GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: deise2010 on January 30, 2010, 06:55:37 PM

Title: FANTASY GAA HURLING & FOOTBALL 2010
Post by: deise2010 on January 30, 2010, 06:55:37 PM
HI THERE, I AM IN THE PROCESS OF ORGANISING A FANTASY GAA HURLING & FOOTBALL DREAM TEAM COMPETITION FOR THE 2010 CHAMPIONSHIP'S....THE OFFICIAL WEBSITE WILL BE LAUNCHED THE FIRST WEEK IN MARCH, GIVING PARTICIPANTS TWO MONTHS TO ENTER THEIR CHOSEN TEAM...ENTRY WILL BE €10 PER TEAM AND YOU CAN ENTER AS MANY TEAMS AS YOU LIKE...THE PRIZE FUND WILL BE IN THE REGION OF €50,000 - €100,000 AND MAYBE MORE, DEPENDING ON ENTRANTS....THERE WILL BE ONE OVERALL WINNER, AND SECOND, THIRD, FOURTH PLACE ETC ALSO THERE WILL BE SMALLER PRIZES FOR THE LEADER FROM EACH INDIVIDUAL COUNTY AT THE END OF THE CHAMPIONSHIP'S....PLEASE REPLY TO THIS POST, SO I CAN GET A ROUGH IDEA OF INTERESTED PARTICIPANTS...THANKS AGAIN...
Title: Re: FANTASY GAA HURLING & FOOTBALL 2010
Post by: aontroim on January 31, 2010, 12:08:20 PM
Deise2010 in the last 5+ yrs any of these competitions that I have entered have been really poorly received, with low entries and people giving up after a few weeks.  Those are very ambitious targets for the prize fund compared to what has gone before.  Best of luck with it though when you get it running.
Post by: deise2010 on January 31, 2010, 01:11:19 PM
Thanks for your reply...i know a lot of those competitions have failed the last few years, but i guarantee this competiiton will be run properly this year,as there is a backroom team of up to 25 people working on the project....also there is huge interest from the irish in Australia, Asia,USA,Canada and UK to enter the competition, so the prize fund should be achieved....hope to see you with a football and hurling team entered come the start of March...Thanks for your support
Post by: cadhlancian on January 31, 2010, 05:05:58 PM
Sounds like a good idea. One question though, and this isnt meant to be rude in any way, who does the competition benefit? Is it for a club, charity etc? Or is being run for a profit by a business? Fair question I think
Post by: deise2010 on January 31, 2010, 07:24:26 PM
I was initially being run for a club, but then we said we would promote a competition nationwide and for the Irish in other parts of the world, as there has never really been a proper dream team competition here in Ireland...the actual website and the software needed to calculate the results and update  the leaderboard each week, along with the advertising that is going to go in to promoting the competition, is costing thousands, so that's why you have the entry fee to contribute to the building and promotion of the competition and to add to the prize fund....hopefully then, if the competition is successful, money left over if any, will be put towards making improvements and spending more on advertisng for next season....there will be the one big prize for the winner and also there will be a smaller prize for the leader of each county....website should be up and running in the next few weeks....hope this answers your question's and thanks for your reply....for this to work we need feedback and questions, so we will be more than happy to answer them..
Post by: Cathal on February 05, 2010, 09:16:23 AM
Id be interested in it... keep us posted... cathal50bob@hotmail.com
Post by: deise2010 on February 05, 2010, 06:21:38 PM
No problem Cathal, thanks for your interest..i will keep you posted over the next few weeks, before the competition starts in March
Post by: ExiledGael on February 05, 2010, 07:03:19 PM
I'd definitely take a look too, most other efforts at this are woefully thought out. The Star one at the minute is embarrassing, the Fermanagh squad has about nine players, six of which are either long term injured, on club duty or have emigrated. That's about as far as I looked but the other county squads are probably just as well researched.
Post by: deise2010 on February 09, 2010, 11:00:44 AM
Site nearly all set - should be up and running in the next two to three weeks...keep watching this post for updates....
Post by: The Claw on February 09, 2010, 03:28:37 PM
There is a huge need out there for a proper fantasy GAA game. Most around at the moment are very poor. Squads are usually not current, values given to players are off, and the overall system is very poor.
Organisers should look at how the American sports fantasy games are set up. I would even be in favour of a draft system in gaa fantasy like in NFL fantasy. It would stop everyone from having pretty much the same forward line of say Gooch, Paddy Bradley and Bernard Brogan.
If you would give a brief summary of how it will work, and if it seems like you know what you are doing (and seeing as there are 25 people going to working on it, then its seems that you will) then I would definitely be willing to join.
Post by: deise2010 on February 09, 2010, 04:48:17 PM
Thanks for your post...Yeah we have seen attempts at GAA fantasy games over the last couple of years and they have been pretty bad, most recent one, the Star...they made a very poor attempt at this and seems to be a rushed effort..our team, has been in touch with most of the county boards and we almost now have a complete squad list for most county's...however, it is still early in the year and some squads have not been finalised, but all county teams in both the football and hurling championships will be updated regularly, to make sure participants in the competition will have an accurate list to choose from...

