GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Declan on January 13, 2010, 03:47:04 PM

Title: Begley to Parnells?
Post by: Declan on January 13, 2010, 03:47:04 PM
Former Aussie Rules star Colm Begley has stunned his home club Stradbally by requesting a transfer to Dublin outfit Parnells.

The ex-Brisbane Lions and St. Kilda player, who has represented Ireland in the International Rules series, was expected to be a key figure for the Laois club this year, but it appears he has his sights set on a move to Parnells, where he would link up with fellow Laoismen Colm Parkinson and Darren Rooney.

Begley, who returned home last autumn after five years in the AFL and has since joined up with the Laois football squad, is set to be based in the city. Neither the Leinster Council nor Laois county board had received Begley's transfer form as of last night, but O'Moore County secretary Niall Handy admitted he expects the paperwork in the coming days.

He told the Irish Sun: "It hasn't been submitted, but we believe it's coming. As far as I know, it's club only."

Handy, who himself is a Stradbally man, admitted that more big names could follow Parkinson, Rooney and Begley to the northside club, which recently received planning permission to build a EUR30 million facility in Coolock.

"It is a loss to Laois. It's the third one and there are rumours of more."

Parnells chairman Frank Gleeson has refused to be drawn on the matter, only saying: "We are constantly linked with Laois players because we already have two Laois players at the club.
Title: Re: Begley to Parnells?
Post by: johnneycool on January 13, 2010, 04:23:22 PM
thought it was Philomena there for a moment.
Post by: Zapatista on January 13, 2010, 05:50:11 PM
Do Stradbally not have a website? Can't find one.
Post by: laoisgaa on January 13, 2010, 06:14:00 PM
http://stradballygaa.net/
Post by: Rossfan on January 13, 2010, 06:59:36 PM
Why have we not heard from the "Of one belief" outfit on this matter  ;)
Post by: The Forfeit Point on January 13, 2010, 10:55:40 PM
Thats some loyalty from begley, you would swear laois was a thousand miles away from dublin to be transferring. dublin county board need to get their act together on this bull, or the county won't be winning any all irelands that they should be. Theres 3 places on that starting 15 for parnells gone, where some up and coming young lads could be gaining vital experience.
Post by: orangeman on January 13, 2010, 10:57:24 PM
Quote from: The Forfeit Point on January 13, 2010, 10:55:40 PM
Thats some loyalty from begley, you would swear laois was a thousand miles away from dublin to be transferring. dublin county board need to get their act together on this bull, or the county won't be winning any all irelands that they should be. Theres 3 places on that starting 15 for parnells gone, where some up and coming young lads could be gaining vital experience.

Money must be good in Dublin.
Post by: randomtask on January 13, 2010, 11:04:02 PM
must be, look at the facilities they are building :o

http://www.cumannparnell.com/_gallery/viewGallery.asp?categoryID=11
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 13, 2010, 11:15:39 PM
Quote from: randomtask on January 13, 2010, 11:04:02 PM

Looks like they have a few euro to throw about.
Post by: ballinaman on January 13, 2010, 11:22:02 PM
Begley needs to get his act together wherever he plays from what I've heard from Australia, loads of ability but fond of the party, a contributing factor to why he was let go from AFL is what I've been told.
Post by: theoriginalmup on January 13, 2010, 11:38:35 PM
he'll be in good hands with Parkinson so
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on January 14, 2010, 02:39:52 AM
i met him in a bar after the Ireland OZ game in Peth last year. he had an attitude problem way too cocky.  of all the players i met that night he was most arrogent sightly shading Hanley. don't want to bad mouth(too much) anyone so ill leave it at. On the other hand  Enda McGinlay was a gent, down to earth and friendly very genuine guy as were a good few others.
Post by: Zapatista on January 14, 2010, 08:52:47 AM
Quote from: laoisgaa on January 13, 2010, 06:14:00 PM
http://stradballygaa.net/

Cheers.

Tough on the club. I wonder did they put up a fight? They are expecting him to return for some reason???
Post by: INDIANA on January 14, 2010, 09:23:58 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on January 13, 2010, 11:15:39 PM
Quote from: randomtask on January 13, 2010, 11:04:02 PM

Looks like they have a few euro to throw about.

Sold some land beside the airport to a developer before the whole property thing went belly up. Got around 24m for it apparently. Say no more.
Post by: Canalman on January 14, 2010, 09:32:14 AM
Parnells are flush with cash after the sale of their grounds at the airport ( behind where all the planespotters park at Collinstown Lane). Bad bad move imo by Parnells as they have lots of GPOs working on the juvenile scene and any success they get will be tainted by the "blow in" smear. Building a new clubhouse and pitches as well.

Have to point out that I personally found Parnells' teams in the past very undisciplined and downright nasty at times.
For the record Parnells  destroyed Kilmore GAA many years by poaching at one time their best players.
Nothing DCB can do I suppose.
Post by: orangeman on January 14, 2010, 09:45:09 AM
Parnells have money to spend and spend it they will.

The accounts should be interesting.
Post by: INDIANA on January 14, 2010, 10:06:50 AM
Quote from: Canalman on January 14, 2010, 09:32:14 AM
Parnells are flush with cash after the sale of their grounds at the airport ( behind where all the planespotters park at Collinstown Lane). Bad bad move imo by Parnells as they have lots of GPOs working on the juvenile scene and any success they get will be tainted by the "blow in" smear. Building a new clubhouse and pitches as well.

Have to point out that I personally found Parnells' teams in the past very undisciplined and downright nasty at times.
For the record Parnells  destroyed Kilmore GAA many years by poaching at one time their best players.

Couldn't argue with any of that. Our relations with them are the pits anyway.
Post by: liihb on January 14, 2010, 01:14:36 PM
as are ours, vicious enough games any time we play them.....
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 14, 2010, 01:15:23 PM
Quote from: Canalman on January 14, 2010, 09:32:14 AM

completely agree with all that apart from the club wont give a fiddlers if they bring back the success of the 80's where they were Dublin and Leinster kingpins.

