Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ludermor on January 19, 2010, 11:21:17 AM

Title: Another Bandwagon To Jump On
Post by: ludermor on January 19, 2010, 11:21:17 AM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/tennis/2010/0119/sorensenl_australianm.html

Louk Sorensen became the first Irishman to win a grand slam match in 25 years when he defeated Yen-Hsun Lu in the first-round of the Australian Open
Title: Re: Another Bandwagon To Jump On
Post by: Archie Mitchell on January 19, 2010, 11:26:45 AM
Good Irish name too.
Post by: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 11:32:29 AM
What?
Post by: Declan on January 19, 2010, 11:33:44 AM
Remember his father - Sean Sorensen. Decent player himself and I seem to recall him giving McEnroe a game in the early 80's
Post by: dublinfella on January 19, 2010, 11:34:10 AM
So rather than congratulate an Irish sportsman on a great acheievement, your line is that its a bandwagon in train.

How bizarre.
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2010, 11:40:58 AM
Not often I'd agree with dublinfella here, but ludermore I don't know the point you're trying to make here.

Congratulations Louk.
Post by: Dakota on January 19, 2010, 01:20:06 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on January 19, 2010, 11:26:45 AM
Good Irish name too.

Do you have to have a Irish name to be a proper Irish man?
Post by: Silky on January 19, 2010, 01:36:16 PM
Ziggysego is hardly a "good Irish name"? Neither is Dakota.
Post by: Declan on January 19, 2010, 01:37:31 PM
Sure Sorensen is Irish isn't it - from our Scandanavian ancestors?
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2010, 01:39:16 PM
Quote from: Silky on January 19, 2010, 01:36:16 PM
Ziggysego is hardly a "good Irish name"? Neither is Dakota.

You seem to be under the illusion that my name is actually ziggysego
Post by: ludermor on January 19, 2010, 01:44:12 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 19, 2010, 11:40:58 AM
Not often I'd agree with dublinfella here, but ludermore I don't know the point you're trying to make here.

Congratulations Louk.
Im just saying that there will be a bandwagon following his great achievement in winning this game and ill be happy to jump on it ( as i was with the cricket team). Of course im glad he won as i am generally when all irish sportspeople win.
Post by: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 01:44:12 PM
It's just about as racist an attitude as you can get, to question somebody's nationality based on their name. Chilling and smacks of nazi-type racial purity ideology.
Post by: the colonel on January 19, 2010, 03:11:14 PM
what a ridiculous thread, fair play to the guy. whats the problem? i doubt there will be a bandwagon as he will more than likely get beat in next round
Post by: JohnDenver on January 19, 2010, 03:24:51 PM
Quote from: Dakota on January 19, 2010, 01:20:06 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on January 19, 2010, 11:26:45 AM
Good Irish name too.

Do you have to have a Irish name to be a proper Irish man?

Yes.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 19, 2010, 03:31:33 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 01:44:12 PM
It's just about as racist an attitude as you can get, to question somebody's nationality based on their name. Chilling and smacks of nazi-type racial purity ideology.

Reminds me of the slagging some fella from Wicklow or Kildare got. He wasn't really Irish because his name was very colonial/English. This despite the fact that he's slogging away in muck and shite to represent his county.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 19, 2010, 03:32:20 PM
Eamon De Valera (if he was alive) may have a view on this one
Post by: Minder on January 19, 2010, 03:35:26 PM
His father is "100% Irish" and his mother has both Norwegian and Austrian blood. According to the Times he speaks in "clipped Germanic tones" and is based in Stuttgart.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 19, 2010, 03:38:07 PM
Good for him. I remember crowd at Clones one summer gathered around listening to some Irish man in a rowing semi-final in the Olympics. Drea maybe he was called. Don't really see it as bandwagon.   
Post by: ludermor on January 19, 2010, 03:38:43 PM
Quote from: the colonel on January 19, 2010, 03:11:14 PM
what a ridiculous thread, fair play to the guy. whats the problem? i doubt there will be a bandwagon as he will more than likely get beat in next round
Who said there was a f**king problem! I started the thread to highlight he had won a match and my forecasted media attention!. I called it a bandwagon because it will be in the media for the next week ot two and after which it will revert to small paragraghs in the middle of other sports.
Post by: muppet on January 19, 2010, 03:47:20 PM
Quote from: Declan on January 19, 2010, 11:33:44 AM
Remember his father - Sean Sorensen. Decent player himself and I seem to recall him giving McEnroe a game in the early 80's

Game of what? Darts?

More seriously did he & Matt Doyle play McEnroe + A.N.Other in Davis Cup?
Post by: Treasurer on January 19, 2010, 03:49:22 PM
Quote from: Declan on January 19, 2010, 11:33:44 AM

I was wondering if he was his Dad, I feel old  :(
Post by: Asal Mor on January 19, 2010, 03:55:26 PM
Quote from: ludermor on January 19, 2010, 03:38:43 PM
Quote from: the colonel on January 19, 2010, 03:11:14 PM
Who said there was a f**king problem! I started the thread to highlight he had won a match and my forecasted media attention!. I called it a bandwagon because it will be in the media for the next week ot two and after which it will revert to small paragraghs in the middle of other sports.

In fairness Luder ya said nothing wrong but people are so eager to get into hysterics about racism they jump straight onto the high horse. Lighten up lads. It's as bad as the Joe Duffy show on here sometimes.
Post by: dublinfella on January 19, 2010, 04:16:06 PM
[quote author=Asal Mor link=topic=15145.msg717160#msg717160

In fairness Luder ya said nothing wrong but people are so eager to get into hysterics about racism they jump straight onto the high horse. Lighten up lads. It's as bad as the Joe Duffy show on here sometimes.