The rules etc are still in the process of being finalised and i will keep you updated and posted on them...

if you have any other questions, you can forward them to fantasygaelicsports@yahoo.ie thanks for your support...
Post by: winsamsoon on February 12, 2010, 01:25:16 AM
would be interested in this myself the more i enter the merrier
Post by: deise2010 on March 10, 2010, 04:15:39 PM
Fantasy Gaelic Sports Hurling & Football dream team competition to be launched in next two weeks - large cash prizes to be won, along with flights and accomodation from our official sponsors Aer Arann & Tour America, match tickets, jersey's and lots of other prizes up for grabs...

€10 entry per team - enter as many teams as you like

Looking for any further information contact fantasygaelicsports@yahoo.ie
Post by: Midlands Man on March 18, 2010, 02:07:46 AM
Deise whats the story with this competition bud...
Post by: deise2010 on March 18, 2010, 10:22:55 AM
Sorry to keep ye all waiting - the competition will be going live around the middle of next week, all going well....we wanted to make sure everything was right and working efficiently, before the competiton was launched...sorry again for the delay, but it will be worth the wait...
Post by: deise2010 on March 23, 2010, 10:02:07 AM
Fantasy Gaelic Sports to be launched in the next few days.....again sorry about the delay...

Top prizes now include Replica Liam McCarthy and Sam McGuire Cups, made entirely from Waterford Crystal....along with the other large cash prizes, flights, accomodation and other smaller prizes that will be up for grabs...
Post by: Midlands Man on March 31, 2010, 04:02:15 AM
Your really pulling the piss with this comp deise...................
Post by: deise2010 on March 31, 2010, 09:55:02 AM
Competition open for registration this week.....as other people said, there has been a lot of attempts before to run a successful fantasy gaa competiton, but they have all failed and the star competiton is not much better, so thats why we are ensuring everything is right before the competition is officialy launched
Post by: Midlands Man on March 31, 2010, 03:59:31 PM
It was supposed to be launched two weeks .. What prize money are we talking???
Post by: Midlands Man on April 01, 2010, 06:27:01 PM
I think we may forget about this comp ever happening if it doesnt start tomorrow...
Post by: AbbeySider on April 02, 2010, 09:31:57 AM
Quote from: deise2010 on April 02, 2010, 09:13:16 AM
Fantasy Gaelic Sports Hurling & Football Competition will be open for registration later today -

Enter your dream team, to be in with the chance of winning several cash prizes, replica Sam McGuire & Liam McCarthy cups made from crystal, return flights with Aer Arann, Holiday Voucher from Tour America, jerseys and much much more..

Whats the URL?
Post by: deise2010 on April 02, 2010, 10:01:13 AM
Fantasy Gaelic Sports Hurling & Football Competition will be open for registration later today -

Enter your dream team, to be in with the chance of winning several cash prizes, replica Sam McGuire & Liam McCarthy cups made from crystal, return flights with Aer Arann, Holiday Voucher from Tour America, jerseys and much much more..

