GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Hound on February 08, 2007, 09:16:43 AM

Title: Limerick v Dublin
Post by: Hound on February 08, 2007, 09:16:43 AM
the original thread appears to have been eaten, so we'll start again.

The game is on at 2pm on Saturday in the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick.

It'll be Limerick's first game of the NFL as their opening fixture was postponed.

Dublin's four midfielders, Whelan, Ryan, Magee and O'Mahoney are all carrying injuries, so thats an area Limerick may look to capitalise on. I understand that Whelan has all but been ruled out, Magee is 50/50, O'Mahoney should be ok, not sure about Ryan.

Ross McConnell's suspension is over and he played midfield for DCU in their hammering of UL yesterday. So he may come into contention for a place. Bernard Brogan also played in that game for DCU and notched 1-5. Paul Casey played at wing back, but no sign of Bryan Cullen.
Title: Re: Limerick v Dublin
Post by: mannix on February 08, 2007, 04:18:52 PM
Infact the original thread was not eaten at all, it was fouled by the dublin midfield and had to go off injured.Luckily there is a second half and thats where dublin usually fall, after pillar does some of his "magical substituions".
Post by: tayto on February 08, 2007, 05:23:22 PM

Good that Mcconnell is back, seem to be seriously short on options for the middle.

I'd go for the following:

Clluxton

Griffin - O'Shea - SoS

Casey - Cahill - Henry

-- Ryan - McConnell --

Connolly - Brogan - Cullen

B.Brogan - Keaney - Quinn

I know bonner and Dotsy have done well so far but I think Bonner and Keaney are both best at 14, maybe give bonner a run and bring on Keaney, and i think b.brogan deserves a run at this stage. I know cullen is our best CHB but i think he has the ability to kickstart the forwards and sweep up ball could be vital further forward and Cahill is very good at 6. also play Magee or O'Mahony if fit.
Post by: Gnevin on February 08, 2007, 05:49:20 PM
Isnt Ryan injured?
Post by: tayto on February 08, 2007, 06:46:30 PM
... oh ... shit ... is he? .... i was expecting all sorts of flack for suggesting moving Cullen ...
Post by: Hound on February 09, 2007, 07:38:04 AM
Two changes to the Dublin team, the vice captain replaces the captain and McConnell takes O'Mahoney's place at midfield:

S Cluxton

P Griffin, N O'Shea, D Henry
P Casey, B Cullen, G Brennan

D Magee, R McConnell

D Murray, A Brogan, D Connolly
D O'Callaghan, K Bonner, C Keaney

Subs: J Leonard, B Cahill, S Ryan, C Goggins, J Magee, C Moran, D O'Mahony, T Quinn, S O'Shaughnessy, D Lally, B Brogan, C Prendeville, P Burke.

....looking forward to my first visit to the Gaelic Grounds
Post by: tayto on February 09, 2007, 09:38:44 AM
Considering whos missing that's not a bad team, can;t make it to limerick, is it on the box at all?
Post by: Hound on February 09, 2007, 09:49:39 AM
I would have liked to see Bernard Brogan get a start - but given that he played for DCU in midweek and that he'll play for them again this week, its probably a sensible decision (although TBH I very much doubt thats the reason he wasnt picked, otherwise Casey would have got a rest!). In any event there's still five games left after this for BB to get chances, and Dotsie and Murray probably deserve another run.
Post by: tayto on February 09, 2007, 10:07:22 AM
exactly my thoughts on b.brogan, he seems to score well just about every time he lines out.
Post by: tayto on February 09, 2007, 05:11:54 PM
Where's the limerick football fans got to? ... shockin lack of banter on this thread ...  :-[
Post by: Gnevin on February 09, 2007, 05:12:57 PM
Quote from: tayto on February 09, 2007, 05:11:54 PM
Where's the limerick football fans got to? ... shockin lack of banter on this thread ...  :-[

Paper is saying this should be a cake walk, i'm worried now
Post by: tayto on February 09, 2007, 05:17:39 PM
What paper?
Post by: Gnevin on February 09, 2007, 05:32:38 PM
The Herald say

"Shannon cruiser for Dubs"
Post by: tayto on February 09, 2007, 06:12:26 PM
Should have known it was the heddald.
Post by: shark on February 09, 2007, 06:58:06 PM
Quote from: Hound on February 09, 2007, 07:38:04 AM
Two changes to the Dublin team, the vice captain replaces the captain and McConnell takes O'Mahoney's place at midfield:

S Cluxton

P Griffin, N O'Shea, D Henry
P Casey, B Cullen, G Brennan

D Magee, R McConnell

D Murray, A Brogan, D Connolly
D O'Callaghan, K Bonner, C Keaney

Subs: J Leonard, B Cahill, S Ryan, C Goggins, J Magee, C Moran, D O'Mahony, T Quinn, S O'Shaughnessy, D Lally, B Brogan, C Prendeville, P Burke.

