Said it tonight on that Brendan O'Connor show.
Should we get it in writing?
A ringing endorsement for a FG vote if ever there was one!
A Gaaboard whipround for his ticket ?
If ever there was a reason to vote Fine Gael.
There's never a good reason to vote for the blueshirts
You`re up late tonight. Mummy and Daddy out for Valentines?
Still an aul hoor?
Ray D'Arcy and Gay Byrne have been the broadcasting arm of FF for years.
And then you have the print media arm of FF interviewing him.
As i've read as a comment elsewhere, D'arcy has not left the country while Bertie and Cowen have been Taoiseach and thus dishonesty and corruption are not factors hes concerned about. So what is it that he is so concerned about that Enda Kenny could possibly make worse ? Health ? Economic competence ?
As for RTE .... "Enda, how dare you not have geneflected daily in front of our man George Lee ... we'll show you"
And if at the next election FG put up posters along the lines of "Get D'Arcy to set sail, vote Fine Gael" ..... what would the impact be ? ? ? ? :-)
D'Arcy was falling over himself earlier in the week to let everyone know what great mates he'd recently become with George Lee. Apparently, they meet up in coffee shops and have big long talks about how they're feeling and everything.
Never thought I would ever find myself supporting the Blueshirts, but, - Go Enda! (as Stewie might say).
even though leaving the country comment is a bit extreme, i can see his point as it would mean we would have a Mayo man running the Country then
& that's not even worth thinking about
(http://th08.deviantart.net/fs16/300W/i/2007/210/b/1/Shock__Horror_by_super_fergus.jpg)
Quote from: ross4life on February 14, 2010, 01:58:16 AM
even though leaving the country comment is a bit extreme, i can see his point as it would mean we would have a Mayo man running the Country then
(http://th08.deviantart.net/fs16/300W/i/2007/210/b/1/Shock__Horror_by_super_fergus.jpg)
Charles Haughey was born in Mayo just to remind you... 8)
(http://blogs.ballyfermot.ie/philiphickey/files/2008/12/brian_cowen1.jpg)
(http://www.ucc.ie/yfg/OLDSITE/Enda_Kenny.jpg)
Eny meany miney mo...
I'm far from a blue shirt but given a choice.
I know people who are very anti FF yet think Kenny would be a worse Taoiseach than Cowen. This FF trick is still working a treat 7 years on.
Its a no win situation.
Lose Enda keep D'arcy
Lose D'arcy keep Enda.
I think I'll leave the country instead :D
D'arcy is getting to be more insufferable than Gerry Ryan!
His 'interview' with media-whore George Lee was puke-inducing. D'arcy seemed to think they were the only two people who could see what the country needs. I can't listen to his show for more than 5 mins. Himself and Lee have one thing in common, and that's the extremely high opinion they have of themselves.
I remember Phil Collins saying he would leave Britain if Labour got in. Let's draw up a list of people you'd like to exit if a new government was elected - in either the Free State or the black North.
Ray Darcy doesn't work for RTE and is entitled to his own political views.
FFS lads... Enda Kenny leading a country?
He only came out last week and said he was going to be his own man in future and speak from his heart.
Where was he speaking from before?
I listen to Darcy most days, and he's alright with me.
Don't envy the voters in the South though. I'd prefer Peter Robinson as Taoiseach than some of those inept tubes.
For me he'll always be the Ray on "The Den". For that reason I find it very hard to take him seriously.
I'd be more interested in what Zig and Zag had to say on the issue than Ray Darcy. He is middle aged now and beginning to lose the run of himself.
You can be pretty sure from comments like that, that ray darcy is a closet fianna failer. These people whose families have always voted for Fianna Fail or Fine Gael but they only sing when they are winning. W*****S
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 14, 2010, 11:25:35 AM
For me he'll always be the Ray on "The Den". For that reason I find it very hard to take him seriously.
He was good on Blackboard Jungle. Small, mind.
God I hope Enda Kenny wins the next election now. I wonder if he will give up the job with today fm
Quote from: Capt Pat on February 14, 2010, 12:25:30 PM
God I hope Enda Kenny wins the next election now. I wonder if he will give up the job with today fm
Exactly. Kenny may have his faults but if we're not "leaving the country" for the shit that Bertie and Biffo have done/are doing (not to mention Harney who is closing down our public health system) then why for Kenny. D'arcy is talking total rubbish here and its nice to see him expose himself for the idiot he is.
Im sick of Darcy. As my mate pointed any show that needs their producers there talking the whole time trying to make it funny isn't good.
He was good at the start now he is just a humpy hoor, if you ever see him in Dublin he always has a big scowl on him.
Haven't listened to him in around 2 years.
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 14, 2010, 08:20:40 AM
Quote from: ross4life on February 14, 2010, 01:58:16 AM
Charles Haughey was born in Mayo just to remind you... 8)
Yes & i use to walk past the very house where he was born on my way to college every day ;)
Born in castlebar but did he ever consider himself a Mayo man? i have a friend that was Born in Manchester & he's doesn't want anyone to mention it! & Albert Reynolds was born in Roscommon i can't remember him talking about his love for the rossies?
what i find most strange is that a Real Mayoman would try to claim Charles Haughey as one of their own :o
Lost the run of himself when he child was born. Used to be alright craic but now the show is just filled with rants about how the world is an terrible place and everyone is a bollix and its awful that his poor child has to grow up in this. He's a moaning, self righteous prat. But I can see why he has an audience. The country is full of moaning, self righteous, asparagus munching, thirty something, new parents, who love nothing more than to send the clown their nonsensical, whinging emails.
Always switch the radio over at 9.05 after the news, normally mumbling "Sh1thead"......if there's a more pretentious man in Ireland I've yet to hear him. Mario Rosenstock and Ian Dempsey always give the day a good start and then he comes on........
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 14, 2010, 11:19:30 AM
Ray Darcy doesn't work for RTE and is entitled to his own political views.
He works for Dennis O'Brien which means he is entitled to Dennis O'Brien's political views.
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 14, 2010, 08:20:40 AMCharles Haughey was born in Mayo just to remind you... 8)
aye, but he was a derry man really - shit, why am i claiming him, sure we'll just agree he was a dub ;)
Quote from: AFS on February 14, 2010, 09:12:23 PM
Lost the run of himself when he child was born. Used to be alright craic but now the show is just filled with rants about how the world is an terrible place and everyone is a bollix and its awful that his poor child has to grow up in this. He's a moaning, self righteous prat. But I can see why he has an audience. The country is full of moaning, self righteous, asparagus munching, thirty something, new parents, who love nothing more than to send the clown their nonsensical, whinging emails.
Ab-so-fuckin-lutely.
If Ray D'Arcy left the country I wouldn't notice.
Almost sure Noel Edmonds said the same sort of thing about a Labour election victory in 1997. Afaik he didn't go through wiith his pledge.
Quote from: Canalman on February 15, 2010, 01:08:26 PM
Almost sure Noel Edmonds said the same sort of thing about a Labour election victory in 1997. Afaik he didn't go through wiith his pledge.
I think you are right. Frank Bruno, Paul Daniels and Phil Collins all said they would leave as well (Collins was the only 1 who kept to his promise). If ever the election swung in Labours favour it was all these clampets threatening to leave.
Brendan O'Connor actually said to him "this is from a man who stays in the country with Brian Cowen as Taoiseach" To which D'Arcy just shrugged.
When Bertie quit as Taoiseach, D'Arcy did an entire day dedicated to the Glorious Leader Berite, all was good and great all day about Berte, he did an entire montage to his greatness.
Whatever about him being a Fianna Failer and defending Brian Cowan (useless but still a human being) but anyone who can defend Patrick Bartholomew "Bertie" Ahern really isn't an opinion worth listening to.
D'Arcy was also very smug about Enda's remark about "being more himself". I am actually begining to think this whole George Lee thing may be a God-send to Enda Kenny, he can now throw off his handlers, its better him acting himself and making a few stupid gaffes on TV (never did Bertie any harm, nothing to aspire to by the way) than looking stiff. For anyone who has talked to Enda on the street or in the pub they tend to a man/woman have high praise and regard for Kenny, he acts so comforatbly talking to people. For some reason he seems to act different on front of the tv camera. When Dobson interviewed him on the News after the Lee debacle he came across natural and more like a sure this is the way it is, not bothered if you like me, this is me. Far better approch than the try too hard method that seemed only present on tv.
Not a big fan of Ray Darcy but in fairness if Enda becomes Taoiseach we may all as well pack up and leave. He may be a nice enough oul devil but as clueless as they come.
Quote from: heineken_on_tap on February 15, 2010, 03:58:59 PM
Not a big fan of Ray Darcy but in fairness if Enda becomes Taoiseach we may all as well pack up and leave. He may be a nice enough oul devil but as clueless as they come.
Could he be any worse that what we presently have? Serious question.
I think Enda Kenny would be worse than Cowen, believe it or not. I actually think Cowen is fairly intelligent, but he is completely unsuited to this sort of situation, partly of his making I'd say. Any Fine Gael/Labour politicians I've spoken to have almost been unanimous in their praise of Cowen, at least privately. Of course he's a big Fianna Fail party man, so he has to carry the blame for the corruption and croneyism which seems endemic there, even though he doesn't seem personally to be as grubby as some of the others.
Enda just seems too much like a marketers image of a politician. All suave suits, glib soundbites and perfect hair.
I'd like to see a government with Richard Bruton in it to give him a chance, and a few others as well in the Labour/Fine Gael ranks, but I'd like to see them in with some of brighter Fianna Fail bucks too, and I wouldn't really care who was Taoiseach.
Having said all that, if it makes Ray Arsey leave the country, votáil Enda.
I'm aware of this opinion of Cowen but the evidence of his time in Health, Finance and as Taoiseach just doesn't back it up. He was Minister for Finance and it was largely his/Bertie's policies that meant we fell into the abyss rather than had a bit of a bumpy landing.
As you said it really doesn't matter terribly who is Taoiseach if he has good, intelligent, strong people around him. I'm not entirely sold on Kenny, far from it, but the current crowd are a complete disaster* so I'm willing to see how he gets on.
* I'd be interested to see who you rate as the brighter FF people. As far as I can see there's only one and he's got a bigger fight on his hands than the economy. He was dumped into a ministry he had no expertise in and took time to get his bearings. Unfortunately in that time he made big mistakes but hopefully if he wins his health battle he can continue to grow and perhaps offer that chink of light.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 15, 2010, 03:44:02 PM
Brendan O'Connor actually said to him "this is from a man who stays in the country with Brian Cowen as Taoiseach" To which D'Arcy just shrugged.
O'Connor was one of Ahern's biggest (probably literally too) supporters.
Quote from: Bogball XV on February 15, 2010, 09:50:11 PM
Well he wasn't the one who came out with the comment, I think he was just pointing out D'Arcys hypocricy.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 15, 2010, 09:55:45 PM
Well he wasn't the one who came out with the comment, I think he was just pointing out D'Arcys hypocricy.
and i'm just pointing out the manpig's hypocrisy in being able to cheerlead the utterly incompetent Ahern, yet condem the less incompetent Cowen.
Quote from: Bogball XV on February 15, 2010, 10:02:00 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 15, 2010, 09:55:45 PM
and i'm just pointing out the manpig's hypocrisy in being able to cheerlead the utterly incompetent Ahern, yet condem the less incompetent Cowen.
Fair points. I actually feel a little sorry for Cowen, how the hell is Bertie still getting special appearances on RTE & writing for the Sunday World from time to time.
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 14, 2010, 11:25:35 AM
I agree Pints .He is a major jackass . Thank God I have managed to hold onto the job for now and dont have to listen to that little bollix .
When Bertie quit as Taoiseach, D'Arcy did an entire day dedicated to the Glorious Leader Berite, all was good and great all day about Berte, he did an entire montage to his greatness.