Visit www.fantasygaelicsports.ie    -       Please note there may be a few technical issues that need to be cleared up today and tomorrow, as its the first day of going live, but these issues will be cleared up soon
Post by: Midlands Man on April 02, 2010, 02:29:05 PM
Deise i take it back , it looks good now in fairness , one question , how can i pay to enter a team i plan entering 5 can i send ye on a cheque / cash or is it only through paypal.. Thanks..
Post by: deise2010 on April 02, 2010, 02:42:07 PM
No problem Midlands Man, we were getting inpatient ourselves, waiting for it to be developed... today and tomorrow, there may be a bit of a technical problem entering teams online, this is being sorted....we have it set up for paypal, but if you dont have this function, then you can email us at fantasygaelicsports@yahoo.ie and we will accomodate you some other way....
Post by: Midlands Man on April 02, 2010, 05:14:07 PM
Fair play Deise liking the look of this already , hope it works well for ye...
Post by: deise2010 on April 02, 2010, 06:30:51 PM
Cheers midlands man....thanks for your support...... get everyone you can involved and we will do our best to ensure this will be a successful tournament...

www.fantasygaelicsports.ie
Post by: deise2010 on April 06, 2010, 03:34:28 PM
Fantasy Gaelic Sports Hurling & Football Dream Team Competition Sponsored by Aer Arann & Tour America has now been launched....visit www.fantasygaelicsports.ie to have a look at the site...

One or two technical issues still to be sorted, but everything will be working perfect in the next day or two...

PRIZES INCLUDE:

€30,000 CASH PRIZE FUND ( SUBJECT TO ENTRY )

REPLICA WATERFORD CRYSTAL SAM MAGUIRE & LIAM MCCARTHY CUPS

FLIGHTS TO UK WITH AER ARANN

TRAVEL VOUCHER FROM TOUR AMERICA

TWO/THREE NIGHT HOTEL PACKAGE DEALS AROUND IRELAND

COUNTY JERSEY'S

LOTS MORE PRIZES WILL BE ADDED, AS THE COMPETITION GOES ON

VISIT WWW.FANTASYGAELICSPORTS.IE TODAY
Post by: Midlands Man on April 06, 2010, 11:58:00 PM
Deise iv been on the the site a couple of times , when willl we be able to pick teams?
Post by: deise2010 on April 07, 2010, 10:11:50 AM
the web design company, in the uk were away all over the easter and only returned yesterday, so any issues with the website are being addressed today and tomorrow....all should be sorted in the next few days...
Post by: Midlands Man on April 07, 2010, 04:05:10 PM
Deise you should advertise this comp on sites like gaa boards.ie and especially on anfearrua.com and it should be a big boost for it...
Post by: boro on April 07, 2010, 10:56:47 PM
ah come on lads, its pretty obvious ye are both involved in this, no need for the fake chat
Post by: deise2010 on April 08, 2010, 12:00:11 PM
Visit www.fantasygaelicsports.ie and check out the prizes category that has just been updated
Post by: Midlands Man on April 08, 2010, 02:07:05 PM
Deise iv forgotten my username of the team i sent in last week , i clicked on the 'forget password' feature and sent my e mail address , the e mail i got back only allowed me to change my password , how do i retrieve my username..
Also i tried to enter another team but it says some of my details are incorrect and the e mail adress is already in use , how do i enter more teams?
Post by: deise2010 on April 08, 2010, 02:23:51 PM
once you are signed up, then you don't have to sign up again to pick more teams...once logged in, click on manage your team(s) and you can add as many teams as you like then....i will post details on retrieving your username shortly
Post by: Midlands Man on April 08, 2010, 02:35:16 PM
Sound , post this comp on the hoganstand site aswell, should get a few from there...
Post by: deise2010 on April 08, 2010, 02:38:19 PM
Will do Midlands Man....sent you message there for your email address
Post by: deise2010 on April 13, 2010, 09:25:23 AM
Visit www.fantasygaelicsports.ie and check out the prizes that are there to be won:

€30,000 Prize Fund

Replica Sam Maguire & Liam McCarthy Cups mde from Waterford Crystal

Travel Vouchers From Tour America

Return Flights with Aer Arann

Hotel Breaks Away

And Much More

Visit www.fantasygaelicsports.ie and register your team today
Post by: deise2010 on April 14, 2010, 07:50:25 PM
FANTASTIC NEW CLUB PRIZE AFTER BEING ADDED TO FANTASY GAELIC SPORTS DREAM TEAM COMPETITION...