Its got nothing to do with racism. The original post was dripping with begrudgery and smacked of the attitude that a successful Irishman in another sport is a negative for the GAA.
Post by: Asal Mor on January 19, 2010, 04:24:08 PM
I checked the original post again. I'm just not seeing the begrudery and attitude you're talking about.
Post by: the colonel on January 19, 2010, 04:26:16 PM
i am not seeing the bandwagon in the media either other than a short mention on skysports news
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 19, 2010, 04:30:19 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 19, 2010, 03:31:33 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 01:44:12 PM

Reminds me of the slagging some fella from Wicklow or Kildare got. He wasn't really Irish because his name was very colonial/English. This despite the fact that he's slogging away in muck and shite to represent his county.

Stuart McKenzie-Smith? The odd poster still has a pop at his name.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 19, 2010, 04:32:52 PM
Not him Dinny, there was another, I think he was the Wicklow goalkeeper or something?
Post by: Asal Mor on January 19, 2010, 04:34:42 PM
Anyway, well done Louk on your great achievement. Hopefully there's more to come.
Post by: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 04:45:04 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 19, 2010, 04:32:52 PM
Not him Dinny, there was another, I think he was the Wicklow goalkeeper or something?

Yes - Mervyn Travers. His name caused some ignorant comment here, I recall.
Post by: muppet on January 19, 2010, 04:52:06 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 04:45:04 PM

Really? Even allowing for the pleb factor I don't see why this name would attract any attention.

Did he have a handle-bar moustache and smoke a pipe during games?
Post by: Dakota on January 19, 2010, 04:59:02 PM
Wasn't there some hurler years ago for Laois or maybe Offaly called Paddy Rustiko? I know I have the name surname spelled wrong but it was something along those lines..
Not a very Irish name(not the Paddy bit  :) ) but I'm sure he was every bit the Irish man we are
Post by: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 05:00:12 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 19, 2010, 04:52:06 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 04:45:04 PM

Really? Even allowing for the pleb factor I don't see why this name would attract any attention.

Did he have a handle-bar moustache and smoke a pipe during games?

Sorry. I did a search and found it. It wasn't a comment on the gaaboard. It was on some podcast that was touted here.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7882.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7882.0)
Post by: ludermor on January 19, 2010, 05:40:30 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 19, 2010, 04:16:06 PM
[quote author=Asal Mor link=topic=15145.msg717160#msg717160

Its got nothing to do with racism. The original post was dripping with begrudgery and smacked of the attitude that a successful Irishman in another sport is a negative for the GAA.
[/quote] :D :D
FFS will you show me where in the name of Jasus there is even a hint of begrudgery! And how the f**k do you get any relevance to the GAA?? Pretty warped thinking there fella
Post by: dublinfella on January 19, 2010, 05:44:13 PM
Quote from: ludermor on January 19, 2010, 05:40:30 PM

FFS will you show me where in the name of Jasus there is even a hint of begrudgery! And how the f**k do you get any relevance to the GAA?? Pretty warped thinking there fella

I'm not the only person who questioned your opening post.

Bandwagon mentioned. Congratulations not. Nuff said.
Post by: ludermor on January 19, 2010, 05:45:40 PM
Nothing mentioned bout begrudery ( would you mind outlining where you found it)
Nothing mentioned bout GAA (would you mind outlining where you found it to be a negative to the GAA)
Nuff said but thanks for your contribution

Actually looking back at my post i highlighted from the link that he was the first irish player in 25 yrs to win a glam slam game, is that not enough to show that i thought it was a great achievment???
Post by: muppet on January 19, 2010, 05:57:46 PM
Quote from: ludermor on January 19, 2010, 05:45:40 PM
Nothing mentioned bout GAA (would you mind outlining where you found it to be a negative to the GAA)

Actually looking back at my post i highlighted from the link that he was the first irish player in 25 yrs to win a glam slam game, is that not enough to show that i thought it was a great achievment???

A mighty achievement, up there with Willie Joe's point in 1989. Our 1st in an AIF in 39 years.
Post by: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 06:00:02 PM
Sorry to be to be the anorak, but 38 years.
Post by: muppet on January 19, 2010, 06:06:20 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 06:00:02 PM
Sorry to be to be the anorak, but 38 years.

Sorry...........you are correct.
Post by: The Blegard on January 19, 2010, 06:11:20 PM
Quote from: ludermor on January 19, 2010, 05:45:40 PM

You are an absolute begrudger alright ;D. Bet your sorry you opened your mouth at all. You need to run everything past Ben Elton or someone to check for PC nowadays
Post by: Declan on January 20, 2010, 08:04:57 AM
Sorensen bows out in Melbourne

Tennis – Australian Open: Louk Sorensen's dream run at the Australian Open was brought to an end by the big hitting John Isner this morning. The giant American defeated Sorensen in straight sets, 6-3 7-6 (7-4) 7-5, to deny the Irishman a place in the third round.

Having come through qualifying, Sorensen - ranked 287 in the world - became the first Irishman to win a Grand Slam match in 25 years by beating Yen-Hsun Lu in the first round.

A win over Isner would have been momentous and the Stuttgart-based Sorensen - where he plays for Bundesliga third division club TC Doggenburg when he is not on the road - put up an impressive fight against the American.

Despite losing the first set limply, he fought back hard in the second to force a tie-break in which Isner asserted his authority.

The third was neck-and-neck throughout and Sorensen threatened to carry the fight even further despite failing to convert any of his three break points in the match.

However, Isner's power was proving too much for the Irishman to handle as the American - who smashed down 21 aces in total - finally took control to take victory in the third.

According to the radio there was a great crowd of Irish supporting him