GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: whiskeysteve on February 12, 2010, 02:30:32 PM

Title: Televised Injustice Thread Service (T.I.T.S.)
Post by: whiskeysteve on February 12, 2010, 02:30:32 PM
Since the CCCC are setting a precedent (see Tyrone v Derry) to hand out bans retrospectively based on video evidence, I thought this season we could do with a thread where posters can helpfully point out incidents missed by the ref that warrant suspension. By the end of the year we might see how consistently the CCCC apply themselves.

Report all indiscretions to TITS.
Title: Re: Televised Injustice Thread Service (T.I.T.S.)
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 12, 2010, 03:05:49 PM
Is it not just confined to Tyrone incidents? If I see anything in Omagh on Sunday I will report back...
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 12, 2010, 03:08:22 PM
do bad commentators fall under this remit ?
analysts on the commentary on telly that dont know the players and dont know the rules - or cant understand whay a ref has given a free (though its fairly feckin obv to a blind man most of the time)

that def drives me mad, it should be brought to TITS
as it certainly gets on mine !
Post by: BennyHarp on February 12, 2010, 03:24:02 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on February 12, 2010, 02:30:32 PM
Since the CCCC are setting a precedent (see Tyrone v Derry) to hand out bans retrospectively based on video evidence, I thought this season we could do with a thread where posters can helpfully point out incidents missed by the ref that warrant suspension. By the end of the year we might see how consistently the CCCC apply themselves.

This "precedent" was set a few years ago. But only seems to be applied to Ulster teams and in particluar Tyrone! Its better for a team not to be live on TV, at least that way the CCCC wont be bothered!

I like the theme of the thread though!  ;D I suggest this should be carried through all year, every match you go to or watch - log every misdemeamour you see on here! I'm sure we can get every single county player in ireland banned at some point during the year!
Post by: ziggysego on February 12, 2010, 03:26:19 PM
I saw Paul Galvin pick his nose and eat the content last Sunday. Is there a ruling for that?
Post by: Bogball XV on February 12, 2010, 04:34:58 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 12, 2010, 03:24:02 PM

This "precedent" was set a few years ago. But only seems to be applied to Ulster teams and in particluar Tyrone! Its better for a team not to be live on TV, at least that way the CCCC wont be bothered!

I like the theme of the thread though!  ;D I suggest this should be carried through all year, every match you go to or watch - log every misdemeamour you see on here! I'm sure we can get every single county player in ireland banned at some point during the year!
the auld siege mentality, sure didn't Derry and Monaghan both get fcuked over last May - that's right, that was through 'it's the first round of the championship, we're going to clean this up with the help of the sunday game this year' directive.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 12, 2010, 05:28:26 PM
The use of video evidence against Tyrone players is a disgrace. I dont think its fair to be picking on high profile counties who's matches are telelvised - either they video all matches or none. However the biggest injustice is the fact that they only use the video evidence when they feel like it.

Tyrone players are getting singled out for some reason - I dont care what anyone says thats a fact. In last years league McMenamin and Tommy McGuigan got done, I could be wrong but I think they were the only 2 players in the entire NFL who got suspended through video. There were multiple incidents in a Monaghan game last year that were ignored for example and there have been many otheres. Now they've started the year by picking 3 Tyrone players to suspend, Galvin made a move at the ref last week which hasn't been mentioned since.

Tyrone should take the revenue cut and refuse to have any more games televised.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 12, 2010, 07:16:50 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 12, 2010, 05:28:26 PM
The use of video evidence against Tyrone players is a disgrace. I dont think its fair to be picking on high profile counties who's matches are telelvised - either they video all matches or none.
I thought they did have a camera at all league and championship games?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 12, 2010, 07:26:55 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 12, 2010, 07:16:50 PM
The use of video evidence against Tyrone players is a disgrace. I dont think its fair to be picking on high profile counties who's matches are telelvised - either they video all matches or none.
I thought they did have a camera at all league and championship games?