DETAILS AS FOLLOWS:

WHEN 10 PEOPLE FROM A GAA CLUB ENTER A TEAM IN BOTH HURLING & FOOTBALL COMPETITIONS/ OR IF 20 PEOPLE FROM A GAA CLUB ENTER ONE TEAM EACH, THEN THE CLUB WILL AUTOMATICALLY GO IN TO A DRAW FOR A TRIP TO LAS VEGAS FOR UP TO 20 CLUB MEMBERS

IF 15 MEMBERS ENTER TWO TEAMS/OR IF 30 MEMBERS ENTER ONE TEAM EACH, THEN THAT CLUB WILL GO INTO THE DRAW TWICE

IF 20 MEMBERS ENTER TWO TEAMS/OR IF 40 MEMBERS ENTER ONE TEAM EACH, THEN THAT CLUB WILL GO INTO THE DRAW FOUR TIMES

THE MORE PEOPLE ENTERED PER CLUB, THE MORE TIMES THE CLUB WILL BE ENTERED IN THE DRAW

ENTER TODAY @ WWW.FANTASYGAELICSPORTS.IE

DONT FORGET TO FILL IN YOU CLUB DETAILS WHEN SIGNING UP
Post by: jboy27 on April 15, 2010, 09:01:17 PM

Signed up  during week to it good site - Picked out my hurling team and paid using my paypal account... Prizes seem good too looking forward to competion just encase the rebels get knocked out early ha ha
Post by: chun1990 on April 19, 2010, 01:04:50 PM
registerd my football team friday and when i was picking my team a glitch on the site reduced my transfer funds from 560 million to 532 million when i tryed to buy kildares john doyle... not impressed..i have since e-mailed them and they have not helped me yet. not very profesional.
Post by: deise2010 on April 19, 2010, 02:06:48 PM
Your email has only been received and your request will be delt with immediatley...as you can see from the site, it is still undergoing beta testing for the next week
Post by: deise2010 on April 22, 2010, 09:33:42 AM
Visit www.fantasygaelicsports.ie and check out the prizes that are there to be won:

€30,000 Prize Fund

Replica Sam Maguire & Liam McCarthy Cups mde from Waterford Crystal

Travel Vouchers From Tour America

Return Flights with Aer Arann

Hotel Breaks Away

And Much More

Visit www.fantasygaelicsports.ie and register your team today
Post by: deise2010 on April 22, 2010, 09:34:18 AM
FANTASTIC NEW CLUB PRIZE AFTER BEING ADDED TO FANTASY GAELIC SPORTS DREAM TEAM COMPETITION...

DETAILS AS FOLLOWS:

WHEN 10 PEOPLE FROM A GAA CLUB ENTER A TEAM IN BOTH HURLING & FOOTBALL COMPETITIONS/ OR IF 20 PEOPLE FROM A GAA CLUB ENTER ONE TEAM EACH, THEN THE CLUB WILL AUTOMATICALLY GO IN TO A DRAW FOR A TRIP TO LAS VEGAS FOR UP TO 20 CLUB MEMBERS

IF 15 MEMBERS ENTER TWO TEAMS/OR IF 30 MEMBERS ENTER ONE TEAM EACH, THEN THAT CLUB WILL GO INTO THE DRAW TWICE

IF 20 MEMBERS ENTER TWO TEAMS/OR IF 40 MEMBERS ENTER ONE TEAM EACH, THEN THAT CLUB WILL GO INTO THE DRAW FOUR TIMES

THE MORE PEOPLE ENTERED PER CLUB, THE MORE TIMES THE CLUB WILL BE ENTERED IN THE DRAW

Post by: chun1990 on April 22, 2010, 11:38:04 PM
ye yea dealt with it quickly after my second e-mail thanks.... site looks good.... one question how does the gameweek work? is it every weekend is a new gameweek or is it once all teams have played? and also do you get the free transfer every weekend or is it after every team has played aswel?   

thanks again
Post by: deise2010 on April 23, 2010, 02:20:37 PM
You will be allowed one free transfer at the start of every week and a gameweek will run from Monday
Post by: Midlands Man on April 27, 2010, 03:04:33 PM
Well lads have many of you entered this , any thoughts on a team?
Post by: busbybhoy on April 29, 2010, 10:38:19 AM
Deise

Have ye set up a facebook page for this? Easy and free advertising. I can think of 20 or 30 people i would forward this on to
Post by: deise2010 on April 29, 2010, 02:05:26 PM
if you go to google and put in fantasy hurling and football competition 2010 facebook, it will bring you to the page....we have also started an ad campaign yesterday on facebook, which has already brought a lot of entry's to the competition..