One of the worst teams to play against for years now in terms of dirt and fighting.
Poor kilmore were destroyed by parnells - wasnt cluxton a kilmore man originally?

DCB or any club cannot stop intercounty transfers.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 14, 2010, 01:17:24 PM
Quote from: liihb on January 14, 2010, 01:14:36 PM
as are ours, vicious enough games any time we play them.....
...you didnt mention that is is not our club that start the rows - always parnells

they were the exact same to play against in the mid 90's whan I played them for my prev club civil service -and other lads from other clubs say the exact same thing about parnells !

DCB should be acting against teams that indulge in such thuggery  - parnells and a couple more that I wont mention right now.
Post by: boojangles on January 14, 2010, 02:42:38 PM
Canalman what are GPO's??
Whether its whats hampering Dublins progress or not, it is an issue thats been around 30 or 40 years.Its not a new occurence. Its the big smoke and some lads are always going to want to transfer to a Dublin club if they are living and working there.Its their own choice at the end of the day. Iv lived in Dublin and travelling back and forth on Tuesday nites for 5 or 6 hours is not easy.
In fairness to the DCB they don't allow every transfer request through without checking details.Just ask Ray Cullivan.
Post by: Canalman on January 14, 2010, 03:35:28 PM
Games Promotions Officers.

Glad to see other members agree with our club's views on Parnells.

Post by: heffo on January 14, 2010, 05:42:20 PM
It's also quite handy for any lads coming up from the country who play with Parnells that Parnells have a nice big city centre apt so it saves on the hassle of lads having to sort out accomodation.
Post by: ricky-bobby on January 15, 2010, 04:38:35 PM
Hi,since i'm a parnells man i thought i should throw some light on things goin on here.Firstly though,the whole talk of parnells as a team that uses thuggery in their games is well of the mark.Personally i feel that us as teams,whether its senior,junior 1 or 2 are physical and passionate for our club jersey when we hit the field.We are based in the most populated club catchment area in not only dublin but the whole of ireland,and like any other teams a local derby brings out tempers sometimes,but to say that were thugs is not on.The Kilmore thing was ugly at the time but many things came into the equation like Kilmore were breaking up and falling apart and many of the lads were good mates with Parnells lads,also Kilmore wanted to put the Kilmore name with Parnells,who weren't too keen on it.Understandable there.Having said that,there are still many ex Kilmore players vitally involved with the club.
Back to the thread topic,Colm is being brought in to do coaching within the club,we currently have 10 coaches made up of senior players,hurlers,etc involved in the schools,primary and secondary who are doing massive work and the club is already reaping the benefits,for instance the summer camps just gone the numbers attending hit nearly 1900 over a 8 week period.So while people might say this transfer and others like it are gonna hurt us,let me assure you that we're firmly focused on our youth.
As for Colms role in the senior team,it is a massive gain for us,like last year with Rooney and Parkinson.He is living about a 5 minute walk from the club and from what i've heard he's really enthusiastic and up for the task of what is trying to be achieved on the pitch with the seniors and off it with the schools section and juvenile section.
Last year we had Stephen Cluxton and Darren Rooney missing for a lot of our games due to intercounty committments,and Parkinson had a bad injury 6 games into the league campaign and other lads then stepped up to the plate when the so called big guns were out.
We've big plans off the pitch with our new clubhouse,which is being built using EVERY single penny of our money from the sale of the pitches beside airportso it cuts out any money leeches,so to say were flush with cash is another false statement.
Thing that is so common in this country with GAA especially in dublin is when a club is doing well and looking to better things,all the others can do is sit back and snipe and talk down that club.The thing with us is we are too focused on our goals as a club and teams and coaches to let this get in our way.

Post by: LilySavage on January 15, 2010, 04:52:42 PM
Parnells have also poached a Kildare u21 player as well this year.
Post by: ricky-bobby on January 15, 2010, 05:19:44 PM
he plays for trinity college and lives nearby.players dont get poached,he could have said no.parnells sponsor jersey and let trinity college use their facilities in artane.
Post by: theoriginalmup on January 15, 2010, 09:57:24 PM
And Talty manages them
Post by: heffo on January 15, 2010, 10:33:00 PM
I hear Coolock is beautiful at this time of year - tis no wonder all these high profile lads from the country end up living right beside the clubhouse.
Post by: orangeman on January 15, 2010, 11:58:14 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 15, 2010, 10:33:00 PM
I hear Coolock is beautiful at this time of year - tis no wonder all these high profile lads from the country end up living right beside the clubhouse.
[/b]

Ah, how convenient.
Post by: Jimmy14 on January 16, 2010, 01:00:20 PM
Quote from: ricky-bobby on January 15, 2010, 04:38:35 PM
Hi,since i'm a parnells man i thought i should throw some light on things goin on here.Firstly though,the whole talk of parnells as a team that uses thuggery in their games is well of the mark.Personally i feel that us as teams,whether its senior,junior 1 or 2 are physical and passionate for our club jersey when we hit the field.We are based in the most populated club catchment area in not only dublin but the whole of ireland,and like any other teams a local derby brings out tempers sometimes,but to say that were thugs is not on.The Kilmore thing was ugly at the time but many things came into the equation like Kilmore were breaking up and falling apart and many of the lads were good mates with Parnells lads,also Kilmore wanted to put the Kilmore name with Parnells,who weren't too keen on it.Understandable there.Having said that,there are still many ex Kilmore players vitally involved with the club.
Back to the thread topic,Colm is being brought in to do coaching within the club,we currently have 10 coaches made up of senior players,hurlers,etc involved in the schools,primary and secondary who are doing massive work and the club is already reaping the benefits,for instance the summer camps just gone the numbers attending hit nearly 1900 over a 8 week period.So while people might say this transfer and others like it are gonna hurt us,let me assure you that we're firmly focused on our youth.
As for Colms role in the senior team,it is a massive gain for us,like last year with Rooney and Parkinson.He is living about a 5 minute walk from the club and from what i've heard he's really enthusiastic and up for the task of what is trying to be achieved on the pitch with the seniors and off it with the schools section and juvenile section.
Last year we had Stephen Cluxton and Darren Rooney missing for a lot of our games due to intercounty committments,and Parkinson had a bad injury 6 games into the league campaign and other lads then stepped up to the plate when the so called big guns were out.
We've big plans off the pitch with our new clubhouse,which is being built using EVERY single penny of our money from the sale of the pitches beside airportso it cuts out any money leeches,so to say were flush with cash is another false statement.
Thing that is so common in this country with GAA especially in dublin is when a club is doing well and looking to better things,all the others can do is sit back and snipe and talk down that club.The thing with us is we are too focused on our goals as a club and teams and coaches to let this get in our way.
#1 As another Dublin member I can assure everybody Parnells reputation as thuggerish is well deserved over the years!
#2 There was no charge for the summer camp with all geared supplied FOC
#3 Last year they had 5/6 players from Dublin clubs transfer also
#4 Of course they live 5 mins from the club, who do you thinkowns the premises ::)
#5 Your new plans will ensure a steady stream of revenue houses/apartments to be sold!