Whatever about him being a Fianna Failer and defending Brian Cowan (useless but still a human being) but anyone who can defend Patrick Bartholomew "Bertie" Ahern really isn't an opinion worth listening to.
D'Arcy was also very smug about Enda's remark about "being more himself". I am actually begining to think this whole George Lee thing may be a God-send to Enda Kenny, he can now throw off his handlers, its better him acting himself and making a few stupid gaffes on TV (never did Bertie any harm, nothing to aspire to by the way) than looking stiff. For anyone who has talked to Enda on the street or in the pub they tend to a man/woman have high praise and regard for Kenny, he acts so comforatbly talking to people. For some reason he seems to act different on front of the tv camera. When Dobson interviewed him on the News after the Lee debacle he came across natural and more like a sure this is the way it is, not bothered if you like me, this is me. Far better approch than the try too hard method that seemed only present on tv.
My problem with Enda Kenny is he is false. He has the most ridiculous air brushed pictures of himself at his offices. He said he would never go into governemnt with SF but couldn't or wouldn't give a reason and effectively he just takes populist stances on everything so that he can be Taoiseach. There is no substance or principle to the man whatsoever. Doesn't take away from the fact that D'arcy is his equal.
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 16, 2010, 10:42:33 AM
My problem with Enda Kenny is he is false. He has the most ridiculous air brushed pictures of himself at his offices. He said he would never go into governemnt with SF but couldn't or wouldn't give a reason and effectively he just takes populist stances on everything so that he can be Taoiseach. There is no substance or principle to the man whatsoever. Doesn't take away from the fact that D'arcy is his equal.
I suppose a plus is that he never stole from us or protected corrupt politicans. It's sad when that is a plus.
Most posters are airbrushed. Kenny is no exception. Few wore as much makeup as Ahern though, even the women didn't wear as much makeup.
Quote from: Zapatista on February 16, 2010, 11:01:57 AM
I suppose a plus is that he never stole from us or protected corrupt politicans. It's sad when that is a plus.
Sure time will tell. Sad alright when ya can't trust any of them!
What are you basing that on? The fact that his election posters are air-brushed? Every political poster is air-brushed, and I'd hardly call them false for that. Or is it because he said he wouldn't go into coalition with SF? I don't see how that makes him false? You mightn't like it, but that doesn't make him a false person.
Of all the people who wouldn't vote for Kenny, I think you'd find very few find him false. Incompotent, bland, boring - probably yes. False - no.
Not a Fine Gaeler by any means but from what I have seen of Enda Kenny he is not the worst. He has rejuvenated the FG vote and is media savy/ spindoctored reasonably well. Imo a herd mentallity involved in criiicizing him without justification.
However, I feel he screwed up badly last week in not giving a "put up or shut up" ultimatum to his backbenchers and preempt any possible coup by Bruton.
Who gives a hovering f**k what this sweaty faced shortarse w**ker does if Kenny becomes Taoiseach ? !!
On the show the other evening when that Italian chap was on speaking about food and so on , did you notice the way Darcy was throwing eyes over at that other gowl who presents the show ? Eyes as if to say , who's this f**king eejit ? He was looking down his nose at the fellow. Darcy , you are a f**king gowl , go quickly and don't be waiting around for that other genius to take office . ::)
Anyone hear him this morn? He had the wife back on the show after a few months off and then rang his auld lad for their yearly pancake chat. Such dung.
This word may sound familiar but do you know what it means?
INCOMPOTENT
A. Unable to procreate due to innate stupidity.
B. Situated in Ambulance Chaser's temporary offices.
C. Finding wealth an aphrodisiac
D. Shocking educational standards.
Quote from: Tubberman on February 16, 2010, 12:04:58 PM
Of all the people who wouldn't vote for Kenny, I think you'd find very few find him false. Incompotent, bland, boring - probably yes. False - no.
Quote from: passedit on February 16, 2010, 02:03:20 PM
INCOMPOTENT
:)
What's a gowl?
Quote from: Hardy on February 16, 2010, 02:13:18 PM
INCOMPOTENT
What's a gowl?
Ray D'arcy...
Quote from: Hardy on February 16, 2010, 02:13:18 PM
INCOMPOTENT
What's a gowl?
Limerick Slang. I've heard various supposed definitions, but most of them heavily feature female genitalia.
I must have moved in more refined circles in my time in Limerick AZ!
Quote from: Canalman on February 16, 2010, 12:35:32 PM
Not a Fine Gaeler by any means but from what I have seen of Enda Kenny he is not the worst. He has rejuvenated the FG vote and is media savy/ spindoctored reasonably well. Imo a herd mentallity involved in criiicizing him without justification.
However, I feel he screwed up badly last week in not giving a "put up or shut up" ultimatum to his backbenchers and preempt any possible coup by Bruton.
I don't agree with this whole 'he rejuvenated FG' that's pedalled constantly by Kenny's supporters. FG's vote at the last election was pretty much where it almost aways has been, he just managed to get back some of the vote that pointless independents had taken in the 02 election. I think he's a liability for FG at present, because regardless of what he's actually like the public perceive him to be limp, weak and ineffective. Also, hopefully the era of spin is on its way out, yet he seems to be embracing it more than ever (was there ever a worse election campaign than the last one FG ran).
No-one uses the term "fanny" anymore - very popular where I grew up. Gowl is used in some of the rougher parts of Galway. It's generally used in a sense that is unflattering to the woman in question.
Quote from: Bogball XV on February 16, 2010, 04:53:36 PM
I don't agree with this whole 'he rejuvenated FG' that's pedalled constantly by Kenny's supporters. FG's vote at the last election was pretty much where it almost aways has been, he just managed to get back some of the vote that pointless independents had taken in the 02 election. I think he's a liability for FG at present, because regardless of what he's actually like the public perceive him to be limp, weak and ineffective. Also, hopefully the era of spin is on its way out, yet he seems to be embracing it more than ever (was there ever a worse election campaign than the last one FG ran).
???
They gained 20 seats in the 07 general election and 43 in the locals making them the biggest party in local government. That was all under Kenny's leadership.
I think they gained back what they used to have in the General election more or less. They imploded under Noonan, and Kenny definitely helped them back, but has he actually made them more popular than they were under Fitzgerald/Bruton/Dukes?
I'd say their percentage vote is around the same it always was, apart from the Noonan fiasco.
Fine Gael Election Percentage Vote since 1961 election. (With seats won)
1961 17th 47 32.0
1965 18th 47 33.9
1969 19th 50 33.3
1973 20th 54 35.1
1977 21st 43 30.6
1981 22nd 65 39.2
1982 (Feb) 23rd 63 37.3
1982 (Nov) 24th 70 39.2
1987 25th 50 27.1
1989 26th 55 29.3
1992 27th 45 24.5
1997 28th 54 27.9
2002 29th 31 22.5
2007 30th 51 27.3
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 16, 2010, 06:54:03 PM
I think they gained back what they used to have in the General election more or less. They imploded under Noonan, and Kenny definitely helped them back, but has he actually made them more popular than they were under Fitzgerald/Bruton/Dukes?
I'd say their percentage vote is around the same it always was, apart from the Noonan fiasco.
There is a pattern here.
Fianna Fail's election strategy is simply to demonise/ridicule the FG leader. I noticed this when it occurred to me I don't like John Bruton and Michael Noonan. I then asked myself why do I dislike these two more than I dislike any other politician. The answer simply is that FF & the media told me to. If Richard Bruton is appointed leader of FG I guarantee then the media and FF will have most of the country hating him too within 6 months.
I suspect Kenny will step aside shortly before the next election and hand over to Bruton. There won't be enough time to do a proper character/personality assassination on him.
Maybe Fine Gael just elect unlikeable leaders? :D
I think Duke and Fitzgerald are more or less liked, or at least respected. Even allowing for the anecdote about Fitzgerald mixing up Cork flags for support for Lech Walensa's Solidarity movement in Poland.
Michael Noonan wasn't liked by his own party, and it was only Bruton's seal like laugh that annoyed me about him.
I wouldn't mind Richard Bruton, but I think he'd be better at Finance.
Actually 'Gowl' is regarded as a traveller word in these parts. (What would have been known as a 'Gypo' or 't**ker' word when I was a young lad.)
What are you basing that on? The fact that his election posters are air-brushed? Every political poster is air-brushed, and I'd hardly call them false for that. Or is it because he said he wouldn't go into coalition with SF? I don't see how that makes him false? You mightn't like it, but that doesn't make him a false person.
On Berties posters he still looked like a fat little gimp, Enda wants to look like Superman
He said he wouldn't consider coalition with SF but when pushed he wouldn't say why? The reason why is cos he thought it would be a popular thing to say.
If cowen said the sky was blue he'd say it was green. Just to be seen to be anti FF without having any real sustance or originality in anything he says.
Listen to the false shouting he was doing there today, its all put on passion. Hes as dull as dishwater and is trying to convince us otherwise.
Very well stated myles. Anything Cowen does, Kenny comes out against it. He couldn't give a reason to opt out of coalition with SF, if that happens... (We all know the reason though). It's time Mayo people saw through him.
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 16, 2010, 07:44:17 PM
On Berties posters he still looked like a fat little gimp, Enda wants to look like Superman
He said he wouldn't consider coalition with SF but when pushed he wouldn't say why? The reason why is cos he thought it would be a popular thing to say.
If cowen said the sky was blue he'd say it was green. Just to be seen to be anti FF without having any real sustance or originality in anything he says.
Listen to the false shooting he was doing there today, its all put on passion. Hes as dull as dishwater and is trying to convince us otherwise.
Things are a little messed up here. People are still comparing Kenny with Ahern in order to avoid the comparison with Cowen as Kenny wins that handsdown.
I thought Kenny ruled out a coalition with SF as it's the party line? He couldn't use the economic lie FF use as Kenny agreed to go in with Labour. FG always ruled it out a coalition with SF.
Kenny's position on Lisbon proves he doesn't just go on an anti FF stance. In fact he out lisbon'd Cowen.
I think Kenny is dull (fine for me in a politician, he shouldn't be a celeb) and I have no liking for the guy or his politics but he is far more interesting than Cowen and Colgan would be on caocaine.
Quote from: Zapatista on February 16, 2010, 08:13:03 PM
Listen to the false shooting he was doing there today, its all put on passion. Hes as dull as dishwater and is trying to convince us otherwise.
Things are a little messed up here. People are still comparing Kenny with Ahern in order to avoid the comparison with Cowen as Kenny wins that handsdown.
I thought Kenny ruled out a coalition with SF as it's the party line? He couldn't use the economic lie FF use as Kenny agreed to go in with Labour. FG always ruled it out a coalition with SF.
Kenny's position on Lisbon proves he doesn't just go on an anti FF stance. In fact he out lisbon'd Cowen.
I think Kenny is dull (fine for me in a politician, he shouldn't be a celeb) and I have no liking for the guy or his politics but he is far more interesting than Cowen and Colgan would be on caocaine.
But he could be the one reason FF could get enough seats to stay in power next time out cos FF will make it a battle of the leaders. You can see how low his leader rating is and he will drag FG down with him. The public just don't rate the man. Like imagine coming out and saying his media performances were poor and he'd have to act more natural - what was he acting like prior to that?
Quote from: Zapatista on February 16, 2010, 08:13:03 PMThings are a little messed up here. People are still comparing Kenny with Ahern in order to avoid the comparison with Cowen as Kenny wins that handsdown.
I think it's the other way around entirely.
It's almost impossible to see FG not providing the taoiseach after the next election, but does that really give us anymore hope for the future? FG will get in simply because people think FF need punished for what they (fully supported by the majority) did over the past decade.
I've largely given up on current affairs and irish politics as imo the lot of them are as incompetent as the others. How many politicians tried to cry stop? Why did the lot of them base their 07 election manifestos around 4% and 5% growth for the next decade (allied to the fact that we'll have 8 million in the country by 2020), why are they so f**king blind and so f**king populist?