I'm pretty sure they don't. To be fair it wouldn't matter if they did, they only use the video evidence when they feel like it anyway. There is no guidelines as to how its used and to suggest that 90% of things that need reviewing in the nfl (over the last 2 years) relates to Tyrone players is a joke. Brian McGuigan got hit on camera last year and it was ignored with no further action taken. 3 Tyrone players are being done in one game when nothing to serious happened. The inconsistency is unbelievable.
Post by: Club Rossa on February 12, 2010, 07:59:59 PM
Miskella flattened McGuigan last year but John Bannon refused to take action when asked to revise the footage.
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 12, 2010, 08:15:38 PM

I saw Pat McEnaney in Celtic Park last Saturday evening.
Post by: ziggysego on February 12, 2010, 08:20:44 PM
Trotters Independent Traders?
Post by: bridgegael on February 12, 2010, 08:32:05 PM
The use of video evidence against Tyrone players is a disgrace. I dont think its fair to be picking on high profile counties who's matches are telelvised - either they video all matches or none. However the biggest injustice is the fact that they only use the video evidence when they feel like it.

Tyrone players are getting singled out for some reason - I dont care what anyone says thats a fact. In last years league McMenamin and Tommy McGuigan got done, I could be wrong but I think they were the only 2 players in the entire NFL who got suspended through video. There were multiple incidents in a Monaghan game last year that were ignored for example and there have been many otheres. Now they've started the year by picking 3 Tyrone players to suspend, Galvin made a move at the ref last week which hasn't been mentioned since.
Tyrone should take the revenue cut and refuse to have any more games televised.

exactly,  forsome reason everyone turned a blind eye to that!!
Post by: reddgnhand on February 12, 2010, 09:21:39 PM
This is just a disgrace. It only seems to apply to Ulster teams.   
Post by: screenexile on February 12, 2010, 09:30:15 PM
No complaints about the Bradley suspension, as the great man once said "Ye strack ye go!!"

Here's a novel idea for all you Tyrone fans crying about suspensions "TELL YOUR PLAYERS  TO STOP DOING THINGS THAT WILL GET THEM SUSPENDED!!!"

That would probably be the best way for them to stop being singled out and so 'harshly' treated by the big bad cccccccccccccc. . . cryin' hoors!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 12, 2010, 09:46:12 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 12, 2010, 09:30:15 PM
No complaints about the Bradley suspension, as the great man once said "Ye strack ye go!!"

Here's a novel idea for all you Tyrone fans crying about suspensions "TELL YOUR PLAYERS  TO STOP DOING THINGS THAT WILL GET THEM SUSPENDED!!!"

That would probably be the best way for them to stop being singled out and so 'harshly' treated by the big bad cccccccccccccc. . . cryin' hoors!

Thanks for the advice screenexile (is there no end to your mucker munificence?).

Riddle me this though: Paul Galvin goes for a ref (I know that there was no contact, etc.), yet the 4 monkeys choose to sully what was universally acclaimed as a great game of football for the time of year (even by us moanie Tyronies), and these fecks decide to retrospectively draw down opprobrium once again, needlessly, where the mere mortal can only draw succour and sporting satisfaction.

Post by: trileacman on February 12, 2010, 10:14:44 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 12, 2010, 08:57:29 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on February 12, 2010, 08:50:06 PM
What is the membership of the CCCC?  Why are they so attracted to Tyrone?

Don't have a clue TYP, can you enlighten us? I find this really sinister.
Figured it so . . .

(http://www.bbc.co.uk/cult/ilove/years/1979/gallery/images/340/maggie.jpg)
(http://media.tribune.ie/site_media/photologue/photos/2009/Jan/24/cache/Pat_Spillane002755_display.jpg)
(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00073/281016_jpg_73552t.jpg)
(http://theroyalhighness.files.wordpress.com/2009/02/pinochet.jpg)
(http://img.slate.com/media/1/123125/2158911/2159086/2159087/070221_CL_HitlerEX.jpg)

Chairman:

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/41340000/jpg/_41340685_mcgeeney_cup.jpg)
Post by: Pangurban on February 12, 2010, 11:36:55 PM
Re.Galvins move on Ref. I saw that, but then thought i must have imagined it, as no one else was commenting or remarking on it, and i think there was contact albeit minimal. As for Video evidence it should apply too all games or to none, we need consistency and transparency.
Post by: clarshack on February 12, 2010, 11:41:05 PM
Quote from: Club Rossa on February 12, 2010, 07:59:59 PM
Miskella flattened McGuigan last year but John Bannon refused to take action when asked to revise the footage.

john bannon wouldnt look out of place refereeing in the spl  >:(
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on February 13, 2010, 05:19:24 AM
Unbelievable the Tyrone players get banned because they did something wrong that wasn't seen by the ref at the time and they whinge about it.

