamo?
Post by: Tyrones own on March 01, 2010, 05:31:35 AM
Clarity :D...sure FFS you'd have to remove the blinkers before taking it upon yourself to chastise anyone on Clarity!
Again... my point was, you would have been whacking us for day's with that big stick had this fella died under the US's watch rather than in a military
hospital in Havana but then you knew that's what I was going at...  yet not a peep on human rights or anything else for that matter other than yet another
cowardly cheap shot at resurrecting Gitmo which has absolutely no connection to this particular story whatsoever  ::)

Did you happen to figure out who sang like a canary from your little daisy chain inner circle yet ?
Fcuk I'd honestly go into hiding if I was busted at something as cringe worthy and immature as that :-[
Post by: Ulick on March 01, 2010, 10:20:15 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on March 01, 2010, 05:31:35 AM
Again... my point was, you would have been whacking us for day's with that big stick had this fella died under the US's watch rather than in a military
hospital in Havana but then you knew that's what I was going at...  yet not a peep on human rights or anything else for that matter other than yet another
cowardly cheap shot at resurrecting Gitmo which has absolutely no connection to this particular story whatsoever  ::)

You had around 20000 people die in your prisons over the past five years and I haven't heard anyone mention it. You also have 5% of the worlds population but also 25% of the worlds prisoners. Unlike Cuba, the conditions in your prison system rank with the worst in the world, so I don't think you much to be criticising the Cubans about.
Post by: Massey-135 on March 01, 2010, 10:37:05 AM
Quote from: Ulick on February 28, 2010, 07:24:42 PM

Erm the US is the richest country in the world and it's only 31st. Cuban on the other hand is one of the poorest, has had an embargo placed around it by the richest, and is 32nd out of 200 (the best in the southern hemisphere). You're barking up the wrong tree with that line.

Aye, I know. I was just pointing it out. Surprised me a bit when I seen it
Post by: muppet on March 01, 2010, 06:14:38 PM
Clarity :D...sure FFS you'd have to remove the blinkers before taking it upon yourself to chastise anyone on Clarity!

Did you happen to figure out who sang like a canary from your little daisy chain inner circle yet ?
Fcuk I'd honestly go into hiding if I was busted at something as cringe worthy and immature as that :-[

It's in the same country ffs.

If you and MagicKingdom come on here patronising us on abuse of prisoners expect to have your hypocrisy highlighted. You see any abuse of prisoners is wrong, even if the USA is responsible. Geddit?
Post by: magickingdom on March 01, 2010, 06:44:26 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 01, 2010, 06:14:38 PM
Again... my point was, you would have been whacking us for day's with that big stick had this fella died under the USC's watch rather than in a military
cowardly cheap shot at resurrecting Git mo which has absolutely no connection to this particular story whatsoever  ::)

Funk I'd honestly go into hiding if I was busted at something as cringe worthy and immature as that :-[

It's in the same country ff.

If you and MagicKingdom come on here patronising us on abuse of prisoners expect to have your hypocrisy highlighted. You see any abuse of prisoners is wrong, even if the USA is responsible. Godot?

how was i patronising? and where is my hypocrisy? i simply posted an article on a hunger striker dying as it has happened in our own country. its not that forking hard to get your information right if your going to quote me - its printed right in front of you.
Post by: stew on March 01, 2010, 06:51:26 PM

It certainly is.

Bred into him is my guess.

Tyrones own, say it aint so, dont tell me muppet man has a traitor in his wee gang, I bet he near shat his panties when he found out that his little group had a mole in it.  :D :D :D

Some of these eejits have little to be doing, imagine trying to blackball a poster for their political leanings? grow the fcuk up bitches.
Post by: muppet on March 01, 2010, 06:51:47 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on March 01, 2010, 06:44:26 PM
Again... my point was, you would have been whacking us for day's with that big stick had this fella died under the USC's watch rather than in a military
cowardly cheap shot at resurrecting Git mo which has absolutely no connection to this particular story whatsoever  ::)

Funk I'd honestly go into hiding if I was busted at something as cringe worthy and immature as that :-[

If you and MagicKingdom come on here patronising us on abuse of prisoners expect to have your hypocrisy highlighted. You see any abuse of prisoners is wrong, even if the USA is responsible. Godot?

how was i patronising? and where is my hypocrisy? i simply posted an article on a hunger striker dying as it has happened in our own country. its not that forking hard to get your information right if your going to quote me - its printed right in front of you.

He died in Cuba! Get your own information right.

Your hypocrisy is in your blind defense of the actions of the US abroad while attacking their actions of their enemies even though they commit similar offenses. 
Post by: muppet on March 01, 2010, 06:59:27 PM
Quote from: stew on March 01, 2010, 06:51:26 PM

It certainly is.

Bred into him is my guess.

Tyrones own, say it aint so, dont tell me muppet man has a traitor in his wee gang, I bet he near shat his panties when he found out that his little group had a mole in it.  :D :D :D

Some of these eejits have little to be doing, imagine trying to blackball a poster for their political leanings? grow the fcuk up bitches.

So you have moved from straw man to blatent lies.

And I'd better admit it before the 3 geniuses announce it, yes I was on the grassy knoll. ::)

Post by: magickingdom on March 01, 2010, 07:07:08 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 01, 2010, 06:51:47 PM

Your hypocrisy is in your blind defense of the actions of the US abroad while attacking their actions of their enemies even though they commit similar offenses.

keep up will you, i know he died in cuba i posted that in the opening post. when i said it HAS happened in our country i was referring to bobby sands et al. 
Post by: muppet on March 01, 2010, 07:13:33 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on March 01, 2010, 07:07:08 PM

keep up will you, i know he died in cuba i posted that in the opening post. when i said it HAS happened in our country i was referring to bobby sands et al.