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 14, 2010, 10:35:40 AM
I remember Phil Collins saying he would leave Britain if Labour got in. Let's draw up a list of people you'd like to exit if a new government was elected - in either the Free State or the black North.
That sawn-off slaphead talent bypass should have been forced outta the country after 'Sussudio', never mind leaving of his own accord!
Listen to the false shouting he was doing there today, its all put on passion. Hes as dull as dishwater and is trying to convince us otherwise.
Well maybe the reason Bertie looks like a fat little gimp is because his idea of exercise is to put on a Man. Utd. Jersey and sit in a complementary Old Trafford seat provided by Paddy Plaster, while Enda Kenny climbs Kilimanjaro for charity, cycles half the way across Mayo and still playing Gaelic Football quite recently, representing the Dail in challenge games. Maybe he does not look like superman, just not a lazy git.
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 14, 2010, 10:35:40 AM
Ryan Tubridy
George Lee
Gerry Ryan
Stephen Ireland (well if he actually came back first)
Charlie Bird (when he comes back)
Eoghan Harris
Bertie Ahern
Gay Byrne
Roy Keane
Lorraine Keane
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 16, 2010, 09:08:58 PM
Well maybe the reason Bertie looks like a fat little gimp is because his idea of exercise is to put on a Man. Utd. Jersey and sit in a complementary Old Trafford seat provided by Paddy Plaster, while Enda Kenny climbs Kilimanjaro for charity, cycles half the way across Mayo and still playing Gaelic Football quite recently, representing the Dail in challenge games. Maybe he does not look like superman, just not a lazy git.
He must have been doing a lap around castlebar cause he has rarely been spotted in North Mayo.
Quote from: Bogball XV on February 16, 2010, 08:38:18 PM
It's almost impossible to see FG not providing the taoiseach after the next election, but does that really give us anymore hope for the future? FG will get in simply because people think FF need punished for what they (fully supported by the majority) did over the past decade.
I've largely given up on current affairs and irish politics as imo the lot of them are as incompetent as the others. How many politicians tried to cry stop? Why did the lot of them base their 07 election manifestos around 4% and 5% growth for the next decade (allied to the fact that we'll have 8 million in the country by 2020), why are they so f**king blind and so f**king populist?
I think it's a little naive to say FF will be reelected in order to punish them.
FG will have a taoiseach in the next election.
To be fair anyone who cried stop were ridiculed.
They based their manifestos on a growth as that was the figures provided by the department of finace under Brian Cowen who's job it is to provide those figures.
I'm not sure what the population has to do with your post.
Quote from: Zapatista on February 16, 2010, 10:27:47 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on February 16, 2010, 08:38:18 PM
I think it's a little naive to say FF will be reelected in order to punish them.
FG will have a taoiseach in the next election.
To be fair anyone who cried stop were ridiculed.
They based their manifestos on a growth as that was the figures provided by the department of finace under Brian Cowen who's job it is to provide those figures.
I'm not sure what the population has to do with your post.
Firstly: I don't think FG will do any better a job than FF have done and I don't think FG would have stopped us getting into the same mess, thus imo punishing FF is the only reason I can think of to vote FG (plus of course, they're not FF).
Secondly, yes I imagine that FG will probably have the taoiseach after the next election, if they don't it'll be because Kenny is perceived by all but dyed in the wool blueshirts to be weak and ineffective (his performance in the debate against the ever eloquent Ahern showed that).
Thirdly, none of them shouted or even murmoured stop, thus how do we know they'd have been ridiculed? Was that what their spin doctors told them? Look at the rewards they'd have now if they'd had a pair of bollocks.
Fourthly, i'll presume that's broadly the case, that doesn't change the fact that they were under no obligation to do so. They essentially wanted more and more of the same, so that they could be as generous as benevolent bertie. Let's keep on building they said, we need the income and prices will keep on rising for ever like some sort of babelesque tower, they used the projected population figures as proof of why this was a good idea. I mention that davys population report that everybody latched onto, because it was an utterly ridiculous piece of work with more assumptions than a kilkenny (maybe mayo) man would need to make before believing that sam maguire was coming back to the county in the near future.
Quote from: Bogball XV on February 16, 2010, 11:44:47 PM
Thirdly, none of them shouted or even murmoured stop, thus how do we know they'd have been ridiculed?
Who was Bertie asking to commit suicide? It was those that even thought to say stop. Anyone who was vocal about it were dismissed as they didn't know anything about economics.
Quote from: Zapatista on February 16, 2010, 11:54:39 PM
Thirdly, none of them shouted or even murmoured stop, thus how do we know they'd have been ridiculed?
Who was Bertie asking to commit suicide? It was those that even thought to say stop. Anyone who was vocal about it were dismissed as they didn't know anything about economics.
so why weren't bruton, rabbite etc, people who might have been respected shouting stop? No, they were happy enough to talk about expanded public services, increased public sector salaries, lowering tax rates and maybe a wee bit of a tinkering with stamp duty should be enough to get the wagon back on track. In the 9 months prior to the 07 election, barely a property sold, it was blamed on McDowell by everyone bar the PD's, all presumed that it was a temporary blip. The people however had a fair idea what was coming down the tracks, remember what voters (including some on here, bless) - "better the devil we know", "FF a safe pair of hands :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D" etc, why didn't FG/Lab take them on, stop going along with FF's rosy pictures and say, no, we're fcuked and we don't want the same idiots who got us into this mess to try and navigate a way back out of it.
Quote from: Bogball XV on February 17, 2010, 01:46:40 AM
so why weren't bruton, rabbite etc, people who might have been respected shouting stop? No, they were happy enough to talk about expanded public services, increased public sector salaries, lowering tax rates and maybe a wee bit of a tinkering with stamp duty should be enough to get the wagon back on track. In the 9 months prior to the 07 election, barely a property sold, it was blamed on McDowell by everyone bar the PD's, all presumed that it was a temporary blip. The people however had a fair idea what was coming down the tracks, remember what voters (including some on here, bless) - "better the devil we know", "FF a safe pair of hands :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D" etc, why didn't FG/Lab take them on, stop going along with FF's rosy pictures and say, no, we're fcuked and we don't want the same idiots who got us into this mess to try and navigate a way back out of it.
Kenny public was against Benchmarking and has always called for public sector reform.
Quote from: muppet on February 17, 2010, 11:27:13 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on February 17, 2010, 01:46:40 AM
Kenny public was against Benchmarking and has always called for public sector reform.
from memory he definitely promised 2000 more guards (blueshirts are always tough on crime you see) and to increase the old age pension to €300, i'm sure there were plenty more of promises that would now be rowed back on.
Don't remember the benchmarking and sure who wouldn't have been calling for public sector reform (bar ahern possibly, who always felt he was still the shop steward at the mater).
If D'Arcy wants to leave then I'd let him. In fact I even found the perfect place for him. Its in Canada and its called D'Arcy (check your online maps) and there is even a radio station in the area. ;D
Quote from: Eoghan Mag on February 17, 2010, 11:43:00 PM
If D'Arcy wants to leave then I'd let him. In fact I even found the perfect place for him. Its in Canada and its called D'Arcy (check your online maps) and there is even a radio station in the area. ;D
Or he might feel at home here (http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/Tossa.jpg).
Yis are very harsh on Darcy.
And for the record if you actually listen to his show he's as much anti-FF as he is FG.
Kenny's satisfaction rating is 26%!!! It has gone down 3%, while FF has gone up to 34% For the leader of a party in oppoisition to the current FF govt, that is unforgiveable.
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 18, 2010, 12:18:01 PM
And for the record if you actually listen to his show he's as much anti-FF as he is FG.
Kenny's satisfaction rating is 26%!!! It has gone down 3%, while FF has gone up to 34% For the leader of a party in oppoisition to the current FF govt, that is unforgiveable.
I don't think so. It typical of FFers to rally around their leader in time of crisis. FG aren't facing a crisis and so feel comfortable enough to be honest re their leader.
Quote from: Zapatista on February 18, 2010, 12:29:20 PM
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 18, 2010, 12:18:01 PM
I don't think so. It typical of FFers to rally around their leader in time of crisis. FG aren't facing a crisis and so feel comfortable enough to be honest re their leader.
Regardless of Cowen's ratings, it reflects public perception. FG are up a few points, yet the public show no confidence in Kenny. Opposition leader's approval generally peaks when in opposition, particularly with an unpopular govt.
If Kenny can't win approval when FF are doing their best to f*ck things up themselves, what does that say about his prospects of leading the country that needs a fresh start?
FF's there for the taking.
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 18, 2010, 01:59:11 PM
Regardless of Cowen's ratings, it reflects public perception. FG are up a few points, yet the public show no confidence in Kenny. Opposition leader's approval generally peaks when in opposition, particularly with an unpopular govt.
If Kenny can't win approval when FF are doing their best to f*ck things up themselves, what does that say about his prospects of leading the country that needs a fresh start?
I thought it was the rating from within the party. As in they determine what party you will vote for and then ask you do you rate the leader of that party?
How else could you explain this?
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0213/1233867934953.html
The wild swings in party support observed over recent polls are consistent with a hunger for answers and new ideas. Performance ratings for party leaders do not suggest this hunger is being satisfied. Enda Kenny's rating continues to drift, down to 30 per cent, while John Gormley (29 per cent) and Gerry Adams (32 per cent) are at or near their lowest ever performance ratings
Quote from: Zapatista on February 18, 2010, 02:06:09 PM
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 18, 2010, 01:59:11 PM
I thought it was the rating from within the party. As in they determine what party you will vote for and then ask you do you rate the leader of that party?
How else could you explain this?
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0213/1233867934953.html
The wild swings in party support observed over recent polls are consistent with a hunger for answers and new ideas. Performance ratings for party leaders do not suggest this hunger is being satisfied. Enda Kenny's rating continues to drift, down to 30 per cent, while John Gormley (29 per cent) and Gerry Adams (32 per cent) are at or near their lowest ever performance ratings
I'm talking about the Millward Brown/IMS poll poll published in the indo
http://www.independent.ie/national-news/fine-gael-surge-but-kenny-slips-further-2061826.html (http://www.independent.ie/national-news/fine-gael-surge-but-kenny-slips-further-2061826.html)
The poll reflects the opinion of the general public, (just over 1,000 people). I see what you mean, but I think the poll is intended to reflect the general public satisfaction of party leaders.
Kenny's 61% dissatisfaction is pretty terrible though, even from 1,000 people, it was taken nationwide and reflects badly who should be the next Taoiseach.
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 18, 2010, 02:28:26 PM
Kenny's 61% dissatisfaction is pretty terrible though, even from 1,000 people, it was taken nationwide and reflects badly who should be the next Taoiseach.
In that article there is a total satisfaction rate of 164%.
61% dissatisfaction is spin.
Quote from: Zapatista on February 18, 2010, 02:37:43 PM
Quote from: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 18, 2010, 02:28:26 PM
In that article there is a total satisfaction rate of 164%.
61% dissatisfaction is spin.
Explain?
Satisfaction rates-
Enda - 26%
Cowen - 22%
Gilmore - 54%
Gormley - 25%
Adams - 37%
Total - 164%
Spin is when you take a percentage as fact and protray the remaining percentage as the opposite of the first percentage.
Quote from: Zapatista on February 18, 2010, 03:48:41 PM
Satisfaction rates-
Enda - 26%
Cowen - 22%
Gilmore - 54%
Gormley - 25%
Adams - 37%
Total - 164%
Spin is when you take a percentage as fact and protray the remaining percentage as the opposite of the first percentage.
Why are you adding the percentages. Approval ratings reflect the
individual popularity of each leader. It does not provide a break down of the vote. That's a separate question, which showed FG on the rise.