The simple solution is to not get involved in a brawl, or not to take a swing at someone. Try playing by the rules and then you won't get suspended
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 13, 2010, 08:53:18 AM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on February 13, 2010, 05:19:24 AM
Unbelievable the Tyrone players get banned because they did something wrong that wasn't seen by the ref at the time and they whinge about it.

The simple solution is to not get involved in a brawl, or not to take a swing at someone. Try playing by the rules and then you won't get suspended

If video evidence was being used consistently I don't think there would be much arguement from Tyrone fans. The problem is there have been many instances caught on camera in the last 2 years involving other counties that have been ignored. How is it fair that only county are subject to the use of video evidence? You either use it to review all games or none, you can't pick and choose. If they're going to ban 3 players based on last week's game in which there were few incidents then it will get to the stage that football will become a non contact sport.
Post by: Club Rossa on February 13, 2010, 09:35:38 AM
Totally agree Tyrone Dreamer.If a game like last weekends ends up with 4 players suspended,what the hell is it going to be like come championship time?
Post by: Club Rossa on February 13, 2010, 10:14:17 AM
I see that Damian Cassidy has described the bans as 'institutionalised discrimination'.
Post by: Hardy on February 13, 2010, 10:36:11 AM
Quote from: Club Rossa on February 13, 2010, 09:35:38 AM
Totally agree Tyrone Dreamer.If a game like last weekends ends up with 4 players suspended,what the hell is it going to be like come championship time?

We can only hope.
Post by: up tyrone on February 13, 2010, 11:46:04 AM
If i was mickey harte i`d make a request 2 the county board to ban all tv footage from healy park they have the power 2 do this, blatant discrimination against tyrone.Also i`d have all management and players withdraw from any media interviews.All we ask for is every county to be treated on equal terms.I was talking to a man from whitecross last weekend at our ulster league game and he was saying that their was a lot of fisticuffs of the ball and nothing done about it in the armagh v meath game.What john miskella done last year was alot worse than any of the 4 players that were suspended.
Post by: ONeill on February 13, 2010, 12:17:45 PM
My wife is insisting on watching some kind of omnibus tonight depriving me of seeing the great Derry in action. Can I report that?
Post by: omagh_gael on February 13, 2010, 12:50:19 PM
Pat Doherty!!! You'd think our MLA would have been on our side...I'm voting for Bucannon in May!
Post by: ziggysego on February 13, 2010, 01:14:15 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on February 13, 2010, 12:50:19 PM
Pat Doherty!!! You'd think our MLA would have been on our side...I'm voting for Bucannon in May!

Ah sure he's a Donegal man! We need wee Barry McElduff to sort it out for us.
Post by: Club Rossa on February 13, 2010, 07:27:33 PM
Jerry Flannery could be in trouble after that kick today :o
Post by: ziggysego on February 13, 2010, 07:48:41 PM
Quote from: Club Rossa on February 13, 2010, 07:27:33 PM

Na, he's not from Tyrone.
Post by: johnpower on February 13, 2010, 10:29:46 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 13, 2010, 07:48:41 PM
Quote from: Club Rossa on February 13, 2010, 07:27:33 PM

Na, he's not from Tyrone.