....looking forward to my first visit to the Gaelic Grounds

Where has Donnacha Reilly gone to? Was starting a few games in the O'Byrne Cup.
Post by: tayto on February 09, 2007, 07:01:43 PM
Injured, hamstring aparently.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on February 10, 2007, 12:44:46 PM
sorry lads, but i think i am the only limerick supporter on this board,
Post by: Blue Boy on February 10, 2007, 02:45:53 PM
HT - Limerick 1-5 Dublin 0-9

Darren Horan with the Limerick goal.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 10, 2007, 03:28:30 PM
final score anyone?
Post by: INDIANA on February 10, 2007, 03:45:04 PM
dublin 0-14 limerick 1-10 - blessed
would be starting to get concerned now
Post by: theoriginalmup on February 10, 2007, 05:49:49 PM
Quinn scored a last minute 45
Post by: ciaran careys hurling arm on February 10, 2007, 08:16:22 PM
Hard luck to our footballers and well done for a performance that deserved more. The spirit and will to win that was displayed by the team was heartwarming and was much appreciated by the small band of supporters. It is not often you see a losing team clapped off the field after a league game.

We have a good spine but lack players who can create and take a score out of nothing. Dublin had a couple and together with Stephen Cluxton that was what won them the points. In goal chances it was 4 for Limerick, 1 for Dublin, with Cluxton making an excellent save in the first two minutes from a great Galvin run and a superb flying save late on to turn a goal-bound drive over the bar. Limerick were on top from 5 to 9 and with that same John Galvin leading from the front they had more than enough possession to secure the game. Johnny McCarthy once again showed his quality at full-back (how many players will you see catch Alan Brogan and beat him to the ball?). Just a pity that we wated the chances when they came. Nevertheless, onwards to the next day and another chance to get some points on the board.

Finally, I hope the Round Towers supporters whom we met in the bar afterards have a good night in Limerick. True blue fans and good craic.
Post by: Gnevin on February 11, 2007, 09:41:48 PM
Seriously poor attendance lads, from both set of supporters where was everyone ?
Post by: Canalman on February 11, 2007, 09:47:42 PM
Attendance was quoted in paper  today at 1,277.

Cue a plethora of Dub Bashing to follow from the usual suspects.My excuse was that we had hurling training.
Post by: Gnevin on February 11, 2007, 10:11:18 PM
Quote from: Canalman on February 11, 2007, 09:47:42 PM
Attendance was quoted in paper  today at 1,277.

Cue a plethora of Dub Bashing to follow from the usual suspects.My excuse was that we had hurling training.

1,277 is a shocking crowd i know the dubs where "expected" to win but still that's at most 400 dubs from the great 82,500 what turned up a week ago
Post by: Hound on February 12, 2007, 07:48:21 AM
I was there, and there was way more than 1277 fans there.

They must not have counted anyone who went through the "U16's are free" stiles, but still the figure is very suspect. It was a drizzly day so everyone headed to the Mackey Stand, the only covered area. Probably about 100 to 150 hard Dubs souls on the terrace. But a decent crowd in the Mackey Stand - I would have guessed between 4,000 and 5,000. A Limerick man beside me said "there are more Dubs here than Limerickmen" about 5 mins before throw-in, but by the time it started I'd say Limerick edged it.

Limerick had the better of possession in the first half (big Galvin the dominant force around the middle), but the Dubs took their scores better. Keaney and Brogan both hit brilliant points (which is about all that they did between them the whole game) and Dotsie got three nice points. Galvin though was almost unstoppable - twice Cluxton was forced to make good saves after runs by Galvin. And finally a goal came in similar circumstances, although it was lucky when it came, Galvin made the run, then seemed to drop the ball, but it fell to the full forward who poked it home from close-range - not undeserved at the same time.

Connolly went off injured just before half-time, it hadnt really been happening for him anyway, but he'll be a huge loss for the U21s this week if he misses out. Mossy Quinn came on and played really well.

In the second half, Dublin eventually got on top around the middle. Darren Magee was the dominant force at this time. But scores were a little bit harder to come by. Like in the first half, Dublin built up a 3 or 4 point lead, but Limerick pegged them back, only for Dublin to come again late-on to nick it. A couple of goal chances in this half, the Limerick keeper made a good save from Cullen (who had a very poor game) and Cluxton made a brilliant save with about 10 left.

Man of the match was Stephen Cluxton - so that probably tells you Dublin were a little fortunate to come away with the two points.