From my understanding the Q would be for each leader:
Are you
A) Satisfied
B) Dissatisfied
C) Neither
To quote the indo story
"His satisfaction rating of 26pc is down 3pc on a year ago. But his dissatisfaction rating has reached a record high of 61pc -- up another 4pc."
There is 13% which reflects neither. The 61% wasn't plucked out of thin air. It reflects the opinion of over 1,000 people nationally. While i'd not always take polls as gospel, they do suggest trends.
I fully understand the concept of spin, it was your 164% that puzzled.
I get it now. Apologies.
Quote from: Zapatista on February 18, 2010, 04:15:56 PM
I get it now. Apologies.
But you have a point. Instead of meaningless satisfaction rating ask the simple question:
Which of the following party leaders would you prefer as Taoiseach?:
Quote from: muppet on February 18, 2010, 06:31:47 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on February 18, 2010, 04:15:56 PM
I get it now. Apologies.
But you have a point. Instead of meaningless satisfaction rating ask the simple question:
Which of the following party leaders would you prefer as Taoiseach?:
Well yeah... but it's not like it's a Presidential campaign. You don't vote for the Taoiseach per se, you vote for the party. I would argue asking which leader you'd prefer as Taoiseach wouldn't give an accurate representation as who will win the election.
The satisfaction poll I suppose is meaningless in the sense that if or when FG get into power, Kenny will still be Taoiseach should he remain party leader. But it may give FG party food for thought, whether they could increase their overall lead if they had a better leader. Though its slim pickings.
These polls are overly complex in some respects. They try and present as much data as possible so they'll get hired again presumably.
Kenny is an Irish Neil Kinnock. He'll never be taoiseach. And deep down he knows it too.
Kenny getting closer to being Taoiseach gach la.
He'll never be taoiseach as long as he has a hole in his arse.
Quote from: no mo do yakamo on February 18, 2010, 08:16:00 PM
He'll never be taoiseach as long as he has a hole in his arse.
Ya ya whatever, that thing they call a government is on its last legs. FF/GP are a dead dog
(http://www.raymondsbrain.com/images/cartoons/deaddog340.gif)
they have reached the 11'th hour
(http://www.moviesonline.ca/movie-gallery/albums/userpics//poster_11th-hour_1.jpg)
Quite possible. But enda kenny will never ever be taoiseach of this country.
Quote from: no mo do yakamo on February 18, 2010, 09:43:12 PM
In your opinion.
Your opinion is not fact so don't state it as fact.
Quote from: no mo do yakamo on February 18, 2010, 09:43:12 PM
(http://styletips101.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/12/lemon.jpeg)
I can't see FG allowing Kenny lead the country. But that's only my opinion, and my opinion is not a fact...
time will tell. If common sense prevails...............
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 18, 2010, 10:33:55 PM
I can't see FG allowing Kenny lead the country. But that's only my opinion, and my opinion is not a fact...
no.....its the party line.
Quote from: no mo do yakamo on February 18, 2010, 10:41:23 PM
Yes hopefully Fianna Fail will disband and apologise for being a crime against the Irish people.
SPOT THE DIFFERENCE
(http://hywelsbiglog.files.wordpress.com/2008/02/image42-bitter-twisted-bottle.jpg)
(http://www.todayfm.com/Libraries/Gallery%20One/Ray%20D%27Arcy%201.sflb)
Jesus the ass licking from the Mayo boys is in full swing.
I totally agree with Nomodoyacomo or whatever his name is.
Obviously I wanna see yon shower out of power though but with Kenny in charge. NO. Give me Richard Bruton, thank you.
Problem is that the taoiseach is elected by members of the Dail not the public. Unless Kenny isn't elected to the Dail then he's almost cert to be taoiseach. No one voted for Cowen to be taoiseach and I don't think they would have or will.
Quote from: Zapatista on February 18, 2010, 11:21:11 PM
Problem is that the taoiseach is elected by members of the Dail not the public. Unless Kenny isn't elected to the Dail then he's almost cert to be taoiseach. No one voted for Cowen to be taoiseach and I don't think they would have or will.
Enda will top the poll in Mayo, last time FG took 3 of 5 seats and just missed out on 4 of 5 seats. 4 Seats could well be within FG's grasp in Mayo when the FF/GP government falls. Expect to see Michelle Mulhern join the next Dail alonside Enda Kenny, John O'Mahoney & Michael Ring.
Also I have been very impressed by Enda over the last few days, Gilmore was good too and have to give credit where credits due Caoimhín O'Caoláin was good too (he really should oust Gerry Adams).
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 18, 2010, 11:55:40 PM
Enda will top the poll in Mayo, last time FG took 3 of 5 seats and just missed out on 4 of 5 seats. 4 Seats could well be within FG's grasp in Mayo when the FF/GP government falls. Expect to see Michelle Mulhern join the next Dail alonside Enda Kenny, John O'Mahoney & Michael Ring.
Also I have been very impressed by Enda over the last few days, Gilmore was good too and have to give credit where credits due Caoimhín O'Caoláin was good too (he really should oust Gerry Adams).
I don't think Michelle will take seat of Dara to be honest - if the two of them get elected all well and good but I can't see that happening either
I think all it will take will be a two-question poll in one of the Sunday papers:
Would you vote FG with Enda Kenny as leader and possible taoiseach?
Would you vote FG with Richard Bruton as leader and possible taoiseach?
Such a poll will surely be inevitable, given that it's the issue on everybody's lips and the inevitable result will force the hand of the FG parliamentary party in advance of any general election. The electorate simply can't allow itself to re-elect FF in the wake of the financial crisis and the NAMA robbery, but equally can't bring itself to put Kenny in charge. With Bruton in charge, it's a shoo-in for FG.
However, I do detect a major change in Kenny's performance since he decided to "be himself" and he performed credibly on the News At One last week and again in the Dáil on the Williectomy debate, when he managed at least to seem passionate. There may be time for him to change the PR and redeem himself, though equally, now that he's "himself" and loose-cannoning out of the control of the handlers, some awful gaffe is probably only a sound bite away.
You can be sure Endas being himself is well organized.
Enda will be left in as leader, Fg have learned the lessons of the past when Noonan shafted Bruton and effectively lost an election because of it. Bruton wont move until FG get into power, Enda will be given 12-18 months and then resign, giving RB time to set up for the next election.
I would still have major issues with Labour getting into power.
QuoteI would still have major issues with Labour getting into power
Why?
Quote from: stephenite on February 19, 2010, 03:30:09 AM
I don't think Michelle will take seat of Dara to be honest - if the two of them get elected all well and good but I can't see that happening either
I actually think they both just might, the alternative in a 4 FG win would be two TD's for Castlebar again, but to be honest I think it would be better for Ballina to get two, Castlebar should be happy enough with a Taoiseach.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 18, 2010, 10:46:34 PM
Yes hopefully Fianna Fail will disband and apologise for being a crime against the Irish people.
i honestly think that would be an excellent start on the road to recovery, however, I'd like FG to do the same.
that'd be dara calleary who managed to take the seat his father and grandfather held before him, ah, family dynasties are great aren't they ???
Quote from: Bogball XV on February 19, 2010, 03:48:14 PM
that'd be dara calleary who managed to take the seat his father and grandfather held before him, ah, family dynasties are great aren't they ???
No, that'd be the seat Dara won because there was no Ballina TD ;). If Michelle and Dara could be elected it would be great.
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 19, 2010, 04:53:04 PM
No, that'd be the seat Dara won because there was no Ballina TD ;). If Michelle and Dara could be elected it would be great.
While I tend to agree that there is an element of truth to what Bogball is saying, Farrandeelin is closer to the mark, Ballina managed to somehow end up with no TD in the previous Dail, they nearly managed to get two last time. Castlebar & Ballina (esp. Castlebar) are major deciders in who gets seats in Mayo, Westport can usually hover up one for itself. This is largely to do with the fact that Castlebar with its tight urban border and Ballina with its urban boundary being far looser are large provincial towns and Westport is a medium sized one with a huge geographical area part of its urban boundary. This is all in the countries 3'rd largest county (significantly larger than Donegal and not far behind Galway) but with a population is 17'th behind behing much smaller counties such as Wicklow, Wexford, Armagh for example.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 19, 2010, 05:52:23 PM
While I tend to agree that there is an element of truth to what Bogball is saying, Farrandeelin is closer to the mark, Ballina managed to somehow end up with no TD in the previous Dail, they nearly managed to get two last time. Castlebar & Ballina (esp. Castlebar) are major deciders in who gets seats in Mayo, Westport can usually hover up one for itself. This is largely to do with the fact that Castlebar with its tight urban border and Ballina with its urban boundary being far looser are large provincial towns and Westport is a medium sized one with a huge geographical area part of its urban boundary. This is all in the countries 3'rd largest county (significantly larger than Donegal and not far behind Galway) but with a population is 17'th behind behing much smaller counties such as Wicklow, Wexford, Armagh for example.
well I suppose castlebar wouldn't be without its political dynasties either. I understand what you're saying stephenite, but why does each town need its own td? surely to God it's enough to get 5 td's for the county without each town thinking it'll lose out if it doesn't have its own td - that parochialism is exactly what's wrong with irish politics.
Quote from: Bogball XV on February 19, 2010, 07:23:31 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 19, 2010, 05:52:23 PM
well I suppose castlebar wouldn't be without its political dynasties either. I understand what you're saying stephenite, but why does each town need its own td? surely to God it's enough to get 5 td's for the county without each town thinking it'll lose out if it doesn't have its own td - that parochialism is exactly what's wrong with irish politics.
Well once Enda gets in I'm really hoping Castlebar doesn't get a second T.D. ;)
The only problem with Caoimhín being boss is that its harder to spell his name, but I agree, it is high time for a change of leadership in Sinn Féin.
Quote from: Eoghan Mag on February 19, 2010, 09:13:54 PM
The only problem with Caoimhín being boss is that its harder to spell his name, but I agree, it is high time for a change of leadership in Sinn Féin.
If he had've been let run the show in the last election SF would've done better imo. Adams is seen as out of touch in the south.
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 19, 2010, 09:26:37 PM
If he had've been let run the show in the last election SF would've done better imo. Adams is seen as out of touch in the south.
You all know my colours, I will never identify with Adams, but Caoimhín might bring the party to a place where more 26 county residents could identify with.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 19, 2010, 09:37:20 PM
You all know my colours, I will never identify with Adams, but Caoimhín might bring the party to a place where more 26 county residents could identify with.
Green and Red?? FF and Labour :P
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 19, 2010, 09:59:47 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 19, 2010, 09:37:20 PM
Green and Red?? FF and Labour :P
Green & Red ;) never FF, I can accept Labour, but would rather FG go into government without them.
Quote from: Bogball XV on February 19, 2010, 03:39:01 PM
i honestly think that would be an excellent start on the road to recovery, however, I'd like FG to do the same.
I agree, but it must happen in that order (i.e. FF disband first, then FG). Then lets build political parties on policies, ideas and ideals - not what side your Grandad fought on.
By the way I'm not a fan of "family dynasties" in politics, usually because the son/daughter of even a top public servant turns out to be as useful as tits on a bull. Dara Callery though is a very able and solid lad who should be in the Dáil regardless of his family history.
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 19, 2010, 11:28:01 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on February 19, 2010, 03:39:01 PM
I agree, but it must happen in that order (i.e. FF disband first, then FG). Then lets build political parties on policies, ideas and ideals - not what side your Grandad fought on.
Labour, Sinn Fein and the Greens would have to do it too (O wait it won't matter for the Greens)
If we where to do it, alot of FG, Lab, FF, SF supporters would find themselves alongside like minded people from those ex-parties. By the way I'm still happy with FG.
Is there any Right wing party in Ireland? FG and FF have both out-lived their civil war times.
