Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 22, 2010, 12:02:09 PM

Title: Wilson called to the Dark Side
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 22, 2010, 12:02:09 PM
He's going to be popular in some quarters..................

Trapattoni names squad ahead of Brazil game
Soccer – Squad news: Giovanni Trapattoni today named a 23-man squad ahead of the Republic of Ireland's international friendly against Brazil at the Emirates Stadium in London on Tuesday, March 2nd.

The Italian has called-up James McCarthy, Greg Cunningham and Marc Wilson for the first time.

The Irish squad will face a full strength Brazil side as Dunga and his players prepare for this summer's World Cup finals in South Africa.

"I look forward to working with my squad again after the disappointment of Paris," said Trapattoni at today's announcement. "The priority now is to build on the progress made during the last campaign and prepare ourselves over the coming months mentally and tactically for an important Euro campaign."

Kick-off at Arsenal's Emirates stadium is 8.05pm

Further details to follow

Republic of Ireland squad (v Brazil)

Goalkeepers : Shay Given, Keiren Westwood, Joe Murphy

Defenders : Richard Dunne, Stephen Kelly, Kevin Kilbane, Kevin Foley, Sean St. Ledger, Paul McShane, Marc Wilson, Greg Cunningham

Midfielders : Aiden McGeady, Damien Duff, Darron Gibson, Glenn Whelan, Keith Andrews, Stephen Hunt, Liam Lawrence, James McCarthy

Forwards : Kevin Doyle, Robbie Keane, Shane Long, Leon Best
Title: Re: Wilson called to the Dark Side
Post by: Doogie Browser on February 22, 2010, 12:04:08 PM
Great to see Duff showing some form, he has been great for Fulham in recent months.
Young McCarthy looks a real prospect too. 
Post by: Mickey Linden on February 22, 2010, 12:38:08 PM
Absolutely delighted for Marc! Aghagallons first Irish international anyhow!
Post by: mountainboii on February 22, 2010, 12:48:55 PM
Will capping McCarthy in this definitely lock him down to Ireland? Thought it was only competitive internationals that counted.

Wonder is this a swan song for Kilbane, or is he gonna give it another go in the Euros.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 22, 2010, 01:02:57 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 22, 2010, 12:48:55 PM
Will capping McCarthy in this definitely lock him down to Ireland? Thought it was only competitive internationals that counted.

Wonder is this a swan song for Kilbane, or is he gonna give it another go in the Euros.

Afaik it just has to be a senior international, Paddy McCourt and Niall McGinn both got stuck with the north after playing in a friendly against Hungary I think.
Post by: T Fearon on February 22, 2010, 01:14:28 PM
Refreshing to see a young catholic nationalist from the 6 counties making the right decision ;D

PS I heard that Marc came perilously close to signing for Celtic in the transfer window
Post by: mountainboii on February 22, 2010, 02:08:23 PM
Coleraine's Rory Patterson is in Northern Ireland squad 

Coleraine striker Rory Patterson has been included in Northern Ireland's squad for the friendly away to Albania.

But Nigel Worthington's plans to name Everton teenager Shane Duffy have been scrapped because the defender has opted to play for the Republic of Ireland.

Andrew Little of Rangers is picked as a defender while David Healy is one of five strikers included for the 3 March match in Tirana's Qemal Stafa Stadium.

Captain Aaron Hughes and Fulham team-mate Chris Baird are not in the squad.

Worthington has included three keepers, including Trevor Carson of Sunderland.

Jonny Evans is named even though Manchester United are playing Aston Villa in the Carling Cup final on Sunday at Wembley.

Striker Patterson has been the Irish League's top scorer this season with 29 goals and has signed a pre-contract agreement to join champions Glentoran next season.

Worthington said he had spoken to Duffy but had not managed to persuade him to remain with Northern Ireland.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/8528248.stm

This is interesting. He has played for the north at every level except senior.

OWC boys have been busy on Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shane_Duffy_(soccer_player))

QuoteShane Patrick Michael Anthony Duffy (Irish: Winston Jeeves Traitor the Third ) is an Irish footballer currently playing for English club Everton.
Post by: Mickey Linden on February 22, 2010, 02:11:27 PM
Where is Duffy from?
Post by: Doogie Browser on February 22, 2010, 02:12:14 PM
Derry
Post by: Billys Boots on February 22, 2010, 02:22:18 PM
Is that the young fellah who was bleating that he'd never play for any country but NI not 3 months ago?
Post by: norabeag on February 22, 2010, 02:45:36 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on February 22, 2010, 02:11:27 PM
Where is Duffy from?
Is he not with Boyzone?
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 22, 2010, 03:01:23 PM
Quote from: norabeag on February 22, 2010, 02:45:36 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on February 22, 2010, 02:11:27 PM
Where is Duffy from?
Is he not with Boyzone?
No she's from Wales. Solo, no band.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 22, 2010, 03:27:04 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 22, 2010, 02:08:23 PM

Coleraine striker Rory Patterson has been included in Northern Ireland's squad for the friendly away to Albania.

But Nigel Worthington's plans to name Everton teenager Shane Duffy have been scrapped because the defender has opted to play for the Republic of Ireland.

Andrew Little of Rangers is picked as a defender while David Healy is one of five strikers included for the 3 March match in Tirana's Qemal Stafa Stadium.

Jonny Evans is named even though Manchester United are playing Aston Villa in the Carling Cup final on Sunday at Wembley.

Striker Patterson has been the Irish League's top scorer this season with 29 goals and has signed a pre-contract agreement to join champions Glentoran next season.

Worthington said he had spoken to Duffy but had not managed to persuade him to remain with Northern Ireland.

OWC boys have been busy on Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shane_Duffy_(soccer_player))

QuoteShane Patrick Michael Anthony Duffy (Irish: Winston Jeeves Traitor the Third ) is an Irish footballer currently playing for English club Everton.

NI have named him in their squad. Someone has made a balls up somewhere.

http://www.irishfa.com/the-ifa/news/5487/ni-squad-named-for-albania-friendly (http://www.irishfa.com/the-ifa/news/5487/ni-squad-named-for-albania-friendly)

Post by: mountainboii on February 22, 2010, 03:46:04 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 22, 2010, 03:27:04 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 22, 2010, 02:08:23 PM

NI have named him in their squad. Someone has made a balls up somewhere.

http://www.irishfa.com/the-ifa/news/5487/ni-squad-named-for-albania-friendly (http://www.irishfa.com/the-ifa/news/5487/ni-squad-named-for-albania-friendly)

Some guy on foot.ie has contacted Duffy's da and apparently he's definitely declared for the Republic. The IFA named him in their squad without checking his availability. Clowns.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 22, 2010, 03:48:44 PM
Cool fm's sports report still have him turning out for the north! eejits.  ;D
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 22, 2010, 03:53:28 PM
Congrats to Man City's Greg Cunningham by the way. Haven't had a Galway man in an Ireland squad since Alan Lee a few years ago.
Post by: mountainboii on February 22, 2010, 03:54:12 PM
A couple of the north's U19 players have made the switch over too. They seem to be hemorrhaging players all of a sudden.
Post by: red hander on February 22, 2010, 04:27:08 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 22, 2010, 03:54:12 PM
A couple of the north's U19 players have made the switch over too. They seem to be hemorrhaging players all of a sudden.

Great to see  ;D
Post by: T Fearon on February 22, 2010, 04:45:23 PM
Soon the trickle will become a flow.

OWC have only themselves to blame. Saw a disgusting mural in a loyalist part of belfast yesterday dedicated to OWC complete with Butchers Apron and bastardised Ulster Flag. It shows that the IFA have a long way to travel before it removes itself from being perceived as an ultra loyalist organisation
Post by: Hereiam on February 22, 2010, 04:50:57 PM
I think these lads know that this excuse of a football team is going no where fast with the draw they got for the euro's. Truely were a nation once again  ;D
Post by: T Fearon on February 22, 2010, 04:56:39 PM
All the same the North can keep Chris Baird, I definitely don't want him in a real Ireland jersey ;D
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 22, 2010, 04:57:18 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 22, 2010, 04:45:23 PM
Soon the trickle will become a flow.

OWC have only themselves to blame. Saw a disgusting mural in a loyalist part of belfast yesterday dedicated to OWC complete with Butchers Apron and bastardised Ulster Flag. It shows that the IFA have a long way to travel before it removes itself from being perceived as an ultra loyalist organisation

Albertbridge road?
Post by: Doogie Browser on February 22, 2010, 04:58:28 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 22, 2010, 04:56:39 PM
All the same the North can keep Chris Baird, I definitely don't want him in a real Ireland jersey ;D
I would take him every day of the week over the walking disaster that is Paul McShane.
Post by: Main Street on February 22, 2010, 05:24:07 PM
Nice to have a good news day on GAA Board
That Duffy change, if true, is interesting and very welcome.
Is he as good a prospect as Coleman?

The latest on eligibility is that any dual eligible player needs to be capped at competitive level (WC or Euro qualifier) in order to be tied. Wilson, if capped in this friendly, still has the option to change allegiance to NI.

Post by: The Watcher Pat on February 22, 2010, 05:48:02 PM
Great to see the Cuz getting his call up...Might not have to pay for tickets anymore.... ;)
Post by: omagh_gael on February 22, 2010, 08:39:45 PM
Some good news here...but I thought for a second that Sammy Wilson had joined the shinners! ;)
Post by: T Fearon on February 22, 2010, 09:27:45 PM
Looks like the Trap is a poacher supreme ;D
Post by: deiseach on February 22, 2010, 09:37:07 PM
No sooner than my suspension from OWC runs out (purely down to not becoming a patron rather than anything I said - although that didn't stop them sending me emails when they were flogging something) than this happens. Pure comedy on the Duffy thread with a demand that teenagers sign a contract saying they owe the IFA £1 million should they declare for another country being noteworthy for being relatively moderate.

In fairness to the IFA, they're caught between a rock and a hard place. They'd probably like to lobby Fifa for firmer rules on eligibility, but would probably only succeed in antagonising the bejaysus out of your average Nationalist.
Post by: T Fearon on February 22, 2010, 09:45:59 PM
The IFA couldn't run a raffle. But surely now even they can see that they need to start promoting football for all which means ditching the unionst paraphernalia
Post by: Main Street on February 22, 2010, 10:14:32 PM
I think they would prefer to stew in bitterness, keep the Loyalist trappings and play the victim card.

You Nordies are very good at playing the victim  ;D
Post by: Main Street on February 22, 2010, 10:22:15 PM
Most common question on the OWC when discussing a player from the 6 counties who has declared for the FAI  is     "what's his connection to the Republic?"

Talk about, plain old head in the sand, self inflicted, blissful pig headed ignorance.

Post by: Ulick on February 22, 2010, 10:54:40 PM
I love this quote from Worthington:

"I think it is a ludicrous situation which needs to be resolved."

Maybe he missed it, but Sepp Blatter resolved the issue in Newcastle last year after the IFA rejected the compromise proposals and insisted on the letter of the law. Well now they have it, in the form of the GFA, Article 2, Section 1(vi).
Post by: MW on February 22, 2010, 11:14:08 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 22, 2010, 02:22:18 PM
Is that the young fellah who was bleating that he'd never play for any country but NI not 3 months ago?