In the next few days, the Irish Sun might also be covering the competition, so watch out for this...get everyone involved....the more entry's there are, then the bigger the prizes....

www.fantasygaelicsports.ie
Post by: busbybhoy on April 29, 2010, 08:42:55 PM
I signed up today. Sent cheque also. Hopefully you will have it tomorrow. If not i am hoping that you count the scores for this weekend??

Ill start inviting friends on facebook now :)
Post by: Rodman on April 29, 2010, 11:11:35 PM
any reason why Padraig Joyce isnt listed in the Galway players,  same as Kyle Coney for Tyrone.
Post by: BennyHarp on April 30, 2010, 08:39:48 AM
Quote from: deise2010 on April 14, 2010, 07:50:25 PM

DETAILS AS FOLLOWS:

Deise, is this still the case? Maybe i'm being a bit blind but i cant seem to find any info on this on the site and i was going to promote this with our lads! Cheers
Post by: deise2010 on April 30, 2010, 09:44:06 AM
Hi lads, how are ye. With regards county players, we had to go with what each individual county board gave us for panels for the year. But if there are any players missing, that you want included then let us know and we will update them immediately. you can contact us at fantasygaelicsports@yahoo.ie

With regards the club competition, it was only decided upon last week and we have to update this on to the site, but yes it is defintely still the case.
Post by: bridgegael on May 01, 2010, 02:56:59 PM
how do you get the list of players??
Post by: Midlands Man on May 01, 2010, 04:23:23 PM
Bridgegael go to where team layout is and click on transfers ..
Post by: Midlands Man on May 03, 2010, 08:16:07 PM
Well lads any of you any good in this over the weekend with the Galway v New York game ?
Post by: deise2010 on May 14, 2010, 12:50:00 PM
Check out Fantasy Gaelic Sports in the Irish Sun Today - Leaderboards are now up for Hurling and Football championships

Dont forget to enter and register your team today, to be included in this weekends round of matches. Register to be in with a chance of winning one of the following prizes:

€30,000 prize fund
Replica Waterford Crystal Sam Maguire and Liam McCarthy cups ( estimated value of €10,000 each )
Tour America Travel Vouchers
Aer Arann Flights
Jerseys
Hotel breaks around Ireland

More to be added throughout the season

visit www.fantasygaelicsports.ie
Post by: pmlaois on May 19, 2010, 01:22:36 PM
Can you tell us exactly what the 1st prizes are? There seems to be less than 100 paid up entries in both the hurling and football. To say there is a €30,000 prize fund is extremely misleading I have to say. I would just like to know once and for all what the prizes are (based on 100 paid entries) Thanks.
Post by: tyronebhoy on May 19, 2010, 02:00:10 PM
I have registered for this and at the moment there are 34 registered for Hurling and 95 for the football giving 129 overall.  Assuming everyone registered has paid their €10, then the prize fund sits at €1,290. 

Quite a few more needed before the €30,000 prize fund is acheived, although I wish them all the best with it despite having a pretty poor opening weekend.
Post by: pmlaois on May 21, 2010, 05:14:06 PM
Looks like this competition is dead in the water already and a complete waste of money. At least in the Star you know exactly what the prize money is.
Post by: deise2010 on May 22, 2010, 01:08:58 PM
Hi Lads,

Prize fund is not based on entries alone and is also made up of money coming in from advertising etc..Leaderboards  are updated quiclkly every week, after each round of matches, unlike the star, so the competition is far from being dead in the water. The competition also appeared in the Irish Sun a few times in the last week..

As per the terms and conditions, the full details of prizes will be announced, in Mid June...

Post by: pmlaois on May 22, 2010, 02:44:37 PM
7. Prizes:
The level of  prizes will be determined by the number of entrants into the competition. There will prizes for the overall 1st,2nd,3rd,4th,5th places. There will also be prizes for the highest final point total scored in each individual county. Individuals in the top 5 will be excluded from the individual county prizes. Prizes will be mainly cash, but will also include €250 voucher from Tour America, flights from Aer Arann and Jerseys.