Have not seen the incidents (been away ) sounds like a Christy Cooney special if you ask me .Was there some bad under current at the match .? These early season clamp downs usually fizzle out . Things have moved on since there was a disagreement with Dublin and Omagh a number of years ago with no objections been lodged . This retrospective justice has only to be saved for really serious incidents.
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 13, 2010, 11:01:13 PM
...except for Miskella and Whelan... and Kennelly gets a retrospective All Star
Post by: Club Rossa on February 14, 2010, 05:42:14 PM
Keith Higgins threw a punch at Sean O'Neill while Joe McMahon was getting the red card.Missed him by a mile though.
Post by: criostlinn on February 14, 2010, 08:02:08 PM
Ricey sticking the knee into the chest of the Mayo man when he was on the ground !!
Post by: Club Rossa on February 14, 2010, 09:00:04 PM
Ricey would never do anything like that,must have been mistaken identity ;)
Post by: up tyrone on February 14, 2010, 10:44:04 PM
If the cccc were handing out 4 bans in the derry v tyrone game last week they`ll certainly be far busier this week.Us up here in the other end of ireland will be watching the papers with our tinted glasses on.
Post by: Celt_Man on February 15, 2010, 02:29:19 PM
TV leaves Harte and Co "disadvantaged"

Tyrone boss Mickey Harte has claimed that featuring on live television is a "disadvantage" for a team.

Harte's mood wasn't helped by having another player, Joe McMahon, sent off during his side's 1-11 to 1-12 NFL Division One defeat to visitors Mayo.

The O'Neill County supremo was forced to do without three first-teamers for the game with the westerners because of controversial 'retrospective' red cards.

Conor Gormley, Martin Penrose and Justin McMahon all missed the game in Omagh by dint of video evidence from Tyrone's recent NFL defeat to Derry.

Harte argues that if you overrule referees via video evidence then you must tape and examine every single match.

"To do it fairly, every game in the League needs to be video-taped," Harte opined.

"If you do it with every game that's fine. I'm happy to live with that.

"But at the moment that doesn't seem to be the case so therefore you're disadvantaged if your games are on live TV.

"The fact is that had our game not been televised live last week we would have had Conor Gormley, Martin Penrose and Justin McMahon on our team today (versus Mayo)."

Should he not mean, had the boys not done what they done - they would have been here??
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 15, 2010, 03:07:28 PM
Exactly Celt Man! Yapping bastids!
Post by: Celt_Man on February 15, 2010, 03:13:04 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 15, 2010, 03:07:28 PM

But I do understand the principle of his arguement.... It should be done for all games and not just selective ones...
Post by: Zapatista on February 15, 2010, 03:18:49 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on February 15, 2010, 03:13:04 PM

But I do understand the principle of his arguement.... It should be done for all games and not just selective ones...

Or none ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 15, 2010, 03:27:42 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on February 12, 2010, 09:21:39 PM
This is just a disgrace. It only seems to apply to Ulster teams.

Paranoid much!
Post by: supersarsfields on February 15, 2010, 03:34:32 PM

Ya see this is the point most here are making. We're not trying to justify what the boys were sent of for. But it has to be a case that either all games are reviewed or they're not.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 15, 2010, 03:57:02 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on February 15, 2010, 03:34:32 PM

Ya see this is the point most here are making. We're not trying to justify what the boys were sent of for. But it has to be a case that either all games are reviewed or they're not.

Mayo, Dublin, Galway, Cork, Kerry all get alot of tv time, yet they don't seem to be complaining so much.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 15, 2010, 03:57:22 PM

what really annoys me is that they clamp down on very minor things in a league game in febuary,hand out a raft of suspensions and when it comes to an allireland final, the pinacle of the year, tadgh kennelly can take the head off someone with out so much as a second glance. not to mention miskella in the semi!
Post by: Zapatista on February 15, 2010, 03:59:27 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on February 15, 2010, 03:57:22 PM
what really annoys me is that they clamp down on very minor things in a league game in febuary,hand out a raft of suspensions and when it comes to an allireland final, the pinacle of the year, tadgh kennelly can take the head off someone with out so much as a second glance. not to mention miskella in the semi!

A long suspension would have taught him allright.

Your point still stands though.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 15, 2010, 04:01:02 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 15, 2010, 03:57:02 PM

Mayo, Dublin, Galway, Cork, Kerry all get alot of tv time, yet they don't seem to be complaining so much.