Don't know, but it's pretty poor form IMO to play for one international team through U16, U17, U19, U21 and B international, (and even sit on the bench for the full international team) then decide you want to switch to play for another international team.
Post by: MW on February 22, 2010, 11:14:53 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 22, 2010, 09:45:59 PM
The IFA couldn't run a raffle. But surely now even they can see that they need to start promoting football for all which means ditching the unionst paraphernalia

Poor confused Tony. Can't even get your story straight...
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 22, 2010, 11:16:01 PM
Quote from: MW on February 22, 2010, 11:14:08 PM

Don't know, but it's pretty poor form IMO to play for one international team through U16, U17, U19, U21 and B international, (and even sit on the bench for the full international team) then decide you want to switch to play for another international team.
[/quote
Why so?
Post by: MW on February 22, 2010, 11:20:57 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 22, 2010, 11:16:01 PM

[/quote
Why so?

Obvious really.

It means a player has just used the underage structures of his first international team to gain international experience and put himself in the "shop window". Meanwhile some other young lad who actually wanted to represent that team has been denied a place each and every time he has turned out.
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 22, 2010, 11:27:16 PM
Quote from: MW on February 22, 2010, 11:20:57 PM

[/quote
Why so?

Obvious really.

It means a player has just used the underage structures of his first international team to gain international experience and put himself in the "shop window". Meanwhile some other young lad who actually wanted to represent that team has been denied a place each and every time he has turned out.
I doubt any footballer thinks like that. He's probably thinking he can further his career [for a team he possibly supports] by making the switch.
Post by: MW on February 22, 2010, 11:29:19 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 22, 2010, 11:27:16 PM

[/quote
Why so?

Obvious really.

I doubt any footballer thinks like that. He's probably thinking he can further his career [for a team he possibly supports] by making the switch.

Not exactly fair on the country he's used to get a leg-up before going where his heart desired, that.
Post by: MW on February 22, 2010, 11:33:25 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 22, 2010, 10:22:15 PM
Most common question on the OWC when discussing a player from the 6 counties who has declared for the FAI  is     "what's his connection to the Republic?"

Hardly going to be asked in this case. Duffy's father is from the RoI.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 22, 2010, 11:35:13 PM

These are young lads though who probably don't know their arse from their elbow at that age. They probably just go with the flow early on and tog out for whoever will have them until they are forced one way or another to make a decision when they are a bit older.
Post by: red hander on February 22, 2010, 11:35:53 PM
Quote from: MW on February 22, 2010, 11:29:19 PM

[/quote
Why so?

Obvious really.

Not exactly fair on the country he's used to get a leg-up before going where his heart desired, that.

Here lies the problem ... you're not a country
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 22, 2010, 11:37:21 PM

[/quote
Why so?

Obvious really.

Footballers transfer all the time at club level, does that upset you as well? Might not be fair but it's the players choice and he is quite right to make it if he feels that it is the best move for him. Tough titty
Post by: The Subbie on February 22, 2010, 11:42:24 PM

Be still thy bleeding heart.

If young mervyn or sammy from Monaghan,Cavan or Donegal did a volte face you'd be signing a different tune MW, away back to OWC and tell what the bogey men here are saying, night night
Post by: red hander on February 22, 2010, 11:44:22 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 22, 2010, 10:14:32 PM
I think they would prefer to stew in bitterness, keep the Loyalist trappings and play the victim card.

You Nordies are very good at playing the victim  ;D

Don't confuse those Nordies with us Nordies ... different kettle of salmon
Post by: MW on February 22, 2010, 11:46:53 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 22, 2010, 11:37:21 PM

[/quote
Why so?

Obvious really.

Footballers transfer all the time at club level, does that upset you as well? Might not be fair but it's the players choice and he is quite right to make it if he feels that it is the best move for him. Tough titty

"Footballers transfer all the time at club level" is hardly an adequate response or analogy. Players sign contracts for their club and are free agents at the end of these. They can transfer for a fee in between times. No parallel wth international football there.

I'll say this for club football though. If players under 21 leave to go to another club at the end of their contract, there's still a "development" fee to be paid.
Post by: MW on February 22, 2010, 11:49:04 PM
Quote from: red hander on February 22, 2010, 11:35:53 PM

[/quote
Why so?

Obvious really.

I used "international team" over and over to force people to engage with the subject rather than coming off with just such a pointless and brain-dead response.

Thought I'd do a little test by throwing in one use of the (perfectly correct) term "country".

Whaddya know. You didn't "disappoint".
Post by: MW on February 22, 2010, 11:50:25 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on February 22, 2010, 11:42:24 PM

If young mervyn or sammy from Monaghan,Cavan or Donegal did a volte face you'd be signing a different tune MW, away back to OWC and tell what the bogey men here are saying, night night

"Away back to OWC"...and that was the other response I was expecting.

House!!

It's like clockwork.

Doesn't even matter how many times I point out that I don't even read OWC.
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 22, 2010, 11:51:40 PM
Quote from: MW on February 22, 2010, 11:46:53 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 22, 2010, 11:37:21 PM

[/quote
Why so?

Obvious really.

"Footballers transfer all the time at club level" is hardly an adequate response or analogy. Players sign contracts for their club and are free agents at the end of these. They can transfer for a fee in between times. No parallel wth international football there.

I'll say this for club football though. If players under 21 leave to go to another club at the end of their contract, there's still a "development" fee to be paid.
Of course it is, in the sense that most players show little loyalty when something better is waved in front of them; as is the case here. Sad but true.
Post by: red hander on February 22, 2010, 11:58:43 PM
Quote from: MW on February 22, 2010, 11:49:04 PM
Quote from: red hander on February 22, 2010, 11:35:53 PM

[/quote
Why so?

Obvious really.

I used "international team" over and over to force people to engage with the subject rather than coming off with just such a pointless and brain-dead response.

Thought I'd do a little test by throwing in one use of the (perfectly correct) term "country".

Whaddya know. You didn't "disappoint".

You couldn't give me Friday's EuroMillions result, could you?
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 23, 2010, 08:43:50 AM
QuoteI'll say this for club football though. If players under 21 leave to go to another club at the end of their contract, there's still a "development" fee to be paid.

In all seriousness, what sort of "development" costs would the IFA have made for a player?
They would be minimal. & I'd be very surprised that the one player that did not get playing for Norn Iron because of Duffy's involvement - would really have made much of a difference...

Who's to say that the other players playing wth Duffy didn't benefit from playing with him?
Post by: The Subbie on February 23, 2010, 09:26:28 AM
Quote from: MW on February 22, 2010, 11:50:25 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on February 22, 2010, 11:42:24 PM

"Away back to OWC"...and that was the other response I was expecting.

House!!

It's like clockwork.

Doesn't even matter how many times I point out that I don't even read OWC.

House indeed, any time there is a significant deflection to what Tony calls the "Real Ireland" your hand wringing goes into overdrive. Check.

Football for all, windsor welcoming, lots of work done on that front, played schoolboy, milk cup blah blah, check check and check again.

Face facts, for the majority of young lads from a cathlioc background the thought of been tied to the cretins in Windsor Ave for the rest of thier international sporting carreer is worrying, imagine they signed for Celtic and the Lennon saga begins again and the IFA have only themselves to blame.

What tool sends out a squad list without checking if all the lads named are gonna turn up, Christ the FAI are incompetent but the IFA are making them look like a slick well oiled machine and that takes some doing

When you see the reaction of Nigel Worthington on last nights news and the mega table thumping of "legal action been taken after a meeting with FIFA" horseshit it does smack of head in the sand mentality.

As a previous poster said the fact remains that under the terms of the GFA anyone born in the sick counties can declare for either Norn Iron or Republic. Methinks the arch comedian Sepp won't be bothered to tackle that thorny issue too quickly due to a strongly worded missive from the IFA.

As i said last night if young Mervyn or Sammy from Monaghan, Cavan or Donegal chose to play for the GAWA the hand wringing would be minimal from you and the rest of the "best supporters in the world".
Post by: Main Street on February 23, 2010, 09:46:15 AM
Duffy earned his youth call ups by the IFA because he was a good enough footballer.
What are the IFA to do, not select him because they are not sure where his  national representative team aspirations lie? The IFA did what they should do and selected him. Most probably it was seen as good investment of resources on their part. Usually a kid will get attached to the set up he gets involved with.

With hindsight it is obvious that Duffy clearly had his fundamental misgivings over aligning with the IFA most of that time he was involved with them and the tissue of missunderstandings experienced (with the managers and the IFA) may just have brought the issue to a decision time. He took the decision before being called up to the senior squad and informed his manager who gives all the appearance of not being able to listen.

As FIFA have determined, an Irish national by birth cannot be prevented from declaring for the representative team of his nationality. He does not need residence or blood ties to the Republic. It is a birth right, an established automatic right guaranteed in the GFA. Any Northern nationalist I know would look at me sideways if I asked him/her 'what's your connection to the Republic?' when questioning their nationality.
Tough shit for the IFA but that's life in a partitioned Ireland. 
Post by: deiseach on February 23, 2010, 09:53:53 AM
Looking at the nitty-gritty of this, I must confess to being surprised that you can play right up to B level and still be allowed to switch your allegiances. It's all very well saying that a person shouldn't be tied to decisions made when they were a schoolboy (see: Ryan Wilson), but B level? You should be man enough to live with your choices at that stage
Post by: illdecide on February 23, 2010, 09:55:18 AM
I would say most catholic lads who opt to play for the North do so only to boost their career, i would also imagine after sitting in Windsor Park the first few times and listening to the songs sang along with the banners and flags they soon realise WTF have i done. If and when the opportunity arises to move to Ireland they would jump at the chance if they have not been tied down. Windsor Park is a bigoted hole of a place which is infested by scum bags and is no place for catholic's, they threatened to shoot Neil Lennon who played for them because he is a catholic and if you can threaten to shoot one of your own players then who in their right mind would want to play for them

P.S. not to mention having to stand for GSTQ
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 23, 2010, 09:56:46 AM
Quote from: Main Street on February 23, 2010, 09:46:15 AM
As FIFA have determined, an Irish national by birth cannot be prevented from declaring for the representative team of his nationality. He does not need residence or blood ties to the Republic. It is a birth right, an established automatic right guaranteed in the GFA. Any Northern nationalist I know would look at me sideways if I asked him/her 'what's your connection to the Republic?' when questioning their nationality.
Tough shit for the IFA but that's life in a partitioned Ireland.

And therein lies the nub of it.  No matter how many gigabytes of one and zeros the OWC spew down the interweb that salient point won't change.  Remember FIFA are looking at it from the outside in with an outsiders view of Ireland.  They are presented with the fact that nationalists see the republic as their country (no matter how warped this is to some), nationalists who can point to an international agreement that backs up their argument.    From a FIFA point of view it seems reasonable the guys want to play for the republic and they can be Irish citizens.  I understand the arguments that OWC'ers make but unfortunately for them, FIFA are looking at this from an executive level and from there only one result is likely.