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 19, 2010, 11:32:57 PM
Is there any Right wing party in Ireland? FG and FF have both out-lived their civil war times.
How far right are you looking? You might ask Declan Ganley to get Libertas to run for Dail Eireann.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 19, 2010, 11:31:14 PM
If we where to do it, alot of FG, Lab, FF, SF supporters would find themselves alongside like minded people from those ex-parties. By the way I'm still happy with FG.
Sam can you honestly say you are happy with FG in mayo when the likes of Michael Ring gets elected ( and topped the poll the election before last!!) How people still fall his type of shit defies belief, turning up at funerals, confratulating on planning permissions etc. Even if FG gets to power there is no way Ring could ever get any half decent ministry ( if any!) the man is a loose cannon.
FG. They were right wing at the time of the civil war too.
Quote from: Zapatista on February 19, 2010, 11:40:43 PM
They where pro-Treaty in the 1920's & technically there was no FG, it was CnG, it was really ever only a tiny group of eejits in the 1930's who where right wing, most where idiots rather than being truely right wing.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 19, 2010, 11:43:18 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on February 19, 2010, 11:40:43 PM
They where pro-Treaty in the 1920's & technically there was no FG, it was CnG, it was really ever only a tiny group of eejits in the 1930's who where right wing, most where idiots rather than being truely right wing.
oh how little has changed.
Are we about to see another FF minister get the door?
Todays Irish Independent
http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ryanair-made-836413m-offer-for-hangar-months-before-rival-2071911.html (http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ryanair-made-836413m-offer-for-hangar-months-before-rival-2071911.html)
Todays Irish Examiner
http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/oleary-demands-cowen-correct-false-dail-claims-112687.html#ixzz0g4ZrMdJD (http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/oleary-demands-cowen-correct-false-dail-claims-112687.html#ixzz0g4ZrMdJD)
Quote from: ludermor on February 19, 2010, 11:37:52 PM
Sam can you honestly say you are happy with FG in mayo when the likes of Michael Ring gets elected ( and topped the poll the election before last!!) How people still fall his type of shit defies belief, turning up at funerals, confratulating on planning permissions etc. Even if FG gets to power there is no way Ring could ever get any half decent ministry ( if any!) the man is a loose cannon.
He is an embarrassment to the county. If O'Mahony fails to land Sam before the next election, will his vote be down??
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 20, 2010, 11:08:53 AM
Todays Irish Independent
http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ryanair-made-836413m-offer-for-hangar-months-before-rival-2071911.html (http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ryanair-made-836413m-offer-for-hangar-months-before-rival-2071911.html)
Todays Irish Examiner
http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/oleary-demands-cowen-correct-false-dail-claims-112687.html#ixzz0g4ZrMdJD (http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/oleary-demands-cowen-correct-false-dail-claims-112687.html#ixzz0g4ZrMdJD)
>:( >:(
Someone needs to get to the bottom of what's going on here.
I'm so f**king mad at this shower of liars!!! Do FF have undisclosed interest in Aer LIngus?
Millions wasted and 500 jobs wasted on top of that >:(
This on top of JOD, O'Dea, Molloy, Fitzgearld, Ahern etc. Someone please tell me what the f**k is going on here?
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 20, 2010, 11:50:35 AM
Quote from: ludermor on February 19, 2010, 11:37:52 PM
He is an embarrassment to the county. If O'Mahony fails to land Sam before the next election, will his vote be down??
I think Bev fills out embarrassment quota just fine.
I'd be afraid to have the election just after O'Mahony wins the All-Ireland, he might get too high a vote.
Quote from: Zapatista on February 20, 2010, 11:55:11 AM
Todays Irish Independent
Todays Irish Examiner
I'm so f**king mad at this shower of liars!!! Do FF have undisclosed interest in Aer LIngus?
This on top of JOD, O'Dea, Molloy, Fitzgearld, Ahern etc. Someone please tell me what the f**k is going on here?
* Coughlin looks likely to have turned down Ryanair PRIOR to the Aer Lingus deal, yet she has said otherwise in the Dail. FF claim Ryanair wants Hanger 6 to build a new terminal. Well why did Ryanair send written confirmation that they would not change its use and would sign legal clauses to this affect.
* Ahern as "Cheerleader in Chief" of Willie O'Dea and his perjury cannot stay on as minister.
* Willie O'Dea still a T.D. is claiming that he has paid enough.
Who is this minister he mentioned on RTE news yesterday You defended that did worse than him and why did you defend him. Willie if he did worse than you why did you defend him.
Did Cowen &/or the Greens know about Coughlans true communications with Ryanair.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 20, 2010, 12:12:28 PM
* Coughlin looks likely to have turned down Ryanair PRIOR to the Aer Lingus deal, yet she has said otherwise in the Dail, FF claim Ryanair wants Hanger 6 to build a new terminal, well why did Ryanair send written confirmation that they would not change its use and would sign legal clauses to this affect.
* Ahern as "Cheerleader in Chief" of Willie O'Dea and his perjury cannot stay on as minister.
Who is this minister he mentioned on RTE news yesterday that he defended that did worse than him and why did you defend him Willie if he did worse than you.
Did Cowen &/or the Greens know about Coughlans true communications with Ryanair.
I seen that yesterday and was just waiting for the reporter to call him on it. Nothing. I hope some one does.
Quote from: Zapatista on February 20, 2010, 12:15:14 PM
* Coughlin looks likely to have turned down Ryanair PRIOR to the Aer Lingus deal, yet she has said otherwise in the Dail, FF claim Ryanair wants Hanger 6 to build a new terminal, well why did Ryanair send written confirmation that they would not change its use and would sign legal clauses to this affect.
Who is this minister he mentioned on RTE news yesterday that he defended that did worse than him and why did you defend him Willie if he did worse than you.
I seen that yesterday and was just waiting for the reporter to call him on it. Nothing. I hope some one does.
Probably because it was an RTE genuflection piece.
Quote from: Zapatista on February 20, 2010, 12:15:14 PM
What did you mean by that Willie?
Its about mins in 1 mins 03 seconds in that the O'Dea report starts, listen to what he says about an other Fianna Fail Minister that he defended :o
http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1066971 (http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1066971)
Kenny demanding Aherns resignation now :) Thats it Enda keep working on that hitlist. Fianna Fail suffering a death by a thousand cuts.
Quote from: Zapatista on February 20, 2010, 11:55:11 AM
Todays Irish Independent
Todays Irish Examiner
This is nothing more than a Michael O'Leary stunt. Nothing more.
http://www.ryanair.com/en/news/rte-en-301104 (http://www.ryanair.com/en/news/rte-en-301104)
Read their own site promising 2,000 jobs in Shannon in 2004. They now have only one aircraft based there. O'Leary is a serial bullshitter and should be ignored.
Quote from: muppet on February 20, 2010, 10:13:21 PM
This is nothing more than a Michael O'Leary stunt. Nothing more.
http://www.ryanair.com/en/news/rte-en-301104 (http://www.ryanair.com/en/news/rte-en-301104)
Read their own site promising 2,000 jobs in Shannon in 2004. They now have only one aircraft based there. O'Leary is a serial bullshitter and should be ignored.
I know too well that O'Leary is capable of a stunt like this I also know FF are more than capable of a stunt like this. It can't be that hard to find out the truth.
O'Leary doesn't need a hanger, he needs a rope.
Quote from: muppet on February 20, 2010, 10:31:22 PM
Can you make a point?
Quote from: muppet on February 20, 2010, 10:31:22 PM
He can borrow the one used by the Fianna Fail Parliamentary Party to hang itself. :D
(http://i.usatoday.net/news/_photos/2008/06/16/Germanyx.jpg)
(http://www.findingdulcinea.com/docroot/dulcinea/fd_images/news/on-this-day/July-August-08/On-this-Day--French-Revolutionaries-Storm-the-Bastille/news/0/image.jpg)
(http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~hanlon/our-hanlons/gardadublin-1922aug17.jpg)
Darcy's emigration date might have got a lot Klose.
Jesus fine gael are a joke. Its easy to see the attraction of single issue independent candidates when party politics prodeces fianna fail and fine gael.
Quote from: fearglasmor on June 18, 2010, 11:24:29 PM
Jesus fine gael are a joke. Its easy to see the attraction of single issue independent candidates when party politics prodeces fianna fail and fine gael.
They might be the exception to the maxim that 'all publicity is good publicity'. Disastrous week for them and particularly for some of their high profile TDs. The only positives are for Kenny personally and that there will be greater public awareness of some TDs most of us had never heard of.
Whatever about the rest of them but any week Leo & Lucinda are shown up as gimps is a good week.
Quote from: muppet on June 19, 2010, 04:21:04 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on June 18, 2010, 11:24:29 PM
They might be the exception to the maxim that 'all publicity is good publicity'. Disastrous week for them and particularly for some of their high profile TDs. The only positives are for Kenny personally and that there will be greater public awareness of some TDs most of us had never heard of.
I agree , they should have had the numbers before they made their move . Ivan Yeats us not too happy with the result as he thinks they will lose out in Dublin and the comuter belt . I agree this is the key as these votes will float and now look to going to Labour who will only pacify the public sector workers
Quote from: ludermor on June 19, 2010, 05:31:45 PM
Whatever about the rest of them but any week Leo & Lucinda are shown up as gimps is a good week.
(And Brian Hayes, he's a painful little man)
Ray-day could be getting closer. Even if Kenny was Taoiseach for a day it would be worth it.
I'd even buy a ticket for him on Ryanair except they don't fly far enough away. Etihad maybe........
Those who wish to leave the country should Kenny become Taoiseach should book their tickets now - if they can find an ailrine seat or ferry berth left vacant in the FF exodus of 1,000 per week that we republicans so proudly support!
Ray might regret his comments alright but it's a sad reflection of this country that Enda Kenny ends up as Taoiseach. FF deserve to get the door but FG have a lot to answer for that they didnt produce a credible leader in the last few years. Enda is an honest man but he's a walking talking cartoon. Stilted... full of rehearsed sound bites and body language. Probably would make a brilliant party organiser or whatever but FG have better people in their ranks that could head up the party and now the country. Polls have always reflected that in the case of Enda.
Quote from: ross matt on February 07, 2011, 08:06:25 AM
Ray might regret his comments alright but it's a sad reflection of this country that Enda Kenny ends up as Taoiseach. FF deserve to get the door but FG have a lot to answer for that they didnt produce a credible leader in the last few years. Enda is an honest man but he's a walking talking cartoon. Stilted... full of rehearsed sound bites and body language. Probably would make a brilliant party organiser or whatever but FG have better people in their ranks that could head up the party and now the country. Polls have always reflected that in the case of Enda.
I agree but I still hope he is Taoiseach just so that D'arcy leaves - he is such a sickening condescending knob jockey.
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 07, 2011, 09:12:53 AM
Quote from: ross matt on February 07, 2011, 08:06:25 AM
I agree but I still hope he is Taoiseach just so that D'arcy leaves - he is such a sickening condescending knob jockey.
Hmmmm.. dunno... Ray has gone a little stale I think but he was and still is a refreshing change to 2FM. Comes across as a genuine sound man to me.
He's a pain in the hole, so is his wife
Quote from: stephenite on February 07, 2011, 10:18:27 AM
Couldn't agree more. What a sickening pair. I'd rather live next door to Rose and Fred West than those two!
Fair play to Ray, he has made the right decision for Ireland.
I hope has the courage of his convictions and carries through on his promise, unlike so many of the politians who have ran the country recently. (Into the Ground)
So that's someone else that Kenny will run scared of, in addition to Vincent 'Bogeyman' Browne.
All the European lads will have to do is set one or two of their rottweiler reporters on him and he won't be seen for dust around the corridors of Brussels or Strasbourg.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 07, 2011, 04:31:04 PM
So that's someone else that Kenny will run scared of, in addition to Vincent 'Bogeyman' Browne.