TBH considering where Parnells were 2 years ago it would be hard for them to sit back with all that money in their pockets playing Intermediate football and slowly slipping away.
It's just their new found arrogance which is annoying people!
Post by: ricky-bobby on January 16, 2010, 01:47:11 PM
to jimmy14
#1 back in the day when real hardy lads played every team had a run in,these days its not so much.just out of curiosity what club are you with?
#2 there was a charge for the summer camps,we also had the cul camps halfway through and that was the only gear given free of charge,as its in the camp price,as is the same for every cul camp in every club!as for club gear,that was to be paid for.
#3 5/6 transfers???think you'll find 2,yes 2 transfers went through,2 collins brothers from donabate.
#4 doesn't matter who owns the premises,its parnells own idea to do that and its a great one,not only footballers live there,students do too.
#5 steady stream of revenue from apartments/houses???The main part of the deal with the marist fathers who own the land in chanel was that they could have the houses and apartments,and parnells could do what they like with the clubhouse and pitches.so no revenue will come to the club from housing development.Also were getting a pharmacy and health centre,which will be a benefit for the community.

Looking back at your points there jimmy,all of them were well of the mark,get some facts together first before you post.
Finally we aren't arrogant,were doing no different than what other clubs have done,big future on and off it.
were just looking forward to it all.
Post by: ludermor on January 16, 2010, 02:06:54 PM
Welcome to the board lads, i hope ye hang around until the summer, there are a few dublin lads here who are always looking for back up , ye will find them soon enough. Though i have to say i like yer opening salvos, keep it up!
( to give ye a head start people here generally bow to their elders so for dublini folk that means rowing in behind the 2 most respected dublin posters, Dublinfella and Tankie)
Post by: ricky-bobby on January 16, 2010, 02:17:06 PM
Quote from: ludermor on January 16, 2010, 02:06:54 PM
Welcome to the board lads, i hope ye hang around until the summer, there are a few dublin lads here who are always looking for back up , ye will find them soon enough. Though i have to say i like yer opening salvos, keep it up!
( to give ye a head start people here generally bow to their elders so for dublini folk that means rowing in behind the 2 most respected dublin posters, Dublinfella and Tankie)
thanks for the welcome,only found this site this week and i have to say its top notch.lookin forward to a bit of national league and all ireland talk and banter. ;D
Post by: INDIANA on January 16, 2010, 02:55:09 PM
Quote from: ricky-bobby on January 16, 2010, 01:47:11 PM
to jimmy14
#1 back in the day when real hardy lads played every team had a run in,these days its not so much.just out of curiosity what club are you with?
#2 there was a charge for the summer camps,we also had the cul camps halfway through and that was the only gear given free of charge,as its in the camp price,as is the same for every cul camp in every club!as for club gear,that was to be paid for.
#3 5/6 transfers???think you'll find 2,yes 2 transfers went through,2 collins brothers from donabate.
#4 doesn't matter who owns the premises,its parnells own idea to do that and its a great one,not only footballers live there,students do too.
#5 steady stream of revenue from apartments/houses???The main part of the deal with the marist fathers who own the land in chanel was that they could have the houses and apartments,and parnells could do what they like with the clubhouse and pitches.so no revenue will come to the club from housing development.Also were getting a pharmacy and health centre,which will be a benefit for the community.

Looking back at your points there jimmy,all of them were well of the mark,get some facts together first before you post.
Finally we aren't arrogant,were doing no different than what other clubs have done,big future on and off it.

Ricky you are talking balderdash and you know it. Anyone who wants the full SP on this just pm me. Because reading Rickys posts is like reading extracts from The Lord of the Rings.
Post by: Jimmy14 on January 16, 2010, 05:04:00 PM
to jimmy14
#2 there was a charge for the summer camps,we also had the cul camps halfway through and that was the only gear given free of charge,as its in the camp price,as is the same for every cul camp in every club!as for club gear,that was to be paid for.What was the cost then?
#3 5/6 transfers???think you'll find 2,yes 2 transfers went through,2 collins brothers from donabate. 3 refused, plus Dublin minor wing back from last year propositioned.
#4 doesn't matter who owns the premises,its parnells own idea to do that and its a great one,not only footballers live there,students do too. Yeah by the way Colin Begley also going back to college! Free accomodation - no?
So hang on Parnells get 24 m cost of new venture = 30m + 11 fulltime coaches + existing apartments + extras, do the maths!

Coincidental you found this site this week with all the negative publicity surrounding Parnells - PARANOID??????????
Post by: heffo on January 16, 2010, 05:23:38 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 16, 2010, 02:55:09 PM
to jimmy14

Ricky you are talking balderdash and you know it. Anyone who wants the full SP on this just pm me. Because reading Rickys posts is like reading extracts from The Lord of the Rings.

Post by: ricky-bobby on January 16, 2010, 05:33:38 PM
on which points indiana??i just explained my view on jimmy14's points,thats all.i'm in the know,everything i've said is common knowledge to a lot of people,none of my explanations were made up.jimmy made comments that werent fact,i just corrected him.
in reply to jimmy,i'm a regular poster on other sites,only found this website on tuesday due to a topic on boards.ie about different forums out there so i decided to sign up.just so happens a few lads are on giving it loads about my club. >:(
Post by: The Aristocrat on January 16, 2010, 07:37:53 PM
to jimmy14

[/b]

Rubbish, everyone in Dublin knows whats going on in Coolock and you seem to be the only who doesnt.