That's probably cause the incidents in other games are being ignored which is the real injustice here. Last week a player was pushed into a wall and Galvin made a go for the ref in a televised game, both were ignored. Last year numerous incidents in the Monaghan Kildare game were ignored including a player being knee'd/kicked on the ground. It will be interesting to see if the punches thrown in the Cork Kerry game at the weekend are dealt with by video. My guess is that due to Tyrone complaints they will have to be.
Post by: Celt_Man on February 16, 2010, 02:23:22 PM
Think he is starting to lose the run of himself here...

Angry Harte threatens TV boycott

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has revealed that his county may consider banning television cameras from their home National League games, as the row over retrospective red cards intensifies.

Harte yesterday revealed his frustration with the current system which saw three of his players receive bans based on the strength of video replays.

The Tyrone boss claims that such decisions are not being applied across the board because of the lack of television cameras at some grounds, claiming that teams who featured in televised matches are at a disadvantage.

Derry manager Damian Cassidy echoed those complaints after Eoin Bradley was also suspended, but now Harte appears to have upped the stakes.

'It's something we'll have to consider,' Harte said when questioned on the possibility of a TV blackout.

'In fact, our county board have made suggestions that if that's going to be case then we could reserve the right to decide whether our league games are to be televised or not,' he told the Irish Examiner.

'I don't know how many times we've been on (TV) but the bottom line is if our game against Derry had not been televised we would have Martin Penrose, Conor Gormley and Justin McMahon playing against Mayo,' said Harte.

'That's an undisputed fact. We were disadvantaged being on live TV. Two of them weren't red cards. Martin Penrose was a different incident anyway. That's not condoning what any of them did. We just need it to be on a level playing field.'
Post by: INDIANA on February 16, 2010, 03:04:03 PM
Based on what I watched.

Penrose- deserves a ban
Bradley- fully deserves his

Gormley- think he was entitled to give Bradlay a thump after 2 kidney punches. - unlucky in my view
Mc mahon- looking after his team-mate. 50/50

Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 16, 2010, 03:09:08 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on February 16, 2010, 03:04:03 PM
Based on what I watched.

Penrose- deserves a ban
Bradley- fully deserves his

Gormley- think he was entitled to give Bradlay a thump after 2 kidney punches. - unlucky in my view
Mc mahon- looking after his team-mate. 50/50
agree with that

justin mcmahon was banned because he was the third man in to get involved in the gormley/ bradley incident.
he wasnt  seen on camera to throw a punch or a kick or anything like that.
Now if the cccc, want to be fair accross the board, every single time a third player gets involved in an incident throughout the year, he should reicieve a 4 week ban.
there is now way this is going to happen, or we will have a huge number of footballers sitting out a big chunk of the championship
Post by: Main Street on February 16, 2010, 03:10:28 PM
If you didn't see it then there would be no opinions.
Either all teams in the same first division competition face the same discipline scrutiny or none should  do.
Mickey has a fair point.
Post by: Onion Bag on February 16, 2010, 03:12:05 PM
Why is there 2 f**king threads on the same topic? f**k that grinds my gears  >:(
Post by: Celt_Man on February 16, 2010, 03:21:24 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on February 16, 2010, 03:12:05 PM
Why is there 2 f**king threads on the same topic? f**k that grinds my gears  >:(

And there is a thread for that...  ;D
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 19, 2010, 09:47:15 PM
So are the punches in the Kerry Cork game last week being ignored then? They weren't that serious but were at least as bad as what Justy McMahon got pulled for using video evidence. How do they justify ignoring these incidents while suspending 4 players from the Tyrone game? This selective use of video evidence makes a mockery of the system.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 19, 2010, 10:03:02 PM
Remember, Mayo have to do without Ronaldson because of Tyrone's whinging. :P
Post by: Zapatista on February 19, 2010, 10:24:41 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on February 16, 2010, 03:12:05 PM

Is that the second time you posted that on this thread? If you had to do it twice you could have at least done once on each thread.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 19, 2010, 10:47:11 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 19, 2010, 10:03:02 PM

It's only Tyrone game's they review so at least you's should be ok for the rest of the league.
Post by: Zapatista on February 19, 2010, 11:20:09 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 19, 2010, 10:47:11 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 19, 2010, 10:03:02 PM

It's only Tyrone game's they review so at least you's should be ok for the rest of the league.

In fairness Tyrone are better to watch ;)