I tried to make that point over there before the shutdown but was shouted down as bigotted, ignorant blah blah..  The first thing they need to do is to understand the above point, accept it and try and work around it.  However, as evidence by the contributions on Gibson, Duffy, Wilson etc.. they are unable to accept the point of view as a reasonable one.  That is the biggest blocker.

/Jim.

Post by: mountainboii on February 23, 2010, 10:03:57 AM
Quote from: deiseach on February 23, 2010, 09:53:53 AM
Looking at the nitty-gritty of this, I must confess to being surprised that you can play right up to B level and still be allowed to switch your allegiances. It's all very well saying that a person shouldn't be tied to decisions made when they were a schoolboy (see: Ryan Wilson), but B level? You should be man enough to live with your choices at that stage

He was only 17.
Post by: deiseach on February 23, 2010, 10:08:20 AM
Quote from: AFS on February 23, 2010, 10:03:57 AM

He was only 17.

I would have said 17 was old enough. Plenty of players make their full debut at 17. Should they be allowed a do-over?
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 23, 2010, 10:16:02 AM
Quote from: deiseach on February 23, 2010, 10:08:20 AM
I would have said 17 was old enough. Plenty of players make their full debut at 17. Should they be allowed a do-over?

The age qualification used to be 21 but was removed.  You are correct that it does seem odd to allow right up to B-international to change.

It strikes me that Duffy was happy enough to play for Northern Ireland until they mucked him about a little bit.  I'd say he isn't overly patriotic one way or the other.  This is his right within the rules but I guess it's annoys those of a more patriotic ilk.   I wonder will he find the FAI anymore organised than the IFA? 

/Jim.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 23, 2010, 10:16:31 AM

I agree with you MW, poor form indeed.
Post by: mountainboii on February 23, 2010, 10:17:44 AM

He was only 17.

That's very harsh. At 17, most can be very easily lead by people that don't necessarily have their best interests at heart.
Post by: deiseach on February 23, 2010, 10:47:11 AM
Quote from: AFS on February 23, 2010, 10:17:44 AM
That's very harsh. At 17, most can be very easily lead by people that don't necessarily have their best interests at heart.

Possibly. But if he had played for the senior team at 17 then decided he wanted to play for the Republic, would you be so blasé?
Post by: deiseach on February 23, 2010, 10:52:51 AM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 23, 2010, 10:16:02 AM
I wonder will he find the FAI anymore organised than the IFA?

Two words: Cork City
Post by: Billys Boots on February 23, 2010, 10:54:42 AM
Four more: Cork Hibernians Cork Celtic
Post by: The Subbie on February 23, 2010, 10:58:06 AM
five more, ten year "aviva" stadium tickets  ???
Title: saffron sam2's contribution
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 23, 2010, 11:44:53 AM
A fairly emotive issue for some, but I would like to add my tuppence worth.

I have no interest whatsoever in the ROI soccer team and would have an equal amount of interest even if said team comprised 11 'northerners'.

Whilst it may be bad form to change allegiance after having played for underage (and indeed B) teams, it is also entirely predictable. Well, predictable to anyone with a bit of cop-on. It should also be pointed out that at schoolboy level, there is a requirement to play for the team where you school is located - there was a case recently of a Cavan youngster playing for NI because he went to school in Fermanagh).

In all my time dealing with young boys from west Belfast (including several who have 'declared' for the ROI) I have never ever met one whose ambition it was to represent NI. They are, to a man (or boy), ROI supporters. Our school (and indeed many others) raised a fair bit for charity by showing the midweek Republic matches at Japan / Korea live in the assembly hall. That wouldn't have happened had NI been playing.

I have also never ever met a conscientous objector, namely someone who won't play for an IFA / NISFA team even though it may damage their future career.

What I have met is several boys who will do whatever it takes to further any potential career. Boys will represent NI in the Victory Shield because it gives them live TV exposure and to turn down such an appearance would lead potential suitors to question if they are good enough ("If they can't make the NI schoolboys' team they cant be that good"). They represent NI in the knowledge that they will be declaring for ROI at the time when it best suits their career path.

Players who feel they have a better chance of making the NI squad (a la porn star Michael O'Connor) will remain there; other like Mark Wilson will see only Richard Dunne ahead of him in the queue and will fancy their chances of being picked ahead of John O'Shea or Sean St Ledger.

The use of words like 'tapping' and 'poaching' are erroneous becuase in my experience, the first approach (or declaration) has always come from the player, not the IFA.

My opinion is that those born in (or with close family ties to) the area under the IFA's control should play for the IFA teams and those born in (or with close family ties to) the area under the FAI's control should play for the FAI teams. However I fully understand that the issue is not as black and white as that, partly because of the society we live in, but also because of the IFA's attitude.

FIFA is shit scared of nationality issues (not just an Irish problem, remember Tim Cahill) and have and will continue to allow anyone born in Ireland to declare for either side.

The IFA should be looking at what to do to address this issue. They could possibly get a clue next week as they belt out GSTW as the discredited Ulster banner hangs limply in the dank Tirana air. They could also check whether or not it is a good idea to discuss protocol for anthems with nationalist youths (It's not by the way - bad move).
Post by: rossie mad on February 23, 2010, 11:59:42 AM

I dont have much interest but out of curiousity can anyone from the north play for the republic if they havnet played in a competative for the north even though they might have played all the way up?

This seems to be a bit stupid to be honest as why would you change allegiance if you were there all your playing career before this.

Didnt tim cahill switch from the solomon iskands to Oz for the simple reason of playing in the world cup even though he had no connection with Oz playing internationaly.

i personnally think if a young fella decides to play with the north he should stick with it and the FAI should turn him away as he didnt declare from under age in the first place.

If the North had qualified for a major tournament would he have done this?
Highly unlikely.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 23, 2010, 12:19:58 PM
Quote from: rossie mad on February 23, 2010, 11:59:42 AM

I dont have much interest but out of curiousity can anyone from the north play for the republic if they havnet played in a competative for the north even though they might have played all the way up?

This seems to be a bit stupid to be honest as why would you change allegiance if you were there all your playing career before this.

Didnt tim cahill switch from the solomon iskands to Oz for the simple reason of playing in the world cup even though he had no connection with Oz playing internationaly.

i personnally think if a young fella decides to play with the north he should stick with it and the FAI should turn him away as he didnt declare from under age in the first place.

Highly unlikely.

Rossie Saffron Sam2 has pretty much put it in a nutshell re: Belfast lads, probably same could be said for around the 6. Everyone is entitled to change their mind, as long as the regs allow it.
Post by: mountainboii on February 23, 2010, 12:25:56 PM
Quote from: rossie mad on February 23, 2010, 11:59:42 AM

Highly unlikely.

Other way round I think. Cahill was born and raised in Australia but has a Samoan mother. He represented Samoa at underage level in some bullshit competition when he was ridiculously young, about 13 or 14.
Title: Re: saffron sam2's contribution
Post by: deiseach on February 23, 2010, 12:30:27 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 23, 2010, 11:44:53 AM
They could also check whether or not it is a good idea to discuss protocol for anthems with nationalist youths (It's not by the way - bad move).

Thank God you told me, I'd never have known *sarcasm detector explodes* ;)
Post by: rossie mad on February 23, 2010, 12:34:04 PM
I see your point GDA but what im afraid whats happening here is that we are politicising the issue beyond what it should be.

Football be should be just about football not political allegiances.

I dont have much experience of northern football or its international side as it doesnt pass me a thought what they do but why should a lad be allowed change if he was happy with them up to this.

If a nationlist family believe their son is good enough at u-14 or u-16 level should they not align themselves with the republic then instead of down the line when everyone can see he has talent and he has plyed his international apprenticeship with a different country.

I dont mind lads declaring for the republic if they nationally feel that they are been discrimanated against by staying with the north but i still feel if the north were in a tournament this year like the world cup this lad would be singing GSTQ in johannsburg come june.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 23, 2010, 12:42:46 PM
How come mcginn & mccourt declared for the north rathern than the republic?
was this rule only brought in after they had already played for the north?
Post by: Orior on February 23, 2010, 12:50:29 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on February 23, 2010, 12:42:46 PM
How come mcginn & mccourt declared for the north rathern than the republic?
was this rule only brought in after they had already played for the north?

Ever heard of a trojan horse?
Post by: Main Street on February 23, 2010, 01:18:04 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 23, 2010, 12:25:56 PM

Other way round I think. Cahill was born and raised in Australia but has a Samoan mother. He represented Samoa at underage level in some bullshit competition when he was ridiculously young, about 13 or 14.

Thats about right, I don't know what Saffron Sam is referring to when using Tim Cahill as an example of FIFA being shit scarred of nationality issues.
FIFA bent over backwards to allow Cahill to declare for who ever was his fancy.
There was no big pressure on FIFA at that time, no federations warring over Tim's right to declare for them.
It was an interesting case which caught the attention and eventually led to removal of the age limit of 21 for dual national eligible players who had been tied to one federation after being capped in some meaningless underage international.

On the substantive issue of the FIFA eligibility
in their last major review in 2008 after the IFA complaints over Gibson, FIFA actually looked at the Irish citizenship laws as well as the GFA and rewrote their law as to confirm and spell out clearly the rights of players with automatic citizenship to declare for that representative team although they are born in another federation area. The main eligibility rule was drawn straight from the Ireland experience.
All the other rules of eligibility give priority to federation territory.
IMO it would not have been such a complicated matter for FIFA to rule at that time that a player born in a federation's territory can't declare for another federation unless he has some blood or residence ties to that federation's territory.
So I do not see FIFA as being shit scared of nationality issues. They made a series of wise considered decisions which made it into the statutes to favour automatic citizens born outside the boundaries of a federation of little relevance, namely the FAI.

Post by: lynchbhoy on February 23, 2010, 01:25:25 PM
...anyhow in a few short years, FIFA wont have to worry about this problem when the north of Ireland team ceases to exist !
Post by: Main Street on February 23, 2010, 01:32:27 PM
You manage to be both positive and negative within that same short statement, LB  :)
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 23, 2010, 01:38:47 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 23, 2010, 01:18:04 PM

Thats about right, I don't know what Saffron Sam is referring to when using Tim Cahill as an example of FIFA being shit scarred of nationality issues.
There was no big pressure on FIFA at that time, no federations warring over Tim's right to declare for them.
It was an interesting case which caught the attention and eventually led to removal of the age limit of 21 for dual national eligible players who had been tied to one federation after being capped in some meaningless underage international.

That is my point. FIFA steered well clear of tying Cahill to Samoa for his entire career. They are equally scared of issuing a decree that would ban Irish citizens in the north representing the FAI.

And I said scared, not scarred. Shit scarred conjures up interesting images.
Post by: Main Street on February 23, 2010, 01:57:38 PM
I think that's tenous.

There was nothing for FIFA to be scared of with Cahill. But I am partial to a conspiracy theory based around FIFA in the form of Blatter, using it to further his own political base amongst the smaller nations when he managed at Congress to successfully push through the removal of the age limit that inhibited players like Cahill.
Post by: MW on February 23, 2010, 10:36:38 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 23, 2010, 10:17:44 AM

He was only 17.