Parnells have approached numerous players around Dublin last year, most transfers were rejected, so the lads sat out the year and trained with Parnells untill they were free to join whoever they wanted as per the (at this stage ) old rules. However you look at it, its still poaching. At least 6 players you got last year. At least.
Post by: ricky-bobby on January 17, 2010, 01:31:06 PM
yeah 2 lads from whitehalll,best mates with a few of the parnells lads.one lad was told to leave the team after a argument with the manager.i'm not here making up things,i've explained many of the points thrown up here,so whats the problem?
Post by: INDIANA on January 17, 2010, 01:36:00 PM
Quote from: ricky-bobby on January 17, 2010, 01:31:06 PM
yeah 2 lads from whitehalll,best mates with a few of the parnells lads.one lad was told to leave the team after a argument with the manager.i'm not here making up things,i've explained many of the points thrown up here,so whats the problem?

You know exactly what the problem is so you needn't start playing the innocent around here. Nobody has any respect for you or you club in Dublin.
Post by: ricky-bobby on January 17, 2010, 07:13:31 PM
hold on indiana you know nothing about me,your losin your head here.i've done no wrong,ya clown :D
Post by: LilySavage on January 19, 2010, 04:39:39 PM
Quote from: ricky-bobby on January 15, 2010, 05:19:44 PM
he plays for trinity college and lives nearby.players dont get poached,he could have said no.parnells sponsor jersey and let trinity college use their facilities in artane.

He only moved to Dublin cos Parnells paid his fees and his accomodation. That is poaching u plank.
Post by: Dakota on January 19, 2010, 06:00:42 PM
Quote from: LilySavage on January 19, 2010, 04:39:39 PM
Quote from: ricky-bobby on January 15, 2010, 05:19:44 PM

He only moved to Dublin cos Parnells paid his fees and his accomodation. That is poaching u plank.

Either way the player would have been a fool to turn it down
Post by: Jimmy14 on February 11, 2010, 10:57:54 PM
Quote from: ricky-bobby on January 17, 2010, 01:31:06 PM
Good man Ricky, haven't heard from you in a while, just to let you know MJ Tierney from LAOIS (of course) has now transferred also.
Quoted in the Herald as saying he approached Parnells and not them poached him.
Amazing, heard also one of the Whitehall guys who's transfer is still blocked also is now employed by Parnells.
I love your innocence.
Hope you find this site again!!
Post by: put-it-up on February 11, 2010, 11:01:31 PM
Lads, I know for a fact Parnells are throwing money around. You think Begley and MJ Tierney are gone there for the crack?

I think they can hook you up with a job in Topaz aswell handy enough too ;D
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 11, 2010, 11:24:21 PM
Attention Parnells club members!!
Substandard footballer with a fairly good Cavan Intermediate club available here for transfer!!!!  ;)  ;D
Any chance i can have the cheque for rent up front?

Post by: ricky-bobby on February 12, 2010, 09:14:17 AM
jimmy you can pm me and i'll explain that situation to you regarding the whitehall lad.its too personal to be blabbing it out.
as for the mj tierney thing,its starting to get out of hand now,i was all in favour of colm coming up because he would be in the schools promoting the club and gaa in the area,which so happens to be a tough area of dublin.
i'm really uncomfortable with this situation to be honest.a few minors have come up this year but whats the use now???
jimmy like i said you can pm me on the other matter. :)
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 12, 2010, 11:08:51 AM
Quote from: ricky-bobby on February 12, 2010, 09:14:17 AM
jimmy you can pm me and i'll explain that situation to you regarding the whitehall lad.its too personal to be blabbing it out.
as for the mj tierney thing,its starting to get out of hand now,i was all in favour of colm coming up because he would be in the schools promoting the club and gaa in the area,which so happens to be a tough area of dublin.
i'm really uncomfortable with this situation to be honest.a few minors have come up this year but whats the use now???
Firstly Ricky - I have to say that I knew of parnells and ther playes when they were good in the late 80's early 90's. Played along with their start centre half back John O (donnell?) out in Boston where he had emigrated to in late 90's. He was typical of their team , big hard and tough but not a thug.
However when times got tough it seemed the slide started getting parnells playing dirty football. I played for two diff teams against Parnells and some of the stuff they did was disgraceful. I club I am now with have run ins and scraps all the time with parnells and a lot of th lads I am friendly with from other clubs report back the same regarding the thuggery . Yous are on a par with monicas now, such is your reputation - and thats poor form.
However I suspect once you have all these star players , you will return ack to playing football and this will be a thing of the past.
likewise, in a few years time, once these star players have brought yous back up to Div 1, your own underage talent will take over and the accusations of thuggery and poaching will be soon forgotten like it more or less has been in Brigids (ok never had thuggery there).
You may as well accept the fact of what is happening now, players are being lured to Parnells. The rest of us are not stupid, but thats life. I hope Parnells get back towhere they were and be decent team again so I wont be complaining about their behaviour on the pitch. I suspect that as they progress , this will not be the case much longer !
Post by: Hardy on February 12, 2010, 11:26:07 AM
(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/begley.jpg)

Did this picture sicken anyone else besides me?
Post by: passedit on February 12, 2010, 11:31:45 AM
Quote from: Hardy on February 12, 2010, 11:26:07 AM

Hardy.

I think i read somewhere that he grew up supporting Parnells and joining them was a dream come true. He always had a poster of charles stewart  on his wall when he was growing up. A badge will be kissed.
Post by: INDIANA on February 12, 2010, 11:39:02 AM
Lynchy I can't agree with any of your post. . Anyone who condones what Parnells are at really would want to question what direction they see the GAA going. There are more on the way.