All the European lads will have to do is set one or two of their rottweiler reporters on him and he won't be seen for dust around the corridors of Brussels or Strasbourg.
Erm.......no it's not......because he won't be here.
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on February 07, 2011, 05:25:00 PM
Erm.......no it's not......because he won't be here.
He might ask him tomorrow for an interview, and how low will he stoop this time with his pathetic excuse?
(http://www.icecreamireland.com/images/Caughtwic/Enda-sm.jpg)
Enda is making a p***k of himself today avoiding these debates but as Adams said today this debate is becoming more important a discussion point than the actual policies that get us out of the hole we are in. Surely the media should get their fingers out of their holes and get the real issues on the table instead of allowing this crap to take over the whole bloody thing.
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 07, 2011, 08:10:40 PM
Enda is making a p***k of himself today avoiding these debates but as Adams said today this debate is becoming more important a discussion point than the actual policies that get us out of the hole we are in. Surely the media should get their fingers out of their holes and get the real issues on the table instead of allowing this crap to take over the whole bloody thing.
Is the point not that the debates should/would be one of the main vehicles for communicating the all important policies?
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 07, 2011, 08:20:13 PM
Is the point not that the debates should/would be one of the main vehicles for communicating the all important policies?
Thats a valid point but when do we stop? Surely there comes a point when after days of debating about the debate we should just accept kenny is not going to do it and get back to the important business? I mean are we going to spend from here until the 25th going on about whether Kenny should have done the 3 way leader debate.
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on February 07, 2011, 11:07:45 AM
Quote from: stephenite on February 07, 2011, 10:18:27 AM
Couldn't agree more. What a sickening pair. I'd rather live next door to Rose and Fred West than those two!
He isn't doing the TV3 debate tomorrow night that is all.
Is Ray D'Arcy moving north?
Quote from: All of a Sludden on February 08, 2011, 12:38:03 AM
Is Ray D'Arcy moving north?
Oh please please let him announce that by moving to Newry he will have left the country. He will make loads of new friends that way.
Quote from: muppet on February 07, 2011, 11:54:32 PM
He isn't doing the TV3 debate tomorrow night that is all.
Well he also had that debate over 3 way or 5 way leaders debate too. While I agree with his opinion on that I think it is for a different reason. In my opinion Kenny is afraid of being shown up and so wants to avoid these types of debate and he was using the "inclusiveness" of the debate as an excuse not to partake. I would personally like to see a 5 way debate so I can hear the views of every party.
My opinions on FF are well known on here by anyone who reads my posts, I detest the greedy slimeball of a party and their cute hoorism and corruption. They will get no preference on my ballot paper and I think the message needs to go out loud and clear - f**k up in government and you lose your job. However, I also have not much time for FG. Kenny talks about FF not being transparent but the truth is Kenny knows if he can stay out of trouble and he will be Taoiseach and for that reason he is staying out of the limelight. That too is cute hoorism in my view and is not what I want to see in a future Taoiseach, especially one that has one of the toughest jobs ahead that any Taoiseach has ever had. Saying that none of the party leaders inspire me at all.
Kenny has behaved like an odious sleeveen in using the suicide issue as a cover for his fear of being shown up in debate. Bumbling and poor tactics in allowing himself to be put on the back foot are one thing. (As leader of the leading party in the polls he should either have said "Debate? Bring it on" or "Debate? We are not jumping to anyone's tune - have your ould debate. I'm busy"). But to pretend offence at the use of a common metaphor is pathetic. To use the grief of bereaved families as a political umbrella is despicable.
I agree with Muppet that the theatrics of debates organised principally as a media benefit are essentially a sideshow. But that doesn't detract from the fact that Kenny's behaviour in the episode has been very revealing and has cast him and the party in a very poor light indeed.
I can't believe the Medja have fallen hook line and sinker for the Fianna Fail manipulation machine, we will never learn.
Personally I say f**k anything Fianna Fail suggests, I'd rather take a swim in battery acid than go near any FF scumfoolery.
Quote from: Hardy on February 08, 2011, 10:22:22 AM
Kenny has behaved like an odious sleeveen in using the suicide issue as a cover for his fear of being shown up in debate. Bumbling and poor tactics in allowing himself to be put on the back foot are one thing. (As leader of the leading party in the polls he should either have said "Debate? Bring it on" or "Debate? We are not jumping to anyone's tune - have your ould debate. I'm busy"). But to pretend offence at the use of a common metaphor is pathetic. To use the grief of bereaved families as a political umbrella is despicable.
I agree with Muppet that the theatrics of debates organised principally as a media benefit are essentially a sideshow. But that doesn't detract from the fact that Kenny's behaviour in the episode has been very revealing and has cast him and the party in a very poor light indeed.
I agree, he should have said that debates were irrelevant (except to the advertising sellers), and the last basis on which people should make decisions.
If D'Arcy effs off could he take Hector with him. And that Shah fella. And Barry Egan, Twink, Rosanna Davidson, Her auld fella, Bono.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 08, 2011, 10:54:37 AM
I can't believe the Medja have fallen hook line and sinker for the Fianna Fail manipulation machine, we will never learn.
Personally I say f**k anything Fianna Fail suggests, I'd rather take a swim in battery acid than go near any FF scumfoolery.
Every time I read one of your posts I feel less like voting for Fine Gael. Pity FG can't do with you what they try and do with Kenny and keep you out of harm's way.
QuoteIf D'Arcy effs off could he take Hector with him. And that Shah fella. And Barry Egan, Twink, Rosanna Davidson, Her auld fella, Bono.
That's a good start SS - anyone else want to include other ideas.
I'll give you Brendan O'Connor,Eoghan Harris and Blathnaid ni whatever her name is
Eoghan Harris should be moved to the top of that list, if that's possible, please?
Enda Kenny is only refusing to take part in tonight's TV3 3-way debate (I think he prob should have taken part btw).
But he will be taking part in a 5-leader debate on RTÉ (next Tues I think), a debate on TG4 (not sure how many leaders), and a 3-leader debate (which he is suggesting should be available for simultaneous broadbast on all interested channels).
I had the horrible vision of ringing a doorbell last year redelivering some misposted post (about 100 metres from my office) to find the door answered by Senator Eoghan Harris wet in a towel covering his bits.
I tell you I ran like fcuk.
OK - Harris, is on list. As is thon Shinner from Donegal, Sinead O'Connor, Mary Lou, Joe Higgins, Brush Sheils and Joseph and Donna McCaul.
Quote from: Hound on February 08, 2011, 01:00:11 PM
Every time I read one of your posts I feel less like voting for Fine Gael. Pity FG can't do with you what they try and do with Kenny and keep you out of harm's way.
You were never going to vote for them anyways Hound. If you voted for a tulip in a field I would feel it was a move to democracy away from the FF anti-Irish party. I have been waiting since the days of Haughey, who even as a child I believed to be a corrupt so & so to see FF swept into the sea.
Its going to be a really sore one for mayogodhelpus if (when) FG go into coalition with FF some time. Judging by last nights Finance debate it could be sooner rather than later. Noonan and Lenihan were practically holding hands.
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 08, 2011, 02:41:43 PM
Its going to be a really sore one for mayogodhelpus if (when) FG go into coalition with FF some time. Judging by last nights Finance debate it could be sooner rather than later. Noonan and Lenihan were practically holding hands.
Seanie, I think if that happens, FG will lose my support. I would take coalition with SF ahead of FF by a good country kilometre.
seanie
After watching that last night I put a few pounda on that possibility at 16/1 last night.
Brilliant post Hardy. Sums it up perfectly. Agree 100%.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 08, 2011, 12:11:30 PM
If D'Arcy effs off could he take Hector with him. And that Shah fella. And Barry Egan, Twink, Rosanna Davidson, Her auld fella, Bono.
Especially.... Barry Egan!
That's an excellent post, Hardy.
I am not aware that Kenny actually used the 'suicide' remark as his reason for refusing to take part in tonight's gig but, if he did, I'd agree 100% with everything you say.
Even if he didn't use this as his reason for refusing to appear, he hasn't given any other convincing reason for staying away. Either way, he comes across as a proper eejit.
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 08, 2011, 03:33:16 PM
That's an excellent post, Hardy.
I am not aware that Kenny actually used the 'suicide' remark as his reason for refusing to take part in tonight's gig but, if he did, I'd agree 100% with everything you say.
Even if he didn't use this as his reason for refusing to appear, he hasn't given any other convincing reason for staying away. Either way, he comes across as a proper eejit.
He did, Lar. I heard him myself on the radio last Friday or thereabouts. Then he changed his mind over the weekend and by Sunday it was a matter of his schedule.
I feel that as a person who want's to lead the country Kenny should show up and debate the issues tonight. That along with the fact the expectation bar has been lowered to more or less ankle height about his ability in debates, as long as he showed up and stuck to the script it would be seen as at least a par.
On the suicide suggestion by Browne, which was tactless and distasteful at the time and one that sickened me after seeing the effect that such an action has on family at first hand, I personally wouldn't want to be anywhere near a person who has could make such a callous remark about any person, especially in such a public way. But if I wanted to be the leader of the country, I would l suppose try leave it aside and do the debate to show that you were the better person and above it all.
Quote from: westmayo on February 08, 2011, 03:47:19 PM
I feel that as a person who want's to lead the country Kenny should show up and debate the issues tonight. That along with the fact the expectation bar has been lowered to more or less ankle height about his ability in debates, as long as he showed up and stuck to the script it would be seen as at least a par.
On the suicide suggestion by Browne, which was tactless and distasteful at the time and one that sickened me after seeing the effect that such an action has on family at first hand, I personally wouldn't want to be anywhere near a person who has could make such a callous remark about any person, especially in such a public way. But if I wanted to be the leader of the country, I would l suppose try leave it aside and do the debate to show that you were the better person and above it all.
Vincent Brown's remark was disgusting. I wonder how anyone here would react if, on national television, a journalist wished that you would go and commit suicide. You should also consider that this particular journalist has been slating Kenny since 1982 for some bizarre reason. Kenny is probably human like the rest of us.
No question that Kenny handled it poorly by giving conflicting stories but somehow the narcissist that is Vincent Brown appears to have taken the moral high ground.
It must be obvious to even the most casual observer that a huge amount of this Kenny story, and every other Kenny story that will emerge in the next few weeks, is part of the usual FF campaign to play the man. they have done it successfully for nearly 20 years. Gerry Adams is also feeling some of this heat as SF are eating into FF's republican support.
The usual suspects in the media will line up to play their parts. D'Arcy, Tubridy, Brendan O'Connor, Eoghan Harris, Indo, Sindo etc etc.
Election coverage will pretend to be about issues, but why is there no no examination of the last 15 years, no examination of the disastrous financial crisis? Articles I posted this morning on more banking bad news are written as if they have nothing whatsoever to do with the last Government.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 08, 2011, 02:33:22 PM
I had the horrible vision of ringing a doorbell last year redelivering some misposted post (about 100 metres from my office) to find the door answered by Senator Eoghan Harris wet in a towel covering his bits.
I tell you I ran like fcuk.
OK - Harris, is on list. As is thon Shinner from Donegal, Sinead O'Connor, Mary Lou, Joe Higgins, Brush Sheils and Joseph and Donna McCaul.
Pat Shortt can f**k off too.
I use to like him until this......
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AFzwUGJ-kRo
Its funny that the hardcore FF and FG heads hate each other more than anyone else, and are seemingly blind to the fact that they are closest to each other in ideology.
They treat it like they're supporting football teams - they'll support whatever policy their party puts forward. And most of the hardcores only support those parties because their father did.