Baldy rebel Michael Collins was the ref and he was extremely fussy, his primary objective seemed to be to slow down the game at all costs.
Post by: Declan on February 12, 2007, 08:17:29 AM
Thanks for the report Hound. Sounds like we found it hard to get going after the hype of last week but a wins a win.
Post by: forkinknife on February 12, 2007, 02:43:54 PM
Yes a win is a win and I think we'll go on to win every other game in the league and meet Tyrone in the final when we'll not be needing the lights in April as the sun is closer to us then. A great victory over Limerick. They're not in Division 1 for nothing and an away win in this league is to be treasured and celebrated. Mossy Quinn  does the business aian when needed and if we had him last week well then maybe we'd be looking at 2 wins in a row and perhaps going the whole of 2007 unbeaten.
Post by: full back on February 12, 2007, 02:54:36 PM
Quote from: forkinknife on February 12, 2007, 02:43:54 PM
Mossy Quinn  does the business aian when needed and if we had him last week well then maybe we'd be looking at 2 wins in a row and perhaps going the whole of 2007 unbeaten.

Is this guy for real  :D :D :D
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 12, 2007, 03:06:21 PM
Quoteperhaps going the whole of 2007 unbeaten

There's are a couple of silver buckets resting happily in the Kingdom that the Jackeens will have to win before your prediction comes true. And we will be in no mood to give up either without a struggle.
Post by: forkinknife on February 12, 2007, 03:10:19 PM
This jackeen shit is really getting to me. Will you fcuk off with that. Where were you when it mattered. I tell you what, ask Terence McSweeney. He was embarrassed by the Kingdoms hiding.

As for your buckets you're welcome to them. When we get our hands on them they become goblins. Shiney Goblins. Face it, we're like Man Utd. A few years in slumber but when we awake, it'll be like the ginat was been disturbed and we'll grow and grow and soon, well, you know. The shiney goblins will be ours always.
Post by: tayto on February 12, 2007, 03:10:24 PM
Quote from: full back on February 12, 2007, 02:54:36 PM
Quote from: forkinknife on February 12, 2007, 02:43:54 PM
Mossy Quinn  does the business aian when needed and if we had him last week well then maybe we'd be looking at 2 wins in a row and perhaps going the whole of 2007 unbeaten.

Is this guy for real  :D :D :D

i think it's clear to everyone at this stage that he isnt.
Post by: tayto on February 12, 2007, 03:11:55 PM
didnt make it to the game but i hear that official attendance is way off that there were a lot more there then that.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 12, 2007, 03:12:13 PM
QuoteAs for your buckets you're welcome to them. When we get our hands on them they become goblins. Shiney Goblins. Face it, we're like Man Utd. A few years in slumber but when we awake, it'll be like the ginat was been disturbed and we'll grow and grow and soon, well, you know. The shiney goblins will be ours always.

WTF is a shiney(sic) goblin? Does he mean goblet?
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 12, 2007, 03:14:16 PM
Newsflash: Jackeens win the All Ireland hoover championship
Post by: tayto on February 12, 2007, 03:15:11 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 12, 2007, 03:12:13 PM
QuoteAs for your buckets you're welcome to them. When we get our hands on them they become goblins. Shiney Goblins. Face it, we're like Man Utd. A few years in slumber but when we awake, it'll be like the ginat was been disturbed and we'll grow and grow and soon, well, you know. The shiney goblins will be ours always.

WTF is a shiney(sic) goblin? Does he mean goblet?

Think so.
Post by: forkinknife on February 12, 2007, 03:16:59 PM
oh oh smarmy smart-arsed offaly man. Yes I mean goblet. If my best player of the last decade was called dooley i'd be keeping my head down. Dooley ha ha ha. Sherlock....YES!!

Post by: forkinknife on February 12, 2007, 03:21:04 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on February 12, 2007, 03:14:16 PM
Newsflash: Jackeens win the All Ireland hoover championship

ok, type that word again and i'm reporting the moderator and i'll never be on here again. I hope youre happy with your politicising of everything. I'm a hopeful man and i hope dublin all the best and they will.
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 12, 2007, 03:23:09 PM
Jackeen. Good luck...
Post by: full back on February 12, 2007, 03:38:48 PM
Outstanding work KM, well done...............
Post by: tayto on February 12, 2007, 04:03:22 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on February 12, 2007, 03:23:09 PM
Jackeen. Good luck...

:D :D :D
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 12, 2007, 05:25:00 PM
Quote from: forkinknife on February 12, 2007, 03:10:19 PM
This jackeen shit is really getting to me. Will you fcuk off with that. Where were you when it mattered. I tell you what, ask Terence McSweeney. He was embarrassed by the Kingdoms hiding.
Quote from: tayto on February 12, 2007, 04:03:22 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on February 12, 2007, 03:23:09 PM
Jackeen. Good luck...
:D :D :D
As for your buckets you're welcome to them. When we get our hands on them they become goblins. Shiney Goblins. Face it, we're like Man Utd. A few years in slumber but when we awake, it'll be like the ginat was been disturbed and we'll grow and grow and soon, well, you know. The shiney goblins will be ours always.

(http://i15.tinypic.com/2rzxh60.jpg)

How do you explain this flameinknife ???
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 12, 2007, 06:28:19 PM
Another O'Neill windup ?.....pity..I really enjoyed that "2 pints" story. It was was too good to be true I  suppose.