Post by: orangeman on February 12, 2010, 11:43:38 AM

Once a blue, always a .............. em green and black !  ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 12, 2010, 11:59:12 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on February 12, 2010, 11:39:02 AM
Lynchy I can't agree with any of your post. . Anyone who condones what Parnells are at really would want to question what direction they see the GAA going. There are more on the way.
as a serial transferrer I cant really say much against lads transferring. Also as they have money and there are no procedures or protocols to mitigate against what they are doing, so while we might not agree with this, theres no point in complaining about it as nothing can be done.
apathy, laziness ..same way I feel about politicians and politics I suppose..we cant do anything.

I turned down two transfers in my younger days where cash was offered for doing so. One in dublin, one in meath. I told them that I didnt play for money.

Parnells will stop this craic eventually. Plunketts (allegedly) have seemingly stopped with their transfer antics. HQ need to have a long hard think about all this.
Post by: put-it-up on February 12, 2010, 12:21:31 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on February 11, 2010, 11:24:21 PM
Substandard footballer with a fairly good Cavan Intermediate club available here for transfer!!!!  ;)  ;D

My CV is the exact same ;D
Post by: INDIANA on February 12, 2010, 12:58:13 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 12, 2010, 11:59:12 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on February 12, 2010, 11:39:02 AM
as a serial transferrer I cant really say much against lads transferring. Also as they have money and there are no procedures or protocols to mitigate against what they are doing, so while we might not agree with this, theres no point in complaining about it as nothing can be done.
apathy, laziness ..same way I feel about politicians and politics I suppose..we cant do anything.

I turned down two transfers in my younger days where cash was offered for doing so. One in dublin, one in meath. I told them that I didnt play for money.

Parnells will stop this craic eventually. Plunketts (allegedly) have seemingly stopped with their transfer antics. HQ need to have a long hard think about all this.

They won't be able to stop it Lynchy. Their juvenile infrastructure is so poor they will have nothing to supplement their playing base when the foreigners are gone. So this will be an annual event. There are plenty of protocols Lynchy- just a lack of willpower to enforce them.
This however may become a watershed case because its so open and brazen quite frankly.
Post by: muppet on February 12, 2010, 01:18:54 PM

Apply to:

Rev Willie McRea
MLA
Magherafelt District
County Ulster Sezno.
Post by: heffo on February 12, 2010, 01:35:31 PM

It sickens me.

I know there is nothing that can be done at present and it's too late for a motion at this congress, but something has to be done.

What chance have small rural clubs got  - they break their holes developing players and every once in a while a gem like Begley or Tierney come along - every couple of years Dublin clubs find rich benefactors who are willing to treat their club like a plaything and pump the dollars in - sometimes it reaps short term rewards, in most cases it doesn't and it screws up the club on numerous levels.

I know of one club in Dublin who were doing this a few years ago and the benefactor in question fell out with the club after a failed experiment - he actually wanted his 100k back.

You will have genuine cases of fellas moving to Dublin and if managed properly shouldn't be an issue - possibly work something like the NFL draft so instead of being able to move scotfree to Parnells, the next fella has to sign for a smaller team like Clontarf for example

Dublin got away with it not impacting on the standard of club football in years gone by when culchie teams like Civil Service and the Guards were strong.
Post by: INDIANA on February 12, 2010, 02:22:32 PM
The rot started Heffo when the DCB did their best to ensure the Civil Service and Gards were going to slide down the rankings.
The clubs are a disgrace on this and I include all of them in this. But parnells are a special case. Nothing has been seen like this before. And when you consider the past in Dublin thats a sorry endigtment of affairs.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 12, 2010, 02:34:59 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on February 12, 2010, 02:22:32 PM
The rot started Heffo when the DCB did their best to ensure the Civil Service and Gards were going to slide down the rankings.
The clubs are a disgrace on this and I include all of them in this. But parnells are a special case. Nothing has been seen like this before. And when you consider the past in Dublin thats a sorry endigtment of affairs.
as a former civil service player I second that !
the DCB did their dirty best to feck up the CS avery other week until they had a few relegations.

New culchies to Dublin were lured to other clubs by money, CS found themselves offering 1,000 to an armagh player as he told them thats what two other clubs had offered him and he still joined someone else.

Heffo, I have thought about this over the past few years, and whether right or wrong, maybe there should be a ban on players transferring in from inside the county or intercounty transfer to a senior club.
Only inter or junior clubs (with no senior side) can get a transfer in.
OK this is open to abuse if Civil service of junior A and div 5 or 6 get a litany of senior intercounty players in and over a few years rise through the ranks, but then there should be some kind of limit to the amount of blow ins a team can take in a 5 year period.

You see Indy, I just dont think the measures in place go far enough.

see yez tomorrow night ?
Post by: southsidejohnny on February 12, 2010, 02:53:35 PM
If Parnells sign a few more Laois players perhaps they can then play in the Leinster Championship instead of Laois.I dont know what the furore is about. All clubs in Dublin have country lads on the team. Most clubs in Dublin are run or organized by people from the country. Most of the current Dublin team would not have a grandparent from Dublin. Essentially its a countrymans game that when June comes the Dub soccer fraternity tired from United, Chelsea and Liverpool trapse down to Croker. Once out in July they book their seats for Sky sports and the coming Premiership money fest. Guys that follow the above soccer clubs see nothing wrong with a few country boys playing an amateur sport. Rugby went that way, GAA will be like the the way Irish Rugby went ten years ago...it will be professional. Each county will select a panel of 30 players plus. Those guys will contract to that county only. Clubs will be feeders. Remeber Garryowen, St Marys, Young Munster, Cork Con? , all old greats but now its all about Munster and Leinster. Ulster are competitive and Connacht are tolerated. Way its going boys...sorry.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 12, 2010, 03:03:41 PM
Quote from: southsidejohnny on February 12, 2010, 02:53:35 PM
If Parnells sign a few more Laois players perhaps they can then play in the Leinster Championship instead of Laois.I dont know what the furore is about. All clubs in Dublin have country lads on the team. Most clubs in Dublin are run or organized by people from the country. Most of the current Dublin team would not have a grandparent from Dublin. Essentially its a countrymans game that when June comes the Dub soccer fraternity tired from United, Chelsea and Liverpool trapse down to Croker. Once out in July they book their seats for Sky sports and the coming Premiership money fest. Guys that follow the above soccer clubs see nothing wrong with a few country boys playing an amateur sport. Rugby went that way, GAA will be like the the way Irish Rugby went ten years ago...it will be professional. Each county will select a panel of 30 players plus. Those guys will contract to that county only. Clubs will be feeders. Remeber Garryowen, St Marys, Young Munster, Cork Con? , all old greats but now its all about Munster and Leinster. Ulster are competitive and Connacht are tolerated. Way its going boys...sorry.
but the rugby teams - provinces - are professional
In the GAA we are trying to avoid such 'superclubs' and the advent of pay for play.