Quite...

The Football Association of Ireland have since invited the Duffy family as their guests to the forthcoming friendly international against Brazil in Arsenal's Emirates Stadium on Tuesday next, March 2nd. Mr. Duffy and his family, including Shane, have accepted that invitation and they expect to meet representatives of the FAI including former international and Arsenal legend, Liam Brady who, it's believed has been highly influential in securing the services of the Derry lad".

(Derry Journal)
Title: Re: saffron sam2's contribution
Post by: MW on February 23, 2010, 10:40:03 PM
The use of words like 'tapping' and 'poaching' are erroneous becuase in my experience, the first approach (or declaration) has always come from the player, not the IFA.

Apologies for (at this stage - time is short tonight!) lifting one comment out of a long & considered post, but...see my post above.

(BTW in the interests of my being fair and complete, the Derry Journal report also says...

"It's always been his childhood dream to play for the Republic," added Brian. "He was brought up through the N. Ireland ranks but as time moved on he felt he would benefit more from playing with the Republic.
"Shane holds no ill feelings whatsoever towards N. Ireland and he remains extremely grateful for the experience he gained when playing for the N. Ireland international squad at youth level.")
Post by: ziggysego on February 23, 2010, 10:42:39 PM

What about soccer players who come through youth programmes and team in English clubs like Arsenal or Spurs, but then get snapped up by another team such as Man Utd or Chelsea?
Post by: MW on February 23, 2010, 10:49:29 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 23, 2010, 10:42:39 PM

What about soccer players who come through youth programmes and team in English clubs like Arsenal or Spurs, but then get snapped up by another team such as Man Utd or Chelsea?

As I've said above, there's a transfer and compensation procedure in place for club football.

And given that footballers can play for as many clubs as their heart desires at senior level, contract and transfer arrangements permitting, it really isn't terribly analogous to international football.
Post by: MW on February 23, 2010, 10:53:44 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 23, 2010, 01:38:47 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 23, 2010, 01:18:04 PM

That is my point. FIFA steered well clear of tying Cahill to Samoa for his entire career. They are equally scared of issuing a decree that would ban Irish citizens in the north representing the FAI.

And I said scared, not scarred. Shit scarred conjures up interesting images.

It's worth reiterating that Duffy's father is from Donegal, so there's no question of his original eligibility to play for the RoI.

It's purely down to the fact that he merrily played for NI at all underage levels*, at B international level, (and was an unused substitute at full international level only 8 months or so ago so was happy at that stage to be capped for NI) before switching to the RoI.

*captained NI at under 19 level too IIRC.
Post by: Main Street on February 23, 2010, 11:36:57 PM
Totally irrelevant if Duffy has relatives from the 26 counties or not, he would still qualify regardless.

For merrily, read smiling through gritted teeth  :)
Didn't his Da say in the Derry Journal that the Norn Iron fans should be grateful that he played to his best standards despite his heart not being in the set up
Also Duffys mates, or mates of mates, or a brother of a mate of a mate, has been posting on the Footie thread  for the last 9 months or so that the Duffy issue was far from closed and rumours about he wanted to declare for the Republic and last December there was a live rumour that he was switching.
Sounds more like he was persuaded against his will to keep on being a part of the IFA set up
and the IFA  are not very good listeners.
It does take a bitter sort to  begrudge a mere kid to move out of the IFA, something he never really wanted to be a part of, in order to be a part of something he always aspired to.
Doesn't make any difference to me what team he picks. The rights of an Irish citizen born in the 6 counties are clear when it comes to choice of representative team.  Pat McCourt is no less or no more an Irishman than Shane Duffy.   

But strange enough, there is only one team where Irish citizens can qualify to play for and there is only one team where a British citizens can qualify to play for. One team plays AnbF before their game and the other plays GSTQ.
For me there is only one team that has my affiliation and it has the affiliation of most nationalist kids from the North.

Post by: saffron sam2 on February 24, 2010, 08:10:07 AM
Quote from: MW on February 23, 2010, 10:36:38 PM
The Football Association of Ireland have since invited the Duffy family as their guests to the forthcoming friendly international against Brazil in Arsenal's Emirates Stadium on Tuesday next, March 2nd. Mr. Duffy and his family, including Shane, have accepted that invitation and they expect to meet representatives of the FAI including former international and Arsenal legend, Liam Brady who, it's believed has been highly influential in securing the services of the Derry lad".

(Derry Journal)

Quote from: MW on February 23, 2010, 10:40:03 PM

Apologies for (at this stage - time is short tonight!) lifting one comment out of a long & considered post, but...see my post above.
(

I think my point remains valid. In my experience (I could named several footballers I know who have declared for ROI) it has always been the player who has made the initial contact with the FAI.

That the FAI then get involved and include people like Liam Brady is only to be expected; it is in their interests to do so.

I am not aware of any cases where the FAI are trawling round clubs / schools looking for potential targets.
Post by: stibhan on February 24, 2010, 09:02:08 AM

If this is true, then I wonder if the IFA pay all of the clubs who own their players money for maintaining and developing them? The German team who brought on Maik Taylor? The English clubs who brought on Sanchez, Dowie, Patterson et al?

I appreciate that it's perhaps a bit amiss to change your allegiance to another team when you had given your word, but we've been over exactly why it's a legitimate choice to play for the republic ahead of the north, and exactly why these rules are necessary in the interest of both player protection and the letter of the GFA.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 24, 2010, 09:22:26 AM
Quote from: MW on February 23, 2010, 10:49:29 PM

As I've said above, there's a transfer and compensation procedure in place for club football.

And given that footballers can play for as many clubs as their heart desires at senior level, contract and transfer arrangements permitting, it really isn't terribly analogous to international football.

I didn't know that point that Saffron Sam made - underage representation (in NI) being dependent on where you go to school, is that true MW?  It changes the goalposts quite a bit for those youngsters with a nationalist leaning in NI, if it's the case.  It (if it's true) obviously would not be in the IFA's interest to change that ruling, but changing it might stop this kind of thing happening.  I don't think it would have made any difference in this case however, as this lad's change of mind happened very (very) recently.
Post by: naka on February 24, 2010, 09:42:07 AM

But strange enough, there is only one team where Irish citizens can qualify to play for and there is only one team where a British citizens can qualify to play for. One team plays AnbF before their game and the other plays GSTQ.
For me there is only one team that has my affiliation and it has the affiliation of most nationalist kids from the North.
nail on head--the IFA know that nearly all nationalists follow the 26 counties and depite their efforts they know that when push comes to shove a nationalist kid will pick the south
AND LONG MAY IT CONTINUE
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 26, 2010, 03:13:15 PM
They are wasting their time with this sh*t... Good Friday Agreement and all that  :)

Irish FA set to take player eligibility dispute to CAS

The Irish FA is set to go to the Court of Arbitration for Sport in an attempt to prevent more Northern Ireland-born players opting for the Republic.
The IFA move follows Everton player Shane Duffy's decision to declare for the Republic earlier this week.
Duffy had played for Northern Ireland up to Under-21 level and was included in the full squad last year.
Manchester United's Darron Gibson and Portsmouth's Marc Wilson have also switched allegiance in recent years.

Duffy's case differs from those of Gibson and Wilson in that the Everton player does have a parent or grandparent who was born in the Republic of Ireland.
The IFA acknowledges that under existing rules, Duffy is eligible to play for the Republic of Ireland.
However, the Northern Ireland governing body will argue that players such as Gibson, whose parents and grandparents were born in Northern Ireland, should not be allowed to declare for the Republic.
Post by: red hander on February 26, 2010, 05:01:55 PM
When are the owc (and the pravince's meja) gonna accept that nationalists in the north consider themselves Irish and nationalists who follow soccer owe absolutely no allegiance to the team that plays at Windsor Park, they support the Republic ... the IFA are just going to make fools of themselves (again) by following this action, which is fine cos I like a good laugh as much as the next man
Post by: The Watcher Pat on February 26, 2010, 05:40:05 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 24, 2010, 08:10:07 AM
Quote from: MW on February 23, 2010, 10:36:38 PM

(Derry Journal)

Quote from: MW on February 23, 2010, 10:40:03 PM

QuoteApologies for (at this stage - time is short tonight!) lifting one comment out of a long & considered post, but...see my post above.
(

I think my point remains valid. In my experience (I could named several footballers I know who have declared for ROI) it has always been the player who has made the initial contact with the FAI.

That the FAI then get involved and include people like Liam Brady is only to be expected; it is in their interests to do so.

I am not aware of any cases where the FAI are trawling round clubs / schools looking for potential targets.

I know for a fact that Portsmouth 18 coach approached both the FAI and IFA about 2 players (Marc Wilson and Darlyl Forsythe (who now plays at Glentoran))for the u18 squad. IFA picked Forsythe and did not pick Wilson. FAI picked Wilson after IFA ignored him. Wonder who made the right call there!
Post by: MW on February 27, 2010, 11:05:51 AM
Quote from: stibhan on February 24, 2010, 09:02:08 AM

If this is true, then I wonder if the IFA pay all of the clubs who own their players money for maintaining and developing them? The German team who brought on Maik Taylor? The English clubs who brought on Sanchez, Dowie, Patterson et al?

You realise the difference between club and international football, right? :-\

I appreciate that it's perhaps a bit amiss to change your allegiance to another team when you had given your word, but we've been over exactly why it's a legitimate choice to play for the republic ahead of the north, and exactly why these rules are necessary in the interest of both player protection and the letter of the GFA.

IMO opinion the rules are a little too free and easy if a player can go from representing one interntional team at all levels below full international, join their full international squad, play again for the underage teams, then a few months later go off to another team.
Post by: MW on February 27, 2010, 11:13:18 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 24, 2010, 09:22:26 AM
Quote from: MW on February 23, 2010, 10:49:29 PM

I didn't know that point that Saffron Sam made - underage representation (in NI) being dependent on where you go to school, is that true MW?  It changes the goalposts quite a bit for those youngsters with a nationalist leaning in NI, if it's the case.  It (if it's true) obviously would not be in the IFA's interest to change that ruling, but changing it might stop this kind of thing happening.  I don't think it would have made any difference in this case however, as this lad's change of mind happened very (very) recently.

No, schools internationals are a different thing - they're based on where you go to school (hence Ryan Giggs played for England, and Alan Kernaghan played for NI). The NI schools team is organised by the NI Schools FA (NISFA).