So you wanted this thread to be only about hunger striking prisoners which have no connection whatsoever to the USA? You really need to publish the rules if you expect people to follow them.
Post by: deiseach on March 01, 2010, 07:19:13 PM

Cuba engages in torture
United States engages in enhanced interrogation
Post by: muppet on March 01, 2010, 07:25:56 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 01, 2010, 07:19:13 PM

Cuba engages in torture
United States engages in enhanced interrogation

Both ignore the Geneva Convention.
Post by: magickingdom on March 01, 2010, 07:35:07 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 01, 2010, 07:13:33 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on March 01, 2010, 07:07:08 PM

So you wanted this thread to be only about hunger striking prisoners which have no connection whatsoever to the USA? You really need to publish the rules if you expect people to follow them.

no, i saw an article in the irish times about a cuban prisoner who starved himself to death and posted it primarily because we've had hunger strikers die in ireland and we know how traumatic it can be. good old uncle sam never entered my head, but he obviously entered yours tho. i wonder why?
Post by: Puckoon on March 01, 2010, 07:45:17 PM
Interestingly - It'd be nice to actually hear some opinions from you children here instead of entrenched arguments due to hating one side or the other.
Post by: boojangles on March 01, 2010, 10:27:53 PM
Man there is a whole lot of hatred going on. Although it sounds like fun. Maybe I should get me a GAABoard enemy.
I'm from Cavan. Any takers?
Post by: muppet on March 01, 2010, 10:30:38 PM
Quote from: boojangles on March 01, 2010, 10:27:53 PM
Man there is a whole lot of hatred going on. Although it sounds like fun. Maybe I should get me a GAABoard enemy.
I'm from Cavan. Any takers?

Bound to be a few boys from the revenue here.
Post by: muppet on March 01, 2010, 11:22:36 PM

It certainly is.

in an embarrassing collaborating effort amongst yourselves
in an attempt to collectively snub me on here...

You are a liar Tyrone's Own.

If you, as you ridiculously claim, have a PM from me trying to organise a snub then publish it.

By the way have you notice the idiocy of claiming that I organised a snub, and then I don't snub you or the other couple of NeoCon loons? Not very bright at all.  ::)
Post by: glens abu on March 08, 2010, 09:29:53 AM
Cuban Dies on Hunger Strike

Posted: 06 Mar 2010 01:13 AM PST

A debate has raged on many websites in relation to the death in a Cuban prison of a hunger striker on February 23rd last. Here is one example from the website of The World Association of International Studies (WAIS).

JOHN HEELAN: The Cuban dissident Orlando Zapata Tamayo has died in hospital as a result of his 85-day hunger strike. He started his strike as a protest against Cuban prison authorities refusing to allow him to wear white–a symbol of Cuban resistance.

Nearly 30 years ago, Bobby Sands, a Republican Irish dissident and member of the IRA, died from his hunger strike. He started his strike as a protest against Northern Irish prison authorities who insisted that he and his colleagues wear prison uniforms even though the latter claimed to be political prisoners (and Sands was an elected MP until Thatcher changed the law).

In December 2001, a memorial to Bobby Sands was unveiled in Havana, Cuba by the the IRA President, Gerry Adams, who was later greeted by Fidel Castro. Can we expect to see a similar memorial in Havana to Orlando Zapata Tomayo? If not, why not?

ALAIN de BENOIST replies: If I follow John's reasoning, the memorial to Bobby Sands having been unveiled in Havana, Orlando Zapata Tomayo's memorial should be erected in Ireland, not in Cuba! But I am afraid the comparison is not very significant. The great Bobby Sands was jailed for political reasons (I was extremely sad when he died). But, to my best knowledge, Orlando Zapata Tomayo, while being described since 2004 as a "prisoner of conscience" by Amnesty International, never had any political activities before his arrest. He was arrested several times for crimes without any political content. He mainly started his hunger strike to obtain a television and a cellular phone in his jail.

Anyway, Zapata Tamayo's death has been publicized all around the world as the death of a "victim of the Cuban dictatorship." The media does not give the same publicity to everything. The murder of Claudia Larissa Brizuela, member of the National Front of People's Resistance (FNRP), who was killed in Honduras on 24 February (one day after Zapata Tamayo's death), has not been publicized anywhere. The discovery, in last December, in a mass grave located in La Macarena (Colombia), of 2,000 bodies of trade unionists and peasant leaders murdered by paramilitary and special forces of the Colombian army was not publicised much either.

JOHN EIPPER (editor of  WAIS) comments: Alain's last point is unsettling for someone about to board a plane for Colombia. By the by, there won't be many WAIS postings tomorrow morning, as we must leave for the airport at 4:30 AM. When we're in Colombia (Cartagena, Santa Marta and Medellín), I'll see what I can find out about the murders at La Macarena.
Post by: Hardy on March 08, 2010, 09:54:01 AM
QuoteIn December 2001, a memorial to Bobby Sands was unveiled in Havana, Cuba by the the IRA President, Gerry Adams

Surely some mistake?
Post by: glens abu on March 08, 2010, 10:02:31 AM
Quote from: Hardy on March 08, 2010, 09:54:01 AM
QuoteIn December 2001, a memorial to Bobby Sands was unveiled in Havana, Cuba by the the IRA President, Gerry Adams

Surely some mistake?

:D :D I would think so
Post by: Zapatista on March 08, 2010, 10:06:26 AM
Quote from: glens abu on March 08, 2010, 10:02:31 AM
Quote from: Hardy on March 08, 2010, 09:54:01 AM

Surely some mistake?

:D :D I would think so

Definitely a mistake. He wasn't never the president of the IRA he was President of SF. He was second in command of the IRA ;)