I wonder what the gpa's stance is on this kind of thing...joining clubs for money...would they speak up against it  I wonder?
Post by: Celt_Man on February 12, 2010, 03:09:10 PM
Quote from: put-it-up on February 12, 2010, 12:21:31 PM

My CV is the exact same ;D

Jaysus lads, I'm the same.  Could we get some sort of a package deal going here? ;D

Post by: Celt_Man on February 12, 2010, 03:09:52 PM
Quote from: passedit on February 12, 2010, 11:31:45 AM

Hardy.

I think i read somewhere that he grew up supporting Parnells and joining them was a dream come true. He always had a poster of charles stewart  on his wall when he was growing up. A badge will be kissed.

Hilarious!!  ;D ;D
Post by: heffo on February 12, 2010, 03:31:17 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 12, 2010, 03:03:41 PM

I wonder what the gpa's stance is on this kind of thing...joining clubs for money...would they speak up against it  I wonder?

Given that three very senior members of the GPA are from Na Fianna, I'll fathom a guess!

Have a read of Dessie Farrell's book for his justification on their late 90's/early 00's player import policy
Post by: Hardy on February 12, 2010, 03:45:19 PM

Quote from: passedit on February 12, 2010, 11:31:45 AM

Hardy.

Post by: lynchbhoy on February 12, 2010, 05:05:55 PM
Quote from: heffo on February 12, 2010, 03:31:17 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 12, 2010, 03:03:41 PM

Given that three very senior members of the GPA are from Na Fianna, I'll fathom a guess!

Have a read of Dessie Farrell's book for his justification on their late 90's/early 00's player import policy
have a read ?
sure they asked me to join just before they got good..(no money offered at that stage though - prob wouldnt have paid me and I wouldnt have asked).
I flat refused anyhow  - prob a bad move as I'd have a few county medals in me back pocket now !
Post by: ricky-bobby on February 12, 2010, 05:09:53 PM
you've a short term memory indiana.your all ireland winners of a couple of years ago had some country lads brought in.na fianna brought in 11 a few years back.were not the first and wont be the last.like i said to jimmy,i think its getting out of hand myself,our young minor lads wont get a sniff,which isnt nice,but thats the way it is unfortunately.they still want to fight for their places.
as for our juveniles,we're doing our best in years 2 u8 teams,2 u9 teams,same under 10,11,under 12,13,14,16 all have a team.and if pus came to shove we could have 3 teams at some ages.
Post by: heffo on February 12, 2010, 05:25:03 PM
Quote from: ricky-bobby on February 12, 2010, 05:09:53 PM
you've a short term memory indiana.your all ireland winners of a couple of years ago had some country lads brought in.na fianna brought in 11 a few years back.were not the first and wont be the last.like i said to jimmy,i think its getting out of hand myself,our young minor lads wont get a sniff,which isnt nice,but thats the way it is unfortunately.they still want to fight for their places.
as for our juveniles,we're doing our best in years 2 u8 teams,2 u9 teams,same under 10,11,under 12,13,14,16 all have a team.and if pus came to shove we could have 3 teams at some ages.

I believe Indiana has been quite consistent in condemning his own club for similar issues

Post by: ricky-bobby on February 12, 2010, 06:20:18 PM
only new to this particular site myself heffo,so if he has then fair enough i take it back.
like i said in earlier posts,think its gone overboard now.
Post by: Jimmy14 on February 12, 2010, 09:52:47 PM
Yeah despite the Dublin support last week more than doubling Kerrys. Now you're talking fair weathered!
Post by: Jimmy14 on February 19, 2010, 07:16:28 PM
Quote from: ricky-bobby on February 12, 2010, 09:14:17 AM
Ricky PM'd you as requested  ::)days ago surprisingly no response!
Post by: INDIANA on February 20, 2010, 04:17:18 PM

We did but in fairness 2 of them hadn't played football for 14 months. Two of them sat on the bench for 6 months in 2006. They got in on merit rather than being just handed places. They played all the SFL games and were available at every triaining session. So there was no quibbles. thats different to actively recruiting outside county players who appear 6 months into the year from county duty and are handed places on the team after a few training sessions.
The management didn't even know O Se was a midfielder he was that unknown. We didn't recruit anybody they came to us. And none of them were county players at the time bar Kelly. Thats hardly the same thing.

I disagree with the Fennell move completely- because I don't like active recruitment of county players. we've enough of our own at this stage.
Post by: DuffleKing on February 21, 2010, 04:14:53 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on February 20, 2010, 04:17:18 PM

We did but in fairness 2 of them hadn't played football for 14 months. Two of them sat on the bench for 6 months in 2006. They got in on merit rather than being just handed places. They played all the SFL games and were available at every triaining session. So there was no quibbles. thats different to actively recruiting outside county players who appear 6 months into the year from county duty and are handed places on the team after a few training sessions.
The management didn't even know O Se was a midfielder he was that unknown. We didn't recruit anybody they came to us. And none of them were county players at the time bar Kelly. Thats hardly the same thing.

I disagree with the Fennell move completely- because I don't like active recruitment of county players. we've enough of our own at this stage.

That's a laughable statement.
Post by: orangeman on February 26, 2010, 01:36:26 PM
Tierney away as well !!

Parnells will have some team  ( and some wage bill ).
Post by: ricky-bobby on February 27, 2010, 06:39:22 PM
jimmy14 how do you reply by pm?
Post by: orangeman on January 07, 2013, 10:15:33 AM
Some money being spent in Parnells in Dublin - how sustainable is it really ?