I can't stand Vincent Browne or his celebrity journalism, but am I alone in taking the "bottle of whiskey and a revolver" remark as a common metaphor for leaving the stage with dignity? I've certainly used it myself, even in this forum, as I remember. I certainly wouldn't want to trample on the sensitivities of families affected by suicide, but I think offence taken at this remark is a misunderstanding of a common enough saying. People don't take a suggestion that someone should "go jump in a lake" or that a person "should be shot" as real proposals or regard them as insensitive to people affected by drownings or shootings and I really think this remark is in the same vein.
Brownes comment may not have been very nice but I don't think it is as bad as some of ye made out. Its a common enough "metaphor" for someone to resign or quit and not a reference to Kenny killing himself. Its not dissimilar to someone telling someone to take a long walk of a short pier. And before the holier than thou brigade jump all over me, I've been touched by suicide more than your average punter and I know exactly the pain families go through when these terrible events happen
Quote from: Hardy on February 08, 2011, 04:22:23 PM
I can't stand Vincent Browne or his celebrity journalism, but am I alone in taking the "bottle of whiskey and a revolver" remark as a common metaphor for leaving the stage with dignity? I've certainly used it myself, even in this forum, as I remember. I certainly wouldn't want to trample on the sensitivities of families affected by suicide, but I think offence taken at this remark is a misunderstanding of a common enough saying. People don't take a suggestion that someone should "go jump in a lake" or that a person "should be shot" as real proposals or regard them as insensitive to people affected by drownings or shootings and I really think this remark is in the same vein.
Jaysus Hardy we pretty much typed the same post at the same time - there is hope for Cavan Meath relations after all ;)
Sure yiz are all wannabee Meath people anyway!
Quote from: muppet on February 08, 2011, 04:09:59 PM
Quote from: westmayo on February 08, 2011, 03:47:19 PM
Vincent Brown's remark was disgusting. I wonder how anyone here would react if, on national television, a journalist wished that you would go and commit suicide. You should also consider that this particular journalist has been slating Kenny since 1982 for some bizarre reason. Kenny is probably human like the rest of us.
No question that Kenny handled it poorly by giving conflicting stories but somehow the narcissist that is Vincent Brown appears to have taken the moral high ground.
It must be obvious to even the most casual observer that a huge amount of this Kenny story, and every other Kenny story that will emerge in the next few weeks, is part of the usual FF campaign to play the man. they have done it successfully for nearly 20 years. Gerry Adams is also feeling some of this heat as SF are eating into FF's republican support.
The usual suspects in the media will line up to play their parts. D'Arcy, Tubridy, Brendan O'Connor, Eoghan Harris, Indo, Sindo etc etc.
Election coverage will pretend to be about issues, but why is there no no examination of the last 15 years, no examination of the disastrous financial crisis? Articles I posted this morning on more banking bad news are written as if they have nothing whatsoever to do with the last Government.
I know you're a Mayo man Muppet but when it comes to Enda FF or anyone else dont need to play the man. He manages to self destruct all by himself most of the time. I accept you dont rate Ray D'Arcy but to imply he rallies to FF defence or whatever is paranoia. You obviously havent heard the things he's said and Cowan & co in recent times. You're spot on re that insufferable clown Harris but he was more Bertie than FF. I wouldnt be feelling sorry for Gerry Adams "taking heat" though.
Like most families mine has been touched by suicide but the Browne comment was a million miles away from showing any disrespect to such victims. It was a classic comparison to WW11 failed Russian generals. Kenny himself was more disrespectful by twisting it in to an agenda to funk out of the debate. You're correct in saying Browne and he have previous but Enda now has made Vincent seem reasonable and measured.... and that takes some doing!
We've had years of FF cronyism which has brought this nation to their knees but it's a sad reflection of the quality of politicians now that someone as weak and gimmicky as Enda is more than likely going to be the one charged with leading our recovery.
Quote from: Hardy on February 08, 2011, 04:29:29 PM
We wouldn't mind getting our hands on your land thats for sure but that is about it
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 08, 2011, 04:27:02 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 08, 2011, 04:22:23 PM
Jaysus Hardy we pretty much typed the same post at the same time - there is hope for Cavan Meath relations after all ;)
+++++ to both comments.
Quote from: ross matt on February 08, 2011, 04:29:46 PM
I know you're a Mayo man Muppet but when it comes to Enda FF or anyone else dont need to play the man. He manages to self destruct all by himself most of the time. I accept you dont rate Ray D'Arcy but to imply he rallies to FF defence or whatever is paranoia. You obviously havent heard the things he's said and Cowan & co in recent times. You're spot on re that insufferable clown Harris but he was more Bertie than FF. I wouldnt be feelling sorry for Gerry Adams "taking heat" though.
Like most families mine has been touched by suicide but the Browne comment was a million miles away from showing any disrespect to such victims. It was a classic comparison to WW11 failed Russian generals. Kenny himself was more disrespectful by twisting it in to an agenda to funk out of the debate. You're correct in saying Browne and he have previous but Enda now has made Vincent seem reasonable and measured.... and that takes some doing!
We've had years of FF cronyism which has brought this nation to their knees but it's a sad reflection of the quality of politicians now that someone as weak and gimmicky as Enda is more than likely going to be the one charged with leading our recovery.
Inferring that they did what?
On your last paragraph I agree with almost all of it, including Kenny's struggle with public image. But I am seriously concerned that for the 4th time in a row Fianna Fail's election strategy of bashing the opponent and nothing else will work. It may sound incredible but it is happening in front of my eyes on websites everywhere egged on by party loyalists. It is astonishing that they are getting a free ride for bankrupting the state, but they are.
The daft thing, as witnessed on this site, is everyone will fall beautifully into the trap and become participants in the strategy. The issue will be Kenny regardless of what he does. The media will ensure it and FF strategists will cleverly keep throwing the dirt until eventually the public will vote FF in again. A populist party with no ideology (other than getting elected) that has been in power for so long, has its lackeys appointed everywhere that matters. And they know how to use them.
Farcically the public will then blame Kenny for making them vote FF back in again. And we will get what we deserve. Wait and see, FF will be in power.
Muppet, it's possible for the reasonable voter to be determined to punish FF while simultaneously despairing at the choice of alternatives. I certainly have no idea yet how to vote, with the exception that there will be no number against any FF candidate on my paper. And I know Kenny is a lightweight, unpredictable electoral liability without needing FF to point it out to me. I was saying it here long before this campaign started.
Quote from: Hardy on February 08, 2011, 04:56:28 PM
Muppet, it's possible for the reasonable voter to be determined to punish FF while simultaneously despairing at the choice of alternatives. I certainly have no idea yet how to vote, with the exception that there will be no number against any FF candidate on my paper. And I know Kenny is a lightweight, unpredictable electoral liability without needing FF to point it out to me. I was saying it here long before this campaign started.
I'm don't particularly mean to argue with you as you have a consistent position which hasn't changed.
There are plenty of Shinners on here who will attack Kenny as they will attack the other party leaders, that is the nature of politics. No problem there either.
My problem is with hardcore FF supporters, who haven't the integrity or balls to identify themselves as such, who pretend to be undecideds or honest observers, but they are here to promulgate the party line. There may be less here than I suspect there are but then again..............
Quote from: Hound on February 08, 2011, 04:21:23 PM
Its funny that the hardcore FF and FG heads hate each other more than anyone else, and are seemingly blind to the fact that they are closest to each other in ideology.
They treat it like they're supporting football teams - they'll support whatever policy their party puts forward. And most of the hardcores only support those parties because their father did.
If you are suggesting that I support FG like a football team you are wrong. I have explained more than once that nearly all the major parties have found votes in my near family. I have FG, FF & Labour background and even a few cousins gave the SF crowd a vote. I despise FF seperate from an allegiance or support of any other party. I have hated FF since Haughey, I tempered my views under Reynolds, but wrenched up my hatred during the Ahern years. It didn't take me long to believe Ahern was a snake and an enemy of Ireland. I actually think Cowan was more an unfotunate, bumbling, party-genepool fool than a bad man.
Yes I know it is going back a long time, but I cannot help hating Dev too, he characterises all that is worst in Ireland in my opinion.
Quote from: Hardy on February 08, 2011, 04:29:29 PM
Definitely be time to start thinking about locking yourself away in a room with a bottle of whiskey and a loaded gun if you were to be thinking that way.
I was watching a FF video from day 3 of the campaign somewhere in Meath and it was pathetic. Thomas Byrne is the rising star. Where is Dempsey? There were only old people in evidence. I almost felt sorry for them. But then I remembered.
Inda is a total lightweight but they are all neoliberal anyway.
Thomas Byrne's canvasser called to someone I know last Saturday. "Now remember Thomas is just a young fella", he says. "He's only three years in the Dáil, so he was never associated with the MAFIA".
When FF canvassers themselves are making admissions like this ...
Quote from: Hardy on February 08, 2011, 05:46:22 PM
Thomas Byrne's canvasser called to someone I know last Saturday. "Now remember Thomas is just a young fella", he says. "He's only three years in the Dáil, so he was never associated with the MAFIA".
When FF canvassers themselves are making admissions like this ...
I'm guessing that is what they actually refer to them as.
Over a decade ago a mate of mine had the misfortune to run into one of the O'Keefe's. When our esteemed TD asked where the mate worked and was told (Transport industry) O'Keefe said "ah shur Mammy will look after ye well". When my mate asked "eh what?". He clarified that: "Mammy is what we call Mary O'Rourke in de party''.
Or to use Gerry's exact quote, the row over the TV debates is becoming a "pain in the ass"!!
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 08, 2011, 05:16:42 PM
Quote from: Hound on February 08, 2011, 04:21:23 PM
If you are suggesting that I support FG like a football team you are wrong. I have explained more than once that nearly all the major parties have found votes in my near family. I have FG, FF & Labour background and even a few cousins gave the SF crowd a vote. I despise FF seperate from an allegiance or support of any other party. I have hated FF since Haughey, I tempered my views under Reynolds, but wrenched up my hatred during the Ahern years. It didn't take me long to believe Ahern was a snake and an enemy of Ireland. I actually think Cowan was more an unfotunate, bumbling, party-genepool fool than a bad man.
Yes I know it is going back a long time, but I cannot help hating Dev too, he characterises all that is worst in Ireland in my opinion.
You need to go easy on the hating. It burns men up. You'll be old before your time.
Quote from: muppet on February 08, 2011, 04:49:50 PM
On your last paragraph I agree with almost all of it, including Kenny's struggle with public image. But I am seriously concerned that for the 4th time in a row Fianna Fail's election strategy of bashing the opponent and nothing else will work. It may sound incredible but it is happening in front of my eyes on websites everywhere egged on by party loyalists. It is astonishing that they are getting a free ride for bankrupting the state, but they are.
The daft thing, as witnessed on this site, is everyone will fall beautifully into the trap and become participants in the strategy. The issue will be Kenny regardless of what he does. The media will ensure it and FF strategists will cleverly keep throwing the dirt until eventually the public will vote FF in again. A populist party with no ideology (other than getting elected) that has been in power for so long, has its lackeys appointed everywhere that matters. And they know how to use them.
Farcically the public will then blame Kenny for making them vote FF back in again. And we will get what we deserve. Wait and see, FF will be in power.
Have a look at the movie "enemy at the gates" re that reference.
Hope you're not referring to me as hardcore FF as mentioned on your next post. I certainly voted for them in the past as obviously many people in this country did judging by their electoral record. I also voted for FG people in my area or independents. Cross voted. But I never bought the Bertie bullshit from way back.
Like Hardy says I'm one of the people (many I think) who want rid of the present government but despair at the alternatives. FG have alot to answer for in not having a credible leader annihilate FF at a time like this and many other times when they sinned in the past. Noonan would be the man I think. Not always the warmest of characters but strong, assertive & intelligent. Kenny has none of those attributes in my opinion. We need someone alot better than him at the helm for the toughest waters this country will ever sail in.