This is what your T&Cs states so I cannot see why you won`t answer my question. On the subject of The Star, their leaderboard is updated the next day.
Post by: deise2010 on May 22, 2010, 04:36:59 PM
Prizes are whats stated in the prizes category on the competition website...
Post by: pmlaois on May 22, 2010, 06:02:09 PM
 "They will also receive a share of the €30,000 prize fund that is up for grabs".

Please note that the above prize fund of €30,000 is subject to entry and may be lower or higher than indicated.

I would like to know where you are getting a figure of €30,000 from?

You cannot run a competition in this manner by making a statement that there is a €30,000 prize fund when clearly this is not the case. I have no doubt that you mean well but you need to be careful not to mislead people and when you say "They will also receive a share of the €30,000 prize fund that is up for grabs" this is totally misleading.

You still havent told us what the cash prizes will be based on 100 paid entries in both the football and hurling. That`s all I want to know.
Post by: deise2010 on May 25, 2010, 11:58:32 AM
Leaderboards from the weekend have now been updated.....check out your position and start picking your team for next weekends round of matches

visit www.fantasygaelicsports.ie
Post by: tyronebhoy on May 25, 2010, 02:10:20 PM
Is there any facility to see the points each player receives in each game and/or the chance to see what other people's teams are as it is good to see a) what the best players are and b) interesting to see others teams.
Post by: deise2010 on May 25, 2010, 02:30:28 PM
We are actually working on bringing that feature in to the website at the moment and hopefully will have it updated in the next few days...gives people the chance to see what players are performing the best etc.....any other ideas let us know, as we are in the first year of the competition and want to make it better for everyone
Post by: mickocleary76 on May 27, 2010, 07:56:20 PM
Lets go with it, it;ll be a bit of craic
Post by: tyronebhoy on June 03, 2010, 09:02:58 AM
Why does it take so long to get points updated from the weekend game, especially when there were only 2 games played (football).  How long will it take next week when there are many more matches and during the qualifiers.

You really need to get this sorted or people will lose interest and start asking for refunds.
Post by: deise2010 on June 03, 2010, 01:02:44 PM
Sorry about the delay - results will be updated today - there were actually 7 games last weekend - 5 hurling and 2 football...but the leaderboards will be done today and going forward, will be done a lot quicker
Post by: tyronebhoy on June 03, 2010, 02:50:26 PM
Cheers.

My team has been updated but I think there is something wrong with your database as I am continuing to do very poorly (and it can't all be down to my poor choice of players  ;) )

Anyways, any update of the prizes deise2010, not that I think i'll be in contention anyway.

Post by: deise2010 on June 03, 2010, 06:16:37 PM
Whats your team name tyroneboy and il check it out and see if there has been any errors, il get on to the web design team too...we have received a lot of revenue in the last few weeks from businesses around our county, supporting us and sponsoring the game, so prizes will be as per the prizes listed....
We are happy with the number of entries this year, as this is the first year and its a learning curve...going forward, we hope to make it the number one fantasy gaa game out there
Post by: tyronebhoy on June 07, 2010, 01:42:42 PM
Quote from: deise2010 on June 03, 2010, 06:16:37 PM
Whats your team name tyroneboy and il check it out and see if there has been any errors, il get on to the web design team too...we have received a lot of revenue in the last few weeks from businesses around our county, supporting us and sponsoring the game, so prizes will be as per the prizes listed....
We are happy with the number of entries this year, as this is the first year and its a learning curve...going forward, we hope to make it the number one fantasy gaa game out there

Good stuff,  my team is Dynamo Tyrone but I don't reckon there are any errors, my players have by and large been pretty poor.
Post by: Midlands Man on June 07, 2010, 07:27:13 PM
Great competition deise hope it goes well for you and best of luck with it ...
Post by: deise2010 on June 07, 2010, 09:20:45 PM
Thanks Midlands Man, as mentioned the first year was always going to be a learning curve, but we are happy with the wa things are going.Next year we will have the competition in place for the national leagues, championship etc...
Post by: deise2010 on June 10, 2010, 05:29:02 PM
Some good weekly prizes to be added to www.fantasygaelicsports.ie competition over the next few weeks, from our sponsors waterford crystal, tour america and aer arann

More details will be posted on www.fantasygaelicsports.ie over the next few weeks
Post by: tyronebhoy on June 11, 2010, 11:12:42 AM
I'd echo Midlands Man post and say that it's a great competition.
Post by: deise2010 on June 24, 2010, 01:13:37 PM
Busy weekend ahead in the All - Ireland Hurling & Football Championships, with 15 games to be played this weekend. Log on to www.fantasygaelicsports.ie and make any transfers you wish before first game Saturday.