There is disquiet in Parnells over high spending levels at the club, says Dermot Crowe

FIVE years ago Parnells GAA club acquired €22m in a dream land sale near Dublin Airport and promised to replace it with a modern facility in the heart of its natural catchment area of Coolock. But while an impressive sports and leisure complex opened there last May, it didn't include a proposed €1m sports hall – the money simply ran out. Borrowings or grants may now be needed to see that the club honours its contractual obligations.

The club has also been suffering major losses because of running costs, even before the new complex opened its doors – €3m in accumulated losses over the last four years. The club's level of spending has some members worried about its current and future financial stability.

Half of the 2008 windfall gleaned from the sale of former playing pitches at Collinstown went on the purchase of land at Chanel College, a secondary school in Coolock. The remainder of the €22m was meant to finance state-of-the-art facilities being developed on the new site, including the sports hall and a ball wall that has also not been completed.

The complex, housing a gym, bar and restaurant and function rooms, and three full-size pitches, two of them all-weather, is still impressive. But while planning was secured for the sports hall, and the foundation laid, work has stalled with the club admitting there is no longer sufficient cash available to build it. This could leave the club open to being sued for breach of contract, a concern raised at recent agms.

Annual accounts also show that the cost of running the club is colossal. All of this spending predates the new complex opening last year as the last available accounts are for 2011. An annual expenditure bill of roughly €1.2m equates to a staggering €3,250 a day. Some concerned club members, including a former chairman, have attempted to raise these issues but they are in the minority and the policy of heavy spending has continued.

As a sample, included among the expenses for 2010 were €79,807 on juvenile teams and €87,000 on medical items. Travel and subsistence cost €90,000, with motor expenses an additional €40,000. Coaching cost €79,000 and 'fees/training teams' reached €51,650. The bill for football and hurling equipment came to €152,848. Printing and postage cost €38,641.

Compared to other clubs in Dublin, the costs are literally in a league of their own. One of the biggest clubs in Dublin, for example, comfortably in the top three, reported annual expenditure of €700,000, between playing and administrative costs. Yearly losses in Parnells from 2008 to 2011 averaged around €780,000. Another club on the northside, with almost 60 teams, has annual costs of around €250,000, with many teams largely self-sufficient. Another with similar team numbers reported running costs of around €130,000. One in the west side of the city fielding in the region of 60 teams cost around €360,000 to run last year.

Parnells' new complex, in the club's natural heartland in Coolock, is being promoted in brochures as The Chanel, a leisure and hospitality venue. Since opening, the bar and all-weather facilities are raising much-needed finance to offset costs but some feel the current level of spending is unsustainable.

A report by an auditor at the end of 2010 did not see sufficient funds in place to build the sports hall or a medical centre which was also part of the longer-term development plan. The €1m needed for the sports hall was, the auditor declared, not there. Bearing in mind the €22m windfall and interest that would have accrued, this is a bone of contention with some members although there has been no mutiny at executive level. The auditor also found that explanations and assurances given by club directors were not sufficient for him not to qualify his report.

Turnover for 2010 was €680,000, with gross profit of €378,000 but with an administrative bill of almost €1.2m, the loss for the club over the year was €820,000. A sum of €68,000 was paid to directors, with staff wages accounting for €251,000.

"The accounts for 2011 were more or less the same as 2010," said a concerned member. "The auditor stated in his report to the members in 2010 that in his opinion he didn't believe the club had the resources to fund the building of the hall, which they are contractually obliged to build. He based this opinion on the information he received from the (club) directors. In other words, the information received from the directors did not satisfy him that they would have the money to build the hall, nor the medical centre at a later date."

He said the club's identity was being lost in a massive commercial venture needed to support the spiralling costs. Instead of securing the financial future of the club, he added, its present and future financial stability is at risk owing to the high running costs and contract obligation for the sports hall.

He also has reservations about a playing pitch in the complex that has, according to the complex's official brochure, been "created to FIFA world standards". The facility is regularly used by local soccer clubs in competition with the GAA for players, although it is another form of revenue for the club.

Those disillusioned by the club's financial decisions wonder how Parnells can continue in business when it is losing as much as €820,000 a year. They also ask: how are these over-spends being financed?

In a report for the year ending 2011, club directors appeared resigned to facing debt in order to build the sports hall unless they receive grant assistance. They regret the absence of further GAA grants or lotto assistance to help build the hall. "The club has gone through tremendous change in the past four years following the sale of the lands at Collinstown which of itself brings risk and uncertainties," the report states. "Shortfall in subsidies, ie lotto and GAA grants, have resulted in postponement of construction of sports hall until funding is available either through income generated from club activities or grants or borrowing to ensure completion is in line with contractual and planning obligations.

"While the directors are confident that funding will be secured as outlined above for this purpose or through a combination of deposit interest, VAT reclaim, grants and loans, the risk side of the transaction means that the club which had amassed a sum of €22m from the sale of its lands could reverse this financial situation resulting in the club taking on debt and having no reserves remaining from these funds.

"However, the directors expect that the significant increase in membership achieved in recent years together with the substantial outreach work undertaken in the local schools and community will generate significantly increased revenue in the new development to adequately fund borrowing if required and growth of club activities into the future."

It was also noted that the club was under a Revenue audit for wages and VAT for 2010 and 2011 and this raised "uncertainties over the partial recovery of the VAT element of the building of new development costs".

There are also concerns about the hard commercial emphasis to the new development, noting how its primary name is The Chanel Leisure and Hospitality Venue, with the 'Home of Parnells' given less visual emphasis on the official brochure.

Parnells has earned a reputation for high ambition on the field as well with an All-Ireland club title cited as a goal. But despite a stream of incoming inter-county stars from the country their performances on the field have been underwhelming and their underage investment has been slow to reap rewards.

Among the inter-county players now wearing the green and black who have come from other counties are Conor Mortimer, Colm Begley, Aindreas Doyle, Rory Quinlivan, Johnny Murtagh, MJ Tierney, Andrew Shore and Darren Rooney. Some are employed as coaches. Mortimer is employed as gym manager.