Youth internationals and other underage internationals (under 16, 17, 18, 21 etc) are based on the same eligibility rules as senior international teams and are organised by the IFA.
Post by: stibhan on February 27, 2010, 12:03:00 PM
Quote from: MW on February 27, 2010, 11:05:51 AM
Quote from: stibhan on February 24, 2010, 09:02:08 AM

You realise the difference between club and international football, right? :-\

IMO opinion the rules are a little too free and easy if a player can go from representing one interntional team at all levels below full international, join their full international squad, play again for the underage teams, then a few months later go off to another team.

a) I think the principle is the same with club football, given that Worthington was complaining about how much it costs them to develop a player.
b) The North have benefitted hugely from having a very good keeper who had scarcely set foot in Ireland before he played for them, let alone being from there, for the past 10 to 15 years. They have no moral standpoint and actually appear willing to break agreements they have already made in order to improve their pool/squad. Regardless of whether or not the law is loose, it certainly allows players a choice--I don't think it's appropriate to browbeat nationalists or unionists to play for a team who's fans have been, if not still are, an occasional embarrassment and a permanent disgrace.
Post by: stiffler on February 27, 2010, 12:10:46 PM
Great news

Marc's on course to be Aghagallon's 2nd most famous export after the great Frankie Creaney  ;D

EXPEEINCE :)
Post by: magickingdom on February 27, 2010, 12:28:18 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on February 26, 2010, 03:13:15 PM
They are wasting their time with this sh*t... Good Friday Agreement and all that  :)

The Irish FA is set to go to the Court of Arbitration for Sport in an attempt to prevent more Northern Ireland-born players opting for the Republic.
The IFA move follows Everton player Shane Duffy's decision to declare for the Republic earlier this week.
Duffy had played for Northern Ireland up to Under-21 level and was included in the full squad last year.
Manchester United's Darron Gibson and Portsmouth's Marc Wilson have also switched allegiance in recent years.

Duffy's case differs from those of Gibson and Wilson in that the Everton player does have a parent or grandparent who was born in the Republic of Ireland.
The IFA acknowledges that under existing rules, Duffy is eligible to play for the Republic of Ireland.
However, the Northern Ireland governing body will argue that players such as Gibson, whose parents and grandparents were born in Northern Ireland, should not be allowed to declare for the Republic.

the cas will not be able to change eligibility rules, they may however try tightening up on players switching teams after playing for one team. good luck with that tho.

love to see the cas ruling on whether the british state should have 4 teams, how far up their arse are their heads that ifa sfa wfa and efa see nothing wrong with this? ni shouldnt even have a team ffs yet their still moaning and playing the victim
Post by: Aerlik on February 28, 2010, 02:45:33 AM
Got it from a very reliable source over there that Shane's dad made the initial moves to get him to play for Ireland; Liam Brady, Packie Bonnar and Kevin Kilbane were then approached and they in turn contacted the Duffy family and the rest then followed. ;D

Post by: The Watcher Pat on February 28, 2010, 09:07:43 AM
Quote from: stiffler on February 27, 2010, 12:10:46 PM
Great news

Marc's on course to be Aghagallon's 2nd most famous export after the great Frankie Creaney  ;D

Can't wait for this match now stiffler!!

About 30 of us going to vintage to watch it...should be good craic!
Post by: Chrisowc on February 28, 2010, 10:18:40 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on February 28, 2010, 09:07:43 AM
Great news

A good opportunity to remind everyone what all the fuss is about  ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SyEybSXYYeE&feature=fvw (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SyEybSXYYeE&feature=fvw)

Apologies for the cheesy music.
Post by: The Worker on February 28, 2010, 10:24:15 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/8542085.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/8542085.stm)

Wilson says players should be free to opt for Republic 

Marc Wilson is in the Republic squad for the Brazil friendly
Portsmouth defender Marc Wilson has insisted players should be allowed to decide whether they want to play for Northern Ireland or the Republic.

Wilson, named in the Republic squad for Tuesday's friendly against Brazil, played for NI at under-15 and under-17 level before switching to the south.

"I think you should have the choice," said Wilson. "I made it clear I wanted to play for the south.

"It was always my dream to play for the Republic. I grew up supporting them."
Northern Ireland's governing body, the Irish FA, has said it will go to the Court of Arbitration for Sport in an attempt to prevent players born in their jurisdiction opting for the Republic.

But Wilson added: "Obviously Northern Ireland want to keep as many talented players as they can and, when four or five decide to leave, then that is what is upsetting them.

"It should be down to the player to make that decision and that should be it."

The Republic of Ireland take on the favourites for this summer's World Cup at Arsenal's Emirates stadium on Tuesday night.

Post by: JimStynes on February 28, 2010, 11:29:57 PM

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11674_5996270,00.html
Wilson relishing Republic bow
Defender glad to put Portsmouth problems to one sideRepublic of Ireland call-up Marc Wilson is relishing the opportunity to put Portsmouth's troubles to one side and test himself against the world's best.

The Pompey defender is set to make his international debut in Tuesday's friendly against Brazil after becoming a regular for his crisis-hit club this season.

Wilson, who was actually born north of the border in Aghagallon, is one of three newcomers along with Wigan's James McCarthy and Manchester City's Greg Cunningham as coach Giovanni Trapattoni prepares for the Euro 2012 qualifiers.

The game against the five-time World Cup winners will be Ireland's first since being denied a place in this summer's finals in a controversial play-off against France and will be a welcome distraction from events at Fratton Park.

Last week Portsmouth became the first Premier League club to go into administration but Wilson is now looking to the future with both club and country.

"Obviously the club has been going through a lot of trouble," said Wilson. "We are in administration now but things are starting to look a little better.

"It has been great for me to get the call-up but I have just been happy playing football. This is my first year playing a full season in the Premier League.

Demanding
"It has been a hard season because it has been very physical, very demanding. If I had been at another club, I would not have played as many games because other players would have come in and you are not as physically drained all time.

"It has been a tough learning curve this year. I prefer to play in a centre midfield holding role but I have been playing at centre-back.

"It is tough competition in the Ireland squad but I am just happy to be here. Hopefully, I can progress further in the future.

"Words could not describe my feeling when I heard about the call-up," he added.

"Brazil are the best team in the world in my opinion. Their record speaks for itself. It is a great game to be involved in and anyone would be proud to be involved in it."

Tuesday's game at Arsenal's Emirates Stadium is the first of four for Ireland before they kick off their Euro 2012 qualifying campaign, for which they have been drawn against Russia, Slovakia, Macedonia, Armenia and Andorra.

"I think we can do really well in the group," said Wilson. "We were very unlucky not to get to the World Cup, so we have got a great chance.

"I watched the France game on the television and I could not believe what happened.

Hurting
"A lot of the players are hurting maybe because they didn't get to the World Cup because of a controversial decision. I am sure a lot of them are upset."

Wilson was involved in an eligibility dispute earlier in his career having played for Northern Ireland at both Under-15 and Under-17 level.

He then switched his allegiance to the Republic, representing them at Under-18, Under-19 and Under-21 levels, and he has no regrets.

"I made it clear I wanted to play for the south," Wilson added.

"It has not distracted me at all. I just get on with my football. It was always my dream to play for the Republic. I had grown up supporting them.

"Obviously Northern Ireland want to keep as many talented players as they can and when four or five decide to leave, then that's what is upsetting them.

"It should be down to the player to make that decision and that should be it."

Yero, Aghagallon gets a mention
Post by: Archie Mitchell on February 28, 2010, 11:36:04 PM
Aghagallon in the spotlight now Jim! The BBC cameras might be about this week!
Post by: boojangles on February 28, 2010, 11:39:56 PM
I was born in Cavan but my grandfather was born in Scotland,obviously under the grandparent rule I could play for Scotland but would it mean I could play for NI?
Post by: ziggysego on February 28, 2010, 11:52:05 PM
Quote from: boojangles on February 28, 2010, 11:39:56 PM
I was born in Cavan but my grandfather was born in Scotland,obviously under the grandparent rule I could play for Scotland but would it mean I could play for NI?

and England and Wales... apparently.
Post by: Aerlik on March 01, 2010, 02:55:53 PM
If he was born before this temporary border thingy then perhaps yes...
Post by: The Watcher Pat on March 01, 2010, 09:57:33 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on February 28, 2010, 10:18:40 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on February 28, 2010, 09:07:43 AM
Great news

A good opportunity to remind everyone what all the fuss is about  ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SyEybSXYYeE&feature=fvw (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SyEybSXYYeE&feature=fvw)

Apologies for the cheesy music.

Big deal. Whats your point?
He got a hard time against Rooney who imo is one of the best 3 players iin the world at the minute. As long as he has learnt something from it. Didn't stop Jonny Evan's begging him after the match to play for OWC!
Post by: T Fearon on March 01, 2010, 10:09:32 PM
I thought Eoin Downing would rank alongside Aghagallon's most famous exports?

B the way used to play soccer with Frankie Mc Conaghy who played also for Aghagallon Mitchels
Post by: boojangles on March 01, 2010, 10:10:52 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 28, 2010, 11:52:05 PM

If you had to choose between NI,England,Scotland or Wales to play for, who would it be?
Post by: ziggysego on March 01, 2010, 11:22:39 PM
Quote from: boojangles on March 01, 2010, 10:10:52 PM

If you had to choose between NI,England,Scotland or Wales to play for, who would it be?

Wales
Post by: Mickey Linden on March 02, 2010, 08:54:53 AM
Whos Eoin Downing Tony?
Post by: T Fearon on March 02, 2010, 09:15:53 AM
The Aghagallon lads will know who I'm talking about ;D
Post by: Mickey Linden on March 02, 2010, 09:42:40 AM
Im from Aghagallon Tony. Never heard of him.
Post by: ziggysego on March 02, 2010, 11:07:44 AM
Yeah, he sounds famous alright Tony ::)
Post by: T Fearon on March 02, 2010, 11:09:14 AM
Pub owners, out towards Aghalee direction?
Post by: JimStynes on March 02, 2010, 12:15:41 PM
Ivan Downing you mean Tony? They own Clenaghans Restaurant?
Post by: Main Street on March 02, 2010, 12:20:03 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on February 27, 2010, 12:28:18 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on February 26, 2010, 03:13:15 PM

the cas will not be able to change eligibility rules, they may however try tightening up on players switching teams after playing for one team. good luck with that tho.

love to see the cas ruling on whether the british state should have 4 teams, how far up their arse are their heads that ifa sfa wfa and efa see nothing wrong with this? ni shouldnt even have a team ffs yet their still moaning and playing the victim

CAS do not change rules. If the IFA had an argument for changing an eligibility rule then they must do that through FIFA and the end of that process is a vote at Congress. CAS is a place where the IFA can engage in arbitration with FIFA.

Anyway the IFA are only arguing that FIFA uphold the eligibility  rules, specifically rule 15 and rule 16.
Trust the IFA to come up with that argument, they have to be the most moronic football federation going. Stubborn and stupid would be my main description.
Stubborn because they tried that argument before with FIFA and failed. Stupid because they do not comprehend the articles of eligibility even after they were rewritten by FIFA in May 2008. 
Article 15 was rewritten to also include the specific case of Irish citizenship in the text.

Article 15 Principle
"1 Any person holding a
permanent nationality
that is not dependent
on residence in a certain
country is eligible to play
for the representative teams
of the Association of that
country"

Then the IFA want FIFA to uphold article 16 ???
Is there no limit to their total ignorance?

Article 16 is about the 4 UK federations.
"Nationality entitling
players to represent more
than one Association"

That article merely brings the  UK agreement signed by the 4 UK federations into the Satutes.
It outlines the terms how the 4 federations can select players with the one nationality.