There is not much points seperating the top 5 in both the hurling and football leagues, so this weekend is a good chance to pick up some points.

If you are interested in creating a mini league for your club, contact fantasygaelicsports@yahoo.ie and we will manage this for your club, with seperate prizes etc for your clubs mini league.
Post by: Midlands Man on September 23, 2010, 11:24:54 PM
So how did people do in this , whos our winners..
Post by: fantasy_fan on October 15, 2010, 12:37:28 PM
Ado Den Haag 2 won the Football and Rummenigge won the Hurling according to the leaderboard.
Post by: fantasy_fan on October 15, 2010, 05:38:55 PM
The Irish papers don't seem to run any fantasy premiership games anymore. Seems to be GAA only for some reason. You would imagine the soccer would pull in thousands of entrants.
Post by: FantasyCat on January 07, 2011, 12:15:29 PM
Hi Guys,

I'm currently researching into running a Fantasy GAA Competition with my company (I'm not going to mention who yet as I am not here to market or sell to you guys!). We are legit and have run EPL FF Leagues and Champions League on site and with a national newspaper so this is the real deal.

The reason I am posting is I can see you guys are passionate about a Fantasy GAA League, and before we go ahead and develop this game, we want to hear what the fans want. It seems that the last few years have been a disaster with regards to Fantasy GAA, so I want to make sure this goes right especially as I am a passionate GAA fan also.

So if you guys want to share your opinions, I would be delighted to hear form you.

Thanks a mil! :)
Post by: mayo on January 12, 2011, 11:27:24 PM
hi fantasy cat .whats your format of fantasy  competition
Post by: spuds on January 13, 2011, 05:32:34 PM
Interested
Post by: Midlands Man on January 14, 2011, 03:15:30 PM
Quote from: fantasy_fan on October 15, 2010, 12:37:28 PM
Ado Den Haag 2 won the Football and Rummenigge won the Hurling according to the leaderboard.

I know that fantasy fan but who are the names of the people that won it , the least they could do was put up the names of the winners or publish them in the paper
Post by: fantasy_fan on January 16, 2011, 12:13:11 PM
I'm sure i read somewhere who the winners were. Could have been in the paper or on the site. Can't recall the names as it's so long ago.
Post by: Midlands Man on January 18, 2011, 04:16:47 PM
Quote from: fantasy_fan on January 16, 2011, 12:13:11 PM
I'm sure i read somewhere who the winners were. Could have been in the paper or on the site. Can't recall the names as it's so long ago.

Would like to hear from Deise 2010 as to who the winners were .. So fantasy cat wat are your plans for this comp?
Post by: Another_Mink on January 19, 2011, 08:25:29 PM
Anyone know of any good Fantasy Gaa games with decent prize money? I've done pretty well over the years on other games and would like to dedicate some time at winning a Fantasy Gaa game this year.
Post by: fantasy_fan on January 20, 2011, 12:35:10 AM
Quote from: Another_Mink on January 19, 2011, 08:25:29 PM
Anyone know of any good Fantasy Gaa games with decent prize money? I've done pretty well over the years on other games and would like to dedicate some time at winning a Fantasy Gaa game this year.

The Star ran a game last year for league and championship and think there was 20 grand of prize money but generally there are more premiership fantasy games than gaa.
Post by: Louth Exile on January 20, 2011, 05:38:22 PM
This might be of some interest to some of you.....