Not sure whether you're upset stems from personal loyalty to Enda for some reason or downright hatred of all things FF. But one things for sure you're miles blaming FF or the media for Enda's current low standing. If FF actually targeted him properly it might help him in sympathy/martyrdom terms. But like I said he brings most of it on himself and looks like a man that being waiting all his political life for the big job and now its petrified by the enormity of it.
Neither do I agree with you that FF will be in power. They'll score higher than they've done in the polls but well below any general election result in their history. They wont be in power again anytime soon. It'll be FG/Labour with Enda as Taoiseach.
Quote from: ross matt on February 08, 2011, 08:55:29 PM
Hope you're not referring to me as hardcore FF as mentioned on your next post. I certainly voted for them in the past as obviously many people in this country did judging by their electoral record. I also voted for FG people in my area or independents. Cross voted. But I never bought the Bertie bullshit from way back.
Like Hardy says I'm one of the people (many I think) who want rid of the present government but despair at the alternatives. FG have alot to answer for in not having a credible leader annihilate FF at a time like this and many other times when they sinned in the past. Noonan would be the man I think. Not always the warmest of characters but strong, assertive & intelligent. Kenny has none of those attributes in my opinion. We need someone alot better than him at the helm for the toughest waters this country will ever sail in.
Not sure whether you're upset stems from personal loyalty to Enda for some reason or downright hatred of all things FF. But one things for sure you're miles blaming FF or the media for Enda's current low standing. If FF actually targeted him properly it might help him in sympathy/martyrdom terms. But like I said he brings most of it on himself and looks like a man that being waiting all his political life for the big job and now its petrified by the enormity of it.
Neither do I agree with you that FF will be in power. They'll score higher than they've done in the polls but well below any general election result in their history. They wont be in power again anytime soon. It'll be FG/Labour with Enda as Taoiseach.
Hadn't you in mind either as a FFer in sheep's clothing.
But you are joking about Noonan being the man, right? FF and media ridiculed his policies and his pre-election claims that FF were lying about spending up to the 2002 election. Noonan lost the election but was proven correct when McCreevy reneged on his promised and brought in a tight budget.
The voters punished FF in the local elections in 2004 and McCreevy was dispatched to Europe. Cowen came in with the order from Bertie to cut taxes and spend spend spend. That brought us to where we are.
But Noonan got then what Kenny gets now and it works. I know Kenny slightly and know that he is better than presented by the very FF media, however I have no personal loyalty to him and am not blind to the fact that he is no performer like Blair or Obama. I'm not sure we need spoofers like that though.
Quote from: muppet on February 08, 2011, 09:01:46 PM
Quote from: ross matt on February 08, 2011, 08:55:29 PM
Hadn't you in mind either as a FFer in sheep's clothing.
But you are joking about Noonan being the man, right? FF and media ridiculed his policies and his pre-election claims that FF were lying about spending up to the 2002 election. Noonan lost the election but was proven correct when McCreevy reneged on his promised and brought in a tight budget.
The voters punished FF in the local elections in 2004 and McCreevy was dispatched to Europe. Cowen came in with the order from Bertie to cut taxes and spend spend spend. That brought us to where we are.
But Noonan got then what Kenny gets now and it works. I know Kenny slightly and know that he is better than presented by the very FF media, however I have no personal loyalty to him and am not blind to the fact that he is no performer like Blair or Obama. I'm not sure we need spoofers like that though.
Think you're overly sensitive to who FF target/ridicule Muppet. I remember what they said about Noonan before but you have to admit he would have more substance than Enda as a leader? Is he not the "real" leader in public profile times since he returned?
I think some of the Obama/Clinton/Blair stuff is necessary at times. But is that not what Enda is trying to emulate alot of the time with his feckin gimmicks re the website and all the shite. Its cringeworthy stuff. But now its a case of the hard dog for the tough road etc and I would have thought Noonan would be an option... but I dunno really... generally I despair.
I've heard before from people that know him that Kenny is a decent man. I've no reason to think differently and in a way I admire you for taking the unpopular stance of defending him. I said on an earlier post I think that I thought he was honest etc. It's really his leadership credibility that concerns me... for his party but especially for our country. Thats all. Not him as a man, husband, father & sound Mayo man etc.
I didn't realise I was defending him although I admit it must look like that when no one else is. In my head I am just pointing out the lack of balance in his media coverage.
Look at that debate tonight. It was just like Kenny v Bertie. Depending on which way you lean you will argue who won. Neutrals might have a consensus but won't be very strong one way or the other.
By tomorrow evening it will be completely different and we will hear how Martin wiped the floor with Gilmore just like 2007.
This t.v.3 coverage is doing my f**king nut!
If I hear one more f**king boxing analogy I going to go down and land hay-makers on the lot of them lightweights.
Also tv3 are pretty far up their own hole. Keeping refering to the great debate?
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-02-08/irish-banks-may-need-an-additional-68-billion-anglo-irish-s-dukes-says.html (http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-02-08/irish-banks-may-need-an-additional-68-billion-anglo-irish-s-dukes-says.html)
Irish Banks May Need an Additional $68 Billion, Anglo Irish's Dukes Says
By Joe Brennan - Feb 8, 2011 2:00 PM GMT
Anglo Irish Bank Corp. Chairman Alan Dukes said the nation's lenders may need about a further 50 billion euros ($68.2 billion) of capital, more than absorbing a bailout fund for the banks.
The Dublin-based government has already poured 46 billion euros into the banks, and can tap 35 billion euros of extra capital under a bailout agreed last year with the International Monetary Fund and European Union.
"A clean banking core will require something in the region of 50 billion euros," Dukes, 65, a former finance minister, said in an e-mailed copy of a speech today. "A clean banking restructuring implies the acceptance of irrecoverable losses."
The bailout provides for an initial 10 billion euros in capital to be available to the banks, with another 25 billion euros if needed, as lenders grapple with loan losses after the collapse of a decade-long real-estate boom. Irish central bank Governor Patrick Honohan said last month that he would be "disappointed and surprised" if the entire 35 billion euros was needed.
The state has injected 29.3 billion euros into nationalized Anglo Irish. Dukes, appointed as chairman in June, said the remaining "black hole" in the Irish financial system may amount to between 20 billion euros and 40 billion euros.
Filling that gap requires "long term 20 year to 30 year funding, on which there will be no return," Dukes said.
Why is this not reported in the useless f**king useless Irish media????
The information is there, Reuters have it. Is this €50 Billion on top of the ELA €50 Billion which hasn't been explained yet either? How much interest will we pay annually? 5% would be €5 Billion in extra interest annually. Our revenue last year was €30 Billion.
Please bobby please ;D ;D ;D
and then we have Mr Sarkosy enjoying a lovely woman!! God bless Carrick.
Quote from: Rouge_Diablo on February 08, 2011, 09:57:06 PM
Please bobby please ;D ;D ;D
Here is Bobby's remarkably similar looking 'brother in law'. Why does it look like the English tabloids are sending plants to interfere with our election? Do we not owe them enough money?
http://terryghusto.blogspot.com/ (http://terryghusto.blogspot.com/)
Stolen from twitter:
Who does Gadaffi think he is, Ray D'Arcy?
2 days to Ray-day.
I can't wait until D'Arcy fcks off. The end is near.
I hope his listeners and texters-in have fun on Monday.
This will be a nice side benefit. I presume he's sticking to his side of the bargain?
Did he not have Kenny on his show of late and Kenny asked him did he have his ticket booked to which Darcy got embarrassed and sheepishly said to not be talking about that.
Has he gone yet?
Quote from: stephenite on February 28, 2011, 10:54:17 PM
Has he gone yet?
I believe he didn't turn up for work yesterday. :)
Who'll have him?
Utv 105 FM can have him. Or Cool FM, anything is better than thon Pete Snodden
D'arcy is not for leaving - bit like Gadaffi
The general election cost 5 million and he's still here? I'd have run the hoor out if town for one tenth of that.
Quote from: Hardy on March 01, 2011, 03:13:12 PM
I'd have run the hoor out if town for one tenth of that.
In English, please.
Good man. Sorry about the typo.
irritatting twat and his bird is worse
Was he on the radio today?
Ah well. It was to good to be true.
The first election promise broken. Ray Darcy back on the radio today.
Maybe hes waiting for Enda to be confirmed taoiseach before he fcuks of
Bound to be a few jobs created on the back of this thread. The amount of broken radios stuck on TodayFM seems to be in the hundreds.
Change the station FFS. He's a DJ, not a criminal, easily avoided. ::) ::)
We really love to hate round this place. It has to be doom and gloom all the time.
Quote from: Bingo on March 02, 2011, 12:10:30 PM
Bound to be a few jobs created on the back of this thread. The amount of broken radios stuck on TodayFM seems to be in the hundreds.
We really love to hate round this place. It has to be doom and gloom all the time.
Are you a care bear or something?
Darcy is an annoying vvanker, hope he leaves and stays gone
Quote from: AbbeySider on March 02, 2011, 12:56:17 PM
16 pages people have posted on this topic. 16 pages on a DJ.
If we were putting vvankers on planes to leave, i really doubt Ray Darcy would be on the first plane out.
If people are entitled to post 16 pages about Ray Darcy been a vvanker or whatever, then I'm entitled to post how ridiculous it is. Mindboggling.
Have to say I've always liked Ray and his show, I feel a little :-[ now.
Quote from: AbbeySider on March 02, 2011, 12:56:17 PM
Brilliant!
Time Ray please......
The chap cheated on his wife. What exactly would an interviewer want from this line of questioning other than simply to make someone needlessly squirm.
I see today Enda has jumped an incredible 26% to 65% in popularity since the last Millward Brown Lansdowne poll before the election.
Gerry is up 8% and Eamonn up 11%.
Micheál is unchanged.
from p.ie:
(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00838/0103_Micheal-Martin_838062t.jpg)(http://namingandtreating.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/11/nelson110708-1.jpg)
From politics.ie http://www.politics.ie/current-affairs/163531-irish-indo-poll-fine-gael-42-6-labour-19-fianna-fail-16-1-sinn-fein-11-1-ind-oth-13-5-a.html (http://www.politics.ie/current-affairs/163531-irish-indo-poll-fine-gael-42-6-labour-19-fianna-fail-16-1-sinn-fein-11-1-ind-oth-13-5-a.html)
Parties (compared to 2011 general election result)
Fine Gael 42% (+6%)
Labour Party 19% (Same)
Fianna Fail 16% (-1%)
Sinn Fein 11% (+1%)
Indeps/Other 13% (-4%)
* Figures above are adjusted to take account of 11% don't knows
Leaders' Ratings (compared to week before general election)
Enda Kenny
Satisfied 65% (+26%) Dissatisfied 28% (-23%) Don't Know 8% (-2%)
Eamon Gilmore
Satisfied 53% (+11%) Dissatisfied 32% (-15%) Don't Know 14% (+3%)
Micheal Martin
Satisfied 46% (Same) Dissatisfied 38% (-7%) Don't Know 16% (+7%)
Gerry Adams
Satisfied 37% (+8%) Dissatisfied 46% (-14%) Don't Know 16% (+5%)
Government
Satisfied 49% Dissatisfied 42% Don't Know 9%
Notes:
Poll was conducted among a sample of 1,035 interviewed on a face-to-face basis in the home at 93 sampling points throughout all constituencies.
Interviewing on this poll was carried out between Saturday 18th and Monday 20th February 2011.
Poll results on party support are compared to 2011 general election result of Friday, February 25th.
Poll figures on leaders' satisfaction ratings are compared to Irish Independent Millward Brown Lansdowne poll published during the 2011 general election campaign. That poll was published in the Irish Independent on Wednesday, February 23rd – the last poll of the election campaign.
Dont get ahead of yourself. The bar is very, very low. The fact that the Germans haven't sold the country into slavery in lieu of what we owe is probably enough to get a decent approval rating these days.