That leads me believe that the IFA do not actually understand that an Irish national is not eligible to play for them.
A Nationalist Northern Ireland player is only eligible for them because he is a British national by birth, according to the Brit nationality laws.
Post by: Mickey Linden on March 02, 2010, 01:36:46 PM
Ah Ivan Downing. Get u now Tony! Hes about the 3rd most well known Ivan in Aghagallon ;)
Post by: ziggysego on March 02, 2010, 01:38:54 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on March 02, 2010, 01:36:46 PM
Ah Ivan Downing. Get u now Tony! Hes about the 3rd most well known Ivan in Aghagallon ;)

So famous, the person proclaiming his fame doesn't even know his name  :D

Not quite up there with booking the hotel on the wrong weekend, but not far off it ;)
Post by: Celt_Man on March 02, 2010, 01:54:05 PM
Quote from: boojangles on March 01, 2010, 10:10:52 PM

Go on the dole...
Post by: T Fearon on March 02, 2010, 02:00:46 PM
I went to school back in the 70s with Eoin Downing, whose family owned a pub out in Aghagallon/ Aghalee/Gawleys Gate direction. His name was definitely Eoin.

PS Also have relations myself out there, Pat and Eileen Lavery
Post by: JimStynes on March 02, 2010, 02:16:49 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 02, 2010, 02:00:46 PM
I went to school back in the 70s with Eoin Downing, whose family owned a pub out in Aghagallon/ Aghalee/Gawleys Gate direction. His name was definitely Eoin.

PS Also have relations myself out there, Pat and Eileen Lavery

I dont know Eoin, i will have to ask my da he would probably know him.  I am a Lavery aswell Tony please dont let this mean that i am related to you  ;)
Post by: T Fearon on March 02, 2010, 02:34:43 PM
Worry not, it is through Pat's (the chemist) wife Eileen that the relationship occurs. She's a full cousin of my ma's.

Hard luck though, you could nearly have boasted that you were related to me. ;D

PS Downings Pub in Aghalee, surely it is not that long gone?
Post by: Ulick on March 02, 2010, 02:43:31 PM
You not talking about the Silver Eel, Tony? It has probably changed hands a number of times since you were a young lad.
Post by: T Fearon on March 02, 2010, 03:13:35 PM
Don't know what its called but it used to be Downings. Also went to school with Mark Hickland, he of the bicycle shop family.

PS I am so old I remember and saw Aghagallon Mitchels playing in the Armagh League against my own club, Portadown Tir Na Nog!
Post by: full back on March 02, 2010, 03:17:57 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 02, 2010, 02:34:43 PM

:D :D
You are some tool Fearon
Post by: JimStynes on March 02, 2010, 03:24:59 PM
Quote from: full back on March 02, 2010, 03:17:57 PM

You are some tool Fearon

f**k sake tony catch a grip

Jesus tony that is some time ago, what age are you ffs. Aghagallon has had 4 or 5 different teams at some stage, and it had 3 different teams playing at one time due to everyone falling out with one another and starting up new clubs.
Post by: Aerlik on March 02, 2010, 03:26:55 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on March 02, 2010, 02:16:49 PM
I am a Lavery aswell Tony please dont let this mean that i am related to you  ;)

Jaysus, Jim, just think what you could look like if you give up the gym  :o
Post by: T Fearon on March 02, 2010, 03:42:39 PM
Must have been round 1977/78.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on March 02, 2010, 06:07:49 PM
Worry not, it is through Pat's (the chemist) wife Eileen that the relationship occurs. She's a full cousin of my ma's.

Pat Downing owned Derryhirk Inn for years, used to work in it myself in my younger days.
Post by: The Worker on March 02, 2010, 06:11:50 PM
(http://i1.bebo.com/022b/5/medium/2006/10/17/21/874282560a2290622692b135860053m.jpg)
Post by: T Fearon on March 02, 2010, 07:24:39 PM
Thank you. Did you know Eoin?
Post by: Ulick on March 02, 2010, 08:48:38 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat link=topic=15497.msg742373#msg742373
Pat Downing owned Derryhirk Inn for years, used to work in it myself in my younger days.

Was that not Pat Downey?
Post by: JimStynes on March 02, 2010, 09:18:51 PM

Ive just realised that Pat and Eillen is my aunties ma and da Tony. She was a Lavery and married into other Laverys of Aghagallon, all inbreds out here  ;D
Post by: The Worker on March 02, 2010, 09:20:04 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on March 02, 2010, 09:18:51 PM

Ive just realised that Pat and Eillen is my aunties ma and da Tony. She was a Lavery and married into other Laverys of Aghagallon, all inbreds out here  ;D

sure are you not from gawleys gate
Post by: JimStynes on March 02, 2010, 09:25:54 PM
Quote from: The Worker on March 02, 2010, 09:20:04 PM

Aghagallon all the way. Sure im from Whitehall, if thats Gawleys Gate then the Hirk is Gawleys gate too.
Post by: The Worker on March 02, 2010, 09:27:37 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on March 02, 2010, 09:25:54 PM
Quote from: The Worker on March 02, 2010, 09:20:04 PM

Aghagallon all the way. Sure im from Whitehall, if thats Gawleys Gate then the Hirk is Gawleys gate too.

the hirks the hirk. ur gatewegian. Marc is full bred aghagallon though  :P
Post by: T Fearon on March 02, 2010, 09:45:20 PM
Jim, I am deducing then that your auntie is my cousin Clare, who is married to Vincent? ;D Small world.

You're obviously then related to Johnny Lavery (Vincent's brother), my old soccer team mate way back in the late 70s with Portavon? Wait a minute, if Clare is your aunt, then there is a distinct possibility that Johnny is your dad? Am I right?
Post by: The Gs Man on March 02, 2010, 10:08:21 PM
Wrong. Close but no cigar.

Jonny still has hair.
Post by: The Worker on March 02, 2010, 10:17:51 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on March 02, 2010, 10:08:21 PM
Wrong. Close but no cigar.

Jonny still has hair.

hit
Post by: JimStynes on March 02, 2010, 10:45:33 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 02, 2010, 09:45:20 PM
Jim, I am deducing then that your auntie is my cousin Clare, who is married to Vincent? ;D Small world.

You're obviously then related to Johnny Lavery (Vincent's brother), my old soccer team mate way back in the late 70s with Portavon? Wait a minute, if Clare is your aunt, then there is a distinct possibility that Johnny is your dad? Am I right?

Jonny and Vincey are my uncles Tony. I will have to ask Jonny if you were any good at ground football and report back to the board. Small world indeed.
Post by: Main Street on March 02, 2010, 11:01:49 PM
You inbreds sure love to natter.
Post by: ziggysego on March 02, 2010, 11:02:57 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 02, 2010, 11:01:49 PM

The family tree up round that part of the country only has a few branches, and they look sickly.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 03, 2010, 12:41:22 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 02, 2010, 11:02:57 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 02, 2010, 11:01:49 PM

The family tree up round that part of the country only has a few branches, and they look sickly.

Sure most family trees in Greencastle are only trunks ziggy  :D I managed to squeeze past the "keep er in the family" lark as I'm a mc cullagh an they thought I must be at least a 'castle man ha ha  :P
Post by: T Fearon on March 03, 2010, 08:57:30 AM
It has just come to me, The Igo Inn!!! Isn't that the pub the Downings owned?
Post by: illdecide on March 03, 2010, 09:23:12 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 03, 2010, 08:57:30 AM
It has just come to me, The Igo Inn!!! Isn't that the pub the Downings owned?

Pat Downey you mean...

Anyway enough of that shite, did young Wilson not get a run out last night?
Post by: The Watcher Pat on March 03, 2010, 09:29:21 AM
Quote from: Ulick on March 02, 2010, 08:48:38 PM

Was that not Pat Downey?

No Downing...The pub got Downey's or The Igo Inn or as it sais above the bar Doc's after his dad.
Post by: T Fearon on March 03, 2010, 09:30:31 AM
Illdecide, I fear you have fallen victim to a collquialism here. The guy I went to school with was definitely called Downing, but you know how these things get "altered" and half the country wil know him as "Downey"

No Marco didn't get a run last night, though surprisingly Keane played the whole game and Mc Geady came on. I thought these two were half dead, at least that was the excuse to explain their poor performances last Sunday
Post by: illdecide on March 03, 2010, 12:41:58 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on March 03, 2010, 09:29:21 AM
Quote from: Ulick on March 02, 2010, 08:48:38 PM

Was that not Pat Downey?

No Downing...The pub got Downey's or The Igo Inn or as it sais above the bar Doc's after his dad.

Many a lassie got the Kit-Kat around the back of that place years ago after the disco's :D :D
Post by: T Fearon on March 04, 2010, 09:47:21 AM
Did you her the bigots chanting "Thierry Henry" last night? Then the bastards wonder why catholic/nationalists don't want to paly for them
Post by: delboy on March 04, 2010, 11:24:54 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 04, 2010, 09:47:21 AM
Did you her the bigots chanting "Thierry Henry" last night? Then the b**tards wonder why catholic/nationalists don't want to paly for them

Singing 'thierry henry' makes you a bigot, thats a new one on me i must remember that  ???
Post by: ziggysego on March 04, 2010, 11:27:05 AM
Did you her the bigots chanting "Thierry Henry" last night? Then the b**tards wonder why catholic/nationalists don't want to paly for them

Why were you even watching the game, since you detest them so much?
Post by: T Fearon on March 04, 2010, 11:53:15 AM
Heard it on the radio this morning, when the North of Ireland manager was being interviewed post match.

By the way here's a guy telling it like it is, in the Belfast Telegraph ;)

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/opinion/article14706503.ece;jsessionid=8A96FF633C78A7F40FEA2E633713F0F6?postingType=posting&mode=thanks&postingId=14708576
Post by: delboy on March 04, 2010, 12:33:27 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 04, 2010, 11:53:15 AM
Heard it on the radio this morning, when the North of Ireland manager was being interviewed post match.

By the way here's a guy telling it like it is, in the Belfast Telegraph ;)

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/opinion/article14706503.ece;jsessionid=8A96FF633C78A7F40FEA2E633713F0F6?postingType=posting&mode=thanks&postingId=14708576

Why use one word 'worthington' when you can use five 'the north of ireland manager' to make your petty pronuncements.
Post by: Main Street on March 04, 2010, 12:34:07 PM
NI Manager in shock display of support for the Nordies right to chose despite being sore.

"I find it difficult to understand, but if a player doesn't want to play for Northern Ireland, then good luck to him. I wish them no harm,"
"If they don't want to play for us, then that's it. I will look forward and concentrate on the youngsters coming through."

On Duffy, he admits to knowing the player had fundamental doubts.

'Everton youngster Duffy was on the bench for Northern Ireland's friendly against Italy last May in Pisa.
Worthington admits that even then he knew the 18-year-old had major doubts and the IFA did try everything in their power to persuade him to stay with the country of his birth.'
"The lad has made his decision with his family, so I respect that. We will wait and see what happens in terms of our case."