Two thirds of the team that fielded in the last championship outing of 2012 against Ballymun Kickhams were not from the area and the majority of those were from outside Dublin.

Frustrated that his concerns were not being addressed, former club chairman John Byrne wrote to ex-GAA president Christy Cooney in April 2011 for "guidance and support on a very serious issue".

He added that the club had been "overly ambitious in their building of the new clubhouse to the extent that the very future of the club is now at stake".

To illustrate the shift in spending patterns, in 2007 the club cost €340,000 to run, leaving it with losses of around €85,000. In 2008, expenses had climbed to €945,000. Some of those figures would look startling on a county board's annual set of accounts, let alone a club's.

Parnells last won a senior football championship in 1988 and success always comes at a price. The question is: have Parnells set the price too high?

'Expenses have risen but at affordable levels'

On Friday afternoon, the Parnells club made the following statement detailing the club's sporting and community activities, which we are happy to publish in full:

"As a fully registered GAA club with over 3,500 members, Parnell's operates under a range of regulations and guidelines which ensures transparency and probity in all its activities. All club officials and committees are democratically elected by the members and we believe the appropriate forum for dealing with specific issues is for members to contact the relevant official or at the Agm.

"Notwithstanding that, the club would make some general points; over the last four years Parnell's has gone from being a club with extremely limited facilities, to being one of the very best equipped in the country.

"This was achieved through the extremely prudent management of the club's resources and the investment of €21m in a state-of-the-art sports complex and clubhouse in Coolock village.

"The club achieved this new development without any Government or local Authority funding.

Range of club activities:

* A detailed 5 year Strategic Plan was put in place in 2007 to focus on 3 main areas; Juvenile development, Adult's sports development and Club Facilities.

* In 2007 the club fielded 4 adult teams --in 2012 it fielded 11 teams. The number of adult playing members has gone from 100 to over 275

* In 2007 the club fielded 12 juvenile teams and now fields 32 teams. The number of juvenile members has gone from 240 to over 650.

* The club now fields ladies football and camogie teams which it didn't previously.

* As part of that plan and the growth in members the Club has had to greatly expand its coaching staff. Expenses have naturally risen in line with this expansion but at affordable and sustainable levels.

* The Club plans to build a Sports Hall and Hurling Wall in the near future and has applied for a Capital sports grant from the Government.

* Community and promoting our games is the heart of the GAA and Parnells has a proud tradition in both.

* The enhanced catering-function facilities at the Club has enabled it to provide a much improved service to the community. The model we have developed ensures that all profits generated from this activity is ploughed back into supporting coaching and the club's teams

"Parnells provides a focal point for the Artane, Coolock and Kilmore communities but also a warm welcome to new members from outside the community who have moved to the area for work, through marriage or immigration. Whether it is playing, coaching or mentoring all are most welcome to play their part in Parnell's ongoing development and growth. Such members have been welcomed and integrated fully within the Club. They have served the Club, our community and the GAA with distinction. Seán Kelly, a Kerryman who was the GAA President, played with Parnells during his time in Dublin.

"When Parnells won its County and Provincial Titles in the 1980s the Senior Team was managed by Gerry Brady, a Monaghan man, and the team included natives of Monaghan, Galway and Limerick."

Post by: rodney trotter on January 07, 2013, 10:49:05 AM
For a big Club , they are never close to winning the Dublin Club Championship.
Post by: Bingo on January 07, 2013, 10:56:59 AM
Is that an old report? I see alot of the figures are 2010 and some 2011. Surely the 2012 figures would be held at the AGM at this stage or are they set up as a Limited company as it makes reference to Directors?

From knowing some people in the club, they were saying that it was 2012 that the investment would start paying for itself as its bar, clubhouse and Gym was opened and it was doing great trade with huge number of meals served, functions held etc and it really was the centre of the community.

The same person also felt that in a couple of years, they would be expecting a large change in the make up of their senior team, as their coaching structures would start taking players through. He didn't entirely agree with their current policy though and didn't think they'd win Dublin Championship with their current team or influx of out of towners.
Post by: orangeman on June 13, 2014, 04:22:35 PM
Meanwhile, Armagh football captain Ciaran McKeever could be on his way to join Dublin club Parnells. McKeever is understood to have submitted a transfer request to his own club, St Patrick's Cullyhanna, seeking the move.He was in attendance at a Parnells league match against Kilmacud Crokes on Wednesday night and was also present for a training session with the club on Monday night, but did not take part.PROMINENTParnells chairman Tony Fitzpatrick has denied that McKeever has taken up a coaching position in the club."My understanding is that he has submitted a request to move to Parnells, but he hasn't taken up a coaching position in the club."We would always help our players in seeking employment in any way we can. But we can't say whether the request will be approved or not at this stage," he said.McKeever would have to be permanently resident in Dublin to be granted a transfer. If the request goes through he will be a big addition to the Coolock outfit.His Armagh colleague Andy Mallon joined the club when he transferred from Pearse Og last year.Former Mayo forward Conor Mortimer currently plays with Parnells, while Colm Begley from Laois is also involved. Wexford's Rory Quinlivan is a Parnells player, while his colleague Aindreas Doyle was involved with them last year prior to a work move abroad.Begley was left out of the Laois squad for their Leinster first round win over Wicklow because he had played for Parnells in a championship match against Lucan Sarsfields earlier that week.Begley's fellow Laois footballers Darren Rooney, Colm Parkinson and Darren Rooney have also played for Parnells.The Dublin club are managed by Michael McDermott, with Dubs 'keeper Stephen cluxton their best known player.. - See more at: http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/armagh-angry-over-suspension-imbalance-30351319.html#sthash.xALD4Vx3.dpuf
Post by: mick999 on June 23, 2014, 01:15:20 PM
I see Brolly raising the issue of Parnells in latest article:

http://gaeliclife.com/2014/06/joe-brolly-joy-in-short-supply-at-parnells/
Post by: rosnarun on June 23, 2014, 05:09:39 PM
it'll only really become an issue if they win something. then people will be screaming for rule changes