Last Man Standing competition run on the NFL, as far as I'm aware no one else in the country is running one and we ran it succesfully last year for the first time on a small scale. Entries can be paid for online using laser or credit card. All details on the link below:
http://www.thejoesgfc.com/newsArticle.php?id=174

Post by: Another_Mink on January 20, 2011, 07:34:40 PM
Ok thanks Louth_Exile will have a look at that.
Post by: wewillyeah on January 23, 2011, 07:37:09 PM
Quote from: Midlands Man on January 18, 2011, 04:16:47 PM
Quote from: fantasy_fan on January 16, 2011, 12:13:11 PM

Would like to hear from Deise 2010 as to who the winners were .. So fantasy cat wat are your plans for this comp?

I won the hurling competition last year, trying to sell off the prize below and a few other places (a bit optimistic on the price but that's the value I'm told)

http://www.gumtree.ie/dublin/37/72229437.html

I'll let Desie 2010 come on here and give the details of what all the winners got, but this trophy is what i won for the hurling.

The format of the competion was good and the website was pretty user friendly, comparing to what has gone before in terms of online fantasy gaa / fantasy gaa competitions its been the best website / ive seen so far. However the prize fund / claims of the prize fund did not match what was originally advertised because the number of entries and lack of sponsors  I'm told.

Anyway fantasy Cat, what are the details of your competition?
Post by: paullyie on January 24, 2011, 07:36:06 PM
Quote from: fantasy_fan on January 20, 2011, 12:35:10 AM

The Star ran a game last year for league and championship and think there was 20 grand of prize money but generally there are more premiership fantasy games than gaa.

Looks like the star kicked off their Fantasy GAA in the paper this morning €20k prize fund, its been run through starbets.ie
I'd say get them in early to get the max points
Post by: BennyHarp on January 25, 2011, 01:45:42 PM
Quote from: paullyie on January 24, 2011, 07:36:06 PM
Quote from: fantasy_fan on January 20, 2011, 12:35:10 AM

Looks like the star kicked off their Fantasy GAA in the paper this morning €20k prize fund, its been run through starbets.ie
I'd say get them in early to get the max points

Maybe you should start a thread about it?
Post by: Louth Exile on January 26, 2011, 11:35:05 AM
http://starbets.ie/featured/its-fantasy-time-250111/

Ronan Carroll   :o
Post by: Lone Shark on January 26, 2011, 11:45:26 AM
Quote from: Louth Exile on January 26, 2011, 11:35:05 AM

On the face of it, I'd have thought he'd be a decent play with Whyte gone - will he not get a start?
Post by: Louth Exile on January 26, 2011, 12:48:47 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on January 26, 2011, 11:45:26 AM
Quote from: Louth Exile on January 26, 2011, 11:35:05 AM
On the face of it, I'd have thought he'd be a decent play with Whyte gone - will he not get a start?

ML will tell you better than I would, but if he had of been fully fit last year he would have most likely been starting, if not in the middle, then in the forwards. Its not a bad call at all, most would go for Paddy instead, given his profile. IMO if the two of them are playing the middle Paddy is the more likely to get three points on the board in a big game. But if White was to come home later in the year, then there is always the possibility of Ronan to being pushed forward! Not a bad call. Lets hope he can keep himself right for the year.
Post by: Another_Mink on January 27, 2011, 04:07:54 PM
Star competition looks decent especially as they have a few gems of players out of position for the NFL at least. Missed the competition last year but followed the leaderboard. Can't wait until it starts.
Post by: Midlands Man on January 27, 2011, 04:09:16 PM
Who are the ones out of position mink, i didnt see too many..
Post by: Another_Mink on February 02, 2011, 09:00:18 PM
Quote from: Midlands Man on January 27, 2011, 04:09:16 PM
Who are the ones out of position mink, i didnt see too many..

Unfortunately my few "gems" have turned to worthless stones due to injuries etc.  Back to the drawing board.
When is the deadline to enter? Any idea how many entries are in already and how long will it take to enter online if I have my team written down and ready? 
Post by: Midlands Man on February 02, 2011, 09:49:47 PM
Slow enough mink about ten minutes a team .. I entered 3 myself ..Who you goin for?
Post by: Another_Mink on February 05, 2011, 06:40:06 PM
No John Doyle.  :(

Think I will stick to the soccer.
Post by: fantasy_fan on February 08, 2011, 01:00:44 PM
I have started a thread relating to the Star Fantasy Gaa game. Please feel free to comment throughout the competition.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=18481.0