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/fifa-ruling-is-exploiting-us-blasts-worthington-14706451.html#ixzz0hD61v9b8 (http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/fifa-ruling-is-exploiting-us-blasts-worthington-14706451.html#ixzz0hD61v9b8)
Post by: T Fearon on March 04, 2010, 12:45:52 PM
I believe its called the "principle of consent", a phrase beloved of unionism generally. Just as 1m unionists cannot be bombed into a United Ireland against their will, neith should the likes of young Duffy be coerced against his free will to play for the IFA team ;)
Post by: Hereiam on March 04, 2010, 12:58:47 PM
QuoteWhy use one word 'worthington' when you can use five 'the north of ireland manager' to make your petty pronuncements.

With Tony on this one. Never do I refer to this part of the Island as Northern Ireland. Just isn't right to.
Post by: ziggysego on March 04, 2010, 01:12:24 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on March 04, 2010, 12:58:47 PM
QuoteWhy use one word 'worthington' when you can use five 'the north of ireland manager' to make your petty pronuncements.

With Tony on this one. Never do I refer to this part of the Island as Northern Ireland. Just isn't right to.

Tony uses 'N' rather than 'n' though. That's frowned upon by some.
Post by: Main Street on March 04, 2010, 01:20:38 PM
How about n/N ?
Post by: haranguerer on March 04, 2010, 01:28:31 PM
That Donnelly article in the Telegraph hits the nail on the head. Fearon gets slated for always finding a way to slate the IFA (not that its hard to find), but on this issue their ignorance is absolutely astounding.

Practically every nationalist in the north grows up supporting the republic. That this is their team rather than norn irn has been reinforced for generations by the actions of NIs fans, and the apologists of the IFA (not too mention others: Jackie '...I dont think the boos were as bad that time...'fullerton), for eg in their treatment of Neil Lennon.

If the IFA were serious about attracting nationalists to support their team, which is the only way they'll ever get any to declare for them, they'd ban all slogans political in nature, play a neutral anthem (or both!), play under a flag acceptable to both communities, etc, etc.

None of that will happen any time soon, so if the IFA wont take steps to change the way their team is seen by nationalists, how can they expect nationalists to see their team any differently than they have in the past. A lot of things are changing in the north, but OWC has remained a bastion of loyalism.

Anyway, would they not be happy enough if FIFA invented an award for them, say 'Most persecuted FA in the world' or similar? Or even 'FA with most awards invented just to keep them happy'?
Post by: T Fearon on March 04, 2010, 02:00:40 PM
I don't even think its ignorance. More like arrogance of the "Ulster is British" type, so anyone born here is "British". You'd think nearly 12 years on from the Good Friday Agreement the slow learners would have learn't the reality ::)
Post by: delboy on March 04, 2010, 02:06:31 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on March 04, 2010, 12:58:47 PM

Good for you, thats what the place needs more people who pretend the place doesn't exist, meanwhile back in the real world i'll continue to live in Northern Ireland and support the Northern Ireland football team, you keep clicking the heels of your ruby slippers and keep repeating 'theres no such place as Northern Ireland'  ;D
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 04, 2010, 02:10:54 PM
Did anyone else take Albania at 7/5 last night??  Great price given the state of the pitch and the state of the team worthy put out.  Nice wee treble with Sweden and England minus a goal.
Post by: delboy on March 04, 2010, 02:26:30 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on March 04, 2010, 02:10:54 PM
Did anyone else take Albania at 7/5 last night??  Great price given the state of the pitch and the state of the team worthy put out.  Nice wee treble with Sweden and England minus a goal.

I did indeed, the pitch was like a ploughed field, had them with sweden and spain unfortunately also had scotland for the draw.
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 04, 2010, 02:41:35 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 04, 2010, 12:34:07 PM
NI Manager in shock display of support for the Nordies right to chose despite being sore.

"I find it difficult to understand, but if a player doesn't want to play for Northern Ireland, then good luck to him. I wish them no harm,"
"If they don't want to play for us, then that's it. I will look forward and concentrate on the youngsters coming through."

On Duffy, he admits to knowing the player had fundamental doubts.
'Everton youngster Duffy was on the bench for Northern Ireland's friendly against Italy last May in Pisa.
Worthington admits that even then he knew the 18-year-old had major doubts and the IFA did try everything in their power to persuade him to stay with the country of his birth.'
"The lad has made his decision with his family, so I respect that. We will wait and see what happens in terms of our case."

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/fifa-ruling-is-exploiting-us-blasts-worthington-14706451.html#ixzz0hD61v9b8 (http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/fifa-ruling-is-exploiting-us-blasts-worthington-14706451.html#ixzz0hD61v9b8)
flippin eck
they are claiming its a country now !!!
Post by: red hander on March 04, 2010, 05:44:46 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on March 04, 2010, 01:28:31 PM
That Donnelly article in the Telegraph hits the nail on the head. Fearon gets slated for always finding a way to slate the IFA (not that its hard to find), but on this issue their ignorance is absolutely astounding.

Practically every nationalist in the north grows up supporting the republic. That this is their team rather than norn irn has been reinforced for generations by the actions of NIs fans, and the apologists of the IFA (not too mention others: Jackie '...I dont think the boos were as bad that time...'fullerton), for eg in their treatment of Neil Lennon.

If the IFA were serious about attracting nationalists to support their team, which is the only way they'll ever get any to declare for them, they'd ban all slogans political in nature, play a neutral anthem (or both!), play under a flag acceptable to both communities, etc, etc.

None of that will happen any time soon, so if the IFA wont take steps to change the way their team is seen by nationalists, how can they expect nationalists to see their team any differently than they have in the past. A lot of things are changing in the north, but OWC has remained a bastion of loyalism.

Anyway, would they not be happy enough if FIFA invented an award for them, say 'Most persecuted FA in the world' or similar? Or even 'FA with most awards invented just to keep them happy'?

Ditto.  The thing is, though, the IFA have left it way too late to launch any successful bid to attract nationalists, IMO ... it doesn't matter what they do, it ain't happening, and I believe they basically accept this themselves, and that's why they haven't made a genuine effort and are happy to plough on with a support that includes a significant minority of total scumbags

But it's certainly changed times folks when an article like that appears in the Belfast Telegraph ("rabid" supporters, indeed) ... no doubt falling newspaper circulations have prompted the Telegraph to attempt to attract a few nationalists themselves  ;)
Post by: Main Street on March 04, 2010, 05:48:50 PM
How long ago would it have been that an article like that would not have been printed in the Telegraph.
Post by: red hander on March 04, 2010, 05:50:59 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 04, 2010, 05:48:50 PM
How long ago would it have been that an article like that would not have been printed in the Telegraph.

Well, considering the Tele used to have its own Orange Lodge, I'd say not too long ago
Post by: gerry on March 06, 2010, 01:22:34 AM
link (http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/opinion/columnists/brian-mcnally/Why-the-talent-drain-to-the-Republic-shows-Northern-Ireland-are-still-paying-the-price-for-abuse-dished-out-to-Neil-Lennon-The-Brian-McNally-Column-article344981.html)

good post from an english paper

Why Northern Ireland continue to pay the price for abuse dished out to Neil Lennon
By Brian McNally

Published 11:04 05/03/10
The dubious and flawed campaign by Northern Irish football authorities aimed at preventing young footballers from Catholic/Nationalist backgrounds in the province playing for the Republic of Ireland always evades the central issue.

The big question that mysteriously seems to escape the denizens of the Irish Football Association and their apologists is devastatingly simple:

Why does this steady and increasing stream of young footballers from the minority community - many of whom were capped at schoolboy or under-age levels - reject Northern Ireland when they approach full international level?

The answer can be summed up in just two words: Neil Lennon.

These young men still have vivid memories of the vile anti-Catholic abuse heaped on Neil Lennon by the Windsor Park bigots.

As young teenagers they remember the heinous hatred directed toward a prominent member of their own community simply because he was a Catholic and played for Celtic.

They recall that a Catholic captain of Northern Ireland was not just jeered and booed by people who were supposed to be supporting the country he had chosen to represent - but that he also was forced to quit international football because of death threats made against him.

And they know from their parents that this wasn't a new development or a one-off. Celtic defender Anton Rogan and others regularly suffered the same sort of shameful religious intolerance in the 1980s.

The IFA can hide behind smokescreens  but they need look no further than the Lennon factor to discover the reason for the talent drain to the Republic.

Forget the spurious claims about players being poached or lured south of the border by incentives - the lingering fear of sectarian abuse is the biggest single factor in turning young Catholics away from playing for the Northern Ireland senior side.

The IFA were finally forced to  tackle sectarianism in the wake of the damaging Lennon scandal but it was too little, too late to change the mindsets of young men such as Manchester United's Darron Gibson and Everton's Shane Duffy both from Derry and Portsmouth's Marc Wilson from Belfast.

The unpleasant and inconvenient truth for Northern Ireland's football chiefs is that their sport unlike rugby union which unites both Catholic and Protestant in Ireland remains divided down sharp political and sectarian lines.

Support for the Northern Ireland football team is overwhelmingly loyalist and Protestant, while the Catholic/Nationalist population - which now has the right of Irish citizenship - are largely fans of the Republic of Ireland.

Kids in Belfast and Derry grow up supporting two different national teams and the chances of genuine integration in the North were badly damaged by the sectarianism at Northern Ireland games that wasn't properly tackled until 2002.

Progress has been made in trying to make Northern Ireland an all-inclusive team, but it is painfully slow.

It is one thing because of travel, geography and financial considerations for Catholic youngsters whose passport are Irish rather than British to play for schoolboy or under-age Northern Ireland teams.

But it is a much more daunting prospect as a young Catholic, Irish passport holder to run out for the senior side to the strains of "God Save The Queen"  and fluttering Union flags,in front of thousands of Windsor Park fans whose repertoire until recently was virulently anti-Catholic.

Not surprisingly growing numbers of the new generation of young Catholics are using their legitimate right - recognized by FIFA and the governments of Ireland and Britain - to play their football for the Republic in the more welcoming and culturally-friendly environs of Croke Park.

It is both bizarre and arrogant that Ulster football chiefs think they can prevent young Irish passport holders from playing for the Republic.

The IFA insists it will go to the Court of Arbitration for Sport in an attempt to prevent players born in their jurisdiction opting for the Republic.

Exactly how a sporting court can over-turn the Good Friday Agreement or a decision made by the British and Irish governments appears to defy conventional logic.

As is the implication that they can dragoon unwilling Catholics into a set-up that a decade ago had vocal sections demanding religious apartheid.

Northern Ireland are not only wasting their time with this insensitive and counter-productive action, but are in danger of driving future generations of young men who see themselves as Irish towards the Republic team.

The Good Friday Agreement gave all the citizens of the six counties the right to decide whether they were Irish, British or both. That freedom of choice seems to sit uneasily with the IFA agenda.

Perhaps FIFA or the Court of Arbitration for Sport could point them down the path to enlightenment followed by the all-Ireland rugby team and suggest a merger with the Republic to form a truly national side encompassing all 32 counties and all communities on the island of Ireland.

Sound familiar? It should. Neil Lennon suggested an all-Ireland team a few years back and was howled down by the curse of intolerance.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 06, 2010, 01:44:37 AM
Where's the OWC brigade!
Post by: Main Street on March 06, 2010, 02:27:44 AM
 The "we never had an abusive relation with that man" OWC?

That article is a tad melodramatic ;D
Liam Brady rings up some Nordie youth  "listen son I'll only say 2 words to you,  Neil Lennon".

Post by: The Subbie on March 06, 2010, 09:06:03 AM
Three things spring to mind when you read that

Did Fearon ghost write that for Brian McNally  ;D

If not does McNally lurk on the board ;D

Is he from Kent and has he got an artistically talented daughter called Holly that would now be in her teens?  ;D
Post by: tyroneboi on March 06, 2010, 02:26:14 PM
Wilson is playing very well for Portsmouth in the FA Cup against Birmingham today. Looks like he could develop into a top class player. Surely will be signed by another PL team when Pompey are relegated.
Post by: JimStynes on March 06, 2010, 04:01:24 PM
He has been playing centre back all season but was playing his best position as a holding midfielder today. There is talk of Newcastle, Sunderland and Celtic looking him.
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 06, 2010, 04:11:00 PM
I think it's a fair enough article. a nationalist should not be expected to stand for GSTQ in Windsor Park and then try and believe he is representing his country. I know no Catholics who support or follow Norn Iron soccer team or give a sh*t how they do.   
Post by: Yes I Would on March 06, 2010, 04:23:17 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 06, 2010, 04:11:00 PM
I think it's a fair enough article. a nationalist should not be expected to stand for GSTQ in Windsor Park and then try and believe he is representing his country. I know no Catholics who support or follow Norn Iron soccer team or give a sh*t how they do.

Marty Clarke...
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 06, 2010, 04:25:16 PM
Rite enuff... they are few and far between tho.
Post by: haranguerer on March 06, 2010, 11:50:53 PM
Thats Down men for you...
Post by: Minder on March 06, 2010, 11:55:36 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on March 06, 2010, 02:26:14 PM
Wilson is playing very well for Portsmouth in the FA Cup against Birmingham today. Looks like he could develop into a top class player. Surely will be signed by another PL team when Pompey are relegated.

Steady on squire.
Post by: Celt_Man on March 07, 2010, 12:10:32 AM
Quote from: Yes I Would on March 06, 2010, 04:23:17 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 06, 2010, 04:11:00 PM

Marty Clarke...

What's this now?
Post by: MW on March 07, 2010, 09:55:57 PM
Quote from: gerry on March 06, 2010, 01:22:34 AM
link (http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/opinion/columnists/brian-mcnally/Why-the-talent-drain-to-the-Republic-shows-Northern-Ireland-are-still-paying-the-price-for-abuse-dished-out-to-Neil-Lennon-The-Brian-McNally-Column-article344981.html)

good post from an english paper

Why Northern Ireland continue to pay the price for abuse dished out to Neil Lennon
By Brian McNally

Published 11:04 05/03/10
The dubious and flawed campaign by Northern Irish football authorities aimed at preventing young footballers from Catholic/Nationalist backgrounds in the province playing for the Republic of Ireland always evades the central issue.

The big question that mysteriously seems to escape the denizens of the Irish Football Association and their apologists is devastatingly simple:

Why does this steady and increasing stream of young footballers from the minority community - many of whom were capped at schoolboy or under-age levels - reject Northern Ireland when they approach full international level?

The answer can be summed up in just two words: Neil Lennon.

These young men still have vivid memories of the vile anti-Catholic abuse heaped on Neil Lennon by the Windsor Park bigots.

As young teenagers they remember the heinous hatred directed toward a prominent member of their own community simply because he was a Catholic and played for Celtic.

They recall that a Catholic captain of Northern Ireland was not just jeered and booed by people who were supposed to be supporting the country he had chosen to represent - but that he also was forced to quit international football because of death threats made against him.

And they know from their parents that this wasn't a new development or a one-off. Celtic defender Anton Rogan and others regularly suffered the same sort of shameful religious intolerance in the 1980s.

The IFA can hide behind smokescreens  but they need look no further than the Lennon factor to discover the reason for the talent drain to the Republic.

Forget the spurious claims about players being poached or lured south of the border by incentives - the lingering fear of sectarian abuse is the biggest single factor in turning young Catholics away from playing for the Northern Ireland senior side.

The IFA were finally forced to  tackle sectarianism in the wake of the damaging Lennon scandal but it was too little, too late to change the mindsets of young men such as Manchester United's Darron Gibson and Everton's Shane Duffy both from Derry and Portsmouth's Marc Wilson from Belfast.

The unpleasant and inconvenient truth for Northern Ireland's football chiefs is that their sport unlike rugby union which unites both Catholic and Protestant in Ireland remains divided down sharp political and sectarian lines.

Support for the Northern Ireland football team is overwhelmingly loyalist and Protestant, while the Catholic/Nationalist population - which now has the right of Irish citizenship - are largely fans of the Republic of Ireland.

Kids in Belfast and Derry grow up supporting two different national teams and the chances of genuine integration in the North were badly damaged by the sectarianism at Northern Ireland games that wasn't properly tackled until 2002.

Progress has been made in trying to make Northern Ireland an all-inclusive team, but it is painfully slow.

It is one thing because of travel, geography and financial considerations for Catholic youngsters whose passport are Irish rather than British to play for schoolboy or under-age Northern Ireland teams.

But it is a much more daunting prospect as a young Catholic, Irish passport holder to run out for the senior side to the strains of "God Save The Queen"  and fluttering Union flags,in front of thousands of Windsor Park fans whose repertoire until recently was virulently anti-Catholic.

Not surprisingly growing numbers of the new generation of young Catholics are using their legitimate right - recognized by FIFA and the governments of Ireland and Britain - to play their football for the Republic in the more welcoming and culturally-friendly environs of Croke Park.

It is both bizarre and arrogant that Ulster football chiefs think they can prevent young Irish passport holders from playing for the Republic.

The IFA insists it will go to the Court of Arbitration for Sport in an attempt to prevent players born in their jurisdiction opting for the Republic.

Exactly how a sporting court can over-turn the Good Friday Agreement or a decision made by the British and Irish governments appears to defy conventional logic.

As is the implication that they can dragoon unwilling Catholics into a set-up that a decade ago had vocal sections demanding religious apartheid.

Northern Ireland are not only wasting their time with this insensitive and counter-productive action, but are in danger of driving future generations of young men who see themselves as Irish towards the Republic team.

The Good Friday Agreement gave all the citizens of the six counties the right to decide whether they were Irish, British or both. That freedom of choice seems to sit uneasily with the IFA agenda.

Perhaps FIFA or the Court of Arbitration for Sport could point them down the path to enlightenment followed by the all-Ireland rugby team and suggest a merger with the Republic to form a truly national side encompassing all 32 counties and all communities on the island of Ireland.

Sound familiar? It should. Neil Lennon suggested an all-Ireland team a few years back and was howled down by the curse of intolerance.

Falls down on the fact that his basic premise is simply wrong. Wrong, wrong, wrong. The anti-sectarianism drive started before Neil Lennon signed for Celtic. (And that's without getting into his rather forgetful account of what happened)

And ending with the non sequitur, "path to enlightenment" = all-Ireland team (not to mention "truly national side" - politics laid bare there, eh!) - kind of shows up the writer's agenda just a touch.

PS...what does "more welcoming and culturally-friendly environs" mean?
Post by: MW on March 07, 2010, 09:58:15 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 04, 2010, 11:27:05 AM

Why were you even watching the game, since you detest them so much?

Tony watches every NI game in the hope that he can find something to be offended by.

Mind you if he can't find anything, he just makes it up anyway...
Post by: MW on March 07, 2010, 10:16:21 PM

How? ???
Post by: ziggysego on March 07, 2010, 10:19:30 PM
Quote from: MW on March 07, 2010, 10:16:21 PM

How? ???

I could be wrong, but if you're eligible for one of the UK regions, you're eligible for them all?
Post by: ziggysego on March 07, 2010, 10:26:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 07, 2010, 10:25:08 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 07, 2010, 10:19:30 PM
Quote from: MW on March 07, 2010, 10:16:21 PM

How? ???

I could be wrong, but if you're eligible for one of the UK regions, you're eligible for them all?
What?

If you can play for NI, you can play for England, Scotland or Wales also.
Post by: MW on March 07, 2010, 10:33:10 PM
No - see FIFA's article 16, which covers nationalities that would qualify a player for more than one Association.
Post by: ziggysego on March 07, 2010, 10:36:19 PM
Quote from: MW on March 07, 2010, 10:33:10 PM
No - see FIFA's article 16, which covers nationalities that would qualify a player for more than one Association.

Didn't mean they could swap and switch. For instance, Michael Owens is Welsh but plays for England. However that was a schools thing.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 07, 2010, 10:39:56 PM
Quote from: MW on March 07, 2010, 09:55:57 PM

Falls down on the fact that his basic premise is simply wrong. Wrong, wrong, wrong. The anti-sectarianism drive started before Neil Lennon signed for Celtic. (And that's without getting into his rather forgetful account of what happened)

And ending with the non sequitur, "path to enlightenment" = all-Ireland team (not to mention "truly national side" - politics laid bare there, eh!) - kind of shows up the writer's agenda just a touch.

MW when will "you people" ever get your heads out of the sand and realise that a nationalist/republican/catholic young fella is not going to be enticed to your team while you have the baggage of GSTQ and the Butchers Apron! Not to forget the still sizeable portion of bigots in your support! If you want to appeal to the other 50+% (must be nearly there) of the population then CHANGE.
Post by: MW on March 07, 2010, 10:46:17 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 07, 2010, 10:39:56 PM

MW when will "you people" ever get your heads out of the sand and realise that a nationalist/republican/catholic young fella is not going to be enticed to your team while you have the baggage of GSTQ and the Butchers Apron! Not to forget the still sizeable portion of bigots in your support! If you want to appeal to the other 50+% (must be nearly there) of the population then CHANGE.

Three points here:

1 - NI has currently, as it always has, players from a Catholic/nationalist community background
2 - NI don't use the Union Flag
3 - I've long advocated the adoption of a NI-specific anthem
Post by: MW on March 07, 2010, 10:48:55 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 07, 2010, 10:36:19 PM
Quote from: MW on March 07, 2010, 10:33:10 PM

Didn't mean they could swap and switch. For instance, Michael Owens is Welsh but plays for England. However that was a schools thing.

Michael Owen was born in England.

British nationality alone doesn't qualify a player to play for England, NI, Wales or Scotland - there has to be a birth/residency/ancestry connection as well.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 07, 2010, 11:00:48 PM
Quote from: MW on March 07, 2010, 10:46:17 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 07, 2010, 10:39:56 PM

Three points here:

1 - NI has currently, as it always has, players from a Catholic/nationalist community background
2 - NI don't use the Union Flag
3 - I've long advocated the adoption of a NI-specific anthem

Should have said bastardised ni fleg.

You still haven't answered my question.